GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: THEREALGRASSROOTS on March 11, 2008, 02:54:45 PM

Title: Dual players
Post by: THEREALGRASSROOTS on March 11, 2008, 02:54:45 PM
I see today from our local paper that Liam Hinphey, one of the few dual players left in Ulster, has quit the Derry hurling panel.  This is a huge blow for Derry hurling, with the keeper having injured his shoulder as well.  I think it's time something was done about the stream of dual players quitting one or the other - what about limiting inter-county teams to two nights' training a week?  Something has to be done because the best hurlers in Derry aren't playing hurling, and I'm sure it's the same in other smaller counties.
Title: Re: Dual players
Post by: rrhf on March 11, 2008, 03:01:28 PM
This is bad news for hurling in Derry and leads us onto the next question.  If you are a dual player can you get 2 grants?
Post by: Uladh on March 11, 2008, 03:01:53 PM
Was Hinphy not the captain of the hurlers?
Post by: Zulu on March 11, 2008, 03:13:03 PM
QuoteThis is bad news for hurling in Derry and leads us onto the next question.  If you are a dual player can you get 2 grants?

No.

QuoteI think it's time something was done about the stream of dual players quitting one or the other - what about limiting inter-county teams to two nights' training a week?  Something has to be done because the best hurlers in Derry aren't playing hurling, and I'm sure it's the same in other smaller counties.

There is nothing to be done here lads and in fact I think the death of the dual IC player is a good thing, I didn't always but I do now. Clubs see little enough of their IC players without them playing both codes at IC level and it is unfair on the player to burden him with so many teams even if he wants to play himself. A restriction on the amount of training IC teams can do is a non-runner anyway.
Post by: ildanach on March 11, 2008, 04:26:11 PM
keith higgins is a dual player for mayo. He scored 2-07 at the weekend of the hurlers ann will line out at left half back this week for the football.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 11, 2008, 04:31:03 PM
I might be wrong, but the Dubs Corner Forward (13) against Cork in the hurling this weekend - doesnt he kick ball as well??
Post by: Zulu on March 11, 2008, 04:40:03 PM
Quotekeith higgins is a dual player for mayo. He scored 2-07 at the weekend of the hurlers ann will line out at left half back this week for the football.

I know but I don't think that it's good for his club, himself and either code. Though obviously if he wants to play and both IC coaches are happy to allow him then good luck to him.

QuoteI might be wrong, but the Dubs Corner Forward (13) against Cork in the hurling this weekend - doesnt he kick ball as well??

Yeah he does but he didn't make it with the footballers, though I think some Dubs feel Pillar didn't give him a decent chance. I'm sure some of the Dub posters can fill you in a bit better than I but he didn't look quite IC standard when ever I saw him.
Post by: blueboy on March 11, 2008, 05:38:22 PM
Can you send a link with the story?
Post by: unforgiven on March 11, 2008, 09:22:20 PM
I think there is alot more wrong with Derry hurling than the dual player issue.  Alot of the best hurlers in the county who don't play football aren't in the panel
Post by: THEREALGRASSROOTS on March 11, 2008, 09:55:07 PM
Quote from: blueboy on March 11, 2008, 05:38:22 PM
Can you send a link with the story?

http://www.derrypost.com/2008/03/11/hinphey-leaves-derry-hurling-panel/
Post by: INDIANA on March 11, 2008, 10:39:47 PM
13 dotsy o callaghan for dublin quit the footballers. the dual player is dead- not possible to do both anymore at county level. in dublin you cannot play on a development team from u15 up for both codees now good idea in my view- i played both and i'm crippled now because of it.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 12, 2008, 09:12:38 AM
Kevin Hinphey is the captain of Derry hulers. 

Interesting to see how many inter-county dual players there is now – Higgins would be one of the few.  There is also Michale Magill and until recently Brendan Herron and Karl Stewart of Antrim.  Conal Keaney was Dublins best hurler, but he packed it in too.  It will be a while for anybody to do what Sean Og did and play in an All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football final in the same year.
Post by: Gnevin on March 12, 2008, 09:44:03 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 11, 2008, 10:39:47 PM
13 dotsy o callaghan for dublin quit the footballers. the dual player is dead- not possible to do both anymore at county level. in dublin you cannot play on a development team from u15 up for both codees now good idea in my view- i played both and i'm crippled now because of it.
Indiana the name escapes me is it Connelly who's U-21 Hurlers and Senior footballer
Post by: AZOffaly on March 12, 2008, 09:58:36 AM
We would have had a tradition of them, especially at underage, but the likes of Sean Ryan, who is a senior dual player, are getting fewer and fewer.
Post by: blanketattack on March 12, 2008, 11:43:44 AM
Has any dual player (who was a guaranteed starter for both intercounty teams) from a traditional football county ever picked hurling over football? or vice-versa?
Also, most dual players seem to choose one code over the other eventually. Has any dual player spent the whole of their career as a dual player? Teddy Mac?
Post by: Onlooker on March 12, 2008, 12:39:30 PM
Babs Keating was a dual player for his entire career with Tipperary and is one of the few players to have won Railway Cup medals in both Hurling and Football. 
Post by: AZOffaly on March 12, 2008, 12:41:46 PM
Is Darren Rooney still with the hurlers this year in Laois? I think Liam Currams from Offaly spent his whole career as a dual player.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 12, 2008, 01:16:11 PM
Paul McCormack Armagh left the footballers to play for the hurlers, but he wasn't a starter on the football team.  Big Geoffrey played for both Derry hurlers and footballers throughout his career when selected.  What about JBM?
Post by: plain and simple on March 12, 2008, 01:47:30 PM
real shame about Hinphey, i hope it's not the end of his intercounty hurling career. i think he is a decent footballer, but he is a very good hurler. he rarely kicks a ball and his game is limited to short hand passing (although this seems to be a frustrating tactic of Derry footballers) not convinced yet that he will nail down a first team place on the football team but he might prove me wrong. come championship time it will be interesting to see if he is in first team. of course if he committed to the hurlers he would be one of the first on the teamsheet.
i think the whole scenario is symptomatic of attitude towards to hurling in Derry and Ulster in general. it's not cool or the 'in thing' to be a hurler. sad state of affairs if you ask me.
Post by: Doire abú on March 12, 2008, 04:42:21 PM
They say that Liam Hinphey would walk into the Cork or Kilkenny teams, much truth in that do youse reckon?
Kevin's a brilliant hurler as well.

Tony Scullion, Henry & Séamus Downey, Kieran McKeever and Brian McGilligan all from the 1993 Derry team hurled for Derry throughout their careers. Had to give it up after wee Éamonn's 'burl the hurls' speech though!! McKeever went back and won 1/2 Ulster SHC though.

Kevin McCloy was on one of those SHC teams as well I think.

Post by: INDIANA on March 13, 2008, 09:07:11 AM
darren rooney packed it up as well this year(hurling)- connolly did play 21 hurling but he won't go beyond that at hurling because of the football. it won't be a problem anymore because as of last year in Dublin no player can be on a development team for both codes at underage. I know it looks bad from hurling's point of view reading the above posts of players who quit hurling for football- but we have very little talent in dublin coming through at football while at hurling its on tap. Lads have already made the decision to be hurlers years ago.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 12, 2014, 09:32:27 PM
Cratloe today achieved a rare Clare Football and Hurling Senior Championship double. I wonder how many Players are involved in both  panels? How will they deal with the Munster Championship fixture wise?
Post by: rodney trotter on October 12, 2014, 09:37:19 PM
Podge Collins was suppose to have played savage today.. John Galvin a big addition to them, talk that he might be play County football with Clare next year.
Post by: barelegs on October 12, 2014, 09:41:30 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 12, 2014, 09:32:27 PM
Cratloe today achieved a rare Clare Football and Hurling Senior Championship double. I wonder how many Players are involved in both  panels? How will they deal with the Munster Championship fixture wise?

I think I read last week that it's the first time that the same club has won hurling and football titles in Clare from 1914. The figure quoted was 13 players involved in both panels which is a remarkable achievement for any club. With Dr Crokes out they could give Munster a right rattle. They weren't a million miles away in the football last year.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on October 12, 2014, 10:27:57 PM
Quote from: barelegs on October 12, 2014, 09:41:30 PM

I think I read last week that it's the first time that the same club has won hurling and football titles in Clare from 1914. The figure quoted was 13 players involved in both panels which is a remarkable achievement for any club. With Dr Crokes out they could give Munster a right rattle. They weren't a million miles away in the football last year.

well considering Kilmurrary-Ibrickane got to an All Ireland final a few years ago
Post by: AZOffaly on October 13, 2014, 04:16:01 PM
Loughmore Castleiney won the double in Tipp last year as well. I think dual players at club level can be a good thing at times, as the physicality of football, and the fitness you need, helps the hurling  team as well. Stories like Cratloe's and Loughmore's are good to see for an advocate of the 'other' game in a particular region.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 13, 2014, 09:42:11 PM
Keith Higgins has similar success to a lesser degree!

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=225937 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=225937)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 13, 2014, 10:34:02 PM
SNeil in the running this week in Derry to do the double - not sure how many players cross over
Post by: blanketattack on October 13, 2014, 10:38:14 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 12, 2008, 09:12:38 AM
Kevin Hinphey is the captain of Derry hulers. 

Interesting to see how many inter-county dual players there is now – Higgins would be one of the few.  There is also Michale Magill and until recently Brendan Herron and Karl Stewart of Antrim.  Conal Keaney was Dublins best hurler, but he packed it in too.  It will be a while for anybody to do what Sean Og did and play in an All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football final in the same year.

It only took 2 years - Alan Kerins did it in 2001!
Post by: blanketattack on October 13, 2014, 10:48:22 PM

Crokes not out yet. Probably favourites to be Kerry representatives in Munster.
Post by: barelegs on October 13, 2014, 11:45:05 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on October 13, 2014, 10:48:22 PM

The Kerry championship- as straight forward as usual. Just when I think I've figured it out, it turns out I haven't!!
Post by: Corner Forward on October 14, 2014, 08:09:48 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on October 13, 2014, 10:48:22 PM

Correct me if i'm wrong but is it not Mid Kerry v Austin stacks final meaning if mid kerry win Austin would go through to Munster as the last standing club team in the kerry Championship. May be wrong but thought thats how it worked.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 14, 2014, 10:01:43 AM
My ynderstanding is that if a divisional team wins the Kerry championship then the winners of their separate club championship goes into the provincial and that would be the winners of Crokes and Legion.
Post by: Ball Hopper on October 14, 2014, 10:32:39 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 14, 2014, 10:01:43 AM
My ynderstanding is that if a divisional team wins the Kerry championship then the winners of their separate club championship goes into the provincial and that would be the winners of Crokes and Legion.

This is correct.  Dr. Crokes play Killarney Legion on Sunday next, Oct 19 in Killarney in the Senior Club Championship final.  The winner of this game will represent Kerry in the Munster Club Championship if Mid-Kerry beat Austin Stacks in County Championship Final a week later.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 14, 2014, 10:57:48 AM
Yep. It's actually fairly simple.

The winners of the Kerry County Championship represent Kerry in the Munster Club UNLESS they are a divisional/combination side. In this case, the winners of the Kerry Senior Club Championship represent Kerry in the Munster Club.
Post by: screenexile on October 14, 2014, 02:42:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 14, 2014, 10:57:48 AM

The winners of the Kerry County Championship represent Kerry in the Munster Club UNLESS they are a divisional/combination side. In this case, the winners of the Kerry Senior Club Championship represent Kerry in the Munster Club.

That's a bit mad Ted!!
Post by: Ball Hopper on October 15, 2014, 06:51:23 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 14, 2014, 02:42:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 14, 2014, 10:57:48 AM

That's a bit mad Ted!!

Or you could say that the winners of the Kerry Senior Club Championship represent Kerry in the Munster Club UNLESS a different club wins the Kerry County Championship, that County Championship winning club then would represent Kerry.

Post by: AZOffaly on October 15, 2014, 09:29:45 AM
You could indeed. But I think my way is simpler :)

Screen, it's not really mad in fairness. They have the County Championship including divisional sides to help the Kerry county set up by making it a tougher competition to win. It brings on their club players by exposing them to playing against divisional sides, and brings on players in Junior and Intermediate clubs by allowing them to combine and play at a higher level. The number of players this system has produced for Kerry is huge, think of Galvin, Young, O'Sullivan and many others of even recent times.

In the early days, their divisional sides were allowed enter the Club championship, East Kerry won a few Munster Clubs back in the late 60s and 70s. When the divisional sides were barred, they had to come up with some other mechanism of guaranteeing a representative. They've had things like 'The Club that lasts longest in the County championship', but they've settled on this format now. The Default position is that the county champion represents Kerry, but if that team is ineligible, then the Club Champion goes forward.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 15, 2014, 08:52:16 PM
We've 9+ players that will have played (by this Sunday) in both senior county finals, first double final since the seventies in Antrim, lost hurling final (our first in club history :-( ) but play our big rivals, Cargin this Sat night
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 15, 2014, 08:57:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 15, 2014, 08:52:16 PM
We've 9+ players that will have played (by this Sunday) in both senior county finals, first double final since the seventies in Antrim, lost hurling final (our first in club history :-( ) but play our big rivals, Cargin this Sat night

what match are you for ?
Post by: dec on October 15, 2014, 09:29:56 PM
So in Kerry is the Dr Croke's team that are playing in the Club final basically the same team that got knocked out of the County Championship at some point.
Post by: Ball Hopper on October 16, 2014, 06:55:31 AM
Quote from: dec on October 15, 2014, 09:29:56 PM
So in Kerry is the Dr Croke's team that are playing in the Club final basically the same team that got knocked out of the County Championship at some point.

Exact same team. Playing the exact same Killarney Legion team that knocked Dr. Crokes out of the County Championship.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 16, 2014, 08:48:26 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 15, 2014, 08:57:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 15, 2014, 08:52:16 PM

what match are you for ?

Ahoghil on Sunday!! my bad
Post by: imtommygunn on October 16, 2014, 08:50:38 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on October 16, 2014, 06:55:31 AM

Exact same team. Playing the exact same Killarney Legion team that knocked Dr. Crokes out of the County Championship.

Is the gooch back at all? What area of Kerry are Dr Crokes from? Always thought they were Killarney.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 16, 2014, 10:24:07 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 16, 2014, 08:50:38 AM

Is the gooch back at all? What area of Kerry are Dr Crokes from? Always thought they were Killarney.

Both teams from Killarney
Post by: AZOffaly on October 16, 2014, 11:28:05 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 16, 2014, 10:24:07 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 16, 2014, 08:50:38 AM

Both teams from Killarney

There's a couple of clubs from around Killarney. Crokes would be the biggest at this stage, Legion are a famous old club too, currently making a revival. Spa is also on the outskirts of the town.
Post by: twohands!!! on October 16, 2014, 11:51:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 16, 2014, 11:28:05 AMThere's a couple of clubs from around Killarney. Crokes would be the biggest at this stage, Legion are a famous old club too, currently making a revival. Spa is also on the outskirts of the town.

I'm pretty sure that Crokes, Legion and Spa are all Killarney parish clubs which means that if you live in Killarney parish you can select which club to play for.

Both Crokes and Legion are historically the Killarney town teams whereas Spa are out the Cork road direction. From what I know neither Legion or Crokes have any particular area of Killarney town where they specifically draw their support from.

I remember asking someone from Kerry about how James O'Donoghue didnt end up playing with Crokes and he said that family connections are a key factor in Killarney and that his family were a Legion family so he was always going to end up there.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 17, 2014, 09:11:08 AM
You're right twohands. It's basically a free for all in terms of player commitment. Obviously familial bonds will play a part, hence James O'Donoghue, with his father Mike, going to Legion.

Gooch has played a huge role in recruitment for Crokes apparently. He goes into the schools, and tells the youngsters to join Crokes. Hard for Legion to compete with that up until last year, when James O'D started doing the same thing for Legion. Not sure who does it for Spa, but I'd say most of their players come from that area around the roundabout on the Cork Road.
Post by: Ball Hopper on October 17, 2014, 09:45:18 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 17, 2014, 09:11:08 AM
hence James O'Donoghue, with his father Mike,

Diarmuid is his father...
Post by: Never beat the deeler on October 17, 2014, 09:52:20 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on October 17, 2014, 09:45:18 AM

Mike played for Spa - are they even related?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 17, 2014, 10:16:12 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on October 17, 2014, 09:45:18 AM

Sorry, Diarmuid!!!  Mike plays with the Kerry Juniors I think :) Or at least he did. Won an U21 with Kerry as well back in 2008. You know what I meant though.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 17, 2014, 08:33:21 PM
You're right twohands. It's basically a free for all in terms of player commitment. Obviously familial bonds will play a part, hence James O'Donoghue, with his father Mike, going to Legion.

Gooch has played a huge role in recruitment for Crokes apparently. He goes into the schools, and tells the youngsters to join Crokes. Hard for Legion to compete with that up until last year, when James O'D started doing the same thing for Legion. Not sure who does it for Spa, but I'd say most of their players come from that area around the roundabout on the Cork Road.

just to complicate things further, some people will compete in athletics (e.g community games) with one club and play football with another !
Post by: AZOffaly on October 17, 2014, 08:37:13 PM
Is athletics not town/community based? Like the community games don't feature athletic clubs per se? I thought that was the case anyway. I remember playing Portarlington or someone one time and their team had lads from Gracefield and Port. (There was no other team in community games).
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 17, 2014, 08:55:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 17, 2014, 08:37:13 PM
Is athletics not town/community based? Like the community games don't feature athletic clubs per se? I thought that was the case anyway. I remember playing Portarlington or someone one time and their team had lads from Gracefield and Port. (There was no other team in community games).

yes, that is correct.,,but I knew lads in school that ran for Spa and played football for Crokes eventhough Spa also had a football team. They got slagged by everyone over that !
Post by: Ball Hopper on October 20, 2014, 01:18:13 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on October 14, 2014, 10:32:39 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on October 14, 2014, 10:01:43 AM

This is correct.  Dr. Crokes play Killarney Legion on Sunday next, Oct 19 in Killarney in the Senior Club Championship final.  The winner of this game will represent Kerry in the Munster Club Championship if Mid-Kerry beat Austin Stacks in County Championship Final a week later.

Big win for Dr. Crokes in Senior Club Final...beat Killarney Legion 4-13 to 1-9.  They will represent Kerry in Munster Club if Mid-Kerry beat Austin Stacks in County Championship final next week.

Only three Dr. Crokes players got on the scoresheet - Kieran O'Leary 1-7, Ambrose O'Donovan 2-1, and Johnny Buckley 1-5.  James O'Donoghue got 1-5 of Legion's scores.

The Gooch did not feature.