Pictures worth a 1000 words.

Started by Zapatista, May 31, 2008, 10:34:39 AM

Here's that baby now. It's a great story.

More skyscraper pictures here http://www.damnfunnypictures.com/html/Up-on-a-Roof.html . I gather a lot of them are faked. Not sure about the lunch one, though.

Quote from: Minder on June 03, 2008, 01:56:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 01:52:23 PM
This is one of my favourite pictures.
I have a massive copy of it in my spare room.

It may have been on another thread but i read that photo is not real, maybe someone debunked this theory but i honestly cant remember.

A fantatic picture. I would say it's genuine but would imagine it is an opitical illousion like the one where the guy holds the sun or pushing over the tower in Pizza. I'd say they are not to far above solid ground. Of course they might be over the side of a huge building and I will probably never know.

Maximus Marillius

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 03, 2008, 02:38:07 PM
An experimental – and controversial – procedure for treating a crippling birth defect in the womb offered Trish and Mike Switzer the only chance that their daughter would walk like other children. But the fetal surgery posed a fatal dilemma: Their baby could die before she was born.

Photographer Max Aguilera saiud about this photo: "During a spina bifida corrective procedure at twenty-one weeks in utero, Samuel thrusts his tiny hand out of the surgical opening of his mother's uterus. As the doctor lifts his hand, Samuel reacts to the touch and squeezes the doctor's finger. As if testing for strength, the doctor shakes the tiny fist. Samuel held firm. At that moment, I took this "Fetal Hand Grasp" photo.

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 03, 2008, 02:53:50 PM
Here's that baby now. It's a great story.

that is incredible....stregthens the argument against abortion in a way that words cannot capture. Pictures worth a 1000 worths

Some sporting greats.........

Jesse Owens wins 4 gold.

Carl Lewis wins 4 Gold in LA

Mark Spitz win 7 Gold

Michelle Smith wins 3 gold. Pass the Whiskey...

Ali v Frasier

Ali v Foreman - Rope a Dope

Ali v Liston

Would you like salt and vinegar with that ear Mike?

Hagler v Duran

Hagler v Leonard

Hagler v Hearns

Like them or loathe them it was still a famous sporting moment.

But we still have the sweetest day of all.

A few more great Irish sporting days.........

Dr Pat O'Callaghan - Double Olympic Gold medal winner

Bob Tisdell wins Gold in the 1932 400m in LA

Gold for Ronnie Delany in Melbourne '56

Gold for Michael Carruth

Cian O'Connor win Gold but his horse is a junkie.

Great Irish Middle distance runners: Ray Flynn, Marcus O'Sullivan (the King of the Boards), Eamonn Coughlan, Sonia O'Sullivan

John Tracey Double World cross country champion (remember the mud in Limerick) and silver in the Olympics Marathon.

A great last frame...

Wee Barry lands one on Pedroza on a famous night.

Collins put Eubank on his hole

Sean Kelly on the cobbles in one of his 7 Paris - Roubaix classic wins

Stephen Roche wins the world championship and wraps up a unique treble in 1987.

Houghton v Italy in NY 94

Donegal Catch...

Stringer scores in the final for Munster

Munster 2006

Munster 2008

Croke Park Opened up...

A few historical ones

The Long fellow

The big fellow

JFK

Lee Harvey Oswald Shot

Robert Kennedy Shot

Gandhi

Martin Luther King - I have a dream

JPII

Mount Everest conquered

A hardy hoor of a Kerryman.

and finally...

The best sports picture I have ever seen is the one with Brian Mullins climbing for a ball and a Kerry man head and shoulders above  him....I think it was Sean Walsh....with P O Se and Tommy Drumm watching from the ground....But I'm fcuked if I can find on the internet. Has anyone got a link to it? Sums up Football in one snapshot....brilliant shot.

Willie O'Dea Limerick's Lone Ranger

5 Sams I know the one cant find it either. It was from 1979

Lads how do I put a picture up?

Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 03, 2008, 10:26:50 PM
Lads how do I put a picture up?

Is it one of your pictures or from another site?