Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Off The Fence on September 03, 2008, 04:20:44 PM

Title: Cheap Flights to America
Post by: Off The Fence on September 03, 2008, 04:20:44 PM
Lads and Lasses,

Major problem I need help with.  Aer Lingus are doing a great deal at the minute to fly to the States.  Was planning to head over Christmas (return for 420 Euro).  Now the boss has thrown a spanner in the works and said I cant go on my selected dates, which basically fooks the whole thing up.  Other dates would be too expensive and have tried BA and US Airways, too pricey.  Can anyone reccomend any good decent preiced airlines or help me out in any way here?  Any Help would be greatly appreciated!
Title: Re: Cheap Flights to America
Post by: gawa316 on September 03, 2008, 04:22:52 PM
Where abouts are you flying to and on what dates?

The wife and I are heading back to hers for xmas and new years but are getting quoted about 650euro by aer lingus
Post by: orangeman on September 03, 2008, 04:31:03 PM
Contiental
Post by: orangeman on September 03, 2008, 04:31:29 PM
Continental
Post by: J70 on September 03, 2008, 04:36:07 PM
Continental and Delta fly to the NYC area as well from Ireland. US Airways go to Philadelphia. If you want to go via London or Manchester there should be plenty more options, especially as there should be quite a few who stop at Heathrow. Expedia always works pretty well for me when I'm seeking out deals.
Post by: bingobus on September 03, 2008, 04:41:19 PM
Was looking at American Airlines the other day and they where coming in at about 420-450, connecting flight from Dublin to Gatwick included in that price.
Post by: full back on September 03, 2008, 04:44:31 PM
Have a look here OTF to see what you can get

http://www.skyscanner.net/
Post by: gawa316 on September 03, 2008, 04:44:56 PM
It's actually 720 euro they are quoting. Is the price of the dollar going to keep dropping?
Post by: orangeman on September 03, 2008, 04:49:56 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 03, 2008, 04:44:56 PM
It's actually 720 euro they are quoting. Is the price of the dollar going to keep dropping?

Seems so.
Post by: aontroim on September 03, 2008, 04:50:53 PM
www.cheapoair.com
Post by: J70 on September 03, 2008, 05:19:17 PM
I got a pretty good deal a few years back on KLM, although that of course means a connection in Amsterdam. If a few extra hours travelling is worth the cash saving, it might be worth your while checking some of the big continental hubs. I think it was about an hour or bit more to Amsterdam and then the same added to the transatlantic flight. Not sure what the extra time to Frankfurt would be - I would assume you'd add two hours flying time to each flight.
Post by: magickingdom on September 03, 2008, 08:20:45 PM
aer lingus have loads of dates at around the e500 mark, your not going to beat that by much
Post by: MayoMan on September 03, 2008, 08:56:32 PM
give me the dates, destination and prefered departure and i'll look up a few of the sites i have..... whats the price to beat at the moment??
Post by: An Fear Rua on September 03, 2008, 09:12:01 PM
Quote from: MayoMan on September 03, 2008, 08:56:32 PM
give me the dates, destination and prefered departure and i'll look up a few of the sites i have..... whats the price to beat at the moment??

Manchester > Seattle via NYC for a day or so on the way back. Halloween in Seattle......

Post by: gawa316 on September 03, 2008, 09:37:01 PM
Quote from: MayoMan on September 03, 2008, 08:56:32 PM

dublin - San Fran 17th-19th Dec return on the 5th Jan, about 716 euro is best i can find, cheers in advance
Post by: john mcgill on September 03, 2008, 10:15:32 PM
I am going to San Francisco for five days in late October.  Cheaptickets.com charged me $530 (dollars) for a return trip through Heathrow out of Dublin.  I couldn't believe how cheap it was and Sods Law I'm being reimbursed for the flight.
Post by: gawa316 on September 03, 2008, 11:18:04 PM
Quote from: john mcgill on September 03, 2008, 10:15:32 PM
I am going to San Francisco for five days in late October.  Cheaptickets.com charged me $530 (dollars) for a return trip through Heathrow out of Dublin.  I couldn't believe how cheap it was and Sods Law I'm being reimbursed for the flight.

You are a f**king legend!!

I was so close to booking flights that would have cost me over 1400 euro, checked with cheaptickets and got them for $1050 for the 2 of us, get the f**k in.

It said it was going to be about a $1000 each and when i clicked on them it said it had found cheaper flights, happy days.

I owe you a pint or 2, thanks again
Post by: orangeman on September 03, 2008, 11:18:20 PM

Expenses ?
Post by: MayoMan on September 03, 2008, 11:27:46 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 03, 2008, 11:18:04 PM

You are a f**king legend!!

I was so close to booking flights that would have cost me over 1400 euro, checked with cheaptickets and got them for $1050 for the 2 of us, get the f**k in.

It said it was going to be about a $1000 each and when i clicked on them it said it had found cheaper flights, happy days.

I owe you a pint or 2, thanks again

440 euro on http://www.americanholidays.com/travel/arc_process.cfm?search=true
Post by: gawa316 on September 04, 2008, 10:00:48 AM
Anyone booked with cheaptickets before? Have they a good reputation?

Did I hear something about getting a visa before we head over or am I imagining it?
Post by: saffron sam2 on September 04, 2008, 12:16:47 PM
Depends which of your two passports you use. :)
Post by: gawa316 on September 04, 2008, 12:36:07 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on September 04, 2008, 12:16:47 PM
Depends which of your two passports you use. :)

Only got the one. I let you guess which one ;)

So will I need to sort out a visa before hand?
Post by: gawa316 on September 04, 2008, 04:11:41 PM
Does anyone know how long it generally takes to go from terminal 1 to terminal 5 at Heathrow?
Post by: Off The Fence on September 04, 2008, 04:43:45 PM
Thanks for infor folks, All taking on board.
Post by: john mcgill on September 04, 2008, 08:47:49 PM
Gawa I'm glad it helped.  I generally browse sites every day for a couple of weeks when I'm travelling, it gives me a general idea of prices.
For traveling between terminals:
http://www.heathrowairport.com/portal/page/Heathrow%5EGeneral%5EAirport+information%5ETravel+between+terminals/aedd3db5569a9110VgnVCM10000036821c0a____/448c6a4c7f1b0010VgnVCM200000357e120a____/#C

Orangeman I'm going out to speak at a training session and the organisation I'm going to will pay the flights.  I probably could fly business but it's not my regular job and I don't want to put the boot in and maybe they'll bring me back again
Post by: Puckoon on September 04, 2008, 08:54:14 PM
Ive used cheaptickets a number of times, pretty reasonable, no issues from Puck.
Post by: muppet on September 08, 2008, 10:11:14 AM
Futura and it's Irish based subsidiary, Futura Gael, gone out of business today.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/business/mhqlgbgbsnau/ (http://www.breakingnews.ie/business/mhqlgbgbsnau/)

Be very careful who you book flights with over the next 6-12 months.
Post by: Off The Fence on December 09, 2008, 09:55:26 AM
Heading to America now on Saturday for 10 days- Need your help,

How many Suitcases are you allowed?

I thought it was one and one, but someone tells me this morning you are allowed two suitcases?
Post by: Puckoon on December 09, 2008, 05:24:28 PM
There are currently no american laws on how many suitcases a visitor can bring into the US.  Unless of course you are on a holiday visa, in which case you have to take exactly 4. No more, no less.

You may want to think about calling your airline to find out what their policy is on suitcases.
Post by: tyronefan on December 10, 2008, 02:15:15 PM
just back from the US   It depends on the airline you are flying with. Aer lingus allows you 2 suitcases per passenger and a carry on. The full details are on the aer lingus web site. Never heard of any restrictions by the US customs and have seen people traveling through the airports with loads of bags
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 10, 2008, 03:47:53 PM
Quote from: tyronefan on December 10, 2008, 02:15:15 PM
just back from the US   It depends on the airline you are flying with. Aer lingus allows you 2 suitcases per passenger and a carry on. The full details are on the aer lingus web site. Never heard of any restrictions by the US customs and have seen people traveling through the airports with loads of bags
Flying with Delta next week and the baggage restrictions are that you are allowed TWO bags, the weights allowed are 22kg for each bag. No single bag is allowed to be over 32kg.
So in theory the missus and myself could have 2 bags each with all four bags totalling 88kg.

A far cry from aer lingus and ryanair !
Post by: carribbear on December 10, 2008, 04:52:48 PM
In case you arent aware there is a new law coming into the USA that you must register at least 3 days in advance of your flight to the states. This takes effect from the 12th January, at the moment it is still on trial and not yet mandatory. Effectively it is a move to replace the green waiver you fill in when you go through customs.

https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/

Post by: gawa316 on December 12, 2008, 06:42:03 PM
Flyin next week from dub to san fran via heathrow. Anyone got any idea how many hours before we should check in at? Do you treat it as an international flight because the final destination is san fran or a domestic one cause we're going to heathrow first?
Post by: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 07:08:57 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on December 12, 2008, 06:42:03 PM
Flyin next week from dub to san fran via heathrow. Anyone got any idea how many hours before we should check in at? Do you treat it as an international flight because the final destination is san fran or a domestic one cause we're going to heathrow first?

the usual is be there around 2 hours before check-in, pretty much standard these days when flying anywhere.  Sometimes queues can be shocking so depends on time and day. saturday 6am used to be mental.

Dependng on the carriers on both legs you could be checked in the whole way through to SFO.

As for baggage, its always easieri if youre using the same carrier (or partner) the whole way. At least you wont have to go through the nightmare of us baggage handling pickups.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 12, 2008, 07:13:38 PM
they say 3 hours, might get away with 2.
Post by: gawa316 on December 12, 2008, 07:16:25 PM
Quote from: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 07:08:57 PM

the usual is be there around 2 hours before check-in, pretty much standard these days when flying anywhere.  Sometimes queues can be shocking so depends on time and day. saturday 6am used to be mental.

Dependng on the carriers on both legs you could be checked in the whole way through to SFO.

As for baggage, its always easieri if youre using the same carrier (or partner) the whole way. At least you wont have to go through the nightmare of us baggage handling pickups.

Fly with aerlingus at 7.55 to heathrow and then with BA to san fran. Hope to god we can check everything through and get both sets of boarding passes in dublin, otherwise we could be a bit fecked! Does it really take 1hr 20 to fly to heathrow?
Post by: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 07:57:50 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on December 12, 2008, 07:16:25 PM
Quote from: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 07:08:57 PM

Fly with aerlingus at 7.55 to heathrow and then with BA to san fran. Hope to god we can check everything through and get both sets of boarding passes in dublin, otherwise we could be a bit fecked! Does it really take 1hr 20 to fly to heathrow?

As far as I recall you can get both Aer Lingus and BA boarding passes in Dublin on check in..they have those new kiosks which print them out for you so all you need to do is drop in the bags. They should be able to put them all the way through for you.
I hope you have pre-booked your bags though, Aer Lingus are sticklers for weight and for the amount of bags you check in. They'll make you go off to the ticketing kiosk and you'll have to re-queue again (ok, they might let you jump the queue but its always a dodgy thing to rely on)

It is about 1h 20 to heathrow, know where your terminal is and be ready to run...i've done it a few times through that airport.  I'd even make sure to look at the terminal map beforehand and know where to get the train.
Post by: gawa316 on December 12, 2008, 08:45:22 PM
Quote from: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 07:57:50 PM

As far as I recall you can get both Aer Lingus and BA boarding passes in Dublin on check in..they have those new kiosks which print them out for you so all you need to do is drop in the bags. They should be able to put them all the way through for you.
I hope you have pre-booked your bags though, Aer Lingus are sticklers for weight and for the amount of bags you check in. They'll make you go off to the ticketing kiosk and you'll have to re-queue again (ok, they might let you jump the queue but its always a dodgy thing to rely on)

It is about 1h 20 to heathrow, know where your terminal is and be ready to run...i've done it a few times through that airport.  I'd even make sure to look at the terminal map beforehand and know where to get the train.

Cheers for that. How do you pre-book your bags? We booked with cheaptickets.com so can't go directly into aerligus or ba to book or view our trip
Post by: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 09:03:44 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on December 12, 2008, 08:45:22 PM
Quote from: carribbear on December 12, 2008, 07:57:50 PM

Cheers for that. How do you pre-book your bags? We booked with cheaptickets.com so can't go directly into aerligus or ba to book or view our trip

No idea about that one, surely you get some sort of confirmation code for your aer lingus flight, you may be able to log into their website with that and add the bags perhaps?

I do however see baggage info on the aerlingus website with gives guidelines but it also mention the charges as well. pretty steep if you ask me!

Aer Lingus will through-check baggage as a courtesy onto any carrier that have a baggage agreement in place, upon presentation of documentation of the itinerary showing Aer Lingus and partner carrier flights on the same ticket.

This includes the following airlines: American Airlines, Air France, Air India, Alaska Airlines, Finnair, British Airways, Air China, China Airlines, Cathay Pacific, China Southern, Emirates, Etihad, Gulf Air, Iberia, Japan Airlines, KLM, Kenya Airways, Kuwait Airways, Malev, Malaysian, Martin Air, Northwest, Austrian Airlines, Pakistan Airlines, Qantas, Qatar Airways, South African Airways, Singapore Airlines, Thai Airlines, United Airlines, Sri Lankan Airlines, US Airways, Virgin Atlantic and JetBlue Airways.
Post by: criostlinn on December 13, 2008, 02:07:17 PM
I think Aerlingus have got rid of surcharge for american flights.
No sign of it now when booking. 460 euros now for May. It was about 590 last week.

Should I book now or wait for a sale
Post by: carribbear on December 13, 2008, 10:38:07 PM
Make hay while the sun shines!
Usually theres sales the month before each flight so really depends on when you plan to travel. Maybe its time to take advantage of the fuel surcharge not being factored in.
Post by: orangeman on December 14, 2008, 02:03:57 PM
If you had booked for next year and were charged a fuel surcharge, do you get it back ??
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 14, 2008, 04:35:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on December 14, 2008, 02:03:57 PM
If you had booked for next year and were charged a fuel surcharge, do you get it back ??

would doubt it.

also aer lingus flights to heathrow are notoriously late so you could be running faster for the connecting bus between terminals
try to check your bags in the whole way from Ireland to Destination , that way you should get there and they have held flights up for this reason, as they know they have to load extra passengers and their bags on the us bound flight!
Post by: john mcgill on December 14, 2008, 08:25:03 PM
gawa I flew Aer Lingus and BA last year.  Check in two hours before.  They booked my bags all the way thru.  Try and get seats at the front of Aer Lingus and leg it to Terminal 5. Details in link http://www.heathrowairport.com/portal/page/Heathrow%5EGeneral%5EAirport+information%5ETravel+between+terminals/aedd3db5569a9110VgnVCM10000036821c0a____/448c6a4c7f1b0010VgnVCM200000357e120a____/#C
Heathrow security can be busy and delays can occur.
When you get to SF use BART to bring you to the city centre and pick up a taxi to your hotel there.

Enjoy
Post by: gawa316 on December 16, 2008, 05:40:47 PM
Quote from: john mcgill on December 14, 2008, 08:25:03 PM
gawa I flew Aer Lingus and BA last year.  Check in two hours before.  They booked my bags all the way thru.  Try and get seats at the front of Aer Lingus and leg it to Terminal 5. Details in link http://www.heathrowairport.com/portal/page/Heathrow%5EGeneral%5EAirport+information%5ETravel+between+terminals/aedd3db5569a9110VgnVCM10000036821c0a____/448c6a4c7f1b0010VgnVCM200000357e120a____/#C
Heathrow security can be busy and delays can occur.
When you get to SF use BART to bring you to the city centre and pick up a taxi to your hotel there.

Enjoy

Cheers for the info John.

Gettin picked up in san fran by family so won't need the BART
Post by: gawa316 on December 20, 2008, 05:13:21 PM
Well made it to the states alright. Jumped of Aer Lingus flight in heathrow and it took about 50 mins to get to our onward gate giving us 40 mins to spare. Risky enough because our inward flight was on time and there was no queue at sercurity. Either of these could have fucked us up. Cheers for all the help
Post by: carribbear on December 20, 2008, 09:24:32 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on December 20, 2008, 05:13:21 PM
Well made it to the states alright. Jumped of Aer Lingus flight in heathrow and it took about 50 mins to get to our onward gate giving us 40 mins to spare. Risky enough because our inward flight was on time and there was no queue at sercurity. Either of these could have fucked us up. Cheers for all the help

Enjoy SF. Try the quiche  :D
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 14, 2009, 11:33:07 AM
the missus is heading to philadelphia in the summer trying to get a direct flight , i see that us airways are flying direct for about €750 euro any other airways fly direct to philly ?
Post by: carribbear on March 14, 2009, 02:21:01 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on March 14, 2009, 11:33:07 AM
the missus is heading to philadelphia in the summer trying to get a direct flight , i see that us airways are flying direct for about €750 euro any other airways fly direct to philly ?

Fly to Newark and take the train to philly. it's about an hour out.
US airways are the only ones I know that do the direct route.
Post by: muppet on March 14, 2009, 02:42:19 PM
Quote from: carribbear on March 14, 2009, 02:21:01 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on March 14, 2009, 11:33:07 AM

Fly to Newark and take the train to philly. it's about an hour out.
US airways are the only ones I know that do the direct route.

If your dates are flexible Dulles might be cheaper but you stil have a land journey. Direct is probably better though, less hassle.
Post by: the Deel Rover on March 14, 2009, 02:55:45 PM
thanks lads probably just go for the direct flight to philly there's probably feck all difference in it  ( money wise) and as you said muppett its a lot less hassle
Post by: carribbear on March 14, 2009, 04:00:10 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on March 14, 2009, 02:55:45 PM
thanks lads probably just go for the direct flight to philly there's probably feck all difference in it  ( money wise) and as you said muppett its a lot less hassle

it's a nice wee spin from Dulles to city centre washington, take you half an hour by cab at least.

Newark has a train station that goes to philly (amtrak)

of course if theres no difference in money direct is the way to go although check continental airlines to newark.
Post by: tyronefan on March 14, 2009, 05:27:51 PM
try this site from Asda  they offer the cheapest flights from all airlines

it has flights from Ireland although it is a UK site

http://www.asda-travel.co.uk/
Post by: gawa316 on November 06, 2009, 04:35:10 PM
Anyone flown with aer lingus to the states recently? We usually bring a big suitcase and one medium one each but now I think the allowance is just a big one each. Anyone know what the deal is here? Packing at the min or the woman is so she wants to know how much shite she can pack?

Cheers in advance
Post by: orangeman on November 06, 2009, 04:58:20 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on November 06, 2009, 04:35:10 PM
Anyone flown with aer lingus to the states recently? We usually bring a big suitcase and one medium one each but now I think the allowance is just a big one each. Anyone know what the deal is here? Packing at the min or the woman is so she wants to know how much shite she can pack?

Cheers in advance

23kg in total I think.
Post by: muppet on November 06, 2009, 06:25:22 PM
http://www.aerlingus.com/cgi-bin/obel01im1/Support/helpBaggage.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@1719638346.1257531828@@@@&BV_EngineID=cccfadeikieiekmcefecfigdffgdfkk.0&P_OID=-536882416&Category=2#checkedbaggagefees (http://www.aerlingus.com/cgi-bin/obel01im1/Support/helpBaggage.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@1719638346.1257531828@@@@&BV_EngineID=cccfadeikieiekmcefecfigdffgdfkk.0&P_OID=-536882416&Category=2#checkedbaggagefees)

Check the long haul allowances and fees.
Post by: gawa316 on November 06, 2009, 10:45:57 PM
Aye thats what I thought, will probably buy an extra suitcase out there and pay the fees for it
Post by: gawa316 on February 19, 2010, 12:04:52 AM
Right looking at flights to San Fran for xmas. Expedia, Kayak, Cheap Flights etc all coming back with about 380 stg with Delta, which sounds feckin great.

However we'll have a 8 month old nipper then and can't seem to get prices for them. On expedia when I add in the young 'un it doesn't even bring up the Delta flights. When I go through Kayak it doesn't give you the opportunity to add a baby so it just works out as 3 people.

Anyone ever flew with Delta and what their policy is on flying with babies?

Or if anyone else has booked on any other site could they let me know?

Cheers
Post by: Puckoon on February 19, 2010, 12:07:50 AM
I am almost certain that children fly free under 2 years  of age. You should contact delta directly.

I assume your flight though delta is docking in atlanta?
Post by: gawa316 on February 19, 2010, 12:17:09 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 19, 2010, 12:07:50 AM
I am almost certain that children fly free under 2 years  of age. You should contact delta directly.

I assume your flight though delta is docking in atlanta?

Some are through Atlanta and some through JFK.

It's weird, when I go direct to the delta site the price they offer me for just a single person is 578 euro but when I go through kayak they put me through to delta's site and it comes back at 428 euro. How the feck does that work? ???
Post by: ross4life on February 19, 2010, 12:21:53 AM
Not sure has it been post here yet

www.skyscanner.net

& ebookers.ie is sometimes cheaper than Ebookers.com Vice-versa
Post by: boston on February 19, 2010, 02:02:02 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 19, 2010, 12:04:52 AM
Right looking at flights to San Fran for xmas. Expedia, Kayak, Cheap Flights etc all coming back with about 380 stg with Delta, which sounds feckin great.

However we'll have a 8 month old nipper then and can't seem to get prices for them. On expedia when I add in the young 'un it doesn't even bring up the Delta flights. When I go through Kayak it doesn't give you the opportunity to add a baby so it just works out as 3 people.

Cheers

Infants typically cost 10-20% of Adult Fair plus  about 50-65% of an adults applicable taxes and fees.  Quite often you have to add them via customer service, they control the availability of the bulk head seating where there are typically bassinets for infants.  Hope that helps
Post by: gawa316 on February 20, 2010, 06:07:04 PM
Quote from: boston on February 19, 2010, 02:02:02 AM

Cheers

Infants typically cost 10-20% of Adult Fair plus  about 50-65% of an adults applicable taxes and fees.  Quite often you have to add them via customer service, they control the availability of the bulk head seating where there are typically bassinets for infants.  Hope that helps

Cheers. Would I book our 2 seats then phone up customer services to book the baby? Thing is I don't want to book direct with Delta as they are about 2-300 more expensive than cheaptickets.
Post by: FL/MAYO on February 20, 2010, 11:35:04 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 20, 2010, 06:07:04 PM
Quote from: boston on February 19, 2010, 02:02:02 AM

Cheers

Cheers. Would I book our 2 seats then phone up customer services to book the baby? Thing is I don't want to book direct with Delta as they are about 2-300 more expensive than cheaptickets.

Booked a trip through Kayak with Continental last week for 2 adults and an 18 month old. When I had the prices that I was quoted on kayak for the 2 adults I called Continental customer service, they asked for the fair that I was quoted then they proceeded to finish the transaction for me with the child added.
Post by: gawa316 on February 20, 2010, 11:44:34 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on February 20, 2010, 11:35:04 PM

Booked a trip through Kayak with Continental last week for 2 adults and an 18 month old. When I had the prices that I was quoted on kayak for the 2 adults I called Continental customer service, they asked for the fair that I was quoted then they proceeded to finish the transaction for me with the child added.

Ah deadly, cheers for that. Btw did you book a separate seat for your child or will they be on your lap? Seems to work out a lot cheaper on the lap but could be a long oul flight!
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 20, 2010, 11:59:18 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 20, 2010, 11:44:34 PM

Ah deadly, cheers for that. Btw did you book a separate seat for your child or will they be on your lap? Seems to work out a lot cheaper on the lap but could be a long oul flight!
Surely you'd have to pay the full price of a seat then as they are taking up a seat that could be flogged at full price? Chances are anyway that an 8 month old is going to spend their time on your lap anyway. Rather you than me.
Post by: gawa316 on February 21, 2010, 12:10:41 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 20, 2010, 11:59:18 PM
Surely you'd have to pay the full price of a seat then as they are taking up a seat that could be flogged at full price? Chances are anyway that an 8 month old is going to spend their time on your lap anyway. Rather you than me.

Don't have to play full price for child under 2 regardless if they have there own seat as far as I see but obviously it is cheaper with them on your lap. Seen a few families with seats directly behind toilets/attendants area and like a fold down shelf/bed comes down in front off them this would be better than nothing!

But yeah it's going to be a bitch of a journey, especially with having to change in either NY or Atlanta :(
Post by: FL/MAYO on February 21, 2010, 02:08:08 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 20, 2010, 11:44:34 PM

I booked the child as a lap passanger, as far as I know if you book a seat for a child you pay full price, thats with Continental anyway. Traveled last year with my lad when he was 9 months and it was  a lot better than I expected but this year I have a funny feeling it will be a nightmare now that he will be 20 months old when we travel. Travelling from the U.S to Ireland will not be to bad as it will be his night time but on the way back it should be full on with him. :'(
Post by: downtown on April 11, 2010, 08:30:45 PM
Hi folks, just wondering which would be the best sites for cheap flights to America round July time? Heading to Arkansas.  Would it be best to book in advance or a last minute deal??
Post by: gawa316 on April 11, 2010, 09:37:06 PM
Quote from: downtown on April 11, 2010, 08:30:45 PM
Hi folks, just wondering which would be the best sites for cheap flights to America round July time? Heading to Arkansas.  Would it be best to book in advance or a last minute deal??

Pricey that time of year but try www.cheaptickets.com, www.expedia.com or www.kayak.com and see what they come up with
Post by: gawa316 on June 23, 2010, 12:14:09 PM
Anyone ever fly through Atlanta airport? Trying to get flights sorted for xmas to San Fran. The return trip stops at Atlanta but only gives us 1 hr 16 mins between the flights, will this be long enough? Booking with cheaptickets and it doesn't seem to say what terminal we fly in and out off
Post by: viiv on June 23, 2010, 12:41:20 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 23, 2010, 12:14:09 PM
Anyone ever fly through Atlanta airport? Trying to get flights sorted for xmas to San Fran. The return trip stops at Atlanta but only gives us 1 hr 16 mins between the flights, will this be long enough? Booking with cheaptickets and it doesn't seem to say what terminal we fly in and out off

Are you heading with Delta? Went through it once, wasnt too bad but if you not connecting from a Delta flight to another Delta flight it might be tight.
Post by: muppet on June 23, 2010, 01:22:52 PM

Only went through once and it is about the worst US airport. Normally after landing you pick up your bags and clear customs & immigration (international flights). Atlanta seem to have an extra round of security for arriving passengers as well which adds another long queue.

If you can check in on the second flight before departing on the 1st flight you might have a chance. But if you have to check in between the flights I'd say you haven't a prayer of making the 2nd one.

Rule of thumb: Busy international airport - minimum 2 hours between flights
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 23, 2010, 04:12:37 PM
Connected through Atlanta a few months ago. We had to go through immigration there, collect our bags, have customs have a quick nose though them before they were X-rayed, change terminal, check the bags back in & board, took us about an hour and a half IIRC, it was tight. Bit of advice, don't let the woman go to the toilet just as you're about to enter the queue for immigration  >:(
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 23, 2010, 05:28:14 PM
I just flew back from Ireland last week with Continental, went from Shannon so I was expecting the same hold up as mentioned above in Newark of picking up bag, going through customs, going back through security again to catch my connecting flight but much to my delight all this is done at Shannon now before you board your flight to the U.S. When I arrived in Newark it was like I deplaned from a domestic flight all I had to do was go to my gate, it saved a good hour and a lot of hassle especially when travelling with a child.
Post by: gawa316 on June 23, 2010, 06:21:36 PM
So what yis are saying we haven't a hope?! Plus we will have a 8 month baby with us to make things even more interesting. I was thinking/hoping we would go through immigration in dublin and not have to change terminals in atlanta
Post by: gawa316 on June 23, 2010, 06:29:05 PM
Quote from: viiv on June 23, 2010, 12:41:20 PM

Are you heading with Delta? Went through it once, wasnt too bad but if you not connecting from a Delta flight to another Delta flight it might be tight.

On the way out its with delta but we change at JFK and have plenty of time. The way back the connection is with Air France which on reading comments here is going to be near impossible
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on June 23, 2010, 07:09:41 PM
Any good deals for flights to the USA to be had at the minute??
Post by: tyssam5 on June 23, 2010, 09:39:56 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 23, 2010, 06:21:36 PM
So what yis are saying we haven't a hope?! Plus we will have a 8 month baby with us to make things even more interesting. I was thinking/hoping we would go through immigration in dublin and not have to change terminals in atlanta

Been through Atlanta a right few times. Usually I have to change terminal for the onward flight, if you go to the Atlanta airport website you should be able to work that out. Changing terminal isn't that big a deal there the train is fairly decent. You will clear immigration in Dublin, but you'll have to pick up your bags, bring them through customs and re-check them. I think if you change terminals you will also have to go through security again, so it'll depend on time of day etc what your wait is like. 1 hours 16 mins, at a guess I'd say 50/50 - make sure there's a later flight to your destination.
Post by: sammymaguire on June 23, 2010, 09:47:35 PM
busiest airport in the world Atlanta
Post by: orangeman on June 23, 2010, 10:06:31 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 23, 2010, 09:47:35 PM
busiest airport in the world Atlanta

From memory you have to take a train between the terminals - the scale of things is massive.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on June 23, 2010, 10:47:01 PM
Changed through Atlanta going from LA to Shannon two years ago, had to change terminal and get the train, but there was no extra security or any hassle, based on my experience any more than an hour would be plenty. Our flights were Delta to Delta so we were checked through from LA, but Delta and Air France are very connected so I would think as long as you can check through from wherever you are starting from, there should be no problem.
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 23, 2010, 11:27:14 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 23, 2010, 06:29:05 PM
Quote from: viiv on June 23, 2010, 12:41:20 PM

On the way out its with delta but we change at JFK and have plenty of time. The way back the connection is with Air France which on reading comments here is going to be near impossible

When your coming back you should be able to check your bags all the way to your final destination. The time frame you have will make it tight but if the gates are close to each other you could make it. Is the Air France flight taking you home via Paris? I have seen bookings with Air France before that turn out to be with other airlines i.e Delta
Post by: gawa316 on June 23, 2010, 11:49:02 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on June 23, 2010, 11:27:14 PM
When your coming back you should be able to check your bags all the way to your final destination. The time frame you have will make it tight but if the gates are close to each other you could make it. Is the Air France flight taking you home via Paris? I have seen bookings with Air France before that turn out to be with other airlines i.e Delta

The original flights I was looking at was just through atlanta, but don't think its worth the stress especially with a baby in tow. Found other flights that are about $100 more but better times. Plus the return leg is SF to Paris to Dublin, which cuts about 3 hours off the journey. If we miss the connection in Paris well at least we know there'll be a few other ones we can get
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 23, 2010, 11:53:45 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 23, 2010, 11:49:02 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on June 23, 2010, 11:27:14 PM

The original flights I was looking at was just through atlanta, but don't think its worth the stress especially with a baby in tow. Found other flights that are about $100 more but better times. Plus the return leg is SF to Paris to Dublin, which cuts about 3 hours off the journey. If we miss the connection in Paris well at least we know there'll be a few other ones we can get
[/quot

Good move, the less changing the better when travelling with a baby.
Post by: gawa316 on June 27, 2010, 09:34:30 AM
Right got it down to 2 different routes...I think!!

Route 1.
Outward
Depart Dub 08.40, arrive Atlanta 12.55 (layover 1hr 50)

Depart Atlanta 14.45, arrive San Fran 17.03 Flights by Delta

Inward
Depart San Fran 15.35, arrive Paris 11.30 (layover 1hr 5)

Depart Paris 12.35, arrive Dub 13.35 Flights by Air France

Price: $1500

Route 2.
Outward

Depart Dub 06.00, arrive Amsterdam 08.40 (layover 2hr 35)

Depart Ams 11.15, arrive San Fran 13.30

Inward
Depart San Fran 15.50, arrive Ams 11.25 (layover 1hr 45)

Depart Ams 13.10, arrive Dub 13.50

All flights by KLM and cost: $1470

Any views would be greatly received, cause this is doing my head in!
Post by: muppet on June 27, 2010, 03:28:45 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 27, 2010, 09:34:30 AM

Route 1.
Outward

Inward
Depart San Fran 15.35, arrive Paris 11.30 (layover 1hr 5)

Depart Paris 12.35, arrive Dub 13.35 Flights by Air France

Price: $1500

Route 2.
Outward

Depart Dub 06.00, arrive Amsterdam 08.40 (layover 2hr 35)

Depart Ams 11.15, arrive San Fran 13.30

Inward
Depart San Fran 15.50, arrive Ams 11.25 (layover 1hr 45)

Depart Ams 13.10, arrive Dub 13.50

All flights by KLM and cost: $1470

Any views would be greatly received, cause this is doing my head in!

Ams is a much slicker airport as long as you can walk and you don't have US security. 1 hour 45 in Ams should be loads.
Post by: FL/MAYO on June 27, 2010, 06:08:17 PM
Second one for me also, due to the arrival time in San Fran, this will give you some time to settle in the first night. The only problem is the early departure time from Dublin. Be prepared for the baby to wake early the next morning in San Fran due to jet lag.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 27, 2010, 06:30:44 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 27, 2010, 09:34:30 AM

Route 1.
Outward

I've gone out through Atlanta with a similar timetable before. We flew from Shannon to Atlanta to Chicago, with Delta. We were lucky enough to go through immigration in Shannon, but our flight left 2 hours late, and we had a 2 hour layover in Atlanta. Needless to say, we arrived in Atlanta and missed our connection.

Delta then put us on standby for the sole flight left to Chicago that evening with them. Here, you will be put waiting outside the gate, and if seats are available (normally by people not turning up) you will be put on the flight. We did get on the later flight but we had been told if we werent, they would put us up in a nearby hotel and guarntee us places on a flight the following morning. If your itenary is with delta the whole way from start to finish, they will look after you I reckon if you miss your connection. But you need to be prepared to put up with the hassle, you could end up having to spend alot of time in the airport.

If I was you, I would go with your Route 2. Did you check out flying through London though, generally much cheaper.
Post by: gawa316 on June 27, 2010, 11:07:10 PM
Booked the second option there. Reading some reviews on KLM and they ain't good, anyone ever fly with them?
Post by: gawa316 on November 23, 2011, 04:30:11 PM
Has anyone ever used Phoenix Sky Harbour airport?

Looking at flying to Fresno in the new year and the best deals seem to be flying via it with US airways. (Dub-Philly-Phoenix-Fresno).

On the return route however the flight comparison sites and USairways.com have only allowed for 38 mins from landing in Phoenix and the flight to Philly. This seems ridiculously short but at the same time why would they advertise this if it wasn't possible? Anyone any experiences of similar?
Post by: joemamas on November 23, 2011, 04:49:09 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on November 23, 2011, 04:30:11 PM

Looking at flying to Fresno in the new year and the best deals seem to be flying via it with US airways. (Dub-Philly-Phoenix-Fresno).

On the return route however the flight comparison sites and USairways.com have only allowed for 38 mins from landing in Phoenix and the flight to Philly. This seems ridiculously short but at the same time why would they advertise this if it wasn't possible? Anyone any experiences of similar?

I know there are multiple terminals in Phoenix, almost got caught once as there are only bus transfers. Even though It is same airline, sounds very tight. Dont check a bag in.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 04:50:31 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 27, 2010, 11:07:10 PM
Booked the second option there. Reading some reviews on KLM and they ain't good, anyone ever fly with them?
Flew from SFO to Amsterdam with them a couple of times
and thought they were pretty good.
Post by: Tyrones own on November 23, 2011, 04:52:46 PM
Quote from: joemamas on November 23, 2011, 04:49:09 PM

I know there are multiple terminals in Phoenix, almost got caught once as there are only bus transfers. Even though It is same airline, sounds very tight. Dont check a bag in.
I'd agree...that's much too tight.
Post by: ross4life on November 23, 2011, 05:08:16 PM
Have used Phoenix Sky Harbour not as busy as some US airports though 38mins doesn't give you much time especially if flight over is delayed to be on the safe side you would need another hour.

Post by: sammymaguire on November 23, 2011, 05:47:34 PM
they'll go on without ya, it happened to me when flying from O'Hare to Newark for a connecting flight back to the UK and when the flight was delayed, we were told they would speak to the ground staff to hold the plane for us, did they fcuk, we had a lovely stay in a New Jersey road house and got a breakfast voucher for our troubles...  :'(
Post by: muppet on November 23, 2011, 05:52:40 PM

They aren't bothered as long as they get the money. 38 minutes is completely nuts. Presumably you would be checked in at the originating airport because bear in mind that check-in closes 40 minutes before departure for most airlines and even earlier for some long-haul operations.
Post by: gawa316 on November 23, 2011, 06:26:27 PM
Just off the phone to them there. they said that one flight lands at gate A22 and the other takes off from A25, which by looking at this are right beside each other in same wing

(http://www.ifly.com/resources/img/airports/sub-terminal-maps/Phoenix-Sky-Harbor-PHX-ConcourseA.jpg)

It seems to be doable and would save us over 4 hours but it's one of those catch 22 situations
Post by: muppet on November 23, 2011, 06:38:10 PM
a) You will need to be 'checked through', that is either you check in online and print both boarding cards or you get this done at the origin of you journey. A 38 minute turnaround rules out checking-in for the 2nd flight.

b) You will need to have your checked in baggage also 'checked through'. There is no time to go to the baggage hall, collect your bag and check it and yourself in. Even if everything goes well your bags are going to be tight. The two aircraft might be parked close together but your bags will have to be taken to the baggage hall and back to the other aircraft.

c) If the first flight is even slightly delayed the bag hasn't a hope of making i .

d) If it all works fine you will wonder what the fuss was, if it does't you will think it wasn't worth the stress.

Edit: forgot to add that if you can book your seat (online?) it would be worth paying to sit near the exit. Looking the concourse it is almost certainly going to be at the front but there are exceptions.
Post by: Hardy on November 23, 2011, 08:01:06 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on November 23, 2011, 06:26:27 PM
It seems to be doable and would save us over 4 hours

"Doable" or possible is not the criterion, though. The question is whether it's likely that everything will slot together perfectly, because a few minutes' delay at take-off end, circling waiting to land, waiting to park at the stand, delay in opening the doors, or one of a hundred other possibilities will lose you the connection. Plus you'll be wound up tight from the time you leave home until you get on the second plane - if you do make it.

It wouldn't be worth it, for me, for the sake of just four hours. Plan to have a nice relaxing lunch or dinner between flights, then into the bar for a few Jack Daniel's or a nice Rioja, browse in the bookshop and get on your second flight nice and mellow, looking forward to your book or your film.

Take it easy.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on November 23, 2011, 10:24:10 PM
I flew the south Africa with KLM, thought they were good, much, much, much better than virgin atlantic
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 23, 2011, 10:32:37 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 23, 2011, 08:01:06 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on November 23, 2011, 06:26:27 PM
It seems to be doable and would save us over 4 hours

"Doable" or possible is not the criterion, though. The question is whether it's likely that everything will slot together perfectly, because a few minutes' delay at take-off end, circling waiting to land, waiting to park at the stand, delay in opening the doors, or one of a hundred other possibilities will lose you the connection. Plus you'll be wound up tight from the time you leave home until you get on the second plane - if you do make it.

It wouldn't be worth it, for me, for the sake of just four hours. Plan to have a nice relaxing lunch or dinner between flights, then into the bar for a few Jack Daniel's or a nice Rioja, browse in the bookshop and get on your second flight nice and mellow, looking forward to your book or your film.

Take it easy.
Listen to Hardy and Muppet. Can't see you making it.
Post by: optimus cheese on November 23, 2011, 10:50:09 PM
Yeah your bags haven't a mission of making it even if you do, which will also be unlikely
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 24, 2011, 03:20:09 AM

If it is during the winter months NO!!!  Philly could have a snow storm and your flight could be delayed an hour up to a day.
Post by: gawa316 on April 04, 2014, 02:54:32 AM
So what sites are people using to book flights to and from the US at the minute?

Any good, new, cheap sites out there? My usual haunts are skyscanner, kayak, orbitz, etravel.ie etc