GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Barney on October 14, 2007, 01:29:17 PM

Title: Championship Draw 2008 - Official Thread
Post by: Barney on October 14, 2007, 01:29:17 PM
Nicky and the lads will be on at 7 on Network 2 doing the draw for next year.

Things to remember:

Football:

Munster - Cork and Kerry are seeded and cannot meet until the Final.

Connacht - Sligo begin in London, Leitrim are going to the Big Apple. Two of Mayo, Galway or Roscommon must meet in a  preliminary game.

Leinster - Dublin, Laois, Offaly and Wexford are all seeded and avoid the preliminary round.

Ulster - no restrictions.

Semi-Finals - Its Connacht v Munster and Leinster v Ulster.

Hurling:

Westmeath play in the Leinster Championship but not in the McCarthy Cup.

Winners of Munster and Leinster go straight to the All-Ireland semi-finals and cannot meet until an All-Ireland Final.

You're Summer will be mapped out shortly.
Title: Re: Championship Draw 2008 - Official Thread
Post by: Maguire01 on October 14, 2007, 01:41:40 PM
I'd heard about the Munster seeding, but what's the story with Connacht and Leinster?
Post by: ziggysego on October 14, 2007, 01:58:48 PM
It's my own opinion, but I think whatever team wins Ulster should be automatically seeded not to be drawn in the Preliminary round.
Post by: Sandy Hill on October 14, 2007, 02:35:54 PM
QuoteMunster - Cork and Kerry are seeded and cannot meet until the Final.

So Cork/Kerry play one "real" match and straight into the Quarter Finals; meanwhile back at the ranch in Ulster and Leinster................................
Post by: Aghdavoyle on October 14, 2007, 02:59:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 14, 2007, 01:58:48 PM
It's my own opinion, but I think whatever team wins Ulster should be automatically seeded not to be drawn in the Preliminary round.

aye, its almost impossible to win it from the preliminary round...
Post by: ziggysego on October 14, 2007, 03:05:50 PM
Quote from: Aghdavoyle on October 14, 2007, 02:59:44 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 14, 2007, 01:58:48 PM

aye, its almost impossible to win it from the preliminary round...

Well Armagh proved that one wrong, but that's not the reason why I think that. To me the Preliminary round has always felt like a qualifier, so the defending Champions should automatically 'qualify'.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 14, 2007, 03:29:58 PM
Good idea Zig..
Title: Munster Football
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 14, 2007, 07:03:51 PM
A - Limerick v Tipperary
B - Clare v Waterford

Semis
Kerry v B
Cork v A

Cork v Kerry looking possible. Thank you Waterford.
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 14, 2007, 07:05:14 PM
The Munster chairman says it's the previous year's finalists who are seeded - not strictly Cork v Kerry.

But of course that's effectively the same thing really.
Title: Munster Hurling
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 14, 2007, 07:06:43 PM
Clare v Waterford (Thurles I imagine)

Semis
Cork v Tipperary (Pairc Uí Chaoimh AFAIK)
Limerick v CE/WD (Thurles if LK/WD, dunno re LK/CE)

Interesting fare ahead..
Title: Leinster Hurling
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 14, 2007, 07:12:08 PM
Cheeky Dubs v Westmeath
Offaly v Laois

Semis
Wexford v Dubs/WH
Kilkenny v LS/OY
Title: Leinster Football
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 14, 2007, 07:21:07 PM
Kildare v Wicklow
Meath v Carlow
Longford v Westmeath  ;D

QF's
Laois v KE/WW
Wexford v MH/CW
Offaly v LD/WH
Cheeky Dubs v Louth

Semis
LS/KE/WW v WX/MH/CW
OY/LD/WH v Dubs/LH
Post by: Louth Exile on October 14, 2007, 07:21:24 PM
Jammy feckin Royals, getting Carlow again.

Bring on the Dubs!!!

Title: Connacht Football (as if it was hurling)
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 14, 2007, 07:26:21 PM
Leitrim v NY
Connacht champions v London
Galway v Roscommon (Salthill)

Semis
Mayo v Sligo  :) (Castlebar)
Leitrim v Galway/Ros (if LM/GY in Salthill, if LM/RN in Carrick IIRC)
Title: Ulster Football
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 14, 2007, 07:31:57 PM
Antrim v Cavan

QF's
Prel winner v Armagh
Fermanagh v Monaghan
Donegal v Derry
Tyrone v Down

Semis
DL/DY v FH/MN
Armagh v TE/DN

BTW Marty - who's donal Murtagh?
Post by: J70 on October 14, 2007, 07:47:30 PM
You're being a wee bit dismissive of Cavan and Antrim there Owenmoresider! :P

Happy enough with our own draw, which is not to say I think it is an easy one, but motivation should not be a problem for Donegal players when Derry are the opposition. If we can't beat the likes of Derry, we have no business thinking about an Ulster title or the latter stages of the All Ireland. Vice versa I would think for the Derry lads. The additional carrot for both teams is a likely meeting with Monaghan in the semi.

Will this be in Ballybofey?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 14, 2007, 07:51:38 PM
Have to admit not to happy with the draw from a Dublin perspective...would have preferred Meath/Laois to be on our side of the draw....
Post by: Maguire01 on October 14, 2007, 07:53:51 PM
Monaghan v Fermanagh - nice opening game. I expect it to be a lot tougher than some may think, although i'd still be confident that Monaghan will come through it. What's the bets on the same Ulster Final pairing this year?
I think one of the most interesting things about next year's Ulster is just how good Armagh are. A potential Armagh/Tyrone semi on that side of the draw.
Post by: ExiledGael on October 14, 2007, 08:02:31 PM
Fermanagh v Monaghan is quite interesting. No doubt Monaghan favourites. But i think it's a case of one team on the way up a little over-rated after last year against one team on the way down, probably under-rated after the last few years under Mulgrew. Monaghan owe us a good beating however
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 14, 2007, 08:50:24 PM
Disaster of a draw for Cavan, assuming we can beat Antrim in Belfast (which won't be easy), we'd have Armagh in Breffni, probably Tyrone in semi and Donegal/Derry in Final. Mission impossible for Cavan I think. "Donal Murtagh" is Donal Keoghan. Don't ask me where the little Gremlin got "murtagh" from.
Post by: Fear Boirche on October 14, 2007, 08:57:46 PM
QuoteBTW Marty - who's donal Murtagh?

Isn't he the manager of Crossmaglen Rangers? Maybe Marty knows something we don't.
Worst possible draw from a Down perspective BTW. We'll need to improve a whole heap to do something in the qualifiers.
Post by: slow corner back on October 14, 2007, 09:00:15 PM
Myles, did Antrim not take you to a replay two years ago? I think Antrim will be happy enough with this draw even if it is a preliminary.
Post by: slow corner back on October 14, 2007, 09:02:23 PM
Good draw for dublin hurlers, beat westmeath first up, iron out a few problems then tackle wexford in semi. Real possibility of a leinster final there, Dublin have to turn potential into reality sooner or later.
Post by: FermPundit on October 14, 2007, 09:20:52 PM
Quite happy with the draw from a Fermanagh perspective. Although Monaghan had a great run this year I don't think there is that much between the sides. Games between both counties are usualy close and the game next summer will be no different. Brewster Park should hopefully be ready next spring so I think the game will be played in Enniskillen. If my memory serves me right the last time Fermanagh and Monaghan played an Ulster championship game in Enniskillen Monaghan won with Fermanagh failing to register a score in the first half!
Post by: ziggysego on October 14, 2007, 09:26:28 PM
I wouldn't be as confidence about meeting Down as some people. Tyrone are rebuilding at the moment and although we won the Ulster Championship this year, it wasn't a great proformance by us. We struggled to beat most of the team and quite fortune to win the final against Monaghan. Our best game of the year was against Donegal, but I fear that was more to do with Donegal than us.

Still think that we should beat Down, but I still think that Down could shock us and shock us well.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 14, 2007, 09:41:07 PM
All set up for a Laois v Louth Leinster Final  :)
Post by: Maguire01 on October 14, 2007, 09:54:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 14, 2007, 07:55:32 PM
A potential Tir Eoghain - Doire final was the first thing I thought of.

the same as most people thought at this stage last year i'd guess.
Post by: Gnevin on October 14, 2007, 09:59:37 PM
Handy draw for the Dublin Footballers barring an major improvements in the team on Dublin's side of the draw. As for the hurlers a game against Westmeath could be a great start .
Post by: balladmaker on October 14, 2007, 10:07:40 PM
QuoteStill think that we should beat Down, but I still think that Down could shock us and shock us well.

Ziggy, you mustn't have seen much of Down recently...I would currently rate them as being in the bottom 3 in Ulster.  No chance of a shock in Omagh, unless Tyrone fail to show.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 14, 2007, 10:08:42 PM
Great  :-\

Longford or Mullingar? Did the Qualifier game earlier this year count as a return? I can't recall.

Anyone looking forward to this? I don't think I will be.
Post by: ziggysego on October 14, 2007, 10:10:33 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 14, 2007, 10:07:40 PM
QuoteStill think that we should beat Down, but I still think that Down could shock us and shock us well.

Ziggy, you mustn't have seen much of Down recently...I would currently rate them as being in the bottom 3 in Ulster.  No chance of a shock in Omagh, unless Tyrone fail to show.

That's what I'm afraid of, a no show from Tyrone and it could happen.
Post by: Gnevin on October 14, 2007, 10:16:45 PM
What happened to the Ulster Hurling Draw?
Post by: corn02 on October 14, 2007, 10:21:40 PM
Will be interesting if results go to plan leaving a Monaghan v Armagh semi. A chance for the emerging team to put the declining team out. If that match does happen it could say alot for both teams.
Post by: ziggysego on October 14, 2007, 10:24:41 PM
Quote from: corn02 on October 14, 2007, 10:21:40 PM
Will be interesting if results go to plan leaving a Monaghan v Armagh semi. A chance for the emerging team to put the declining team out. If that match does happen it could say alot for both teams.

Monaghan and Armagh can't meet until the final, if they will meet.
Post by: darbyo on October 14, 2007, 10:26:22 PM
QuoteHandy draw for the Dublin Footballers

I reckon Louth could be a real banana skin. Of all the Leinster counties outside of the established ones they are the best equipped to challenge. Could be a real upset and should be a great game.
Post by: balladmaker on October 14, 2007, 10:27:08 PM
QuoteA chance for the emerging team to put the declining team out

Corn02, are Monaghan declining already? 
Post by: Balboa on October 14, 2007, 10:29:55 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on October 14, 2007, 10:16:45 PM

There is no Ulster Draw this year, Casement is booked up for an open air dominoes competition. Sambo said his good friend Martin Storey is an ace player and he intends drafting him in.
Post by: Gnevin on October 14, 2007, 10:32:37 PM
Quote from: darbyo on October 14, 2007, 10:26:22 PM
QuoteHandy draw for the Dublin Footballers

I reckon Louth could be a real banana skin. Of all the Leinster counties outside of the established ones they are the best equipped to challenge. Could be a real upset and should be a great game.
Not to sound too Cocky but all the established Leinster counties bar maybe Meath are miles off Dublin going on the past 3 years.
Post by: darbyo on October 14, 2007, 10:40:57 PM
I'd probably agree with you Gnevin, though I think Laois have a lot going for them. Louth however IMO are potentially better than 3 quaters of the counties in the country. They ran eventual AI finalists Cork very close, beat Donegal in a national final and drew with Tyrone in the Championship. All in all they have been on a steady upward curve, have some quality forwards and a good manager. I'm not saying I'd put the mortage on a Louth win, just think that it is the most likely 'big' upset of the early championship. And whatever about beating the Dubs they'll be a team to be avoided in the qualifiers.
Post by: ziggysego on October 14, 2007, 10:41:41 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on October 14, 2007, 10:16:45 PM

What's Hurling ???
Post by: ziggysego on October 14, 2007, 10:50:49 PM
Ah Jesus hardstation. You know I'm not feeling the best this week. That's the last thing I needed to see....
Post by: Orior on October 14, 2007, 10:53:52 PM
The draw must have been made before Dawson got the Fermanagh job!

Anyway, a good draw for Armagh methinks. Gentle start, sneak past Tyrone, then see how we're really doing in the Ulster final.
Post by: ONeill on October 14, 2007, 10:59:55 PM
What about the seniors, Orior?
Post by: corn02 on October 14, 2007, 11:02:33 PM
Jesus shows how much attention I was paying. I could of swore Monaghan came out before Tyrone v Down?
Title: Ulser Draw clarification
Post by: rpm on October 14, 2007, 11:16:40 PM
Monaghan can't meet Armagh in the semi - only the final if both progress.

The Ulster draw is:

Prelim: Antrim v Cavan

G1: Ferm v Monaghan
G2: Done v Derry

G3: Tyrone v Down
G4: Armagh v Prelim winners

Semi 1: G1 v G2
Semi 2: G3 v G4
Post by: rpm on October 14, 2007, 11:20:22 PM
Quote from: corn02 on October 14, 2007, 11:02:33 PM
Jesus shows how much attention I was paying. I could of swore Monaghan came out before Tyrone v Down?

They did!
Post by: Gnevin on October 14, 2007, 11:37:02 PM
when will the fixtures be known?
Post by: thejuice on October 15, 2007, 12:38:18 AM
If we get by Carlow, we'll be up against another bogey team of the last few years, Wexford. I dont like playing them. we dont have anyone to mark Forde, then again who does. But Wexford of course have more than Forde up front and a good midfield. BUt its a long way off, but i cant wait for next season. cant wait for the league to start.
Post by: Barney on October 15, 2007, 07:58:03 AM
Very please with our draw. Sligo did well this year to win Connacht but I think they are a long way off the team of a few years ago. With the game being in Castlebar, Mayo will have to be hot favourites. Its piss or get off the pot time for JOM. He has been given a draw that is favourable so a Connacht title should be delivered.

Looking at things on an overall view if Kerry win Munster only the Connacht Champions or possibly two teams from the qualifiers on that side of the draw stand in their way of getting to the All Ireland. Probably should chalk in down.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 15, 2007, 09:25:54 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 14, 2007, 10:08:42 PM
Great  :-\

Longford or Mullingar? Did the Qualifier game earlier this year count as a return? I can't recall.

Anyone looking forward to this? I don't think I will be.

Nope, Westmeath were first out in the qualifer draw and got home advantage, same as de Slashers were first out in the draw this time last year. Haven't a clue where it'll be played, didn't hear anything about first out getting home advantage this time...

Anyways, we'll be looking to finish the job we set out to do in the first half this year if it's in de wind tunnel, Pearse Park...
Post by: Billys Boots on October 15, 2007, 10:04:20 AM
QuoteAnyways, we'll be looking to finish the job we set out to do in the first half this year if it's in de wind tunnel, Pearse Park...

Ah it's nice for us to get a soft draw in the opener alright.   ;D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 15, 2007, 10:14:00 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on October 15, 2007, 10:04:20 AM
QuoteAnyways, we'll be looking to finish the job we set out to do in the first half this year if it's in de wind tunnel, Pearse Park...

Ah it's nice for us to get a soft draw in the opener alright.   ;D

There'll be no handy balls batted down to yous this year Billy  ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on October 15, 2007, 10:22:18 AM
I seem to remember you telling me about a hard game we were going to get in May last year too.  Are you applying the stopped-clock theory to all these predictions Croi? 
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 15, 2007, 10:39:25 AM
Aamazing how its never the Dublin fans who say that we are going to win the All-Ireland...its all the non-Dub fans who say it and then accuse us of being arrogant...
Post by: Bensars on October 15, 2007, 10:43:22 AM
Well at least its a home draw this year. You wont have yer captain coming out and complaining about the indignity of Dublin having to travel to the likes of Longford.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 15, 2007, 10:45:45 AM
Bensars - The only complaining about Longford was the ability of hte ground to hold a crowd of supporters which it wasn't......

Amazingly Joe Kernan made an even bigger deal about Armagh travelling to Donegal and yet he doesn't get half the abuse...
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 15, 2007, 11:06:24 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on October 15, 2007, 10:22:18 AM
I seem to remember you telling me about a hard game we were going to get in May last year too.  Are you applying the stopped-clock theory to all these predictions Croi? 

Like I said there'll be no handy balls batted down this year. Could fast forward the stop watch to full time, Mullingar, July 7th, 2007 if u want  :P
Post by: full back on October 15, 2007, 11:24:31 AM
Happy with the draw
No disrespect to Antrim or Cavan but all Armagh folk should be happy enough with the the first game (except perhaps Paul Grimley who would have had a chance to knock out the county that wouldnt employ him)
It will be interesting to see Mc Donnells style of play & to see if it is even worth our while travelling to the Tyrone game ;)

On the other side, an intresting clash between Donegal & Derry. Derry should win this, but a lot will depend on Donegal players acting the bollix as per usual. The winners of this to beat Monaghan
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 15, 2007, 12:10:08 PM
Tyrone would probably be the 3rd team if they have their players fit....

Dublin mustn't be too bad that they have been knocked out by -
1 - The best Armagh team of all time twice
2 - The best Tyrone team of all time after a replay
3 - Kerry probably the 2nd best Kerry team three times
4 - Mayo in probably their best performance ever

Not bad for a supposedly useless team
Title: Re: Ulser Draw clarification
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 15, 2007, 12:12:57 PM
Quote from: rpm on October 14, 2007, 11:16:40 PM

The Ulster draw is:

Am I right in saying that Antrim would have to beat Cavan, Armagh and in all likelihood Tyrone to qualify for the qualifiers?

Well done Dr. McSparran.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 12:15:04 PM
Dublin will be favourites obviously but lets not kid ourselves, Louth are capable of pulling off a shock.
I wont write them off anyway.

This 60% talk is rubbish, and no offence Gnevin/Dubsforsam, I know you may not mean it like that, but it does seem to be a little arrogant / disrespectful.
You can argue that its true, but thats not the point.
You wouldnt get Kerry lads saying that about their opposition even though they would probably only need 40%

and dont forget Dublin have struggled in the first game for the past few years versus Longford and Meath.

Post by: Louth Exile on October 15, 2007, 12:24:24 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 14, 2007, 09:41:07 PM

Now you're talking  ;D

Wasn't dissappointed with the draw myself, as HHNB pointed out Dublin can be slow to get going, it would be an amazing upset, but possible. Naturally the Dubs will not be peaking for this game and if our lads can give a top performance the shock could be on.

I notice that this has not been mentioned before.... Louth came out first..... will the game not be in Navan instead of Croker????
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 12:34:11 PM
I'm not too happy with the draw,I would have preferred us to be in Dublin's side of the draw as i think Kildare and Meath are going to be tough this year.Actually my money would be on Meath to win Leinster year
Post by: Gnevin on October 15, 2007, 12:41:27 PM
Quote from: Louth Exile on October 15, 2007, 12:24:24 PM

Now you're talking  ;D

Wasn't dissappointed with the draw myself, as HHNB pointed out Dublin can be slow to get going, it would be an amazing upset, but possible. Naturally the Dubs will not be peaking for this game and if our lads can give a top performance the shock could be on.

I notice that this has not been mentioned before.... Louth came out first..... will the game not be in Navan instead of Croker????
Last time i check Navan was in team, why would it be their?
Post by: Gnevin on October 15, 2007, 12:43:20 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 12:15:04 PM
Dublin will be favourites obviously but lets not kid ourselves, Louth are capable of pulling off a shock.
I wont write them off anyway.

This 60% talk is rubbish, and no offence Gnevin/Dubsforsam, I know you may not mean it like that, but it does seem to be a little arrogant / disrespectful.
You can argue that its true, but thats not the point.
You wouldnt get Kerry lads saying that about their opposition even though they would probably only need 40%

and dont forget Dublin have struggled in the first game for the past few years versus Longford and Meath.

Well maybe i need to work on my cute hoorism . :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 12:44:54 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on October 15, 2007, 12:41:27 PM

Now you're talking  ;D

Huh  ???
Post by: bennydorano on October 15, 2007, 12:46:43 PM
Any indication when the Ulster council will release dates and venues?
Post by: orangeman on October 15, 2007, 12:51:19 PM
They have to organise the cash vans first - the plan is to stay away from Casement and any roundabouts !
Post by: Gnevin on October 15, 2007, 12:55:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 12:44:54 PM

Now you're talking  ;D

Huh  ???
You take pleasure in find my typo's you evil man :P
I meant Last time i checked Navan was in Meath, why would it be their?
Post by: Hound on October 15, 2007, 01:06:34 PM

It wasnt an open draw, Dublin were seeded, they came from different bowls, therefore "first out" means nothing.

I wouldnt mind a day out in Navan, but I doubt the Leinster Council would choose to throw away a big Croke Park crowd.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 15, 2007, 01:11:48 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on October 15, 2007, 12:55:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 12:44:54 PM

Now you're talking  ;D

Huh  ???
You take pleasure in find my typo's you evil man :P
I meant Last time i checked Navan was in Meath, why would it be their?

Well done Gnevin, yes Navan is in Meath (and yes navan is a palindrome).

I would figure that Louth have home advantage, we don't have a ground that would be big enough to hold the game so the best option in terms of a neutral venue is obviously Navan, where we have played Dublin in the championship several times before. It has a capacity of about 35k I think (which is a fair bit bigger than Pearse Park) so why wouldn't it be played in Navan ???
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:12:20 PM
Quote from: Hound on October 15, 2007, 01:06:34 PM

It wasnt an open draw, Dublin were seeded, they came from different bowls, therefore "first out" means nothing.

I wouldnt mind a day out in Navan, but I doubt the Leinster Council would choose to throw away a big Croke Park crowd.

Sure the Joe Duffy show would be close to meltdown with callers if the Dubs were asked to venture past the M50
Post by: Louth Exile on October 15, 2007, 01:14:10 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:12:20 PM
Quote from: Hound on October 15, 2007, 01:06:34 PM

Sure the Joe Duffy show would be close to meltdown with callers if the Dubs were asked to venture past the M50

OK Hound, if thats the case its the day out in Croker for us, no problem.

RLL, did you not know that half the population of Navan is now from Dublin, it wouldn't cause them a problem
Post by: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:16:48 PM
I'm ten minutes from Navan, I'd be all for that!
Title: Re: Ulser Draw clarification
Post by: Orior on October 15, 2007, 01:18:04 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on October 15, 2007, 12:12:57 PM
Quote from: rpm on October 14, 2007, 11:16:40 PM

The Ulster draw is:

Am I right in saying that Antrim would have to beat Cavan, Armagh and in all likelihood Tyrone to qualify for the qualifiers?

Well done Dr. McSparran.

It is indeed very sad. Off topic but part of the problem though, is that Antrim is both a football and hurling county.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:19:07 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 12:34:11 PM
I'm not too happy with the draw,I would have preferred us to be in Dublin's side of the draw as i think Kildare and Meath are going to be tough this year.Actually my money would be on Meath to win Leinster year

Good man LL, knew you wouldnt let the side down!  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:20:36 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:19:07 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 12:34:11 PM

Good man LL, knew you wouldnt let the side down!  ;)

Im not sure i get ya?
Post by: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:31:40 PM
Yeah you do!
Lets just say you were never going to say you were glad to avoid the Dubs  ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 15, 2007, 01:38:40 PM
The time to play the Dubs is as early as possible when they've shown they're there for the taking. Anyways expect to be waiting in the semi for the winners of Dubs - Louth and if the Dubs play anywhere near 60% it'll be Louth in the semi...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:40:37 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:31:40 PM
Yeah you do!

No honestly i would have preferred to have been in Dublins side of the draw,I don't think we were that far off in the Leinster Final.
I can't see us getting to final next year now with the way the draw has worked out
Post by: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:47:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:40:37 PM
Yeah you do!

No honestly i would have preferred to have been in Dublins side of the draw,I don't think we were that far off in the Leinster Final.
I can't see us getting to final next year now with the way the draw has worked out

So you reckon you would have a better chance against the Dubs than against Meath or Kildare?
Based on the last two years that surprises me but sure its all about opinion and I know you long enough on this site to never expect you to give the Dubs credit  ;)

I do think Meath will be the biggest challengers to Dublins throne this year, but there are several teams capable of doing it.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:55:11 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:47:56 PM
Yeah you do!

So you reckon you would have a better chance against the Dubs than against Meath or Kildare?
Based on the last two years that surprises me but sure its all about opinion and I know you long enough on this site to never expect you to give the Dubs credit  ;)

I do think Meath will be the biggest challengers to Dublins throne this year, but there are several teams capable of doing it.

As i said i would have preferred to be in Dublins side of the draw.
I see next year as a bit of a transition year for Laois but i also think we would need no more motivation for playing them than to watch last seasons Leinster Final..Laois were not that far off Dublin despite what anyone says..
As you say it's all about opinion  :)
Post by: Gnevin on October 15, 2007, 02:32:18 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 01:55:11 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on October 15, 2007, 01:47:56 PM
Yeah you do!

As i said i would have preferred to be in Dublins side of the draw.
I see next year as a bit of a transition year for Laois but i also think we would need no more motivation for playing them than to watch last seasons Leinster Final..Laois were not that far off Dublin despite what anyone says..
As you say it's all about opinion  :)
Did you say that before this years Leinster final ?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 15, 2007, 02:59:39 PM
QuoteAnyways expect to be waiting in the semi for the winners of Dubs

Really Croi? You expect to be in the semi, or just hope? I'm not that pleased with the draw, because Longford will have a tough game under them when they play Offaly, but if Offaly have any self respect whatsoever they will at least put in the effort in the Gym and the muck and sh1te this year, unlike last year. If they do, they can come as close as anybody in Leinster to the Dubs.
Post by: Billys Boots on October 15, 2007, 03:32:22 PM
I'm pleased enough with that draw AZ; we'll have a game under our belts, without having to peak, and will be ready for youse Biffs.  A bit like this year - we should have beaten Laois on our second day out.

Is it our turn or your turn to travel?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 15, 2007, 03:35:43 PM
Must be yers. Have we played ye since '93?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 15, 2007, 03:45:39 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 15, 2007, 02:59:39 PM
QuoteAnyways expect to be waiting in the semi for the winners of Dubs

Really Croi? You expect to be in the semi, or just hope? I'm not that pleased with the draw, because Longford will have a tough game under them when they play Offaly, but if Offaly have any self respect whatsoever they will at least put in the effort in the Gym and the muck and sh1te this year, unlike last year. If they do, they can come as close as anybody in Leinster to the Dubs.

Maybe I've been living beside the Jackeens for too long but I would expect us to make the semi. After what happened last year in de second half there should be no room for error against de Slashers. Add that to the fact that we haven't won a Leinster Champ game for the last four years no stone should be left unturned. I suppose a lot will depend on injuries etc but all being well I'd expect us to win. Most of the team will be in or around their prime and should be fired up. We'll have a Div 2 campaign behind us (hopefully a successful one) wheras yous will only have a Div 4 and will be coming in cold against us.

It's written in de stars I tells ya...  ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on October 15, 2007, 04:05:51 PM
QuoteHave we played ye since '93?

Don't think so - I'll defer to Shamrock Shore's anorak knowledge though!  ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on October 15, 2007, 04:08:17 PM
QuoteI would expect us to make the semi

Quotewe haven't won a Leinster Champ game for the last four years

You need to go back on the tablets Croi!  ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 04:13:56 PM
My Predictions for Provincial winners

Leinster - Meath
Connacht - Galway
Munster - Cork
Ulster - Derry
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 15, 2007, 04:36:05 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on October 15, 2007, 04:08:17 PM

It will be four years (more or less) in May Billy. Is Lukie jettisoning in any more players 4 u this year???  :P
Post by: LaurelEye on October 15, 2007, 04:47:11 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 15, 2007, 04:36:05 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on October 15, 2007, 04:08:17 PM

It will be four years (more or less) in May Billy. Is Lukie jettisoning in any more players 4 u this year???  :P

Which ones did he "jettison" in this year?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 15, 2007, 05:20:45 PM
Myself, Mrs. Croi and the U16s wake the Slashers from their slumber...

(http://www.impawards.com/1970/posters/hornets_nest.jpg)

Quote from: LaurelEye on October 15, 2007, 04:47:11 PMWhich ones did he "jettison" in this year?

Mitch
Post by: LaurelEye on October 15, 2007, 05:38:54 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 15, 2007, 05:20:45 PM
Myself, Mrs. Croi and the U16s wake the Slashers from their slumber...

(http://www.impawards.com/1970/posters/hornets_nest.jpg)

Don't see any Slashers here. Mostrim, Colmcille and Mullinalaghta all right, but no-one from the town...

I think you'll find that we've been over on the thread "Longford Football and Hurling"...

Quote from: LaurelEye on October 15, 2007, 04:47:11 PMWhich ones did he "jettison" in this year?

Mitch

Ah, yes. Who was no longer on the Westmeath panel when he declared for Longford, and who I think played one game in the O'Byrne Cup/Shield and one in the League.

I think if you go back in time to the beginning of the Longford thread, you'll find that none of the Longford posters here were making a big thing of it even at the time.
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 15, 2007, 10:13:24 PM
Kerry 2008

Munster Semi:  Kerry v Clare/Waterford
Munster Final: Kerry v Cork
Quarter Final: Kerry v Qualifier/Provincial Final Loser
Semi Final: Kerry V Galway
Final: Kerry v Dublin/Tyrone

Sam KY 08 --> QED

That's the target, just 5 easy games, just 5 wins away from legendary status for the Kingdom, now if it was only so easy in reality...... Can't even think about 2008 yet when there is still celebrating to be done in the Kingdom.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 15, 2007, 10:16:35 PM
Good man Mike, that's the way the rest of the country's thinking anyway. It's a pity you had to add that last sentence or two though!

P.S. it might be Mayo in the semi-final instead of Galway and we all know what happened the last time we met in a semi-final! ;)
Post by: supersarsfields on October 15, 2007, 10:28:38 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on October 15, 2007, 04:13:56 PM
My Predictions for Provincial winners

Leinster - Meath
Connacht - Galway
Munster - Cork
Ulster - Derry

I'll go for a completely different line-up

Leinster - Dublin
Connacht - Mayo
Munster - Kerry
Ulster - Tyrone
Post by: mayoman dan on October 15, 2007, 11:53:40 PM

P.S. it might be Mayo in the semi-final instead of Galway and we all know what happened the last time we met in a semi-final! ;)
[/quote]      Good man yourself Farrandeelin ;D   
Post by: Kerry Mike on October 16, 2007, 12:31:56 AM
Quoteit might be Mayo in the semi-final instead of Galway and we all know what happened the last time we met in a semi-final!

That's right you created a Kerry monster who have hockeyed Mayo 4 times since ;)
Post by: Hound on October 16, 2007, 09:17:41 AM
I think Meath got the ideal draw in Leinster. Carlow - Wexford - Laois - Dublin (if it goes to form). A small step up with every game, ideal for building momentum and confidence.

I'd imagine Louth will give the Dubs a really tough game. I wouldnt be surprised if their whole focus for the next 6 months will be on that game. Beating the Dubs would be the best achievement for Louth in a long number of years, and if they do it they should be able to make the Leinster final, and with it a genuine chance of silverware.
Post by: Louth Exile on October 16, 2007, 11:16:41 AM
Quote from: Hound on October 16, 2007, 09:17:41 AM
I think Meath got the ideal draw in Leinster. Carlow - Wexford - Laois - Dublin (if it goes to form). A small step up with every game, ideal for building momentum and confidence.

I'd imagine Louth will give the Dubs a really tough game. I wouldnt be surprised if their whole focus for the next 6 months will be on that game. Beating the Dubs would be the best achievement for Louth in a long number of years, and if they do it they should be able to make the Leinster final, and with it a genuine chance of silverware.
Meath couldn't have got an easier draw, mate told me last night that the times rank the counties the other week, they only went to 30!! The left out Kilkenny & Carlow. Wexford have been a bit of a bogey team for Meath and have the capabilities, as do Laois or Kildare.

Louth's first objective is actually going to be to get out of Div 3 in the league. Then I will imagine they will focus 100% on the Dublin game, no reason not too. The only thing about playing div 3 football is that they won't have any competitive games that will come near to the pace of a championship game against the Dubs. If there is one thing the Dubs are probably the best at in the country it is playing a high pace game.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 16, 2007, 12:52:54 PM
In fairness though ML, that was Mayos best performance in years to claw that back, according to most people anyway.

More times that not, the 20 minute burst is enough to put away most teams, who may claw some of it back but not enough.

Also this year showed me Dublin finishing strongly on a few more occasions than last year, Meath replay, Kerry game etc.