GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Down Gael on April 04, 2008, 12:27:26 AM

Title: Liatroim v An Dún
Post by: Down Gael on April 04, 2008, 12:27:26 AM
Any word on a team for Sunday yet or will Ross wait until after Saturdays U21 final before naming his side?
Title: Re: Liatroim v An Dún
Post by: western exile on April 04, 2008, 11:33:53 AM

Does anyone know if the An Riocht players are available?  Or are they still in Melbourne?
Post by: lfdown2 on April 04, 2008, 11:42:03 AM
has/had alder not been dropped from the panel? if so could he be expected to tog out sunday, known that he is only there as mcveigh is in oz (if he is) and mcallister has u21 game?be very unfair on the lad if thats the case

of course there is a possibility im talkin through me hole and he was never dropped in the first place just though i had heard that!
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 04, 2008, 11:45:09 AM
Bit of a lopsided fixture, playing aginst one of your own clubs. ;)
Post by: western exile on April 04, 2008, 12:32:05 PM
 ;D ;D
Perhaps An Dún should drop Liam Doyle from CHB just in case he gets confused  8)
Post by: magpie seanie on April 04, 2008, 12:38:40 PM
Best of luck in the twilight zone to ye Down boys. Last thing we need is them picking up anything at this stage.
Post by: lfdown2 on April 04, 2008, 12:38:54 PM
lobsided alright, down confined to another year in div3! ;D
Post by: Down Gael on April 05, 2008, 11:40:23 AM
Ross Carr has named a strong Down side for Sunday's NFL Division 3 encounter with Leitrim with captain Dan Gordon back at full forward.

Michael McAllister comes in to goal in place of Brendan McVeigh while Peter Turley srops to wing back in a straight switch with Declan Rooney who now partner Ambrose Rodgers in midfield.

In the full forward line Gordon returns with John Clarke losing out.

Down (NFL v Leitrim) - Micheal McAllister, Luke Howard, Gary McArdle, Martin Cole, Ronan Murtagh, Liam Doyle, Peter Turley, Ambrose Rodgers, Declan Rooney, John Fegan, Ronan Sexton, Danny Hughes, Paul McCumiskey, Dan Gordon, Brendan Coulter.

Post by: lfdown2 on April 05, 2008, 12:34:26 PM
how close will this be til the team that lines out do ye's think?
Post by: Pangurban on April 05, 2008, 11:08:43 PM
Thats a frightening FF line, if they get any kind of decent supply
Post by: bridgegael on April 06, 2008, 12:51:14 PM
what time is throw in??  is it on five fm??  can't make the match due to the ACPRL. :(
Post by: magpie seanie on April 06, 2008, 05:05:09 PM
What the f**k were ye at? I know Sligonian insulted ye but theres no need losing to Leitrim to get us back.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on April 06, 2008, 07:12:47 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 06, 2008, 05:05:09 PM
What the f**k were ye at? I know Sligonian insulted ye but theres no need losing to Leitrim to get us back.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
;)  :D

I've said it before on this board that Leitrim have not been shown any respect in this division - some are going to pay the price. As we head for the final round Leitrim's future in Div 3 is in Leitrims hands (even though we rue the loss against Fermanagh) - no other game has a bearing on our future.  Others with their trumped up egos are fuming at this stage but as I say no respect was shown.  To those other Div 3 posters on this site who claim to be able to analyse Leitrim from results and from their arm chairs - (according to one recent poster recently we don't seem to be able to analyse form ) we'll here's one for you - don't analyse a team solely from results they don't give the full picture.

The last round will tell its own tale for a lot of counties.  Here's to an interesting weekend.

Post by: Down Gael on April 06, 2008, 07:25:42 PM
Just home from a very very cold Carrick-on-Shannon. What a wasted journey. Down just didnt get going today and the fact that they only managed two scores against a strong breeze in the first half sums up their performance perfectly. Other than Benny Coulter and John Clarke, when he finally came on we had nothing to offer. The half forward line was non existent and our midfield was worse. Declan Rooneys only contribution to the game was to get sent off, obviously for an off the ball incident as he wasnt on the ball once during his time on the field. Yet again Ambrose managed to hide in midfield and he was even less obvious when switched to full forward for a time. Liam Doyle is NOT a centre half back, at best he is a centre forward and while we are on the subject of the No. 11 position, when is Ross ever going to learn that Ronan Sexton is too small to play in that position. It is perfectly clear why Packie Downey cannot get a place on the U21 team, if he isnt good enough for the U21s what the hell is he even doing on the senior team bus, is Ross telling us that the U21s are better than the senior panel???
Its hard to say much good about our defence on todays performance. McAllister was poor, Gary McArdle was worse, but the two corner backs were ok. Other than free kicks Liam Doyle didnt really contribute and both Murtagh and Turley were substituted. Of the subs that came on John Clarke and I cant believe I am going to say this Aidan Carr played pretty well, in fact Carr was the only playmaker we had.
Thanks to some very poor decision making we are destined to another year in Division 3. Mickey Harte can sleep well tonight, because on todays performance Tyrone have nothing to worry about come the Champioonship.
Post by: Pangurban on April 06, 2008, 08:14:47 PM
Well done Leitrim, fair dues to you. This was a severe reality check for Down team ,Management and supporters. Downgael above has accurately summarised the performance. At times we have flattered to deceive, but in reality at our best we are a Div 3 team and look likely to remain so barring a bit of luck.
Post by: AhFeckRef on April 06, 2008, 09:23:03 PM
QuoteWhat the f**k were ye at? I know Sligonian insulted ye but theres no need losing to Leitrim to get us back.

:D :D :D ;D

Just back from LM.  Jesus this league is an emotional roller-coaster. Highs like today and Sligo, Lows like Longford and Wexford.
Great display today, some brilliant freetaking from Mulligan, Classic Mick McGuinness and McKeon, Reynolds  defending. Another top forward in their pocket. Ford last week, Coulter this week! 

Trying to figure out why Mulligan was substituted in the second half, was he injured? Left us very vulnerable in the end. Great to see some new thinking in forward selection. Give some of these younger players a chance and they'll come good. Stick Maxwell back in there and we could have an interesting team.

Would like to see midfield playing for all 70 mins. The drifted out of the game in the start of the second half.

To quote Bertie, "A lot done, more to do" before the championship. A lot of mistakes today. Too many aimless ball's into forwards who find themselves isolated without support players. For all the hard work we were hanging on by a point in the end. We had chances to pull clear but didn't take them.
Having said that, Down had chances too!

As BigJohnBrown said, it's all in Leitrims hands now. A result in Limerick would be just the tonic going into the championship in a few weeks time.
Here's to an interesting summer.

Post by: Old Bill on April 06, 2008, 09:28:44 PM
in fariness down shud be beatin leitrim out the gate.  typical down always shooting themselves in the foot.  were many of the under21s used? 
Post by: western exile on April 06, 2008, 10:05:34 PM

Congratulations to Leitrim on getting the win.  But they were handed it by Down.  Their goal with about 10 minutes left was a gift.  A very poor pass by a Down defender was intercepted by Leitrim and next thing we knew it was in the back of the net. That unforced error cost Down the game as Leitrim only won by 1 point.  Poor passing, especially from the foot into the forwards, was a pattern of Down play the whole  match. I know the weather conditions were poor, but still...  But I disagree with earlier poster re Liam Doyle as he was one of the few Down players who made accurate passes and get himself into good defensive positions on many occasions.
Throughout the game, Down tried to play with a 3 man midfield and a 2 man full forward line with Dan Gordan wearing 14 but playing as the third midfielder. This strategy clearly failed and needs to be rethought by the management. And it was very disappointing to see Down return to hoofing the ball into Benny Coulter as the only tactic of attack, especially after the forwards working so well as unit in other games this year. Declan Rooney and Ambrose Rodgers were poor in midfield. Declan getting a red card, and Ambrose proving that he is not yet ready for this level. And Gary McArdle was finally caught out at full back, so perhaps that position has not been resolved yet.  At the other end of the field John McKeon showed how a great full back should play. If he was playing for a division 1 team, instead of Leitrim, he would be a household name.
Both teams played to a Division 3 standard, and it looks like that is where they both will be again next year. It is especially disappointing for Down as they have played better in earlier games this year.

Post by: Over the Bar on April 06, 2008, 10:23:05 PM
lol.  Bate by Leitrim.  Down's impressive record of 5 wins from 5 senior all-ireland appearances seems intact for a lonnggg time!    ;D :P ;)
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on April 07, 2008, 10:03:54 AM
Quote from: Old Bill on April 06, 2008, 09:28:44 PM
in fariness down shud be beatin leitrim out the gate.  typical down always shooting themselves in the foot.  were many of the under21s used? 

Jesus, it's comments like this that make me mad - Leitirm are not a sh*t team and don't deserve a comment like that. Cop on to yourself with your delusions of grandeur.  It was a quiet crowd getting into their cars from Down after all the pre-match car park banter about blowing Leitrim out of the park. 

No body comes to Páirc Sean and leaves without a huge fright or better still without points. -  Ask anyone who has visited over the last 4 to 5 years in particular.

Our main downfall is that we don't travel particularly well - we need to change that for our next game at the other end of the Shannon.
Post by: Down Gael on April 07, 2008, 11:07:26 AM
In fairness, I was at the game yesterday. Leitrim are SHITE, that doesnt say a lot for Down I know, but that is a very poor Leitrim side. As a Down man, we can only hope that the current U21 side mature pretty fast, because we really only have 2 or 3 decent players, but Leitrim and the referee only managed a one point win against very disappointing Down side.
Verdict= Leitrim are indeed shite.
Post by: Tubberman on April 07, 2008, 11:18:34 AM
QuoteIn fairness, I was at the game yesterday. Leitrim are SHITE, that doesnt say a lot for Down I know, but that is a very poor Leitrim side. As a Down man, we can only hope that the current U21 side mature pretty fast, because we really only have 2 or 3 decent players, but Leitrim and the referee only managed a one point win against very disappointing Down side.

What a tosser you are. You come across as very bitter just because your inflated sense of Down's worth has been shot down. Leitrim are a decent hardworking team, and has been said before, they are extremely hard to beat in Carrick.
Mayo went there in 06 and were very lucky to leave with a 1 point win. That team went on to reach the All-Ireland final, so less of YOUR SHITE out of you, good lad
Post by: Leo on April 07, 2008, 11:22:42 AM
Quote from: Down Gael on April 07, 2008, 11:07:26 AM
In fairness, I was at the game yesterday. Leitrim are SHITE, that doesnt say a lot for Down I know, but that is a very poor Leitrim side. As a Down man, we can only hope that the current U21 side mature pretty fast, because we really only have 2 or 3 decent players, but Leitrim and the referee only managed a one point win against very disappointing Down side.

Can understand the anger and frustration, Down Gael, but misdirected at Leitrim.

We were SH*TE and have been for some time.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on April 07, 2008, 11:36:31 AM
Quote from: Down Gael on April 07, 2008, 11:07:26 AM

Nice response Down Gael - really showing yourself up............  :D
Post by: magpie seanie on April 07, 2008, 11:55:29 AM
Don't talk about respect ye Leitrim crowd. Where was the respect for the Connacht champions and a truly great player when he was unjustifiably sent off against ye? Applause for the diving cheat who conned the referee when he got substituted. Ye know nothing about respect or being sporting so give it a rest.
Post by: Down Gael on April 07, 2008, 12:02:13 PM
Look lads, you can dress it up whatever way you want, but Leitrim are a poor side. As has been said to me in a pm, you wouldnt grow spuds on their field and they drag teams down to their level. Leitrim played to the referee yesterday, especially when they got their goal. People talk about Tyrone diving, Tyrone have nothing on these boys. There was 4 minutes of added time announced yesterday, it could have been 4 hours. Lets not dress this up in fancy language, you can say they are a poor team all you want. I think they are sh*te.
I havent got todays Irish News yet, I`ll get it at lunchtime, but if the referee doesnt get Man of the Match, I`ll be shocked.
Sadly that defeat leaves us in Division 3 for another year. A combination of a poor attitude on our behalf, a Connaught spud field, a Connaught ref and the Connaught diving champions all went against us yesterday, but in truth we only have ourselves to blame.
I am not looking to excuse Downs performance yesterday, it was the worst of the year. Leitrim are still a crap team.

End of rant.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on April 07, 2008, 12:07:36 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 07, 2008, 11:55:29 AM
Don't talk about respect ye Leitrim crowd. Where was the respect for the Connacht champions and a truly great player when he was unjustifiably sent off against ye? Applause for the diving cheat who conned the referee when he got substituted. Ye know nothing about respect or being sporting so give it a rest.

B*ollox - clear strike to the Leitrim  players face - only for a camera angle that wasn't clear O Hara would have got the full sentence and it would have been justified.  You're biased in this and previous posts. Anyway most of the booing was by Sligo and I'm not surprised with his track record.  The title has gone to ye're heads and obviously so with results to date.

And as for you Down Gael - your attitude speaks for itself.
Post by: amallon on April 07, 2008, 12:26:21 PM
Any Down supporters blaming the referee are dilusional I'm afraid. There were a couple of dodgy ones which went against us but you got to expect that playing away from home.  Down's inability to do the simple thing when in possission cost us.  Paying Garryowens in on top of our full forward line is never the answer.

Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 07, 2008, 12:34:58 PM
Seanie in all seriousness you are the biggest hypocrite on this board. You absolutely loaded abuse at me when I rightly complained at the abuse DOWN fans gave OHARA when he got sent off even though you werent at the game. Now your coming on here having a go at the leitrim fans for doing the exact same thing, O hara got alot more abuse in Down i might add and here you are sticking up for them. Double standards indeed.

Leitrim fans seanie speaks for himself and does not represent the view of most sligo gaels. Well done on yer win yday.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on April 07, 2008, 12:48:08 PM
Fair comments Sligonian - you're a decent sort, you're presenting things as they are without any blinkers blinding you.  More stuff like this will only make this a better board unlike some of the rubbish typed today.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 07, 2008, 01:02:01 PM
QuoteYou absolutely loaded abuse at me when I rightly complained at the abuse DOWN fans gave OHARA when he got sent off even though you werent at the game.

Right - if you are to retain even an iota of credibility on this board I challenge you to show where I "loaded abuse" at you on that thread. Produce quotes please. The thread is still available as I've checked it myself. I would invite everyone to go back and read it because I don't take it lightly being called a hypocrite.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 07, 2008, 01:46:33 PM
Seanie, silly comments is that complimentry or intended to insult? also saying my comments were unfortunate when you werent there? THey werent as silly as your comments on this thread. You are a hypocrite. You were condemning my comments based on what I saw and you have to cheek to stick up for the abusers here on that thread because it is me who said it. But you have a go at leitrim fans  who did alot less. This is the same LEITRIM FANS who clapped Sligo players onto field as they were welcomed as CONNAGHT CHAMPIONS by a guy with mic in the FBD league earlier this yr and who I have alot of time for.
Your digs below from the other thread:

"Why don't you take issue with the other Sligo posters who disagreed with your silly comments?"

"Down fans - don't mind Sligonians unfortunate comments. He only speaks for himself."

It'll be interesting now if OWENMORESIDER comes in here to stick up for youafter what he said. Then things will have come full circle on the hypocrises. Another man who wasnt in Down but gave his 2p worth.

"And I'll concur with the other Sligo posters re Sligonian's comments. Harsh on Down followers, who I'm sure are as decent folk as their countymen are on here. O'Hara was silly to lash out, and should have known better, the opposition have him marked for it by now. And if you think Down lads were giving him stick, imagine what he'll get in Carrick and Castlebar? Cut it out please"

Your click will hardly come in this thread and disagree with you. As I said before ye'll know each other so I wont hold me breath.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 07, 2008, 01:59:07 PM

Quote"Why don't you take issue with the other Sligo posters who disagreed with your silly comments?"

"Down fans - don't mind Sligonians unfortunate comments. He only speaks for himself."

So that amounts to "loaded abuse at me". You must be fierce sensitive! Your credibility is zilch my friend.

I am not a hypocrite and I'll explain it to you in as simple terms as possible. You compared the Down folk to soccer fans which no-one needed to be at a game to know was wrong. Don't be trying to compare what I said on the Leitrim/Down thread to calling Down supporters soccer fans. I was on to the Leitrim crowd who were bemoaning the lack of "respect" they were getting. I pointed out that they're not always great at showing respect themselves. Completely different things but I guess you came on here with an agenda to have a go at me and it clouded your judgement.

As for knowing each other - I know you as well as I know most of the Sligo folk on here. Just their real life names.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 07, 2008, 02:24:36 PM
I am fierce sensitive alright ::).  My creditibility is zilch with you, Tell me something I dont know,  :o the feeling is mutual my friend but dont think for one second you speak for anyone else in SLIGO or any other county for that matter other than your click on here of course.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 07, 2008, 03:49:14 PM
Quote from: Down Gael on April 07, 2008, 12:02:13 PM
Look lads, you can dress it up whatever way you want, but Leitrim are a poor side. As has been said to me in a pm, you wouldnt grow spuds on their field and they drag teams down to their level. Leitrim played to the referee yesterday, especially when they got their goal. People talk about Tyrone diving, Tyrone have nothing on these boys. There was 4 minutes of added time announced yesterday, it could have been 4 hours. Lets not dress this up in fancy language, you can say they are a poor team all you want. I think they are sh*te.
I havent got todays Irish News yet, I`ll get it at lunchtime, but if the referee doesnt get Man of the Match, I`ll be shocked.
Sadly that defeat leaves us in Division 3 for another year. A combination of a poor attitude on our behalf, a Connaught spud field, a Connaught ref and the Connaught diving champions all went against us yesterday, but in truth we only have ourselves to blame.
I am not looking to excuse Downs performance yesterday, it was the worst of the year. Leitrim are still a crap team.

End of rant.

Well Down must be sh*tter than sh*te then... :)
Post by: Solo Run on April 07, 2008, 06:52:37 PM
The main points from my perspective on yesterdays match, not sure whether I am agreeing or disagreeing completely with anyone.

1.   There seems to a bit of symmetry going on with Leitrim. If they hadn't got that goal I doubt very much whether they would have won, Down were clearly getting on top. It was a Down defensive mistake, and the keeper didn't look too clever as Philly McGuinness was able to punch into an empty net with the keeper nowhere. Ironically last week although we lost by 6 pts to Wexford I believe we mightn't have lost if we had not conceded an identical punched goal into an empty net. It knocked the stuffing out of us as it made the comeback so much harder, it also stalled the Down comeback. So balances up I suppose.

2.   I looked at where the referee was from before the match, Mayo, and I thought good; would he be more likely to penalise the Ulster team for persistent fouling if it was to happen? I thought he would. As it turned out I thought he gave Leitrim some soft frees. Now he also gave some soft frees to Down but overall I thought he gave Leitrim the benefit of the doubt more often than not. Here is where the symmetry comes in, the referee in the Fermanagh game was from Donegal and I never left a match so angry. Leitrim reduced to 13 for two innocuous challenges and Fermanagh men rugby-tackling Leitrim forwards in the last 15 minutes without even a caution. It left me thinking are we now getting to a stage where we should have referees from a neutral province?

3.   Leitrim did not deserve to lose yesterday, but you wouldn't begrudge Down a point if they weren't so valuable!

4.   90% of matches I go to the losing fans always say they "were two poor teams on show there today!" Some true GAA fans there yesterday from Down, bitterly disappointed as promotion all but disappeared, BUT if they beat Limerick and Fermanagh, which I believe they will, and Louth beat Wexford(very possible) then the combination might swing the points difference in their favour. Kind of hope they get promoted

5.   Leitrim are always written off, long may it continue, I love it, you get great prices.  Bet on them straight for win yesterday at just over 2/1, great value. Won't touch them away from home though.

Really hoping for Leitrim to stay-up, unlucky that they have to play Galway in Salthill, as I can see them running them close again, and it would be terrible to have no qualifier match. Just think that in the summer there is a big game in this team if they get the chance
Post by: AhFeckRef on April 07, 2008, 08:17:50 PM
Welcome Solo Run.

I wouldn't go looking past the New York game in the championship. One game at a time  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on April 07, 2008, 08:19:23 PM
Forgot about this gem with all the other stuff going on:

QuoteB*ollox - clear strike to the Leitrim  players face - only for a camera angle that wasn't clear O Hara would have got the full sentence and it would have been justified.  You're biased in this and previous posts.

Of course you're not biased are you?

As I haven't seen the video and missed the incident at the game I can't comment on the angle etc. What is clear is that the hearings committee didn't think it warranted a suspension so without any better evidence I think I'm safe enough to go with them. What isn't arguable is the Leitrim player went down like he as poleaxed and there wasn't a thing wrong with him. Is that sporting? Is that respect (that word again) for your opposition? You should criticise that too unless your bias is clouding your judgement.

As for the title going to our heads - that's rich coming from a Leitrim man. At least winning it means we don't get reminded of 1994 any more every time we meet ye.
Post by: Rudi on April 07, 2008, 08:34:16 PM
Quote from: Solo Run on April 07, 2008, 06:52:37 PM

1.   There seems to a bit of symmetry going on with Leitrim. If they hadn't got that goal I doubt very much whether they would have won, Down were clearly getting on top. It was a Down defensive mistake, and the keeper didn't look too clever as Philly McGuinness was able to punch into an empty net with the keeper nowhere. Ironically last week although we lost by 6 pts to Wexford I believe we mightn't have lost if we had not conceded an identical punched goal into an empty net. It knocked the stuffing out of us as it made the comeback so much harder, it also stalled the Down comeback. So balances up I suppose.

2.   I looked at where the referee was from before the match, Mayo, and I thought good; would he be more likely to penalise the Ulster team for persistent fouling if it was to happen? I thought he would. As it turned out I thought he gave Leitrim some soft frees. Now he also gave some soft frees to Down but overall I thought he gave Leitrim the benefit of the doubt more often than not. Here is where the symmetry comes in, the referee in the Fermanagh game was from Donegal and I never left a match so angry. Leitrim reduced to 13 for two innocuous challenges and Fermanagh men rugby-tackling Leitrim forwards in the last 15 minutes without even a caution. It left me thinking are we now getting to a stage where we should have referees from a neutral province?

3.   Leitrim did not deserve to lose yesterday, but you wouldn't begrudge Down a point if they weren't so valuable!

4.   90% of matches I go to the losing fans always say they "were two poor teams on show there today!" Some true GAA fans there yesterday from Down, bitterly disappointed as promotion all but disappeared, BUT if they beat Limerick and Fermanagh, which I believe they will, and Louth beat Wexford(very possible) then the combination might swing the points difference in their favour. Kind of hope they get promoted

5.   Leitrim are always written off, long may it continue, I love it, you get great prices.  Bet on them straight for win yesterday at just over 2/1, great value. Won't touch them away from home though.

Really hoping for Leitrim to stay-up, unlucky that they have to play Galway in Salthill, as I can see them running them close again, and it would be terrible to have no qualifier match. Just think that in the summer there is a big game in this team if they get the chance

Always found Leitrim a hard nut to crack, however having read your post & it stinks of inferiority complex associated with small teams like Leitrim. Yet you have the aggorance  to write off both New York & Roscommon - hypocrite. By the way as a Rossie was delighted to see yee winning yesterday & hope yee stay up, so we can get back to kicking yer asses next year ;D. Seriously, would like to see Leitrim doing well.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 07, 2008, 09:47:27 PM
Quote from: Rudi on April 07, 2008, 08:34:16 PM
Quote from: Solo Run on April 07, 2008, 06:52:37 PM

Always found Leitrim a hard nut to crack, however having read your post & it stinks of inferiority complex associated with small teams like Leitrim. Yet you have the aggorance  to write off both New York & Roscommon - hypocrite. By the way as a Rossie was delighted to see yee winning yesterday & hope yee stay up, so we can get back to kicking yer asses next year ;D. Seriously, would like to see Leitrim doing well.

In all fairness to solo run I enjoyed reading his post. Where does it show inferiority complex?

Is there anyone in 31 counties think roscommon will beat Galway? No probably a similiar percentage dont give us a prayer against mayo thats if we beat london of course. But give the guy a break. The rossies had written our u21s off thinking ye'd be playing Galway in semi. All though maybe 1 or 2 shocks in connaght this yr despite the greater perception outside the counties. And it counts for nothing. 16/1 we won connaght last yr. So relax it is a fair observation on what results rossies are showing these days that galway will most likely win. I wont be offended by posters writing us off again. As long as sligo players, management and fans believe who cares what anyone else thinks.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on April 07, 2008, 11:24:21 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 07, 2008, 08:19:23 PM

As I haven't seen the video and missed the incident at the game I can't comment on the angle etc. .................What isn't arguable is the Leitrim player went down like he as poleaxed and there wasn't a thing wrong with him. Is that sporting?

Go bury your head you idiot - God you have a problem - You didn't see the incident and yet you claim that a Leitrim player went down like he was poleaxed - Make your f*ing mind up whether you saw it or not or were you even at the game ?????    Blinkered or what. 

And now for you - an accurate piece of reporting - the strike was clear as hell and the player was floored by a thugish attempt at cowardly behind the referees back bullying.  The mark was also clear as hell for anyone to see on the players face after the game to prove the case.  As for what happened with the hearings committee - I've lost all respect for them if any of the story (that was circulating from Monday evening onwards of the week he got off)  is true - that decision stinks.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 07, 2008, 11:57:11 PM
No need for the abuse. A bit of respect now.
Post by: Tubberman on April 08, 2008, 08:48:17 AM
Sligo lads (Seanie and Sligonian), ye are making complete idiots of yourselves having a bitch fight across several threads. Grow up lads. Have a PM war for yourselves instead
Post by: thewobbler on April 08, 2008, 09:40:58 AM
We've been here before.

Back around 2003, Magpie Seanie declared that James McCartan should be sent to prison, for an incident that nobody saw except the Westmeath keeper, who could hardly be described as an independent witness. A week or so later, he stated that Alf Inge Haaland got what he deserved when he got his leg shattered, as he wasn't worthy of being on a pitch with Roy Keane, who had confirmed the assault as pre-meditated in his autobiography. 
Post by: magpie seanie on April 08, 2008, 09:45:19 AM
That's a lie.
Post by: thewobbler on April 08, 2008, 09:48:22 AM
Not one word of it is a lie.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 08, 2008, 09:51:14 AM
I think your unhealthy obsession with me has clouded your judgement. Please leave me alone and stop making stuff up that never happened.
Post by: thewobbler on April 08, 2008, 09:55:12 AM
Seanie, nothing ever really disappears on the internet. It's all archived somewhere.

I suppose when it turns up though you'll claim that you were only joking. Typical.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 08, 2008, 10:35:41 AM
Genuinely I'd be surprised if I said it as you reported it.

It was 5 years ago as well. Get over it.
Post by: Solo Run on April 08, 2008, 01:37:01 PM
Sincere apolgies Rudi; when I was writing this I had it my head it was New York / Leitrim winner plays Galway, and London / Sligo versus Mayo / Roscommon. I forgot it was Roscommon / Galway. As to disregarding New York, guilty as charged I'm afraid, hope it doesn't come back to haunt me. I think it went to extra time the last time we played there, so I should know better.

Its a fact of life that New York and London put a big effort when playing Leitrim, Sligo and now Roscommon; so I'm pretty sure we the team and most of the fans won't under-estimate them.

Don't think NY or London would beat Galway or Mayo on a given day but they could potentially put one over on the other three. And, of course, Sligo, Roscommon and Leitrim as well as beating each other (irrespective of form) are well capable of beating Mayo or Galway on a given day. All a long-winded way of saying I'm not assuming Galway beat you in May. You have some amount of work to put in before then, but good luck to you.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 08, 2008, 02:02:32 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 08, 2008, 08:48:17 AM
Sligo lads (Seanie and Sligonian), ye are making complete idiots of yourselves having a bitch fight across several threads. Grow up lads. Have a PM war for yourselves instead

Have to say your right and I apologise.
Post by: Rudi on April 08, 2008, 08:52:33 PM
Quote from: Solo Run on April 08, 2008, 01:37:01 PM
Sincere apolgies Rudi; when I was writing this I had it my head it was New York / Leitrim winner plays Galway, and London / Sligo versus Mayo / Roscommon. I forgot it was Roscommon / Galway. As to disregarding New York, guilty as charged I'm afraid, hope it doesn't come back to haunt me. I think it went to extra time the last time we played there, so I should know better.

Its a fact of life that New York and London put a big effort when playing Leitrim, Sligo and now Roscommon; so I'm pretty sure we the team and most of the fans won't under-estimate them.

Don't think NY or London would beat Galway or Mayo on a given day but they could potentially put one over on the other three. And, of course, Sligo, Roscommon and Leitrim as well as beating each other (irrespective of form) are well capable of beating Mayo or Galway on a given day. All a long-winded way of saying I'm not assuming Galway beat you in May. You have some amount of work to put in before then, but good luck to you.

No bother Solo Run, you sound like an awful decent fella. Good luck to Leitrim, its high time teams outside Connacht experienced how difficult a team yee are to beat at home. Donegal were made work very hard last year, Dessie Dolan seems to be  doing a pretty good job, what do you think? Ourselves are in a very bad place at the moment, & we probably have a 1 in 25 chance of beating Galway. Hope is a great thing!

Take Care
Post by: Solo Run on April 09, 2008, 12:23:24 PM
Ok Rudi;  Since you asked I think Dolan has been doing a good job in the sense that there has been a steady improvement over his four years - nothing dramatic but steady. Their passing and general play is a lot sharper and pacier than it was before. However there has been no real improvement in the all important last third, two weeks ago in Wexford was diabolical. Its clear that they are trying to address it though and there are signs of life, if it happens then there is couple of big big games in that team. I couldn't predict how it will go, but they really wanted Dolan to stay on in Year 3 when he wanted to leave, and then he asked to have Year 4 (this year). The reason is happened is because the chemistry is good and they are very committed and believe they can beat anyone in Connacht. So I'm comfortable that the chances of them playing as close as they can to their ability is high, waht more can you ask? I do like though when they are beaten it seems to motivate them more and when they win they don't seem to go overboard. So overall, good progress in my view. But its hard to escape the feeling it might take another proven high-profile manager to bring them further. I wouldn't rule out Sean Boylan next year...... ;)

Not trying to be wise after the event but I knew Roscommon were in big trouble two years ago in a league match in Cloone. I said it at the time, Roscommon were going nowhere in a hurry. I was quite shocked at how far off the pace, (speed and strength) they were and their lack of fight was unchararacteristic. Lets face it Roscommon have been fielding physically big and ultra-competitive teams for over TWENTY years - I couldn't believe what I saw. Mind you, I was really surprised they finished in the top two to get to Division 2 last year, that win against Offaly was huge, given they way they played this year I have my doubts if they would have survived Division 3. Nothing against the man personally but in my own head I thought Maughan was not the man for the job, at all. They seem to be a difficult bunch of players alright but last year they seemed to put in the occassional very good performance with some dire ones, this year mostly dire ones; to me that shows capability and potential not managed, and the fruits of bad management being clear to see.

Good management and organisation which would tap into their strong tradition, more responsibility on the players, and a sense of anger at their critics would get them competitve in 2-3 months I think. Maybe not in time for Galway but certainly for the qualifiers. There are about twenty-odd teams whose talent levels are on a par, Roscommon would be one of them, so that is basic. Where do they go after that I don't know, to be honest I don't know all the players well enough I missed two chances to see them last year but I would definitely warn against over-reliance on the minors coming through, recipe for disaster that. Watching the Rossies with interest.....as always!!