Cats dominance extends to All Stars list
Kilkenny's all-conquering three in a row hurling team dominate this year's Vodafone-sponsored GAA All Stars list, with a stunning 14 nominations.
Henry Shefflin is chasing his eighth award, which would bring him to within one off his county-man DJ Carey's record haul of nine awards.
In all, eight counties are represented in the nominations, with League and Munster champions Tipperary enjoying the second highest number of nominees with nine.
Cork are rewarded for their nail-biting jousts with Clare, Galway, Tipperary and Kilkenny with seven nominations, while beaten All-Ireland finalists Waterford and Clare have five nominations each.
Offaly and Dublin both received two nominations, with Galway getting just one nominee in the form of Joe Canning.
Another milestone this year is the nomination of Richie Power for what would be his first award.
He will be hoping to join an elite club of one in terms of fathers and sons who have claimed hurling awards - the only combination so far to achieve this amazing double is fellow Kilkenny duo Fan and Philly Larkin.
Seven of last year's winners are nominated again. They are Michael Kavanagh, Jackie Tyrrell, Tommy Walsh, Tony Browne, James 'Cha' Fitzpatrick, Henry Shefflin and Eddie Brennan.
The awards will take place in the CityWest Hotel on 17 October.
The county breakdown is: Kilkenny 14, Tipperary 9, Cork 7, Clare 5, Waterford 5, Offaly 2, Dublin 2 and Galway 1.
The GAA Hurling All Stars nominees for 2008 are:
Goalkeeper
Brendan Cummins (Tipperary) AS 00, 01, 03
Clinton Hennessy (Waterford)
PJ Ryan (Kilkenny)
Full Backs
Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny) AS 02, 03, 07
Noel Hickey (Kilkenny) AS 00, 03
Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny) AS 07
Paul Curran (Tipperary)
Conor O'Brien (Tipperary)
Shane O'Neill (Cork)
Brian Murphy (Cork) AS 06
Gerry O'Grady (Clare)
David Franks (Offaly)
Half Backs
Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny) AS 03, 04, 05, 06, 07
JJ Delaney (Kilkenny) AS 03, 04, 06
Brian Hogan (Kilkenny)
Tony Browne (Waterford) AS 98, 06, 07
Conor O'Mahony (Tipperary)
Shane Maher (Tipperary)
John Gardiner (Cork) AS 05
Sean Óg Ó hAilpín (Cork) AS 03, 04, 05
Ronan Fallon (Dublin)
Midfield
James 'Cha' Fitzpatrick (Kilkenny) AS 06, 07
Derek Lyng (Kilkenny) AS 02, 03
Shane McGrath (Tipperary)
Tom Kenny (Cork)
Brian O'Connell (Clare)
Colin Lynch (Clare) AS 97, 02
Half Forwards
Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)
Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny) AS 00, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07
Richie Power (Kilkenny)
Ben O'Connor (Cork) AS 05
Cathal Naughton (Cork)
Seamus Callinan (Tipperary)
Lar Corbett (Tipperary)
Jonathan Clancy (Clare)
Brian Carroll (Offaly)
Full Forwards
Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny) AS 03, 06, 07
Aidan Fogarty (Kilkenny)
John Mullane (Waterford) AS 03
Eoin McGrath (Waterford)
Eoin Kelly (Waterford) AS 02
Joe Canning (Galway)
Eoin Kelly (Tipperary) AS 01, 02, 04, 05, 06
Niall Gilligan (Clare) AS 99
David O'Callaghan (Dublin)
So looks like Comerford is the one to miss out on a nomination from Kilkenny? O Hailpin seems to there on reputation alone.
Nice to see 2 Dubs nominated. No chance of our 3d allstar this year though.
Goalkeeper
Brendan Cummins (Tipperary) AS 00, 01, 03
Clinton Hennessy (Waterford)
PJ Ryan (Kilkenny)
Full Backs
Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny) AS 02, 03, 07
Noel Hickey (Kilkenny) AS 00, 03
Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny) AS 07
Paul Curran (Tipperary)
Conor O'Brien (Tipperary)
Shane O'Neill (Cork)
Brian Murphy (Cork) AS 06
Gerry O'Grady (Clare)
David Franks (Offaly)
Half Backs
Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny) AS 03, 04, 05, 06, 07
JJ Delaney (Kilkenny) AS 03, 04, 06
Brian Hogan (Kilkenny)
Tony Browne (Waterford) AS 98, 06, 07
Conor O'Mahony (Tipperary)
Shane Maher (Tipperary)
John Gardiner (Cork) AS 05
Sean Óg Ó hAilpín (Cork) AS 03, 04, 05
Ronan Fallon (Dublin)
Midfield
James 'Cha' Fitzpatrick (Kilkenny) AS 06, 07
Derek Lyng (Kilkenny) AS 02, 03
Shane McGrath (Tipperary)
Tom Kenny (Cork)
Brian O'Connell (Clare)
Colin Lynch (Clare) AS 97, 02
Half Forwards
Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)
Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny) AS 00, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07
Richie Power (Kilkenny)
Ben O'Connor (Cork) AS 05
Cathal Naughton (Cork)
Seamus Callinan (Tipperary)
Lar Corbett (Tipperary)
Jonathan Clancy (Clare)
Brian Carroll (Offaly)
Full Forwards
Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny) AS 03, 06, 07
Aidan Fogarty (Kilkenny)
John Mullane (Waterford) AS 03
Eoin McGrath (Waterford)
Eoin Kelly (Waterford) AS 02
Joe Canning (Galway)
Eoin Kelly (Tipperary) AS 01, 02, 04, 05, 06
Niall Gilligan (Clare) AS 99
David O'Callaghan (Dublin)
Guys that were unlucky not to get on the team were Tommy Walsh, Colin Lynch and Shane McGrath, Aidan Fogarty and Eoin Kelly. Brian Hogan plays out of position, but could not be left out of the team.
Looking at that I'd say Ben O'Connor is now a cert as Richie Power won't get one.
Also I suspect Joe Canning and Eoin Kelly will get the one beside Brennan in the FF line.
I don't see any way Tommy Walsh won't get one. Think Hogan will lose out to O'Mahoney.
Not sure the KK goalie will get one either.
KK goalies very often miss out on the ALL Stars, might have something to do with the lack of action they encounter. I think Mullane has been Waterfords one consistent performer, particularly when u consider the Clare debacle. Brian Hogan has been immense this season and if anyone loses out for Walsh, it'll be O'Mahoney, who has also had an outstanding season.
No award for tommy walsh are ye mad!? did you watch the final. For my two cents worth eoin kelly (Wat) should get one for his consantant scoring this year He scored something like 74 points in total, unreal. Looking at the kepper line up PJ should also be a cert.
My Allstars,
1 PJ Ryan KK
2 Kavanagh KK
3 Curran TIPP
4 Tyrrell KK
5 Walsh KK
6 O'Mahony TIPP
7 Delaney KK
8 McGrath TIPP
9 Fitzpatrick KK
10 Larkin KK
11 Shefflin KK
12 O' Connor CK
13 Brennan KK
14 Mullane WD
15 Kelly WD
O'Connor imo is lucky imo that Canning cannot be slipped into the half forward line.
9 Kilkenny, 3 Tipperary,2 Waterford, 1 Cork.
Can't have O'Connor on the team. Very average in the 2 games that counted Tipp & the Cats.
Richie Power was very lucky to get an nomination. Poor semi final, decent final. He migt even have missed out in some of the Leinster c'ship matches. Maybe Clancy from Clare was lucky to get one as well...but apart from that pretty spot on.
Kilkenny will get 10 at least. As good as Hickey was, he only played two matches all year..is that enough?? Waterford get to final & will be lucky to get 1/2 maximum. Normally beaten finalists get 3 or 4. Their poor performances against Clare & Kilkenny will count against them.
henry only played two games worth talking about, is that enough?
I'm glad David Franks and Brian Carroll got one each. Franks was exceptional this year for us, and Carroll was very reliable.
They'll not get near an All Star but I'm happy they were recognised.
If KK's keeper gets that all star then it'll be a joke. Grant it he's a lot of clean sheets, but he's had NOTHING to do.
Henry shouldn't get one either, either should Hickey or Power.
As for Ben, he was fantastic in nearly every game. Kept Cork in it. If any Cork player should get one it should be him. A lot could be said to describe Ben's season but average is definetly not one of them.
Shane O Neill, young Naughton, Brian Murphy, might not get the All Stars but delighted with their seasons. Great, promising preformances from them. Especially delighted with Shane O Neill
Quote from: Reillers on September 26, 2008, 05:22:25 PM
If KK's keeper gets that all star then it'll be a joke. Grant it he's a lot of clean sheets, but he's had NOTHING to do.
Henry shouldn't get one either, either should Hickey or Power.
As for Ben, he was fantastic in nearly every game. Kept Cork in it. If any Cork player should get one it should be him. A lot could be said to describe Ben's season but average is definetly not one of them.
Shane O Neill, young Naughton, Brian Murphy, might not get the All Stars but delighted with their seasons. Great, promising preformances from them. Especially delighted with Shane O Neill
There has been no stand out keeper this year so I would give it to the guy who has kept his full back line on top on all year
He's not been tested at all, the backs do their jobs themselves. It would have made no difference if he had slept on the post for the entire season. It'll be a joke if he gets it.
Reillers take off your Cork blinkers and get real. Neither of the Cork corner backs had a good season and r miles behind the KK full back line. Ben O'Connor was the best of an average lot. KK should have beat Cork by alot more, in fact IMO they beat the rebels in every position hands down.
How does Martin Comferford miss out and others get in who hardly had any game time ?
Quote from: nobackdoor on September 26, 2008, 09:02:54 PM
Reillers take off your Cork blinkers and get real. Neither of the Cork corner backs had a good season and r miles behind the KK full back line. Ben O'Connor was the best of an average lot. KK should have beat Cork by alot more, in fact IMO they beat the rebels in every position hands down.
What's your problem. The only one who's looking at this threw blinkers is yourself. I said that I was happy enough with Shane O Neill, who had a very good season, to say otherwise is biased.
Ben was not average, the fact that you said he was was again, bias.
I think Henry might get one this year for just being Henry.
He finished the championship well, but was quiet for lot of it.
Bit surprised Ronan Curran wasn't on the list ahead of O'halpin or Gardiner, but anyways don't think Cork will get any in half-back line
1 PJ Ryan KK
2 Kavanagh KK
3 Hickey KK
4 Tyrrell KK
5 Walsh KK
6 O'Mahony TIPP
7 Delaney KK
8 McGrath TIPP
9 Fitzpatrick KK
10 Larkin KK
11 Callinan TIPP
12 O' Connor CORK
13 Brennan KK
14 Canning GAL
15 Mullane WD
Those that were close:
Henry Shefflin, Derek Lynge - Kilkenny
Paul Curran -Tipperary
Tony Browne -Waterford
Colin Lynch -Clare
Quote from: Ash Smoker on September 27, 2008, 12:16:29 AM
I think Henry might get one this year for just being Henry.
He finished the championship well, but was quiet for lot of it.
My point exactly. He shouldn't get one, he didn't have a good season, he was shite for the Leinster Championship, yet he'll probably get one just because he's Henry from KK. Threw name and association only.
Henry from KK dismantled Sean Og from Cork in the all ireland semi, watch the video if you disagree . Top scorer for the undisputed best team in the country and all while recovering from serious injury, Henry is a shoe in because he is class no other reason.
All Irelands have been given to players due to their reputation alone for years,i am half expecting Canavan to get one in the football and DJ in the hurling.
i'd give cork 1 - ben o connor, i'd give tipp 2 - mc grath and o mahony and galway 1 - canning, and i'd give mullane 1 for sheer consistency the other 10 go to the cats no question.
I don't understand how so many of ye are picking Canning ahead of Kelly (Wat). Kelly was in line for hurler of the year prior to the AI final and as bad as he played that day he still ended up Waterfords top scorer. In fairness Joe was very good any time I saw him play but he really only faced one decent team in championship and it these performances that decide All Stars. And remember Kelly scored more or less the same against Offaly as Canning did against Cork.
Quote from: slow corner back on September 27, 2008, 01:20:18 PM
Henry from KK dismantled Sean Og from Cork in the all ireland semi, watch the video if you disagree . Top scorer for the undisputed best team in the country and all while recovering from serious injury, Henry is a shoe in because he is class no other reason.
No doubt about it - Henry tore him to shreds !
QuoteAll Irelands have been given to players due to their reputation alone for years,i am half expecting Canavan to get one in the football and DJ in the hurling.
Huh? How is scoring the winner in the 2005 All Ireland Semi plus 1-1 from play in the final not deserving of an All-Star?
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 29, 2008, 11:00:50 AM
QuoteAll Irelands have been given to players due to their reputation alone for years,i am half expecting Canavan to get one in the football and DJ in the hurling.
Huh? How is scoring the winner in the 2005 All Ireland Semi plus 1-1 from play in the final not deserving of an All-Star?
The only problem that year was Brian Mc Guigan's ommission.
Quote from: Zulu on September 29, 2008, 09:36:47 AM
I don't understand how so many of ye are picking Canning ahead of Kelly (Wat). Kelly was in line for hurler of the year prior to the AI final and as bad as he played that day he still ended up Waterfords top scorer. In fairness Joe was very good any time I saw him play but he really only faced one decent team in championship and it these performances that decide All Stars. And remember Kelly scored more or less the same against Offaly as Canning did against Cork.
A fair point, but Canning has done it this year at every level he's played at; club, college, came into the Galway team for semi- and final of the league and was excellent in both. It would be a travesty in all honesty if he was to miss out.
Well looks like Kelly will get one given he's been nominated for player of the year.
In that case either Mullane or Canning will lose out. I think Canning will with the "token gesture" of YPOTY.
Quote from: mouview on September 30, 2008, 10:11:34 AM
Quote from: Zulu on September 29, 2008, 09:36:47 AM
A fair point, but Canning has done it this year at every level he's played at; club, college, came into the Galway team for semi- and final of the league and was excellent in both. It would be a travesty in all honesty if he was to miss out.
Ya true, but lets stop a second. What is the All Star for, what is it rewarding you for? It's given for the best player in the championship. Not who has been fantastic for years underage or who's brilliant anyway and should get an all star even though besides 2 games was shit all season. It is about the best player this year in the championship. Nothing more, nothing less.
Not necessarily true - as I've mentioned on this forum here before, John Leahy got one on the back of an outstanding display in a league final, the same year injury prevented him from playing in the championship. Not axiomatic that All-Stars = Championship.
On reflection I don't think Canning will get one - has he been nominated for young player of the year ? If so, he'll have to be happy with that.
But that's the exact same thing, you've got the exact same problem there, he still played one match. Now there's no doubt that the young lad is amazing and better then all of them there..probably put together, even though that's going a bit far, but he played one match, should that justify an All Star or the HOTY og??
Like Naughton is up for HOTY og as well, now he's not as good as Canning, but I think he was one of Cork's most best players through out the championship. Is it right that a player who really well one match, and I know he played out of this world, but is it right that he gets it over players who've been consistently great all season?? I just think that they feel obliged to give young Canning an award, because he finally came and played, but I think that one game shouldn't be enough.
The lads on the Sunday game when picking their team of the year made it perfectly clear that they were picking them from the championship only, not the league. Is that not the same with All Stars??
All Stars is from both the League and Championship, I agree Reillers in that one good game doesn't deserve an All-Star although in this instance it probably could be justified by the fact that he gave one of the greatest individual performances of all time against the second best team in Ireland. It is very hard on other players who have played well throughout the championship but what other forward is capable of giving such a perfromance?? I'm on the fence here as to be honest if he gets one it can be justified and if he doesn't then it can also be justified.
It would be justified ya, but it's not the point, if we give an all star to him, and I know he was he'll probably be the best player in the country in years to come, but I just think they should wait, wait till he's earned one and really earned one. He was insanely good against Cork, but there are a few things I'd critiize, he still has so much to learn, he tried to do everything himself.
I just think it's pointless giving him an All Star of HOTY Og just for the point of it, there will be plenty of seasons that he'll actually earn it, and I know me saying that he didn't earn it is harsh but in the bigger picture of the young lads who played more and played well. I just think they should wait, because I feel that they are just giving it to him for sake of it. You'll have players then who miss out because of that. There will be plenty of time to give him an all star or even HOTY/Og.
It'll be one thing if he gets an All Star but I'll be really annoyed if he gets HOTY og. That can't be justified, because it'll have the others thinking, he only played one game, we played all season really well, what more do we have to do. Players should be rewarded for playing all season well, not getting a reward for playing, despite how brilliant, one game.
don't agree reillers, The reality is Canning was playing on a galway team that were crap this season , on his own up front on several allstar defenders against cork. Naughton who is a fine player was playing on a team playing well against galway. Now if Naughton was on the galway team would he have scored 2-12 against that cork backline? I don't think so. Joe scored heavy in the other games, as well all be it against poor teams. it was single best individual performance i've seen for a decade, when you consider he was on his own marking gardiner,sean og etc at 20 years of age and for that i think he deserves it.
Canning also won an all ireland club this year and was was superb in the fitzgibbon final although on the loosing team. To say he only played one good game all year is simply wrong.
Quote from: Reillers on October 03, 2008, 02:55:10 PM
It'll be one thing if he gets an All Star but I'll be really annoyed if he gets HOTY og. That can't be justified, because it'll have the others thinking, he only played one game, we played all season really well, what more do we have to do. Players should be rewarded for playing all season well, not getting a reward for playing, despite how brilliant, one game.
Where does this nonsense come from that Joe Canning only played one game this year. He played in the NHL Final against Tipperary and in several other games. To say that he should not get an award because he only played one game shows how little some people know about the hurling season.
Nobody is saying he only played one game all year but my point washe didn't deserve an All Star before Eoin Kelly (Wat) as many posters here seemed to suggest. He's performances for both club and college are an irrelevance (incorrectly IMO) when it comes to picking All Stars and league performances are lightly weighted. IMO both John Mullane and Kelly are more deserving of All Stars this year than Canning.
naah don't agree at all Zulu, i think Mullane deserves one but i wouldn't have Kelly ahead of Canning. Against top class opposition and playing on allstar defenders on his own at 20 years of age on a team playing badly he nearly beat Cork on his own. That to my mind surpasses anything naugton or eoin kelly did this year. With the exception of mullane i'd struggle to give any of the rest of them allstars after their miserable capitualtion in the all-ireland final. So Canning deserves both in my view.
Hang on, what are we giving an All Star for, 99% of the time it's for the championship. Canning I've said a few hundred times now that he's insanely good but I just think that if he get's an All Star or HOTY Og for that matter, it'll be like them giving it to him for the sake of it, he was outstanding against Cork, but at the end of the day, that was one game. I just think he shouldn't get an All Star for one game, as amazing as it was, in the championship.
Is that enough to get an All Star and/or HOTY Og, irrespective of who it is, is one good game enough??
it wasn't one game though, he played in the national league, played against antrim and laois and cork. I think Naugton is an excellent hurler and i'm not saying anything against him but:
naughton played against tipp, dublin, galway and the cats.
Naughton was excellent against tipp and very good against dublin and galway. wasn't good against the cats but neither was anyone else from cork.
Canning was excellent against two poor teams and was absolutely brilliant against the 2nd best team in the country. I agree there isn't much in it but i still come back to the point that Naugton would never have done what Canning did if the roles were reversed that day. Thats the point that tips it for me. I was at the game in thurles and i couldn't believe how good he was. I mean even shefflin isn't as gifted as canning.
I see where you're coming from though, on the point about one game. But the journalists will take the fitzgibbon cup and the all-ireland club into account when they shouldn't really, and Joe Canning is a shoe in for young player of the year as a result. I still think he should get it though for that day aginst Cork. The system doesn't allow Canning to showcase his talents as much as Naughton.
Quote from: INDIANA on October 04, 2008, 12:57:11 PM
naah don't agree at all Zulu, i think Mullane deserves one but i wouldn't have Kelly ahead of Canning. Against top class opposition and playing on allstar defenders on his own at 20 years of age on a team playing badly he nearly beat Cork on his own. That to my mind surpasses anything naugton or eoin kelly did this year. With the exception of mullane i'd struggle to give any of the rest of them allstars after their miserable capitualtion in the all-ireland final. So Canning deserves both in my view.
Ah come on now Indiana, Eoin Kelly was many people's favourite for HOTY, surely your not arguing that flopping in the AI (amongst a whole team that flopped) cancels out all that. There have been a few lads over the years who had very good years but didn't perform in an AI semi or/and final but still got All Stars, and rightly so. An All star is an award for consistently good performances over the duration of a year (championship, in particular) not for one brilliant performance or a player's ability. Kelly was almost as impressive against Offaly as Canning was against Cork, he was good against Antrim, Wexford and Tipperary. So he only played one poor game all year, that was unfortunately in the AI but that shouldn't detract from what was a very good year for him personally.
He was outstanding against antrim and loais aswell, if it makes any difference. I'd be very surpised if he doesnt get one. I was watching the cork - cats game. I think hickey was amazing, he earned an all star in those two games. As was brain hogan, there wouldnt be many fellas that could keep JT of the team.
I think Aidan Fogarty also deseves a mention, he didnt get the goals that larkin and brennan but he was always keep the score board ticking over.
PJ Ryan
Michael Kavanagh Noel Hickey Jackie Tyrrell
Tommy Walsh Brian Hogan JJ Delaney
James 'Cha' Fitzpatrick Tom Kenny
Eoin Larkin Henry Shefflin Seamus Callinan
Eddie Brennan Joe Canning Eoin McGrath
All the forwards are interchangeable. Joe and henry fight over who takes the frees
don't agree zulu none of those teams are as good as cork. would eoin kelly have scored 2-12 against cork under the same circumstances? i don't think so. joe has played well all year and i said the sytem punishes him because he only gets a couple of games a year, thats hardly his fault. but when the pressure was highest, he delivered and for that he deserves one for me. kelly had a fine year but that final, i've never seen anything like it in terms of capitulation in a team context.
I agree Canning is an exceptional talent and lived up to the high expectations that the country had of him, which was no mean feat. However if Galway had beaten Cork and were subsequently hammered by Kilkenny with Canning having a stinker I presume you'd take his All Star back, i.e. one bad performance would cancel out a previously outstanding record. Because it appears to me that's what you are doing to Kelly, only Kelly has 3 good performances against top 8ish teams while Joe only had one. Kelly is a shoo in for an All Star IMO and Mullane deserves one more than Canning this year. Mullane hasn't the ability to produce a performance like Canning's but he was consistently good all year, even against Kilkenny, well by his team mate's standards anyway.
Quote from: INDIANA on October 04, 2008, 01:19:40 PM
it wasn't one game though, he played in the national league, played against antrim and laois and cork. I think Naugton is an excellent hurler and i'm not saying anything against him but:
naughton played against tipp, dublin, galway and the cats.
Naughton was excellent against tipp and very good against dublin and galway. wasn't good against the cats but neither was anyone else from cork.
Canning was excellent against two poor teams and was absolutely brilliant against the 2nd best team in the country. I agree there isn't much in it but i still come back to the point that Naugton would never have done what Canning did if the roles were reversed that day. Thats the point that tips it for me. I was at the game in thurles and i couldn't believe how good he was. I mean even shefflin isn't as gifted as canning.
I see where you're coming from though, on the point about one game. But the journalists will take the fitzgibbon cup and the all-ireland club into account when they shouldn't really, and Joe Canning is a shoe in for young player of the year as a result. I still think he should get it though for that day aginst Cork. The system doesn't allow Canning to showcase his talents as much as Naughton.
It's got nothing to do with Naughton, I'd love if he got the HOTY Og, but like Canning is better then him, but I think every player that gets an All Star or HOTY/Og should be judged on the same level.
Every other player gets an All Star or and HOTY for their games in the Championship, but Canning, I just feel that is getting one for the sake of one, because it was the "year he arrived" ya he may have been good in the League and such, but let all players be judged on the same thing, which leaves us with the match against Cork..he was outstanding, but it's still one game..which might warrant an All Star but not HOTY.
It's not Canning's fault that he only got one game to play in, he outscored everyone and anyone on the pitch, and he'd a few wides as well, so who knows what would have happened if he'd a perfect day, but though it's not his fault, he still only had one game. He deserves one, because he's that good, but has he earned one more so then someone who's played more then one (outstanding) game a year.
Kilkenny have always been the exception to the rule, which annoys me as well, because you've got players winning an All Star as well for two good games at the most. Grand some play well in Leinster, but say Henry, if he gets an All Star, it'll be a bit irritating because he was shocking in Leinster.
I think Canning will get an All Star, and rightly so I suppose, it can be justified, but I think that a good 10 of the KK players will get awards just because of association, like their keeper, it'll be a bit of a joke if a player who had no saves to make all year get an All Star.
But I think we'll just have to agree to disagree on this one.
History would suggest that their keeper won't get one though. The stick you're beating them with wrt keepers is one which the journalists have also been beating them with for years. Otherwise why would James McGarry not have got one?(or if he has one why would he not have more)
True but I can just see it being one of those years where they'll give it to him for the sake of it because he's a kk player.
Dunno.
I think they'll get nine but you couldn't really argue with that. They demolished everything in front of them and it wasn't just one or two outstanding performances.
Goalie, CHB, 1 midfield and 3 forwards won't get one IMO. Derek Lyng should get one too however McGrath has been good and while you couldn't call it a token gesture it will be slighyly "political".
Looks like one of the journos couldnt hould their whisht in the Palace,or maybe its a double bluff ;)
Cummins
Kavanagh
Hickey
Tyrell
Walsh
O'Mahoney
Delaney
Cha
Shane Mc
B O'Connor
Sheff
Larkin
Brennan
Kelly
Canning
Larkin hurler of the year,Callinan young hurler.
Yep that was the team alright, I still don't think Canning deserved one more than Mullane.
wouldn't have had kelly ahead of mullane
We're not going to agree on this one mate so we'll just have to leave it..................but I'm right. :)
Can't believe..(well I can, but still) that Canning got an All Star and HOTY Og..ya he had one tremendous game..but it was ONE game. Players are judged on their preformances in the Championship, and he played once..I'd have accepted if he got An All Star but hey Joe well done on that one great game you played that you still lost in, but anyway and here's two fingers to all the other young lads who'd a very good all round season and Sheflin as well, he was awful in Leinster, played one and a half good games and got an All Star. Name above achievements nowadays though.
Quote from: INDIANA on October 17, 2008, 08:35:00 PM
wouldn't have had kelly ahead of mullane
Apart from the journalists who picked the team, does any one else really think that Eoin Kelly deserved an All Star ahead of John Mullane. Without any doubt Mullane should have been there before Kelly.
you're some bitter individual reillers i can name countless cork players in recent times who won all-stars and other awards they didn't deserve. is it any wonder that most people wouldn't mind seeing cork being cut off from the rest of the country with a chip on your shoulder like that.
Ye're all so bloody high and mighty like when it comes to Cork, if ya read my post, I actually said Now a days. It's been like that for a long time. Some players getting them for no other reason then who they are and the repuation that comes with their name. Maybe you could read my post next time before you start whining and crying again about how horrible, big bad and mean Cork is, it's getting old.
bullshit " the one great game played in that you lost" - another dig in whenever you can get it. i'm surprised you can get in the front door at home with that chip on your shoulder. you wouldn't be saying it if cork had won the all-ireland this year that i can guarantee.
Quote from: INDIANA on October 18, 2008, 02:15:14 PM
bullshit " the one great game played in that you lost" - another dig in whenever you can get it. i'm surprised you can get in the front door at home with that chip on your shoulder. you wouldn't be saying it if cork had won the all-ireland this year that i can guarantee.
What is your problem go back a page or two I think he's been so amamzing, I just don't think one game, no matter how spectacular, justifies an All Star and HOTY og, I've said it over and over again for the last few pages that Canning is amazing. This has absolutley nothing to do with Cork, get over yourself will ya ffs. You're trying to make a fight out of everything I've said.
I think Mullane should have got one as well, let me guess, that has something to do with the "chip on my shoulder" again right. ::) ::)
Have to say that there were no real surprises.
Quote from: Reillers on October 18, 2008, 12:02:25 PM
Can't believe..(well I can, but still) that Canning got an All Star and HOTY Og..ya he had one tremendous game..but it was ONE game. Players are judged on their preformances in the Championship, and he played once..I'd have accepted if he got An All Star but hey Joe well done on that one great game you played that you still lost in, but anyway and here's two fingers to all the other young lads who'd a very good all round season and Sheflin as well, he was awful in Leinster, played one and a half good games and got an All Star. Name above achievements nowadays though.
Joe Canning also got man of the match in the AI club final and wasn't far from man of the match in the national league final. Just in case you forgot about those minor competitions.
club performances are irrelevant when it comes to the All Stars. Mullane has every right to feel aggrieved,he showed up in every game for Waterford and was probably the only Waterford player that left Croke Park with his reputation intact after the All Ireland. in fairness anyone that pays too much attention to the All Stars need their head looked
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 19, 2008, 03:12:41 AM
Quote from: Reillers on October 18, 2008, 12:02:25 PM
Joe Canning also got man of the match in the AI club final and wasn't far from man of the match in the national league final. Just in case you forgot about those minor competitions.
But the All Stars have nothing to do with AI club final. He's outstanding, he is, but I think that they just went on their way to give him the awards cause it was his "coming." Technically it was only one good game he could have been judged on. And though he was outstanding, there were other players who were very good, in more then good game.
He played three championship games and two, I think he played the semi, league games.
Are you forgetting those? Or maybe you don't think these count either? He was none too shabby in any of those either. Granted the previous two championship games were against "weaker" teams but you still have to go out and do a job and he did that.
Do they count, because in the football they say they don't, so is one rule for football and one for hurling?
I'm not denying how brilliant he is but I'm just saying that maybe players who played really well over a few games might have been a better option.
It's not his fault that they lost to us in the qualifer, he outscored everybody and still was on the loosing side. There was nothing he could do. Thankfully Galway are in the LC now so we'll see more of him hopefully, so maybe he can justify it a little bit more.
He is a fantastic player and can only get better, which is frightening because he's imense. But still, if the League games don't count, which they apparently according to most, they don't. Then he's been awarded HOTY Og and an All Star for playing one (out this world maybe, but still one) game .
League games are considered for All Stars in both football and hurling...
Who says league games don't count?
Apart from Derry supporters saying that must be the case as Fergal Doherty didn't get a nomination...
That is then 5 games he's played to be considered. Club and university don't count and we're all aware of that. A lot more than the 1 you give him credit for...