GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: darbyo on July 14, 2007, 09:56:20 PM

Title: Waterford V Cork....again!
Post by: darbyo on July 14, 2007, 09:56:20 PM
Well despite the magnificent win for Tipp tonight I still don't rate them, not sure what happened to Cork after the first 20min. but that was the first time that I've seen so many of Corks main men completely disappear out of a game. I would have fancied Waterford to beat Tipp even after the game tonight but Cork will be completely different next week(is it on next week?). I think unfortunately Cork have Waterford's number and will recover from tonight and still make the final, though I hope I'm wrong.
Title: Re: Waterford V Cork....again!
Post by: didlyi on July 14, 2007, 10:28:56 PM
I think Daly and O grady summed it up about Cotk. They expected an easy win but you cant turn that attitude around at half time. Tipp wanted to win it more and I think Cork will be beat again by Watreford as their game plan is in shreds.
Post by: Mentalman on July 16, 2007, 04:43:07 PM
Quote from: didlyi on July 14, 2007, 10:28:56 PM
I think Daly and O grady summed it up about Cotk. They expected an easy win but you cant turn that attitude around at half time. Tipp wanted to win it more and I think Cork will be beat again by Watreford as their game plan is in shreds.

Would agree on the first part. Watched it last night again and the amount of space given to Tipp players was so unlike the Cork side we've seen over the past few years. As for Cork/Waterford it's hard to know, there are two parts tothe equation, how will Waterford feel to see Cork coming their way again? Unfortunately, even given their victory over Limerick, I think this Waterford side are also just off their best. But we will see.
Post by: robinbanks on July 18, 2007, 12:43:43 PM
Waterford will not mind meeting Cork again , in fact i think they dont mind who they meet.I think it will be a close match and will come down to a vital goal at the right time.There will be alot up for the winners as Limerick/Clare would not pose as stiff as oppsition as the other side of draw.Waterford to progress but expect another classic with plenty of twists.
Post by: Goin Down on July 19, 2007, 09:43:58 PM
Waterford WILL beat Cork, seriously lads. 8)
Post by: TBT on July 19, 2007, 11:56:14 PM
If the Waterford fullback line tighen up Cork would have to pull amassive performance out of the hat to beat them. Given the miles on the clock thats unlikely although not impossibile.
Post by: robinbanks on July 21, 2007, 11:20:16 AM
Agree with last post.Expect Murphy to be back to his best after an out of sorts season and keep joe deane quiet.
Post by: thejuice on July 22, 2007, 09:26:54 AM
yeah, have to say some of Corks big names let them down against tipp. O'h'Ailpin was way off the pace of the game it seems.
Post by: darbyo on July 22, 2007, 12:01:43 PM
Unfortunately the likes of Sean Og should be back to their best for the Waterford match. To write off any Cork team is a mistake, to write this one off is plain foolish.
Post by: tayto on July 22, 2007, 12:18:55 PM
I agree that it'll be close enough, a goal either way will probably swing it. SHould be a cracker, can't wait!
Post by: Colonel Cool on July 23, 2007, 11:49:19 AM
I, like must neutrals, would love to see Waterford win an All Ireland but I fear Cork will finish them off on Sunday. They will have learned from their 2 defeats this year and I can't see them losing this one.
Post by: deiseach on July 24, 2007, 11:51:30 AM
Quote from: Colonel Cool on July 23, 2007, 11:49:19 AM
I, like must neutrals, would love to see Waterford win an All Ireland but I fear Cork will finish them off on Sunday. They will have learned from their 2 defeats this year and I can't see them losing this one.

They've had three defeats against Waterford this year alone. That's a lot of learning . . .
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2007, 11:54:52 AM
Niall McCarthy is another big loss for Cork, even though he is unsung. I hope Waterford can do it, and I'll go so far to say that if they do manage to overcome Cork twice, three times including the League Semi, in the one year, they will win Liam.
Post by: tayto on July 24, 2007, 01:00:40 PM
Chalk me up as another who'd love to see waterford do it, but i dont think Cork are on top for this year, new man in trying a few things out, I think Kilkenny are still the team to beat. I know Waterford beat them int he league final there were mitigating circumstances to that game, Cha int he forwards, Shefflin only played a bit of hurling at that stage. Still hope they can do it.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on July 24, 2007, 07:25:41 PM
Would be hard for Waterford to take if they lose this game and wouldnt be suprised if they do. Really hope though they can do it and Im sure most non Cork people will be behind them. What a weekend of hurling it promises to be! One of the best ever. Sunday looks by the far the better day, with Saturdays matches looking quite predictable. Hopefully though Wexford and Galway will up their performances and produce 2 fine games.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 24, 2007, 09:40:06 PM
Please God let Waterford win this game. What good is it beating Cork twice already and them still in it. Come on Waterford, do us all a favour and beat Cork!
Post by: Waterford Lurker on July 24, 2007, 11:32:18 PM
Hope we can do it.....we could do with a rub of the green in Croke Park after our last few times (excluding Tipp game last year)
twill be a feckin wet day again....bollocks
Post by: maxpower on July 26, 2007, 10:21:01 AM
what ould be the odds of both cork and kilkenny exiting the championship in July.  it is possible and would be great for this years championship
Post by: Bogball XV on July 29, 2007, 04:59:07 PM
who scored waterford's second goal?
Post by: tyroneboi on July 29, 2007, 05:31:34 PM
Jesus what a finish - what a game!!!
Post by: ExiledGael on July 29, 2007, 05:33:02 PM
Result info quick? Can see nothing and Aertel is slow as f**k online updating scores
Post by: Bogball XV on July 29, 2007, 05:34:08 PM
3.16 each
Post by: Bogball XV on July 29, 2007, 05:38:39 PM
Waterford the better side, nearly threw it all away though - 5 down with 3 mins left thanks to 2 cork goals in a few minutes around the hour mark (only time Cork were dominant in the game) - very poor defending from waterford for both, the defence parted like the red sea!!
Waterford came back at them, and goaled with a minute left, Cusack made a great save, but the rebound was finished off superbly - then as injury time was up, E McGrath ran through, went for goal, cusack again saved brilliantly - shanahan should have scored the rebound, but it was stopped, cusack evenutally lay on the ball - free in from the 21 - free pointed, game over.
Post by: Abble on July 29, 2007, 05:41:04 PM
no harm to cork, they know a trick or two....donal og made a great save and then followed up with another stop but he made no effort whatsoever to clear, instead taking the option to feign being hit and then lyin down with the ball.....? this is just how i interpreted that incident.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 29, 2007, 05:48:05 PM
Quote from: Abble on July 29, 2007, 05:41:04 PM
no harm to cork, they know a trick or two....donal og made a great save and then followed up with another stop but he made no effort whatsoever to clear, instead taking the option to feign being hit and then lyin down with the ball.....? this is just how i interpreted that incident.
Yeah, it was a definite free in - probably a penalty?  not sure of the particular rule there, it might be one of those offences that only frees are awarded for?
Post by: didlyi on July 29, 2007, 05:53:33 PM
Jeez, but what was eoin mcgrath doing trying to win the match for em and at the same time could have cost them the lot. Fantastic game though and a great weekends entertainment
Post by: Bogball XV on July 29, 2007, 06:04:15 PM
Quote from: didlyi on July 29, 2007, 05:53:33 PM
Jeez, but what was eoin mcgrath doing trying to win the match for em and at the same time could have cost them the lot. Fantastic game though and a great weekends entertainment
He obviously saw Fitzhenry being carried off the pitch shoulder high yesterday. 
Post by: SuperMac on July 29, 2007, 07:14:01 PM
Quote from: Abble on July 29, 2007, 05:41:04 PM

Cork will feel peed off about the ref's decision, but I have to agree, after making a fine save Donal Og didn't attempt to clear it and instead lying on it. ( If I was in that situation I would have done the same meself ! ) Waterford will feel lucky to get a second bite at the cherry, but still over the 70 minutes, they had Cork on the rack a few times and let them back in, and also some of their shooting could have been better. Instead of going for long distance points it might have been more profitable to drop the ball in around the goals. But still, aren't we lucky to get another game invovling two great teams. Fancy Waterford to sharpen their shooting and take it the next time.
Post by: Canalman on July 29, 2007, 07:22:05 PM
Ref imo got the last call spot on .DÓÓC made no effort to play the ball and jeez the Cork lads don't like referees giving tight calls against them. Will they go squealing to Frank Murphy to sort it out for them.
Seriously good game though and a credit to both teams.

Seriously disappointed with Lyster spouting the old barstool argument after the game that the GAA "wanted/played for the draw".
Post by: Lecale2 on July 29, 2007, 07:29:41 PM
I thought the ref got it right. He lay on the ball. Free in. No dispute. I missed the first 10 minutes but this was a great game and probably the right result.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 29, 2007, 09:50:06 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 29, 2007, 07:29:41 PM
I thought the ref got it right. He lay on the ball. Free in. No dispute. I missed the first 10 minutes but this was a great game and probably the right result.

And both Anthony Daly and Peter Finnerty agree that it was a definite foul too. Case closed.
Post by: Stay goalside of your man on July 30, 2007, 12:13:12 AM
You can clearly see him moving over the ball on the replay, Roy Keane will surely have something to say about this anti-cork behaviour :)
Post by: robinbanks on July 30, 2007, 12:53:58 PM
Did anyone see O Sullivan(Pebbles) sticking his fingers up to the waterford crowd at the end of the match.Just shows what type of a character he is !
Post by: Msgr. Horan on July 30, 2007, 02:19:32 PM
Next Sunday at 4 in Croker for the replay, rumour has it.
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on July 30, 2007, 02:21:50 PM
Robin Banks - you obviously don't know Diarmuid O'Sullivan at all. The guy is a pure gentleman off the field and a great ambassador for hurling as his many trips north of the border with Donal Og have proved. Didn't see the so called gesture and none of the papers have picked it up so could be a bit of a wives tale that. Little doubt that the Rock can be liberal with the hurl at times but he is not the only one and every county has a player their own fans love and everyone else hates it part of the game.
Same was said of John Mullane a couple of years ago during the Munster final when he gestured to Crok crowd and people started saying all sorts about the guy and yet he is really well thought of in his own club for what he does with juvenile coaching etc - as the tattoo on big Dan's arm says if you don't know me don't judge me.
Reality is great game between two great teams who served up another classic - little doubt that the Cork V Waterford games have been the highlight of the hurling championship over the past few years. All these players are great role models for the youth of Ireland, they mightn't be "saints" all the time but they are a hell of a lot better than the soccer crowd the media love to hype up. Take the likes of Mullane there playing yesterday and back on a building site on Castlemartyr in Cork this morning, you could just imagine Lampard heading to Manchester to work on a building site the day after a Champions League match!

Lecale - I will remind of that decision regarding the free at the end over the next few months in club games, expecting a few frees for the seamrogai in the coming weeks!
Post by: bottlethrower7 on July 30, 2007, 02:34:31 PM
Quote from: robinbanks on July 30, 2007, 12:53:58 PM
Did anyone see O Sullivan(Pebbles) sticking his fingers up to the waterford crowd at the end of the match.Just shows what type of a character he is !

I saw it alright. Had his top off, running towards the dressing room. Himself and Donal Og were giving it socks to the crowd, geeing them up. Then the Rock let loose with his fingers at a group of Waterford fans.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2007, 02:41:27 PM
Great game, great finish, and a correct decision at the end by the ref. The infuriating thing is that this 'foul' is hardly ever punished, and as such (Ger), Cork have a grievance as to why at that particular juncture in the game a free was awarded. If that incident happened in the 25th minute, I doubt it would have been a free. Having said that, it is a bugbear of mine that referee's don't give the correct decision in those incidents 90% of the time, electing for the handy throw up. So well done in this instance to the ref. It must have been a tough enough decision to make.

For the game itself, I thought Waterford were after pucking it away. I hope they got the mad wides out of their system, as every time I see these lads play I want to see them win the AI more and more. Fair play to Cork though, they are a great hearted team as well, and they proved themselves in their grit in sticking in yesterday as well.

For the Replay, I'm going with Waterford. They had a bit of a layoff before the game, and got a lot of wides out of their system (I hope). One thing though. Would Justin EVER stop moving lads for the sake of it. Dan Shanahan was doing wreck on the 40, and they moved him inside. He needs to be a target for puckouts and clearances, and he isn't that when he's stuck in on the small square.
Post by: Red Hurley on July 30, 2007, 02:44:45 PM
When will the Umpires start doing their duty and penalise Donal Og for his constant breaking of the square on puck outs ?
Post by: johnneycool on July 30, 2007, 03:40:35 PM
Quote from: Red Hurley on July 30, 2007, 02:44:45 PM
When will the Umpires start doing their duty and penalise Donal Og for his constant breaking of the square on puck outs ?

The rock took a short puck out from inside his own 21, is that a hop ball on the 21 or a 65 the other way?

As for the whole umpire thing, I don't know what exactly they can do about it, is it in their powers to stand on the pitch with the hand up, drawing the refs attention to such indescretions? I'm sure we'd all be calling them 'jobsworthy f**kers/wankers/etc, etc if they started doing that. I'd prefer if the bollocks was in the right postion to make a decision in relation to whether scores are scores rather than give some eejit whose friendly with the ref too many powers.
Post by: Hound on July 30, 2007, 03:43:52 PM
Quote from: Msgr. Horan on July 30, 2007, 02:19:32 PM
Next Sunday at 4 in Croker for the replay, rumour has it.
Yeah, the semi-final is the curtain raiser for the quarter-final!!
Post by: robinbanks on July 30, 2007, 03:49:27 PM
Its definately confirmed for next Sunday Croke Park 4.00 throw in
Post by: Model Hammer on July 30, 2007, 04:38:04 PM
Just when you thought they couldn't f*ck up fixtures any worse, they put an AI Semi-Final as curtain-raiser to a QF!!
This has got to take the all-time biscuit. There have been questionable ones before about which was the bigger fixture when both codes were part of a double-header, but this just beats Banagher. Who are these morons in GAC/CCCP/WKRP, or whatever the f*ck they're called this year?

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 30, 2007, 04:40:32 PM
Quote from: robinbanks on July 30, 2007, 03:49:27 PM
Its definately confirmed for next Sunday Croke Park 4.00 throw in

Just got my tickets there, lower Hogan, halfway line, 5 rows from the front, can't bloody wait...  ;D If u so much as stand up Cody...
Post by: neilthemac on July 30, 2007, 04:45:28 PM
strange decision in fixtures

common sense would have been to put Kilkenny vs Wexford on the Bank Holiday Monday?

the main problem was the Cork vs Sligo game on the Saturday.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on July 30, 2007, 05:36:07 PM
In fairness Semple would have made more sense for everyone.
Post by: johnneycool on July 31, 2007, 08:15:08 AM
I suppose in some ways it makes sense to put the Waterford/Cork game on after the AI semi. Say for example the quarter final was to end level again after 70 minutes then the extra time could be played. If the quarter final is playerd before the semi final then extra time would be a huge inconvenience to both Wexford and Kilkenny in their preparation for the semi-final, warm ups etc.

Add to that the likelihood that the semi is more likely to be a one sided affair, we all hope that it isn't but both teams track record suggests that it will be.
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 03, 2007, 08:05:51 AM
Well what's the predictions for this weekend - personally I think Cork have left it behind them even though they didn't play particularly well the last day. Beleive that Waterford will now be convinced that its their "destiny" to win this year having come back from the dead like that last week - expect Waterford by three points.
Got my tickets last night, looking forward to another cracker although I think the Kilkenny V Wexford match will be a total damp squib.
Post by: Lecale2 on August 03, 2007, 08:42:14 AM
Would you be backing Cork by any chance Pull Hard?
I'm looking forward to another cracker. The bookies have Cork favorites but I can see nothing between them. Wouldn't be surprised if there was extra time.
Any word of the teams?
Post by: maxpower on August 03, 2007, 09:19:11 AM
hope Waterford can do it, and it woul be incredibly hardon their season to not even make the semi's but thats exactly what i think will happen.

I just think these teams are so evenly balanced that if they plyed 100 times, there'd be forty wins each and 20 draws.  on that reckoning, they've played 4 times competitively this year and cork have failed to win any, surely they can't go 5 for 0. okay not the most compeling logic and i hope i'm wrong
Post by: Silky on August 03, 2007, 09:32:25 AM
Heart says Waterford but the head says Cork.
Post by: Sky Blue on August 03, 2007, 10:09:33 AM
Cork unchanged.

Two changes for Waterford - C Hennessy; E Murphy, D Prendergast, B Phelan; T Browne, K McGrath, A Kearney; M Walsh, S Walsh; S Molumphy, S Prendergast, E Kelly; J Mullane, D Shanahan, P Flynn.
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 03, 2007, 11:44:59 AM
Of course I'm backing Cork Lecale but not in the bookies! Don't know obviously my heart says and is willing Cork to win but I just feel its Waterford's year. To be honest I won't be too upset if Waterford win as there is little doubt that this particular team deserve an All Ireland. In saying that was speaking to Ogie and Sully during the week and the Cork lads are certainly fired up for this one. Expect another cracker which should make up for the disappointment of watching Kilkenny wipe the floor again with Wexford.  ;)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 03, 2007, 11:47:49 AM

Heart says Waterford but more importantly so does the head.  Come on the Deise...
Post by: robinbanks on August 03, 2007, 01:18:58 PM
Both teams will have there usual purple patch,however i expect the Deise to be on top by 4/5 points with couple of minutes to go and Cork throwing everything they got at them, but the Deise to prevail.
Post by: TBT on August 03, 2007, 01:20:35 PM
I expect Cork to finish the job Sunday. Waterford not Cork blew it last Sunday. With the dominance of Mcgrath and Browne in the second half Waterford should have been out the gate with 10 mins to go. Eoin Kelly has done sfa to over the last 2 yrs to suggest he'll be any better Sunday. The Waterford fullback line is the weakest line, by far, of any line of the remaining sides. Cork by 5.
Post by: robinbanks on August 03, 2007, 01:40:53 PM
Waterford hadnt played in three weeks and last weeks game will bring them on a tonne.The reason Cork were going mad after the match is that they knew Waterford were after havin a bad day and that Cork had played to there best.The momentum is now with Waterford and i think if they defeat Cork this Sunday,  Cork  wont win anything for along time and will go through a barron spell which usually follows success.
Post by: didlyi on August 04, 2007, 12:51:38 AM
There is little or nothing between these teams in terms of hurling ability. Before I say anymore may I thank these teams for the fantastic entertainment they have given us this decade-unrivaled. This game is down to what they call "bottle". And Cork have more of that!

Christ I hope Im wrong!
Post by: heurebag on August 04, 2007, 01:12:01 PM
cork by 4 points, i heard ronan curran was out on the booze after the match on sun??
Post by: Silky on August 05, 2007, 09:03:51 AM
Really looking forward to this game hugely. Waterford can win it if they tighten up their shooting and make better use of their strenghts. Use Shannaghan better. But I think their run is over and I reckon Cork will be too cute for them and will win by 5-6 pts pulling up. Cork haven't really hurled wll so far this year but there were signs last week that they were starting to hurl the way we all know they can. I expect the improvement to contine this afternoon with big games from Sean Og, Joe D and Gardiner. Joe Deane to score the first goal @ 8/1 looks like good value.
Post by: darbyo on August 05, 2007, 11:28:19 AM
QuoteCork will be too cute for them and will win by 5-6 pts pulling up.

"Pulling up".... there has been nothing between these sides over the last 3/4 years, whatever team wins won't do it pulling up. New management with a different hurling philosophy might make this Cork team more vunerable than previous years. Waterford have improved over the last few years and can now win even when their main men aren't firing on all cylinders. Nothing between them and Cork are probably due a win over Waterford this year but I'll still go for the blaa boys by 2.
Post by: Blacksheep on August 05, 2007, 11:36:50 AM
Come on Waterford - remember Brian Corcoran!
Post by: ExiledGael on August 05, 2007, 05:22:05 PM
Any hope of a score update???
f**king aertel are still giving out the latest score from the Meath game yesterday the shower of pricks
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on August 05, 2007, 05:39:37 PM
Waterford win by 3 points!  ;D
Post by: Bacon on August 06, 2007, 09:32:48 AM
Another good game and well done Waterford. Better team won. There's an All Ireland in this team.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on August 06, 2007, 11:12:44 AM
Quote from: heurebag on August 04, 2007, 01:12:01 PM
cork by 4 points, i heard ronan curran was out on the booze after the match on sun??

Ye may hit the bottle urself after that prediction and yer spelling on the Dan thread ???
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 06, 2007, 11:36:41 AM
Well done Waterford fully deserved their victory - totally dominated the last 10-12 minutes of the game and all the substitutions seemed to confuse the Cork forward line that totally lost their way and Waterford won every break ball.
Game turned on the two goal chances that Cork missed and Waterford scored in games like this goals seal victory and that's what big Dan did again for Waterford. Genuinely hope they go on to win the All Ireland as they deserve at least one All Ireland for the great entertainment they have provided over the past ten years. The Cork V Waterford clashes have made the All Ireland series over the past few years and with the exception of Mullane's rush of blood to the head there has been little or no dirty strokes in the these games just great hurling played at incredible pace.
Would disagree that Cork will now enter a barren spell their average age is considerably less than Waterford's and similar to Kilkenny yes they have been on the road for a while but they have won three munster minor's in a row (beat by Tipp this year when going for 4 in a row) won this years Munster U21 and have qualified for the All Ireland minor this year so the flow of talent is there , without doubt one or two of the great players who have graced four All Ireland final in a row will fade into the background but the spine of the team will remain for a few years yet - Christ look at Tony Browne.
Ps - Rumour about Curran is true, at it all year.
Post by: INDIANA on August 06, 2007, 03:23:07 PM
i think cork are gone for  a few years - it'll take a while to bring lads through. the spine of the team should remain. but cork won't challenge kk again for at least 3 years.that's the reality unfortunatelty. they may win afew munsters but that's doesn't mean they are within 5-7 points of kilkenny -this kilkenny team is another level altogether and with the depth of talent available they'll see cork off for a while.
Post by: robinbanks on August 06, 2007, 09:03:16 PM
Lads this Cork team are finished.Probably take about 4/5 years for new team to come through.Waterford in fact have a lower average age than Cork/Kilkenny which was even lowered this year with introduction of Molumphy(22) and Kearney (23).How can anyone judge Kilkenny this year.The one time it was put up to them the failed against Waterford and havent faced any real serious team since.Waterford are the form team and will be getting even better with every match they get.
Post by: Pull Hard Hes No Relation on August 07, 2007, 10:01:52 AM
Robin Banks - I'd get the calculator out again! I think you'll find that both Cork and Kilkenny have about a 2 year lower average age than Waterford, not sure of the exact numbers but Kilkenny's is the lowest closely followed by Cork and then Waterford.

The big difference is that both Cork and Kilkenny have the conveyor belt of talent to replace their older players as time goes by and it may be that it takes Cork 2-3 years to mould a new team however the reality is that once this Waterford team starts to dip in the next couple of years they will be on a serious downward slide hence the necessity for them to win the All Ireland this year, which I hope they do.
Post by: orangeman on August 07, 2007, 02:54:54 PM
Waterford deserved to win over the two days I thought -
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 07, 2007, 03:23:36 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed this game, particularily given the fare that was on before it. Highlight was the Brick Walsh's catch, looked a lot better in the flesh than it did on the Sunday Game, was sitting 10m away, more Aussie Rules than hurling, fantastic. Was seriously worried in the first half, only for Dans goal I thought Cork were home and hosed, much the better team. Different Waterford in the second half, Malomphey was everywhere, Eoin McGrath great impact sub. Hope the winners next week go on to beat the Cats.

No fingers from Sully this week, didn't get any shades thrown at him either...
Post by: orangeman on August 08, 2007, 02:01:52 PM
Why were there so many changes made in the last 15 minutes ? And why was O'Connor taken off ?  Injured ?
Post by: the procastenator on August 17, 2007, 05:56:44 PM
heard o connor was out on the lash before the waterford game