Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: armaghniac on July 17, 2007, 07:08:31 PM

Title: Dublin to pay to widen Tyrone roads
Post by: armaghniac on July 17, 2007, 07:08:31 PM
Ministers from Northern Ireland and the Republic have agreed to spend £400m on cross-border road projects.

The news of the joint investment came after a meeting of the North-South Ministerial Council in Armagh.

Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness said the road from Omagh to Donegal and the route from Belfast to Larne would become dual carriageways.

And before someone gets on to this, Dublin is one of few counties in the South that actually produces a surplus of tax over expenditure. No doubt the people of Tyrone will be at least as grateful as those in Larne.

Title: Re: Dublin to pay to widen Tyrone roads
Post by: Tankie on July 17, 2007, 08:12:01 PM
Funny how people forget about their politics when the Euro is offered!
Post by: SammyG on July 17, 2007, 08:36:49 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 17, 2007, 08:12:01 PM

What politics? It's cross-border roads so it's paid for by both governments. Hardly the weirdest idea in history. ::)
Post by: Star Spangler on July 17, 2007, 09:35:27 PM
Quotecross-border roads

What's the difference in these and ordinary roads?  ???
Post by: Tankie on July 17, 2007, 09:39:27 PM
Quote from: SammyG on July 17, 2007, 08:36:49 PM

What politics? It's cross-border roads so it's paid for by both governments. Hardly the weirdest idea in history. ::)

Big Ian and the boys werent to keen on talking to the republic until the money started to flow thats all. I've no problem with my taxes funding northern roads as it benifits everyone. I just hope this type of stuff keeps happening as the roads up there are a joke!
Post by: Gnevin on July 17, 2007, 10:08:51 PM
Will you be able to tell who built which parts ? Will certain parts of the road  be full of potholes and 3 lines going into one with no signage?  :P
Post by: Tankie on July 17, 2007, 10:28:29 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 17, 2007, 10:08:51 PM
Will you be able to tell who built which parts ? Will certain parts of the road  be full of potholes and 3 lines going into one with no signage?  :P

will they still be called the Queens highway? ;)
Post by: Rossfan on July 17, 2007, 11:22:50 PM
any chnce they'd improve the N5 between Strokestown and the Mayo border??
Then again.......... :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 17, 2007, 11:23:41 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 17, 2007, 09:39:27 PM

Big Ian and the boys werent to keen on talking to the republic until the money started to flow thats all. I've no problem with my taxes funding northern roads as it benifits everyone. I just hope this type of stuff keeps happening as the roads up there are a joke!
You're either taking the piss or you've never left Dublin!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 17, 2007, 11:51:25 PM
never been outside the M50 I'm guessing
Post by: armaghniac on July 18, 2007, 12:03:55 AM
I hope there is a big bilingual sign outside Larne, "this road funded by the National Development Plan".
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on July 18, 2007, 08:03:50 AM
Guilt over the 1995 All Ireland Final  :o
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 09:35:33 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 17, 2007, 11:22:50 PM

Maybe if we start a War over Ballaghadeereen they might give us some money for our roads Rossfan.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 09:40:20 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 09:35:33 AM

Maybe if we start a War over Ballaghadeereen they might give us some money for our roads Rossfan.

I don't know what your on  about fishead in northmayo we have had 3 miles of a dual carrigeway built the last 30 years ,ahh the celtic tiger ;) ;) ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on July 18, 2007, 09:55:40 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 17, 2007, 11:51:25 PM
never been outside the M50 I'm guessing

Thats understandable, he has probably been stuck on it for about 15 years.  ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 10:10:09 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 09:40:20 AM

I don't know what your on  about fishead in northmayo we have had 3 miles of a dual carrigeway built the last 30 years ,ahh the celtic tiger ;) ;) ;)

Dual Carriage in Mayo, where???????  ???

I think this thread might unify the Culchies and Jackeens who feel we need the money for our roads, damn those Nordies taking our money  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 10:30:03 AM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 10:10:09 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 18, 2007, 09:40:20 AM

Dual Carriage in Mayo, where???????  ???

I think this thread might unify the Culchies and Jackeens who feel we need the money for our roads, damn those Nordies taking our money  ;)
Just testing you fishhead all we got was 3 miles of a new road, imagine that aren't we lucky now i know what were payiing our taxes for, the old saying still prevails to hell or to connaught >:( >:( >:(
Title: Dublin to pay to widen Tyrone roads
Post by: 5 Sams on July 18, 2007, 10:37:42 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 18, 2007, 12:03:55 AM
I hope there is a big bilingual sign outside Larne, "this road funded by the National Development Plan".

Of course there will...I'm lookin forward to seeing what the Ulster Scots for National Development Plan is ???
Post by: Spiritof98 on July 18, 2007, 10:39:23 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 18, 2007, 10:37:42 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 18, 2007, 12:03:55 AM

Of course there will...I'm lookin forward to seeing what the Ulster Scots for National Development Plan is ???

National Development plan hi! ;)
Post by: Bensars on July 18, 2007, 10:58:36 AM
 with a photograph and inscription under it

(http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:vQP1jO7yeQXceM:http://www.sluggerotoole.com/images/ian_p.jpg)

Never, Never, Never, Never !                   ( unless its money, jobs and contracts for wrights buses in ballymena )
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 11:03:00 AM
Ive been saying if for years lads, Connacht/Connaught starts to process of leaving the Republic, suddenly the 85 years past of development in the West might start or the 35 years or so of EU money that was meant for us, we might eventually see. At least by tricking Brussels into thinking it was for the West & Border, we got to use it to build some lovely condos in the IFSC, the Gasworks in Dublin & some nice coffee & wine bars in Ranelagh.
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 11:10:01 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 17, 2007, 11:23:41 PM

I aint taking the piss, there are f**k all dual carrigeways for a considerable distance or moterways. the Dublin to Derry Road is shite once you cross the boarded and the Road to Belfast is the same but they seem to be doing some up there about that one. In general road in this country are a joke tho, that M50 is enough to piss anyone off for a week.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 11:21:52 AM
Quote from: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 11:10:01 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on July 17, 2007, 11:23:41 PM

In general road in this country are a joke tho, that M50 is enough to piss anyone off for a week.

A week, sounds about as long as it takes to get thru Claregalway on a workday morning
Post by: magickingdom on July 18, 2007, 01:12:19 PM
big ian better be careful that all roads dont lead to rome.... :D
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 01:17:51 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 18, 2007, 01:12:19 PM
big ian better be careful that all roads dont lead to rome.... :D

i think we need to make sure they don't aswell :o
Post by: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 01:21:02 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 11:03:00 AM
Ive been saying if for years lads, Connacht/Connaught starts to process of leaving the Republic, suddenly the 85 years past of development in the West might start or the 35 years or so of EU money that was meant for us, we might eventually see. At least by tricking Brussels into thinking it was for the West & Border, we got to use it to build some lovely condos in the IFSC, the Gasworks in Dublin & some nice coffee & wine bars in Ranelagh.
::) ::)
The poor whest, always been ripped of by the big auld dubs  :P
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 01:22:23 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 01:21:02 PM

also maybe the government worked out that nobody wants to live over there, sure even the culchies run out of there once they are 18 and have a degree!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 01:27:58 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 01:22:23 PM

also maybe the government worked out that nobody wants to live over there, sure even the culchies run out of there once they are 18 and have a degree!

I got my degree & postgrad in the West, had to move to Dublin because thats where the Government insists on focusing development, after 5 years there, I got an opportunity to move West, damn glad I did.

I think if anyone bothered their arse to see where the EU designated all its billions too, it was the West, but if you did an Audit on Ireland Inc. you would find it went to the East. I really think the EU should sue Ireland for circa €50 Billion.
Post by: Gnevin on July 18, 2007, 01:32:02 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 01:27:58 PM

I got my degree & postgrad in the West, had to move to Dublin because thats where the Government insists on focusing development, after 5 years there, I got an opportunity to move West, damn glad I did.

I think if anyone bothered their arse to see where the EU designated all its billions too, it was the West, but if you did an Audit on Ireland Inc. you would find it went to the East. I really think the EU should sue Ireland for circa €50 Billion.
At the end of the day Fishead is most likely came down to a simple cost benefit . Spend 10 million on a road in the east and improve the lifes of up 1.5 million people . Spend 10 million in the west 250,000 would properly be the most you'd improve
Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2007, 02:13:49 PM
What's "Whest" ???
Anyway 6 or 7 billion on light railways/metros or whatever in Dublin - noproblem seems the dearer the better.
Then when a group presented plans to the Govt about reopening the Western Rail corridor from Sligo to Limerick at a cost of €250 m. the then Minister (Brennan - a herrin choker -shame !!!) nearly laughed in their faces and muttered something about maybe a commuter service into Galway City.
Post by: armaghniac on July 18, 2007, 05:24:46 PM
Are the Western posters denying that Dublin is in fact subsidising the West? State expenditure in Mayo exceeds State revenue from Mayo in Dublin it is the other way around.

QuoteWestern Rail corridor from Sligo to Limerick at a cost of €250 m

How many people will travel on this, or at least the part north of Tuam? Will you? This is one of those "good things" that nobody has any intention of using. On the other hand you there is hardly standing room on the Luas.

Post by: Rossfan on July 18, 2007, 07:38:03 PM
Every journey on Dublin's DART trains is subsidised to the tune of an average €1.00 per trip.
Dublin Bus serving 1.3m people gets €81m subsidy. Bus Eireann serving 3.1 m and having many more uneconomic routes gets €30m.
Who is subsidising who?
My sister lives in a town in Co Kildare. The people have to hire contractors at their own expense to cut the grass on the greens.
A few miles up the road in Dublin the local Council cuts all the Greens in Estates FREE.
Yet tax rates are the same in all 26 Counties.
Knock Airport was knocked (sorry !!!) when it was proposed as I'm sure Shannon was too but wasnt it right to go ahead wih them?
A Western Rail corridor would be a boon to Tourism,commerce -save a lot of roads, and would enable a lot of small towns along the route to become more attractive to investment and potential residents.
But of course it would be easier to close up the oul West altogether and have an Interpretive Centre in Athlone.
Meanwhile everyone could live in Tower Blocks in Dublin/Cork/Galway and 5 or 6 other places and the Govt could save a fortune.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 18, 2007, 07:59:32 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 18, 2007, 05:24:46 PM
Are the Western posters denying that Dublin is in fact subsidising the West? State expenditure in Mayo exceeds State revenue from Mayo in Dublin it is the other way around.

QuoteWestern Rail corridor from Sligo to Limerick at a cost of €250 m

How many people will travel on this, or at least the part north of Tuam? Will you? This is one of those "good things" that nobody has any intention of using. On the other hand you there is hardly standing room on the Luas.

We pay water, bin & utility rates, Dublin does not.

Connacht & Munster has nearly all of Irelands mineral resources.

Connacht & Munster provide the highest number of graduates and a high percentage of the trades in the Republic, so therefore we provide the brains of the Irish economy and up to recently the brawn (now mostly Eastern Europe).

If you take money specifically regionaly allocated by the EU/EC/ECC since the 1970's to Ireland being used in the East when allocated to the West of the Shannon & the border Region, we have in fact being susidising the East

Also to Gnevin he states the whole population of Leinster against his perceived population of West of the Shannon "At the end of the day Fishead is most likely came down to a simple cost benefit . Spend 10 million on a road in the east and improve the lifes of up 1.5 million people . Spend 10 million in the west 250,000 would properly be the most you'd improve"

Sorry to break an illusions you may have but the poplulation of County Galway & Leitrim combined is about 250,000, thats before you count Mayo with about 120,000, Clare with 130,000, & Roscommon & Sligo which I'm unsure of. The Western Corridor would also befit people in the Bundoran/Ballyhannon area of Donegal, Longford, Westmeath, Western Offally, North Tipperary & County Limerick.
Sorry if all these people do not count to the Irish Government.

Also the projects the people of the West want implemented are a fraction of the Cost as money spend in the East.

All the money wasted on the Bertie Bowl would have us a good part of the way there.

Also its important before the Country falls into the Irish Sea.

This is the Republic of Ireland not the City State of Dublin.
Post by: armaghniac on July 18, 2007, 08:13:42 PM
If you take money specifically regionaly allocated by the EU/EC/ECC since the 1970's to Ireland being used in the East when allocated to the West of the Shannon & the border Region, we have in fact being susidising the East

Which projects were allocated to the West of the country where the money was spent in the East? Surely the EU would require it to be spent on the project it was allocated for.

QuoteA Western Rail corridor would be a boon to Tourism,commerce -save a lot of roads, and would enable a lot of small towns along the route to become more attractive to investment and potential residents.

This line was closed because nobody used it.Will more people use it now, when car ownership is much higher, than did when it was closed?

It is not the West but places like Donegal and Monaghan that have been starved of government intervention.

Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 09:37:33 PM
i don't use public transport so once they keep building roads i'l be happy!
Post by: Hardy on July 18, 2007, 11:09:52 PM
It's good to see the government making an effort to meet its commitments on third world aid.
Post by: Pangurban on July 18, 2007, 11:44:11 PM
So you consider your own Country to be third world Hardy, or are you finally admitting to being a free-stater,full stop
Post by: Tankie on July 18, 2007, 11:47:15 PM
Quote from: Pangurban on July 18, 2007, 11:44:11 PM
So you consider your own Country to be third world Hardy, or are you finally admitting to being a free-stater,full stop

We own the North? it is a bit of a shithole you gotta admit, that much hate cant be good for anyone! :-\
Post by: GweylTah on July 19, 2007, 09:25:41 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2007, 11:09:52 PM
It's good to see the government making an effort to meet its commitments on third world aid.

How partitionist of you!

Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 09:29:39 AM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 19, 2007, 09:25:41 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 18, 2007, 11:09:52 PM

How partitionist of you!

But did he mean Northern Ireland or the United Kingdom as both are now officially poorer than the Republic  ;)

Connacht wants €100 trillion left in a brown paper bag in the third bin on the left as you enter St.Stephens Green by 4.55pm today or we be doing a little partitioning of our own  :D
Post by: Gnevin on July 19, 2007, 09:53:45 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2007, 02:13:49 PM
What's "Whest" ???
Anyway 6 or 7 billion on light railways/metros or whatever in Dublin - noproblem seems the dearer the better.
Then when a group presented plans to the Govt about reopening the Western Rail corridor from Sligo to Limerick at a cost of €250 m. the then Minister (Brennan - a herrin choker -shame !!!) nearly laughed in their faces and muttered something about maybe a commuter service into Galway City.
The Whest is the know people from the west say west
Post by: Hardy on July 19, 2007, 10:24:34 AM
It's getting far too po-faced around here. Every second poster now is a policeman, a censor or a judge.

Just for the record, then - it was a joke. (Remember those?).

(By the way, I have no idea what a "free-stater" is in the year 2007 and in the era of power-sharing. This is the era of the political dispensation whereby the people of all Ireland have pronounced and mandated that the current constitutional arrangement is the one they want, unless and until the people of the separate parts of Ireland decide otherwise. Like it or not, 90+% of us (including those on both sides who fought a 30-year armed campaign against it, from their separate perspectives) have decided that. So I think the concept of "free-stater" is something of an anachronism).
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 19, 2007, 10:36:04 AM
agree with you hardy it seems the board is a sense of humour  free zone these days
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 10:43:05 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 19, 2007, 10:36:04 AM
agree with you hardy it seems the board is a sense of humour  free zone these days

I disagree, how can people continue to read Gywltyahs posts without a sense of humour  :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 19, 2007, 10:56:28 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 10:43:05 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 19, 2007, 10:36:04 AM

I disagree, how can people continue to read Gywltyahs posts without a sense of humour  :D :D :D :D :D

true your holiness very true ;) ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 11:45:11 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 19, 2007, 09:53:45 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2007, 02:13:49 PM
What's "Whest" ???
The Whest is the know people from the west say west

Gnevin the only time I ever heard a person from the West pronounce it like that is when they where doing it to slag Dubs (being sarcastic) because in normal day to day the WEST is how we pronounce it. Also the first time I heard MAYO called MAY-YO was by Dubs when I moved to Dublin, I really did not get where they get that from, unless its what they think we are saying when there is 40,000 of us cheering our team in unison to victory over Dublin yet again. Also 90% of us say Galway not Gyall-wey. Dublin peoples West of the Shannon accent is as bizarre and off the mark as American tvs Irish Accent.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 11:47:56 AM
And we dont all say "stoooooory bud" and hang around with Anto  ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 12:15:33 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 11:47:56 AM

Deco, sorry I mean his holiness I bet your favourate curse word is "geebag"  :D
Post by: ludermor on July 19, 2007, 12:26:17 PM

Yep Tankie thats right , we are so smart in the west that when we are 18 we have our degrees. What age were you when you got your degree?
Post by: scalder on July 19, 2007, 12:35:44 PM
Lads I must say you boys in the West are some men  to complain – fair play to you atleast you know things must change while down in Wexford we've twiddled our thumbs as our standard of living has plummeted in relation to the rest of the country. We've massive unemployment, huge underinvestment, we're 2 hours from Dublin, home to one of the biggest and closest ports to Europe and yet we've been ignored while industries have been induced to locate in other part of the country. We're being reduced to a commuter county and holiday home destination. The worst part is unlike in the West I don't hear any outcry at home – we just seem to accept the situation.

The reality is I suppose that we can't attract industry to every town in Ireland and that some areas will be better off then others – maybe its better that we only have to go to Dublin rather then New York or London. Big companies look for certain things when setting up and big cities are usually more attractive.

Anyway the point of my post is that lumping the whole East together as one amorphous area is unhelpful and untrue – you've Dublin and the rest of Ireland in my opinion – we should look for a fairer spread but should be cautious about killing the golden goose.
Post by: his holiness nb on July 19, 2007, 12:40:36 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 12:15:33 PM

I've been known to throw that word out occasionally to impress my guests over afternoon tea  :-X
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 01:01:41 PM
Quote from: scalder on July 19, 2007, 12:35:44 PM
Lads I must say you boys in the West are some men  to complain – fair play to you atleast you know things must change while down in Wexford we've twiddled our thumbs as our standard of living has plummeted in relation to the rest of the country.

Ha ha a Cavanman used say that very same thing to me all through college in Galway, just replace Wexford with Cavan.

You see Scalder over here in Connacht/Clare there is an almost Islander (like Ireland seperate from Britian) attitude we almost totally surrounded by waster, the Atlantic, Shannon, Shannon Estury & a cluster of Mountains & Mountain Ranges up at the very top between the start of the Shannon & Donegal Bay. It creates a unique collective Identity (very usefull for collective Moaning  :D  )
Post by: scalder on July 19, 2007, 05:03:57 PM
Fishhead – I see parallels with Cavan in terms of our GAA teams – great in the past – still obsessed with the games but living on past glories!

Wexford is/was a very isolated county for the reasons you've mentioned the West is – we've the Wicklow and Blackstairs mountains to the north and west, the river barrow up to the south west and the Atlantic and Irish sea on the south and east coasts – other than by sea we were hugely isolated from the rest of Ireland until the coming of the railways!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 05:07:50 PM
Quote from: scalder on July 19, 2007, 05:03:57 PM
Fishhead – I see parallels with Cavan in terms of our GAA teams – great in the past – still obsessed with the games but living on past glories!

Wexford is/was a very isolated county for the reasons you've mentioned the West is – we've the Wicklow and Blackstairs mountains to the north and west, the river barrow up to the south west and the Atlantic and Irish sea on the south and east coasts – other than by sea we were hugely isolated from the rest of Ireland until the coming of the railways!

Scalder Wexford is a County that I like, Cavan another, actually have a Wexford jersey @ home.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 19, 2007, 05:15:42 PM

lol
havent heard that word mentioned or used in a while :D
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 06:20:33 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 19, 2007, 05:15:42 PM

lol
havent heard that word mentioned or used in a while :D

Ya obviously never played junior club football in Dublin, how often I heard "ya beher wach it ya geebag, a fcks sake its another bleeden culchie"
Post by: Tankie on July 19, 2007, 11:30:16 PM
Quote from: ludermor on July 19, 2007, 12:26:17 PM

Yep Tankie thats right , we are so smart in the west that when we are 18 we have our degrees. What age were you when you got your degree?

i was waiting for someone to pick up on that, i noticed it once i posted it but wasnt in the mood to fix it. I guess some of you boys are quicker than others ;)
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 20, 2007, 12:49:15 PM
Sorry Tankie sure thats hardly a big deal for us West-of-the-Shannon folk, sure we have or leaving done by 14, we so bloody smart.
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 04:09:36 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 01:01:41 PM
[.

You see Scalder over here in Connacht .....we almost totally surrounded by waster,  :D  )

Certainly applies to Roscommon - almost totally surrounded by WASTERS !!! :D
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 22, 2007, 07:52:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 04:09:36 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 19, 2007, 01:01:41 PM
[.

You see Scalder over here in Connacht .....we almost totally surrounded by waster,  :D  )

Certainly applies to Roscommon - almost totally surrounded by WASTERS !!! :D

ALMOST   :)  - Who would they be Longford, Westmeath, Leitrim, Sligo & Galway.   :D
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 08:08:08 PM
You left out Offaly and ......
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 22, 2007, 08:10:38 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2007, 08:08:08 PM
You left out Offaly and ......

Offaly not even on our radar over-here in the Real West  ;)