GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tintin25 on August 09, 2007, 10:44:12 AM

Title: Gaa training, gym, diet and injury advice
Post by: tintin25 on August 09, 2007, 10:44:12 AM
I'm sure there is a few of ya's who play footie/hurling at some sort of level, be it Junior/Intermediate/senior. How much training do ya's do per week? Does it suffice? Can never make training meself as away from home during the week, so basically rely on matches at the wkend and doing about 40 min work-outs at the gym 2/3 times a week (Mainly consisting of the cardio). I'm never sure if this is keeping me on par with the other's in terms of fitness.
Title: Re: Normal training regime for the average club footballer?
Post by: inisceithleann on August 09, 2007, 11:21:12 AM
Usually train twice a week for the club when i'm at home and then a game at the weekend. Though a more serious club player probably does a lot more on his own. For me personally football is an enjoyable pastime and i wouldn't do anything more on my own. To do so would take the enjoyment away from it.
Post by: stpauls on August 09, 2007, 11:29:17 AM
at the minute we are training at least twice a week, with a match usually on a friday night, as long as we do the right things then it would definately be enough.
i try to get to the gym at least 2 more times in the week, with a 35 minute cardio sessions, followed by a few sets of weights. the gym sessions also depend on what was done in training, that is i could be too f@*ked from the training session to go to the gym, but i am also involved with the committee and ladies football so the gym can sometimes be forgotten about to accommodate these.
Post by: Davitt Man on August 09, 2007, 12:22:08 PM
I would ne interested to hear from ye what the cardio vasular stuff entails
Post by: Davitt Man on August 09, 2007, 12:27:26 PM
I am a senior player and living away from. The training during the week depends on the plan for the weekend i.e if there is a game or not.

If we have a game at the weekend I train with other club mates in dublin on a tuesday night then home for training on a friday evening and a game sunday.

If there is no game on at the weekend i train Tuesday, friday at home and train early sunday morning.

In between i also play some soccer to mix it up a bit maybe on a wed or thurs night, i stay away from the gym during the summer, usually do enough press-ups and sit-ups at training and away from traning.

What does anyone else do?
Post by: INDIANA on August 09, 2007, 12:45:30 PM
at senior club level (retired now recently)- in the height of the season would have been -tuesday training- wed weights and thurs training- eitherr trained sat morn or game sat evening
no weights on the wed if a game on the sat-instead would have skipped wed in the gym and done some shooting practice instead. would have done abit on sunday mornings as well- maybe some core stuff or light weights maybe every 2-3 weeks.
Post by: thebandit on August 09, 2007, 12:51:56 PM
I'm a Junioir club footballer.

Training is fitted around - if I'm not dying from the night before, if we can use the field of if there is an under 12 game on that nobody bothered to tell the senior team manager about, etc..

When we are there, it is quite good. I even quit the drink the week of a championship game.
Post by: jungle on August 09, 2007, 12:57:57 PM
train monday, wednesday and friday. matches usually friday or sunday (if no match we train).we start at 8 and be leaving through the gate at 9.45 despite this we are still shite.   
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 12:59:16 PM
Train Tuesday and Friday night with club

if game at weekend then will only do one other night on my own,
If no game would do two.

The Other night/s are gym work,
normaly about 55 mins to an hour

10 minutes on stationary bike as warm up
25 minutes circuit training,
25 minutes proper weight training(wouldnt do this 3 or 4 days before a big game though)
Facilities in Dublin are top class.

Post by: tintin25 on August 09, 2007, 01:55:05 PM
Not too bothered with the weights meself. Mainly focus on threadmill and then some exercises for abs and that. Footie training consists of the usual drills and then usual a wee match at the end.
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 09, 2007, 02:02:06 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on August 09, 2007, 01:55:05 PM
Not too bothered with the weights meself. Mainly focus on threadmill and then some exercises for abs and that. Footie training consists of the usual drills and then usual a wee match at the end.

did ye win the match the other day tintin and was the corner forward taking off
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 02:03:42 PM

tintin if i can give you some advice???
you can forget about the threadmill.
You're far better going out for a jog and pushing yourself a bit harder for certain periods.
Its much better than running on an artificial surface which is nothing like running on a field.
dont get me wrong its better than not doing anything,but ive done both and you will find more benefit from the other.
Post by: orangeman on August 09, 2007, 02:20:41 PM
Training tuesday and thursday - match at weekend - that's it -
I agree about the threadmill - waste of time -
Post by: tintin25 on August 09, 2007, 02:22:47 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 09, 2007, 02:02:06 PM

did ye win the match the other day tintin and was the corner forward taking off

Lol. We thrashed them!!. All 5 subs were used....1 in the backs and 4 in the forwards!!
Post by: tintin25 on August 09, 2007, 02:29:14 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 02:03:42 PM

tintin if i can give you some advice???
You're far better going out for a jog and pushing yourself a bit harder for certain periods.
Its much better than running on an artificial surface which is nothing like running on a field.
dont get me wrong its better than not doing anything,but ive done both and you will find more benefit from the other.

No probs mate. Advise taken on board. Aye, I just prefer heading to gym cause at least that way I can doing abit of everything. Sort of restricted by just jogging the roads. Threadmill isn't prob the best but I would usually run at a decent speed and that coupled with walking would probably be about 25 mins. I use to carry an extra few stone a couple of years ago and found that jogging the country roads was the best thing I could have done...really shed the weight. However, since then I haven't done it as much and just concentrated on footie training when I can and the gym the odd. I would however find myself running at a quicker pace on the threadmill than say on the roads but the actual road surface is more tiring on the legs. I'm by no means a fitness freak but just wanna stay at a reasonably fitness level whilst partaking in the boozy/party/junk food sessions at the wkend!  :)
Post by: AbbeySider on August 09, 2007, 02:47:37 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on August 09, 2007, 02:29:14 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 02:03:42 PM

No probs mate. Advise taken on board. Aye, I just prefer heading to gym cause at least that way I can doing abit of everything. Sort of restricted by just jogging the roads. Threadmill isn't prob the best but I would usually run at a decent speed and that coupled with walking would probably be about 25 mins.
I would however find myself running at a quicker pace on the threadmill than say on the roads but the actual road surface is more tiring on the legs. I'm by no means a fitness freak but just wanna stay at a reasonably fitness level whilst partaking in the boozy/party/junk food sessions at the wkend!  :)

Seriously, you are wasting your time on a treadmill, all you are doing is bouncing up and down.
You dont even utilize the proper running muscles on a treadmill because you cant lengthen your stride properly and it leads to bad running techniques (small steps).

I go by the motto that running should be done in a field or on the road. Gym is for weights really.

Anyway my training week is usually

Monday: Gym weights workout, Chest, Back, Lower Back, Abs, core (1.15 hrs - 1.30 hrs)
(sometimes followed by astro turf soccer)

Tursday: Go home from Galway to Mayo for training, lots of running and ball work (1.15 hrs - 1.30 hrs)

Wednesday: Gym weights workout, Arms, Shoulders, Traps, Abs, core (1.15 hrs - 1.30 hrs)

Thursday: (If there is a match at the weekend)
Go home from Galway to Mayo for training, lots of running and ball work (1.15 hrs - 1.30 hrs)

Friday: Rest

Saturday evening or
Sunday early afternoon: Football match

keep changing my gym workouts every 10 weeks or so

I try an get down to football training twice a week but sometimes im too tired on a Thursday.
If we have no game at the weekend I usually train with the club on Saturday or Sunday.

I have kept the weights up for the summer.
Post by: Davitt Man on August 09, 2007, 03:23:02 PM
Abbeysider, just looking at your weekly routine there and it is impressive but i would be concerned that you are not getting the proper rest in between sessions. how do you feel come match day, are you full of energy or do you feel sluggish?

Another important factor with training is getting proper food on board before and after training. When i have training on a tuesday and thursday all i have for the day is weetabix for breakfast, a snadwich at lunch and then no dinner before training and its to late to have a dinner after training. Usually just try grab a sandwich after training but thats not a proper food intake after a tough session.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 03:29:16 PM
Its important to keep the weights up in moderation for the summer.
Not much good,doing weights from December to April then forgetting about them for the rest of the year.
i read that the Dublin team have 30 minute highly intensive weight sessions before ALL training sessions to keep the upper body strength up during the summer months.
i fear many coaches forget about them when the hard ground comes into play and concentrate on running and sharpness,the result being their months of weight sessions are f**k all use when championship time comes around in august,september.

Post by: full back on August 09, 2007, 03:31:22 PM
Rather than starting a new thread
What type of training are clubs doing at this stage of the year?
Have been speaking to a few lads & they are still f**king running most nights at training with the odd ball drill thrown in ???
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 03:31:58 PM
agree with Davitt Man that Abbeysiders programme is impressive.
Also agree with Davitt man that Abbeysider isnt giving himself enough time to recover from high intensity workouts.
i was always taught to give yourself two days rest before a game.
For example of the week of a saturday game

hard training on a Monday,Tuesday,Wednesday

Rest Thursday

very Light run to get the legs active again after your day of rest on friday

Game Saturday

Rest Sunday.

with a game on a sunday it allows you to Train Monday-Thursday then rest Friday/Saturday for your game.

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 03:34:04 PM
Quote from: full back on August 09, 2007, 03:31:22 PM
Rather than starting a new thread
What type of training are clubs doing at this stage of the year?
Have been speaking to a few lads & they are still f**king running most nights at training with the odd ball drill thrown in ???

sharpness training,lots of sprinting,short sprinting 0-20 metres and up to 50-60 metres mostly with the ball.
Lots of High intensive games aswell.
Post by: Davitt Man on August 09, 2007, 03:43:31 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 03:31:58 PM

with a game on a sunday it allows you to Train Monday-Thursday then rest Friday/Saturday for your game.

Ballyhaiseman, if you have a game sunday the quaility of your training monday wouldnt really be any good. I have often heard lads in college train monday after a game sunday. The body needs that time to recover from the match on the sunday, maybe a pool session would be more suitable for a monday session after a sunday match. I presume your monday session is just a light jog to loosen out the legs
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 03:59:12 PM
Yep Davitt Man,really it depends on how much the game on sunday took out of you,Theres been some Mondays where ive been able to do a hard full training session after a game on Sunday and Some Mondays i could barely walk never mind train.
definetely a pool session or a light jog though is suitable for a day after a game.
Post by: cavan4ever on August 09, 2007, 04:07:35 PM
 ::) ::) ::) ::)
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 04:09:24 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on August 09, 2007, 04:07:35 PM
::) ::) ::) ::)

???
Post by: cavan4ever on August 09, 2007, 04:14:36 PM
only messing bhman
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 04:16:33 PM
 :D i was wondering mate.

Post by: inisceithleann on August 09, 2007, 04:20:40 PM
Lads i was wondering if any of you have any advice regarding hamstring tears. I tore my right hamstring 3.5 weeks ago. I was in a lot of pain and there was a right bit of bruising just above my knee. I did nothing for 2 weeks and then started jogging again after that and then sprinted a bit on my own. I thought i was flying as the pain had pretty much set aside. However i stepped up the pace a bit and played 5 mins in a reserve game last saturday. I was in terrible pain after it and i'm back to square one. How long should have i taken complete rest for before doing any training? Should i have been doing swimming etc long before i started jogging?
Post by: Davitt Man on August 09, 2007, 04:21:22 PM
B\Haise man you agreed with me that rest is important yet i see you train 3 days in a row, monday tuesday wednesday, a fews week i had something on 5 evenings out of 6 between training, match and soccer, i was wrecked come the 5th session. Surley training 3 days in a row is not of benefit to you..
Post by: Davitt Man on August 09, 2007, 04:23:41 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on August 09, 2007, 04:20:40 PM
Lads i was wondering if any of you have any advice regarding hamstring tears. I tore my right hamstring 3.5 weeks ago. I was in a lot of pain and there was a right bit of bruising just above my knee. I did nothing for 2 weeks and then started jogging again after that and then sprinted a bit on my own. I thought i was flying as the pain had pretty much set aside. However i stepped up the pace a bit and played 5 mins in a reserve game last saturday. I was in terrible pain after it and i'm back to square one. How long should have i taken complete rest for before doing any training? Should i have been doing swimming etc long before i started jogging?

Get to a physio my man, they will know how bad it is and what form of training as regards stretching logging you should be doing
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 04:28:45 PM
Davitt man
my training would normaly be

Monday Gym sessions of 1Hour

Tuesday Football training,Sprint work really,high intensity game
1 and a half hours

Wednesday Gym Work for 1 hour.

ive experimented with 3 days in a row in the Gym and have found by the 3rd day,i have no impetus to do anything due to being absolutely f**ked.havent found it was bad though when you have a change of scenery like Football training in between.
Ive found my current schedule allows for enough rest.Sure after the Gym session on a wednesday you will be tired,but thats shows me its working.But two days to recover is more than enough to recuperate.
of course all our bodies are different.
Post by: AbbeySider on August 09, 2007, 04:31:52 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on August 09, 2007, 03:23:02 PM
how do you feel come match day, are you full of energy or do you feel sluggish?

To be honest Davitt Man, I do feel sluggish, but I put it down to lack or match fitness more than over doing it at training. Really in the gym im giving my upper body the workout and at training the legs get the workout 9Or so I think).

Do u think the sluggishness is down to overdoing it?
What time and recovery techniques would you advise?
Im taking from this thread that two days minimum before a match is best to recover.

Usually after the gym I take a USN Whey Protein shake and take it again the following morning. I find it aids recovery of muscles. I also sometimes take the protein shakes after intensive football matchs/trainings, but more often than not eat some pasta or something. I often find myself hungry for two dinners during intensive training periods.

The day of a match or training I try and eat a dinner with lots of carbs around 4-6 hours before the time.
(I often get sick or nautious if I eat too late before training... does this happen anyone else?).

Quote from: inisceithleann

It sounds like a very bad tear inisceithleann, I strained my hammer a few weeks ago and its an annoying injury.
I would get physio on it ASAP and get lots of it. Your club should be able to look after you for it. Ice is very important too. Try and Ice it as much as possible.
I found last year when I got a slight tear that heating the muscle with a hot water bottle and doing little stretches and then cooling it with Ice (and repeating the process a few times) really helped in the recovery.

But a 2nd opinion and it being worked on by a physio is the main point
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 04:36:53 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on August 09, 2007, 04:20:40 PM

IC
is it a torn hamstring or a pulled one?

if its a badly torn one,thats a fairly serious one im afraid,You're talking 3 months and you would want to get it looked at by a physio fairly quick.

Im no expert believe me but theres a grade one and grade two hamstring pull,

Grade one is normaly 3 weeks out

Grade Two is 4 to 6 weeks out from sporting activity,

2 weeks as you said wasnt enough,no matter what injury,but better be safe and get it checked.
Post by: AbbeySider on August 09, 2007, 04:38:05 PM
tintin25
I vote that you rename this thread to something like "training, gym, diet and injury advice" or something similar so it could be a regular 'stickie' like the other threads.

As regards training,
I have a desk job and find that I do be very stiff when it comes to training. It takes me a while to warm up and get a good stretch. Sitting at a desk all day is a disaster.

Do you guys recommended a light jog the evening before a training or match to loosen out?
Im not sure how much that works as I often feel stiffer in the the next day. Strange.
Post by: shotstopper1 on August 09, 2007, 04:39:57 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 03:59:12 PM
Some Mondays i could barely walk never mind train.

If ye stayed outta Eamons on a Sunday you'd be well able to walk on a Monday :)

BTW what's the story on Cullivan?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 04:42:32 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on August 09, 2007, 04:38:05 PM
tintin25
I vote that you rename this thread to something like "training, gym, diet and injury advice" or something similar so it could be a regular 'stickie' like the other threads.

As regards training,
I have a desk job and find that I do be very stiff when it comes to training. It takes me a while to warm up and get a good stretch. Sitting at a desk all day is a disaster.

Do you guys recommended a light jog the evening before a training or match to loosen out?
Im not sure how much that works as I often feel stiffer in the the next day. Strange.

ive found a light jog before training/game an hour or two before can help,Gets the legs active and as you said loosened out.And leaves you sharper for training/game.
Nothing worse going down to warm up 20 minutes before for an important game,being stiff as hell.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 04:45:31 PM
Quote from: shotstopper1 on August 09, 2007, 04:39:57 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 03:59:12 PM
Some Mondays i could barely walk never mind train.

If ye stayed outta Eamons on a Sunday you'd be well able to walk on a Monday :)

BTW what's the story on Cullivan?

i was talking to him last week,and i dont believe he had it diagnosed yet,perhaps thats changed by now
its one of two injuries,
1.remember the one McCabe was hobbling around on a few years ago,
fairly badly strained knee ligaments i believe which would leave him out for 4-6 weeks or maybe a bit longer,
2.or the serious one a complete tear which would be a season ending 7/8 month recovery.
Post by: mannix on August 09, 2007, 04:48:49 PM
Today i run 6 miles every second day and lift weights every day i am not running.I do arms,back,chest and legs split over 3 or 4 sessions in the week and am fit enough but if it was to go out playing its a different fitness altogether.No gaelic played in the last year but will get back into it once i get back near a club.
When i was playing it was training on tuesday and thursday and if no game at the weekend we would train instead.At any rate the training would be a jog around the pitch circumference 3 or 4 times and then stretch.Then sprint the full lenght of the field and jog back anywhere between 5 and 10 times without stopping except for to vomit if you were not able.Then stretch again followed by 30 or 50 yard sprint with a ball and kick pass when at the end of the sprint and jog back on the sideline to repeat until everyone had gone 6 times.This part was always in groups of 4 so you would be shagged.Then a circuit of push ups which were done way too fast for any benefit,situps and my favourite the jumping jack where you start from the hands on the ground position , then they would repeat any of the above except the long sprint just to fill the 90 minute session.A real sickener if ever there was one.Not so much ballwork early in the year as they reckoned you were better getting fit without it,what killed me was some lads would come to training and stand around talking about their injuries but be fine for a kickaround game after the sweating was done.

My favourite expression about training  "fail to prepare,prepare to fail" by one of the gods in the manchunian area of saxony, and i still have no allireland!
Post by: imtommygunn on August 09, 2007, 04:49:14 PM
I find in an office you get a "two day pain". You're not too bad the day after a hard session but because you're sitting it stiffens you up and the next day you're stiff from the stiffening up!

The best way I have found to alleviate stiffness is exercise bike and stretching. I think a lot of you pain comes from excess lactic acid which hasn't been "extinguished" from your system. High cadence on an exercise bike helps this.

Also if you eat food within half an hour of training - and I mean proper food like a tuna pasta salad(ie good protein plus carbs) this will go a long way to replenishing what has been taken out of your body.

A recommended way to ease soreness in legs is 2 minutes slow, 30 seconds full pace repeated about 4 times(running of course). You'll feel the difference.
Post by: jungle on August 09, 2007, 05:08:52 PM
I along with a few lads from our club would do weights sessions on nites we dont train and i would question the benefits doing weights has for gaelic games (maybe im doing the wrong drills but i got them off a fella who was given them as part of a county training programme).

i often hear of fellas who miss training regularly saying they are out running and doing weights but personally i think doing hard hitting drills at training are the key and always have been as you are holding onto a ball and taking a tackle i.e. match situations.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 05:35:24 PM
Quote from: jungle on August 09, 2007, 05:08:52 PM
I along with a few lads from our club would do weights sessions on nites we dont train and i would question the benefits doing weights has for gaelic games (maybe im doing the wrong drills but i got them off a fella who was given them as part of a county training programme).

i often hear of fellas who miss training regularly saying they are out running and doing weights but personally i think doing hard hitting drills at training are the key and always have been as you are holding onto a ball and taking a tackle i.e. match situations.

hard hitting drills are good

running through holding the ball getting hit by punching bags,teaches you to hold the ball when getting hit from all angles.

also like the 4 corners 3 balls, two guys in the middle,one defender,One attacker one,Attacker has to get the ball and give it to the free man,Then after about a minute,they switch.Very intensive,and very hard hitting with bodychecking etc,takes it out of you.

a Proper weights programme though is very good.
Title: Re: Gaa training, gym, diet and injury advice
Post by: inisceithleann on August 09, 2007, 05:38:22 PM
Quote from: jungle on August 09, 2007, 05:08:52 PM

IMO players are obsessed with weights these days. I agree that they are important but you are right, hard hitting at training is what is important as it replicates the match situations. I know of one player who has done nothing but lift weights in the last 6 months. Yes he is much bigger as a result but has lost a bit of pace and all the weights in the world didn't improve his skill level.
Post by: Harps 21 on August 09, 2007, 05:53:57 PM
I would play at intermediate club level, and we would train twice a week for no more than an hour, with a match on Sunday.  In between, I would do 1 gym session a week based on a lower body weights programme, and I would aim to do 1 10k run a week, though occasionally I would stretch this out to 10 miles sometimes.  As regards upper body weights, I wouldn't do any - our trainer is of the opinion that unless done properly to a set programme, upper body weights are useless, and that the best way to develop effective upper body strength that you can actually use in a game, is by doing exercises that actually involve your own body weight i.e. press-ups and abdominal exercises.  I would do these 4/5 times a week and generally I find that level of training is sufficient.  I wait of course to be stood corrected...
Post by: INDIANA on August 09, 2007, 05:57:39 PM
that's true but it depends at what grade you're playing at. You won't survive playing senior club football by doing no weights certainly not in Dublin anyway. If you do the right weights it should make you faster. We were fortunate t be trained by 2 sports scientists who got us  using weights exercises i never heard of. pity i didn't get to do them earlier in my career. Still won't help you kick the ball straight but they have to be done to some degree at that level. but i wouldn't do gym work to the detriment of everything else. one eveining extra on top of training spent kicking  aball can be hugely beneficial -again something i wished i'd spent more time on.
Post by: Harps 21 on August 09, 2007, 06:19:59 PM
I agree about simply kicking a ball with a few teammates can be hugely beneficial - time like that allows ya to practice all the key skills.  For example I would have been weak under the high ball, but spending time simply practising taking high catches has hugely improved that area of my game.  You can also practice your distribution, particularly your kick passes, solo running, and forwards can of course practice and better their shooting and free taking.  An hour doing that can be often much more beneficial for your game than an evening simply spent in the gym.

On a side issue, have many of the lads here been subjected to the well-named "suicide runs" as part of their club training??  Provided you actually bust yourself in the exercise, you do sometimes feel about to reach for the revolver afterwards...
Post by: robertemmet on August 09, 2007, 06:21:51 PM
I think what often hinders a GAA person's chance of optimum fitness is the amount of games the top players play.  MOst top 19-20 yr olds have club senior/club U21/County U21/Freshers and Sigerson.  They have way too many commitments and will find if impossible to do the ideal week of training

Sun-Game
Mon-Swimming Pool / Short cycle
Tues-Training session
Wed-Night Off
Thurs-Training Session
Fri-Stretching
Sat-Night Off
Sun-Another game

In professional sports games are every week without fail and players only play for one team, so they can easily do the above schedue, as opposed to the following

Mon-University training
Tues-county U21 training (also getting an earful from club for not coming home for club trianing)
Wed-Fresher game - prob at the other end of the country)
Thur-County U21 training
Fri-Club traning
Sat-County U21 game
Sun-Club league/District cup game

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 07:15:30 PM
Quote from: robertemmet on August 09, 2007, 06:21:51 PM
I think what often hinders a GAA person's chance of optimum fitness is the amount of games the top players play.  MOst top 19-20 yr olds have club senior/club U21/County U21/Freshers and Sigerson.  They have way too many commitments and will find if impossible to do the ideal week of training

Sun-Game
Mon-Swimming Pool / Short cycle
Tues-Training session
Wed-Night Off
Thurs-Training Session
Fri-Stretching
Sat-Night Off
Sun-Another game

In professional sports games are every week without fail and players only play for one team, so they can easily do the above schedue, as opposed to the following

Mon-University training
Tues-county U21 training (also getting an earful from club for not coming home for club trianing)
Wed-Fresher game - prob at the other end of the country)
Thur-County U21 training
Fri-Club traning
Sat-County U21 game
Sun-Club league/District cup game

heavy schedule alright for a guy who also has to balance studying.And who may have to engage in alot of travel back and forth to counties midweek from college in Dublin/Galway etc

Possible remedies
Bring in a rule so that County Under 21 training/games  be limited to twice a week before February.
allowed to miss Club Training to give him time to recuperate.
Post by: mannix on August 09, 2007, 07:26:13 PM
robert emmet,

well said.Far too many things dragging players around.
Conor mortimer is an example.

dcu, train and play
shruleglencorrib, train and play
Mayo seniors, train and play

At least he is not u21 anymore but thats just an example I am aware of, i imagine a lot of lads fall into the trap and lets not mention keith higgins,dual player.
Post by: mannix on August 09, 2007, 07:29:22 PM
Is anyone else seeing a fitness community ad for the other team popping up on the top of this forum when they enter a thread.
Post by: mannix on August 09, 2007, 07:31:15 PM
Its only on this thread and I think the thread has being infiltrated, "gay fitness community"  no other thread has this on when you click on it.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 09, 2007, 08:04:57 PM
Seamus Moynihan Challenge
Can you tackle SEAMUS and WIN CASH prizes. Only at PlumGaming
www.PlumGaming.comGAA

Sports Psychologist
Improve Your Or Your Team's Confidence For Big Match Occasions
www.sportpsychology.ie

Weight Training Tips
Gain Strength and Mass fast with Leading Weight Training programs
WeightGain4You.com

thats what i see on top mannix.
Post by: darbyo on August 09, 2007, 10:38:15 PM
I don't have time to get into too many details now and I haven't read all the replies but I'm getting the feeling that many of ye doubt the benefits of weight training. Anybody seerious about improving their physical performance should be doing a weights program 12 months of the year. And this should be done at least 3 times a week off season and at least twice a week during the season. Like I said this is just a rough guidline, the individual and the goals required will dictate the exact training plan. Interval training should form the backbone of your cardio work as this gives the best results and replicates game like situations best.
Post by: tintin25 on August 10, 2007, 11:24:05 AM
Lads, about 3 months ago I fell on my Knee during a training session on hard ground. It was a little painful at the time and there was bruising above/below the knee. I'd say after about 2 weeks the brusing was basically gone but since then whilst not in pain or anything, my knee (Just below the centre) has never felt quite right. I've been playing matches albeit at a low grade and heading to gym without any fuss but now and again still feel a twinge in it. Went to the Doctor and he reckoned that it prob just inflamation and that nothing broken. An xray confirmed this but why do I feel it's still not 100%?? Surely an xray wouldn't pick up other damage that perhaps a scan would? Maybe I'm just imagining the whole thing!
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 10, 2007, 11:33:15 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on August 10, 2007, 11:24:05 AM
Lads, about 3 months ago I fell on my Knee during a training session on hard ground. It was a little painful at the time and there was bruising above/below the knee. I'd say after about 2 weeks the brusing was basically gone but since then whilst not in pain or anything, my knee (Just below the centre) has never felt quite right. I've been playing matches albeit at a low grade and heading to gym without any fuss but now and again still feel a twinge in it. Went to the Doctor and he reckoned that it prob just inflamation and that nothing broken. An xray confirmed this but why do I feel it's still not 100%?? Surely an xray wouldn't pick up other damage that perhaps a scan would? Maybe I'm just imagining the whole thing!

Don't worry about it tintin sure your only a back and easily replaced now if you were a forward i would be very worried ;) ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 10, 2007, 11:39:19 AM
Any dual players out there? How do yous manage training and games? Train Tues and Thurs, play 11 aside astroturf on Wed and usually a game at the weekends. Thinking of picking up the small ball again, how do dual clubs organise their training???
Post by: tintin25 on August 10, 2007, 11:54:34 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 10, 2007, 11:33:15 AM

Don't worry about it tintin sure your only a back and easily replaced now if you were a forward i would be very worried ;) ;)

Ha ha. I must stress that I'm an integral part of our Reserve side!
Post by: inisceithleann on August 10, 2007, 11:54:56 AM

tintin i'm obvisouly no expert but to confirm what's wrong you need a MRI scan. I hurt my knee in the junior championship last summer and it took ages to heal. The club paid for an MRI scan and it turned out that i had a microscopic fracture of my right knee with badly sprained ACL. An X-Ray wouldn't have shown this. The surgeon told me that knee injuries take a long time to heal, but that time and rest cures a lot of things so that's what I did. But if your concerned approach the club about getting the scan. Better safe than sorry.
Post by: take_yer_points on August 10, 2007, 12:37:56 PM
Quote from: mannix on August 09, 2007, 07:26:13 PM
robert emmet,

well said.Far too many things dragging players around.
Conor mortimer is an example.

dcu, train and play
shruleglencorrib, train and play
Mayo seniors, train and play

At least he is not u21 anymore but thats just an example I am aware of, i imagine a lot of lads fall into the trap and lets not mention keith higgins,dual player.

Cormac McAnallen was another example of this - he was playing for Ireland as well as club (U21 and senior), county (U21 and senior) and the university.
Post by: mannix on August 10, 2007, 01:01:48 PM
God rest the soul of Cormac McAnallen.He enjoyed it all no doubt, as do the lads that subject themselves to it.
How do these triathlete people do it?
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on August 10, 2007, 02:24:12 PM

i would agree tintin that a lot of injurys and slight knocks is a mental thing.  Its true if you think about the injury it will annopy you and you will believe you are generally injured.  I know its difficult to take your mind off it though.
Post by: jungle on August 10, 2007, 02:50:56 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 10, 2007, 11:39:19 AM
Any dual players out there? How do yous manage training and games? Train Tues and Thurs, play 11 aside astroturf on Wed and usually a game at the weekends. Thinking of picking up the small ball again, how do dual clubs organise their training???

thing of the past unless you are single and want to stay that way.
Post by: Davitt Man on August 10, 2007, 03:11:27 PM
Lads

With all this time devoted to training, when do ye fit in the few pints. What are peoples drinking habbits like during the summer. For myself i have missed every bank holiday weekend untill last weekend, all the other bank holiday weekends i have had a match or else i had an important game coming up. I live in dublin and all my mates would be going out those weekends but i had to miss them but i know i have to do it if i want to stay fit

Just wondering what your views on drink is, would many drink mid week before a league game?
Post by: AbbeySider on August 10, 2007, 05:36:32 PM

It could be a touch of knee tendonitis resulting from the fall. I would ask the doc or physio and maybe get some anti-biotics to clear it up.
(Thats if it is tendonitis)
Post by: AbbeySider on August 10, 2007, 05:39:37 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on August 10, 2007, 03:11:27 PM
Lads

With all this time devoted to training, when do ye fit in the few pints. What are peoples drinking habbits like during the summer. For myself i have missed every bank holiday weekend untill last weekend, all the other bank holiday weekends i have had a match or else i had an important game coming up. I live in dublin and all my mates would be going out those weekends but i had to miss them but i know i have to do it if i want to stay fit

Just wondering what your views on drink is, would many drink mid week before a league game?

Personally I dont play at the highest level or anything but I would stay off the beer on the week of a big match. Drinking is fine in moderation so long as you train and run it out of you and eat properly.

I saty well away from shorts because they really mess with me but I fing a few pints of beer sound. Guinness is way too heavy though.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 10, 2007, 05:58:23 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on August 10, 2007, 05:39:37 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on August 10, 2007, 03:11:27 PM
Lads

Personally I dont play at the highest level or anything but I would stay off the beer on the week of a big match. Drinking is fine in moderation so long as you train and run it out of you and eat properly.

I saty well away from shorts because they really mess with me but I fing a few pints of beer sound. Guinness is way too heavy though.

agree with Abbeysidder shorts have to be completely taken out of the equation during the season.
theres no problem with a few pints the night after a game.
would usually leave it at that though until after the next game.
Post by: INDIANA on August 11, 2007, 12:41:54 PM
i'd give it 2 years and you'll hit the wall with that training regime. not  a snowballs chance in hell you'll keep that up. absolutely no rest incorporated in there. you may train a lot but i doubt you train well some nights. unles you're a student who is able to stay in bed until 12 the next morning -there is no way you'll keep that up .
Post by: Jinxy on August 11, 2007, 02:17:11 PM
Quote from: rolloutking on August 11, 2007, 12:04:45 AM

Last year i got a hurling stick broke over my knee. I was fine at the time and that night but the day after i was in agony and couldnt walk for a few days. I went to the doc to get it checked out and i had bruising of the joint behind the kneecap and everytime i bent my knee the bruising was rubbing against the back of the kneecap and causing me pain. The reason it wasnt sore untill the day after was that the bruising hadnt developed yet. It took a good fortnight before i was right but for a month or so afterwards i stil got the odd pain after tough sessions.

Iv read all of the posts on this thread and i sence that some people may be telling a few lies to make it seem like they are training machines. A lot of you are talking about weights but i havn't heard any mention of supplements apart from one lad talking about protein. If some of you are doing the weights training that you say you are then you must have very high pain barriers because without any supplements your muscle fibres would not have had time to expand and repair to allow you to train without pain. I have found that i could not train three days in a row at a high quality without talking some creatine. By the third day i was hardly able to bench and i wasnt able to do full arm chin ups.

Anyways im a hurler and handballer and i find that one complements the other with the handball keeping my reactions times down and the hurling giving my the fitness i need. Bearing in mind that this is the handball off season this is my weekly routine.

If you are training the same muscle groups at high-intensity 3 days in a row I think you need to seriously revisit your programme. You will come a cropper at some stage. Ask yourself is it really necessary? Creatine will maybe give you a small bit of extra available energy during a training session but plays no role in muscle repair. While protein is involved in muscle maintenance and repair, it is readily available in dietary form. Your body needs rest so don't fall into the trap some people do where they think that chugging protein will have the muscles right as rain and ready for punishment the next day. If your diet is rubbish by all means take protein supplements but long term they are a poor substitute for eating the right food. I am baffled at the amount of lads in the GAA taking protein supplements, eating rubbish and not even training properly. What do they think happens to the surplus protein the muscle doesn't need? Not saying this is true in your case, but as you are primarily involved in 2 skill based sports I don't think killing yourself pumping iron is necessary. I apologise if I've picked any of this up wrong as I realise you are responding to other peoples posts so I may be taking it out of context.
Post by: Jinxy on August 11, 2007, 10:47:58 PM
Sorry about that so, I picked you up wrong. My favourite pre-event meal is scrambled eggs and wholemeal toast a few hours beforehand. Then plenty of water and some fruit to gnaw on in the run-up to the game. Some people get squirly stomachs before games though so a lot of it is down to individual preferences and what people are comfortable eating.
Post by: AbbeySider on August 13, 2007, 01:02:33 AM
Quote from: rolloutking on August 11, 2007, 12:04:45 AM
Iv read all of the posts on this thread and i sence that some people may be telling a few lies to make it seem like they are training machines.

In fairness rolloutking, your training program is the first one not to include a break or night off. All the programs ive read in the thread have at least one if not two nights off. Your practically using the same muscle groups 7 nights a week!

I tried creatine last winter for a while and found it didnt give me any extra energy or stamina in a cardio capacity. It made me heavier, and it filled my muscles with water, made me look bulkier, and may have helped me bench a litttle more but for the most part I found it to be shite. I only take the protein after the gym and sometimes after a heavy training session if my muscles are in bits.

What kind of diet or supplements are you on to keep going 7 nights a week? Im wrecked after 3 days and often need a break on Thurs night and at least one rest day over the weekend. That said I eat very well. Proper dinners and good eating habits at proper times and no junk food but I still dont have that much energy.
Post by: AbbeySider on August 14, 2007, 12:39:25 AM
Quote from: rolloutking on August 13, 2007, 10:59:00 PM
I also am cautious of taking things that im not fully sure what effect they have or more importantly what is in them. I just dont think its worth the risk with random drug testing.

I know what you mean by being cautious but most creatine and protein supplements are safe. As far as I know Ceatine isnt on the banned substances list. Mostly anabolic Steriods, of which there are many variants, as well as amphetamines are banned.

I have the GAA guidelines and stuff somewhere about what is Ok to take and what is banned. Il try and find it and post it up.

On that note I cant understand any GAA plaers taking creatine. Its expensive shite in my opinion and only suitable to rugby players and body builders. There is a few produxcts on the market that are not so safe. EG Mass muscle fuels and things like that you need to be cautious about
Post by: AbbeySider on August 14, 2007, 01:00:03 AM
I found it...

Here is a list of the banned substances in the GAA. This is the Official GAA Guide and is fairly comprehensive.

http://www.gaa.ie/files/gaa_official_guide2003.pdf

from page 144 tells you... PROHIBITED CLASSES OF SUBSTANCES etc

Then it goes on to describe how much of what can be found in your urine...

page 152 gives your a summary of whats banned in set categories.
The whole guide is worth a read, its fairly informative.

( I had originally pasted whats banned but there isnt much point when your can read fro yourself from page 144 of the above PDF)
Post by: AbbeySider on October 19, 2007, 11:39:47 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on October 19, 2007, 11:13:26 AM
Right, seemed to have lost the original thread on this, so here we go again! My knee is still playing up, 3 or so months having fallen on hard ground. It's not really painful or anything but I always get a mild discomfort in it from time to time....can feel it when I'm jogging or that. Ya's reckon I should go for a scan? Many of ya's still training with your clubs?

Sorry Tintin, no real need to start a whole new thread. A similar question was asked on this thread somewhere...

See the answers to rolloutkings question about his knee.

But I reckon it could be tendonitis or something... I used to get it from road running. Similay feeling in the knee from what you describe.
Post by: tintin25 on October 19, 2007, 11:46:25 AM
No probs AS. Aye, not sure what's up with it. Think the best thing to do is get a scan or something and go from there.
Post by: AbbeySider on October 19, 2007, 12:06:43 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on October 19, 2007, 11:46:25 AM
No probs AS. Aye, not sure what's up with it. Think the best thing to do is get a scan or something and go from there.

good call, do a google search for patellar tendinitis to see what im talking about.

The knee is a funny one. I have a thing referred to as "weather forcasting knee", when there is changes in atmospheric pressure my knee does be killing me. Its mad...
Post by: Davitt Man on October 19, 2007, 01:07:47 PM
Lads

Most of ye are either finished playing or just about to finish with the club this year. What do ye do for the winter to keep in shape, gym, soccer, rugby? Has anyone got any good routines to stay fitish over the winter
Post by: AbbeySider on October 19, 2007, 01:57:30 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on October 19, 2007, 01:07:47 PM
Lads

Most of ye are either finished playing or just about to finish with the club this year. What do ye do for the winter to keep in shape, gym, soccer, rugby? Has anyone got any good routines to stay fitish over the winter

I started playing a little rugby with a Galway clubs 3rds to try an keep in shape. Sadly its referred to as "social rugby" so there isnt much fitness training involved. Just ball work and a few games of semi contact rugby. Im not quite getting what I expected out of it as regards fitness. Some nights you hardly break a sweat. It might step up a little in the coming weeks, we will wait and see.

Apart from that im gymin at least twice a week. Changing my workout every 8 weeks or so.
Apart from upper body I started doing light leg weights recently.
Leg extensions, Leg curls, leg press and jump squats (with just the weight of a heavy squat bar on the shoulders)
My reps are 15 x 15 x 15. I was reading from an NBA jump manual that its best to do light weights in an explosive technique than do heavy weights at lower and slower reps. Im also told that skipping is very important for speed so might give that a try. (although I feel like a monkey skipping in the gym because I couldnt skip to save my life so il practice at home!)
Also a little cycling (interval profile on gym bike... its really hard) and rowing.

I think il try and take up astro turf soccer too. I cant see it being a bad thing and it might be one of my very few cardio workouts in the weeks over the winter. Probably go for a few runs myself in the coming weeks but I dont find it helps much. Last year I was running laps of the race course but it wasnt improving my fitness much. Hard running and sprinting is probably better... We shall see.

Oh yeah... lots and lots of stretching...
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 19, 2007, 02:25:38 PM
Darbyo is a sports scientist,you now know who to direct your questions re Physical Fitness towards :D
Post by: darbyo on October 19, 2007, 03:23:07 PM
Post by: Davitt Man on October 22, 2007, 02:08:38 PM
Lads, is anyone a member of any gyms in south dublin? What are the membership fees?
Post by: stpauls on October 22, 2007, 02:28:22 PM
i have just got a program set up to help me bulk up a bit over the next 2 months and i will be starting it tonight, so if i can lift my arms to type in the morning, will let you know how i get on!!  :D :D
Post by: parttimeexile on October 22, 2007, 04:57:17 PM
Well lads has anyone here used the trainsmart programme. It lets you know your optimum level to work at for best effect.
Post by: Davitt Man on October 22, 2007, 05:18:09 PM
Is anyone a member of the Loughlinstown Gym, its pay as you go as well. Any opinions on it
Post by: Gold on October 22, 2007, 09:45:30 PM
Quote from: stpauls on October 22, 2007, 02:28:22 PM
i have just got a program set up to help me bulk up a bit over the next 2 months and i will be starting it tonight, so if i can lift my arms to type in the morning, will let you know how i get on!!  :D :D

wot does your program entail

ive promised myself il bulk up over the winter b4 im too old to ever realise my(obviously allstar ::) ) potential!

i mite need to join a gym first or would a set of dumbells suffice??
Post by: stpauls on October 22, 2007, 10:11:40 PM
Quote from: Gold on October 22, 2007, 09:45:30 PM
Quote from: stpauls on October 22, 2007, 02:28:22 PM

wot does your program entail

ive promised myself il bulk up over the winter b4 im too old to ever realise my(obviously allstar ::) ) potential!

i mite need to join a gym first or would a set of dumbells suffice??

this involves:

15 minutes on the treadmill at 9.8 kph
20 minutes on bike at effort level 7 at 80 rpm

4*8 sets of assited wide grip pull ups with 25Kg assistance
3/4*8 sets of berbell curls at 25Kg
4*8 sets of shoulder presses at 35kg
3/4*8 sets of butterflies at 35Kg
4*12 sets of leg press at 80Kg
3/4*12 sets of leg extensions at 35Kg

3*15-20 push outs (for abs)
3*25 angled sit-ups (about 30 degrees)

not having a lot of body strength, it was pretty tough, looking like i will be very stiff tomorrow!!
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2007, 10:23:39 PM
St Pauls.
I think you need to put a disclaimer on that program before some of our older, more out of fit posters go out and try that hell for leather. That first run on the treadmill seems a bit quick, unless my treadmill is in mph. I can see 5ive Times and POG dropping dead!
Post by: stpauls on October 22, 2007, 10:52:04 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 22, 2007, 10:23:39 PM
St Pauls.
I think you need to put a disclaimer on that program before some of our older, more out of fit posters go out and try that hell for leather. That first run on the treadmill seems a bit quick, unless my treadmill is in mph. I can see 5ive Times and POG dropping dead!

its only in KPH Puckoon, it is actually one of the easier ones i have done!! as i am trying to add a bit of muscle to my oul scrawny body, the cardio is only to burn fat!
the last one i was doing was 6 min @ 9kph, then the next 3 @ 10kph, then 2 @ 11 kph and another 2 @ 12 kph to finish off!! that for me was tougher!
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2007, 10:54:44 PM
I usually start at 7.5mph, then I move it up two notches every 1/5th of a mile, so my second mile will start at 8mph, 3rd at 8.5mph.I usually try and finish the 4th mile around 9.

Must be training above my fat loss zone though, I cant shift this fat! ::)
Post by: orangeman on October 22, 2007, 10:57:36 PM
Take a well deserved break till Christmas !
Post by: stpauls on October 22, 2007, 10:59:43 PM
are you sure it is in MPH Puckoon, cause personally i find any more than a couple of minutes at 12 kph for me is a lot, that would be about 7.5 MPH!!
as you can see,my stamina is not the greatest!
Post by: Frank Casey on October 22, 2007, 11:02:25 PM
Jesus lads ye have me wrecked I'm off to bed. ::) ::) ::)
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2007, 11:04:29 PM
Im as sure as I can be without going down and checking it out. It takes me about 23 and a half minutes to run those 3 miles on the treadmill. Takes me about 25 minutes outside where I cant push myself by making the machine go faster. Also, when I went on holidays this summer, the gym in the hotel had treadmills in kph, and it was hard to get used to the adjustment. Im almost sure theres no way it could be in kilometers.
Post by: stpauls on October 22, 2007, 11:21:24 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 22, 2007, 11:04:29 PM
Im as sure as I can be without going down and checking it out. It takes me about 23 and a half minutes to run those 3 miles on the treadmill. Takes me about 25 minutes outside where I cant push myself by making the machine go faster. Also, when I went on holidays this summer, the gym in the hotel had treadmills in kph, and it was hard to get used to the adjustment. Im almost sure theres no way it could be in kilometers.

fair enough, sounds about right! toburn fat you shouldn't need to go at that speed. a longer session at a lower speed will burn of more fat than a shorter stint at a higher speed! although i learnt that it doesn't matter how much work you do, you will not lose any weight if you keep having chocolate doughnuts with your 10 o'clock tea every morning!  :-[
Post by: Puckoon on October 22, 2007, 11:24:45 PM
I just get bored going slower, plus theres too many young things in there to impress. ;)
Ive a better way to not lose weight, Eat once a day, and make sure it has fat in it. Doesnt help either that Mrs Puckoon is pregnant.

"Did you say you wanted me to bring home Pizza love?" ::) :-[
Post by: stpauls on October 22, 2007, 11:27:05 PM
oh great, i have all that to look forward to!! the missus would say that now no bother and she is not pregnant!! a healthy appetite she has! although she is down the gym as much as me!

i know what you mean about the young women in these places, i am kinda glad herself goes with me, means my eye doesnt go a roving!!
Post by: take_yer_points on October 23, 2007, 03:50:17 PM
I go to the gym out in Uni - went back to study in the evenings so thought I'd avail of the £12 membership for the year and £1.60 every time I use the gym.

I use the threadmill more than anything - start off at 14 kph for about 3.5km and then start lowering it down as I get tired - most I've done so far is 9.5km. (I know people on here don't recommend the threadmill but I've got rid of a stone so far in the last 6 weeks so its doing the job!)

I find though that I get stuck on the threadmill and just keep running cause I don't know what weights I should be doing. What is best to do? Should I use the machines for doing weights or am I better to use the other weights? Should I be busting myself to lift the heaviest I can (won't be very heavy :)) or should I be lifting something lighter and doing as many reps as possible?

Any help's appreciated!
Post by: stpauls on October 23, 2007, 04:11:36 PM
take your points, it all depends on what you want to do, if you want to just tone up, lighter weights with more reps is what you should be doing, or to bulk up you would lift heavier weights with less reps.

best thing you could do if you want to lift weights is to get a program set up by some one there in the gym. they have the knowledge to know what you should be doing and what is good/bad for you!!!
Post by: AbbeySider on October 23, 2007, 04:24:57 PM
Quote from: stpauls on October 23, 2007, 04:11:36 PM
take your points, it all depends on what you want to do, if you want to just tone up, lighter weights with more reps is what you should be doing, or to bulk up you would lift heavier weights with less reps.

best thing you could do if you want to lift weights is to get a program set up by some one there in the gym. they have the knowledge to know what you should be doing and what is good/bad for you!!!

I totally agree with St Pauls, you should get a program from one of the gym instructors.
If you are not used to doing any weights then start off very light. Typical reps of someone starting out would be
X 12 really light weight (if not already warm), and then 3 X 10 of a comfortable weight.

If you get a program its better than starting off on your own. The instructor will show you proper techniques so you wont hurt yourself and help you get the maximum benefit from the weights.

Also a program will help you target all of you muscles. A lot of fellas in the gym just concentrate on certain muscles and forget about others. This can be dangerous because you need to keep a proper balance.
EG you could get into trouble if you do loads of situps and bench pressing and not develop your back and lower back in tandem.

A few years ago when I started doing weights I totally forgot about my lower back and got incredible pain when I ran a few yards! My balance was wrong and my lower back was weak. I worked on it for a few sessions and its all good again.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 23, 2007, 04:30:20 PM
its good practice to go with the free weights if you would like to improve your core stability,balance etc and generally make yourself more steady on your feet, although never sacrifice good posture/technique to hit your rep targets etc, or you will end up hurting yourself, ie back pains etc.better to lift slow and methodically than trying to burst yourself with bad technique to get best results.

if your looking to build muscular endurance then its light weights with many reps ie simple bicep curls with barbell/dumbells  - 4 sets of 20 reps @ xxkgs.
if its building muscle mass then its the opposite, heavier weights with low reps ie simple bicep curls with barbell/dumbells - 4 sets of 5 reps @ xxkgs.
if its muscular power (speed & strength) then your lookin at more dynamic movements, lunges, squats, clean sweeps,power lifts, dead lifts etc.

personally speaking treadmill only benefits you so much in that if your training for gaelic football or any outdoor sports then your best to try and stick to terrain similar to chosen sport although this time of year it is a bitch, and the treadmill i suppose can monitor your progress alot better, just not fussed on it myself. Go for a road run if ye can, tougher all round and ye will feel a bigger sense of satisfaction for it i feel.
an example of one of my own sessions

Warm Up - 1) 5-7 mins skipping at intervals - just light stuff to get loosened and not too boring
               2) 10 mins on the punch bag - not non stop, have my own routine - again not boring.
               3) Bench pressing - 4 sets of 10 reps @ 80kg
               4) Bicep/Tricep dips off a bench/chair of some sort - as many as possible in space of 30 secs.
                repeat the above 3 times with 20 secs interval break in between
               5) Power Lift/Dead Lift 5 sets of 10 reps @60kg
               6) 20 mins spinning on the bike - spinning style depends on music on mp3.

etc etc etc...changes from time to time, depending on season,pain im in etc.

Post by: take_yer_points on October 23, 2007, 04:30:49 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on October 23, 2007, 04:24:57 PM

I totally agree with St Pauls, you should get a program from one of the gym instructors.
If you are not used to doing any weights then start off very light. Typical reps of someone starting out would be
X 12 really light weight (if not already warm), and then 3 X 10 of a comfortable weight.

If you get a program its better than starting off on your own. The instructor will show you proper techniques so you wont hurt yourself and help you get the maximum benefit from the weights.

Also a program will help you target all of you muscles. A lot of fellas in the gym just concentrate on certain muscles and forget about others. This can be dangerous because you need to keep a proper balance.
EG you could get into trouble if you do loads of situps and bench pressing and not develop your back and lower back in tandem.

A few years ago when I started doing weights I totally forgot about my lower back and got incredible pain when I ran a few yards! My balance was wrong and my lower back was weak. I worked on it for a few sessions and its all good again.

Cheers guys! Think I'll ask one of the guys in the gym for something then!

I think the light weights starting off will get me started anyway. Thanks for your help!
Post by: stpauls on October 23, 2007, 04:35:50 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on October 23, 2007, 04:30:49 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on October 23, 2007, 04:24:57 PM

Cheers guys! Think I'll ask one of the guys in the gym for something then!

I think the light weights starting off will get me started anyway. Thanks for your help!

no problem mate, any time!!
Post by: catchandkick on October 23, 2007, 05:43:37 PM
Would love to do a weights programme to build up speed off the mark and only that. I'm 27 and I think I've done way too much bad training in my late teens early twenties- laps of the field, slogging in bad weather kind of endurance stuff. Have massive legs now a la Brian Dooher, Dara O'Cinneide but find I cant change pace much. Could jog around a field all day not a bother but find I get very tired doing a bit of a sprinting and even get cramps from sprinting even if very fit! Could beat most guys in a sprint but would only overtake them after about 50,60m

Any suggestions for a programme, fitness experts out there? Football season nearly at a close for me. GPA might sort me out with some dumbbells! The players come first!
Post by: AbbeySider on October 23, 2007, 11:44:10 PM
Quote from: catchandkick on October 23, 2007, 05:43:37 PM
Would love to do a weights programme to build up speed off the mark and only that. I'm 27 and I think I've done way too much bad training in my late teens early twenties- laps of the field, slogging in bad weather kind of endurance stuff. Have massive legs now a la Brian Dooher, Dara O'Cinneide but find I cant change pace much. Could jog around a field all day not a bother but find I get very tired doing a bit of a sprinting and even get cramps from sprinting even if very fit! Could beat most guys in a sprint but would only overtake them after about 50,60m

Any suggestions for a programme, fitness experts out there? Football season nearly at a close for me. GPA might sort me out with some dumbbells! The players come first!

I came across this website last year, it teaches proper techniques in ftness training sports science...

Check out : http://www.brianmac.co.uk/sprints/index.htm

Post by: AbbeySider on October 23, 2007, 11:45:30 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 23, 2007, 04:30:20 PM

Thats an incredible weight!

40 reps of 80kg ?
Post by: Bod Mor on October 24, 2007, 02:21:14 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on October 23, 2007, 11:45:30 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 23, 2007, 04:30:20 PM

Thats an incredible weight!

40 reps of 80kg ?

That's good going, fair play. I'm up to 4 sets of 10 reps @ 65kg and want to get that up to 80kg by Christmas. I want to get back playing Football for a team out here in Sydney for next year. I spent this year playing soccer but I miss the Football.

I notice going back through the pages that a lot of people use the treadmill for cardio. Lads, that is a pure waste of time. If you do half an hour on the treadmill and you compare that to running outside for that length, you will notice a huge difference.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 24, 2007, 08:36:36 AM
wo wo hold on thats 80kg including the standard 20kg olympic bar!!!so its only 60kgs really, forgive me.
I Gradually built up to that weight, its pretty much my comfort zone at the moment and i aint goin any higher, ive no need to right now. Dont get me wrong if i stopped for a week or so id be back down again to lower weights easily. Takin into consideration im tall and heavily built then its suitable enough for someone my physique.

got to agree with the treadmill issue though, stay off the dam thing..if ye trained flat out all winter on the treadmill then went to pre season thinkin that your goin to have a distinct advantage over the other guys then your mistaken, terrain is the key, train specifically to the environment your sport requires..its a bigger challenge and better in long run.(boom boom)

Cathandkick, sounds like you have developed your body through your early teens to suit long distance, endurance type activities and the bulk of your power lies in your thighs now. what you need to do is try and develop your fast-twitch muscle fibres instead of your slow-twitch, at the moment id say your at ratio of 75:25 slow to fast which basically means that your body has become accustomed to all those slogging sessions through the years and not enough explosive,speed,power based activities have been performed. you need to try and re-address the balance and since your still relatively young (peak age) then you should have no real problems. my advice (and im no expert) is to look into plyometrics, leaps, bounds, jumps etc within exercises. on the field your lookin to do shuttle runs over short distances with plenty of turns, loadsa cones etc. the emphasis is on short sharp bursts in various directions. alot of good techniques and advice can be found from Rugby coaches, magazines,books etc.read up on it and you will find its quite interesting.
Post by: tintin25 on October 24, 2007, 09:14:35 AM
With regards the Threadmill, I tend to use it myself, but only because it's more convenient to have access to the weights machines as well when I visit the gym. It would be abit of a pain having to jog the roads and then head to the gym to use any of the weights/cardio machines.
Post by: AbbeySider on October 24, 2007, 09:42:48 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on October 24, 2007, 08:36:36 AM
Cathandkick, sounds like you have developed your body through your early teens to suit long distance, endurance type activities and the bulk of your power lies in your thighs now. what you need to do is try and develop your fast-twitch muscle fibres instead of your slow-twitch, at the moment id say your at ratio of 75:25 slow to fast which basically means that your body has become accustomed to all those slogging sessions through the years and not enough explosive,speed,power based activities have been performed. you need to try and re-address the balance and since your still relatively young (peak age) then you should have no real problems. my advice (and im no expert) is to look into plyometrics, leaps, bounds, jumps etc within exercises. on the field your lookin to do shuttle runs over short distances with plenty of turns, loadsa cones etc. the emphasis is on short sharp bursts in various directions. alot of good techniques and advice can be found from Rugby coaches, magazines,books etc.read up on it and you will find its quite interesting.

Thats great advise Brick! The plyometrics are the introduction of ladders and hurdles. Stepping through quickly and explosively as well as jumping and pounding over the small 1ft hurls helps with speed in the legs. Buth from the moving from the side and and forward. Lots of sprinting back and over between cones helps too.  Check out http://www.brianmac.co.uk/plymo.htm
Post by: parttimeexile on October 24, 2007, 09:49:37 AM
I know a lot of people on here are very against the treadmill but would they reckon that it woulld be good for shiftin a few pounds/stone over the winter??
Post by: stpauls on October 24, 2007, 10:03:15 AM
Quote from: parttimeexile on October 24, 2007, 09:49:37 AM
I know a lot of people on here are very against the treadmill but would they reckon that it woulld be good for shiftin a few pounds/stone over the winter??

it is definately good for losing weight but as people said, it is not great for actual fitness. due to playing basketball, my ankles and knees are pretty fecked, and road running is not an option for me over the winter months, so the only thing i can do to stop my weight from going up over these months is to use it!!!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 24, 2007, 10:08:13 AM
great way to shift the pounds no doubt and is very useful for using other equipment in a similar environment and im in no way against it but i feel people overrate the thing a bit or rely on it too much.
how about a wee jog to the gym if its close by and then continue your session of weights etc then a light jog home again maybe by an alternative route.variety is essential in maintaining a good training programme, personally i just get bored running on the treadmill for an age.
Post by: take_yer_points on October 24, 2007, 10:21:45 AM
I've found it a good way to lose a few pounds. I've been doing some soccer training 2 nights a week but mostly on the threadmill - lost just over a stone in a few months - from just over 12 stone down to 11.

When I lose another few pounds I'll get out onto the road!!  :)
Post by: stpauls on October 24, 2007, 10:24:43 AM
i know what you mean Brick, it can get boring at times, but i make sure i have some music on the headphones that is loud and has a good rythym to it, i just concentrate on the music and the time just flies by!! and make sure it is music you really like, or it can just be annoying. i burned a cd specifically for just such a reason.
Post by: mannix on October 24, 2007, 10:30:23 AM
I hate threadmills but they are handy in bad weather or if you want to see a game and run at the same time.Running outside is a lot cooler and time goes faster i always find.Weight training is definetly good if you can get a good trainer to show you the ropes, a good trainer being a lad with muscle, he put it there with work and know how.
Post by: hmmm on October 24, 2007, 11:02:46 AM
The best weights excercises for speed are those the concentrate on the hip flexor/glute area such as Squats and Cleans. Complement this with some good core work, upper body maintenance and plyomterics (note that plyos excercises can do more harm then good if you haven't built up a half decent base of strength first before doing them) and you'll find your first 5 yards much improved after 3 months.

A sample winter session - all sets to be done at max weight:
4x3 cleans   - 2mins rest between sets
3x6 back squat - 2mins rest between sets
3x8 bench press  - 2mins rest between sets
3x8 bradford press - 2mins rest between sets
3x1min core holds - 90 secs between sets
3x12 crunches  - 90 secs between sets
3x10 atlas holds - 90 secs between sets

To be honest I wouldn't go off doing these yourself, get someone trained in strength and conditioning to show you how to do these properly otherwise you will definitely risk injury.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 24, 2007, 11:37:36 AM
Can anyone recommend a start up programme for someone looking to bulk up a bit over the winter.  I play senior ball but would consider myself a bit light and would like to increase my body mass over the winter.  I tell you now, anyone who is light will argue that it is harder to put on weight than to lose it.  Some people seem to pile on the weight while others like me cant put on a pound no matter how much i try.

Any recommendations would be welcomed.  I definitely think i need a realistic starting point and something to build on.
Post by: stpauls on October 24, 2007, 11:42:22 AM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on October 24, 2007, 11:37:36 AM
Can anyone recommend a start up programme for someone looking to bulk up a bit over the winter.  I play senior ball but would consider myself a bit light and would like to increase my body mass over the winter.  I tell you now, anyone who is light will argue that it is harder to put on weight than to lose it.  Some people seem to pile on the weight while others like me cant put on a pound no matter how much i try.

Any recommendations would be welcomed.  I definitely think i need a realistic starting point and something to build on.

DD12, see below for my program that i just got set up for exactly the same reason, though i am a bit soft around the middle and am planning to get it sorted too!!

program involves:

4*8 sets of assisted wide grip pull ups with 25Kg assistance
3/4*8 sets of barbell curls at 25Kg

Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 24, 2007, 11:47:49 AM
Quote from: stpauls on October 24, 2007, 11:42:22 AM
program involves:

4*8 sets of assisted wide grip pull ups with 25Kg assistance
3/4*8 sets of barbell curls at 25Kg

Cheers St Pauls.  Maybe you can clear up a few things for me..like excuse my ignorance on this one but what does butterflies entail, i cant picture in my head how to do them?

Also, how long have you been doing this program and are you seeing any results.  I once heard someone say that if you do 30 press-ups every night you can increase your strength by about 20 to 30% in a matter of weeks...any Truth in this?
Post by: stpauls on October 24, 2007, 12:11:25 PM
DD, only started that on Monday so no progress to be seen yet, although it did start one in January and did see it having an effect but it was not as tough as that as it was just to tone up and lose weight, but this one is to bulk up during the off season.

butterflies (or pec dec as it is called in the gym) is where you put your arms out to the side in a L shape, with your hands pointed upwards and pull the weights towards the centre, like so

(http://treadmillscentral.com/images/Pec%20Dec.jpg)

never heard that about the push ups but probably wouldn't do you any harm!!
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 24, 2007, 12:16:58 PM
Quote from: stpauls on October 24, 2007, 12:11:25 PM
DD, only started that on Monday so no progress to be seen yet, although it did start one in January and did see it having an effect but it was not as tough as that as it was just to tone up and lose weight, but this one is to bulk up during the off season.

butterflies (or pec dec as it is called in the gym) is where you put your arms out to the side in a L shape, with your hands pointed upwards and pull the weights towards the centre, like so

(http://treadmillscentral.com/images/Pec%20Dec.jpg)

never heard that about the push ups but probably wouldn't do you any harm!!

Thanks St Paul, and yes i would do her above  ;).  Just thought id throw that in since Laois Lad has destroyed our fun on the would you/wouldn't you thread by locking it  >:(  Spoil sport LL
Post by: stpauls on October 24, 2007, 12:39:42 PM
spoilt brat more like it!! taking a hissy fit and throwing his toys out of the pram!!!
Post by: catchandkick on October 24, 2007, 01:31:11 PM
Cheers for advice Brick Tamlin and hmmm, I have tried plyometrics and find them very good but its a very short term effect I find, once you stop doing it you seem to regress into your normal speed, might give the weights prog as suggested by hmm, have been always been slightly wary of weights just thinking that putting too much muscle on will slow the person down even more, some of the older Armagh footballers were a case in point I think on this

Thanks anyway,
catchandkick
Post by: stpauls on October 24, 2007, 01:37:07 PM
i think the older part of that statement may have been what slowed the Armagh players down, not the weights!
as long as they are done properly, the weights will benefit, not hinder you!
Post by: hmmm on October 24, 2007, 02:51:13 PM
Quote from: catchandkick on October 24, 2007, 01:31:11 PM
Cheers for advice Brick Tamlin and hmmm, I have tried plyometrics and find them very good but its a very short term effect I find, once you stop doing it you seem to regress into your normal speed, might give the weights prog as suggested by hmm, have been always been slightly wary of weights just thinking that putting too much muscle on will slow the person down even more, some of the older Armagh footballers were a case in point I think on this

Thanks anyway,
catchandkick

The weights program I posted would be a sample day of a 3 day a week program (off season). The excercises are specifically for power not bulk (that's why the reps are low, the reps are also done explosively), I've been doing these weights for over 3 years and I haven't noticed any bulk increase in my legs and my upper body has just become stronger and more toned but not bigger. I have noticed my sharpness, first 5 yards and change of direction speed improving dramatically.
Post by: AbbeySider on October 24, 2007, 03:07:29 PM
Quote from: hmmm on October 24, 2007, 11:02:46 AM
4x3 cleans   - 2mins rest between sets
3x6 back squat - 2mins rest between sets
3x8 bench press  - 2mins rest between sets
3x8 bradford press - 2mins rest between sets
3x1min core holds - 90 secs between sets
3x12 crunches  - 90 secs between sets
3x10 atlas holds - 90 secs between sets

Im am wondering what Atlas Holds and Cleans are?

Is a Clean the same as a dead lift?  :-\

Never heard of that Atlas Hold but it reminds me of yer man from Greek mythology holding the earth  ???  ;D
Post by: hmmm on October 24, 2007, 03:57:22 PM
This is a clean:
http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/Clean.html

And I actually do this one, the hang clean:
http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/HangClean.html

Atlas holds are hard to describe. you'd have to see them being done

Post by: AbbeySider on October 24, 2007, 04:56:46 PM
Quote from: hmmm on October 24, 2007, 03:57:22 PM
This is a clean:
http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/Clean.html

And I actually do this one, the hang clean:
http://www.exrx.net/WeightExercises/OlympicLifts/HangClean.html

Atlas holds are hard to describe. you'd have to see them being done

:o

I suppose I do the dead lift which is like half a clean... il try it !
cheers !
Post by: darbyo on October 24, 2007, 06:07:23 PM
For all of you looking for advice on improving different aspects of your fitness be careful of others who don't know you advise. With the best of intentions suggesting what worked for you to someone else can be dangerous. Plyometrics should only be done by lads who have a 2-3 year base of strength training. Also exercises like cleans, snatches, power and cleans are all technically difficult exercises and shouldn't be done by novice weightlifters.
                          If you want to improve your speed do a sprint session 2/3 times a week with plenty of rest between runs. If you want to bulk up or lose weight then your diet is more important than your training regime (especially when loosing weight). When bulking up the type, amount and timing of your diet is crucial. These are general points that are applicable to all, for a specific training plan your height, weight, age, training history, goals, free time and medical history would need to be known. So don't rush off doing weights that are too heavy for you or exercises that you are unfamiliar with as an injured athlete is definitely not improving.
Post by: hmmm on October 25, 2007, 10:53:03 AM
Darbyo, agreed! I did put a disclaimer in my first post on weights. The ones I posted especially the cleans and squats shouldn't even be attempted unless supervised by a strength and conditioning qualified coach. It took me at leat 6 months to get the technique right under supervision.
Post by: Davitt Man on August 01, 2008, 02:25:00 PM
Has anyone tried this

Shuttles

5 cones.... 5m, 10m, 15m, 20m, 25m.

Each cone and back is total of 150m....

You have 30 seconds to complete the 150m and you record your distance completed as per the last cone you pass/reach in the 30 seconds...

You have 30 seconds recovery between each run.....

You do 6 runs with the ultimate goal to complete 900m in the 5 min 30 sec (3 minutes sprinting/2min 30 secs recovery).

By the way.. not a hope of getting 900m unless you are an athlete of serious calibre training fulltime.

I tried this last night at training, fecking tough had to take more than 30secs bewteen runs though. I managed 30seconds on the 1st run but then it was 31 32 for the next 5 runs.
Post by: neilthemac on August 06, 2008, 12:38:01 AM
A bit of gymwork every week increases the metabolism - it helps you to keep body fat down and process energy better. it doesn't have to be to make you stronger or bigger

to be honest, if ye were playing hurling ye'd just be out pucking a ball against a wall most of the time. baseball ye'd be practicing hitting the ball - same with golf, basketball - shooting hoops,

so why not spend more time kicking a ball around than doing all this running? ye probably do enough running at training - it is called football after all. spend €100 on a few footballs and practice kicking points and passes etc

would make more sense.
Post by: Zulu on August 06, 2008, 02:05:59 PM
It's very easy to use the ball and work players cadio systems during any training session and I'm sure most county teams are doing this. The problem is a lot of county players don't do enough on their own to improve their own weaknesses.