Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 15, 2007, 08:12:41 PM

Title: Teachers
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 15, 2007, 08:12:41 PM
Teachers seem to have an uncanny knack of doing things the hard way. My missus is a teacher and each Summer and Christmas she sets exams for her pupils.

However when it cones to marking them it always takes her ages because instead of ensuring that the  total marks available for the exam are 100 or a figure which easily multiplies up to 100 she always leaves it that total number of marks available is some obscure number so that she has to use a calculator to work out the percentages for each pupil.

There's no doubt about it if there's a hard way and an easy way to do something teachers will always pick the hard way.
Title: Re: Teachers
Post by: Seany on December 15, 2007, 08:18:19 PM
Once again, Mighty has interjected with what appears to be a complete stream of consciousness with no regard to the other important topics going on all around him.  Teachers do an important job in difficult circumstances and so what if they have to use a calculator to add up their pupils' marks.  Time for peace.  Time for Mighty Quinn to Go.  You are not the funniest person on this board. Please refrain from using it to think out loud.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 15, 2007, 08:23:47 PM
Funny I sort of sussed when you set up the poll against me that you were probably a teacher so I set up this thread to flush you out. Typically you jumped to the bait. Is it any wonder that kids can still run rings round you all. ;D ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 15, 2007, 08:37:14 PM
Huh? What do you mean kids run rings around you all?
Post by: Seany on December 15, 2007, 08:59:53 PM
...and judging by the time you obviously have to think up and then set up your inane ramblings about people like Bono who is a fantastic person and Gerry Ryan who is the housewives' choice, I'd say it's a fair bet you're one of the half million yes HALF A f**king MILLION layabouts who 'work' in the Civil Service. My source for the statistic because as you all know, Seany only deals in FACTS, is from the link below. 

http://www.civilservice.gov.uk/about/statistics/archive/2003/numbers.asp
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 15, 2007, 09:10:36 PM
Well given that I admitted that I was a Civil Servant on my earlier ' Is the Civil Service Shite' poll ( which proves that unlike teachers we can enjoy a joke at our own expense) it didn't take a genius to work that one out.

You can also check out the times of my postings and you'll see that I never post during working hours which for the Civil Service is 9 to 5 and don't knock off at 3.30 like you crying cnuts.

As regards your statistics you can shove them, its a well known fact that regardless of how shite a teacher is they can't be got rid of. They are accountable to no one.

Teachers are bollixes they don't live in the real world because a high number of teachers marry teachers, they socialise with teachers  (who the phuck would want to go out with them) so they meet no one else in life except teachers and schoolchildren. How's that for a sad existence
Post by: Seany on December 15, 2007, 09:15:46 PM
What makes you think I am a teacher?

Once again you are running to conclusions and jumping to them as quickly as the Civil Service did in the Arms in Iraq case, all of which has caused us untold misery with international terrorism and the Iraqi conflict.  Well done lads.  Though the Civil Service is now doing a better job of ruining the system from within by 'losing' disks with people's intimate details on them.  it would suit you better Mighty to check under your desk to see if you left those disks at your arse rather than posting unfunny nonsense.  The big question is; WHat piece of incompetence from the Civil Service will hit the news next week?' ANy truth in the rumour that you each have a deck of cards in your drawer, just in case the computers go down and you have to play Solitaire on your desk? 
Post by: ONeill on December 15, 2007, 09:17:32 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 15, 2007, 09:10:36 PM

Teachers are bollixes

I agree.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 15, 2007, 09:19:19 PM
However when it cones to marking them it always takes her ages because instead of ensuring that the  total marks available for the exam are 100 or a figure which easily multiplies up to 100 she always leaves it that total number of marks available is some obscure number so that she has to use a calculator to work out the percentages for each pupil.

Sure it gives them something to do.

Teachers are bollixes they don't live in the real world because a high number of teachers marry teachers, they socialise with teachers  (who the phuck would want to go out with them) so they meet no one else in life except teachers and schoolchildren. How's that for a sad existence
:) I'd say that goes down well in the your family. 

There are a high percentage of teachers who have their heads up their arse - it's no coincidence that those type of people are drawn to the profession.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 15, 2007, 09:20:15 PM

The fact that you bursted your hole to leap to the defence of teachers would indicate that you're in that profession as I don't see too many others wanting to defend you, particularly in the run up to Christmas when, regardless of the impact on working parents you let kids off for half days and study days etc. I don't know what will happen in the Civil Service over the next week, however I can be sure that unlike you lazy cnuts at least we'll be at work and not off from now until mid January
Post by: Seany on December 15, 2007, 09:20:24 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 15, 2007, 09:10:36 PM

You've just said you are married to one. Obviously you wanted to go out with one.  How's that for a sad existence.  I wouldn't touch one with a barge pole.  Far better go for a nurse.  Guaranteed a blow job on the second night.
Post by: ONeill on December 15, 2007, 09:23:29 PM
Quote from: Seany on December 15, 2007, 09:20:24 PM
I wouldn't touch one with a barge pole.  Far better go for a nurse.  Guaranteed a blow job on the second night.

I know a couple of male nurses and they'd be outraged at that.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 15, 2007, 09:25:15 PM
Thankfully my missus wasn't a teacher when I met her and only became a teacher some years later after doing the one year PGCE course. By that stage we had kids and she wanted a handy number. She hasn't therefore had the 4 year brainwashing course that you all get in St Mary's. As for you I'd say you are married to a teacher given that on a Saturday night you've nothing better to do that play on your computer. Me, I'm off out to the pub for a feed of pints that would burst a horse. Bye bye
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 15, 2007, 09:26:10 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on December 15, 2007, 09:22:09 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 15, 2007, 09:19:19 PM

There are a high percentage of teachers who have their heads up their arse - it's no coincidence that those type of people are drawn to the profession.

Would there be many like them on the Board, Pints?

Well only O'Neill really. 

But I do know quite a few teachers and I'd say at least half of them are like that. 
With you being in constant contact with teachers, would you agree or disagree with that view?
Post by: Seany on December 15, 2007, 09:30:08 PM
Nope.  I'd say she is too busy using her calculator adding up the percentages.

I'd say she'd use any excuse to get out of having to go to bed with Mighty Quinn.  he seems the most intolerable bollox on the board.  'Sorry pet'no sex tonight.  it's these percentages.  They have to be done.  I have to multiply 65 by 1.78435 in order to get a mark out of one hunderd and then a comment and then a place in class and then a class average...  No sex tonight'. 
Post by: cville on December 15, 2007, 11:54:50 PM
Pah! Teachers .. the sons (and now daughters)  of the pig-ownng class of Ireland...!!! anti-intellectual sdlp shites
Post by: Puckoon on December 16, 2007, 12:41:39 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 15, 2007, 09:23:29 PM
Quote from: Seany on December 15, 2007, 09:20:24 PM
I wouldn't touch one with a barge pole.  Far better go for a nurse.  Guaranteed a blow job on the second night.

I know a couple of male nurses and they'd be outraged at that.

I know a couple of teachers who can supercede that.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 16, 2007, 02:52:23 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on December 16, 2007, 12:00:43 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 15, 2007, 09:26:10 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on December 15, 2007, 09:22:09 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on December 15, 2007, 09:19:19 PM

Would there be many like them on the Board, Pints?

Well only O'Neill really. 

But I do know quite a few teachers and I'd say at least half of them are like that. 
With you being in constant contact with teachers, would you agree or disagree with that view?

Like in any profession/trade you meet all sorts and it is unfair to make sweeping statements.  The vast majority of teachers are hardworking people who want the best for the children their care. I can't say that teaching attracts a particular personality type.  The workforce is usually a reflection of the nature of the economy at any point in time.  However, I respect your experience and opinion.

I'm not saying there aren't good teachers, there are a lot.
Though I do think that if you'll find a lot of people in teaching who are arrogant, head stuck up their arse, think they're in some high and mighty job when we all know if they would struggle in any other job. 
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 16, 2007, 04:41:59 AM
Well Seany you really shot yourself on the foot on this one. Like your poll on the me Quinn, your support for teachers is going down the tubes.

Hope you had a nice evening in by your computer, I'll bet you're a phucking Pioneer as, like most teachers you'd be too miserable to buy drink.

I loved your quote 'Seany only deals in facts.' Anyone you refers to himself in the third person is an arrogant bollix.The only two people I can recall doing it are Paisley and Johnny Adair.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on December 16, 2007, 10:02:56 AM
What a strange thread to start! Have you nothing better to be up to? It's neither funny nor clever.

Teachers play an important role in society and should be respected by all.
Post by: Seany on December 16, 2007, 10:42:46 AM
I note the time of your last post, Mighty.  4.41am.  Obviously fond of a few, are we?  I don't suppose I'll get an answer to this post until about 5 today when you have finally slept off the hangover paid for by taxpayers' money.  The Civil Service. Living proof of the maxim 'something for nothing'.  One of the biggest ironies is the dole office where the people looking for jobs are probably doing more work than those morons behind the glass.  And all these fancy titles you give yourselves; Staff Officer, Executive Officer, EO1, EO2, Under Secretary, Clerical Assistant, Clerical Officer. Catch yourselves on. At least a teacher is a teacher, a nurse is a nurse, a doctor is a doctor.  They don't have to award themselves silly inane titles to make themselves sound important.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 16, 2007, 12:10:13 PM
QuoteTeachers play an important role in society and should be respected by all.

Oh here's a teacher. 

Remember what I said;
QuoteThough I do think that if you'll find a lot of people in teaching who are arrogant, head stuck up their arse, think they're in some high and mighty job when we all know if they would struggle in any other job.
Post by: Guillem2 on December 16, 2007, 01:03:40 PM
I've no time for teachers myself. Far too many of them are so used to talking down to kids that they take the same approach while outside the class room and dealing with adults.
My own experiences at school weren't good but I know they aren't all bad.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 16, 2007, 02:12:20 PM
Was out for a few bevvies last night and there was a party of Teachers in the pub as well. You could tell they were teachers straight away as they had a kitty which they had to keep topping up with a fiver a time as they were too miserable to start it off with a £20 note in case they mightn't get their full money's wqorth. They kept insisting that everybody form an orderly queue at the bar and every  so often one or two of them would launch a raid on the toilets to check if there were any smokers in the cubicles.

One of the waitresses dropped a tray of empty glasses and as true as God's in heaven they started to cheer. Tossers
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on December 16, 2007, 02:14:47 PM
Quote from: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 16, 2007, 02:12:20 PM
Was out for a few bevvies last night and there was a party of Teachers in the pub as well. You could tell they were teachers straight away as they were insisting that everybody form an orderly queue at the bar and every  so often one or two of them would launch a raid on the toilets to check if there were any smokers in the cubicles.

One of the waitresses dropped a tray of empty glasses and as true as God's in heaven they started to cheer. Tossers

??? Why pick on teachers? I'm not one myself but they're no worse than any other profession IMHO>
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on December 16, 2007, 02:18:31 PM
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on December 16, 2007, 02:14:47 PM
[
??? Why pick on teachers? I'm not one myself but they're no worse than any other profession IMHO>

Sure if I wasn't picking on teachers who would I be picking on!! This started as a general comment about my missus but as usual the teachers all had to leap in and defend their profession. Its not the profession I'm knocking its those who are employed in it.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on December 16, 2007, 02:31:19 PM
It is now against the law to smoke in toilets so they were well within their rights.
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 16, 2007, 03:58:52 PM
Well I'm in my final year in college as a trainee teacher. I didn't think I'd be disliked by so many... :'(
Post by: redcard on December 16, 2007, 04:01:03 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on December 16, 2007, 03:58:52 PM
Well I'm in my final year in college as a trainee teacher. I didn't think I'd be disliked by so many... :'(

What do you think of teachers Wayne?

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44304000/jpg/_44304244_rooney2_ap300.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on December 16, 2007, 04:15:01 PM
Nothing worse than heading out for a drink with teachers. 'Can you spell lager?', 'If I have £5.50 and buy one pint at £2.75, how much have I left?'. Tossers the lot of them. And they all wear corduroy jackets.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 16, 2007, 04:17:25 PM
and they think they're funny  ::)
Post by: Tyrones own on December 16, 2007, 04:58:36 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on December 16, 2007, 04:23:42 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 16, 2007, 04:15:01 PM
And they all wear corduroy jackets.

With patches on the elbows!  Too many have beards, must be hiding something. :D

The wry Grin at how easy they have it!
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 16, 2007, 05:46:25 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on December 16, 2007, 04:09:58 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on December 16, 2007, 03:58:52 PM

It will depend on how big the school is! :D

Post by: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2007, 08:34:54 PM
I don't know about you lot, but I'm off on holidays again on Thursday. They last until 7th January. Which is nice.

At least one of the teachers on this thread has a corduroy jacket, complete with elbow patches. Would have been a joke pints, if he wasn't telling the truth. :)
Post by: ONeill on December 17, 2007, 08:48:08 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2007, 08:34:54 PM
I don't know about you lot, but I'm off on holidays again on Thursday. They last until 7th January. Which is nice.

Lucky for some. I don't get off til Friday.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2007, 09:01:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 17, 2007, 08:48:08 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on December 17, 2007, 08:34:54 PM

Lucky for some. I don't get off til Friday.

A 30 minute carol service does not a day's work make. Besides, I thought your lot had this week off to move schools?
Post by: under the bar on December 18, 2007, 09:07:15 PM
most of them do drugs as well unsurpisingly
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:04:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 18, 2007, 09:15:08 PM
:o

About five years ago, I found a chunk of dope in my da's pocket. He said that he confiscated it from a pupil.
Now I know what the fecker has been at.

Too right. I saw him once observe a 6th year bate the dung clean outta a fresher. He went over to the villian and said 'take it easy, meeeeeeeeeeennnnnnnn'.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 10:18:36 PM
teachers - misfits of society.
lads who were afraid or too lazy to go get a real job...

its womens work really....
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:22:34 PM
Apparently the rise in female teachers mirrors exactly the rise in homosexuality amongst the male population.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 10:23:24 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 18, 2007, 10:21:37 PM
You're right, lynchbhoy. My da was going on at me about studying one day and I said, "Just cos you've never left school."
He broke his knuckle over my head. It must have been the withdrawl symptoms.
opposite im my house
it was metal pokers and hand brushes over the head cos we wouldnt study...were off playing football instead...
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 10:25:28 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:22:34 PM
Apparently the rise in female teachers mirrors exactly the rise in homosexuality amongst the male population.

dont believe that stat for a minute
thats another 'teacherism' to try to justify their existence and 'manliness' whereas they are suspected of being more clark kent than normal working males ! :)
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 18, 2007, 10:26:35 PM
What is a real job though?
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:26:50 PM
I know. I made it up.
Post by: Blacksheep on December 18, 2007, 10:27:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:22:34 PM

I hope you don't believe that!
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 10:30:27 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:26:50 PM
I know. I made it up.
of course you did , its not wee kids yer trying to fool now

same as trying to con lads that you actually know them (might work for fellas less paranoid ! jeez he should have warned ya !  :D)
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:32:31 PM
Oh, I had you fooled for a few weeks young man.....if only I'd saved the thread. Wouldn't be surprised if he did though....
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 10:33:43 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:32:31 PM
Oh, I had you fooled for a few weeks young man.....if only I'd saved the thread. Wouldn't be surprised if he did though....
naw , sorry chief
Smoked ya out straight away - if you recall !
Theres only that man who knew me then, and although I wasnt sure who he was at that stage, I found out that my assumption was right after a while - though it surprised me he was that duplicious !
Theres only a finite number over the border that know me, and 99% of them cant use a computer ...so that narrows it down a fair bit !
Easy!
No way a tyronie would ever catch me out ! :D
sure you wouldnt answer my (intense) PM's - gave the game away immediately!  ;)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 18, 2007, 10:39:13 PM
As the son of 2 teachers, the nephew of 3 teachers, the grandson of a teacher and the cousin of a student teacher;

Its great to be a civil servant  :-X
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 10:40:47 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 18, 2007, 10:39:13 PM
As the son of 2 teachers, the nephew of 3 teachers, the grandson of a teacher and the cousin of a student teacher;
Its great to be a civil servant  :-X
so laziness and ineptitude is in the family already then !
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:47:03 PM
Ach you're just jealous lads. We go in to work at 9am. Take a break at 11 for a while then 1230 for an hour or so. Throw in another hour off free. Tell the boys to read on if you don't fancy talking and read the horses. Home by 330. Sleep for a wee while. Then frig about til 12am - drinking, running, sleeping. Do that 5 times a week. Then take a couple of weeks off about four times a year, then two months when it's too hot to sit in a room. Do a bit of spreading or building over the summer to supplement our already healthy wage with another few hundred (undeclared) for the other jobs. Sure we'll live til we're 100.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 18, 2007, 10:50:53 PM
QuoteAs the son of 2 teachers, the nephew of 3 teachers, the grandson of a teacher and the cousin of a student teacher;
Its great to be a civil servant  Lips Sealed
so laziness and ineptitude is in the family already then !

That is a wild and unfounded allegation.  :(

QuoteIs your surname Hamill?

A terrible slur
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 10:54:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:47:03 PM
Ach you're just jealous lads. We go in to work at 9am. Take a break at 11 for a while then 1230 for an hour or so. Throw in another hour off free. Tell the boys to read on if you don't fancy talking and read the horses. Home by 330. Sleep for a wee while. Then frig about til 12am - drinking, running, sleeping. Do that 5 times a week. Then take a couple of weeks off about four times a year, then two months when it's too hot to sit in a room. Do a bit of spreading or building over the summer to supplement our already healthy wage with another few hundred (undeclared) for the other jobs. Sure we'll live til we're 100.
two jobs to get minimum wage - great ::) :D
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:55:24 PM
Take TYP - he sits in an office with a big leather settee to lie on and asks the secretary to take this down in shorthand "MEMO TO STAFF  - Whoever took the muffins from my thinking quarters please leave them back. I'm always watching'. He drinks tea all day and practises golf in the board room. He earns so much he has a personal masseur in the office and has been getting botox since he was Vice Principal. He looks 33 but can actually remember Pearl Harbour. He has property all over the continent.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on December 18, 2007, 10:56:23 PM
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhh! The great sons and daughters of the Pig Owning class of 17th Century Ireland. The easy option if you had a slight bit of intelligence (and friends in the SDLP). Some of the thickos who I have met who wouldn't last five minutes in the private sector and who now teach kids! EASY option and KOP out - also the nepotism that goes on in that trade is a disgrace .. ie daughters and sons of teachers getting full time jobs in schools due to 'principal friends of mum and dad' - ie went to college with them' is a scandal...'
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:58:38 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 10:54:13 PM

We're that well fed and pampered that money isn't important. We're pillars of society but do buck all to deserve that tag. To be honest there are days I just sit in he car listening to Gerry Anderson and flash the lights into the classroom if someone raises the head. A beep and it's detention.
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:04:03 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 18, 2007, 11:02:29 PM
I know. I used to go in for a couple of days during the summer to help that lazy fecker do timetables because he couldn't possibly do it on his own. Disgrace!

A feckin monkey could do the timetable.
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:10:48 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 18, 2007, 11:04:57 PM

That was when I had to stick the pins in the board. With the new computer system, it does itself.

Some get paid extra dough for turning on the PC, pressing 2-3 buttons, print and set in pigeon hole.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:13:11 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:58:38 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 10:54:13 PM

We're that well fed and pampered that money isn't important. We're pillars of society but do buck all to deserve that tag. To be honest there are days I just sit in he car listening to Gerry Anderson and flash the lights into the classroom if someone raises the head. A beep and it's detention.
WERE pillars of society, but now are regarded on the same level as bin men ! :P
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:16:36 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:13:11 PM

A bin man doesn't have the shopkeeper doff the cap and throw in 'a wee bit extra for the Master' every time he visits the shop. At Mass, some actually get up to give me the seat beside the radiator. It can be embarrassing but one tries to uphold our status.
Post by: Lecale2 on December 18, 2007, 11:17:40 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 10:55:24 PM
He has property all over the continent.

So had Hitler and look how he ended up.
Post by: pintsofguinness on December 18, 2007, 11:19:31 PM
For God sake typ don't encourage him. 
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 18, 2007, 11:21:40 PM
Sorry! Thought this was the Idiots thread  ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:22:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:16:36 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:13:11 PM

A bin man doesn't have the shopkeeper doff the cap and throw in 'a wee bit extra for the Master' every time he visits the shop. At Mass, some actually get up to give me the seat beside the radiator. It can be embarrassing but one tries to uphold our status.
its sad that old teachers are as delusional as the unionists in regard to the 'power' they used to hold and how people used to revere them.
If someone now give up a seat for either, its because they are pitied, or they smell.... :o
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:23:04 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 18, 2007, 11:20:38 PM
You're laughing, TYP. The chapel radiator bit is true. A man called Geordie used to keep him a seat every Sunday.
big seat by all accounts .. :D
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:27:30 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:22:17 PM

its sad that old teachers are as delusional as the unionists in regard to the 'power' they used to hold and how people used to revere them.
If someone now give up a seat for either, its because they are pitied, or they smell.... :o

Lynchbhoy, I've 9 bumper Christmas hampers sitting in the smaller hallway from the mothers in the area. Some of them are on the breadline but save for probably a year to get me this gift as a thank you/bribe/reverence. To tell you the truth, I usually give them away as presents to family, saves me a packet. If there's snow, i can be guaranteed that my size-able driveway is cleared by the time I've finished my continental breakfast. The das are told to clear the Master's road or the childer will suffer.

I really should show my appreciation some day - maybe throw open my house for a few hours so they can come in and sit in comfort for a while.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:35:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 18, 2007, 11:27:16 PM
Quotebig seat by all accounts ..
I wouldn't say that it's any bigger than others.

Without bringing this thread down another route, it's not hard to get a seat in chapel these days.
maybe up with you, but I now find it harder to get a seat these days at the masses I attend , in comparison to the same masses 9 years ago..
attendences are rising in Dublin, maybe this trend is the opposite north of the border...
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:35:56 PM
Watched that German film yesterday about Hiler's downfall, set in his bunker mostly. Excellent yet harrowing film.
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:37:01 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:35:11 PM
but I now find it harder to get a seat these days at the masses I attend , in comparison to the same masses 9 years ago..
attendences are rising

Or maybe it's just the size of your arse.
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:40:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:27:30 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:22:17 PM

Lynchbhoy, I've 9 bumper Christmas hampers sitting in the smaller hallway from the mothers in the area. Some of them are on the breadline but save for probably a year to get me this gift as a thank you/bribe/reverence. To tell you the truth, I usually give them away as presents to family, saves me a packet. If there's snow, i can be guaranteed that my size-able driveway is cleared by the time I've finished my continental breakfast. The das are told to clear the Master's road or the childer will suffer.

I really should show my appreciation some day - maybe throw open my house for a few hours so they can come in and sit in comfort for a while.
you most likely confuse (pompously so - never slag tony off again 'shane') ass kissing and deference .

these mothers obv know that its easy to 'buy' your 'marks' for their kids and the price of a cheap hamper to ensure that their wee angel gets a pass mark in mech drawing or low level english is a small price to pay - esp if the hamper is 'knocked off' anyhow !
Easy to take in a guy with a vain streak in him!  :D
Says a lot about you though, that you are easily 'bought' - are you a member of the gpa ?  :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:42:31 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:37:01 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on December 18, 2007, 11:35:11 PM
but I now find it harder to get a seat these days at the masses I attend , in comparison to the same masses 9 years ago..
attendences are rising

Or maybe it's just the size of your arse.
while its no bigger than your teaching colleagues I'd expect, the point is that there are way more persns attending my local churches ( I alternate between two) - so its not just a phenomenon in one location....
nice try though ! :D
Post by: ONeill on December 18, 2007, 11:44:18 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on December 18, 2007, 11:38:57 PM

Is this the one? (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvn8HYp_RD0)

That's her. Great performance from Hitler.

Agree with everything, Lynchbhoy. Shameless.
Post by: Lecale2 on December 18, 2007, 11:48:04 PM
If it's spooky why did you buy it TYP?

It looks like an awful big spread for a holiday home.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 20, 2007, 08:37:50 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 18, 2007, 11:14:01 PM
Do they still have someone to do the timetables? Sure there's nothing to do now.
I bet ya he/she is the butt of all the jokes. A bit like a team's water boy.

The timetable boy in our place gets 42 weeks out of class to do the timetable, an office with his name engraved on the door, exclusive executive bathroom facilities and an underling to actually press the buttons.

The underling would be sort of like a water boy's water boy.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 20, 2007, 08:44:54 PM
Somewhere between your age and my age, I would guess. I'll ask him to-morrow.  No, I won't - I'm on holidays.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 20, 2007, 08:59:02 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 20, 2007, 08:49:15 PM
Will you not be at the Carol Service?
I heard that you and your wee mate were class at the timtables. You have even been compared to me and himsel'.

High praise indeed, but don't think we'll ever be in the great man's league - although I am far too young to ever remember him doing the timetable. It was always JC in my day.

Not going to the Carol Service in protest at McCaff being sacked from his usual role as the Inn keeper.

Post by: saffron sam2 on December 20, 2007, 09:40:47 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 20, 2007, 09:09:01 PM
Where did JC go? Downpatrick or somewhere?
Can't believe McCaff got the sack. At least when he said "No room at the Inn", it was believable.

Feck, you have to leave me with some hope that my identity is not known to everyone. Even Simple Simon could hazard a good guess. Castlewellan, I believe.

And McCaff's still gunning for you about something you said on another thread.
Post by: saffron sam2 on December 22, 2007, 09:13:38 PM
I heard of a teacher recently (Thursday night) who took a taxi from Belfast to Glenavy and was charged £48.