GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 08:16:06 AM

Title: are tyrone the worst thing to have ever hit the gaa?
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 08:16:06 AM
over the years watching gaa i have seen some teams that play dirty,get involved in gamesmanship,always complain and win at all costs.i thought that the current dublin team are bad and they do get a lot of stick but i dont think they even come close to this tyrone team of the past few years.lets look at them.

they are known all over ireland for their diving and overacting to win free kicks and get players booked and sent off.the so called great peter canavan always dived easy to win frees and penalties and tried to get two kerry defenders sent off in 2003 before he went off himself after hurting himself diving. brian mc guigan got dan gordon from down sent off in the ulster final in the same year and did a great dive in the all ireland final to earn an easy free.sean cavanagh likes flopping about the field and got a derry man sent off that year too.if he had took that afl contract with brisbane he wouldnt last five minutes.philip jordan got away with the best dive of all time against marsden and also dives about.brian dooher is a disgrace of a captain who recently got two westmeath players sent off.well done brian.

ricey mc menamin and conor gormley are two of the most skilless players to ever win an all ireland medal.gormley pulled off a fluke block in 2003 that hides how he tries to just bully and foul the players he marks.how he didnt get sent off against mayo on saturday i do not know.ricey is someone who even a dublin player would not do the things he does.if it isnt trying to break a players neck by sticking his knee in or biting the hands of a kerry forward hes always telling players on the other team how great there mums are in bed or racing up the field to injured players and roaring in their face cheered on by thousands of muck savages in red and white in omagh.pascal mc connell is another idiot who almost caused a riot on hill 16 in 2005 and poked the eyes out of gooch cooper in the all ireland final that year.

then you have mickey harte,the most arrogant man to ever take a team to all ireland glory who feels he can tell the rest of ireland how to win all irelands just because at the time he won one.like wenger he sees nothing wrong with what any of his players do on the field no matter how bad it is and tells the tyrone county board not to suspend dooher after he picked up a red card in a club game this year.he brought in the blanket defence which has killed football as a spectator sport.he encourages his players to surround the referee if he blows up anything against tyrone as well as getting them to waste time in holding the ball.in fact i believe too many referees are scared and intimidated of the tyrone players and their fans who think they invented football in 2003.

i have no love for dublin.i think that they are full of themselves and will shit it on the big stage.the quarter final on 16 aug looks to be the worst game of all time but by god if they kick the shit out of tyrone all over croke park they will be doing the gaa and football a big favour.

finally does anyone know if the tyrone team are staying in several caravans off the m50 before the game?
Title: Re: are tyrone the worst thing to have ever hit the gaa?
Post by: Arthur on August 04, 2008, 08:21:36 AM
Great insightful put there.  ::) ::) What county are you from yourself, the bitterness and envy throughout that post was very evident.
Post by: ziggysego on August 04, 2008, 08:27:43 AM
Yeah, we're terrible aren't we.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 08:40:48 AM
Quote from: Arthur on August 04, 2008, 08:21:36 AM
Great insightful put there.  ::) ::) What county are you from yourself, the bitterness and envy throughout that post was very evident.
does it matter? stop trying to deflect the issue with something thats not related.
Post by: Abble on August 04, 2008, 08:41:36 AM

arthur, just as a matter of interest, where do you reckon yourself he's from ?
Post by: Arthur on August 04, 2008, 08:44:19 AM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 08:40:48 AM
does it matter? stop trying to deflect the issue with something thats not related.

Bitter wee man slags of successful county, of course it matters, where are you from?

Post by: rrhf on August 04, 2008, 08:51:09 AM
I think possibly armagh
Post by: orangeman on August 04, 2008, 08:51:36 AM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Great thread !!  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Next !
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 08:53:53 AM
it doesnt matter where im from.why should it matter?

avoiding the issue again.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 08:56:27 AM
Quote from: rrhf on August 04, 2008, 08:51:09 AM
I think possibly armagh
no.theyre a bit better but no saints.
Post by: Ball Hopper on August 04, 2008, 08:59:02 AM
Clearly not a Tyrone fan.  Maybe a frustrated Mayoman?

All articles need to be reviewed from where the source is from...helps validate the opinion if nothing else.

Must be from the North on further reflection...Bank Holiday in Mex-i-land.

Derryman...yeah..that's it.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 09:01:08 AM
Quote from: Arthur on August 04, 2008, 08:44:19 AM

Bitter wee man slags of successful county, of course it matters, where are you from?

i would not call any county winning two all irelands by cheating,diving and screaming at referees in 124 years successful.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 04, 2008, 09:09:37 AM
 ??? Geez lads they are right. Come on...let's all cancel our accounts and head to Lourdes for redemption.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 09:11:40 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on August 04, 2008, 08:59:02 AM

All articles need to be reviewed from where the source is from...helps validate the opinion if nothing else.

you are trying to deflect the issue i pose.it does not matter where im from.
the tyrone posters on this thread are cowards.not too hard to see where they get it from.
Post by: EC Unique on August 04, 2008, 09:18:15 AM
Have any of you tried the new McCoy crisps. They are class. :)
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 09:24:49 AM
Quote from: Keepthefaith93 on August 04, 2008, 09:07:09 AM
Tyrone are a rotten team with rotten supporters.
at last a bit of sense.tyrone are a team that if you showed a game of footy to a foreigner they would turn it off after five minutes and never watch a game again.

also the supporters are the biggest muck savages i have ever seen.i hope some of them go to hill 16 for the dublin game and see what will happen to them.
Post by: Bensars on August 04, 2008, 09:31:28 AM
I like mc Coys myself.  A good robust crisp is hard to find these days
Post by: Arthur on August 04, 2008, 09:49:07 AM
McCoys don't do it for me - more a Tayto fan.
Post by: screenexile on August 04, 2008, 09:56:35 AM
This is the best thread of all time! The best of it is I don't even think it's a wind up either AND I don't think it's a Derry man... keep 'er lit anyway big lad. Keep fighting the good fight against all thing's Tyrone!
Post by: nrico2006 on August 04, 2008, 09:57:15 AM
Ha ha, brilliant.  Was it not Greg McCartan that 'McGuigan got sent off'.  I wonder where Brian keeps his cards and notebook though?  Same as for Brian Dooher who decides to brandish a red to players who wrestle him to the ground or punch him in the stomach.  Not hard to guess what County smcafee is from.
Post by: theskull1 on August 04, 2008, 09:59:27 AM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 08:53:53 AM

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8779.45 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8779.45)

Oh the irony  :D
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 10:05:37 AM
Quote from: screenexile on August 04, 2008, 09:56:35 AM
This is the best thread of all time! The best of it is I don't even think it's a wind up either AND I don't think it's a Derry man... keep 'er lit anyway big lad. Keep fighting the good fight against all thing's Tyrone!
no it isnt a wind up.it doesnt mean anything that its tyrone,if any team or supporters do the things tyrone are doing i would be saying the same.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on August 04, 2008, 10:20:22 AM
In all fairness, what was Dooher doing at the end of the game yesterday?

I know he's been accused of diving in the past, but was he feeling randy or what?  :P
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 10:49:36 AM
Now, in fairness, ye should give the man a fair hearing. He talks a lot of sense  :D :D
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:04:47 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 04, 2008, 09:57:15 AM
Ha ha, brilliant.  Was it not Greg McCartan that 'McGuigan got sent off'.  I wonder where Brian keeps his cards and notebook though?  Same as for Brian Dooher who decides to brandish a red to players who wrestle him to the ground or punch him in the stomach.  Not hard to guess what County smcafee is from.
if brian mc guigan did not go down like a sack of shit after he riled up mc cartan,im sorry i got mixed up,he would have only been booked.same with dooher who i hope is getting ready for the olympics.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 11:10:50 AM
you talk a lot of sense..except when you criticize kerry. Thats when you show what a dumb c**t you are.

Other than that, keep up the good work.
Post by: ziggysego on August 04, 2008, 11:12:19 AM
I'm going to support Derry now, I've seen the error of my ways.
Post by: Radioulster on August 04, 2008, 11:15:35 AM
If Frank McGuigan, Eugene McKenna, Jody O'Neill, Iggy Jones, Peter Canavan, Stephen O'Neill etc are the worst thing to ever hit the GAA then I would'nt like to see the worst. Cynical fouling was introduced in  1946 to stop a free flowing Antrim team by those paragons of virtue KERRY. Bringing men behind the ball ala Ger Power and Pat Spillane who took diving to an art form re 1980 AIF, yep that was kerry again. Raising fitness levels and ignoring footballs in training, Dublin and Kerry in the 1970's. We are by no means innocent and there are certain things about this tyrone team that I would not subscrbe to but they are by no means the only county involved. Remember imitation is the sincerest form of flattery!!! I recall watching Tyrone and Derry in 95 when Derry scored 9 out of 10 scores from frees.
Post by: full back on August 04, 2008, 11:18:30 AM
Quote from: Radioulster on August 04, 2008, 11:15:35 AM
I recall watching Tyrone and Derry in 95 when Derry scored 9 out of 10 scores from frees.

Thats because ye dirty b4stards were hanging out of them for the whole game ;)
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:19:38 AM
Quote from: the colonel on August 04, 2008, 09:58:45 AM
to be fair that is the rambling of a w*nker there. thats just acting the c*ck with that post
im not rambling,im just point out truths some people find uncomfortable.

less of the personal abuse.
Post by: D4S on August 04, 2008, 11:21:49 AM
He's a wee city boy from Belfast.  Had a look at his recent posts and he talks a load of crap about bonfires and politics mostly...
Post by: Doire abú on August 04, 2008, 11:23:16 AM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 08:16:06 AM
they are known all over ireland for their diving and overacting to win free kicks and get players booked and sent off.the so called great peter canavan always dived easy to win frees and penalties and tried to get two kerry defenders sent off in 2003 before he went off himself after hurting himself diving. brian mc guigan got dan gordon from down sent off in the ulster final in the same year and did a great dive in the all ireland final to earn an easy free.sean cavanagh likes flopping about the field and got a derry man sent off that year too.if he had took that afl contract with brisbane he wouldnt last five minutes.philip jordan got away with the best dive of all time against marsden and also dives about.brian dooher is a disgrace of a captain who recently got two westmeath players sent off.well done brian.

Your comments about the diving of messrs Dooher, Canavan, Cavanagh, Jordan and McGuigan certainly have some truth to them. Dooher in particular is the biggest diver in the GAA, most Tyrone people won't argue with that. Having said that he's also a terrific player. If you were new to the game and someone told you thats a 32 (33 next week) year old running around the field from full back line to full forward line and his had a couple of career threatening injuried in his time, you wouldn't believe them. Also in fairness to McGuigan, the 2003 Ulster final was the only time I've witnessed him diving, he's a hell of a footballer and a great fella of the field.

ricey mc menamin and conor gormley are two of the most skilless players to ever win an all ireland medal.gormley pulled off a fluke block in 2003 that hides how he tries to just bully and foul the players he marks.how he didnt get sent off against mayo on saturday i do not know.ricey is someone who even a dublin player would not do the things he does.if it isnt trying to break a players neck by sticking his knee in or biting the hands of a kerry forward hes always telling players on the other team how great there mums are in bed or racing up the field to injured players and roaring in their face cheered on by thousands of muck savages in red and white in omagh.pascal mc connell is another idiot who almost caused a riot on hill 16 in 2005 and poked the eyes out of gooch cooper in the all ireland final that year.
Gormley should've got sent off on Sunday no doubt, but to say he's skilless is farcical. I can't thing of many skilless two-time All Stars. And he could/should have picked up another last year. Also how exactly do you fluke a block?

McMenamin is a hateful wee ****, seriously there's no way you could like the man. I wish Derry had a few hateful boys like him.

then you have mickey harte,the most arrogant man to ever take a team to all ireland glory who feels he can tell the rest of ireland how to win all irelands just because at the time he won one.like wenger he sees nothing wrong with what any of his players do on the field no matter how bad it is and tells the tyrone county board not to suspend dooher after he picked up a red card in a club game this year.he brought in the blanket defence which has killed football as a spectator sport.he encourages his players to surround the referee if he blows up anything against tyrone as well as getting them to waste time in holding the ball.in fact i believe too many referees are scared and intimidated of the tyrone players and their fans who think they invented football in 2003.

Say what you want about the blanket defence, but it brought the team two All-Irelands didn't it? Tyrone's habits of surrounding the ref on every decision (espec Dooher) given against them is ugly to look at I'll admit.

You seem to have a hard-on for Dublin as well. Its quite possible you are a Tyrone or Dublin man, not too sure.

I'm a Derry man, half a mile from the Tyrone border, so I've no business sticking up for Tyrone, I'm just saying it as I see it.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:50:25 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 04, 2008, 09:59:27 AM

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8779.45 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=8779.45)

im taking care of that.  :) :) :) :) :)
Post by: Big Mickey on August 04, 2008, 11:57:44 AM
this has to be the most ridiculous post iv read in a long time

going back 3,4,5 years and picking out about a couple of incidents is total rubbish and completely unresonable.you could build a case against any team or player in the country doing that,for example daragh o'se,ciaran whealen,that doesnt mean they arent great players and a credit to the gaa into the bargin.show me a player who hasnt made a mistake or maybe bent the rules slightly and il show you a someone whos lying.

and onto the personal insults to the players.yes,peter canavan won frees,so what??he was the best forward of his generation and alot of defenders couldnt do anything but foul him.its not his fault.anyway theres is very thin line between diving and buying a free,it just depends which dugout your in!as regards dooher,that man takes so much abuse and punishment on the field and you rarely see him lie down for long.against westmeath,the first fella nearly took his head off and rightly got a second yellow for it,it didnt matter if dooher was down or not,that lad was walkin.and the second player deserved that red for bn soo stupid in the first place to strike a man right in front of the referee!

personally i absolutley despise ricey,because all that talking and slabbering crap isnt my style and dont condone it for a second,but i still have to admit that he's a skillful player,especially for a cornerback.any1 who thinks different comes from a different planet.gormely on the other hand i love,a great player with a great never say die attitude and gives it aswell as takes it.i would go as far to say that he's a role model for any young defender to be.....and to be fair,uv criticised ricey for slabbering (correctly however) and gormely for bn a hard hitting player,so what do you want??a defender to sit and just shadow man round the field.ud be happy then cos that would mean tyrone get beat

so what im really trying to say is.....u talk an unbeleivable amount of crap

ps id love to see how you conduct urself on the field.....thats if u even bother playin......

Post by: upthehoops on August 04, 2008, 12:04:51 PM
Think this ridiculous thread is set up to see hoe many stupid posts this eejit can muster in as short a time as possible.
Absolute load of crap and don't see why even bigger eejits like myself bother replying.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 04, 2008, 12:07:19 PM
There are some points there worthy of discussion.

Same as Armagh, I really do not like Tyrone's style of play.

re the blanket defence - you have to admire them for doing what it takes to win.

re the diving - cheating f**kers, but then every county has had someone do it in recent years, unfortunately it does seem to be more prevalent in a Tyrone match though.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 12:23:21 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 11:50:25 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on August 04, 2008, 09:59:27 AM

im taking care of that.  :) :) :) :) :)

By avoiding answering questions posed to you?
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 12:55:21 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 04, 2008, 11:10:50 AM
you talk a lot of sense..except when you criticize kerry. Thats when you show what a dumb c**t you are.

Other than that, keep up the good work.
kerry arent above criticism.like tyrone their players and supporters like to think they do no wrong.but tyrone are in their own league above everyone else.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 01:14:54 PM
Quote from: Radioulster on August 04, 2008, 11:15:35 AM
If Frank McGuigan, Eugene McKenna, Jody O'Neill, Iggy Jones, Peter Canavan, Stephen O'Neill etc are the worst thing to ever hit the GAA then I would'nt like to see the worst. Cynical fouling was introduced in  1946 to stop a free flowing Antrim team by those paragons of virtue KERRY. Bringing men behind the ball ala Ger Power and Pat Spillane who took diving to an art form re 1980 AIF, yep that was kerry again. Raising fitness levels and ignoring footballs in training, Dublin and Kerry in the 1970's. We are by no means innocent and there are certain things about this tyrone team that I would not subscrbe to but they are by no means the only county involved. Remember imitation is the sincerest form of flattery!!! I recall watching Tyrone and Derry in 95 when Derry scored 9 out of 10 scores from frees.
the first four names you mention are spinning in their graves seeing the way the tyrone team of the past five years now play and the first three are not even dead yet.
this is not about kerry.it is not about dublin.it is about tyrone,the most cyncial football team in the gaa of all time and because they sadly win all irelands get copied by others.
Post by: BennyHarp on August 04, 2008, 01:18:24 PM
Jealousy is a horrible trait in any young fella! Even worse when they display that jealousy on a public message board. I wonder does this lad really think that people in Tyrone actually give a fcuk what he thinks about our team, he keeps posting that people are avoiding the issue - there isnt an issue as far as i'm concerned - Tyrone have been one of the most high profile teams in the country for 6/7 years and of course they're no angels and do what it takes to win championships. However their incidents just get highlighted more than others as they've played alot of high profile - live on TV -  matches at the time when live coverage was really taking off in the sport and the analysis by pundits has become alot more damning!! Too often tyrone played big championship games in croke park and were cynically turned over by their southern opposition - Dublin on frank mcguigan in 1984, Kerry on mckenna, lynch and donaghy in 1986 and Meath on everyone in 1996. I for one wont be making any apologises for Tyrone becoming a little bit more cynical in their play - we were forced to do it and it paid off with 2 all irelands (to date). As DJ Kane once said "nice guys win fcuk all"

Post by: An Fear Rua on August 04, 2008, 01:31:11 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 04, 2008, 01:18:24 PM
Jealousy is a horrible trait in any young fella! Even worse when they display that jealousy on a public message board. I wonder does this lad really think that people in Tyrone actually give a fcuk what he thinks about our team, he keeps posting that people are avoiding the issue "

hes more interested in killing the brits!
Post by: ziggysego on August 04, 2008, 01:33:01 PM
You're making a cod of yourself sir.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 01:51:06 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 04, 2008, 01:18:24 PM
Jealousy is a horrible trait in any young fella! Even worse when they display that jealousy on a public message board. I wonder does this lad really think that people in Tyrone actually give a fcuk what he thinks about our team, he keeps posting that people are avoiding the issue - there isnt an issue as far as i'm concerned - Tyrone have been one of the most high profile teams in the country for 6/7 years and of course they're no angels and do what it takes to win championships. However their incidents just get highlighted more than others as they've played alot of high profile - live on TV -  matches at the time when live coverage was really taking off in the sport and the analysis by pundits has become alot more damning!! Too often tyrone played big championship games in croke park and were cynically turned over by their southern opposition - Dublin on frank mcguigan in 1984, Kerry on mckenna, lynch and donaghy in 1986 and Meath on everyone in 1996. I for one wont be making any apologises for Tyrone becoming a little bit more cynical in their play - we were forced to do it and it paid off with 2 all irelands (to date). As DJ Kane once said "nice guys win fcuk all"

it is obvious tyrone fans dont give a f**k.you could see that when tyrone played westmeath with the nastiest crowd of muck savages ever in one place making a referee fear for his life,cheering mc menamin running 30m to shout at an injured player and dooher practising for bejing.many other teams have copied what tyrone have started and supporters are now sick of it,not turning up to games.last weekend shows how shit football  is now in.you can stick your fingers in your ears and go la la la la la la and pretend nothing is wrong.but it is.

it is not a dublin all ireland the gaa needs,its a galway all ireland that the gaa needs for footballs own good.
Post by: tyrone86 on August 04, 2008, 01:56:43 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 01:51:06 PM
it is obvious tyrone fans dont give a f**k.you could see that when tyrone played westmeath with the nastiest crowd of muck savages ever in one place making a referee fear for his life,cheering mc menamin running 30m to shout at an injured player and dooher practising for bejing.many other teams have copied what tyrone have started and supporters are now sick of it,not turning up to games.last weekend shows how shit football  is now in.you can stick your fingers in your ears and go la la la la la la and pretend nothing is wrong.but it is.

it is not a dublin all ireland the gaa needs,its a galway all ireland that the gaa needs for footballs own good.

Ah, the hyperbole of the unreformed WUM
Post by: Lazer on August 04, 2008, 02:01:26 PM
Tyrone are a bad example of football!

Att he match on sunday, a friend of mine said at the start of the match she was supporting Tyrone (for some strange unknown reason)

Within 10 mins she had changed allegiances to Mayo because like any self respecting GAA fan, she could not bring herself to support a team that dives and cheats quites so much. Tyrone should have every player caught diving barred for life!

And sideline ball 2 mins from the end of additional time, linesman says its a mayo ball, Tryone refuse to give them it! Does that sound like a sporting team to anyone? To me it sounds like fear and cowardlyness!

Come on Dublin, do us a favour and get Tyrone out of the All Ireland. Down managed to get them out at stage one, can someone finish the job please!

PS Dublin arent my Favourite team either. Kildare for SAM

Post by: ziggysego on August 04, 2008, 02:02:17 PM
Games are too expensive now, that's why attendence is low. Croke Park are pricing themselves out of the ordinary supporters.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 02:17:44 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on August 04, 2008, 11:23:16 AM

Your comments about the diving of messrs Dooher, Canavan, Cavanagh, Jordan and McGuigan certainly have some truth to them. Dooher in particular is the biggest diver in the GAA, most Tyrone people won't argue with that. Having said that he's also a terrific player. If you were new to the game and someone told you thats a 32 (33 next week) year old running around the field from full back line to full forward line and his had a couple of career threatening injuried in his time, you wouldn't believe them. Also in fairness to McGuigan, the 2003 Ulster final was the only time I've witnessed him diving, he's a hell of a footballer and a great fella of the field.

Gormley should've got sent off on Sunday no doubt, but to say he's skilless is farcical. I can't thing of many skilless two-time All Stars. And he could/should have picked up another last year. Also how exactly do you fluke a block?

McMenamin is a hateful wee ****, seriously there's no way you could like the man. I wish Derry had a few hateful boys like him.

Say what you want about the blanket defence, but it brought the team two All-Irelands didn't it? Tyrone's habits of surrounding the ref on every decision (espec Dooher) given against them is ugly to look at I'll admit.

You seem to have a hard-on for Dublin as well. Its quite possible you are a Tyrone or Dublin man, not too sure.

I'm a Derry man, half a mile from the Tyrone border, so I've no business sticking up for Tyrone, I'm just saying it as I see it.
big deal about dooher.theres an american siwmmer in her 40s who is competing in the olympics next week.maybe her and dooher can share a pool. :D :D

gormely got his first all star simply because of the fluke block and the second one because he played out of his skin aginst colm cooper who early in the game was blinded by pascal mc connell.

would you really want ricey playing for derry?i mean really?

blanket defence.ends justify the means?we now have almost all top teams play this same way and it is a turn off.puke football has really arrived.

again it doesnt matter where im from.
Post by: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 02:32:22 PM
Quote from: Big Mickey on August 04, 2008, 11:57:44 AM
this has to be the most ridiculous post iv read in a long time

going back 3,4,5 years and picking out about a couple of incidents is total rubbish and completely unresonable.you could build a case against any team or player in the country doing that,for example daragh o'se,ciaran whealen,that doesnt mean they arent great players and a credit to the gaa into the bargin.show me a player who hasnt made a mistake or maybe bent the rules slightly and il show you a someone whos lying.

and onto the personal insults to the players.yes,peter canavan won frees,so what??he was the best forward of his generation and alot of defenders couldnt do anything but foul him.its not his fault.anyway theres is very thin line between diving and buying a free,it just depends which dugout your in!as regards dooher,that man takes so much abuse and punishment on the field and you rarely see him lie down for long.against westmeath,the first fella nearly took his head off and rightly got a second yellow for it,it didnt matter if dooher was down or not,that lad was walkin.and the second player deserved that red for bn soo stupid in the first place to strike a man right in front of the referee!

personally i absolutley despise ricey,because all that talking and slabbering crap isnt my style and dont condone it for a second,but i still have to admit that he's a skillful player,especially for a cornerback.any1 who thinks different comes from a different planet.gormely on the other hand i love,a great player with a great never say die attitude and gives it aswell as takes it.i would go as far to say that he's a role model for any young defender to be.....and to be fair,uv criticised ricey for slabbering (correctly however) and gormely for bn a hard hitting player,so what do you want??a defender to sit and just shadow man round the field.ud be happy then cos that would mean tyrone get beat

so what im really trying to say is.....u talk an unbeleivable amount of crap

ps id love to see how you conduct urself on the field.....thats if u even bother playin......

i go back to mickey harte taking tyrone in 2003.he won an all ireland in his first year.he told everyone how it was done.sadly people listened and in 2008 this is what we have got.

do you not think diving is bad for the game?
do you think its right for players to play act to get opponents sent off?
i think gormely was sent off last year for his club and started shouting at an official and kicked a fence several times.a great role model.
to sum it up,if i talk crap you talk a slurry tank of it.
Post by: sam03/05 on August 04, 2008, 02:39:19 PM
id say tyrone have been involved in some of the best games of football this decade
off hand these are some that spring to mind
Tyrone v Down replay this season in Newry -the best game of this years championship so far
Tyrone V Kerry 05 All Ireland final (probably the best final of the 2000s)
Tyrone v Armagh Semi final 05 - a really great game
Tyrone v Dublin quarter final 05 and replay - with probably the best goal of the decade scored.
Tyrone v Down Ulster final 03 (first game)
Tyrone v Armagh 2002 championship first round

the same team were also involved in a few epics as underage teams. I can think of a great under21 game and minor game at Parnell park.

added to that they have handed out a few hammerings to teams along the way. They have provided no shortage of entertainment over the last few years.
dont be surprised if Tyrone v Dubs is game of the year this year as well

Post by: feetofflames on August 04, 2008, 02:59:04 PM
Att he match on sunday, a friend of mine said at the start of the match she was supporting Tyrone (for some strange unknown reason)

Within 10 mins she had changed allegiances to Mayo because like any self respecting GAA fan, she could not bring herself to support a team that dives and cheats quites so much. Tyrone should have every player caught diving barred for life!

And sideline ball 2 mins from the end of additional time, linesman says its a mayo ball, Tryone refuse to give them it! Does that sound like a sporting team to anyone? To me it sounds like fear and cowardlyness!

Lazer ye great big dollop of twittery.  The Tyrone match was on Saturday.  Twat!!!! ha
Post by: T Fearon on August 04, 2008, 03:00:18 PM
I would say Bloody Sunday was the worst thing to hit the GAA..admittedly Tyrone are a close second though ;D
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on August 04, 2008, 03:05:37 PM
hoganstand for this kind of nonsense surely ::)
Post by: stibhan on August 04, 2008, 03:14:21 PM
What a pure, unadulterated pile of shite. Meath late 80's, Dublin 1995, Kerry 1946 ;), Armagh the past couple of years, Dublin since 2004, Derry in Omagh 2006, are all more contemptible to me in their own different ways. Laois pissed me off a treat when they beat Tyrone in 2006 with some of their tactics but I couldn't complain given that it was a style of play in vogue. Tyrone had been destroyed by both poor refereeing decisions and a general lack of cynicism in the past when it came to the big time. Harte brought the cutting edge and "whatever the f**k it takes" attitude, his players were moulded into men who would believe in and die for the cause by the tragedies which shaped their team. Incidentally the best player in Ireland, Colm Cooper, was roundly vilified for an incident a few years back where he got his man sent off by pulling him down over him... Galvin has been an absolute p***k for more or less the duration of his career... Kerry players have been known to dive every now and then sometimes too.

What's the point in getting wound up about it? Whilst Tyrone may have a capacity to go down easy they also have some of the most gifted footballers in modern times, and aside from that have been through so much you'd think there'd be few that would begrudge them their success. You need to f**k up, big style.
Post by: feetofflames on August 04, 2008, 03:22:13 PM
Fair play
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 04, 2008, 03:39:58 PM
Poverty, pestilence and global recession, those can be pinnned on us too surely?
Post by: tyrone exile on August 04, 2008, 03:55:01 PM
Easy known its the summer holidays, you sound like a child throwing their toys out of the pram because they cant have their own way  :D
Tyrone for Sam 08  ;)
Post by: red hander on August 04, 2008, 04:08:07 PM
'tyrone are in their own league above everyone else'

Nice of you to say so, young fella ... now go put your jams jams on, drink your milk and kiss your ma goodnight
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 04, 2008, 04:31:31 PM
Can't believe this WUM has managed to get 4 pages out of you eejits!!  :D :D :D

FFS look at this boys posts, he's managed 54 posts in 3 days and every one of them a Wind-up!
BTW he's been registered since Jun '07' and only started posting on Friday!  ::)
Post by: tyrone exile on August 04, 2008, 04:35:55 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 04, 2008, 04:31:31 PM
BTW he's been registered since Jun '07' and only started posting on Friday!  ::)
Im guessing the parents are away on a holiday, and he can go on whatever websites he wants now  :D
I'm sorry for avoiding the subject..............
Post by: ziggysego on August 04, 2008, 04:47:32 PM
(http://icanhascheezburger.files.wordpress.com/2007/12/funny-pictures-kitten-crashed-laptop.jpg)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on August 04, 2008, 06:44:23 PM
I actually like to see us getting abuse because it means we're winning. Things had went a bit quiet this past couple of years with only limited abuse directed at Tyrone but it does seem to be coming back. I just hope it increases and continues for another couple of months.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 04, 2008, 07:08:13 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 09:24:49 AM
also the supporters are the biggest muck savages i have ever seen.i hope some of them go to hill 16 for the dublin game and see what will happen to them.

Well he aint a Dub anyway.
On the contrary, I'd urge as many Tyrone fans as possible to get hill tickets, the banter is great when theres a decent contingent of away fans. Armagh 2002 and Kerry last year being prime examples.
But dont be hoping to score some cocaine while there, its not as readily available as some might suggest  ;)
Post by: maggie on August 04, 2008, 09:21:48 PM
Wat a pile of tripe.
Mickey Harte is the LEAST arrogant man you could ever meet, and he actually guided Tyrone to Two All-Ireland Senior championships as well as winning AI at Minor and Under 21 levels. After the match on Sat he acknowledged (a) that Tyrone weren't great  (b) they scrapped through and have a lot of improvements to make before the next game.
They aint called the dirty dubs for nothing................
Post by: corn02 on August 04, 2008, 10:14:59 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 04, 2008, 07:08:13 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 09:24:49 AM

Well he aint a Dub anyway.
On the contrary, I'd urge as many Tyrone fans as possible to get hill tickets, the banter is great when theres a decent contingent of away fans. Armagh 2002 and Kerry last year being prime examples.
But dont be hoping to score some cocaine while there, its not as readily available as some might suggest  ;)

Bounce for that, 02 was mighty craic on the hill in the semi.
Post by: goh4205 on August 05, 2008, 10:22:26 AM
over the years watching gaa i have seen some teams that play dirty,get involved in gamesmanship,always complain and win at all costs.i thought that the current dublin team are bad and they do get a lot of stick but i dont think they even come close to this tyrone team of the past few years.lets look at them.

i have no love for dublin.i think that they are full of themselves and will shit it on the big stage.the quarter final on 16 aug looks to be the worst game of all time but by god if they kick the shit out of tyrone all over croke park they will be doing the gaa and football a big favour.

finally does anyone know if the tyrone team are staying in several caravans off the m50 before the game?

Your views are probably what alot of others are thinking, however they do have a few decent lads on their.  a good friend of mine asked a tryone panelists what sort of a clown that Ricey was & his reply was "every county has one"  meaning he's a complete w**ker on and off the pitch.  As for Gormley I think he is a brilliant player that doesn't need to do the things he does.  He should have walked against Mayo for persistant fouling & then belting Mortimer in the back of the net.  Cowardly way to do it, but thats just the it is.
I was at the Dromore/Crossmaglen match last year in the Ulster club match and Ricey was giving McConville shit, I guess about the book, and when John McEntee got his chance he gave him a belt and he never opened his mouth the rest of the game.  So point been they will bully you if they think they'll get away with it. 
Post by: supersarsfields on August 05, 2008, 10:42:58 AM
Quote from: goh4205 on August 05, 2008, 10:22:26 AM

Your views are probably what alot of others are thinking, however they do have a few decent lads on their.  a good friend of mine asked a tryone panelists what sort of a clown that Ricey was & his reply was "every county has one"  meaning he's a complete w**ker on and off the pitch.  As for Gormley I think he is a brilliant player that doesn't need to do the things he does.  He should have walked against Mayo for persistant fouling & then belting Mortimer in the back of the net.  Cowardly way to do it, but thats just the it is.
I was at the Dromore/Crossmaglen match last year in the Ulster club match and Ricey was giving McConville shit, I guess about the book, and when John McEntee got his chance he gave him a belt and he never opened his mouth the rest of the game.  So point been they will bully you if they think they'll get away with it. 

I think Ricey will be the first to hold his hand up to what he does on the football pitch. And it's true most counties do have someone like that. However, of the pitch the few times I've met him, he has been a very down to earth and geniune fella. So you can say whatever you like about him and his expolits on the pitch which is fair enough as it's there for all to see. But to start calling him a complete w**ker off the pitch is a bit rough especially as you don't seem to know him and are relying on a comment made by someone else. And a comment I would suggest is more aimed at his on field activities and not of the pitch as you state. 
Post by: shamateur gaels on April 02, 2009, 09:53:18 PM

You can add to this ball grabbing by Mc Menamin and Mc Guigan.
Post by: ExiledGael on April 02, 2009, 09:58:25 PM
Oh Christ don't dig all this crap up again.
This doesn't constitute discussion.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 02, 2009, 10:07:21 PM
Ah feck, the battered partners are out in droves tonight all right!  :D
Post by: ziggysego on April 03, 2009, 12:16:24 AM
Tyrone needs better referring!!

(http://www.squareball.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/09/god-and-the-referee.jpg)
Post by: moysider on April 03, 2009, 12:27:55 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on August 04, 2008, 08:59:02 AM

Cop yourself on ffs. Sure we re frustrated but we ve no gripe with Tyrone or anybody else. The causes of our frustration are very much our own doing. Please edit that bit. Where are you from then? I m from Mayo.
And if Mcawhatever is from anywhere near me I apologise unreservedly.
Post by: thejuice on April 03, 2009, 02:24:59 PM
I just want to add that it was Tyrones fault for our indiscipline in the '96 semi-final. They also caused the fight in the final replay.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 03, 2009, 02:56:23 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 03, 2009, 02:24:59 PM
I just want to add that it was Tyrones fault for our indiscipline in the '96 semi-final. They also caused the fight in the final replay.

You cant really blame the Meath Bogmen for well acting like Bogmen, so you have a point there Juice  ;D
Post by: new devil on April 04, 2009, 02:16:47 AM

Jealousy gets you no where lad!!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 04, 2009, 10:13:02 AM
Quote from: new devil on April 04, 2009, 02:16:47 AM

He won't see it as he hasn't been posting in months. In fairness though everything he said is spot on.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on April 05, 2009, 05:32:38 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 04, 2009, 10:13:02 AM
Quote from: new devil on April 04, 2009, 02:16:47 AM

He won't see it as he hasn't been posting in months. In fairness though everything he said is spot on.

Agreed. He is an unappreciated prophet. These Tymoanies just cannot see this such is their devotion to the false god that is Mickey "did-I-mention-I-do-not-like-international-rules" Harte.

Religious devotion can be a terrible thing.
Post by: Wear The Fox Hat on August 06, 2013, 10:12:33 PM
Yes.No doubt about it.
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 06, 2013, 10:34:52 PM
Quote from: Wear The Fox Hat on August 06, 2013, 10:12:33 PM
Yes.No doubt about it.

Some post for a first post!
Post by: orangeman on August 07, 2013, 11:30:47 AM
Quote from: Wear The Fox Hat on August 06, 2013, 10:12:33 PM
Yes.No doubt about it.

You're as cute as a pet fox.
Post by: red hander on August 07, 2013, 05:57:06 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 09:01:08 AM

i would not call any county winning two all irelands by cheating,diving and screaming at referees in 124 years successful.

That's three All Irelands by cheating, diving and screaming at refereees ... if you're going to talk shite at least get your facts straight
Post by: red hander on August 07, 2013, 05:58:28 PM
Quote from: Doire abú on August 04, 2008, 11:23:16 AM

Book yourself in for lazer eye surgery ASAP
Post by: HiMucker on August 07, 2013, 06:08:32 PM
Quote from: red hander on August 07, 2013, 05:57:06 PM
Quote from: smcafee on August 04, 2008, 09:01:08 AM

That's three All Irelands by cheating, diving and screaming at refereees ... if you're going to talk shite at least get your facts straight
gone wipe the bile from your face and check the date of his post ya muppet  :D
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 07, 2013, 07:46:49 PM
Holy Bejaysus, I've come across some lampy thread in my time but this one is head, neck and shoulders above any of the others.
WTF is this supposed to mean?
the first four names you mention are spinning in their graves.... and the first three are not even dead yet.
Is there a psychiatrist on the board??
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 07, 2013, 07:55:29 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on August 04, 2008, 03:55:01 PM
Easy known its the summer holidays, you sound like a child throwing their toys out of the pram because they cant have their own way  :D
Tyrone for Sam 08  ;)

It's a sign, it's a sign!  :) ;)
Post by: Itchy on August 07, 2013, 08:08:49 PM
Funniest op I've ever read. Tyrone really are a bunch of rogues!
Post by: heganboy on August 07, 2013, 08:41:08 PM

The truth shall set you free

Post by: J OGorman on August 07, 2013, 10:10:29 PM
Quote from: heganboy on August 07, 2013, 08:41:08 PM

The truth shall set you free

The guy has fierce anger issues
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 08, 2013, 09:32:25 PM
96? its not our problem John McDermott calved the whole Tyrone 15 that day!
Post by: Wear The Fox Hat on May 23, 2015, 08:06:03 PM
Seven years on.Still same old shit if not worse.
Post by: LeoMc on May 23, 2015, 09:44:54 PM
Quote from: Wear The Fox Hat on May 23, 2015, 08:06:03 PM
Seven years on.Still same old shit if not worse.
A man of few words!
Can we expect your 3rd or is it 4th comment in 2017?
Post by: Fuzzman on May 24, 2015, 01:51:42 AM
Good man Foxy boy
Where did I leave my AIG alias?
I played Astro with 13 lads last nite.
9 had my wife's Tel No. Written on their arm

Most lads would be very annoyed.
I'm thick skinned.
She's from Donegal
See you in Croker (where else) Indie?
Post by: stew on May 24, 2015, 02:25:47 AM
Munster Championship makes a mockery of the GAA, too many handy Munsters leaving fresh players meeting players from tough Provinces who are jaded by the time they meet the men from Munster.

Post by: Over the Bar on May 24, 2015, 09:44:25 PM
This thread should be renamed 'were Tyrone the worst thing ever to hit Armagh Gaa' 😁