GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: moysider on October 22, 2008, 08:35:19 PM

Title: O Mahoney gets extra 2 years.
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2008, 08:35:19 PM
Unbelievable. I did nt see this one coming. County Board approved a 2 year extension to his contract last night. I find it hard to believe but there ye go. I m surprised he sought an extension but he said he would help out the county in this difficult period of transition.
  Obviously the County Board never heard of Eddie O Sullivan and contract extensions. They are nt listening to opinion around the county either. I dont know whether to laugh or cry.
Title: footbal
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 22, 2008, 08:41:54 PM
Im beginning to believe in karma
Title: Re: O Mahoney gets extra 2 years.
Post by: Jinxy on October 22, 2008, 08:43:35 PM
Sure what harm? Who do you want to take over? I'm sick of this sh*te of dumping good managers after a couple of seasons.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on October 22, 2008, 09:06:17 PM
Mayo only lost by a point to the All Ireland champions this year and were only beaten narrowly by Galway. There is a lot of pressure on managers at the minute - it seems to be a situation were if you dont win the all ireland in a season or 2 your no good. Even Mickey Harte came under pressure this year and Pat O'Shea was also getting some abuse. It has to be remembered that only county can win Sam each year, that doesnt mean that there is 31 bad inter county managers in Ireland each year and one good one who wins the All Ireland.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 22, 2008, 09:33:37 PM
One thing mayo fans cant be accused of is giving o  mahony abuse  we have questioned him at times yes but abuse him definately not in fairness he has received a soft ride especially by the local press whom he has in his back pocket . Imo they should have waited till next year to see how we progressed before giving him an extension
Title: Re: footbal
Post by: heffo on October 22, 2008, 09:45:46 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 22, 2008, 09:33:37 PM
One thing mayo fans cant be accused of is giving o  mahony abuse  we have questioned him at times yes but abuse him definately not in fairness he has received a soft ride especially by the local press whom he has in his back pocket . Imo they should have waited till next year to see how we progressed before giving him an extension

Was he appointed on a three year term and had it extended after year two?
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2008, 09:49:01 PM
Easy for anybody outside the county to rejoice in his extended appointment as ye wont have to suffer his reign. If any county manager has messed up as badly as O Mahoney the last couple of years I d like to know. He may have been a good manager 10 years ago but he appears to be a self- indulgent, vindictive, dinosaur of the game at this stage. His selfish ommission of MacDonald this year probably cost us a Connacht title or would have made the difference against Tyrone [ on the day Tyrone were only a shadow of the Tyrone team v Dublin or Kerry so that 1 point loss there does nt mean damn all in reality no matter how its spun]. And that was not the only piece of questionable judgement he has shown last two years. All of this has been well documented on here already.
 Dempsey showed what a Mayo team can do with a bit of coaching, ambition, belief etc. I m sure non Mayo folk are delighted with this. One less team to worry about.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 22, 2008, 09:52:00 PM
Ye heffo he was originally giving 3 years  but it seems he has been giving a 2 year extension giving him 5 years 
Post by: Tubberman on October 22, 2008, 09:55:32 PM
QuoteWas he appointed on a three year term and had it extended after year two?

He was initially appointed for 3 years. Now, after 2 years, he's been given another 2 years on top of the 3. So he has 3 years left if I understand it correctly.
The timing is a bit strange, but it's hardly binding - I'm sure either side can decide to tear it up if they want to.
It gives a bit more stability to the setup though and should stop any talk of who'll be taking over after next year.
I don't think we'd get a better manager if O'Mahony went (or was pushed) so I'm happy to have JOM in charge. It hasn't been a very impressive tenure so far, but he always said it was going to take time - I'm still hopeful we'll see some real progress next year.
Mayo supporters are getting impatient, but in fairness O'Mahony hasn't come under any real pressure, which may not have been the case if a manager with a lesser reputation had presided over the results of last couple of years.
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2008, 10:05:49 PM
No big deal if they gave him another 5 years - its token numbers as any of them can be let go at a board meetings notice.

If there is as much dissapointment in Mayo next year - he may not be in charge in 2010.
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2008, 10:18:18 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 22, 2008, 10:05:49 PM
No big deal if they gave him another 5 years - its token numbers as any of them can be let go at a board meetings notice.

If there is as much dissapointment in Mayo next year - he may not be in charge in 2010.

True, and it may be a move to give him more authority next year in the dresssing room. A manager in his last year after 2 disastrous years would be seen as dead man walking by the players. Some I know were less than enthusiastic about the prospect of next year. How this goes down will be interesting. But it will give him more clout next year. Another year like this would see him survive because county board and himself are expert in allowing the dust to settle between a disastrous summer and reappointment.
   Anyway his extension last night was ratified in less than a minute. No discussion and just 1 delegate asking whether the 2 years were in addition to the remaining year. of course there was no mention of this at the meeting when he agreed to stay on for his third year. So what has changed since?
Post by: rosnarun on October 22, 2008, 10:57:19 PM
all anyone want to see from a manger is that he either Progress's a team or starts to build a new one. O mahoney has done neither .
As was said before i wouldn't pay much heed to contracts . in soccerball they are not worth the paper they are written on(except for compo)  and they aren't even written down in the GAA. ask mickey moran and john morrison
Post by: stephenite on October 22, 2008, 11:14:32 PM
Sounds like a fairly sensible approach by the county board to me, of course the usual suspects are on here lamenting the loss of a 33 year old but if anyone thinks that's the way forward for Mayo, well.....

We currently don't have the players - and I haven't heard of one better suggestion bar Ray Dempsey, who did well this year, did shite last year and shite at every club he attempted to manage. Absolutely nothing to suggest he could handle the step to Senior inter county.

I have only one issue with this - and it's if any of the senior players were consulted? There have been mutterings about players unhappy with JOM and if that's still the case then I don't see the point in going back, but surely he'd know that himself, if he lost the dressing room I mean?
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2008, 11:18:12 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 22, 2008, 10:57:19 PM
all anyone want to see from a manger is that he either Progress's a team or starts to build a new one. O mahoney has done neither .
As was said before i wouldn't pay much heed to contracts . in soccerball they are not worth the paper they are written on(except for compo)  and they aren't even written down in the GAA. ask mickey moran and john morrison

True. True. Its the principle of the thing though. O Mahoney s two years have been less than inspiring. Criticism has been thin where it matters. When  Swinford s  Peter Geraghty tentatively questioned his rebuilding attempts  he was treated with contempt at County board meeting. But he has been rewarded with 2 more years.
 Contrast that with M and M who were savaged at an official level after a great summer.  Does that mean that Claremorris delegate Willie Feeley s 'ladeens' of 06 have all grown up and done better in 07/08?
I dont think so. anyway the reward for M and M reaching a final in 1 year was a size 12 up the derriére. It apppears less is more in the sweet county Mayo.
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2008, 11:36:14 PM
Quote from: stephenite on October 22, 2008, 11:14:32 PM
Sounds like a fairly sensible approach by the county board to me, of course the usual suspects are on here lamenting the loss of a 33 year old but if anyone thinks that's the way forward for Mayo, well.....

We currently don't have the players - and I haven't heard of one better suggestion bar Ray Dempsey, who did well this year, did shite last year and shite at every club he attempted to manage. Absolutely nothing to suggest he could handle the step to Senior inter county.

I have only one issue with this - and it's if any of the senior players were consulted? There have been mutterings about players unhappy with JOM and if that's still the case then I don't see the point in going back, but surely he'd know that himself, if he lost the dressing room I mean?

As I m probably one of the usual suspects, 3 things.

Brian Dooher is also 33. Would Tyrone have done anything without him this year? and he ll be there next year too probably. May not be the future but he s the present.

We do indeed have the players but maybe not the best players available were in the senior panel on the evidence of recent weeks. However that s besides the point. we ve more quality players than most. It s selection and tactical nous that is the rock we perish on. The U21 and minor teams showed the potential that is there and it s a fairly constant thing. I reckon our county champions will prove to be as good as most again this year

I d be amazed if players were consulted. Players have never been seen as particularly important in this county. And yeah a lot of the players are fed up with the mother superior approach of O Mahoney.
Post by: spectator on October 22, 2008, 11:50:02 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 22, 2008, 10:18:18 PM
Some I know were less than enthusiastic about the prospect of next year. How this goes down will be interesting.

Was there a cold wind blowing around North Mayo during Johnno's first two years & is it about to become an artic gale with his extension, do you reckon?

Can anyone suggest a better realistic more beneficial manager for the job?
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 12:06:39 AM
I take your point re Dooher - I feel they're different players however and I also feel that Tyrone had more able younger men around him, who would be Mayo's equivalent to Sean Cavanagh, Enda McGinley, Philip Jordan, McMahon brothers? Guys with experience and talent. Conor Mort, perhaps, Alan Dillon, definitely, Ronan McGarrity, needs to improve,

I'd love if Mac came back to play with Mayo, I just don't see the point in going on about it while JOM is there as I don't think it's going to happen, he's building for the future and Mac is now the past, not even the present, while JOM is in charge

Even if Mac was playing we don't have enough guys at the same level to support him, we might not be too far off them but it will take more time.

I honestly don't see who else we should be looking to to manage this team at the moment? And that's scary given the poor championship results we've had under him. If there was a better option I'd be more than happy to see him come in. Who would you have?
Post by: moysider on October 23, 2008, 12:20:27 AM
Quote from: spectator on October 22, 2008, 11:50:02 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 22, 2008, 10:18:18 PM
Some I know were less than enthusiastic about the prospect of next year. How this goes down will be interesting.

Was there a cold wind blowing around North Mayo during Johnno's first two years & is it about to become an artic gale with his extension, do you reckon?

Can anyone suggest a better realistic more beneficial manager for the job?

We could suggest but what is the point of that. If - and it seems to be the case - that people are happy with Johnno plodding along, well and good. Apparently he s seen as a safe pair of hands. And who knows he may rediscover the magic that turned alps like Joyce, Donnellan, Savage, Fallon etc into lads that could kick a bit. A realistic man who ll ensure we wont be disgraced on All Ireland Sunday. Not only that we ll be well realistic and any thoughts of any success will be well knocked out of us. This transition period beloved of our master could well extend and be measured on the geological time scale. Not sure what you mean by realistic and beneficial. Were the last 2 Summer results realistic [ ok probably] and beneficial [ not convinced]? Reality is we re not in a transition period... hold on, maybe we are. Transition between used to be decent to not decent any more. Transition from what to what? Defeat in an All Ireland to Tommy Murphy? That could be fitted in next 3 years. We could actually win something.

However if we re talking about gravitas and spin and talking s**** well he s the daddy of them all. Grannies love him so it cant be all bad.
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 12:28:53 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 23, 2008, 12:20:27 AM
  However if we re talking about gravitas and spin and talking s**** well he s the daddy of them all. Grannies love him so it cant be all bad.

Hard to argue with that comment, without a decent alternative for now I'm happy enough. However, if we don't see some real progress this year than I think he'll be gone and deservedly so - replacements? Well, for me it would be Noel Connelly.
Post by: moysider on October 23, 2008, 12:32:29 AM
Quote from: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 12:28:53 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 23, 2008, 12:20:27 AM

Hard to argue with that comment, without a decent alternative for now I'm happy enough. However, if we don't see some real progress this year than I think he'll be gone and deservedly so - replacements? Well, for me it would be Noel Connelly.

Okay. I have nt suggested anybody. But for you, why Connelly?
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 12:39:55 AM
Involved in our most recent All Ireland win, heavily respected by the younger players that he has managed so more likely to bring through the younger players, not a public representative, well organised and apparently not at all afraid to bring in outside help to seek 'the edge' in terms of team preparation.

It's a template that also appears to work, successful inter county managers working their way into the top job, see Jack O'Connor, Mickey Harte as 2 recent examples of managers that have worked with players successfully in under-age ranks before being successful in the Senior role. Let Ray Dempsey take his starlets onto U-21 level and if successful there, then onto senior when the time comes.
Post by: moysider on October 23, 2008, 12:59:16 AM
Quote from: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 12:06:39 AM
I take your point re Dooher - I feel they're different players however and I also feel that Tyrone had more able younger men around him, who would be Mayo's equivalent to Sean Cavanagh, Enda McGinley, Philip Jordan, McMahon brothers? Guys with experience and talent. Conor Mort, perhaps, Alan Dillon, definitely, Ronan McGarrity, needs to improve,

You re right Stephenite. Dooher is different. But Mac was no less a leader in his own way. And we needed him. Harte has not been afraid to share the dressing room with big players and bringing back Dooher at 33 after serious injury straight into team and recalling O Neill for a final is something no Mayo manager I ve ever seen has been capable or brave enough to do. O Mahoney has had carte blanche authority to do things as he sees fit. No other manager has been bestowed with as much faith by a county board in Mayo as O Mahoney has. I m annoyed because I believe he has misused a great opportunity and has been more concerned with proving how tough he is than he has with trying to beat Galway ...  There s lot s of fellas out there that dont feel threatened by players and do the work on the training pitch and get in specialist advisers without talking S**** all the time. It s like the teacher that loves his job but cant stand kids. I ll put it like this. If you were a coach, would you like to work with MacDonald? How did getting rid of him improve the lot of Mayo this Summer/next Summer/Summer after?
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 03:17:25 AM
Quote from: moysider on October 23, 2008, 12:59:16 AM
If you were a coach, would you like to work with MacDonald? How did getting rid of him improve the lot of Mayo this Summer/next Summer/Summer after?

Would I like to work with MacD as a coach - of course I would, but on my terms.

It didn't improve the lot of Mayo per se - but I can guarantee his omission was not the difference between Mayo winning Sam or not.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 23, 2008, 05:29:31 AM
I'd be surprised if JOM stays the full five years. I think this extension is just a means of removing pressure from next year being his last year. He might still walk at the end of 09 but with the extension, he won't be preparing for every game in 09 as if it is his last.
Mistakes were made this year, the McD saga was one of them. But it was not an easy position to be in. Neither party were 100% right or 100% wrong but it is the manager, rightly so, who normally has to pick up most of the slack. Comparisons with Dooher aren't valid, Dooher was there all year and McDonald wasn't (and there's no real point going down of the road of why he wasn't there). We can't be certain that bringing him back would have been the right thing either. But, come what may, JOM could have handled the parting of ways better.
I'm not sure that getting the players input is necessarily a good idea. Maybe a few subtle overtures but I don't know too many other counties where this is the done thing.
Ultimately there isn't a better option out there. Dempsey still has many flaws that need to be ironed out before he can even think of stepping up to senior inter-county. Connelly is a great motivator but I'm not sure he has the tactical nous to manage inter-county on his own. I wouldn't like to see him going in with Pat Holmes, but that looks like it could be the next option imo
I'll bookmark all of this by saying I'm out of the country for the last 10 months and the only word on the ground I can get about JOM's tenure is obviously second and third hand etc, some is good, some is bad, some indifferent. I think the important thing is that we expect progress next year. If we don't get it, then JOM should probably look for the exit.
By the way, did anyone hear the Keith Higgins is going travelling for the year? Read it somewhere on Hogan Stand so I'm taking a fair dollop of salt with it but maybe someone here knows the full story?
Post by: Tubberman on October 23, 2008, 08:43:35 AM
QuoteBy the way, did anyone hear the Keith Higgins is going travelling for the year? Read it somewhere on Hogan Stand so I'm taking a fair dollop of salt with it but maybe someone here knows the full story?

Going travelling but will be back by April is what I've heard. Will be available for championship for both the footballers and the hurlers. The break should do him no harm
Post by: rosnarun on October 23, 2008, 10:41:41 AM
so the main arguements in favor of O'mahoney are
1) cant think of anyone else
5)he won an allireland years ago with some other county
3)he is name isn't pat holmes

i tought the numbering should follow the logic
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 10:43:08 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 23, 2008, 10:41:41 AM
so the main arguements in favor of O'mahoney are
1) cant think of anyone else
5)he won an allireland years ago with some other county
3)he is name isn't pat holmes

i tought the numbering should follow the logic

Well. who would you prefer to see in the job?
Post by: rosnarun on October 23, 2008, 11:04:59 AM
without delving into the deeper realm of reasearch im sure the county board will go to here are a few name fell free to add to them as necessary. in no particular order. now before ytou dismiss all of these think of mayos record over the last 2 years and realize none could do a worse job. and know there are loads of alternatves
Joe Kernan,Brian McIver,Tj killgallon,Peter Forde,John Maughan,John tobin,Pillar caffery,David brady,James nallen,Paudi o sé,Pat o shea Peter canavan,dennis Kearney
even
eddie O sullivan(he seems to be at a loose end and Just lives in moylough)
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 11:17:20 AM
James Nallen, Peter Canavan and David Brady are non runners for a start, no managerial experience.

I don't think Pillar could do any better (indeed I'd have a better go myself)

Brian McIver is the only one on your list that I'd think a)might be interested and b)has the requisite experience
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 23, 2008, 11:25:02 AM
Quote from: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 11:17:20 AM
James Nallen, Peter Canavan and David Brady are non runners for a start, no managerial experience.

Brian McIver is the only one on your list that I'd think a)might be interested and b)has the requisite experience

i'm not calling for o' mahonys head but just to say that lack of experience didn't stop the dubs giving pat gilroy the job stephenite
Post by: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 11:32:22 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 23, 2008, 11:25:02 AM

i'm not calling for o' mahonys head but just to say that lack of experience didn't stop the dubs giving pat gilroy the job stephenite

Yep - nor Kildare giving it to Kieran McGeeney. Not a good idea in my view, it could work if there was a Bobby Robson/Mickey Whelan type 'assistant' to help them out but I think that's a load of balls as well. Mind you Jason Ryan makes a fool of me straight away I suppose.

I also don't think that players coming back to manage those who would have soldiered along with them is a good idea - so Nallen and/or Brady managing the likes of Conor Mort, Alan Dillon, Peadar Gardener etc would also be a bad idea.
Post by: moysider on October 23, 2008, 12:27:56 PM
Quote from: stephenite on October 23, 2008, 11:32:22 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 23, 2008, 11:25:02 AM

Yep - nor Kildare giving it to Kieran McGeeney. Not a good idea in my view, it could work if there was a Bobby Robson/Mickey Whelan type 'assistant' to help them out but I think that's a load of balls as well. Mind you Jason Ryan makes a fool of me straight away I suppose.

I also don't think that players coming back to manage those who would have soldiered along with them is a good idea - so Nallen and/or Brady managing the likes of Conor Mort, Alan Dillon, Peadar Gardener etc would also be a bad idea.

Not sure there would be any problem likes of James Nallen or David Brady managing players they have played with. They would be respected no doubt. Whether they have the whole package is another thing. But in the case of a highly intelligent and level headed man like Nallen it would be less of a risk than continuing with what s in place at present. Experience is all very well but a lot of the established managers on the intercounty merry go round are carrying baggage. Bad experience in other words. Take Johnno. His vast experience did not stand him well during Macdonaldgate, except maybe he managed to bluff and spin his way out of a tight corner and buy himself time. But it did our team no service. We still would not have won Sam granted but we may have won Connacht and maybe even a 1/4 final. That would have been progress.

His skirmishes in the past taught him little it seems and while influential footballl people in Galway always got 'wayward' people back on board when left to his own devices he came up short in my opinion. Some of us have pointed out in the past that Johnno has had a poor record at building or rejuvenating a team. Unfortunately the last two years have proven this to be the case. His judgement as regards what players can do a job in a role has been shown to be seriuosly flawed. With the same background team back again I m not holding my breath there will be any improvement this year but they might get lucky sometime with the quality players at their disposal.

Maybe the generation gap between player and manager needs to be shortened. Not sure of the worth of the Mickey Whelan s of this world. Young players coming through now are more used to a calm, tactical, structured approach to the game. There is far less table banging and distance keeping and suspicion between management and players. The drinking culture among serious players not what it used to be either. It s time for a more collegiate approach.
Post by: mannix on October 23, 2008, 12:32:29 PM
Iwas a big fan of jom but now I am not so sure, he seems to have too much work to do for Mayo to be a priority. My friends in cork and kerry reckon he only took the job for political gain, i am not sure what to think but they could be right.
Not having the best footballer in the county on the panel shows how much of an amateur he is when its looked at in the cool of autumn with no games on.
Moran and morrison brought in oneil, omahony would never have, they failed to prepare the team for the final and paid the price but they had all the top lads playing for them which is a big help.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 01:49:04 PM
What can we say Johnnos report card doesn't read well at all, not given the expectations we had of the man and not given his track record. I think this extension is there to help take the pressure off next year and every game being the last one, and maybe also for him to show the fans that he is committed to the cause.
Next year is a massive one for him either way and we need to see serious progress. Until some of these minor lads get older I don't see an All-Ireland in us but I do think we can push alot harder than we did this year. It's up to Johnno to find new talent, bringing in some of the Ballagh lads would be a start, McDonald's return would also have to be seen as an addition, anyone at the county semi would have to agree.
He's still the best candidate for the job but he needs to improve, and be more like the man of a few years ago before we as a county can improve.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 23, 2008, 01:52:40 PM
Well at least its giving us something to talk about i was getting worried about a lot of ye  ;)
Post by: ildanach on October 23, 2008, 02:04:28 PM
Continuity and Stability is what is required. I think it will be a good thing to not be on the managerial merrygo round again next year. A connacht title in 2009 and a quarter final win would be great progress next year and they are well within our grasp. We got beaten by Tyrone by 1 point and in truth of we had taken our chances we would have one ( i am not saying we would have won the all ireland though!).
No one can question JOMs tactical management ability however on the down side this year his man management  with the mcd incident was disappointing. Lets hope a new year will mean clean slates.

p.s Is it true Pierce Hanley is going back next week.
Post by: Barney on October 23, 2008, 02:22:13 PM
Off we go again. We'll have to have a go at next years championship XV before too long!

Ok he gets an extra two years. JOM will still have to be judged next Summer and failure to deliver a Connacht championship will mean that the "contract" will be finished with. I don't know why people talk about contracts anyhow - has any manager ever been compensated for being fired?

There is a huge amount of dissatisfaction with JOM. But as I have said previously some of the players also need to take a hard long look at themselves. The McDonald issue is an easy stick to beat the manager with. I would be more inclined to concentrate on issues such as inconsistent selection, and taking down Mayo football. We need to be brash. We need players with balls. Against Tyrone, and against Galway when his initial plans failed the manager was spot-on tactically.

Having said all that the manager was a political appointment and it suits the County Board to line him up for Enda's next big shot which the way things are could come at any time.

Deel Rover said its karma. If it is we deserve nothing less.
Post by: moysider on October 23, 2008, 02:25:28 PM
Quote from: ildanach on October 23, 2008, 02:04:28 PM
Continuity and Stability is what is required. I think it will be a good thing to not be on the managerial merrygo round again next year. A connacht title in 2009 and a quarter final win would be great progress next year and they are well within our grasp. We got beaten by Tyrone by 1 point and in truth of we had taken our chances we would have one ( i am not saying we would have won the all ireland though!).
No one can question JOMs tactical management ability however on the down side this year his man management  with the mcd incident was disappointing. Lets hope a new year will mean clean slates.

p.s Is it true Pierce Hanley is going back next week.

I m afraid we can. His tactical nous has always been a problem going back to his first coming. Also during his Galway tenure I could pick holes in his tactical awareness. The last couple of years have not been great either. Persisting with a full forward in a role he was clearly not able to play for so long is one example of this.
  I always thought his strength was organisation, man management, discipline, having the bus there on time etc. It would be news to me if I heard he had a reputation as a coach or for tactical astuteness.
Post by: rosnarun on October 24, 2008, 12:37:01 AM
my main gripe with management this year is one of motivation which has shown its self up in our losing almost every close match we played for the year. this point to an unhappy camp. Maybe management are not to blame for that but its much easier to change 1 manager tham 30  29 ahem 28 players
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on October 24, 2008, 06:07:23 AM
There's no point in getting rid of JOM unless it is CERTAIN that a better candidate is ready to step in.
I know people might point out about moran and morrison but there's no point raking over that one. Bottom line, imo, there is nothing to be gained by getting rid of JOM now
Post by: rosnarun on October 24, 2008, 04:07:23 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on October 24, 2008, 06:07:23 AM
There's no point in getting rid of JOM unless it is CERTAIN that a better candidate is ready to step in.
I know people might point out about moran and morrison but there's no point raking over that one. Bottom line, imo, there is nothing to be gained by getting rid of JOM now

not exactly the kind of ringing endorsement that would justify a 2 year extension on his term either
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 24, 2008, 10:45:59 PM
What about James Horan? He did well with Ballintubber this year and seems like he knows his stuff in the Western. Just can't believe any of ye haven't mentioned him that's all. I sense more stagnation in 2009 under JOM.
Post by: spectator on October 25, 2008, 12:40:56 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 23, 2008, 12:27:56 PM
His skirmishes in the past taught him little it seems and while influential footballl people in Galway always got 'wayward' people back on board when left to his own devices he came up short in my opinion. 

That's an unfair & selective comment imo, moysider. If Johnno as manager is responsible for the overall state of affairs, apply it uniformally. It's really churlish to try and now claim the background team in Galway bailed him out, unlike the current Mayo background team. You're damning the Mayo background lads as well as Johnno here, imo.

Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 01:49:04 PM
Until some of these minor lads get older I don't see an All-Ireland in us but I do think we can push alot harder than we did this year. It's up to Johnno to find new talent, bringing in some of the Ballagh lads would be a start, McDonald's return would also have to be seen as an addition, anyone at the county semi would have to agree.
He's still the best candidate for the job but he needs to improve, and be more like the man of a few years ago before we as a county can improve.

I agree with most of that. Where will the new talent miraculously appear from though? The U-21's of two years ago are the lads who should be answering the call now surely? The political angle may be the reason why Ballagh representation was so scarce this year? What do you mean by the comment 'be more like the man of a few years ago' though? Intrigueing.

Quote from: Barney on October 23, 2008, 02:22:13 PM
We need players with balls. Against Tyrone, and against Galway when his initial plans failed the manager was spot-on tactically.
Having said all that the manager was a political appointment and it suits the County Board to line him up for Enda's next big shot which the way things are could come at any time.

Again, fair comment. Johnno isn't a mercurial tactical genius, but he's well capable and is tactically very experienced all the same. It's easy to be critical of Johnno, but the players are answerable too. The political \ GAA hybrid which has developed in Mayo is amazing - the number of football mad FF'ers who are livid with the way current set-up has developed must be considerable, judging by the ones I've talked to about it anyway.

In short, I think Johnno's naturally low key approach goes against the grain in Mayo. Geting rid of McD was a bold attempt to make a clean break with the past and change the exhuberent culture which was part of the Mayo way. Brave move by Johnno, imo, as he surely knew he'd be be slaughtered if it didn't work out.

Post by: moysider on October 25, 2008, 01:35:19 PM
Quote from: spectator on October 25, 2008, 12:40:56 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 23, 2008, 12:27:56 PM
His skirmishes in the past taught him little it seems and while influential footballl people in Galway always got 'wayward' people back on board when left to his own devices he came up short in my opinion. 

That's an unfair & selective comment imo, moysider. If Johnno as manager is responsible for the overall state of affairs, apply it uniformally. It's really churlish to try and now claim the background team in Galway bailed him out, unlike the current Mayo background team. You're damning the Mayo background lads as well as Johnno here, imo.

I should have made it clear that it was nt so much the background team in Galway that bailed him out, it was men behind the scenes  who are hughly respected in the Galway scene  that helped smooth over rough patches.

As regards the current background team. They will always be associated with the decision to jettison MacDonald, finalising a panel when it was nt necessary to do so and some fanciful selections to say the least. How much of a say they had I do not know. But if they did nt have an input they should nt be there. Kieran Gallagher came out of the last administration with a good reputation but I can t see him be asked to do a job in future. As for Tommy Lyons I don t know what his input is but I assume he believes they are doing the right thing or he would have walked away.
Post by: mannix on October 25, 2008, 04:44:43 PM
JOM is an amateur, he is not that bothered about football, politics was his game and Mayo came second, always will. Macdonald left to rust while jom told us rubbish is why Mayo will never amount to much, too gullible.
Post by: southsidejohnny on October 25, 2008, 05:08:18 PM
Interested in Spectators view about the dropping of Mac Donald as a sign of a clean break with the past. How come Jim Nallen and Aiden Higgins along with Heaney were not jettisoned either. That does not wash, arguably Mac was better than any of the picked forwards and that includes the vastly over rated Dillon and Mortimor. O Mahoney is making an awful hard job of breaking with the  past if its only Parsons and Cunniffe who have stepped in. At that rate of going i.e one per year we should have replaced the last of the boys of 1996 -2006 by 2016. 
Post by: spectator on October 25, 2008, 07:36:11 PM
Quote from: southsidejohnny on October 25, 2008, 05:08:18 PM
Interested in Spectators view about the dropping of Mac Donald as a sign of a clean break with the past. How come Jim Nallen and Aiden Higgins along with Heaney were not jettisoned either. That does not wash, arguably Mac was better than any of the picked forwards and that includes the vastly over rated Dillon and Mortimor. O Mahoney is making an awful hard job of breaking with the  past if its only Parsons and Cunniffe who have stepped in. At that rate of going i.e one per year we should have replaced the last of the boys of 1996 -2006 by 2016. 

Not a break with past players as such, but with the culture that prevailed.

What I was trying to say was Johnno naturally favours a low key approach. That's at odds with the normal Mayo psyche, where ye start off every year with yeer chests puffed out talking about and expecting to win the All-Ireland - regardless of whether ye're good enough or not. I'm not having a go at ye here, just making an observation which is central to my argument.

McD was a brilliant off-the-cuff player whose sometimes mercurial dislays both dovetailed into and fuelled that particular Mayo way of thinking. He effectively validated the psyche of the Mayo supporters - and perhaps players also? - as he could make anything seem possible on his better days, imo.

Meanwhile, Johnno had decided that that type of approach was not going to win ye an All-Ireland. His own natural 'feet on the ground' low-key type approach had suited the Galway temperament reasonably well and for him it was a winning formula there. The 'sky-is-the-limit' type approach is not Johnno's way. He believes in keeping the build up quiet, building from the ground up, one block at a time etc etc.

In order to bring this approach to Mayo, he felt he had to get back to basics and change the psyche which existed in the county as outlined earlier. Dropping McD was the clearest, most clarion signal he could give to Mayo that he was going to change the super optmistic 'off-the-cuffe' culture which existed before his appointment, imo. The ' 07 defeat to Galway probably confirmed the need for this measure in his mind & the utilisation of his natural approach which worked so well with Galway, I reckon.

I'm not saying whether his approach is right or wrong, but that's just how it looks to me. When you're trying to change a culture of whatever type, it often takes years to achieve results.  As ic managers generally don't last too many years, it was all in all a  brave move by Johnno, imo. There's a lot of other variables to be considered in the overall picture of course, but that's my theory on it anyway.
Post by: moysider on October 25, 2008, 10:35:17 PM
Quote from: spectator on October 25, 2008, 07:36:11 PM
Quote from: southsidejohnny on October 25, 2008, 05:08:18 PM

Not a break with past players as such, but with the culture that prevailed.

What I was trying to say was Johnno naturally favours a low key approach. That's at odds with the normal Mayo psyche, where ye start off every year with yeer chests puffed out talking about and expecting to win the All-Ireland - regardless of whether ye're good enough or not. I'm not having a go at ye here, just making an observation which is central to my argument.

McD was a brilliant off-the-cuff player whose sometimes mercurial dislays both dovetailed into and fuelled that particular Mayo way of thinking. He effectively validated the psyche of the Mayo supporters - and perhaps players also? - as he could make anything seem possible on his better days, imo.

Meanwhile, Johnno had decided that that type of approach was not going to win ye an All-Ireland. His own natural 'feet on the ground' low-key type approach had suited the Galway temperament reasonably well and for him it was a winning formula there. The 'sky-is-the-limit' type approach is not Johnno's way. He believes in keeping the build up quiet, building from the ground up, one block at a time etc etc.

In order to bring this approach to Mayo, he felt he had to get back to basics and change the psyche which existed in the county as outlined earlier. Dropping McD was the clearest, most clarion signal he could give to Mayo that he was going to change the super optmistic 'off-the-cuffe' culture which existed before his appointment, imo. The ' 07 defeat to Galway probably confirmed the need for this measure in his mind & the utilisation of his natural approach which worked so well with Galway, I reckon.

I'm not saying whether his approach is right or wrong, but that's just how it looks to me. When you're trying to change a culture of whatever type, it often takes years to achieve results.  As ic managers generally don't last too many years, it was all in all a  brave move by Johnno, imo. There's a lot of other variables to be considered in the overall picture of course, but that's my theory on it anyway.

Interesting hypothesis spectator but i doubt Johnno s actions  have been based on such a philosophical agenda. I believe his discarding of Mac was decided on persona, petty and vindictive basis rather than more noble intentions. If what I heard was true, Johnno may have had reason to feel slighted by something that happened in a meeting with the players early in the current managements reign.

Johnno may have tried to embrace a more solid approach but results have shown his attempts in a poor light. Soft defeats to Galway, Derry and Tyrone contrast poorly to some hard fought wins in the much maligned Maughan era [ Galway/Kerry96, Galway/Offaly 97. Galway in the rain in Tuam 99. Tyrone 04] or even for M&M [ Galway/ Laois after replay/Dublin06].
Some of his selections would not suggest a new philosophy either. If he had he would hardly have persisted with individualists like Mort, O Malley and Kilcoyne.
Post by: holly11 on October 26, 2008, 07:05:51 PM
To the people in the know - what are the chances that McDonald will play next year?
will he be asked to a trial again? and if so, would he go?
Post by: MacDanger on October 30, 2008, 12:20:38 AM
Delighted that JOM has been given another two years. For a start I believe it shows he's committed to the cause and sees potential in the younger players coming through.

Interesting that Barry Moran was played at FF for the two challenge matches last week - an experiment not seen since it was tried relatively successfully against Derry.

A lot of new faces played in those games too. I'd fancy young McLoughlin for a corner back spot for next year, he's a proper sticky defender rather than just a ball player from what I've seen of him.
Post by: moysider on October 30, 2008, 06:13:45 PM
Quote from: MacDanger on October 30, 2008, 12:20:38 AM
Delighted that JOM has been given another two years. For a start I believe it shows he's committed to the cause and sees potential in the younger players coming through.

Interesting that Barry Moran was played at FF for the two challenge matches last week - an experiment not seen since it was tried relatively successfully against Derry.

A lot of new faces played in those games too. I'd fancy young McLoughlin for a corner back spot for next year, he's a proper sticky defender rather than just a ball player from what I've seen of him.

A couple of things. Glad your delighted for a start and it makes a nice change from the general demeanor of people about the place.

My mother could see potential in the players coming through in fairness. So if that s the reason he hanging about its not a great. In other words if he did nt see a bgight future he would have left the job to a lesser mortal to do. He would nt be bothered wasting his time is the implication here. A bit arrogant don t you think? A lot of people have put a lot of effort into the nurturing and development of these lads so far. Our concern now is that they re not destroyed.

Barry Moran needs to come through for all our sakes. Playing him at ff the last day is hardly in the experimental stage anymore.

McLoughlin is a ball player of the highest order. But he s smart enough to do a marking job. In fact he is equally as good a forward as a back. What we should be doing is asking how he was nt involved earlier rather than applauding the obvious now. Worse still, what were the U21 management up to last spring by not including him earlier? I suppose that duo are back for more next year as well?
Post by: blast05 on November 01, 2008, 10:31:47 PM
QuoteHaving said all that the manager was a political appointment and it suits the County Board to line him up for Enda's next big shot which the way things are could come at any time.

Good lad Barney ... as i was reading through the posts, i was wondering when somebody was going to suggest the political angle ......  it seems very possible to me that the scenario went along the likes of O'Mahony going to the county board and saying something along the lines of "there will be almost certainly be an election within the next 12 months and thus i need a bit more security in the Mayo job so extend my "contract" by another 2 years ..." etc etc etc
Post by: moysider on November 02, 2008, 01:04:34 AM
Quote from: holly11 on October 26, 2008, 07:05:51 PM
To the people in the know - what are the chances that McDonald will play next year?

No chance. Its over. Gone. Not a chance.
Post by: holly11 on November 02, 2008, 10:06:44 AM
Quote from: moysider on November 02, 2008, 01:04:34 AM
Quote from: holly11 on October 26, 2008, 07:05:51 PM

No chance. Its over. Gone. Not a chance.

that's an awful pity for mcdonald and mayo and football in general. it's a pity that o'mahony and him can't have a sit down now and clear the air.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 02, 2008, 11:22:48 AM
Good God, Moysider, you shouldn't do that to me!
I haven't been keeping up to speed with Mayo affairs lately and when I saw the topic title; I said "Proper order!" ;D
Anyway, he's back and I sincerely wish him and Mayo football in general the very best of luck. I've no problem at all in doing that.
I'm going to keep my head low after this post until I see some signs of positive progress. I've been behind Mayo in bad years and even worse than bad years for close on 50 years and this year for me was the absolute pits. I need to get a life and stop wondering when Johnno is going to give us another gaffe.
With regard to Mac, I never denied the manager the right to pick his panel and I still don't.
I think there was more to that particular story than was made public. Maybe Mac is a contrary customer and maybe O'Mahony has a fragile ego. Who knows?
The manner in which he handled Mac's omission did concern me. I know that his waffling about needing to close off the panel and then declaring that the way was still open for Mac and anyone else to play themselves into contention did worry some of the panellists.
One need not refer to any individual player here; it could have been Jimmy Nallen, Heaney, Gardiner or any established team member. To me, there was flawed judgement involved and the litany of bad decisions to follow, as Barney (I think) called it, is indeed a long and disheartening one.
I sure hope to God he proves me wrong and shows that he does know the difference between his proboscis and his posterior in the years ahead.
For the next few months at least, I'm going to leave him alone; my poor head can't take any more. ;D

Post by: moysider on November 03, 2008, 12:11:12 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 02, 2008, 11:22:48 AM
Good God, Moysider, you shouldn't do that to me!
I haven't been keeping up to speed with Mayo affairs lately and when I saw the topic title; I said "Proper order!" ;D
Anyway, he's back and I sincerely wish him and Mayo football in general the very best of luck. I've no problem at all in doing that.
I'm going to keep my head low after this post until I see some signs of positive progress. I've been behind Mayo in bad years and even worse than bad years for close on 50 years and this year for me was the absolute pits. I need to get a life and stop wondering when Johnno is going to give us another gaffe.
With regard to Mac, I never denied the manager the right to pick his panel and I still don't.
I think there was more to that particular story than was made public. Maybe Mac is a contrary customer and maybe O'Mahony has a fragile ego. Who knows?
The manner in which he handled Mac's omission did concern me. I know that his waffling about needing to close off the panel and then declaring that the way was still open for Mac and anyone else to play themselves into contention did worry some of the panellists.
One need not refer to any individual player here; it could have been Jimmy Nallen, Heaney, Gardiner or any established team member. To me, there was flawed judgement involved and the litany of bad decisions to follow, as Barney (I think) called it, is indeed a long and disheartening one.
I sure hope to God he proves me wrong and shows that he does know the difference between his proboscis and his posterior in the years ahead.
For the next few months at least, I'm going to leave him alone; my poor head can't take any more. ;D

Apologies Lar. Did nt mean to wreck your head or anything. Maybe your right about taking a break and see what happens. I think I ll do the same. Usually about now I d have an eye on FBD [ Ok I ve a problem] and league and ......... Think I ll be giving it a miss this time though. Nobody I know is up for it to be honest. Maybe I ll feel differently after Christmas and need a fix but the events of the last 2 summers have not filled me with any hope that 09 will be any better than bad with lots of spin. We re in a period of transition and it takes time to go from bad to worse. There s the the player resources to improve but I would nt hold my breath to be honest,
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on November 03, 2008, 10:03:45 AM
Quote from: spectator on October 25, 2008, 12:40:56 PM

Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on October 23, 2008, 01:49:04 PM
Until some of these minor lads get older I don't see an All-Ireland in us but I do think we can push alot harder than we did this year. It's up to Johnno to find new talent, bringing in some of the Ballagh lads would be a start, McDonald's return would also have to be seen as an addition, anyone at the county semi would have to agree.

I agree with most of that. Where will the new talent miraculously appear from though? The U-21's of two years ago are the lads who should be answering the call now surely? The political angle may be the reason why Ballagh representation was so scarce this year? What do you mean by the comment 'be more like the man of a few years ago' though? Intrigueing.

Just to answer your first one, there is more talent around the county and he is going about finding it. As I said introducing a few of the Ballagh lads would be a start. While not exactly 'new', Ger Cafferky is showing good signs that he has bulked up and may provide the full-back solution this year.

As for the second comment I just mean we need to see more of the Johnno during the Galway tenure. He doesn't seem to be the same man that led Galway to 2 All-Irelands, I just hope he can find that energy again, I think he can. I would be a lot less cynical and politically motovated than alot of posters here. I am taking the 2 year extension as a good sign, a sign that he is committed and does want to lead us to an All-Ireland. Having said all that, if next year doesn't go well the contract may not be worth much.
Of all the names suggested so far it further highlights that there really is nobody better for the job at the moment. Hopefully next year will be a good one and Johnno and Co. will prove me right.
Post by: spectator on November 03, 2008, 09:03:59 PM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on November 03, 2008, 10:03:45 AM
I would be a lot less cynical and politically motovated than alot of posters here. I am taking the 2 year extension as a good sign, a sign that he is committed and does want to lead us to an All-Ireland. Having said all that, if next year doesn't go well the contract may not be worth much.
Of all the names suggested so far it further highlights that there really is nobody better for the job at the moment. Hopefully next year will be a good one and Johnno and Co. will prove me right.

Yeah, fair comment OM.

There'll be a huge amount of pressure on Johnno to turn things around next year, all right. Introducing new talent at this stage and getting them up to serious championship level within six or seven months is an incredibly tough task though. It's an interesting point about the various agendas that exist around Mayo. Can he manage the county side to success, when it appears not everyone is rowing in behind him? Maybe Johnno feels he's weeded out the players who didn't fit his requirements, and knows the players at his disposal well enough now to crack on. Bringing in Ballagh players -  after dispensing with some of them after his first year - wouldn't be a wise move politically, as he could lose GAA votes in his constituency that way. But who can tell, players' form changes from one year to the next. He's damned if he does & damned if he doesn't, I reckon. I can't help but think it was unwise to mix sport and politics in this instance. Being a TD is an incredibly demanding job, time wise, while it also puts him in a position where he's fair game to attacks from all sides. Still, hopefully he'll prove the detractors wrong in the coming year. It'll be one of his finest achievements if he manages to mastermind a major success for Mayo next year, imo.
Post by: moysider on November 03, 2008, 11:25:46 PM
Quote from: spectator on November 03, 2008, 09:03:59 PM
Quote from: OirthearMhaigheo on November 03, 2008, 10:03:45 AM
I would be a lot less cynical and politically motovated than alot of posters here. I am taking the 2 year extension as a good sign, a sign that he is committed and does want to lead us to an All-Ireland. Having said all that, if next year doesn't go well the contract may not be worth much.

Yeah, fair comment OM.

There'll be a huge amount of pressure on Johnno to turn things around next year, all right. Introducing new talent at this stage and getting them up to serious championship level within six or seven months is an incredibly tough task though. It's an interesting point about the various agendas that exist around Mayo. Can he manage the county side to success, when it appears not everyone is rowing in behind him? Maybe Johnno feels he's weeded out the players who didn't fit his requirements, and knows the players at his disposal well enough now to crack on. Bringing in Ballagh players -  after dispensing with some of them after his first year - wouldn't be a wise move politically, as he could lose GAA votes in his constituency that way. But who can tell, players' form changes from one year to the next. He's damned if he does & damned if he doesn't, I reckon. I can't help but think it was unwise to mix sport and politics in this instance. Being a TD is an incredibly demanding job, time wise, while it also puts him in a position where he's fair game to attacks from all sides. Still, hopefully he'll prove the detractors wrong in the coming year. It'll be one of his finest achievements if he manages to mastermind a major success for Mayo next year, imo.

Interesting views alright. I ll admit to being a bit cynical or disillusioned myself. I m not motivated by politics however and could nt care less where Johnno is coming from politically as long as his team does the business on the field. This has not happened so far and he has to take lots of the blame for poor selections and lack of tactical astuteness for instance.
Not sure some of his weeding has improved the team though and the reality is that the weeding must continue and some of the players that he s included  over the last 2 years need to go. What were his requirements I wonder? There is a well debated individual that did not meet his requirements. Is he happy about all his other choices?  He has hard decisions to make again about some players and he can not take the soft option and drop older players. James Nallen is still one of his more important players, eg. He still needs to replace at least 5 and maybe more from 08 panel before even looking at the elder statesmen.
Playing Ballagh lads wont cost him any votes. Losing next year might though. I m not sure about the importance of this political angle. I think its overstated.  I mean dropping a certain individual that I wont name from the panel was political suicide in North Mayo. The local rivals might have tried to cripple him on the pitch down the years but there was massive respect for the lad in the region. Picking Ballagh lads is a yawn compared to that. I don t think Johnno s panels/selections are influenced by political motives. I believe he s above that nonsense. Just his 2 years in charge have been very poor from a football view, and he s made several poor decisions but there is no questioning his integrity. It s his judgement I would have a problem with.
   Whatever Ballagh lads are good enough must be played but who are good enough? Or I should say who will improve the ones currently there?  Barry Regan must have a big shout now. Looks a much better and fitter player than a couple of years ago. Andy Moran already there. Hanley there and gone. James Kilcullen? Midfield instead of ???. Barry Kelly? Playing well but where to play him?
Thing is he has lots of options for players in most positions. Full back the problem spot still. No obvious solution there. Barry Kelly looks a clever player and may be worth a look there . A long shot I know but its been done in the past, and he looks like too good a player to dismiss as just a club player, as we often do in this county.. But I cant see him play midfield and he looks like he s adaptable. More so than Kieran Conroy for example. Ger Cafferkey will soon break into the team. Full back probably not his best position - he s not the biggest- but he might be required to play there. I d prefer to see him get a year or two in the corner or on the wing before being thrown in there.
Post by: mannix on November 04, 2008, 09:51:32 AM
i would not vote for jom after the shafting and lies about kmac, and i think mayo are going nowhere fast with him in charge.
Mayo have definetly regressed under his charge, he cannot have time for 2 big jobs.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 04, 2008, 11:01:36 AM

Bringing in Ballagh players -  after dispensing with some of them after his first year - wouldn't be a wise move politically, as he could lose GAA votes in his constituency that way.

We're as well to forget about it if such thinking informs his selections.

Thankfully I think JOM is way above that, that's casting serious aspersions on his character spec.

I thought it was telling that he dropped Barry Regan in 07 after Mickey Moran had him in 06. And that Stephen Drake wasn't brought in either, Barry Kelly too. Normally managers are accused of favouring their own clubs, JOM looks like he's went to the other extreme. But who knows these lads better than him? He had them at school and was deeply involved with the club in 06. Perhaps he knows that they're only ever destined to be decent club footballers. But I think they deserve a shot. Christ if the Kilcullens can be given a go like they were in 2007, than Regan, Drake and Kelly definitely deserve a shot at it.

It looks like Barry Moran will be tried at full-forward now but can anyone say that Barry Regan wouldn't be a better second choice that Austy? I don't think so. Drake has been excellent in the corner this year, by all accounts, and is a top wing-back too. A much better option than Colm Boyle, imo, for instance. Barry Kelly has been, consistently, the best club midfielder in Mayo for the last three years. That has to be rewarded. Time will tell. I hope a decent club championship run doesn't get in the way of these lads getting their shot at Mayo.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on November 04, 2008, 01:45:28 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on November 04, 2008, 11:01:36 AM

Bringing in Ballagh players -  after dispensing with some of them after his first year - wouldn't be a wise move politically, as he could lose GAA votes in his constituency that way.

Thankfully I think JOM is way above that, that's casting serious aspersions on his character spec.
I thought it was telling that he dropped Barry Regan in 07 after Mickey Moran had him in 06. And that Stephen Drake wasn't brought in either, Barry Kelly too. Normally managers are accused of favouring their own clubs, JOM looks like he's went to the other extreme. But who knows these lads better than him? He had them at school and was deeply involved with the club in 06. Perhaps he knows that they're only ever destined to be decent club footballers. But I think they deserve a shot. Christ if the Kilcullens can be given a go like they were in 2007, than Regan, Drake and Kelly definitely deserve a shot at it.

It looks like Barry Moran will be tried at full-forward now but can anyone say that Barry Regan wouldn't be a better second choice that Austy? I don't think so. Drake has been excellent in the corner this year, by all accounts, and is a top wing-back too. A much better option than Colm Boyle, imo, for instance. Barry Kelly has been, consistently, the best club midfielder in Mayo for the last three years. That has to be rewarded. Time will tell. I hope a decent club championship run doesn't get in the way of these lads getting their shot at Mayo.

Spot on R&G, I agree 100% with that comment. That's not the reason he didn't pick them as far as I'm concerned.
I think Drake and Regan will be involved this time because they have improved alot as players. Barry Kelly would be very useful in the half forward line at county level, I don't know if he has ever even gone for trials though, he hasn't had the same drive to play inter-county as some others, maybe that will change this year.
Post by: spectator on November 05, 2008, 12:14:49 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on November 04, 2008, 11:01:36 AM

Fair enough, I didn't intend it to be read as casting aspersions on Johnno's character. It's a relatively minor aspect, which Mayo supporters themselves have discussed when trying to  make sense of the selection policies from league to championship last year. But if anyone took offence, my apologies.

Post by: stephenite on November 05, 2008, 12:44:02 AM
The fact that he saw fit to drop Mayo's greatest ever footballer should point to a man who's not afraid to make hard calls for what he feels is the sake of the team, ahead of anything his constituents might think of him.
Mayo is a football county before anything else and JOM will probably get take a tanking in the next election if things don't improve on the football field, and he knows it.
Post by: Barney on November 05, 2008, 08:18:37 AM
Looks like the League matches are going to be in Castlebar anyhow. This is from independent.ie (who have already written Roscommon off):

QuoteKeith Higgins has confirmed that he will return from Australia in time to take his place on the Mayo football panel for their championship opener against New York in May. The dual star heads Down Under this week for a six-month stint, but will return in time to join up with John O'Mahony's squad.

Should Mayo win that tie they will meet Leitrim in Castlebar in the Connacht semi-final, with the redeveloped McHale Park expected to be completed in time for the return of Mickey Moran and John Morrison. Mayo will play all of their four home National League games at McHale Park, despite the ongoing development work.

"As of now we're hoping to host all our home games in McHale Park. I've been talking to the builders in the last few days and they're very pleased with the way the work is progressing. By the time the league starts the McHale Park road side of the pitch and the toilets on that side should be ready," said Mayo County Board chairman James Waldron.
Post by: m@yoman on November 05, 2008, 09:00:44 PM
The way things are going politically, I would personally be very surprised if there isn't a General Election next year.......and where does that leave JOM???

If one is called for c.May, then (presuming he goes for re-election of course) the whole canvassing and knocking on doors will be back again for him...I think next year will be a crucial year in the JOM reign.....A run similar to this year and I feel he may kiss goodbye to 2 extra years....(contracts don't mean a lot these days...whether you work for Mayo GAA or the local factory down the road it would seem!!)

A good League campaign (staying up!) is going to take a bit of planning.....A trip to NYC cant be organised the week before the plane leaves Ireland West (Knock to most normal people!) airport....and hopefully then a Connacht championship run must yield some success......

"hows things, any chance of the vote???"
Post by: Rossfan on November 05, 2008, 10:33:15 PM
Quote from: moysider on November 03, 2008, 11:25:46 PM

Playing Ballagh lads wont cost him any votes.

It'll hardly gain him any as they will be voting in their own Roscommon constiruency -like J'O'M also does ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 06, 2008, 04:53:22 AM
Quote from: spectator on November 05, 2008, 12:14:49 AM

Fair enough, I didn't intend it to be read as casting aspersions on Johnno's character. It's a relatively minor aspect, which Mayo supporters themselves have discussed when trying to  make sense of the selection policies from league to championship last year. But if anyone took offence, my apologies.

No worries spectator.

By the way does anyone know what this close season in November and December means in reality? LIke is it stritchly prohibited for JOM to have a Mayo get together of any sort?
Post by: moysider on November 06, 2008, 02:35:34 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 05, 2008, 10:33:15 PM
Quote from: moysider on November 03, 2008, 11:25:46 PM

Playing Ballagh lads wont cost him any votes.

It'll hardly gain him any as they will be voting in their own Roscommon constiruency -like J'O'M also does ;)

Whatever. Point is he pissed off a lot of people in Mayo this year. An opinion poll would be interesting now to see if that would affect him with voters. Playing Ballagh lads or not wont put him up or down. Neither will giving a few lads within his constituency a run. Only two football issues might damage him.

MacDonaldgate.

2 awful championship seasons.

I m not sure how damaged he is by those - if at all. As I said an opinion poll would be interesting. And attitude would vary considerably within the county I d say.