GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 03:05:30 PM

Title: Dublin Fans once Again ripped off when it comes to tickets!
Post by: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 03:05:30 PM
QuoteTicket allocation for Leinster final less than semi

The Dublin County Board have received 25,000 tickets for the Leinster SFC final with Laois in Croke Park on Sunday week.

This is down 4,000 on the allocation we received for our semi-final victory over Offaly. As a result the Dublin County Board is once again unable to put tickets on public sale as the
allocation is well short of the demand from our clubs.

Its a joke, Dublin football has once again bank rolled the Leinster Football Championship and even in the Final we get left short of tickets again! :o :o :o

Title: Re: Dublin Fans once Again ripped off when it comes to tickets!
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2007, 03:07:40 PM
sure if its a wet day tankie there will be 7 or 8 thousand empty seats ;) ;) ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2007, 03:10:34 PM
I was onto Leinster Council this morning for tickets and all thats left is Canal End tickets im mad.Ollie Byrne told me that most of tickets went on internet
Post by: Uladh on July 05, 2007, 03:11:15 PM

And most o ye won't be in for the first half if it starts on time
Post by: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 03:11:24 PM
what makes you think its Dublin fans that don't turn up? also that still leave 78K at a dublin game with very little opposing support!
Post by: Lecale2 on July 05, 2007, 03:12:41 PM
Surely you mean "Cheeky Dubs ripped off......."?
Post by: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 03:14:39 PM
Can any of you tell me why its fair that Laois get the sam allocation when they have yet to meet anything near that demand? would it be all the fair weather fans from Laois want a day out? but of course its ok as its only at Dublins expense.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2007, 03:16:20 PM
they shouldn't give the fecking culchies any tickets at all :P
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2007, 03:25:40 PM
All joking aside, its hard to understand why they let ticketmaster sell thousands of tickets before they work out whether they can meet the demands of the competing counties (tickets went on sale on ticketmaster on Monday this week).
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2007, 03:26:19 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 03:14:39 PM
Can any of you tell me why its fair that Laois get the sam allocation when they have yet to meet anything near that demand? would it be all the fair weather fans from Laois want a day out? but of course its ok as its only at Dublins expense.

Im far from a fair weather fan and all i can get is Canal Tickets.What about all the scumbags on the Hill who wouldn't know the difference between Cluxton and Whelan? Why should they get tickets?
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2007, 03:28:17 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2007, 03:26:19 PM

Im far from a fair weather fan and all i can get is Canal Tickets.What about all the scumbags on the Hill who wouldn't know the difference between Cluxton and Whelan? Why should they get tickets?
Indiana alert brace yourself Laoislad
Post by: Gnevin on July 05, 2007, 03:29:58 PM
This comes around year in and year out Dublin bring a Huge crowd to a game which the Leinster Council/GAA are all to happy to accommodate until they get to a place where the "interest" from other counties rises and then it's all about fair play. Where is the fair play in this system for both counties? A electronic loyalty system should be developed
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 05, 2007, 03:34:20 PM
Ah thank f**k for that, finally a thread not picking on the poor innocent Kerryman.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2007, 03:37:19 PM
aye they have been rough on you the past few days kerry mike but fair play to you your fighting a good battle , thats what you get for winning 33 or 34 Ai
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 05, 2007, 03:44:06 PM
The count is 35 now, dont forget we were a dual county at one stage before the feckin langers stole all our Ash trees.

We have thick skin and skulls in the Kingdom and you would need it all around here.
Post by: liihb on July 05, 2007, 03:53:35 PM
QuoteSome moon men employed in there.

Give some men a bib and suddenly their the most important person in the world!
Post by: Mano on July 05, 2007, 03:56:20 PM
There wouldn't be such a demand for tickets if ye had to travel to Portlaise >:(
Post by: Gnevin on July 05, 2007, 03:57:58 PM
Quote from: Mano on July 05, 2007, 03:56:20 PM
There wouldn't be such a demand for tickets if ye had to travel to Portlaise >:(
And you basing this on?
The 15K what went to longford
or the 20K the went to clones
or the 25K the went to thurlas
Post by: liihb on July 05, 2007, 03:58:19 PM
 and when was the last leinster final in port laoise Mano?
Post by: Gnevin on July 05, 2007, 04:05:44 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 05, 2007, 04:01:16 PM
If tickets are being made available through Ticketmaster, why dont the Cheeky Dubs buy them there?
Because we want to support the GAA not Toutmaster.
Or because if people put in for them at the club they are expected sometimes often told they have to take them . So they cant just get the off Ticketmaster and tell the club no thanks.
Post by: ziggysego on July 05, 2007, 04:25:16 PM
Move the final to Navan, that'll free up a few 1000s tickets. A lot of cheeky Dubs wouldn't like to head outside the city.
Post by: cavan4ever on July 05, 2007, 04:29:23 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 05, 2007, 03:57:58 PM
Quote from: Mano on July 05, 2007, 03:56:20 PM
And you basing this on?
The 15K what went to longford
or the 20K the went to clones
or the 25K the went to thurlas

Prob about 20k
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 05, 2007, 04:29:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on July 05, 2007, 04:25:16 PM
Move the final to Navan, that'll free up a few 1000s tickets. A lot of cheeky Dubs wouldn't know where to go.

fixed that for you Ziggy
Post by: Gnevin on July 05, 2007, 04:31:47 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 05, 2007, 04:29:39 PM
Move the final to Navan, that'll free up a few 1000s tickets. A lot of cheeky Dubs wouldn't know where to go.

fixed that for you Ziggy
Naw Gab the Dublin County Board has invested in a GPS unit this will be give to the first car to leave Dublin on away trip and everyone will follow him .Its like the current system but now the guy in front my actually know where he's going ;)
Post by: qub la la la on July 05, 2007, 04:37:30 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 05, 2007, 04:05:44 PM
If tickets are being made available through Ticketmaster, why dont the Cheeky Dubs buy them there?
Or because if people put in for them at the club they are expected sometimes often told they have to take them . So they cant just get the off Ticketmaster and tell the club no thanks.

or because half ur fans are louts who get their tickets in the pub before the game. and still have to get another pint in, while the game is held up to accopmodate them. joke!
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 05, 2007, 04:45:22 PM

I'm only guessing now Tankie but but I'd say it's because it's county, not population, that matters in the Championship. It's an inter-county competition, and for that to work all counties have to have the same standing relative to each other, regardless of population.

Otherwise, you'd have places like Leitrim and Longford knocked off the map entirely and we'd be watching nothing in Croker only the Dubs playing with themselves. Oh hold on....

Post by: Gnevin on July 05, 2007, 04:45:41 PM
Quote from: qub la la la on July 05, 2007, 04:37:30 PM

or because half ur fans are louts who get their tickets in the pub before the game. and still have to get another pint in, while the game is held up to accopmodate them. joke!
Or your an idiot, who has nothing constructive to say .
Post by: tayto on July 05, 2007, 04:51:15 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on July 05, 2007, 03:12:41 PM
Surely you mean "Cheeky Dubs ripped off......."?

:D :D :D

ah must be new around here to bother starting this thread!
Post by: David McKeown on July 05, 2007, 04:54:12 PM
Both counties should get the same inital allocation then any that Laois dont need can go back to the dubs.  After all its supposed to be a neutral venue for a final
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 05, 2007, 05:03:37 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 05, 2007, 04:31:47 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 05, 2007, 04:29:39 PM

fixed that for you Ziggy
Naw Gab the Dublin County Board has invested in a GPS unit this will be give to the first car to leave Dublin on away trip and everyone will follow him .Its like the current system but now the guy in front my actually know where he's going ;)
not necessary GNevin
half of Dublin fans now live in Navan,Kells and virginia !
Post by: magpie seanie on July 05, 2007, 05:11:49 PM
Does any county have 25,000 genuine supporters? Obviously not.

So allocate the tickets 50/50 as its supposed to be a neutral venue. So what if a few bandwagonners don't get tickets. They'll not be too upset anyway though they'll moan plenty about it, something I have found this type of person is very good at. Genuine fans that get stuck (rarely happens bar the All-Ireland) will dig and dig until they turn one up.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 05, 2007, 05:16:19 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on July 05, 2007, 03:34:20 PM
Ah thank f**k for that, finally a thread not picking on the poor innocent Kerryman.

I think you will find that the tickets are allocated by a secret circle of Kerrymen Micheal O'Muireachartaigh, Mick O'Dwyer, The Bomber Liston, Jack O'Se, Pat Spillane, Sean Kelly, Ryans Daughters Father, the Ghosts of Daniel O'Connell, Tom Crean & Charlie Haughey.

Its all Kerrys fault, always didn't ya know  ;)
Post by: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 06:11:07 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 05, 2007, 05:11:49 PM

So allocate the tickets 50/50 as its supposed to be a neutral venue. So what if a few bandwagonners don't get tickets. They'll not be too upset anyway though they'll moan plenty about it, something I have found this type of person is very good at. Genuine fans that get stuck (rarely happens bar the All-Ireland) will dig and dig until they turn one up.

well i guess it womes down to what you define as a genuine fan, if 70k dublin fans are willing to turn up for the first championship game of the year i do think that is impressive. This bull shit that its not about population its about counties is rubish. if laois get 25k that is well in excess of their demand based on previous matches, where as the Dubs have to take a cut once again.

Sometimes I wish all dublin fans would not turn up for a whole championship and see how the GAA like their loss in revenue. sure i cant wait for the shit when the pitch invasion happens, because of course its ok for Limerick to run on and stop a match early, or kerry fans invade the pitch, but when the dubs go onto the pitch its a riot.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 05, 2007, 06:49:57 PM
Quote from: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 06:11:07 PM

well i guess it womes down to what you define as a genuine fan, if 70k dublin fans are willing to turn up for the first championship game of the year i do think that is impressive. This bull shit that its not about population its about counties is rubish. if laois get 25k that is well in excess of their demand based on previous matches, where as the Dubs have to take a cut once again.

Sometimes I wish all dublin fans would not turn up for a whole championship and see how the GAA like their loss in revenue. sure i cant wait for the shit when the pitch invasion happens, because of course its ok for Limerick to run on and stop a match early, or kerry fans invade the pitch, but when the dubs go onto the pitch its a riot.

You not getting a bit ahead of yourself there tankie,Its a bit soon to be looking forward to the Dubs invading the pitch.There is a match to played first ya know ::) ::)
Post by: Rossfan on July 05, 2007, 07:04:16 PM

Due to being away a lot this week I decided to get my Connacht finaal tickets  over the internet via gaa.ie .
You get directed to ticketmaster and get charged extra. The tickets arrived and guess what - not a GAA logo in site and all in the Queen's best BĂ©arla. Not a word of Gaeilge anywhere.

Now I always thought one of the GAA's objectives was to further the Irish Language and while only token efforts are usually made even this now seems to be abandoned.
As for ticket allocations -surely the thing to do is base it on home League attendances and then let the Provincial Council in question put the rest on sale and NOT via ticketbastard.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 05, 2007, 07:12:39 PM
A leave the Dubs alone we ruined their pitch invasion last August.  ;D
Post by: SuperSub on July 05, 2007, 07:14:34 PM

[/b]

Typical f**king Dub,Sure why are Laois even bothering to turn up seeing as the scrots on the Hill are already planning their pitch invasion,I hope Laois hammer ye Jackeen C****
Post by: Kerry Mike on July 05, 2007, 07:25:35 PM
'Tis great to see a bit of bitterness still in the real capital of Langers.

QuoteI hope Laois hammer ye Jackeen C****
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 05, 2007, 07:51:46 PM
QuoteI think you will find that the tickets are allocated by a secret circle of Kerrymen Micheal O'Muireachartaigh, Mick O'Dwyer, The Bomber Liston, Jack O'Se, Pat Spillane, Sean Kelly, Ryans Daughters Father, the Ghosts of Daniel O'Connell, Tom Crean & Charlie Haughey.

Its still tough though. After we have sorted out the masons and the ex-nazis hiding out in the black valley there arent too many to go around. Sometimes we trade counterfeit hurling final tickets to the Cork lads. They always fall for it god love 'em. There is no end to our deviousness.
Post by: Hound on July 05, 2007, 08:17:16 PM
Quote from: Fishead sam on July 05, 2007, 05:11:49 PM

A leave the Dubs alone we ruined their pitch invasion last August.
Ho Ho Ho
3 mayowomen

So what if a few bandwagonners don't get tickets. They'll not be too upset anyway though they'll moan plenty about it, something I have found this type of person is very good at. Genuine fans that get stuck (rarely happens bar the All-Ireland) will dig and dig until they turn one up.
Indeed.
However, allocating thousands of tickets to ticketmaster and leaving the dublin county board short, makes it easier for the bandwagoner to get a ticket and harder for the club member to get a ticket.
Post by: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 11:28:44 PM
Quote from: SuperSub on July 05, 2007, 07:14:34 PM

[/b]

Typical f**king Dub,Sure why are Laois even bothering to turn up seeing as the scrots on the Hill are already planning their pitch invasion,I hope Laois hammer ye Jackeen C****

Would you cop yourself on and go back to whatever bog you crawled out off. Like honestly, as if Laois can beat us ::)
Post by: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 11:43:08 PM
I that your point 5iveTimes and i do agree with you, but it would be a total shock if Laois were to win. I may have got a bit excited in the last post but he was a w**ker.
Post by: tayto on July 06, 2007, 12:17:09 AM
Eh, it wouldnt be that big a shock to me. Both these teams are more then capable of having a stinker, All it'd take is Laois to have a good day and us to have an bad day and we're out on our ears. If both teams have a good day then it could be a great match but could go either way.
Post by: INDIANA on July 06, 2007, 12:30:45 AM
Sometimes I wish all dublin fans would not turn up for a whole championship and see how the GAA like their loss in revenue.  

I second that sentiment.Jeus could you imagine the bitching about not being able to afford thinsg like clubhouses/footballs hurls etc. Would be hilarious.

BUt i agree that selling tickets on knackermaster is scandalous.95% should  be sold through the clubs with only a nominal amount going to knackermaster. because this is where half the problems arise. BUt the likes of Peter Mc Kenn and Co wouldn't be bright enough to realise that.

Post by: SuperSub on July 06, 2007, 01:12:17 AM
Quote from: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 11:43:08 PM
I that your point 5iveTimes and i do agree with you, but it would be a total shock if Laois were to win. I may have got a bit excited in the last post but he was a w**ker.

Eh surely your being the w**ker crowing about pitch invasions before ye even played the match
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2007, 01:37:23 AM
Quote from: Tankie on July 05, 2007, 11:43:08 PM

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 06, 2007, 04:30:38 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 06, 2007, 12:30:45 AM
Sometimes I wish all dublin fans would not turn up for a whole championship and see how the GAA like their loss in revenue.  

I second that sentiment.Jeus could you imagine the bitching about not being able to afford thinsg like clubhouses/footballs hurls etc. Would be hilarious.

BUt i agree that selling tickets on knackermaster is scandalous.95% should  be sold through the clubs with only a nominal amount going to knackermaster. because this is where half the problems arise. BUt the likes of Peter Mc Kenn and Co wouldn't be bright enough to realise that.

To be fair - most of the bleating about tickets is always coming from Dublin folks
Post by: Gnevin on July 06, 2007, 08:13:37 AM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on July 06, 2007, 04:30:38 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 06, 2007, 12:30:45 AM

To be fair - most of the bleating about tickets is always coming from Dublin folks
Thats the point gab that Dublin fan put in a large amount of revenue into the GAA and when the GAA are sure of a sell out they dont have the respect to give the nod back to the dubs who filled * Croker the last 3/4 matches. Take for example the 2 game before last years semi.

*=All tickets sold out before the game not who turns up
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2007, 10:34:46 AM
I got 5 tickets for the Hogan Upper today after a lot of hard work!! Delighted now as i thought i was gonna be in the Canal End which is a awful view
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 06, 2007, 10:42:20 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2007, 10:34:46 AM
I got 5 tickets for the Hogan Upper today after a lot of hard work!! Delighted now as i thought i was gonna be in the Canal End which is a awful view

i hope one of those tickets is for tankie Laoislad ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2007, 11:01:06 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 06, 2007, 10:42:20 AM

How would he cope not being with his Homeboys in the Hill ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 06, 2007, 11:03:06 AM
i forgot about that silly me
Post by: orangeman on July 06, 2007, 11:57:33 AM
As long as the place is full, they couldn't give a shite who is in the place !
Post by: Tankie on July 06, 2007, 01:19:41 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2007, 11:01:06 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 06, 2007, 10:42:20 AM

How would he cope not being with his Homeboys in the Hill ;)

Atleast you'l be dry with the rest of your fair weather Fans now that your in the upper. :P