Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: anportmorforjfc on June 18, 2008, 11:42:34 PM

Title: Wimbledon 23rd June- 6th July
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 18, 2008, 11:42:34 PM
Most people seem to think its between Nadal and Federer yet again. I think Djokovic has a good chance.

Prediction mens - Nadal

Prediction Womens- Serena Williams
Title: Re: Wimbledon 23rd June- 6th July
Post by: Yes I Would on June 18, 2008, 11:58:50 PM
Lost all interest in the old tennis. Used to be the highlight of the summer in the 90's. Certainly the mens game has become all too monotonous.

Womens game much easier to watch for the obvious reasons but those Williams sisters should have been entered into the mens there for a few years although i see the Eastern Europeans have taken control. That bird who won the French was pretty good and very easy on the eye!!

Tiger Tim still about for it??
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 19, 2008, 11:04:58 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on June 18, 2008, 11:58:50 PM
Lost all interest in the old tennis. Used to be the highlight of the summer in the 90's. Certainly the mens game has become all too monotonous.

Womens game much easier to watch for the obvious reasons but those Williams sisters should have been entered into the mens there for a few years although i see the Eastern Europeans have taken control. That bird who won the French was pretty good and very easy on the eye!!

Tiger Tim still about for it??

Think hes part of the bbc team now
Post by: Hardy on June 20, 2008, 10:08:51 AM
That's only fair. The BBC were part of his team for so long.
Post by: Orior on June 20, 2008, 10:37:14 AM
I've a ticket for row A on centre court. Is that ring side?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 23, 2008, 01:40:54 PM
Federer a set and a break up already
Post by: Minder on June 23, 2008, 01:44:47 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on June 23, 2008, 01:40:54 PM

He was a decent price today too.........1/500
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 23, 2008, 01:47:01 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 23, 2008, 01:44:47 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on June 23, 2008, 01:40:54 PM

He was a decent price today too.........1/500

Post by: screenexile on June 23, 2008, 02:25:42 PM
f**king Andy f**king w*nkshaft f**king Murray! I hate him. He's a plonker. Thinks he's better than he is. Pretentious, pompous, arrogant and useless. I hope he gets beat in the 1st round!

I only thought Tiger Tim was bad but Murray takes the biscuit! Couldn't like him if you reared him!
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 23, 2008, 02:50:44 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 23, 2008, 02:25:42 PM
f**king Andy f**king w*nkshaft f**king Murray! I hate him. He's a plonker. Thinks he's better than he is. Pretentious, pompous, arrogant and useless. I hope he gets beat in the 1st round!

I only thought Tiger Tim was bad but Murray takes the biscuit! Couldn't like him if you reared him!

Say what you feel now, get off that fence.
Post by: Minder on June 23, 2008, 02:52:34 PM
The thing i hate about Murray is when he is on his way to defeat a mystery injury appears and that is used as an excuse. Take it like a man.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 23, 2008, 02:55:26 PM
i always think his injurys are serious by the expressions of him and the crowd, but 2 minutes later hes up and ok to continue
Post by: Onion Bag on June 23, 2008, 03:53:36 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 23, 2008, 02:52:34 PM
The thing i hate about Murray is when he is on his way to defeat a mystery injury appears and that is used as an excuse. Take it like a man.

The thing i hate about Murray is that he looks like a w**ker,
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 25, 2008, 02:43:23 PM
Djokovic 2 sets down. 4/5 on Safin to hold on.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 25, 2008, 03:13:16 PM
Djokovic out. Pretty much collapsed. Lost the third set 6-2 after serving 2 double faults in a row.
Post by: unforgiven on June 25, 2008, 04:20:21 PM
I think I might ask Ana Ivanovic out
Post by: ONeill on June 30, 2008, 08:55:57 PM
Murraymania in full swing as we spake. From 2-0 down to 2-2
Post by: nic on June 30, 2008, 09:03:39 PM
Although obviously when he was 2-0 down he was Scottish, now hes back to being British :P
Post by: Square Ball on June 30, 2008, 09:15:24 PM
bloody good game all the same.
Post by: nic on June 30, 2008, 09:26:41 PM

unreal mtch- fair f**ks to him!!
Post by: stiffler on June 30, 2008, 09:29:25 PM
COME ON TIM!!
Post by: Minder on June 30, 2008, 09:48:15 PM
The c***ts would sicken you, in fairness we can be pretty safe in the knowledge he wont wi it.
Post by: gawa316 on June 30, 2008, 09:54:36 PM
Absolutely unbelievable match. The french boy was all over him in the first 2 1/2 sets, glad to see him come back a win.

Quarter finals will be it for him though. Nadal looks unstoppable and I'm looking forward to a nadal federer final
Post by: the milkman on June 30, 2008, 10:09:17 PM
Frick I cant stand Andy Murray, clean ive!

I def. think Nadal will beat next round!
Post by: Orior on June 30, 2008, 10:34:09 PM
Well done Murray, great match and used the crowd well. Today he's british, but when Nadal beat him the press will make him scottish, lol.
Post by: screenexile on July 01, 2008, 12:34:02 AM
ButtMurray!

(http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r63/loopyglock/MurrayButt-1.jpg)
Post by: nic on July 02, 2008, 07:36:32 PM

Looks like Andy Murray the Scot is on his way out.
Post by: Minder on July 02, 2008, 07:54:54 PM
Nadal wont shit the togs the way Gasquet did........
Post by: nic on July 02, 2008, 08:06:11 PM

Or else Nadal is deadly but the commentators keep harping on bout how tired he is from the game the other nite
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 02, 2008, 08:08:30 PM
Nadal is immense tonight.  Murray may get used to this.  John McEnroe mentioned that they are roughly the same age, with Roger Fed a few years older, so they'll be about for Murrays entire career.
Post by: nic on July 02, 2008, 08:10:46 PM

Think Murray needs to keep working on those muscles
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 02, 2008, 08:12:21 PM
To be fair to him nic, he's in much better shape than he was last yr.  Nadal is a machine though
Post by: nic on July 02, 2008, 08:15:17 PM

Yea but not much craic bout him- i miss becker, mc enroe and the boys, bit of banter with them and the umpire/crowd
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 02, 2008, 08:23:50 PM
Aye, but back in those days, it wasn't all about power and serve, the way it is now.  I'd imagine it'll be a Federer v Nadal final, with Federer the victor.
Post by: nic on July 02, 2008, 08:25:26 PM

Would like Nadal to win but think you might be right
Post by: Minder on July 02, 2008, 08:45:47 PM
Would you say Federer was all power and serve? Nadal is a tremendous athlete but is also a brilliant player
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 02, 2008, 08:50:50 PM
I was just actually talking about how the game has developed over the years.  Without thinking, there is definitely more to his game than just power and serve, but I do think it plays a huge role Minder.
Not just Fererer, pretty much the top 5 or 10 players.
Post by: screenexile on July 02, 2008, 08:56:24 PM
Murray grossly outclassed by a stronger, fitter and technically superior player all round really.

He thought it was his strength that was holding him back yet the amount of unforced errors he hit was absolutely criminal! He has a long way to go to even come close to a Federer or a Nadal.

Poor Nadal after the match "Good win but what about Andy? Was he tired? Do you think he's good? What does he need to do do you think Rafa?" Why the fcuk should Nadal care about Murray and what Murray has to do... pure joke!
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 02, 2008, 09:02:21 PM
Ah, the wonderful British meedja.  I thought Nadal was superb tonight, but maybe Murray didn't even test him.  His (Nadal) drop shots were class.  You're right Screen, he was simply technically superior.
Post by: Minder on July 02, 2008, 09:13:33 PM
I wonder did Murray even have a break point tonight, Nadal was holding his serve easily whereas Murray was struggling to hold his. Nadal worked the balls off Murray, he had him out wide so many times. Nadal is some player alright, usually a player with his clay court pedigree wouldnt get past the 2nd or 3rd round at Wimbledon & there was a time top clay players didnt even bother going to Wimbledon. The progress he has made on grass has been remarkable. He is a fantastic athlete but some of the shots he plays Federer would be proud of.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 02, 2008, 09:31:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 02, 2008, 08:02:19 PM
Jeez, Murray is dung.
He really is dire, as screen said the unforced errors were absolutely criminal.  Nadal is the real deal, I reckon he'll take Fed this year too, Fed's star has been on the wane big time this year and he's there to be beat.  Federer is 27 and I reckon he doesn't have much tennis left (in that he'll retire in the next three 3yrs) so you never know, if Murray learns to serve he could threaten here in the future.

I saw the last 2 sets and Murray did get to love-30 in one game on Nadal's serve (2 2nd serves).
Post by: Minder on July 02, 2008, 09:33:01 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 02, 2008, 09:31:19 PM
Jeez, Murray is dung.
He really is dire, as screen said the unforced errors were absolutely criminal.  Nadal is the real deal, I reckon he'll take Fed this year too, Fed's star has been on the wane big time this year and he's there to be beat.  Federer is 27 and I reckon he doesn't have much tennis left (in that he'll retire in the next three 3yrs) so you never know, if Murray learns to serve he could threaten here in the future.

The thing is tennis is a youngmans game and as Murray progresses there will be more young punks arriving on the scene.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 02, 2008, 09:41:00 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 02, 2008, 09:33:01 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 02, 2008, 09:31:19 PM
Jeez, Murray is dung.

The thing is tennis is a youngmans game and as Murray progresses there will be more young punks arriving on the scene.
not so much as women's tennis is, in the mens game I thought they tend to peak in or around the mid twenties, that'd give murray a few years, but of course you've always got lads coming in to challenge, if it hadn't been for nadal, fed would probably have the last 2 french opens etc....
Post by: Yes I Would on July 02, 2008, 10:54:09 PM
Thats it over for another year thank god!! Nadal in that form tonight will give Fed a hell of a battle!!
Post by: hitzelsperger on July 02, 2008, 11:30:50 PM
Murray is no where near top 5 material, Nadal and Federer are absolutely in a class of thei own, some of Nadals passing shots are unreal, i would love to see him beat Roger but i dont think he will, the swiss man is just too good
Post by: Yes I Would on July 06, 2008, 03:58:37 PM
Nadal one st up 6-4.
4-4 second set
Post by: nic on July 06, 2008, 04:01:49 PM
Nadal is a machine, think he has federer on the hop
Post by: Yes I Would on July 06, 2008, 04:11:45 PM
Nadal 2 up. Federer getting chances though!
Post by: Minder on July 06, 2008, 04:12:28 PM
Federer fucked
Post by: Rois on July 06, 2008, 07:05:34 PM
Federer's pulled a set back after a tie break in the third, and is holding his own in the fourth.

Listened to part of it on 5 Live in the car and the commentators were so blatently biased towards Federer that I started getting annoyed.

Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 07:10:00 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 06, 2008, 04:12:28 PM
Federer fucked

Oh no he isnt
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 07:10:35 PM
5 games all, fourth set, Nadal 2 sets to 1 up.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 07:15:27 PM
6 - 5 Nadal. Federer serving to stay in the championship.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 06, 2008, 07:22:49 PM
come on rafa son!! Biggest 2 serves of your life
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 07:22:53 PM
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 07:23:49 PM
have his chats fallen off!!
Post by: tyroneboi on July 06, 2008, 07:24:01 PM
Blew it!!
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 07:24:13 PM
Great game here on our hands
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 07:25:03 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 06, 2008, 07:22:14 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 07:10:00 PM
Federer fucked

Oh no he isnt
Oh yes he is

Oh no he isnt

Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 07:29:11 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 07:25:03 PM
Federer fucked

Oh no he isnt
Oh yes he is

Oh no he isnt

oh yes he is!!
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 07:32:02 PM
Quote from: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 07:29:11 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 07:25:03 PM
Federer fucked

Oh no he isnt
Oh yes he is

Oh no he isnt

oh yes he is!!

Oh no he isnt

only one winner from here guys.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 06, 2008, 07:32:08 PM
This is a classic. Wot a shot by federer on Nadals second match point..genius. Nadals shot before that was brilliant too.
Post by: Puckoon on July 06, 2008, 07:32:47 PM
Can hardly watch. Have a strong dislike for roger the todger. Nadal - is he related to greg norman?

I hope to god federer doesnt white wash him now.
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 07:33:56 PM
2 of the best passing shots in the tournament in 2 of the most pressurised points of the tournament.

These men are real sportsmen, could you imagine tiger tim playing in a tie breaker like that? he would poop his panties big time
Post by: Minder on July 06, 2008, 07:34:16 PM
Why do you dislike Federer Puck? Some match, two brilliant players that are many levels above anyone else in the mens game........Will Nadal recover?
Post by: Puckoon on July 06, 2008, 07:35:09 PM
Not sure. Bit like sampras. Hes a machine - no emotion, plus hes won 5 in a feckin row.
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 07:39:31 PM
Nadal is the beast of Barcelonas nephew
Post by: nic on July 06, 2008, 07:40:58 PM
Im with you puck- two big animals against each other.
Although it fairness it is a good game
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 06, 2008, 07:54:56 PM
ahh shite there's the rain on....
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 07:55:14 PM
rain, thats a bummer,

who will feel the better for the break?
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 07:56:48 PM
Great sport. Best tennis I've ever seen.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 08:01:46 PM
Hope they get it finished tonight.  Absolute top quality tennis.
Post by: Puckoon on July 06, 2008, 08:02:37 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 07:56:48 PM
Great sport. Best tennis I've ever seen.

Ah hardy you missed a cracker in 1992. Me and big cousin Mossey were playing up behind the square markset one summers day. He wanted to be agassi, but I threw a fit and eventually he let me be agassi. I think he ended up being the big croat who spat alot. Anyways, I won 85-13 and I think we only lost 7 balls into the hedge. Ah them were the days.
Post by: Hardy on July 06, 2008, 08:04:37 PM
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 08:18:59 PM
They're back!
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 08:38:28 PM
4-4 in the final set
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 08:51:31 PM
Is that Gwen Stefani in the family area?  Certainly looks a bit like her?  Cracking game.  Federer 6 - 5 up in final set
Post by: nic on July 06, 2008, 08:54:10 PM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 08:51:31 PM
Is that Gwen Stefani in the family area?   Certainly looks a bit like her?  Cracking game.  Federer 6 - 5 up in final set

Yea it is her- her hubbie seems to be going for federer.
Post by: full back on July 06, 2008, 08:54:36 PM
Great game
No tie-breaker!
This could go on for a while...
Post by: nic on July 06, 2008, 08:59:45 PM

Nadal just cant seem to finish the job off.
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:03:46 PM
amazed that Nadal is still in it, i thought that he would fall apart after that last set
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 06, 2008, 09:05:11 PM
Compulsive viewing
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:07:24 PM
who has the cahoonas?

Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:09:15 PM
he needs to take one of these breakes
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 06, 2008, 09:09:50 PM
Game nadal..he's finally broke federers serve..its in his hands now
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:10:07 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:07:24 PM
who has the cahoonas?

well has he? we will know shortly, and new balls as well.
Post by: hitzelsperger on July 06, 2008, 09:12:11 PM
top quality tennis, some absolutely amazin shots...c'mon roger
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 06, 2008, 09:12:46 PM
Think Nadal has it..30-15
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:13:59 PM
should have let that one go
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 06, 2008, 09:14:31 PM
match point
Post by: hitzelsperger on July 06, 2008, 09:15:06 PM
what a f**king unreal return...awesome
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 09:15:15 PM
What a return by Fed, unreal game
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 06, 2008, 09:15:21 PM
amazing shot by federer
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:15:29 PM
oh my god

Post by: nic on July 06, 2008, 09:15:54 PM
this has to be it
Post by: Two Hands FFS on July 06, 2008, 09:17:23 PM
well done nadal. unlucky roger. wot a match. fair play to both
Post by: hitzelsperger on July 06, 2008, 09:18:35 PM
Amzing stuff, Nadal deserved it overall but Fed showed hes the man, no one else in history would have took Nadal, in that form, to 5 sets from match point down...best match i've ever seen!
Post by: nic on July 06, 2008, 09:19:25 PM
Hes a mad one!!

I was near in tears then when he went up to hug his 'rents
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:19:58 PM
absolutly fantastic game, fair play to them both.
Post by: Down Gael on July 06, 2008, 09:21:26 PM
I`m not really a tennis fan, but that was an unbelievable game. Glad to see Nadal win it in the end, but fair dues to Federer, he looked dead and buried at 2-0. Has there ever been a better game?
Post by: nic on July 06, 2008, 09:24:02 PM
BTW why does roger look like he should be at a cricket mtch?
Post by: Puckoon on July 06, 2008, 09:29:42 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on July 06, 2008, 07:32:47 PM
Can hardly watch. Have a strong dislike for roger the todger. Nadal - is he related to greg norman?

I hope to god federer doesn't white wash him now.

Can I retract my dislike for Roger still the todger (but only cos it rhymes ;) ). The man is magnanimous in defeat, gracious and a damn fine tennis player.

As for the poster asking if that was Gwen and Gavin Rosdale in the box - it sure was. Gav has tennis "friends" all over the world, so he hits them up for matches when he travels. He's spending a weekend on the sofa in palace De Puck next week - Ill let him win a set or two so he will come back and bring more presents for wee puck.
Post by: nic on July 06, 2008, 09:36:26 PM

Obviously its not the winning that matters, its the taking part that counts but does any1 know how much cash Nadal gets?
Post by: hitzelsperger on July 06, 2008, 09:40:17 PM
600 grand i think...not a bad fort nights work!
Post by: nic on July 06, 2008, 09:45:21 PM
Wish i was good at tennis. 8)
Post by: Minder on July 06, 2008, 09:46:31 PM
Quote from: nic on July 06, 2008, 09:36:26 PM

Obviously its not the winning that matters, its the taking part that counts but does any1 know how much cash Nadal gets?

I think its £750,000 to the victor and £375,000 to Federer, in fairness it really isnt about the money at that level.
Post by: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:51:04 PM
Prize Money Summary:
2007                                 2008           Increase
Total Prize Money £11,282,710 £11,812,000 4.7%
Gentlemen's Singles Winner £700,000 £750,000 7.1%
Gentlemen's Singles Runner-up £350,000 £375,000 7.1%
Ladies' Singles Winner £700,000 £750,000 7.1%
Ladies' Singles
Runner-up £350,000 £375,000 7.1%
Gentlemen's Doubles Winners £229,000 £230,000 3.2%
Gentleman's Doubles Runners-up £111,440 £115,000 3.2%
Ladies' Doubles Winners £222,900 £230,000 3.2%
Ladies' Doubles
Runners-up £111,440 £115,000 3.2%
Mixed Doubles Winners £90,000 £92,000 2.2%
Mixed Doubles
Runners-up £45,000 £46,000 2.2%

Post by: Mayo4Sam on July 06, 2008, 09:52:46 PM
That was a serious game, the 2 passing shots in the 4th tie breaker were 2 of the best shots i've ever seen

Delighted to see Nadal win it, fed was very gracious in defeat, i'd say they hate the sight of each other
Post by: Minder on July 06, 2008, 09:54:15 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on July 06, 2008, 09:52:46 PM
That was a serious game, the 2 passing shots in the 4th tie breaker were 2 of the best shots i've ever seen

Delighted to see Nadal win it, fed was very gracious in defeat, i'd say they hate the sight of each other

They will be seeing a lot of each other as they are so far ahead of the other players.
Post by: tyroneboi on July 06, 2008, 09:59:01 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 06, 2008, 09:51:04 PM
Prize Money Summary:
2007                                 2008           Increase
Total Prize Money £11,282,710 £11,812,000 4.7%
Gentlemen's Singles Winner £700,000 £750,000 7.1%
Gentlemen's Singles Runner-up £350,000 £375,000 7.1%
Ladies' Singles Winner £700,000 £750,000 7.1%
Ladies' Singles
Runner-up £350,000 £375,000 7.1%
Gentlemen's Doubles Winners £229,000 £230,000 3.2%
Gentleman's Doubles Runners-up £111,440 £115,000 3.2%
Ladies' Doubles Winners £222,900 £230,000 3.2%
Ladies' Doubles
Runners-up £111,440 £115,000 3.2%
Mixed Doubles Winners £90,000 £92,000 2.2%
Mixed Doubles
Runners-up £45,000 £46,000 2.2%

After an epic like that how can there be equal pay for men and women??

So pleased for Rafa. Is anyone else knackered after that?
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 10:01:45 PM
For Venus to walk away from that with the same £ as Rafa (and Serena pocketing the same as the Fed) is a joke.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 06, 2008, 10:07:02 PM
QuoteFor Venus to walk away from that with the same £ as Rafa (and Serena pocketing the same as the Fed) is a joke.

In what way?
Post by: Minder on July 06, 2008, 10:12:08 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on July 06, 2008, 10:07:02 PM
QuoteFor Venus to walk away from that with the same £ as Rafa (and Serena pocketing the same as the Fed) is a joke.

In what way?

In that men play best of 5 sets and women play best of 3......
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 10:13:56 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on July 06, 2008, 10:07:02 PM

In what way?

Do you think they deserved the same prize money???

The effort involved in winning the mens game is much more of a challenge than the ladies. Nadal won 33 games during the final, Venus won 13.
Post by: ludermor on July 06, 2008, 10:17:47 PM
they dont get paid by the hour!
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2008, 10:19:30 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 06, 2008, 10:17:47 PM
they dont get paid by the hour!

I didnt say they did.
Post by: Minder on July 06, 2008, 10:20:06 PM
If the heifers want equal pay they should have to play best of 5 sets............
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 10:26:34 PM
Quote from: nic on July 06, 2008, 09:24:02 PM
BTW why does roger look like he should be at a cricket mtch?

Heard somewhere that he designed that cardigan himself, it has 5 buttons, a button for each victory at Wimbledon.  Best game of tennis I've seen.
Post by: blast05 on July 06, 2008, 10:29:33 PM
QuoteNot sure. Bit like sampras. Hes a machine - no emotion, plus hes won 5 in a feckin row.

Good to see you retracted that. To say he has no emotion is completely wrong - he is just able to control it in a better manner that any other player in the game. It would simply not be possible to perform at an elite level in most sports without a high level of emotion. And to call a player in any sport a machine would i'd have thought be probably the ultimate compliment. Nadal was more of a machine today, particularly the way he was able to chase every last ball
Post by: Yes I Would on July 06, 2008, 10:33:21 PM
First full match i watched of the tournament, Intense stuff. Though the Fed was take it but fair fcuks to Nadal, he held it together.
He is gonna improve which must worrying for the rest. Federer will be back again. Class act!
Post by: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 10:35:39 PM
Andy Murray hasn't a prayer of winning this tournament.  Ever.
Post by: Uladh on July 06, 2008, 11:18:18 PM

Brilliant match. at least in a par with McEnroe borg. two of the greatest players in history and that rarely throws up classics.
on top of that, both are absolute class acts off the court.

The whole women's tournament in comparison to the men's is a joke. i only saw two decent matches. the quality, particularly on grass, just isn't deep enough in the women's game. let the women sell their own tickets and negotiate their tv money seperately for a year and we'd soon see the real market values.

hats off nadal and fed and here's hoping for the beginning of a decade of rivalry.
Post by: Abble on July 07, 2008, 08:12:40 AM
best game of tennis i've seen yet. federer must have been scratching his head at times during that wondering how the hell nadal was returning some of his shots...that put serious pressure on federer but he was able to keep in the match and then looked like winning it. says a lot for nadal. some great rallies. a couple of rain breaks also....and the strange thing is it didnt spoil the match, i think it added to it. challenges also played a big part and i think it is excellent, completely rules out and chance of wrong calls effecting the result.

federer is 26 and nadal 22, so fingers crossed we see a few more battles between them. i still think federer has another wimbledon in him. he hasnt had too much to compete with there in recent years but now nadal is on the scene he might step it up again a bit.
Post by: theskull1 on July 07, 2008, 08:35:54 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 10:35:39 PM

Amen :)
Post by: under the bar on July 07, 2008, 09:27:38 AM

In what way?

Do you think they deserved the same prize money???

The prize money is a side issue to the glory of Wimbledon title.   You won't find a winner making any comment on the issue as the prize money is a pittance in comparison to their income in sponsorship etc as a result of winning Wimbledon.  Federer is one of the worlds richest sportsmen. 
Post by: Bogball XV on September 04, 2008, 12:05:51 AM
Quote from: wherefromreferee? on July 06, 2008, 10:35:39 PM
just watching him playing now in the US Open, you couldn't like him if you tried, even the Brits don't seem to like him that much.
Post by: dodo on September 04, 2008, 12:45:48 AM
Murray has just won it 3 sets to 1. Good match and he's into semis now.
Post by: Minder on September 04, 2008, 08:36:02 AM
I just hope the amount of tennis Nadal has played this year does not come back to bite against Murray
Title: Re: Aussie Open
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 01, 2009, 12:39:14 PM
Another good battle between the big two in Melbourne. It's on bbc1 now. Looks like it is going to a fifth set.