Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on August 24, 2007, 10:44:46 AM

Title: Football Free for All or A Fight in November?
Post by: T Fearon on August 24, 2007, 10:44:46 AM
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/article2891602.ece

Really do we want to have the new Stadium at the Maze tarnished by louts like this :D

By the way my money is on "Stocky" Boyce...he'd be the more hungry fighter! :D :D

The FAI will remain on standby when the IFA finally implodes
Title: Re: Football Free for All or A Fight in November?
Post by: The Subbie on August 24, 2007, 12:00:12 PM
With the recruitment of Lawrez Sanchez, the international team became a powerful force in world football again.

;D ;D ;D

Who the fcuk are they trying to kid ha ha ha ha  ;D
Post by: Gnevin on August 24, 2007, 12:05:34 PM
Fearon f**k off we get it for you the IFA== BAD, now can you keep in one thread you idiot
Post by: SammyG on August 24, 2007, 12:22:30 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on August 24, 2007, 12:00:12 PM
With the recruitment of Lawrez Sanchez, the international team became a powerful force in world football again.

;D ;D ;D

27th in the world, 2nd in our qualifying group, leading goalscorer in Europe, beat Sweden , Spain and Engerlund. I think by anybody's measure that would make us a 'force in world football'
Post by: EC Unique on August 24, 2007, 12:31:41 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 24, 2007, 12:22:30 PM

;D ;D ;D

27th in the world, 2nd in our qualifying group, leading goalscorer in Europe, beat Sweden , Spain and Engerlund. I think by anybody's measure that would make us a 'force in world football'

Norn Iron are 300/1 to win euro 08 with only Slovakia and Belgium at greater odds. :D :D  Yea a 'force in world football' indeed. ::)
Post by: nifan on August 24, 2007, 12:45:28 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on August 24, 2007, 12:31:41 PM

Norn Iron are 300/1 to win euro 08 with only Slovakia and Belgium at greater odds. :D :D  Yea a 'force in world football' indeed. ::)

I think a force here is a relative term - before we where a walkover, now at the very least we will have a major say in the qualification for a major championship, and have a chance of perhaps squeking in ourselves.

As for Slovakia and Belgium being the only teams with greater odds, I assume you mean the only teams that have been quoted at greater odds.
Post by: EC Unique on August 24, 2007, 12:52:16 PM
//http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_type&category=SOCCER&disp_cat_id=&ev_class_id=6&ev_type_id=6519&ev_oc_grp_ids=32843&bir_index=
Post by: Main Street on August 24, 2007, 12:57:53 PM
From the article
"Jim has been mortally wounded"
"Mr Boyce was dealt a further blow on Wednesday"

He is a hard man for sure to be still standing.
Post by: SammyG on August 24, 2007, 01:00:20 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on August 24, 2007, 12:31:41 PM

;D ;D ;D

Not sure what the bookies odds (which are based on the number of bets recieved and the relative outlay) have to do with anything. I prefer to look at less important   ;) things like results, group standings, goals scored against goals conceded etc when working out the relative strengths of teams.

If you look at the PP list it has high rankings for eg Spain and Engerlund neither of who are certain to even qualify nevermind win the thing. And if you want to have a bet I'd go to Coral who have NI at 1000/1
Post by: The Subbie on August 24, 2007, 01:15:23 PM
Sammy , Sammy , Sammy

A blind man can see that the norn iron house of cards is gonna come tumbling down , theres not a hope of norn iron qualifying for the euros  and before you say it free state does'nt either.
So enjoy what you can of it but if i was putting a bet on it would be for Jackie fullerton to be saying before the year is out " so near and yet so far for Norn Iron"

I'd say you can book next years holidays , you won't be otherwise ingaged with the GAWA ;)
Post by: SammyG on August 24, 2007, 01:21:39 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on August 24, 2007, 01:15:23 PM
Sammy , Sammy , Sammy

A blind man can see that the norn iron house of cards is gonna come tumbling down , theres not a hope of norn iron qualifying for the euros  and before you say it free state does'nt either.
DOn't think I've ever mentioned us qualifying (although there's still an outside chance that we might) but I'm not sur why the 'house of cards' would fall if we don't qualify? We have a young settled squad and will be there or thereabouts for the next few years at least.
So enjoy what you can of it but if i was putting a bet on it would be for Jackie fullerton to be saying before the year is out " so near and yet so far for Norn Iron"
Probably right but the fat lady isn't even warming up yet.
I'd say you can book next years holidays , you won't be otherwise ingaged with the GAWA ;)
We'll see.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on August 24, 2007, 01:40:03 PM

;D ;D ;D

The rankings are shite, I doubt ye will be in the top 3 even 4 by the time the qualifiers end.  Three good results in two years does not make ye a 'force in world football'.  Going by that logic that must mean (Rep) Ireland were a world class team between 1998-2002 since we got many great results.  To be honest I hope ye qualify, I see the north of Ireland football team like I see Scotland and Wales, teams I like to see do well, its not as if ye are our rivals in soccer or anything.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on August 24, 2007, 01:47:13 PM
"Jim has been mortally wounded. He hasn't been able to live with it well and last night he complained that no-one (from the IFA) contacted him to tell him what his new duties as honorary president were."

FFS Jim, you're an honorary President, ye have no f**king duties!!
Post by: T Fearon on August 24, 2007, 01:50:42 PM
Galwaybaybhoy if you lived up here you wouldn't want to see them qualifying for anything. Life would be unbearable. Last Tuesday night BBC tv broadcast a special on a current Fulham striker with a below average club career who has scored a few goals against underachieving international sides recently (after going two years without him or any of his teammates scoring at all). Would be like RTE broadcasting a tribute to Lee Carsley!

Imagine the overkill we'd all have to endure if they actually qualified for something?????
Post by: SammyG on August 24, 2007, 01:54:22 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 24, 2007, 01:50:42 PM
Galwaybaybhoy if you lived up here you wouldn't want to see them qualifying for anything. Life would be unbearable. Last Tuesday night BBC tv broadcast a special on a current Fulham striker with a below average club career who has scored a few goals against underachieving international sides recently (after going two years without him or any of his teammates scoring at all). Would be like RTE broadcasting a tribute to Lee Carsley!

Imagine the overkill we'd all have to endure if they actually qualified for something?????

Sorry Tony I thought the BBC broadcast a programme on the current leading scorer in all of Europe and 5th best British goalscorer of all time. If any RoI player ever got to be the leading scorer in Europe, I'm sure RTE'd run a programme about him.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 24, 2007, 01:55:10 PM
QuoteLast Tuesday night BBC tv broadcast a special on a current Fulham striker with a below average club career who has scored a few goals against underachieving international sides recently

Relace Fulham with Spurs and it could have been about Robbie Keane.
Post by: full back on August 24, 2007, 02:01:38 PM
Galwaybaybhoy if you lived up here you wouldn't want to see them qualifying for anything.

Not being as much of a bigot as Fearon, I have to disagree with this.
OK, they arent my favourite team in the world but I would like to see them do well & qualify.
Healy seems like a down to earth lad & fair play to him. He was realistic about his limited chances he had at Utd, when he would have been 5/6/7th chioce striker.
The coverage local soccer gets up here is OTT in comparison to GAA, but that is another point for a different thread.
Tony, you used to support the North - lend them a bit of support when they have a chance of qualifying for a major tournament ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on August 24, 2007, 02:03:31 PM
Sir David isn't quite the good lad he's made out to be

When Leeds were in bother last season - all the players bar 2 took pay cuts to help the club - I wonder who one of the holdouts were?  ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: SammyG on August 24, 2007, 02:08:35 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on August 24, 2007, 02:03:31 PM
Sir David isn't quite the good lad he's made out to be

When Leeds were in bother last season - all the players bar 2 took pay cuts to help the club - I wonder who one of the holdouts were?  ??? ??? ??? ???

WTF should he take a paycut to bail out the crooks at Leeds? If you're boss abused his position and left your company in debt, would you accept a paycut, to help him out, while he pocketed millions?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on August 24, 2007, 02:13:49 PM

First of, Im  not Galwaybayboy Tone. 
Second, I dont rate Healy as a great player at all (yes I know what he has done for the north of Ireland soccer team).  Your description up there could easily fit our own Robbie Keane.  He scores goals against poor international sides and against some big teams in friendlies, but where is he ever when we play teams like France, Czech Rep, Germany etc?  How many times has he scored goals when we most need them.  Has he even scored a goal against one of the bigger international sides in a friendly since the penalty against Spain in the World Cup in 2002?

And you dont need to worry about them qualifying Tone.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on August 24, 2007, 02:18:07 PM
Quote from: full back on August 24, 2007, 02:01:38 PM
Galwaybaybhoy if you lived up here you wouldn't want to see them qualifying for anything.
The coverage local soccer gets up here is OTT in comparison to GAA, but that is another point for a different thread.

Agreed full back...and fecking bikes too.  Is it me or about every other night is there coverage of some bunch of JohnJoes??
Post by: Orior on August 24, 2007, 02:19:13 PM
I thought soccer was a team game. Is Healy a team player or not?
Post by: MW on August 24, 2007, 02:21:48 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on August 24, 2007, 02:13:49 PM

First of, Im  not Galwaybayboy Tone. 
Second, I dont rate Healy as a great player at all (yes I know what he has done for the north of Ireland soccer team).  Your description up there could easily fit our own Robbie Keane.  He scores goals against poor international sides and against some big teams in friendlies, but where is he ever when we play teams like France, Czech Rep, Germany etc?  How many times has he scored goals when we most need them.  Has he even scored a goal against one of the bigger international sides in a friendly since the penalty against Spain in the World Cup in 2002?

It doesn't fit David Healy terribly well though, given that among his goals in the current series alone, he's scored a hat-trick in a 3-2 win against Spain (third in the group currently, and a point behind us) and two in a 2-1 win over Sweden (top of the group currently, and 2 points ahead of us). That's without getting into the other goals he's scored against good European opposition in both competitive and friendly matches.
Post by: MW on August 24, 2007, 02:23:07 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 24, 2007, 02:19:13 PM
I thought soccer was a team game. Is Healy a team player or not?

He plays for a team, yes. Within that team his main role is to score goals. Given that record he's a very valuable member of the NI team, among others.
Post by: MW on August 24, 2007, 02:24:24 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on August 24, 2007, 02:18:07 PM
Quote from: full back on August 24, 2007, 02:01:38 PM

Agreed full back...and fecking bikes too.  Is it me or about every other night is there coverage of some bunch of JohnJoes??

On the motor"sports" stuff I'd agree. Someone somehere has an odd obsession with it.
Post by: The Subbie on August 24, 2007, 02:49:08 PM
And mens hockey
Post by: his holiness nb on August 24, 2007, 02:51:08 PM
From the coverage over the years I always thought you nordies were all mad into the motorbikes.  :-[
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on August 24, 2007, 03:17:13 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 24, 2007, 02:51:08 PM
From the coverage over the years I always thought you nordies were all mad into the motorbikes.  :-[

That's what the evil BBC NI and UTV want you to beleive HH.
Post by: MW on August 24, 2007, 03:19:46 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on August 24, 2007, 03:17:13 PM

That's what the evil BBC NI and UTV want you to beleive HH.

You'd think that malarkey was our national sport or something if BBC NI and UTV were used as a guide!
Post by: The Subbie on August 24, 2007, 03:25:06 PM
what about that inter galatic wind surfing/waterskiing championship thingy from Enniskillen recently  ???  what the f**k was all that about , probably good for Enniskillen but do we really want to  be watching 3 hours of that pish?
Post by: Chrisowc on August 25, 2007, 09:39:15 AM

I wouldn't know one end of a bike from another but I would guess these events attract more spectators than most if not all others.