Premier League 2023-2024

Started by Dire Ear, July 31, 2022, 12:39:27 PM

Eire90

cant really be arsed with premier league anymore i prefer cup and tournament football.

Link

UAE paid official Michael Oliver with some very strange calls during that first half of Abu Dhabi Man City vs Arsenal.

With the red cards we have seen recently (gusto, jones), should Arsenal be aggrieved at those decisions?

Sandro Tonali facing a lengthy ban for betting. A lot of Italian players involved. Zaniolo of Villa also

statto

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 18, 2023, 07:08:11 PMSandro Tonali facing a lengthy ban for betting. A lot of Italian players involved. Zaniolo of Villa also
how would these lads end up getting caught I presume it's all online ?

Yeah would be online. They are making so much money why risk their career over betting

Different sport but good article today about how the snooker guys were snared

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/snooker

Edit not saying there was match fixing going on more so the levels that online stuff is monitored

AustinPowers

Quote from: statto on October 18, 2023, 07:50:30 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 18, 2023, 07:08:11 PMSandro Tonali facing a lengthy ban for betting. A lot of Italian players involved. Zaniolo of Villa also

What's the protocol for cash betting? I mean , could you walk in  to a bookies with 10 grand  cash and stick it on  a horse? Or is there a  cash limit?

Quote from: AustinPowers on October 18, 2023, 09:29:56 PM

What's the protocol for cash betting? I mean , could you walk in  to a bookies with 10 grand  cash and stick it on  a horse? Or is there a  cash limit?

If you're in a position where a bookie will take £10k cash off you no questions asked, it's because all the questions were answered as they want, when you started punting heavily.

It'll likely be a case of player x transferring sizeable cash to mates a, b and c, who all deposit, make an unusual bet, then withdraw promptly. Player x probably doesn't even transfer the money, just makes the commitment. The bookies would know what's happened immediately. It's then over to authorities to make the case. If a, b and c do it twice, they're all sitting ducks.

Well the Juve lad just threw everyone under the bus by the looks of things and got himself a reduced sentence. I'm not sure exactly what the story is. There isn't much detail out there on Zaniolo anyway.

shark

Quote from: lurganblue on October 18, 2023, 10:21:21 PMWell the Juve lad just threw everyone under the bus by the looks of things and got himself a reduced sentence. I'm not sure exactly what the story is. There isn't much detail out there on Zaniolo anyway.

Tonali getting the headlines as he is a Newcastle player. Zaniolo will soon be a Turkish league player again, as I'm sure Villa will have grounds to send him back in January.

Bad miss here from Newcastle and their recruitment team. You would have thought that their due diligence would have uncovered this.

statto

Quote from: rodney trotter on October 18, 2023, 08:41:04 PMYeah would be online. They are making so much money why risk their career over betting
Don't think it is as black and white as that where addiction is concerned as people can be addicted if they have £500 in the bank of £5million. 

statto

Quote from: thewobbler on October 18, 2023, 10:01:10 PM

If you're in a position where a bookie will take £10k cash off you no questions asked, it's because all the questions were answered as they want, when you started punting heavily.

It'll likely be a case of player x transferring sizeable cash to mates a, b and c, who all deposit, make an unusual bet, then withdraw promptly. Player x probably doesn't even transfer the money, just makes the commitment. The bookies would know what's happened immediately. It's then over to authorities to make the case. If a, b and c do it twice, they're all sitting ducks.

I would have thought that there would have to be some evidence that the money has been transferred from Tonali  to Tonalis mate to place the bet.  Without knowing the betting patterns, surely if Tonali was transferring cash to mates and mates were putting bets on he couldn't be blamed on it without someone letting the cat out of the bag?

jcpen

I reckon AC Milan knew what was going on when they sold him.
NEUTRAL

AustinPowers

Quote from: statto on October 19, 2023, 09:43:16 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on October 18, 2023, 10:01:10 PM

I would have thought that there would have to be some evidence that the money has been transferred from Tonali  to Tonalis mate to place the bet.  Without knowing the betting patterns, surely if Tonali was transferring cash to mates and mates were putting bets on he couldn't be blamed on it without someone letting the cat out of the bag?

Surely if he had given  an envelope of cash to  someone, and  they put the bet on,  nobody would have been  any the wiser?