GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: SuperHans on January 13, 2008, 01:19:19 PM

Title: Ulster Club Football League 2008
Post by: SuperHans on January 13, 2008, 01:19:19 PM
Not sure if this should be in local discussion or not we will let the mods decide that.

Are any of the poster's clubs involved this year? I hear its going to be organised on a regional basis this year which is a good thing, it means alot less travelling for some clubs although I enjoyed my trip to dromintee a few seasons back. My club Dungiven are in it as well as local rivals Banagher.I hope we dont get them, u want to be playin someone diiff in this comp
Title: Re: Ulster Club Football League 2008
Post by: Redhandfan on January 13, 2008, 11:09:24 PM
Moy will not be taking part in this year's Ulster Club Football League. 

This should come as a relief to a lot of the other teams in the competition as we reached the quarter-finals last year....losing out by a point to fellow Tyrone side Coalisland Fianna!!!!!
Post by: snappiered on January 14, 2008, 08:42:04 AM
Quote from: Redhandfan on January 13, 2008, 11:09:24 PM

Yeah only Senior teams can participate!
Post by: Maximus Marillius on January 14, 2008, 09:06:57 AM

This should come as a relief to a lot of the other teams in the competition as we reached the quarter-finals last year....losing out by a point to fellow Tyrone side Coalisland Fianna!!!!!

surely this guy is on the wind up....The 'who...'
Post by: amigo on January 14, 2008, 09:25:17 AM

LOL. Good one RHF i am sure the rest of the teams in Ulster would be quaking in their boots at the thought of taking on an Intermediate side.
Tool.
Post by: orangeman on January 14, 2008, 10:00:36 AM
On a serious note, I think Mattie Mc Gleenan has taken on the easiest job in Tyrone - Moy will win the intermediate league and double this year. They really ought to be a senior side - how a few senior sides can be called senior and Moy are only intermediate defies logic.
Post by: thebandit on January 14, 2008, 10:32:33 AM
McGleenan did a good job with Monaghan Harps, taking them from Junior to Senior - I think he agreed to take the Moy job before Harps went up thinkingthat they wouldn't go up!
Post by: clarshack on January 14, 2008, 11:43:22 AM
Quote from: orangeman on January 14, 2008, 10:00:36 AM
On a serious note, I think Mattie Mc Gleenan has taken on the easiest job in Tyrone - Moy will win the intermediate league and double this year. They really ought to be a senior side - how a few senior sides can be called senior and Moy are only intermediate defies logic.

trillick, killeeshil & clan na ngael (if dooher and o'neill are playing) are well capable of beating a full strength moy side. the moy wont get it all their own way this year.
Post by: illdecide on January 14, 2008, 02:20:41 PM
I heard the draw was today for the Ulster league?? has anyone heard anything??

My club are entering it this year which i can't understand why more teams are not interested as they are better than playing friendly's
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 14, 2008, 02:48:15 PM
what other armagh clubs entering illdecide, do you know? what about the down clubs, anyone know?
Post by: orangeman on January 14, 2008, 02:53:38 PM
I think Moy with their compliment of county stars will be a bit too much for the rest - I could be wrong and have been before but I think Moy will do the double.
Post by: illdecide on January 14, 2008, 03:00:09 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 14, 2008, 02:48:15 PM
what other armagh clubs entering illdecide, do you know? what about the down clubs, anyone know?

I haven't a clue what teams are entering it. I heard it starts on either the 3rd of feb or the 10th. For some reason a whole lot of clubs refuse to play in it but i think it's a good thing it certainly beats friendly matches and it's a good workout for this time of year. the down side of things is the travelling on a sunday morning to maybe north derry or Monaghan/Cavan
Post by: Bitta-Banter on January 14, 2008, 05:43:21 PM
Has anyone any info on the groups?or who is entering etc...If so could you post all you know on ulster league.Cheers.
Post by: glenullinabu on January 14, 2008, 08:25:30 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 14, 2008, 02:20:41 PM
I heard the draw was today for the Ulster league?? has anyone heard anything??

My club are entering it this year which i can't understand why more teams are not interested as they are better than playing friendly's

i know id say it because we won it last year but its a great competition
fais play to those clubs that have the vision to support it
Post by: screenmachine on January 15, 2008, 07:12:52 PM
Screen, Aghyaran, Ballyshannon, Derrygonnelly, Glenullin and Maghery. Haven't heard any of the other groups yet.
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 15, 2008, 09:41:09 PM
What's the record of the winners like in this comp? I know Glenullin proved it's good one to win by going on to win the Derry championship.
Post by: illdecide on January 16, 2008, 09:24:43 AM
Clan na Gael, Darragh Cross, Ardboe, St Pauls (Belfast) Starts on the 3rd of Feb. When i remember the other 2 teams i'll come back and ammend it
Post by: snappiered on January 16, 2008, 12:40:15 PM
Were the league groups avaiable to see. Any more information avaiable?
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on January 17, 2008, 08:34:13 PM
Portglenone, Dungiven, Galbally, Cookstown
Heard that but can't be 100% sure

Post by: redandwhitehoops on January 18, 2008, 02:16:58 PM
dont know how true this is but was talking to someone who claimed that every winner of this competition to date has won their respective county c'ship the same year. this cant be the case is it?
Post by: illdecide on January 18, 2008, 05:02:10 PM
Quote from: redandwhitehoops on January 18, 2008, 02:16:58 PM
dont know how true this is but was talking to someone who claimed that every winner of this competition to date has won their respective county c'ship the same year. this cant be the case is it?

That rules out any team in Armagh having won the competition as Crossmaglen never enter it
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2008, 10:00:19 PM
From Orchardcounty

ULSTER CLUB SENIOR FOOTBALL LEAGUE - 2008

Group A
Aghyaran (Tyrone)
Ballinascreen (Derry)
Ballyshannon (Donegal)
Derrygonnelly (Fermanagh)
Glenullin (Derry)
Maghery (Armagh)

Group B
Ballinderry (Derry)
Ballyholland (Down)
Culloville (Armagh)
Donaghmore (Tyrone)
Latton (Monaghan)
Rossa (Antrim)

Group C
Ardboe (Tyrone)
Brookeborough (Fermanagh)
Clan na Gael (Armagh)
Darragh Cross (Down)
Kilrea (Derry)
St Paul's (Antrim)

Group D
Clonduff (Down)
Doohamlet (Monaghan)
Dromore (Tyrone)
Silverbridge (Armagh)
Roslea (Fermanagh)
Slaughtneil (Derry)

Group E
Gortin (Tyrone)
Lavey (Derry)
Liatroim (Down)
Mullaghbawn (Armagh)
Monaghan Harps (Monaghan)
Teemore (Fermanagh)

Group F
Armagh Harps (Armagh)
Banagher (Derry)
Downpatrick (Down)
Galbally (Tyrone)
Longstone (Down)
Loup (Derry)

Group G
Buncrana (Donegal)
Irvinestown (Fermanagh)
Loughmacrory (Tyrone)
Roger Casements (Antrim)

Games commence on Sunday 3 February 2008.
All games at 2.00pm unless alternative time agreed by both clubs.

FIXTURES

Sunday 3 February

Group A (2.00)
Aghyaran v Ballinascreen
Ballyshannon v Derrygonnelly
Glenullin v Maghery

Group B (2.00)
Ballinderry v Ballyholland
Culloville v Donaghmore
Latton v Rossa

Group C (2.00)
Clan na Gael v Darragh Cross
Kilrea v St Paul's
Ardboe v Brookeborough

Group D (2.00)
Silverbridge v Slaughtneil
Dromore v Roslea
Clonduff v Doohamlet

Group E (2.00)
Gortin v Lavey
Mullaghbawn v Teemore
Liatroim v Monaghan Harps

Group F (2.00)
Longstone v Loup
Downpatrick v Galbally
Armagh Harps v Banagher

Group G (2.00)
Buncrana v Dungiven
Irvinestown v Loughmacrory

Sunday 10 February

Group A (2.00)
Derrygonnelly v Aghyaran
Ballinascreen v Glenullen
Maghery v Ballyshannon

Group B (2.00)
Rossa v Culloville
Donaghmore v Ballinderry
Ballyholland v Latton

Group C (2.00)
Brookeborough v Kilrea
Darragh Cross v Ardboe
St Paul's v Clan na Gael

Group D (2.00)
Slaughtneil v Dromore
Roslea v Clonduff
Doohamlet v Silverbridge

Group E (2.00)
Lavey v Mullaghbawn
Teemore v Liatroim
Monaghan Harps v Gortin

Group F (2.00)
Banagher v Longstone
Loup v Downpatrick
Galbally v Armagh Harps

Group G (2.00)
Dungiven v Roger Casements
Loughmacrory v Buncrana

Sunday 17 February

Group A (2.00)
Ballinascreen v Derrygonnelly
Aghyaran v Maghery
Glenullen v Ballyshannon

Group B (2.00)
Ballyholland v Donaghmore
Ballinderry v Rossa
Latton v Culloville

Group C (2.00)
Kilrea v Clan na Gael
Brookeborough v Darragh Cross
Ardboe v St Paul's

Group D (2.00)
Doohamlet v Roslea
Clonduff v Slaughtneil
Silverbridge v Dromore

Group E (2.00)
Mullaghbawn v Liatroim
Gortin v Teemore
Lavey v Monaghan Harps

Group F (2.00)
Armagh Harps v Loup
Banagher v Galbally
Longstone v Downpatrick

Group G (2.00)
Loughmacrory v Dungiven
Roger Casements v Irvinestown

Sunday 24 February

Group A (2.00)
Ballyshannon v Ballinascreen
Derrygonnelly v Maghery
Aghyaran v Glenullen

Group B (2.00)
Latton v Donaghmore
Culloville v Ballinderry
Rossa v Ballyholland

Group C (2.00)
Clan na Gael v Brookeborough
Darragh Cross v St Paul's
Ardboe v Kilrea

Group D (2.00)
Roslea v Slaughtneil
Dromore v Doohamlet
Clonduff v Silverbridge

Group E (2.00)
Gortin v Mullaghbawn
Liatroim v Lavey
Monaghan Harps v Teemore

Group F (2.00)
Galbally v Loup
Armagh Harps v Longstone
Downpatrick v Banagher

Group G (2.00)
Buncrana v Roger Casements
Dungiven v Irvinestown

Sunday 2 March

Group A (2.00)
Glenullen v Derrygonnelly
Maghery v Ballinascreen
Ballyshannon v Aghyaran

Group B (2.00)
Donaghmore v Rossa
Culloville v Ballyholland
Ballinderry v Latton

Group C (2.00)
St Paul's v Brookeborough
Clan na Gael v Ardboe
Kilrea v Darragh Cross

Group D (2.00)
Slaughtneil v Doohamlet
Dromore v Clonduff
Silverbridge v Roslea

Group E (2.00)
Mullaghbawn v Monaghan Harps
Teemore v Lavey
Liatroim v Gortin

Group F (2.00)
Loup v Banagher
Longstone v Galbally
Downpatrick v Armagh Harps

Group G (2.00)
Roger Casements v Loughmacrory
Irvinestown v Buncrana
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 18, 2008, 10:02:39 PM
Which one is the group of death :-)   ? :D
Post by: ONeill on January 18, 2008, 10:07:19 PM
Donaghmore are always whoring themselves out to these provincial comps. Not even a force in Tyrone.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 19, 2008, 02:54:59 AM
QuoteGroup D
Clonduff (Down)
Doohamlet (Monaghan)
Dromore (Tyrone)
Silverbridge (Armagh)
Roslea (Fermanagh)
Slaughtneil (Derry)

Is it not a competition for division 1 teams?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 19, 2008, 10:25:08 AM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 19, 2008, 02:54:59 AM
QuoteGroup D
Clonduff (Down)
Doohamlet (Monaghan)
Dromore (Tyrone)
Silverbridge (Armagh)
Roslea (Fermanagh)
Slaughtneil (Derry)

Clearly not.
Post by: Rick O Shea on January 31, 2008, 03:11:02 PM
Quote from: SuperHans on January 13, 2008, 01:19:19 PM
Not sure if this should be in local discussion or not we will let the mods decide that.

Are any of the poster's clubs involved this year? I hear its going to be organised on a regional basis this year which is a good thing, it means alot less travelling for some clubs although I enjoyed my trip to dromintee a few seasons back. My club Dungiven are in it as well as local rivals Banagher.I hope we dont get them, u want to be playin someone diiff in this comp

Obviously not!  Even just looking at group A, there is some amount of travelling to be done.

I see your point about less travelling but organising it on a regional basis would sorta defeat the purpose of the ulster league - you'd be more like to draw a team from your own county or a team that is close to your county border that you probably play regularly in freindlies
Post by: clarshack on January 31, 2008, 04:10:27 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 19, 2008, 02:54:59 AM
QuoteGroup D
Clonduff (Down)
Doohamlet (Monaghan)
Dromore (Tyrone)
Silverbridge (Armagh)
Roslea (Fermanagh)
Slaughtneil (Derry)

gortin as well - division 2 intermediate in tyrone
Post by: rrhf on January 31, 2008, 04:18:58 PM
Donaghmore are always whoring themselves out to these provincial comps. Not even a force in Tyrone.
only 2 defeats in 4 years in the competition ya bollix ya!  :D
Post by: screenexile on January 31, 2008, 04:27:11 PM
Why would intermediate clubs enter this league? Should the Ulster Council not organise similar competitions for both Intermediate and Junior teams. I thought the rules of this competition should be clear. If you don't play in the Senior championship you don't play in the Ulster Senior League.
Post by: screenexile on January 31, 2008, 04:44:55 PM
My understanding is that it is the Ulster Senior Football league. I would have thought that would be fairly self explanatory i.e. Senior teams and not Intermediate teams.
Post by: tieroan on January 31, 2008, 04:51:06 PM
Is there a roll of honour and has any Tyrone sides won it?
Post by: screenexile on January 31, 2008, 05:01:48 PM
Fair enough if that's the way you want to interpret it but I don't think it's particularlyhelpful to have intermediate teams play Senior teams as they are intermediate for a reason. Sure it's possible that an intermediate team in somewhere like Tyrone or Derry (with a lot of clubs) would probably beat a few senior sides in say fermanagh (which only has a few clubs) but it would be a massive exception to the rule IMO.
Post by: new devil on January 31, 2008, 05:32:42 PM
Carrickmore won it 2 years a go!
Post by: thewobbler on January 31, 2008, 06:22:15 PM
We've been in the competition since its inception, once as an intermediate (championship) team, last year. As far as I know, we were accepted on that occasion to help balance the numbers. Which is fair enough I'd say. By the way, I'd say there is a world of difference between a club at the top of the intermediate tree and a club at the bottom of the intermediate tree.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 31, 2008, 07:44:53 PM
QuoteFair enough if that's the way you want to interpret it but I don't think it's particularlyhelpful to have intermediate teams play Senior teams as they are intermediate for a reason. Sure it's possible that an intermediate team in somewhere like Tyrone or Derry (with a lot of clubs) would probably beat a few senior sides in say fermanagh (which only has a few clubs) but it would be a massive exception to the rule IMO.

This is the fourth year of it isn't it? 
Silverbridge have entered in to it every year (though we withdrew at the last minute last year) and this is the third year we've been intermediate and division 2 and we have always done well beating our fair share of senior sides.

In 2006 we were intermediate and division 2 and if memory serves me well we missed out on the knock out stages when Tyholland beat us by two points - we'd won every other game.   
We also reached the knockout stages the year before though we were senior then.

btw intermediate and senior teams play each other all the time in Armagh.
Post by: the green man on January 31, 2008, 08:13:34 PM
ffs, we're away to Clonduff, Silverbridge and Roslea. Theres the carbon footprint up the left
Post by: KIDDO on January 31, 2008, 11:23:27 PM
But you will have the Tyrone county champions visiting your impressive surroundings.
Post by: orangeman on January 31, 2008, 11:24:53 PM
This year's competition was supposed to have been played on a regional basis - I thought that meant we'd be local - vut in fact it means playing all over the region !  ;)
Post by: the green man on January 31, 2008, 11:29:19 PM
Quote from: KIDDO on January 31, 2008, 11:23:27 PM
But you will have the Tyrone county champions visiting your impressive surroundings.

Yes, we have Dromore coming up on Sunday. Looking Forward to that. I hope we repay the welcome we got down there that we got when we played them boys in 03.
Post by: Gold on February 01, 2008, 12:30:39 AM
Rossa from Belfast are also in Division 2 and also play Intermediate championship if they bother to turn up 4 the match
Post by: illdecide on February 01, 2008, 09:59:51 AM
Ardboe and St Pauls of Belfast should be interesting games in our group, infact the last time we played Ardboe in a friendly match there was a free for all :D :D and St Pauls are well from Belfast enough said
Post by: 5 Sams on February 01, 2008, 10:01:52 AM
Quote from: Gold on February 01, 2008, 12:30:39 AM
Rossa from Belfast are also in Division 2 and also play Intermediate championship if they bother to turn up 4 the match

They'll definitely not be turning up cos they have dropped out and been replaced by Coalisland
Post by: screenexile on February 01, 2008, 10:12:10 AM
We've some diesel bill to pay too!! Maghery... Aghyaran... Ballyshannon but it's OK! We got the other Derry team in our group at home  :-\ :-\
Post by: Candyman on February 01, 2008, 10:44:10 AM
Aghyaran (SP?) is a disaster to get to....
Post by: SuperHans on February 01, 2008, 01:32:42 PM
ours is fairly regional,(dungiven) we only have to travel to portglen1 and buncrana. both would be no more than an hour while our other games are at home.

are any games postponed thiscweek or what
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2008, 03:44:20 PM
Any results today?

A Slaughtneil penalty in the dying minutes earned them a draw in silverbridge - more proof intermediate teams have no place in this competition.
Post by: thebandit on February 03, 2008, 06:41:11 PM
Culloville were beat by 2 by Donoghmore
Post by: Springfield on February 04, 2008, 08:36:40 AM
Glenullin beat Maghery by about 18 points
Post by: screenexile on February 04, 2008, 09:07:41 AM
Ballinascreen got beat by Aghyaran by about 4 points.
Post by: Candyman on February 04, 2008, 09:12:52 AM
Armagh Harps 1-10
Banagher        0-5
Post by: illdecide on February 04, 2008, 09:43:12 AM
Clan na Gael 6-14    Darragh Cross 0-05
Post by: Candyman on February 04, 2008, 10:26:18 AM
Quote from: illdecide on February 04, 2008, 09:43:12 AM
:o
Post by: 5 Sams on February 04, 2008, 10:30:18 AM
Ballinderry scraped past Ballyholland ;) :P

Seriously though while the scoreline shows a big winning margin for Ballinderry our lads would have to be happy with their first outing of the year...they kept in touch with Shamrocks for the majority of the game and in the end the real difference was a couple of well taken goals.

The Wobbler will be along shortly with the exact scoreline....Superbowl hangover allowing :)
Post by: gaagaa on February 04, 2008, 10:32:41 AM
Quote from: Candyman on February 04, 2008, 09:12:52 AM
Armagh Harps 1-10
Banagher        0-5

a poor start for bradley - he'll be back in glenullin before august
Post by: full back on February 04, 2008, 10:39:58 AM

Big scoreline there illdecide
Where you lot good or DC sh1te?
Post by: orangeman on February 04, 2008, 10:41:54 AM
We are playing Daragh Cross on next Sunday - where is Daragh Cross and how do you get to it ?
Post by: DownFanatic on February 04, 2008, 11:07:21 AM
Darragh Cross is a small village a couple of miles outside Saintfield. Saintfield is about 8 mile south from Belfast. Darragh done extremely well to stay in Division 2 in Down last year. They are from an area with a very limited catholic population and they are doing extremely well with the resources they have at their disposal.
Post by: illdecide on February 04, 2008, 12:28:47 PM
Quote from: full back on February 04, 2008, 10:39:58 AM

Big scoreline there illdecide
Where you lot good or DC sh1te?

We played with the wind first half and got off to a very good start which was impossible to come back from. Darragh Cross were poor and they will prob loose all their games going by yesterdays game. It was bad for us in a way because we will be going into the game with St Pauls next week without being tested.
Post by: orangeman on February 04, 2008, 01:16:51 PM
Thanks DF -
Post by: Stalin on February 05, 2008, 11:13:51 AM
mc guigan back playing for ardboe or whats the current state of play
Post by: loughshore lad on February 05, 2008, 11:32:50 AM
Quote from: Stalin on February 05, 2008, 11:13:51 AM
mc guigan back playing for ardboe or whats the current state of play

Ardboe have not started back yet, they are not schelduled to start training until 19th of February as far as I know. Orangeman might know more....
Post by: Stalin on February 05, 2008, 11:47:16 AM
Did ardboe not ahve a match in the ulster league at the weekend? surely theyd need to be back training if theyr playing in that, no?
Post by: loughshore lad on February 05, 2008, 12:07:07 PM
Quote from: Stalin on February 05, 2008, 11:47:16 AM
Did ardboe not ahve a match in the ulster league at the weekend? surely theyd need to be back training if theyr playing in that, no?

The match at the weekend was postponed and will be played next Wednesday night as far as I know.
Why would they need to be back training just because they are entered in a pre season league competition?
The management is the same as last season so they have a fair idea of the player base available and could just select a squad for each game. I think they are sensible not starting back until when they are, it will leave players fresher in the long run.
Post by: orangeman on February 05, 2008, 12:14:36 PM
Training is supposed to start 19th Feb  -
Post by: Maximus Marillius on February 05, 2008, 01:32:44 PM
there ye go!
Post by: illdecide on February 05, 2008, 02:11:27 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 05, 2008, 12:14:36 PM
Training is supposed to start 19th Feb  -

At least you'll have a few weeks training over you's when you come Davitt Park to play the Blues. And tell them Ardboe men to leave their angry heads at home that day ;) A fella was telling me on sunday when the 2 teams met in the early 70's they killed each other and both teams were suspended for 1 year and i know we played Ardboe about 4 years ago and that was another punch up :o You Loughshore men are a hardy bunch ;) :D
Post by: orangeman on February 05, 2008, 02:40:55 PM
I seem to recall that you were the agressors in the 70's !!  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: illdecide on February 05, 2008, 03:46:54 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 05, 2008, 02:40:55 PM
I seem to recall that you were the agressors in the 70's !!  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Don't know about that i was only a sparkle in my Da's eye ;). But i def remember the last brawl. Was there some lad who was on "Blind Date" playing for you's cause i remember him cleaning me out in a tackle and he then recieved a few uppercuts afterwards and some of the guys saying that was the tube running around on blind date saying i'm from Ardboe and we "ate the spuds"
Post by: loughshore lad on February 05, 2008, 03:59:39 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 05, 2008, 03:46:54 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 05, 2008, 02:40:55 PM

Don't know about that i was only a sparkle in my Da's eye ;). But i def remember the last brawl. Was there some lad who was on "Blind Date" playing for you's cause i remember him cleaning me out in a tackle and he then recieved a few uppercuts afterwards and some of the guys saying that was the tube running around on blind date saying i'm from Ardboe and we "ate the spuds"

That must have been more than 4 years ago - was the game at your place?

The player you are referring to is Mickey Coleman. He wont be playing on sunday as he is recovering from a broken leg - you are safe enough  ;D
Post by: orangeman on February 05, 2008, 04:05:35 PM
He wont be playing on sunday as he is recovering from a broken leg - you are safe enough 

He'll still have the old crutches in his hands ! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: illdecide on February 05, 2008, 05:24:37 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 05, 2008, 04:05:35 PM
He wont be playing on sunday as he is recovering from a broken leg - you are safe enough 

He'll still have the old crutches in his hands ! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Will Brian Mc play a few games for Ardboe in the competition? You won't have anything to fear from Darragh Cross as they are brutal but i'd say the rest of the teams in the group would be a handfull
Post by: Surreal Steve on February 05, 2008, 08:17:43 PM
nothing liek a bit of stirring to heat up a forthcoming match between old rivals  :D :D :D :D
Post by: Doire abú on February 08, 2008, 10:46:03 PM
Whats the roll of honour for the Ulster League?
Post by: illdecide on February 11, 2008, 09:06:12 AM
St Pauls (Belfast) 0-05  Clan na Gael 1-15
Post by: screenexile on February 11, 2008, 11:43:21 AM
Screen overturned reigning champions Glenullin yesterday on a scoreline of 0-12 to 0-5. Good performance from the lads but both teams missing a lot so I wouldn't read too much into it.
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on February 11, 2008, 11:44:36 AM
Dungiven 1-12
Portglenone 1-12
Post by: 5 Sams on February 11, 2008, 01:24:20 PM
Ballyholland Harps 3-8
Latton 1-7
Post by: orangeman on February 11, 2008, 01:46:50 PM
Ardboe 1-15 to Darragh Cross 0-5 -
Post by: SuperHans on February 11, 2008, 01:56:33 PM
Apparently Derrylaughan are entering the same group as us, Dungiven along with Loughmacrory, portglen1 etc
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on February 11, 2008, 02:52:29 PM
Quote from: SuperHans on February 11, 2008, 01:56:33 PM
Apparently Derrylaughan are entering the same group as us, Dungiven along with Loughmacrory, portglen1 etc
Yeah they are, we were supposed to play them at home last weekend, the referee turned up at our pitch but neither club knew anything about it. 
Post by: parttimeexile on February 11, 2008, 04:31:45 PM
Gorin beat Lavey last thursday and Monaghan Harps on Sunday. The Intermediate sides arent too bad after all!!
Post by: fcuksake on February 12, 2008, 12:21:28 AM
galbally 0-07 armagh harps 3-05
Post by: goldenyears on February 12, 2008, 09:45:01 AM
serious lack of interest in the ulster league it seems...

great for quality challenge matches when you dont have to travel tho.
Post by: KIDDO on February 12, 2008, 02:42:58 PM
Slaughneil 0.11,Dromore0.9, on Sunday last.
Post by: OakLeaf on February 14, 2008, 09:08:43 AM
I know there doesn't seem to be a massive interest in the Ulster League but if anyone is going to any of the games this weekend would you consider texting the updates to the Live Scores service on GAA Radio?  The number to send your texts to is 447624804328. The service is free for everyone to view at http://www.gaaradio.com/scores/liveScores.jsp . Thanks. I'm going to the Portglenone v Irivinstown game (which is now on Friday night at Loughery with a 7:45 throw in).
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on February 16, 2008, 12:07:46 AM
Portglenone 2-12 Irvinstown 1-9
Post by: Rick O Shea on February 17, 2008, 10:16:18 AM
Result from yesterday.
Ballinascreen 2-20 Derrygonnelly 2-5
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 17, 2008, 03:47:51 PM
Silverbridge were beat by Clonduff today (3 points in it) and Doohamlet during the week (I think there was two in it).
Post by: 5 Sams on February 17, 2008, 07:01:47 PM
Donaghmore 0-12
Ballyholland 0-07
Post by: winsamsoon on February 18, 2008, 01:04:32 AM
Kilrea 1-08 Clan Na Gael 1-10. Anyone know where the league tables for this would be ?
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on February 18, 2008, 02:11:38 AM
Some info on the Ulster Council website, but not very up to date.
http://ulster.gaa.ie/USCFL2008/USCFL2008.htm
Post by: Billy Magoo on February 18, 2008, 08:30:01 AM
QuoteSilverbridge were beat by Clonduff today

I thought we played Clonduff today and drew with them????  Are you sure Pints?
Post by: Dungiven Sur on February 18, 2008, 09:53:12 AM
Dungiven beat Loughmacrory by 3 points, not sure of the score line.
Post by: inthemaking on February 18, 2008, 12:02:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 17, 2008, 03:47:51 PM
Silverbridge were beat by Clonduff today (3 points in it) and Doohamlet during the week (I think there was two in it).

it was dromore that beat the bridge yesterday
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 18, 2008, 12:13:02 PM
Quote from: inthemaking on February 18, 2008, 12:02:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 17, 2008, 03:47:51 PM

it was dromore that beat the bridge yesterday

I'd say you're right but three people told me it was Clonduff  ???   ::)
Post by: inthemaking on February 18, 2008, 01:13:06 PM
i think we are playing clonduff on friday night instead
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 01:14:15 PM
Ardboe beat St Pauls yesterday -
Post by: winsamsoon on February 18, 2008, 02:06:03 PM
Any idea of the score orangeman??????????????
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 02:07:43 PM
We won by 4 points in a tight encounter - what was your game like ? You're unbeaten so far ?
Post by: snappiered on February 18, 2008, 02:18:26 PM
Orangeman yous eem to be flying already and have yous even started training yet?
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 02:22:10 PM
You guys are bound to fairly flying yourselves - Isn't the Wee Red Man having you push weights since October ????  ;) ;) ;) ;D ;D
Post by: snappiered on February 18, 2008, 02:27:12 PM
Duno nothing about that all i know is i dropped into the game yesterday for the 2nd half and we were poor. Seen us in the first game aganist the Donegal team and it was dreadful. Never heard much regarding training this year at all. Working in the South at the minute so am well off the pace.
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 02:35:48 PM
You're not that far off the pace I'd say !!  ;)
Post by: snappiered on February 18, 2008, 02:46:20 PM
A long way off it Orangeman!!!!!!!!  :o
Post by: Rick O Shea on February 18, 2008, 02:51:13 PM
Tables are now up at:

http://ulster.gaa.ie/USCFL2008/Tables/Tables%2017-02-2008.xls (http://ulster.gaa.ie/USCFL2008/Tables/Tables%2017-02-2008.xls)

though some of the score differences haven't been updated
Post by: winsamsoon on February 18, 2008, 03:04:43 PM
Our game was tight enough encounter orangeman. Kilrea have some decent footballers in their ranks. They are very fast and like to build from the back playing some nice football. After an early storm we came back well into the game and could have had it dead and buried early in the second half if we would have took our scores but to be fair the lads rallied well late on and came out on top for a deserved victory. It is looking like a staright fight then between yourselves and us at Davitt park. That is providing you beat Kilrea and providing we beat Brookborough. What are Brookborough like anyway?????
Post by: orangeman on February 18, 2008, 03:15:54 PM
Brookeborough had 8 men missing when they played us - county training was on that night -

We'll get it itght to beat Kilrea - if we do beat them, it will a winner takes all encounter against you. But we'll not talk about your game until we know the outcome of the Kilrea match. Where does Marsden / O'Hagan play for you ?
Post by: winsamsoon on February 19, 2008, 10:25:13 AM
They play in a lot of positions for us so to pin point one would be wrong of me. This is a polite way of saying i ain't telling you  :D No but they do rotate around a lot.
Post by: orangeman on February 19, 2008, 01:19:02 PM
You will be very dificult to beat with players of that calibre - how did you fare in last years league in Armagh ?
Post by: winsamsoon on February 20, 2008, 12:03:54 PM
lads are the quarter final fixtures drawn??? for example do the winners of A meet b??? Or will they be drawn once the winners are known????
Post by: winsamsoon on February 20, 2008, 03:41:52 PM

GROUP: C   PLD   W   D   L   PTS   FOR   AGST   DIFF
Ardboe    3   3   0   0   6   56   22   34
Clan na Gael    3   3   0   0   6   51   21   30
Kilrea    3   2   0   1   4   46   30   16
Brookeborough    2   0   0   2   0   8   16   -8
Darragh Cross    2   0   0   2   0   9   48   -39
St Pauls    3   0   0   3   0   23   53   -30

Ornageman i don't think the table reads correctly because our points should be 63 (Clan Na Gael) I would think that is higher than Ardboes ???? But how many did you guys score against Brookeborough????
Post by: orangeman on February 24, 2008, 07:26:14 PM
Ardobe won by a point today - how much did you win by Winsam ?
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on February 24, 2008, 07:27:35 PM
Buncrana 0.8 Casements 2.9
Post by: Rick O Shea on February 25, 2008, 09:17:16 AM
Ardboe 2-7 Kilrea 1-9
Ballinderry 3-19 Culloville 0-6
Ballinascreen 0-12 Ballyshannon 2-5
Slaughtneil 2-18 Roslea 0-6
Dungiven 3-14 Irvinestown 0-7
Post by: ONeill on February 25, 2008, 11:46:13 AM
New website - http://www.ulstergaa.ie/
Post by: orangeman on February 25, 2008, 12:20:34 PM
It's a very good site - well presented.
Post by: winsamsoon on February 25, 2008, 02:22:29 PM
We didn't play at the weekend Orangeman our game with Brookeborough is on wed night under flood lights. So what was the Ardboe and Kilrea game like??? Is the mc guigans playing for Ardboe???
Post by: orangeman on February 25, 2008, 05:29:17 PM
It was a very tight game which Kilrea should have won - they missed a lot of easy frees and we scraped through by a point - Brian isn't back yet but Tommy and Frank both play for us.
Post by: winsamsoon on February 25, 2008, 07:43:28 PM
Did Brian play in that charity event for Aidan Mc Anespie at the weekend i saw his name down in the gaelic life on the Cormac Mc Anallen team. Tommy will hardly be playing on sunday is he not on the Tyrone panel.????
Post by: orangeman on February 25, 2008, 08:02:08 PM
Tommy is on panel - Brian didn't play at the weekend -
Post by: illdecide on February 26, 2008, 04:00:59 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 25, 2008, 08:02:08 PM
Tommy is on panel - Brian didn't play at the weekend -

your not giving much away Orangeman ;) :D
Post by: orangeman on February 26, 2008, 06:00:15 PM
What more is there to say ?? ;D
Post by: illdecide on February 28, 2008, 09:17:50 AM
Clans beat Brookeborough last night by about 12-14pts sort of lost track of the score (sorry)

Orangeman looks like your visit to Lurgan on sunday is winners take all ;) ;)
Post by: winsamsoon on February 28, 2008, 09:36:59 AM
correct
Post by: IVEDECIDED on February 28, 2008, 11:36:51 AM
Think I might head into Lurgan on Sunday that should be a good one!!
Post by: orangeman on February 28, 2008, 11:39:50 AM
I'd said we will be very short on Sunday - but sure we'll do our best and see what happens.
Post by: illdecide on February 28, 2008, 12:49:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 28, 2008, 11:39:50 AM
I'd said we will be very short on Sunday - but sure we'll do our best and see what happens.

Thats all you can ask for. I'm sure whatever team you's field they will give 100% ;)
Post by: Rick O Shea on February 28, 2008, 01:48:43 PM
Tables appear to be updated on the ulser gaa website

Group A:

Team            Played Won Lost Drawn Points For Points Against Points Diff Points
Glenullin             4      3      1     0          58            33                25       6
Ballinascreen       4      3      1     0          59            40                19       6
Maghery            3       2     1      0         43            37                 6        4
Aghyaran           3       2     1      0         32           38                 -6        4
Aodh Ruadh       4       1     3      0          38           60                -22      2
Derrygonnelly     4       0     4      0          34           56                -22      0

The last round of fixtures are:

Maghery v Ballinascreen 
Aodh Ruadh v Aghyaran 
Glenullin v Derrygonnelly 

Four teams still in the hunt for qualification, with glenullin as firm favourities.  Though with only 7 groups i take it there is a best runner-up to qualify.

Any idea when the Maghery v Aghyaran game is being played?
Post by: IVEDECIDED on February 28, 2008, 07:13:39 PM
I was looking at the tables and it looks like a draw will do Clan na Gael as they have a points advantage over Ardboe.
Post by: winsamsoon on February 28, 2008, 08:15:06 PM
well stop looking at the tables and get back to work our fella  ;)
Post by: orangeman on February 29, 2008, 09:54:43 AM
We'd be happy with a draw ! ;)
Post by: winsamsoon on February 29, 2008, 02:36:25 PM
If it finishes a draw then we would go through orangeman and you guys would probably go through as the highest runner up
Post by: orangeman on February 29, 2008, 05:08:59 PM
I didn't realise that there was highest runner up spot up for grabs !
Post by: winsamsoon on February 29, 2008, 05:13:51 PM
yeah the seven winners plus the highest runner up go through and at the moment our groups are the highest first place and second as yourselves and us haven't been beaten.
Post by: orangeman on February 29, 2008, 05:14:46 PM
interesting - would you give us a draw then ??  ;) ;) ;) ;)
Post by: winsamsoon on February 29, 2008, 09:17:37 PM
can't see it pal  :D It could be up to you guys to give us a draw  ;) who knows what way the game will end up. May the best team win.
Post by: orangeman on March 01, 2008, 12:18:38 AM
I just hope you don't beat the dung out of us !  ;D
Post by: Doire abú on March 01, 2008, 08:47:50 PM
Apart from Glenullin last year, who else have won the Ulster League and in what year?
Post by: KIDDO 4 on March 02, 2008, 12:12:18 AM
Carrickmore won this competition in 2006.
Post by: orangeman on March 02, 2008, 06:37:13 PM
Ardboe won by 2 in a very close and exciting encounter - any other results ?
Post by: Candyman on March 03, 2008, 09:52:58 AM
Armagh Harps    2-12
Downpatrick      0-6
Post by: screenexile on March 03, 2008, 09:54:21 AM
Screen got beat by 6 by Maghery.
Post by: winsamsoon on March 03, 2008, 10:58:15 AM
Think ardboe were good value for the win yesterday orangeman it wasn't a bad old game though. I don't know if we will go through or not now as the highest runner up.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 03, 2008, 11:41:35 AM
Quote from: winsamsoon on March 03, 2008, 10:58:15 AM
Think ardboe were good value for the win yesterday orangeman it wasn't a bad old game though. I don't know if we will go through or not now as the highest runner up.

Was at the game also yesterday sam, enjoyable game. Had you a full team out?

Our lads were down a few regulars and we actually had quite a young team out with 4 minors playing.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 03, 2008, 11:45:12 AM
Where are the group tables available lads?
Post by: screenexile on March 03, 2008, 11:55:01 AM
www.ulster.gaa.ie (http://www.ulster.gaa.ie)
Post by: winsamsoon on March 03, 2008, 12:12:53 PM
I noticed you had a fairly young squad out loughshore. I suppose the game was enjoyable from a spectators point of view but if it hadn't been for that bloody number 4 of ours giving the ball away the game could have went to the wire instead of fizzling out a little at the death. We were missing about five or six due to injuries and other minor things but it was good for the lads to get a decent run out . We even got a bit of handbags at the death  :D :D which has been crucial between the two teams over the years  :D :D. Good luck to you guys in the next round. Not sure if we are joining you's or not.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 03, 2008, 12:22:43 PM
Cheers screenexile

Are the next stages pre determined or is there a draw for this? If so when is the draw?
Post by: orangeman on March 03, 2008, 03:27:46 PM
Any word on the next round - when is it on etc ?
Post by: winsamsoon on March 04, 2008, 11:51:27 AM
The next round should be played this weekend and the semi finals the weekend of st Patrick. The final of the tournament is on easter monday so things will need to be shifted along sharply.
Post by: OakLeaf on March 06, 2008, 12:47:00 PM
Two 1/4 finals this Sunday:

Clonduff v Ardboe (3:00)
Ballinderry v Loup (2:00)
Post by: winsamsoon on March 06, 2008, 02:10:42 PM
If dungiven are beat by derrylaughlan then Clan Na Gael play Gortin at Davitt park on sunday.
Post by: Dungiven Sur on March 07, 2008, 10:01:10 AM
Dungiven won last night.
Post by: winsamsoon on March 07, 2008, 02:05:03 PM
well then good luck to all in the enxt round including Dungiven sir
Post by: SuperHans on March 07, 2008, 02:07:53 PM
Easy win for dungiven last night, think we play North Derry rivals Glenullin in the quarter finals this sunday
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on March 07, 2008, 03:05:38 PM
We play Gortin in Gortin this Sunday in the other Quarter Final
Post by: the green man on March 07, 2008, 04:38:21 PM
Ulster Senior Football League
Team 1     Team 2                   Venue            Date         Time Referee Comment
Ballinderry  Loup                        Ballinderry   09/03/2008  14:00 TBC   
Dungiven  Glenullin                     Dungiven   09/03/2008  14:00 TBC Quarter Final 
Gortin       Roger Casements       Gortin        09/03/2008  14:00 TBC Quarter Final 
Clonduff   Ardboe                      Clonduff     09/03/2008  15:00 TBC
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 09, 2008, 07:21:46 PM
I believe Ardboe and Clonduff drew today - 29 points each

6-11 to 2-23  :o :o :o :o :o
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on March 09, 2008, 08:45:54 PM
Ballinderry 1-10
Loup 0-4

Who plays who in the semi finals?
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on March 09, 2008, 09:23:20 PM
Ballinderry play Gortin now who beat us today.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on March 09, 2008, 09:28:30 PM
Were they any good?
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on March 09, 2008, 09:32:17 PM
Not really, they beat us by 4, we missed a bagful of chances.
Played on a brutal pitch with water lyin on it. 
Martin McErlean was refereeing, he from your club?
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on March 09, 2008, 09:47:20 PM
Yes, and yes.  Martin "Chicken" McErlain.
Post by: orangeman on March 09, 2008, 09:48:19 PM
Our match was a cracker - both defences on top !  ;D
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on March 09, 2008, 09:50:31 PM
Ardboe v Ballinderry final possibly.  What would you think of that Orangeman?
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on March 09, 2008, 09:51:52 PM
He isa gentleman and a scholar.
Post by: orangeman on March 09, 2008, 10:22:35 PM
Ardboe v Ballinderry final possibly

It would be nice !!!!!!!!  ;D
Post by: Doire abú on March 09, 2008, 11:23:57 PM
Any word who won Dungiven-Glenullin match?
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2008, 09:33:50 AM
Glenullin won narrowly. Glennullin players winners of Ardboe and Clonduff -
Post by: redandwhitehoops on March 10, 2008, 09:38:03 AM
glenullin by 3 i think
Post by: feetofflames on March 10, 2008, 01:14:12 PM
Balinderry will struggle to compete with that Gortin team.
Post by: parttimeexile on March 10, 2008, 03:26:09 PM
Quote from: feetofflames on March 10, 2008, 01:14:12 PM
Balinderry will struggle to compete with that Gortin team.

They aint doin too bad for an aul intermediate team!
Post by: winsamsoon on March 10, 2008, 03:30:23 PM
Ballinderry will beat any team in it if they play up to standard. Glenullin will be hard to beat aswell.
Post by: parttimeexile on March 10, 2008, 04:10:56 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on March 10, 2008, 03:30:23 PM
Ballinderry will beat any team in it if they play up to standard. Glenullin will be hard to beat aswell.

The ulster league shows what you team should be aspiring to and allows you to play teams that you would normally never get the chance to play. Everyone knows hows good ballinderry are but sure its great to get the chance to play against the best teams out there.
Post by: IVEDECIDED on March 12, 2008, 11:14:35 AM
Correct son thats what its all about! Of course Ballinderry will now be favourites to win it but any team can be beat on any day especially at this stage of the season. Teams such as Gortin etc now have a great chance to win it, and im sure Glenullin arent planning to be also rans to their Derry counterparts!
Post by: Uladh on March 12, 2008, 11:22:18 AM

Is it only people from lurgan who address other grown adults as "son"?
Post by: winsamsoon on March 12, 2008, 11:54:26 AM
Yes Uladh "son". I don't know where you are from but do the folk round your way always analyse peoples word choice and correct them. You sound like my great aunt ffs.
Post by: illdecide on March 12, 2008, 12:22:40 PM
Quote from: Uladh on March 12, 2008, 11:22:18 AM

Is it only people from lurgan who address other grown adults as "son"?

Uladh you are getting a bit picky and annoying, it's only a figure of speech do you need to get you thong in a twist every time someone says something thats not to your liking. I'm sure you South Armagh men have some sayings and phrases that annoy other people too but we don't pick up on it
Post by: Uladh on March 12, 2008, 12:36:14 PM

You defend yourselves as though i meant it as a bad thing....
Post by: IVEDECIDED on March 12, 2008, 01:49:25 PM
Its ok uladh I know what you meant son! ;D
Post by: winsamsoon on March 12, 2008, 01:52:39 PM
when someone constantly is pulling people up on phrases you use or the odd word you have dropped. Then i cannot understand how someone could interpret this as anything other than negatively. If you just meant it as a genuine question which i doubt then it was trully a stupid question clearly born out of boredom. It also has nothing at all to do with the thread.
Post by: IVEDECIDED on March 12, 2008, 01:53:20 PM
By the way son who said I was from Lurgein! Just because the other half of the 'Deciders' is obviously from that sh*@hole doesnt mean that I am! ???
Post by: illdecide on March 12, 2008, 02:08:43 PM
Quote from: IVEDECIDED on March 12, 2008, 01:53:20 PM
By the way son who said I was from Lurgein! Just because the other half of the 'Deciders' is obviously from that sh*@hole doesnt mean that I am! ???

Well where the hell are you from IVEDECIDED. Since you tried to copy my username you'll prob want to move to dorty Lurgan too to be beside me :D :D

I know you're new on the board and you have come in with a few remarks about several clubs but you have not stated you're own club. (i take it you don't like the Og's from 1 of your comments and you said the O'Rourkes were ugly and all that shite so you don't like Dromintee) Don't tell me you're a Dorty Porty ;) :D!!!
Post by: Uladh on March 12, 2008, 02:13:19 PM

Quote from: winsamsoon on March 12, 2008, 01:52:39 PM
when someone constantly is pulling people up on phrases you use or the odd word you have dropped. Then i cannot understand how someone could interpret this as anything other than negatively. If you just meant it as a genuine question which i doubt then it was trully a stupid question clearly born out of boredom. It also has nothing at all to do with the thread.

is that a tumbleweed blowing across the bottom of the screen?

By the way son who said I was from Lurgein!

you sound like you are...
Post by: winsamsoon on March 12, 2008, 02:40:01 PM
Again it seems a perfectly good thread has been hijacked with shite talk
Post by: illdecide on March 12, 2008, 02:50:24 PM
Quote from: Uladh on March 12, 2008, 02:13:19 PM

Quote from: winsamsoon on March 12, 2008, 01:52:39 PM

is that a tumbleweed blowing across the bottom of the screen?

By the way son who said I was from Lurgein!

you sound like you are...

what are you trying to say Uladh, grow a set son and come out and say it ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 12, 2008, 03:10:58 PM
QuoteWell where the hell are you from IVEDECIDED. Since you tried to copy my username you'll prob want to move to dorty Lurgan too to be beside me

I know you're new on the board and you have come in with a few remarks about several clubs but you have not stated you're own club. (i take it you don't like the Og's from 1 of your comments and you said the O'Rourkes were ugly and all that shite so you don't like Dromintee) Don't tell me you're a Dorty Porty!!!

Slags other clubs and won't name his own - he'll be right at home in the armagh club thread won't he.
Alternatively i'vedecided you'll be right at home if you name your club and only post when they win.
Post by: parttimeexile on March 12, 2008, 03:21:13 PM
Anyway back to the point of this thread! Who will win between Gortin and Glenullin?  :P
Post by: IVEDECIDED on March 12, 2008, 04:02:09 PM
Glenullin by 3 son. Im from north of the county but not Lurgan thats all im saying cause its more fun when you can appear to be neutral ;D. And your right illdecide Lurgan is 'DORTY', its a stinking hole if you dont mind me saying and no im not a 'dorty-porty' id rather fall on a knife son! ;) I dont have personal issues with the ogs and dromintee, I have personal issues with ALL clubs :D ;D. And as for you pints your right - I am at home on this thread, but thats because im at home wherever I decide! :)
Post by: amigo on March 12, 2008, 04:18:48 PM
Quote from: parttimeexile on March 12, 2008, 03:21:13 PM
Anyway back to the point of this thread! Who will win between Gortin and Glenullin?  :P

Neither. Gortin play Ballinderry on Sunday !!!!!
Post by: loughshore lad on March 13, 2008, 08:33:05 AM
Ardboe defeated Clonduff last night to progress to the semi final and a meeting with Glenullin on Sunday.
Post by: snappiered on March 13, 2008, 09:55:44 AM
How much yous win by Loughshore? Was Brian playing. Yous are flyin at the moment.
Post by: loughshore lad on March 13, 2008, 10:07:27 AM
Won by 6 or 7, they scored a last minute penalty. Scoreline maybe flattered our lads a little as our keeper made a few fantastic saves but they deserved the victory. It was a patched up Ardboe team last night with 6/7 regulars missing and another 2 lost last night due to injury.
Brian played the full game and scored the first goal. He played pretty well all things considered, showed some glimpses of the old magic and was going for anything in his direction. He just needs game time to get back up to match speed and fitness again.
The lads are doing fairly well considering the number of regulars unavailable and the fact they have only been training a couple of weeks.
Post by: parttimeexile on March 13, 2008, 10:34:43 AM
Quote from: amigo on March 12, 2008, 04:18:48 PM
Quote from: parttimeexile on March 12, 2008, 03:21:13 PM

Neither. Gortin play Ballinderry on Sunday !!!!!

I was joking! Sorry i didn't say..was just letting on gortin didn't have to worry about ballinderry ::)
Post by: winsamsoon on March 13, 2008, 11:44:03 AM
Great to see Mc Guigan back playing for his club and county. Lets just hope there are no village idiots out there who would try and damage his eye again just to get their names in the papers and think they are hard men. I know this kind of thing would go on in certain leagues and it is an absolute disgrace.
Post by: Uladh on March 13, 2008, 11:54:58 AM

I assume McGuigan's eye would be no more susceptible to injury than anyone else's or he wouldn't be back playing?
Post by: winsamsoon on March 13, 2008, 02:14:52 PM
well i would assume it would be like a leg break, Once it has been done there will always be a weakness. It will never return to full strength. But the point that i was making doesn't matter what state his eye is in. It could still do without some ignornat ogre accidently on purpose smashing into it. Whatever state the eye is in.
Post by: orangeman on March 13, 2008, 04:41:31 PM
Brian showed some great glimpses and I'd say he'll need a few more games yet in order for him to get up to speed again.
Post by: glenullinabu on March 13, 2008, 08:16:48 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on March 13, 2008, 10:07:27 AM
Won by 6 or 7, they scored a last minute penalty. Scoreline maybe flattered our lads a little as our keeper made a few fantastic saves but they deserved the victory. It was a patched up Ardboe team last night with 6/7 regulars missing and another 2 lost last night due to injury.
Brian played the full game and scored the first goal. He played pretty well all things considered, showed some glimpses of the old magic and was going for anything in his direction. He just needs game time to get back up to match speed and fitness again.
The lads are doing fairly well considering the number of regulars unavailable and the fact they have only been training a couple of weeks.

take plenty of money up with youse - the social club will be open after the match ;D
Post by: winsamsoon on March 14, 2008, 12:13:02 PM
and righlty so glenullin you need to routine blow out after an old game. A few pints makes the day all that sweater. :D
Post by: glenullinabu on March 16, 2008, 05:08:21 PM
Glenullin beat Ardboe up in the glen earlier today.
Eoin and Paddy Bradley were excellent
Nice to see mcguigan back on the field of play - still got that touch of clas

anyone hear how the other semifinal went?
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on March 16, 2008, 06:49:27 PM
Shamrocks by a point.... terrible performance from what i hear!
Post by: orangeman on March 16, 2008, 09:05:57 PM
Glenullin beat us ok - we were short a couple - Glenullin are a very good side with the Bradleys  showing prominently although we contested well for the first half - thier class really shone through in the second half, plus their bench was good.
Thanks to Gelnullin for their hospitality - they have a wonderful set up !

Ballinderry beat Gortin by a point - it must have been some performance from Gortin - fair play to them.

It should be a very interesting final.
Post by: gaagaa on March 16, 2008, 10:03:57 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 16, 2008, 09:05:57 PM
Glenullin beat us ok
Ballinderry beat Gortin by a point It should be a very interesting final.

where and when is the final? itll be interesting after the championship clash last year
id fancy the shamrocks to have a real go st this match - maybe a few scores to settle?
Post by: orangeman on March 16, 2008, 10:07:23 PM
Final is on Easter monday - venue not decided yet - it should be a cracker !
Post by: gaagaa on March 16, 2008, 10:10:59 PM
if its in derry should be a big crowd
how about maghera or ballinascreen
a stand makes for all the mnore "banter" ;D
Post by: orangeman on March 16, 2008, 10:13:00 PM
Maghera would be good alright for a bot of "banter" !!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on March 18, 2008, 12:11:20 PM
Quote from: gaagaa on March 16, 2008, 10:10:59 PM
if its in derry should be a big crowd
how about maghera or ballinascreen
a stand makes for all the mnore "banter" ;D

confirmed for maghera @ 4pm easter monday
Post by: Billy Magoo on March 18, 2008, 01:39:20 PM
Quoteconfirmed for maghera @ 4pm easter monday

Surprised by this!  Surely Ballinascreen or ourselves should have got this gate as we were actually in the competition.  Its unfair that glen should take this gate when they never participated in the competition!!!!
Post by: Maximus Marillius on March 18, 2008, 01:44:31 PM
Billy ......blame our county board ;) :D
Post by: IVEDECIDED on March 19, 2008, 12:22:17 PM
Surely the gate goes to the Ulster council and not the club who hosts the game? And surely its got nothing to do with the Derry Co. board?
Post by: Doire abú on March 19, 2008, 12:29:21 PM
Host club will get a percentage as far as I know?
Otherwise why would Glen let their pitch be used?
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 12:43:28 PM
Didn't Maghera host Glenullin's Ulster club fixture ?
Post by: redandwhitehoops on March 19, 2008, 04:20:20 PM
na, it was in celtic park.
Post by: orangeman on March 19, 2008, 04:22:20 PM
Why did they go to Celtic Park - that didn't make a lot of sense !
Post by: Doire abú on March 20, 2008, 01:24:03 AM
Glenullin had the choice.
If I remember correctly they choose Celtic Park because a) their initial choice of their own pitch was turned down and b) they wanted a big open field.
Post by: orangeman on March 24, 2008, 11:58:52 AM
Where and when is the big match today ?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 24, 2008, 12:18:16 PM
Anywhere pricing up the match? Might throw it in to my football accum if I can get a guide price anywhere
Post by: orangeman on March 24, 2008, 02:25:26 PM
Who do you fancy ? What would your prices be ? Evens your pick ?
Post by: Doire abú on March 24, 2008, 02:44:37 PM
I'd say Forbes in Ardboe are giving odds anyway.
Post by: orangeman on March 24, 2008, 06:37:37 PM
Ballinderry won the game 0-13 to 0-10.
Post by: glenullinabu on March 24, 2008, 08:21:26 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 24, 2008, 06:37:37 PM
Ballinderry won the game 0-13 to 0-10.

ruari boylan (midfiedl) was missing for us as he was abroad
we got off to a good start but couldnt get a grip on midfield afteer that
we had a couple of chances to draw bit in fairness ballinderry were the better team
Post by: Doire abú on March 24, 2008, 09:18:08 PM
Thought Jarlath Bell marked Paddy Bradley very well. Deets and Enda also excellent for us.
Good enough game, thought Glenullin had us beat, there were flyin for a stage in the second half.
Post by: glenullinabu on March 25, 2008, 12:28:39 AM
how come some of your county men didnt get on?

Post by: orangeman on March 25, 2008, 11:49:46 AM
I think they were holding back just to see how many they needed to out on to beat you by a couple of points. Whenever they needed an injection they brought on Wilkinson.

Two very good sides. Bell marked Bradley well but I think Glenullin lost it around the middle where I thought that Muldoon and Conway were fairly dominant. Boylan would have been a miss alright.
Post by: illdecide on January 07, 2010, 05:32:12 PM
This competition seems to get worse every year and i for the life of me cannot understand why, you have no need to run around arranging pre-season friendlies and referees and the matches are more competitive than a friendly so why do the majority of teams not treat it with the respect it deserves.

My experience of it over the last few years is that once a team has been beat twice in i then they pull the plug or send out reserve teams to fulfill the fixtures!!!

Any way lads what clubs do you know off that are entering it this year???
Post by: illdecide on January 12, 2010, 11:01:50 AM
Well ???
Post by: ha ha derry on January 12, 2010, 11:24:56 AM
Quote from: illdecide on January 07, 2010, 05:32:12 PM
This competition seems to get worse every year and i for the life of me cannot understand why, you have no need to run around arranging pre-season friendlies and referees and the matches are more competitive than a friendly so why do the majority of teams not treat it with the respect it deserves.

My experience of it over the last few years is that once a team has been beat twice in i then they pull the plug or send out reserve teams to fulfill the fixtures!!!

Any way lads what clubs do you know off that are entering it this year???

It might be more to do with each county,s domestic fixtures.
Post by: winsamsoon on January 12, 2010, 01:42:51 PM
seems like a lot of interest in it anyway :o
Post by: illdecide on January 14, 2010, 02:59:22 PM
The fixtures are out for this years league...any idea where i can get these?
Post by: thewanderer on January 14, 2010, 03:24:05 PM
Heard there not finalised yet, but you can get them eventually from ulster council gaa web site.
Post by: full back on January 14, 2010, 03:26:00 PM
All fixtures here, just put in the relevant dates

http://ulster.gaa.ie/fixtures
Post by: full back on January 14, 2010, 03:26:35 PM
Group A

Clan na Gael (Armagh)  Greencastle (Tyrone)  Clan na Gael (Armagh) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Magherafelt (Derry)  Trillick (Tyrone)  Magherafelt (Derry) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Ahoghill (Antrim)  Glen (Derry)  Ahoghill (Antrim) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Trillick (Tyrone)  Clan na Gael (Armagh)  Trillick (Tyrone) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Glen (Derry)  Greencastle (Tyrone)  Glen (Derry) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Magherafelt (Derry)  Ahoghill (Antrim)  Magherafelt (Derry) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Clan na Gael (Armagh)  Glen (Derry)  Clan na Gael (Armagh) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Trillick (Tyrone)  Ahoghill (Antrim)  Trillick (Tyrone) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Greencastle (Tyrone)  Magherafelt (Derry)  Greencastle (Tyrone) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Ahoghill (Antrim)  Clan na Gael (Armagh)  Ahoghill (Antrim) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Magherafelt (Derry)  Glen (Derry)  Magherafelt (Derry) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Greencastle (Tyrone)  Trillick (Tyrone)  Greencastle (Tyrone) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Clan na Gael (Armagh)  Magherafelt (Derry)  Clan na Gael (Armagh) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC   

Ahoghill (Antrim)  Greencastle (Tyrone)  Ahoghill (Antrim) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC   

Glen (Derry)  Trillick (Tyrone)  Glen (Derry) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC
Post by: full back on January 14, 2010, 03:26:59 PM
Group B

Swatragh  Clonoe (Tyrone)  Swatragh 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Ballinascreen (Derry)  Clonduff (Down)  Ballinascreen (Derry) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Castlerahan (Cavan)  Mullabawn (Armagh)  Castlerahan (Cavan) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC 

Clonduff (Down)  Swatragh  Clonduff (Down) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Mullabawn (Armagh)  Clonoe (Tyrone)  Mullabawn (Armagh) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Ballinascreen (Derry)  Castlerahan (Cavan)  Ballinascreen (Derry) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC 

Swatragh  Mullabawn (Armagh)  Swatragh 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Clonduff (Down)  Castlerahan (Cavan)  Clonduff (Down) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Clonoe (Tyrone)  Ballinascreen (Derry)  Clonoe (Tyrone) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Castlerahan (Cavan)  Swatragh  Castlerahan (Cavan) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC 

Ballinascreen (Derry)  Mullabawn (Armagh)  Ballinascreen (Derry) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Clonoe (Tyrone)  Clonduff (Down)  Clonoe (Tyrone) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC 

Swatragh  Ballinascreen (Derry)  Swatragh 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC   

Castlerahan (Cavan)  Clonoe (Tyrone)  Castlerahan (Cavan) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC   

Mullabawn (Armagh)  Clonduff (Down)  Mullabawn (Armagh) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC
Post by: full back on January 14, 2010, 03:27:24 PM
Group C

Moy (Tyrone)  Whitecross (Armagh)  Moy (Tyrone) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Portglenone (Antrim)  Loup (Derry)  Portglenone (Antrim) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Slaughtneil (Derry)  Burren (Down)  Slaughtneil (Derry) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Loup (Derry)  Moy (Tyrone)  Loup (Derry) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC 

Burren (Down)  Whitecross (Armagh)  Burren (Down) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC

Portglenone (Antrim)  Slaughtneil (Derry)  Portglenone (Antrim) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Moy (Tyrone)  Burren (Down)  Moy (Tyrone) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Loup (Derry)  Slaughtneil (Derry)  Loup (Derry) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Whitecross (Armagh)  Portglenone (Antrim)  Whitecross (Armagh) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Slaughtneil (Derry)  Moy (Tyrone)  Slaughtneil (Derry) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Portglenone (Antrim)  Burren (Down)  Portglenone (Antrim) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Whitecross (Armagh)  Loup (Derry)  Whitecross (Armagh) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Moy (Tyrone)  Portglenone (Antrim)  Moy (Tyrone) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC   

Slaughtneil (Derry)  Whitecross (Armagh)  Slaughtneil (Derry) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC   

Burren (Down)  Loup (Derry)  Burren (Down) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC
Post by: full back on January 14, 2010, 03:27:47 PM
Group D

Ballinderry (Derry)  Donaghmore (Tyrone)  Ballinderry (Derry) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Newbridge (Derry)  Aghyaran (Tyrone)  Newbridge (Derry) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Carrickcruppin (Armagh)  Termon (Donegal)  Carrickcruppin (Armagh) 07/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Aghyaran (Tyrone)  Ballinderry (Derry)  Aghyaran (Tyrone) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Termon (Donegal)  Donaghmore (Tyrone)  Termon (Donegal) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Newbridge (Derry)  Carrickcruppin (Armagh)  Newbridge (Derry) 14/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Ballinderry (Derry)  Termon (Donegal)  Ballinderry (Derry) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Aghyaran (Tyrone)  Carrickcruppin (Armagh)  Aghyaran (Tyrone) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC 

Donaghmore (Tyrone)  Newbridge (Derry)  Donaghmore (Tyrone) 21/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Carrickcruppin (Armagh)  Ballinderry (Derry)  Carrickcruppin (Armagh) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Newbridge (Derry)  Termon (Donegal)  Newbridge (Derry) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Donaghmore (Tyrone)  Aghyaran (Tyrone)  Donaghmore (Tyrone) 28/02/2010 14:00 TBC   

Ballinderry (Derry)  Newbridge (Derry)  Ballinderry (Derry) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC   

Carrickcruppin (Armagh)  Donaghmore (Tyrone)  Carrickcruppin (Armagh) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC   

Termon (Donegal)  Aghyaran (Tyrone)  Termon (Donegal) 07/03/2010 14:00 TBC
Post by: illdecide on January 14, 2010, 03:36:53 PM
Jasus i fell sorry for Whitecross in group C...f**k me thats a tight group :D :D :D
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 14, 2010, 04:08:50 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 14, 2010, 03:36:53 PM
Jasus i fell sorry for Whitecross in group C...f**k me thats a tight group :D :D :D
thats the group of death alright! that said we have a hard enough group ourselves
Post by: illdecide on January 14, 2010, 05:31:57 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 14, 2010, 04:08:50 PM
Quote from: illdecide on January 14, 2010, 03:36:53 PM
thats the group of death alright! that said we have a hard enough group ourselves

Ach your c**k...
Post by: thewanderer on January 14, 2010, 06:06:08 PM
Jesus yous clans boys have got another handy group.  100% record there for the taking especially when 1 or 2 teams wont turn up for the final matches as is the norm. enjoy your days out , ps no blue bags allowed.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 14, 2010, 09:59:35 PM
Quote from: thewanderer on January 14, 2010, 06:06:08 PM
Jesus yous clans boys have got another handy group.  100% record there for the taking especially when 1 or 2 teams wont turn up for the final matches as is the norm. enjoy your days out , ps no blue bags allowed.
am i the only one who thinks its a hard enough group!?! two promoted clubs, have to watch out for them ones
Post by: stiffler on January 14, 2010, 10:19:32 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 14, 2010, 09:59:35 PM
am i the only one who thinks its a hard enough group!?! two promoted clubs, have to watch out for them ones

Are yous playing at home for this?

Charlie stubbs was saying the Greencastle game would be a good chance to meet ziggy for a drink!
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 14, 2010, 10:26:49 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 14, 2010, 10:19:32 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 14, 2010, 09:59:35 PM

Are yous playing at home for this?

Charlie stubbs was saying the Greencastle game would be a good chance to meet ziggy for a drink!
I dunno where we are playing home games, yet to be sorted. Lismore no doubt ::)
Post by: donelli on January 15, 2010, 04:09:40 PM
no Mongahan clubs entered this year???
Post by: No way ref on January 21, 2010, 11:06:07 PM
I see they've thrown in a group E now as well
Post by: winsamsoon on January 22, 2010, 10:39:47 AM
The more the merrier lads. These games are way better than pre season friendlies
Post by: screenexile on January 22, 2010, 10:49:06 AM
Glad to see that we get a handy draw (Travel Wise that is) being the reigning Champions and all! 2 Away games to Clonoe and Swatragh is hard tae bate sur!
Post by: winsamsoon on January 22, 2010, 11:09:08 AM
Going from Group A i think qualification is a very possible outcome for us and if we have any aspirations for the year we should come out of this group even in the early stages of football :D ;)
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 07, 2010, 05:18:34 PM
any results from Group A. Clans beat Greencastle 0-9 to 1-5
(:P @ ziggy)
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2010, 05:51:03 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 07, 2010, 05:18:34 PM
any results from Group A. Clans beat Greencastle 0-9 to 1-5
(:P @ ziggy)

Ah feck off Fitzy!  :'(
Post by: lurganblue on February 07, 2010, 06:09:37 PM
I take it you didn't make it to the game ziggy?
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2010, 06:10:59 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 07, 2010, 06:09:37 PM
I take it you didn't make it to the game ziggy?

Couldn't make it. Doing a favour for someone today, plus chronic back pain all weekend.

How did Greencastle play lurganblue?
Post by: lurganblue on February 07, 2010, 06:19:55 PM
Very rusty from both teams to be fair ziggy but to be expected. 3-2 to greencastle at half time if I remember right. Greencastle got a goal halfway through the second half and went four up but I don't think they scored again after that. I'm biased of course but I think we really should have won comfortably only our shooting was terrible.

Enjoyable game though. Physical at times too. Good to have club football back
Post by: ziggysego on February 07, 2010, 06:21:44 PM
Cheers for a summary lurganblue.

I agree, club football's where it's at.
Post by: illdecide on February 07, 2010, 11:22:11 PM
No other results lads ???

Ziggy you'd have been foundered there today saan. Balitc it was :D

Them 2 midfielders you have are two of the biggest hoors i've seen :o Good tight game and as Lurgan blue stated Clans shooting was brutal, we hit the woodwork 5 times and shooting for points was worse...in saying all that it was still close and Castle seemed to tire in the last 10 mins which helped.

Still better than any friendly and can't understand why more teams don't enter this ???
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on February 07, 2010, 11:23:16 PM
We were hammered.

Loup 3.16 Casements 1.5
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on February 07, 2010, 11:25:49 PM
Most results available online:

http://ulster.gaa.ie/results/
Post by: Overthebar! on February 22, 2010, 11:32:30 AM
for those clubs not in the ulster league and looking for any pre-season games in the next few weeks perhaps midweek or on a sunday?
senior derry club looking for a few games. pm me if interested!
Post by: ziggysego on February 28, 2010, 08:28:06 PM
Greencastle got beat by Trillick today, at Trillick by 2pts.
Post by: Overthebar! on March 23, 2010, 04:51:32 PM
who won the ulster league this year?
Post by: aontroim on March 23, 2010, 05:06:22 PM
Ballinderry v Mullahoran in the Senior Final

Craigbane v Killybegs in Intermediate Final
Post by: Overthebar! on March 24, 2010, 10:42:40 AM
good man aontroim. any idea where and when the senior final is?
Post by: aontroim on March 24, 2010, 12:02:20 PM
Doesn't look like the dates are set yet otb - just keep an eye on the Ulster Council website under fixtures section.