Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Sky Blue on July 18, 2007, 12:37:19 PM

Title: Gypsy Camp on M50
Post by: Sky Blue on July 18, 2007, 12:37:19 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0718/roma.html (http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0718/roma.html)

These do-gooders sicken my hole!!  >:(

These people choose to come here and live like pigs. How is that my problem?
Title: Re: Gypsy Camp on M50
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2007, 12:41:56 PM
Cheeky Dubs camp out on roundabout!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 18, 2007, 12:55:11 PM
Read the title of this thread and thought it was about the Mayo team bus getting stuck in traffic...!!  :o ;)
Post by: full back on July 18, 2007, 01:06:49 PM
This sort of sh1t does my head in.
As someone said they are making the choice to live here. If the conditions are so bad why dont they fcuk off to where they came from.
If someone comes to this country & puts in hard graft and makes a life of it then fair play to them, but coming & begging is a joke
Post by: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 01:08:53 PM
They are here illegally and show be sent home, we have a process so why should the ignore it?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 18, 2007, 01:10:21 PM
i read the thread subject and thought it strange the Dublin Team would be having a training camp on the M50.
Post by: Mentalman on July 18, 2007, 01:19:01 PM
This was highlighted on TV3 News about a month ago. The girl from Pavee Point stated that "this was inevitable". I was enraged. How in the name of the sweet suffering Lord was it inevitable that Roma gypsies would end up setting up camp in the middle of the M50? The mind really does boggle.

At first I thought perhaps they could be working on the M50 upgrade, doing a bit of tarmacing?
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 01:26:03 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 18, 2007, 12:55:11 PM
Read the title of this thread and thought it was about the Mayo team bus getting stuck in traffic...!!  :o ;)

surprised at you gaoth dobhair i would have expected that comment from some of the jackeens but to come from a fellow culchie i'm hurt and offended :) :)
Post by: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 01:30:57 PM
Lads is there no possibility of any compassion here. I appreciate that they have chosen to come here but from a humanitarian point of few we cannot allow children to be living like this? I know that in english law gypsies are now a recognised race and I assume this will apply in the law in the south if challenged. Therefore the Government has to act very carefully to avoid any allegation of racial discrimination. Yes they are illegal immigrants but they should get the same treatment as anyone else who comes under this bracket in Ireland.
Post by: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 01:34:35 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 01:30:57 PM
Lads is there no possibility of any compassion here. I appreciate that they have chosen to come here but from a humanitarian point of few we cannot allow children to be living like this? I know that in english law gypsies are now a recognised race and I assume this will apply in the law in the south if challenged. Therefore the Government has to act very carefully to avoid any allegation of racial discrimination. Yes they are illegal immigrants but they should get the same treatment as anyone else who comes under this bracket in Ireland.
It's very simple we provide that they are entitled too under eu and in human rights legislation, like we do in 99.9% of all cases in Ireland but and they end of they day they can't claim aslyam here and are here illegally and should be sent home as soon as due process has found this 
Post by: Final Whistle on July 18, 2007, 01:35:03 PM
You sure its not the Dublin camp on a team building exercise. Afterall they were acting like jippos on Sunday!!!! ;D ;D ;D
Post by: ildanach on July 18, 2007, 01:44:57 PM
just heard one of them interviewed on the radio. When asked why they did not accept the flights home they were offered, he said he would rather stay in ireland. They came into the country and had 90 days to find work, they did not, so it is time they were deported. If a precident is set in this case by allowing them to stay, we will have an influx of similar cases expecting the same treatment.
Post by: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 01:49:57 PM
Quote from: ildanach on July 18, 2007, 01:44:57 PM
just heard one of them interviewed on the radio. When asked why they did not accept the flights home they were offered, he said he would rather stay in ireland. They came into the country and had 90 days to find work, they did not, so it is time they were deported. If a precident is set in this case by allowing them to stay, we will have an influx of similar cases expecting the same treatment.

Cases such as this one always pose the question whether we should ever make exceptions in any case? If we do, your right in saying that the opening of the floodgates argument is raised and everyone else in a similar position will want expect similar treatment. In any case if they are getting things thrown at them then they have to be removed as the state has an obligation to proctect anyone residing in the jurisdiction. If there is an outbreak of infectious disease sure it's everyones benefit to get this stopped before it spreads.
Post by: full back on July 18, 2007, 01:51:20 PM
Agree with majority of sentiments here.
If they had a chance to find work & didnt then it is time to go.
Imagine if someone from here went to USA & started this sh1t - they would be fcuked out before the tent was pitched. This is the way it should be here
Post by: Bacon on July 18, 2007, 01:51:43 PM
Let's organise a protest rally to get them removed!!  >:(

We'll meet at mid night tonight at the round-about. I have a pitchfork.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 18, 2007, 01:52:26 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 01:26:03 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 18, 2007, 12:55:11 PM

surprised at you gaoth dobhair i would have expected that comment from some of the jackeens but to come from a fellow culchie i'm hurt and offended :) :)

Ah sure Deel Rover if we can't take the piss out of each other, then how will we survive a ribbing from a Jack!
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:01:59 PM
If we are organizing a rally can we start with one for unmarried mother who rip the state off,  people on long term unemployment for no reason and Knackers who leave the place in a heap. they are the c***ts that really piss me off.
Post by: full back on July 18, 2007, 02:04:19 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:01:59 PM
If we are organizing a rally can we start with one for unmarried mother who rip the state off,  people on long term unemployment for no reason and Knackers who leave the place in a heap. they are the c***ts that really piss me off.

Holy f**k tankie
Post by: Long time dead on July 18, 2007, 02:05:52 PM

w**ker!
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:06:57 PM
Quote from: full back on July 18, 2007, 02:04:19 PM

Holy f**k tankie

them **** piss me off something fierce, don't want to work but expect cars, houses, nights out all for free!
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 02:07:17 PM

Dont hold back Tankie, tell us how you really feel!
Post by: Long time dead on July 18, 2007, 02:09:33 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:06:57 PM

Holy f**k tankie

them **** piss me off something fierce, don't want to work but expect cars, houses, nights out all for free!

Food and clothing for their kids and a roof over their head - p***k!
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:12:35 PM
Quote from: Long time dead on July 18, 2007, 02:09:33 PM

Holy f**k tankie

what about the ones with the cars and the holidays and all the other crap - these were the unmarried mothers i was talking about you idiot if you read the post.

But i love the shock that if they are Irish we should give them everything but if they are foreign just send them home!
Post by: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 02:15:11 PM
Quote from: Long time dead on July 18, 2007, 02:09:33 PM

Holy f**k tankie

Unmarried mothers cannot be blamed for claiming the benefits that the Government has assessed that they are entitled to. They way the benefit system is set up on both sides of the border means that unmarried single mothers are financially better off when they don't work, especially when you consider the cost of child care. I've heard this myself from unmarried mothers. Looking after a couple of children and struggling to feed them when they cost of living is so high is a full time job in itself.
Post by: Declan on July 18, 2007, 02:32:02 PM
QuoteThere is enough work in this country for everyone, why shouldnt these people get a job and be made work for a living.

So you don't classify child rearing as a job then 5times - must tell the missus that I'm sure she'd appreciate it
Post by: Declan on July 18, 2007, 02:42:55 PM
QuoteRearin a child is a job in itself, but many people do it without living off the state.

So you'd be in favour of doing away with children's allowance, back to school benefits etc then
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:43:08 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 18, 2007, 02:36:32 PM
Rearin a child is a job in itself, but many people do it without living off the state.
It can be a vicious circle for young girls, they see others who are "doing well" ie getting their own house/flat when they have a child and getting state handouts, but we the taxpayer are paying for this.
Offer them jobs and if they refuse to work stop the hand outs. I mean that about everyone and not just single parents. We d all be a lot better off then.

Long time dead  wont be happy with you, you might get the trade mark arguement that yourare a p***k or a w**ker!

I agree with you on this 5iveTimes!
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:45:24 PM
Quote from: Declan on July 18, 2007, 02:42:55 PM
QuoteRearin a child is a job in itself, but many people do it without living off the state.

So you'd be in favour of doing away with children's allowance, back to school benefits etc then

no issue with childrens allowance etc but when you have unmarried mother with 5 kid saying the 3bedroom house is to small and they can afford to pay the bills or dress the kids for school, but yet they are off on their hols to spain while driving their 07 micras.

They really piss me off, and you's all know the type i mean!
Post by: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 02:53:36 PM
As valid as those arguments are we should be criticising the state and not the people who claim the benefits. They'd be idiots not to take everything they are entitled to. We all accept that people are entitled to benefits, some people will milk it for all it's worth. It's always been the way and always will be. No Government will ever try and seriously implement welfare reform as the so called state spongers provide vital votes come election time.
Post by: stew on July 18, 2007, 02:55:22 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 01:08:53 PM
They are here illegally and show be sent home, we have a process so why should the ignore it?

Does this logic apply to the illegal irish in America gnevin?
Post by: full back on July 18, 2007, 02:57:05 PM
How many Irish are staying illegally & taking the government for everything they can stew?
Post by: Long time dead on July 18, 2007, 02:58:11 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 18, 2007, 02:29:07 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 02:15:11 PM
Looking after a couple of children and struggling to feed them when they cost of living is so high is a full time job in itself.

Should we be forced to pay for the upkeep of these children?
There is enough work in this country for everyone, why shouldnt these people get a job and be made work for a living.

Another w**ker.
Post by: Long time dead on July 18, 2007, 03:00:42 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 18, 2007, 02:36:32 PM
Rearin a child is a job in itself, but many people do it without living off the state.
It can be a vicious circle for young girls, they see others who are "doing well" ie getting their own house/flat when they have a child and getting state handouts, but we the taxpayer are paying for this.
Offer them jobs and if they refuse to work stop the hand outs. I mean that about everyone and not just single parents. We d all be a lot better off then.

Then take their children of them as they won't be able to support them and let the state look after them in a home; or get them put up for adoption - f**k me - Jesus wept.  Oh and arrest the Mothers for neglect as their child goes with out food or clothes.  ::)
Post by: Long time dead on July 18, 2007, 03:03:51 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 18, 2007, 02:51:24 PM

No, I wouldnt be in favour of doing away with all benefits, but some people really abuse the system. There should be a time limit on benefits, if you havent found a job inside a year you arent really looking.

Ah, I see you'd keep the benefits applicable to you and your's.  ::)  By the way what if a mother has a child and within a year has another - tell her to f**k off and get a job and leave the babies at home!
Post by: ildanach on July 18, 2007, 03:04:45 PM
The main issue i have with the unmarried mother benefit is those that are actually living with a partner but claiming the benefit, this is where the main problem lies. The simple solution to this, is to deduct some of the fathers payment (whether it is social welfare or tax credits) and if the father is marked as being unknown on the birth cert, then to only provide benefit for the first child after that it is your own responsibility to know who the father of your child is.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 03:06:00 PM
The main problem stopping single mothers working is the costs of childcare which would cripple them.

Then again some are just lazy.
Post by: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 03:15:11 PM
Quote from: stew on July 18, 2007, 02:55:22 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 01:08:53 PM

Does this logic apply to the illegal irish in America gnevin?
I dont see why not but at least they are working over their
Post by: Long time dead on July 18, 2007, 03:16:39 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 18, 2007, 03:06:48 PM
Long time dead, are you on the dole?

No - I have a highly skilled I.T Job - what about yourself?

Edit - I have never been on the dole in my life - but what has that got to do with slandering unmarried mothers as being lazy - have you any kids - they are so easy to look after!
Post by: Long time dead on July 18, 2007, 03:29:17 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 18, 2007, 03:25:15 PM
I am not slandering unmarried mothers as being lazy, just dont think they or anyone else should be allowed to sponge off the state. There is enough work for everyone in Ireland today, but most dole heads would look down their noses at some of the jobs on offer, they would be too good for waitress jobs or factory work.  ;)

You didn't answer my question - have you any kids - the cost of child care is far greater than a waitress or factory worker would get - also it is hugely more beneficial for the mother to look after the child than put the kid in child care all day - a bit of perspective needed 5ive Times.  It also is anything but a holiday being tied to a kid or kids 24 / 7.

Edit I meant more beneficial for mother and child.
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 04:09:15 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 02:45:24 PM

no issue with childrens allowance etc but when you have unmarried mother with 5 kid saying the 3bedroom house is to small and they can afford to pay the bills or dress the kids for school, but yet they are off on their hols to spain while driving their 07 micras.
They really piss me off, and you's all know the type i mean!

These are the unmarried mothers we are complaining about, Have you no issue with these Long time Dead?

maybe your the w**ker long time dead?
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 04:16:40 PM
What about unmarried mothers whose children are in school most of the day yet they still dont want to work part time during these hours?
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 04:25:40 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 04:16:40 PM
What about unmarried mothers whose children are in school most of the day yet they still dont want to work part time during these hours?

Lazy f**kers if you ask me! how can the unmarried couple not work during these hours but a successfull couple will.
Post by: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 04:34:11 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 04:25:40 PM

Lazy f**kers if you ask me! how can the unmarried couple not work during these hours but a successfull couple will.

What about the unmarried mother with a couple of children. After they go to school, do you not think they have washing to do, house cleaning to do and dinners to prepare for when the children return from school? I know married couples have similar pressures in keeping a home, but at least a successful couple have 4 hands instead of 2 to do the work and could possibly hire someone to come in and help them. Unmarried mothers may not be so fortunate to have this option.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 04:37:04 PM
In fairness most couples with children who both need to work to pay the mortgage cant afford a cleaner.
Be honest there are some lazy ones out their.
Post by: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 04:42:27 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 04:37:04 PM
In fairness most couples with children who both need to work to pay the mortgage cant afford a cleaner.

Of course there are plently of lazy unemployed people happy to sit around and sponge off the state. But there is a wider issue here. I don't have statistics but I think you'll find that a lot unmarried couples on the dole have the poorest health in the country and live in the worst housing. These people come from poor socio economic backgrounds and don't have the education or motivation to get out of the rut in which they are stuck. It is a vicious cycle as their children will probably be the same.
Post by: Pietas on July 18, 2007, 04:56:22 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 04:42:27 PM

Of course there are plently of lazy unemployed people happy to sit around and sponge off the state. But there is a wider issue here. I don't have statistics but I think you'll find that a lot unmarried couples on the dole have the poorest health in the country and live in the worst housing. These people come from poor socio economic backgrounds and don't have the education or motivation to get out of the rut in which they are stuck. It is a vicious cycle as their children will probably be the same.

Lads,

I was pretty disturbed by some of the stuff, particularly the earlier posts, I read on this thread.  I thought I'd logged on to KKK.com, so virulent were the nasty, brutish, right-wing sentiments expressed.  No wonder we have awful Government we have down here and continued polarisation of communities in the north. 

'f**k every one else' seems to be the clear sentiment of this thread.

Something should be done for the gypsy kids.  This is not nazi germany.

Since the growth in urbanisation in Ireland in the mid 90s, there has been a clear shift towards 'I'm alright jack values' which characterise the Irish in America. How come we do so well over there?  Because it's a nasty place without any real sense of community, that's why, and that's the way this country is going too.

It's a shame.

Post by: Mentalman on July 18, 2007, 06:19:44 PM
Quote from: Pietas on July 18, 2007, 04:56:22 PM
Quote from: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 04:42:27 PM

Lads,

I was pretty disturbed by some of the stuff, particularly the earlier posts, I read on this thread.  I thought I'd logged on to KKK.com, so virulent were the nasty, brutish, right-wing sentiments expressed.  No wonder we have awful Government we have down here and continued polarisation of communities in the north. 

'f**k every one else' seems to be the clear sentiment of this thread.

Something should be done for the gypsy kids.  This is not nazi germany.

Since the growth in urbanisation in Ireland in the mid 90s, there has been a clear shift towards 'I'm alright jack values' which characterise the Irish in America. How come we do so well over there?  Because it's a nasty place without any real sense of community, that's why, and that's the way this country is going too.

It's a shame.

Speaking for myself, I wouldn't see myself as leaning to either "wing", rather I'm a pragmatist. But I have to say I am sick of do gooders like said person from Pavee Point telling me this type of thing "was inevitable"? How so? Believe me I'm all for helping those who can't help themselves, and yes those Romany children should be taken care of, definitely better than their parents currently are at the very least. But on the other hand where does personal responsibility come into it? What of the parents of these children? Who would move them into the centre of a roundabout on one of Western Europe's thoroughfares? I refuse to believe that it was "inevitable", or in some way I or larger society contributed to them being "forced" to do so.

* Oh as for single mothers (what's that got to do with the subject?), most of the stuff on here is just low, and not worth entering a debate on.
Post by: SuperSub on July 18, 2007, 06:30:56 PM

But sure that would  include nearly everyone from Dublin :P
Post by: Pangurban on July 18, 2007, 10:03:37 PM
Pietas you are a star, an incisive intellect who has gone right to the heart of what passes for irish society today. Your post would p***k the conscience of anyone capable of rational thought, unfortunately that will not include the racist hypocritical self righteous bigots whom you are addressing on this board. Save your breath,they have no insight and or beyond redemption.
Post by: inisceithleann on July 18, 2007, 10:32:30 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on July 18, 2007, 10:03:37 PM
Pietas you are a star, an incisive intellect who has gone right to the heart of what passes for irish society today. Your post would p***k the conscience of anyone capable of rational thought, unfortunately that will not include the racist hypocritical self righteous bigots whom you are addressing on this board. Save your breath,they have no insight and or beyond redemption.

Pangurban, I have to agree with 5iveTimes here. If you read my contributions you'll find my political stance comes very much from the left. In any case we live in a democratic society and people should be free to express how they feel. Immigration is an immotive issue and a political hot potato. Just because someone takes a hardline over illegal immigrants or state benefits does not make them a racist. If anything it merely indicates what a majority of the electorate feel these days. If you look at Britain, the Labour Party, a so called socialist party have moved very much to the centre if not the right when it comes to issues that have been discussed on this thread. I'm not agreeing with everything said on this thread but I wouldn't say any of they comments made today came from bigots.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 18, 2007, 10:50:39 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 18, 2007, 10:41:02 PM
Something I should mention. I have a Pole and a Latvian working for me. 2 excellent workers, who I pay well above the going rate. Any of their friends that I know are also great workers and would work 7 days a week if you would let them. They are not only great workers, but nice people also. These guys are more than welcome in this country and are a credit to both their native country and Ireland. What I cant stand is people coming here to sponge off the state, its bad enough our own doing it, but when its outsiders we have to draw the line. It is always those who give least that take the most.

Agree with 5ive Times,Some of the Poles and Latvians i know are the hardest workers on the sites that i work on,I'd have no problem hiring one of them
Post by: Pangurban on July 18, 2007, 11:40:17 PM
Send us your trained educated workforce, your Doctors Nurses, tradesmen, but keep your poor and huddled masses. As you drive home along the M50 in your expensive car too your comfortable home and gaze out the window at that appalling scene, what do you see. The Man or Woman who sees illegal immigrants rather than human beings in great distress, has no conscience. Remove them,you cry,they offend my susceptibilities. What matters if a week old Baby is living in conditions that we not keep an animal, its not our problem. We our not our brothers keeper. Send them home,where they can exist in worse conditions and have the added benefit of being persecuted. Our rich Irish State cannot afford to keep people starving in ditches, sure our economy would implode tomorrow if we showed a little compassion, besides we have gougers of our own to support. Thank God for the English press who now dominate the printed media in the Ireland. they have taught the folly of care and compassion and opened our Eyes to the manner in which we our being exploited by asylum seekers and emigrants living the high life in our soul-less hostels on the generous pittance we pay them. Sure are!nt we well entitled to be smug self satisfied bastards,and enjoy our comfort in peace. Had!nt we the wit to hitch ourselves to the EEC and allow them to bankroll us out of our own miserable state of poverty and emigration. Why cant these people do the same. Oh, thats right, we voted against that proposal. Never mind ,sure we will send them a few bob occasionally, if they promise not to try and improve their lot and that of their families, by staying home and not dying on our streets. Sure thats fair ,reasonable and civilised isnt it.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 19, 2007, 01:38:09 AM
When the Irish had to emigrate to the four courners of the world, they worked, they were treated like shit, discriminated against and demonised, yet against it all they WORKED and WORKED HARD!
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on July 19, 2007, 01:59:42 AM
?
Post by: Pangurban on July 19, 2007, 02:33:27 AM
Typical response, never let facts get in the way of a good story. Live in ignorance,intolerance, and bigotry if you choose, i hope you are happy
Post by: dec on July 19, 2007, 03:05:44 AM
The reason they are not working is not because they don't want to or are lazy. The law prevents them from working

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/but-families-still-sleep-rough-890943.html

RATS steal their food and rain lashes their mud-encrusted clothes but the Romas sleeping rough at a junction of the M50 still say it is better than returning home to Romania.
For the last six weeks around 28 adults and 16 children, members of the nomadic Roma community, have camped on a north Dublin roundabout where trees shield flimsy tents patched up with faded campaign posters left behind after May's general election.
"Night is bad because of the rats. They try to eat our food," said Augustine Rostas (58) from Oradea in western Romania. "I came to Ireland to build a future for my children," he said through an interpreter.
The group arrived in Ireland legally, hoping to get unskilled jobs in agriculture and cleaning after Romania and Bulgaria became part of the EU on January 1.
But they are not allowed to work because of labour and welfare restrictions imposed on the 2007 entrants.

The group say they face discrimination in Romania as Romas.
Some Romas used to be able to claim asylum in Ireland but are now being squeezed out.
While Polish shops and bars open around the country to cater to some of the tens of thousands of Poles drawn working here, the authorities have issued just 35 work permits to skilled Romanian workers so far this year. They gave out 180 in 2006 as a whole, when Romania was not even an EU member.
Those camped out in Ballymun do not have the work qualifications required.
Part of an extended clan, they survive on food and clothing handouts and dodge oncoming traffic to get water from a nearby petrol station. Some of the women beg in the city centre while others look after their children.
Maria Dungau (26) gave birth to her son 2½ months ago in Ireland but is not entitled to welfare benefits. "I just want my child to have a clean place to live," she said.
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 02:45:02 PM

I'd like to return the compliment.  You've hit the nail on the head.  The prevailing social attitude in this country is morally repugnant.

I think a lot of people know that something has gone very wrong here in the last 10 years, but can't quite figure out what it is.

We have lost our sense of community and social values.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 02:45:55 PM
I havent, and I dont tell lies to stir shite  ;)
Post by: full back on July 19, 2007, 02:54:44 PM
I know many families, where the man of the house works his bollix off all week & the woman looks after the kids - yet once all the bills are paid they have barely any money left over for themselves or the children to have leisure activities etc.
Yet the do-gooders on here want us to start looking after others before we take care of people who were born and bred in this country ::)
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 02:59:18 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 19, 2007, 01:38:09 AM
When the Irish had to emigrate to the four courners of the world, they worked, they were treated like shit, discriminated against and demonised, yet against it all they WORKED and WORKED HARD!

The above statement is true. But many Irish were lazy and feckless.  Many of them drank themselves to death.  Many worked all their lives without paying any social insurance.  Families broke up and there are, to this day, many elderly Irishmen livie in shit accommodation in Britain with social and mental problems.

What have we done for them with our new found weatlth? These men, many of whom sent money home.

f**k all, that's what, because we wont even address disadvantage on our own doorsteps, be it in the health service, education, or the plight of travellers, be they Irish or Romany.  

Ireland is one of the wealthiest countries in the world but it is a shit country.

The health service is a joke
Services in general are a joke
U are ripped off everywhere you go.
The roads are awful.
You can't even drink the water in Galway and Clare.
Our national TV station can't produce a programme worth watching that isn't news or sport
Our Prime Mininster was on the take while he was Minister for Finance and no-one gives a f**k.  He cabinet colleagues were at it too.

I sincerely hope that Bertie Ahern and Mary Harney die slow and painfull deaths. I, for one, will never forgive them for what they have done to Ireland.

We have no shame

Post by: Long time dead on July 19, 2007, 03:00:47 PM
Quote from: full back on July 19, 2007, 02:54:44 PM
I know many families, where the man of the house works his bollix off all week & the woman looks after the kids - yet once all the bills are paid they have barely any money left over for themselves or the children to have leisure activities etc.
Yet the do-gooders on here want us to start looking after others before we take care of people who were born and bred in this country ::)

May 5ive Times and that other w**ker Tankie could digest this and then answer how a single mother could work all week - pay someone to look after her kids and have any money for anything never mind leisure activities.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 03:27:13 PM
Thats the point, its the childcare costs that are a hindrance to most, and a convenient excuse to some.
Post by: full back on July 19, 2007, 03:37:05 PM
Im not getting involved in the single parent slagging off thats been going on.
I made my point to highlight that if we were so worried about helping others, we should look closer to home rather than looking at solving/helping other countries economics & problems
Post by: SuperMac on July 19, 2007, 04:10:19 PM
Come back Adolf, all is forgiven  ;D
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 04:20:21 PM
I wouldn't be using imagery like that.

I got in to trouble with His Holiness and a some others on another thread for that type of thing.

They got very cross with me :'(
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 04:23:27 PM
Quote from: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 04:20:21 PM
I wouldn't be using imagery like that.

I got in to trouble with His Holiness and a some others on another thread for that type of thing.

They got very cross with me :'(

What are you on about??
I pointed out a blatant lie you told, I was by no means annoyed, just thought it should be pointed out that you have no problem making things up when it suits you, then acting all moral on other occasions.
I dont care enough to get annoyed with you  ;)
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 05:04:47 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 19, 2007, 05:01:36 PM
Quote from: Long time dead link=topic=3770.msg122779#msg122779 date=1184853647
May 5ive Times and that other w**ker Tankie could digest this and then answer how a single mother could work all week -
i] pay[/i] someone to look after her kids and have any money for anything never mind leisure activities.

You know the type, you sound like you come from that type of background  ;)
That's a really shitting thing to post
Post by: Pietas on July 19, 2007, 05:16:54 PM
Well you shouldn't take it out on the rest of the family.  That's just selfish
Post by: Long time dead on July 19, 2007, 07:41:47 PM
May 5ive Times and that other w**ker Tankie could digest this and then answer how a single mother could work all week -
i] pay[/i] someone to look after her kids and have any money for anything never mind leisure activities.

Well maybe if they had a bit more self respect, they wouldnt be getting up the duff in the first place. To many getting pregnant is an easy way out, a free meal ticket, sponge of the workers. ANd they usually come from a long line of spongers, father unemployed, mother and father split up as far as the state are concerned, although getting double benefits in the one household. You know the type, you sound like you come from that type of background  ;)
I have a sister who is a single mum, her partner left her when she was 6 months pregnant. She has worked all her life, held down a good job and we as a family have helped out in any way we can. her son is a young man to be proud of, just got his first job during the summer but will be back at school next yeat to do his A levels, the state did not rear him.

Take it she has no self respect.  ;)
Post by: stew on July 19, 2007, 11:53:13 PM

Well maybe if they had a bit more self respect, they wouldnt be getting up the duff in the first place. To many getting pregnant is an easy way out, a free meal ticket, sponge of the workers. ANd they usually come from a long line of spongers, father unemployed, mother and father split up as far as the state are concerned, although getting double benefits in the one household. You know the type, you sound like you come from that type of background  ;)
I have a sister who is a single mum, her partner left her when she was 6 months pregnant. She has worked all her life, held down a good job and we as a family have helped out in any way we can. her son is a young man to be proud of, just got his first job during the summer but will be back at school next yeat to do his A levels, the state did not rear him.

Fair play to your sister 5 times and it sounds as if her young fella is a good lad to.

The feckers that live on the dole because they are bone idle pish me aff but back when unemployment was through the roof it was very tough to get a job, i was on the dole for 6 months and I was pulling my hair out, it was the worst 6 months of my life.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 20, 2007, 08:50:35 AM
The whole notion that there are no lazy people getting welfare as they dont want to work is nonsense.
Yes they are a minority, but I know a guy I went to school with who still lives at home with the parents.
His whole argument against working is "sure why should I, the dole is enough for my few pints at the weekend, what more would I want?"
This is an example of some of the people our tax goes to, and yes, there are many worthy recipients too.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 20, 2007, 10:06:53 AM
Jesus this is typical c**k that sickens me.
how is it Irish arguements swing from one end of the spectrum to the other. On one hand you have lads refusing to admit that there are scummy little bitches livin with their fellas who get money thrown at them and expect a free ticket. while at the same time there are genuine cases where women are trying to get by, doing a good job rearing kids and deserve any help they get. unfortunately as was piointed the system is there to be abused but that doesnt make it right.
i heard of women leaving brand new buggies on the road as the bus was a bit full, they have no repsect and know a new one is just a call away.

as for the M50 crowd would it not serve us better to make sure our own travellers are ok and never mind about these people who are despised in their own country not because of their minority status but due to their dabbling in low level drug dealing, human trafficking and grave robbing. can i please have a valid reason why they deserve to stay in ireland? it is terrible where they are living but do you really think they couldn't find another place.
Post by: Tankie on July 20, 2007, 10:44:20 AM
Quote[quote author=Long time dead link=topic=3770.msg122779#msg122779 date=1184853647
May 5ive Times and that other w**ker Tankie could digest this and then answer how a single mother could work all week - pay someone to look after her kids and have any money for anything never mind leisure activities.

Long Time dead your a bit of an idiot as all you seem to do is call people names. I don;t think anyone here has said that people who desvere it should get it. My point has always been about the free loaders, if you have a reklation who is ripping the state off well then i have a problem with it, if they deserve it well then thats fine.

The kind of people we have been talking about are the ones that refuse to work, demand bigger house because they cant keep their legs closed, then want the state to pay for the heating of the house while also drive a new car and take a couple of holidays a year.

If you argee with them type well then your the w**ker as these are just lazy f**kers!
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 20, 2007, 11:35:35 AM
Quote from: Tankie on July 20, 2007, 10:44:20 AM
Long Time dead your a bit of an idiot as all you seem to do is call people names.

:D :D :D
Ding
Ding
Ding
Post by: Blacksheep on July 20, 2007, 12:10:48 PM
There is a poll on the RTE news home page on this. They aren't getting much sympathy.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 20, 2007, 01:01:49 PM
Quote from: Blacksheep on July 20, 2007, 12:10:48 PM
There is a poll on the RTE news home page on this. They aren't getting much sympathy.
And they deserve none either. Typical chancers playing the sympathy/bleeding hearts card to force the state to indulge their whims, off with them back to Romania.
Post by: dubinhell on July 23, 2007, 01:19:15 PM
Seemingly, these lads own property back in Romania..... :)

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/penniless-roma-own-property-at-home-1042593.html
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 23, 2007, 02:25:16 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 23, 2007, 11:14:38 AM
The extended Roma family who have been living in a makeshift camp on a roundabout in north Dublin are reportedly set to take High Court action this week in an effort to prevent their deportation.

Eighty-six Romanian immigrants have been living on the M50 roundabout in Ballymun for several weeks.

Last week, gardaí served them with deportation orders.

The immigrants have 15 days to appeal and reports this morning say lawyers have volunteered to take up their case in the courts this week.

Meanwhile, some members of the community will also seek a court order looking for emergency accommodation for some of the children living in the camp.

The family have been given widespread media coverage since news emerged of their appalling living conditions.

However, the Roma Support Group says the families fear they would face worse conditions if they were deported back to Romania.

This will keep the bleeding hearts busy for a while.I wonder who will pay for their day/days in courts????? .....oh does this mean i have toput my hand into my pocket again for another one of these pointless cases... Off home with them.
Post by: downredblack on July 23, 2007, 02:57:46 PM
The land of the 1000 welcomes my hole , never ceases to amaze me how racist this country is . Parochial , little people who will never know any other way and who will hand their bigotry on to their kids the exact same way it was handed onto them .
Sure If this gang went out to work they would be accused of stealing "our Jobs" by some . The Nordies have had it for 30 odd years and they are only 100 miles up the road . These poor f**kers from Romania / Latvia / Poland etc etc have no chance .
Post by: Hardy on July 23, 2007, 03:07:56 PM
It's a form of bigotry (and a sure sign of the lack of a decent argument to support your position) to label people as racists for no good reason.

On what basis can it be considered racist to suggest that it's not a reasonable immigration policy to "welcome" (1000 times, no less) nomads to come here to set up transient camps in the midst of traffic? But sure it's great for the ould self esteem to consider oneself righteous and good. Labelling those who disagree as racist and bigoted further enhances the effect.
Post by: downredblack on July 23, 2007, 03:23:16 PM
I am not labeling people racists for no good reason , I see it every day of my life in one way or another and I think it stinks . If its not the kids on the roundabout today it will be some other "foreigner " tomorrow who will be on the receiving end of our legendary welcomes .
My self esteem has nothing to do with it but sure if it makes you feel better away you go .
Post by: Hardy on July 23, 2007, 03:30:33 PM
Your post was on the thread about the Romanian immigrants camping on the M50 and seemed to imply that those who thought it wasn't a good idea were racists and bigots. It also seemed to imply that they should have been accorded "1000 welcomes". If that's not what your post meant, perhaps you'd clarify, because it's confused the hell out of me otherwise.
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2007, 03:34:19 PM
Ireland has by any measure had a large amount of immigration in recent years, without major incident, so while not perfect and capable of improvement is hardly an especially racist place. As for nordies, as one such I can say that DownredBlack is talking bollix, and the election of a president from your own county suggests otherwise. Ireland is a relatively small country and cannot accommodate all of the unfortunates in the world, we have set up laws to regulate people coming to the country and it is reasonable for people to respect those laws. It is also reasonable for Irish people to take a negative attitude to people that give two fingers to those laws.
Post by: downredblack on July 23, 2007, 03:39:05 PM
Of course I don't want to see kids (no matter where they are from ) living on a roundabout and I didn't mean to imply that people who thought it wasn't a good idea as racist . But reading trough the posts did leave me with the impression of intolerance . " off home with them " being a sentiment that a few on here would seem to hold .
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 23, 2007, 04:36:42 PM
Quote from: downredblack on July 23, 2007, 02:57:46 PM
The land of the 1000 welcomes my hole , never ceases to amaze me how racist this country is . Parochial , little people who will never know any other way and who will hand their bigotry on to their kids the exact same way it was handed onto them .
Sure If this gang went out to work they would be accused of stealing "our Jobs" by some . The Nordies have had it for 30 odd years and they are only 100 miles up the road . These poor f**kers from Romania / Latvia / Poland etc etc have no chance .
I have no problem with anyone who wants to come to this country within our legal parameters and work and try and better themselves,but lets not kid ourselves about these gypsies,they do not want to come here to work or try to better their situtation,they want handouts and social welfare. By the way i am getting a pain in my hole about this racisim card been raised at every turn, these people should be sent back to the country from where they came or else back to their homeland. They enetered this country illegally and contrivened not just Irish law but European law as well. i see you are from the north downblackred,how about we send them up to you and let your taxes fund their court cases? or even better maybe you will let them live in your back garden. But dont come on here claiming that everybody who doesnt agree with an open borders policy is racist, thats just a stupid and a lazy retort.
Post by: armaghniac on July 23, 2007, 07:34:33 PM
Quotehow about we send them up to you and let your taxes fund their court cases

Actually if they we clued in they should head for the North and create further legal confusion. Don't suppose they read GAAboard though.
Post by: Pangurban on July 23, 2007, 10:47:42 PM
Anyone who denys that there is an extremely high level of racism within Ireland is simply not living in the real world. Throughout this discussion there has been a failure to draw proper distinction between illegal immigrants and asylum seekers. This is in part due to our archaic immigration laws, which render it virtually impossible for any of these groups to enter the Country legally. Those who do succeed in gaining access,albeit illegally, or kept waiting years for their case to be heard and throughout this time or denied the right to work, thus becoming a burden on the state, which few of them wish to be.
Post by: Colonel Cool on July 24, 2007, 07:52:24 AM
50 Romas leave M50 roundabout
Tuesday, 24 July 2007 07:26

Around 50 members of the Roma community living on the roundabout off the M50 at Ballymun have left the area under garda supervision.

Members of the Garda National Immigration Bureau and the Dublin Metropolitan North Division went to the roundabout at 5am this morning.

Gardaí say around 50 people voluntarily left the area, boarded buses and were taken to accommodation where they are currently being cared for.

AdvertisementThey will remain there until they are repatriated to northern Romania.

It is believed there are still around 20 people left at the camp.

Last night, the Minister for Justice, Brian Lenihan, said he had served deportation notices on members of the Roma community encamped on the roundabout.

Minister Lenihan said the Roma community there would be removed from the State unless they could give a valid reason to remain.

Speaking on RTÉ's Questions and Answers, Mr Lenihan said the Romanian community in Ireland had advised him that if the State allowed the Roma people into Ireland, thousands more would follow.

Representatives of the Roma community had said a number of those living at the roundabout had agreed to be repatriated to Romania.

The rest of the community had decided to remain at the camp, saying they did not want to return to Romania.

RTE
Post by: downredblack on July 24, 2007, 09:07:10 AM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on July 23, 2007, 04:36:42 PM
Quote from: downredblack on July 23, 2007, 02:57:46 PM
I have no problem with anyone who wants to come to this country within our legal parameters and work and try and better themselves,but lets not kid ourselves about these gypsies,they do not want to come here to work or try to better their situtation,they want handouts and social welfare. By the way i am getting a pain in my hole about this racisim card been raised at every turn, these people should be sent back to the country from where they came or else back to their homeland. They enetered this country illegally and contrivened not just Irish law but European law as well. i see you are from the north downblackred,how about we send them up to you and let your taxes fund their court cases? or even better maybe you will let them live in your back garden. But dont come on here claiming that everybody who doesnt agree with an open borders policy is racist, thats just a stupid and a lazy retort.

I don't agree with an open borders policy ( there is only one border I would like to see removed ) and I did not claim that everybody who doesn't agree with an open borders policy is a racist , please don't put words in my mouth . Maybe I went off topic with my initial post but it was due to a perceived level of intolerance I thought some posters were expressing towards immigrants .
Should all Irish illegals be sent home from the US ?

Gaeilgoir , I pay my taxes to the same place as yourself and have done all my working life .
Post by: stephenite on July 24, 2007, 09:52:52 AM
Are you the same Downredblack that was part of the protest against the Northern Irish soccer team in Chicago last year?
Post by: downredblack on July 24, 2007, 10:32:21 AM
What ????
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2007, 10:45:31 AM
QuoteShould all Irish illegals be sent home from the US ?

Yes, don't see a problem wiith that...
Post by: armaghniac on July 24, 2007, 11:46:44 AM
QuoteShould all Irish illegals be sent home from the US ?

This is even more clearcut as there is no doubt that they would have a good standard of living in Ireland.
Post by: Sky Blue on July 24, 2007, 12:09:19 PM
Extra 21 Roma gypsies jet in to join M50 campers
Angry envoy attacks lobby groups for 'distorting facts'

Silvia Davidoiu: accused Pavee Point and Roma Support Group of manipulating public

By Tom Brady
Tuesday July 24 2007

ANOTHER 21 Roma have flown in to the country to take up residence alongside 86 fellow gypsies who have already set up camp beside a motorway.

Last night the latest arrivals were settling into their new surroundings at the Ballymun exit from the M50 motorway, as the Romanian ambassador launched a hard-hitting attack on Irish support groups.

Silvia Davidoiu accused Pavee Point and the Roma Support Group of spearheading a campaign which attempted to manipulate the Irish public with a blend of untrue declarations and distortions of fact.

The Irish Independent learned last night that the 21 extra gypsies flew in to Dublin on a flight from Bucharest on Saturday night.

The latest arrivals carried tents in their luggage and hailed a fleet of taxis to take them directly from the airport to the three makeshift camps occupied by the others for the past couple of months.

The original 86 have already been served with deportation orders and it is understood the 21 will also be served with papers by the immigration authorities.

The 86 are preparing their submissions to Justice Minister Brian Lenihan against the orders served on them by gardai on Saturday.

They have 15 days to complete their submissions and a decision on their fate will then be made by the minister.

'How can whole families living in rubbish dumps, therefore having no property or financial means, finance their flights to Ireland?'

Ambassador Davidoiu said she was deeply concerned by the allegations repeatedly made by some of those living at the roundabout and by Pavee Point and the Roma Support Group about their treatment and living conditions in Romania.

Mendacious assertions aimed at misleading the Irish public into thinking that their conditions in Romania were worse than here were used in their campaign, she said.

She confirmed that the M50 campers were not homeless in Romania and some had permanent addresses in apartment blocks.

"The claim of living in makeshift tents in a rubbish dump back in Romania is a deliberately repeated falsehood," she added.

"How can whole families living in rubbish dumps, therefore having no property or financial means, finance their flights to Ireland?" she asked.

"How much do more than 50 flights to Ireland cost?" the ambassador asked. "And how can families with no resources or property support such costs?"

Refused

She pointed out that some of the gypsies had been offered jobs back home by an Italian shoe-making factory.

The job offer had been accepted by some and refused by others.

"Yet, one of their mantras is that they are not allowed to work in Romania.

"In the region where the extended family originate, the local authorities are implementing a project aimed at putting land at the disposal of poor families to support them making a decent living," she said yesterday.

It was regrettable, she added, that some Irish groups, and even part of the mass media, were ready to embrace stereotypes about the supposed discrimination the Roma minority was suffering in Romania.

She said it was surprising that Pavee Point was launching appeals to European bodies to treat "the Roma minority problem as an European one" when it had always been tackled as an European issue by those institutions.

Accuse

Ambassador Davidoiu also claimed the M50 campers were using their circumstances - "which they got into by ignoring the Irish legislation regarding the access to the Irish labour market" - to accuse the Romanian government of discrimination.

All of the 86 served with deportation orders have already refused two offers of free flights home.

Last January, 230 Romanians arrived here in large groups and sought asylum. But their applications were quickly turned down under an EU treaty protocol.

Only a dozen out of the 230 accepted an offer of a free flight home and the rest returned to either France or Spain.

- Tom Brady
Post by: full back on July 24, 2007, 12:15:58 PM
Whhat a f**king joke
Paying for flight over, buying tents etc, then hailing a f**king taxi ??? ???
I say round them all up & f**king deport them asap >:(
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 24, 2007, 12:18:55 PM
Quote from: full back on July 24, 2007, 12:15:58 PM
Whhat a f**king joke
You cant say that  ;)...give them a hug,social welfare and a cead mile Failte... :P
Post by: SuperMac on July 24, 2007, 12:45:48 PM
Quote from: full back on July 24, 2007, 12:15:58 PM
Whhat a f**king joke

100%. See the Romanian Ambassador came on to say that some of them owned houses back in Romania  ;D . One of them said they should be allowed to stay in Ireland because they were ' persecuted ' over in Romania. When asked to give an explaination he said " When you are on a bus in Romania people will look at you disrespectfully as if to say you shouldn't be sitting beside them. But in Ireland no one does that,  they treat me with respect ".  You have to feel sorry for the ordinary people back in Romania who have to live with these fcukers. These ' Romas' are not orginally from Romania, but centuries ago from but Asia aren't they ?
Post by: stephenite on July 25, 2007, 03:10:07 AM
Quote from: downredblack on July 24, 2007, 10:32:21 AM
What ????

Simple enough question
Post by: downredblack on July 25, 2007, 08:37:37 AM
Quote from: stephenite on July 25, 2007, 03:10:07 AM
What ????

Simple enough question

Look I don't know what your angle is here , but the answer to your question is no . I have never been to the States never mind Chicago and I have never protested against the NI soccer team . There are numerous soccer threads on this board and the lads that use them I think can confirm that I very rarely if ever have posted on them . For the simple reason I only have a passing interest in soccer at the best of times . So please tell me why I would go out of my way to do protest against something that I dont care about one way or the other ?
Post by: Gnevin on July 25, 2007, 08:42:51 AM
How did 21 lads just walk through Dublin airport , we wheren't they stopped and asked the purpose of their trip?
Post by: Gnevin on July 25, 2007, 12:46:28 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 25, 2007, 12:43:08 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 25, 2007, 08:42:51 AM
How did 21 lads just walk through Dublin airport , we wheren't they stopped and asked the purpose of their trip?

I believe they are allowed to come here as visitors/tourists.
Yes so like when you go to the US /Aussie they say how long are you staying , how much money have you got , where do you plan to stay .
If they lie they can be turfed straight back out, I've the tell the truth you don't let them in
Post by: Hardy on July 25, 2007, 12:57:27 PM
I believe EU citizens can travel freely throughout the EU, so I'm not sure they could have been stopped. I understand we have a derogation that allows us to deny citizens of some of the recent accessions to the EU the right to work here, but I don't think we can stop any EU citizen coming in. I also don't understand how we can 'deport' citizens of the EU to another place in the EU, given the right to travel freely. Can anyone help?
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 25, 2007, 03:16:31 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 25, 2007, 12:57:27 PM
I believe EU citizens can travel freely throughout the EU, so I'm not sure they could have been stopped. I understand we have a derogation that allows us to deny citizens of some of the recent accessions to the EU the right to work here, but I don't think we can stop any EU citizen coming in. I also don't understand how we can 'deport' citizens of the EU to another place in the EU, given the right to travel freely. Can anyone help?
I think it has to do with the ability to support yourself for three months without state help when you arrive.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 25, 2007, 05:55:35 PM
Quote from: downredblack on July 25, 2007, 08:37:37 AM
Quote from: stephenite on July 25, 2007, 03:10:07 AM
What ????

Simple enough question

Look I don't know what your angle is here , but the answer to your question is no . I have never been to the States never mind Chicago and I have never protested against the NI soccer team . There are numerous soccer threads on this board and the lads that use them I think can confirm that I very rarely if ever have posted on them . For the simple reason I only have a passing interest in soccer at the best of times . So please tell me why I would go out of my way to do protest against something that I dont care about one way or the other ?

Stephenite it's not the  same person, it was...something similar to that alright but that's not the same person. 
Post by: Sky Blue on July 27, 2007, 09:36:59 AM
Well they all flew home yesterday thank f**k.
On RTE this morning the Europe corrospondent was on - can't remember his name- was reporting from their home village in Romania. There's a fine new National school and a new medical centre is been built.  All they guys own their own houses. No sign of the rubbish dump they said they lived on.
There's a shortage of labour in the area so the Govt ran a job fair to match local Roma unempolyed with empolyers. Of the thousands unemployed only 56 turned up and took jobs. When FAS went backto check a month later only 6 were still in empolyment. The rest had quit to sit on their holes in a round about in Ireland and get fawned over by Pavee Point do-gooders.
Post by: Mentalman on July 27, 2007, 10:51:11 AM
Quote from: Sky Blue on July 27, 2007, 09:36:59 AM
Well they all flew home yesterday thank f**k.
On RTE this morning the Europe corrospondent was on - can't remember his name- was reporting from their home village in Romania. There's a fine new National school and a new medical centre is been built.  All they guys own their own houses. No sign of the rubbish dump they said they lived on.
There's a shortage of labour in the area so the Govt ran a job fair to match local Roma unempolyed with empolyers. Of the thousands unemployed only 56 turned up and took jobs. When FAS went backto check a month later only 6 were still in empolyment. The rest had quit to sit on their holes in a round about in Ireland and get fawned over by Pavee Point do-gooders.

And all the time not word from those who casually threw around phrases like facist/nazi/racist? To quote The Smiths "heavy words are so lightly thrown". The likes of Pavee Point certainly seem to have well and truely made idiots of themselves by pinning their colors to this particular mast. So much for it being "inevitable".
Post by: his holiness nb on July 27, 2007, 10:59:34 AM
I was shocked that "residents against racism" were on the radio supporting them the other day.
By there very name this was almost a suggestion that if you didnt support their cause it was through racism.
My reasons for wanting them moved was to do with safety reasons for the children in the camp and the motorists on the m50. Nothing to do with being racist.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 27, 2007, 01:20:23 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 27, 2007, 10:59:34 AM
I was shocked that "residents against racism" were on the radio supporting them the other day.
By there very name this was almost a suggestion that if you didnt support their cause it was through racism.
My reasons for wanting them moved was to do with safety reasons for the children in the camp and the motorists on the m50. Nothing to do with being racist.
Sure them loony left nutjobs don't want anyone deported, no matter how much they are gangsters/fraudsters etc. All for an open borders policy. SF amongst others has associated with them in the past too. Best ignored, but the media indulge them at times like these. Pavee Point lowered themselves badly on this one, may do them no good in the long run, especially if they seek funding from the Gov't. Anyway the Roma are gone home now so it's time to move on.