GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Over the Bar on September 29, 2008, 12:06:49 PM

Title: Kyle Coney set to reject Aussie Rules?
Post by: Over the Bar on September 29, 2008, 12:06:49 PM
Great news for Tyrone & Ardboe if true!

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0929/1222420013976.html

Coney likely to resist lure of Australia

THE GAA may have just caught a break in the struggle to keep hold of their most talented young players. The potential golden future that now lies in front of Tyrone footballers looks to have swayed Kyle Coney from taking up a rookie contract with the Sydney Swans in November.

The teenager refused to confirm or deny the rumours emanating over the weekend but it looks increasingly likely he will follow the lead of Seán Cavanagh a few seasons back and stay put.

"My mind is now set on Ardboe," said Coney after Saturday's game. "I have to get back to normality with the club. I'm not away anywhere yet. I've not made any final plans yet.

"My aim is to play senior football for Tyrone. Definitely. There is no better feeling than playing for your county, especially winning, sure, what more could you want?

"My options are still firmly open and they will be until I make any decisions further down the line."

Sounds positive for Tyrone.

"Thanks lads, I enjoyed that," said Aiden O'Shea, standing outside the Mayo changing rooms as two Tyrone players offered commiserations. It was some statement from a teenager who had just experienced the worst hurt sport can deliver.

The contrast in emotions was stark, but both teams still exchanged gear afterwards. Tyrone had a spare set of jerseys. Just in case. They really do think of everything. That is the difference right now. Tyrone laid solid foundations and are set to reap the long term benefits.

So little separated the teams, but an underlining gulf exists that Mayo boss Ray Dempsey addressed when asked to make sense of what just transpired.

"We were beaten by a very, very good side, I don't know more talented but definitely a more technical, team in Tyrone.

"The huge work they are doing at underage, they really set out 10 years ago to become power-houses in football and that's really what they are doing. We are delighted, I suppose we are no more than 10 months at it so going forward, from our point of view, if we want to be consistent and taken serious we have to really up our coaching and get the real support and the backing that's needed to compete with the Tyrones of this world.

"It may be just putting words into action. Getting the school structures stronger. Getting underage stronger. Putting people into place to technically develop players . . . We did our damnedest to be going back over the Shannon with the cup.

"We've beaten Kerry and brought Tyrone to a replay and extra-time so I don't know what we have to do to win an All-Ireland. We're down, but we have to see do we really want to be consistent at this level."

Life in the house of pain continues, but Sam and his young friend Tom Markham will winter well in Tyrone.

Title: Re: Kyle Coney set to reject Aussie Rules?
Post by: ziggysego on September 29, 2008, 12:07:47 PM
I've heard that in recent days also and from some people 'in the know'.

Good news for Tyrone football if it's true.
Post by: give her dixie on September 29, 2008, 12:12:19 PM
sounds like good news.
Lets hope he stays put and gives us many memorable appearances in the Red Hand shirt..
Post by: Onion Bag on September 29, 2008, 12:22:37 PM
He looks like a cocky bastard 
Post by: RONAN on September 29, 2008, 12:23:31 PM
Sorry to disappoint you lads but definitely goin
Post by: Over the Bar on September 29, 2008, 12:37:03 PM
QuoteHe looks like a cocky b**tard 

Valued contribution there Onion Bag!
Post by: rrhf on September 29, 2008, 12:44:02 PM
Exactly can we log that comment by onion bag and put it down as jealousy and begrudgery against a minor.  Shame on you.  We should be encouraging these lads to stay in our games and sure even if they are confident individuals isnt that to be valued.     
Post by: thebandit on September 29, 2008, 12:47:47 PM
He's 18 years of age and approaching legendry status already..... I'd be cocky!!!

Btw he's a nice lad
Post by: RONAN on September 29, 2008, 12:51:12 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 29, 2008, 12:37:03 PM

Valued contribution there Onion Bag!
Unreal comment, wat a tool!!!
Post by: ziggysego on September 29, 2008, 12:52:29 PM
I was told the chances of Coney heading to Australia was slim and if he did, he would only be going for 2-3 years tops.
Post by: stephenite on September 29, 2008, 12:53:51 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 29, 2008, 12:52:29 PM
I was told the chances of Coney heading to Australia was slim and if he did, he would only be going for 2-3 years tops.

That's what Tadhg Kennelly said
Post by: RONAN on September 29, 2008, 12:56:30 PM
He has signed a 2 year rookie contract, set to head off at the start of Nov, take that as a fact lads.
Post by: orangeman on September 29, 2008, 01:46:39 PM
Quote from: RONAN on September 29, 2008, 12:56:30 PM
He has signed a 2 year rookie contract, set to head off at the start of Nov, take that as a fact lads.

He must have told you something different to what he has told eveybody else as past few weeks Ronan ! Can you enlighten us please ?
Post by: Jinxy on September 29, 2008, 01:57:56 PM
He's signed a contract. Would he go back on this?
Post by: Onion Bag on September 29, 2008, 02:00:46 PM
Quote from: rrhf on September 29, 2008, 12:44:02 PM
Exactly can we log that comment by onion bag and put it down as jealousy and begrudgery against a minor.  Shame on you.  We should be encouraging these lads to stay in our games and sure even if they are confident individuals isnt that to be valued.     

What have i got to be jealous about, The lad has an exceptional talent, defintely one for the future, all i said is he looks as if he has got a very high opinion of himself i.e cocky
Post by: scalder on September 29, 2008, 02:01:29 PM
A contract is not worth a bollix, he can tear it up! He'd be some addition beside Cavanagh, a few Tyrone players are the wrong side of 30 so it would be a big boost to hold on to him.
Post by: Over the Bar on September 29, 2008, 02:09:25 PM

QuoteWhat have i got to be jealous about, The lad has an exceptional talent, defintely one for the future, all i said is he looks as if he has got a very high opinion of himself i.e cocky

Sure if he looks cocky he probably is..... the b*stard!!   ::)

Post by: Jinxy on September 29, 2008, 02:12:37 PM
If he does change his mind the Swans will be furious. F*ck them sez you!
Post by: Doire abú on September 29, 2008, 02:14:56 PM
f**k I hope the Sdyney Swans aren't annoyed.  :D

Have also heard this rumour from people who would know the past couple of weeks.
Post by: Tubberman on September 29, 2008, 02:21:43 PM
He is one of the main reasons Mayo aren't All-Ireland minor champions this year, but I hope he stays.
He's a great prospect (but far from the finished article as you'd expect for a minor) so obviously it's better for our game if he stays put.
If a couple of high-profile players turn down the advances of the AFL, it may turn the tide and we could start seeing more of our best prospects deciding to stay here to try and win an All-Ireland with their county.
Post by: orangeman on September 29, 2008, 02:25:08 PM
Sydney Swans - I'm sure it wouldn't be the first time Sydney Swans have broken a contract or had one broken !

Post by: Onion Bag on September 29, 2008, 02:35:22 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on September 29, 2008, 02:09:25 PM

QuoteWhat have i got to be jealous about, The lad has an exceptional talent, defintely one for the future, all i said is he looks as if he has got a very high opinion of himself i.e cocky

Sure if he looks cocky he probably is..... the b*stard!!   ::)

why are you being so defensive of the lad, all i said was that he looked cocky, oh and i did say he word bastard, but thats just a term that goes with cocky, so whats the big deal

Post by: nrico2006 on September 29, 2008, 02:45:09 PM
QuoteA contract is not worth a bollix, he can tear it up! He'd be some addition beside Cavanagh, a few Tyrone players are the wrong side of 30 so it would be a big boost to hold on to him.

Exactly, a contract is worth nothing.  He would be some addition to the team, imagine next year having a sharp SON back with hopefully an improved BMG and the like of Mugsy, Mulgrew, Colm Cavanagh challenging for starting slots with Coney thrown into the mix.  Now hopefully McGinn will come around  ;)
Post by: Onion Bag on September 29, 2008, 02:48:56 PM
Tell me this lads, where was Mulgrew this season, Injured? Off Fire? or whats the story
Post by: RONAN on September 29, 2008, 02:52:41 PM
Maybe i'm wrong lads but in my opinion the lad is in a win/win situation. He's 18, gets a chance of a life-time, professional training for a couple of years, if he makes it the lad ends up a star. If he doesnt make it, he comes home, 20 years of age, more than likely filled out, and joins the best team in the Country (as a Derry man that kills me to say that).
Post by: Over the Bar on September 29, 2008, 02:54:34 PM
QuoteTell me this lads, where was Mulgrew this season, Injured? Off Fire? or whats the story

Maybe Mickey Harte dropped him for being too cocky?
Post by: Onion Bag on September 29, 2008, 02:56:03 PM
What is wrong with you overthebar? Time of the month?
Post by: orangeman on September 29, 2008, 02:57:11 PM
Tyrone star Sean Cavanagh has told Red Hand County minor star Kyle Coney that he should rethink his decision to head to the Australian Football League.

Coney signed a two-year rookie deal with the Sydney Swans in July but there have been reports that the Ardboe lad may be reconsidering his decision.

Cavanagh appeared to confirm Coney's doubts over the deal on Monday.

"I spoke to Kyle after the first All-Ireland minor final and he was humming and hawing," said Cavanagh.

"And after speaking to his parents as well, they were maybe hoping that Kyle would stay at home.

"When you see his performances for the minors, you can see why there is interest in him in Australia.

"But the way the GAA is going at the mimute, my advice to him would be to stay with the GAA because there are that many opportunities.

When you go over as an international rookie, you're not talking about big money - maybe around 20,000 Euro a year

Sean Cavanagh

"With the way Tyrone are going at the minute, it would be hard for him to turn his back on his county.

"But at the end of the day, it's a personal decision for him."

Cavanagh has turned down a couple of offers to move the AFL and Coney sought out the Moy man's reasons for not making the move.

"He asked me why I turned it down and the main reason was that I didn't want to walk away from the game I love and go over and play a game that maybe I wouldn't love so much or maybe not even like at all.

"And when you go over as an international rookie, you're not talking about big money - maybe around 20,000 Euro a year.

"From that point of view, being a professional athlete, but not being paid great money, is not ideal."

In 2006, Down lost one of their outstanding young talents when Martin Clarke joined AFL side Collingwood while several other young GAA stars have also moved Down Under.

Post by: tonesfirstandlast on September 29, 2008, 02:59:35 PM
Quote from: RONAN on September 29, 2008, 02:52:41 PM
Maybe i'm wrong lads but in my opinion the lad is in a win/win situation. He's 18, gets a chance of a life-time, professional training for a couple of years, if he makes it the lad ends up a star. If he doesnt make it, he comes home, 20 years of age, more than likely filled out, and joins the best team in the Country (as a Derry man that kills me to say that).

Isn't he a cousin of yours Ronan . Looks and plays like you. What a legend Ronan WAS!
Post by: gerry on September 29, 2008, 04:06:59 PM
he's probably having second thoughts about going to oz after winning the all ireland at the weekend, hopefully he will stay and play for the seniors in a few years.

the only reason he come back in 2 to 3 years if it did not work out for him in oz, i do not believe if all was going well for him he would pack it in to play gaa.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 29, 2008, 04:08:59 PM
Quote from: RONAN on September 29, 2008, 02:52:41 PM
+1, there's been a fair few before who've done that, tohill being the prime example.
Post by: Roy on September 29, 2008, 04:13:33 PM
It would be very nice to get Mc Ginn back, he had potential to be the next Canavan, but who is advising the lad - Is he in communication with anyone from Tyrone GAA.   I would hope a fellow of his skill level would have more ambition than to play in front of a couple of thousand people a week for a few hundred a week if he moves on to become a serious level professional in say England or Scotland but I mean Derry City, then he may deem it will have been worth his while, but when I see where his undoubted talent  is being wasted as a Tyrone man it makes me sick for the lad.  What age is he - 22 he has undoubtedly missed one all Ireland medal so far and will probably discover too late what a mistake he is making.  Puddle league soccor.  Well I suppose each to their own.  Derry city cant sustain professionalism even at that level for too long anyway.    
Post by: Whacker on September 29, 2008, 04:16:06 PM
Lads sorry for being a bit slow?  But McGinn is.......
Post by: Roy on September 29, 2008, 04:19:50 PM
Sorry Whacker, hes a lad playing for Derry City, best feet in Tyrone but I think  hes  a "full time pro" up there.  I cant stomach losing lads like these to lower paid so called professional sports same as Coney. 
Post by: Whacker on September 29, 2008, 04:27:48 PM
Same Niall McGinn who was in BIFHE?
Post by: Roy on September 29, 2008, 04:33:11 PM
I couldnt tell ye,whats BIFHE?
Post by: Onion Bag on September 29, 2008, 04:34:25 PM
A drinking den down in Belfast
Post by: ziggysego on September 29, 2008, 04:44:52 PM
Quote from: Roy on September 29, 2008, 04:33:11 PM

Belfast Institute of Further and Higher Education

ie Belfast Tech ;)
Post by: Bensars on September 29, 2008, 04:46:24 PM
Quote from: Roy on September 29, 2008, 04:33:11 PM

Further education for those who want to go to Belfast, but don't have the grades. Courses may include needlework, flower arranging  and babysitting.
Post by: Onion Bag on September 29, 2008, 04:47:16 PM
And Home Economics
Post by: ziggysego on September 29, 2008, 04:47:29 PM
Quote from: Bensars on September 29, 2008, 04:46:24 PM
Further education for those who want to go to belfast, but dont have the grades. Courses may include needlework, flower arranging, and babysitting.

Snob  :P
Post by: reddgnhand on September 29, 2008, 05:57:12 PM
Quote from: Whacker on September 29, 2008, 04:27:48 PM
Same Niall McGinn who was in BIFHE?

Same one Whacker. Seem's to be doing well at Derry and Norwich City are interested.
Post by: Rav67 on September 29, 2008, 07:57:49 PM
McGinn is a very handy winger in soccer, possibly could make it across the water.  The offer of full-time professional sport would be a hard one to turn down especially when you still get to live at home so don't see how anyone can complain about what he's doing.

What gaa club is he from originally (I take it he doesn't play football now at all?)  How good was he at minor level?
Post by: tyrone86 on September 29, 2008, 08:38:36 PM
Aye, Donaghmore. Inexplicably, he never started a game for Tyrone at underage. Was a sub for the minors in 05, came on v Down and scored 5 from play before Colgan's last minute goal beat them. Was a sub for the u21s in 07 and came on and scored 4 points in the second half v Armagh and almost pulled them out of the fire.
Post by: Over the Bar on September 29, 2008, 10:09:22 PM
QuoteWhat is wrong with you overthebar? Time of the month?

Yeah, that time of the month of September when we bag 2 all-Irelands in a week.   ;D :D ;D

Post by: laceer on September 30, 2008, 11:07:51 AM
Quote from: Roy on September 29, 2008, 04:19:50 PM
Sorry Whacker, hes a lad playing for Derry City, best feet in Tyrone but I think  hes  a "full time pro" up there.  I cant stomach losing lads like these to lower paid so called professional sports same as Coney. 

best feet and probably the fastest player in Tyrone.Absolutely lightening quick
Post by: Over the Bar on September 30, 2008, 11:11:50 AM
QuoteI cant stomach losing lads like these to lower paid so called professional sports same as Coney. 

Lower paid than what? :P

In fairness you can't really compare the Irish laugh league to the AFL.
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2008, 09:19:57 AM
Irish News today -Kyle Coney is talking to Paddy Heaney and he confirms he'll be off to Australia - Ronan Rocks, his cousin is arranging to meet Anthnoy Tohill and others in order to best prepare him for his career in AFL.

Kyle is a great talent and I think the Australians are getting one of the best talents there is in Australia. There's n guarantee that he'll be another Martin Clarke or Tadhg Kennelly but better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at alll !
Post by: fred the red on October 02, 2008, 09:37:42 AM
Fair play to the lad, hope he makes it out there.
Post by: Minder on October 02, 2008, 09:39:00 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 29, 2008, 12:07:47 PM
I've heard that in recent days also and from some people 'in the know'.

Good news for Tyrone football if it's true.

Not quite "in the know" Ziggy.......
Post by: full back on October 02, 2008, 09:41:32 AM
Ziggy broke the story about SON, he cant get them all right
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2008, 09:42:25 AM
Quote from: full back on October 02, 2008, 09:41:32 AM

You have to admit all the same that Ziggy got the scoop of the year !
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 09:45:16 AM
Thanks for defending me guys. Minder must think I'm the miracle man.

Sad to see that Coney has taken up his offer in the AFL. I wish him well and hope he succeeds.
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2008, 09:48:01 AM
Tyrone minor star Kyle Coney has confirmed that he will head to Australia in November to begin an AFL career with the Sydney Swans.

Coney signed a two-year rookie deal in July and he has denied suggestions that he was wavering over his decision.

Earlier this week, Sean Cavanagh said that he had advised Coney to reconsider and said the youngster appeared to be "humming and hawing" over the move.

However, Coney told the Irish News that "There are no major second thoughts".

"That was just me and him (Cavanagh) talking," added Coney
Post by: Minder on October 02, 2008, 09:52:27 AM

I thought that was filthylittlebeast.
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 09:53:57 AM
Quote from: Minder on October 02, 2008, 09:52:27 AM

What the fuc...??? IT WAS ME!!!!!!!  >:(
Post by: Minder on October 02, 2008, 09:58:47 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 09:53:57 AM

What the f**...??? IT WAS ME!!!!!!!  >:(

I remember the two threads were merged and filthylittlebeast was the thread starter, its official.
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2008, 09:59:50 AM
Quote from: Minder on October 02, 2008, 09:58:47 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 09:53:57 AM

What the f**...??? IT WAS ME!!!!!!!  >:(

I remember the two threads were merged and filthylittlebeast was the thread starter, its official.

Winder !
Post by: Over the Bar on October 02, 2008, 10:02:35 AM
I'd hoped that he might have seen the possibility of an Senior AI medal in the next 2-3 years as too much of an incentive but he has to make the decision that's right for him.   Good luck to the lad as he's done his bit for Tyrone this year.
Post by: full back on October 02, 2008, 10:16:14 AM
Now that I come to think of it Ziggy........
Who did start the thread?
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 10:17:29 AM
I did full back, but it got merged with another SON thread.
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2008, 10:17:45 AM
FOR YEARS the corridors of the Sydney Swans base have echoed with the sound of foreign accents.

Tadhg Kennelly's County Kerry lilt is said to be stronger since the arrival of rookie Brendan Murphy from Carlow, and next year the signing of County Tyrone's Kyle Coney will add a northern twang to the Irish inflection on the training track.

And this pre-season, the playing group will encounter another foreign accent, with Canadian rugby player Mike Pyke the latest international recruit. Having spent the last two years in France playing for US Montauban, he's just glad his new teammates speak English.

"It was quite difficult because in team meetings I always had to have one of the players who spoke English sitting beside me so they could translate," Pyke says.

"Frenchies are really coy, because a lot of them speak English but they don't tell you. There was one guy who would always listen to our conversations and it was only when I was there for five months that I realised he could actually speak English perfectly."

Pyke took French lessons and his ability to speak the language has improved to the point where he slips into it when attempting to hone his football skills.

"Occasionally it comes out because I was there for so long. So if I get frustrated I might swear in French," he laughs.

Pyke, 24, isn't the first or last rugby player to transfer to France. All Blacks' five-eighth Dan Carter, who will join French side Perpignan in December, has unwittingly raised the profile of Pyke's rugby exploits.

Since the 200cm, 105kg full-back intercepted a Carter pass during a Canada-NZ match in the lead up to the 2007 World Cup for a spectacular try he's become a big hit on YouTube.

"Brendan Murphy found that video and I think he's told every player in the locker room to go and look me up."

YouTube played a role in Pyke's footy research as he watched as much footage as he could before trialling with the Swans, but he admits even the highest-profile players weren't familiar.

"I sort of recognised Goodsey and Barry (Hall) but at the same time if someone had asked me what their names were I would have had no idea."

Australia is the fourth stop in a sporting career that has seen him play union in England and Scotland as well as France. In the midst of it all, Pyke developed a fascination for Australian football thanks to friend Matt Woodland, who lives in Melbourne.

"He really encouraged me and said that I would be perfect for it," he said.

And far from regretting his decision, Pyke believes more athletes would switch sports if the opportunity came their way.

"All the rugby players I've spoken to think it's awesome. None of them have said, 'I can't believe you're leaving'. A couple of them have even said 'Can you see if they need someone else?'"
Post by: EC Unique on October 02, 2008, 10:51:42 AM
Best of luck to the lad. This is a massive step and will test him in all sorts of ways. I doubt if we have seen the last of him in a Tyrone Jersey ;)
Post by: AbbeySider on October 02, 2008, 01:19:11 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 02, 2008, 09:48:01 AM
Tyrone minor star Kyle Coney has confirmed that he will head to Australia in November to begin an AFL career with the Sydney Swans.

Coney signed a two-year rookie deal in July and he has denied suggestions that he was wavering over his decision.

Earlier this week, Sean Cavanagh said that he had advised Coney to reconsider and said the youngster appeared to be "humming and hawing" over the move.

However, Coney told the Irish News that "There are no major second thoughts".

"That was just me and him (Cavanagh) talking," added Coney

The game has lost another great talent.
I thought he was one of the best players on the pitch in the minor All-Ireland finals, especially the replay.
He tormented our backs, a huge loss to Tyrone. Best of luck to him though, its not easy leaving.
Post by: ykickamoocow on October 02, 2008, 01:39:27 PM
I know you guys probably dont want to hear from a Swans fan but i thought id ask just how tall Kyle Coney is?
Post by: Mickeys beard on October 02, 2008, 01:47:31 PM
Roughly Eight feet.
Title: mike pyke v nz
Post by: fred the red on October 02, 2008, 01:48:58 PM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=zqOCGfnOzWI (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=zqOCGfnOzWI)
Post by: Jinxy on October 02, 2008, 01:50:19 PM
He looks quite tall. I'd say he'd be at least 190cm (I know you aussies love your centimetres!). He should fill out into a big man.
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2008, 02:09:21 PM
Quote from: ykickamoocow on October 02, 2008, 01:39:27 PM
I know you guys probably dont want to hear from a Swans fan but i thought id ask just how tall Kyle Coney is?

9 yards ! 
Post by: ziggysego on October 02, 2008, 02:35:50 PM
At least twice the height of me.
Post by: under the bar on October 02, 2008, 02:48:23 PM
QuoteI know you guys probably dont want to hear from a Swans fan but i thought id ask just how tall Kyle Coney is?

Like every man in Tyrone he is 10 feet tall at the moment!  ;D :D ;D
Post by: orangeman on October 02, 2008, 02:49:10 PM

What height do you need to be ???
Post by: thejuice on October 02, 2008, 03:31:22 PM
pity he's going, ah well, best of luck to him.

I was talking to this young lad who was saying that most young lads his age (under-20) cant be bothered with GAA anymore, it was "too much effort for nothing, not like you could make any money from it". All his friends were happier to go spend their time on the piss and that kinda shite. Seems like pulling on the green jersey isnt that important to kids anymore.  :'(  hope its not true.

Not saying thats the case with Kyle by the way,
Post by: ykickamoocow on October 02, 2008, 03:45:04 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 02, 2008, 02:49:10 PM

What height do you need to be ???

Well if he is quite tall then it would be best if he was between 192cm and 197cm. That is the height of either a Key Position Defender or a Key Position Forward.
Post by: Old Bill on October 02, 2008, 04:58:35 PM
does anyone think it was unfair of sean cavanagh to fuel the rumours in papers this week that coney was to stay? i do and i think it put undue pressure on the lad.
Post by: fred the red on October 02, 2008, 05:00:56 PM
Quote from: Old Bill on October 02, 2008, 04:58:35 PM
does anyone think it was unfair of sean cavanagh to fuel the rumours in papers this week that coney was to stay? i do and i think it put undue pressure on the lad.

Yeah, and it was unfair of a few of the members of this board to add fuel to the flames.
Post by: Zapatista on October 02, 2008, 05:03:46 PM
Quote from: thejuice on October 02, 2008, 03:31:22 PM
pity he's going, ah well, best of luck to him.

I was talking to this young lad who was saying that most young lads his age (under-20) cant be bothered with GAA anymore, it was "too much effort for nothing, not like you could make any money from it". All his friends were happier to go spend their time on the piss and that kinda shite. Seems like pulling on the green jersey isnt that important to kids anymore.  :'(  hope its not true.

Not saying thats the case with Kyle by the way,

This has always been the case. Many players under the age of 20 don't go on to play at a high level. Many quit for one reason or another. I quit becuase I wasn't good enough and it was too much effort for nothing.Some will go and come back and some will just be happy playing on lower level requiring less commitment and work. Then there are always some who will put in the hard work and commitment. I'm 29 now and I there are about 3 lads who I played underage with still playing. This is common in most clubs. I wouldn't worry to much about that bloke.
Post by: Old Bill on October 02, 2008, 05:21:03 PM
Quote from: fred the red on October 02, 2008, 05:00:56 PM

Yeah, and it was unfair of a few of the members of this board to add fuel to the flames.
agreed. While having alot of time for cavanagh as a fotballer and as a person (i dont really know him), he would be better of in trying to attract niall mc ginn away from derry city as he has loads of potential as well than trying to put off a fella from a one a million opportunity
Post by: Jinxy on October 02, 2008, 06:31:58 PM
Quote from: Old Bill on October 02, 2008, 05:21:03 PM

agreed. While having alot of time for cavanagh as a fotballer and as a person (i dont really know him), he would be better of in trying to attract niall mc ginn away from derry city as he has loads of potential as well than trying to put off a fella from a one a million opportunity

Lets not lose the run of ourselves here.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on October 02, 2008, 07:47:55 PM
Maybe we should consider coaching aussie rules at under age level as well as gaelic football. It would give the young lads a much better chance of making it in Austraillia and it would be nice to do the good Aussie lads a favour. Maybe Dermit McNicholl or some of those guys could even get some of the nice Aussie chaps to come over and take some of the sessions. A few games could be played as well. I'd say it would mean a lot more players making the grade over there and could really add to the AFL.
Post by: orangeman on October 03, 2008, 09:08:09 AM
Could we not play an Aussie Rules exhibition game in Croke Park at half time on AI final day ?.
Post by: The Gs Man on October 03, 2008, 09:08:27 AM
Quote from: Old Bill on October 02, 2008, 05:21:03 PM

You wouldn't half know Sean Cavanagh was an accountant.  Heard him being interviewed about Coney's move and he was talking about the opportunity cost of staying and all that caper!  

Post by: cornafean on October 03, 2008, 10:04:59 AM

I can't imagine that this was Sean's intention. Most likely he was asked a question by a journalist and he answered it honestly. If he chooses not to speak in riddles, I would count that as a positive.
Post by: rrhf on October 03, 2008, 10:17:30 AM
Interesting to see Mc Ginns name brought up again - a much superior prospect to Coney in my opinion.  Did we try to keep him who knows? The under 21 management are certainly guilt of disincentivising the lad, whilst the soccor guys in Dungannon were telling Niall he could play accroos the water the uinder 21 management were telling him he wasnt good enough for their team - and I believe they lost 2 all ireland titles for Tyrone in the process.  Good luck to Niall he loves his Gaelic but he was hampered in his progress in it by the wrong people in the wrong job.  If Mc Ginn did actually physically sign for good money in England then It would be like the Coney situation if you are good enough to make a profession out of it - fair play,  but to lose our greatest attacking prospect to a finacially unstable league with max 2000 a week fans and no sustainable long term future at current income really sticks in my craw. 
Post by: Bensars on October 03, 2008, 10:26:29 AM
If i remember correctly Mc Ginn was supposedly said to have opted to the soccer for one last bash about a year ago. If it didnt lead to anything he would go back to the gaelic. 
Post by: give her dixie on October 03, 2008, 10:59:42 AM
Quote from: rrhf on October 03, 2008, 10:17:30 AM
Interesting to see Mc Ginns name brought up again - a much superior prospect to Coney in my opinion.  Did we try to keep him who knows? The under 21 management are certainly guilt of disincentivising the lad, whilst the soccor guys in Dungannon were telling Niall he could play accroos the water the uinder 21 management were telling him he wasnt good enough for their team - and I believe they lost 2 all ireland titles for Tyrone in the process.  Good luck to Niall he loves his Gaelic but "he was hampered in his progress in it by the wrong people in the wrong job".  If Mc Ginn did actually physically sign for good money in England then It would be like the Coney situation if you are good enough to make a profession out of it - fair play,  but to lose our greatest attacking prospect to a finacially unstable league with max 2000 a week fans and no sustainable long term future at current income really sticks in my craw. 

Wrong people in the wrong job could certaintly apply to his agent. A "Gael" from Tyrone who happens to be chairman of Dungannon Swifts!
Now, tell me, who stood to make out on that transfer to Derry?
Post by: orangeman on October 03, 2008, 03:12:47 PM
Can anyone post the article in this week's Gaelic Life about Mickey Harte bemoaning the loss of Kyle of Aussie Rules ??.
Post by: Yes I Would on October 07, 2008, 10:47:16 PM
Heaney takes an intersting slant in todays IN on Coneys departure. Tryin to convince the Tyrone folk that his leaving may not be such a bad thing.

Post by: maggie on October 07, 2008, 10:53:04 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on October 07, 2008, 10:47:16 PM
Heaney takes an intersting slant in todays IN on Coneys departure. Tryin to convince the Tyrone folk that his leaving may not be such a bad thing.

Any chance of posting it?
Post by: fred the red on October 07, 2008, 10:56:10 PM
How many irish are now on the books in oz? that is 3 ulstermen...Clarke, Dyas and now Coney
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 07, 2008, 10:57:20 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 03, 2008, 03:12:47 PM
Can anyone post the article in this week's Gaelic Life about Mickey Harte bemoaning the loss of Kyle of Aussie Rules ??.

Sorry orangeman, had meant to get back to you on this: it's not possible to copy and paste from Gaelic Life any more (can't save as a pdf -- they've removed that feature).

Anyway, here's that Heaney article in today's Irish News:

Coney move could benefit Red Hands in the long term
Against the Breeze
By Paddy Heaney in Kerry

KYLE Coney has confirmed that he will be honouring the contract he signed with the Sydney Swans and no-one in Tyrone should be annoyed to see the teenager go.

It could prove to be a huge blessing in disguise for Tyrone football even though some Red Hand gaels will find it hard to share that opinion.

Tyrone have just completed the All-Ireland double at senior and minor level while St Patrick's Dungannon are the All-Ireland colleges champions. The county is rapidly becoming the Kerry of the north.

Many Tyrone supporters would believe that if Coney stuck around then he would significantly enhance the chances of the Sam Maguire Cup becoming a regular visitor to their county. But the record books and Tyrone's recent history show us that it doesn't quite work like that.

Kerry were the last county to complete the senior and minor double. In 1980, the seniors beat Offaly and the minors beat Derry. Yet, four years later, only two members from that minor team, Ambrose O'Donovan and Tom Spillane, had graduated to the senior side that lifted Sam.

The days of teenagers waltzing onto senior teams are coming to an end. Kerry's Tommy Walsh is a shoo-in for this year's Young Player of the Year award. He's virtually the only player under 21 years of age who made any impact in this year's Championship.

Senior football is no place for boys and there is no way Mickey Harte would parachute Coney into the senior team. Minors need a few years to adjust to the physicality of senior football.

Take the example of Philip Jordan, a 28-year-old in the prime of his career. Jordan has trained diligently since he won an All-Ireland minor medal a decade ago. This year, Jordan believes he has trained harder than at any other time in his career.

Before Tyrone played Wexford in the All-Ireland semi-final, he calculated that he did 200 sessions since the New Year (this included his commitments with Tyrone, the Moy, weights, and recovery sessions). The hidden statistic is that there were only 43 evenings since the start of the year when Jordan was not engaged in some activity related to football.

This explains why he could score three points from centre half-back against Wexford. It also explains why a raw 18-year-old like Coney would be out of his depth in the company of men like Philip Jordan.

The greatest likelihood is that Coney would spend the next two years on the fringes of the senior side as he becomes equipped to deal with the pace and power of senior football.

A two-year stint in Australia could actually expedite Coney's progress into Tyrone's first team.

If, for whatever reasons, Coney doesn't stay in the AFL after his two-year rookie contract has expired, then he would return to Ireland as the fittest and strongest young footballer in Tyrone.

When Coney flies to Sydney next month, he will begin five months of intense pre-season training. He'll do as much in those five months as an average inter-county footballer would do in a year.

During a recent conversation with Kevin Dyas, the former Armagh panellist told me about the training he did with Collingwood last year.

They started their pre-season campaign with a trip to South Africa where they trained at high altitude. When they returned to Melbourne, a standard week would start on a Monday with a two-and-a-half-hour outdoor session. After each drill, there would be a 300-metre sprint. The players would also do a range of exercises to improve their core stability and leg muscles.

One of these exercises involved two players standing with a Swiss Ball between them. They'd start in the middle of the pitch and the objective was to see who could push their opponent the farthest distance down the pitch. They'd also do regular two-kilometre time trial runs.

After this two-and-a-half-hour session, the squad would eat a meal – and then re-group for a one-and-a-half-hour weights session.

Having spent a season with the Armagh seniors, Dyas was no stranger to pumping iron, but there is no comparison between amateur and professional training.

With Armagh, Dyas worked on four basic upper body exercises. He did nine different sets with Collingwood.

And because his upper body was less developed than the Australians', Dyas had to do extra training with the weights coach.

Whereas the Gaelic footballer must go to work the morning after a hard night's training, the AFL professional can focus on recovery.

During pre-season, the Collingwood players would start each Tuesday with a 45-minute massage. Physios would be available to treat any tweaks or complaints.

After the massage they'd hop on the exercise bike to loosen the legs and this would be followed by a testing session in the swimming pool. The recovery day finished with iced baths.

On Wednesday, the Collingwood squad would be back on the field for a repeat of the Monday dosage. Thursday would be for recovery  before the final hard session of the week on Friday.

Kyle Coney will start a similar pre-season campaign when he joins the Sydney Swans next month.

APART from living the life of a professional athlete, Coney will also be able to enjoy the experience of living in Australia – and it won't be at his own expense.

If he proves to be a success, then the Ardboe lad has a chance of living in a great country, where it doesn't rain all year, with all the perks that come with being a professional footballer.

It would be narrow-minded to deny anyone this opportunity. Lots of Gaelic footballers abandon the game in order to focus on professional careers.

Let's remember that Coney has just left Holy Trinity in Cookstown. He's not going to university so he can't look forward to the generous income guaranteed by a career in accountancy, law, or medicine.

He works in the construction industry, which is currently in the grip of a chronic slowdown. Why would he not try his luck at a game that could leave him financially set up for life?

And, if it doesn't work out, it's no big deal. Coney could return to Tyrone ready to step into the senior side.

Again, this isn't idle conjecture. It's based on a precedent. Like Coney, Anthony Tohill flew to Australia a month after he helped Derry win the All-Ireland minor title in 1989.

Dermot McNicholl recalled that Tohill went out to the Melbourne Demons "as a boy, but came home a man".

When Tohill returned in 1991, he stepped straight into the Derry senior side. The following year he won his first Allstar at right half-forward.

It's easy to see a similar scenario unfolding with Kyle Coney. The Tyrone minors who won All-Ireland medals in 2004 and graduated to this year's senior squad were only substitutes for the All-Ireland final. And let's bear in mind that Raymond Mulgrew, Colm Cavanagh, and PJ Quinn have spent the last four years in the dear old Emerald Isle.

If Kyle Coney returns to Tyrone after a few years of professional training under his belt then it's unlikely that he will spend much time watching the seniors from the sideline.
Post by: Yes I Would on October 07, 2008, 11:00:35 PM
From what i have seen of the lad which to be honest hasnt been a whole lot, i dont think any county even Tyrone can afford to be losing a player even at 18 or 19 years old who has the ability to kick points from distance consistently.
Post by: maggie on October 07, 2008, 11:16:57 PM
Fear- yet again, you are a leg-end!!!!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 07, 2008, 11:34:36 PM
No worries maggie, better than being a fag-end, I suppose  ;)
Post by: INDIANA on October 08, 2008, 12:11:40 AM
rarely have i read such a pile of garbage. exceptional talents exist in all walks of life and he's one of them. would play senior championship for tyrone next year if he was available. absolutely no doubt.
Post by: screenexile on October 08, 2008, 12:22:59 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on October 08, 2008, 12:11:40 AM
rarely have i read such a pile of garbage. exceptional talents exist in all walks of life and he's one of them. would play senior championship for tyrone next year if he was available. absolutely no doubt.

No chance! Mickey Harte would never throw him into Championship football at such an early age and with the team he has there is absolutely no need to. I honestly think COney would not be consitently in the team for another 2 years!
Post by: INDIANA on October 08, 2008, 12:40:45 AM
bullshit, a team that is slightly short on firepower would wait 2 years to introduce the best minor in the country, have to be having a laugh. 1 year max. added to that he has the size as well, makes it a foregone conclusion as well.
Post by: SidelineKick on October 08, 2008, 08:51:12 AM
i agree with exile. he doesnt have the size he has the height, big difference. harte is a shrewd man and would know better than to throw him into the senior scene unprepared. look at where mulgrew is at now after a similar scenario. did he get any championship football this year??
Post by: orangeman on October 08, 2008, 09:16:51 AM
It's hard to compare players as always but Coney is a different player to Mulgrew - I reckon he could survive alright in Mickey's team next year.
Post by: EC Unique on October 08, 2008, 09:23:01 AM
Lads, calm down. Coney is an exeptional talent but this was evedent at minor level. On Saturday I watched him playing for Ardboe against Errigal. He was marked very well by a lad who will never play for Tyrone. He looked sharpish but did not stand out in a club match. The step from minor football to senior football is a large one. Anyone who thinks he would play senior Championship football for Tyrone next year is not in touch with what it takes get a start on the Tyrone team. He will be a star for Tyrone if not in Aussie but give him 2 or 3 years. :-\
Post by: The Gs Man on October 08, 2008, 09:45:01 AM
Never mind the Coney situation.......I wouldn't fancy Dyas' training schedule!  Thats some going.
Post by: orangeman on October 08, 2008, 10:07:42 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 08, 2008, 09:45:01 AM
Never mind the Coney situation.......I wouldn't fancy Dyas' training schedule!  Thats some going.

I was just thinking the same myself.
Post by: Jinxy on October 08, 2008, 10:20:41 AM
I think there's an element here of the lad going away is always the great white hope. I'd wager the centre back would be the first player off that minor team to play for the seniors as he seemed very intelligent on the ball.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 08, 2008, 10:27:52 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on October 08, 2008, 10:20:41 AM
I think there's an element here of the lad going away is always the great white hope. I'd wager the centre back would be the first player off that minor team to play for the seniors as he seemed very intelligent on the ball.

ye thought he was excellent for tyrone the 1st day as well jinxy , think the tyrone full forward is one for the future as well even though the 2nd he seemed to play further out the pitch and wasn't as effective imo as he was the 1st match when he was absoulutely brilliant
Post by: orangeman on October 14, 2008, 09:16:13 AM
The releases stated that: "Aisake O'hAilpin was recruited from Cork, Ireland as an International Rookie in the 2005 NAB AFL Rookie Draft (4th round selection). He was elevated to the Carlton senior list in 2007 but did not play a senior game".
Post by: orangeman on November 06, 2008, 11:19:47 PM
He left this morning but is scheduled to come back in 4 weeks time to play a minor match for us in the Ulster club minor championship.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on November 07, 2008, 02:44:37 AM
 Wouldn't you think that in this day in age that someone with "influence"
in Tyrone GAA could get Kyle set up with a career job. Its a shame that he is let go.
Post by: under the bar on November 07, 2008, 08:32:12 AM
QuoteWouldn't you think that in this day in age that someone with "influence"
in Tyrone GAA could get Kyle set up with a career job. Its a shame that he is let go.

That was proposed but at the end of the day he wanted to be a professional athelete and despite career jobs in Tyrone you are still an amateur getting up for work on Monday.
Post by: Zapatista on November 07, 2008, 08:42:19 AM
Best of luck to the lad.
Post by: orangeman on November 07, 2008, 09:42:18 AM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on November 07, 2008, 02:44:37 AM
Wouldn't you think that in this day in age that someone with "influence"

He wan't "let go" - all sorts of offers of employment, career paths and further education were made to him but he reckons he opted for the porfessional game - good luck to him. So it wasn't as if people just let him get on a plane - many attempts were made to keep him at home.

You only get one chance at these things so he took it.

Hope all goes well for him.
Post by: Fuzzman on November 07, 2008, 01:20:48 PM
Ever the eternal optimist I know but I think it could benefit the Tyrone senior team if he goes away for a few years and then comes back with the great experience of it all and obviously a lot stronger, fitter and more cute

Has there been many lads that have come back into GAA after a spell in Aussie Rules where it has benefited them
How long was Tohill there for and did he not make it or did he just wanna come home?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 07, 2008, 01:59:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 06, 2008, 11:19:47 PM
He left this morning but is scheduled to come back in 4 weeks time to play a minor match for us in the Ulster club minor championship.

After that performance in the 2nd half of the replay - Ardboe definitely need him
Post by: Doire abú on November 07, 2008, 03:20:01 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on November 07, 2008, 01:20:48 PM
Ever the eternal optimist I know but I think it could benefit the Tyrone senior team if he goes away for a few years and then comes back with the great experience of it all and obviously a lot stronger, fitter and more cute

Has there been many lads that have come back into GAA after a spell in Aussie Rules where it has benefited them
How long was Tohill there for and did he not make it or did he just wanna come home?

As far as I remember Tohill broke the leg while over there and think he just decided it was time to go home after that.
Post by: tyrone86 on January 04, 2009, 06:33:02 PM
Just like the Stephen O'Neill rumours from last year, this one refuses to go away. Allegedly, Coney was supposed to fly back to Australia on Friday but he didn't and isn't too keen on going back.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 04, 2009, 09:29:14 PM
Had heard something bout that to. It was always going to be hard going back after Christmas. Though did he not give an interview a few weeks ago saying he was staying in AFL?
Post by: phpearse on January 05, 2009, 05:51:27 PM
GAA talent Kyle Coney will be playing football in the Ardboe and Tyrone colours this year after deciding not to return to Australia after Christmas.

Coney began a two-year rookie contract with AFL club the Sydney Swans in November but he has opted to remain in Ireland after his Christmas break.

"I'm staying in Ireland for the time being," Coney told BBC Sport.

"I was scheduled to go back on 2 January but the time came to make a decision and I decided not to go back."

Coney added:"I weighed up my options when I was in Australia. Now I want to keep my options open and I want to be playing football for Ardboe and Tyrone.

"It was a very, very big decision. It took a lot of thinking but in my opinion, I've made the right decision.

"About a week after I came home (for Christmas), I said to my family that this is where I want to be playing football."

Coney added that he had "enjoyed every minute" of his five-and-a-half weeks Down Under.

"They treated me really well but when I came home, I know this was the place I wanted to be.

"The plan is to be a part of Ardboe plans this year and hopefully some part of Tyrone's plans too.

"This was my decision. There was no pressure at all (from anybody)."

Coney helped Tyrone minors claim the All-Ireland title in September and Red Hand senior star Sean Cavanagh urged the youngster to stay in Ireland after the triumph.

In 2006, Down lost one of their outstanding young talents when Martin Clarke joined AFL side Collingwood while several other young GAA stars have also moved Down Under.

Post by: Hardy on January 05, 2009, 05:54:41 PM
Sounds like homesickness. Good news, though. What about his contract - will the Aussies be on his case?
Post by: give her dixie on January 05, 2009, 06:04:34 PM
Excellent news. Lets hope he has no regrets, and he goes on to represent his club and county with great distinction.
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 05, 2009, 06:14:04 PM
At least he has seen the set-up over there now and knows what to expect if he tries again.
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 06:46:56 PM
Excellent news for football in Tyrone.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 05, 2009, 06:58:28 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 05, 2009, 05:54:41 PM
Sounds like homesickness. Good news, though. What about his contract - will the Aussies be on his case?

Wouldn't have thought so Hardy. What would there be to gain in chasing an 18 year old around the world to sue them? I'd say the club would only try to go after him if he ended up signing for another AFL club which sound unlikely - if he's going to go back I'd assume it'd be to the Swans again.

To be honest this sort of thing is one of the risks you take when you uproot an 18 year old halfway round the world.
Post by: orangeman on January 05, 2009, 08:20:57 PM
He has gone out there - had a taste of it - thinks it's not for him  I'm just glad that he's at least had a taste of it, otherwise he might have been regretting it - but personally speaking I think he's just far too a footballer to play that game and that gaelic football is his sport and that he can have a great career for club and county - but I might be a wee bit biased.

But great news for Ardboe at least.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 05, 2009, 08:34:18 PM
Great news for Ardboe, hopefully things work out well for him at home. Will be interesting to see if Harte calls him into the panel or if he considers it to be a year early. Some of the great minors from 98' like O'Neill were called straight into the panel in 99 but Tyrone wouldnt have had as strong a squad back then.
Post by: Jinxy on January 05, 2009, 08:45:50 PM
You see lads, all that glitters.......
Post by: gaahead2008 on January 05, 2009, 08:47:56 PM
ardboe will be celebrating the return of the prodigal son - he's a great athlete - we'll be seeing him in the summer when he gets over the jet-lag ;D
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on January 05, 2009, 08:53:59 PM
Great news for Ardboe and for Tyrone. Hopefully the lad can fulfill his potential over the next few years.
Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 08:54:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 05, 2009, 08:45:50 PM
You see lads, all that glitters.......

is GOLD
Post by: gerry on January 05, 2009, 09:21:22 PM
it great new alright as orangeman said he atleast knows what aussie rules had install for him and he can on with his gaa career without saying what if

Post by: ziggysego on January 05, 2009, 09:23:23 PM
It gives me hope to. If Kyle can resist the temptations of Aussie Rules, there's hope for a lot of other countries too who are worried about losing up-and-coming GAA stars.

Congratulations Kyle and I hope your future is bright, on and off the pitch.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 05, 2009, 09:39:02 PM
Great news, and fair dues to the lad.

I'd say it's conceivable that he'll get a run out with the Seniors this year, though hardly to the extent that he'd be a first choice, though hard to know.
Post by: antigpa on January 06, 2009, 08:30:03 AM
Well done, a mature decision from the lad.  Hopefully Harte will reward it with a panel place and a few hours of Mc Kenna cup to bring him into the set up.  Its a good two fingered salute to those who blow smoke up the arses of these professional organisations that an 18 year old lad could choose the amateur future over professionalism.  Lets keep the GAA amateur and you will find many will go but many more will stay. 
Post by: full back on January 06, 2009, 10:05:31 AM
Quote from: antigpa on January 06, 2009, 08:30:03 AM
Well done, a mature decision from the lad.  Hopefully Harte will reward it with a panel place and a few hours of Mc Kenna cup to bring him into the set up.  Its a good two fingered salute to those who blow smoke up the arses of these professional organisations that an 18 year old lad could choose the amateur future over professionalism.  Lets keep the GAA amateur and you will find many will go but many more will stay. 

Oh FFS, catch a grip
The lad made his decision, fair play to him & you are gloating about how it is a 2 fingered salute ::)

Post by: antigpa on January 06, 2009, 11:44:47 AM
I disagree full back,  I am referring to several people I discussed this with at length since Coney first departed who were claiming the GAA needed to become professional in some way to keep its talent.  I think this decision shows you will not lose everything to the professional sports, that the GAA dosent have to be seen or deserve to be seen as a conveyor belt to the pro games.  Australian rules is a crap sport, Soccor is pretty poor in the main, USA Football has gone beyond sport so players will always make decisions to play better sports.  Lucky for us the GAA is in a prime position to take in lads who want a better sport.   I think attitudes from GAA clubs towards these 2 bit soccor clubs that siphon off the best talent in a town needs to be toughened.  Theres too many pro soccor guys in GAA clubs nowadays.   
Post by: thejuice on January 06, 2009, 11:47:19 AM
Was looking to see if it got a mention in the Australian press but came across this article on Brian Donnelly from Louth signing for Adelaide.

http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=71120

fair play to Kyle though. Good for the game.
Post by: D4S on January 06, 2009, 11:51:04 AM
Fair play to Kyle Coney I wish him every success with Ardboe & Tyrone, a huge decision which I'm sure was not taken lightly good luck!
Post by: antigpa on January 06, 2009, 11:55:36 AM
"AFL is the same type of game as Gaelic. Obviously it's a different shaped ball, but I suppose it was just the lure of playing professional sport that brought me here," he said.

"You can't do that in Ireland and, until you can, there are going to be a lot more players coming out to Australia to play AFL."
B Donnellys views.   
I remember the Ohalpin brothers who would have been stars for Cork hurling saying that the money for playing sport was the lure. How are they getting on and is the money still as good?  What would they have achieved with their club and county if they hadnt went? 
Post by: Aghdavoyle on January 06, 2009, 12:03:46 PM

Thats a ridiculous conclusion to come to because a young lad is homesick and returns home
Post by: tyronefan on January 06, 2009, 12:04:50 PM
they could have been on strike now as well
Post by: Hound on January 06, 2009, 01:42:57 PM
Well done, a mature decision from the lad.  Hopefully Harte will reward it with a panel place and a few hours of Mc Kenna cup to bring him into the set up.  Its a good two fingered salute to those who blow smoke up the arses of these professional organisations that an 18 year old lad could choose the amateur future over professionalism.  Lets keep the GAA amateur and you will find many will go but many more will stay
You seem to assume he gets no "benefits" for staying and playing GAA. I certainly would not assume that.
Post by: under the bar on January 06, 2009, 02:10:31 PM
Great news....and terrible news for Armagh, Dublin, Kerry & all the other pretenders ;)
Post by: full back on January 06, 2009, 02:13:43 PM
Quote from: antigpa on January 06, 2009, 11:44:47 AM
Australian rules is a crap sport, Soccor is pretty poor in the main, USA Football has gone beyond sport so players will always make decisions to play better sports.  Lucky for us the GAA is in a prime position to take in lads who want a better sport.   I think attitudes from GAA clubs towards these 2 bit soccor clubs that siphon off the best talent in a town needs to be toughened.  Theres too many pro soccor guys in GAA clubs nowadays.   

What point are you trying to make here as regards to Kyle Coney deciding not to takeup a rookie contract in Australia because this has confused the hell out of me ???
Post by: orangeman on January 06, 2009, 02:13:53 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on January 06, 2009, 12:03:46 PM

Thats a ridiculous conclusion to come to because a young lad is homesick and returns home

Kyle loved Australia - wasn't homesick - I was speaking to him and his family and he weighed it all up and just felt he preferred gaelic.
Post by: Jinxy on January 06, 2009, 02:30:03 PM
Quote from: antigpa on January 06, 2009, 11:55:36 AM
"AFL is the same type of game as Gaelic. Obviously it's a different shaped ball, but I suppose it was just the lure of playing professional sport that brought me here," he said.

"You can't do that in Ireland and, until you can, there are going to be a lot more players coming out to Australia to play AFL."
B Donnellys views.   
I remember the Ohalpin brothers who would have been stars for Cork hurling saying that the money for playing sport was the lure. How are they getting on and is the money still as good?  What would they have achieved with their club and county if they hadnt went? 

Aisake was dumped by Carlton and Setanta is a mediocre squad player.
It's the stuff dreams are made of and they would have been crazy not to go. ::)
Post by: orangeman on January 06, 2009, 02:43:18 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 06, 2009, 02:30:03 PM
Quote from: antigpa on January 06, 2009, 11:55:36 AM

B Donnellys views.   

Aisake was dumped by Carlton and Setanta is a mediocre squad player.
It's the stuff dreams are made of and they would have been crazy not to go. ::)

They should have stayed at home and if they turned out like Sean Og, they would have had a few AI medals at least in their pockets and maybe a bit more besides.
Post by: Hardy on January 06, 2009, 02:54:47 PM
How many All-Ireland medals get lost because lads always keep them in their pockets (nearly always their arse pockets) instead of somewhere safe?
Post by: tyrone86 on January 06, 2009, 03:01:53 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 06, 2009, 02:54:47 PM
How many All-Ireland medals get lost because lads always keep them in their pockets (nearly always their arse pockets) instead of somewhere safe?

Interesting question. I would have thought it would be much safer (and much easier to show your opponents) if you wore them around your neck.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 06, 2009, 03:05:57 PM

Good point Hardy. Some of the lads in Kerry must have to wear two belts to stop their trousers slipping down around their arses.
Post by: thejuice on January 06, 2009, 05:14:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 06, 2009, 03:05:57 PM

Good point Hardy. Some of the lads in Kerry must have to wear two belts to stop their trousers slipping down around their arses.

feckin' loads of lads around birmingham with All-Ireland medals so,
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 06, 2009, 08:36:16 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 06, 2009, 02:13:53 PM
Kyle loved Australia - wasn't homesick - I was speaking to him and his family and he weighed it all up and just felt he preferred gaelic.

Exactly, none of this guff that young lads like Kyle are tempted by the money alone - he was inveigled into believing that Aussie Rules was a confrere sport to Gaelic Football by the insidiously slick marketing campaigns and mutual cooperation of both the AFL and the GAA, where in reality it's an alien sport. Good on him.
Post by: mountainboii on January 06, 2009, 09:17:51 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 06, 2009, 08:36:16 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 06, 2009, 02:13:53 PM

Exactly, none of this guff that young lads like Kyle are tempted by the money alone - he was inveigled into believing that Aussie Rules was a confrere sport to Gaelic Football by the insidiously slick marketing campaigns and mutual cooperation of both the AFL and the GAA, where in reality it's an alien sport. Good on him.

In fairness Fear, most of the lads that go freely admit that this is the case.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 06, 2009, 09:37:00 PM
Quote from: AFS on January 06, 2009, 09:17:51 PM
In fairness Fear, most of the lads that go freely admit that this is the case.

Rubbish, rot, guff, nonsense, hogwash  ;)

You're not  wrong AFS, but there are a few who've found out what Aussie Rules was all about too late, i.e., when returning wasn't an option, or at least not an easy option, and only the money keeping them there. For some too, any sport would do so long as there was a pay cheque at the end of the month, doubtless.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on January 07, 2009, 03:07:27 AM
Gaelic Football will be better that Kyle decided to stay at home.

Talked to two Tyrone Senior players recently who reckoned that he will be a great addition to the team in the future. They both felt that he would need another two years before being introduced to the panel. Playing minor is like a drive in the countryside, playing Senior is like driving in the motor way.

I remember young Raymond Mulgrew making his debut in the now infamous "battle of Omagh". An introduction to a game of that sort would only do more harm than good. Hopefully next year Kyle might make an appearance in something like the Mc Kenna cup.
Post by: Jinxy on January 07, 2009, 02:28:49 PM
The Sydney Swans fans aren't too happy with him.
Had a look at one of the supporter sites.
http://redandwhiteonline.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2 (http://redandwhiteonline.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
Lovely bunch of people.
Post by: orangeman on January 07, 2009, 02:34:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 07, 2009, 02:28:49 PM
http://redandwhiteonline.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2 (http://redandwhiteonline.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
Lovely bunch of people.

Tough !  considering the sneaky way they had their agents conduct their business usually behind the back of the family.
Post by: orangeman on January 07, 2009, 02:48:00 PM
Tyrone chairman Pat D'Arcy has warmly welcomed Kyle Coney's decision to turn his back on a career in Aussie Rules and pledge his future to the Red Hands.

The Ardboe youngster, who was the star of Tyrone's All-Ireland minor triumph last year, has opted out of a two-year rookie contract with the Sydney Swans in order to concentrate on his Gaelic football career.

"It's great news for Ardboe and Tyrone that Kyle has decided to stay," D'Arcy said.

"He is a rare talent and he is going to be a big asset to the county for many years. Football in Tyrone is on a real high and going from strength to strength, and it's pleasing that Kyle wants to be a part of it."

Meanwhile, a Sydney Swans spokesman has said the club remains hopeful that Coney will change his mind and return to the Australia in the near future.

"We are fully supportive and happy for him to take a bit of extra time to make up his mind and hopefully he ends up coming back to Australia to play for the Sydney Swans," he said.

Post by: orangeman on January 10, 2009, 01:13:01 PM
Harte key to Coney decision" - Murphy

Mickey Harte
10 January 2009

Sydney Swans youngster Brendan Murphy has claimed that Tyrone senior manager Mickey Harte was instrumental in the decision of Kyle Coney to turn his back on a move to Australia.

Coney had been scheduled to travel Down Under to begin a two-year rookie contract with the Swans, where he would have joined Carlow youngster Murphy.

But the Ardboe lad made a last-minute u-turn - and Murphy claims that Harte's influence was key to that decision.

Speaking in this week's Nationalist newspaper, Murphy said: "Kyle Coney decided to stay home in Tyrone. I'm not sure what his reasons were for staying. He hasn't answered any of my messages but I knew there was pressure for him to stay by Mickey Harte. I just hope he doesn't regret his decision in a few months.'"

Post by: pintsofguinness on January 10, 2009, 01:37:08 PM
Lovely bunch of people.

I'm just pissed off you can't sign up to that forum with a hotmail or yahoo account. 
If similar comments were made about a black player they would be deemed racist.  I love this talk of suing him, I can't see any problem with suing a youngster who (like any youngster and me!) is going to have nothing to his name and is at the other end of the world  :D
Are these clowns a true reflection of AFL fans?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 10, 2009, 01:43:09 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 10, 2009, 01:13:01 PM
Harte key to Coney decision" - Murphy

Mickey Harte
10 January 2009

Sydney Swans youngster Brendan Murphy has claimed that Tyrone senior manager Mickey Harte was instrumental in the decision of Kyle Coney to turn his back on a move to Australia.

Coney had been scheduled to travel Down Under to begin a two-year rookie contract with the Swans, where he would have joined Carlow youngster Murphy.

But the Ardboe lad made a last-minute u-turn - and Murphy claims that Harte’s influence was key to that decision.

Speaking in this week’s Nationalist newspaper, Murphy said: "Kyle Coney decided to stay home in Tyrone. I’m not sure what his reasons were for staying. He hasn’t answered any of my messages but I knew there was pressure for him to stay by Mickey Harte. I just hope he doesn’t regret his decision in a few months.’"

Jaysus Murphy fairly left the studs in.
While Coney was responisble for stopping Mayo winning the Minor All-Ireland, guys like him are the type you want being kept in our games and not going to Australia. And whatever the rationale for him to wait, it is heartwarming to see that Aussie Rules isn't the be all and end all for all our young stars. All the best to the young lad and I hope he doesn't come under much pressure from the Swans over renaging. They've done well enough out of Ireland with Kennelly and Murphy, I hope they are mindful of that
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 10, 2009, 02:15:49 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 10, 2009, 01:37:08 PM
Lovely bunch of people.

I'm just pissed off you can't sign up to that forum with a hotmail or yahoo account. 
If similar comments were made about a black player they would be deemed racist.  I love this talk of suing him, I can't see any problem with suing a youngster who (like any youngster and me!) is going to have nothing to his name and is at the other end of the world  :D
Are these clowns a true reflection of AFL fans?

Agree. I flicked onto the bigfooty website as well and the comments were very similar. Quite a bit of racist talk towards the Irish. Would like to think this isnt a true reflection of AFL fans. You have to laugh at the outrage of the Sydney fans about him letting the club down. They arent too worried about the effects on gaa clubs over here who have developed the players.
Post by: Jinxy on January 10, 2009, 03:12:21 PM
If BigFooty is a reflection of the average AFL fan then Kyle is as well off back home.
"Go back to your potato farm" etc.  :D ::)
I would hope a lot of the posters there are just kids otherwise there is no excuse for the level of sheer ignorance on display.
It pretty much reinforces every Aussie stereotype going.
Post by: stiffler on January 10, 2009, 03:33:14 PM
The average AFL Fan think there are 32 'clubs' in ireland...they have no knowledge or appreciation of the loss of these star players from their local communities.
Post by: ziggysego on January 10, 2009, 03:33:31 PM
Could be the AFL's Hoganstand.com
Post by: Jinxy on January 10, 2009, 03:39:14 PM
Ah no Ziggy.
It makes hoganstand.com look like an intellectual think tank.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 10, 2009, 04:05:33 PM
What a bunch of absolute pricks on that site. Now I don't know much about aussie rules but has Tadgh not been a brilliant servant to the Swans?? And here these so called fans are slagging off his country, saying back to the potato farm? What a brilliant slag by the way  ::)

Just confirmed what I had always thought secretly about most australians. Why cant they all be like Drew Kirk.
Post by: Jinxy on January 10, 2009, 04:08:16 PM
I've no problem with people slagging Ireland if they do it well, but "back to the potato farm" is just an embarrassing attempt.
How dumb does someone actually have to be to say something like that? :D
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 10, 2009, 04:13:41 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 10, 2009, 04:08:16 PM
I've no problem with people slagging Ireland if they do it well, but "back to the potato farm" is just an embarrassing attempt.

I wonder do they actually think we all have our own little self sustaining potato farms?? Spuds for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Pathetic wind up... I would love to get in a good slanging match with these ones, you can tell from their posts that you could just rip them to shreds easily!
Post by: Jinxy on January 10, 2009, 04:15:01 PM
Sure god love them.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 10, 2009, 04:15:40 PM
The abuse about Ireland appeared on bigfooty and the other linked website. As someone said you'd like to think its just kids. Noticed similar stuff around the time of the international rules.
Post by: INDIANA on January 10, 2009, 06:09:33 PM
I've often wondered did australians pro-create by growing turnips in a field. That thread would suggest that theory is correct. Spent time over there , most of the blokes are long on mouth and short of a few brain cells. Probably the dumbest race of people I ever bumped into.
Lovely people.
Post by: johnpower on January 10, 2009, 10:17:49 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 10, 2009, 06:09:33 PM
I've often wondered did australians pro-create by growing turnips in a field. That thread would suggest that theory is correct. Spent time over there , most of the blokes are long on mouth and short of a few brain cells. Probably the dumbest race of people I ever bumped into.
Lovely people.

I spent time there as well . They are very easy to wind up . Dont get too worried about what somo one posts on a internet site
Post by: laceer on January 11, 2009, 12:15:12 AM
How dumb does someone actually have to be to say something like that? Cheesy

I wonder do they actually think we all have our own little self sustaining potato farms?? Spuds for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Pathetic wind up... I would love to get in a good slanging match with these ones, you can tell from their posts that you could just rip them to shreds easily!

I eat spuds for lunch and dinner some days
Post by: The Forfeit Point on January 11, 2009, 01:12:24 AM
i wonder do the many of them realise they are descended from those so called potato farms  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on January 12, 2009, 03:15:00 AM
I thought so too, but Mickey has said he hasn't ruled him out a place on the panel for the NFL. Too soon if you ask me, but sure Mickey knows best.
Post by: cavan4ever on January 12, 2009, 08:46:32 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 10, 2009, 04:13:41 PM

I wonder do they actually think we all have our own little self sustaining potato farms?? Spuds for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Pathetic wind up... I would love to get in a good shagging match with these ones, you can tell from their posts that you could just rip them to shreds easily!

Easy tiger !
Post by: Over the Bar on January 12, 2009, 09:39:23 AM
Credit where it's due lads. 

Kyle probably logged onto the GAA board everyday in Oz and felt duty bound to fulfil my prophesy stated in the title of this thread  ;)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 12, 2009, 10:56:36 AM
Quote from: cavan4ever on January 12, 2009, 08:46:32 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 10, 2009, 04:13:41 PM

I wonder do they actually think we all have our own little self sustaining potato farms?? Spuds for breakfast, lunch and dinner! Pathetic wind up... I would love to get in a good shagging match with these ones, you can tell from their posts that you could just rip them to shreds easily!

Easy tiger !

Had to go back and check my original post!!  :D
Post by: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 11:36:17 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 10, 2009, 04:05:33 PM
What a bunch of absolute pricks on that site. Now I don't know much about aussie rules but has Tadgh not been a brilliant servant to the Swans?? And here these so called fans are slagging off his country, saying back to the potato farm? What a brilliant slag by the way  ::)

Just confirmed what I had always thought secretly about most australians. Why cant they all be like Drew Kirk.

Dead?
Post by: ziggysego on January 12, 2009, 11:37:53 AM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 12, 2009, 11:36:17 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 10, 2009, 04:05:33 PM

Dead?

Take your hate somewhere else SLK  :'(
Post by: orangeman on January 20, 2009, 02:02:09 AM
Sydney Swans star Tadhg Kennelly believes fellow Irishman Kyle Coney could still return to Australia and resume his AFL career after failing to come back to the club following the Christmas break.

The Tyrone minor star returned to Ireland for Christmas after spending six weeks training with the Swans after signing a two-year rookie contract in November.

Having played with his club, Ardboe O'Donovan Rossa, while at home he chose not to return to Australia at the beginning of January and his future with the club now looks in serious doubt.

However, Kerry native Kennelly insists that Coney could return to the AFL side. Speaking to realfooty.com.au, he said: 'We're still trying to get him back out here, it's not clear cut yet that he's not going to come back. He's indicated he's still thinking about it, so we're still working on it.

'I know it's so hard for an 18-year-old to be on the other side of the world for so long and the thing with Kyle, he'd have a lot of people trying to convince him to stay, and do this and do that, because he's probably the best Gaelic football player in Ireland.

'He was fantastic last year in the Under-18s. He's the next big thing, so why wouldn't they try their best to keep him there?'

The 27-year-old added: 'I haven't spoken with him, I will just leave it to the club. I don't want to sway him either way, and he'll buzz me himself when he's ready. I don't want to step on his toes.'

'I know what it's like, it's that time of the year, and you're with your family and friends, and I remember when it was hard for me to come back when I was in Kyle's situation quite a few years ago,' Kennelly said.

Speaking to RTÉ earlier this month, Coney revealed: 'I'm staying in Ireland for the time being. I was scheduled to go back on 2 January but the time came to make a decision and I decided not to go back. I weighed up my options when I was in Australia. Now I want to keep my options open and I want to be playing football for Ardboe and Tyrone.'

Post by: Zapatista on January 20, 2009, 08:36:55 AM
Has Kennelly become Irelands official spokesperson in Austraillia or is it due to lack of options we always get his opinion on these matters?
Post by: orangeman on January 20, 2009, 08:50:28 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on January 20, 2009, 08:36:55 AM
Has Kennelly become Irelands official spokesperson in Austraillia or is it due to lack of options we always get his opinion on these matters?

Is he not the Irish ambassador over there, working on behalf of the country and Jack O'Connor ?
Post by: thejuice on January 20, 2009, 08:56:37 AM
The reason I feel AFL fans feel free to rip into players and abuse them is because of professionalism. Its the same in all pro-sports the detachment of the players and the supporters and they feel they have the right attack them for poor performances etc.

Im sure if I went to the other section of this site to read the soccer threads there will be players getting called all sorts of things. We dont have that in the GAA so much because we may know or work with county players. OK there does be a fair amount of calling a lad a bollox on game day but thats considered a pleasentry in some corners of Ireland.

Anyway, Kennelly is probably being a "cute-hoor", he see's Tyrone as the team that will be standing in his way when he tries to come back and win sam with Kerry. So if he could get them all down to Australia by the time he returns he would!  ;)
Post by: Jinxy on January 20, 2009, 10:03:02 AM
Quote from: orangeman on January 20, 2009, 02:02:09 AM
Sydney Swans star Tadhg Kennelly believes fellow Irishman Kyle Coney could still return to Australia and resume his AFL career after failing to come back to the club following the Christmas break.

The Tyrone minor star returned to Ireland for Christmas after spending six weeks training with the Swans after signing a two-year rookie contract in November.

Having played with his club, Ardboe O'Donovan Rossa, while at home he chose not to return to Australia at the beginning of January and his future with the club now looks in serious doubt.

However, Kerry native Kennelly insists that Coney could return to the AFL side. Speaking to realfooty.com.au, he said: 'We're still trying to get him back out here, it's not clear cut yet that he's not going to come back. He's indicated he's still thinking about it, so we're still working on it.

'I know it's so hard for an 18-year-old to be on the other side of the world for so long and the thing with Kyle, he'd have a lot of people trying to convince him to stay, and do this and do that, because he's probably the best Gaelic football player in Ireland.

'He was fantastic last year in the Under-18s. He's the next big thing, so why wouldn't they try their best to keep him there?'

The 27-year-old added: 'I haven't spoken with him, I will just leave it to the club. I don't want to sway him either way, and he'll buzz me himself when he's ready. I don't want to step on his toes.'

'I know what it's like, it's that time of the year, and you're with your family and friends, and I remember when it was hard for me to come back when I was in Kyle's situation quite a few years ago,' Kennelly said.

Speaking to RTÉ earlier this month, Coney revealed: 'I'm staying in Ireland for the time being. I was scheduled to go back on 2 January but the time came to make a decision and I decided not to go back. I weighed up my options when I was in Australia. Now I want to keep my options open and I want to be playing football for Ardboe and Tyrone.'

Easy tiger.
Post by: screenexile on January 20, 2009, 01:00:14 PM
At Minor level that statement is probably true!
Post by: Hound on January 20, 2009, 01:01:04 PM
Aye, pure ridiculous to ask an Irish Sydney Swans player for his opinion on Kyle.
Post by: Zapatista on January 20, 2009, 02:06:53 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 20, 2009, 01:01:04 PM
Aye, pure ridiculous to ask an Irish Sydney Swans player for his opinion on Kyle.

It's not just this topic. I don't really care either way I just think his opinion on GAA matters get more air time than his GAA career has earned him. Perhaps we should ask Niall McGinn to hear his point of view too.
Post by: Jinxy on January 20, 2009, 02:21:12 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 20, 2009, 01:00:14 PM
At Minor level that statement is probably true!

I'd take Donie Kingston or Aidan O'Shea ahead of him.
Post by: carol6 on January 20, 2009, 02:39:49 PM
I dont think he was even the best minor in Tyrone last year. Highly skilful and scorer of spectaular scores yes, but best minor no. That was Peter Harte and there were several others who performed more  consistently than Kyle. The press made him into something he isnt. Nice lad though and a talent worth watching. Great news for Ardboe that he has opted to remain at home
Post by: Jinxy on January 20, 2009, 02:45:50 PM
If Harte was the red haired lad then I would agree that he was Tyrones most important player in the drawn game and the replay.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 20, 2009, 02:50:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 20, 2009, 02:45:50 PM
If Harte was the red haired lad then I would agree that he was Tyrones most important player in the drawn game and the replay.

Niall Mc Kenna I'd say you're thinking of -- leaping midfielder?
Post by: Tubberman on January 20, 2009, 03:50:08 PM
QuoteQuote from: Jinxy on Today at 02:45:50 PM

Niall Mc Kenna I'd say you're thinking of -- leaping midfielder?

No, I'd say he means Harte and I'd agree with him. He has serious pace and was definitely Tyrone's best player over the two matches against Mayo in my opinion. His runs through the middle tore open the Mayo midfield and defence. 
Post by: sam03/05 on January 20, 2009, 04:00:02 PM
anyone else think that its time the media left this lad alone?
he is afterall just an 18 yr old, who would still be at school if he hadnt went to australia.
time to give the boy a break and allow him to progress through to the Tyrone set up in a year or two.

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 20, 2009, 06:51:39 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 20, 2009, 02:02:09 AM

I have seen in different places that were people connected with Sydney have said Coney is being pressured by people in Ireland to stay including Mickey Harte. They dont seem happy with this but seem to think its ok for them to pressure the lad to go back to Austraillia. Not that impressed with Kennelly, he should be letting the lad make up his own mind. Does anyone seriously believe Kennelly will ever play gaelic football for Kerry?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on January 20, 2009, 07:56:04 PM
maybe Coney will go straight into the team and Tyrone will buck recent trends and actually win back 2 back AI

then again, maybe Coney will be sitting on the bench a couple of years from now, in the pissing rain at a Tyrone v Fermanagh McKenna cup game. The economy will be in shite and, even though he has a job through the football, it not something that he likes but, as he is constantly told, he should be glad of it and should shut up as he doesnt know how lucky he is, there's thousands on the dole. Mickey Harte isnt looking him in the eyes these days since the bust up but, "f**k it" he says to himself " I train like a dog and I gave up a career in Australia..so what if I had a few pints...I'm only 20..amn't I entitled to some enjoyment". Then again, maybe he doesnt want to play, not after the barraking he got the last day..."Coney you useless whore" they roared, just because he missed a few points. That was a low point alright, though not as bad as when an inter-county "teammate"  laid him out in a club game He can still hear the rival fans now.."gwan off back to Australia ya bollix" they crowed as he was stretchered off, and his family in the crowd listening to it all.
                     Yes, its a hard auld station, he thought to himself....and turned his face back toward the play.The rain had turned to sleet now and was driven into his face by the cold northern wind. His mind wandered to a farway place where a golden sun was setting on what might have been.

....and no,  I dont want Tommy Walsh to leave either but I recognize that is due to my own selfish desire to see my county succeed and not any great concern for the professional, personal or sporting prospects of Tommy Walsh.
Post by: time ticking away on January 20, 2009, 08:29:57 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on January 20, 2009, 07:56:04 PM
maybe Coney will go straight into the team and Tyrone will buck recent trends and actually win back 2 back AI

then again, maybe Coney will be sitting on the bench a couple of years from now, in the pissing rain at a Tyrone v Fermanagh McKenna cup game. The economy will be in shite and, even though he has a job through the football, it not something that he likes but, as he is constantly told, he should be glad of it and should shut up as he doesnt know how lucky he is, there's thousands on the dole. Mickey Harte isnt looking him in the eyes these days since the bust up but, "f**k it" he says to himself " I train like a dog and I gave up a career in Australia..so what if I had a few pints...I'm only 20..amn't I entitled to some enjoyment". Then again, maybe he doesnt want to play, not after the barraking he got the last day..."Coney you useless whore" they roared, just because he missed a few points. That was a low point alright, though not as bad as when an inter-county "teammate"  laid him out in a club game He can still hear the rival fans now.."gwan off back to Australia ya bollix" they crowed as he was stretchered off, and his family in the crowd listening to it all.
                     Yes, its a hard auld station, he thought to himself....and turned his face back toward the play.The rain had turned to sleet now and was driven into his face by the cold northern wind. His mind wandered to a farway place where a golden sun was setting on what might have been.

....and no,  I dont want Tommy Walsh to leave either but I recognize that is due to my own selfish desire to see my county succeed and not any great concern for the professional, personal or sporting prospects of Tommy Walsh.

Thats actually very witty. You're bitterness doesn't usually let this intelligence shine through.

Pity about the climbing on the high moral ground at the end though
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 20, 2009, 09:07:13 PM
Or he could be sitting in Austraillia with sun stroke and not made the breakthrough at the swans. He's had to constantly put up with jibes from aussie players and supporters about him being an Irish softie etc and has suffered from home sickness. Sydney have now released him and he he has no idea were his future lies. Back home some of the players he played at minor with have now graduated to the u21's and seniors picking up all irelands at both levels. They are close to completing a degree and have got numerous job offers for the next year on the back of this. They've balanced playing football with plenty of nights out at uni and have no real worries.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 20, 2009, 09:16:09 PM
QuoteNot that impressed with Kennelly, he should be letting the lad make up his own mind. Does anyone seriously believe Kennelly will ever play gaelic football for Kerry?
Couldnt care less but I'm sick listening him.
Post by: orangeman on January 20, 2009, 09:31:24 PM
Tyrone under 21s played a challenge at the weekend and Kyle had a blinder scoring 8 points.

It's time he was left alone to develop as a player and as a person - there's a lot of pressure on his shoulders - he could have chosen to stay in Australia but he didn't - he came back to give it all to Gaelic - he should be applauded for the decision.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 20, 2009, 09:56:15 PM
This talk that Coney wasn't the most talented Tyrone minor this year is beginning to annoy me. Okay, he had a poor game in the drawn final but he was pure class in the replay and you could just see the potential oozing from him. Harte was excellent, so too McKenna, don't get me wrong. But if I was Mickey Harte there'd only be one player I'd be getting excited about it wouldn't be my nephew
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on January 20, 2009, 10:16:14 PM
Think all 3 are very exciting prospects. Wouldnt be suprised if McKenna goes on to become a really top class player in the next few years. Anyone who is is as big as Coney, has good hands and can kick points from long distance has a great chance of making it. Harte also looks like another future Tyrone half back or forward. Was excellent last year.
Post by: thejuice on April 05, 2009, 04:53:34 PM
i see Michael Quinn from Longford got his start in the 2nd week of the season. something that not even he himself thought would happen till the later end of the season. By all accounts he did alright.
Post by: barryhatrick on April 06, 2009, 05:15:29 AM
Quote from: thejuice on April 05, 2009, 04:53:34 PM
i see Michael Quinn from Longford got his start in the 2nd week of the season. something that not even he himself thought would happen till the later end of the season. By all accounts he did alright.

He did better than alright. Even a bit of talk of him getting a rising star nomination for his performance against Freo. Still fairly slight and a bit raw, but he'll be a great player for the future without a doubt. 5 months in the country and already has gotten his start. Pretty impressive!
Post by: mattockranger on April 06, 2009, 11:54:03 AM
This guy is the real deal and a massive loss to longford gaa

I seen him last year against the louth minors and i reckon he was the best forward at minor grade including coney and whoever else...
played at full forward everything went through him...deadly acccurate...great turn of pace...very cute and clever in his runs and battles with his marker

from that game i've kept an eye on him no suprise that he made it so soon...excellent soccer player also....
one of those great talents!
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 06, 2009, 04:31:17 PM
An absolutely brilliant performance by him considering he had 4 games of Aussie Rules in his life before this one and to get 20 posessions was a massive achievement....

They had an interview with Michael Malthouse about the Irish and why they did so well and he was so complimentary about Gaelic Football telling people they really needed to watch the game as they could learn a lot...He was saying the athletiscism and the requirements to track play as it was going on and know where the ball was going etc were big things but the other main thing was the ability to kick the ball to the players advantage....The one thing they love over here about the Irish players is the ability to make long very accurate kicks to players...amazing that in our own game of football we try to eliminate that..
Post by: The Forfeit Point on April 06, 2009, 05:37:54 PM
Quote from: mattockranger on April 06, 2009, 11:54:03 AM
This guy is the real deal and a massive loss to longford gaa

I seen him last year against the louth minors and i reckon he was the best forward at minor grade including coney and whoever else...
played at full forward everything went through him...deadly acccurate...great turn of pace...very cute and clever in his runs and battles with his marker

from that game i've kept an eye on him no suprise that he made it so soon...excellent soccer player also....
one of those great talents!

the lad is just brilliant no matter what he turns his hand to. he most definitely is sorely missed by all in longford, the county seniors could do with him let alone our u21s!!
any site where the highlights can be watched?

btw mattock louth county board have to take credit for where michael is today! :P if i remember correctly they agreed to a date change for the championship match between us, little did they know that quinn was involved in a bohemians match that would have ruled him out of playing with longford had the match been played on the original date. quinn thus got spotted at the louth match and it all took off from there. fate eh? ;)
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on April 06, 2009, 11:47:50 PM
Quinn was just interviewed at the end of the Essendon Freo highlights clips on Setanta. Seems fairly unaffected by it all but to start in the second game of the season having only arrived in the country is nothing short of a phenomenal achievement. I didn't see him play GAA but he could be a tremendous success at Aussie Rules if he is half as good as those Irish and Aussie people who have seen him are saying he is.

EDIT

And they just ended the highlights show on Setanta by showing a reel of Michael Quinn in his debut game. That's like an unofficial player of the week - fair play to him.
Post by: Qwerty28 on April 07, 2009, 06:30:28 PM
Delighted to see Mickey Quinn geting some recognition on here.....has almost been ignored by the Irish media so far, which is maybe no loss. A very talented footballer, wsa at the minor championship against Louth last year as metioned earlier and one of the most intelligent footballers I've ever seen. A huge loss to the county side.

Good luck to him, hope he goes from strength to strength
Post by: Zulu on April 07, 2009, 07:00:25 PM
Would have picked football over soccer had he stayed here?
Post by: Hotrocks on May 02, 2009, 02:37:32 PM
He might go yet!

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=110922 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=110922)
Post by: Logan on May 02, 2009, 02:42:39 PM
Young Quinn seems to have done ok out there
Post by: orangeman on May 02, 2009, 02:47:36 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on May 02, 2009, 02:37:32 PM
He might go yet!

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=110922 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=110922)

He's just had an operation on the shoulder and needs up to 6 months rehab.
Post by: mountainboii on May 02, 2009, 04:14:27 PM
Quote from: Hotrocks on May 02, 2009, 02:37:32 PM
He might go yet!

That's not the first time Murphy has come out with something like this. Coney won't thank him much for getting the rumours flowing again. Someone should have a word with Murphy about these throw away remarks, he obviously hasn't grasped that he could be putting another young lad under a bit of pressure.
Post by: Overthebar! on May 02, 2009, 04:24:42 PM
surely coney has said something for murphy to mention this, cant see how he would just make it up out of the blue....
Post by: orangeman on May 02, 2009, 04:28:07 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on May 02, 2009, 04:24:42 PM
surely coney has said something for murphy to mention this, cant see how he would just make it up out of the blue....

I don't know but as I said earlier he's walking round here at the minute, his shoulder strapped up, his arm in a sling with up to 6 months rehab.
Post by: mountainboii on May 02, 2009, 04:38:13 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on May 02, 2009, 04:24:42 PM

Not saying he made it up, just that there are some things that he might hear that he'd be best not telling journos about.
Post by: Overthebar! on May 02, 2009, 04:43:47 PM
I see what your saying, suppose he is still young. time will tell what coney is going to do....personally i think he will go
Post by: orangeman on May 02, 2009, 05:35:09 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on May 02, 2009, 04:43:47 PM
I see what your saying, suppose he is still young. time will tell what coney is going to do....personally i think he will go

He's already been and decided it wasn't for him. I remember a massive article in the Gaelic Life not so long ago with the whole story.
Post by: Overthebar! on May 02, 2009, 09:32:18 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 02, 2009, 05:35:09 PM

He's already been and decided it wasn't for him. I remember a massive article in the Gaelic Life not so long ago with the whole story.

i know he has already been, i have a feeling he will go back- think he didnt give it a chance and was maybe alittle young. might not go in the next few weeks but i think he will be there in the next few years
Post by: orangeman on May 02, 2009, 09:40:52 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on May 02, 2009, 09:32:18 PM
Quote from: orangeman on May 02, 2009, 05:35:09 PM

i know he has already been, i have a feeling he will go back- think he didnt give it a chance and was maybe alittle young. might not go in the next few weeks but i think he will be there in the next few years

He might alright.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on May 03, 2009, 03:26:46 AM
No chance of Kyle going back. He was there, didn't like it and came home. End of story.
Post by: orangeman on May 03, 2009, 02:22:50 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on May 03, 2009, 03:26:46 AM
No chance of Kyle going back. He was there, didn't like it and came home. End of story.

That was my interpretation of the story as well.
Post by: HeaveHo on May 04, 2009, 11:16:26 AM
Bit of a rumour going around AFL circles that Kennelly is rethinking his GAA adventure and may return to the Swans. Probably nothing in it but it is getting a little airplay in these parts.
Post by: orangeman on May 04, 2009, 11:20:18 AM
Quote from: HeaveHo on May 04, 2009, 11:16:26 AM
Bit of a rumour going around AFL circles that Kennelly is rethinking his GAA adventure and may return to the Swans. Probably nothing in it but it is getting a little airplay in these parts.

Kennelly is going to needa bit of time to get up to speed with modern GAA - he was away for a long time and I'd say he'll not be in any hurry back. Time to fulfil the dreams.