Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on August 02, 2007, 12:02:05 PM

Title: Break in at IFA and pilfering of new away kits
Post by: T Fearon on August 02, 2007, 12:02:05 PM
Police suspect a white working class Ulster Protestant who is opposed to the Long Kesh stadium and who has never played football on Sunday nor been to see A Night in November ;D
Title: Re: Break in at IFA and pilfering of new away kits
Post by: T Fearon on August 02, 2007, 12:47:38 PM
Believe it or not, I have a North of Ireland jersey in my wardrobe, won in a competition a year or two ago, I kid you not.
I am waiting until I lose another stone, then I'll get Healy's name and number on it and show off my new slim figure round town wearing it ;D
Post by: Hardy on August 02, 2007, 12:49:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 02, 2007, 12:47:38 PM
I am waiting until I lose another stone

Jays Tony nobody would wish that on you. I didn't even know you'd lost the first one.
Post by: ziggysego on August 02, 2007, 12:54:01 PM
Quote from: Hardy on August 02, 2007, 12:49:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 02, 2007, 12:47:38 PM
I am waiting until I lose another stone

Jays Tony nobody would wish that on you. I didn't even know you'd lost the first one.

:D I'm actually laughing out loud here in the office. Getting a few funny looks
Post by: MW on August 02, 2007, 01:28:14 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 12:43:25 PM
My nephew has confessed to this, he said he did it because the new kit was so hard to get in Newry and as Windsor is such a welcoming place he felt he wouldnt look right without the proper kit. He is currently learning the words of the billy boys and other such fine songs. He is turning his back on the GAA as he prefers the multicultural IFA. He is against The Maze and Gweyltah is his hero.

Good to see you're following up your new-found penchant for fiction! Everyone's needs a hobby...
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 01:51:50 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 01:46:30 PM
And you can go back to you land of make believe where sectarianism is a myth and everyone supports Norn Iron.  :D

Don't think anybody has said that sectarianism is a myth. The only person inventing myths was you with your claims about the crowd singing the Billy Boys.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 01:53:46 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 01:51:50 PM
Don't think anybody has said that sectarianism is a myth. The only person inventing myths was you with your claims about the crowd singing the Billy Boys.

::) ::)
Here we go again
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 01:56:55 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 01:55:18 PM
Who am I to believe, my nephew or an apologist for a bigotted sectarian soccer team? You choose?

You can believe whoever the fcuk you like. You were caught out bullshitting and should have the balls to admit it.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 01:59:37 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 01:56:55 PM
Who am I to believe, my nephew or an apologist for a bigotted sectarian soccer team? You choose?

You can believe whoever the fcuk you like. You were caught out bullshitting and should have the balls to admit it.

In fairness Sammy, how was he caught out?

he said his nephew experienced it, you said he didnt, thats about it  :-\
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 02:00:59 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 01:58:21 PM
I wasnt bullshitting.
Yes you were, wou said the corwd were singing the Billy Boys, they weren't.
So you are telling me that Windsor is not a sectarian shit hole?
WTF are you on about? I have not seen or heard any sectarianism at WP in the last 10 or 15 years. In what way is it a 'sectarian shithole'?
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 02:01:43 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 01:59:37 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 01:56:55 PM

In fairness Sammy, how was he caught out?

he said his nephew experienced it, you said he didnt, thats about it  :-\

No he said that the crowd at WP were singing the billy boys, they weren't, he was bullshitting.
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 02:02:32 PM
He also claimed that catholic players get abused
who told you that 5times?
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:03:01 PM
Jesus H Christ  ::)
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 02:04:44 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:03:01 PM

Excellent response.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:11:37 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 02:04:44 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:03:01 PM

Excellent response.

I've already given my repsonse to the exact same comments.
I dont have the patience to indulge you and repeated it, AGAIN  ::)
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 02:12:11 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 02, 2007, 02:02:32 PM

Anton Rogan, Neil Lennon etc.
WTF are you on about?
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 02:09:07 PM
Windsor Park is in my opinion a no go area for Catholics.
Lie
It is situated in a Loyalist Ghetto
Lie
and is bedecked with Loyalist Flags and Loyalist songs and anthems are sung at games.
Lie
Catholics do not feel welcome in such an environment.
Lie
Now I have only been to Windsor once, for an Irish League game Linfield v Newry Town many years ago, but going by my nephews experience it hasnt changed much in the intervening period.I do not know one Catholic who goes to Internationals in Windsor, nor do I know any that support NI. I rest my case and please dont go making up stories of taking taigs to game we all know that is a lie.
Pathetic.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:17:26 PM
I love how nearly every one of them conveniently has catholic "mates" who always go to the games with them.
Whats that smell?
BULLSHIT  :D :D :D
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 02:19:33 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 02:13:55 PM
So Sammy G, a Norn Iron supporting Prod can speak for every Catholic in the North. Well done Sammy, you fuckin eejit

1) I'm not a Prod
2) I haven't claimed to speak for anybody, you're the one doing that (including telling all the Catholics who support NI and attend matches that they're apparently in a no go area)
3) If you type bollix you can't be surprised when you get pulled up about it
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 02:20:02 PM
QuoteI do not know one Catholic who goes to Internationals in Windsor, nor do I know any that support NI.

You question someone else for speaking for all catholics, but presume you can yourself, simply by virtue of being catholic yourself?
It is not necessary for you to know them for them to exist.

QuoteI rest my case and please dont go making up stories of taking taigs to game we all know that is a lie.

rest your case implies youve proven something - anything - about the argument at hand.

So you think im lying that i take catholics to NI games ::)

Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 02:20:32 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:17:26 PM
I love how nearly every one of them conveniently has catholic "mates" who always go to the games with them.
Whats that smell?

Why is it bullshit? Impossible to have catholic mates?
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 02:21:35 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:17:26 PM
Whats that smell?

Why should I not have Catholic mates that I go to games with? I would have thought it would be stranger if I didn't.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:22:40 PM
Not impossible, but for all of ye, when it suits to strengthen an argument about Catholics being welcome, to claim to go with Catholic mates.
I wont say you are lying, I take that back, lets just say its "within the realms of possibility"  ;)
Post by: mooncatiii on August 02, 2007, 02:26:11 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 02:00:59 PM
I wasnt bullshitting.
Yes you were, wou said the corwd were singing the Billy Boys, they weren't.
So you are telling me that Windsor is not a sectarian shit hole?
WTF are you on about? I have not seen or heard any sectarianism at WP in the last 10 or 15 years. In what way is it a 'sectarian shithole'?

I NO NEIL LENNON DIDN GET ANY SECTARIAN ABUSE IN TH LAST 10 R 15 YEARS! 
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 02:29:09 PM
ive mentioned my mates who have been on numerous occasions before.
Ive mentioned one of my best mates who has been a block booker for a number of years on several occasions before also.

I didnt just invent them today.
Post by: mooncatiii on August 02, 2007, 02:30:58 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 02:12:11 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 02, 2007, 02:02:32 PM

Anton Rogan, Neil Lennon etc.
WTF are you on about?
Windsor Park is in my opinion a no go area for Catholics.
Lie
It is situated in a Loyalist Ghetto
Lie
and is bedecked with Loyalist Flags and Loyalist songs and anthems are sung at games.
Lie
Catholics do not feel welcome in such an environment.
Lie
Now I have only been to Windsor once, for an Irish League game Linfield v Newry Town many years ago, but going by my nephews experience it hasnt changed much in the intervening period.I do not know one Catholic who goes to Internationals in Windsor, nor do I know any that support NI. I rest my case and please dont go making up stories of taking taigs to game we all know that is a lie.
Pathetic.

I THINK MOST CATHOLICS ON HERE CAN TELL YOU THAT THEY DONT FEEL SAFE IN WINDSOR PARK AND IT IS IN A LOYALIST GHETTO...ITS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE VILLAGE FFS, I WOULDN FEEL SAFE DRIVIN THROUGH THERE NEVER GOIN AND WATCHIN GAMES
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:32:09 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 02, 2007, 02:29:09 PM
Ive mentioned one of my best mates who has been a block booker for a number of years on several occasions before also.

I realise thats possible.
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 02:33:33 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:32:09 PM

thank you for your support
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 02:41:12 PM
Its within the realms of possibility that I accept your thanks  ;)
Post by: MW on August 02, 2007, 04:06:48 PM

a bigotted sectarian soccer team?

a sectarian shit hole?

Thank you for making your agenda starkly clear. Hardly a dispassionate reporter, are you?

If you're going to bullshit about sectarian singing, best not do it in the (online) presence of people who actually go to matches, eh ::)
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 04:10:26 PM
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 02, 2007, 02:30:58 PM
I THINK MOST CATHOLICS ON HERE CAN TELL YOU THAT THEY DONT FEEL SAFE IN WINDSOR PARK
So people who've never been don't feel safe but people who go to every match do feel safe. I think I'd rather take the opinion of somebody who's actually been, thanks all the same
AND IT IS IN A LOYALIST GHETTO...ITS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE VILLAGE FFS
Which bits of Windsor Park are in the 'middle of the village'?
I WOULDN FEEL SAFE DRIVIN THROUGH THERE NEVER GOIN AND WATCHIN GAMES
I've been going to WP for over 30 years and I've never once driven through the Village (or even near it) to get to a match, nor would I want to.
Post by: Orior on August 02, 2007, 04:18:15 PM

It is possible. I reckon nifan is referring to castle catholics who live in Holywood, who go to Methody, who were only taught british history, who carry british passports, who have never been further south than Lisburn, who have never been near a gaelic match, and who play rugger. They do exist. I doubt if nifans buddies went to a catholic schhol and played gaelic for their parish.

So endeth the lesson is all things wrong with the occupied six counties.
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 04:21:26 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 04:19:24 PM
Obviously Sammy & Co are burying their heads in the sand. They have been brough up on a diet of Sectarianism and dont actually realise that the "other side" have rights as well. They believe that Northern Ireland is a place run by Protestants, for Protestants. Catholics dont matter in their world.
Meanwhile back in the real world, I do not know any Catholics who attend N. Ireland games regularly. I know plenty of soccer fans, but none of them go to Windsor. AM I alone in this or do any of the posters on this board attend Windsor regularly if at all?

Nice to see the bigottry coming out as well as the bullshit. It must be hard moving about with the size of that chip on your shoulder.  ::)
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 04:22:51 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 02, 2007, 04:18:15 PM

It is possible. I reckon nifan is referring to castle catholics who live in Holywood, who go to Methody, who were only taught british history, who carry british passports, who have never been further south than Lisburn, who have never been near a gaelic match, and who play rugger. They do exist. I doubt if nifans buddies went to a catholic schhol and played gaelic for their parish.

Nothing like a bit of naked sectarian bigottry and pathetic stereotyping, to make the afternoon fly by.  ::)
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 04:23:52 PM
Very good orior, but incorrect on all fronts im afraid.
Various housemates past and present where involved with GAA, up to and including county level.
None where from Holywood, went to methody etc. Not too sure about the passports - i dont check that.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:27:14 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 02, 2007, 04:23:52 PM
Very good orior, but incorrect on all fronts im afraid.
Various housemates past and present where involved with GAA, up to and including county level.
None where from Holywood, went to methody etc. Not too sure about the passports - i dont check that.

I doubt thats true.
I suppose its within the realms of possibility.
(This is easy)
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 04:29:13 PM
yes it is easy, but i dont know why your continuing it with me.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:31:28 PM
Annoying isnt it,
thank MW for teaching me that one  ;)
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 04:35:22 PM
mw isnt the only person to question whether someone is telling the truth - 5times has called me a liar on several occasions here.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:37:08 PM
Well I've learned from MW today that you can cry "liar" at just about anything you dont want to hear.
Post by: MW on August 02, 2007, 04:46:16 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:37:08 PM
Well I've learned from MW today that you can cry "liar" at just about anything you dont want to hear.

Not about anything you don't want to hear. It's extremely rare for me to call anyone a liar. I'm not averse to hearing uncomfortable truth

5ivetimes is however a person who's demonstrated his extreme prejudice against NI fans, and seeminly holds som pretty warped views of Protestants. And I was at that match, and know plenty of others who were - I have a plethora of first hand experience that there was no singing of the Billy Boys that night. Add those together, and I feel perfectly safe in accusing 5ivetimes of bullshitting, for very obvious motives.
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 04:48:10 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 04:37:28 PM
I have not called you a liar, in fact the opposite is true.
I have accused you of living in a fantasy world, where Sectarianism doesnt exist in Windsor Park. You have yet to prove otherwise.

You called me a liar here for a start:

QuoteI rest my case and please dont go making up stories of taking taigs to game we all know that is a lie.

I live in the real world where i go to every game and see the reality. I didnt say there was no bigots in windsor. I say the crowds dont chant the billy boys or the like, and that catholic players dont get abuse like you said.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:49:11 PM
Quote from: MW on August 02, 2007, 04:46:16 PM
5ivetimes is however a person who's demonstrated his extreme prejudice against NI fans, and seeminly holds som pretty warped views of Protestants. And I was at that match, and know plenty of others who were - I have a plethora of first hand experience that there was no singing of the Billy Boys that night. Add those together, and I feel perfectly safe in accusing 5ivetimes of bullshitting, for very obvious motives.

It could also be said that you are denying this happened for very obvious motives
Post by: MW on August 02, 2007, 04:53:18 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:49:11 PM

It could also be said that you are denying this happened for very obvious motives

I'm denying it happened because it didn't happen. I was there. When such things have happened I've actually commented pretty extensively on them and done my bit to stamp them out.

And I'm not acting out of prejudice and bigotry.
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 04:53:58 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:49:11 PM

FFS matches at WP aren't some sort of secret society, they're open to anybody (as long as you can get a ticket), they're broadcast live on TV and radio (and even on the interweb). If any of the shite that 5Times claims had actually happened, surely somebody, either in the ground or watching the TV, would have noticed. Especially as 5Times admits that he's never even been to an NI match.
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 04:55:21 PM
5times - catholics DO attend games.
Billy Boys is NOT sung (unless by a small pocket here or there which i havent run into)
Catholic players are not abused.

Was it Orior who was at the game vs Spain and didnt hear anything untoward as well?

im not blinkered, nor a liar despite your claims
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:58:36 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 04:53:58 PM
If any of the shite that 5Times claims had actually happened, surely somebody, either in the ground or watching the TV, would have noticed. Especially as 5Times admits that he's never even been to an NI match.

Who is to say people in the ground didnt notice it? They arent all on the internet you know.
And if a small few sang it its very unlikely you would have heard it on the telly, it would want to be a pretty loud chant involving a lot of people to be picked up on the telly.

There is one reported eye witness, but you conveniently discredit 5times so you can rubbish the account of his nephew.
You cant win  ::)
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 05:02:02 PM
Look lads it is entirely possible that there was something happened, withought it making its way onto the internet.

The fact is it WASNT widespread. Thats all that can be known.

At the end of the day if the kid experienced some people singing it and it put him off then thats a bad thing and why we have and continue FFA -it isnt a finished project.
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 05:02:36 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:58:36 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 04:53:58 PM
If any of the shite that 5Times claims had actually happened, surely somebody, either in the ground or watching the TV, would have noticed. Especially as 5Times admits that he's never even been to an NI match.

Who is to say people in the ground didnt notice it? They arent all on the internet you know.
And if a small few sang it its very unlikely you would have heard it on the telly, it would want to be a pretty loud chant involving a lot of people to be picked up on the telly.

There is one reported eye witness, but you conveniently discredit 5times so you can rubbish the account of his nephew.
You cant win  ::)

No I rubbished 5times claims that the crowd were singing the Billy Boys, this did not happen. You then changed this to be a few dickheads, which is obviously possible but still very unlikely.
Post by: MW on August 02, 2007, 05:04:57 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:58:36 PMThere is one reported eye witness,

No there isn't. There's one person who has shown an extreme prejudice against the NI team and apparently also against Protestants, who claims have an eyewitness. An 'eyewitness' whose report via '5ivetimes' runs contrary to what I and others who were actually at the match experienced.
Post by: MW on August 02, 2007, 05:09:15 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 02, 2007, 05:02:02 PM
Look lads it is entirely possible that there was something happened, withought it making its way onto the internet.

The fact is it WASNT widespread. Thats all that can be known.

Indeed. And the basis of 5ivetimes's little bout of jackanory was that was wasn't a tiny linited instance.

At the end of the day if the kid experienced some people singing it and it put him off then thats a bad thing and why we have and continue FFA -it isnt a finished project.

Indeed, and sadly it's the case that a kid from whatever background could hear a few scumbags in this situation and be put off. There are certainly people among our support who would like to sing this sort of shite if they were allowed to, and I wish they'd feck off and never darken our door again.
Post by: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 05:09:53 PM
Quote from: MW on August 02, 2007, 05:04:57 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 04:58:36 PMThere is one reported eye witness,

No there isn't. There's one person who has shown an extreme prejudice against the NI team and apparently also against Protestants, who claims have an eyewitness. An 'eyewitness' whose report via '5ivetimes' runs contrary to what I and others who were actually at the match experienced.

You choose not to listen to him because of your own bigotry, from what I see its been a two way street here.
Post by: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 05:12:54 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 05:09:53 PMYou choose not to listen to him because of your own bigotry, from what I see its been a two way street here.

How does criticising somebody for spouting sectarian bullshit make you a bigot?
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 05:14:33 PM
hhn, when he claimed that it was a lot of people singing the billy boys, i find it difficult to believe as i was there and heard nothing, as where many i know around the ground.
Post by: MW on August 02, 2007, 05:20:15 PM

I disblieve him for two reasons -
1 - what I along with my friends and family members witnessed
2 - his abusive, prejudiced comments which show he has an axe to grind.
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 05:09:53 PM
Quote from: MW on August 02, 2007, 05:04:57 PM

You choose not to listen to him because of your own bigotry, from what I see its been a two way street here.

I disblieve him for two reasons -
1 - what I along with my friends and family members witnessed
2 - his abusive, prejudiced comments which show he has an axe to grind.

Now what is your justification for calling me bigoted? At least have the courtesy and the balls to justify that comment.

As for 'two way street' - I challenge you to find anything I've said about any group of people which is akin to what 5ivetimes has said today in relation to the NI team, and bringing in sectarian crap.
Post by: MW on August 02, 2007, 05:21:29 PM

Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 05:12:54 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on August 02, 2007, 05:09:53 PMYou choose not to listen to him because of your own bigotry, from what I see its been a two way street here.

How does criticising somebody for spouting sectarian bullshit make you a bigot?

That's what I'd like to know ???

Quote from: nifan on August 02, 2007, 05:14:33 PM
hhn, when he claimed that it was a lot of people singing the billy boys, i find it difficult to believe as i was there and heard nothing, as where many i know around the ground.

You're probably a 'bigot' too, now  :-\
Post by: Solomon Kane on August 02, 2007, 05:55:06 PM
Quote from: Orior on August 02, 2007, 04:18:15 PM

Utter bastards, aren't they? Imagine not toeing the party line and not thinking the way they are supposed to.
Post by: Chrisowc on August 02, 2007, 06:22:01 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 04:52:10 PM
MW, FFS call a spade a spade. By NI fans you mean Protestants.
I would actually watch the odd NI game on TV, I was delighted when they beat England and indeed Spain. I supported them in both the 82 and 86 world cups. I have nothing against sports fans of any class or creed (except Armagh fans), but I cannot stand bigotry, especially at a sporting event. In my opinion, Catholics are still not welcome at Windsor for NI games. Everyone it seems can see this except the most blinkered, those who attend the games. I rest my case.

http://www.uefa.com/uefa/keytopics/kind=4/newsid=448323.html (http://www.uefa.com/uefa/keytopics/kind=4/newsid=448323.html)

Post by: ziggysego on August 02, 2007, 07:37:59 PM
Admin, can you set up a separate thread for bickering? This is getting boring.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 02, 2007, 07:46:41 PM
i fail to see whats funny about football shirts being stolen  ::)
Post by: Orior on August 02, 2007, 08:44:15 PM
Quote from: SammyG on August 02, 2007, 04:21:26 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 04:19:24 PM
Obviously Sammy & Co are burying their heads in the sand. They have been brough up on a diet of Sectarianism and dont actually realise that the "other side" have rights as well. They believe that Northern Ireland is a place run by Protestants, for Protestants. Catholics dont matter in their world.
Meanwhile back in the real world, I do not know any Catholics who attend N. Ireland games regularly. I know plenty of soccer fans, but none of them go to Windsor. AM I alone in this or do any of the posters on this board attend Windsor regularly if at all?

Nice to see the bigottry coming out as well as the bullshit. It must be hard moving about with the size of that chip on your shoulder.  ::)

I've lived and worked in north and east Belfast for the past 20 years or so. I have a large number of social friends, work friends, golfing friends etc etc. I dont know any of the catholc religion that would support the six county soccer team.

Hang on... wait a minute....

I suppose there is Gerry Armstrong and Pat Jennings.
Post by: nifan on August 02, 2007, 11:37:19 PM
5times - i never claimed it is full of catholics. Trying to twist whats said to ludicrous extremes doesnt make your point any more valid.
I know many more prods who attend NI games than catholics, but the fact remains that I do know some catholics who attend.
Can you honestly say that no catholics attend NI games. You cant because you know you would be wrong.

And just because none of the 1500 people on this board have "admitted" to going doent make it any less true that they do.

Again youve accused me (and the others on this occasion) of lying, but im telling you one of my best friends is a block booker with me, and posts on owc to boot.
This guy attended the red high (not methody), and played gaelic in newcastle and for queens - so he isnt a castle catholic or the like orior.
Post by: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 12:25:58 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 10:14:35 PMOrior each and every member of OWC seems to take a Catholic friend ti the games, there`ll soon be no room for the prods in Windsor. Maybe thats why they need a new stadium.  ;)
Do you ever get tired typing sh1te?
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 10:14:35 PM
So far not one member of this board, almost 2000 people have admitted attending NI games. But Sammy and co keep telling us the place is full of Catholics.

When did anybody say that NI games were 'full of Catholics'?
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 10:14:35 PM
Someone is telling pork pies and it isnt us.

You're right you've got us. We actually have a series of lie-detectors on the way into matches. Everybody is given a detailed quiz on the history of the Orange Order and the local UVF batallion. Anybody that can't answer all the questions is shot and there body is eaten at half-time.

Or maybe you're just full of shit.  ::)
Post by: stew on August 03, 2007, 02:24:19 AM
Nifan I have went to games and as you well know I was in Chicago. I saw out of about 1500 nordie fans about 7 or eight Catholics  were there, they were easy to spot what with their GAA tops on! ;)

As for the rest of them I dont know but at a guess I would say maybe 10 more so say there were 20 catholics at the game, multiply the crowd by ten and multiply the number of catholics by ten and there you have a rough estimate of the number of catholics that attend wp for games where the north are playing.

I would say that 150 would be a generous number of Catholics attending the norths home games.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 09:01:07 AM
Quote from: stew on August 03, 2007, 02:24:19 AM
Nifan I have went to games and as you well know I was in Chicago. I saw out of about 1500 nordie fans about 7 or eight Catholics  were there, they were easy to spot what with their GAA tops on! ;)

As for the rest of them I dont know but at a guess I would say maybe 10 more so say there were 20 catholics at the game, multiply the crowd by ten and multiply the number of catholics by ten and there you have a rough estimate of the number of catholics that attend wp for games where the north are playing.

I would say that 150 would be a generous number of Catholics attending the norths home games.

Why would any nationlist(catholic) support a ni team? Goes against everything they believe in/support/seek doesnt it? Despite all the wonderful lectures we get on seperating politics and sport etc, supporting anything ni extrapolates to supporting the current "relationship" with the brits. If you dont support that......
Its an irrelevant debate and Fearon knows it, he is just shit stirring. Who cares what they sing at Windsor? If they want to police themselves then fair play to them, thats a sign of something in itself.
Post by: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 09:07:40 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 09:01:07 AM

Why would any nationlist(catholic) support a ni team? Goes against everything they believe in/support/seek doesnt it? Despite all the wonderful lectures we get on seperating politics and sport etc, supporting anything ni extrapolates to supporting the current "relationship" with the brits. If you dont support that......
Its an irrelevant debate and Fearon knows it, he is just shit stirring. Who cares what they sing at Windsor? If they want to police themselves then fair play to them, thats a sign of something in itself.

Or to use the exact same (ridiculous) argument, how could any Nationalist support the partitionist FAI? Surely if you accept that you're supporting a partitionist team, you might as well support the one that represents your bit of the island.
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 09:11:02 AM
QuoteWho cares what they sing at Windsor?

I certainly do.

Stew - how did you come to the number 10 or 20? Its a guess as you said, so it has absolutely no basis in fact. The fact is nobody knows how many catholics go - not me, not you, not 5times nor tony. WHat is undeniable is that some do, and regularly.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 09:36:28 AM
Quote from: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 09:07:40 AM

Or to use the exact same (ridiculous) argument, how could any Nationalist support the partitionist FAI? Surely if you accept that you're supporting a partitionist team, you might as well support the one that represents your bit of the island.

Blah Blah Blah get off the roundabout Sammy its all been covered before, 32 county remit, derry city, gibson and okane, fifa rules, hitler youth etc.
Tootle off and enjoy your wee team while you can. Very very few on here are interested in it bar a bit of shit stirring. It will never appeal to a large number of people no matter what way you dress it up. If you want everyone to come together and shout for the same team, start a campaign for one team.......leave the logistics  and semantics of flags anthems locations to "concerned from where ever".
By all means defend your honour should you need to, but cease with all this crap that its a team for everyone.

Ps Ive said it before , International football/soccer is f**king crap at the best of times.
Post by: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 09:41:04 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 09:36:28 AM

Blah Blah Blah get off the roundabout Sammy its all been covered before, 32 county remit, derry city, gibson and okane, fifa rules, hitler youth etc.
Tootle off and enjoy your wee team while you can. Very very few on here are interested in it bar a bit of shit stirring. It will never appeal to a large number of people no matter what way you dress it up. If you want everyone to come together and shout for the same team, start a campaign for one team.......leave the logistics  and semantics of flags anthems locations to "concerned from where ever".
By all means defend your honour should you need to, but cease with all this crap that its a team for everyone.

Ps Ive said it before , International football/soccer is f**king crap at the best of times.

Brilliant articulate response as always. Close your eyes, cover your ears and whistle loudly and all reality just disappears.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 09:55:07 AM
Well it seems to work for you doesnt it.

Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 09:58:04 AM

Sammy why do you care, some people view the ROI team as their team
If people support the ROI team its their perogative - we should simply be concerened with ensuring anyone who chooses to support NI can do so in an atmosphere which permits them.
Post by: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 10:04:36 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 03, 2007, 09:58:04 AM

Sammy why do you care, some people view the ROI team as their team
If people support the ROI team its their perogative - we should simply be concerened with ensuring anyone who chooses to support NI can do so in an atmosphere which permits them.

I don't care at all, I was simply replying to the nonsense that AFR was spouting. If people want to support the RoI or Engerlund then that's up to them, my problem is with people spouting about the NI support and how 'nationalists could never follow NI' when it's clearly untrue.
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 10:26:51 AM
I don't care at all, I was simply replying to the nonsense that AFR was spouting. If people want to support the RoI or Engerlund then that's up to them, my problem is with people spouting about the NI support and how 'nationalists could never follow NI' when it's clearly untrue.

Makes a mockery of Sammys Exclusion from the GAA theory doesnt it.
I knew he would get there in the end with a bit of prompting....
Post by: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 10:36:55 AM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 10:26:51 AM

Makes a mockery of Sammys Exclusion from the GAA theory doesnt it.
I knew he would get there in the end with a bit of prompting....

WTF ??? ???
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 10:42:16 AM
Quote from: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 10:04:36 AM

sammy maybe u should listen to what people r sayin here, windsor park is not the most of inviting places to go in fact it is one place that i would never set foot in for an NI ireland match!  all the good will in the world will not change the fact it is in the middle of a loyalist ghetto!  granted the IFA has taken measures to stamp sectaranism out of the game but the facts r that the people goin to the matchs is still largely th same people who booed neil lennon because he signed for celtic!   no doubtin i watch NI  games on TV an have an interesst in them but i would never go to a match
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 10:48:33 AM
Quoteit is in the middle of a loyalist ghetto

please stop this, its simply not in the case. Have a look at the map and see where windsor is - "middle of a ghetto, hardly.

Quotethe facts r that the people goin to the matchs is still largely th same people who booed neil lennon because he signed for celtic

Im not sure how many of the couple of hundred who booed lennon are regulars at the games. The fact are that the majority of people who supported lennon and said "not in our name" about the events are still the same people going matches.
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:00:09 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 03, 2007, 10:48:33 AM
Quoteit is in the middle of a loyalist ghetto

please stop this, its simply not in the case. Have a look at the map and see where windsor is - "middle of a ghetto, hardly.

Quotethe facts r that the people goin to the matchs is still largely th same people who booed neil lennon because he signed for celtic

Im not sure how many of the couple of hundred who booed lennon are regulars at the games. The fact are that the majority of people who supported lennon and said "not in our name" about the events are still the same people going matches.

MATE I DONT NEED TO LOOK AT ANY MAPS YOU CAN SEE GOIN PAST ON THE TRAIN AND DRIVIN THROUGH TH AREA IN TH CAR THAT IT IS A LOYALIST GHETTO!  IF IT ISN'T WOULD YOU WALK THROUGH TH AREA THAT WINDSOR IS IN WITH AN RoI TOP ON R A gaa TOP?

AND IT WAS MORE THAN A COUPLE OF HUNDRED, CERTAINLY ALOT MORE PEOPLE SAID IT WAS NOT IN THEIR NAME BUT THERE WAS STILL A FAIR AMOUNT BOOED! 

EITHER WAY FOLLOWING NI IS NOT APPEALING TO NATIONALISTS AND THE MAIN REASON IS WINDSOR!  I AM NOT TRYIN TO ARGUE, I AM JUS PUTTIN MY POINT ACROSS AND TELLIN THE NATIONALIST PERSPECTIVE!  IT IS A FACT U CANNOT DISPUTE IT
Post by: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 11:06:34 AM
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:00:09 AMMATE I DONT NEED TO LOOK AT ANY MAPS YOU CAN SEE GOIN PAST ON THE TRAIN AND DRIVIN THROUGH TH AREA IN TH CAR THAT IT IS A LOYALIST GHETTO! 
Why would you drive past WP unless you were going to a match. The roads around WP don't go anywhere other than to the ground?
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:00:09 AM
IF IT ISN'T WOULD YOU WALK THROUGH TH AREA THAT WINDSOR IS IN WITH AN RoI TOP ON R A gaa TOP?
You see loads of GAA tops on the Lisburn Road, every day of the week.
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:00:09 AMEITHER WAY FOLLOWING NI IS NOT APPEALING TO NATIONALISTS AND THE MAIN REASON IS WINDSOR!  I AM NOT TRYIN TO ARGUE, I AM JUS PUTTIN MY POINT ACROSS AND TELLIN THE NATIONALIST PERSPECTIVE!  IT IS A FACT U CANNOT DISPUTE IT
So you make up nonsense and then use that nonsense as your reason not to follow the team. Brilliant logic.
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 11:09:14 AM
QuoteMATE I DONT NEED TO LOOK AT ANY MAPS YOU CAN SEE GOIN PAST ON THE TRAIN AND DRIVIN THROUGH TH AREA IN TH CAR THAT IT IS A LOYALIST GHETTO!
The lisburn road is not a loyalist ghetto, and it is simple to get to the stadium from it - the way i go there.
I see many people on the lisburn road in GAA tops, or with GAA training bags. I have lived on the ormeau road on and off for 5 years of the last 10.

QuoteAND IT WAS MORE THAN A COUPLE OF HUNDRED, CERTAINLY ALOT MORE PEOPLE SAID IT WAS NOT IN THEIR NAME BUT THERE WAS STILL A FAIR AMOUNT BOOED!
Where do you get your perspective of the amount who booed from? Many people cheered every touch of neil lennon that night. The booing was a disgrace, and it was an odd situation with those booing him and many cheering him at the same time.

QuoteI AM JUS PUTTIN MY POINT ACROSS AND TELLIN THE NATIONALIST PERSPECTIVE!  IT IS A FACT U CANNOT DISPUTE IT

It is not fact, it is your opinion, and you are entitled to it. However you cannot talk for all nationalists. I can easily dispute the points of your argument when they are incorrect.
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:21:36 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 03, 2007, 11:09:14 AM
QuoteMATE I DONT NEED TO LOOK AT ANY MAPS YOU CAN SEE GOIN PAST ON THE TRAIN AND DRIVIN THROUGH TH AREA IN TH CAR THAT IT IS A LOYALIST GHETTO!
The lisburn road is not a loyalist ghetto, and it is simple to get to the stadium from it - the way i go there.
I see many people on the lisburn road in GAA tops, or with GAA training bags. I have lived on the ormeau road on and off for 5 years of the last 10.

QuoteAND IT WAS MORE THAN A COUPLE OF HUNDRED, CERTAINLY ALOT MORE PEOPLE SAID IT WAS NOT IN THEIR NAME BUT THERE WAS STILL A FAIR AMOUNT BOOED!
Where do you get your perspective of the amount who booed from? Many people cheered every touch of neil lennon that night. The booing was a disgrace, and it was an odd situation with those booing him and many cheering him at the same time.

QuoteI AM JUS PUTTIN MY POINT ACROSS AND TELLIN THE NATIONALIST PERSPECTIVE!  IT IS A FACT U CANNOT DISPUTE IT

It is not fact, it is your opinion, and you are entitled to it. However you cannot talk for all nationalists. I can easily dispute the points of your argument when they are incorrect.

SamjyG and Nifan, u 2 r useless to talk to can u not comprehend what i am sayin here, it is not nonsense WP is right beside the village area and weather u like it or not noone i know would go near for that reason!  i am tellin you the opinion of every nationalist i no!  the main reason more catholics do not follow NI is because of the stadium!  

and sammyG what r u implyin that i go to matches? how is roads around WP only used for matches!

u 2 r obviously goin to come with some stupid argument sayin that i am wriong but u cannot speak for nationalist...if any nationalists on here think i am wrong then speak up
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 11:24:35 AM
I do look at it from that perspective.

I live a few minutes away from windsor, with 4 catholic lads. I used to live even closer with them They walk throught the area every day. The lisburn road area has a large catholic population. Your point doesnt make any sense in that regard. How do you think these people go about their daily business?
You see GAA shirts and bags there evey day of the week.
Iplay in a football league in olympia and people wear ROI shirts or gaa shirts there all the time too.

QuoteYes, you may know the odd taig who goes to a game, but I bet he doesnt wear his local club or county jersey under his jacket now does he
No they dont, but conversly I dont wear a NI shirt to GAA games either.

QuoteAnyone who is there, is there in the name of sport, not on some sectarian flag waving excercise
Pure sectarian comment.

Quoteand its unwillingness to reach out to the other community.
so NI football makes less effort to reach out to the other community. Tell mewhat the GAA could teach us here?
Ignore the efforts of the IFA in, for example the recent andytown night league they ran etc. why dont you.

Quotebut we dont feel comfortable at NI games for obvious reasons.
YOU dont, fair enough but dont presume to talk for everyone

QuoteI dont know how many people sang the billy boys, but it was sung and as a result an impression was made on that group of young lads and it wasnt a positive one.

And i personally never denied he did, but stated that it would have been a very small minority. Like I said I wouldnt use something like that to tar the entire gaa community, but thats exaclty what you have done in your posts.
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 11:27:21 AM
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:21:36 AM
SamjyG and Nifan, u 2 r useless to talk to can u not comprehend what i am sayin here, it is not nonsense WP is right beside the village area and weather u like it or not noone i know would go near for that reason!  i am tellin you the opinion of every nationalist i no!  the main reason more catholics do not follow NI is because of the stadium!  

and sammyG what r u implyin that i go to matches? how is roads around WP only used for matches!

u 2 r obviously goin to come with some stupid argument sayin that i am wriong but u cannot speak for nationalist...if any nationalists on here think i am wrong then speak up

i comprehend what you say, i disagree.
right beside is a lot different than in the middle of which was what was said earlier.
ill make this simple, many catholics live RIGHT BESIDE windsor, on the streets off the lisburn road. How can they live there but not walk in the area?

I cant speak for nationalists, and neither can you. You can speak for yourselves or others youve discussed this with.
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:41:05 AM
nifan u dont understand i dont expect u to either tho all im sayin is i am not slagging of NI as ido watch them on tv and i am not slagging of the IFA  as undoubtably they r doin great cross community work but the main issue is the location of WP it is in a loyalist area weather it be across th road it is still to close for comfort!  lets put it like this, i do not know of a single catholic who has been to an NI match or would even contemplate it!  and it is because of the area they would have to go through to get to th match they could not feel at ease! 
Post by: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 11:44:59 AM
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:41:05 AMand it is because of the area they would have to go through to get to th match they could not feel at ease! 
Forgetting all the rest of the arguments, for a minute, can you please explain why you would walk through a Loyalist area to get to WP? Genuine question as I don't understand what you're saying. I've been going to WP for 30 odd years and I've never been through the Village in my life (nor would I want to).
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 11:46:59 AM
mooncatii, many catholics live right beside windsor in the streets off lisburn road - thay have to cross a footbridge and they are at the stadium, hhow can it be too close for comfort - they live in the area.

The only area they have to go through is the one they live in - can you understand what i am saying
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 11:49:15 AM
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:41:05 AM
nifan u dont understand i dont expect u to either tho all im sayin is i am not slagging of NI as ido watch them on tv and i am not slagging of the IFA  as undoubtably they r doin great cross community work but the main issue is the location of WP it is in a loyalist area weather it be across th road it is still to close for comfort!  lets put it like this, i do not know of a single catholic who has been to an NI match or would even contemplate it!  and it is because of the area they would have to go through to get to th match they could not feel at ease! 

Nah , I disagree, why would the location of what was once a stadium be the only factor that puts you off. The area etc is just one aspect of it. It certainly not the only reason.
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 11:59:03 AM
Quote from: nifan on August 03, 2007, 11:46:59 AM
mooncatii, many catholics live right beside windsor in the streets off lisburn road - thay have to cross a footbridge and they are at the stadium, hhow can it be too close for comfort - they live in the area.

The only area they have to go through is the one they live in - can you understand what i am saying

yes for people tthat live in th area but can u understand what im sayin tht for the rest of the who live all over northern Ireland walkin down the lisburn rd with it draped in flags for the 12th is not the most inviting!  and most catholics in my opinion would say that WP is in th village! 

and An Fear Rua, so u do agree with me then that the area is factor...for me and alot of others it a major factor1  without wanting to get into a debate about this but if the ground was elsewhere i would consider goin to a match!   but aside from the ground there is other issues of course
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 12:03:58 PM
Quoteand most catholics in my opinion would say that WP is in th village!

So if a lot of people are incorrect, but theres enough of them, its ok

And now you seem to appreciate its ok for the catholics who live there, so would you admit it isnt a loyalist ghetto?
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 12:05:04 PM
yeah the ground/area is a factor for people, but personally speaking it certainly wouldnt be anywhere near the top reason.
In fact it would probably never even be a consideration for me, as Id never make it that far down my checklist....
Post by: SammyG on August 03, 2007, 12:10:38 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 12:05:04 PM
yeah the ground/area is a factor, but personally speaking it certainly wouldnt be anywhere near the top reason.
Any chance of letting us know your top ten (or how ever many there are) reasons?
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 12:28:10 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 03, 2007, 12:03:58 PM
Quoteand most catholics in my opinion would say that WP is in th village!

So if a lot of people are incorrect, but theres enough of them, its ok

And now you seem to appreciate its ok for the catholics who live there, so would you admit it isnt a loyalist ghetto?

nah mate your twisting things...i no WP is not in the village but it is too close for comfort u cant seem to accept this!  u cannot say people or incorrect if they feel intimidated in an area!  if u go back an read 5times post it sums it up well! 

and how do i no that all the catholics who live there go to the games...do u no that for a fact? 

it seems to be like u dont understand and don't want to understand.  i as a catholic would feel intimidated goin to WP and i no that alot of other catholics would feel the same! i am sure there are alot of other reasons but i can assure that i do not a single catholic who has ever been to a NI game, im sure there has been plenty but th overwhelming majority of catholics would follow RoI
Post by: T Fearon on August 03, 2007, 12:29:12 PM
As one who reserves the right to parade nonchalantly unhindered  into Windsor Park to accept invitations of Hospitality in the Viewing Lounge or to get memorabilia signed by the likes of Jurgen Klinsmann, or indeed for any legitimate reason,using any of the access routes available (including the Village) I can say that they overriding reason for my lack of support for the North of Ireland team is the use of exclusively unionist paraphernalia. I see nothing, and I mean nothing whatsoever, that acknowledges the existence even, of my community at Windsor Park on international match occasions
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 12:33:56 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 03, 2007, 12:29:12 PM
As one who reserves the right to parade nonchalantly unhindered  into Windsor Park to accept invitations of Hospitality in the Viewing Lounge or to get memorabilia signed by the likes of Jurgen Klinsmann, or indeed for any legitimate reason,using any of the access routes available (including the Village) I can say that they overriding reason for my lack of support for the North of Ireland team is the use of exclusively unionist paraphernalia. I see nothing, and I mean nothing whatsoever, that acknowledges the existence even, of my community at Windsor Park on international match occasions

surely they can apply for a Weight Watchers franchise??

Why would you want to go and support anyway Tony? You an Ulster Nationalist now?
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 12:41:47 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 12:33:56 PM

surely they can apply for a Weight Watchers franchise??

Why would you want to go and support anyway Tony? You an Ulster Nationalist now?

what is your point here, he said his lack of suppport!  he goes to windsor as he accepts invitations which presumably is part of his job! u r an ulster nationalist then to, seein as u r from ulster one of the four provinces of ireland!  explain to me what an ulster nationalist is? im interested to hear your response
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 12:42:58 PM
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 12:28:10 PM
nah mate your twisting things...i no WP is not in the village but it is too close for comfort u cant seem to accept this!  u cannot say people or incorrect if they feel intimidated in an area!  if u go back an read 5times post it sums it up well! 

and how do i no that all the catholics who live there go to the games...do u no that for a fact? 

it seems to be like u dont understand and don't want to understand.  i as a catholic would feel intimidated goin to WP and i no that alot of other catholics would feel the same! i am sure there are alot of other reasons but i can assure that i do not a single catholic who has ever been to a NI game, im sure there has been plenty but th overwhelming majority of catholics would follow RoI

All the catholics who live there dont go to games, nor do all the protestants, you are being absurd. I am talking about the makeup of the area.

Im not saying they are wrong, I am saying that many dont, and that it isnt in a loyalist ghetto which was claimed.

Quoteim sure there has been plenty but th overwhelming majority of catholics would follow RoI
I am aware that the majority of catholics of support the ROI, and im not overly bothered by it - its their choice
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 12:57:51 PM
Quote from: nifan on August 03, 2007, 12:42:58 PM
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 12:28:10 PM

All the catholics who live there dont go to games, nor do all the protestants, you are being absurd. I am talking about the makeup of the area.

Im not saying they are wrong, I am saying that many dont, and that it isnt in a loyalist ghetto which was claimed.

Quoteim sure there has been plenty but th overwhelming majority of catholics would follow RoI
I am aware that the majority of catholics of support the ROI, and im not overly bothered by it - its their choice

there is a handfull of catholics go to games in my opinion, working on the ratio of every catholic i no none of them would go watch NI!  and it is a stones throw from a loyalist ghetto and most definitely in a heavily unionsit area!  u don't seem to want to accept this u r talkin from a protestant point of view, and i am talkin from a catholics point of view and no matter how u dress it up windsor park and surrounding area is intimidating to catholics and they do not feel safe!  no bpdy on this board has come out to say they feel safe in windsor so u cannot base th argument on your assumption that hundreds of catholics reegularly go to watch to NI
Post by: An Fear Rua on August 03, 2007, 12:59:36 PM
The internet is a wonderful source of information, but seeing as its you http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_nationalism (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_nationalism)

I'm a nationalist from Ulster not an Ulster Nationalist
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 01:03:55 PM
now explain how t fearon goin to hospitality suites at WP makes him a follower of the UDA
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 01:14:23 PM
mooncatii, are you mad - youve continually stated that catholics cant feel safe in the area - HUNDREDS live there.
You dont know them, but you not knowing them has no bearing on this argument. If you lived in the area you would know them.
I dont know any protestants who live in enniskillen for example, but that doesnt mean there arent any

i live with catholics in the area, so i can see from the catholic point of view as well - im hardly overtly protestant either.
You may find the area intimidating, but to say it is "intimidating to catholics" is a stretch - it isnt to the many who live there.
Post by: Chrisowc on August 03, 2007, 01:19:02 PM

OK.  Here we go again.  This is now the 4th time I have asked you to justify this statement since I joined this board and you have yet to show me how Northern Ireland supporters or the team use "exclusively unionist paraphernalia"

So please enlighten me.
Post by: GweylTah on August 03, 2007, 01:23:40 PM
The attitudes of neanderthal bog-men here are indicative of the sort of midset we saw in 1980s Yugosavia, where they would have been more comfortable with forced population movements as well as partition.  Is it any wonder non-nationals get a hard time in Ireland?
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 01:27:13 PM
to be honest u r doin my head in, ive made my point in that cathloics dont feel safe in there and that goes for all the 1s that i no!  but u cant seem to get that into your thick head!   u keep arguin that catholics do feel safe when u r on a board full of cathoilics and not one person has came out an said that they would feel safe in Windsor park!   the team is death and its a shithole anyway coupled with the fact its in a loyalist hole!  
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2007, 01:28:00 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on August 03, 2007, 01:23:40 PM
The attitudes of neanderthal bog-men here are indicative of the sort of midset we saw in 1980s Yugosavia, where they would have been more comfortable with forced population movements as well as partition.  Is it any wonder non-nationals get a hard time in Ireland?

whats your problem with Bogmen?

are you saying theres something wrong with working in Bogs and cutting turf?  >:(
Post by: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 01:40:58 PM

what history book did u read that out of?  because it has absolutely nothin to do with any thing on here! 
Post by: nifan on August 03, 2007, 01:44:04 PM
Quote from: mooncatiii on August 03, 2007, 01:27:13 PM
to be honest u r doin my head in, ive made my point in that cathloics dont feel safe in there and that goes for all the 1s that i no!  but u cant seem to get that into your thick head!   u keep arguin that catholics do feel safe when u r on a board full of cathoilics and not one person has came out an said that they would feel safe in Windsor park!   the team is death and its a shithole anyway coupled with the fact its in a loyalist hole!  

who you calling thick?
I can understand your argument, but the fact is youve obviously no idea of the local area or its make up.
You base it on the "1s that i no". Obviously they dont know the area either,

The board may be full of catholics, and i bet that some of them have lived in the lisburn road area - maybe they havent read this thread. Many others wont know the slightest thing about the area windsor is in - considering the board has people from across ireland.

YOU dont speak for catholics.
i can go by "1s that i no" that people do live in the area, feel safe there, and some do go to matches.

Quotethe team is death and its a shithole anyway coupled with the fact its in a loyalist hole!  

I can only assume you are supposed to be some zany character.
Post by: Rossfan on August 03, 2007, 07:32:28 PM
non-nationals get a hard time in Ireland?

Like being burnt out/intimidated into leaving  Loyalist areas in the 6 north Eastern Counties for example.
I think that's giving people a hard time but then again after 2 or 300 years of doing it to "fenians" that probably seems normal behaviour to  Gway.....
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2007, 07:39:34 PM
she likes making up these random comments then runs away when anyone pulls her up on them.

Non Nationals have came in great numbers to this country.

Has racism been evident in the attitudes of some irish born people towards them? Sure

Have we instigated race riots against foreign nationals and those of a different colours and cultures like Gweytafuck's "fellow countrymen and women" did in Bradford and oldham?
The answer to that is NO.  :)

we should be proud of the way we have opened up our country to foreign nationals and have accepted them in such a graceful way.

Im guessing thats just the way us irish act.
Post by: GweylTah on August 03, 2007, 08:59:06 PM
As an Irish citizen myself, what was all that about Bradford and Oldham about Bally-man?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2007, 10:33:57 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on August 03, 2007, 08:59:06 PM
As an Irish citizen myself, what was all that about Bradford and Oldham about Bally-man?

As an British citizen which im sure you are you should be concerned with SOME of your fellow british citizens treatment of foreign nationals and those whom are descended from Foreign nationals in places like Bradford and Oldham and other cities in the North East of England

As an Irish Citizen you should be proud  of the way that the vast majority of irish citizens on the island of Ireland have welcomed foreign nationals to these shores .

Understand now dear?
Post by: GweylTah on August 03, 2007, 10:57:58 PM
All I hear are complaints about foreign nationals taking jobs, drinking and driving (though rural pubs in Ireland campiagn against anti-drinking and driving) and that there too many of them in Ireland, in spite of the fact that Ireland benefitted from foreign riches as part of the British Empire and later the world in general opened welcoming arms to our own emigrants.

How soon we forget.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on August 03, 2007, 11:23:04 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on August 03, 2007, 10:57:58 PM
All I hear are complaints about foreign nationals taking jobs, drinking and driving (though rural pubs in Ireland campiagn against anti-drinking and driving) and that there too many of them in Ireland, in spite of the fact that Ireland benefitted from foreign riches as part of the British Empire and later the world in general opened welcoming arms to our own emigrants.

How soon we forget.

the world welcomed us with open arms,Give me a break FFS

Two Countries were most of our emigrants went to

The United States

our emigrants were treated like shite in the US,We were alongside the Black and Italian communities at the lowest level of soceity.This was due to the anti-Catholicism of the Protestant majority settlers.It was only through hard work that the Irish became successful and tolerated in the US.
Nobody came to their aid.

Britain

Welcomed with open arms?
The Paddies were hated by the native brits for taking all the low paid jobs.
Even better,was the treatment of the Irish during the IRA terror campaign,it was as if every Irish person was an IRA gunman.
Ross McWhirther and other influential people wanting to effectively intern the entire Irish Community.

But sure in your world
a few idiots on Joe Duffy complaining about Foreigners taking jobs and drinking and driving and playing loud music in the middle of the night is us giving "Foreign Nationals a hard time here".
ive news for you,They love it here.Theres a reason Ireland is known as the land of a thousand welcomes.

i await the typical insult ridden post as a response,telling me to get "laid" or something.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 04, 2007, 01:27:58 AM
Quote from: GweylTah on August 03, 2007, 10:57:58 PM

How soon we forget.

All part of the debate that takes place in every nation that takes in a huge amount of immigrants in a short space of time and all fine and healthy as long as both points of view are debated and considered and it's left at that.

Yet for all this debate there have never been any race riots or mass organised harrassment and attacks of immigrants that have been prevalent in many other countries not to mention most recently and almost exclusively in Loyalist parts of the north.

Funny that.
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2007, 11:31:27 AM
GweylTach, with all due respect what are you blathering on about

"drinking and driving"

this is a massive problem amongst imigrants - 12% of those caught in NI are foreign immigrants out of a population of less than 1% (i believe these where the figures)
why shouldnt people talk about this.

you do more damage than good with your twisting
Post by: GweylTah on August 04, 2007, 12:03:56 PM
Those were NI figures got by the BBC last week, not the Republic, isn't that right?  The big problem in the South isn't with immigants, but with rural pubs, rural publicans and rural drinkers who feel it is their right to drink and drive, it's well known and indeed the continual opposition to stricter drinking and driving laws and Garda powers on the subject is well-known, that isn't twisting anything, though we are all going well off the original subject.
Post by: nifan on August 04, 2007, 12:19:54 PM
Yes - i said they where the ni figures in my pot - im sure they will be discussed as well in the bars of NI.

there are huge problems with immigrant drink driving in the ROI also - check out the number involved in accidents. It is a major part of the problem there.
Do you think the same immigrants dont drink drive once they hit the border?

As for rural publicans - there arent any in the north either?

Your obviously trying to portray those in the ROI as racists, and there are many - ive seen plenty of racism there, but are they any worse than our own?
Get off that high horse once in a while
Post by: GweylTah on August 04, 2007, 12:28:26 PM
There have been long-established pressure groups in the South from rural communities, including publicans and indeed even politicians, opposing strict policing of drinking and driving laws because they could undermine rural social life, etc. I'm not aware of any of this in the North. Are you?

I don't think I'm on any high-horse appreciate your counsel.
Post by: Awec on August 04, 2007, 06:50:55 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 12:43:25 PM
My nephew has confessed to this, he said he did it because the new kit was so hard to get in Newry and as Windsor is such a welcoming place he felt he wouldnt look right without the proper kit. He is currently learning the words of the billy boys and other such fine songs. He is turning his back on the GAA as he prefers the multicultural IFA. He is against The Maze and Gweyltah is his hero.

Apologies for replying to this so far on in the thread, but if you are implying that the billy boys or other sectarian shite is sung at Northern Ireland matches then you are very much mistaken. I just feel I should point this out before you make other uneducated allegations and look like a bigger fool. :)
Post by: SammyG on August 04, 2007, 10:16:55 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 04, 2007, 09:15:27 PM
Ahh Fcuk Off, you`ll be telling us that they dont sing GSTQ next or wave sectarian rags.
And next time use your own name  ;)

What 'sectarian rags' are waved at WP? I've been going for 30 odd years and have never once seen any sort of sectarian emblem displayed but I'm sure you'll know better.
Post by: Awec on August 05, 2007, 12:56:39 PM
Ahh Fcuk Off, you`ll be telling us that they dont sing GSTQ next or wave sectarian rags.

So we are sectarian for singing GTSQ?  :o

I've never seen a sectarian flag at windsor, only green and white ones or the northern ireland flag. ???
Post by: stew on August 05, 2007, 03:22:20 PM
Quote from: Awec on August 05, 2007, 12:56:39 PM

So we are sectarian for singing GTSQ?  :o

I've never seen a sectarian flag at windsor, only green and white ones or the northern ireland flag. ???

I have been there and seen plenty of sectarian flegs. I have stood in the stands and listened to the filth coming out of the mouths of hundreds of 'fans' and I saw a former manager in his last game show himself up for what he was by inciting the scum element among owc supporters when they played the republic in wp.
Post by: MW on August 05, 2007, 05:52:13 PM

Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 02, 2007, 04:52:10 PM
MW, FFS call a spade a spade. By NI fans you mean Protestants.

No, by NI fans I mean NI fans. If I meant Protestants, I'd say Protestants. It's really quite simple.
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 03, 2007, 11:16:15 AMAlso the flags and emblems used at these games are not what we associate ourselves with.

Celtic cross, shamrocks, emerald green included?

Yes, you may know the odd taig who goes to a game, but I bet he doesnt wear his local club or county jersey under his jacket now does he?

Interesting - making some sort of point along the lines of 'proper' Catholic = wearing a GAA top? Not sure that would meet with universal agreement on here.

I, like many others on this board, do not know one single person who goes to NI games, catholic or protestant. The empty stands are testament to that fact. Meanwhile Croke Park will be full again on 2 ocassions this weekend and no one will have to worry about class, colour or creed.

Empty stands??

Once again, you've demonstrated yourself as a poorly-informed bullshit merchant with a massive prejudice. Whether its about empty stands or sectarian songs, it seems bullshitting and lying are your fallback positions.

For you information NI matches sell out to capacity, you clueless clown.

QuoteThe story about my nephew was 100% true. I dont know how many people sang the billy boys, but it was sung and as a result an impression was made on that group of young lads and it wasnt a positive one.

Strange you were able to give it some sort of attempt at quantification yesterday, and use it as 'justification' for saying the NI team is a "bigotted sectarian soccer team" ::) Reverse, reverse...
Post by: MW on August 05, 2007, 06:29:03 PM
You're just showing how spectacularly ill-informed you are - your claims are based on nothing but prejudice and preconception.

Anyone with anything appraching a basic level of knowledge about NI games would know that block bookings for this qualifying seres, and for the last series, have been completely sold out (with many more applications for tickets than tickets available), and that we've had capacity crowds not just against the likes of England but also the likes of Estonia.

Try dealing in facts not your own prejudiced inventions and preconceptions.

Two more things - I never said "sectarianism is a myth". What a wierd comment. And secondly, saying NI matches are "fully of billy boys and bigots" demonstrates no-one's bigotry but yours, since you have nothing to base such a slur on.
Post by: nifan on August 06, 2007, 09:14:59 AM
5times, i suggest its you that need to move on.
Not only are you going on about what happens in Windsor in a position of almost complete lack of knowledge, bar your nephew being at a friendly many years ago, you are now making clames that the place is rarely full when in fact its a sellout with people unable to get tickets.
This point is a fact, unlike much of the opinion being bandied round, and your refusal to accept it speaks volumes.

Quotewe see windsor park as a shit hole, full of billy boys and bigots
I do see thats what you believe, but in fact you are wrong. yet you still manage to spout "facts"
Post by: Main Street on August 06, 2007, 02:13:54 PM
I donĀ“t know what all this denial is about from the  Night in November. I listened to that game on the radio and the commentators were droned out clearly on at least 3 occasions by belly bursting versions of the Billy Boys. I can't take anybody seriously who denies that. If Billy Bingham was seen and reported waving his hands to someone he knows in the stands while this was happening then it was just a misunderstanding of his intentions.

According to the BBC the Billy Boys is an important piece of Ulster culture so maybe it is not a hate song.

Things certainly look different these days at WP.

The use of the slogan  Ulster says no to the Maze doesn't inspire me at all

The FFA if serious could  offer 10 tickets to 5ive Times etc. and if they live to tell the tale we can all hear how it goes. I am pretty sure that if one fecker shouts no surrender under his breath 5ive Times will out him.
Post by: nifan on August 06, 2007, 02:26:23 PM
FFA should take tickets away from fans so that 5times can go in the hope of being insulted?

no surrender is shouted by some at windsor during the anthem unfortunately. It is one of the remaining problems for FFA to work on. It is quieter than in the past, but it still occurs unfortunately - it is my belief that some people dont realise that this is not part of GSTQ.
Post by: Main Street on August 06, 2007, 02:37:11 PM
I can see it now.
the  "GAA fans refused tickets for Windsor Pk" story.

Then wtf is all the speculation about nationalists feeling more safe at WP if they can't get a ticket even if they wanted to?
You guys need a bigger decent stadium.
Post by: stew on August 06, 2007, 07:46:12 PM
C'mon 5 times, they arent all bigots!
Post by: nifan on August 06, 2007, 10:54:48 PM
QuoteI have heard the sectarian chanting that goes/went on at Internationals
you seem pretty shady on the details from your nephew at a single match from years ago - ie how many it was etc - so how can you be sure what goes on now

you obviously dont as you keep repeating the same thing over and over with no back up.
Post by: SammyG on August 07, 2007, 08:45:14 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 06, 2007, 06:35:34 PM
Firstly, I wouldnt set foot in Windsor. Ive been there once for a Newry Town game many moons ago and wouldnt want to go back. I have heard the sectarian chanting that goes/went on at Internationals and I dont think it is the type of place that most Nationalists would want to go.
This should be good, what sectarian chanting and when did you hear it? (While your answering I wouldn't mind an answer about the sectarian flags as well thanks)
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 06, 2007, 06:35:34 PM
Maybe the IFA should be allowed to keep playing in Windsor. It seems to suit them and their band of bigotted followers.
So we're all bigots are we.
Post by: nifan on August 07, 2007, 11:36:58 AM
Quotewe do have the benefit of the media. i.e. TV, Newspapers, Radio, etc.

all of which have highlighted the good work done over the years, something which you have chosen to ignore as of yet.
Weve even had a recent report on here from a poster who was at the Spain game
Post by: nifan on August 07, 2007, 11:45:24 AM
5times - im sorry but you have said, and repeated, that the NI game atmosphere is basicly prodfest of sectarian chanting, now the spain atmosphere was fantastic?
Post by: SammyG on August 07, 2007, 11:53:37 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 07, 2007, 11:49:55 AM
To watch it on the TV yes, it did seem great, as did the Engerland game, but these are exceptional games. Normality will be restored when the more mundane games resume and the bigots have nothing to cheer.
The odd good game/atmosphere doesnt change anything. How would the crowd react if it was NI v RoI?

There has been a block booking scheme in place, for several years, so the same people (give or take) are at every match. Why do you think they are suddenly going to start singing sectarian songs, when they haven't doen so in previous years?

p.s. Still waiting for details of the sectarian flags, when you get a minute.
Post by: MW on August 07, 2007, 01:40:35 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on August 07, 2007, 11:49:55 AM
To watch it on the TV yes, it did seem great, as did the Engerland game, but these are exceptional games. Normality will be restored when the more mundane games resume and the bigots have nothing to cheer.

It may not fit your preconceptions, but the type of atmosphere have have now (for ALL matches) was the same one that we had when we were going through our world-record-breaking goalless spell 4 years ago.