GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: zoyler on February 06, 2008, 09:40:26 PM

Title: Collingwood to play Dublin!!!!!
Post by: zoyler on February 06, 2008, 09:40:26 PM
Caroline Wilson - leading AFL reporter with the Melborne Age is reporting in tomorrows paper that Collingwood boss Eddie McGuire ( Ma supposed to be from Boyle, Co. Rosc) has returned to Dubai for weekend game from Dublin where he has arranged a game against the Dubs for the end of the season or early 2009.  He says he wants to help re-establish good realations with the GAA
and suggests it might be easier through a club rather than a national team visit.  Alsao it might be easier with a more level headed coach!!

.  They also say that they were shown a video with 61 incidents of foul/indisiplined play from the last series.  A good article - check out Real Footy at The Age website.
Title: Re: Collingwood to play Dublin!!!!!
Post by: orangeman on February 06, 2008, 09:48:43 PM
Interesting if it is true !  ??? ???
Post by: ExiledGael on February 06, 2008, 09:53:18 PM
Seen this mentioned in a couple of today's papers. Would certainly be interesting, probably a good enough idea.
Post by: zoyler on February 06, 2008, 10:01:16 PM
Is that the Irish papers?
Post by: magickingdom on February 06, 2008, 10:52:34 PM
its in tonights hearld. the dubs v collingwood in croker..... come on collingwood!!! ;D
Post by: ExiledGael on February 06, 2008, 11:00:23 PM
Quote from: zoyler on February 06, 2008, 10:01:16 PM
Is that the Irish papers?

Ay Star and Mirror i seen it mentioned
Post by: the green man on February 06, 2008, 11:02:36 PM
Did he see O Mahoney haymakering agin Carlow?
Post by: magickingdom on February 06, 2008, 11:10:12 PM
heres the link,

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/collingwood-to-win-back-ireland/2008/02/06/1202233950856.html
Post by: Aerlik on February 06, 2008, 11:15:59 PM
Jayzuz, I feel myself doing the unthinkable...I even shout for the Eagles when they play the Colly wobbles...but the Dubs?....gulp....
Post by: thejuice on February 07, 2008, 09:54:29 AM
i dont know who to cheer for, suppose id have to cheer the "Irish" team although it wont be easy.

What type of a game will they be playing by the way.
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2008, 10:21:00 AM
Juice! Are you mad?
Post by: Hound on February 07, 2008, 11:31:45 AM
Its not clear what game they'd be playing, but you'd have to assume it'd be International Rules.

Not sure why the Dubs would do it? Would we get anything out of it, other than a few sore heads!

Pretty optimistic of them to think they'd get over 80,000 at it.

It Dubs were going to play an exhibition game in another sport, I'd personally prefer to see them playing soccer against the League of Ireland champions.  ;D
Post by: Declan on February 07, 2008, 11:45:02 AM
QuoteIt Dubs were going to play an exhibition game in another sport, I'd personally prefer to see them playing soccer against the League of Ireland champions.

Great idea Hound - Play it in Tallaght
Post by: Hound on February 07, 2008, 12:06:28 PM
Quote from: Declan on February 07, 2008, 11:45:02 AM
QuoteIt Dubs were going to play an exhibition game in another sport, I'd personally prefer to see them playing soccer against the League of Ireland champions.

Great idea Hound - Play it in Tallaght
It'd be nice for it to have one full house alright  ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on February 07, 2008, 01:16:35 PM
Genius idea, how many people were saying, feck them, scrap the series, thugs.

Yet when they make it so the rest of the country may get the chance to see the dubs get their heads boxed in, suddenly it aint so bad  ;)

Honest to god, I do beleive this is a clever way to soften the opinions of the rest of the country.
Post by: thejuice on February 07, 2008, 02:04:11 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 07, 2008, 10:21:00 AM
Juice! Are you mad?

Maybe I'll just go to enjoy the spectacle,
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 07, 2008, 05:46:36 PM
definetely a game id go to watch,

would be an interesting spectacle, the difference between AFL Clubs and singke county teams.

would say Dublin with all their Extremely heavy weights programme would be well fit to mix it with them aswell.
Post by: irunthev on February 08, 2008, 01:05:14 PM
There is one fundamental flaw in the whole concept of the Compromise Rules thing and that is that any suspension or punishment received playing only applies to the IRS and it does not carry forward to the players own code. So basically it is a pretty lawless set up, no matter what rules are imposed. The thing is that the AFL clubs wouldn't let their players play if they were in danger of getting a suspension for violence or aggressive play, so the suspension will only ever apply to the compromise series. This thing is though, that the IRS is no big deal for the Aussies and really once they have played in it once, it's generally enough for them. So if they are suspended from the next series... who cares and that will apply if it is Collingwood v Dublin or Oz v Ireland. The only saving grace in the club v county game will be the fact that Collingwood pay the player's wages and the players mightn't want to risk any internal discplinary charges or fine, nor to  have the club's name dragged through the mud.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 08, 2008, 01:43:49 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on February 07, 2008, 05:46:36 PM
would say Dublin with all their Extremely heavy weights programme would be well fit to mix it with them aswell.

Surely people still don't believe this after seeing our compromise rules team thrown around like ragdolls the last time.

No matter how many weights Dublin do of a Winter evening they are still up against professional athletes who train like that constantly.
Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2008, 01:50:35 PM
Go to bigfooty.com and check out the fans reaction. "Great, we can poach some new players!" just about sums it up.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 08, 2008, 02:03:34 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 08, 2008, 01:43:49 PM

Surely people still don't believe this after seeing our compromise rules team thrown around like ragdolls the last time.

No matter how many weights Dublin do of a Winter evening they are still up against professional athletes who train like that constantly.

First of all them Compromise Rules teams had  players who pissed themselves in fear at the sight of the aussies.
Far be it for me to start praising the Dubs
It wasnt the Dublin players that were getting thrown around like ragdolls, and hiding while their teammates were getting the s**t beaten out of them
I seem to remember Shane Ryan holding his own with the "professional" athletes when the punch ups and melees started.
If there is any County team that could live or compete with an AFL teams in terms of physicality it would be Dublin.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 08, 2008, 02:07:59 PM
But if we need to pick a team who would be able to compete with the Aussies when fights break out, we really need to sit down and think why we are bothering.

Let the Rubgy team play them, see how hard they are then.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 08, 2008, 02:14:43 PM
HHN

i dont think these types games can occur nowadays without some sort of melee or punch up taking place.
i seem to be one of the few on here who doesnt mind a few flare ups in games, ;)
But if the GAA want incident free games,
Then they should just let International rules die
Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2008, 02:16:27 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on February 08, 2008, 02:03:34 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 08, 2008, 01:43:49 PM

First of all them Compromise Rules teams had  players who pissed themselves in fear at the sight of the aussies.
Far be it for me to start praising the Dubs
It wasnt the Dublin players that were getting thrown around like ragdolls, and hiding while their teammates were getting the s**t beaten out of them
I seem to remember Shane Ryan holding his own with the "professional" athletes when the punch ups and melees started.
If there is any County team that could live or compete with an AFL teams in terms of physicality it would be Dublin.

Exactly, some of the windiness on show was embarassing. None of the Dubs were guilty of it though. The whole weights thing is being totally over played. Its not weights that are the issue, it's attitude and aggression. Did anyone see Colm Begley playing for Stradbally last season? He has a very slight build even by GAA standards yet he is a regular with the Brisbane Lions. If he was on the Dublin team, someone would say "Jesus Begley could do with a weights programme." How come he isn't killed playing in the AFL?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 08, 2008, 02:26:51 PM
Indeed Jinxy,Begley looks small compared to the seasonsed Veterans in the AFL,
But id say hed have extremely low Body fat(far more so than even the elite inter county stars)
and would be fairly well built.
And as you said it is about attitude and aggression as much as weights and Body sculpting programmes.
Post by: Zulu on February 08, 2008, 02:36:12 PM
I must say I'm a fan of the IR, while the last two series were embarrassing on a number of fronts, if played properly and with a bit more aggression by the Irish lads it could be a great spectacle.
Post by: irunthev on February 08, 2008, 02:38:24 PM
There's a guy involved with St Vincents in Dublin called Martin Kennedy  who worked in the Sports Science department with West Coast Eagles when they won the Championship in 2006. From what he has told me, the difference physically between the average GAA player and the average AFL player is night and die. He worked along with the likes of Chris Judd, Ben Cousins and Daniel Kerr on a daily basis and these guys were almost of national championship standard in some disciplines (eg 400m). Obviously no athlete is good at everything, some are strong, some fast, some have endurance, but in the cases of Judd and Cousins, their standards were exceptional in the majority of disciplines. The difference is simple. When the Aussie guy wakes up in the morning the only thought on his mind is being the best footballer he can be, when the average GAA players wakes up he has a good bit to get through before he can start becoming a better footballer, and while walking around a classroom drinking a bottle of water and making sure you are well hydrated is helpful, it is no where near as useful as doing the full time stuff the Aussies are doing.
Post by: Zulu on February 08, 2008, 02:45:24 PM
True but there is no reason that an amature footballer can't bulk up to aussie rules levels. He won't be able to match a professional in all aspects but size is one he can.
Post by: thejuice on February 08, 2008, 02:45:41 PM
The IR series shouldnt really be bothered with in all seriousness. as well as the lawless nature and physicallity of it, its hardly a level playing field. Pro's against amatuers, the pro's as we saw in the last series were able to adapt to the round ball with a bit of effort, while the amatuers never got the grasp of open field tackling.

the only reason I'd like to see it played one more time, is just to see some of the aussies get their jaws knocked off. might shut up a few of the smart arses down under. Perhaps we should dig up some players not from the county teams nessesarily but from all levels, the lose cannons and "wild lookin" lads who wouldnt be too afraid of throwin' digs. Perhaps even some of the polish body builders out, could be seen as an "integration" exercise.
Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2008, 03:20:44 PM
Quote from: irunthev on February 08, 2008, 02:38:24 PM
There's a guy involved with St Vincents in Dublin called Martin Kennedy  who worked in the Sports Science department with West Coast Eagles when they won the Championship in 2006. From what he has told me, the difference physically between the average GAA player and the average AFL player is night and die. He worked along with the likes of Chris Judd, Ben Cousins and Daniel Kerr on a daily basis and these guys were almost of national championship standard in some disciplines (eg 400m). Obviously no athlete is good at everything, some are strong, some fast, some have endurance, but in the cases of Judd and Cousins, their standards were exceptional in the majority of disciplines. The difference is simple. When the Aussie guy wakes up in the morning the only thought on his mind is being the best footballer he can be, when the average GAA players wakes up he has a good bit to get through before he can start becoming a better footballer, and while walking around a classroom drinking a bottle of water and making sure you are well hydrated is helpful, it is no where near as useful as doing the full time stuff the Aussies are doing.

Judd and Cousins are most certainly not examples of the average AFL player. They are the cream of the crop (well Cousins isn't anymore). Martin Clarke was the best runner at Collingwood as soon as he stepped off the plane. Brendan Murphy came 3rd in Sydneys time trial a few days after arriving. Begley is in Brisbanes top 2/3 runners. One of the big differences is in standardised fitness testing, i.e. VO2 max, vertical leap, beep tests etc. In most cases intercounty players don't undergo these tests whereas AFL players would do them during preseason and maybe at other intervals during the year. This gives them something to compare with other athletic disciplines. And like  anything that is done with any degree of frequency, they get better at doing them, i.e. they maximise their potential. I seem to be in the minority as I think athletically there isn't a massive difference, and indeed many of the AFL fans would recognise that their Irish recruits are among their best for athletic ability. Preparation is where the biggest difference is i.e. periodised training programmes, nutrition, recovery etc. I would certainly say that AFL players are far better at maximising their potential as athletes, but I don't think they are that much better in terms of sheer ability.
Post by: western exile on February 08, 2008, 05:28:55 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 08, 2008, 03:20:44 PM
There's a guy involved with St Vincents in Dublin called Martin Kennedy  who worked in the Sports Science department with West Coast Eagles when they won the Championship in 2006. From what he has told me, the difference physically between the average GAA player and the average AFL player is night and die. He worked along with the likes of Chris Judd, Ben Cousins and Daniel Kerr on a daily basis and these guys were almost of national championship standard in some disciplines (eg 400m). Obviously no athlete is good at everything, some are strong, some fast, some have endurance, but in the cases of Judd and Cousins, their standards were exceptional in the majority of disciplines. The difference is simple. When the Aussie guy wakes up in the morning the only thought on his mind is being the best footballer he can be, when the average GAA players wakes up he has a good bit to get through before he can start becoming a better footballer, and while walking around a classroom drinking a bottle of water and making sure you are well hydrated is helpful, it is no where near as useful as doing the full time stuff the Aussies are doing.

Judd and Cousins are most certainly not examples of the average AFL player. They are the cream of the crop (well Cousins isn't anymore). Martin Clarke was the best runner at Collingwood as soon as he stepped off the plane. Brendan Murphy came 3rd in Sydneys time trial a few days after arriving. Begley is in Brisbanes top 2/3 runners. One of the big differences is in standardised fitness testing, i.e. VO2 max, vertical leap, beep tests etc. In most cases intercounty players don't undergo these tests whereas AFL players would do them during preseason and maybe at other intervals during the year. This gives them something to compare with other athletic disciplines. And like  anything that is done with any degree of frequency, they get better at doing them, i.e. they maximise their potential. I seem to be in the minority as I think athletically there isn't a massive difference, and indeed many of the AFL fans would recognise that their Irish recruits are among their best for athletic ability. Preparation is where the biggest difference is i.e. periodised training programmes, nutrition, recovery etc. I would certainly say that AFL players are far better at maximising their potential as athletes, but I don't think they are that much better in terms of sheer ability.

If you are in a minority, there is at least two of us there.  :D  I agree with you 100%
Post by: Denn Forever on February 08, 2008, 05:51:17 PM
What is in it for Dublin?  Training fund for season?  I think IR is dead.  Leave it there.
Post by: Hardy on February 08, 2008, 05:59:30 PM
I don't think it's dead enough. All this guff about Dublin vs. Collywobbles and meetings in Dubai and the like make me fearful it's going to do a Christopher Lee. A stake through the heart is what's needed.
Post by: irunthev on February 08, 2008, 06:12:16 PM
Quote from: western exile on February 08, 2008, 05:28:55 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 08, 2008, 03:20:44 PM

If you are in a minority, there is at least two of us there.  :D  I agree with you 100%

You're not wrong to a point and I agree that Judd and Cousins are exceptional athletes. But at the same time, no Irish player can hope to match these guys for fitness when they train at best four times a week or so. The range, volume and variety of training the Aussie guys do is impressive and there is also the point that a lot of the Irish guys who go over, while being very good at running, would then me told that they had 10kg or more to put on in order to be able to have a chance of surviving and as you know yourself, we aren't talking about going down to Burger King and stuffing your face, its 10 kg of muscle.

I'm not belittling the Irish guys at all and certainly the fitness levels now are incredible and will continue to be improved as the science gets even more intricate, but at the same time, you have to acknowledge that a well trained and well managed full time athlete is going to be a more powerful beast than the part timer. You only have to compare the footage of county football in 1985 to the present day to see the changes that advancements in training methods can make to the physique of players and while the differences are reduced greatly as you progress up the fitness chain, there will still be differences.

Tadgh said that Marty Clarke was lucky because he was a good runner and quite small so his centre of gravity and balance helped, but there is only room for so many of those guys on any footie team. I have spoken To Begley myself and he acknowledged that the running bit came natural to him and that the power bit was the big challenge for him. In fairness to them all they have all made tremendous strides, but you also have to appreciate the struggle that someone like Setanta had trying to get up to a fighting weight.
There mightn't be a huge difference, but there is a still a difference.
As for the fitness testing, well it would be a very poorly prepared county team that weren't tested at last 3 times a year.
Even London last year had four fitness tests conducted by the sports science department at Brunel University so, if London are doing it, you would expect everyone else to be as well.

Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2008, 06:36:35 PM
It all depends what your definition of fitness is. Aerobically at least, Clake, Begley and Murphy were more than a match for their aussie counterparts as soon as they stepped off the plane. I agree that they would be appreciably less physically developed but to my mind its easier to put muscle on a lad than it is to give him a rolls royce engine.
Post by: ykickamoocow on February 08, 2008, 07:46:53 PM
Murphy was told afew months ago that before he can play AFL he has to put on 10kg as he is too thin at the moment to survive at a AFL level. Also look at Martin Clarke from when he left Ireland to now, he is alot stronger now than he was afew years ago.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 08, 2008, 07:48:58 PM
I love these threads about Sports Science and Fitness in the GAA and the AFL.  :) Good knowledge about it on this board by certain posters and its very interesting.
Post by: Jinxy on February 08, 2008, 08:09:19 PM
Quote from: ykickamoocow on February 08, 2008, 07:46:53 PM
Murphy was told afew months ago that before he can play AFL he has to put on 10kg as he is too thin at the moment to survive at a AFL level. Also look at Martin Clarke from when he left Ireland to now, he is alot stronger now than he was afew years ago.

Too thin to survive as a key position forward, which is what he is being groomed for. KP players are in the 6' 4" plus, 95-100kg bracket. Very specific physical requirements.
Post by: sligeach on February 08, 2008, 08:42:31 PM
Maybe my memory is a bit ...dodgy but didn't Eamon O'Hara and whatever teammates he had that time stick it up to them ?

I remember Eamon getting a punch by a guy a foot or so bigger then him and smiling at him aferwards.

Post by: Aerlik on February 09, 2008, 02:54:21 AM
Quote from: irunthev on February 08, 2008, 06:12:16 PM

Judd and Cousins are most certainly not examples of the average AFL player. They are the cream of the crop (well Cousins isn't anymore).

You're not wrong to a point and I agree that Judd and Cousins are exceptional athletes.

WRONG WRONG WRRRRRRONNNNNNNNNNNNNNG

Ben Cousins should never be compared to Chris Judd who I have seen play many times.    Firstly, Cousins is a DRUG CHEAT, read Marion Jones, Michelle Smith etc.  He was on heavy duty crap for some time and was caught.  He was a running machine for sure, but if you can tweak any engine it'll perform "better". 

Secondly, Cousins was a ball taker, but rarely if ever a ball winner.  He would always hang off the pack and wait for  the ball to be given to him.  This was evidenced during last season's second derby when the Dockers' Josh Carr tagged him and he hardly got a touch.  As a consequence Carr got the MotM award.  And then the WCE starting bleating about taggers spoiling the game.  Jayzus H. Kristos, there was no condemnation of the drug cheats who were winning Brownlow medals and premierships only the designated markers employed to stop them.   

Judd is a hard ball winner.  He'll get stuck in and will use his speed to get though and out of the pack.  Kerr was almost always the main supplier to Cousins. In his much vaunted "comeback game" last season there was so much shite in the WA media about the prodigal son returning and he ended up with a bucketful of possessions.  I can't honestly recall one of them being for a 50-50 ball on the ground or the air.

So please lads, never compare Cousins and Judd.  Chalk and cheese.
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2008, 12:53:49 PM
They are being compared athletically, not as players.
Post by: Aerlik on February 10, 2008, 02:54:58 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 09, 2008, 12:53:49 PM

And that is precisely what I am saying:  Cousins got to where he is by being speedy on the speedy! 
Post by: hitzelsperger on February 10, 2008, 03:14:36 AM
aerlik your views are most definately those of a docker fan  :P  i agree cousins was a socialite but everyone knows he was one hell of a player, but was only a matter of time until he got found out. how he carried on so long with chemicals in his blood is beyond me! i think his mate on the social scene daniellchick was also too fond of the nose candy thats why he got the road..by all accounts the afl drug testing procedure is way off the standard and im sure there'll be a few more cheats caught in the near future.

Judd needs no intro, the superstar of the game who when he takes a ball on the burst leaving players in his wake it is unreal to watch and now the eagles have lost him this season is going to be a tough one for the eagles. will be interesting how he recovers from his long term injury! kerr is also an excitement machine, busts his balls every single game, hard as nails and at his best untouchable, he'll be fighting an uphill battle in the eagles midfield this year after the loss of the 2 superstars n the engine room..
Post by: Aerlik on February 10, 2008, 08:49:46 AM
Quote from: hitzelsperger on February 10, 2008, 03:14:36 AM
aerlik your views are most definately those of a docker fan  :P  i agree cousins was a socialite but everyone knows he was one hell of a player, but was only a matter of time until he got found out. how he carried on so long with chemicals in his blood is beyond me! i think his mate on the social scene daniellchick was also too fond of the nose candy thats why he got the road..by all accounts the afl drug testing procedure is way off the standard and im sure there'll be a few more cheats caught in the near future.

Judd needs no intro, the superstar of the game who when he takes a ball on the burst leaving players in his wake it is unreal to watch and now the eagles have lost him this season is going to be a tough one for the eagles. will be interesting how he recovers from his long term injury! kerr is also an excitement machine, busts his balls every single game, hard as nails and at his best untouchable, he'll be fighting an uphill battle in the eagles midfield this year after the loss of the 2 superstars n the engine room..

Not just the opinions of a very blinkered-when-playing-the-toilet-boys Dockers fan, Hitzelsperger.  Damnit I'm even finding myself on  the same side of the fence as Collingwood fans ( :-\

I am of the belief that Cousins was not the super athlete everyone claimed him to be.  He had been using drugs for a number of years and the Eagles knew it.  Just look at his physique.  I was a derby a couple of years ago and when he walked down the tunnel it was patently obvious he had an unhealthily low body fat index.  Of course all the Perth babes drooled over him but I wonder what they think now that they know he got his physique through illegal substances.  It'll be interesting to see how he goes in Anthony Mundane's boxing show.

Jeff Farmer has got so much grief from the media (some justified most not) yet we don't hear much of Chick's wife-battering conviction, Kerr's little exploits etc
Post by: Jinxy on February 10, 2008, 09:46:35 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on February 10, 2008, 02:54:58 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 09, 2008, 12:53:49 PM

And that is precisely what I am saying:  Cousins got to where he is by being speedy on the speedy! 

So exactly which ergogenic substances are you attributing his athletic ability to?
Post by: Bud Wiser on February 10, 2008, 01:41:38 PM
The Dub's wouldn't beat Dargle Wood Residents Association committee let alone Collingwood.

However, does this mean that if other counties decide to play Manchester United, or Sydney Swans in a mixed rules game that Croke Park will also be made available to them? 
Post by: Hardy on February 10, 2008, 01:51:57 PM
What about mixed Aussie Rules and Monster Trucks?  The Dubs would have the trucks.

On second thoughts, not a good idea - Dubs in trucks. Not worried about the Aussies, but you have to think of the spectators.
Post by: heffo on February 10, 2008, 01:55:23 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on February 10, 2008, 01:41:38 PM
The Dub's wouldn't beat Dargle Wood Residents Association committee let alone Collingwood.

That speaks volumes about your shower so.

On an unrelated topic, it's always nice to see the Laois players reverting to type and bitching to any journalist who'll listen about how much they dislike Kearns and how the setup is a joke.

Post by: Jinxy on February 10, 2008, 01:59:45 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on February 10, 2008, 01:41:38 PM

However, does this mean that if other counties decide to play Manchester United, or Sydney Swans in a mixed rules game that Croke Park will also be made available to them? 

It's all yours Bud!  :D I would have thought at this stage the Laois CB reaction to an AFL visit would involve bundling your minor team into a minibus and heading for the hills.
Post by: ExiledGael on February 12, 2008, 10:37:53 PM
Very worrying story on the AFL in today's Aussie papers. Can't post the link. Can anyone here get the Herald Sun website going and post the story on the untapped Irish market?
"Ireland's best young talent is about to be plundered further with the introduction of a national recruiting network" - that's the summary at the top.
Post by: hitzelsperger on February 12, 2008, 11:11:03 PM
      IRELAND'S best young talent is about to be plundered further with the introduction of a national recruiting network specifically for AFL clubs.

Five clubs, including premier Geelong, have expressed interest in the project.

The audacious plan, the brainchild of manager Ricky Nixon of Flying Start, has a recruiter in each of Ireland's 32 counties reporting to a national co-ordinator.

That co-ordinator would then feed player information, videos and profiles into a central internet port.

For a fee, believed to be about $30,000 a year, clubs would have exclusive access to the best 14 to 20-year-olds in the country.

The next Marty Clarke or Tadhg Kennelly, who are among nine Irish players in the AFL, could be identified by a click of the mouse.

Nixon sent all 16 clubs a letter outlining the proposal this week.

"It's fair to say in 24 hours we got substantial interest from more than five clubs," he said.

"We all know Ireland is definitely untapped in its recruiting potential. Just look at Marty Clarke and what he did in 12 months of footy."

It's believed Collingwood, which already has a recruiting system in Ireland, is keen to expand its database.

Clubs such as the Cats, Essendon, St Kilda, the Kangaroos, Western Bulldogs and Hawthorn, along with West Australian and South Australian clubs, will consider the proposal as their first major steps into the untapped riches of Ireland.

Already those clubs trail the Magpies, Carlton, Sydney and the Brisbane Lions in the Irish market.

Under Nixon's plan, the national co-ordinator in Ireland would be a full-time position. He would have spotters at school, junior and senior Gaelic matches.

The advantage is clubs would have extensive on-the-ground recruiters instead of having to fly staff over there," Nixon said.

Geelong recruiting manager Stephen Wells indicated his support last night.

"Our club is considering what's best for us," Wells said.

"Obviously Ricky has put together a good infrastructure and if we think we can get value for money, we would support it."

Wells, who said Ireland was a "much bigger market than Africa in the short term", is preparing a submission to put to the club.

In his letter, Nixon described the Irish experiment as being in the "embryonic stage" and that his company had spent the past four years setting up the recruiting infrastructure.

"We believe our network can alleviate the need to appoint scouts in Ireland and it would only need your recruiting personal to go over and watch selected players as per our recommendations," Nixon wrote.

"Our report will rival those an AFL club receives from state bodies, e.g. TAC Cup."

This latest recruiting proposal will further harm the testy relationship between the Gaelic Athletic Association and the AFL.

While the International Rules Series is still in limbo, the talent drain has reportedly angered several counties.

Although the GAA has said it would not impose rules restricting player movement, individual counties have expressed concern.

County Mayo team manager John O'Mahony told the Herald Sun in October: "The feedback I'm getting is that there's an annoyance there (from county boards).

"But I've said all along that we can't stop these young players from going.

"It's their free choice and certainly I think we will not be putting rules in place to stop it."

Wells said if rules were not imposed, Ireland would become a bigger recruiting area.
Post by: Aerlik on February 13, 2008, 03:32:37 AM
If any of you know of any half decent minor can you let me know so I can get him to Freo before he gets sucked in by the junkies up the Swan at WC. ;)
Post by: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 10:16:49 AM
QuoteThe audacious plan, the brainchild of manager Ricky Nixon of Flying Start, has a recruiter in each of Ireland's 32 counties reporting to a national co-ordinator.

this shite has to stop, something needs to be done to protect the GAA's talent. I know we cant stop players from leaving but we can entice them to stay. Somehow. This is in the GAA's own interest. This will be very attractive to young lads in the GAA, alot of them dream of being pro-sportsmen at that age.
Post by: Gnevin on February 13, 2008, 10:19:24 AM
Quote from: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 10:16:49 AM
QuoteThe audacious plan, the brainchild of manager Ricky Nixon of Flying Start, has a recruiter in each of Ireland's 32 counties reporting to a national co-ordinator.

this shite has to stop, something needs to be done to protect the GAA's talent. I know we cant stop players from leaving but we can entice them to stay. Somehow. This is in the GAA's own interest. This will be very attractive to young lads in the GAA, alot of them dream of being pro-sportsmen at that age.
Ok lets start with likes of Kevin Doyle
Post by: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 10:39:40 AM
Who's he playing for
Post by: Gnevin on February 13, 2008, 10:41:14 AM
Quote from: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 10:39:40 AM
Who's he playing for
Reading
Post by: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 10:46:56 AM
Yeah but seriosly, what can be done, do we just sit here and say best of luck to em' or do we try and get them to stay. of course its down to them players themselves what they want to do, but we can try influence their decision of course.
Post by: Gnevin on February 13, 2008, 11:21:54 AM
Quote from: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 10:46:56 AM
Yeah but seriosly, what can be done, do we just sit here and say best of luck to em' or do we try and get them to stay. of course its down to them players themselves what they want to do, but we can try influence their decision of course.
I've not problem with the GAA trying to keep player but lets not fool our selfs into thinking the AFL in the main "problem" the PL is and Rubgy after that.
Post by: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 11:26:27 AM
I am aware of that, but ultimately AFL are actively scouting our players for their gaelic skills. Dont think there are many Rugby scouts looking for potential players at GAA matches, likewise for soccer.

Anyway what can we do to keep our players here??
Post by: Declan on February 13, 2008, 11:30:08 AM
AFL are actively scouting and I can't see how we can actually stop them doing that other than to cut off all ties and make it a s difficult as possible for them

Any lad who is interested in sport would love to be able to earn a crust doing it so lads will continue to try their hand be it soccer, rugby, AFL whenever the opportunity is given to them. 
Post by: Gnevin on February 13, 2008, 11:33:36 AM
Quote from: thejuice on February 13, 2008, 11:26:27 AM
I am aware of that, but ultimately AFL are actively scouting our players for their gaelic skills. Dont think there are many Rugby scouts looking for potential players at GAA matches, likewise for soccer.

Anyway what can we do to keep our players here??
So one  code scouts the player when they are younger whats the difference?
Post by: Hardy on February 13, 2008, 11:54:11 AM
Gnevin, rugby and soccer are not within an ass's roar of being the threat to football that this AFL recruitment drive is. Can anyone remember a really top player since Kevin Moran who has been lost to soccer or rugby? The point is that the AFL are looking for the very best young talent we have. The lads who go to soccer and rugby, for the most part were never going to be the very best footballers anyway.

Look at the players the Aussies have taken already - the very top young players in the country.  More worryingly, look at the exponential rate of drain, from one or two every few years a short time ago to at least half a dozen last year alone, to the latest, not-hugely-surprising step of setting up an organised poaching operation here. This has the potential to turn the GAA into a feeder operation for professional football in Australia. Think League of Ireland/Premiership or AIL/Pro Rugby.

I've been banging the drum about this for a while now, but the typical response I get is "how dare the GAA try to interfere with a young lad's dream of professional sport - let them go". Well I think that would be a nonsensical attitude for the GAA to take. Of course youngsters are entitled to pursue their dreams, but that's not the argument. Likewise, of course there's nothing the GAA can or should do by way of preventing amateurs from doing what they wish. But the GAA's role is to promote and protect Gaelic Games. It has no function in grooming youngsters for professional sporting careers, so "ah sure isn't it great for the young lad" isn't a reasonable policy.

Having said that, I have no great ideas as to what we can do about it. We can't impose effective barriers against the Aussies - they have no reason to take any notice. I can see no reason why they would want to co-operate in a "please don't poach" policy either. I can't see them being willing to compensate clubs, unless it was to formalise the while thing by funding development of youngsters. That would turn the GAA effectively into their development academy. Goodbye GAA if that were to happen.

Of course professionalising the GAA at the top level is an obvious answer, but I'd rather fry in the pan than jump into that fire. I can only suggest some sort of extension of current  scholarship schemes and to provide sponsored apprenticeships for non academically inclined youngsters. Bud Wiser posted an idea along these lines here before.

One way or another, we have to find ways to make staying in the GAA a more attractive option than going to Australia. Sitting on our hands is not an option, unless we want to see all our best players playing in Australia in a few years and the All-Ireland series being contested by the second string lads who weren't good enough for pro football in Australia.
Post by: Jinxy on February 13, 2008, 02:16:03 PM
In a lot of cases you will only lose a lad for 2 years. Not everyone will make it. So you lose a lad basically for the period he will be eligible for u-21 football. If they took a couple of lads from every county and every one of them was a huge success there would be no Australian players left in the AFL. Leave them at it. The sky isn't falling, although I do appreciate it may be more of a problem for the smaller counties. There may be an upside though. I can see the promotion of hurling leaping to the top of the agenda in county board meetings nationwide.  :D
Post by: zoyler on February 13, 2008, 03:20:38 PM
Have to agree Jinxy - I think its just some guy in Oz trying to reinvent the wheel with regards to spotting young talent and making a profit by selling it to some gullible clubs.
Post by: Gnevin on February 13, 2008, 03:54:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 13, 2008, 11:54:11 AM
Gnevin, rugby and soccer are not within an ass's roar of being the threat to football that this AFL recruitment drive is. Can anyone remember a really top player since Kevin Moran who has been lost to soccer or rugby? The point is that the AFL are looking for the very best young talent we have. The lads who go to soccer and rugby, for the most part were never going to be the very best footballers anyway.

Look at the players the Aussies have taken already - the very top young players in the country.  More worryingly, look at the exponential rate of drain, from one or two every few years a short time ago to at least half a dozen last year alone, to the latest, not-hugely-surprising step of setting up an organised poaching operation here. This has the potential to turn the GAA into a feeder operation for professional football in Australia. Think League of Ireland/Premiership or AIL/Pro Rugby.

I've been banging the drum about this for a while now, but the typical response I get is "how dare the GAA try to interfere with a young lad's dream of professional sport - let them go". Well I think that would be a nonsensical attitude for the GAA to take. Of course youngsters are entitled to pursue their dreams, but that's not the argument. Likewise, of course there's nothing the GAA can or should do by way of preventing amateurs from doing what they wish. But the GAA's role is to promote and protect Gaelic Games. It has no function in grooming youngsters for professional sporting careers, so "ah sure isn't it great for the young lad" isn't a reasonable policy.

Having said that, I have no great ideas as to what we can do about it. We can't impose effective barriers against the Aussies - they have no reason to take any notice. I can see no reason why they would want to co-operate in a "please don't poach" policy either. I can't see them being willing to compensate clubs, unless it was to formalise the while thing by funding development of youngsters. That would turn the GAA effectively into their development academy. Goodbye GAA if that were to happen.

Of course professionalising the GAA at the top level is an obvious answer, but I'd rather fry in the pan than jump into that fire. I can only suggest some sort of extension of current  scholarship schemes and to provide sponsored apprenticeships for non academically inclined youngsters. Bud Wiser posted an idea along these lines here before.

One way or another, we have to find ways to make staying in the GAA a more attractive option than going to Australia. Sitting on our hands is not an option, unless we want to see all our best players playing in Australia in a few years and the All-Ireland series being contested by the second string lads who weren't good enough for pro football in Australia.
No top level but we loose dozens top quality minors and below to these codes every month . The 3/4 who may go to Aus every year is nothing to the numbering playing "garrison sports"
Post by: Rossfan on February 13, 2008, 09:09:05 PM
[quote author=Hardy link=topic=6667.msg244938#msg244938 date.

I can only suggest some sort of extension of current  scholarship schemes and to provide sponsored apprenticeships for non academically inclined youngsters.

The "one belief" crowd will have a fit if this ever comes to pass. ;D
Post by: Hardy on February 14, 2008, 11:42:20 AM
I don't think there's any equivalence between sports scholarships/sponsored education, a totally laudable way of promoting the games and pay-for-play money-grabbing by people out to cream whatever they can get for themselves on the back of the voluntary efforts of others.
Post by: thejuice on February 19, 2008, 09:54:38 AM
PROPOSED NEW RULES FOR THE INTERNATIONAL RULES GAMES

GAA players won't have to serve carry-over suspensions, picked up in future International series, to championship matches, but will count against NFL games

AFL players will feel the full force of a new disciplinary system in their parent code with parallel sanctions commensurate with infractions committed in the AFL showpiece, the Grand Final. Because it is the showcase game, misconduct in the Grand Final is treated more seriously than any other game and International Rules misconduct will fall into line with that standard.

video match referee is to be appointed from another country with a background in sports officiating

the type of tackle that felled Graham Geraghty into a state of concussion during the controversial second test in 2006 has been outlawed. Slinging, slamming or driving an opponent into the ground when executing a tackle will now merit a straight red card. The use of one-handed tackles has also been removed.

Aspects of the playing rules have changed. No team will be permitted more than four consecutive hand passes. After the fourth pass the onus will then be on the player in possession to kick the ball.

And a referee who stops play in the half of the field where he is officiating cannot be overruled by the other referee, something that has proved controversial and divisive in the past.

A series of recommendations have also been made that include the Irish and Australian teams taking the field in the company of children and lining up to exchange handshakes before the start.
Post by: Hardy on February 19, 2008, 10:53:07 AM
What's the bloody point. Now they'll just send a band of even worse savages who they don't mind getting suspended as the serious players' clubs won't be allowing their players to take part and risk suspensions.

My central objection to this game just dawned on me at the moment of Geraghty's injury in the last IR game. It's dangerous and irresponsible, in a game involving a physical tackle, to allow competition between professionals who have been trained in how to take the tackle and amateurs who haven't. Two weeks of practice once a year, at best, isn't good enough. Your natural inclination prevails in the heat of the game and, at least some of the time,  a GAA player taking the ball past an opponent or contesting a ball doesn't expect and therefore doesn't brace himself for a full-blooded physical tackle on himself instead of an incidental collision in contesting the ball. Taking a blow unbraced is very dangerous. It killed Harry Houdini, for instance. More to the point in this case, it can easily result in a broken neck or serious head injury.

This has nothing to do with nonsense about "standing up to them", etc. We've shown before, especially in the 80s, that we can pick men who will make the Aussies step back in a square-up. Admittedly there are fewer of them in our newly sanitised game, but if the object was to pick the hardest men, we could field fifteen fighters who could skelp all around them. That's not the point.

I'm firmly convinced this game is dangerous for the reason mentioned and I fear someone will be very badly injured. I thought for a while that moment had come when Graham Geraghty was lying motionless in October 2006.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 19, 2008, 10:57:06 AM
Went to the game Hardy and was convinced he had broke his neck.

Agree fully, scrap the entire thing. No need for it.

Also gives the anti GAA brigade an excuse to slag off gaelic games for being a savage sport, when our games arent even being played!
Post by: magickingdom on February 19, 2008, 06:11:35 PM
i'm absolutely thrilled and hope its a great success. as usual the no sayers havent given one once of thought as to what the players want. if ye dont want to watch flick the channel..
Post by: Hardy on February 19, 2008, 06:52:45 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on February 19, 2008, 06:11:35 PMas usual the no sayers havent given one once of thought as to what the players want.

Is "what the players want" now to be the main determinant of GAA policy in all cases? For my part, I only feel qualified to offer MY opinion about the IR game. I'm sure the players are equally capable of articulating their own opinions (or, as you seem to suggest, their combined single opinion) and won't be too worried that I didn't feel the need to state theirs as well.

Quoteif ye dont want to watch flick the channel

Right. So no more discussion here about GAA matters, on this GAA discussion board. If we disagree with a match fixture schedule or a team selection or the tactics of our county manager, just don't watch. Flick the channel.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 19, 2008, 07:52:03 PM
Jaysus Hardy, you've gone fierce conservative these days  :D   
Post by: Hardy on February 19, 2008, 09:13:58 PM
Y'ain't seen nothin yet!
(http://www.geocities.com/hardyarse/blueshirts.jpg)

(BTW - is that Willie O'Dea's grandad on the Duce's left - right as we look?)
Post by: western exile on February 20, 2008, 11:52:51 AM
Quote from: Hardy on February 19, 2008, 10:53:07 AM
What's the bloody point. Now they'll just send a band of even worse savages who they don't mind getting suspended as the serious players' clubs won't be allowing their players to take part and risk suspensions.

My central objection to this game just dawned on me at the moment of Geraghty's injury in the last IR game. It's dangerous and irresponsible, in a game involving a physical tackle, to allow competition between professionals who have been trained in how to take the tackle and amateurs who haven't. Two weeks of practice once a year, at best, isn't good enough. Your natural inclination prevails in the heat of the game and, at least some of the time,  a GAA player taking the ball past an opponent or contesting a ball doesn't expect and therefore doesn't brace himself for a full-blooded physical tackle on himself instead of an incidental collision in contesting the ball. Taking a blow unbraced is very dangerous. It killed Harry Houdini, for instance. More to the point in this case, it can easily result in a broken neck or serious head injury.

This has nothing to do with nonsense about "standing up to them", etc. We've shown before, especially in the 80s, that we can pick men who will make the Aussies step back in a square-up. Admittedly there are fewer of them in our newly sanitised game, but if the object was to pick the hardest men, we could field fifteen fighters who could skelp all around them. That's not the point.

I'm firmly convinced this game is dangerous for the reason mentioned and I fear someone will be very badly injured. I thought for a while that moment had come when Graham Geraghty was lying motionless in October 2006.

I have been as angry as most about the standard of football on display during the last series. As you have pointed out yourself in subsequent posts, every one is entitled to their own opinion on the International Rules and other GAA issues.  However, your tirade seems to be based on some misinformation.
The AFL footballers are not dirty savages who are out to do damage to their opponents each and every week. They would not dare execute any of the indiscretions they committed in IR in their own game. The reason being that they would get the sort of sanctions that are now being proposed for future IR games.  The consequences of being suspended, amongst others, are that they lose some of their salary, and that they are not eligible for the AFL equivalent of All Star award that year.  In fact, the general footy public back in Australia was appalled at what their players were doing on the IR field in the name of football.  It just would not happen within the AFL competition.   And the only reason they behaved like they did in the IR, was because they could. There was no punishment for them if they did what they liked. No incentive to play fair.  Hence these  new rule proposals will bring them in line with the behaviour that is expected of them in their home game. And thus make the game safe and fair. 
You call our modern game sanitised, and I know what you mean,  but their modern game is much more sanitised than ours is, in comparison to what they both were in the 80's.
There are many Aussie Hardy's down under, wearing their dinky di hats, calling themselves 'football purists', and moaning about this bastardised game called International Rules. And they are  entitled to their opinion as much as you are here.
However, if your only complaint is about the level of violence in the game, then you should be happy that steps have now been made to rectify this. It is a problem to be solved, and the solution should never be to abandon a the game altogether!  The standard of refereeing in our football code, for example, has is a huge problem these days, and does not seem to be improving much, so should be  abandon the game and concentrate on hurling, camogie, and handball?   8)

And to say,
Quoteserious players' clubs won't be allowing their players
shows a lack of understanding of the structure and organisation of Australian Rules Football.
Post by: his holiness nb on February 20, 2008, 12:00:31 PM
Quote from: western exile on February 20, 2008, 11:52:51 AM
The AFL footballers are not dirty savages who are out to do damage to their opponents each and every week.
They would not dare execute any of the indiscretions they committed in IR in their own game. The reason being that they would get the sort of sanctions that are now being proposed for future IR games.

Quote from: western exile on February 20, 2008, 11:52:51 AM
the only reason they behaved like they did in the IR, was because they could.

To be honest, if it takes the threat of sanctions or loss of salary for them to partake in a game without resorting to the sort of violence we saw last year, then yes, they are dirty savages.
Post by: Hardy on February 20, 2008, 12:34:34 PM
Western exile, I'm afraid you must have completely misread the central point of my post. To repeat, it is a fundamental worry about the dangers of pitting amateurs who don't know the first thing about how to tackle and be tackled against professionals who are experts at it. My point is that it's dangerous per se, even when tackles are executed within the rules. Geraghty's near-broken neck was a watershed for me. I don't think it was a dirty tackle, at least within the AR context (though no doubt the lad hit as hard as he could, as they had promised Geraghty). The point is that Geraghty wasn't braced for a hit like that as he would naturally be if he was used to and trained for the tackle.

I applaud your reasoned defence of AR - obviously you're passionate about the game and you're right about my ignorance of it. I do think it's unlikely that the clubs will expose their top players to the risk of suspension from their own competitions and so are unlikely to allow them to declare for the international team. But I could be wrong - what do you think?

My 'savages' remark was a throwaway and I'd withdraw it if it wasn't for your own confirmation, as pointed out by His Holiness, that the reason the Aussie players behaved like a thuggish rabble was because they knew they could get away with it. That seems to me to define savage behaviour.
Post by: western exile on February 20, 2008, 04:44:01 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 20, 2008, 12:34:34 PM
it is a fundamental worry about the dangers of pitting amateurs who don't know the first thing about how to tackle and be tackled against professionals who are experts at it.

I take your point there. 
However, if the tackles are executed within the rules by these professionals there is extra danger to what would be expected from any contact sport.  And yes, the tackle on Geraghty would have been illegal in Australian Rules too. And the offender would have been put on report and would have had to face a tribunal on the following monday night, from which he could have received a suspension. Of course, amending / improving the rules and sanctions of International Rules is only half the battle. The referrees must enforce them strongly and fairly, and not like the weak effort of the last test series.

Re savages?  Is every Irishman, that participated in any of the 'free for all' that happened at club championship games up and down this island over the last few years, civilised?  Remove efficient and fair refereeing from any Gaelic Football game and then count the savages!

I do enjoy Australian Rules.  When you see enough of it you can see its origins in Gaelic Football. But I enjoy Gaelic Football much more.
And I have also followed footballers to World cups and enjoyed supporting a green jersey.  And the only opportunity for me, and many other Irishmen like me, to see and shout for the footballers we really admire wearing a national jersey is through the IR series.  And the game is good. Much more competitive and exciting than soccer or rugby (if they stick to the rules  8) ). And the players do want it. Not one of them had a gun to their heads to play. And many more went to trails in the hope that they could represent their country.  I won't go on and on about all the pros of giving the IR another chance........
The only reason that I would put forward for not doing having it, is the bleeding of young football talent down under that has started.

Re the clubs not releasing their players?  I don't think that will be too much of an issue (though no doubt they will complain).  Already the players leave their clubs  mid-season to play for their State of Origin in a representative competition e.g. Victoria v. South Australia  v. West Australia etc.    Not wanting your player to get injured representing your country is one thing,  but not wanting a suspension would not be much of an excuse if the same rules of suspension are applied to every game they play :)

Post by: Tiger Craig on February 20, 2008, 09:36:35 PM
Quote from: western exile on February 20, 2008, 04:44:01 PM
[ And yes, the tackle on Geraghty would have been illegal in Australian Rules too. And the offender would have been put on report and would have had to face a tribunal on the following monday night, from which he could have received a suspension. ...

Re the clubs not releasing their players?  I don't think that will be too much of an issue (though no doubt they will complain).  Already the players leave their clubs  mid-season to play for their State of Origin in a representative competition e.g. Victoria v. South Australia  v. West Australia etc.    Not wanting your player to get injured representing your country is one thing,  but not wanting a suspension would not be much of an excuse if the same rules of suspension are applied to every game they play :)

Actually the tackle on Gerathy would have been legal in Aussie Rules - depending on the individual umpire, possibly a free kick, but nothing more.

Also, State of Origin no longer exists - it died about 10 years ago. Guess why? The clubs wouldn't release their players.

There is no way known that clubs will release players who may be sent off for something legal in AFL (eg a solid hip & shoulder) which will see them suspended from AFL games.

Especially when the GAA players are effectively exempt from any punishment.

It is also within the AFL clubs interest to see the links die so they have no regulation on recruiting.
Post by: Gnevin on February 21, 2008, 09:14:47 AM
Quote from: Tiger Craig on February 20, 2008, 09:36:35 PM
Quote from: western exile on February 20, 2008, 04:44:01 PM
[ And yes, the tackle on Geraghty would have been illegal in Australian Rules too. And the offender would have been put on report and would have had to face a tribunal on the following monday night, from which he could have received a suspension. ...

Actually the tackle on Gerathy would have been legal in Aussie Rules - depending on the individual umpire, possibly a free kick, but nothing more.

Also, State of Origin no longer exists - it died about 10 years ago. Guess why? The clubs wouldn't release their players.

There is no way known that clubs will release players who may be sent off for something legal in AFL (eg a solid hip & shoulder) which will see them suspended from AFL games.

Especially when the GAA players are effectively exempt from any punishment.

It is also within the AFL clubs interest to see the links die so they have no regulation on recruiting.
Every "tackle" no matter how outrageous seems to be acceptable in the Aussie game when its occurs in IR, its strange then what any games i've watched i've never seen the like of it and far less is given as a free ,some of these tackle wouldn't be acceptable on a Rugby Pitch ! The Clotheslining in the 06 series was defended by this argument too.
Post by: Tiger Craig on February 21, 2008, 10:36:28 PM
FFS - no one argues that the clothesline was illegal. Those sort of things should be penalised in both games.

BUT, if you really care about what is allowed in AFL, read Law 15.4 (some of which is below)

The only way the Gerathy tackle could be penalised would be under 15.4.5 (k) - however in AFL terms Gerathy had not "disposed" of the ball, as he simply dropped it.

The bump on Coulter would have been legal, as under Law 15.4.5 (n) a front on bump is only illegal if the players head is down over the ball.

Some of the AFL clubs have already come out and said that while they are not against suspensions for players who are guilty of grave misconduct, they don't support suspensions for players who have not breached AFL standards.

15.4.3 Permitted Contact
Other than the Prohibited Contact identified under Law 15.4.5, a
Player may make contact with another Player:
(a) by using his or her hip, shoulder, chest, arms or open hands
provided that the football is no more than 5 metres away from
the Player;
(b) by pushing the other Player with an open hand in the chest or
side of the body provided that the football is no more than 5
metres away from the Player;
(c) by executing a Correct Tackle;
(d) by executing a Shepherd provided that the football is no more
than 5 metres away from the Player; or
(e) if such contact is incidental to a marking contest and the Player
is legitimately Marking or attempting to Mark the football.

15.4.5 Prohibited Contact and Payment of Free Kick
A field Umpire shall award a Free Kick against a Player where he or
she is satisfied that the Player has made Prohibited Contact with an
opposition Player.
A Player makes Prohibited Contact with an opposition Player if he
or she:
(a) makes contact with any part of his or her body with an
opposition Player;
(i) above the shoulders (including the top of the shoulders
or bump to the head); or
(ii) below the knees.

(b) pushes an opposition Player in the back, unless such contact
is incidental to a Marking contest and the Player is legitimately
Marking or attempting to Mark the football;
(c) holds an opposition Player who is not in possession of the
football;
(d) pushes, bumps, blocks, holds an opposition Player or
deliberately interferes with the arms of an opposition Player,
who is in the act of Marking or attempting to Mark the football;
(e) pushes, bumps, holds or blocks an opposition Player when
the football is further than 5 metres away from the opposition
Player or is out of play;
(f) pushes, bumps, holds or blocks an opposition Player who is
contesting a bounce or throw by a field Umpire or boundary
throw in;
(g) charges an opposition Player;
(h) trips or attempts to trip an opposition Player, whether by the
use of hand, arm, foot or leg;
(i) kicks or attempts to kick an opposition Player, unless contact
is accidentally made whilst the Player is Kicking the football;
(j) strikes or attempts to strike an opposition Player, whether by
hand, fist, arm, knee or head;
(k) holds or throws an opposition Player after that Player has
disposed of the ball;
(l) engaging in rough conduct against an opponent which in the
circumstances is unreasonable; or
(m) kicking or attempting to Kick the ball in a manner likely to
cause injury.
(n) bumps or makes forceful contact to an opponent from front-on
when that player has his head down over the ball.
Note:
- a player can bump an opponent's body from side-on but any
contact forward of side-on will be deemed to be front-on;
- a player with his head down in anticipation of winning
possession of the ball or after contesting the ball will be
deemed to have his head down over the ball for the purposes
of this law.

Post by: Gnevin on February 22, 2008, 08:20:43 AM
Quote from: Tiger Craig on February 21, 2008, 10:36:28 PM
FFS - no one argues that the clothesline was illegal. Those sort of things should be penalised in both games.

I think you'll find that bigfootie.com where loving it at the time and all claimed it was a legal move and we've got the blind refs the aussie sent over every year . ::)
Post by: optimus euhregab on February 23, 2008, 03:40:45 PM
rumour has it the aussies are lookin after some cub Thomas MC keever from Coleraine in derry. hes a horse of a lad and has a good eye for the score. shud be interesting to see wat comes of this.