Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Feckitt on May 27, 2008, 07:03:14 PM

Title: Protestants
Post by: Feckitt on May 27, 2008, 07:03:14 PM
I am a wee bit unsure about starting this thread, because I am afraid of it being hijacked by bigots and wind up merchants.  I am originally from South Armagh but now work in an office in the North which is mixed about 50/50.  Everyone gets on great, and I would not have a bad word said about anyone here, RC or Protestant.

What I wanted to ask though, is it normal for Northern Protestants to,
1. Never have heard of Dustin the Turkey.
2. Never to have heard of the Late Late show.
3. To call Monaghan, (Monackon)
4. To not be able to pronounce Aisling
5. To never have heard of Brian Cowen

I know that these are all small things, and they don't annoy me.  Don't get me wrong.  I am just surprised!  Maybe I am the niave one, and I should not be surprised at all. 
Title: Re: Protestants
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 27, 2008, 07:08:16 PM
I love these threads, cue about ten pages of arguing!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 27, 2008, 07:26:34 PM
flags,
themmuns,
whataboutery
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 27, 2008, 07:33:13 PM
QuoteWhat I wanted to ask though, is it normal for Northern Protestants to,

No, but it probably just proves there's idiots in every religion.
Post by: fred the red on May 27, 2008, 07:33:46 PM
Why do they call H 'eahhh'
Post by: Tankie on May 27, 2008, 07:41:41 PM
Well i couldnt tell you wants on UTV or BBC regarding the North unless its very popular or RTE cover it as i rarely watch these stations. I was very surprised tho when i met a protestant and he didnt know much about all of above and GAA.
Post by: ziggysego on May 27, 2008, 08:12:31 PM
Depends on the people I guess. A right few of the Protestants I know are well up on current affairs in the south and cultural stuff (even Dustin the Turkey)

Then again, there are those that aren't. Might you, they don't know what's happening at the end of their own roads.
Post by: dodo on May 27, 2008, 08:17:16 PM
Not sure of the relevance but what the heck !

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=KZNxRpqabHY
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 27, 2008, 08:18:55 PM
One of my very best mates is a protestant from Portadown..
He knows all about Gaa,Irish politics and all that
He's not interested in any of it but he knows about it
Post by: doire na raithe on May 27, 2008, 08:19:13 PM
Alot of catholics I know from Antrim would not be fully aware of Dustin the turkey and would only really know of him as some sort of puppet character from Dublin.
Post by: charlie stubbs on May 27, 2008, 08:28:25 PM
laislad hes bound to know the machinegun hamill from ballyoran park along, with big mc doo, wee mcdoo, slasher dogbox, bisto and all the other greats of tirnanog gfc :D!!
Post by: take_yer_points on May 27, 2008, 08:30:40 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 27, 2008, 08:19:13 PM
Alot of catholics I know from Antrim would not be fully aware of Dustin the turkey and would only really know of him as some sort of puppet character from Dublin.

A lot of Catholics from Belfast don't know anything further west than Makro! A friend of mine thought Fermanagh was in the republic and Monaghan was one of the six counties when we were watching the game on Sunday!

A few years back I remember a fella in work telling us that there is 6 counties in Ulster - we had a job convincing him that there was 9! He ended up phoning the DUP office in Belfast on speaker phone and they confirmed that there are 9 counties in Ulster. He was telling us that in school he was taught that there was only 6 in Ulster.
Post by: doire na raithe on May 27, 2008, 08:38:26 PM
Only good thing about hardline Unionists, they don't subscribe to the six county Ulster bullshit. They are more inclined to be follow Carson who was deeply aggrieved at having to give up Monaghan, Donegal and Cavan.
Post by: Niall Quinn on May 27, 2008, 08:51:20 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on May 27, 2008, 08:28:25 PM
big mc doo, wee mcdoo, slasher dogbox, bisto

excellent assortment of names.
Post by: The Iceman on May 27, 2008, 08:52:49 PM
yeah i think you would be shocked at the generalised stereotypes on both sides

i did a bit of cross-community work back at university "bridging the gap" stuff.  One of the sessions was called   - "what we think of protestants and what we think they think of us"  both religions completed the exercise and the results were comical

i think what it exposed was that we are all ignorant
Post by: Yes I Would on May 27, 2008, 10:30:37 PM
Some of them i believe dont like to admit that they are fully aware of whats happening down south.
A subtle polite way of saying that its what happens in Uk that concerns them, and down south is completely irrelevant. Could be seen as a way of convincing themselves of perceived identity.

Post by: Rav67 on May 27, 2008, 10:49:27 PM
I would say the majority of folk in the North have very little idea what goes on in the South.  I'd be surprised at someone not having heard tell of the Late Late but I'd say easily over half wouldn't know Brian Cowen.  Protestants do tend to take the isolationist view of the 6 counties being separate from the 26, but you'd be taken aback by the lack of knowledge about anything south of the border from plenty of Catholics too.  Its a media thing, most people read British papers and don't watch RTE.  For example I remember when the trial was on relating to that wee boy from Cork who got killed by the fella O'Donoghue, I was saying to a group of ones at work about it and no-one knew anything of it, and one of the boys there was from Kildare.  He never even read the Irish papers either and no-one used to be able to get rte in any of the student houses in Belfast (I think its on one of the sky packages now).  My work was nearly all Catholic too btw.
Post by: JimStynes on May 27, 2008, 10:49:39 PM
You can spot a protestant a mile away in the university area of belfast. They are the ones running about with the fancy hair (coloured, spiked etc) and the fancy clothes. They all go to the box, beach club, skye etc. One good thing is the protestant women tend to be better looking.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 27, 2008, 11:08:33 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 27, 2008, 10:49:39 PM
You can spot a protestant a mile away in the university area of belfast. They are the ones running about with the fancy hair (coloured, spiked etc) and the fancy clothes. They all go to the box, beach club, skye etc. One good thing is the protestant women tend to be better looking.

I think you are confusing the term 'protestant' and 'homosexual' there... I always found that the best way to suss out 'Iron Rods' was to make a joke about Daniel O' Donnell - the believers in the Reformation are a bit vague on him. The other sure fire way is to ask people if they are they descended from ................horse
...................................... Lowlands of Scotland.................If they say .......................................... So, there you go..............
Post by: Orior on May 27, 2008, 11:10:30 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on May 27, 2008, 07:03:14 PM
I am a wee bit unsure about starting this thread, because I am afraid of it being hijacked by bigots and wind up merchants.  I am originally from South Armagh but now work in an office in the North which is mixed about 50/50.  Everyone gets on great, and I would not have a bad word said about anyone here, RC or Protestant.

I know that these are all small things, and they don't annoy me.  Don't get me wrong.  I am just surprised!  Maybe I am the niave one, and I should not be surprised at all. 

Ah jeez, this brings me back to my younger days when I spent a few years in the Civil Service up at Stormont. Over coffee break (yeah, they have those in the civil service) they would discuss how awful it was that Labour and the Tories dont put up candidates in the north's elections. I was so close to saying that I'd love to see Fine Gael and Fine Fail put up candidates, but i needed the money to get married and buy a house.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2008, 11:15:14 PM
Ok seems a normal thread, here's a question I like to ask..

Where do Nationalist Protestants come into this and what about Loyalist Catholics, do they even exist? Remember I'm from the South and have one friend originally from the Falls Road but she lives in Perth now so have little exposure to northern attitudes and opinions expect what I read here.
Post by: Minus15 on May 27, 2008, 11:21:36 PM
i remember in 1st year geography at university we were split into groups with a map of ireland in front of us and we had to name the thirty-two counties and put them in the correct place. I got them all but some of the protestant girls were putting galway below dublin and one even mixed up derry and tyrone. It was like spot the catholic that day not that my big gah jersey and o'neills bottoms werent a big giveaway.
Post by: Rav67 on May 27, 2008, 11:26:02 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2008, 11:15:14 PM

Where do Nationalist Protestants come into this and what about Loyalist Catholics, do they even exist? Remember I'm from the South and have one friend originally from the Falls Road but she lives in Perth now so have little exposure to northern attitudes and opinions expect what I read here.

There'd definitely be a lot more unionist Catholics, mainly due to the natural tendency to prefer constitutional status quos.  I'd also guess there's more Protestants who are totally politically apathetic, but again that's to be expected given the constitutional situation (ie they have what they want so not a lot to get bothered about!)
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2008, 12:22:07 AM

Here you go
http://www.ark.ac.uk/nilt/2006/Political_Attitudes/UNINATID.html (http://www.ark.ac.uk/nilt/2006/Political_Attitudes/UNINATID.html)
It's not science but it's a good indicator.
You may be surprised that there are more catholics, some  3%, who are content with the Union than there are Protestants who would  recognize a national identity (a figure so low it doesn't register).

Post by: Rav67 on May 28, 2008, 12:26:43 AM
Exactly why there wont be a united Ireland in any of our lifetimes-    if you're a "neither" you're really just a closet unionist.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 28, 2008, 12:41:18 AM
In Belfast many moons ago random crowd I ended up drinking with were unaware of County Longford - totally unaware.This would have been late 80s/early 90s.

Earlier in the same day I stopped to listen to some lad with a megaphone near Belfast City Hall telling us that unless we turned to Jesus we were all doomed yada yada yada.

This 50ish wan stopped, paused, and said in a conversational voice to nobody in particular:

"I'm a Presbyterian, and I'm goin to Heaven"

and walked off with her messages

I was amazed.

Strange folk are Northerners................
Post by: the milkman on May 28, 2008, 08:09:52 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on May 27, 2008, 10:49:39 PM

You love the protestant women Jim!!!!!!!!
Post by: parttimeexile on May 28, 2008, 08:55:12 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 28, 2008, 12:41:18 AM
In Belfast many moons ago random crowd I ended up drinking with were unaware of County Longford - totally unaware.This would have been late 80s/early 90s.

Earlier in the same day I stopped to listen to some lad with a megaphone near Belfast City Hall telling us that unless we turned to Jesus we were all doomed yada yada yada.

This 50ish wan stopped, paused, and said in a conversational voice to nobody in particular:

"I'm a Presbyterian, and I'm goin to Heaven"

and walked off with her messages

I was amazed.

Strange folk are Northerners................

I thought Longford was a mythical place..like the land that time forgot :D
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 28, 2008, 09:02:55 AM
QuoteHere you go
http://www.ark.ac.uk/nilt/2006/Political_Attitudes/UNINATID.html

Cheers Main Street, I always thought or was led to believe that there was an awful lot of Protestant Nationalists, obviously not and consevrsely shocked at the Unionist Catholic figure. Very interesting.
Post by: nrico2006 on May 28, 2008, 09:10:49 AM
QuoteYou can spot a protestant a mile away in the university area of belfast. They are the ones running about with the fancy hair (coloured, spiked etc) and the fancy clothes. They all go to the box, beach club, skye etc. One good thing is the protestant women tend to be better looking.

Is there not quite a few Ahagallon men who fit that description that are seen around the box/beachclub on weeknights then also seen throwing their best break dancing moves in the Ashtray on a Saturday night?!?

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2008, 10:11:47 AM
Are born agains prods or not?, I do know that they think that prods as well as catholics don't go to heaven - "only the saved can go to the kingdom of god" ! feckin numpties.  >:(
Post by: Mickey Linden on May 28, 2008, 10:26:06 AM
I have been working down in Dublin for the last 9 months and am often surprised to hear how little people down here know or care about the north. I had to explain to my boss the other day that July 12 and 13 were holidays in the north.

The fact is most people in Ireland pay little attention to what happens outside their locality! If people down here refuse to pay much interest in what happens in the 6 counties it is hardly surprising that Northern Protestants pay little attention to current affairs in the free state.
Post by: rosnarun on May 28, 2008, 10:44:53 AM
born agains can be of any demonination . dana used to claim to be born again.
But dont confuse english Protestants as having anyything to do with religion after all it was only founded because their king got a hard on for the maid.
Post by: Orior on May 28, 2008, 10:45:09 AM
A number of years ago a young lad fromTigers Bay (loyalist area) was on Queen Street throwing petrol bombs at the New Lodge area (nationalist) when the bomb went off in his hand killing him.

The headstone on his grave (up in Carnmoney) has 2 logos. One is for the YCV (junior wing of the UVF) and the other is a Glasgow Celtic badge.

Go figure.
Post by: nifan on May 28, 2008, 10:55:06 AM
QuoteBut dont confuse english Protestants as having anyything to do with religion after all it was only founded because their king got a hard on for the maid.

Henry the eigth may or may not have become a protestant on his deathbed.
Before that he wasnt one - he was a catholic who split from Rome.
Post by: WaterBoy on May 28, 2008, 11:10:53 AM

There known as the SDLP up here  ;)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2008, 11:51:22 AM
Quote from: WaterBoy on May 28, 2008, 11:10:53 AM

There known as the SDLP up here  ;)

Aka Castle Catholics.
Post by: red hander on May 28, 2008, 12:02:44 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on May 27, 2008, 11:21:36 PM
i remember in 1st year geography at university we were split into groups with a map of ireland in front of us and we had to name the thirty-two counties and put them in the correct place. I got them all but some of the protestant girls were putting galway below dublin and one even mixed up derry and tyrone. It was like spot the catholic that day not that my big gah jersey and o'neills bottoms werent a big giveaway.

You were asked to do this in your 1st year at university?  Jaysus, did they let youse play in the sandbox and make monster masks outta cornflakes boxes, too? ;)
Post by: stiff breeze on May 28, 2008, 01:01:55 PM

sounds like first year in secondary school. did you mean that you big gay jersey was a giveaway? I always knew anyway. your womans a cover story
Post by: Whitehair on May 28, 2008, 01:05:27 PM
QuoteA number of years ago a young lad fromTigers Bay (loyalist area) was on Queen Street throwing petrol bombs at the New Lodge area (nationalist) when the bomb went off in his hand killing him.

The headstone on his grave (up in Carnmoney) has 2 logos. One is for the YCV (junior wing of the UVF) and the other is a Glasgow Celtic badge.

I remember hearing about that lad and on his anniversary teenage nationalists would come down the limestone rd? from the Antrim Rd all wearing big foam hands that you'd at an ice hockey game taunting the protestants. Sorta thing you shouldnt laugh at but tbh I did when i was told!
Post by: Minus15 on May 28, 2008, 01:09:07 PM
Quote from: stiff breeze on May 28, 2008, 01:01:55 PM

sounds like first year in secondary school. did you mean that you big gay jersey was a giveaway? I always knew anyway. your womans a cover story

Big Stiffy
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2008, 01:43:38 PM
Janey Mac! Only nifan has joined in.
Where is EG and gweltyah and SammyG?
I thought this thread would be a magnet for the OWC lads.
Post by: Evil Genius on May 28, 2008, 02:20:34 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2008, 01:43:38 PM

Not really anything to do with me, seeing as I'm not a Prod. In fact, I've not a huge deal of time for organised religion of any sort, nor do I see a great difference between the two main Christian sects in Ireland.
Post by: Donagh on May 28, 2008, 02:35:39 PM

Sure them boys are practically English so can be forgiven for not know much about the aspects of Irish culture and society that are mentioned. As for those referred to in the thread title, they're telling lies. They may want you (and more importantly their neighbors) to think they are good White Anglo Saxon Protestants, untainted by any influence from the Papish Irish, but we know rightly they have the RTE aerials hidden in the attic and that's Pat Kenney they're watching behind those curtains.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2008, 02:36:06 PM

SammyG claims no God either, not sure about MW, Tony Hawks, GAWA and weesaysanchez - gweltah is just an alterego of EG or Sammy.
Post by: The Subbie on May 28, 2008, 02:38:47 PM
Taigs say Drogheda , prods say Drok-hee-da. :)
Post by: nifan on May 28, 2008, 02:41:39 PM
Quote from: Donagh on May 28, 2008, 02:35:39 PM
Sure them boys are practically English

Aye dead on ;)
Post by: Evil Genius on May 28, 2008, 02:55:26 PM
Quote from: nifan on May 28, 2008, 02:41:39 PM
Sure them boys are practically English

Aye dead on ;)

September 7th, 2005  ;)
Post by: Evil Genius on May 28, 2008, 02:57:50 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 28, 2008, 02:36:06 PM
gweltah is just an alterego of EG or Sammy.

Sammy it is, then  :D
Post by: SammyG on May 28, 2008, 04:09:01 PM

Thanks for your concern. Two reasons I haven't posted, firstly I haven't been on the site for a while and secondly even if I had been I'm not a Prod.

As far as the original questions

1. Never have heard of Dustin the Turkey. - Not before all the Eurovision shite
2. Never to have heard of the Late Late show. - Heard of and been in the audience a few times
3. To call Monaghan, (Monackon) - never heard it pronounced like that
4. To not be able to pronounce Aisling - could pronounce it
5. To never have heard of Brian Cowen - never heard of him before a few weeks ago
Post by: SammyG on May 28, 2008, 04:10:22 PM
Quote from: Donagh on May 28, 2008, 02:35:39 PMSure them boys are practically English
Fcuk me that just never stops being funny.
so can be forgiven for not know much about the aspects of Irish culture and society that are mentioned. As for those referred to in the thread title, they're telling lies. They may want you (and more importantly their neighbors) to think they are good White Anglo Saxon Protestants, untainted by any influence from the Papish Irish, but we know rightly they have the RTE aerials hidden in the attic and that's Pat Kenney they're watching behind those curtains.
Interesting so you're not just a cultural analyst but also a mind-reader.  ::)
Post by: Evil Genius on May 28, 2008, 04:28:35 PM
Quote from: SammyG on May 28, 2008, 04:10:22 PM
so can be forgiven for not know much about the aspects of Irish culture and society that are mentioned. As for those referred to in the thread title, they're telling lies. They may want you (and more importantly their neighbors) to think they are good White Anglo Saxon Protestants, untainted by any influence from the Papish Irish, but we know rightly they have the RTE aerials hidden in the attic and that's Pat Kenney they're watching behind those curtains.
Interesting so you're not just a cultural analyst but also a mind-reader.  ::)

Perhaps, for all the jokey style, Donagh needs to convince himself of that, since it conforms to his stereotype of "themmuns" generally, as well specifically giving justification to his particular brand of "Brits Out" politics i.e. "Sure the more they protest their Brit/English/WASP heritage etc, the less right they have to complain at our driving them back where they came from"  :o

Yet the one thing that "ussuns", on this Board at least, have in common is that we tend not to conform to a single, simple stereotype.

Typically awkward, non-conformist bastards, eh?  ;)
Post by: Donagh on May 28, 2008, 04:30:48 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 28, 2008, 04:28:35 PM

Yet the one thing that "ussuns", on this Board at least, have in common is that we tend not to conform to a single, simple stereotype.

That's very true, our OWC friends are not all windbagging wankers, just the odd one.
Post by: corn02 on May 28, 2008, 04:31:13 PM
Have to agree with the Monakan one. Boy in Newry I use to work with always talked about Monakan street.
Post by: EC Unique on May 28, 2008, 04:36:04 PM
I always find it interesting that alot of prods are 'British' or 'Northern Irish' when at home but when they are abroad they are all 'Irish' as the 'Irish' are much better accepted than brits in most of the world :D :D
Post by: Evil Genius on May 28, 2008, 04:39:20 PM
Quote from: Donagh on May 28, 2008, 04:30:48 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 28, 2008, 04:28:35 PM

That's very true, our OWC friends are not all windbagging wankers, just the odd one.

"our OWC friends"? You might have got away with "my" and "friend" - though even that would have been pushing it... ::)
Post by: SammyG on May 28, 2008, 04:43:14 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on May 28, 2008, 02:57:50 PM
gweltah is just an alterego of EG or Sammy.

Sammy it is, then  :D

Not guilty your honour.
Post by: Puckoon on May 28, 2008, 04:44:01 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on May 28, 2008, 04:36:04 PM
I always find it interesting that alot of prods are 'British' or 'Northern Irish' when at home but when they are abroad they are all 'Irish' as the 'Irish' are much better accepted than brits in most of the world :D :D

Not true. We have a fresh influx of irish students here every year. Hopefully every year we get a few of themmuns (the boys like to see them coming). When we do get them, they are very quick to tell people who ask them where they are from that they are from Northern Ireland, and are Northern Irish. Not Irish.

Post by: his holiness nb on May 28, 2008, 04:44:50 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on May 27, 2008, 07:26:34 PM
flags,
themmuns,
whataboutery

:D :D :D :D
Post by: Surreal Steve on May 28, 2008, 05:06:18 PM

:D :D :D :D

you jordanstown students/alumni never fail to amuse
Post by: Solomon Kane on May 28, 2008, 06:05:43 PM
Personally speaking I couldn't name one presenter on any of the RTE presenter (apart from the Ballydung duo). Not out of any reason other than I have hundreds of channels to choose from and RTE, TV3 and TG4 are nowhere near the top of the list, apart from the odd American import they show if they get it ahead of Sky. At least they had the wit to get rid of those wankers who used to be on at either side of the adverts during Lost.  
Post by: JimStynes on May 28, 2008, 06:34:35 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 28, 2008, 09:10:49 AM
QuoteYou can spot a protestant a mile away in the university area of belfast. They are the ones running about with the fancy hair (coloured, spiked etc) and the fancy clothes. They all go to the box, beach club, skye etc. One good thing is the protestant women tend to be better looking.

Is there not quite a few Ahagallon men who fit that description that are seen around the box/beachclub on weeknights then also seen throwing their best break dancing moves in the Ashtray on a Saturday night?!?

think you got it mixed up with some tyrone immigrant in the lurgan area
Post by: raisins on May 29, 2008, 08:00:36 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on May 27, 2008, 07:03:14 PM

Haha! This is really funny. Okay then Feckitt. From a good loyal Prod...Here are your responses mate...
Most of us haven't heard of Dustin the Turkey but agree the Eurovision song is pure crap
The Late ,Late show is an institution - Of course we've watched. But Pat Kenny is a poor man's Gaybo
My Mum's family were from Monaghan so of course we can pronounce it..It's Dun Laoghaire that a bummer
Aisling. Yep . I've made that mistake before. And hubby wrote Happy Birthday Shuvon to a girl in his office one time.
Is it rude not to have heard of Brian Cowen? Bring back Bertie!! 

Other things of note
Not all Prods appreciate the 12th marches
Are Catholic boys really full of guilt?
I can say Dublin in Irish...
Post by: stephenite on May 29, 2008, 08:09:46 AM
Would there be many in Waterford that would be au fait with Gerry Kelly and whatever heap of shite he used to front on UTV on a Friday night?
Post by: nifan on May 29, 2008, 09:54:01 AM
Dustin the Turkey was very well known by people my age when I was growing up. I know a few from tullyalley - a pretty hardcore prod estate - who where big fans of dustin back in the mid 90s.
RTE was always easily picked up in Derry though - grew up seeing bosco and 40 coats - what was that about!!! -as well as all the british stuff.
It probably depends where you where - antrim hardly saw as much.

As for the late late - always saw it on, the ma liked it with gaybo, i always thought it shite apart from the toy show.
The in laws still watch it, but even they think its shite now.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 29, 2008, 01:55:15 PM
QuoteHaha! This is really funny. Okay then Feckitt. From a good loyal Prod...Here are your responses mate...
Most of us haven't heard of Dustin the Turkey but agree the Eurovision song is pure crap
The Late ,Late show is an institution - Of course we've watched. But Pat Kenny is a poor man's Gaybo
My Mum's family were from Monaghan so of course we can pronounce it..It's Dun Laoghaire that a bummer
Aisling. Yep . I've made that mistake before. And hubby wrote Happy Birthday Shuvon to a girl in his office one time.
Is it rude not to have heard of Brian Cowen? Bring back Bertie!!

Other things of note
Not all Prods appreciate the 12th marches
Are Catholic boys really full of guilt?
I can say Dublin in Irish...

I’d imagine that raisins is speaking for most Prods I know. On or two answers might be different from individual to individual but overall the level of knowledge would be about the same.
Post by: Chrisowc on May 29, 2008, 02:01:57 PM
Quote from: raisins on May 29, 2008, 08:00:36 AM

I've heard a few people splutter 'Sigh o ban' too ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on May 29, 2008, 02:05:56 PM
That's what the Yanks called my sister in law when she came over to stay with us for a summer. Sigh - O- Ban,
Post by: Hardy on May 29, 2008, 02:22:54 PM
I couldn't be sure, but I thought I heard Sambo, interviewed this morning on the Radio 1 sports news about the hurling mentoring scheme, referring to Monaghan as "Monackan". Does that make him a left footer or does it blow one theory out of the water?

Also, the interviewer called him Sambo throughout. Is he usually addressed like that?
Post by: Minder on May 29, 2008, 03:29:29 PM
You have to make allowances for Sambo.........
Post by: clootfromthe21 on May 29, 2008, 03:47:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 29, 2008, 03:24:52 PM
Aye, he's Sambo alright. Sometimes Turnce. You're lying about him saying Monackon though. More like, t..t..tMonackon.

You are a bad bad man, Hardstation.

Sure wouldn't Sambo know well how to pronounce Monaghan - aren't one/some of his ancestors from the Kya - Van area?? F@%k'n blow in!
Post by: the real slim shady on May 29, 2008, 04:07:27 PM
Was at uni a few years ago and a few girls telling me that they were going down to Ireland for the weekend....always bugged the sh*te outta me!!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 29, 2008, 04:54:22 PM

A man walks into a pub carrying a crocodile under one arm. He goes up to the barman and says, 'Hey, mate, do ye serve Protestants in this bar?'
One wary eye on the crocodile, the barman replies,
'Aye, sure we do.'
'Okay,' says the customer, 'In that case, a pint of lager for me an a Hun for my wee crocodile pal here.'
Post by: An Fear Rua on May 29, 2008, 08:58:08 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 29, 2008, 04:54:22 PM

A man walks into a pub carrying a crocodile under one arm. He goes up to the barman and says, 'Hey, mate, do ye serve Protestants in this bar?'
One wary eye on the crocodile, the barman replies,
'Aye, sure we do.'
'Okay,' says the customer, 'In that case, a pint of lager for me an a Hun for my wee crocodile pal here.'

someone call the RSPCA, people like him shouldnt be allowed pets
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 29, 2008, 10:08:05 PM
Look, the thang about Prodestans is that there are distinct types ... COI .. bit catholic and middle class etc moderate on the whole... Methodists .. same... Non Subscribing Presbos .. ditto... HOWEVER, the offspring of John Knox, the landless, Lowland louts, the Presbyterians, are a different kettle of fish... These people - or their leaders - chained the swings up in the Belfast parks until the 1970s ... they think that they are THE PEOPLE !!! thus catholics, blacks, gays, pakistanis, Manchester police officers .. are all scum as they pose a threat to their superior way of life.... Personally, I don't blame Martin Luther... I blame Pope Leo X and perhaps the Borgia Popes ... as if I lived in 16the century Europe I would not have been a catholic .... I would have broke away .. formed my own church .. Jesus Christ Church of Latter Day Hurlers (On the Bitch Wing)...
Post by: MW on May 29, 2008, 10:15:24 PM

SammyG claims no God either, not sure about MW, Tony Hawks, GAWA and weesaysanchez - gweltah is just an alterego of EG or Sammy.

Agnostic. Strongly secularist but I find religion very interesting in an academic kinda way. :)
Post by: Fishbat on May 29, 2008, 11:33:19 PM
Quote from: stephenite on May 29, 2008, 08:09:46 AM
Would there be many in Waterford that would be au fait with Gerry Kelly and whatever heap of shite he used to front on UTV on a Friday night?

Theres people in Waterfoot wouldn't be au fait with Geraldo, let alone Waterford.

What about terms of endearment for the parents? - "Ma and Da" or "the Auld Doll/fella/boy"  definitely a no go area for a lot of Protestants - too informal, slaps round the jowls have made it taboo

The Monackon thing is only used by Protestants in the East and North - not by the much better educated Protestants from Tyrone and Fermanagh
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 29, 2008, 11:35:45 PM
Same with GAR - VAK - E road or the GAR VA HEE - simple... the hard K ... Lowland Scots......
Post by: the green man on May 29, 2008, 11:55:54 PM
Lads, its the 'GH' that they cant get the tongues around. The irish language would be classed as 'gutteral' were the 'gh' is ggggghhhhh.

We have an office in Liverpool, and the man their can't get the 'GH' at all.

Were as we would say

Maghera as Mahera

He says Mag - hera

We would say Aghadowey as Ahadoway

he says Aga - Dooway

We would say Magherafelt as Marafelt

he would say MaG era felt
Post by: the green man on May 30, 2008, 12:13:50 AM
Quote from: hardstation on May 30, 2008, 12:02:37 AM
By the way, Marafelt is just pure laziness. I would say Maharafelt.
Bit like those lazy feckers in Coalisland who say Cline. One syllable.

Listen up shaftie. Its Marafelt around here. Ok.
Post by: Minus15 on May 30, 2008, 01:02:08 AM
its maharafelt for me too. that cline one's a laugh
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 30, 2008, 10:05:10 AM

What about the English newsreader who pronounced COALISLAND as 'There has been a bomb explosion in Co-ollies-land' - sounded like an African colony.... The same is true in Glasgow to an extent regarding pronounciation e.g the word Stairs ... They say that a Celtic fan would say stay-ers ... whilst a blue-nose would say Steers...
Post by: Maximus Marillius on May 30, 2008, 10:14:07 AM
                              An Irish daughter had not been home for over
                              5 years. Upon her return, her father cussed
                              her. 'Where have ye been all this time? Why
                              did ye not write to us, not even a line?  Why
                              didn't ye call? Can ye not understand what ye
                              put yer old mum thru?

The girl, crying, replied, 'Sniff, sniff....
                              dad.... I became a prostitute....'

'Ye what!!? Out of here, ye shameless harlot!
                              Sinner! You're a disgrace to this family.'

'OK, dad.... as ye wish. I just came back to
                              give mum this luxurious fur coat, title deed
                              to a ten bedroom mansion plus a savings
                              certificate for $5 million. For me little
                              brother this gold Rolex and for ye daddy the
                              sparkling new Mercedes limited edition
                              convertible that's parked outside plus a
                              membership to the country club.... (takes a
                              breath).... an invitation for ye all to spend
                              New Years Eve on board my new yacht in the
                              Riviera, and....'

'Now what was it ye said ye had become?' says
                              dad.

Girl, crying again, 'Sniff, sniff.... a
                              prostitute dad! Sniff, sniff.'

'Oh! Be Jesus!.... Ye scared me half to
                              death, girl! I thought ye said 'a
                              Protestant'. Come here and give yer old man a
                              big hug!'
Post by: doire na raithe on May 30, 2008, 12:21:29 PM
not forgetting Cookstown - 'the Cookstun'
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 30, 2008, 12:33:36 PM
Quote from: Fishbat on May 29, 2008, 11:33:19 PM
Quote from: stephenite on May 29, 2008, 08:09:46 AM

Theres people in Waterfoot wouldn't be au fait with Geraldo, let alone Waterford.

What about terms of endearment for the parents? - "Ma and Da" or "the Auld Doll/fella/boy"  definitely a no go area for a lot of Protestants - too informal, slaps round the jowls have made it taboo
The Monackon thing is only used by Protestants in the East and North - not by the much better educated Protestants from Tyrone and Fermanagh

Do prods say mammy and daddy?
Post by: tyssam5 on May 30, 2008, 06:50:16 PM
Quote from: the green man on May 29, 2008, 11:55:54 PM
Lads, its the 'GH' that they cant get the tongues around. The irish language would be classed as 'gutteral' were the 'gh' is ggggghhhhh.

We have an office in Liverpool, and the man their can't get the 'GH' at all.

Were as we would say

Maghera as Mahera

He says Mag - hera

We would say Aghadowey as Ahadoway

he says Aga - Dooway

We would say Magherafelt as Marafelt

he would say MaG era felt

Wayne McCullock the packit rackit!
Post by: ONeill on May 30, 2008, 06:52:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 30, 2008, 12:40:04 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on May 30, 2008, 12:21:29 PM
not forgetting Cookstown - 'the Cookstun'
Another funny one is Moortown.
"Moortun"

Stewartstown - Stewstn
Post by: Main Street on May 30, 2008, 08:43:57 PM
Monaghan  to natives -  Monhan

Dogheda to Northerners   - Drockeda
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 30, 2008, 08:51:01 PM
Tyrone people say "Dunnnggghhhnn" instead of Dungannon.... also Strbe instead of Strabane  and Nwsryt instead of Newtownstewart.... Protestants say DunkkgaNNonk .. StrakBANN AND Nwsryt..
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 30, 2008, 09:30:52 PM
And the name Cathal ... or Cackill - lot of Belfast taigs fall forthat one...
Post by: Apple Top on May 30, 2008, 09:37:00 PM
p***k in my work said his daughter was in hospital - only cartoon was on RTE but it was some funny yakky yakky speak - must of been Irish!!!! Another asswipe complained because when coming from London to Belfast she had to go through the queue for Ireland - is Belfast in a different country?
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 30, 2008, 09:45:45 PM
Quote from: hardstation on May 30, 2008, 09:35:13 PM
Like Joe Cackle and Dinny Cackle?

Indeed, also .. Cardinal Cackle Daly... .................................everyone with the surname Cahill is known as 'CACK' ...  meaning SHITE