Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 03:57:22 PM

Title: Is 25 only played by Fenians?
Post by: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 03:57:22 PM
I was wondering if my northern cousins could tell me if the great card game of 25 (45 to some, and 31 to the odd boys in Kerry), is a cross community game in the north or not?
Title: Re: Is 25 only played by Fenians?
Post by: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 04:22:46 PM
Cheers hardstation.  Missed that thread.  Did anyone try the online 45?
Post by: nifan on February 13, 2008, 04:28:18 PM
ive never even heard of it
Post by: ziggysego on February 13, 2008, 04:30:51 PM
Quote from: nifan on February 13, 2008, 04:28:18 PM

If it helps, neither have I.
Post by: downtown on February 13, 2008, 04:31:34 PM
av u an online link 2 it
Post by: Puckoon on February 13, 2008, 04:32:40 PM
My grandmother reared us playing 25 - great game, but I completely forget how to play it now.
Post by: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 04:33:22 PM
Haven't looked at it yet:

http://www.fortyfives.com/
Post by: Star Spangler on February 13, 2008, 04:36:28 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 13, 2008, 04:30:51 PM

How could anyone from a place like Greencastle not heard of 25??  :o
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 13, 2008, 04:36:40 PM
My Grandfather taught me to play 25 when I was a child, have completely forgotten how to play now, anywhere I could get a refresher?
Post by: Mickey Linden on February 13, 2008, 04:38:19 PM
Great game all together. We played it in school flat out. Havent played it much since to be honest
Post by: gawa316 on February 13, 2008, 04:38:30 PM
Is that the game where the 5 of trumph is the best card, followed by the naive and then the ace of hearts?
Post by: ziggysego on February 13, 2008, 04:38:54 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on February 13, 2008, 04:36:28 PM

How could anyone from a place like Greencastle not heard of 25??  :o

I'm not a card player. Brother tried to teach me Texas Hold 'em a few weeks ago. Was pulling his hair out at the end. Still beat him though ;)
Post by: Puckoon on February 13, 2008, 04:39:28 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on February 13, 2008, 04:38:30 PM
Is that the game where the 5 of trumph is the best card, followed by the naive and then the ace of hearts?

yeah, thats the one.
Post by: SammyG on February 13, 2008, 04:40:38 PM

Nor me. My granny's house used to have a big card school, every Saturday tea time, when I was a kid. They played loads of different games but I've never heard of 25.
Post by: Star Spangler on February 13, 2008, 04:40:55 PM

That's it.
Post by: maddog on February 13, 2008, 04:41:59 PM
They are mad for 25 in the local, seems to be a west of ireland thing, or maybe thats because most of the exiles are west of ireland anyway. Havent a clue how to play it, tried learning but the bastards would ate ye for making a mistake. Noticed when they are playing in pairs the amount of ear pulling, eye and nose twitching that goes on. ;D
They have 2 big all day tournaments per year, one of them is a grand to the winner, last year it went onto about 0500 with school the next day. Ouch
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 13, 2008, 04:42:14 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 13, 2008, 04:32:40 PM
My grandmother reared us playing 25 - great game, but I completely forget how to play it now.

Ah its a great game especially if your playing partners with a few auld fellas , a man could be killed for letting a trick out, Its highest in Red and Lowest in Black puck everyone is dealt 5 cards  3 first and then 2 or vice versa and a card is then tuned over, the best card you can get is the 5 of trumps followed by jack, ace of hearts, king and queen and so on. You get 5 for every trick you win so the objest is to win 5 tricks, gets interesting trying to keep the count especially if you have a few pints on board ;) sorry for the poor explanation of the game but the next time your in mayo i'll show you properely money of course :)
Post by: Puckoon on February 13, 2008, 04:43:44 PM
But isnt the black king a bad card, whereas the black 2 is better. In red it is in reverse?
Post by: gerry on February 13, 2008, 04:43:55 PM
play it each christmas at an anniversary mass with a load of old boys who take their cards very serious.  we play pairs which makes the game harder again, you have to try to win the game but without killing you partner.

they also play it in my local some nights, the craic deadly when the the pints are flowing
Post by: gawa316 on February 13, 2008, 04:45:08 PM
Quote from: Star Spangler on February 13, 2008, 04:40:55 PM

That's it.

Well then it's not only 'fenians' who play it. But it was a fenian who taught me!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 04:45:57 PM
In it's most basic format (25) the cards are ranked

5 of trumps
Jack (knave) of trumps
Ace of Hearts
Ace of Trumps.
King of Trumps
Queen of Trumps

Then if suit is black the lower non-picture card wins, e.g. the 5 of clubs beats the 7 of clubs.
if the suit is red, the higher card wins. e.g. the 7 of hearts beats the 5 of hearts.

Best trump wins a trick.
If no trumps played by anyone, the best card in the suit first laid wins the trick.

A trick is worth 5 points.

Every player gets 5 cards in each deal. If you have the ace of trumps (trumps is determined by the turning of the next card in the pack after the cards are all dealt) you must rob the trump that was turned up, by laying your worst card face down and picking up the trump turned up by the dealer.

(if the turned card is your worst card, there is nothing stopping you taking it up, and laying it straight back down again face down).

If at the end of the hand there is no one with 25 points (5 tricks) the deal moves on to the left, and scores carry over to the next hand.

Post by: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 04:48:04 PM
gawa316, produce a deck after the next game in Windsor.
Post by: Puckoon on February 13, 2008, 04:48:33 PM
If the dealer turns up the ace of trumps, or the 5 of trumps, do they get to rob it? I seem to remember something about that. This is a great cobweb clearing exercise here.

Tess must be spinning in the grave.
Post by: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 04:49:32 PM
AZ, try explaining renaging!!
Post by: Puckoon on February 13, 2008, 04:50:46 PM
I believe that is holding back on a trump card so you can keep it to win a big trick. For example if I had the 5 and it was my only trump, and I didnt play it in turn, but held it back in order to beat someones nave, or ace of hearts.?
???
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 04:51:46 PM
I was just going to say that Loughers ;D Suffice to say, if you do renege, you will only do it one :D

Puckoon, if the dealer turns up an Ace as the 'trump' card, he/she must, by law, recite the rhyme, 'Ace to your face is a bloody disgrace', while smugly tucking the ace into their hand and laying down the ace of diamonds or ten of clubs. (Worst card in the pack unless diamonds are trumps).

If the ace turned up is the Ace of Hearts, a small victory jig is also expected.
Post by: gerry on February 13, 2008, 04:52:16 PM
yea. if you deal a ace its yours, you select your weakness card and put it under the pack,  then everyone knows you have a ace and  are waiting on you to play it and win the hand.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 04:54:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 13, 2008, 04:50:46 PM
I believe that is holding back on a trump card so you can keep it to win a big trick. For example if I had the 5 and it was my only trump, and I didnt play it in turn, but held it back in order to beat someones nave, or ace of hearts.?
???

It's even more complicated than that.

The way it is played in Offaly and Kerry is this.

If a trump is played, you MUST lay a trump on it, even if your trump will be beaten. If you do not have a trump, you may lay your worst card on it.
There are, however, exceptions to the rule. You *can* renege the 5 of trumps off any card. You can renege the Jack off any card, except the five. You can renege the Ace of Hearts off anything except the 5 and Jack,

Also......

If a NON_trump is laid, you must either
a) Lay a card from the same suit if you have it OR
b) Lay a trump card if you prefer (to try and win the hand) OR
c) Lay any other card if you have no suited card, and don't want to waste/don't have a trump.
Post by: T O Hare on February 13, 2008, 04:56:44 PM
still poplular but has been taken over slighty by poker.. great game.. i used to make a fortune at school at it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
the post mortem after a hand is always fun!!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 04:58:19 PM
Spot on Tom.

Jaysus if you had let me go with the 10, we'd have kept him in.

But sure why would I do that, I was rising 20?

Sure look now, your man is 20 for out :D
Post by: Rick O Shea on February 13, 2008, 04:59:22 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 04:45:57 PM
In it's most basic format (25) the cards are ranked

5 of trumps
Jack (knave) of trumps
Ace of Hearts
Ace of Trumps.
King of Trumps
Queen of Trumps

Then if suit is black the lower non-picture card wins, e.g. the 5 of clubs beats the 7 of clubs.
if the suit is red, the higher card wins. e.g. the 7 of hearts beats the 5 of hearts.
Best trump wins a trick.
If no trumps played by anyone, the best card in the suit first laid wins the trick.

A trick is worth 5 points.

Every player gets 5 cards in each deal. If you have the ace of trumps (trumps is determined by the turning of the next card in the pack after the cards are all dealt) you must rob the trump that was turned up, by laying your worst card face down and picking up the trump turned up by the dealer.

(if the turned card is your worst card, there is nothing stopping you taking it up, and laying it straight back down again face down).

If at the end of the hand there is no one with 25 points (5 tricks) the deal moves on to the left, and scores carry over to the next hand.

My knowledge of 25 is sketchy to say the least but is that not the worst example you could have used, does the 5 of a suit not beat everything in that suit?  ???  ???
Post by: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 05:00:44 PM
Only the man with the ace can rob the five if it's turned up.  Doesn't matter who deals.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 05:01:45 PM
No, not at all. Only the 5 of trumps beats everything.

If the hand is off suit, the 5 of black is better than the seven, whereas the 7 of red is better than 5.

Obviously if the suit in question is a trump, then the 5 beats all.

Maybe I should have said the 4 beats the 7, and vice versa.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 05:02:11 PM
Quote from: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 05:00:44 PM
Only the man with the ace can rob the five if it's turned up.  Doesn't matter who deals.

The man with the ace can rob whatever card is turned up, including the five.
Post by: ExiledGael on February 13, 2008, 05:03:07 PM
Quote from: gerry on February 13, 2008, 04:52:16 PM
yea. if you deal a ace its yours, you select your weakness card and put it under the pack,  then everyone knows you have a ace and  are waiting on you to play it and win the hand.

The most twisted of all card games. Many's the man fell out over this. The oul boy plays nothing else.
One thing that I was never sure of, and often debated, was if, when holding the ace of trump, you must lay down your weakest card before anyone throws in for the first five to lift your new card? Can you wait until such time as you want to use the ace or the card to be lifted?
Always seemed like an unfair disadvantage to let them know straight away what two of your cards were if you'd got an ace.

The Five is only of use if it's the trump suit, then known as "the fingers, you bastard".
Post by: Rick O Shea on February 13, 2008, 05:04:40 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 05:01:45 PM
No, not at all. Only the 5 of trumps beats everything.

If the hand is off suit, the 5 of black is better than the seven, whereas the 7 of red is better than 5.

Obviously if the suit in question is a trump, then the 5 beats all.

Maybe I should have said the 4 beats the 7, and vice versa.

oh yeah, my bad.

Though it definitely would have be easier if you used the example of 4 and 7
Post by: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 05:13:06 PM
Wasn't planning going out tonight, but I've made a few calls and we've a few pints of stout and a game organised for tonight.
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 13, 2008, 05:16:37 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on February 13, 2008, 05:03:07 PM
Quote from: gerry on February 13, 2008, 04:52:16 PM

The most twisted of all card games. Many's the man fell out over this. The oul boy plays nothing else.
One thing that I was never sure of, and often debated, was if, when holding the ace of trump, you must lay down your weakest card before anyone throws in for the first five to lift your new card? Can you wait until such time as you want to use the ace or the card to be lifted? Always seemed like an unfair disadvantage to let them know straight away what two of your cards were if you'd got an ace.

The Five is only of use if it's the trump suit, then known as "the fingers, you bastard".
the we used to play it that if you had the ace of trump you could pick up the rob once it came into you however if you dealt youself the ace you had to lay down your weakest card before anyone played their 1st card . I can still here the sounds of lads knuckles hammering off a table as they won a trick, nothing better than seeing  ace of hearts getting beat by as jack then to be hammered by a five and someone yelling "thats a game of cards"
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 13, 2008, 05:39:52 PM
For all the non-25 players it's the only card game I can actually play. Haven't a notion about poker or any other card-game for that matter. It's a [ity more younger people aren't at it though... :-\
Post by: Roseyland on February 13, 2008, 05:56:13 PM
25 is very popular around the midlands, progressive 25 where there might be up to 20 tables of 4 takes place once a week in the local community centre. A popular variant of the game down in the local pub is auction 15/20 where there's and extra hand dealt and the highest bidder takes it, picking the best five from his own and the auctioned hand, the object is to get 3 tricks in one hand if a trump has been laid out, or 4 tricks in one hand and pick your own trump. Some craic trying to prevent the lad from winning with the winking/nudging etc. ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 13, 2008, 06:37:44 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 04:54:50 PM
???

If a trump is played, you MUST lay a trump on it, even if your trump will be beaten. If you do not have a trump, you may lay your worst card on it.
There are, however, exceptions to the rule. You *can* renege the 5 of trumps off any card. You can renege the Jack off any card, except the five. You can renege the Ace of Hearts off anything except the 5 and Jack,

Also......

c) Lay any other card if you have no suited card, and don't want to waste/don't have a trump.

That's the way we play it at home as well AZ.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2008, 06:40:50 PM
Only played by brave men!

We used play it all the time on the bus from Belfast to Cross for training.  Paul the wall was the king at it(are you one of us Paul? ;)) and the McEntees.  Great way to pass the time and plenty of packets of matches were fcuked at boys for reneging :D

I have forgotten how to play it so I must have a wee hoke around to see what I can pick up again.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 13, 2008, 06:49:15 PM
Tis a great game alright. Me father used to play it flat out when we were younger. He always prefered it to the poker. Used to play alot years ago but haven't played in a while now. And what about whist? Anyone play at that?
I have to say I have moved on to texas hold em at the minute.
Post by: FL/MAYO on February 13, 2008, 09:02:40 PM
Have to agree its a great game, I was at home for 5 weeks last winter and was not long picking up the game again. Great game in a pub with a few pints. A previous poster mentioned Auction 15 which is also a great game with a bit of gambling thrown in.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 13, 2008, 09:14:13 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 04:54:50 PM
???

Also......

Same rules as Tyrone as far as I remember, haven't played in years.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 13, 2008, 09:15:54 PM
And to reply to the original question I do remember plenty, or at least a representative amount for the part of the country I'm from, of the 25 sharks being 'non-Fenians'.  :)
Post by: Rossfan on February 13, 2008, 09:16:29 PM
It's the only game of cards worth playing but unless you are very good at it you have to keep away from oul lads.
I used to play a lot in my younger days but hardly have time these days.
Still every time I see a pack of cards I get a tingle up the spine.
By the way I know a few Prods who were contrary hoors around the table too.
Post by: gawa316 on February 13, 2008, 10:03:56 PM
Quote from: Loughers on February 13, 2008, 04:48:04 PM
gawa316, produce a deck after the next game in Windsor.

Ye never know, weirder things have been done.

Now you mention it there was only me and another young fella who where prods playin it. Use to play it up at work near Lisnaskea on our tea break. We played with matchsticks (gay I know) but what sort of currency usually exchanges hands?
Post by: Fishbat on February 13, 2008, 11:18:15 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on February 13, 2008, 04:42:14 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 13, 2008, 04:32:40 PM

Ah its a great game especially if your playing partners with a few auld fellas , a man could be killed for letting a trick out, Its highest in Red and Lowest in Black puck everyone is dealt 5 cards  3 first and then 2 or vice versa and a card is then tuned over, the best card you can get is the 5 of trumps followed by jack, ace of hearts, king and queen and so on. You get 5 for every trick you win so the objest is to win 5 tricks, gets interesting trying to keep the count especially if you have a few pints on board ;) sorry for the poor explanation of the game but the next time your in mayo i'll show you properely money of course :)

Thats where the beer mats come in - rip them up into wee squares, one per trick

Post by: Fishbat on February 13, 2008, 11:28:38 PM
Aye same rules as up nort.

Heres a rule from my own town - double bubble - a pound in from each fella at the start, if anyone gets 25 straight from the one hand everyone forks in another squib each.

Or play 30 to stop that from happening.

creates some slagging matches alright - every man is watchin like a hawk
Post by: J70 on February 14, 2008, 12:09:22 AM
I remember it in Donegal as a kid, but I haven't come across it anywhere else.
Post by: Fishbat on February 14, 2008, 12:46:38 AM
Quote from: J70 on February 14, 2008, 12:09:22 AM
I remember it in Donegal as a kid, but I haven't come across it anywhere else.

Yip, thats where my 25 teacher came from (aul fella) shores of Lough Swilly - taught all the tricks (pardon the pun) of the trade by 10 yrs old

Anyone have an idea where it originated?
Post by: Son_of_Sam on February 14, 2008, 01:08:33 AM
Not many Fenians in Mayo but the Blueshirts (or 85% of the population) play it  ;D
Post by: rosnarun on February 14, 2008, 01:33:15 AM
a) Lay a card from the same suit if you have it

same rules in north mayo apart from the above. i think thats one that slipped in from whist
was a big game in  galway too .my grandfather was akways playing it in the pubsaround moylogh and mountbellew. one of the few card games thats as good without money though manys a turkey was won playing it in cawleys of rakestreet they even had put up a brand new car at one stage . mind you you had to play for a full winter to win it, ruined many a good man
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2008, 08:32:26 AM
We used to throw in a fiver or tenner a man, and first to 3 games wins the pot. We used to keep track of tricks with broken matches, and a full match was a game. So if you had 2 full matches, and 4 broken matches you were '20 for out'.

Now we use the hold 'em poker chips to count. Red counts games, green counts tricks.

Also, at the end of the night we would have 'the scoop'. Basically one game of 25 for 2 or 3 euro each. Winner of the game takes the pot.
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 14, 2008, 09:32:10 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 14, 2008, 08:32:26 AM
We used to throw in a fiver or tenner a man, and first to 3 games wins the pot. We used to keep track of tricks with broken matches, and a full match was a game. So if you had 2 full matches, and 4 broken matches you were '20 for out'.

Now we use the hold 'em poker chips to count. Red counts games, green counts tricks.

Also, at the end of the night we would have 'the scoop'. Basically one game of 25 for 2 or 3 euro each. Winner of the game takes the pot.

thats what we would do as well Az first to 3 gets the money, golden rule in 25 never let the dealer get a soft trick let him earn his 5 ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2008, 09:33:45 AM
You could pressure a newbie dealer as well. Keep going on about the 'dealing trick', and then send in a small prod to see if he/she will bite. If a big trump comes out, you have them :D
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 14, 2008, 09:39:25 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 14, 2008, 09:33:45 AM
You could pressure a newbie dealer as well. Keep going on about the 'dealing trick', and then send in a small prod to see if he/she will bite. If a big trump comes out, you have them :D

:D :D ye Az allways good to see the five of trumps hammering a wee 3 or 4 of trumps
Post by: Heshs Umpire on February 14, 2008, 11:17:13 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on February 14, 2008, 09:39:25 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 14, 2008, 09:33:45 AM

:D :D ye Az allways good to see the five of trumps hammering a wee 3 or 4 of trumps

Dear but honest, we used to say !!