Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Claw on June 18, 2008, 03:55:25 PM

Title: How many hours sleep do you get?
Post by: The Claw on June 18, 2008, 03:55:25 PM
After training in the evenings, its usually about 10 by the time I get home, after a feed and a read of the papers or whatever, I scale the stairs at 11 or so and am usually asleep by 11.30. I get up at 6.30am. I am usually wrecked halfway through the day, eyelids dropping, no concentration. I don't drink tea or coffee and would be wary of anything like red bull to keep me going. Is anyone in the same boat?
Title: Re: How many hours sleep do you get?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on June 18, 2008, 03:58:10 PM
6 / 7 hours - always wrecked!

Try to catch up at the week end though!
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 18, 2008, 04:01:16 PM
Wait till kids arrive. A broken 5/6 hours at best!
Post by: Minder on June 18, 2008, 04:01:55 PM
7 hrs, does me grand.
Post by: screenexile on June 18, 2008, 04:02:21 PM
Yeah Claw I have a fairly strange habit. When I was training I used to come home at 6, go to bed for an hour, Training at 7.30 and get home about 9.30 get a bite then go to bed at 12-12.30 and up again at 7.30-7.45am.

Even with a nap worked in there I still find myself tired after I have my lunch. I don't eat breakfast and many people have told me that can be a problem in that I don't get my metabolism going until late in the day which stops my body from feeling active. I tried a few times to get up and get something in me early but it didn't make much difference so I took my extra 15 mins sleep. It is really annoying though and I can find myself sleeping up to 11 hours on a Friday night still.

Anybody have any ideas? Are vitamins any use or should I stick to the eating breakfast thing?
Post by: Yes I Would on June 18, 2008, 04:05:20 PM
Mine varies, some weeks 4 or 5 does me, other weeks can be 8 or 9 and still be cream crackered!!
Weeks habit generally depends on weekend had, and volume of alcohol consumed!!
Even ten mins shut eye in the evenin can recharge the batteries after the dinner!
Post by: Minder on June 18, 2008, 04:07:05 PM
Screenexile, breakfast is your only answer. It used to be i could never eat anything first thing but just got into the habit of eating cereal or something handy, should keep you going to lunchtime. I find when i dont eat breakfast i end up eating all sorts of sh*te at various stages of the morning.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2008, 04:14:31 PM
The Spanish have the right idea. Siesta. I have friends who moved to Spain and embraced the idea enthusiastically and I usually do it to some extent when we visit them. A couple of hours sleep anywhere between 3 p.m. and 7 p.m. You'd usually feel a bit sleepy after your lunch anyway, so it makes sense to do what the body is telling you to do.  It's great - especially when you're on the tear till 3 or 4 most mornings. The only downside is having to get up twice every day.
Post by: ziggysego on June 18, 2008, 04:20:36 PM
4/5 hrs
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 18, 2008, 04:26:43 PM
6 and a half maximum. Rarely get to bed before 12.30 and kids permitting alarm goes at 6.45am.  It all depends on what your body is used to.  I can live on that and generally don't get anymore at the weekends.
Post by: illdecide on June 18, 2008, 05:19:01 PM
About 6- 6 1/2 hours sleep but at the minute it's broken sleep as i have a 3 week old in the house. If i'm kept busy in the evenings (like training or swimming pool) i'm grand but if i'm in the house doing nothing the head will nod off. The secret during the day is to drink loads of water and keep the body well hydrated if not you become de-hydrated and the body will fatigue...Try that, get about 3l of water into you everyday for a week or 2 and i'll bet that will help.
Post by: fred the red on June 18, 2008, 05:24:23 PM
i get a about 8hrs every nite, but i always feel tired first thing in the morning!
Post by: southdown on June 18, 2008, 06:50:31 PM
I be exhausted if i dont get my 8 hours
Post by: ONeill on June 18, 2008, 07:05:50 PM
I'd sleep from 12.30am/1am to 7am.
Also sleep for an hour during the day.
Bowel movement twice.
Post by: gawa316 on June 18, 2008, 07:09:13 PM
I get about 7 and a 1/2. Soemtimes still knackered but other times can jump up fresh as a daisy.

The thing that really pisses me off is being knackered all week. Every workday morning you crying out to just lie on for an extra hour, then when the feckin weekend comes your wide awake and can't lie in
Post by: Puckoon on June 18, 2008, 07:12:28 PM
I sleep from 10 until 5. Its plenty as Im not tired during the day, but some mornings its hard to get up with the birds and wee puck.
Post by: Minder on June 18, 2008, 07:19:34 PM
As regards when newborn kids arrive your body adjusts very quickly because basically it has no choice !
Post by: stiffler on June 18, 2008, 07:21:18 PM
about 7hrs sleep mon-sat, and about 2 on a sunday nite!
Post by: gerry on June 18, 2008, 07:21:32 PM
1am to about 7am most days
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 18, 2008, 07:21:43 PM
10 1/2 hours lads.

5am to about 3pm

This auld student life is hard work.  ;)
Post by: magickingdom on June 18, 2008, 07:26:00 PM
8 hours and im still not a morning person! very important to have the same routine if possible, i go to bed around 11.30 read for 1/2 hour and usually nod off..
Post by: ziggysego on June 18, 2008, 08:17:09 PM
With my 4 hours, I'm worried I could end up dismantling the welfare state.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on June 18, 2008, 08:39:16 PM
Usually go to bed around 0000hrs, set alarm for 0715 hrs get up about 0805hrs...wrecks me but i still do it.  I think its best to get up when the alarm sounds.  Got up this morning at 0515hrs for a piss and was fresh as a daisy.  Nodded back to sleep until 0715 when the clock went off, did not get out of the pit until 0805hrs.
Post by: TORGAEL on June 18, 2008, 09:14:29 PM
lucky if i sleep more than 6 1/2 hrs
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2008, 09:24:30 PM
About 4 to 5 hours usually
Post by: ziggysego on June 18, 2008, 09:25:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2008, 09:24:30 PM

You should ring me somenight, I'm usually about the same.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2008, 09:26:47 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 18, 2008, 09:25:00 PM

I have no problem sleeping a hurricane wouldn't wake me...Its falling asleep is my problemo..
Post by: Donagh on June 18, 2008, 09:32:21 PM
Fecking ket for sleeping. The city hospital are giving me some yoke (oximetry machine) to take home overnight to find out whats going on. Normally go to bed around 11 and read for an hour to two before nodding off. If I'm lucky I'd sleep through to till about seven but usually I'd be waking three or four times a night. Sometimes go for a run around 5.30 or 6 and come back for a quick snooze before work. I'd be grand during the day, though grumpy is my usual form until my morning tea break. A quick snooze around tea time is great if I have the time.   
Post by: ziggysego on June 18, 2008, 09:33:49 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 18, 2008, 09:26:47 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 18, 2008, 09:25:00 PM

I have no problem sleeping a hurricane wouldn't wake me...Its falling asleep is my problemo..

Same as me, wild horses couldn't wake me.
Post by: ONeill on June 18, 2008, 10:46:07 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 18, 2008, 09:32:21 PM
Fecking ket for sleeping. The city hospital are giving me some yoke (oximetry machine) to take home overnight to find out whats going on. Normally go to bed around 11 and read for an hour to two before nodding off. If I'm lucky I'd sleep through to till about seven but usually I'd be waking three or four times a night. Sometimes go for a run around 5.30 or 6 and come back for a quick snooze before work. I'd be grand during the day, though grumpy is my usual form until my morning tea break. A quick snooze around tea time is great if I have the time.   

Doesn't seem all that unusual to me.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 18, 2008, 10:52:04 PM
Usually aim to get about 7 1/2. 8 hours is great. Will struggle the next day if I get less than 7.
Post by: ONeill on June 18, 2008, 11:22:01 PM
Someone said 6 for a man, 7 for a woman and 8 for a fool.

Maggie Thatcher just took 3. But she didn't say the above.
Post by: Yes I Would on June 18, 2008, 11:38:31 PM
That would explain why she was a grumpy horrible little bitch!
Post by: stephenite on June 19, 2008, 03:59:39 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 18, 2008, 10:52:04 PM
Usually aim to get about 7 1/2. 8 hours is great. Will struggle the next day if I get less than 7.

About the same as that
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 19, 2008, 09:33:44 AM
Usually sleeping for half 11 or 12, a few awakenings during the night, sometimes it might take an hour to get back to sleep.  My missus doesn't really appreciate it when i stick on the tv but without it i'd get no sleep, there's too many thoughts running through my head at that time of the morning. I get out of bed for 7 and I usually get tired around 0930.  I'd also usually take a quick nap before football training in the evenings, no more than a half an hour though
Post by: wherefromreferee? on June 19, 2008, 09:45:57 AM
Sun - Thurs: Between 7 and 8.  In bed somewhere between 10 and 11, TV for a while, lights out around midnight.  Up at 7ish.

Fri/Sat.  Enjoy the sleep at the weekends.  Ive seen me not getting up on a Sunday until the Sunday Game is about to start.  Sleep for Ireland at the weekend.  Both Saturday and Sundays, i'm lucky if I rise before midday.

Slightly off on a tangent, but can never understand the snooze button.  It's just prolonging the agony of getting up.  Anybody else?  I know ones that snooze for over half an hour, to me, thats just pointless.
Post by: The Claw on June 19, 2008, 10:35:37 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on June 19, 2008, 09:33:44 AM
Usually sleeping for half 11 or 12, a few awakenings during the night, sometimes it might take an hour to get back to sleep.  My missus doesn't really appreciate it when i stick on the tv but without it i'd get no sleep, there's too many thoughts running through my head at that time of the morning. I get out of bed for 7 and I usually get tired around 0930.  I'd also usually take a quick nap before football training in the evenings, no more than a half an hour though
The very same is happening to me recently. Wake up around 5am, pretty fresh, mind racing.Takes a good 20 minutes to get back to sleep but then I struggle to get up at 6.30am, doesnt make sense, does my body not realise I should sleep through it.
I think i've learned that going to bed even 20 earlier than usual can make a huge difference the next day.

Yea WFF, I dont see the point in the snooze button either, waking up is bad ehough without having to do it twice, I still use it though!
Post by: Guillem2 on June 19, 2008, 11:12:34 AM
I can only sleep for 3 1/2 hours at a time. Lay awake for an hour then back to sleep for another 3 1/2 hours. It's always the same except when I have a belly full of stout.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 19, 2008, 01:42:57 PM
I'm up the creek if I'm not sleeping by 11:30 and I get up at half 7.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 19, 2008, 01:48:36 PM
Nrico I thought you slept from 8.30 to 17.15 every day.

I usually get about 7.5 hours kip with about 2 or 3 interruptions from yapping children in the middle of the night! I always say I'll go to bed earlier but never really seem to hit the pit before 11.30.
Post by: balladmaker on June 19, 2008, 01:48:51 PM
Don't get enough...usually about 6.5 hrs a night.  

I was reading that the experts reckon the ideal nights sleep is 7.5hrs of actual sleep...any less or any longer is not good for you.  I was surprised at the longer bit.
Post by: red hander on June 19, 2008, 03:04:55 PM
Not enough
Post by: North Longford on June 19, 2008, 03:20:23 PM
Usually to bed 11.30/12 and up arounf 6.30, included is generally a child induced awakening!
Was worse, when the eldest in his first year on this earth seemed to feel that anything more than an hours sleep at a time was too much!
Can't ly in in the the morning either. Usually up before 8 at the weekends.
Generally don't feel too tired during the day but have been for the last couple of weeks!
Post by: David McKeown on June 19, 2008, 04:07:51 PM
3-4 hours a night maximum. Been doing that since I was about 14. Can't sleep anymore than that no matter when I go to bed. Learned to live with it now
Post by: Minder on June 19, 2008, 04:17:08 PM
If my alarm is set for 6.45am and i happen to wake at 6.33am i roll over again and think thank f**k it isnt time to get up yet, as if that is me for another 7hrs. . . . .12Mins later i am up and at it
Post by: screenexile on June 19, 2008, 04:35:44 PM
My favourite part of the day is waking at 5.30 and rolling over realising I have another 2 hours sleep ahead of me... I love it!
Post by: Puckoon on June 19, 2008, 04:56:24 PM
When I used to use an alarm - Id wake up two minutes before it, every time.
Post by: Treasurer on June 19, 2008, 04:57:09 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 19, 2008, 04:35:44 PM
My favourite part of the day is waking at 5.30 and rolling over realising I have another 2 hours sleep ahead of me... I love it!

I once worked with a guy who enjoyed that feeling so much he used to set his alarm for the middle of the night!
Post by: downgirl on June 19, 2008, 08:47:50 PM
7 or 8 usually but need more!!! only get up early on weekends if I realiy have to...as for the debate about the snooze button...its awful if you are using your phone...maybe I am the only person who has done this lol but instead of pressing snooze press stop, and so you wake up 5 minutes before you have to be somewhere and have to run around like a headless chicken to get ready!
Post by: Yes I Would on June 19, 2008, 10:47:04 PM
what bugs the shit out of me is any morning that im lookin a lie on, it never happens, just doesnt happen!! can never get back to sleep properly, while Mon to Fri just so bloody difficult to get up!
snooze button gets a bit of a bashing beside the bed, alarm 7.30, up and at it 8.20!
Post by: ziggysego on June 21, 2008, 02:06:19 AM
Thank God I've no work in the morning, for I can't sleep. A lot of thoughts and concerns racing through my mind tonight, preventing me from having a good night's kip. Anyone have any tips for me, as to how I can reach the land of nod?
Post by: rosnarun on June 21, 2008, 02:34:23 AM
drugs/ sleep theraphy? i go through the odd phase and it builds up untill i get so exhausted ive no choice . i think though i prolong it by napping during the evening. hate to go through it permanantly. my mother does she listens to audio books. helps her relax more than sleep but it staves off the aniexty sleeplessness brings . esp youve something on early in the morning knowning your going to be fecked
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 21, 2008, 09:08:50 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 21, 2008, 02:06:19 AM
Thank God I've no work in the morning, for I can't sleep. A lot of thoughts and concerns racing through my mind tonight, preventing me from having a good night's kip. Anyone have any tips for me, as to how I can reach the land of nod?

stick a dvd on of something that you've seen so many times that you don't have to actually watch it, but can listen to it and know exactly whats going on.  turn away from the tv and should be asleep in about ten minutes.  works for me anyway
Post by: ziggysego on June 21, 2008, 11:11:10 AM
That worked a treat. thanks :)
Post by: Yes I Would on June 21, 2008, 11:17:52 AM
Was it Debbie does Dallas Zig?
Post by: fred the red on June 21, 2008, 11:22:46 AM
It was probably that 2 girls 1 cup he keeps on harping about  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on June 21, 2008, 11:36:08 AM
No, Dogma!
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 21, 2008, 12:03:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 21, 2008, 11:11:10 AM
That worked a treat. thanks :)

I've done it for years.  Think my woman is sick of listening to family guy though
Post by: wherefromreferee? on September 10, 2008, 11:00:36 AM
Came home from work on Monday evening (7ish) feeling tired.  Thought I'd lay down for an hour on top of the bed before I made an attempt at dinner.  Woke up Tuesday morning at 7am.  12hrs solid sleep.  Dont even remember wakening up to get under the sheets.  Would love to do it every night.
Post by: thirteen03 on September 10, 2008, 11:22:20 AM
When I was studying I would do with 6-7, and when the pressure was on I could do with 5-6 and be grand. Now I go for around 7 but I find training makes a big difference. If I've trained hard for a few evenings in a row I need 8 hours minimum or I'll be wrecked, which unfortunately takes a big chunk out of your day.
Post by: Donagh on September 10, 2008, 11:28:24 AM
Had my second visit to the sleep clinic over in the city hospital the other day. Had a camera inserted into my throat by way of my nose. Not very pleasant.
Post by: mannix on September 10, 2008, 01:14:12 PM
Before child i was getting 8 hours, now i usually get 5 or 6 but not right sleep.

Love when I get away on my own for a day or two, have a few pints and sleep like a log but still wake at 6 or so.
I know others that can and do sleep 12 hours, and lie in bed looking at the ceiling.
Post by: bingobus on September 10, 2008, 02:57:51 PM
Last night about 4 hours spread over about 8/9 hours. Much the same the night before.

The wee lad bit off form at minute, normally he great and a good 10 hour sleeper.

Normally I'd be about 8 hour sleeper. The thought of sleeping during the day really irratates me for some reason and I never do it, unless in the horrors of drink (distant memory).
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2008, 03:00:42 PM
I'm a really erratic sleeper. Did just less than 6 last night bt slept for an hour after coming home from work. I will tend to sleep for a while every day after work unless something else takes up my time and then go to bed later. I don't know what it is but I just can't seem to go to bed before 12 any night. On a weekend I can sleep anything from 8/10 hours and lie in bed for an extra couple if I feel like it to chill out. It's class!
Post by: Treasurer on September 10, 2008, 03:04:56 PM
About 6.5/7 on a weeknight and love my 10 or so at the weekend!
Post by: Minder on September 10, 2008, 03:05:38 PM
7 hrs is all i need to take on the world, wee girl is two now so sleeps for 12 hours.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2008, 07:37:57 PM
Right now I need to sleep for a week.
Post by: the milkman on September 10, 2008, 09:39:46 PM
Normally id be in the cot for 10. and up at 7, but still tired sometimes during the day! i honestly think i over sleep and in winter months make that in bed for 9 or 9.30.
Post by: Minder on September 10, 2008, 09:41:31 PM
Quote from: the milkman on September 10, 2008, 09:39:46 PM
Normally id be in the cot for 10. and up at 7, but still tired sometimes during the day! i honestly think i over sleep and in winter months make that in bed for 9 or 9.30.

You may get your bottle in you Milkman if you have to be in the cot by 10.
Post by: fred the red on September 10, 2008, 09:41:43 PM

would the milk not be sour if u didnt deliver it til after 7??
Post by: maggie on September 10, 2008, 09:43:22 PM
cannot get outta bed in the morning, hit snooze at least 4 times.  Also hate getting up when its dark, think i may have SAD disorder  :-\
Post by: Square Ball on September 10, 2008, 09:49:28 PM
not enought, wake about 4/5 times most nights and it can sometimes take ages to get back to sleep again.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 10, 2008, 09:51:55 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 10, 2008, 03:05:38 PM
7 hrs is all i need to take on the world, wee girl is two now so sleeps for 12 hours.
You can get away with seven hours cos you've saved up the hours from the many years  spent sleeping.

I really need about 8 or 9 but only manage 7 and I can't sleep unless I've read something. It's usually a book but I've had to resort to shampoo bottles etc at times!
Post by: Minder on September 10, 2008, 09:54:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 10, 2008, 09:51:55 PM
You can get away with seven hours cos you've saved up the hours from the many years  spent sleeping.

I really need about 8 or 9 but only manage 7 and I can't sleep unless I've read something. It's usually a book but I've had to resort to shampoo bottles etc at times!

Aye you arent too bad at the sleeping yourself lazy balls, am reading Ian Rushs autobiography and am averaging about 3 pages a night before the grey mist sets in.........
Post by: the milkman on September 10, 2008, 09:54:49 PM
Quote from: fred the red on September 10, 2008, 09:41:43 PM

would the milk not be sour if u didnt deliver it til after 7??

No longer a milkman, was only a part time job and during the summer i did it!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 10, 2008, 10:01:37 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 10, 2008, 09:54:33 PM

Aye you arent too bad at the sleeping yourself lazy balls, am reading Ian Rushs autobiography and am averaging about 3 pages a night before the grey mist sets in.........
I wouldn't mind reading Brian Clough's....
Post by: Minder on September 10, 2008, 10:05:20 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 10, 2008, 10:01:37 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 10, 2008, 09:54:33 PM

I wouldn't mind reading Brian Clough's....

Try Easons, WH Smiths, Waterstones etc...........
Post by: Gold on September 10, 2008, 10:47:18 PM
6/7 during the week but like so many others i struggle to lie in at weekends.

I reckon i have a problem in that no matter how tired i am during the day and evenin, i can never just go upstairs and put the light out. Im wrecked now but have been upstairs since 930 and wont turn this computer off till 12, then takes ages to sleep and up an half 7. Wrecked all week long. I always try and sleep for a while at lunch in work.

I was in Spain a few weeks back and took into the Siesta's for a week--magic idea as said earlier--the Spaniards have it called right--it leaves you refreshed---i think your body is callin for you to sleep during the day and you should never fight what your body is tellin u.
Post by: maggie on September 10, 2008, 10:50:52 PM
Quote from: Gold on September 10, 2008, 10:47:18 PM
6/7 during the week but like so many others i struggle to lie in at weekends.

I reckon i have a problem in that no matter how tired i am during the day and evenin, i can never just go upstairs and put the light out. Im wrecked now but have been upstairs since 930 and wont turn this computer off till 12, then takes ages to sleep and up an half 7. Wrecked all week long. I always try and sleep for a while at lunch in work.
I was in Spain a few weeks back and took into the Siesta's for a week--magic idea as said earlier--the Spaniards have it called right--it leaves you refreshed---i think your body is callin for you to sleep during the day and you should never fight what your body is tellin u.

how do manage a snooze at work? Its well for some
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2008, 10:51:59 PM
QuoteI reckon i have a problem in that no matter how tired i am during the day and evenin, i can never just go upstairs and put the light out. Im wrecked now but have been upstairs since 930 and wont turn this computer off till 12, then takes ages to sleep and up an half 7. Wrecked all week long.
Same here, can't go to bed before 12. 
Always wrecked, can't even get a sleep at the weekends now, I'm normally waken at the same time I would be on a work morning, if I do get a lie in I get up feeling like I've spent a week on the drink and with a busting headache.
Post by: Tyrones own on September 10, 2008, 11:07:15 PM
Quoteif I do get a lie in I get up feeling like I've spent a week on the drink and with a busting headache.

Same as that, I get about 7 hrs most nights but get up about the same time every morning,  weekends included.

By the way, how's it going? are ye still across the water?
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2008, 11:10:30 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 10, 2008, 11:07:15 PM
Quoteif I do get a lie in I get up feeling like I've spent a week on the drink and with a busting headache.

Same as that, I get about 7 hrs most nights but get up about the same time every morning,  weekends included.

Yeah.  It's grand, it's not silverbridge but it's ok.
Post by: maggie on September 10, 2008, 11:12:30 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2008, 11:10:30 PM

where bouts in the world are u?
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2008, 11:17:45 PM
Quote from: maggie on September 10, 2008, 11:12:30 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2008, 11:10:30 PM

where bouts in the world are u?

Galapagos Islands
Post by: KCGaelicFootball on September 10, 2008, 11:19:20 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on June 18, 2008, 07:09:13 PM
I get about 7 and a 1/2. Soemtimes still knackered but other times can jump up fresh as a daisy.

The thing that really pisses me off is being knackered all week. Every workday morning you crying out to just lie on for an extra hour, then when the feckin weekend comes your wide awake and can't lie in

I need atleast 7 to 8 hrs or I am cranky as hell.
Post by: Hank Everlast on September 11, 2008, 08:44:53 AM
12 til 7, every nite... even if im out late on the weekends i still frickn wake up at 7am, its as if i have a mental alarm clock that wont allow me to sleep in!!

I have to admit id be prone to the odd nap on a saturday or sunday evening in front of the tele if i have nothin else on!
Post by: spiritof91and94 on September 11, 2008, 12:04:08 PM
Quote from: noeldebrun on September 10, 2008, 05:00:55 PM
i have a really odd sleeping pattern the past three nights i've went to bed at around 4 in the morning and then woke up at 1 in the afternoon

eh, get a job ffs.
Post by: ziggysego on September 11, 2008, 12:40:39 PM
Noel's starting university soon, after acing in his A Levels. Feckin' students.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 11, 2008, 12:53:58 PM
Always target getting at least 8hrs but it rarely happens. Sun-Thurs I would get 6.5 to 7.5 which I fell is not enough for me. Catch up at weekends. I could sleep for hours and have no problem sleeping in at weekends (would regularly get a 10 hour kip in at the weekend if I felt I needed it). My body clock is a bit weird. Hate getting up in the mornings but often feel great around 5pm when its near time to head home from work. Am usually wrecked about 7-8pm (could be the dinner) but perk up about 9 and don't feel ready for the bed then so always stay up too late. Nearly always midnight when I hit the hay and regret it immediately the alarm goes the following morning...
Post by: full back on September 11, 2008, 12:59:20 PM
Used to get by on 6 hours a night during the week &  had super-lie ins at the weekend to make up for it
With a child in the house I realise I have had 1 lie-in this year :-\
Find myself averaging 7 odd hours a night now including the weekends & on the occasion I have a late one I am still up at the same time as normal
Post by: time ticking away on September 11, 2008, 01:11:25 PM
I useta sleep a bit when i was younger but i dont bother anymore. Its over rated
Post by: KCGaelicFootball on September 11, 2008, 05:40:01 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 18, 2008, 11:22:01 PM
Someone said 6 for a man, 7 for a woman and 8 for a fool.

Maggie Thatcher just took 3. But she didn't say the above.

Maggie thatcher sleeps in a coffin all day becuase the sun would set her on fire.
Post by: thebandit on September 11, 2008, 06:13:39 PM
It depends on whether the neighbours yappy dog is out .... he starts at 7am without fail.
Post by: ExiledGael on September 11, 2008, 06:21:40 PM
Never ever less than eight.
Post by: Gold on September 12, 2008, 01:51:50 AM
Flannerys never helps you achieve the full 8 hours sleep.