Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 10:34:39 AM

Title: Pictures worth a 1000 words.
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 10:34:39 AM
I was looking at a great picture thread on another board and thought I would start one here.

Post any picture that had an impact on you.
Please don't post Peter Canavan lifting Sam or the likes as this is general to everyone. Sporting pictures are allowed though.

I will start with a well known one and see where it goes to from there.

(http://www.zefrank.com/theshow/gallery/d/8604-1/tiananmen-square-tanks.jpg)
Title: Re: Pictures worth a 1000 words.
Post by: Uladh on May 31, 2008, 11:38:04 AM

(http://alchapar.com/archivo/2007/AllisonStokke.jpg)
Post by: Uladh on May 31, 2008, 11:40:53 AM
(http://user.cs.tu-berlin.de/~hakan/jordan/jordan10.jpg)
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 11:47:42 AM
Quote from: Uladh on May 31, 2008, 11:38:04 AM

I was thinking more along the lines of 'historic moments' Uladh. So good man well done ;)
Post by: Uladh on May 31, 2008, 11:51:30 AM

(http://cayankee.blogs.com/cayankee/images/towers.jpg)
Post by: Square Ball on May 31, 2008, 11:54:32 AM
(http://www.gallerym.com/images/work/big/pulitzer_nick_ut_vietnam_napalm_kim_phuc_6872_L.jpg)
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 31, 2008, 11:55:32 AM
Quote from: Uladh on May 31, 2008, 11:38:04 AM

well you brightened up my day Uladh , who is she 
Post by: Uladh on May 31, 2008, 12:01:17 PM

Alison Stokke
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 12:11:21 PM
(http://www.huaren.com/UnitedNations/sad-1.jpg)
Post by: The Claw on May 31, 2008, 12:16:23 PM
Quote from: Uladh on May 31, 2008, 12:01:17 PM

Alison Stokke
I'd like to stoke her vault with my pole   :P
Post by: magickingdom on May 31, 2008, 12:26:03 PM
Quote from: The Claw on May 31, 2008, 12:16:23 PM
Quote from: Uladh on May 31, 2008, 12:01:17 PM

Alison Stokke
I'd like to stoke her vault with my pole   :P

doubt youll get to do that, i heard her dad is very protective of her... some beauty tho ;D
Post by: Hardy on May 31, 2008, 02:04:35 PM
I think there's no point in going on after that one of the child and the vulture. I would be hard to find a more telling image than that.
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 02:10:46 PM
There is an even sadder story that goes with it hardy believe it or not.
Post by: magickingdom on May 31, 2008, 02:11:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 31, 2008, 02:04:35 PM
I think there's no point in going on after that one of the child and the vulture. I would be hard to find a more telling image than that.

on the contrary we need more of them..
Post by: magickingdom on May 31, 2008, 02:12:34 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 02:10:46 PM
There is an even sadder story that goes with it hardy believe it or not.

can you post it up zapa?
Post by: Square Ball on May 31, 2008, 02:13:16 PM
a very harrowing picture indeed Zap
Quote from: 5iveTimes on May 31, 2008, 12:14:09 PM
(http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/2005/12/23/international/23ireland650.2.jpg)

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.

took me a while to figure that one out
Post by: Hardy on May 31, 2008, 02:14:49 PM
MK - I agree. You misunderstand me, I think. I was commenting on the futility of searching for a better picture to tell the 1,000 words. That one tells a billion.

Zapatista - what's the full story?
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 02:19:06 PM
The photographer didn't intervine to save the child. He decided that if he did the photo would lose its impact on people like us. He decided that the life of this child in this photograph would eventually save the life of many others. He was right in that sense as it triggered a huge reaction from the outside world in relation to Sudan saving many lives. The photographer eventually took his own life.
Post by: Uladh on May 31, 2008, 02:22:32 PM

That is the most horrific photo i've ever seen. I think i'd rather not have seen it nor heard the story so i could get on with life in my bubble and not be aware that there are despairing things all too common in the world.

some of the human rights violation images from indonesia on the same website would make you physically sick
Post by: Minder on May 31, 2008, 02:23:35 PM
What is the significance of the people with Bobby Sands ?
Post by: Hardy on May 31, 2008, 02:23:58 PM
I'd forgotten that aspect of it. What a moral dilemma. I think I'd have solved it by doing something immoral, but less so. I think I'd have saved the child, but lied (if only I knew the truth) and pretended he had died, to achieve the propaganda effect, thus fulfilling both apparently conflicting objectives at the expense of my own conscience.

I didn't know he eventually killed himself. It's easy to understand why.
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 02:24:46 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 31, 2008, 02:23:35 PM
What is the significance of the people with Bobby Sands ?

It includes the late British agent Dennis Donaldson with his arm around Sand's shoulder
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 02:25:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 31, 2008, 02:23:58 PM
I'd forgotten that aspect of it. What a moral dilemma. I think I'd have solved it by doing something immoral, but less so. I think I'd have saved the child, but lied (if only I knew the truth) and pretended he had died, to achieve the propaganda effect, thus fulfilling both apparently conflicting objectives at the expense of my own conscience.

I didn't know he eventually killed himself. It's easy to understand why.

That might have happened Hardy but we can only take his word for it.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 31, 2008, 02:26:29 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 02:19:06 PM
The photographer didn't intervine to save the child. He decided that if he did the photo would lose its impact on people like us. He decided that the life of this child in this photograph would eventually save the life of many others. He was right in that sense as it triggered a huge reaction from the outside world in relation to Sudan saving many lives. The photographer eventually took his own life.
jesus that photo and story would bring a tear to a stone and we think we have problems :( On a sidenote just wondering have any of ye gone out or know anyone who had gone out on the niall mellon foundation trip to cape town in South Africa ?
Post by: Hardy on May 31, 2008, 02:29:39 PM
On reflection, I don't really see the point of allowing the child to die for the propaganda effect anyway. The picture is powerful enough in its own right to have stood without comment. People didn't need to know whether the child died for the picture to have a point.

On the other hand, I'm sure this was one of thousands of children who died in this famine and you can't make their rescue the responsibility of the photographers.
Post by: magickingdom on May 31, 2008, 02:32:30 PM

if that what happened zapa the photographer was as cold as ice. who was he to make that decision.
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 02:33:18 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 31, 2008, 02:29:39 PM
On reflection, I don't really see the point of allowing the child to die for the propaganda effect anyway. The picture is powerful enough in its own right to have stood without comment. People didn't need to know whether the child died for the picture to have a point.

On the other hand, I'm sure this was one of thousands of children who died in this famine and you can't make their rescue the responsibility of the photographers.

I'd say he seen it all before and hoa little effect it had since Live Aid.
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 02:34:25 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on May 31, 2008, 02:32:30 PM

if that what happened zapa the photographer was as cold as ice. who was he to make that decision.

YOu could be right I'm not judging either way. I do know that he saved more lives than I have anyway.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 31, 2008, 02:35:02 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 31, 2008, 02:26:29 PM
jesus that photo and story would bring a tear to a stone and we think we have problems :( On a sidenote just wondering have any of ye gone out or know anyone who had gone out on the niall mellon foundation trip to cape town in South Africa ?

I played in a Golf Classic yesterday in aid of someone who is going in November
Post by: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 02:47:14 PM
(http://www3.northstar.k12.ak.us/schools/nph/twt/berlin/wall1.jpg)

Berlin Wall
Post by: Louth Exile on May 31, 2008, 02:47:30 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 31, 2008, 02:35:02 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 31, 2008, 02:26:29 PM

I played in a Golf Classic yesterday in aid of someone who is going in November

Same as that, we have a night in our club next weekend for one of the selectors who is going out there
Post by: Hardy on May 31, 2008, 02:47:51 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 31, 2008, 02:26:29 PMhave any of ye gone out or know anyone who had gone out on the niall mellon foundation trip to cape town in South Africa ?

A friend of mine is going in November too. He's holding a fundraiser tomorrow and I'm going to a football match, which tells you something about my moral compass, I suppose.

You can donate to the Niall Mellon Trust here: http://www.townshiptrust.org.za/index.html (http://www.townshiptrust.org.za/index.html)
Post by: Homer on May 31, 2008, 03:01:08 PM
(http://onemansblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/what-not-to-wear-in-emergency-room.jpg)
(http://www.jordanhoffman.com/archives/eddie_vietnam.jpg)
(http://www.worldsfamousphotos.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/07/410px-einsatzgruppen_killing.jpg)
(http://www.digitaljournalist.org/issue0309/images/life/biafra.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on May 31, 2008, 03:30:44 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on May 31, 2008, 12:11:21 PM

That is heartbreaking. Its amazing how we forget our privileged position in the world.

That said - the child didn't need to die for the picture to impact me.
Post by: boojangles on May 31, 2008, 05:00:05 PM
Some unbelievable Images-Some famous ones such as the student on Tianamen Square.Homer would you know the Background to any of your photos?Im intriqued looking at them.
Post by: Square Ball on May 31, 2008, 10:34:02 PM
these images had an impact on me.

(http://images-srv.leonardo.it/progettiweb/agcolliportuensi/blog/Bobby_Sands_Funeral.jpg)

(http://images.google.com/url?q=http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/825000/images/_827903_trim150.jpg&usg=AFQjCNHGL4I913QqDdGrhudFrqbTIyV9wg)

(http://www.davidcairnsphoto.com/images/apuf02_milltown.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2008, 11:16:44 PM
(http://www.medaloffreedom.com/JesseOwens_1936Olympics.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2008, 11:19:09 PM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/furniture/in_depth/other_sports/2000/lewis_v_tua/slideshow/4.jpg)

Louis (right) is pictured knocking out Germany's Max Schmeling on 22 June 1938 in New York. With the Second World War just months away, the worldwide significance of this fight cannot be underestimated.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2008, 11:20:33 PM
(http://www.edgeofsports.com/2003-09-18-21/91803fist.jpg)
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2008, 11:30:36 PM
(http://www.princeton.edu/~bsu/New%20Pictures/Rosa%20Parks.jpg)

Rosa Parks, arrested for refusing to give up her seat for a white man
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2008, 11:34:28 PM
(http://img.timeinc.net/Life/lifebooks/100photos/gallery/buchenwald.jpg)

photographer Margaret Bourke-White was with Gen. George Patton's troops when they liberated the Buchenwald concentration camp. Forty-three thousand people had been murdered there. Patton was so outraged he ordered his men to march German civilians through the camp so they could see with their own eyes what their nation had wrought.
Post by: dodo on June 01, 2008, 12:29:32 AM
(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71Z7ZK9EFXL._SS500_.gif)

QuoteThe famous cover of the National Geographic magazine of June 1985 shows an Afghan refugee fleeing the Soviet Union's invasion of Afghanistan. The picture is valuable as it vividly demonstrates the genetic imprint of the Aryans who founded Afghanistan 4000 years ago. The girl's eyes are green, her hair light brown and her features almost indistinguishable from modern Europeans which represents the last remaining traces of the Aryans in Afghanistan
Post by: Maguire01 on June 01, 2008, 01:39:08 PM

A bit misleading that post - a quick search on Wikipedia:
QuoteThe photograph was sold to The New York Times where it appeared for the first time on March 26, 1993. Practically overnight hundreds of people contacted the newspaper to ask whether the child had survived, leading the newspaper to run a special editor's note saying the girl had enough strength to walk away from the vulture, but that her ultimate fate was unknown.
and...
QuoteA vulture landed behind the girl. To get the two in focus, Carter approached the scene very slowly so as not to scare the vulture away and took a photo from approximately 10 metres. He took a few more photos and then the vulture flew off.

and as for his death, i think people here have assumed it's because he couldn't live with not saving the child.....
QuoteOn 27 July 1994 Carter drove to the Braamfonteinspruit river, near the Field and Study Centre, an area where he used to play as a child, and took his own life by taping one end of a hose to his pickup truck's exhaust pipe and running the other end to the passenger-side window. He died of carbon monoxide poisoning at the age of 33. Portions of Carter's suicide note read:

"I am depressed ... without phone ... money for rent ... money for child support ... money for debts ... money!!! ... I am haunted by the vivid memories of killings & corpses & anger & pain ... of starving or wounded children, of trigger-happy madmen, often police, of killer executioners...I have gone to join Ken if I am that lucky."
Post by: gerry on June 01, 2008, 06:00:31 PM

This photograph showing a starving Sudanese child being stalked by a vulture won Kevin Carter the 1994 Pulitzer Prize for feature photography.
Photographer Haunted by Horror of His Work

Obituary: Kevin Carter 1960 - 1994

Johannesburg - Kevin Carter, the South African photographer whose image of a starving Sudanese toddler stalked by a vulture won him a Pulitzer Prize this year, was found dead on Wednesday night, apparently a suicide, police said yesterday.  He was 33.  The police said Mr Carter's body and several letters to friends and family were discovered in his pick-up truck, parked in a Johannesburg suburb.  An inquest showed that he had died of carbon monoxide poisoning.

Mr Carter started as a sports photographer in 1983 but soon moved to the front lines of South African political strife, recording images of repression, anti-apartheid protest and fratricidal violence.  A few davs after winning his Pulitzer Prize in April, Mr Carter was nearby when one of his closest friends and professional companions, Ken Oosterbroek, was shot dead photographing a gun battle in Tokoza township.

Friends said Mr Carter was a man of tumultuous emotions which brought passion to his work but also drove him to extremes of elation and depression.  Last year, saying he needed a break from South Africa's turmoil, he paid his own way to the southern Sudan to photograph a civil war and famine that he felt the world was overlooking.

His picture of an emaciated girl collapsing on the way to a feeding centre, as a plump vulture lurked in the background, was published first in The New York Times and The Mail & Guardian, a Johannesburg weekly.  The reaction to the picture was so strong that The New York Times published an unusual editor's note on the fate of the girl.  Mr Carter said she resumed her trek to the feeding centre.  He chased away the vulture.

Afterwards, he told an interviewer, he sat under a tree for a long time, "smoking cigarettes and crying".  His father, Mr Jimmy Carter laid last night: "Kevin always carried around the horror of the work he did." - The New York Times
Post by: muppet on June 01, 2008, 06:15:34 PM
Enough tear jerkers. I was in the States for 911. Every news report had a story about orphaned kids whose parents didn't come home. It became the only news for days. I dont watch TV any more as a result. Bad things happen. My spending my life agonising over them wont achieve anything. Carter's death achieved nothing other than the loss of a man who could capture an entire planet's shame in one photo.

So something less profound but important nonetheless:
(http://pds4.egloos.com/pds/200705/04/43/d0046543_05053741.jpg)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 01, 2008, 06:55:54 PM
One of my favourite sporting pictures

(http://www.awooga.org/images/n26f4gey1ktzlp5sjdia.jpg) (http://www.awooga.org/)
Post by: doire na raithe on June 01, 2008, 09:31:42 PM
(http://www.block102.com/Images/langer.jpg)

Was trying to study my GCSE's at the time but I was utterly engrossed and obsessed by the Roy Keane saga in 2002. Always remember this photo in the papers.
Post by: gerry on June 02, 2008, 02:34:06 AM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/235000/images/_237296_birmingham_six_300.jpg)

Free at last. Birmingham six
Post by: lurganblue on June 02, 2008, 08:29:05 AM
some pictures of a place that has had a strong influence on me.... Mauthausen Concentration Camp in Austria

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1222-1.jpg)

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1217.jpg)

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1216.jpg)

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1159.jpg)

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1158.jpg)

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1202.jpg)

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1236.jpg)

and the dissecting table
(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1215.jpg)

thought to have been between 122,766 and 320,000  deaths, killings here.

Post by: tieroan on June 02, 2008, 09:22:47 AM
That Afhgan girl is absolutley stunning.
Is there some significance to the photo homer posted with the guy on the operating table?
Post by: Candyman on June 02, 2008, 09:24:53 AM
Quote from: tieroan on June 02, 2008, 09:22:47 AM
Is there some significance to the photo homer posted with the guy on the operating table?
Am i stupid or is not because he is a KKK member in full uniform and the docs/medical team treating him are ALL black???
Post by: tieroan on June 02, 2008, 09:36:16 AM
Thanks Candyman. It is me that is stupid. Must be something to do with the 10 pints of stout I had yesterday. I never spotted the uniform. I thought it was hospital sheets.!
Post by: Candyman on June 02, 2008, 09:41:20 AM
Quote from: tieroan on June 02, 2008, 09:36:16 AM
Thanks Candyman. It is me that is stupid. Must be something to do with the 10 pints of stout I had yesterday. I never spotted the uniform. I thought it was hospital sheets.!

:D :D Fair enough but I thought the big pointy hat would be a give away...  ;)
Post by: gallsman on June 02, 2008, 12:31:37 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 31, 2008, 11:19:09 PM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/furniture/in_depth/other_sports/2000/lewis_v_tua/slideshow/4.jpg)

Louis (right) is pictured knocking out Germany's Max Schmeling on 22 June 1938 in New York. With the Second World War just months away, the worldwide significance of this fight cannot be underestimated.

Bollocks. Schmelling despised the Nazis and everything they stood for. Hitler and Goebbels tried to use him as another poster boy of the Aryan race and that's about it. The only people who read anything into the whole "Black vs. Nazi" thing were the Nazis themselves.
Post by: doire na raithe on June 02, 2008, 05:06:14 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 02, 2008, 08:29:05 AM
some pictures of a place that has had a strong influence on me.... Mauthausen Concentration Camp in Austria

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1222-1.jpg)

(http://i283.photobucket.com/albums/kk317/lurganblue/06-10-07_1159.jpg)

I hate to be synical and anyone feel free to correct me if you think i'm way off the mark here... but I find it very hard to believe that or understand why the Nazis would have had signs up saying 'Execution Hall' or 'Gas Chamber? I'm assuming thats roughly what the signs say translated.
Post by: under the bar on June 02, 2008, 05:14:54 PM
QuoteI hate to be synical and anyone feel free to correct me if you think i'm way off the mark here... but I find it very hard to believe that or understand why the Nazis would have had signs up saying 'Execution Hall' or 'Gas Chamber? I'm assuming thats roughly what the signs say translated.

Maybe the signs were put up later for the tourists?
Post by: Niall Quinn on June 02, 2008, 05:23:03 PM
Quote from: Candyman on June 02, 2008, 09:24:53 AM
Quote from: tieroan on June 02, 2008, 09:22:47 AM
Am i stupid or is not because he is a KKK member in full uniform and the docs/medical team treating him are ALL black???

Or he could just be seriously regretting his choice of Halloween costume.
Post by: Puckoon on June 02, 2008, 05:29:02 PM
That photo of the KKK member being treated by the black Drs and Nurses seems a little fake to me.

It looks like its been photoshopped a bit - and when you consider that particular climate, I find it very hard to believe that the staff in a southern USA hospital back then was made up of a high enough percentage of black workers for the picture to be plausible.

I could be completely wrong.
Post by: thejuice on June 02, 2008, 05:34:02 PM

(http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3146/09000d5d80706666galleryla2.jpg)
By endac (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/endac) at 2008-06-02
Post by: red hander on June 02, 2008, 05:40:30 PM
Quote from: dodo on June 01, 2008, 12:29:32 AM
(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71Z7ZK9EFXL._SS500_.gif)

QuoteThe famous cover of the National Geographic magazine of June 1985 shows an Afghan refugee fleeing the Soviet Union's invasion of Afghanistan. The picture is valuable as it vividly demonstrates the genetic imprint of the Aryans who founded Afghanistan 4000 years ago. The girl's eyes are green, her hair light brown and her features almost indistinguishable from modern Europeans which represents the last remaining traces of the Aryans in Afghanistan

National Geographic actually went back 20 years later to see if they could find the girl again ... and they succeeded.  She looked a hell of a lot older than the 20 years and her face was really lined, but the eyes were totally unmistakeable ... maybe someone could trace that pic?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 02, 2008, 05:43:56 PM
(http://www.ccdesigns.ca/afghan%20girl.jpg)
Post by: red hander on June 02, 2008, 06:51:54 PM
Good man Gabriel
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on June 02, 2008, 10:31:44 PM
Taken before the omagh bombing

(http://www.fortunecity.com/bally/sligo/93/images/omagh_imminent.jpg)

QuoteThe chilling photograph on the left was found by investigators in a camera buried in the rubble. It is surely one of the most poignant images of the whole event. The picture was taken in the minutes before the bomb exploded, clearly showing the red car - with its deadly hidden cargo - beside dozens of oblivious civilians

http://www.fortunecity.com/bally/sligo/93/past/omagh/before.html
Post by: thewingedlady on June 02, 2008, 11:18:13 PM
I had never been to Derry City up until a few years ago but I'll never forget the first time i saw the mural of Fr Daly on Bloody Sunday where he's holding out a handkerchief and a few others are carrying a young mans body, with the civil rights banner soaked in blood. Have to say that image hit me hard, and surely one of the most iconic images of the troubles.
Post by: Zapatista on June 03, 2008, 07:57:53 AM
Quote from: gallsman on June 02, 2008, 12:31:37 PM

Bollocks. Schmelling despised the Nazis and everything they stood for. Hitler and Goebbels tried to use him as another poster boy of the Aryan race and that's about it. The only people who read anything into the whole "Black vs. Nazi" thing were the Nazis themselves.

If the Nazis bought into it then it was quite significant.

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 02, 2008, 05:43:56 PM
(http://www.ccdesigns.ca/afghan%20girl.jpg)

The girl looks about 14 or 15 in the original picture and seems to have aged 30 years rahter than 20.
Post by: Zapatista on June 03, 2008, 01:35:01 PM
(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44701000/jpg/_44701421_pixw.jpg)

Stolen from Trams caption thread.
Post by: Minder on June 03, 2008, 01:37:27 PM
Those two ladies Tyrone GAA jerseys must be drying on the line........
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 01:48:25 PM
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/ground_zero_spirit.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 01:52:23 PM
This is one of my favourite pictures.
I have a massive copy of it in my spare room.

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/lunsj-1.jpg)
Post by: Uladh on June 03, 2008, 01:53:26 PM

excuse my ignorance but who were these aryans 4000 years ago and what were they up to in afghanistan?
Post by: Minder on June 03, 2008, 01:56:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 01:52:23 PM

It may have been on another thread but i read that photo is not real, maybe someone debunked this theory but i honestly cant remember.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 02:00:47 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 03, 2008, 01:56:22 PM

It may have been on another thread but i read that photo is not real, maybe someone debunked this theory but i honestly cant remember.

First i heard of that.You could be well right it does look a bit surreal..
Thats kind of ruined that picture for me now i always thought it was real  :'(
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 03, 2008, 02:01:38 PM
Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
• Learn more about citing Wikipedia •Jump to: navigation, search
Lunch atop a Skyscraper[1] (New York Construction Workers Lunching on a Crossbeam) is a famous photograph taken by Charles C. Ebbets during construction of the GE Building at Rockefeller Center in 1932.

Lunch atop a skyscraper 1932The photograph depicts 11 men eating lunch, seated on a girder with their feet dangling hundreds of feet above the New York City streets. Ebbets took the photo on September 29, 1932, and it appeared in the New York Herald Tribune in its Sunday photo supplement on October 2. Taken on the 69th floor of the GE Building during the last several months of construction, the photo Resting on a Girder shows the same workers napping on the beam.[citation needed]

Man at the right with bottle in his hand is Gusti Popovic, sawyer from Eastern Slovakia - Spiš. He sent this photo in 1932 as a postcard to his wife to Slovakia with words: "Don't worry my dear Mariska, as you see I'm always OK with my bottle. Yours Gusti." (Slovak: "Nič še ty neboj, moja milá Mariška, jak vidziš, ta ja furt s fľašečku. Tvoj Gusti.")[citation needed]

The copyright owner of the photograph, the Bettman Archive, did not recognize Charles C. Ebbets as the photographer until October 2003 (reportedly after months of investigation by a private investigation firm). [2] However, many posters and prints of the photograph continue to list the artist as 'unknown.'

Heres what Wikipedia has to say about it , love that photo myself
Post by: Gnevin on June 03, 2008, 02:18:09 PM
(http://www.russiablog.org/ElbeLinkupLarge.JPG)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 02:38:07 PM
An experimental – and controversial – procedure for treating a crippling birth defect in the womb offered Trish and Mike Switzer the only chance that their daughter would walk like other children. But the fetal surgery posed a fatal dilemma: Their baby could die before she was born.

Photographer Max Aguilera saiud about this photo: "During a spina bifida corrective procedure at twenty-one weeks in utero, Samuel thrusts his tiny hand out of the surgical opening of his mother's uterus. As the doctor lifts his hand, Samuel reacts to the touch and squeezes the doctor's finger. As if testing for strength, the doctor shakes the tiny fist. Samuel held firm. At that moment, I took this "Fetal Hand Grasp" photo.

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/untitled-4.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 03, 2008, 02:53:50 PM
Here's that baby now. It's a great story.

(http://www.nrlc.org/news/2003/NRL10/cover.JPG)
Post by: Hardy on June 03, 2008, 02:57:57 PM
More skyscraper pictures here http://www.damnfunnypictures.com/html/Up-on-a-Roof.html . I gather a lot of them are faked. Not sure about the lunch one, though.
Post by: Zapatista on June 03, 2008, 03:41:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 03, 2008, 01:56:22 PM

A fantatic picture. I would say it's genuine but would imagine it is an opitical illousion like the one where the guy holds the sun or pushing over the tower in Pizza. I'd say they are not to far above solid ground. Of course they might be over the side of a huge building and I will probably never know.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 03, 2008, 03:52:21 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 02:38:07 PM
An experimental – and controversial – procedure for treating a crippling birth defect in the womb offered Trish and Mike Switzer the only chance that their daughter would walk like other children. But the fetal surgery posed a fatal dilemma: Their baby could die before she was born.

Photographer Max Aguilera saiud about this photo: "During a spina bifida corrective procedure at twenty-one weeks in utero, Samuel thrusts his tiny hand out of the surgical opening of his mother's uterus. As the doctor lifts his hand, Samuel reacts to the touch and squeezes the doctor's finger. As if testing for strength, the doctor shakes the tiny fist. Samuel held firm. At that moment, I took this "Fetal Hand Grasp" photo.

(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/untitled-4.jpg)

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2008, 02:53:50 PM
Here's that baby now. It's a great story.

(http://www.nrlc.org/news/2003/NRL10/cover.JPG)

that is incredible....stregthens the argument against abortion in a way that words cannot capture. Pictures worth a 1000 worths
Post by: ziggysego on June 03, 2008, 04:41:11 PM
(http://img.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2007/03_02/NIMeetingPOOL_468x297.jpg)
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 03, 2008, 09:22:36 PM
Some sporting greats.........

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/c1/Jesse_Owens.jpg/387px-Jesse_Owens.jpg)
Jesse Owens wins 4 gold.

(http://www.birminghamchamber.com/visiting/images-fun%20facts/CarlLewis.jpg)
Carl Lewis wins 4 Gold in LA

(http://www.itsalreadysigned4u.com/shop/media/images/product_detail/AAA-75210.jpg)
Mark Spitz win 7 Gold

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/910000/images/_913185_michelle150.jpg)
Michelle Smith wins 3 gold. Pass the Whiskey...

(http://www.ridethatpony.com/Ali_V_Frasier.jpg)
Ali v Frasier

(http://www.lequipe.fr/Xml/Aussi/Dossiers/Media/ali_foreman.jpg)
Ali v Foreman - Rope a Dope

(http://www.sportsposters.com/images/posters/fullsize/40371b.jpg)
Ali v Liston

(http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2007/07/07/tyson_wideweb__470x364,0.jpg)
Would you like salt and vinegar with that ear Mike?

(http://i.pbase.com/o5/24/704224/1/68736688.RQc4lPmB.box1haglerduran.jpeg)
Hagler v Duran

(http://www.authenticsportscollectibles.com/store/images/SRL-16a.jpg)
Hagler v Leonard

(http://www.geocities.com/WestHollywood/9172/boxing/xhaghear.jpg)
Hagler v Hearns

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42722000/jpg/_42722447_66_world_cup_ap_416.jpg)
Like them or loathe them it was still a famous sporting moment.

(http://www.dermothardy.com/pictures/scoreboard%20from%20england%20end.JPG)
But we still have the sweetest day of all.

A few more great Irish sporting days.........

(http://www.iol.ie/~edmo/DR_Pat_Hamer.jpg)
Dr Pat O'Callaghan - Double Olympic Gold medal winner

(http://www.sparta-athletics.co.uk/Bob%20Tisdall.JPG)
Bob Tisdell wins Gold in the 1932 400m in LA

(http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/uploads/2006/11/Finish%20Line.jpg)
Gold for Ronnie Delany in Melbourne '56

(http://www.dcu.ie/alumni/winter02/images/michaelcarruth.jpg)
Gold for Michael Carruth

(http://jimbox.homedns.org/rants/images/uploads/cian.jpg)
Cian O'Connor win Gold but his horse is a junkie.

(http://www.sparmilechallenge.com/images/photos/5-famous-milers-large.jpg)
Great Irish Middle distance runners: Ray Flynn, Marcus O'Sullivan (the King of the Boards), Eamonn Coughlan, Sonia O'Sullivan

(http://www.sparmilechallenge.com/images/photos/john-treacy.jpg)
John Tracey Double World cross country champion (remember the mud in Limerick) and silver in the Olympics Marathon.

(http://www.sportsonline.com.au/images/Products/7721.jpg)
A great last frame...

(http://www.virginmedia.com/images/mcguigan-pedroza.jpg)
Wee Barry lands one on Pedroza on a famous night.

(http://www.boxing-memorabilia.com/images/collins.jpg)
Collins put Eubank on his hole

(http://www.sdbc.org/photos/albums/userpics/10002/kelly_pr.jpg)
Sean Kelly on the cobbles in one of his 7 Paris - Roubaix classic wins

(http://www.pezcyclingnews.com/photos/races08/interviews08/roche-worlds.jpg)
Stephen Roche wins the world championship and wraps up a unique treble in 1987.

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/37989000/jpg/_37989045_houghton300.jpg)
Houghton v Italy in NY 94

(http://www.geocities.com/thepointfc/Bonner.jpg)
Donegal Catch...

(http://www.scrumoftheearth.com/rugby_news/content/binary/stringer.jpg)
Stringer scores in the final for Munster

(http://www.freewebs.com/jameshowlin/_41667548_trophy_getty.jpg)
Munster 2006

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/05/25/article-1021806-0160D59600000578-335_468x289.jpg)
Munster 2008

Croke Park Opened up...

(http://museum.gaa.ie/images/bloody_sunday_ticket.jpg)

(http://www.emeraldfs.ie/images/CROKE_PARk.jpg)

(http://kildare.ie/groupC/images/cp660.jpg)

(http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/graphics/2007/02/25/srfron250207.jpg)

(http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/sporteditors/ireland_england438.jpg)

(http://www.irishrugby.ie/images/news/scoreboard.jpg)

A few historical ones

(http://www.celtic-twilight.com/ireland/collins/devandgrif.jpg)
The Long fellow

(http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/2006/03/05/books/dono184.jpg)
The big fellow

(http://www.scientificblogging.com/graphics/JFK.jpg)

(http://www.wilsonsalmanac.com/images2/kennedys_dallas1.jpg)

(http://www.prisonplanet.com/images/september2006/270906jfk.jpg)

(http://www.beloblog.com/ProJo_Blogs/shenews/07/johnjohn.jpg)
JFK

(http://mcadams.posc.mu.edu/rubyshot.jpg)
Lee Harvey Oswald Shot

(http://www.congressionalgoldmedal.com/images/RobertKennedyshot.jpg)
Robert Kennedy Shot

(http://www.intervoiceonline.org/assets/2006/12/3/Gandhi_1.jpg)
Gandhi

(http://www.medaloffreedom.com/MartinLutherKingIHaveDreamlg.jpg)
Martin Luther King - I have a dream

(http://www.fatimacrusader.com/cr16/images/cr16pg07.jpg)

(http://www.cbc.ca/news/photogalleries/pope1/images/06_pope.jpg)

(http://www.markmallett.com/blog/wp-images/mother-teresa-john-paul-4.jpg)
JPII

(http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/pic/ROS/SPL3160~First-Man-on-the-Moon-Posters.jpg)

(http://www.lessons-from-history.com/Images/Great%20Projects/main_hillary_norgay.jpg)
Mount Everest conquered

(http://www.travelireland.org/kerry/annascaul/tom-crean.jpg)
A hardy hoor of a Kerryman.

and finally...
(http://www.goatboy.com.au/images/goatboy/shirts/dead_details_06.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 09:44:02 PM
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/Hand_of_God_goal.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on June 03, 2008, 09:59:13 PM
(http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk/imageBank/t/Tennis%20Girl%20450.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 10:03:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 03, 2008, 09:59:13 PM
(http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk/imageBank/t/Tennis%20Girl%20450.jpg)

You always have to take things down a level don't you
Post by: 5 Sams on June 03, 2008, 10:12:20 PM
The best sports picture I have ever seen is the one with Brian Mullins climbing for a ball and a Kerry man head and shoulders above  him....I think it was Sean Walsh....with P O Se and Tommy Drumm watching from the ground....But I'm fcuked if I can find on the internet. Has anyone got a link to it? Sums up Football in one snapshot....brilliant shot.
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 03, 2008, 10:16:20 PM
(http://www.independent.ie/multimedia/archive/00160/bigwill_160602b.jpg)
Willie O'Dea Limerick's Lone Ranger

5 Sams I know the one cant find it either. It was from 1979
Post by: ziggysego on June 03, 2008, 10:22:14 PM
Sweet Chariot!

(http://www.infactah.com/uploaded_images/POC-767037.jpg)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 03, 2008, 10:26:50 PM
Lads how do I put a picture up?
Post by: ziggysego on June 03, 2008, 10:32:03 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 03, 2008, 10:26:50 PM
Lads how do I put a picture up?

Is it one of your pictures or from another site?
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 03, 2008, 10:34:20 PM
(http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/data/thumbnails/687_Famous%20Photos%20Quiz.ppt.3.jpg)
Che

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 03, 2008, 10:36:51 PM
QuoteIs it one of your pictures or from another site?

From a site but I've saved it to my desktop.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 10:47:41 PM
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/peleDM2006_468x808.jpg)
Post by: blast05 on June 03, 2008, 10:51:27 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 03, 2008, 10:12:20 PM
The best sports picture I have ever seen is the one with Brian Mullins climbing for a ball and a Kerry man head and shoulders above  him....I think it was Sean Walsh....with P O Se and Tommy Drumm watching from the ground....But I'm fcuked if I can find on the internet. Has anyone got a link to it? Sums up Football in one snapshot....brilliant shot.

Not the first time Mullins was beaten in the air http://www.mayogaa.com/pgal/football/pastphoto4.htm (http://www.mayogaa.com/pgal/football/pastphoto4.htm)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 11:02:28 PM
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/gazza-dentist-chair-400.jpg)
(http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m266/laoislad/gazza.jpg)
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 03, 2008, 11:04:19 PM
(http://www.thaiflyingclub.com/images/linkmisssiamfirstflight/picFFWrightFirstFlight.jpg)
The Wright Brothers take off on the first flight.

(http://wellington.pm.org/archive/200606/tdd/images/hindenberg_strict.jpg)
Hindenburg Explodes

(http://www.tangischools.org/schools/phs/think/man/tibbets.jpg)
Enola Gay - Carrier of the first Atomic Bomb

(http://students.umf.maine.edu/~donoghtp/abomb.jpg)

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f0/Hiroshima_autograph_Tibbets.jpg)

(http://www.annefrankguide.com/en-GB/content/hiroshima-2f.jpg)

(http://images.encarta.msn.com/xrefmedia/sharemed/targets/images/pho/000f6/000f69fb.jpg)
Columbia Shuttle explodes

(http://blog.lib.umn.edu/govref/fdlp100/740px-Challenger_explosion.jpg)
Challenger Shuttle Explodes

(http://www.world-mysteries.com/911_1.jpg)
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 03, 2008, 11:25:37 PM
(http://www.empirecoin.co.za/images/Mandela%20Freed%20Article.jpg)
Nelson Mandela Freed from Robbin Island
Post by: Puckoon on June 03, 2008, 11:27:11 PM
Never could get my head around this one.

(http://img2.timeinc.net/ew/dynamic/imgs/070824/hugh_l.jpg)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 11:29:30 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 03, 2008, 11:27:11 PM
Never could get my head around this one.

(http://img2.timeinc.net/ew/dynamic/imgs/070824/hugh_l.jpg)

She got her head around something though
Title: Pictures worth a 1000 words.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 03, 2008, 11:39:38 PM
Quote from: blast05 on June 03, 2008, 10:51:27 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 03, 2008, 10:12:20 PM

Not the first time Mullins was beaten in the air http://www.mayogaa.com/pgal/football/pastphoto4.htm (http://www.mayogaa.com/pgal/football/pastphoto4.htm)

No...thats not the one Blast....Walsh is behind Mullins and you'd swear his feet were about 5 ft off the ground...
Post by: T O Hare on June 04, 2008, 12:03:41 AM
greatest gaa pic in my opinion is one of Mick o'Connell catching a ball over Sean o'Neill in  the 1968 final, John Purdy is in the background, have it in my room but cant find it online
Post by: Uladh on June 04, 2008, 12:26:36 AM

Seanie Walsh

http://www.gaelicart.com/gaelicart&catid=230

Mick O'Connell

http://www.sportingvisions.com/pages/picresults.asp?RefID=4368445

Enda Muldoon

http://www.sportingvisions.com/pages/picresults.asp?RefID=56039988

Not able to put any of those up as viewable pictures for some reason
Post by: dodo on June 04, 2008, 01:52:51 AM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 03, 2008, 09:22:36 PM
Some sporting greats.........

(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/c1/Jesse_Owens.jpg/387px-Jesse_Owens.jpg)
Jesse Owens wins 4 gold.

(http://www.birminghamchamber.com/visiting/images-fun%20facts/CarlLewis.jpg)
Carl Lewis wins 4 Gold in LA

(http://www.itsalreadysigned4u.com/shop/media/images/product_detail/AAA-75210.jpg)
Mark Spitz win 7 Gold

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/olmedia/910000/images/_913185_michelle150.jpg)
Michelle Smith wins 3 gold. Pass the Whiskey...

(http://www.ridethatpony.com/Ali_V_Frasier.jpg)
Ali v Frasier

(http://www.lequipe.fr/Xml/Aussi/Dossiers/Media/ali_foreman.jpg)
Ali v Foreman - Rope a Dope

(http://www.sportsposters.com/images/posters/fullsize/40371b.jpg)
Ali v Liston

(http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2007/07/07/tyson_wideweb__470x364,0.jpg)
Would you like salt and vinegar with that ear Mike?

(http://i.pbase.com/o5/24/704224/1/68736688.RQc4lPmB.box1haglerduran.jpeg)
Hagler v Duran

(http://www.authenticsportscollectibles.com/store/images/SRL-16a.jpg)
Hagler v Leonard

(http://www.geocities.com/WestHollywood/9172/boxing/xhaghear.jpg)
Hagler v Hearns

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42722000/jpg/_42722447_66_world_cup_ap_416.jpg)
Like them or loathe them it was still a famous sporting moment.

(http://www.dermothardy.com/pictures/scoreboard%20from%20england%20end.JPG)
But we still have the sweetest day of all.

A few more great Irish sporting days.........

(http://www.sportsonline.com.au/images/Products/7721.jpg)
A great last frame...

(http://www.virginmedia.com/images/mcguigan-pedroza.jpg)
Wee Barry lands one on Pedroza on a famous night.

(http://www.boxing-memorabilia.com/images/collins.jpg)
Collins put Eubank on his hole

(http://www.sdbc.org/photos/albums/userpics/10002/kelly_pr.jpg)
Sean Kelly on the cobbles in one of his 7 Paris - Roubaix classic wins

(http://www.pezcyclingnews.com/photos/races08/interviews08/roche-worlds.jpg)
Stephen Roche wins the world championship and wraps up a unique treble in 1987.

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/37989000/jpg/_37989045_houghton300.jpg)
Houghton v Italy in NY 94

(http://www.geocities.com/thepointfc/Bonner.jpg)
Donegal Catch...

(http://www.scrumoftheearth.com/rugby_news/content/binary/stringer.jpg)
Stringer scores in the final for Munster

(http://www.freewebs.com/jameshowlin/_41667548_trophy_getty.jpg)
Munster 2006

(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/05/25/article-1021806-0160D59600000578-335_468x289.jpg)
Munster 2008

Croke Park Opened up...

(http://museum.gaa.ie/images/bloody_sunday_ticket.jpg)

(http://www.emeraldfs.ie/images/CROKE_PARk.jpg)

(http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/graphics/2007/02/25/srfron250207.jpg)

(http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/sporteditors/ireland_england438.jpg)

(http://www.irishrugby.ie/images/news/scoreboard.jpg)

A few historical ones

(http://www.celtic-twilight.com/ireland/collins/devandgrif.jpg)
The Long fellow

(http://graphics8.nytimes.com/images/2006/03/05/books/dono184.jpg)
The big fellow

(http://www.scientificblogging.com/graphics/JFK.jpg)

(http://www.wilsonsalmanac.com/images2/kennedys_dallas1.jpg)

(http://www.prisonplanet.com/images/september2006/270906jfk.jpg)

(http://www.beloblog.com/ProJo_Blogs/shenews/07/johnjohn.jpg)
JFK

(http://mcadams.posc.mu.edu/rubyshot.jpg)
Lee Harvey Oswald Shot

(http://www.congressionalgoldmedal.com/images/RobertKennedyshot.jpg)
Robert Kennedy Shot

(http://www.intervoiceonline.org/assets/2006/12/3/Gandhi_1.jpg)
Gandhi

(http://www.medaloffreedom.com/MartinLutherKingIHaveDreamlg.jpg)
Martin Luther King - I have a dream

(http://www.fatimacrusader.com/cr16/images/cr16pg07.jpg)

(http://www.cbc.ca/news/photogalleries/pope1/images/06_pope.jpg)

(http://www.markmallett.com/blog/wp-images/mother-teresa-john-paul-4.jpg)
JPII

(http://imagecache2.allposters.com/images/pic/ROS/SPL3160~First-Man-on-the-Moon-Posters.jpg)

(http://www.lessons-from-history.com/Images/Great%20Projects/main_hillary_norgay.jpg)
Mount Everest conquered

(http://www.travelireland.org/kerry/annascaul/tom-crean.jpg)
A hardy hoor of a Kerryman.

and finally...
(http://www.goatboy.com.au/images/goatboy/shirts/dead_details_06.jpg)
Best compilation of all......I'd nearly apologise for it's longevity....... :D

(http://l.yimg.com/g/images/spaceball.gif)
Post by: 5 Sams on June 04, 2008, 10:08:06 AM
(http://www.gaelicart.com/pd.php?f=GA-150.gif)

Thats the one....class!
Post by: 5 Sams on June 04, 2008, 10:10:44 AM
Quote from: T O Hare on June 04, 2008, 12:03:41 AM
greatest gaa pic in my opinion is one of Mick o'Connell catching a ball over Sean o'Neill in  the 1968 final, John Purdy is in the background, have it in my room but cant find it online

I always thought that was a foul by O'Connell......knee in the back.... ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 04, 2008, 10:12:15 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 04, 2008, 10:08:06 AM
(http://www.gaelicart.com/pd.php?f=GA-150.gif)

Thats the one....class!

thats a brilliant photo ,christ walsh is up some height
Post by: Uladh on June 04, 2008, 11:03:24 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 04, 2008, 10:10:44 AM

Purdy looks like he's moving back towards o'connell. couldn't see it being a foul in the 60s either way...
Post by: lurganblue on June 04, 2008, 11:05:16 AM
feck thats a great pic lads. where would i be able to buy something like that? the granda would love it
Post by: ildanach on June 04, 2008, 11:21:17 AM
(http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/2005/bwactionzq6.jpg)

Heres another photo of great fielding. Willie Joe and Brian Mullins in 1985
Post by: EC Unique on June 04, 2008, 12:07:47 PM
(http://file007a.bebo.com/large/2006/03/11/14/395790551a399627361b565487215l.jpg)
Post by: Zapatista on June 04, 2008, 01:12:56 PM
See opening post EC.
Post by: lurganblue on June 04, 2008, 01:59:55 PM
some photos pf natures power

(http://www.3mfuture.com/images/tsunami_wave_coming_now_too_late.jpg)

(http://nctr.pmel.noaa.gov/images/sumatra_tsunami.jpg)

(http://www.donan.com/images/lightning1.jpg)

(http://english.people.com.cn/200607/16/images/volcano1.jpg)

not sure about the first one though.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 04, 2008, 02:01:02 PM
Those people are laughing in the first one! That must be a photo-shop job.
Post by: lurganblue on June 04, 2008, 02:12:17 PM
aye thought that. either that or imminent death is better craic than we thought

still thought it interesting though
Post by: T O Hare on June 04, 2008, 02:23:48 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 04, 2008, 10:10:44 AM

when i bought that, i took it home and showed the oul boy, i said " thats the way to catch a ball", and he said that he never caught it o'neill palmed it away, he then said"sure he never touched leather that day" ;D, totally biased!!!!
Post by: EC Unique on June 04, 2008, 04:00:25 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on June 04, 2008, 01:12:56 PM
See opening post EC.

oops! Sorry.... :-\     Still means alot to me though. :)
Post by: Zapatista on June 04, 2008, 04:03:00 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 04, 2008, 04:00:25 PM
See opening post EC.

Me too ;)
Post by: screenexile on June 04, 2008, 04:23:09 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on June 04, 2008, 04:03:00 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 04, 2008, 04:00:25 PM
See opening post EC.

Me too ;)

Dicks!

(http://www.hemmy.net/images/sports/sportsmoments17.jpg)

(http://greatblogabout.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/04/s15-resize1.jpg)

(http://l.yimg.com/g/images/spaceball.gif)
Post by: ziggysego on June 04, 2008, 04:36:55 PM
(http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00136/SNN1809G_136516a.jpg)
Post by: stiffler on June 04, 2008, 04:42:08 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 04, 2008, 04:36:55 PM

Thats sick ziggy!
Post by: stpauls on June 04, 2008, 08:23:20 PM
Darvin Ham

(http://membres.lycos.fr/jujoseph/Darvin_Ham.jpg)
Post by: JimStynes on June 04, 2008, 10:32:45 PM
Quote from: stiffler on June 04, 2008, 04:42:08 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 04, 2008, 04:36:55 PM

Thats sick ziggy!

Leave ziggy alone stiffler.
Post by: stiffler on June 04, 2008, 10:35:06 PM
Whats your problem James?

Ziggy put up a picture that i thought was sick.

Go put out your own fires.
Post by: JimStynes on June 04, 2008, 10:36:32 PM
You pick on ziggy all the time. You love your hits
Post by: stiffler on June 04, 2008, 10:39:55 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on June 04, 2008, 10:36:32 PM
You pick on ziggy all the time. You love your hits

Post by: 5 Sams on June 05, 2008, 12:29:50 AM
Another cracker..............

(http://www.gaelicart.com/f/fckeditor/Image/GA_154.jpg)
Post by: dodo on June 05, 2008, 12:42:10 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 05, 2008, 12:29:50 AM
Another cracker..............

(http://www.gaelicart.com/f/fckeditor/Image/GA_154.jpg)

Is that Denis Walsh swinging at the second sliotar ?  :o
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on June 05, 2008, 01:18:15 AM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/03/magazine_enl_1064218142/img/1.jpg)

England soccer team play in Berlin in 1938.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on June 05, 2008, 03:37:04 AM
Quote from: Turlough O Carolan on June 05, 2008, 01:18:15 AM
(http://news.bbc.co.uk/nol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/03/magazine_enl_1064218142/img/1.jpg)

England soccer team play in Berlin in 1938.

It was around this time that British PM Neville Chamberlain declared 'Peace in our time' after the conclusion of 'peace' talks with Hitler

(http://granitegrok.com/pix/chamberlain2.jpg)

Hard to believe that they really didn't see it coming
Post by: Gnevin on June 05, 2008, 09:56:29 AM
(http://www.gaa.irish-guy.com/img/captioncomphk3.png)
Post by: armaghniac on June 05, 2008, 12:26:13 PM
Berlin Wall

(http://www.cs.utah.edu/~hatch/images/europe/berlin.guard)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 05, 2008, 05:14:46 PM
I don't suppose anyone knows where I could get the following photo in 1024 * 768 pixels or higher??? Need it for a project I'm currently working on...

Post by: Zapatista on June 05, 2008, 05:39:55 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 05, 2008, 05:14:46 PM
I don't suppose anyone knows where I could get the following photo in 1024

I doubt it, it was nearly a 1000 years ago :P
Post by: Zapatista on July 18, 2008, 09:17:28 AM
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/img/galleries/hubble/NO1_350x175.jpg)

The Sombrero Galaxy - 28 million light years from Earth - was voted best picture taken by the Hubble telescope. The dimensions of the galaxy, officially called M104, are as spectacular as its appearance. It has 800 billion suns and is 50,000 light years across
Post by: Seamus on August 07, 2008, 06:02:33 PM
The moderator will not allow me to post one of the photos as it is so horrifying.

WARNING: GRAPHIC PHOTOS

Click on the link to see for yourself

http://www.afghanistanafterdemocracy.com/page10.html (http://www.afghanistanafterdemocracy.com/page10.html)

Results of depleted uranium used by the US army in Afghanistan. Hundreds of thousands of innocent victims in Iraq and Afghanistan.
Post by: Puckoon on August 07, 2008, 06:08:28 PM
Those photographs make me speechless.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 07, 2008, 06:19:19 PM
Only got about half way down there before it was too much. Those photos are shocking. Worst I have seen.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 07, 2008, 06:23:07 PM
I only scrolled down for 3 pictures there. That's the most horrendous thing I've ever seen.

Man's blind indifference to his fellow man.
Post by: Lucius Fox on August 07, 2008, 06:24:14 PM
those pictures are awful, shocking stuff
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 07, 2008, 06:49:26 PM
(http://i35.tinypic.com/2wbw74y.jpg)
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on August 07, 2008, 07:10:20 PM
Could only look at the first couple of pictures. Truly horrific.
Post by: magickingdom on August 07, 2008, 07:23:35 PM
how can i post pics? tried copying but doesnt work..
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 07, 2008, 07:29:50 PM
You will need to host the images somewhere, try imageshack or the likes... Then they will give you a link looking somehting like this BLABLABLA (http://blablabla) and just stick that in your message.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on August 07, 2008, 08:25:16 PM
I don't suppose anyone knows where I could get the following photo in 1024 * 768 pixels or higher??? Need it for a project I'm currently working on...

I think that is a 1024 x 768 screensaver over on Orchardcounty.com
Post by: rolloutking on August 07, 2008, 08:47:56 PM
QuoteThe moderator will not allow me to post one of the photos as it is so horrifying.

http://www.afghanistanafterdemocracy.com/page10.html

Results of depleted uranium used by the US army in Afghanistan. Hundreds of thousands of innocent victims in Iraq and Afghanistan.

What in the name of god possessed you to go looking for something as morbid as that in the first place regardless of this thread and why would anyone want to see that?

That is truly stomach churning
Post by: heganboy on August 07, 2008, 08:53:05 PM
Jesus Christ Seamus!

Give us a proper feckin' warning...
Post by: The Gs Man on August 07, 2008, 10:33:42 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 07, 2008, 08:25:16 PM

For anyone who didn't see the other thread with this pic.......have a closer look at the bottom left and right corners......
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 07, 2008, 10:40:01 PM
What's the story with all the little head pictures there Gs Man?
Post by: Yes I Would on August 07, 2008, 10:53:12 PM
Quote from: Seamus on August 07, 2008, 06:02:33 PM
The moderator will not allow me to post one of the photos as it is so horrifying.

http://www.afghanistanafterdemocracy.com/page10.html (http://www.afghanistanafterdemocracy.com/page10.html)

And Bush has the cheek to be lecturing on human rights abuses, the fuckwit!!
Pictures like these should not be censored, shocking and horrific as they are.
Post by: gawa316 on August 07, 2008, 10:59:03 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 07, 2008, 10:33:42 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on August 07, 2008, 08:25:16 PM

For anyone who didn't see the other thread with this pic.......have a closer look at the bottom left and right corners......

Holy shit what is that?
Post by: Puckoon on August 07, 2008, 11:00:03 PM
Thats photographic evidence of the Tyrone midgets on the right hand side.
Post by: Seamus on August 07, 2008, 11:00:42 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on August 07, 2008, 08:47:56 PM
QuoteThe moderator will not allow me to post one of the photos as it is so horrifying.

What in the name of god possessed you to go looking for something as morbid as that in the first place regardless of this thread and why would anyone want to see that?

My apologies. I did say that the photos were horrifying. I have now edited it with a warning notice.

I did not go searching for those photographs, I heard an interview with the site owner this morning. I have seen plenty of the same after Gulf War 1.

Focus your anger toward the people that ordered those atrocities, not toward me.
Post by: ziggysego on August 07, 2008, 11:04:26 PM
Quote from: Seamus on August 07, 2008, 06:02:33 PM

WARNING: GRAPHIC PHOTOS

Horrific..... could only bear to look at two.
Post by: JimStynes on August 07, 2008, 11:10:01 PM
Quote from: Seamus on August 07, 2008, 11:00:42 PM

My apologies. I did say that the photos were horrifying. I have now edited it with a warning notice.

I did not go searching for those photographs, I heard an interview with the site owner this morning. I have seen plenty of the same after Gulf War 1.

Focus your anger toward the people that ordered those atrocities, not toward me.

Words cant describe them pictures. Totally shocking
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on August 07, 2008, 11:11:05 PM
That's terrible
Post by: JimStynes on August 07, 2008, 11:19:49 PM
(http://www.downtheroad.org/Asia/imagesb/VTHUMBS/3War_Remnants_Museum/DSC00063_small.JPG)
Picture of crippled and deformed victim of Agent Orange defoliant chemical attacks of US WMD's during the vietnam war.

(http://www.downtheroad.org/Asia/imagesb/VTHUMBS/3War_Remnants_Museum/DSC00043_smallb.JPG)
Picture of American soldier laughing historically at the charred remains of a VC soldier who was burned to death by a Napalm Bomb.

We could go all day posting pitures of things which america has done.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 08, 2008, 02:37:01 AM

Tell me what possible point scoring logic was behind
  posting a link such as that :'(
  There was a good reason the Mod didn't want it Seamus >:(
Post by: tyssam5 on August 08, 2008, 02:50:58 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 07, 2008, 11:19:49 PM
(http://www.downtheroad.org/Asia/imagesb/VTHUMBS/3War_Remnants_Museum/DSC00063_small.JPG)
Picture of crippled and deformed victim of Agent Orange defoliant chemical attacks of US WMD's during the vietnam war.

(http://www.downtheroad.org/Asia/imagesb/VTHUMBS/3War_Remnants_Museum/DSC00043_smallb.JPG)
Picture of American soldier laughing historically at the charred remains of a VC soldier who was burned to death by a Napalm Bomb.

We could go all day posting pitures of things which america has done.

We could indeed and we could likely match each and every one with things that we have done to ourselves. But let's not it would be pretty f**king depressing.
Post by: Seamus on August 08, 2008, 03:13:47 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on August 08, 2008, 02:37:01 AM

I assumed the moderator would not want it, he never informed  me one way or the other. That is the reason I only posted the link. It was the members choice to click on it.

Because of those photos maybe some war supporters may have a change of heart and realise that the powers that be have no regard for human life not to mind peoples freedoms.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 08, 2008, 03:54:01 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on August 08, 2008, 02:37:01 AM

QuoteBecause of those photos maybe some war supporters may have a change of heart and realise that the powers that be have no regard for human life not to mind peoples freedoms.

"Point" received ::)....... Maybe if you had as much interest in scoring other ways you mightn't
  have such a hard on for being Anti everything America ;)
Post by: The Gs Man on August 08, 2008, 09:57:10 AM
Quote from: Niall Quinn on August 07, 2008, 10:40:01 PM
What's the story with all the little head pictures there Gs Man?

Poor photoshopping by the looks of it.  Maybe they were empty seats, or there was a logo on the photo or something.

Post by: youngfella on August 08, 2008, 11:17:00 AM
I feel sick to the bone, totally shaken
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 08, 2008, 11:23:25 AM
Absolutely horrendous.
If the claims made on that site could be confirmed, then the Americans who carried out the attacks are no better then the Nazi's who ordered and carried out the brutal murder of millions of Europeans during WW2.
Post by: youngfella on August 08, 2008, 11:32:11 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 08, 2008, 11:23:25 AM
Absolutely horrendous.
If the claims made on that site could be confirmed, then the Americans who carried out the attacks are no better then the Nazi's who ordered and carried out the brutal murder of millions of Europeans during WW2.

seconded
Post by: stevo-08 on August 08, 2008, 11:32:55 AM
Quote from: Seamus on August 07, 2008, 11:00:42 PM

Without doubt the most horrific pictures I have ever seen. Truely shocking. I understand the need to educate the world about the real consequences of the Golf Wars but not sure if posting the pictures on this thread served any real purpose.

Seamus, without delving too much into the details (the pictures were more than enough!!), can you explain the background? Is it as a result of munition rounds/shells used by the US which then contaminated the people/food/land etc. and then led to birth defects??
Post by: heganboy on August 08, 2008, 03:05:13 PM
there has to be a conspiracy in there somewhere...
Post by: Seamus on August 08, 2008, 04:28:25 PM
Exactly stevo and it affects the soldiers and their families as well.  For more info on the horrors of depleted uranium go to http://www.gulfwarvets.com/du.htm (http://www.gulfwarvets.com/du.htm)

Quote from: Tyrones own on August 08, 2008, 03:54:01 AM
"Point" received ::)....... Maybe if you had as much interest in scoring other ways you mightn't

Tyrones own if supporting lies and propaganda is pro American and flag waving at times of war is Patriotic then good for you. I happen to believe it's the very opposite. I live in the US and would lay down my life to uphold the Constitution.

That cop out comment by you heganboy has surprised me, of all people on this board I did not expect it of you. Then again nothing surprises me anymore.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 08, 2008, 05:00:04 PM
Quote from: Seamus on August 08, 2008, 04:28:25 PM
Exactly stevo and it affects the soldiers and their families as well.  For more info on the horrors of depleted uranium go to http://www.gulfwarvets.com/du.htm (http://www.gulfwarvets.com/du.htm)

Quote from: Tyrones own on August 08, 2008, 03:54:01 AM

Tyrones own if supporting lies and propaganda is pro American and flag waving at times of war is Patriotic then good for you. I happen to believe it's the very opposite. I live in the US and would lay down my life to uphold the Constitution.

That cop out comment by you heganboy has surprised me, of all people on this board I did not expect it of you. Then again nothing surprises me anymore.

I have just read through the reports on the website that links up to the pictures. I do not see ANY evidence on their/his site that ties the US military directly to the photos. He (site owner) states that the birth defects are being studied to determine if there is an actual corelation to US arms and the birth defects.

One of his statements (paraphrase) "Taliban soldiers guns would melt in their hands after a Uranium grade munition went off in the field." Why would the soldier not melt? The site owner goes on to say " the Taliban soldiers would be fine one day but bleed out through their mouth later and die."  Again how can a metal gun melt in one's hands and  then walk away if there was such immediate damage?

The pictures are horrendous if real and not doctored. Could this Uranium poising be left over from the Russians who were there for over 20 years?

Uranium grade weapons register specific characteristics which can determine origin but the site owner states there is no definitive answer on who or what causes the radiation poising.

I wonder why these birth defects are not showing up in the US since many soldiers had to handle these weapons?

Post by: Seamus on August 08, 2008, 05:55:24 PM
So American bombs are not bad for your health but Russian bombs are, I've heard it all now. God help Georgia.
Post by: Tyrones own on August 09, 2008, 12:46:16 AM

That's not at all what he was getting at Seamus but then you know that already ::)
I suppose the question to you is how come you only have barbs and bitterness for said perceived
US atrocities but simply no mention of on going atrocities elsewhere in the world past or present ???
It's like Merle used to sing Seamus.......If you don't love it.. leave it!