Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Rois on July 10, 2007, 10:24:34 AM

Title: Where will you spend the eleventh night/twelfth?
Post by: Rois on July 10, 2007, 10:24:34 AM
Just out of interest - are people fleeing the north in the annual mass exodus or has that passed now? 

Having just moved to North Belfast, I'm getting away for the eleventh night as I fear I may be within smelling distance of the Mount Vernon bonfire.
Title: Re: Where will you spend the eleventh night/twelfth?
Post by: anportmorforjfc on July 10, 2007, 10:27:37 AM
going to portrush camping
Post by: Colonel Cool on July 10, 2007, 10:29:22 AM
At home. If I lived in North Belfast I would get off side too.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 10, 2007, 10:41:08 AM
seems to be a lot of "nordies" down at the ballina salmon festival in mayo
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 10:59:24 AM
Quote from: Colonel Cool on July 10, 2007, 10:29:22 AM
At home. If I lived in North Belfast I would get off side too.

Couldn't disagree more, bought a house in N Belfast 2 years ago now and it's an excellent place to live. Yes there are some really dodgy areas but if you are mad enough to buy near an interface then I would suggest heading countrywards tomorrow. The Antrim Road will be operating as normal on the 12th.
That said I will be heading for Carlow on Friday in preparation for Saturdays big match in Mullingar...!  8)
Post by: Rois on July 10, 2007, 11:17:50 AM
GDA I love it up there, but it's just off Fortwilliam Park and I'm serious when I say that I would no doubt smell the Mount Vernon bonfire.  
Do you seriously think the Antrim Road will operate as normal?  Much as I hate the twelfth, I and many others like me love getting the two days off.  I'm sure a lot of the Antrim Road businesses will be the same (well my hairdressers for one :)).
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 10, 2007, 11:13:39 AM
Well there is one thing for sure. Thursday will see an end to this bad weather. It never rains on the 12th.
I agree 100%
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 11:23:12 AM
Quote from: Rois on July 10, 2007, 11:17:50 AM
GDA I love it up there, but it's just off Fortwilliam Park and I'm serious when I say that I would no doubt smell the Mount Vernon bonfire.  
Do you seriously think the Antrim Road will operate as normal?  Much as I hate the twelfth, I and many others like me love getting the two days off.  I'm sure a lot of the Antrim Road businesses will be the same (well my hairdressers for one :)).
Well there is one thing for sure. Thursday will see an end to this bad weather. It never rains on the 12th.
I agree 100%

Talking about the bars on the road Rois.  ;)
Post by: Spiritof98 on July 10, 2007, 11:49:14 AM
Always an excuse to go on the rip, for my 1/16 protestant heritage, but his year I will be working for that well re-nouned Nationalist newspaper the Belfast Telegraph.
Post by: Rois on July 10, 2007, 11:57:15 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 11:23:12 AM

Ah, the Chester, my local, Cassidy's that smells like an Ulsterbus on a wet day and has the worst painting of Kieran McGeeny outside, the Phoenix with it's welcoming colours...now I know why I bought in the North   ;D
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 12:10:28 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 10, 2007, 11:57:15 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 11:23:12 AM

Ah, the Chester, my local, Cassidy's that smells like an Ulsterbus on a wet day and has the worst painting of Kieran McGeeny outside, the Phoenix with it's welcoming colours...now I know why I bought in the North   ;D

Ah now Rois, your forgetting McLaughlins and McGraths on the Cliftonville Rd and what about the Landsdowne and the Bellevue, and for a more salubrious atmosphere you have the CBS club facing the Waterworks, and then St Malachy's club at Fortwilliam. Would disagree re: Cassidys, suppose it used to smell pretty bad, but bar the toilets (gents stink on occasion) it has improved alot recently, it's also a great spot for meeting characters and just chating to people about topical issues and sporting events. Usually a good bit of banter going on as well - basically it has atmosphere (other then a wet Ulsterbus! ;))
Oh did I mention the Cliftonville supporters club, the Park Inn, Glenpark and.......... oh we are now heading into Ardoyne and that would take another three pages to list the pubs there but Ard Eoin Kickhams GAA club is a good spot to head to for a pint if your down that neck of the woods.  ;)
Post by: An Fear Rua on July 10, 2007, 12:10:43 PM
Ill probably spend those nights in bed!  :P
Post by: Rois on July 10, 2007, 12:25:54 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 12:10:28 PM
Would disagree re: Cassidys, suppose it used to smell pretty bad, but bar the toilets (gents stink on occasion) it has improved alot recently, it's also a great spot for meeting characters and just chating to people about topical issues and sporting events. Usually a good bit of banter going on as well - basically it has atmosphere (other then a wet Ulsterbus! ;))

Well it must have improved drastically in the last month then cause I was in the time of the postponed Derry/Antrim match and it was like a very very old social club.  I walk past McLaughlin's every day on my way home, always tempted in for a pint  :P
Not wildly fussed on the Lansdowne (my sis lives down behind it so been in that manys a time over the last ten years) and the Bellvue is a good taxi ride away so not appealing.  Will stick to Blind Tiger in the Chester.   
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 12:39:50 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 10, 2007, 12:25:54 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 12:10:28 PM
Would disagree re: Cassidys, suppose it used to smell pretty bad, but bar the toilets (gents stink on occasion) it has improved alot recently, it's also a great spot for meeting characters and just chating to people about topical issues and sporting events. Usually a good bit of banter going on as well - basically it has atmosphere (other then a wet Ulsterbus! ;))

Well it must have improved drastically in the last month then cause I was in the time of the postponed Derry/Antrim match and it was like a very very old social club.  I walk past McLaughlin's every day on my way home, always tempted in for a pint  :P
Not wildly fussed on the Lansdowne (my sis lives down behind it so been in that manys a time over the last ten years) and the Bellvue is a good taxi ride away so not appealing.  Will stick to Blind Tiger in the Chester.   

Always found the Chester bar quite bland, bit like a big square waiting room!  ;)
You should try the CB club though.

P.S forgot to mention the Hole-in-the Wall bar and the YCMSC also facing the Waterworks.  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on July 10, 2007, 01:31:44 PM
Probably sit at home and catch up on some paper work
Post by: Spiritof98 on July 10, 2007, 01:34:30 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 10, 2007, 01:31:44 PM

Because you do fcuk all but look at this thing any other day of the year. 8) ;) :D
Post by: ziggysego on July 10, 2007, 01:35:23 PM
Quote from: Spiritof98 on July 10, 2007, 01:34:30 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 10, 2007, 01:31:44 PM

Because you do fcuk all but look at this thing any other day of the year. 8) ;) :D

Why do you think I've so much to catch up on ;)  :D
Post by: An Fear Dearg on July 10, 2007, 02:56:54 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 12:10:28 PMOh did I mention the Cliftonville supporters club
Good idea.  Call into the Reds social club under the main stand at Solitude on the 12th night and I'll even sell you a ticket for our Intertoto Cup semi-final, 2nd leg game with Gent on Saturday! :)
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 10, 2007, 02:57:42 PM
think I'll go marching up the Kings highways because we own them, will have a go at a few taigs in their estates that we have 'rented out' to these 'sharecroppers' - then after burning out a few of their cars and putting a few of their windows in, I'll call my pals in the ruc sorry psni to come along and arrest the dirty fenians for having the temerity for coming out to stand up to me - I show them who's boss - and a few months in the cells will help clean up the province (just hope their fathers dont come out to me though).

then a stroll down to the local bonfire, kicking in the doors in that nationalist OAP residence on the way down.
Lighting lundy on the bonfire  and downing a few buckfasts with the lads.
Finish off by starting a petrolbom/pipebom attack on the newly refurb papist chapel. Stupid bead jigglers, they should have realised that after last years buring out, they should not have wasted their money do'ing the place up again.They can fark eff back tae rome !

then back into the lodge to sacrifice a few catholics, goats and sheep - not necessarily in that order.
So all in all a quiet enough year. Wish we had a wild time like we did a few years ago to look forward to !
My record is getting 134 catholics arrested!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 03:45:09 PM
Quote from: An Fear Dearg on July 10, 2007, 02:56:54 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 12:10:28 PMOh did I mention the Cliftonville supporters club
Good idea.  Call into the Reds social club under the main stand at Solitude on the 12th night and I'll even sell you a ticket for our Intertoto Cup semi-final, 2nd leg game with Gent on Saturday! :)

Was in there last Thursday watching the Celtic v Basle match.
Have they finished the smoking balcony yet??
Post by: An Fear Dearg on July 10, 2007, 03:48:38 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 03:45:09 PMWas in there last Thursday watching the Celtic v Basle match.
Have they finished the smoking balcony yet??
Not sure.  Haven't been in it since before going to Latvia and Belgium.  Should be nearly ready now though I'd say.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 03:54:05 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on July 10, 2007, 02:57:42 PM
think I'll go marching up the Kings highways because we own them, will have a go at a few taigs in their estates that we have 'rented out' to these 'sharecroppers' - then after burning out a few of their cars and putting a few of their windows in, I'll call my pals in the ruc sorry psni to come along and arrest the dirty fenians for having the temerity for coming out to stand up to me - I show them who's boss - and a few months in the cells will help clean up the province (just hope their fathers dont come out to me though).

then a stroll down to the local bonfire, kicking in the doors in that nationalist OAP residence on the way down.
Finish off by starting a petrolbom/pipebom attack on the newly refurb papist chapel. Stupid bead jigglers, they should have realised that after last years buring out, they should not have wasted their money do'ing the place up again.They can fark eff back tae rome !

then back into the lodge to sacrifice a few catholics, goats and sheep - not necessarily in that order.
So all in all a quiet enough year. Wish we had a wild time like we did a few years ago to look forward to !

..... Makes you want to go out and burn down a few Orange halls.  ::) ::) ::)
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 10, 2007, 04:02:56 PM
Quote from: The Hill is Blue on July 10, 2007, 03:54:05 PM

..... Makes you want to go out and burn down a few Orange halls.  ::) ::) ::)

not on my watch - ya papist buxtart >:( >:(
Post by: GweylTah on July 10, 2007, 04:11:34 PM

You left out the "eating all the Catholic babies" bit, so you're obviously not a genuine Orangeman or woman.

You're a good argument for Partition. Come to think of it, you're a good argument for quite a few things.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 10, 2007, 04:15:59 PM
Spot the humour bypass.
Post by: An Fear Rua on July 10, 2007, 04:17:56 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 10, 2007, 04:11:34 PM

You left out the "eating all the Catholic babies" bit, so you're obviously not a genuine Orangeman or woman.

You're a good argument for Partition. Come to think of it, you're a good argument for quite a few things.

How do you eat yours?
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 10, 2007, 04:31:27 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 10, 2007, 04:11:34 PM

:D :D :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 10, 2007, 04:31:58 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 10, 2007, 04:15:59 PM
Spot the humour bypass.

amongst other things  :D
Post by: Square Ball on July 10, 2007, 06:06:34 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 10, 2007, 10:24:34 AM
Just out of interest - are people fleeing the north in the annual mass exodus or has that passed now? 

Having just moved to North Belfast, I'm getting away for the eleventh night as I fear I may be within smelling distance of the Mount Vernon bonfire.

I will be staying in Belfast, used to head off the Saturday before Drumcree Sunday for two weeks in Gods own little acre (for the unenlightened its the Glens Of Antrim) but its a waste of leave now. Spend tonight in the Paradox/Errigle/Big House being sociable, again tomorrow night, but the bars are closing early. Also will be listening to the wonderful music emanating from the local Orange hall, its really nice of them to play it so loud to ensure that we can all hear it.
Post by: balladmaker on July 10, 2007, 06:13:34 PM
Heading to Sligo for a night on the 12th and then up to Gweedore for a couple of nights to sample the best Guinness in Ireland!
Post by: Tonto on July 10, 2007, 07:24:08 PM

Aye, I know, it hasn't rained on the 12th for.... oh.... a good year. ::)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 07:30:59 PM
Quote from: Tonto on July 10, 2007, 07:24:08 PM

Fingers crossed eh Tonto?
Post by: Tonto on July 10, 2007, 08:40:55 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 07:30:59 PM

Fingers crossed eh Tonto?

Aye, hopefully the good weather will return for Thursday and Friday - then I don't care what it does. :)
Post by: Dubh driocht on July 10, 2007, 09:21:26 PM
In Orange County (LA not Armagh)drinking Bud Light with wife,children,bro-in-law and nephew plotting Down's return to the pinnacle and trying to forget about Saturday evening.A long night ahead
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 10:58:30 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 10, 2007, 10:02:28 PM

Good Weather forecast for Thursday  >:(

Shite I know, but at least there's a high UV index....!  ;)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 11, 2007, 01:13:36 PM
Credit to the organizers of the bonfire at Stoneyford - they are using a beacon, this could be the way forward for these environmental disasters.
Post by: illdecide on July 11, 2007, 01:16:55 PM
Where will i spend the 11th/12th night???

Hopefully buried to the straps :D :D
Post by: Evil Genius on July 11, 2007, 02:19:39 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 11, 2007, 01:13:36 PM
Credit to the organizers of the bonfire at Stoneyford - they are using a beacon, this could be the way forward for these environmental disasters.

Progress?
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/article2554055.ece

Maybe not...
http://www.sinnfein.ie/news/detail/19494

Just what would one lot do, if the other didn't exist?  ::)
Post by: Tonto on July 11, 2007, 02:27:18 PM

Good Weather forecast for Thursday   ;D

Fantastic!

And this may well be the last time I'm on before the weekend, so I'd just like to wish everyone a peaceful and enjoyable Twelfth, as I intend to.  And have a good time doing whatever you're doing.

I'm now going to do a bit of tidying up at one of my local Orange Halls which vandals tried to burn down last night.

Quis Separabit?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 11, 2007, 02:28:56 PM
Just wondering would the London Government allow massive polluting bonfires in Yorkshire or Essex where they burned French Tricolours or German flags? or Effigies of Allah in Hyde Park.

Surely the burning of the Flag of Britains real closest allie & friend within its territory is blatent insightment of hatred no different from Cross Burning in the Southern States of America.

>:(
Post by: Gnevin on July 11, 2007, 02:30:49 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 11, 2007, 02:28:56 PM
Just wondering would the London Government allow massive polluting bonfires in Yorkshire or Essex where they burned French Tricolours or German flags? or Effigies of Allah in Hyde Park.

Surely the burning of the Flag of Britains real closest allie & friend within its territory is blatent insightment of hatred no different from Cross Burning in the Southern States of America.

I never got the whole cross burning thing , what was that about . Aren't the KKK meant to be religious at least to the extent they hate Catholics ?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 11, 2007, 02:52:07 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 11, 2007, 02:30:49 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 11, 2007, 02:28:56 PM

I never got the whole cross burning thing , what was that about . Aren't the KKK meant to be religious at least to the extent they hate Catholics ?

They decided that they no longer hated Catholics in the 1970's because they couldn't recruit enough Protestant Racists & Bigots, so they passed a motion that they where no longer Papist haters so they could recruit some Bigoted Catholics to keep up the numbers.

Convienant Racism if I ever heard of it.
Post by: ONeill on July 11, 2007, 02:54:01 PM
I'll be at a fun-day in Waterfoot. A sort-of anti-12th with no beer nor burning of Tricolours.
Post by: Balboa on July 11, 2007, 11:26:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 11, 2007, 02:54:01 PM
I'll be at a fun-day in Waterfoot. A sort-of anti-12th with no beer nor burning of Tricolours.

O'Neill you will be in Gods own country so treat it well  ;)
Post by: Main Street on July 12, 2007, 12:06:56 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 11, 2007, 02:30:49 PM
Burning the cross wasn't an anti religious thing, they claimed it was about symbolizing love for Christ.
We know thats true, sure didn't they model many of their rituals after the Scottish fraternal orders.
Post by: Square Ball on July 12, 2007, 01:06:23 AM
Quote from: Balboa on July 11, 2007, 11:26:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 11, 2007, 02:54:01 PM

O'Neill you will be in Gods own country so treat it well  ;)
[/quote

Drink in the Mariners its a better craic
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 12, 2007, 01:46:59 AM
Headed out of belfast as soon as I got out of work this afternoon. great to have the aul couple of days off but wouldn't even consider staying in belfast. The Holylands is a ghost town at best during July but around the time of the 12th it deathly quiet.

Not of course that my small South Armagh village is the crater of civilisation either though........
Post by: Weo Ping on July 12, 2007, 03:17:03 AM
Always found the Chester bar quite bland, bit like a big square waiting room! 

P.S forgot to mention the Hole-in-the Wall bar and the YCMSC also facing the Waterworks. 

GDU-do you not have to be a member to get into the CB or YC or do you just have someone sign you in?

CB is a great spot!!
Post by: haveaharp on July 12, 2007, 08:42:45 AM
http://news.sky.com/skynews/picture_gallery/picture_gallery/0,,70141-1274632-4,00.html (http://news.sky.com/skynews/picture_gallery/picture_gallery/0,,70141-1274632-4,00.html)

Looking at these pictures is depressing. Shows that some cannot move on and their brethren will turn a blind eye.
Surely this counts as incitement to racial hatred? Police should be forced to act and take these flags down. Pure gutter thrash.
Post by: treborstemme on July 12, 2007, 08:53:15 AM
I wouldn't let those things get to you.  Sticks and stones and all that.  I pity them actually!
Post by: Ryano on July 12, 2007, 09:15:19 AM
Burning pallets, tyres and Irish flag to remember something that happened 100's of years ago. Brilliant!

Sure didn't King Billy himself go around half of north Meath for weeks collecting tyres off the farmers local sillage pits and stealing pallets to have a big bonfire on top of Newgrange while swigging from a flaggin of Devil's bit Cider and spitting at the local Taigs.... A fine tradition to carry on with.

It always makes me laugh to think that these skangers are poisoning there own community with toxic smoke, leaving piles of rubbish and burnt tyres, puke and blood and all this is to commemorate some poncey lad in a wig who won a fight once upon a time........ ::)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 12, 2007, 09:27:55 AM
Quote from: Ryano on July 12, 2007, 09:15:19 AM

It always makes me laugh to think that these skangers are poisoning there own community with toxic smoke, leaving piles of rubbish and burnt tyres, puke and blood and all this is to commemorate some poncey lad in a wig who won a fight once upon a time........ ::)

Correction: some poncey portly pock-marked homosexual pervert in a wig  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2007, 09:48:38 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on July 12, 2007, 08:42:45 AM
http://news.sky.com/skynews/picture_gallery/picture_gallery/0,,70141-1274632-4,00.html (http://news.sky.com/skynews/picture_gallery/picture_gallery/0,,70141-1274632-4,00.html)

Looking at these pictures is depressing. Shows that some cannot move on and their brethren will turn a blind eye.
Surely this counts as incitement to racial hatred? Police should be forced to act and take these flags down. Pure gutter thrash.

I'd say health and safety should have been called,should there not have been some scaffolding around the tyres and palletts in case  those two lads fell and broke their necks ;) ;) ;)
Post by: Fluffy Che on July 12, 2007, 09:57:49 AM
K.A.T. on the Tricolour - Kill All Taigs...
Nice to see we're all moving on then, plus, to put it in historical context re. King Billy etc. Killing Taigs did not stop hundreds of years ago.
Post by: nifan on July 12, 2007, 10:38:38 AM
Seems some scum even attacked a few fireservice crews responding to calls last night.
Post by: Balboa on July 12, 2007, 10:47:12 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on July 12, 2007, 08:42:45 AM

What do you expect from a pig but a grunt, any self respecting prods are actually ashamed of this sort of behaviour especially as it is such a publicised event.
Post by: Square Ball on July 12, 2007, 11:19:55 AM
Blatant unadulterated hatred and sectarianism, and what did the PSNI do, well nothing. Where are the local politicians, oh at the bonfire i bet. If it had of been about Jews, Muslims, Poles they would have done something, but its only the taigs, there used to it.....scum the lot of them
Post by: Main Street on July 12, 2007, 11:22:49 AM
Live on TV now.
The 1970 B Specials Lodge has just passed the cameras.

Nevertheless the BBC are doing more sidesteps than George Best in order
to dress this up and present it as culture.
Eh could the presenter Joe McKee give me the name again of that tune that the Band are playing?

Post by: Square Ball on July 12, 2007, 11:24:57 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 10:58:30 PM

Good Weather forecast for Thursday  >:(

Shite I know, but at least there's a high UV index....!  ;)

rigth, who was doing a rain dance, its pissing it down here now
Post by: Balboa on July 12, 2007, 11:25:30 AM
My granny could never decide whether she wanted it to rain on the Glorious Twelfth or to be really warm to scald the f**kers  ;)
Post by: Balboa on July 12, 2007, 11:27:23 AM
Some fella in all his regalia just declared he "was just proud to be a prod", the bbc reporter interviewing him was a bit taken aback by this religious declaration.......
Post by: stiffler on July 12, 2007, 11:31:50 AM
Whoever said God's a prod is wrong....is pissing down there now in Belfast.

Hopefully they have packed another polo shirt for the field.
Post by: Main Street on July 12, 2007, 11:32:42 AM
Now I have heard the presenter go on about the Orange hall called the Protestant hall in Antrim in which is taught Irish Dancing.
It's called, in his words "a protestant version of Irish Dancing"  ???
Post by: Main Street on July 12, 2007, 11:47:15 AM
They found some tourists.
On the street interview with tourists, one from New Zealand " I got my sash in NZ, it's best (something) for Catholics in NZ, I'm afraid it's different for Catholics in NZ "
Interviewer quickly retorts "oh it's also different here today"   
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 12, 2007, 12:59:36 PM
Anyone else watching that programe on one of the Northern channels last night about the Battle of the Boyne, its an old one I know I have seen it before, but what irritated me was that they kept referring to King Williams Army as an International one (English, Dutch, French, Danish & Irish) but surely King James Army of Irish, French & English was an international one too. It was the tone of International (ie to sound like the allies of WW2) that got on my nerves. Also the protrayal of the Siege of Derry as the poor set upon, fair enough but maybe telling a little about the Siege of Limerick may have balanced the story a little.
Post by: Fluffy Che on July 12, 2007, 02:13:17 PM
It is a family day out...but for one section of our community only. Orangefest me arse.
Tell it to the Firecrews, which Nifan has fairly commented on or the man who had to pull down the name of his dead son from a bonfire yesterday cos the RUC would'nt act on it!!!!
Heard G.Campbell on condemning it with a load of 'buts' and 'wait a minutes' Same old shite...
And the rain, eh...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 12, 2007, 02:45:34 PM
The only Orange parades in Ireland that could be described in anything like 'carnival' or 'festival' terms are those that take place in the 26 counties, i.e., Rossnowlagh in Donegal. And that's simply because those 'festival' goers march and parade in parity with their non-Protestant neighbours, have accepted their Irishness, and come to terms with Dublin's rule.  They're celebrating their origins and culture, with no triumphalist drum to beat, and no sectarian axe to grind, i.e., they have no British presence to pervert their perspective on their very being.

Lesson: Brits get to fcuk out of Ireland!
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 12, 2007, 03:23:42 PM
I say this every year...I don't understand why the TV stations show these marches, we'll have a highlights show on tonight.
I just don't get it.
Post by: Square Ball on July 12, 2007, 03:28:19 PM
I think there was one year the BBC didn't show and the OO cried like little baby girls. I don't watch it, makes my blood boil too much and the hyprocricy of them, Orangfest my hole
Post by: stew on July 12, 2007, 04:07:47 PM
 I will be 3,000 miles from those ignorant klansmen that are the OO, I hope the temperature reaches 100 degrees and they are a tad uncomfortable the bastards. ;D
Post by: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 04:17:10 PM
Just thought I'd pop-in and see how you're enjoying today in readiness for the up-coming Ireland of Equals.

Still in the dark sewers a lot of you by the looks of it, if the OO's stuck in 1690's history, some of you are bloody prehistoric even in comparison to them.

Good news that so many tourists are in Belfast and elsewhere for the holidays, the hotels are pretty full, and the parades seem more relaxed than they used to be.  It's progress, though obviously not in your monocultural world.

Even President McAleese has been celebrating the Twelfth in her own way, leading her people, too bad bogmen can't follow her lead, maybe I'll try and wangle an invite to the Aras for next year, equality and recognising cultural, orientation and life-style differences and all that.

The future is Green AND Orange - the unrepresentative intolerant rabble (you know who you are) are the past.

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 12, 2007, 04:52:49 PM
Disliking the Orange Order as an organisation does not make anybody a bigot in the slightest.
Post by: nifan on July 12, 2007, 04:56:15 PM
QuoteStill I am sure the immigramts on the Donegall Rd are enjoying todays festivities

I actually saw a reasonable few minorities out on the parade route as I came to work today, though the  number of pissed up teens that passed my office window (unfortunately on the parade route) did dwarf them.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 12, 2007, 05:17:58 PM
It would be no bad thing if people ignored the constant wind ups by Gweyltah.
Post by: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 05:27:26 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 12, 2007, 05:17:58 PM
It would be no bad thing if people ignored the constant wind ups by Gweyltah.

Why do so many of you just want to have the same opinions and agree with each other? What monotonous lives you must lead where the only thing you seem to disagree on (Northern posters anyway) is who your favourite team that plays puke football is.

As someone who wants to see a more diverse Northern Ireland and a more diverse island generally, it's great that the Twelfth day seem to be taking strides to a more festival/pageant sort of occasion, with more people from overseas too. More fancy-dress aand performers will make it even better, and shops opening in town will help things even more. As for underage drinking, that's a British/Irish society problem , not only an Orange one.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2007, 05:32:06 PM
don't take the bait lads it will soon be friday the 13th  ;) ;)
Post by: Tony hawks on July 12, 2007, 10:17:04 PM
Some pretty poor comments from the usual wankers still what would you expect from the woodkerne rabble. ;)
Post by: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 10:50:35 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2007, 05:32:06 PM

The gay hunchbacked drawf, backed by his multi-national army and the pope, will defeat the evil and ultimately cowardly James.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 12, 2007, 11:03:59 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 10:50:35 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 12, 2007, 05:32:06 PM

The gay hunchbacked drawf, backed by his multi-national army and the pope, will defeat the evil and ultimately cowardly James.
Apparently the bit about the pope backing Billy is a myth.  The previous pope Innocent XI wanted the froggies bate alright, but he died in 1689, then new pope Alexander VIII didn't mind the frogs, don't know if he expressed a preference for Seamus, but he certainly wasn't backing Batty Boy Billy!!
Post by: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 11:10:14 PM
Oh yes he was ... if only because he was maybe a 'batty-boy', too, not that there's anything wrong with that.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 12, 2007, 11:24:40 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 11:10:14 PM
Oh yes he was ... if only because he was maybe a 'batty-boy', too, not that there's anything wrong with that.
Well, I don't know - I'm just passing on what the 2 historians on Newstalk's History hour on sunday evening were saying, it didn't mention anything about the pope's possible homosexuality, but I doubt that he was - his wife wouldn't have approved at all.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 12, 2007, 11:33:05 PM
Quote from: Weo Ping on July 12, 2007, 03:17:03 AM
Always found the Chester bar quite bland, bit like a big square waiting room! 

P.S forgot to mention the Hole-in-the Wall bar and the YCMSC also facing the Waterworks. 

GDU-do you not have to be a member to get into the CB or YC or do you just have someone sign you in?

CB is a great spot!!

Well you are supposed to be a member of the CB to get in but their not too strict.
I went to the Brothers (Omagh) and a full membership is only £20, but you can get an associate membership as well, think its only £20 as well
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 13, 2007, 10:06:15 AM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 12, 2007, 11:10:14 PM

Both of them (James & William) where asses who where using the feers, hatreds & experiences of Protestants & Catholics of Europe to further their own advancement to sole Monarch.

What is the need to celebrate an event that led to Penal Laws, creating an Aparthide Statelet, where Catholics where 3'rd class citizens & Prespytarian where 2'nd class citizens, when these laws & the inspiration of France & America 100 years later inspired Catholic, Protestant & Dissenter to create a Republic of Equals.

The Catholics & Prespytarians where inspired by the overthrow of oppression like in France, the Church of Irelands where inspired of creating an Independent Republic like the Colonies, where they had control over trade & taxes.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 13, 2007, 11:39:53 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 13, 2007, 11:15:37 PM
The BBC have actually a report on their website on the result of the "Sham Fight" FFS, they`ll be sponsoring the event next year. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/6898285.stm

But no mention of the shameful flags/banners on the 11th bonfires on either BBC or UTV and couldn't find it on RTE either.
But sure it's culture, I forgot...!!
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 16, 2007, 09:51:17 AM
Spent mine in Omeath, Co Louth (with congrats to their continued success in the championship), with people from what some might call 'the other side' though I personally couldn't give a fcuk - good time had by all away from the 'Everybody's got to love today' fest.

PS. Seems like it's been quite hot under the collar in here between some posters! ::)
Post by: GweylTah on July 16, 2007, 10:47:13 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 13, 2007, 11:39:53 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 13, 2007, 11:15:37 PM
The BBC have actually a report on their website on the result of the "Sham Fight" FFS, they`ll be sponsoring the event next year. http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/6898285.stm

But no mention of the shameful flags/banners on the 11th bonfires on either BBC or UTV and couldn't find it on RTE either.
But sure it's culture, I forgot...!!

I suggest you look a bit closer, if this awful incident hadn't been reported widely, how would you and others have heard about it?  It was reported in all the main media outlets in one way or another, saying what you have said just for a moan makes you seem very foolish.
Post by: saffron sam2 on July 17, 2007, 10:51:17 PM
As has been the practice for the past few years, I spent the eleventh night in my house cooking dinner and having drinks with a couple of pensioners too frightened to spend the night in their own house.  They could have spend the night watching drunken yobs pissing in their garden on their way to a bonfire less than fifty yards from the front door.  They could have sat and looked out at all the flags (visible from every room in their house). They chose not to remain in the house they have lived in for nearly thirty years (longer than any of those bonfiremen or flag wavers).

It won't happen next year, the house went on the market today.

The sad reality of what the 12th is all about for many people. And we see lengthy threads on 'sporting' sites wishing everything a Happy Glorious 12th.
Post by: nifan on July 17, 2007, 11:44:35 PM
QuoteAnd we see lengthy threads on 'sporting' sites wishing everything a Happy Glorious 12th.

I assume this references owc - it was in the everything else section i assume and it also attracted a variety of opinions and caused several debates amongst owc members.
It concerns the sporting aspect of the site no more than many of the threads here concern the gaa
Post by: fred the red on July 11, 2008, 05:54:27 PM
So whats people's plans for this year?
Post by: nifan on July 11, 2008, 05:56:48 PM
In the house with pes onlin and watching Arrested Development season 3 which just arrived.
Post by: Square Ball on July 11, 2008, 06:03:26 PM
in the pub
Post by: ziggysego on July 11, 2008, 06:05:50 PM
At a wedding in Free Ulster ;)
Post by: fred the red on July 11, 2008, 06:07:30 PM
Liverpool for the weekend myself.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 11, 2008, 06:21:47 PM
In the house watching TV. Alcohol stocked. Made the mistake of going to Tesco on the way home. It took me over an hour to get out of the car park, such was the volume of people and traffic - you'd swear everyone was preparing for a hurricane.
Post by: Square Ball on July 11, 2008, 07:12:04 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 10, 2007, 06:06:34 PM

I will be staying in Belfast, used to head off the Saturday before Drumcree Sunday for two weeks in Gods own little acre (for the unenlightened its the Glens Of Antrim) but its a waste of leave now. Spend tonight in the Paradox/Errigle/Big House being sociable, again tomorrow night, but the bars are closing early. Also will be listening to the wonderful music emanating from the local Orange hall, its really nice of them to play it so loud to ensure that we can all hear it.

this is sad, doing exactly the same thing tonight, and they are playing the same god awful music from the Ballynafeigh orange hall as they did last year
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 11, 2008, 07:34:03 PM
The only place to be this Saturday........

http://www.owenroe-leckpatrick.ie/Social/social.html (http://www.owenroe-leckpatrick.ie/Social/social.html)

Post by: Niall Quinn on July 11, 2008, 07:46:46 PM
Quote from: nifan on July 11, 2008, 05:56:48 PM
In the house with pes onlin and watching Arrested Development season 3 which just arrived.

I still love saying "Bob Loblaw Lobs Law Bomb".
Post by: Aerlik on July 12, 2008, 04:17:45 AM
Thank goodness I am so far away from the hatefest this year again.  I grew up surrounded by the sectarianism masquerading as "culture" so now I can look back and relax knowing my son will never be exposed to such garbage, eagerly supported by the state. 

There is so much written about how ordinary decent unionists (note, not Protestants, Unionists) don't want anything to do with this.  Well, therein lies the error in one's thinking; if that were so the ordinary decent unionists could easily put a stop to this simply by pulling the strings as they do for the other 364 days of the year.  The neanderthals on bonfire duty are purely the foot-soldiers of the greater force.

Cornered rats...
Post by: Bacon on July 12, 2008, 08:05:58 AM
I will be in Newry supporting the Down hurlers against Carlow. It seems the right thing to do on Hatefest Day.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 12, 2008, 10:23:47 AM
No affect on us Mexicans in Dublin. Will blissfully ignore the Twalfth.
Post by: nifan on July 12, 2008, 11:43:07 AM
Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2008, 10:20:53 AM
Babysat the niece near Seymour Hill, of all places. Heading to Donegal shortly. I wonder is there anything of interest in Drumahoe. I'll tell them I know nifan if there's any trouble.

Drumahoe doesnt have a bonfire so I hope you didnt go and be disappointed
Post by: magickingdom on July 12, 2008, 08:06:29 PM
the orange fest rebranding will never work simply because its a celebration of a victory of one side over the other. now can anybody tell me how that can ever be inclusive? ps see graeme mcdowell wearing a nice orange pants in the scotish open in loch lomand today!
Post by: Maguire01 on July 12, 2008, 08:25:39 PM
And how dare you call it culture Peter!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7503644.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7503644.stm)
Post by: Yes I Would on July 13, 2008, 01:07:24 AM
Hope they all had a wonderful day out, and feel a deep proud sense of Britishness and anti-catholic sentiment after the all embracing,world acclaimed Orangefest!!
You would think after today the flutes, drums and sashes would be put away for another year, but not at all. they will still be at it for the next six f**king weeks.
All in the name of culture!!
Post by: Main Street on July 13, 2008, 01:07:44 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 12, 2008, 08:06:29 PM
the orange fest rebranding will never work simply because its a celebration of a victory of one side over the other. now can anybody tell me how that can ever be inclusive?

The celebration of the battle has little to do with inclusion or exclusion.
It is the inherent bigotry of the OO that excludes.
The Grandmaster stated clearly,
this is not about cultural tourism  this is about Protestantism.
He straightened out any possible misunderstanding amongst the few that this was an inclusive event, a cultural event not to mention the hated term cultural tourism.
He said he was nauseated by the peace process.
'He issued a call for unionist unity to maximise their influence. Drew Nelson said disunity between the DUP and the Ulster Unionists was lowering morale and creating the danger of handing seats to nationalists in forthcoming elections'.

Those are some of the reasons why it is excludes 45% - 50% of the people - assuming that there are at least 4 or 5 % of non nationalists who are also excluded by the sectarian sentiments of the OO.

Post by: ONeill on July 13, 2008, 01:11:12 PM
Caught the last bit of one in an Antrim town. Enjoyed it and was happy to see oul women not far from the grave enjoying a bit of music. I like band music and a bit of colour.

However, it'll be hard to keep going in 20 yrs or so as I only saw 3 under the age of 30.
Post by: doire legend on July 14, 2008, 09:26:09 AM

Having just moved to North Belfast, I'm getting away for the eleventh night as I fear I may be within smelling distance of the Mount Vernon bon........... stayin in south derry.. they don't put us out!
Post by: Rois on July 14, 2008, 09:39:12 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 11, 2008, 07:12:04 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 10, 2007, 06:06:34 PM

this is sad, doing exactly the same thing tonight, and they are playing the same god awful music from the Ballynafeigh orange hall as they did last year

And I am flying home from a weekend in London today - if the airport queues on Fri were anything to go by, a lot of people were getting out.