GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: comethekingdom on August 10, 2008, 10:19:31 PM

Title: Ciarraí V Corcaigh AISF 2008
Post by: comethekingdom on August 10, 2008, 10:19:31 PM
Bring on the Rebels!
Revenge for the MF? Hopefully Kerry can keep their supremacy over Cork in HQ intact.

Daniel Bohane should probably start on the team after his perfromance v Galway.  Maybe would consider Tommy Griffin for midfield as I think he is a better all round player than Seamus Scanlon.

Title: Re: Ciarraí V Corcaigh AISF 2008
Post by: Tankie on August 11, 2008, 12:23:06 PM
another embarrising crowd for an All Ireland semi final anyway!
Post by: Zulu on August 11, 2008, 01:14:41 PM
I think there'll be a much bigger crowd for this game, I reckon both teams will bring bigger support than previous years and it should be a much better game. You'd have to fancy Kerry but I think Cork have the players to put it up to Kerry.
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 02:27:38 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 11, 2008, 01:14:41 PM
I think there'll be a much bigger crowd for this game, I reckon both teams will bring bigger support than previous years and it should be a much better game. You'd have to fancy Kerry but I think Cork have the players to put it up to Kerry.
[/b]

Cork can beat Kerry - they've already done so this year - coming from 9 down at half time - was that a fluke ?
Post by: Zulu on August 11, 2008, 02:45:50 PM
I think there has to be an element of good fortune when any team beats Kerry like Cork did in that second half, however I think Cork have the players to compete in midfield and the defenders to mark Donaghy and Cooper. If their forwards, who are good, play to their potential then we have the makings of an upset IMO. Still if you gave me a free bet I'd have to back Kerry.
Post by: orangeman on August 11, 2008, 02:52:09 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 11, 2008, 02:45:50 PM
I think there has to be an element of good fortune when any team beats Kerry like Cork did in that second half, however I think Cork have the players to compete in midfield and the defenders to mark Donaghy and Cooper. If their forwards, who are good, play to their potential then we have the makings of an upset IMO. Still if you gave me a free bet I'd have to back Kerry.

That Pearse O'Neill fella went on a run yesterday in the first 10 minutes and he was absolutely flying - Kevin Mc Stay was amazed last night on the Sunday game, saying he didn't realise he had that sort of turn of foot. He really put it up to Kerry that last day.

When is this game fixed for ??
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 12, 2008, 10:19:56 PM
Sunday 24th August and I can't wait. The Kingdom v the Langers just makes the hairs on my neck stand up every time. 

This will be a huge test of our abilities, the Rebels will not want to lose for a 5th time to us in Croke Park since 2002 and dispite their inconsistancies I think they just may have the beating of us this year if we can't get on top in a few key areas namely midfield and our full back line.

The Kerry training will be interesting the next 2 weeks.
Post by: fred the red on August 12, 2008, 10:36:11 PM
If this was an Ulster affair this thread would be on the 10th page by now.

Post by: INDIANA on August 12, 2008, 11:16:13 PM
kerry by 7/8 points. just can't see cork doing it, thye'd have been better off losing the munster final because kerry have all the motivation going into this one. expect changes at midfield and full back for kerry, as they finally unleash their best 15.
Post by: timmykelleher on August 13, 2008, 11:00:11 AM
I think Declan O'Sullivan is a huge addition to Kerry since the Munster final. He seems to be flying.

I'm hoping Cork's performance against Kildare was only sloppy because Kildare let us go so far ahead.

We got a good run on Kerry in the munster final so we are definitely able to beat them.
Post by: T Fearon on August 13, 2008, 01:54:15 PM
What do you reckon the chances are of a Skangers V Langers AI Final?
Post by: his holiness nb on August 13, 2008, 01:58:41 PM
I'd like to think this was a good game but there seems to be a trend developing.

Munster final, whatever about the result, close game, not much in it. Later same year in Croke park, Kerry win easily. Thats happened a few times in recent years.

Heres hoping the trend ends this year and we get a competitive game.
Post by: timmykelleher on August 14, 2008, 09:59:38 AM
" close game, not much in it"

ahem!

There was 5 points in it but only because Kerrigan felt sorry for them at the end and decided to take his point!!
Post by: under the bar on August 14, 2008, 04:13:00 PM
Quoteanother embarrising crowd for an All Ireland semi final anyway!

Agreed there won't be tens of 1000's making the long journey but there's a lot of bogmen working in Dublin these days.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on August 14, 2008, 04:51:48 PM
Quote from: under the bar on August 14, 2008, 04:13:00 PM
Agreed there won't be tens of 1000's making the long journey but there's a lot of bogmen working in Dublin these days.

And why wouldn't there be? The natives don't do a rap I believe.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 14, 2008, 07:41:42 PM
Quote from: under the bar on August 14, 2008, 04:13:00 PM
Quoteanother embarrising crowd for an All Ireland semi final anyway!

were you not driving through the bog the other day yourself...you mucksavage

Quote from: under the bar on August 13, 2008, 01:54:47 PM
Was drining up thru the bog on a sunny saturday about 4 weeks ago.   It's been virtually abandoned for 20 years and it was packed with ppl working turf!  Just goes to show ye! 
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 14, 2008, 08:57:15 PM
Mike, you know anywhere online that would give odds on the kerry club championships??
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 14, 2008, 11:45:45 PM
Not really a betting man but these lads should know

http://kerrygaa.proboards14.com/index.cgi

also, I assume you have pm'd "lone shark" ?

Put your house on East Kerry !
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 15, 2008, 12:28:18 AM
a victim of the property crash ?

Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 15, 2008, 10:09:42 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 14, 2008, 11:45:45 PM
Not really a betting man but these lads should know

http://kerrygaa.proboards14.com/index.cgi

also, I assume you have pm'd "lone shark" ?

Put your house on East Kerry !

I'll try that forum cheers, think Lone Shark has left ladbrokes someone said to me? Pity, he had all the championships p[riced up for us last year, made the whole thing a lot more interesting!
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 18, 2008, 10:15:00 PM
As it had gone half way down page 3, it's time to kick this f**ker back up the top of the board.

'Tis the game of this weekend after all. Anyone at all with a bit of interest?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 18, 2008, 10:17:32 PM
Come on the Rebels!
Post by: Frank Casey on August 18, 2008, 10:19:10 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on August 18, 2008, 10:17:32 PM
Come on the Rebels!

Stick to the road bowling. Both of you.
Post by: Tatler Jack on August 18, 2008, 11:22:58 PM
QuoteAs it had gone half way down page 3, it's time to kick this f**ker back up the top of the board

Can't kick life into a dying corpse. No interest in this game outside of Kerry. Galway v Kilkenny in U21 hurling is game of the weekend. This is just a fixture Kerry have to fulfil before the AI final.
Post by: ONeill on August 18, 2008, 11:31:46 PM
This seems to be an annual fixture now at the tail end of the championship. Good to see Tyrone represented by three of this year's semi-finalists. Pearce O'Neill and Kiernan Donaghy fly the red hand this weekend.
Post by: 5 Sams on August 19, 2008, 12:15:15 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 10, 2008, 10:19:31 PM
Bring on the Rebels!
Revenge for the MF? Hopefully Kerry can keep their supremacy over Cork in HQ intact.

Daniel Bohane should probably start on the team after his perfromance v Galway.  Maybe would consider Tommy Griffin for midfield as I think he is a better all round player than Seamus Scanlon.

Anyone else think that Tommy is one of the most unfortunate Kerry players of the last 5 or 6 years. He's is always called upon at some stage and never lets them down however I cant remember the last time he started a game for Kerry in the championship.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 19, 2008, 11:24:41 AM
Come on the Rebels.  I hope youse kick the dung out of Kerry!
Post by: feetofflames on August 19, 2008, 11:28:47 AM
I dont see anything but a 5 point Kerry win.  Galvin to start the final. 
Post by: Bacon on August 19, 2008, 11:31:20 AM
I really wouldn't write Cork off! It could be an all red final.
Post by: feetofflames on August 19, 2008, 11:42:56 AM
If Tyrone are lucky enough to beat Wexford I think most supporters would prefare playing Kerry to Cork.  Theres a touch of the unknown about Cork and they always held the upperhands in recent league meetings.  As for the Kerry 3 in a row - whats the thinking.  Is the 3 in a row a bigger motivating factor for the kingdom or their oppositions.   
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 11:44:26 AM
Quote from: feetofflames on August 19, 2008, 11:42:56 AM
If Tyrone are lucky enough to beat Wexford I think most supporters would prefare playing Kerry to Cork.  Theres a touch of the unknown about Cork and they always held the upperhands in recent league meetings.  As for the Kerry 3 in a row - whats the thinking.  Is the 3 in a row a bigger motivating factor for the kingdom or their oppositions.   

Wouldn't it be great to spoil the party ?
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on August 19, 2008, 11:57:29 AM
I can never understand why people on this board constantly underestimate Cork.
The only side they have lost to in the championship since 2004 is Kerry – even if they have put in some shocking performances in those losses.
I see Sunday as a tight game. Usually in Cork v Kerry games the amount of ball won in midfield dictates the result.
If Kerry break even them we win the game, win midfield and we win with a bit to spare, lose midfield narrowly and it a draw.
Cork have been wiped out in midfield in Croke Park over the years after being competitive in Munster.
Cork have to stop Darragh bossing this area, he has bullied the cork players (especially Murphy) over the years in Dublin, will be interesting to see how Mr O'Neill fares.
No sure will Kerry start Bohane, he was lauded for his display against Galway but he could afford to take risks, as Bergin was way off the pace.
Bohane has been on the Kerry panel since 2004 (where he was the 31th man) and has yet to break through, if he starts I wish him well but it represents a gamble by the selectors.
The half back line is the best in the country, midfield unchanged with Tommy Griffin to come on with 20 to go, Half forward unchanged with Sheehan, Declan and Walsh (I would start Brozzie however).
Twin towers inside with Gooch reverting to his natural position in the corner now that Declan is up to speed. I expect Murphy to start for Cork with Canty on the bench. Us by 1 -3 points after a decent tussle.
Post by: Roashter on August 19, 2008, 12:17:50 PM
Hard to see anything but a victory here for the "Animals". Their full back line has been a bit shaky, but their half-backs & midfiled are very solid and they have a way more scoring forwards than Cork.
Declan O'Sullivan was badly missed in Munster final (so was Galvin), and I expect him to have a good game on Sunday. Dara O'Sé won't have been too happy with his battle with O'Neill the last day and I would expect him to at least break even this time around.
The fact Cork looked very pedestrian against Kildare will probably suit them, rather than winning by a big margin. They know they will need to improve and they are well capable of scoring points. For Cork to win they need to score at least 2 goals, but apart from Cussan, I'm not too sure if they have someone who can get them.
Should be a high scoring game
Post by: orangeman on August 19, 2008, 12:21:43 PM
Who will mark Cussen this time around ?
Post by: Tatler Jack on August 19, 2008, 05:31:48 PM

Quotecan never understand why people on this board constantly underestimate Cork

Dont think they are underestimated - just estimated accurately. Since the back door cam in Cork had performed poorly in Croke Park - - hammered by Kerry on 4 occassions and also lost to Fermanagh and Galway. Some very unimperssive wins including this years win over Kildare - last years win over Meath was the only half decent performance.

I am always inrtigued by the Kerry need to talk Cork up in public before the hammer them. In private most Kerry supporters do not rate Cork but they like to pretend that Cork are a footballliing force that that the might of the Kingdom will struggle to overcome. A few are honest though - met a Kerryman at the weekend who lives here in Cork and he told me straight out "he was wating for the final". I suggest the attendance on Sunday will show that most of Kerry are also "waiting for the final"
Post by: magickingdom on August 19, 2008, 06:50:43 PM
i have to say its set up for another fall for cork on sunday, i know a few cork lads that are dreading the day. each time they beat us in munster we've turned it around in the ai series. if cork win on sunday it'll be all they deserve if the lose it'll be the end of their world. thats why cork will fight like dogs for every scrap this time, the mf did not make up for last years ai but if they win this it just about will. if kerry continue to show the hunger they had against monaghan (dont think the galway game did much for them to be honest) and pat o shea has a plan that works for cussin and we get t walsh, donaghy and dara to performs (he will!) we win. if not the langers will have it. cant wait for this game!!!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 19, 2008, 07:07:11 PM
Dont think Cork will collapse like previous years. Usually when a team meets a team for the 2nd time in the championship in one season they struggle for motivation. I think after what has happened in previous years this will be the opposite this time. Cork are bound to be fired up (although you'd have thought the same for the past few Croke Park meetings) and should give Kerry a game. They look to be an improving team with greater options than in previous years. Id say long high balls will put in at every opportunity early on to see if Kerry can cope. It could turn into a very interesting match. Dont be suprised if people have written Cork off too soon this time.
Post by: Frank Casey on August 19, 2008, 09:24:39 PM
Bohane a doubt. Pity as he had a great steadying influence when he came on against Galway.

http://www.ireland.com/sport/gaa/hurling/Bohane_suffers_back_blow/maxiview.ie?pid=0&mx_fast_NEWS_gaasports_uuid=55641_irnewsgaa

Bohane suffers back blow
Kerry have been hit with a possible injury concern ahead of Sunday's All-Ireland SFC semi-final meeting with Cork at Croke Park.

Defender Daniel Bohane has emerged as a concern ahead of the clash against the side that conquered Kerry in the Munster final after limping out of a game at the weekend with a back injury.

The Austin Stacks clubman would be an unlikely starter against the Rebels after only making his Champinship debut as a substitute in the quarter-final win over Galway.

However, he had a very steadying influence when introduced on that rain-soaked day at Croke Park, quelling the influence that the Tribesmens' Joe Bergin was having as the Galway man threatened to run riot in the rain.

Bohane was part of the Kingdom side that claimed this year's All-Ireland U21 crown and will be a very useful option for Kingdom boss Pat O'Shea if he is passed fit in time for Sunday's clash.

Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 19, 2008, 09:28:22 PM
Quotemet a Kerryman at the weekend who lives here in Cork and he told me straight out "he was wating for the final".

Like I said before, its amazing how many of these free-talking Kerrymen you lads seem to meet in the run up to our games...and they always seem to express the exact sentiments to support the point ye are trying to make about Kerry. Its truly amazing !
Post by: Tatler Jack on August 19, 2008, 10:03:24 PM
QuoteLike I said before, its amazing how many of these free-talking Kerrymen you lads seem to meet in the run up to our games...and they always seem to express the exact sentiments to support the point ye are trying to make about Kerry. Its truly amazing !

Not so amazing Mike. There are so many of them out there that we are bound to run into a few!!! ;)
Post by: Frank Casey on August 19, 2008, 10:12:39 PM
Cork team named.

from http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/gaa/2008/0819/1219158416464.html

Counihan names Cork team
Team News : Conor Counihan named his Cork starting line-up to take on Kerry in Sunday's All-Ireland SFC semi-final against Kerry with captain Graham Canty and Nicholas Murphy the notable absentees at this stage.

That said both players could still feature for the Rebels if they come through late fitness tests in time. Canty is struggling with knee ligament injury while Murphy has a hamstring strain.

Alan O'Connor and Pearse O'Neill will feature in midfield while Derek Kavanagh has the unenviable task of containing Kieran Donaghy. James McMasters starts at centre forward Michael Cussen at full forward.

Kerry are not due to name their starting line-up until tomorrow night.

Cork (v Kerry) : Alan Quirke, Diarmuid Duggan, Derek Kavanagh, Anthony Lynch, Brian O'Regan, Ger Spillane, Kieran O'Connor, Alan O'Connor, Pearse O'Neill, Donncha O'Connor, Seamus Mac Maistir, Sean O'Brien, Daniel Goulding, Michael Cussen, John Hayes

© 2008 The Irish Times
Post by: comethekingdom on August 19, 2008, 10:41:20 PM
Will be a very poor attendance on Sunday - some sayin that there is nobody from Cork goin. Croker with only 30,000 or so inside lacks atmosphere.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 19, 2008, 10:44:29 PM
Cork v Kerry has always been a great football rivalry but never to the same degree as over the last decade. When they go head to head in next Sundays All-Ireland football semi-final in Croke Park (3.30pm) it will be the 17th time that they have met in the championship since the start of the 1998 season.

Kerry are bidding to reach their seventh final this decade (they missed out in 2001 and 2003) while Cork are attempting to reach the final for the second successive year.

Paths to the semi-final
Kerry
Kerry 1-14 Clare 0-5 (Munster semi-final)
Cork 1-16 Kerry 1-11 (Munster final)
Kerry 1-13 Monaghan 0-13 (R3 Qualifier)
Kerry 1-21 Galway 1-16 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
Average For: 1-15; Average Against: 0-14

Kerry scorers
B Sheehan...................0-20
C Cooper......................1-8
D Walsh.......................2-1
T Walsh.......................0-6
K Donaghy...................1-3
Declan O'Sullivan...........0-5
A O'Mahony.................0-4
D O Se........................0-3
Darren O'Sullivan...........0-2
S O'Sullivan..................0-2
T O Se........................0-2
P Galvin.......................0-1
E Brosnan....................0-1
S Scanlon....................0-1

Cork
Cork 2-9 Limerick 0-12 (Munster semi-final)
Cork 1-16 Kerry 1-11 (Munster final)
Cork 2-11 Kildare 1-11 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
Average For: 2-11; Average Against: 1-10

Cork scorers
D Goulding.........1-11
J Hayes..............1-7
M Cussen............2-3
D O'Connor.........0-6
G Canty..............1-0
P O'Neill..............0-3
N Murphy............0-2
P Kerrigan............0-1
J Masters.............0-2
F Goold................0-1

Cork v Kerry: 16 Championship Clashes (1998-2008)
2008 Cork 1-16 Kerry 1-11 (Munster final)
2007 Kerry 3-13 Cork 1-9 (All-Ireland final)
2007 Kerry 1-15 Cork 1-13 (Munster final)
2006 Kerry 0-16 Cork 0-10 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2006 Cork 1-12 Kerry 0-9 (Munster final replay)
2006 Cork 0-10 Kerry 0-10 (Munster final)
2005 Kerry 1-19 Cork 0-9 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2005 Kerry 1-11 Cork 0-11 (Munster final)
2004 Kerry 0-15 Cork 0-7 (Munster semi-final)
2002 Kerry 3-19 Cork 2-7 (All-Ireland semi-final)
2002 Cork 0-15 Kerry 1-9 (Munster semi-final replay)
2002 Cork 0-8 Kerry 0-8 (Munster semi-final)
2001 Kerry 0-19 Cork 0-13 (Munster final)
2000 Kerry 2-15 Cork 1-13 (Munster semi-final)
1999 Cork 2-10 Kerry 2-4 (Munster final)
1998 Kerry 1-14 Cork 1-11 (Munster semi-final)
Kerry 10, Cork 4, Draw 2.

LAST TEN SEMI-FINALS
Kerry
2007: Kerry 1-15 Dublin 0-16
2006: Kerry 0-16 Cork 0-10
2005: Kerry 1-19 Cork 0-9
2004: Kerry 1-17 Derry 1-11
2003: Tyrone 0-13 Kerry 0-6
2002: Kerry 3-19 Cork 2-7
2001: Meath 2-14 Kerry 0-5
2000: Kerry 2-15 Armagh 1-15 (replay ,after extra-time)
2000: Kerry 2-11 Armagh 2-11
1998: Kildare 0-13 Kerry 1-9
Won 6, Lost 3, Drew 1.

Cork
2007: Cork 1-16 Meath 0-9
2006: Kerry 0-16 Cork 0-10
2005: Kerry 1-19 Cork 0-9
2002: Kerry 3-19 Cork 2-7
1999: Cork 2-12 Mayo 0-12
1995: Dublin 1-12 Cork 0-12
1994: Down 1-13 Cork 0-11
1993: Cork 5-15 Mayo 0-10
1990: Cork 0-17 Roscommon 0-10
1989: Cork 2-10 Dublin 1-9
Won 5. Lost 5

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Time for Cork to stand up and be counted against Kerry in Crork Park, they have talked the talk over the years but nothing to show for it since 1990 and this year holding the GAA to ransom with their strike has created alot of resentment towards Cork and its pampered players, its now or never for the Cork footballers, they struggled against Limerick and should have lost that game but for 2 very late goals, though they did turn on the style in the second half against Kerry in the Munster final, but in a miserable day in Leeside Kerry's heart just did not seem to be in it in the end. Again against Kildare they started well but lost interest in the game and were lucky to avoid the late onslaught by the Lillies.

Cussen if he gets ball will be a threat though in the All Ireland final last year when he started well he faded as the game went on and the lack of quality ball from the middle was his hindrance, Tom OSullivan won their battle overall. Lets hope for the same next Sunday from Tom, even in the Munster final Tom broke lots of balls off the big man but these were picked up by a more intune Cork forward line.

Dinny Long the former Cork and Austin Stacks player was on Kerry radio last week stiring it by saying that Cork might play Nicholas Murphy up in the Full Forward line with Cussen. I wonder where we have seen that tactic before, and maybe Nicky Muprhy will avoid his nemephis Darragh O'Se in the midfield minefield.

Hard to know what Cork will turn up, when they are in the mood they are a good team, but unless they can produce a performance and more importantly a result against Kerry outside of Munster there will be a question about them. Counihan is a good manager and will instill his pride in Cork in them. I am fearful that the 3 in a row title hopes could come a cropper on Sunday, it will be an interesting game.

Would have thought that Shileds would be in the full back line to add a bit of strength or even Noel O'Leary to add a bit of grunt to the half back line.

With Daniel Bohane a possible doubt I dont see any change to the Kerry line up. Some interesting line up to look forward to.
Post by: Frank Casey on August 19, 2008, 10:47:04 PM
KM wouldn't be surprised if named 15 is for the programme only.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 19, 2008, 10:55:11 PM
QuoteIs the 3 in a row a bigger motivating factor for the kingdom or their oppositions.

If we get to the final, winning will be the motivation. The 3-in-a-row is just an additional bonus that comes if we get that far.

QuoteKM wouldn't be surprised if named 15 is for the programme only.

I've heard many rumours around langerland this week. Cant see Masters playing on Aidan O'Mahony , a player who has never liked the hard slog for the ball will probably be closer to the goal. Can see either Canty or Murphy starting too and maybe Shields.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 19, 2008, 11:09:53 PM
Come on the Rebels!

Post by: Kerry Mike on August 19, 2008, 11:23:40 PM
QuoteCome on the Rebels!

You are backing chokers all year with your own county so why stop now!!
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 19, 2008, 11:55:14 PM
They beat youse already this year.

I don't see why they can't do the same again!

Have you got your book of excuses ready on Sunday just in case the worst happens?  :D
Post by: Main Street on August 20, 2008, 12:15:06 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 19, 2008, 10:44:29 PM
Time for Cork to stand up and be counted against Kerry in Crork Park, they have talked the talk over the years but nothing to show for it since 1990 and this year holding the GAA to ransom with their strike has created alot of resentment towards Cork and its pampered players,
I don't know about the resentment bit.
If there was any left I think most GAA fans got over that by the end of the Munster Final. :)

Post by: RMDrive on August 20, 2008, 09:11:01 AM
Quote from: Main Street on August 20, 2008, 12:15:06 AM

I don't know about the resentment bit.
If there was any left I think most GAA fans got over that by the end of the Munster Final. :)

Yeah, we are a forgiving lot all right  :)
Looking forward to a great game with Kerry to push ahead by 3 in the last 10.
Post by: magickingdom on August 20, 2008, 06:10:58 PM
no canty and no murphy on the cork team ::) yeah right! heard donaghy, dara and o mahony are out for kerry and we may be using our minor team for the first half ;)
Post by: Reillers on August 20, 2008, 06:15:50 PM
I want to say we'll win, I think we can beat Kerry, we've proven that we can. But the thought of Croke Park is frightening, how many times is it now that Cork have been smashed out the gate by Kerry..too many to count. We have the ability to beat them, but whether they'll "choke" or not is another question.
Post by: Frank Casey on August 20, 2008, 10:05:20 PM
Kerry delay naming side for another 24 hours.

Cork have them running scared and they've a rake of injuries. ;)
Post by: comethekingdom on August 20, 2008, 10:32:49 PM
Quote from: Frank Casey on August 20, 2008, 10:05:20 PM
Kerry delay naming side for another 24 hours.

Cork have them running scared and they've a rake of injuries. ;)

all kerry supporters should try and get to croker this weekend then as it may well be the last trip this year ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2008, 10:34:01 PM
Looking forward to this one. Not beyond the bounds of possibility for the Rebels, but... they'll need to be at the top of their game for 60+ minutes, and steal a couple of goals I feel. If Bohane's a doubt, that would help the Cork goals' cause, in that that's one area of definite vulnerability under the high ball, especially with Cussen on the edge of the square.
Post by: ONeill on August 20, 2008, 11:00:01 PM
I'd rather meet Kerry in the final than Cork if we squeezed past Wexford but I feel Wexford'd prefer Cork. C'mon the Kingdom.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2008, 11:03:21 PM
Agreed, up the Kingdom!
Post by: comethekingdom on August 20, 2008, 11:12:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 20, 2008, 11:00:01 PM
I'd rather meet Kerry in the final than Cork if we squeezed past Wexford but I feel Wexford'd prefer Cork. C'mon the Kingdom.

reading that comment would mean that you would rather go out to the current AI champions than a team that has not won it for 18 yrs! ;D
Post by: ONeill on August 20, 2008, 11:21:05 PM
Sure Kerry haven't bate us in 22 years in the SFC
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 20, 2008, 11:21:36 PM
QuoteI'd rather meet Kerry in the final than Cork if we squeezed past Wexford

1986: Kerry bate Tyrone to win 3-in a-row.
2008: To be continued  :P
Post by: comethekingdom on August 20, 2008, 11:39:46 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 20, 2008, 11:21:36 PM
QuoteI'd rather meet Kerry in the final than Cork if we squeezed past Wexford

1986: Kerry bate Tyrone to win 3-in a-row.
2008: To be continued  :P

+1 !
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 20, 2008, 11:43:11 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 20, 2008, 11:39:46 PM
+1 !

Indeed! What a ridiculous comparison  ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 21, 2008, 09:53:11 PM
Kerry Team V Cork Sunday 23rd August 08
(1) Diarmuid Murphy Diarmuid Ó Murchú (Dingle)
(2) Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (3) Tom O'Sullivan Tomás Ó Súilleabháin (Rathmore) (4) Padraig Reidy Pádraig Ó Riada (Scartaglin)
(5) Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) Captain (6) Aidan O'Mahony Aodán Ó Mathúna (Rathmore) (7) Killian Young Cillín De Siún (Renard) (8) Darragh Ó Sé ( An Ghaeltacht) (9) Seamus Scanlon Séamus Ó Scanláin (Currow)
(10) Brian Sheehan Brian Ó Siocháin (St Mary's) (11) Colm Cooper Colm Cuipéir (Dr. Crokes) (12) Donnacha Walsh Donnacha Breathnach (Cromane)
(13) Declan O'Sullivan (Deaglán Ó Suilleabháin) Piarsaigh Na Dromada (14) Kieran Donaghy Ciarán Ó Duinneacha (Austin Stacks) (15) Tommy Walsh Tomás Breathnach (Kerins O'Rahilly's)

Fir Ionad: 16) Kieran Cremin Ciarán Ó Cremín (Dr. Crokes) (17) Eoin Brosnan Eoin Ó Brosnacháin (Dr. Crokes) (18) Seán O'Sullivan Seán Ó Suilleabháin (Cromane) 19) Darren O'Sullivan Darren Ó Suilleabháin (Glenbeigh/Glencar)   
(20) Michéal Quirke Michéal Ó Cuirc (Kerins O'Rahillys) (21) Tommy Griffin Tomás Ó Grifín (Dingle) (22) Daniel Bohane Donal Ó Buacháin (Austin Stacks) (23) Mike Frank Russell MP Ó Ruiséal (Laune Rangers) (24) Rónán Ó Flatharta ( An Ghaeltacht) (25) Paul O'Connor Pól Ó Concubhair (Kenmare) (26) Kieran O'Leary Ciarán Ó Laoire (Dr. Crokes) (27) David Moran Daithí Ó Móráin (Kerins O'Rahilly's) (28) Anthony Maher Antóin Ó Meachair (Duagh) (29) Mike Moloney Michéal Ó Maoldomhnaigh (Dr Crokes) (30) Pat Corridan Padráig Ó Corridáin (Finuge)
Bainsteoir: Pat O'Shea Dr. Crokes Traenálaí: John Sugrue Renard Roghnóirí: Dr. Dave Geaney Castleisland Desmonds and Seán Geaney Dingle

So no change just a few positional changes, Tom O'Sullivan back at fullback and Marc O'Se in the corner, and Bryan Sheehan and Tommy Walsh swapping jerseys.
Post by: comethekingdom on August 21, 2008, 10:05:59 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 21, 2008, 09:53:11 PM
Kerry Team V Cork Sunday 23rd August 08
(1) Diarmuid Murphy Diarmuid Ó Murchú (Dingle)
(2) Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (3) Tom O'Sullivan Tomás Ó Súilleabháin (Rathmore) (4) Padraig Reidy Pádraig Ó Riada (Scartaglin)
(5) Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) Captain (6) Aidan O'Mahony Aodán Ó Mathúna (Rathmore) (7) Killian Young Cillín De Siún (Renard) (8) Darragh Ó Sé ( An Ghaeltacht) (9) Seamus Scanlon Séamus Ó Scanláin (Currow)
(10) Brian Sheehan Brian Ó Siocháin (St Mary's) (11) Colm Cooper Colm Cuipéir (Dr. Crokes) (12) Donnacha Walsh Donnacha Breathnach (Cromane)
(13) Declan O'Sullivan (Deaglán Ó Suilleabháin) Piarsaigh Na Dromada (14) Kieran Donaghy Ciarán Ó Duinneacha (Austin Stacks) (15) Tommy Walsh Tomás Breathnach (Kerins O'Rahilly's)

Fir Ionad: 16) Kieran Cremin Ciarán Ó Cremín (Dr. Crokes) (17) Eoin Brosnan Eoin Ó Brosnacháin (Dr. Crokes) (18) Seán O'Sullivan Seán Ó Suilleabháin (Cromane) 19) Darren O'Sullivan Darren Ó Suilleabháin (Glenbeigh/Glencar)   
(20) Michéal Quirke Michéal Ó Cuirc (Kerins O'Rahillys) (21) Tommy Griffin Tomás Ó Grifín (Dingle) (22) Daniel Bohane Donal Ó Buacháin (Austin Stacks) (23) Mike Frank Russell MP Ó Ruiséal (Laune Rangers) (24) Rónán Ó Flatharta ( An Ghaeltacht) (25) Paul O'Connor Pól Ó Concubhair (Kenmare) (26) Kieran O'Leary Ciarán Ó Laoire (Dr. Crokes) (27) David Moran Daithí Ó Móráin (Kerins O'Rahilly's) (28) Anthony Maher Antóin Ó Meachair (Duagh) (29) Mike Moloney Michéal Ó Maoldomhnaigh (Dr Crokes) (30) Pat Corridan Padráig Ó Corridáin (Finuge)
Bainsteoir: Pat O'Shea Dr. Crokes Traenálaí: John Sugrue Renard Roghnóirí: Dr. Dave Geaney Castleisland Desmonds and Seán Geaney Dingle

So no change just a few positional changes, Tom O'Sullivan back at fullback and Marc O'Se in the corner, and Bryan Sheehan and Tommy Walsh swapping jerseys.

I think most Kerry supporters will be pleased enough with the selection. Its a 20 man game now and we do have a great bench to empty. Hopeful enough of a good result but still wary of a Cork side that will really want end their losing streak against Kerry in croker.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 21, 2008, 10:07:44 PM
Full back could be tricky for the Kingdom, shows the concern (Tom O'Sullivan having been switched), and Bohane must not be fit to start. Interesting...
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 21, 2008, 11:26:30 PM
We have not had a settled full back in years, most have been converted corner backs, I'm sure Bohane would have been in the running if he had not injured his back last weekend and at this stage its too much of a risk to chance anyone else in such a pivitol rolwe, I've heard Tommy Griffin was tried there recently in training but it a tough role to just slot into. Griffin gives a better option of coming into the team to freshen up midfield if either of the 2 midfielders start to tire and we will need fresh legs against the height and strength of the Rebels around the middle.

On the posiitive side Tom O'Sullivan has done reasonably well on Cussen in their recent clashes, he has managhed to break alot of ball away from him, Kerry's corner backs and half backs just need to be closer to the breakdowns when/if that happens. Cussen is someone who drifts out of a game too so hopefully his impact may be limited, We will see.

Other than that no surprises and we are pushing towards a settled team, Tommy Walsh will play inside with Donaghy and Gooch and Declan swopping places and Gooch playing closre tot the two big men leaving Declan who is back to near full fitness to roam in the middle which is his best position. Bryan Sheehan needs to be out the field too but needs ot get more involved in the game.

Donnacha Walsh gets another start but is under alot of pressure from Brosnan and the other 2 O'Sullivans but he has held off their challanges so far in training, and fair play to him for that. During Paul Galvin's contuining suspension Donnacha Walsh has stepped up and taken his chance well.

Matching up the teams by their numerical starting places gives the following match ups, but I'd expect a few positional changes.

Alan Quirke,

Diarmuid Duggan, Derek Kavanagh, Anthony Lynch,
Tommy Walsh,Kieran Donaghy, Declan O'Sullivan,

Brian O'Regan, Ger Spillane, Kieran O'Connor,  
Donnacha Walsh, Colm Cooper, Brian Sheehan,

Alan O'Connor, Pearse O'Neill,  
Seamus Scanlon, Darragh Ó Sé  

Donncha O'Connor, Seamus Mac Maistir, Sean O'Brien,  
Killian Young, Aidan O'Mahony, Tomás Ó Sé,  

Daniel Goulding, Michael Cussen, John Hayes
Padraig Reidy, Tom O'Sullivan, Marc Ó Sé,

Diarmuid Murphy

How Cork Line up their full back line could have a major impact on this game, in the Munster final there was no Declan O'Sullivan or Tommy Walsh in Kerry's forward line.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 21, 2008, 11:35:27 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 21, 2008, 11:26:30 PM
How Cork Line up their full back line could have a major impact on this game, in the Munster final there was no Declan O'Sullivan or Tommy Walsh in Kerry's forward line.

Agreed. Unquestionably serious additions since then, though of which Counihan will not have been totally oblivious.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 21, 2008, 11:50:29 PM
Counihan has the makings of a good manager and will have his plans in place though missing Canty will be a big blow to his defensive formations , Derek Cavanagh has never instilled any confidence and I think Donaghy can exploit him. Who picks up Tommy Walsh will be their key, then you have Cooper , O'Sullivan and Sheehan to contend with.  Ger Spillane on Declan O'Sullivan will be a great battle.

Cork will have Canty , Shields, O'Leary and Miskella to spring from the bench if needed to shore up at the back, if fact they have better back in their subs then we have in ours, with Bohane doubtful we are seriously limited for cover.

Midfield will be vital, Darragh O'Se verses O'Neill will be hot and heavy, and O'Se will not want ot come off second best again.
Nicholas Murphy if fit could make a telling differnece while Tommy griffine will be involved at some stage. Scanlon needs to do the donkey work for Kerry again.

I cant see Cork playing Masters on O'Mahony, Master has never been one for the hard work and could see Goulding or O'Connor on the forty, even O'Neill if Canty or Murphy start.

It has many great interesting match ups, and I think will be alot closer than people thin and than the recent games, in fact I'm dreading losing to the rebels. But that the great thing about sport.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 21, 2008, 11:55:29 PM
Indeed KM, I have a feeling that the Rebels are going to give this one one almighty lash, and having done so will leave with head held high win, lose or draw -- they've succumbed too many times with too much of the 'surrendered without a fight in Croke' in their war-chest at this stage. Not sure about Masters, undoubted talent but iffy in the trenches - but I think he will be a barometer of the bottle or otherwise in this Cork team, come Sunday.
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2008, 12:11:58 AM
If Cussen has a big game, Kerry will be in trouble. Who will pick him up ? Tom O'Sullivan ??
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 22, 2008, 12:18:51 AM
Tom's the man , but expect changes if its not working.
Post by: feetofflames on August 22, 2008, 09:52:58 AM
I have genuine fears for the kingdom if my Cork sources are  to be believed.  Accordingly the Cork men are planning an ambush on Kerrys 3 in a row hopes.  After what they done to Collins....
Post by: under the bar on August 22, 2008, 11:24:31 AM
QuoteI have genuine fears for the kingdom if my Cork sources are  to be believed.  Accordingly the Cork men are planning an ambush on Kerrys 3 in a row hopes.

So Cork are not planning to lose??  That's a positive start!
Post by: Main Street on August 22, 2008, 12:01:37 PM
Croke Park prepares for a record low semi-final attendance, at best 30k are expected, way down from a respectable 60k in 2006

http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=70454-qqqx=1.asp (http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=70454-qqqx=1.asp)

Pity that because it looks like it has the makings of a good semi final.
Post by: billy the kid on August 22, 2008, 01:29:22 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 20, 2008, 06:10:58 PM
no canty and no murphy on the cork team ::) yeah right! heard donaghy, dara and o mahony are out for kerry and we may be using our minor team for the first half ;)

Typical Kerry bias from croke park, who else would be allowed to make 15 subs at half-time? ;) ;)
Post by: Frank Casey on August 22, 2008, 06:02:18 PM
I'm greasing up the tractor and I'll be heading off for the smoke at dawn. Where can I get cheap green diesel on the way? Jesus I hope the road will be ok in August as I normally wouldn't bother it until next month but with Mrs Casey being a Wild West Cork lass I've got to keep the in laws in check. The old Ferguson might be prone to over heating on the M7. Christy Moore has a song about me " and an old Ferguson from Tralee with its engine over heating from long hauling Frank Casey"
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 22, 2008, 09:40:08 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 22, 2008, 12:01:37 PM
Croke Park prepares for a record low semi-final attendance, at best 30k are expected, way down from a respectable 60k in 2006

Seriously considering heading along to that myself (in proper (Tír Eoghain) attire, of course), that OK with the Cork and Kerry folk?  ;)

Quote from: Frank Casey on August 22, 2008, 06:02:18 PM
I'm greasing up the tractor and I'll be heading off for the smoke at dawn. Where can I get cheap green diesel on the way?

Can you divert by south Armagh or east Monaghan on the way Frank?
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 22, 2008, 11:13:07 PM
QuoteSeriously considering heading along to that myself (in proper (Tír Eoghain) attire, of course), that OK with the Cork and Kerry folk?

No problem in a bit of spying , I'm sure if we win on Sunday we will be having a good look at Wexford next weekend   ;)
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2008, 11:21:42 PM
Good luck to O'Neill of Cork, an O'Rahilly man in blood.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 23, 2008, 12:26:07 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 22, 2008, 11:13:07 PM
QuoteSeriously considering heading along to that myself (in proper (Tír Eoghain) attire, of course), that OK with the Cork and Kerry folk?

No problem in a bit of spying , I'm sure if we win on Sunday we will be having a good look at Wexford next weekend   ;)

Thanks KM, there may be two of us, and we're totally harmless, though Banquo's Ghost would be nothing more than a pale shadow in our midst  ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 23, 2008, 12:48:01 AM
yerra there's no time for that English hoor Liam Shakespeare or his poetry in the Kingdom. John B Keane and Peig Sayers were our bards.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 23, 2008, 01:26:55 AM
And Bryan Mac Mahon, agus a leithéid arís eile as an Chiarraí. Never mind that Shakespeare yoke, or should I say Christopher Marlowe?

Will be in a rather strange bind on Sunday: shouting for Cork... but hoping that Kerry wins!

Up the Kingdom!  ;)
Post by: Frank Casey on August 23, 2008, 10:26:45 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 23, 2008, 01:26:55 AM
but hoping that Kerry wins! Up the Kingdom!  ;)

I suppose you'll want us to put the hex on the yellow belly lads for ye.
Post by: Onlooker on August 23, 2008, 01:03:08 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 22, 2008, 12:01:37 PM

30K would certainly not be a record low semi-final attendance.  I have been at semi finals in the 1980's with smaller attendances than that.
Post by: Main Street on August 23, 2008, 01:43:19 PM
No one said 30K would be a record low.
Just that (at worst)  Croke Park is preparing for a record low attendance.
At best, 30k is expected.

Maybe they should have moved it to Parnell Pk :)
Post by: comethekingdom on August 23, 2008, 03:12:30 PM

Part of the reason for poor attendances now is that 45 euros a ticket is too expensive.

Take a family of 4 or 5 travelling for south Kerry or west cork - Buy the tickets, fuel the car, parking, match programs, drinks inside croker etc, stop for a feed on the way home on a long 5 or 6 or 7 hr journey and theres your answer why big crowds cant go.
400 euros would hardly see the day out plus the exhaustion from the long journey!
Post by: Main Street on August 23, 2008, 06:04:16 PM
Comethekingdom, would it make a lot more sense to you to play it in Semple Stadium?

It's not as if it is a novely for both counties to play in Croker. Neither will it be a big money spinner.
Post by: armaghniac on August 23, 2008, 06:45:10 PM
Quote400 euros would hardly see the day out plus the exhaustion from the long journey!

the point is that the GAA charging only €40 instead of €45 wouldn't make much difference to the overall cost or the exhaustion, although the road is easier now than in the past.

If Cork happened to win Sam this year, then there would be a much bigger crowd next time.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 23, 2008, 08:38:20 PM
QuoteComethekingdom, would it make a lot more sense to you to play it in Semple Stadium?

Would have no probelm if it was Thurles or Limerick even if it was tossed for a home game in Killarney or Cork but Croker it is and its always a good day out there espeically against Cork  ;) . I am hopeful anyway for tomorrow, lets hope the rain this afternoon in Dublin clears away for tomorow.

Hard to know how it will pans out but both full back lines will be under lots of pressure and how our Midfield fairs will be the key. I hope and expect for another big Croker day from O'Se the elder.
Post by: Midman on August 24, 2008, 03:21:06 PM

Can this be listened to online anywhere other than RTE? The Olympic embargo is still in place even though the fecking things are over!!
Post by: ziggysego on August 24, 2008, 03:49:03 PM
No one did Mac
Post by: aontroim on August 24, 2008, 03:54:33 PM
Fcuk the Olympics - live Stream on Radio Kerry (if you can stand Weeshie's biased commentary  ;) - http://powerlink.powerstream.net/002/00187/live1.asx (http://powerlink.powerstream.net/002/00187/live1.asx)

24 mins in Cork 1-2- v 1-5 Kerry
Post by: joemamas on August 24, 2008, 03:57:57 PM
ger canning annoys my arse.
Post by: Gaffer on August 24, 2008, 04:00:59 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 24, 2008, 03:57:57 PM

Find yerself  a 'smaller' man then !! 

:D :D  :D
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 24, 2008, 04:10:02 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 24, 2008, 03:57:57 PM
Probably gone off now at HT to 'relieve' himself at the thought of the 'Gooch's' magnificence. But let's be fair, he's not alone in the uselessness stakes on the Montrose payroll.
Post by: Hardy on August 24, 2008, 04:11:11 PM
Hell of a good match. All the breaks and luck with Cork, but their defence holding up well and Murphy turning things at midfield.

I have the draw at 14 on Betfair. Very generous odds, I thought. (Still available for €50).
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 24, 2008, 04:29:13 PM
He's had that coming for a while. No excuses judging by the replay, but doubtless it'll be analysed thoroughly later.

It's just a pity both couldn't lose though.
Post by: stew on August 24, 2008, 04:30:44 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 24, 2008, 04:27:37 PM
Oooh!

Some craic now that the talisman has been sent off!

Kerry just got a soft free and are now three points up, shure kerrymen wouldnt lie down would they???? :-[

Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 24, 2008, 04:32:50 PM
Have to admit the sending off looked like it fwas for absolutely nothing...O'Neill seemed to just fall over....

Kerry were also denied a blatant penalty in the first half and had a good goal disallowed..
Post by: Gaffer on August 24, 2008, 04:37:04 PM
Will that mean that O Shea will def. miss Final if Kerry make it?
Post by: Hardy on August 24, 2008, 04:40:08 PM
That's disgraceful, disgusting playacting by O'Mahony. Our game is going to hell in a soccer wagon.
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 24, 2008, 04:40:17 PM
Well that's just nonsense. Why didn't that tr**p O'Mahony walk for throwing a ball in a player's face in the first half?
Post by: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 04:40:58 PM

A whole new dimension to the term diving to get men the line :o >:( FFS.........
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2008, 04:41:37 PM
O'Mahony is a disgrace. A pure tr**p.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2008, 04:43:16 PM
What's going on????????????
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 24, 2008, 04:43:31 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 24, 2008, 04:40:08 PM
That's disgraceful, disgusting playacting by O'Mahony. Our game is going to hell in a soccer wagon.
A sad day indeed when that sort of carry on is rewarded.
O'Mahony should be vilified for that act of cowardice!
Post by: downtown on August 24, 2008, 04:44:07 PM
complete fuckin p***k! is he takin lessons of drogbra
Post by: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 04:44:19 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2008, 04:41:37 PM

Galvin will never be missed while he's on the field anyway pure and simple :o
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 24, 2008, 04:44:59 PM
Disgraceful by O'Mahoney but how stupid was the Cork guy slapping him in the face in the first place.....

Cussen very lucky to be still on the pitch...
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2008, 04:45:35 PM
What did he do???? Dive?
Post by: Great Leap Forward on August 24, 2008, 04:46:05 PM

I couldn't have put it any better.
Post by: Keepthefaith93 on August 24, 2008, 04:46:56 PM
Couldn't agree more,a total disgrace to himself, his family, his club, his county and to the game itself.
You wouldn,t even get a tyrone man  being as bad as that.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 24, 2008, 04:47:29 PM
Cork guy slapped him lightly in the face (in front of linesman) and O'Mahoney dived like a soccer player....
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 24, 2008, 04:47:57 PM
Never mind Galvin. Kerry have have a dozen other players equally as dislikable.  ;D
You wouldn't mind if they weren't so sanctimonious in trying to claim they play some sort of pure brand of football.
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2008, 04:49:05 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 24, 2008, 04:46:31 PM
He got a wee slap on the cheek. About 3 seconds later, he fell in a pile.

:-\
p***k
Post by: ziggysego on August 24, 2008, 04:49:38 PM
Horrible game, hand bags at 40 paces. They'll probably be saying it's a classic and pure football as it should be tonight. f**king animals.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 24, 2008, 04:50:36 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 24, 2008, 04:49:05 PM

:-\
p***k

Then again O'Neill seemed to fall down very easily to get O'Se sent off in the first place...
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 24, 2008, 04:53:59 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 24, 2008, 04:49:38 PM
Horrible game, hand bags at 40 paces. They'll probably be saying it's a classic and pure football as it should be tonight. f**king animals.
That's the Cork and Kerry influence within the media, it's why ye always get slated whereas hateful odious pricks like Galvin, O'Mahony, O'Sé (x2) and even Donaghy get away with cynical acts.

Another 'classic' Kerry win over Cork at HQ in front of a packed attendance. And they'll all be out for the final. A hateful lot. Tir Eoghain (nó Loch Garman) abú.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 04:54:03 PM
QuoteThen again O'Neill seemed to fall down very easily to get O'Se sent off in the first place...

That's twice you made that claim, are you watching camera angles that the rest of us aren't?
Post by: Osama bin Dublin on August 24, 2008, 04:54:44 PM
O mahony is a coward, but you don't get an extra man against kerry with 30 mins to go & then slap one of them in front of the lines man.Cork have  lost the plot and now look like a shower of gobshites.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on August 24, 2008, 04:56:13 PM
So... em... what score is it?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 24, 2008, 04:57:17 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 04:54:03 PM
QuoteThen again O'Neill seemed to fall down very easily to get O'Se sent off in the first place...

That's twice you made that claim, are you watching camera angles that the rest of us aren't?

It was a very short punch without any big swing or anything and O'Neill went down very easily it looked...see the hits taken during the match and there are far worse than that that players easily take and stay on their feet...
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on August 24, 2008, 04:58:06 PM
Jaysus comments here descenting into Hogan Stand territory. Since the dawn of GAA there's been tense, tight, physical encounters. Many here waiting to pounce as soon as a Kerryman steps out of line. They are still kicking better points than any other county out there.
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 24, 2008, 04:58:17 PM
1-13 to 1-7. Cork shat themselves against their neighbours at HQ for the fifth time in seven years. Can't blame Teddy Holland for that lads.
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 24, 2008, 04:59:11 PM
Well maybe not. 1-13 to 2-7 now.
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 24, 2008, 04:59:55 PM
Jaysus.
Post by: rory on August 24, 2008, 05:01:23 PM
Today Kerry played with all of these so called 'Northern' traits ...

Blanket Defence (Scanlon as a sweeper)
2 man full forward line (donaghy and either gooch or walsh)
Lot's of hand passing
Cynical fouling
Gamesmanship

Yet they are lauded as the team who play the 'traditiona'l wayl and are the saviours of fooball.......

If Tyrone or Armagh had won a game the same way they would be torn apart on the sunday game.  Wonder will it happen tonight?

Jaysus, that's what I get for going away from the TV to write a post....what a finish.
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 24, 2008, 05:02:15 PM
Level. And O'Mahony gave away the penalty. The irony.
Post by: Main Street on August 24, 2008, 05:03:04 PM
Class penalty under pressure.

Post by: Hardy on August 24, 2008, 05:03:18 PM
Yessssss! 13/1 is very nice indeed.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 24, 2008, 05:04:12 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on August 24, 2008, 05:02:15 PM
Level. And O'Mahony gave away the penalty. The irony.
I must say I enjoyed that.  ;D
I'd expect him to get plenty of it the next day once Cork fans realise his carry on.
Post by: joemamas on August 24, 2008, 05:04:28 PM
If the powers to be had any balls, they would suspend O Mahoney

Post by: Down Gael on August 24, 2008, 05:05:19 PM
Never a penalty, referee played for a draw and got it. Ref seemed out of his depth today, some strange decisions. The GAA are the winners today, the day after the papers were reporting that takings were down due to a lack of replays???
Kerry need a goalkeeper.
Post by: Great Leap Forward on August 24, 2008, 05:06:33 PM
Quote from: joemamas on August 24, 2008, 05:04:28 PM
If the powers to be had any balls, they would suspend O Mahoney

That won't happen because of the fuss about Galvin.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 24, 2008, 05:06:44 PM
Well that ref is unbelievable bad.....

O'Sullivan messed up totally for Masters goal...
How that penalty was given I do not know....
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 24, 2008, 05:08:15 PM
Quote from: Down Gael on August 24, 2008, 05:05:19 PM
Kerry need a goalkeeper.
I've never been convinced about Murphy.
I suppose he doesn't get tested that often, but is usually found wanting.
Post by: joemamas on August 24, 2008, 05:09:05 PM
true but the p***k should be highlighted for what he is.
Post by: clarshack on August 24, 2008, 05:09:40 PM
O'Mahony should be suspended for bringing the game into disrepute. if a tyrone player did that they would be calling for his head.
Post by: didlyi on August 24, 2008, 05:09:57 PM
What a farce of a game. More oscars than allstars were won today
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 24, 2008, 05:11:33 PM
Quote from: clarshack on August 24, 2008, 05:09:40 PM
O'Mahony should be suspended for bringing the game into disrepute. if a tyrone player did that they would be calling for his head.

You mean like Dooher against Westmeath??
Post by: Tankie on August 24, 2008, 05:16:18 PM
i assume this will mean a double header for next sunday? the ref really went for a draw, i'd say he would have played another couple of mins if kerry had of got that point at the end!
Post by: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 05:18:13 PM
 What a result, if nothing else it gives Harte and Ryan a great opportunity for dissection of the pure skill that is Kerry football.
Come on the rebels..... ;D
Post by: clarshack on August 24, 2008, 05:18:28 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 24, 2008, 05:11:33 PM

dooher took a decent blow to the midriff area. that today was a playful slap.
Post by: Diet Coke on August 24, 2008, 05:19:15 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 24, 2008, 05:16:58 PM
What's this about O'Se getting a 1 match ban?

Sure aren't there different rules for Kerry! :-\::)
Post by: clarshack on August 24, 2008, 05:20:17 PM

dara o'shea was probably the only kerry man hoping for a draw. he wont miss the final now as all this result does is give cork a stay of execution.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 05:20:55 PM
Quote from: clarshack on August 24, 2008, 05:18:28 PM

Don't mind him, he's still a little tender after last weekend :D
Post by: Diet Coke on August 24, 2008, 05:23:07 PM
Thon Martin Carney talks some shite........it was a terrible game beyond the referee appointed. Cork had only scored 1 pt until about 7 mins to go in second half.....Tyrone won't make the same mistake (provided they beat Wexford)
Post by: J70 on August 24, 2008, 05:23:30 PM

That puzzled me a bit as well. When did the rules change?
Post by: Orior on August 24, 2008, 05:27:10 PM
Great finish! Hopefully Cork cant play as bad next day, though Kerry will probably habe their shooting boots on.

I'm beginning to hate the puke football played by Kerry. As soon as a Cork man gets the ball in his own half he is cynically fouled.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 24, 2008, 05:29:18 PM
His ban would be up on the Saturday before the final but he would have missed it anyway because you have to serve a 1 match ban for a straight red. The replay has probably saved him. He was sent of earlier in the year, does that mean his ban is doubled or is that only if you get 2 straight reds? I think the penalty was ok. What the hell was O'Mahony trying to do, he ran straight accross the Cork man and this tripped him up.
Post by: Rav67 on August 24, 2008, 05:33:18 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on August 24, 2008, 05:29:18 PM
I think the penalty was ok. What the hell was O'Mahony trying to do, he ran straight accross the Cork man and this tripped him up.

Sure he just jumped right into him, Canty saw the penalty area and was just determined to get in there and hope the ref blew.  Exciting finish to a shite game.
Post by: Tim Buzaglo on August 24, 2008, 05:34:50 PM
That was without doubt the worst refereeing performance i have ever witnessed - i don't think he got one thing right.

After the first sending off he went very easy on Kerry, allowing them to build up what looked like an unassailable lead.  As was mentioned in the commentary, referees tend to do this on occasion.  However, to follow this up by sending a man off for what can be described as no more more than a playful slap was ridiculous.  That was in essence a double blow to Cork as Kerry were awarder for O'Se's stupidity with a handful of easy frees BEFORE the referee decided to even things up!

This was then followed up by ignoring a cork penlalty prior to awarding a dubious one when it was clear that the forward jumped into the tackle.

Don't get me wrong, Kerry were by far the better team and i'm still struggling to understand how that game ended in a draw.  I'm just amazed that a referee can get so many things wrong (both small decisions and big ones) in the one game.

On another matter, O Mahoney is a disgrace and his antics should be looked at.  Clearly Kerry will win the replay but O Mahoney does not deserve to play in an All Ireland Final after this (although given their likely opponents, he will be in good company!!!)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 24, 2008, 05:35:28 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on August 24, 2008, 05:29:18 PM
His ban would be up on the Saturday before the final but he would have missed it anyway because you have to serve a 1 match ban for a straight red. The replay has probably saved him. He was sent of earlier in the year, does that mean his ban is doubled or is that only if you get 2 straight reds? I think the penalty was ok. What the hell was O'Mahony trying to do, he ran straight accross the Cork man and this tripped him up.

Looked like the Cork lad launched himself into the air even before he made contact with O'Mahoney.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 24, 2008, 05:38:54 PM
Thought O'Mahony ran straight accross the Cork mans path without making any attempt to tackle. What was he at?
Post by: Main Street on August 24, 2008, 05:39:47 PM
I thought it was a cast iron penalty

Post by: Minder on August 24, 2008, 05:40:19 PM

and went down holding his face
Post by: under the bar on August 24, 2008, 05:42:43 PM
Quoteand went down holding his face

I bet I could make you go down holding your face by punching you in the guts.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on August 24, 2008, 05:44:46 PM
I'm only in after watching the match.  It was good from a neutral viewpoint with plenty of excitement at the end.

My immediate observations are that this ref was way out of his depth and too much in awe of Kerry.  I couldn't believe the decisions he give in Kerry's favour, not just innoccent ones, but ones that resulted in easy Kerry scores and therefore had big influence in the outcome.

Although Kerry seemed to have put Cork beyond reach I felt that Cork deserved the draw given the injustice from the ref.

Today the Cork tactic of "let them big tall Kerry forwards catch the ball but then put them under the pressure" worked a treat.  When have Kerry kicked so no many wides?  Cork in the replay or Wexford/Tyrone in the final will note this frailty.  

I now am confident to go out on a limb and predict this Kerry squad will not win Sam this year.  Kerry Mick may make me suffer for this prediction but I am confident I will not be proved wrong.
Post by: Minder on August 24, 2008, 05:45:39 PM
Quote from: under the bar on August 24, 2008, 05:42:43 PM
Quoteand went down holding his face

I bet I could make you go down holding your face by punching you in the guts.
is there something wrong with you?
Post by: Big Mickey on August 24, 2008, 05:48:02 PM
had great respect for omahony before this game 2day,thought he brought a wee bit of steel to kerrys team and played the game fair and hard but lost all respect for him after 2day.running about croker with his chest stuck out,roaring into peoples faces and when he gets a wee tickle on the side of the face goes down like a ton of bricks.what loser.he should be embarassed with himself.hope he loses his allstar over it.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 24, 2008, 05:54:12 PM

Good to see youre alive DUBSFORSAM1, feared for your safety after you dissapeared from the board following a certain match last weekend ;D.

Exciting finish today but a poor match.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 24, 2008, 05:55:35 PM
a few points from the game:

1) as mentioned already aidan o mahony's behaviour all through that game was disgraceful from incident in 1st half with the throwing of elbows and footballs when he is blown up. His Rivaldo esqe dive wen touched on the cheek was  highly embarrassing and tremendously unsportmans like! Poor form comparing it with dooher who was clearly punched in the stomach on the sly! I know Tyrone men do go down too easily but I feel we are always getting it shoved down our throats about the games manship of the kingdom yadda yadda!

2) darragh o se's sending off, Colm o rourke mentioned he' l be happy with the draw as it'l use up his one match ban but surely the GAA ban for striking is a 4 week ban, never a suspension for a set number of games!!  
Post by: JMohan on August 24, 2008, 05:56:53 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 24, 2008, 05:40:19 PM

No he didn't ... watch it again - both hands went to his midrift

Typical sore loser
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 24, 2008, 05:57:42 PM

Have heard others say this and its 100% a lie. Dooher put his hand on the top of his head in pain. He did not hold his head as if he had been hit.
Post by: northwesterngael on August 24, 2008, 05:57:58 PM
o'se does he not now get 12 weeks ? 2 nd red for same offence as the munster final?

is there nothing in the book that can nail omahony for behaving like he was shot, oconnor raised the hand light as it might be and had to go

Post by: Minder on August 24, 2008, 05:59:45 PM
So if you get a dig in the guts you put your hand to your head due to the pain? Interesting
Post by: Big Mickey on August 24, 2008, 06:02:17 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 24, 2008, 05:59:45 PM
So if you get a dig in the guts you put your hand to your head due to the pain? Interesting

so uv never cn a man hurt and lying back and putting his hand on his face......interesting
Post by: under the bar on August 24, 2008, 06:11:49 PM
QuoteSo if you get a dig in the guts you put your hand to your head due to the pain? Interesting

You don't play sport do you?
Post by: Minder on August 24, 2008, 06:28:11 PM
Quote from: Big Mickey on August 24, 2008, 06:02:17 PM

so uv never cn a man hurt and lying back and putting his hand on his face......interesting
i have but dooher was holding his face before he hit the ground
Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 24, 2008, 06:28:55 PM
O shit just back from nightclub, lots of fights on here, but who won, It sounds like Kerry from the vitirol hatred being spounted. A Gael in Melbourne waits!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: ziggysego on August 24, 2008, 06:30:40 PM
A draw Sam, after a shameful performance.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on August 24, 2008, 06:34:13 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on August 24, 2008, 06:30:40 PM
A draw Sam, after a shameful performance.

It is sounding like Kerry where DICKS, is that right, sum it up in a quick summary please.
Post by: Main Street on August 24, 2008, 06:38:51 PM
Quote from: Son_of_Sam on August 24, 2008, 06:34:13 PM
it is sounding like Kerry where DICKS, is that right, sum it up in a quick summary please.

Draw
Post by: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 06:38:58 PM
QuoteIt is sounding like Kerry where DICKS, is that right, sum it up in a quick summary please.

Sure tune in to the Sunday game and you'll get an accurate run down......... or not ;)
Post by: screenexile on August 24, 2008, 06:45:39 PM
Thought O'Se had to go as it looked like he was struck. Kerry were far too good for Cork who are a poor poor team who just got lucky to catch Kerry cold when they hadn't peaked for the Munster final and well today was a freak of nature to be fair.

O'Mahoney should be completely and utterly ashamed of himself. Running round acting the big man all match "yah I'm hard I'm hard" then when he gets a playful slap on the cheek he goes down like Tyson just connected with him? What an asshole and he should get a ban for bringing the game into disrepute!!!!

On the game itself it was very poor. Shooting wise Kerry were awful but their general play and movement was very good. I was surprised to see them revert to the 'Tyrone' system though in the second half with 11/12 men behind the ball then kicking the ball up to Cooper in space... I thought this was not how the game was supposed to be played and that Kerry didn't buy into this?

Anyway it will be interesting to see what happens O'Sé, he should miss the final in my book and with that anything could happen. I don't want Kerry to win 3 in a row and I don't want Tyrone to win their 3rd All Ireland... my head's fried! Come on Wexford!!!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on August 24, 2008, 06:46:21 PM
dont normally post on any games other than own my club or county but :-
1 - shite football, especially second half. If this was Armagh v Tyrone or Down v Derry , Spillane would be creaming himself, cant wait to get to the Sunday Game studio to start his puke football tirade.

2 - O'Mahony is = to a premiership footballer like drogba or ronaldo (minus the wages) NO question .

3 - GAA is fucked. Apart from the Hurling, our only saving grace.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 24, 2008, 06:49:33 PM
Aye the premiership soccer on sky today was much more exciting. End to end stuff.
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2008, 07:09:13 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 24, 2008, 06:28:11 PM
Quote from: Big Mickey on August 24, 2008, 06:02:17 PM

i have but dooher was holding his face before he hit the ground

You either

a) Didn't actually see the game
b) Have tremendously bad eyesight
c) Cannot be trusted to comment accurately.

Brian hit the ground clutching his gut and when on the ground raised one hand at the top of his head. Amazing.

As for the game - how Cork were in it even at HT was a mystery. The replay is a bit of a godsend for Dara but for Cork to snatch a draw playing absolute tripe is a good position to be in.
Post by: INDIANA on August 24, 2008, 07:11:21 PM
the replay is fixed for a double header next week? is that right- if its in croke park , write off cork . they really are the most average of football teams.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 24, 2008, 07:28:33 PM
Sounds like which should make for a great day. Id say Tyrone Meath minor game will be 12.15 followed by 2 senior games. At least everyone will get a bit of value for money.
Post by: cadhlancian on August 24, 2008, 07:29:17 PM

Look you fool, he held his face for a second because he had a previous knock on the head ( I think he banged it on the shower curtain the nite before). Most players when they go down, will hold or cover their face,its a simple reaction,,,,,,,,,,,remember Peter Cananvan tearing the ligaments in his ankle in the 2003 semifinal agianst Kerry. When he went down visibly distressed, he pulled a bandage from his HEAD, and covered his face...its a REACTION YOU FOOL........omahoneys was disgraceful :-[
Post by: Over the Bar on August 24, 2008, 07:40:47 PM
Quotec) Cannot be trusted to comment accurately.

Minder spouts sh*te continuously O'Neill and it's 99% anti-Tyrone so  I wouldn't pay much heed to his posts. A Tyrone man must have given his girlfriend one behind his back. 
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 24, 2008, 07:56:37 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 24, 2008, 07:09:13 PM
As for the game - how Cork were in it even at HT was a mystery. The replay is a bit of a godsend for Dara but for Cork to snatch a draw playing absolute tripe is a good position to be in.

How so? The final is fixed for the 21st September (before his month's up), already allowing for a replay in the semis -- only chance there would be that the replay won't be conclusive, not the first meeting.
Post by: Minder on August 24, 2008, 07:57:34 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on August 24, 2008, 07:40:47 PM
Quotec) Cannot be trusted to comment accurately.

Minder spouts sh*te continuously O'Neill and it's 99% anti-Tyrone so  I wouldn't pay much heed to his posts. A Tyrone man must have given his girlfriend one behind his back. 
I think your maths is slightly skewed but then you have to make allowances for some
Post by: ONeill on August 24, 2008, 07:59:14 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 24, 2008, 07:56:37 PM

How so? The final is fixed for the 21st September (before his month's up), already allowing for a replay in the semis -- only chance there would be that the replay won't be conclusive, not the first meeting.

Thought that myself then thought I heard someone after the game, O'Rourke I think, claim he'd get a one-match ban.
Post by: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 08:08:20 PM
If Dara get's 4 weeks he'll be eligible to play in the final !
Post by: northwesterngael on August 24, 2008, 08:15:05 PM
did darragh get a straight red in the munster final for striking? or was it 2 yellows

if its a straight red for the same offence he'll get more than a month as its same competition = championship
Post by: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 08:17:06 PM
Quote from: northwesterngael on August 24, 2008, 08:15:05 PM
did darragh get a straight red in the munster final for striking? or was it 2 yellows

if its a straight red for the same offence he'll get more than a month as its same competition = championship

2 yellows
Post by: Rossfan on August 24, 2008, 08:17:30 PM
It was a second yellow in the MF ( for what seemed like his 25th foul of the game  ::))
Post by: thejuice on August 24, 2008, 08:18:13 PM
That was some finish, even if it was a square-ball and probably not a penalty. Cork need to get their heads out of their arses and realise they're playing in a semi-final, because they looked way off the pace. they didnt have any fight and Kerry cleaned up on all the breaks in the 2nd half,
Post by: Radioulster on August 24, 2008, 08:25:29 PM
Is the replay seriously in Croke Park? Should be a great days value
Post by: magickingdom on August 24, 2008, 08:34:11 PM
usual drama with cork, how to get a hiding and a draw at the same time. have a crap ref deny you a goal and a penalty, send off one of your best players (abused by cork for 15 years now) then if that doesnt work give them a last minute penalty out of thin air. thats a 9 point swing which is what the langers deserved to be beaten by today. anyone know the story with dara if we win the replay? its a joke that there can be this much confusion
Post by: northwesterngael on August 24, 2008, 08:35:32 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 24, 2008, 08:17:30 PM
It was a second yellow in the MF ( for what seemed like his 25th foul of the game  ::))

he should have been binned earlier in the munster final too

are these reds cumulative ? if so he might be in bother
Post by: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 08:37:44 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 24, 2008, 08:34:11 PM
usual drama with cork, how to get a hiding and a draw at the same time. have a crap ref deny you a goal and a penalty, send off one of your best players (abused by cork for 15 years now) then if that doesnt work give them a last minute penalty out of thin air. thats a 9 point swing which is what the langers deserved to be beaten by today. anyone know the story with dara if we win the replay? its a joke that there can be this much confusion

Magic - if it were any other player other than Dara you were tlaking about, I might a little sympath for you, but Dara was always fit to handle himself and indeed gave out plenty more than he received. I'd be a great fan of Dara's but he struck and had to go - he knew the provocation he faced in the Munster final and should have known better today.
Post by: north down on August 24, 2008, 08:43:24 PM
'Puke football' of the highest order today - can't wait to see the analysis on the sunday game tonight. Having siad that I wouldn't be surprised if we are served up some 'puke analysis'.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 08:46:34 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 24, 2008, 08:34:11 PM

In truth MK the only reason for the confusion is the fact that it's Dara O'Shea, anybody else
would likely be looking at longer for persistant habitual striking....
Post by: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 08:50:34 PM
Have Kerry lost the hunger and is there a soft under belly there despite all the machoism ?
Post by: magickingdom on August 24, 2008, 08:53:52 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 08:37:44 PM

Magic - if it were any other player other than Dara you were tlaking about, I might a little sympath for you, but Dara was always fit to handle himself and indeed gave out plenty more than he received. I'd be a great fan of Dara's but he struck and had to go - he knew the provocation he faced in the Munster final and should have known better today.

Quote from: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 08:46:34 PM

In truth MK the only reason for the confusion is the fact that it's Dara O'Shea, anybody else

its called self defence ;) he get plenty of shit and yes is not afraid to give it back, thats how you win games and why kerry have won so much with him. he a legend..
Post by: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 08:56:20 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 24, 2008, 08:53:52 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 08:37:44 PM

Quote from: Tyrones own on August 24, 2008, 08:46:34 PM

its called self defence ;) he get plenty of shit and yes is not afraid to give it back, thats how you win games and why kerry have won so much with him. he a legend..

Magic - you're getting carried away on emotion this evening - Dara takes plenty of hits and isn't afraid to give plenty back plus interest but had Cork had beaten Kerry today with Dara sitting in the stand for most of the 2nd half, I doubt you'd be as glowing about him.
Post by: Rebel In The Kingdom on August 24, 2008, 08:57:24 PM
O'Mahony should be vilified high and low - awful, awful behaviour. Not normally one for the 'think of the children' line of thinking but in this instance some sort of action should be taken even if it was just a statement condeming diving in general from GHQ. There are enough malign influences coming from the soccer world already without this sort of sh**te. Pr**k should be run out of town. Can't see many Kerry folk defending him on this one. Having said that D O'Connor was dumb even to touch him. His red card was harsh and another example of a bad decision in a poorly reffed game.

Crap game with an exciting finish. Cork were shockingly poor esp in the 2nd half. Can't believe they pulled a replay out of a game where they played so badly. They played better against Kerry in previous croke park outings and got walloped! Kerry's shooting was brutal.

Looking forward to Sunday Game - Spillane could lose plot as la 'puke' football comment.

Post by: ziggysego on August 24, 2008, 09:09:06 PM
Is the minor game still in Croke Park next week, or has it been moved to accomodate the replay?
Post by: Rossfan on August 24, 2008, 10:23:10 PM
Quote from: Rebel In The Kingdom on August 24, 2008, 08:57:24 PM

Looking forward to Sunday Game - Spillane could lose plot as la 'puke' football comment.

Very subdued sort of stuff - no mention of puke- it could have been a NFL game rather than an All Ireland Semi the way they dealt with it.
If it had been a Connacht/Leinster/Ulster Championship game Davis and Spillane would have read the riot act.
Post by: Tatler Jack on August 24, 2008, 10:30:35 PM
QuoteVery subdued sort of stuff - no mention of puke- it could have been a NFL game rather than an All Ireland Semi the way they dealt with it.
If it had been a Connacht/Leinster/Ulster Championship game Davis and Spillane would have read the riot act

Really it was a keep the head down job by Spillane and Co. Asked Dara O'Cinneide to comment on the Aidan O'Mahoney/Donnacha O'Connor incident!! Made some general comment about some undesirable practices creeping into the game but avoided specifics about O'Mahoney's antics. Condemnation of tactics is reserved for Ulster football and comments on poor football for Connacht.
Post by: comethekingdom on August 24, 2008, 10:38:09 PM
Quote from: Tatler Jack on August 24, 2008, 10:30:35 PM
QuoteVery subdued sort of stuff - no mention of puke- it could have been a NFL game rather than an All Ireland Semi the way they dealt with it.
If it had been a Connacht/Leinster/Ulster Championship game Davis and Spillane would have read the riot act

Really it was a keep the head down job by Spillane and Co. Asked Dara O'Cinneide to comment on the Aidan O'Mahoney/Donnacha O'Connor incident!! Made some general comment about some undesirable practices creeping into the game but avoided specifics about O'Mahoney's antics. Condemnation of tactics is reserved for Ulster football and comments on poor football for Connacht.

Hould on a minute!
I thought they were pretty objectve and didn't fudge over any of the issues. Problem is there isn't enough time to do a compete post mortem - remember the hi lites from a match years ago? - Youd get to see abour 4 times as much then as you get to see nowdays.
Post by: ludermor on August 24, 2008, 10:40:34 PM
i thought they handled the sendings off fairly, Lyons said it was diving by o mahony, davis was very critical of o mahony. They didnt show any of the shocking wides of the kerry in th esecond half, the gooch had a couple of horrors!
Post by: tyssam5 on August 24, 2008, 10:59:13 PM
My understanding is that Dara's ban would be up at midnight on the Saturday before the final. Serious disadvantage (for the dirty player) to be in the 2nd semi which is 3 weeks before the final! But sure hopefully Tyrone v. Wexford will be a good clean game, something is needed to restore a bit dignity to the game after today's pukefest!

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 24, 2008, 11:04:02 PM
If he gets 4 weeks he'll be ok for final. It said on Sunday game time and venue would be announced tomorrow. It says on RTE teletext beside the result that the game will be part of a double header next Sunday. Not sure if thats accurate but I hope it is. Kerry and Cork fans might not be that pleased but the 2 semis in a double header would be good entertainment. If it happens Id say Tyrone minors would still be in Croke Park but played earlier at 12.15.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 24, 2008, 11:46:02 PM
Piss off with yere Tyrone moaning to where it belongs.

Back to the thread

So fed up we threw away the win today, still cant fathom how, but we had way too many wides from easy scoring positions, all to play for next weekend though.

Can Cork play as bad?, Can Kerry dominate again?.

Donaghy was immense today, in the first half he destroyed Kavanagh and was involved in lots of scores and when O'Se was sent off he was the one man that stood up for us in the middle of the field, big problem is do we now start him in midfield and leave Walsh up front where he will get wound up.

Anyway sin sceal for another day will make a good week in Langerland for banter.
Post by: Minder on August 24, 2008, 11:51:29 PM
Cork could certainly play as badly again as they are not a good team, you would think Kerry will not be as wasteful the next day.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 24, 2008, 11:51:42 PM
Quote(he's been known to choke when it's put up to him)

what do you mean by that ? Give me an example
Post by: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 11:55:38 PM
So is the replay next Sunday or not ?

Surely all the tickets have been given out at this stage to Tyrone and Wexford ?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 24, 2008, 11:58:32 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 11:55:38 PM
Surely all the tickets have been given out at this stage to Tyrone and Wexford ?

Yes, I'd say they have, so don't see how they could comfortably accommodate the Cork-Kerry replay as well, not to mention the Kerry-Mayo Minor replay. They announced at the game today that the CCCC would communicate their decision on the venue(s) tomorrow, so not sure where RTE could have sourced their info.
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2008, 12:07:30 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 24, 2008, 11:58:32 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 24, 2008, 11:55:38 PM

Yes, I'd say they have, so don't see how they could comfortably accommodate the Cork-Kerry replay as well, not to mention the Kerry-Mayo Minor replay. They announced at the game today that the CCCC would communicate their decision on the venue(s) tomorrow, so not sure where RTE could have sourced their info.

I was listening to rte radio between 6 and 7 , the Make your point programme, and they annouced it was going to be on Sunday. But then I started to think that the tickets would have already been distributed to Tyrone and Wexford.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 25, 2008, 12:20:45 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 24, 2008, 11:46:02 PM
Piss off with yere Tyrone moaning to where it belongs.

Back to the thread

So fed up we threw away the win today, still cant fathom how, but we had way too many wides from easy scoring positions, all to play for next weekend though.

Can Cork play as bad?, Can Kerry dominate again?.

Donaghy was immense today, in the first half he destroyed Kavanagh and was involved in lots of scores and when O'Se was sent off he was the one man that stood up for us in the middle of the field, big problem is do we now start him in midfield and leave Walsh up front where he will get wound up.

Anyway sin sceal for another day will make a good week in Langerland for banter.

I think you will find my initial post was on topic. Even the normally well mannered KM getting rattled now. It's gettin' good!
Cork awful, you should beat them out the gate the next day, need to get your heads right though.
Post by: Fuzzman on August 25, 2008, 08:08:46 AM
I was at the game today and Star was awesome but thought Tommy walsh was poor enuf.

Star as you'd expect takes a lot of abuse but God does he do some whinging to the ref the whole match.

Post by: full back on August 25, 2008, 09:31:19 AM
Couldnt for the life of me understand why O'Sullivan was taken off
The one player that can win the break and run directly at the Cork defence, if he doesnt draw a free he is likely to draw 2 players to him, leaving someone else free
Post by: AZOffaly on August 25, 2008, 09:49:32 AM
Quote from: full back on August 25, 2008, 09:31:19 AM
Couldnt for the life of me understand why O'Sullivan was taken off
The one player that can win the break and run directly at the Cork defence, if he doesnt draw a free he is likely to draw 2 players to him, leaving someone else free

I think Pat O'Shea thought the game was won. End of story. He won't make that sort of mistake again. If Kerry can bounce back mentally from that 5 minutes of lunacy, they will beat Cork. Football is a weird game though. Yesterday's game was every bit as bad a beating as Kerry gave Cork last year, but they couldn't score enough, uncharacteristic stupid wides. Darragh O'Se will be a loss next week, but if Kerry approach the game the same way, they'll beat Cork.
Post by: rrhf on August 25, 2008, 10:02:57 AM
My final point on the matter is that the Cork footballers got lucky, very lucky,  They were terribly bad - I dont know if they can play better than that and I know Kerry can so Im predicting a big Kerry win next week. 
Post by: Fuzzman on August 25, 2008, 10:30:14 AM
Cork were dreadful and Kerry were in 2nd gear for most of the match
There were only a few times when Cork showed a bit of fight but going into the game they were beaten b4 they started

You can say what you want about Ulster teams esp Tyrone and Armagh but if it wasn't for them in the last 6 years then nobody would have stood up to Kerry and even TRY to put up a fight

Mayo & Cork several times now don't believe in themselves when they meet Kerry so I really regretted spending €45 yesterday to watch Kerry getting their asses licked but up until the final 2 mins

Kerry are streaks ahead of cork who have no gameplan and no FF line when Cussen is marked

Post by: Diet Coke on August 25, 2008, 11:32:15 AM
Bottom line is scoreboard never lies......3 times this year Kerry have lost 8 point leads....twice against an ordinary Cork team, so maybe, just maybe Cork will give it a real go next week, but to be honest I think Kerry will not make the same mistakes again.
Post by: tyrone86 on August 25, 2008, 11:36:11 AM
http://gaa.ie/plugins/matchfeed.cgi?rm=content&plugin_data_id=24275 (http://gaa.ie/plugins/matchfeed.cgi?rm=content&plugin_data_id=24275)

Triple header then. A bit stupid to put the Cork Kerry match in the middle when it's the only one that can go to extra time but I'm sure they have their reasons.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on August 25, 2008, 11:57:02 AM
Gutted – absolutely gutted about yesterdays game. Will be tough for the Kerry lads to raise their heads.
Aidan O'Mahony left himself down yesterday, the reaction was uncalled for, I have to say I'm disappointed in him but in his defence he has not done this before.
That said the post thread on O'Mahney is a Joke, he did nothing more than some other players (Mr P O'Neill, Mr P Canavan, Mr P Jordan) but is signalled out 'cos he is from Kerry.
Darragh, I'm sorry to say did likewise, clear punch even if O'Neill made a meal of it. If that is the way Darragh leaves intercounty football, then I am sorry for him.
I honestly expect more of a contest from Cork they were brutal. Can they play as bad again? As KM said can we be on top for so long again.
The big decisions (disallowed goal, penalty not given, penalty given) went with Cork yesterday yet this would not have mattered if we shot straight, terrible, terrible shooting.
On the positive side when the kickout from the penalty (btw what a penalty) was left go I thought it was curtains for us, it was positive that we regrouped to win the kickout and Killian was so unlucky.
In reality it felt like we lost the match afterwards, will be tough to regroup, from a Kerry perspective I hope the match is in Croke Park as I would fear for us in a provincial venue.
The unknown factor is how will our limbs take 4 matches in 5 weeks in Croke Park if the match is on there.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 25, 2008, 12:22:44 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 24, 2008, 05:54:12 PM

Good to see youre alive DUBSFORSAM1, feared for your safety after you dissapeared from the board following a certain match last weekend ;D.

Exciting finish today but a poor match.

Took me that long to get over the hangover on Saturday!!!!!!!
Post by: feetofflames on August 25, 2008, 12:41:41 PM
By the way is O Mahonay a cousin of Galvins - looks the double of him if ye ask me. 
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2008, 12:43:18 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on August 25, 2008, 12:41:41 PM
By the way is O Mahonay a cousin of Galvins - looks the double of him if ye ask me. 

When does Galvin's suspension end ?

By the look of Kerry yesterday, you could well believe the stories about them beating the shite out of each other at the training matches !  ;)
Post by: Deal_Me_In on August 25, 2008, 01:12:03 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on August 24, 2008, 10:59:13 PM
My understanding is that Dara's ban would be up at midnight on the Saturday before the final. Serious disadvantage (for the dirty player) to be in the 2nd semi which is 3 weeks before the final! But sure hopefully Tyrone v. Wexford will be a good clean game, something is needed to restore a bit dignity to the game after today's pukefest!

This is the second time this season that O'Shea has been sent off so surely by default his ban is automatically doubled? If he was sent of for striking that is an automatic 1 month ban and min 1 game but as it is the second time is the ban not doubled (or is that if it is for the same offence, what was his first sending off for his year?)
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2008, 01:24:40 PM
Quote from: Deal_Me_In on August 25, 2008, 01:12:03 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on August 24, 2008, 10:59:13 PM

This is the second time this season that O'Shea has been sent off so surely by default his ban is automatically doubled? If he was sent of for striking that is an automatic 1 month ban and min 1 game but as it is the second time is the ban not doubled (or is that if it is for the same offence, what was his first sending off for his year?)

Has to be for a reapeat offence !
Post by: his holiness nb on August 25, 2008, 01:39:42 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on August 25, 2008, 11:57:02 AM
That said the post thread on O'Mahney is a Joke, he did nothing more than some other players (Mr P O'Neill, Mr P Canavan, Mr P Jordan) but is signalled out 'cos he is from Kerry.

Way off the mark there Superdooper, I have great time for Kerry, for the most part, they conduct themselves, and play they way it should be done. Nothing against them.

I have been dissapointed in their antics this year yes, but to suggest for one second people are singling him out, and indeed only started the thread, because he is from Kerry is ridiculous.

Any player who carrier on like he did yesterday in an all Ireland semi final, would have his very own thread on here. Make no mistake about that.

Yes others dive, and all have been discussed on here, but I dont think there has been such a clear cut, caught red handed on camera, example of down and out cheating from an intercounty player in a big game as we saw yesterday. The fact that it resulted in his opponent getting the red card made it all the more memorable.

Enough of the "its coz he is from Kerry" rubbish. He deserves all the slaggings he gets.
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2008, 01:43:40 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 25, 2008, 01:39:42 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on August 25, 2008, 11:57:02 AM

Way off the mark there Superdooper, I have great time for Kerry, for the most part, they conduct themselves, and play they way it should be done. Nothing against them.

I have been dissapointed in their antics this year yes, but to suggest for one second people are singling him out, and indeed only started the thread, because he is from Kerry is ridiculous.

Any player who carrier on like he did yesterday in an all Ireland semi final, would have his very own thread on here. Make no mistake about that.

Yes others dive, and all have been discussed on here, but I dont think there has been such a clear cut, caught red handed on camera, example of down and out cheating from an intercounty player in a big game as we saw yesterday. The fact that it resulted in his opponent getting the red card made it all the more memorable.

Enough of the "its coz he is from Kerry" rubbish. He deserves all the slaggings he gets.
[/b]

Fair play to you and well said !
Post by: his holiness nb on August 25, 2008, 01:55:13 PM
Imagine it was a Dub!  :o :o :o :o :o

Post by: SuperDooperCooper on August 25, 2008, 01:58:32 PM
I have not said O'Mahoney was right, he was wrong.
However he is the first person to get a thread dedicated to diving and is called patetic in the suject line.
So my point is this - Is O'Mahony the first ever person to have dived in Gaelic football? if so he deserves the thread, if not, why is it the first thread dedicated to a player for diving. Mr O'Neill had no trouble going down where is his thread???????
Post by: his holiness nb on August 25, 2008, 02:05:06 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on August 25, 2008, 01:58:32 PM
However he is the first person to get a thread dedicated to diving and is called patetic in the suject line.
So my point is this - Is O'Mahony the first ever person to have dived in Gaelic football? if so he deserves the thread, if not, why is it the first thread dedicated to a player for diving. Mr O'Neill had no trouble going down where is his thread???????

Well considering this is a GAA site, and this was in a GAA match, and its the main topic of discussion on all the radio stations this morning, and it was the first incident mentioned in studio after the game, and everyone agrees his actions were pathetic, then yes, he deserves this thread.

And your claim that this is the first thread about a player diving is ridiculous, theres been loads ffs. I even remember one called "which tyrone player will do the most diving this year".
Post by: red hander on August 25, 2008, 03:21:11 PM
Quote from: SuperDooperCooper on August 25, 2008, 01:58:32 PM
I have not said O'Mahoney was right, he was wrong.

First of all I acknowledge what you said about O'Mahoney, fair play ... but as some kerry posters on this board (not you) and kerry officials (Mr Walsh) and kerry gobshites (Spillane) seem to be the self-appointed guardians of the moral codes and styles of football (especially when they're beaten by Nordie ballixs), it's only to be expected there's a backlash when one of your own whiter than white sheep transgresses, considering the cack we have to listen to from the aforementioned merchants
Post by: Maiden1 on August 25, 2008, 06:06:46 PM
Have to say that 1 of the biggest turning points of the game was Brosnan (I think), going for a goal near the end that was never on, probably thinking the match was already over, when he should have fisted a simple point.  Thought at the time they could regret it.  That save lifted Cork and the point would have made things near impossible for Cork.
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2008, 06:18:40 PM
Quote from: Maiden1 on August 25, 2008, 06:06:46 PM
Have to say that 1 of the biggest turning points of the game was Brosnan (I think), going for a goal near the end that was never on, probably thinking the match was already over, when he should have fisted a simple point.  Thought at the time they could regret it.  That save lifted Cork and the point would have made things near impossible for Cork.

The commentator said at the time, maybe he should have taken a point !

Maybe it IS Cork's year after all ??

Killian Young's shot coming off the post at the end ??? Limerick match ? Munster final ? Yesterday ?
Post by: orangeman on August 25, 2008, 06:57:58 PM
Both teams did not shake hands after munster final or today. so much for sportsmanship

IS THIS TRUE ?
Post by: under the bar on August 25, 2008, 07:14:19 PM
QuoteThat said the post thread on O'Mahney is a Joke, he did nothing more than some other players (Mr P O'Neill, Mr P Canavan, Mr P Jordan) but is signalled out 'cos he is from Kerry.

Another Kerry attempt to tar Tyrone or someone else instead of accepting their own teams failings.  No player has ever plumbed the depths that O'Mahoney has.   

Kerry have got away with striking, diving, assaulting the ref and every other way of cheating over the years due to media bias and romantic bullsh*t.   On this occasion however they cannot come up with an excuse for the cowardice on show so they start pointing fingers in other directions.  Keep it up lads, your only showing yourselves up for what you really believe in!
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2008, 07:38:36 PM
A very strange game, we were totally dominant for long periods but could not convert that to scores, 14 wides is a very poor return from the game. It was like a kick around for long periods and Cork's lack of intensity probably got into the Kerry minds who mentally decided not to push on and kick up a cricket score like Dublin did against Wexford, but still losing an 8 point lead for the 3rd time in a major match this year is a huge worry, in the 2 games that were tight (Galway and Monaghan) we pushed on and won but it just seems we get complacent if we get a good few points ahead.

Very disappointed that the replay is on next Sunday in Dublin, a Munster venue would have been much more suitable, it will be our 4th game this August in Croke Park, the pockets are feeling the pinch big time. And given that tickets are out already for Tyrone and Wexford there will be fewer for those expected to swell the numbers from Cork and Kerry supporters, it is a poor decision from the GAA for both counties involved.

We have it all to do again, but we are still in there but with many unanswered questions, midfield is going to be as vital as ever and our team selection needs to be correct and up to the challenge. We need a big man to try and limit Cussen but whether that is Griffin or Bohane will be decided in training. I would nearly go with Griffin in midfield with Scanlon, as I think we need Donaghy at full forward more then midfield where we might have a few more options with the likes of Brosnan to come in too. Our backs need to be as vigilant the next day and not allow any of the Cork forwards to settle, Unless Frank Murphy pulls a rule book stunt this week (and I would not put it passed him) Donnacha O'Connor will be a big loss to the rebels, but it may open the door for Masters to start, but whether he has the grunt and grind in him for a full day trying to avoid the likes of Tomas O'Se is to be seen. Alan O'Connor will probably lose out in midfield with possibly O'Neill and Canty starting with Murphy on the forty.

Up front we need to take our scores, obvious I know, but given the chances we created yesterday we should have been home and dry, Declan needs to attack more and Cooper too needs to dictate the game to Cork. Tommy Walsh needs to be more controlled and not rushing his shot options, and pass if that is a better option, he is still a major handful and Cork may possibly have Shields on the next day to take on Walsh. Bryan Sheehan and Donacha Walsh need to get to more of the dirty ball around the middle. And Donaghy needs to continue creating havoc on the edge of the square but at the same time keep his cool even when blatantly fouled as has happened him in a few games so far.

Cork still are one of the great unknowns, Crap against Limerick but pulled it our of the fire with 2 late goals to win, Crap against Kerry in the first half of the Munster Final only to pull around a deficit of 8 points and win by 5. Started like a speed train against Kildare and had the game over after 15 minutes and then just seem to lose interest and were probably lucky to get out with a win (and with all respect to Kildare they would be no world beaters). And again on Sunday once they got the first goal they seemed to switch off and left Kerry dominate for the majority of the game, except for the last 4 minutes when again 2 late goals gave them a result. They are a strange animal to comprehend but I think they may yet have a full game in them and they will come out hard the next day and will try to wind up a few of our key players in particular Donaghy and Cooper.

I wont lower myself by starting a thread condeming the diving of the Cork Captain to con the referee to get a penalty or of the antics a certain Cork midfielder to help get our midfielder sent off. But to lay all these so called cheating jibes on Kerry (as we have in the AOM thresd) is unfair in the extreme. And theres has been a lot of bad blood simmering for a few years between both sets of players, and alot of that came to the surface yesterady, lets hope the next day is free of that but I doubt it.

As for us on Sunday we were a mixed bag.

Diarmuid Murphy - caught badly for Masters goal otherwise not much he could have done with the other two goals. Kick outs good in the most part, and had no other saves to make.

Marc O'Se - held Hayes well from play and he was never a threat, solid but nothing spectacular. Gave away a soft free in first half when waiting for the ball to go over the sideline and Cork scored from this

Tommy Griffin in a surprise move started at full back and did well enough on Cussen and broke lots of ball from him holding him scoreless, in the second half most of the ball coming to Cussen came out the wing and though he was winning these, his deliveries into the square were where he should have been, except for Masters goal. I thought the delivery to Cussen was poor and he had little support upfront unlike the Munster final and maybe this was down to Kerry's covering too. Griffin will hopefully be the better for the first outing though it will be interesting if he will be needed around the middle in Darragh's absence next weekend, Maybe Bohane if fit will come in to bolster the full back line.

Tom O'Sullivan had a great first half and cleaned up a lot of the breaks around the full back line and restricted Goulding well, should have done better for Masters goal though he was impeded with a possible hand on his shoulder. Needs a repeat performance.
Tomas O'Se played a great game and cleaned up lots of ball around the middle and his back line, took a good point in the second half and showed good leadership.

Aidan O'Mahony, dealt well with Canty for most of the game but he was never his normal dominant self, missed a sitter of a point in the first half and his antics around the time of O'Connors sending off need to be removed from the game. Harse penalty against him as I think Canty took a dive.

Killian Young did very well too and got forward well on numerous occasions but had a bad wide and one at the end that hit the post when he could have won it for us.

Darragh O'Se was lording it in midfield during the first half, Cork had no answer to him with 3 different men having a cut and a few digs off him, but the red mist came down at the start of the second when he got red carded for a bit of a skelp on Pierce O'Neill, though for a big strong man O'Neill fell like a sake of rotten spuds. Both were at each other all game and Darragh should have enough experience to walk away from this kind of Cork provocation, whatever it is about O'Neill he has something to wind Darragh up enough twice now to get him sent off. In fairness the sending off sparked us into life and Donaghy when he came to midfield was really fired up and urging on his teammates. A huge loss for us the next day but if we win and he plays in the final all will be forgiven.

Seamus Scanlon had another fine game holding his own in the middle and mopping up a good few breaks in his own full back line, a big onus on him now to step up and lead the Kerry midfield for a full 70 minutes in the replay. I'd expect either Donaghy, Griffin or maybe Brosnan to partner him the next day.

Donnach Walsh got through an amount of work early on with one great catch in the middle and was unlucky his goal was pulled back for a throw, I have seen worse passes being allowed. Called ashore at half time when he again seems to fade out of games.

Declan O'Sullivan again did a huge load of work around the middle and was a big threat up front when he ran at Cork. No score though on a day when he should have been taking on some shots from distance and was taken off before our capitulation at the end.

Bryan Sheehan contributed 4 frees but was wasteful in some of the opportunities he was presented with, won some good ball but again needs to be more involved.

Colm Cooper was again involved but subdued by his high standards and should have had more scores than the 3 he got given the amount of ball coming his way.

Kieran Donaghy was our main man again, routed Derek Kavanagh for nearly every ball in the first half, took his goal well though probably off his head and scored a good point and should have had a penalty, he has been very badly treated by referees so far. When he moved to midfield he caught and broke some great ball, but seemed to fade out towards the end. He was a calming influence and pulled Tommy Walsh and Cooper out of some handbags with the Rebels at different early stages. Our attacking options were a lot less in the second half when he came out the field, maybe will start in midfield the next day, but can we do without him at full forward?

Tommy Walsh got through an amount of ball in the first half but more often than not took the wrong option, kicked a few wides and had a shot for goal when a point was the better option, needs to find his fellow forwards and not be so greedy on the ball, still a big handful for any team, if he starts at full forward he will have to be involved more as a team player the next day and it will be a huge ask for him to lead the attack.

Of the subs Eoin Brosnan won a few balls, scored one point and should maybe have tapped over his goal chance instead of going for glory but Quirke saved well. Darren O'Sullivan seemed to instil danger every time he got the ball and kicked a fine score, a possible starter in the corner if Donaghy is moved out the field the next day. Sean O'Sullivan made little contribution except for a ridicules attempt of an overhead point, Cork got a score from the resultant clearance which kick started their revival.

Some good performances but many again need to up the ante in their respective battles and without the motivational leadership of Darragh O'Se we need to get on top again in the middle sector with others leading the way . Lets hope after a hectic August as we head into our 4th game in 5 weekends we still have something left in the tank as I can't see Cork being so poor again.
Post by: under the bar on August 25, 2008, 07:49:53 PM
QuoteNo one is taking your bait so be off and do you homework for school tomorrow.

Away and have your usual wet-dream about being from Armagh....
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on August 25, 2008, 08:04:20 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2008, 07:38:36 PM
I wont lower myself by starting a thread condeming the diving of the Cork Captain to con the referee to get a penalty or of the antics a certain Cork midfielder to help get our midfielder sent off. But to lay all these so called cheating jibes on Kerry (as we have in the AOM thresd) is unfair in the extreme. And theres has been a lot of bad blood simmering for a few years between both sets of players, and alot of that came to the surface yesterady, lets hope the next day is free of that but I doubt it.

The penalty was debatable (and harsh on Kerry in light of Donaghy being denied a stonewall peno in the 1st half) but I wouldn't label Canty as conning the referee, O'Mahony only had to stand his ground, the lunge he made left the opportunity for Canty to barrel into him, I'd say most referees would have given it to be honest.

Regardless of whatever provocation O'Sé was getting from O'Neill, after the Munster final you think he would have had more sense than to clock the player in front of the ref, he didn't need any help from O'Neill bar him leaving his face in the same spot long enough for Dara to lay the blow.

There is no doubt that these two teams have played each other far too many times the last few years leading to the constant bad blood in the matches between them, Kerry are 10 points a better team than Cork though and I expect them to win the replay by 6 or 7 but ye Kerry lads will have to face up to the fact that a few of yer players let ye down badly with their antics yesterday, I don't think it's that unfair to highlight it as such.
Post by: under the bar on August 25, 2008, 08:42:27 PM
QuoteNo one is taking your bait so be off and do you homework for school tomorrow.

Away and have your usual wet-dream about being from Armagh...

What a comeback, did you come up with that all by yourself or did somebody help you!

At least there's some truth in it unlike your puerile reponse....
Post by: his holiness nb on August 25, 2008, 09:02:46 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2008, 07:38:36 PM

In fairness Mike, O'Mahony really let himself down, and his antics were obviously trying to encourage the ref into the red card, thats cheating in my book.

Re the Antics of the Cork midfielder, after the Dublin Kerry game last year we were all told the way to react to provocation was to get on with your game and beat your man fair and square. If it was Ciaran Whelan who thumped a guy under provocation he would be called all the thugs and scumbags under the sun. I'm not calling O'Se anything, bar silly. Yes theres bad blood, but every players knows he cant react to provocation by decking the man nor can you justify the thump by saying he was provoked. O'Se knows this fine well, and to be honest, has been treading on thin ice for a few years with the refs.

Theres certain games where you need to put your hands up and say "my teams behaviour let them down" and stop making excuses for some of their actions by trying to counter them with less obvious examples. As u Dub, I've had to do it on more occasions than most  :'( ,

That said, its a mans game, the likes of what O'Se did happens, I've no issue once he accepts the punishment.
Its what O'Mahony did that really dissapointed me.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 25, 2008, 10:42:17 PM
Have already put my had up for both O'Mahony and O'Se both have left Kerry down but in the heat of batle these things happen outside a players control, I dont condone either action, just sometimes you have the try and understand what are the root causes of the actions.

There are many form of cheating in the GAA, taking a few steps from a free or a sideline, off the ball tackles, feigning injury, diving, slowing down the game, stopping quick frees being taken, kicking the ball away, etc etc, but unfortunately every team has their quilty parties, and this week its our turn to face the firing line, nobody is proud of it but its a fact of sporting life but it always been there in some form or other, and as teams become more competitive these things are going to be highlighted more and more in the mad media driven world we live in, next week there will be someone from Tyrone or Wexford that the perenial moaners on here can have a go at. Just some of the reactions as usual are way over the top, in much the way Paul Galvin was vilified in the media and on places like this now its O'Mahonys turn, I'm sure he not proud of his actions but he will learn from his mistake and hopefully let move on.
Post by: orangeman on August 26, 2008, 04:13:36 PM
News just in - Cork's Donncha O'Connor is going to appeal his sending off !!!!!

Will he get a reprieve ??

Will O'Mahony get punished instead ??

We haven't heard the last of it yet !

Thank God for Frank Murphy !  ;) :D
Post by: orangeman on August 26, 2008, 05:26:12 PM
Is Dara back training with Kerry this week or is he barred ?
Post by: tyssam5 on August 26, 2008, 05:46:41 PM
Get yourself down to a training session with a video camera there OM!
Post by: Frank Casey on August 26, 2008, 06:22:07 PM
From today's Evening Echo. Frank has the rule book out. Apparantly Donncha O'Connor is claiming that he was brushing off a little excess foundation powder from O'Mahony's cheek. I presume the tactic will be to claim that Aidan's antics in some way influenced the ref's decision. Or did it happen in the twilight zone????????????????????????????????

CORK football selectors will delay naming their team for the All-Ireland semi-final replay against Kerry at Croke Park on Sunday (2pm) until later in the week.The squad won't train, as is the tradition, tonight, but will come together tomorrow. "We've a few bumps and bruises and we're  waiting to hear the result of Donncha O'Connor's appeal as well," said selector Ger O'Sullivan. "Graham Canty and Nicholas Murphy came through okay on Sunday and that's a positive." O'Connor's appeal of the red card for slapping Aidan O'Mahony could be heard in Dublin tomorrow. "Our attitude is that the incident did not warrant a red card."
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 26, 2008, 08:57:33 PM
Yerra didn't they get Anthony Lynch off from a red card a few years ago when it was deemed his elbow did not connect with Donaghy face, though Donaghy was lucky not to have his jaw broken in the incident, if Murphy and Cork pull off this stunt again they will have scrapped a new low but it will just add to our fire for next weekend.
Post by: Main Street on August 26, 2008, 10:04:51 PM
Kerry innocent  - Cork guilty

How about both guilty.

but Kerry have the longest memories and do the most bitching :)

Post by: orangeman on August 26, 2008, 10:47:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on August 26, 2008, 10:04:51 PM
Kerry innocent  - Cork guilty

How about both guilty.

but Kerry have the longest memories and do the most bitching :)

Kerry are the "purists" !  ;) :D
Post by: imtommygunn on August 26, 2008, 10:54:25 PM
Sure Mike didn't you boys pull a few tricks to get Dara O'Se off pre the 2003 AISF against Tyrone?

Everyone's at it but Cork are no worse than you for trying it.
Post by: Travis T O Justice on August 27, 2008, 08:56:03 AM
Sorry if this question has been addressed already - but is the replay being televised?
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2008, 09:16:15 AM
Quote from: Travis T O Justice on August 27, 2008, 08:56:03 AM
Sorry if this question has been addressed already - but is the replay being televised?

NO
Post by: feetofflames on August 27, 2008, 12:45:02 PM
I must bring the soduku for the hour as the guys reenact the Munster pukerfest
Post by: his holiness nb on August 27, 2008, 01:45:25 PM
I'm not a fan of appeals in general, but if O'Connor couldnt play the replay and O'Mahony could, because of what happened, that would be the real tragedy. You can argue over techichalities all you want, it would be bullshit if that happened.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 27, 2008, 08:53:47 PM
Scary thought for the Kingdom: every time this millenium that there have been so many Tyronnies in Croke Park (when Kerry are), they've been beaten!  :o
Post by: boro on August 27, 2008, 09:32:22 PM
how come the northern lads hate Kerry so much? Real bitter stuff on this board.
Post by: comethekingdom on August 27, 2008, 09:49:13 PM
Quote from: boro on August 27, 2008, 09:32:22 PM

Simple answer to that boro - Pure and utter jealousy! They just cant stomach class, tradition and skill from the greatest football county of all time. While we have all admired their passion and intense style of football and never begrudged them their couple of AI's it's amazing they are so bitter? Anyway, we're hardly bothered by them !! 
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 27, 2008, 09:51:30 PM
Quotehow come the northern lads hate Kerry so much?

I think its down to two words uttered by a Mr Patrick Spillane. And a bit of begrudgery and jealousy thrown in for good measure  ;)

Their 15 All Irelands to our 36 would make anyone bitter. (maybe I should clarify that the 36 includes our hurling title as we were once a dual winning county)
Post by: comethekingdom on August 27, 2008, 09:55:32 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on August 27, 2008, 09:51:30 PM
Quotehow come the northern lads hate Kerry so much?

I think its down to two words uttered by a Mr Patrick Spillane. And a bit of begrudgery and jealousy thrown in for good measure  ;)

Their 15 All Ielands to our 36  would make anyone bitter.

;) ;) ;)
Post by: Aaron Boone on August 27, 2008, 09:56:01 PM
Will this era end in another famine like 1986-97?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 27, 2008, 10:00:52 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 27, 2008, 09:49:13 PM
Anyway, we're hardly bothered by them !! 

Of whom, one individual by the name of Sheehy is a prime example of that insouciance and tolerance  ;)
Post by: comethekingdom on August 27, 2008, 10:01:52 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on August 27, 2008, 09:56:01 PM

That was a terrible famine - lasted a horrible 11 yrs! Imagine having to wait from 1884 to 2002 or 2003 for an AI?
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 27, 2008, 10:05:59 PM
QuoteWill this era end in another famine like 1986-97?

Dont think so, with the U21 title under our belt already and good development at college and minor level there should be a good flow of players for the next decade or so, most of the Senior team are still mid-20's or younger and though there is a lot of milage on most of them they will be around for a few years yet hopefully.

86-97 was unique in that it was the end of an old great team and there was very little coming through the younger ranks.
Post by: boro on August 27, 2008, 10:07:40 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on August 27, 2008, 10:01:52 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on August 27, 2008, 09:56:01 PM

That was a terrible famine - lasted a horrible 11 yrs! Imagine having to wait from 1884 to 2002 or 2003 for an AI?

or from 1918 to .... (2008 hopefully)
spare a thought for us poor wexford men

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 27, 2008, 10:20:48 PM
Quote from: boro on August 27, 2008, 09:32:22 PM

We love them really, it's just that some of us have a unique way of showing it.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 27, 2008, 10:29:04 PM
QuoteWe love them really, it's just that some of us have a unique way of showing it.

Be jaysus ye do have a quare way of showing it.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 27, 2008, 10:39:18 PM
Yerra, 'tis a wholly mutual uniqueness  ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 27, 2008, 11:44:16 PM
Cork for Sunday:

Cork (SF v Kerry): A Quirke; D Duggan, D Kavanagh, A Lynch;  J Meskella, G Spillane, K O'Connor; A O'Connor, G Canty; S O'Brien, P O'Neill, K McMahon; D Goulding, M Cussen, J Hayes.

Slightly surprised that there's room for neither Masters nor Murphy, presuming the starting 15 don't differ wildly from this team sheet.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 27, 2008, 11:55:45 PM
The slapper O'Connor must have failed in his appeal if the team is official, yerra thats a pity  :P  Frankie's little book of tricks may have left him down this time (or has it???), I don't believe the Cork team will play as named though, expect Nick Murphy to come into midfield instead of Alan O'Connor as they cannot allow Kerry to dominate them there again, and Shields in instead of Duggan in the full back line.

O'Neill who is the spitting image of someone I know but just cant remember who, looks like he will be in on O'Mahony, there will be people diving for cover when these two clash. I guess all the neutrals will be in the O'Neill corner.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 28, 2008, 06:12:48 AM
Quotehow come the northern lads hate Kerry so much? Real bitter stuff on this board.

They get very wound up because we don't acknowledge their "achievements".  Its great craic altogether  :D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 28, 2008, 11:38:56 AM
O'Connor won his appeal.  You heard it here first!
Post by: Hardy on August 28, 2008, 11:46:37 AM
Amazing. How did Frank pull it - the ref wrote his name in English or something? Or can we expect an outbreak of face-slapping, if the CHC has deemed it acceptable?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 28, 2008, 11:47:43 AM
Awaiting official word but my source is definite. 
Post by: stephenite on August 28, 2008, 11:51:32 AM
Amazing indeed - there's not much point in having rules anymore really is there?
Post by: Jinxy on August 28, 2008, 12:10:32 PM
I'm glad. If O'Mahony had behaved like a man the incident wouldn't even have merited a yellow let alone a straight red and a suspension.
Post by: orangeman on August 28, 2008, 12:39:33 PM
Cork's Donnacha O'Connor is available for selection for this Sundays All-Ireland Football semi-final replay against Kerry.

The attacker was send off for slapping Kerry defender Aidan O'Mahony last Sunday, however, the red card and the four week suspension has been overturned by the Central Hearings Committee and he is free to play this weekend.

O'Mahony has beeb suspended instead !!!!!!!!
Post by: Hardy on August 28, 2008, 12:48:37 PM
If you're serious, it's bizarre but wonderful.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 28, 2008, 01:20:29 PM
I wonder how the courts (or Dept of Education) will react to teachers telling them that slapping kids is not really striking.  ::)
Post by: muppet on August 28, 2008, 01:23:37 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 28, 2008, 01:20:29 PM
I wonder how the courts (or Dept of Education) will react to teachers telling them that slapping kids is not really striking.  ::)

I'd like to see anyone who thinks it was nothing to walk up to a Garda and slap him in the face to see what happens.
Post by: orangeman on August 28, 2008, 01:25:05 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 28, 2008, 01:23:37 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 28, 2008, 01:20:29 PM

I'd like to see anyone who thinks it was nothing to walk up to a Garda and slap him in the face to see what happens.

You know what would happen especially if it were O'Mahony or that big lad from Cork Cussen - I wouldn't fancy slapping either of them in the face !

Post by: T Toatler on August 28, 2008, 01:50:38 PM
This is a new low for the GAA and Nicky Brennan. He must be fuming in fairness. What class of idiots are on these committees. There are no rules and feck all sanctions it appears.
Post by: orangeman on August 28, 2008, 01:52:16 PM
Quote from: T Toatler on August 28, 2008, 01:50:38 PM
This is a new low for the GAA and Nicky Brennan. He must be fuming in fairness. What class of idiots are on these committees. There are no rules and feck all sanctions it appears.

There are rules surely - It's just that they don't know what they are or what they mean !  ;)
Post by: muppet on August 28, 2008, 01:54:00 PM
Quote from: orangeman on August 28, 2008, 12:39:33 PM
Cork's Donnacha O'Connor is available for selection for this Sundays All-Ireland Football semi-final replay against Kerry.

The attacker was send off for slapping Kerry defender Aidan O'Mahony last Sunday, however, the red card and the four week suspension has been overturned by the Central Hearings Committee and he is free to play this weekend.

O'Mahony has beeb suspended instead !!!!!!!!

I'd like to see some evidence that O'Mahony has been suspended before we comment.
Post by: KERRYMAD on August 28, 2008, 02:32:31 PM
being a kerry fan and following some of the replies over the past few days i'd like to say this on the matter.

most kerry people feel it unfortunate that such an acomplished player like o'mahony has behaved like a guy playing in croke park for the first time he has gone from one of the players of the year last year to a cheat however he will be back and redeem himself with football ability of that i am sure .

the only explination i can offer is maybe he was looking to even up matters with daragh's sending off. and with our good neighbours there is an extra bite of madness in the games so the dive was to hammer the decision home.

o'connors sending off worked in corks favour like Daragh's sending off worked in kerrys favour, in a way i am glad to see o'connor back as if kerry do win which i think they will it will give our neighbours one less excuse and us a further gloating angle.

this comittee in the gaa is a farce and no more need be said on the matter from me.
i have pity for paul galvin as he was wrong to strike the refaree's notebook but i would consider to have my notebook slapped than my face the lesser of two wrongs bear in mind galvin cannot set foot on a training ground and o'connor will be kicking pints for cork next weekend.

these guys are amatures and we should probbably consider this a little more when criticising them however the gaa officials are not and should be accountable for their rules and penalties as professionals.

anyway we can all bitch for our county but here is to a good weekend of sport and up the kingdom & wexford
Post by: orangeman on August 28, 2008, 02:36:12 PM
Quote from: KERRYMAD on August 28, 2008, 02:32:31 PM
being a kerry fan and following some of the replies over the past few days i'd like to say this on the matter.

most kerry people feel it unfortunate that such an acomplished player like o'mahony has behaved like a guy playing in croke park for the first time he has gone from one of the players of the year last year to a cheat however he will be back and redeem himself with football ability of that i am sure .

the only explination i can offer is maybe he was looking to even up matters with daragh's sending off. and with our good neighbours there is an extra bite of madness in the games so the dive was to hammer the decision home.

o'connors sending off worked in corks favour like Daragh's sending off worked in kerrys favour, in a way i am glad to see o'connor back as if kerry do win which i think they will it will give our neighbours one less excuse and us a further gloating angle.

this comittee in the gaa is a farce and no more need be said on the matter from me.
i have pity for paul galvin as he was wrong to strike the refaree's notebook but i would consider to have my notebook slapped than my face the lesser of two wrongs bear in mind galvin cannot set foot on a training ground and o'connor will be kicking pints for cork next weekend.

these guys are amatures and we should probbably consider this a little more when criticising them however the gaa officials are not and should be accountable for their rules and penalties as professionals.

anyway we can all bitch for our county but here is to a good weekend of sport and up the kingdom & wexford

No it didn't - Kerry got the bi between there teeth as soon as Dara was sent off and took full control of the game - when O'Connor  was sent off, Kerry continued to dominate until they got caught out at the end.
Post by: KERRYMAD on August 28, 2008, 05:59:01 PM
thinking back you are right !
was it not for a dropped ball by doneghy and tom o'sullivans failure to jump (what was he thinking) that gave cork a sniff that something might be saved from the game.

daragh will be a big loss but i just cant see kerry being beaten! take away all of the passion i just dont think cork have the football ability throughout the pitch o'connor & lynch & o'neill being the exceptions.
i am still not convinced by cussen.

Post by: ExiledGael on August 28, 2008, 06:10:24 PM
Quote from: KERRYMAD on August 28, 2008, 05:59:01 PM
thinking back you are right !
was it not for a dropped ball by doneghy and tom o'sullivans failure to jump (what was he thinking) that gave cork a sniff that something might be saved from the game.

daragh will be a big loss but i just cant see kerry being beaten! take away all of the passion i just dont think cork have the football ability throughout the pitch o'connor & lynch & o'neill being the exceptions.
i am still not convinced by cussen.

Have to agree that if it comes down to footballing ability there can only be one winner, and the game should.
Not so sure what Pearse O'Neill brings exactly to warrant calling him a star player, but Graham Canty has to be in there.
No co-incidence he was the man who was charging towards goal when it was really needed against Kerry on Sunday, and against Limerick at the start of the summer when all looked lost.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 28, 2008, 06:59:26 PM
Kerry Team V Cork  Sunday 31st  August 08 in All Ireland Semi final Replay

One change Tommy Griffin in Midfield for O'Se, Reidy back at corner back and Tom O'Sullivan to take on Cussen.

Jacko's son Aidan has been added to the panel.

(1) Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle)
(2) Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) (3) Tom O'Sullivan (Rathmore) (4) Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin)
(5) Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) Captain  (6) Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore)  (7) Killian Young (Renard)
(8) Tommy Griffin (Dingle) (9) Seamus Scanlon (Currow)
(10) Brian Sheehan (St Mary's)  (11) Colm Cooper (Dr. Crokes) (12) Donnacha Walsh (Cromane) 
(13) Declan O'Sullivan Piarsaigh Na Dromada  (14) Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks) (15) Tommy Walsh (Kerins O'Rahilly's)

Fir Ionad: 16) Kieran Cremin (Dr. Crokes) (17) Eoin Brosnan (Dr. Crokes) (18) Seán O'Sullivan (Cromane) (19) Darren O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar) (20) Michéal Quirke (Kerins O'Rahillys) (21) Daniel Bohane (Austin Stacks) (22) Mike Frank Russell (Laune Rangers) (23) Rónán Ó Flatharta ( An Ghaeltacht) (24) Paul O'Connor (Kenmare) (25) Kieran O'Leary (Dr. Crokes) (26) David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilly's) (27) Anthony Maher (Duagh) (28) Mike Moloney (Dr Crokes) (29) Pat Corridan (Finuge) (30) Aidan O'Shea (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on August 28, 2008, 08:25:43 PM
I will be amazed if those 15 individuals start......
Post by: Frank Casey on August 28, 2008, 09:49:36 PM
I wonder if Pat O'Shea is doing a Conor Counihan by making only one (enforced?) change. Its funny but when I heard the Cork team announced I knew that O'Connor would be getting off. Would expect Alan Cronin and possibly Ger Spillane to be under pressure in the Cork team with Nick Murphy (Croke Park no fear without Dara) and possibly Noel O'Leary coming in. Still don't see Masters as a starter versus O'Mahony either. As for Kerry surprised to see Tommy Griffin named in midfield, although I'd have no fear of him there. I thought we might see another Crokes man go in there with Reidy staying on the bench. All will be revealed at around 1.45pm on Sunday.

I wish we didn't have this s**te of phantom team selections.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 28, 2008, 09:54:50 PM
Never mind the game, let's have Ballydesmond (Donncha O'Connor) versus Rathmore (Aidan O'Mahony) Part II!
Post by: Frank Casey on August 28, 2008, 10:04:14 PM
Apparantly Frank Murphy convinved the appeal committee that Donncha O'Connor was going after the same wasp that Paul Galvin had tried to swat from the ref's note book below in Killarney last June. Having convinced the esteemed committee members that the wasp was now in fact expired (stunned by Donncha's delicate wrist action it fell to the ground and in a moment of inspired improvisation Aidan O'Mahony threw himself to the ground and finished him off with the pole of his head at tremendous personal risk) and that both players involved should be commended for their actions.

And that, as they say in the Kingdom, is pure true, or at least as credible as whatever Frank peddled last evening. :P
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 28, 2008, 10:20:19 PM
Fair enough Frank, as usual, your word is pure Gospel  ;)
Post by: Frank Casey on August 28, 2008, 10:30:14 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 28, 2008, 10:20:19 PM
Fair enough Frank, as usual, your word is pure Gospel  ;)

Tis one of the four gospels in that Book of Yerra that Kerry Mike is always quoting.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 28, 2008, 10:33:56 PM
For a panel of footballers that went to great lengths to get rid of Frank Murphy and his like last January they are very happy for him to pull another rabbit out of his long johns.

Slapper O'Connor's mini-skelp gives a new meaning to the "Cork Strike"
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 28, 2008, 10:35:11 PM
In all, at all at all, seriousness, do you think that Tom O'Sullivan might just be a wee bit vulnerable against Cussen under the high ball? Granted, Cork will have supply ball of a much better pedigree on Sunday into the full-forward line (in particular), but I'd say that has to be a concern for Sunday.
Post by: Frank Casey on August 28, 2008, 10:47:28 PM
Yes he's had issues but I'd qualify his Munster final perforance:

(1) The change of tactics would obviously take a little getting used to.
(2) Cork improving at midfield meant a whole load of ball coming in.
(3) Marc O'Se going off left only a novice corner back with him for a significant portion of the second half.

Whatever about this I'm still unsure if the named Kerry 15 will start or exactly line out as named.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 28, 2008, 11:06:14 PM
Indeed Frank, the actual 15s will be interesting come Sunday (even).
Post by: magickingdom on August 28, 2008, 11:23:03 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on August 28, 2008, 11:38:56 AM
O'Connor won his appeal.  You heard it here first!

never doubted it for a second, frank murphy has a better win rate than aidan o brien on the horses. ffs the whole system is a joke, where do the crowd that were giving out about o mahony stand on this? he did after all strike him
Post by: time ticking away on August 28, 2008, 11:47:56 PM
i'm looking forward to seeing whether Noel O Leary plays and whether he goes hunting for Tomas O Se
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 28, 2008, 11:54:32 PM
O'Leary made a huge difference when introduced last Sunday. I'd say Counihan won't be too late with either himself, Masters or Murphy.
Post by: orangeman on August 28, 2008, 11:55:48 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 28, 2008, 10:35:11 PM
In all, at all at all, seriousness, do you think that Tom O'Sullivan might just be a wee bit vulnerable against Cussen under the high ball? Granted, Cork will have supply ball of a much better pedigree on Sunday into the full-forward line (in particular), but I'd say that has to be a concern for Sunday.

O'Sullivan won't be on him.
Post by: KERRYMAD on August 29, 2008, 09:33:22 AM
I wonder if the relevation in the galway game that was daniel bohane will feature on sunday or was that a one game wonder. i believe he got some time in the league but i dont know a whole pile about him, except what i saw when he & tommy griffin  were the saving of kerry in the galway match which could have gone either way up until the last 10 minutes.

tom o' sullivan , mark o'se and padraig reidy are having a bad season by their standards, however they are all due a very big game maybe there time is coming.
Post by: KERRYMAD on August 29, 2008, 11:11:21 AM
apologies for any mis-spelling in last post.. excitement is getting the better of me
Post by: tyssam5 on August 29, 2008, 10:17:45 PM
"Overall, though, it's still Kerry for me. If you ignore the obvious double entendre -- this is all about balls and penetration!"

WTF is Keith Barr on?

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/sorry-cork-but-o-se-will-be-back-for-the-decider-1465381.html
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 30, 2008, 12:43:20 PM
I think there's more to the second half collapses of Kerry than just coincidence: I think it's more a sign of a tired team (and the manager's substitions don't help either), and if Cork are within reach with 15 minutes to go they'll have a real chance, especially with big Dara missing as he's a key man for the Kingdom in the closing stages, both in midfield and goalmouth clearances.
Post by: Main Street on August 31, 2008, 02:15:36 PM
O'Connor gets Cork's first point, they say he used the fist but it was more of a gentle stoke to help the ball over the bar.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 02:20:56 PM
Ref won't let it get physical this week anyway. Handy frees all round so far.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 02:32:22 PM
On 2nd thought Pat O'Shea couldn't ref this better for Kerry.

Maybe if Cork could get the ball down the field they'd get the same though.
Post by: Tankie on August 31, 2008, 02:36:10 PM
this is shocking stuff!
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 02:39:14 PM
Two good goals though, What was Murphy trying to do there, looked like he was scared of the ball.
Post by: joemamas on August 31, 2008, 02:39:43 PM
so is the commentating, I will say it again, Canning should be commentating Chess, Fencing or Wrestling
Post by: Hardy on August 31, 2008, 02:44:52 PM
Have we just seen the first ever yellow card for goading? O'Mahony got a free and we saw a Cork player (couldn't tell who) motioning at him a few times to lie down. Next we see O'Connor getting a yellow card. I think it can only have been for that. Great refereeing if it was.

Cork's game plan is non existent. Why is their target man* playing around midfield and finding himself kicking in high balls to where he should be himself? Mystifying. But they'll probably get five goals in the last five minutes to win it. Nothing makes sense any more.

*Why does that annoying flute Carney insists on calling him 'Cousins', despite having commentated on five Cork matches already this year?
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 02:53:39 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 31, 2008, 02:44:52 PM
Have we just seen the first ever yellow card for goading? O'Mahony got a free and we saw a Cork player (couldn't tell who) motioning at him a few times to lie down. Next we see O'Connor getting a yellow card. I think it can only have been for that. Great refereeing if it was.

Cork's game plan is non existent. Why is their target man* playing around midfield and finding himself kicking in high balls to where he should be himself? Mystifying. But they'll probably get five goals in the last five minutes to win it. Nothing makes sense any more.

*Why does that annoying flute Carney insists on calling him 'Cousins', despite having commentated on five Cork matches already this year?

I was wondering about that myself, didn't see the initial foul really so not sure if the booking could have been for that. Poor enough diving gesture, prefer the two-handed one.
Post by: Main Street on August 31, 2008, 03:11:49 PM
The ref is doing well in the 2nd half, made good calls and taking no nonsense.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 03:12:37 PM
Ref evening it up now, cue finger in his face from T O'Se. Donaghy, Gooch etc trying to get at the ref now. Jaysus!!!
Post by: Puckoon on August 31, 2008, 03:13:42 PM
Would serve a few of them boys if they were to miss the final.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 03:17:34 PM
The whole of them might miss the final. Only 5 points up against Cork with 10 to go, surely that's not enough  :D
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 03:19:48 PM
Holy feck!!!
Post by: Puckoon on August 31, 2008, 03:20:34 PM
Fcuk me... I mean wow.
Post by: Main Street on August 31, 2008, 03:22:18 PM
Superb goal followed by the equaliser

Who said this was shocking stuff ::)

Cork smell Kerry blood.
Post by: Square Ball on August 31, 2008, 03:22:33 PM
Holy feck.... is this the same team
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 03:23:31 PM
I think Cork might have timed their run a bit early here. That was some finish for that goal in fairness. The ref has provided the leadership and inspiration for Cork to lift this.

Feck this, better not be extra time. Good man Gooch.
Post by: Midman on August 31, 2008, 03:23:40 PM
D'oh!  :-\
Post by: Square Ball on August 31, 2008, 03:24:13 PM
scudded them >:(
Post by: Puckoon on August 31, 2008, 03:27:22 PM
That was a bad kick by Kavanagh.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 03:28:02 PM
This will stand Kerry well for the final. Wexford will be sure of getting 70 minutes of football from them now.
Post by: joemamas on August 31, 2008, 03:30:58 PM
i agree with your thoughts, this intimiadation of ref's has to stop. It is telling every twelve year old that it is ok to scream at and surround the ref
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 03:31:25 PM
Kerry fella accidentally hoofing into the stand just before the final whistle. Just getting excited I suppose.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 03:33:59 PM
This will be a big lift for minnows Tyrone and Wexford, imagine the honour of lining out against the Kingdom in an All-Ireland final.
Post by: Puckoon on August 31, 2008, 03:34:39 PM
Here we go, O'Rourke praising the "virtues" of how the game should be played. None of this feigning or diving. Just pushing refs, hoofing the ball away, but we wont notice that.
Post by: Main Street on August 31, 2008, 03:38:55 PM
The ref did well, dealt with the verbals, ignored them, pulled out the player to be carded and got the game going again.

Post by: Hardy on August 31, 2008, 03:46:29 PM
I fairness, lads, this was a 200% improvement in the spirit in which the game was played. Both sides seemed determined to be on their best behaviour. Yes, a bit of mouthing to the ref in the extreme moments is to be condemned, but it was nothing like last week or the rest of the season.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on August 31, 2008, 05:26:59 PM
That's twice this championship Declan O'Sullivan has chased after the ref bawling him out of it with a big furious head on him.
I'm sure Paul Finlay must be amused at how he picked up a suspension for verbals, while a few of the guardians of football spend the day in the ref's ear.
Post by: rory on August 31, 2008, 05:36:27 PM
Quote from: stew on August 31, 2008, 05:14:49 PM
Quote from: rory on August 31, 2008, 03:31:09 PM
Congratulations to the Scum.  All the scumbags will be back for the final.

Thats some statement about a group of gaelic footballers, there is scum around alright, but it isnt the players.

OK, a bit strong, but they're not a very likeable bunch, this current Kerry team, and they get away with it.  Our own Francie has been called a lot worse on this board for a lot less.
Post by: muppet on August 31, 2008, 05:37:01 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on August 31, 2008, 05:26:59 PM
That's twice this championship Declan O'Sullivan has chased after the ref bawling him out of it with a big furious head on him.
I'm sure Paul Finlay must be amused at how he picked up a suspension for verbals, while a few of the guardians of football spend the day in the ref's ear.

Conor Mortimor got 8 weeks for something said after a DCU game. Mayo didn't even appeal it.

Can we stop blaming everything that is wrong with the world on the Premiership. The Gaa is responsible for it's own players, procedures and rules. The historical paranoia about the influence of the poisonous soccer is really old hat now. Soccer will never touch the Irish culture in the sustained way that Gaelic Games have.
Post by: JMohan on August 31, 2008, 05:46:05 PM
There seems to be a difference in composure between Tyrone and Kerry when both are put under pressure
Post by: INDIANA on August 31, 2008, 05:51:15 PM
they're just better than everyone else.. a lot better , frightening for the rest of the country how far ahead they are.
Post by: Main Street on August 31, 2008, 06:02:36 PM
Forget about him MK, bask in the glow for a while longer.

You can bask but can you ever relax? :)
Post by: magickingdom on August 31, 2008, 06:06:24 PM
great game today i know people are giving out about the number of times they meet but i never get sick of it. i never relax watching kerry v cork! delighted to watch tommy walsh coming on the way he is, he has the strength and skill to be a great player in time. thought scanlon did well again today and quirke did all we needed from him. the final is for another day but fair play to kerry today when the chips were down they delivered as for cork like i keep saying on this board they are the second best team in ireland..
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 31, 2008, 06:15:07 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on August 31, 2008, 06:06:24 PM
great game today i know people are giving out about the number of times they meet but i never get sick of it. i never relax watching kerry v cork! delighted to watch tommy walsh coming on the way he is, he has the strength and skill to be a great player in time. thought scanlon did well again today and quirke did all we needed from him. the final is for another day but fair play to kerry today when the chips were down they delivered as for cork like i keep saying on this board they are the second best team in ireland..

Sure ye say that about them every year. ;D

Hopefully we can avoid more Kerry v Cork games in the next year or two as I've had enough of them by now. Not that today was a bad game but please no more.
Post by: INDIANA on August 31, 2008, 06:15:35 PM
cork are not better tha tyrone and if you think that you will lose the final.
Post by: magickingdom on August 31, 2008, 06:26:52 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 31, 2008, 06:15:35 PM
cork are not better tha tyrone and if you think that you will lose the final.

that remains to be seen indiana  ;D
Post by: INDIANA on August 31, 2008, 06:41:39 PM
cork are an average outfit similar to everyone else bar the top 2 ,kerry let them back into it today and last week for 65 nmins las week and 50 mins today cork were rubbish. that doesn't translate to 2nd best in the country. and clown can see that.
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 07:13:18 PM
Yous two eejits would want to calm down a wee bit.

Some game from Walsh there today, still a bit of meat to be put on that frame as well, then he will be a really scary prospect.

Really looking forward to this final now.
Post by: INDIANA on August 31, 2008, 07:25:45 PM
still a bit of meat to be put on that frame

you reckon,i've never seen anyone so fully developed physically at that age, would be an incredible rugby player with his power,pace and size. simply a force of nature and a hell of a player
Post by: tyssam5 on August 31, 2008, 07:47:00 PM
Haven't seen him in person yet, so maybe you're right. They wouldn't be doing weights and the like down in Kerry sure would they?? Hopefully will get the chance to see him now in September, hopefully not too much of him though.
Post by: magickingdom on August 31, 2008, 09:49:01 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 31, 2008, 06:41:39 PM
cork are an average outfit similar to everyone else bar the top 2 ,kerry let them back into it today and last week for 65 nmins las week and 50 mins today cork were rubbish. that doesn't translate to 2nd best in the country. and clown can see that.

far be it for a kerryman to be defending cork football but todays sindo has a nice bit on them. compare their record against that of the never ending hype dubs, 2 times champions tyrone, or 1 in a row outfit armagh... like i said cork are the second best team in ireland

Give these Rebels an even break
You can slag them all you want but Cork's achievements in football exceed almost every other county, says Eamonn Sweeney

I s there any inter-county team so unloved as the Cork footballers? Guaranteed to draw small crowds, universally derided as underachievers and subject to mockery even within their own county, somewhere along the line the Rebels appear to have been awarded the Pariah Cup.

It's scarcely a fair reflection of their achievement at inter-county level. In the past 20 years there have been two All-Ireland victories, a couple of losing final appearances and a sustained presence in the top echelon. This year sees Cork making a fourth consecutive appearance in the final four. By Kerry's standards, it's not much to write home about but it's better than most other counties have managed in modern times.

Dublin, for example, are hyped as genuine All-Ireland contenders every year and go forward on a wave of fan optimism. Yet their record over the past 20 years runs to one All-Ireland and two losing final appearances. Despite all the excitement which surrounded the Paul Caffrey era, in three out of those four years, Cork stayed in the championship longer than the Dubs. The Rebels' reward has been increasing supporter indifference and media mockery.

You could say that Cork's underachievement in the really big games means that this state of affairs serves them right. Yet Mayo, who are far more culpable in this respect, have never lost the loyalty of their long-suffering supporters. Were they playing Kerry today, it's unlikely that the match could be folded into a double bill along with the Tyrone-Wexford semi-final. Yet this is what has happened to Cork. There was something brutal about the empty Hill 16 and the half-full stands which greeted the players last week and the way these contrasted with the sea of red and white that colonised Croke Park during the hurling semi-final.

The simple explanation for this disparity between the respect afforded to Cork's two teams is to say "Cork is a hurling county," and leave it at that. The only problem with that analysis is that it's wrong. In reality, more people play football than hurling in Cork. There is not one single senior hurling club, or even a reasonably strong divisional team, west of Cork city. In the huge divisions of Carbery, Duhallow and, to a slightly lesser extent, Muskerry, football is the number one game. Even in the city, no hurling team these days enjoys the stature of the great Nemo Rangers, the greatest club football side in Ireland. On the whole, Cork's football championships are supported just as numerously and fanatically as its hurling championships.

Yet the footballers remain lucky if they draw half the crowd that the hurlers do and this situation is getting worse by the year. It may have something to do with that Cork desire to always be seen as the best at everything. Dwarfed in terms of success by the hurlers within their own county, the misfortune of Cork footballers is compounded by the might of their nearest neighbours in football. Any team which has to stand comparison with Cork hurlers and Kerry footballers is going to end up looking a little bit lame.

The result is that many Cork GAA supporters have adopted a pose of insouciance when it comes to the fortunes of the footballers, a "who cares anyway" approach designed to lessen the pain of defeat by the Kingdom. This has led to a kind of inferiority complex in Cork football. During the players' strike, which eventually became all about the identity of the county's next football manager, it was notable how the hurlers made the running and gave the interviews while the footballers stayed in the background, apparently accepting a subordinate status as their rightful station.

This idea that the hurlers are a breed apart from the footballers also manifests itself in the foolish notion, regularly mooted by people who've never seen a game of club football in Cork, that most of the hurlers would in fact make the football team if they deigned to play the big ball game. The truth is, speaking as someone who's seen most of the hurlers play football, at most there are a couple who might make the football panel. Yet this is another example of the cultural cringe which saps the confidence of Cork football people and leads to those rows of empty seats.

The irony is that Cork football might well be on the verge of a new golden age, to match the one which brought them All-Irelands in 1989 and 1990. Before this year, they'd won four Munster U21 football titles in a row, an almost unprecedented feat which means the current crop of youngsters have got used to the idea of beating Kerry. It was a similar phase of underage dominance which led to the previous golden age.

Cork's football tradition deserves a lot more meas than it gets. The trio who engineered last weekend's miracle comeback are steeped in that tradition, goal poacher James Masters is a Nemo man whereas Graham Canty of Bantry, who earned the last-gasp penalty, and John Hayes of Carbery Rangers who scored it are from West Cork clubs where a hurl has rarely been swung in anger.

Cork football may not be as sexy as Cork hurling but it shouldn't be dismissed so easily. Unloved and under-rated they may be, but Cork footballers continue to battle for the respect which is their due, right down to the last second.

- Eamonn Sweeney

Post by: INDIANA on August 31, 2008, 11:50:49 PM
I think kerry are trying to cover up their own weaknesses by proclaiming corks greatness, cork are not a great football team. if you read my posts generally nobody knows how good dublin are better than me, never once have i said dublin were a great side because they patently aren't. i don't take much notice of a two bob bit former sligo rovers supporter who thinks he now passes for a gaa expert like sweeney , a gobshite of the highest order.
The reality is kerry failed to kill off cork twice when previous kerry teams would have buried them. the Kerry defence is a shambles and this is what gives tyrone a real chance despite kerry's obvious superiority at midfield. I've never seen a more porous kerry defence. but their firepower is what wins them most games and they will rely on that again which may get them over the line. kerry are no as bad as dublin at losing leads and believe me thats bad.
Post by: JMohan on September 01, 2008, 12:14:06 AM
I will be interested to see how midfield unfolds against Tyrone
Post by: Jinxy on September 01, 2008, 12:55:52 AM
God I hope the aussies don't get hold of Walsh. He's tailor made for the AFL.
Post by: JMohan on September 01, 2008, 01:13:08 AM
There's 2 of them!!! lol!
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on September 01, 2008, 09:21:39 AM
Quote from: rory on August 31, 2008, 05:36:27 PM

OK, a bit strong, but they're not a very likeable bunch, this current Kerry team, and they get away with it.  Our own Francie has been called a lot worse on this board for a lot less.

rory, That post was out of order. I note you have retracted it, but I have also deleted the original post. Please refrain from that sort of abuse in the future.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 01, 2008, 09:32:11 AM
Much better game yesterday, and a much more 'manly' exhibition as well. There was one humerous moment, well at least I thought it was humerous, in the second half when O'Mahony was bursting out with a ball. he took a belt on the jaw, and you could nearly see him pause, think about it, and then carry on.

Seamus Scanlon took another shot to the jaw and kept going as well, just like he did last weekend. We shouldn't have to highlight things like that, but fair play to him anyway.

As for the hounding of the referee, well that's just the latest in a line of things creeping into the game that is completely out of order. I thought the ref handled it well though. Declan O'Sullivan has that rep. in Kerry as well, as being someone who loses his rag very easy at refs. He needs to knock it off, without a doubt, because it takes from him as a footballer. I have great time for O'Sullivan as a footballer. He wins breaks, carrys intelligently, scores and lays the ball off. He is a great man to have out around there, so there's no need for him to be at that lark.

Kerry seem to be staggering over the line this year. They've had more 'non-football' issues and controversies this year than I can ever remember, and are definitely in cranky mode. I have a feeling that if they do win the 3 in a row, and beat Tyrone in the final, a lot of the unsavoury aspects will be put to bed, as they will be recognised in their own county as one of the great teams. It's a lot harder to gain respect in a place where every second fella has 2 or 3 celtic crosses, and you are always compared to the men of the 70s and 80s. I'd love to see them winning the 3 in a row but they do need to improve a good bit on their performances so far. If they let Tyrone build up a head of steam like Derry, Cork x 3 and even Galway, Tyrone will put them away.

Good game though, and a good response from Kerry when they looked a dead team.
Post by: thejuice on September 01, 2008, 12:20:25 PM
Enjoyed the game, thought Kerry were on the ropes just before Coopers goal. Cork will feel that this was the one that got away. And Kerry will be feeling lucky if not a bit annoyed at their brief capitulation.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 01, 2008, 12:27:57 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 31, 2008, 07:25:45 PM
still a bit of meat to be put on that frame

you reckon,i've never seen anyone so fully developed physically at that age, would be an incredible rugby player with his power,pace and size. simply a force of nature and a hell of a player
he has too much skill that would not be utilised in rugby union. Would be a waste for him to go play it.
aussie rules would be his only other alternative - or american football as a tight end
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 01, 2008, 12:48:19 PM
Good game, great win for kerry. Cork imo are a very talented side that just cannot get their act together. I had expected them to beat kerry from a couple of months back (if they met again is what I thought at the time).

tyrone will be a completely different proposition, with asmaller possibly faster and def cuter team than cork.

This will be intriguing as mickey harte the master tacticion and good 'team' v pat cute oshea and his decent team  laden with fantastic individuals.

It will be most intersting to see how Tyrone will cope with the big men in the kerry attack.

Kerry have the talent, but I suspect Harte wont sleep until he gets a gameplan and ambush ready for the kingdom.
I wouldnt back against Harte.
Cant wait.
Post by: comethekingdom on September 05, 2008, 10:33:33 PM
Before we finish up with this thread
Post by: omaghjoe on October 22, 2015, 08:11:21 AM
Like that last post :)

But it would be unfair to Cork for it to remain like that

I never realised there was a dust up in Cork City after this match

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=245854
Post by: From the Bunker on October 22, 2015, 08:31:15 AM
Bad form from the Kerry lads going in to the pub after being warned at the door.
Post by: rodney trotter on October 22, 2015, 09:39:40 AM
O Se is like Paul Scholes, said nothing to the media when he was playing,  and not afraid of the headlines now.
Post by: Zulu on October 22, 2015, 10:04:20 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 22, 2015, 08:31:15 AM
Bad form from the Kerry lads going in to the pub after being warned at the door.

The Kerry boys would be in there all the time too. Great little pub and I'd say there was little or nothing to it.
Post by: moysider on October 22, 2015, 10:50:08 AM
Why bother including it in his book so?
Post by: Zulu on October 22, 2015, 11:23:49 AM
I'm afraid you'll have to ask him that. I'm pretty sure the very best stories rarely make it into GAA autobiographies.
Post by: BennyCake on October 22, 2015, 11:25:11 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on October 22, 2015, 08:11:21 AM
Like that last post :)

But it would be unfair to Cork for it to remain like that

I never realised there was a dust up in Cork City after this match

http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=245854

I wonder who will play Tomas in the movie.
Post by: joemamas on October 22, 2015, 01:51:12 PM
Think I will be taking a pass on this book.

While he was truly an incredible footballer, (2005 final stands out), I find his appearances on TV, ("look I suppose") and his pieces in Independent to be so riddles with cliches and bs stories, that I would be really surprised if there will be anything really insightful in the book.
Post by: BennyCake on October 22, 2015, 06:01:43 PM
Quote from: joemamas on October 22, 2015, 01:51:12 PM
Think I will be taking a pass on this book.

While he was truly an incredible footballer, (2005 final stands out), I find his appearances on TV, ("look I suppose") and his pieces in Independent to be so riddles with cliches and bs stories, that I would be really surprised if there will be anything really insightful in the book.

BOoks are generally blown out of proportion. Jack O'Connor being a prime example
Post by: 5 Sams on October 22, 2015, 11:46:50 PM
Liam Hayes wrote the best GAA autobiog ever.
Post by: moysider on October 23, 2015, 12:43:34 AM
Quote from: Zulu on October 22, 2015, 11:23:49 AM
I'm afraid you'll have to ask him that. I'm pretty sure the very best stories rarely make it into GAA autobiographies.

I dunno. Why present a story about a row and then pass it of as hand-bags and matey phone calls after and shit basically. Why mention it at all, if nothing happened.

Maybe an opportunity to tell an ould yarn. The bit I would have reservations about is the highlighting of the Doug Howlett role with Mick Galway acting the man there. Cunning stuff and making a NZ rugby player as the fall guy imo.  Nothing story.

Ill advised stuff. Poor judgement.

But saying that I can understand why he would have wanted to include likes of that. Books are a hard sell. Wouldn t buy Tomás's  -or most football books - in a fit.

He is a savage footballer though. The best 5 I've ever seen. If you could clone a 5 it would be him.
Post by: maigheo on October 23, 2015, 02:31:58 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 22, 2015, 11:46:50 PM
Liam Hayes wrote the best GAA autobiog ever.
Would agree with that.Must have read it about 4 or 5 times over the years.The only ever auto bio that I have read that compares to Out of our Skins was from Jack Youngblood an ex NFL player.Cannot think of the name of the book as I loaned it to somebody years ago and of course never got it back.I like OShea and look forward to his colums every friday and also think he is quite good on the SG but I would not buy his book .