Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ziggysego on October 28, 2007, 03:46:58 PM

Title: Scariest film scenes from your childhood.
Post by: ziggysego on October 28, 2007, 03:46:58 PM
What is the scariest scenes from a film, from your childhood?

These two scenes came from the same film and terrified me!

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=SCIbTF9FIGI (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=SCIbTF9FIGI)

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=YRX9svF0ACE (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=YRX9svF0ACE)
Title: Re: Scariest film scenes from your childhood.
Post by: stpauls on October 28, 2007, 04:11:10 PM
that second scene where the banshee rushes up to the door was the one that scared me the most in that movie!
Post by: Puckoon on October 28, 2007, 04:13:55 PM
Used to have me diving behind the sofa!

"Darby O'Gill, get in"   :o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRX9svF0ACE (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRX9svF0ACE)

Guess I should have looked at yours first ziggy! :-[
Post by: turkey+ham on October 28, 2007, 06:14:23 PM
Can't find it yet, but the scene in Jaws when the leg floats to the bottom of the sea.
Scared the beejesus outta me!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 28, 2007, 06:31:27 PM
I remember one Halloween being terrified by watching The Fog.
Post by: Square Ball on October 28, 2007, 06:45:55 PM
The Exorcist, watched it in the old St Galls hall, the only way to get there was up the side of the Miltown cemetry, bad enought going into it, but on the way home bastards were jumping out from everywhere, cloth touching moments indeed.
Post by: Rav67 on October 28, 2007, 07:33:41 PM
Definitely "IT", I was terrified of clowns and balloons for years after!
Post by: Canalman on October 28, 2007, 07:39:46 PM
2 scenes come to mind:

1 The scene from Salems Lot where a vampire  floats up to his brother's bedroom.

2 The scene where Jaws jumps up at the boat while Chief Brody is throwing out entrails as a lure.

Post by: inisceithleann on October 28, 2007, 07:54:51 PM
It has to be The Witches, the film based on Roald Dahl's legendary book. I remember being so terrified when the witches removed their masks during the witches conference. Even to this day that scene spooks me.
Post by: Orior on October 28, 2007, 08:29:04 PM
The original Frankenstein movies with Boris Karloff

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=EYCnNb5Iyak (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=EYCnNb5Iyak)
Post by: Shortso79 on October 28, 2007, 09:29:06 PM
The Birds !
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 28, 2007, 10:14:38 PM
'The Birds' freckened the jesus outa me as well.

There was another couple I remember - the old Hammer ones that ust be on late on a Sat.

One was 'The Hand' where a gifted pianist's hand got severered in an accident and then came back to life.

Also one where a fella was buired alive. Its name escapes me.

All innocent stuff I spose but I am of an age where I never did see the main Slasher movies (and I am not referring to the glory days of Longford town's GAA club)
Post by: blast05 on October 28, 2007, 10:18:39 PM
Another vote for "The Birds" !
I will never forget watching it when my folks were gone out and my older brother was dictating what was to be watched .... hiding behind the couch scared witless after a scene where someone in a phonebox got attacked
Post by: The Corporal on October 28, 2007, 11:24:14 PM
Have to agree "IT"........ talk about scaring the bajesus outta ya!!! Clowns are still a no-go area!!

What about the 1st Alien film when the thing comes out of yer mans chest??
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Jpoyf-Ms0lQ

Or in the film Predator when Arnie is covered in the muck and the Predator comes out of the water?

Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 29, 2007, 08:56:28 AM
Quote from: Canalman on October 28, 2007, 07:39:46 PM
2 scenes come to mind:

1 The scene from Salems Lot where a vampire  floats up to his brother's bedroom.
2 The scene where Jaws jumps up at the boat while Chief Brody is throwing out entrails as a lure.

Gets my vote every time.
Post by: clarshack on October 29, 2007, 09:30:24 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 29, 2007, 08:56:28 AM

Gets my vote every time.

definitely!
Post by: Yer Ma on October 29, 2007, 09:30:48 AM
Glad Salem's Lot gets a mention as my brother used to watch it a lot and I tended to leave the room - the scene with the vampire at the window is bad, but I remember there's a scene where a guy wakes up in a prison and the head honcho vampire jumps up and it scares the bejaysus out of you.

Alos, the scene in Jaws where the head floats out with one eye - serious arse gravy material.
Post by: clarshack on October 29, 2007, 10:14:32 AM
Quote from: Yer Ma on October 29, 2007, 09:30:48 AM
Glad Salem's Lot gets a mention as my brother used to watch it a lot and I tended to leave the room - the scene with the vampire at the window is bad, but I remember there's a scene where a guy wakes up in a prison and the head honcho vampire jumps up and it scares the bejaysus out of you.

there was another scene where the kid vampire is being buried in the cemetery and the gravedigger opens the coffin up and the kid wakes up in the coffin and does the gravedigger in.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 29, 2007, 01:32:27 PM
Nightmare on Elm Street 1..when Freddie sticks his hand full of knives up through the bed and pulls the guy down with the blood spewing everywhere  :o

Also, that eerie song would nearly still give you the shivers...

1-2 Freddies coming for you
3-4 better lock your door
5-6 grab your crucifix
7-8 better stay up late
9-10 never sleep again.

I think i did not get a good nights sleep between about the ages of 10 and 12 due to watching the nightmare on elm's street.  Always was so afraid but always continued to watch for some reason  ???
Post by: full back on October 29, 2007, 01:46:36 PM
No particular scenes stand out, but in general E.T caused me the most distress as a youngster!!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 29, 2007, 01:59:12 PM
* The Hammer House of Horror shows.
* The alien bursting from the stomach in alien.
* The head rolling out of the shipwreck in Jaws.
* The dancer in 'tales of the unexpected' freaked me out too!
* What was that dog called....Cujo?

I don't like horrors.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on October 29, 2007, 03:10:54 PM
Salems Lot, scared the shit outta me as a gossun.

Even now Event Horizon gives me the creeps.
Post by: ziggysego on October 29, 2007, 03:12:43 PM
Event Horizon? It was a rubbish film Captain Scarlet.
Title: Scariest film scenes from your childhood.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 29, 2007, 03:13:47 PM
Some movies have given me a fright and made me jump such as Jaws, The Omen, Don't Look Now, Friday 13th, etc, etc.

However The Exorcist is the only film that ever genuinely scared me.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on October 29, 2007, 03:18:17 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 29, 2007, 03:12:43 PM
Event Horizon? It was a rubbish film Captain Scarlet.

not sayin it was good but creeped me out for some reason.

forgot to mention the bauld freddie, he wasnt sound at all!
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 29, 2007, 03:20:57 PM
watching the orgasm scene in 'when harry met sally' with my ma in the room
Post by: The Corporal on October 29, 2007, 03:51:42 PM
The film Signs creeped me out a bit aswell! Like imagine going out into your corn field in the pitch black, turning on your torch and seeing the leg of an alien in your crop!! pretty creepy! Also the part when Mel Gibson looks out the window and can see the silouette of the alien on the roof beside the chimney!

1st time i saw that film Darkness Falls it scared the crap outta me aswell!
Post by: bennydorano on October 29, 2007, 04:08:09 PM
Not a childhood movie but I made the mistake of watching Event Horizon while nursing a fierce hangover one night and it genuinely freaked me out.  Any one I tell about it just thinks it's a sh1t film ???
Post by: ziggysego on October 29, 2007, 04:17:54 PM
Listen to them Benny, they know what they're talking about  :D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 29, 2007, 04:22:03 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on October 29, 2007, 04:08:09 PM
Not a childhood movie but I made the mistake of watching Event Horizon while nursing a fierce hangover one night and it genuinely freaked me out.  Any one I tell about it just thinks it's a sh1t film ???

Event Horizon is a great sci-fi/horror film.
Post by: turkey+ham on October 29, 2007, 04:25:16 PM
What about that scene in The Crying Game.
Holy Shit!
Post by: oneillcup2007 on October 29, 2007, 04:50:01 PM
That scene in jaws where he uses the mast of the ship as an electric toothbrush.
Post by: The Corporal on October 29, 2007, 05:43:39 PM
What about the music in Jaws thats enuf to scare the crap out of kids
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 29, 2007, 07:29:28 PM
The Poltergeist movies
Post by: stpauls on October 29, 2007, 08:34:02 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 29, 2007, 07:29:28 PM
The Poltergeist movies

there you go!! now they were scary films!!
Post by: The squinted eye on October 29, 2007, 09:11:13 PM
Havent heard of Cujo in years, my auld one was fairly lenient saw all the slasher movies as a kid, evil dead, texas chainsaw and so on, neve got too scared of them. But nothing affected me like Cujo, couldnt sleep for months after, I reckon that it was a bit more truth to it then some monster movie so it hit me harder as a young lad.
Post by: The Gs Man on October 29, 2007, 09:14:46 PM
Probably get slated for this but what the hell......

The last scene in The Blair Witch Project with one of them standing in the corner scared the f**k outta me to be honest.  Although 95% of the people in the cinema didn't get the ending.
Post by: The Corporal on October 29, 2007, 10:39:55 PM
Havent seen Cujo yet!! The Poltergeist films were terribly scary aswell in the days of yesteryear!! Jaws prob stopped people from going to beaches to this very day!!
Post by: jungle on October 30, 2007, 02:28:39 PM
sixth sense, where the girl appears in the tent and vomits. Always think thrillers are much more scary than horrors
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 30, 2007, 02:33:27 PM
Whenever they showed Micheal Myers (Halloween) hiding in someones room..
Or another is in Silence of the Lambs when the guy has the night vision goggels on while Jodie Foster was down in his basement in the dark and he followed her all around the room
Post by: stpauls on October 30, 2007, 02:45:11 PM
Quote from: The Corporal on October 29, 2007, 10:39:55 PM
Havent seen Cujo yet!! The Poltergeist films were terribly scary aswell in the days of yesteryear!! Jaws prob stopped people from going to beaches to this very day!!

prime example, the local pool when i was younger had a mosaiq(sp) image of a dolphin on the floor of the swimming pool, but when i looked at it through the top of the pool, i could have swore it was Jaws. wouldnt get into that pool for a while after seeing it!
Post by: Balboa on October 30, 2007, 02:45:32 PM
The Omen used to scare the nags off me when i were a lad......
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 30, 2007, 02:56:15 PM
Quote from: Balboa on October 30, 2007, 02:45:32 PM
The Omen used to scare the nags off me when i were a lad......

We do babysit a young child..He is the same as the young lad in the Omen...His Mam and Dad got married last year and there was no way the young lad would set foot inside the Church..He went hysterical nearly having a fit in the process and he screamed the place down,Just like what happened in one of the movies  :o
Post by: bridgegael on October 30, 2007, 03:11:38 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on October 29, 2007, 09:14:46 PM
Probably get slated for this but what the hell......

The last scene in The Blair Witch Project with one of them standing in the corner scared the f**k outta me to be honest.  Although 95% of the people in the cinema didn't get the ending.

what was the ending all about??
Post by: bridgegael on October 30, 2007, 03:19:59 PM
stephen kings IT.   thon clown freaked the shit out of me!
Post by: Louth Exile on October 30, 2007, 04:58:38 PM
Jaysus lads I must have had a very sheltered childhood!! When I saw the title of this thread I thought that it was going to be full of mentions of the wicked witch from the wizard of oz (scary bitch, I hate that film) Remember see Superman 3 in the cinema as a kid, you know the bit at the end where she gets sucked into the machine and she comes out as some kind of a cyborg, nearly wet myself.....

Read a lot of Stephen King books as a teenager, pet cemetary, the shining, graveyard shift all good, but the best was the first one I read... the aforementioned CUJO... one bad mofo

I find that some of the horrors with a religious element to it are the best, the excorist is class, but the Omen is the best. Bought the Star on Sunday to get the free Halloween DVD, sit down now tommorow night and watch Jamie running around the place
Post by: ziggysego on October 30, 2007, 05:00:23 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on October 30, 2007, 04:58:38 PMRemember see Superman 3 in the cinema as a kid, you know the bit at the end where she gets sucked into the machine and she comes out as some kind of a cyborg, nearly wet myself.....

That terrified the hell out of me too. Still feel a bit uncomfortable watching it.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 30, 2007, 05:05:51 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 30, 2007, 05:00:23 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on October 30, 2007, 04:58:38 PMRemember see Superman 3 in the cinema as a kid, you know the bit at the end where she gets sucked into the machine and she comes out as some kind of a cyborg, nearly wet myself.....

That terrified the hell out of me too. Still feel a bit uncomfortable watching it.

Glad I'm not alone on this one.

Just thought off one of the best laughs I ever had. When I was at college about 10 of us went to see Scream, I was sitting in between two of the girls and my god did they jump out of the seat if you grabbed their knee, great craic  :D
Post by: Mentalman on October 30, 2007, 05:11:49 PM

Definitely the number one scariest moment of my youth
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 30, 2007, 05:17:42 PM
If you want jumps and scares The Grudge with Sarah Michelle Geller is a right film for it,Especially the opening scene where the Japanese girl gets up into the attic...That freaks me out!!
Post by: The Corporal on October 30, 2007, 05:24:01 PM
Agree LL, that scene in the Grudge scared the pants clean off me!
Post by: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 06:25:19 PM
This scene for me. First horror I seen on video. Had nightmares for weeks after

Evil Dead

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=mEHmSoMQJm8 (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=mEHmSoMQJm8)
Post by: Mentalman on October 30, 2007, 07:45:13 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 30, 2007, 06:25:19 PM
This scene for me. First horror I seen on video. Had nightmares for weeks after

Evil Dead

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=mEHmSoMQJm8 (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=mEHmSoMQJm8)

Brilliant!
Post by: Homer on October 30, 2007, 08:36:12 PM
Watership Down scared the shite out of me as a kid and gave me nightmares for months.

Until very recently, This scene from Carrie (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=l5giOdBysAk) got the biggest jump out of me.

But the biggest fright my heart ever had the misfortune of experiencing occured only 5 minutes ago. I was in the process of downloading a video stream for a tv-show and decided to watch back the Carrie scene above in the meanwhile. The volume was a little on the low side, so I stuck in the earphones and turned it up to the max. Then right bang in the middle of the scene and at the height of the tension it blares... "PREVIOUSLY ON HEROES!".

Sent the laptop flying. I'm amazed that it seems to be in working order, wish I could say the same for my underwear.  :-\

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 30, 2007, 08:42:46 PM
Cujo  >:( >:(
Post by: Puckoon on October 30, 2007, 08:45:15 PM
Used to have nightmares about this, and the song. The old mans voice during the song was enough to have me wanting the lights on!
In my defense I wouldnt have been more than 5 or 6. :-[
Have to admit to not having watched alot of scary movies. I cant stand the tension (and the dumb blonde going into the haunted house alone. WHAT ARE YOU DOING!! :o :o :o)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtyJbIOZjS8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtyJbIOZjS8)
Post by: The Corporal on October 30, 2007, 11:00:38 PM
Im gona have nightmares 2nite watching that Evil Dead clip!!! Holy Crap!!  :o
Post by: hitzelsperger on October 30, 2007, 11:09:37 PM
remember the scene where jaws comes up and takes yer mano off the boat biting him and taking him down...never slept a wink that night and had nightmares for weeks, in fact the aul boy had to take the tape and destroy it as i couldnt sleep when it was in the house...scared the sheitttttttt clean outa me!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 30, 2007, 11:13:52 PM
The first Scream film in fairness had me jumping a few times especially the opening scenes with Drew Barrymore..The other Screams were a joke
Post by: The Corporal on October 30, 2007, 11:20:20 PM
What about the film Critters? Saw it when i was a pup and everytime i saw a black cat i screamed as i thought it was a critter lol  :D
Post by: Yer Ma on October 31, 2007, 09:55:51 AM
Good call the Superman 3 bit where the lady is sucked into the computer and turned into a robot - 'twas a bit scary to me too.

Saying that, I used to look away when David Banner's eyes turned green in the Incredible Hulk TV series...... :-[
Post by: Orior on October 31, 2007, 11:16:46 AM
This is scary. Is anyone brave enough to start a thread called "Sexiest film scenes from your childhood"?
Post by: illdecide on October 31, 2007, 11:29:07 AM
Do any of you remember "Pet Cemetry" that we lad "Page" i think was his name he came back from the dead and killed all round him "Freaky we B*****d.
Post by: Yer Ma on October 31, 2007, 11:37:53 AM
http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/film/article2725378.ece
Post by: johnneycool on October 31, 2007, 11:39:49 AM
Salems lot by a country mile.

I didn't get a proper nights sleep for weeks because of that film.
Post by: ziggysego on October 31, 2007, 12:17:14 PM
Quote from: Yer Ma on October 31, 2007, 11:37:53 AM
http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/film/article2725378.ece

Forgot about Rosemary's baby. Watched it when I was 11.  Scared the bejaysus out of me.
Post by: clarshack on October 31, 2007, 03:01:28 PM
thought critters was more funny than scary. wasnt that billy zane that got killed in the barn?
Post by: ziggysego on October 31, 2007, 03:03:03 PM
Quote from: clarshack on October 31, 2007, 03:01:28 PM
thought critters was more funny than scary. wasnt that billy zane that got killed in the barn?

Pity Leonardo DiCaprio didn't get killed in the third.
Post by: winsamsoon on October 31, 2007, 05:25:17 PM
Lads it has to be the child catcher from chitty chitty bang bang. That guy scared the fook clean out of me and still does. I still get reminded of him when i see jools holland. If jools inherited a c**k nose he would be the scariest mother fooker on the planet and it would be natural aswell. Remember this was supposed to be a childs movie.
Post by: The Corporal on November 01, 2007, 10:51:45 AM
Quote from: winsamsoon on October 31, 2007, 05:25:17 PM
Lads it has to be the child catcher from chitty chitty bang bang. That guy scared the fook clean out of me and still does. I still get reminded of him when i see jools holland. If jools inherited a c**k nose he would be the scariest mother fooker on the planet and it would be natural aswell. Remember this was supposed to be a childs movie.

Did Michael Jackson not star in this film??
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 01, 2007, 03:57:21 PM
Salems lots "floating vampire brother at the window" scene from my youth and from modern times it has to be numerous scenes in Blair witch including those clicking stone noises in the forest and the end where the woman sees her buddy in the corner of the house just before she get killed - just like the auld ones in the town said.
Post by: downredblack on November 01, 2007, 04:17:37 PM
The music from the Omen was enough for me , couldn't tell you what happened in the film was too busy hiding
Post by: Balboa on November 01, 2007, 04:19:34 PM
Quote from: downredblack on November 01, 2007, 04:17:37 PM
The music from the Omen was enough for me , couldn't tell you what happened in the film was too busy hiding

When reading your post i thought you said something totally different !
Post by: downredblack on November 01, 2007, 04:22:41 PM
Quote from: Balboa on November 01, 2007, 04:19:34 PM
Quote from: downredblack on November 01, 2007, 04:17:37 PM

When reading your post i thought you said something totally different !

Post by: tyssam5 on November 01, 2007, 04:26:42 PM
I was shit scared of those Daleks from Dr. Who.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 01, 2007, 04:58:35 PM
a few observations; apologies if im repeating anyone, didnt have time to read all pages!!

i know its more tv than film related, but anytime frank snogged pat in eastenders gave me the heeby jeebies......

on a serious note, the witch and the monkeys scared me as a little un in the Wizard of Oz; the dog in Cujo werent the friendliest boy either....and all them scary wains in Children of the Corn...............

am i a big girls blouse?
Post by: Louth Exile on November 01, 2007, 05:02:02 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 01, 2007, 04:58:35 PM
on a serious note, the witch and the monkeys scared me as a little un in the Wizard of Oz; the dog in Cujo werent the friendliest boy either....and all them scary wains in Children of the Corn...............

am i a big girls blouse?

Well if you are, I am too, would agree with you on all of them