Firstly the atmosphere was arguably the most fanatical I have ever experienced and I've been to the likes of the Bernabeau, Nou Camp, Stadio Olympico in Rome, numerous Old Firm games (including an Old Firm Scottish Cup Final) and Celtic V Juventus and Man Ure in the Champions League at parkhead.
Secondly the quality of play was first rate throughout, the skill level phenomenal, and I almost felt sorry for the goons ;D but alas their inability to deal with high balls ( a quite basic flaw) and lack of temperament at the back ( toure panicked big time against Babel), are the main reasons why they wont have any trophies on display this year in contrast to the likes of Spurs and Man Ure. It was a clear penalty by the way,as I was seated at that side of the stadium and had a clear view.Benitez showed himself to be three times the tactician that Wenger is.
Thirdly Anfield is a shit stadium for a club that has won the European Cup 5 times. No screen, lack of leg room for even small people in the seats, but paradoxically the compactness lends itself to such an intimidating atmosphere that the likes of Chelsea and Arsenal cannot cope with on Champions League occasions.
How many hot dogs did you munch your way through?
Quotebut paradoxically the compactness lends itself to such an intimidating atmosphere that the likes of Chelsea and Arsenal cannot cope with on Champions League occasions.
Lol, good one. Liverpool seem to simply get the rub of the green (x 10) whenever they play in Europe, the goal that never was in 2005 and the penalty from Tuesday night - hardly argument that Liverpool and Chelsea cannot cope with the fortress that is Anfield! ;D ;D ;D
Exactly nrico, it is certainly extreme luck that they have reached 3 semi finals in the last 4 years........Tell whiskeynose to give Benitez a shout and he will point him in the direction of how to win in the Camp Nou, dont worry Stoichkov & Romario wont be playing this time........
Ziggy, no shit hot dogs at Anfield, but I did have a nice lasagne and chips in Jimmy Carragher's Sports Cafe England joint in Liverpool city centre at lunchtime Tuesday. I eat in all the top places. ;D Strangely though, just as Arsenal don't do defending Carragher's cafe doesn't do draught beer ???
By the way I almost forgot! Wittiest chant on Tuesday night was from the scousers to the Goons fans at full time
"We're all going to Moscow...you're all going to Tesco!" :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
QuoteIt was a clear penalty by the way,as I was seated at that side of the stadium and had a clear view.Benitez showed himself to be three times the tactician that Wenger is
I do appreciate that this post is specifically designed to wind up Arsenal fans - but it is one of the most ridiculous sentences i have ever had the misfortune to read on these pages!
Makes me laugh when people pull out the old "i know because i was there" argument! Watching the incident at full pace in a hectic stadium with no screens, especially just after the frenzy of an arsenal goal hardly makes you more qualified than people who have watched the incident time after time on different angles on TV.
Also i would be interested to hear how you can put such an accurate valuation on how much better a tactician Benitez is than Wenger! Three times is very specific - considering Arsenal are perfoming better in the league and each of the last 3 meeting were 1-1 draws! Thats the sort of argument that you hear in a school yard debate!
Benny sounds very angry :D
He's not really! Dont even support Arsenal!! ;D
Firtsly the truth. I was amazed at Arsenal's equaliser and the skill of Walcott, but honestly when I saw the incident with Babel and Toure my first reaction was penalty. Believe me it was an absrobing affair and one that you couldn't take your eyes off for the full 90 mins. For what its worth I though Arsenal should have had a stone wall penalty in the first game with Kuyt clearing having committed a foul.
But it is strange that Wenger always has tunnel vision.
Benitez outsmarted Wenger, using Crouch was a master stroke, He analysed Arsenal's weaknesses at the back and fuly exploited them. Wenger doesn't seem to understand that the Goons can't absorb pressure, and are best when surging forward. His lack of adventure cost him the game. In other words Benitez played to his strengths Wenger didn't hence the scousers are in the semis and the Goons aren't
A much more sensible analysis!! Totally agree!! :D
I would have thought that every man and his dog knew that Crouch had to start.
QuoteTell whiskeynose to give Benitez a shout and he will point him in the direction of how to win in the Camp Nou
United won a game there in May '99 I seem to remember. Long before Benitez was heard of.
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 10, 2008, 10:38:03 AM
QuoteTell whiskeynose to give Benitez a shout and he will point him in the direction of how to win in the Camp Nou
United won a game there in May '99 I seem to remember. Long before Benitez was heard of.
Sorry i will qualify that remark, against Barcelona........
I think you should be concentrating more on Chelski than Barcelona minder ;)
Quote from: full back on April 10, 2008, 10:43:52 AM
I actually think they will have the medicine for us this time.
Quote from: Minder on April 10, 2008, 10:45:28 AM
Quote from: full back on April 10, 2008, 10:43:52 AM
I actually think they will have the medicine for us this time.
Ah well, if you actually think it, then it must be true.................
It is.
QuoteExactly nrico, it is certainly extreme luck that they have reached 3 semi finals in the last 4 years........Tell whiskeynose to give Benitez a shout and he will point him in the direction of how to win in the Camp Nou, dont worry Stoichkov & Romario wont be playing this time........
Take those blinkers off - Liverpool were fortunate against Chelsea in 2005 as the ball didn't go over the line, and then again against Arsenal the standard of officiating again favours Liverpool - penalty not given to Arsenal in the 1st game, yet one given to Liverpool in the 2nd. Benitez is a master tactician? Thats why he has played Kuyt all year and left Crouch on the bench, makes sense.
As for Romario and Stoichkov, need you be reminded that in 94 United were severely hampered by the limitation on foreigners rule, but thats in the past. Im looking to the future, United and Chelsea in Moscow!
Tony, my sister makes a great lasagne and chips. Real tasty!
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 10, 2008, 10:55:10 AM
Liverpool were fortunate against Chelsea in 2005 as the ball didn't go over the line
Christ, not this all over again. I wonder if Jose was asked at the time, what would he prefer: The ref to allow the goal, or award a penalty & send off cech for the foul on Baros. ::) ::) As a Liverpool fan, I'd have preferred the latter!! We're not bad when it comes to the spot kicks ;) and against 10men and a stand in goalie, I'd have fancied our chances of getting a 2nd.
Liverpool won the CL in 2005, get over it.
Not this again, I was merely stating that Anfield is hardly a cauldron of intimidation that affects teams such as Chelsea and Arsenal as previously stated. Aside from that, I'm confiident that Chelsea will beat the 4th best side in England in the semi's.
nirco, I know you are winding again, but I think if you read some of the comments from the Chelsea lads, or Juventus, Inter or any of the other top teams that have experienced Anfield on a European night, they are all impressed by the atmosphere. Jaysus if Tony is impressed by it, there must be something to it :D
Wind-ups aside Tony, that's a pretty fair analysis, although the irony that to watch CL football you had to watch the goons is delicious...
well chelsea failed on 2 occasions despite apparently been a far superior side. one shot on target over the 2 legs in 2005 & not to mention the attempts at penalties in 2007. Terry said it was the scariest atmosphere he ever played in.
And Arsenal bottled it completely after the equaliser on tues night - Adebayor's fluffed shot, Toure's rush of blood, Fabregas went awol. It took a moment of brilliance from walcott (& a mistake by gerrard) to get Arsenal back into the tie.
Nobodys saying that team's freeze completely at Anfield, but based on the scalps that Liverpool have taken over the last few years, with very mediocre squads I might add, I think it's fair to say that the atmosphere at Anfield has played a fairly significant part.
I would agree that Anfield helps average sides like Liverpool achieve results beyond what they should, in the same way Parkhead influences a mediocre Celtic team.
QuoteAnd Arsenal bottled it completely after the equaliser on tues night - Adebayor's fluffed shot, Toure's rush of blood, Fabregas went awol. It took a moment of brilliance from walcott (& a mistake by gerrard) to get Arsenal back into the tie.
To say Arsenal bottled it is stupid, they have been playing bad for weeks now and this was just a continuation of that. Fabregas awol - no moreso than Gerard. I think Arsenals performance had more to do with fatigue from the season whereas Liverpool have rotated and also rested their main players at the weekend, while Fabregas etc played as they are challenging for the league aswell.
Man, it's like having one of those tiny toy dogs barking away at you; you know it's harmless, and completely ridiculous, but man it doesn't half get annoying after a while.
Some fans feel they have to show their loyalty by hating the opposition. On the other hand they get so caught up in it they stop focusing on their own team, didn't United have a match last night, with a brilliant headed goal from Tevez?
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 10, 2008, 11:48:18 AM
To say Arsenal bottled it is stupid, they have been playing bad for weeks now and this was just a continuation of that. Fabregas awol - no moreso than Gerard. I think Arsenals performance had more to do with fatigue from the season whereas Liverpool have rotated and also rested their main players at the weekend, while Fabregas etc played as they are challenging for the league aswell.
Oh sweet jesus, It's like talking to a brick wall!!
Arsenal played sublime football for 30mins and played liverpool off the park. Senderos goed to sleep, equaliser goes in and all of a sudden Arsenal panic. Liverpool dominated the game for the last hour & to suggest that it was fatigue is stupid. Did this all of a sudden kick in after 30mins??? They did bottle it. But the point that is being made, is that the Atmosphere in anfield can effect teams like that.
I never suggested that Gerrard didnt go awol. but I think that was more to do with him being played on the left wing than anything else. He doesnt like playing on the wing and decided to sulk - his attitude was appalling. Fabregas went missing, end of.
Quote from: Mentalman on April 10, 2008, 11:54:24 AM
Man, it's like having one of those tiny toy dogs barking away at you
nail on the head.
I think i remember United beating a Koeman driven Barce in the cup winners cup final. Mark Hughes - what a player.
Quote from: Uladh on April 10, 2008, 12:21:10 PM
I think i remember United beating a Koeman driven Barce in the cup winners cup final. Mark Hughes - what a player.
Brilliant goal from an acute angle, all the sweeter because he'd been given the white hankerchief treatment during his time at the Camp Nou.
Quote from: stevo-08 on April 10, 2008, 12:11:04 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 10, 2008, 11:48:18 AM
Oh sweet jesus, It's like talking to a brick wall!!
Arsenal played sublime football for 30mins and played liverpool off the park. Senderos goed to sleep, equaliser goes in and all of a sudden Arsenal panic. Liverpool dominated the game for the last hour & to suggest that it was fatigue is stupid. Did this all of a sudden kick in after 30mins??? They did bottle it. But the point that is being made, is that the Atmosphere in anfield can effect teams like that.
I never suggested that Gerrard didnt go awol. but I think that was more to do with him being played on the left wing than anything else. He doesnt like playing on the wing and decided to sulk - his attitude was appalling. Fabregas went missing, end of.
Quote from: Mentalman on April 10, 2008, 11:54:24 AM
Man, it's like having one of those tiny toy dogs barking away at you
nail on the head.
Fabergas was absolutely wrecked. It makes the decision to play him in the League game, when Wenger rested Adabeyor and co, all the more puzzling. I think Fabergas is a great little player, but he was out on his feet. Unfair to say he went missing I think.
Without doubt atmosphere plays apart. It assists Liverpool greatly and is also the reason why Celtic are well nigh unbeatable at Parkhead on european nights.
Arsenal passed Liverpool off the pitch early on the other night but twice when they had advantage in the tie they resorted to doing something that can't do...defend. Therefore Wenger's lack of ambition is the prime reason.
Also given their history and tradition, defence is part of Arsenal's DNA naturally, so one man will hardly change that.
PS A famous All Star and Ulster football legend was seated right in front of me on the plane home from Liverpool last night. He is renowned for bottling a penalty at a crucial stage in an All Ireland Final in the mid 80s after which his side tamely relinqusihed a big lead. Was sorely tempted to ask him if he was over studying Steven Gerrard's penalty technique ;D
Stevo - you're right! Sorry for trying to suggest otherwise. Fabregas went missing, Gerard didn't! I sm slightly confused as to how you can differentiate between bottling and fatigue though - only their players know which would influenced them, but as I said, you are probably correct. Apologies for stating otherwise!
Gerrard's memory must be shot to pieces.
He said Wednesday night was the worst game he ever played in a scouser shirt......
Must have forgot about his most recent game at OT
Nicro your questioning Rafa's ability, then you aadmit that Cesc was wrecked and Liverpool players were not due to resting players?
Minder's question was about beating Barca in the Camp Nou, not beating them in Holland, albeit with a wonder strike.
Corn, could you translate exactly what point you are trying to make?
Quote from: T Fearon on April 10, 2008, 09:28:48 AM
Firstly the atmosphere was arguably the most fanatical I have ever experienced and I've been to the likes of the Bernabeau, Nou Camp, Stadio Olympico in Rome, numerous Old Firm games (including an Old Firm Scottish Cup Final) and Celtic V Juventus and Man Ure in the Champions League at parkhead.
Secondly the quality of play was first rate throughout, the skill level phenomenal, and I almost felt sorry for the goons ;D but alas their inability to deal with high balls ( a quite basic flaw) and lack of temperament at the back ( toure panicked big time against Babel), are the main reasons why they wont have any trophies on display this year in contrast to the likes of Spurs and Man Ure. It was a clear penalty by the way,as I was seated at that side of the stadium and had a clear view.Benitez showed himself to be three times the tactician that Wenger is.
Thirdly Anfield is a shit stadium for a club that has won the European Cup 5 times. No screen, lack of leg room for even small people in the seats, but paradoxically the compactness lends itself to such an intimidating atmosphere that the likes of Chelsea and Arsenal cannot cope with on Champions League occasions.
In your previous post ref getting the ticket from the sponsor, didn't you say your ticket was about 40 rows from the pitch, right on the half way line? That's some fecking eyesight you've got Tony
Yu seem to be indicating that Rafa is tatically inept, but surely his players being fresher won the tie the other night?
I was alluding to the fact that Arsenal are as likely to have lost due to bad luck and fatigue as much as the fact that Anfield melted them into nervous wrecks!
I don't buy into this fatigue thing. Wenger notoriously rests his side in the Carling and FA Cups. I'd imagine the Chelsea or Utd players have played more games on average. The majority of the Arsenal side have also been out through injury at some time this season, even Fabregas who missed much of December.
Quote from: T Fearon on April 10, 2008, 12:26:17 PM
PS A famous All Star and Ulster football legend was seated right in front of me on the plane home from Liverpool last night. He is renowned for bottling a penalty at a crucial stage in an All Ireland Final in the mid 80s after which his side tamely relinqusihed a big lead. Was sorely tempted to ask him if he was over studying Steven Gerrard's penalty technique ;D
was the man in question still wearing his silly headband ?
Also - just how did the famous anfield atmosphere manage to help Celtic to victory a few years ago ?
still think benitez is clueless, but as wenger must know by now, if you have no defense, you will get caught out. Same in all sports. Defense first!
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 10, 2008, 03:29:05 PM
still think benitez is clueless,
He has some trophy collection for such a clueless manager.
ardal, Anfield is a smallish ground pitch wise. Therefore from my seat in the Centenary Stand, I had an excellent view of the Toure/ Babel incident (which happened at the Centenary side of the pitch). As I said before my immendiate reacton was "penalty". The question Goons should be asking is why did Toure panic and commit a silly foul, also why was Torres allowed so much room to turn for the first goal? Even Donkey Adams wouldn't have allowed him that amount of space, and milk turned quicker than him ;D
Lynchboy, in fairness when Celtic beat Liverpool, Houulier was in charge at Anfield and Liverpool had no one of the pace of Torres etc. Still it was a magnificent Celtic result (I can still see Hartson's rocket into the net), and with the win earlier that season at Ewood Park in the UEFA Cup, that Celtic team would have been a match for anyone in the Premiership that season.
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 10, 2008, 03:39:53 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 10, 2008, 03:29:05 PM
still think benitez is clueless,
He has some trophy collection for such a clueless manager.
would have a lot more if he was any use imo
Quote from: T Fearon on April 10, 2008, 03:51:06 PM
Lynchboy, in fairness when Celtic beat Liverpool, Houulier was in charge at Anfield and Liverpool had no one of the pace of Torres etc. Still it was a magnificent Celtic result (I can still see Hartson's rocket into the net), and with the win earlier that season at Ewood Park in the UEFA Cup, that Celtic team would have been a match for anyone in the Premiership that season.
I dont see that much difference between houllier and benitez to be honest
I think the only diff is that benitez has bought better players.
never forget the feeling when I switched on the mobile phone after the plane had landed in capetown to find out who had won the game - when the texts came through from the brothers that Celtic had whappoed liverpool in their own place - I was just devestated I couldnt have watched the game live.
What a Celtic team, they would have been vying for the epl title if they had access to the same epl money like the 'top' english clubs have at their disposal from sky TV and league allocation.
I dont see that much difference between houllier and benitez to be honest
I think the only diff is that benitez has bought better players.
That's a pretty big difference when it comes to managers LB.
Quote from: T Fearon on April 10, 2008, 03:51:06 PM
Where were u sitting for that game Tony???
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 10, 2008, 05:01:33 PM
What a Celtic team, they would have been vying for the epl title if they had access to the same epl money like the 'top' english clubs have at their disposal from sky TV and league allocation.
If Celtic had the kind of money top clubs in England have then they'd have a completely different team.
Quote from: Main Street on April 10, 2008, 10:34:56 AM
Neither me nor my dog knew that. My dog is a big fan of Rovers, and Wolves but hates leads.
Best banner at a game recently was that at the liverpool derby game where Everton fans held up a banner to the Liverpool fans saying "Welcome to Liverpool" :)
Quote from: Orior on April 10, 2008, 07:34:41 PM
Best banner at a game recently was that at the liverpool derby game where Everton fans held up a banner to the Liverpool fans saying "Welcome to Liverpool" :)
What a pity they'll only be able to use that at Anfield (or the new Anfield) in the not-too-distant future. The "we're all off to Moscow, you're all off to Tesco" chant Fearon referenced was directed at Evertonians.
Blues choose Kirkby site (http://icliverpool.icnetwork.co.uk/0400evertonfc/0150kingsdock/tm_headline=blues-choose-kirkby-site&method=full&objectid=17235256&siteid=50061-name_page.html)
Quote from: Orior on April 10, 2008, 07:34:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 10, 2008, 10:34:56 AM
Neither me nor my dog knew that. My dog is a big fan of Rovers, and Wolves but hates leads.
Very good.
So if Liverpool are great in Europe because of the 'fortress' taht is Anfield, why do the fans not get off their backs and make it a fortress every week? Surely the years without a league title would be at an end?
Secondly for the record. Chelsea have played at Anfield 3 times in Europe and not two as people indicate here (1 draw and two defeats).
Not much to boast about there norf
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 10, 2008, 11:34:37 PM
So if Liverpool are great in Europe because of the 'fortress' taht is Anfield, why do the fans not get off their backs and make it a fortress every week? Surely the years without a league title would be at an end?
I reckon it's something to do with the evening kick off and the build up to the game (more time to drink?). But yeah I agree; why can we not do it for every home game
Quote from: gawa316 on April 11, 2008, 03:36:20 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 10, 2008, 11:34:37 PM
I reckon it's something to do with the evening kick off and the build up to the game (more time to drink?). But yeah I agree; why can we not do it for every home game
Because despite what 'experts' and fans of other clubs tell us there is nothing more magical than a run in a European competition.