Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: umgolaarmagh on July 19, 2007, 11:02:30 AM

Title: Black Friday - Dublin Construction Industry
Post by: umgolaarmagh on July 19, 2007, 11:02:30 AM
Have been hearing reports that there will be major redundancies mainly in labour in Dublin, from what i here its been already called "BLACK FRIDAY" has anyone heard anything about this
Title: Re: Black Friday - Dublin Construction Industry
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 19, 2007, 11:05:19 AM
yes the builders holidays are due to start this friday and a lot of people think there might not be work for some of the builders after the holidays and that they will be laid off
Post by: illdecide on July 19, 2007, 11:07:19 AM
AT LEAST THEY WILL HAVE THOUSANDS SAVED UP TO LIVE ON FOR A WHILE. AFTERALL THEY WERE EARNING LIKE 1000 TO 1500 EUROS A WEEK.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on July 19, 2007, 11:08:48 AM
Cheers,

Have been talking to a few major subcontractors in london who are skeptical about taking on major works in the north of Irelannd because of a lack of labour. With a downturn in work in the south is it possible for a reversal and have southerners working in the Norths capital
Post by: ludermor on July 19, 2007, 11:49:50 AM
Feck of the labourers are earning over 1000 per week, trades may well be. The wages have reduced a lot over the last year. There have been rumours of a few of the larger contractors letting go a lot of their labour, but if there is lees work what do you expect? Sometimes builders holidays for cleaning out some of the deadwood, this is especially the case in some job where they have to use local labour. A ridiculous situation exists at the minutes in the docklands where sites have to employ 20% local labour. Not to upset de dubs but almost to a man they are fuckin useless. Then when they are let go their mammies start to picket the sites and give out about the foreigner's on sites.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on July 19, 2007, 11:56:54 AM
Would confirm that about the local dubs,

Was on a site in Lucan for a year and had mostly country boys working, the dubs who came onto the site wanted the living allowance as well, they got it but then decided they only wanted to work 4 days a week with the living allowance making up there fifth day,

with the laws of employment etc it tooks us a while to to weed out the deadwood, we ended up with about 6 genuine dubs out of about 30 when the site was in full flow
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 19, 2007, 12:19:26 PM
Heard last night that a lot of labourers are making the move from site work with the big companies to setting up their own businesses and sub contracting
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 19, 2007, 12:22:35 PM
heard from a friend in galwat that blocklayers were looking for €1.20 per block now lucky to get €1.00
Post by: An Fear Rua on July 19, 2007, 12:26:36 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 19, 2007, 12:22:35 PM
heard from a friend in galwat that blocklayers were looking for €1.20 per block now lucky to get €1.00

this time last year the polish lads were doingit for 70c a block, on small one off jobs, and prob less on long term contracts
Post by: ludermor on July 19, 2007, 12:43:41 PM
some polish lads still doing it for that price but they cop on soon enough. they wouldnt have a hope of getting on any of the dublin jobs though, only down the country.

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 19, 2007, 12:19:26 PM
Heard last night that a lot of labourers are making the move from site work with the big companies to setting up their own businesses and sub contracting

Not true, most of the labourers who will be let go (and even the good lads) wouldnt have the brains our the drive to set up on their own. If they did they wouldnt be labouring., Tradesmen maybe but even then no more so than usual.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 19, 2007, 02:16:20 PM
labourers were never on 1000 a week-  at most maybe just over half that. Defo not much more than 100 a day - esp into the hand.
tradesmen - brickies and plasterers have not had wage rises in at least 10 years, ok they were on good money to start with , but its a skilled job and for brickies at least, you cant work if it rains so no wages (union jobs are different).

Migrant workers were taking less money , but as someone has mentioned, are now upping their price to be not much less than Irish workers.

Prob now is that a lot of the work is sub contracted out as mentioned, but the sub contractors are happy to take on UNSKILLED migrant workers posing as skilled tradesmen - paying these unskilled migrant workers half of the wage that skilled men would charge and still asking for the sme rate form the people they are building for - thus doubling their profit.
Would you fancy buying a house that has had sub-standard unskilled non-tradesmen working on it - I dont see them lowering the price of houses because they used cheap labour.
Also the houses and their lack of quality are dangerous (electrical/plumbing/subsidence etc all possiblegiven the poor worksmanship).

The London olympics will take a lot of the workers over there, NI re-generation will also take a lot of workers up there.
The house market in Dublin is saturated right now as potential buyers are still waiting for the 'price crash' and will only start buying again when the next budget is announced and they see that prices wont fall by more than a few grand per house.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 19, 2007, 03:32:21 PM
QuoteThe London olympics will take a lot of the workers over there, NI re-generation will also take a lot of workers up there.
The house market in Dublin is saturated right now as potential buyers are still waiting for the 'price crash' and will only start buying again when the next budget is announced and they see that prices wont fall by more than a few grand per house.

I hope your right it will mean there will be more work for the likes of me who have broke free from working for big companies to working for myself

Post by: full back on July 19, 2007, 03:38:40 PM
TBH Laoislad, if you spent less time on the board you could find plenty of work to do :D
You are a bit like the single mothers :D  (only joking, before some fcuker goes off on one)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 19, 2007, 03:43:25 PM
Quote from: full back on July 19, 2007, 03:38:40 PM
TBH Laoislad, if you spent less time on the board you could find plenty of work to do :D
You are a bit like the single mothers :D  (only joking, before some fcuker goes off on one)

I do plenty of work..But i have one of those mobile vodafone internet card thingys that you plug into laptop so i can access net wherever i am!!!
Post by: Hollow Man on July 19, 2007, 03:45:48 PM
I can't wait till Southerners start going up there and cleaning out the North like the Northern builders have been down here.

I know where I am in Cavan, there's f**k all but northerners coming up here with fake VAT numbers etc, which they discard at the end of the year. When you don't pay tax, you can undercut those who do.

It's the law of the jungle I know, but it goes in cycles and it's going up north next. I know a lot of local builders are rubbing their hands because there is a lot of bitterness there...
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 19, 2007, 03:58:28 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 19, 2007, 02:16:20 PMThe house market in Dublin is saturated right now as potential buyers are still waiting for the 'price crash' and will only start buying again when the next budget is announced and they see that prices wont fall by more than a few grand per house.

Have u changed ur stance on the future of house prices? Correct me if ur wrong but were u not champing the idea of selling a while back, rent for a couple of years and then buy back after the fall in house prices???
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 19, 2007, 04:32:59 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 19, 2007, 03:58:28 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 19, 2007, 02:16:20 PMThe house market in Dublin is saturated right now as potential buyers are still waiting for the 'price crash' and will only start buying again when the next budget is announced and they see that prices wont fall by more than a few grand per house.

Have u changed ur stance on the future of house prices? Correct me if ur wrong but were u not champing the idea of selling a while back, rent for a couple of years and then buy back after the fall in house prices???
almost remembered correctly :)
I expect a small dip on houses in some areas
but in my vicinity, the houses that had dipped in price are back up again.

my plan was to sell completely and never buy here again, merely rent here for the rest of my days - the plan was, that I was to buy a house , it would be purely investment - in London, paris - guaranteed rental - or even Berlin/south of France.

The mrs wouldnt agree to it, so that knocked that idea on the head.
I still would love to do it, as my mortgage is equiv to a monthly rental of a 4 bed large house in my area - and I'd bank over 500k profit from selling my (our) house.
thats a lot of investment property in London/Germany

like a lot of older posters on the board, we happened to buy at the right time before the boom...
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 19, 2007, 09:09:14 PM
QuoteI can't wait till Southerners start going up there and cleaning out the North like the Northern builders have been down here.
f**king hell and there's me thinking we all lived in one country...
Post by: ludermor on July 19, 2007, 09:16:10 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 19, 2007, 09:09:14 PM
QuoteI can't wait till Southerners start going up there and cleaning out the North like the Northern builders have been down here.

Try telling the revenue that
Post by: stephenite on July 20, 2007, 05:21:10 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 19, 2007, 09:09:14 PM

Different tax systems and different currency - how is that the one country?
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 20, 2007, 08:05:17 AM
just surprised at northern builders being talk about as if the were foreigners.
Post by: ludermor on July 20, 2007, 08:58:37 AM
There would be a lot of bad feeling towards northern subbies for that reason, they undercut the southern lads and can do so becuase they are not compliant. It has nothing to do with politics. You still have some lads coming to ya giving the whole 'do you know who i am?' veiled and some not so veiled treats
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 09:48:41 AM
Quote from: ludermor on July 20, 2007, 08:58:37 AM
There would be a lot of bad feeling towards northern subbies for that reason, they undercut the southern lads and can do so becuase they are not compliant. It has nothing to do with politics. You still have some lads coming to ya giving the whole 'do you know who i am?' veiled and some not so veiled treats

but its usually the weedy wee cnuts who are up to that craic, and a fist in the mouth usually shuts them up !
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 20, 2007, 01:31:34 PM
Was talking to an estate agent in Belfast this morning, in her words they're "losing sales left, right and centre". 
People demanding lower prices and if they're not getting them...pulling out.  :(

It's happening I doubt.

Good news for some, bad for others!
Post by: spiritof91and94 on July 20, 2007, 01:38:43 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 20, 2007, 08:58:37 AM

I thought that if you didnt have the famous C2 you didnt get paid?

Very funny that Sisk are pricing the Maze Stadium as partner to Farrans Construction, P.Elliot has a number of jobs in and around Belfast and i am meeting Flaktwood M&E today about starting a contract next week in Belfast - Flaktwood are based in Rathcoole!!!!!!!! Careys are doing the Ikea in Hollywood Exchange, Spacedecks are doing all the Dome and Glazing in Victoria Square!!

Looks like the southern element is already in 'de narth'!!!!!!!
Post by: ludermor on July 20, 2007, 02:00:03 PM
Just because you have a c2 doesnt mean you are fully compliant.
I wasnt talking about main contractors from the north acting the **** its the subbies who cause the damage.
Post by: Tankie on July 20, 2007, 02:22:58 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 20, 2007, 11:14:42 AM
Northern Builders, Compliant ?  ;)

so many of the unts down here they should be paying road tax. wrecking our roads in their vans and trucks!
Post by: mc_grens on July 20, 2007, 02:32:06 PM
Dont know about job cuts, but Id be happy to find a few lads who arent taking the hols, my appartment is being snagged and theres very little to do. about a days work for a plasterer, a joiner, and a tiler. Plus a couple days work for painters.

Pain in the arse, so little to be done, and I have to wait an extra fortnight for it to be sorted!
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 03:19:21 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on July 20, 2007, 02:32:06 PM
Dont know about job cuts, but Id be happy to find a few lads who arent taking the hols, my appartment is being snagged and theres very little to do. about a days work for a plasterer, a joiner, and a tiler. Plus a couple days work for painters.

Pain in the arse, so little to be done, and I have to wait an extra fortnight for it to be sorted!
you still about

been meaning to txt you

best of luck with the appt

is it still in the area?
Post by: mc_grens on July 20, 2007, 03:31:50 PM
Lynchie- do text me. Ive lost my phone so I had to get a new one, lost all my numbers. Still the same number.

Appt is in Islandbridge, Bellevue, in by the War Memorial Gardens, looks out onto the Liffey. Nice spot, just in beside where the Civil Service GAA pitches are.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 03:38:32 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on July 20, 2007, 03:31:50 PM
Lynchie- do text me. Ive lost my phone so I had to get a new one, lost all my numbers. Still the same number.

Appt is in Islandbridge, Bellevue, in by the War Memorial Gardens, looks out onto the Liffey. Nice spot, just in beside where the Civil Service GAA pitches are.

know it well
played for the CS and had the wedding pics taken in the War mem rose gardens
nice spot.
You wont be stuck for a place to booze on Good fridays if the CS still have their annual soccer match and 'clubhouse session'.
you leave about 5 or 6am if yer lucky, otherwise its 10am

txt on its way
Post by: umgolaarmagh on July 24, 2007, 12:20:25 PM
Did Black Friday come about or was it just hyped up within the industry
Post by: thebandit on July 24, 2007, 12:55:11 PM
I work in a construction related company and it is eerily quiet this week....
Post by: mannix on July 24, 2007, 12:59:00 PM
Bandit,
they may be on holidays or something?
It could never continue at that pace anyway.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 24, 2007, 01:01:44 PM
I work for a construction company and its the same every year around this time. We are still quite busy although we are not involved in the housing industry. Sometimes i think we will simply scare ourselves in to a recession. The economy is i feel levelling off and we are still growing at 4% not the 6-9 %that has been happening over the past few years.
Post by: thebandit on July 24, 2007, 01:04:42 PM
Quote from: thebandit on July 24, 2007, 12:55:11 PM
I work in a construction related company and it is eerily quiet this week....

It is the builders fortnight holidays at the minute.

But usually a lot of lads working for builders do bits of work for themselves for a week and take a weeks holidays.
Post by: amallon on July 24, 2007, 02:14:18 PM
My oul man works for a builders providers firm and he say he has noticed it a lot quieter even before the holidays.

I supopse its good news for someone in my position who should be starting to build in the second half of next year.  I imagine increased competition between builders for work should drive the cost of building well down.   What do ye reckon?
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 24, 2007, 02:16:31 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on July 24, 2007, 01:01:44 PM
I work for a construction company and its the same every year around this time. We are still quite busy although we are not involved in the housing industry. Sometimes i think we will simply scare ourselves in to a recession. The economy is i feel levelling off and we are still growing at 4% not the 6-9 %that has been happening over the past few years.

fully agree
it happened twice in the IT industry too (dot com bubble bursting and then another 'downturn' a few years ago) - then the repurcussions occur to all areas of industry and business
we def talk ourselves into it
the media - esp the newspapers- over hype this all up
thats one of the reasons why I hate the hoors

the housing industry is not producing as many houses - so there HAS to be lesser growth - but there is growth and there is still work being done
so why are the f**king media persisting with this negative hype

Post by: bcarrier on July 24, 2007, 04:13:47 PM
If there are any QS's, site managers, construction technical bods among ye with resi experience interested in a move to London send me a PM.

There is a severe shortage of decent construction professionals in SE England.

Skybox with rte and setanta ireland available to successful applicants  :).
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 24, 2007, 04:28:08 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on July 24, 2007, 04:13:47 PM
If there are any QS's, site managers, construction technical bods among ye with resi experience interested in a move to London send me a PM.

There is a severe shortage of decent construction professionals in SE England.

Skybox with rte and setanta ireland available to successful applicants  :).

Would ya pay for flights from Toronto?  :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Smokin Joe on July 24, 2007, 04:46:42 PM
Never mind Dublin, there are rumours of contractors in the North laying off workers over the holidays.  Houses aren't selling.
Post by: ludermor on July 24, 2007, 06:45:08 PM
who are you with bcarrier?
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 24, 2007, 07:38:22 PM
If you's hadnt sold us down the river then our builders wouldnt be taking ur jobs now!