GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: zoyler on June 22, 2007, 10:28:08 AM

Title: Marty Clarke to make debut
Post by: zoyler on June 22, 2007, 10:28:08 AM
Congrats and best of luck to Marty who is picked to make his AFL debut Saturday night for Collingwood against the Sydney Swans.

Apparently its entirely on merit - not because of injuries or any thing like that.  They say he has made remarkablr progress and can not believe his skill level seeeing that he has been out there less than a year.  His trademark is lifting the ball with his feet straight into his hands.  They have never seen this before apparently.

Game live on Satanta at 10am (our time) tomorrow morning.
Title: Re: Marty Clarke to make debut
Post by: Syd on June 22, 2007, 10:32:23 AM
Great to see and without half the hoopla big Setanta got, i take it he is progressing at a faster rate than Setanta?
Post by: scalder on June 22, 2007, 11:42:49 AM
Must be galling for people in Down - all the effort put into developing him and all that, but best of luck to the chap.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 22, 2007, 11:45:51 AM
Quote from: Syd on June 22, 2007, 10:32:23 AM
Great to see and without half the hoopla big Setanta got, i take it he is progressing at a faster rate than Setanta?

Syd

Differences between Clarke/Setanta are:
1 - Clarke was a footballer and Setanta wasn't
2 - Setanta is being groomed for a key position either full/centre back and ruck....this means he is having to go up against the likes of Mathew Lloyd, Barry Hall, Jonathon Brown etc....Clarke isn't going up against players of that standard...
Post by: Northside Dub on June 22, 2007, 12:00:54 PM
Composed Clarke continues his rise
2:25 PM Fri 22 June, 2007 | Back

Nick Hulett

for collingwoodfc.com.au

News
CLICK HERE TO WATCH THE FULL MARTIN CLARKE INTERVIEW - FREE - ON CTV

Martin Clarke spoke to CTV about his whirlwind first season so far at Collingwood, which has culminated in him being selected for his debut against Sydney.

The 19-year-old from County Down in Ireland had never touched an Australian Rules football at this stage last year, yet on Saturday night will become the seventh Collingwood player to debut in season 2007.

Hi rise to prominence has been a surprise to many, but the gifted former Gaelic football star has thrived on the new challenge and feels assured he is ready for his AFL debut.

"I've come a long way since I came here, but it's good to be able to get an opportunity to play for Collingwood, that's what I'm here for," Clarke said at the Lexus Centre on Thursday.

After being invited to train at the Lexus Centre for four weeks in July 2006, Clarke returned a couple of months later having impressed the coaching and recruiting staff so much that a two-year international rookie contract had already been offered. He was selected with the 40th overall selected in the 2006 AFL Rookie Draft.

Then, with John Anthony sidelined until 2008 with a neck injury, Clarke was elevated to the senior list, and now finds himself set don the famous black and white stripes for the first time, although nerves are not a big issue.

"I'm not the type of player who really would get nervous a lot. I'm just going to look forward to playing it. It's a big stage, definitely, a big crowd, and traditionally a big game.

"So I'm just really looking forward to getting out there, representing Collingwood, and playing with all the boys I've been training with. So I'm more excited and looking forward to it than I would be nervous."

After a demanding first few months, it was at the beginning of this year when Clarke really started to prosper.

He has gone from strength to strength with Williamstown, having gathered 28 touches off the half back flank against the Bullants last Sunday, and gives credit to the club's coaching structure.

"When I started training and getting into it, especially in the preseason when we started to play games, I got more comfortable, and the boys were giving me confidence on the track, and the coaches were helping to fast track me.

"I'm definitely improving every single week and learning more, whether it be stoppages, how to play on opponents, when to go forward, when to zone off, stuff like that.

"Every week's just been a new learning curve. Thankfully I've been able to improve every week because there's so many resources at the club.

"Alan Richardson, personally, has been a magnificent help to me, and then other coaches like Gavin Brown and Adrian Fletcher just showing you vision of what you can do better, and I'm willing to learn.

"So I've been working on how I can do better, and my performances have been improving, so hopefully I can keep following that trend."

Clarke is disappointed his good friend and fellow Irishman Tadgh Kennelly will miss Saturday night's game, but concedes others at the club may not be very sympathetic.

"I'm a bit disappointed that Tadgh won't be there but I know that Mick and the coaching staff are a bit more pleased than me, that he won't be powering off the half back line as he usually does."

As for his native land, Clarke knows his debut will generate a lot of excitement among family and friends especially.

"They'll just be really excited for me.

"Mum and dad have been saying they've been inundated with people asking how he's coming along, when he's going to play, and neither can give an answer.

"It's going to be Saturday morning back home, a few of my mates said they're going to get together and have a few drinks at 10 in the morning and watch me play, so that's extra motivation for me, knowing everyone back home's urging me on and will be able to watch me."
Post by: orangeman on June 22, 2007, 02:06:03 PM
Martin was a fantastic talent at underage level and seems to be a very cool, calm and collected individual - he was on the radio and he said he was more excited than nervous - hesays he doesn't suffer from nerves - he must be the real deal !
Post by: goldenyears on June 22, 2007, 02:30:02 PM
as fine a dead ball striker as i have ever seen.....!
Post by: orangeman on June 22, 2007, 04:03:16 PM
What sort of salary would he be on compared to let's say a premiership footballer ?
Post by: stiffler on June 22, 2007, 04:19:47 PM
the salaries don't compare to the Premiership, it would be more comparable to the Scottish League. The top earners like Hall  and Judd  would be earning around 1 million dollars, which is around 400k sterling. 

Whenever Sean Cavanagh was offered a Contract by Brisbane Lions in 2005 he was offered around 50,000 euro for 2 years. I would say this would be similar to Clarke as it was an International Rookie Contract as well.
Post by: DJGaliv on June 22, 2007, 04:26:59 PM
Quote from: zoyler on June 22, 2007, 10:28:08 AM

Game live on Satanta at 10am (our time) tomorrow morning.

Are you sure about this? According to setanta.com they're showing the cricket Ireland v India.

Edited to say: It's on Setanta Sports 2 so if you want to see it you'll have to subscribe. It's not on freeview.
Post by: johnpower on June 22, 2007, 09:39:59 PM
Great achievement . I hope it goes well .
Post by: orangeman on June 22, 2007, 11:30:52 PM
What would 50k euro get you in australia ? Would that be a good salary ?
Post by: Bod Mor on June 23, 2007, 05:06:27 AM
I am delighted for him. Looking forward to seeing him in action tonight at Telstra stadium. It's a pity Kennelly is injured tonight though.
Post by: Donagh on June 23, 2007, 10:32:36 AM
Is there anywhere online we can watch or listen to this?
Post by: lisdoon1 on June 23, 2007, 10:33:56 AM
not sure, watching it live here now on setanta
Post by: Donagh on June 23, 2007, 10:38:43 AM
On radio with live game plays here:

http://www.afl.com.au/ (http://www.afl.com.au/)
Post by: lisdoon1 on June 23, 2007, 11:14:50 AM
Barry Hall is an animal but jesus ihe is out of the game
Post by: Cloc Mor on June 23, 2007, 12:16:41 PM
Martin really coming into it.  Some lovely touches in the third quarter.  Nearly got in for a score just at half time.  Doing great
Post by: Jinxy on June 23, 2007, 02:03:22 PM
Fantastic debut by Martin. The aussies are raving about him.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 23, 2007, 02:10:03 PM
Collingwood won 76-57 in the end, which was a huge result for them, and Clarke looked the part from start to finish. He stayed on the wings, which was sensible when you saw the kind of tackling which went on down the middle, but there was always a composure about his play. His teammates repeatedly gave him the ball, which showed they must have confidence in him, and he concentrated on doing the simple things well. The pressure of making his debut in front of 65,000 clearly did not bother him. You have to be dlelighted for him, but the chances of seeing him in a Down jersey again are increasingly slim.

He was probably the best minor we have produced since Greg Blaney, as, in addition to his ability with scores from play, he has natural pace and is an outstanding free taker. Good luck to him anyway.   
Post by: mick999 on June 23, 2007, 02:32:47 PM
Good pre-game interview with him here ...

http://bigpondguide.com/070621nu_1_ (http://bigpondguide.com/070621nu_1_)

a good clip in a game last week playing for Collingwood's feeder club Williamstown where he chipped up the footie without bending over, they were very impressed ...

More comments here

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=340433 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=340433)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=273539 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=273539)
Post by: Aghdavoyle on June 23, 2007, 03:34:39 PM

That interview doesn't play mick?
Post by: thejuice on June 23, 2007, 10:07:55 PM
By reading the comments on the BigFooty board they're treating him like and I quote "a messiah". I find it hard to credit. Its almost as bad as the hype Mark Vaughn is getting  ;)
Post by: clarshack on June 23, 2007, 11:39:10 PM
disagree there. for an irishman to make that sort of impression in aussie rules he must be the real mccoy. if youre a dud the aussies will let you know. you cant compare that to the mark vaughan hype!
Post by: redandblackjack on June 23, 2007, 11:47:13 PM
Aint nothing wrong with the lad doing well thejuice- the hype must be justified as clarshack says! Great talent, and remember he is only 19- has been playing Aussie rules for a matter of months! Credit is certainly due!
Post by: stephenite on June 24, 2007, 12:35:30 AM
Quote from: clarshack on June 23, 2007, 11:39:10 PM
disagree there. for an irishman to make that sort of impression in aussie rules he must be the real mccoy. if youre a dud the aussies will let you know. you cant compare that to the mark vaughan hype!
You're talking shite, if anyone knows how to hype things it's the Aussies.

Specifically in sport, with the various codes masters at trying to outdo each other in the promotional stakes and the fact that we now have a few Irish players out here the AFL media department go into overdrive

here are a few of the comments from the comments last night

"the BBC's Martin McHugh says that losing Clarke was  a tragedy and one of the saddest days for Gaelic Football"

"Some of the analysts in Ireland compare him to Ronaldinho"

They were talking Clarke up big time and I hope they don't put much pressure on him.

TO the game itself, he played an excellent debut - did the simple things well and didn't take any risks.
Post by: mick999 on June 24, 2007, 01:02:10 AM
Try linking to that video from this article on the collingwood website

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5586&newsId=45821 (http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5586&newsId=45821)

or here ..  http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Season2007/tabid/5584/Default.aspx (http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Season2007/tabid/5584/Default.aspx)

It might be that you need to be on bigpond, which is one of the major ISPs out here, who have some exclusive afl content ...

Post by: thejuice on June 24, 2007, 12:11:29 PM
Dont get me wrong I wish him all the best, and I know he's a special talent but to think he's arrived and within a year hes turned a whole league on its head seems to be over-stating the case. Im sure he'll do well all the same
Post by: Cloc Mor on June 24, 2007, 01:38:35 PM
Scintillating start for Clarke
2:22 PM Sun 24 June, 2007

By Matt Burgan

Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

News
FIRST-gamer Martin Clarke said he never felt nervous or intimidated about taking on Sydney at Telstra Stadium on Saturday night, and it showed, with an impressive 20-disposal display in Collingwood's 19-point victory in front of a crowd of over 64,000.

The Irish youngster who had played fewer than 10 senior matches with Williamstown – his total Australian Football experience – did not appear out of place at all against the Swans.

In fact, Clarke went about his business with such aplomb that he simply blended in perfectly with the Magpie set-up.

He said the win – another impressive one by Collingwood – topped off a dream start to his AFL career.

"To come up here against the grand finalists of the last two years and to get a win in front of their home support is just the perfect debut," Clarke said.

"I was pretty excited [before the match] but I don't really get nervous at all.

"The boys were just really good to me and I knew I prepared everything I could. My skills are improving all the time and I was ready to go.

"It's pretty lovely to come to Collingwood because they're such an amazing club.

"I can't thank them enough and this is totally down to them... they've fast-tracked me."

Clarke said he had never experienced a game so quick.

"I've never cramped in my life and I was coming down in the last 10 minutes and my legs were cramping up," he said.

The former County Down Gaelic Footballer said his parents got together with other supporters back in Ireland to watch his maiden AFL appearance.

"I just briefly spoke to them [after the match]. I couldn't really hear them ... I think a few of them got together in the local pub, so hopefully they enjoyed it as much as I did," Clarke said. 

"All Sydney games are live over there because of [fellow Irishman and Swan] Tadhg Kennelly."

Collingwood coach Michael Malthouse said he was not surprised at all that Clarke handled the occasion so professionally.

"He's a big time player. I think we get a little bit caught up in our own game," Malthouse said.

"I think we really underestimate what life is [like] on the other side of the planet and he comes from a fiercely contested competition of which he was – if not a superstar – he was a very, very good player.

"He played before 50,000 and 60,000 at Croke Park, so I hardly think we panicked about whether he was playing for Collingwood against Sydney in Sydney.

"He's had a level head all the time and he believes he belongs – well before I put him in the side.

"When I looked at it and he's our second highest possession getter.

"In the end there is a lot of cheap kicks in football and backline players tend to get a lot of cheap kicks later in the quarter, when they want to pull the game down a little bit – but he had enough nous to know how to use it.

"He had one bad kick I believe all night and that's because his capabilities are probably in front of his thought process, or vice versa."

Post by: Declan on June 25, 2007, 09:36:14 AM
Got this from a pal of mine who is a Magpies lifelong fan.

Not bad at all. Racked up 20 possessions, which is a great debut. Played in defence, which was well tested but held up incredibly well. In truth, it is the most reliable area of our team so he was part of a tight unit. First kick went out on the full, but put that down to nerves. Watched him run a bit later with the ball and hit a running target from 50m at one stage, which was very pleasing. All in all, an excellent start. The future looks very bright, but will wait and see. A lot of new superstars tend to fade after a few games as the oppositions targets them (not by way of hitting them - although that sometimes happens - but by "tagging" them so that they can't get an uncontested possession. Bottom line, if you have more like him, we'll happily take them!

Check out www.heraldsun.com.au or www.theage.com.au and follow the sporting links to the AFL reports. You'll get to see what the local press said - which was quite complimentary.
Post by: Romeo on June 25, 2007, 09:55:56 AM
Think he needs to learn the words of the club song properly!
Post by: amallon on June 25, 2007, 03:26:57 PM
Here is the clip on youtube.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHkrqVaxXOM  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHkrqVaxXOM)
Post by: Aerlik on June 26, 2007, 10:12:45 AM
I made a point of watching the game as normally I'd avoid Collingwood.  I have absolutely no time for Collingwood, especially since they whinge and bleat about the great injustices of the sporting world bestowed upon them and them alone.  Even Rocca got a week for a head high "tackle"  for which a Freo player got four at the start of the season.  Nor does the club president win any fans.  They are the Dublin of the AFL.  Everyone hates them outside of their own cesspit.  Damnit I've even been known to support the West Coast Eagles when they play the pies.

However, I was delighted for Martin Clarke and quite proud of his performance.  After the game some wag in the pub piped up something along the lines...does anyone have an effing clue what he's saying, chuckle chuckle.  I replied I did and told him to give over till Clarke had finished talking.  Silence.  Ahhh, gratifying...that and St.Kilda's win over the Eagles on Sunday.
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2007, 10:51:08 AM
Clarke got 3 goals today in Collingwoods loss to Hawthorn in what was one of the games of they year. Hats off to the boy!
Post by: Denver Mayobridge on July 01, 2007, 12:31:34 PM
Was that a senior match jinxy?
Post by: mick999 on July 01, 2007, 01:44:56 PM
Report on the game here ..

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5586/Default.aspx?newsId=46086 (http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5586/Default.aspx?newsId=46086)
Post by: mick999 on July 01, 2007, 02:06:56 PM
The lads on bigfooty are getting very excited about him now after his 2nd game  ...

How has Lucky Marty Clarke cruised into AFL so easily?
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=343528 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=343528)
Post by: corn02 on July 01, 2007, 04:21:09 PM
Good stuff, glad to see him do well. 3 goals is excellent return in your second senior game.
Post by: rory on July 01, 2007, 05:09:04 PM
If you go to YouTube and search for 'Martin Clarke' there are two clips that look like they are from a magazine style Oz football show.  First one looks like it's from one of hi junior games and they are anazed by his 'filck' of the ball of f the ground.  Second one shows his soccer ball juggling skills.... with the Aussie football.  Looks like he could have been a soccer player too.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=OHkrqVaxXOM (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=OHkrqVaxXOM)

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=yFtZ1ZNf17g (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=yFtZ1ZNf17g)
Post by: lisdoon1 on July 02, 2007, 12:12:18 PM
Legend in the making!!!!
Post by: Declan on July 02, 2007, 06:08:44 PM
Magpie fans are excited. My man in Oz says
Your man Clarke put in another good performance over the weekend, although we still got rolled in an excellent game. He kicked 3 goals, at least 2 of which were from set shots from a decent distance. Very promising.
Post by: Spiritof98 on July 02, 2007, 07:01:18 PM
3 goals, was that for the 1st team or the reserve outfit.
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2007, 07:25:00 PM
1st team. The big boys.
Title: Martin Clarke wins NAB AFL Rising Star nomination
Post by: mick999 on July 03, 2007, 04:44:37 AM
Interview with marty here ...

http://bigpondguide.com/070703martin_1 (http://bigpondguide.com/070703martin_1)

And review of this week's game here .. http://bigpondguide.com/070702twtw_1 (http://bigpondguide.com/070702twtw_1)
Then select

Rnd13 The Weekend That Was
Guy McKenna reviews Collingwood`s performance against Hawthorn. the direct link doesn't seem to work ...

http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=46445 (http://afl.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=46445)

Martin Clarke wins NAB AFL Rising Star nomination
10:55 AM Tue 3 July, 2007 | Back

By Jennifer Witham and Catherine Murphy

Exclusive to AFL BigPond Network

News

IRISH youngster Martin Clarke has been rewarded for his stunning start to his AFL career with the round 13 nomination for the NAB AFL Rising Star award.

The talented Magpie burst onto the scene against the Sydney Swans in round 12, and backed up on Sunday with an often-inventive three-goal performance against the Hawks. He becomes the second Irish player to win a NAB AFL Rising Star nomination after premiership defender Tadhg Kennelly in 2002.

Clarke, 19, has been described as "remarkable" by coach Mick Malthouse after picking up the game – and the specific skills required to play it – in less than 12 months.

He had 20 possessions in his first game against the Swans in round 12, and 19 against Hawthorn on Sunday.

"It's definitely unexpected [to be nominated]," Clarke told afl.com.au. "My focus was to get into the side and then once I got in, I just wanted to be clear on what role I had to play with Collingwood."

"I don't think I've done anything too special to get the nomination ahead of some great players. It's definitely a great honour for me."

Clarke said his parents have been extremely supportive of his move to Australia, and have already been to visit their son in his new surroundings of the Magpies' Lexus Centre.

"At first, they were a bit conservative about me coming out to Australia, but once they've got a feel for how much I'm enjoying it and how good a club Collingwood is, they've just been really supportive," he said.

"I think my brother and sister plan to come over too."

Incredibly, Clarke was informed of his nomination exactly one year after he arrived in Australia. The Magpies flew him out to undertake a month's trial with the oval ball in July 2006.

It's been a big 12 months for the teenager – for starters, he's the new cult hero for the black and white army – but he's just glad all the hard work has began to show dividends.

"A lot has changed in the year, but I've worked hard and the coaches and resources at Collingwood have been first class," he said.

"I've just listened to all the advice I've got from coaches and players and worked hard and did a bit extra after training. It's starting to come together now."

Clarke joins the following players to be nominated for the award so far this season: Paddy Ryder (Essendon), Cameron Wood (Brisbane Lions), Tom Hawkins (Geelong), Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood), Joel Selwood (Geelong), Ricky Petterd (Melbourne), Jess Smith (Kangaroos), Shaun Higgins (Western Bulldogs), Mitch Clark (Brisbane Lions), Bryce Gibbs (Carlton), Shannon Hurn (West Coast) and Robbie Gray (Port Adelaide).

Post by: Denver Mayobridge on July 03, 2007, 01:22:50 PM
Brilliant. Hope he takes Aussie Rules by storm. Then comes back and wins an all ireland for down!
Post by: lisdoon1 on July 03, 2007, 04:52:25 PM
brilliant to see, gd luck to the cub!
Post by: Northside Dub on July 05, 2007, 04:01:53 PM
Here's the highlights from his 2nd game. He scored 3 goals in 2.04, 5.28 and 6.05 minute of the clip! Really adapting well to it and the Aussies seem to love him, he gets a raor from the commentator for belting the ball up the pitch when it was bobbling around :D

Here's the clip:

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=W5lwTiubYqI
Post by: Cloc Mor on July 05, 2007, 04:14:15 PM
Just watched the clip - unreal.  You'd think he was playing it all his life.
Post by: Jinxy on July 05, 2007, 05:04:18 PM
The aussies think it was amazing he pulled on the ball and drove it down the field. ???
Post by: zoyler on July 07, 2007, 08:11:11 AM
Collingwood have just beaten St. kilda by 9 in a tough game in awful wet weather at the MCG.  Marty played through out but was not half as involved as in the last two games.  However he made one great block and had a couple of handballs and one pretty nifty kick round his body.  Most important of all he made no mistakes and gave away no ball on a day when it would be easy to do so. All in progress conyinues.
Post by: Aerlik on July 07, 2007, 09:26:02 AM
You're actually not allowed to solo the ball in footy.  I found that out at training one night in Broome.

I watched the game today v. St.Kilda and was flicking over to watch the Bulldogs-Port game at the same time.  Helluva comeback by the Pies.  I'm pleased for MC they won but you've got to admit, their fans and their President really do force you to support whoever Collingwood are playing.

It was interesting to watch Clarke today; he was a bit out of sorts in the conditions and considering the type of game St.Kilda were forcing them to play.  However, he did well again.

Off to watch Brisbane v. WC Eagles now.  I think Begley is playing.  If so, that will be the first time all four Irishmen featured for their clubs on the same weekend.  Tadhg is on the interchange for Sydney v. Freo tomorrow.  Freo finally have their strongest team of the season on show but methinks it won't be enough to win.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 07, 2007, 09:41:31 AM
how is setanta getting on is he making the team
Post by: zoyler on July 07, 2007, 02:29:24 PM
Is supposed to be carrying an injury this week and may not play even though he is listed.  He is doing OK but I hearthat Charlton are using him as a ruck player around the middle of the field rather then at fullback because of injuries to other players.,  His problem appears to be that he is playing for a poor enough team who have not time to bring him on properly, unlike Marty who is with a much bigger team with better quality players to learn from.  Thats my understanding from reading the Aussie pressand websites.
Post by: mick999 on July 08, 2007, 01:54:13 PM
I see Setanta had a good game today, althought Carlton were beaten .. He played up front and scored 2 goals !!

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=346215 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=346215)

http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/dees-win-a-third/2007/07/08/1183833333158.html (http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/dees-win-a-third/2007/07/08/1183833333158.html)

By the way,Aisake was going very well for the reserves, but is now out for the rest of the season injured ...

http://carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=46718 (http://carltonfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4311/Default.aspx?newsId=46718)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=345263&highlight=aisake (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=345263&highlight=aisake)
Post by: zoyler on July 15, 2007, 03:39:38 PM
My satalite was on the blink yesterday and only a bit of the game against Geelong. In the wee bit I saw again Marty made a few decent marks and handballs and one good sheparding.  How did he do over the whole game?
Post by: southdown on July 16, 2007, 12:02:10 AM
Just watched the whole game there now on Eurosport2.  Marty seemed to be deployed in the full back line.  He did ok, wasnt exactly outstanding, but did the simple things well and tackled well.  Had one nightmare moment though when the ball took an awkward bounce and went right over his head for a Geelong goal.  But all in all a steady preformance.  Future looks bright for him and the commentators love him!
Post by: zoyler on July 21, 2007, 09:37:18 AM
Another good display from Marty in what was a brilliant game against Essendon.  Game passed him by early on but he got in spme tackles and sheparding and came into it more in the second half.  Got one 'behind' when he could have run a bit further and played a vital part in a goal in the 3rd quarter when C'wood needed one badly.  Again made no glareing or basic efforts.  Any other views on how hes doin?
Post by: SeanSouth on July 21, 2007, 10:44:06 AM
How has he changed physically since he has gone over to Oz, going from being a student to a full time athlete, eating properly, weight programmes etc.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 28, 2007, 11:30:33 AM
any matches been played this week end
Post by: bcarrier on July 28, 2007, 12:04:43 PM
collingwood getting hiding from brisbane in q3 now.

www.afl.com.au
Post by: Aerlik on July 29, 2007, 01:46:44 AM
Collingwood totally hammered by Brisbane, so much so that I turned over and started watching a show about sandstorms in China.  Reminded me of life on the east coast of Japan and you'd wake up to find your car covered in fine dust.  And the bloody Gobi Desert is thousands of miles away.

Sydney hammered Richmond

and...Geelong hammered Freo.  Ah well, that's it for Freo for this year.  No finals.  Feck it. There's always next year.   Damnit last year we said we were going to get to the bloody final "next year".
Post by: stephenite on July 29, 2007, 01:56:35 AM
Was at the Swans game, good performance albeit against the weakest team in the league, amazing how exposed their defence is when Kennelly goes off for a breather.
Post by: clarshack on August 25, 2007, 06:01:23 PM
sydney's buchanan came in very late on marty today. disgraceful stuff - even the aussies were saying it was bad. fair play to marty for coming back on again.
Post by: zoyler on August 25, 2007, 07:03:59 PM
Super game today. Again Clarke made no mistake apart from the very doubtful free for over carrying the ball.  The late hit was a disgrace and the experts reckonit will cost Buchanan a 4 game suspension!  In fairness there is no messing with the disaplinery committee out there!!! I don'tthink they have a Frank Murphy!!
It will be a bad blow to Sydney as they are already so short with injuries.
Post by: orangeman on August 26, 2007, 12:31:51 PM
Pity the Aussies didn't have similar disciplinary rules in the international rules series - there would less late hits / assaults form them.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on August 26, 2007, 02:57:59 PM
Any clips of this game? must have been a nasty hit on Clarke when the Aussies didnt like it!
Post by: Aerlik on August 26, 2007, 03:18:00 PM
The final round of the league is next weekend.  Basically Clarke is the only Irishman assured of playing finals footy this year, and Tadhg and Swans should join him.  Begley's Brisbane and (my) Freo are set to battle it out for the 8th. place on the table.  I'm just a wee bit optimistic, mind you, the way Port Adelaide beat Geelong today was pretty impressive and as Freo play Port Adelaide away next week, to be realistic it'll be too much seeing as Port will need the win to ensure they finish second behing Geelong who have already won the "minor premiership".

Setanta scored a very good goal yesterday, again featured on the Sunday footy show, more for his exhuberance than the quality of his strike.  He took a diving mark in front of his man and pinged it from about 50m or so.

Big send off for James Hird and Kevin Sheedy in the last game of the season at the MCG for Essendon Bombers.  Talk is Sheedy could be coming to the West to help coach Freo.

Watch out for Port Adelaide in the Grand Final this year.
Post by: clarshack on August 26, 2007, 09:46:31 PM
it was a harold schumacher type challenge.
Post by: Tiger Craig on August 27, 2007, 06:57:19 AM
1 week suspension for the bump on Clarke - fair enough, not much in it
Post by: Our Nail Loney on August 27, 2007, 11:54:55 AM
Any clips of this challenge yet lads??
Post by: orangeman on August 27, 2007, 11:56:29 AM
He's a tough cookie is Clarke - but would he have survived the Dubs yday in Croker ?
Post by: hitzelsperger on August 27, 2007, 06:18:26 PM
fair play to marty, took the hit, got his recovery and came back on and give it everything...roll on the finals, lets go eagles!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 04, 2007, 07:43:42 PM
The hit on Marty

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Pl-lrr-76M

It's here too - about 7 minutes in

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_SajgFZtio
Post by: Aerlik on September 05, 2007, 02:15:39 AM
I think Martin will have to keep the premiership aspirations on hold for another year as the way Swans annihilated Hawthorn on Saturday was excellent.  Adam Goodes' individual goal in particular caught the eye.  He' 6'4" and shifts along.  Swans, if they play like that consistently will be very hard to beat, however I have a sneaking feeling Port Adelaide will be the winners. They were close to losing to Freo on Saturday, but had too much in the tank in the end.

Begley will have to wait for another year and the signs are good for the Lions after this year.  Setanta and Carlton, well...not much to be said.

I'll only be shouting for the Eagles if they play Collingwood in the final.  Actually, I won't even bother my arse watching the game. 
Post by: parttimeexile on September 05, 2007, 08:14:52 AM
Sweet jesus that was some tackle alright. :oFair play to him for taking a hit like that and not letting it effect him!
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 05, 2007, 10:08:06 AM
Quote from: parttimeexile on September 05, 2007, 08:14:52 AM
Sweet jesus that was some tackle alright. :oFair play to him for taking a hit like that and not letting it effect him!
Jesus was that a tackle it looked more like an assault. Did marty play on after that hit?
Post by: full back on September 05, 2007, 10:29:01 AM
Some f**king hit alright.
He may have went off for a bit, but it shows him coming running back onto the pitch.

If that hit had happend in the International Series there would be lads calling for jail, or at least a lifetime ban. Shows the difference between the sports
Post by: the Deel Rover on September 05, 2007, 10:32:29 AM
Quote from: full back on September 05, 2007, 10:29:01 AM
He may have went off for a bit, but it shows him coming running back onto the pitch.

If that hit had happend in the International Series there would be lads calling for jail, or at least a lifetime ban. Shows the difference between the sports
absolutley Fullback, the Oz Rules players must have a short career can't see you putting your body through that abuse for 10 or more years 
Post by: parttimeexile on September 05, 2007, 12:00:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 05, 2007, 10:32:29 AM

absolutley Fullback, the Oz Rules players must have a short career can't see you putting your body through that abuse for 10 or more years 

Just out of interest what length is a career in AR? What sort of money would they make there, the average player not just the top earners?
Post by: ykickamoocow on September 05, 2007, 12:44:13 PM
Quote from: parttimeexile on September 05, 2007, 12:00:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on September 05, 2007, 10:32:29 AM

Just out of interest what length is a career in AR? What sort of money would they make there, the average player not just the top earners?

If you make the first team regularly odds are you would be on atleast $150,000 (Australian). The top players can earn up too $900,000 a year. Kennelly would easily be on $300,000 (probably more) while Clarke is probably earning alot less. His salary will increase alot next time he negotiates his contract as when he negotiated his current contract he was only a potential star and wasnt actually playing AFL football, now he is a regular first team member and is looking like a very good player. As for your other question a player will usually begin his AFL career around 19 and finish anywhere inbetween 32 and 38 depending on the player.
Post by: orangeman on September 05, 2007, 12:46:02 PM
You must be joking ? You can play until your 38 ?????
Post by: ykickamoocow on September 05, 2007, 01:26:19 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 05, 2007, 12:46:02 PM

You can. Its extremely rare but can happen. Most players retire before the age of 34. The most common retirement bracket is 32-34.
Post by: clarshack on September 05, 2007, 09:07:10 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 05, 2007, 12:46:02 PM

i remember this guy playing in several international rules series. was very good too so he was.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Bradley
Post by: plain man on September 06, 2007, 01:23:35 AM
That hit on Marty Clarke was brutal, but it is not typical of most AFL matches, the guys that hit him Amon Buchanan I think, got a one match ban, but it would have been much more but he pleaded guilty and early..

That sort of hit is frowned upon by most AFL players and supporters as it was a cowardly act, and Marty had no way of defending himself.

I'd like to see Marty getting thick, and taking a swing some time, but somethin tells me he's not that sort of lad..

He put in a good appearance at the Rising Star Awards too, bit of a funny fecker! and doesn't mind being in the spotlight either.
Post by: Tiger Craig on September 06, 2007, 05:44:42 AM
Quote from: plain man on September 06, 2007, 01:23:35 AM
That hit on Marty Clarke was brutal, but it is not typical of most AFL matches, the guys that hit him Amon Buchanan I think, got a one match ban, but it would have been much more but he pleaded guilty and early..

I wouldn't say that - the only thing wrong with it was that Clarke had disposed of the ball, otherwise it would have been OK

[/quote]That sort of hit is frowned upon by most AFL players and supporters as it was a cowardly act, and Marty had no way of defending himself.[/quote]

Most supporters love it - that's footy

Post by: Aerlik on September 06, 2007, 05:57:52 AM
A colleague from work, a mad Collingwood supporter and the head of the West Australian branch of the supporters's club was at the game and close to the hit on Clarke.  He said a few of the ferals were baying for the Swans' player's blood...but then they are Collingwood supporters.  Clarke was back on the field in about 20 mins he said.

A few notable retirees this year include D'Arcy from the Western Bulldogs, Hird from the Bombers and one of my favourite Dockers players, Troy Cook. 
Post by: Jinxy on September 06, 2007, 10:22:53 AM
Quote from: Tiger Craig on September 06, 2007, 05:44:42 AM

I wouldn't say that - the only thing wrong with it was that Clarke had disposed of the ball, otherwise it would have been OK

That sort of hit is frowned upon by most AFL players and supporters as it was a cowardly act, and Marty had no way of defending himself.[/quote]

Sure why wouldn't they? Diving shoulder first into the unprotected head/neck area of a player who is off balance after kicking the ball and unable to defend himself. It's the height of manliness.
Post by: Romeo on September 06, 2007, 11:25:21 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 06, 2007, 10:22:53 AM
Quote from: Tiger Craig on September 06, 2007, 05:44:42 AM

That sort of hit is frowned upon by most AFL players and supporters as it was a cowardly act, and Marty had no way of defending himself.

Sure why wouldn't they? Diving shoulder first into the unprotected head/neck area of a player who is off balance after kicking the ball and unable to defend himself. It's the height of manliness.

Clarke took the hit , got on with it! The other guy admitted it and took his punishment, GAA could learn alot from both attitudes. An incident like that would wrangle on til Xmas in the GAA, with appeals and resolutions and authorites and CCCCCC's etc.
Post by: Jinxy on September 06, 2007, 11:54:18 AM
Clarke got on with it after having to leave the field for treatment. Taking someone out like that when the ball is gone is extremely dangerous. To be honest, aussie rules could do worse than lose the braindead attitude that suggests hitting someone high and late is "just a bit of biff" and something for the commentators and fans to have a giggle about. If people want to go toe to toe, or someone gets levelled with a fair hip-and-shoulder that's one thing, jumping off the ground into the head/neck of a player who can't protect himself is another.
Post by: stephenite on September 06, 2007, 12:19:17 PM
Kennelly ruled out of Swans V Magpies prelim final this weekend
Post by: hitzelsperger on September 06, 2007, 09:39:53 PM
All the best to marty, have watched a few of his games and have to say he looks as though he has been playing the game for years, his passing is brillaint and all seems effortless, a few more years and he'll be a superstar i have no doubts!

Magpies by 3 goals!
Post by: Aerlik on September 07, 2007, 01:53:45 AM
Hitzelsperger, you're being a bit optimistic. 

Swans to win but it will be close and hopefully Power will thump the Eagles and their druggy players into oblivion.  Hell I'm even starting to change to supporting Collingwood when they play the cheats.
Post by: man in black on September 07, 2007, 09:46:40 AM
QuoteGAA could learn alot from both attitudes. An incident like that would wrangle on til Xmas in the GAA

Sure Mickey Linden and his pansy followers are still griping about a fair shoulder from Francois.
Post by: goldenyears on September 07, 2007, 10:19:25 AM
Quote from: man in black on September 07, 2007, 09:46:40 AM
QuoteGAA could learn alot from both attitudes. An incident like that would wrangle on til Xmas in the GAA

Sure Mickey Linden and his pansy followers are still griping about a fair shoulder from Francois.

good man blackman, you are a hard boy alright...
Post by: man in black on September 07, 2007, 11:25:09 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 07, 2007, 11:06:32 AM
A fair shoulder to the face???
We are going over old ground here, but Bellews tackle on Linden was disgraceful.

Im not even Armagh so i wont defend them hoors, but if Linden wasnt as yella as he is and pulled out he would have been alright.
Post by: parttimeexile on September 07, 2007, 11:56:53 AM
Quote from: man in black on September 07, 2007, 11:25:09 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 07, 2007, 11:06:32 AM
A fair shoulder to the face???
We are going over old ground here, but Bellews tackle on Linden was disgraceful.

Im not even Armagh so i wont defend them hoors, but if Linden wasnt as yella as he is and pulled out he would have been alright.

I don't know many people who would have come out of that tackle and been "alright".It was dirty end of story.
Title: Marty Clarke to make debut
Post by: 5 Sams on September 07, 2007, 11:57:58 AM
Linden yella?

Now I know you are trying to wind us up.
Post by: Aerlik on September 07, 2007, 03:53:25 PM
An almost identical tackle took place tonight by an Eagles' player on a Power player.  feckin disgrace.

Glad to see the junkies beaten, and even happier to see Junky El Numero Uno Cousins twanging a hammy.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on September 07, 2007, 06:02:07 PM
When was that bad tackle as I didn't see any in the game....there was one huge hit in the first half but nothing wrong iwht that....
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 07, 2007, 08:05:05 PM
(http://img63.imageshack.us/img63/4199/lindenfrancieim2.jpg)
Post by: redandblackjack on September 07, 2007, 09:10:53 PM
'Sure Mickey Linden and his pansy followers are still griping about a fair shoulder from Francois.'

Typical Armagh mentality! The tr**p Bellew knew exactly what he was at! So a player is yella because he is a fair clean player? The term 'yella' is quite fitting for challenge such as the one on Marty Clarke and Linden! If anyone is yella it is the brave man who sizes his opponent up and catchs him 'stright down the middle' to use an ex Armagh senior players term!
Post by: johnpower on September 07, 2007, 11:22:54 PM
Quote from: redandblackjack on September 07, 2007, 09:10:53 PM
'Sure Mickey Linden and his pansy followers are still griping about a fair shoulder from Francois.'

Typical Armagh mentality! The tr**p Bellew knew exactly what he was at! So a player is yella because he is a fair clean player? The term 'yella' is quite fitting for challenge such as the one on Marty Clarke and Linden! If anyone is yella it is the brave man who sizes his opponent up and catchs him 'stright down the middle' to use an ex Armagh senior players term!

Not one of F Bellows better days when history is written who will people remember ? Mickey of course
Post by: Mourne Rover on September 07, 2007, 11:45:36 PM
The fact that we are still discussing a tackle from three or four years ago shows how little we Down fans have had to talk about over recent seasons. Having said that, Mickey's injury was caused mainly  because Benny played a foolish fisted pass over Mickey's head which he then had to run on to towards the goals while keeping his eye on the ball. Bellew saw his opportunity, ignored the ball  and flattened Mickey. Bellew expected to be booked, and could not believe his luck when the referee let him off. In the very next passage of play, Benny won the ball, went round Bellew and was immediately hauled down. Francie accepted his booking happily and did not commit a bad foul for the rest of the game. We can complain about the cynicism of it all, but the bottom line is that Down would be in very different position if we had a Francie of our own at the back.
Post by: corn02 on September 07, 2007, 11:51:56 PM
Even Stephen Kernan is shitting himself in the first photo.
Post by: An Laoch on September 08, 2007, 10:20:18 AM
....meanwhile back on topic.

Collingwood v Sydney about to start on setanta sports 2 in a finals match.

Clarke plays, Kennelly injured
Post by: bcarrier on September 08, 2007, 10:49:45 AM
Live on setanta 2 now. Otherwise updates at www.afl.com.au. Collingwood have started well 15-8 after 9.
Post by: Statto-Gael on September 08, 2007, 12:31:33 PM
Collingwood 90 - 62 up at the end of Q3 .... looking like Marty going to get a semi appearance at least
Post by: zoyler on September 08, 2007, 02:01:23 PM
Great display from Collingwood and again Marty does not put a foot wrong.  Played some great linking handpasses and was great at making himself vailable to receive and move on the ball.

The Oz comentators at the end were full of wonder at his progress and composure.  He also took a big hit from Big Bad Barry but carried on regardless.  A goog game but not a patch on the other game this morning which Hawthorn won with the last kick of the game. It was fantastic!
Post by: Aerlik on September 09, 2007, 05:53:30 AM
Marty's not quite in the semis...yet.

Here's how the AFL playoffs work.

The top 8 teams qualify for the finals.

this weekend:
(A) 1 v 4, Geelong v. Nth.Melbourne Kangaroos (Sunday)
(B) 2 v 3, Port Adelaide beat West Coast EGOs, the winners have a week off while the losers must play the next weekend.

(C) 5 v 8, Hawthorn beat Adelaide
(D) 6 v 7, Collingwood beat Sydney, the losers are automatically out, so Sydney and Adelaide can start planning for next season.

Next weekend:
(I) The loser of A will now play Hawthorn next weekend (probably Kangaroos v. Hawthorn)
(II)The loser of B, the Egos, now play Collingwood (...hark hark is that the fan base of Collingwood in WA doubling as all the Freo fans start shouting for the Pies?  Prob not as Collingwood are the most hated in the country.  'twill be the only game I will ever support the Eagles this season.

Preliminary Finals:
Winner of Geelong/Nth.Mel v. II (Egos v. Pies)
Port Adelaide v. I (Hawthorn v. Geelong/Nth.Mel)

Clear?  I thought so.

Post by: FermGael on September 09, 2007, 08:07:44 PM
Why are Collingwood hated???
Post by: Cloc Mor on September 09, 2007, 08:30:45 PM
I believe the Collingwood game is on Friday morning.  Will have to tape it or maybe pull a sickie.
Post by: Tiger Craig on September 10, 2007, 02:45:48 AM
Clarke is looking pretty useful. Still looks a bit lost at times, but given his time in the game that is understandable. Good kicking skills.

He is also a bit of what we call a "receiver" in that he generally doesn't really get stuck into the packs to get the ball, but hangs out and receives from other. Again not necessarily a bad thing.

As to why people hate Collingwood...

Basically their supporters can be quite arrogant, and are very very passionate to the extent of being 'feral'.

They are historically one of the most successful clubs, with some shady underworld connections in the 1920's & 1930's. They had a a long period (1958 to 1990) when they didn't win a grand final despite numerous appearances (the term "Colliwobbles" was coined for failure to handle pressure). Have not won anything since 1990.

A lot of recent criticism came due to their president, Eddie Maguire, being a media personality (and one time CEO of Channel Nine). When Channel Nine still had the telecast rights Eddie was chief commentator and Colingwood got a lot of TV exposure. He also hosted The Footy Show, which at times should have been renamed The Collingwood Show, as they seemed to get more airplay than other clubs. They also seem to get good fixture draws, with less interstate travel than some other clubs.

Personally I quite like them (heresy for a Richmond supporter)
Post by: stephenite on September 10, 2007, 02:51:13 AM
Swans never got going really, amazing how much they miss Tadhg. Collingwood were full value for their win however and seem to have the momentum going into next weeks game against an Eagles side that look to be without Ben Cousins. Magpies have a great chance of progressing....
Post by: Aerlik on September 10, 2007, 03:07:04 AM
Tiger Craig, what really pissed me off was McGuire's blatant bias when commentating on his own club.  Nearly as bad as listening to John Motson on England. ( And that wee gimball on Channel 7 who tries to immitate the brilliant NRL commentator is another one.)  And the fact that clubs like Richmond and Western Bulldogs had to travel twice to Perth and Adelaide yet the Pies only ever go once a year.    They may have the biggest fan base but seeing some of them on a game day would make you think Deliverance was set in Melbourne.

The Tigers had a very good win at the end of the season so things are looking better for them.  Personally I don't care who wins on Friday as after yesterday's performance I doubt if anyone will touch Geelong.  So I'm going for the Power again.
Post by: Declan on September 13, 2007, 12:02:58 PM
Damn thuggish Aussies at it again- ;)

Great commentary tough- Eddie Fogarty eat your heart out.

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=ede_1189614495 (http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=ede_1189614495)
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 13, 2007, 12:34:27 PM
my melbourne based uncle (since 1975) was home a month ago and was telling me about thediff teams in Melbourne (the rest are just recent creations with no history legacy yet)
Anyhow I forget most of which he told me but from an Irish perspective (I could be wrong and mixing the latter few up but...)
Collingwood - were the working class, predominantly pro-Irish team
Carlton - the freemasons of the AFL
Essendon - the elite/aristocrats and team the money men supported - looked down on the rest
Hawthorn - working class team, mostly mediterranean immigrants supported

I found his rundown on the older traditional Melbourne clubs very interesting indeed. Pity I cant remember feck all of what he told me.

Post by: redandblackjack on September 13, 2007, 03:58:43 PM
Quote from: Declan on September 13, 2007, 12:02:58 PM

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=ede_1189614495 (http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=ede_1189614495)

"I am never comming back to this damn shithole"

Clones?
Post by: hitzelsperger on September 13, 2007, 05:08:01 PM
being an eagles man i hope west coast win but i cant see it with cousins out and a half fit judd just wont do it on the other hand i want to see marty doing well and getting to a final though the cats are looking too strong and will probably win the flag with gary ablett walking the brownlow contest!
Post by: Uladh on September 13, 2007, 08:22:58 PM

What if the GAA were to set up their own AFL Franchise, stocked completely with irishmen, to compete in australia? they'd have the biggest roster to pick from and could reinvest the monies generated in player development back home.
Post by: bcarrier on September 13, 2007, 08:30:25 PM
or what if GPA did ?
Post by: Uladh on September 13, 2007, 08:48:27 PM
watch this space know it all
Post by: Uladh on September 13, 2007, 09:15:42 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 13, 2007, 08:50:39 PM
Quote from: Uladh on September 13, 2007, 08:48:27 PM
watch this space know it all

From the man who knew all the details of the new Armagh manager, except that he had the wrong person  :D

i think you will find i accurately predicted the armagh manager a week before the interviews, having been told same by a county board member. the same member who told me the reasons for joe's unexpected departure.

obviously bcarrier has heard the whispers that i have. and once again you have not...
Post by: stephenite on September 13, 2007, 11:19:14 PM
Looks like Chris Judd is out for the game as well - set up nicely for Collingwood but 'tis very hard to get a win over the Eagles in Perth at the best of times, they're the reigning premiers so rest of the team are no slouches either. I'll tip Collingwood to take them but only just
Post by: Tiger Craig on September 14, 2007, 02:55:55 AM
Quote from: Uladh on September 13, 2007, 08:22:58 PM

What if the GAA were to set up their own AFL Franchise, stocked completely with irishmen, to compete in australia? they'd have the biggest roster to pick from and could reinvest the monies generated in player development back home.

Great idea

Would only need $10 million for a licence fee, $12 million a year revenue and another of the existing clubs to fold to create a spot.

Although given North Melbourne are doing it tough and talking about relocating to Queensland, maybe you could buy them.

Plus, player pool would be subject to draft by anyone  ;)
Post by: Tiger Craig on September 14, 2007, 05:25:28 AM
Quote from: Declan on September 13, 2007, 12:02:58 PM

Typical of amateur sport. Wouldn't happen in professional sport. Pros have to work next day.
Post by: Black and white on September 14, 2007, 09:20:49 AM

Why would one sporting organisation invest money and effectively promote another sport? What you are proposing doesnt make sense. And your attitude of you guys just dont understand - is hard to listen to.
Post by: Declan on September 14, 2007, 09:35:09 AM
QuoteTypical of amateur sport. Wouldn't happen in professional sport. Pros have to work next day.

The amateurs have to work as well Tiger and an awful lot harder than the pros - they can't go for a massage/swim before gym work etc.

Had a good laugh at the commentary though
Post by: Uladh on September 14, 2007, 09:56:00 AM
Quote from: Black and white on September 14, 2007, 09:20:49 AM

Why would one sporting organisation invest money and effectively promote another sport? What you are proposing doesnt make sense. And your attitude of you guys just dont understand - is hard to listen to.

it's not my proposal.

you must hve one of those new fangled text orators for the interweb so.
Post by: downredblack on September 14, 2007, 12:20:33 PM
How is Marty doing ?
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 14, 2007, 02:18:09 PM
full time
72 points each
gone into extra time period
Post by: redandblackjack on September 14, 2007, 02:20:59 PM
Setanta sounds like a great idea now! Keep the updates comming lads...cheers
Post by: heganboy on September 14, 2007, 02:39:04 PM
just got the end of that game- impressive stuff from Clarke all right
Post by: redandblackjack on September 14, 2007, 02:40:41 PM
Cheers 5ive! Fair play to Clarke.
Post by: Declan on September 14, 2007, 02:43:51 PM
Quotejust got the end of that game- impressive stuff from Clarke all right

did he score??
Post by: Tiger Craig on September 14, 2007, 02:47:27 PM
Quote from: Declan on September 14, 2007, 09:35:09 AM
QuoteTypical of amateur sport. Wouldn't happen in professional sport. Pros have to work next day.

The amateurs have to work as well Tiger and an awful lot harder than the pros - they can't go for a massage/swim before gym work etc.

Had a good laugh at the commentary though

It was a joke Decco. The boys in that punch up were amateurs.

Just remembering in the IR you blokes saying that violence and "thuggishness" doesn't happen in amateur sports - well in does in the NT  ;)
Post by: Tiger Craig on September 14, 2007, 02:48:57 PM
Quote from: redandblackjack on September 14, 2007, 02:40:41 PM

Good luck to him. Hopefully I'll be at the Collingwood-Geelong game next week

But, he is a soft outside receiver at this stage
Post by: redandblackjack on September 14, 2007, 02:55:29 PM
Quote from: Tiger Craig on September 14, 2007, 02:48:57 PM
Quote from: redandblackjack on September 14, 2007, 02:40:41 PM

Good luck to him. Hopefully I'll be at the Collingwood-Geelong game next week

But, he is a soft outside receiver at this stage

And also a kid on the other side of the world playing a mans game in every respect! He has had a great year.
Post by: Aerlik on September 14, 2007, 03:08:46 PM
It was a great game from a neutral fan' s perspective.  Marty gave a great pass in the last 2 minutes of extra time for a goal.  He even got a compliment from Lee matthews one of the C7 commentators for keeping playmaker Michael Braun quiet all the game.  He seemed to have had a lot of game time too. 

Ah well that's the one and only time I'll be slightly happy the pies ever won a game.

H'man the Dockers.
Post by: An Laoch on September 14, 2007, 04:30:01 PM
Clarke had a good game alright and the commentators spoke highly of him throughout. Great vision for that goal towards the end.

Having watched Collingwood's last 2 games and Geelong's last 2 also, I think Collingwood go out of games for periods and this will be punished by a team as efficient as the Cats.

Post by: hitzelsperger on September 14, 2007, 05:33:22 PM
Sad to see my eagles beat today but fair play to clarkey for getting where he has got to, i bet the o'halpins are in awe of how hes taken to the game and become a star in such a short time...cant see magpies beating the cats but ya never know! il be bartracking for them anyhow
Post by: Aerlik on September 16, 2007, 12:52:40 PM
Chris Judd, the undisputed superstar of the competition has just announced that he will be leaving the WC Egos. :D  Big shock for the chardonnay set I'd imagine with the ponces on the South Perth foreshore choking on their caviar.  That's part two of the three-part Eagles "super" midfield on the way out leaving Daniel Kerr to shoulder the responsibility (providing he can keep out of jail). 
Cousins' injury is the first he has had for many, many months making you wonder if all that meth-anphet he was pumping into his body was the reason he stayed so fit and so injury free. >:(

Talk is Judd will be joining either Collingwood or Carlton with the latter favourites and already a price tag of $7.5 million over three years  on the card.  What a boost that would be for either Marty or Setanta to have the man along side them.  Mind you I'd love for him to go to Freo but that won't happen. Period.
Post by: corn02 on September 16, 2007, 03:22:17 PM
Watched the match, Clarke was very quiet but certainly made it up for it by playing werll in OT when it mattered.

Geelong should have a few to spare on friday but you never know.
Post by: hitzelsperger on September 16, 2007, 11:35:52 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 16, 2007, 12:52:40 PM
Chris Judd, the undisputed superstar of the competition has just announced that he will be leaving the WC Egos. :D  Big shock for the chardonnay set I'd imagine with the ponces on the South Perth foreshore choking on their caviar.  That's part two of the three-part Eagles "super" midfield on the way out leaving Daniel Kerr to shoulder the responsibility (providing he can keep out of jail). 
Cousins' injury is the first he has had for many, many months making you wonder if all that meth-anphet he was pumping into his body was the reason he stayed so fit and so injury free. >:(

Talk is Judd will be joining either Collingwood or Carlton with the latter favourites and already a price tag of $7.5 million over three years  on the card.  What a boost that would be for either Marty or Setanta to have the man along side them.  Mind you I'd love for him to go to Freo but that won't happen. Period.
[/quote

fcukin gutted that judd is leaving eagles, the most exciting player in the league, watchin him take off and run past men for fun is a sight to behold...personally wouldnt mind him going to carlton cos i have a bit of a soft spot for them on the other hand it would be great to see marty clarke playing alongside someone like judd...

is judd the best player in the league?? on top form he is unstoppable who comes close? riewoldt, thomas and franklin?
Post by: Aerlik on September 18, 2007, 01:44:02 AM
Judd is by far the best, provided he is fit.  Riewoldt comes into the category of a tall forward so doesn't work near as hard as Judd.  Mind you Judd is about 6'1" or 6'2".
Franklin is still young and is an out and out forward with pretty good feet but again nowhere near as the Judd-ernaut.  If Cousins was clean for all these past few years he'd be very close to Judd but as it is he will be forever known as the drug cheat and the Egos as the club that shielded him.
Post by: zoyler on September 19, 2007, 09:43:21 PM
For anybody with the timeoff or on the doss Prelim Final is on setanta  - Sky Chanel 430 starting 10.30 Friday Morning.  The game is a sell out which means approx 100,000 tickets have been sold for the game under lights at the MCG.

All we need now is a big upset and Marty is into THE FINAL IN HIS ROOKIE YEAR.
Post by: kinghen on September 20, 2007, 11:54:20 AM
just seen the highlights from the WCE match on tg4 last night! fair play to marty, im sure there would be alot more noise made about it if an amateur soccer player (same age)was scouted by a top premiership club and was starting to make an impact for the 1st side, in his 1st season!
Title: Clarke set for Final Coll
Post by: goldenyears on September 20, 2007, 12:40:45 PM
Clarke set for Final Coll 
Australian Rules Football 
By Ahmer Khokhar 

Relaxation in the form of attending a Snow Patrol concert in Melbourne yesterday and staying up to watch Derby County win their first Premiership match of the season against Newcastle United afterwards is the name of the game for Martin Clarke this week.

The former Down minor star, who won All-Ireland honours last year, is preparing himself for the biggest match of his life when his team, Collingwood, takes on AFL Premiership favourites Geelong at a sold-out Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in tomorrow morning's Preliminary Final.

The Collingwood Magpies are the biggest Aussie Rules club in the world, with a massive supporter base and resources, but a Premiership has eluded them since1990.

They were back-to-back runners up against the all-conquering Brisbane Lions in 2003 and 2004 but have flattered to deceive in recent years – until now.

The Geelong Cats have endured an even longer wait for a Premiership, with their last triumph over four decades ago in 1963. This season, however, the rejuvenated Cats were runaway leaders in the home-and-away season and defeated Collingwood 80-64 in their previous meeting at the MCG last month.

The Magpies will go into the contest as underdogs, but Clarke is doing his best to stay positive and keep his feet on the ground. The prize of a Grand Final appearance on September 29 awaits, but for Clarke, beating Geelong is the first priority.

"Its just about staying relaxed this week and concentrating on playing against Geelong on Friday," Clarke said.

"I went to the Snow Patrol concert at the Rod Laver Arena (scene of the Australian Open tennis in January) because they are a Northern Ireland band that I enjoy listening to and it was good to see Derby beat Newcastle last night.

"Hopefully, Derby can win a few games and stay up this season and I'm sure that win (against Newcastle) will give them some confidence.

"I don't even want to think about the Grand Final at the moment. It's all about beating Geelong on Friday. They are a very good side, but we have played well in the finals so far to beat Sydney (Tadhg Kennelly's team) and West Coast in Perth last week so we have given ourselves a chance which is the main thing.

"It's going to be a very tough game but its 50/50 and you can't expect any more than that at this stage. It's nice when people say I have done well but I know I have got to keep my feet on the ground and keep working hard.

"I can improve a lot and as a team, we will have to be at our best to win on Friday because it's sudden death."

Clarke will at least be spared the gut-wrenching tension of a football style penalty shoot-out if the scores are level after four quarters, but extra-time is a possibility, with the winner going through as Grand Final favourites against North Melbourne or Port Adelaide next week.

magpies PLAN MORE RAIDS

Collingwood recruiting manager Derek Hine has revealed that Martin Clarke's outstanding success this year – he broke former Laois defender Colm Begley's record for the fastest Irish debut in AFL history in June – has given the club the impetus to launch future raids into GAA talent, as well as tapping into the South African market.

"We've got programmes up and going in South Africa, and obviously we've been in Northern Ireland and the Republic for three years now. Marty's the first product out of Northern Ireland, and hopefully Kevin Dyas is the second," Hine said.

"So it's just about trying to get a competitive advantage; we work in a restricted environment in terms of drafting a player.

"Here's an opportunity to be able to select a player and pre-list him for the rookie list, so that gives us a lot of encouragement."

Clarke has been on hand to offer words of advice to Dyas but is also in the dark as to how the Armagh lad sees his future.

"I am always there to support Kevin, but it's up to him to work out if Aussie Rules is for him," Clarke said.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 20, 2007, 12:51:48 PM
I see theyre targeting players in "Northern Ireland" and the "Republic of Ireland". Anyone know when the Northern Ireland final is on so that I can let the aussies no. Isnt Clark a Northern Ireland supporter?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 20, 2007, 01:04:41 PM
Yeah he's a Northern Ireland supporter. Derby as well or am I just making that up?
Post by: kinghen on September 20, 2007, 01:09:39 PM
big n.ireland supporter, him and his brother john used to attend matches pretty regular
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 20, 2007, 01:10:09 PM
 Bit of a strange one, wonder has he ever been to Windsor and cheered on Killespie and the boys.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 20, 2007, 01:11:54 PM
There's my answer! Suppose depending on were your sitting you'd nearly feel obliged to sing along with the anthem before the game. The aussies are quite keen to emphasis that theyre recruiting in 2 countries.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 20, 2007, 01:52:07 PM
Where's the slanging match?? The threads about Marty and someone just asked about him supporting NI! Thats it!
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 20, 2007, 05:29:26 PM
Fair point 5times. I was just curious after reading the article with the aussies were they kept going on about searching for talent in the republic of ireland and northern ireland. Maybe they should take in a match between the 2 some time.
Post by: stephenite on September 21, 2007, 12:06:06 AM
Had to see Collingwood getting a win over Geelong, they've had a week off and have been absolutely awesome all season
Post by: downredblack on September 21, 2007, 09:05:53 AM
Does anyone know if you can you get the game live on the Net ?
Post by: zoyler on September 21, 2007, 09:10:25 AM
I think you have to be a paid subscriber to AFL/PIGPOND website to get it.  In Europe Setanta Sky Chanel 430 is your main hope.

By the way lets not get hung up on this N.I/RoI stuff.  Its most unlikely anyone in OZ has the slightest idea of what you are on about or for that matter cares!
Post by: Glensman on September 21, 2007, 09:39:54 AM
It really is bloody mad to see that Martin Clarke is playing in the same line as Nathan Buckley (all time legend) in his first year.
The level of madness isn't actually being appreciate.
I would pay good money to be able to see the game today but don't think the boss would appreciate it.
Post by: stiffler on September 21, 2007, 10:04:46 AM
When i was in Australia and people asked me where in Ireland I was from and i said the North, quite often the reply was along the lines of 'Oh, your a protestant then'  :-\
Post by: Jinxy on September 21, 2007, 11:21:13 AM
If you go to the gameday live section on www.afl.com.au (http://www.afl.com.au) you can listen to the game and get all the stats etc. 3AW is the best station for the game.
Post by: downredblack on September 21, 2007, 11:31:35 AM
Nice 1 Jinxy , got her
Post by: zoyler on September 21, 2007, 12:00:56 PM
Collingwood just hanging on but Clarke is outstanding in that quarter.  Its just amazing that he can be so good in so short a time - a natural athlete and footballer in any code!
Post by: Declan on September 21, 2007, 12:06:11 PM
Just got this from a mate at the game:

Marty Clarke an abslolute blinder 2nd qtr. Shitting bricks! 5 pts diff.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on September 21, 2007, 12:07:03 PM
Would he have made as big an impact with Down this year? Im sure there would have been calls not to rush him into senior county football. Hope we dont lose to many more players of this quality, would have done a lot for football in Down to have a player of this quality. Getting back to an earlier point, a match between the north and south would make for interesting viewing and Id imagine would capture a fair bit of interest.
Post by: downredblack on September 21, 2007, 12:47:10 PM
The lads on the radio are great , " mongrel finger breaker " " the crowd are going ape droppings"
They want to know if Marty has any Brothers . Exciting stuff .
Post by: full back on September 21, 2007, 12:51:57 PM
Once I click to listen to, it says connecting to media & when play becomes available once I press that it goes back to connecting to media.
Anyone any ideas ???
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 21, 2007, 01:06:21 PM
86-68 Geelong

Looks like they are taking over in the final quarter.
Post by: jimmykeaveney on September 21, 2007, 01:08:38 PM
12 in it, 10 mins left
Post by: jimmykeaveney on September 21, 2007, 01:11:35 PM
86-81
Post by: jimmykeaveney on September 21, 2007, 01:18:24 PM
Cats lead 92-81, 5 mins left
Post by: downredblack on September 21, 2007, 01:29:06 PM
Yeah fair play to him . Great 1st yr .

"the ref is hovering around like a bad smell"
Post by: downredblack on September 21, 2007, 01:32:16 PM
But who would we drop ? ;D
Post by: downredblack on September 21, 2007, 01:49:03 PM
Think that's Rex Hunt doing the post match interviews
Post by: zoyler on September 21, 2007, 02:18:04 PM
Better team won - no doubt about it but Collinqwood showed how to hold on for dear life!! Great rookie year for Marty and great future for him and the 'Pies.  Sure is going to increase Irish interest in Rules and the standard of the Finals games has been fantastic.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 21, 2007, 02:31:32 PM
Well done to Martin Clarke, some first season for the lad.  Has the makings of emulating Tadhg over the next few years.

Must have been some feeling playing in fron of 98,000 fans......................
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 21, 2007, 03:34:52 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 21, 2007, 02:32:25 PM
He played in front of 82,000 in Croke Park in 2005

They were all in for the minor? ;D
Post by: 6th sam on September 21, 2007, 04:51:47 PM
Will Marty make it back in time for the An Riocht v Burren match tomorrow night?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 21, 2007, 06:06:33 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 21, 2007, 05:45:36 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 21, 2007, 03:34:52 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 21, 2007, 02:32:25 PM
He played in front of 82,000 in Croke Park in 2005

They were all in for the minor? ;D

Croke Park is normally full by half time in the minor game.

It wasn't on Sunday. I doubt it is any year. There is always a huge rush down Jones's Road in the last 30 minutes before any senior All-Ireland.
Post by: zoyler on September 22, 2007, 12:34:59 AM
Lets get baaack to the footy - The Melborne papers have Marty as the Collingwood man of the match or as they call it best a field.

The Age say that never mind all the stuff about how quickly he laerned the game- while amazingf the simple fact is he is now a star of the game and the rank his performance ahead of Nathan Buckley who is an absolute legend!  Marty has arrived!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on September 22, 2007, 10:56:36 AM
Legend!
Post by: hitzelsperger on September 22, 2007, 11:42:57 AM
fair play to marty, he goes about his game like a seasoned pro, no f**king about, no getting involved in the physical stuff or any sh*t like that, just gets his hands on the ball and delivers it to the forwards. i notice he plays the game just like  he plays gaelic, suppose in time that'll change but at the minute hes a legend...he could have chris judd beside him in midfield nxt year which will be brilliant to watch!
Post by: magickingdom on September 29, 2007, 12:34:22 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on September 29, 2007, 12:02:27 PM
Geelong won a very one sided Grand Final 163 - 44.
Looks like Marty Clarke was one kick away from a Premiership medal in his first season.

that would have been some story if collingwood had won it... if not collingwood i'm glad geelong got it..
Post by: southdown on September 30, 2007, 06:35:00 PM
He does indeed.  In fact he is a big NI fan.  Went to the Canada game with him a few years ago.  I may be wrong, but i seem to recall OWC sending him a letter of support before one of the McRory cup finals he played in.  Oddly enough he also supports Derby County.
Post by: southdown on September 30, 2007, 06:46:54 PM
And i think his brother John supports either Notts Forestor Notts County!
Post by: mourne gael on October 01, 2007, 04:43:46 PM
Quote from: southdown on September 30, 2007, 06:46:54 PM
And i think his brother John supports either Notts Forestor Notts County!

forest
Post by: ykickamoocow on October 03, 2007, 03:08:32 AM
Dyas agrees to join Collingwood

Armagh's young star Kevin Dyas has signed a two-year rookie contract with Australian Rules side Collingwood.
The teenager from Dromintee will link up with former Down starlet Martin Clarke who has made such a brilliant start to his career Down Under.

Dyas switches codes after a successful four-week trial last month and took little time in deciding to accept a contract with the Melbourne-based club.

The 19-year-old Dromintee player was impressed by the Collingwood set-up.

"They are a very professional, a team that takes the game seriously, with a very professional game plan.

"I would be going out to give it my best shot, there would be no point wasting my time."

Clarke, who moved to Collingwood last year, has been a revelation since he was elevated into Magpies senior squad.

"He has been very impressive, and is playing really well," said Dyas.

"He was one of the best players when I was there."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7023963.stm
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 03, 2007, 10:10:29 AM
good digging me boyo - 5 days after the story breaks
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 27, 2007, 12:00:31 PM
Did he play senior with his club before he went to Australia 5ivetimes and what position did he play?
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 27, 2007, 01:42:34 PM
fair play to the lad. I was watching a recording of the  down v's mayo Ai minor match, he has fairly bulked up since then just shows what you can do in a year or two
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 27, 2007, 01:48:28 PM
Will many of that minor team make the grade or are you like ourselves in that they just seem to drift away and not make the senior grade
Post by: zoyler on October 27, 2007, 05:58:51 PM
Was that the league final or semifinal last night?
Post by: Cloc Mor on October 27, 2007, 06:09:03 PM
Final won by An Riocht - check the Down thread on this.
Post by: orangeman on October 27, 2007, 11:14:47 PM
I hear Clarke was outstanding last night !
Post by: orangeman on October 28, 2007, 11:00:33 AM
Can you post article please 5TIMES ? Thanks
Post by: full forward on October 29, 2007, 03:47:40 PM
BBC Northern Ireland are showing a documentary about Clarke on Wednesday night, showing behind the scenes in Australia, and playing with An Riocht. Sounds like it is worth a watch!Heres the link

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/season_ticket/7061799.stm
Post by: goldenyears on October 29, 2007, 05:51:22 PM
just a thought lads, and by no means am i sugesting that it should be the case.....but with the GAA being non pay for play should the likes of professionals like marty clarke or any irish league/league of ireland players be allowed to play club or county football on the basis they are professional athletes.....that would be extended to anyone making a wage through a sport.....
Post by: amallon on October 29, 2007, 08:29:41 PM
There is a rule like this in Scor.  If you are a prefessional musician you can't take part in the ballad group or insturmental music compeitions.

I wouldn't be in favour of bringing a rule like this into our games as I don't see it to be a major problem.
Post by: Leo on October 29, 2007, 10:40:44 PM
Quote from: amallon on October 29, 2007, 08:29:41 PM
There is a rule like this in Scor.  If you are a prefessional musician you can't take part in the ballad group or insturmental music compeitions.

I wouldn't be in favour of bringing a rule like this into our games as I don't see it to be a major problem.

Professioanl musicians not allowed to play GAA? Bit drastic. Poor old Dermot O'Brien (RIP) might have to forfeit his All-Ireland medal with Louth. Good job Jacko, Beggy & Barney only took to the boards recently although their total lack of music might excuse them. Anyway Clarke is the all-singing all-dancing hero at the moment. The moment wont last - treasure it.
Post by: Bensars on October 29, 2007, 11:07:23 PM
Quote from: goldenyears on October 29, 2007, 05:51:22 PM
just a thought lads, and by no means am i sugesting that it should be the case.....but with the GAA being non pay for play should the likes of professionals like marty clarke or any irish league/league of ireland players be allowed to play club or county football on the basis they are professional athletes.....that would be extended to anyone making a wage through a sport.....

It has has happened for years that some guys who where professional soccer players used to come home in the summer and play for their clubs.

Gerry mc Elhinney (derry)
Devine ( donemana now Clan Na Gael, Tyrone)
If memory serves me Neil Lennon came back and played for Armagh Minors in 88 ( i could be wrong on that one )

and im sure theres countless more
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 30, 2007, 10:26:21 AM
Is marty not away to Australia yet? Thought I seen him in the Holylands there last night, cheering on a friend who was running down Fitzroy, fly-kicking lamp posts!!
Post by: Balboa on October 31, 2007, 11:18:00 PM
Anyone see the programme tonight on the dastardly BBC? Surely there was some discreet anti-GAA slant........
Post by: darbyo on October 31, 2007, 11:25:19 PM
Is it being repeated or is it possible to see it on a weblink?
Post by: Jinxy on October 31, 2007, 11:26:50 PM
Very enjoyable programme. it was heartening to hear him talk at the end about how the club meant more to him than Collingwood. Seems like a top notch young fella. Well done season ticket!
Post by: clarshack on October 31, 2007, 11:28:00 PM
very good show indeed.
Post by: Mentalman on October 31, 2007, 11:38:19 PM
I just finished watching the season ticket programme on Martin Clarke on BBC1. While BBC are often rightly criticised on here for their coverage of all things GAA in the six counties, it's maybe no harm to praise them when they do something right as was mentioned above. Really nice programme about Martin tonight, his year down under, his family and his return to An Ríocht. Given some of the things we've seen over the last few weeks it's good to be reminded that not only are there good role models out there, but that decent folks like that are more the rule than the exception. The lad is a credit to himself, his family, his club and his community. Good on him.
Post by: darbyo on October 31, 2007, 11:39:00 PM
Ya just checked it out 5Times, I'll miss it tomorrow again so I hope it will be put up online as I was really looking forward to seeing it. Thanks anyway.
Post by: time ticking away on November 01, 2007, 12:37:01 AM
Great programme about a great footballer. Saw him play for St. Louis against St. Colmans in a Mc Rory semi final a couple of years ago and i thought he was the best college player i had ever seen. And he has certainly bulked up since then.
A huge loss to Down. Glad he wont be playing in Omagh in May :)
Post by: corn02 on November 01, 2007, 12:45:12 AM
BBC get a GAA show right for once. Excellent show in my opinion , maybe a bit short. Seeemed to finish when it was getting into the swing of things. Superb insight into the Professionalism of Collingwood and shows how far GAA Counties are behind.
Post by: ykickamoocow on November 01, 2007, 04:29:05 AM
I live in Australia so if anyone could provide me with a link so i could watch this documentary. Any assistance would be appreciated.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2007, 09:37:51 AM
Quote from: corn02 on November 01, 2007, 12:45:12 AM
BBC get a GAA show right for once. Excellent show in my opinion , maybe a bit short. Seeemed to finish when it was getting into the swing of things. Superb insight into the Professionalism of Collingwood and shows how far GAA Counties are behind.

Pro v amateur though...

Agree that the BBC did a great job. Clarke seems like a nice lad so fair play to him and hope he gets even better. Glad to see he still prefers Gaelic football with his home club!

However, the BBC seemed to miss out a bit in the programme - I mean, where was the comparison of clarke to david healey  ::) :D
Post by: goldenyears on November 01, 2007, 09:38:12 AM
really enjoyable programme about marty clarke last night; came across as a lovely down to earth lad, well supported by family and both clubs. the professionalism of collingwood looked amazing; his lack of willingness to do weights was natural but i am sure he can see the benefits now, and it seems he had gotten really into that element now.

lovely to see him back playing for an riocht...surely not allowed by collingwood?? and only natural he would say winning the title meant more than anything else.....fair play to all, and delighted he has made it.

one last thing, malthhouse reckoned he is the story of the year in AFL, and that is an unbelievable achievement
Post by: DMarsden on November 01, 2007, 10:26:19 AM

Great programme for once by bbc sport. obviously they invested a fair bit in it with kane going to oz etc and interviews with him at various stages of his time with collingwood.

best bbc ni sport production in years and no syeven watson anywhere in sight. coincidence? i think not!
Post by: Balboa on November 01, 2007, 10:30:58 AM
Quote from: DMarsden on November 01, 2007, 10:26:19 AM

Great programme for once by bbc sport. obviously they invested a fair bit in it with kane going to oz etc and interviews with him at various stages of his time with collingwood.

best bbc ni sport production in years and no syeven watson anywhere in sight. coincidence? i think not!

I wonder if Watson did it would he have had his knob hanging out a la Rory Mc Ilroy, David Healey etc interviews.......
Post by: Leo on November 01, 2007, 11:19:39 AM
One of the best Irish sports programmes ever - far ahead of any RTE cheapo productions.
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2007, 11:39:35 AM
Thanks TYP, was gutted I missed it last night.
Post by: Aerlik on November 01, 2007, 11:51:44 AM
I didn't see the show and the BBC may have "got it right" but it's a pity that doesn't stretch to the website.

"The teenager from Cranfield near Kilkeel was heralded as one of the most exciting young Gaelic Footballing prospects in the whole of the island" (my italics).   What's the chances that was NOT in Thomas Kane's original script?   :-[

Re. the comments by Malthouse. That's saying something about Marty as Malthouse is one of the most respected coaches in the AFL.  As a player he was a great Half-back/half-forward playing in the last Richmond team to win the (then) VFL premiership (I believe), then coached the "non-entities" called West Coast Eagles to two premierships in 1992 and 1994, only 5 and 7 years after the club's inception into the competition, and he has been with the Pies since 1996 I believe.  He has taken them to several Grand Finals too since then.  And his daughter is a bit of alright.  When the pies are doing sh*t, the camera pans in to show Mick wrecking another phone or headset.  Funny.

Post by: scalder on November 01, 2007, 12:05:51 PM
Lads I remember reading here before he said he supports Northern Ireland in soccer and that the writes Home and NI on his hand before a big game – is it common for young lads with a nationalist background to support NI or to see it as a distinct entity? Pretty depressing as a Republican from south east if they do, why do I worry about partition if people living with it don't?
Post by: scalder on November 01, 2007, 12:37:01 PM
Yeah funny! Its easy to say I'm alright Jack living down here you'll have to agree, while I've always taken an interest in seeing this country reunited so yes I'm a Republican if not an actively militant one. Family members have been more active though. So anyway back to my original question!
Post by: Rav67 on November 01, 2007, 12:39:02 PM
Quote from: scalder on November 01, 2007, 12:05:51 PM
Lads I remember reading here before he said he supports Northern Ireland in soccer and that the writes Home and NI on his hand before a big game – is it common for young lads with a nationalist background to support NI or to see it as a distinct entity? Pretty depressing as a Republican from south east if they do, why do I worry about partition if people living with it don’t?

Very few would support them - think there was only one fella in my year at school, all others either indifferent to international soccer or support the Republic.
Post by: Jinxy on November 01, 2007, 12:39:19 PM
Quote from: scalder on November 01, 2007, 12:37:01 PM
Yeah funny! Its easy to say I'm alright Jack living down here you'll have to agree, while I've always taken an interest in seeing this country reunited so yes I'm a Republican if not an actively militant one. Family members have been more active though. So anyway back to my original question!

Screw your original question lets hear more about these family members! :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2007, 12:48:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 01, 2007, 12:39:19 PM
Quote from: scalder on November 01, 2007, 12:37:01 PM

Screw your original question lets hear more about these family members! :D
go look around Kells, athboy or summerhill
Post by: orangeman on November 01, 2007, 12:55:15 PM
This is lively to say the least !
Post by: scalder on November 01, 2007, 01:02:45 PM
Afraid I don't follow your references Lynchboy
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 01, 2007, 01:07:07 PM
Quote from: scalder on November 01, 2007, 01:02:45 PM
Afraid I don't follow your references Lynchboy
sorry scalder
those refernces were meath ones for jinxy

I have sent you a pm though
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 01, 2007, 01:13:18 PM
i remember an item a few years ago about ger houlahan (armagh) supporting glasgow rangers ! maybe it was a pure wind up
a nationalist supporting norn ireland is bad enough but at least he lives there. how the hell would you support rangers
Post by: Leo on November 01, 2007, 03:07:53 PM
Lads I remember reading here before he said he supports Northern Ireland in soccer and that the writes Home and NI on his hand before a big game – is it common for young lads with a nationalist background to support NI or to see it as a distinct entity? Pretty depressing as a Republican from south east if they do, why do I worry about partition if people living with it don't?

A damn sight more depressing reading this stone-age crap. NI is still a part of Ireland - the part you brave mexicans abandoned for your own corrupt wee banana republic - brave mouthpieces sounding off on something on which you have but comic-book knowledge, if that. And your traget this time? A schoolboy who recognises the FACT that he comes from NI. and that is is home. Saw his parents and home on the programme and it looks like a very stable and supportive environment to me. Whether he supports NI football team or not, he surley would be doing so for reasons of sport and not the sad and depressing "political" agends you are fixated with. Get yourself out of the yard and get some clean air into your tight bigoted lungs.
Post by: tyroneboi on November 01, 2007, 06:31:16 PM
Seen the programme last night. One thiing about Martin Clarke - forget bout his football and Aussie Rules talents, he come across as a genuine and nice fella. Doesnt seem to forget where he comes from. Big miss for Down.

Just another thing coming from the show. Wonder what Sean Cavanagh made of it all. I know he has won an all-ireland since he turned down his offer but the chance to be a professional sportsman and seeing how well martin clarke is doing must have put a few regrets in his mind!
Post by: tyrone exile on November 01, 2007, 07:58:48 PM
Quote from: Leo on November 01, 2007, 03:07:53 PM

A damn sight more depressing reading this stone-age crap. NI is still a part of Ireland - the part you brave mexicans abandoned for your own corrupt wee banana republic - brave mouthpieces sounding off on something on which you have but comic-book knowledge, if that. And your traget this time? A schoolboy who recognises the FACT that he comes from NI. and that is is home. Saw his parents and home on the programme and it looks like a very stable and supportive environment to me. Whether he supports NI football team or not, he surley would be doing so for reasons of sport and not the sad and depressing "political" agends you are fixated with. Get yourself out of the yard and get some clean air into your tight bigoted lungs.

couldnt agree more with leo. so what if he writes NI on his hand, he lives there he never said he supported northern ireland football team, if you live in england, but you wished you lived in america, why would you write america on your hand to help you through difficult times?
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 01, 2007, 08:28:55 PM
Marty Clarke does indeed come across as a great lad,
hes really a credit to An Riocht and Down.
The Facilities in Collingwood look out of this world aswell.
Post by: orangeman on November 01, 2007, 10:27:07 PM
Clarke is unreal - very mature for being only 19 years of age. Credit to him and his family.
Post by: magickingdom on November 01, 2007, 11:08:32 PM

bit fockin touchy are we? that is one thick rant, makes me wonder whose the bigot... ;D
Post by: magickingdom on November 01, 2007, 11:18:20 PM
Quote from: tyrone exile on November 01, 2007, 07:58:48 PM

couldnt agree more with leo. so what if he writes NI on his hand, he lives there he never said he supported northern ireland football team, if you live in england, but you wished you lived in america, why would you write america on your hand to help you through difficult times?

wtf? i'm lost, beam me up...
Post by: Leo on November 02, 2007, 11:26:05 AM
Quote from: magickingdom on November 01, 2007, 11:08:32 PM
bit fockin touchy are we? that is one thick rant, makes me wonder whose the bigot... ;D

The inability to distinguish between bigotry, and a "rant" against bigotry, says it all about your level of contribution. Beam you up? Yes indeed, a right beamer.
Post by: scalder on November 02, 2007, 05:39:52 PM
Bigoted, your the one throwing around insults, calling people in the 26 counties "Mexicans" smacks of bigotry to me as is characterising the state as a "banana Republic." What's bravery got to do with it? If you're happy living in a British state that's grand, can't see how hoping that we'll see peaceful reunification of the country is "stone age"  - for this to happen we need a majority to vote for unity and I wondered if you'd many people of a broadly nationalist background were contend with the status quo.
Post by: stew on November 02, 2007, 08:29:19 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 01, 2007, 01:13:18 PM
i remember an item a few years ago about ger houlahan (armagh) supporting glasgow rangers ! maybe it was a pure wind up
a nationalist supporting norn ireland is bad enough but at least he lives there. how the hell would you support rangers

:D :D :D :D :D

Eh, I can assure you that is a wind up. Houlie would be partial to Liverpool and  Celtic,  in that order ;).
Post by: rory on November 03, 2007, 11:23:08 AM
Tried to watch the show on the BBC website, but the sound was way out of sync with the picture.  Anyone else get that?
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on November 03, 2007, 11:29:44 AM
He's a fine young man and a great footballer. A credit to his family and An Riocht. I hope he returns to Down colours at some point.
Post by: FL/MAYO on November 04, 2007, 01:29:05 AM
Quote from: rory on November 03, 2007, 11:23:08 AM
Tried to watch the show on the BBC website, but the sound was way out of sync with the picture.  Anyone else get that?

I had the same problem

Seems like a very likable fellow with a great head on his shoulders. Very mature for his age, hope he does very well out there.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2008, 10:23:14 AM
Rules star Clarke ponders return 

Martin Clarke plays for Australian Rules team Collingwood
Former Down Minor star Martin Clarke has revealed that he is considering quitting Australian Rules football and returning home to play GAA.
The 20-year-old from Kilkeel has a contract with Rules team Collingwood that lasts until November 2009 which he intends to honour.

"I will work hard for Collingwood because that is what I am committed to do," Clarke told the Irish News.

"But there is a massive pull for me to return home at some stage."

Clarke has made quite an impact in Australia since joining Collingwood in 2006.

He made the quickest debut of any Irish player in the AFL by playing against Sydney Swans in the June the following year.

But, despite his success in the professional ranks, the An Riocht clubman has signalled his desire to return to GAA and if that comes about it would be a huge boost to his county side Down.

Good news for the GAA, Down and An Riocht !  :D ;D
Post by: feetofflames on March 10, 2008, 10:34:46 AM
This could signal a significant setback in the recruitment drive by the Australian thugs.  Even their own players might now start to rescind and denounce their professional careers as the work of the divil himself and come back and play GAA in Good Old Ireland.  The tables are well and truly turning.   
Post by: thejuice on March 10, 2008, 10:46:50 AM
Quote from: feetofflames on March 10, 2008, 10:34:46 AM
The tables are well and truly turning.   

ye think.....?

It'd be great to have Martin back in the GAA but its only talk and I'm sure his team would be quick to try and convince him to stay.
Post by: amallon on March 10, 2008, 10:49:09 AM
Where did you get that story orangeman?  I hope its true it would be a great boost for Down.  It could be a ploy by Clarke to improve his hand in his contract negotiations.  Collingwood would probably be prepared to up their offer if they know he is prepared to walk away.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2008, 11:15:53 AM
The story is straight off the BBC sports site.
Post by: High Catch on March 10, 2008, 11:17:43 AM
He is probably being very smart and puting vibes out to Collingwood about getting a new improved contract.
Post by: stephenite on March 10, 2008, 11:19:31 AM
Kennelly always says the same sort of things, it's called contract negotiations lads, and I'd say Marty is just putting down a marker for Collingwood come the end of what he hopes is a very successful season for him. His stock should rise significantly come the end of this season
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2008, 11:28:10 AM
He is probably being very smart and puting vibes out to Collingwood about getting a new improved contract.

Alternatively it could be a call to Down GAA - Come and get me !!
Post by: High Catch on March 10, 2008, 11:37:14 AM
No chance of him coming back anytime soon.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2008, 11:44:52 AM
Well he is contracted until Nov 2009 - He could come back then ????
Post by: INDIANA on March 10, 2008, 11:51:39 AM
absolutely dreaming lads- he's ain't going to turn down 500k a year for the delights of 9-5 work and living like an amateur monk for most of the year in your spare time. Like Kennelly it's for a new and improved contract. He'd have to be insane to come back- i was told Collingwood would break the bank to keep him- he is rated that highly.
Post by: amallon on March 10, 2008, 11:53:43 AM
No harm in dreaming!
Post by: High Catch on March 10, 2008, 11:53:57 AM
It that 500k STG per year?
Post by: western exile on March 10, 2008, 11:57:11 AM

stephenite has hit the nail on the head!   For a couple of seasons Tadgh Kennelly went on about wanting to win an  All-Ireland for Kerry , just like his daddy and brother did. And he even said he was going back after his 2nd contract would expire. This only made Paul Roos and the Sydney Swans give him a super long term contract on his terms, which included him going back to Ireland for 2 months including Christmas and missing some preseason training.  A first in AFL contracts!  He will most likely never play for Kerry again.   And although, I would love to see Marty back  in the Red and Black, I am fairly sure he will end up taking  the same path as Kennelly.  Especially since he is such a good footballer and Collingwood will do everything in their power to keep him.
Post by: wherefromreferee? on March 10, 2008, 11:57:35 AM
The Irish News eh?  This hardly makes for a concrete story.  I guess Ahmer Khokhar (the Journalist in Melborne) is to blame.  Its all 'ifs' and 'maybes'

At a guess, it'll be 3/4yrs before we see Marty back playing GAA.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2008, 11:58:56 AM
What age is Kennelly now ?
Post by: western exile on March 10, 2008, 12:17:34 PM
27 years old.

http://sydneyswans.com.au/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/8472/playerId/14530/teamId/33/typeId/2/Default.aspx (http://sydneyswans.com.au/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/8472/playerId/14530/teamId/33/typeId/2/Default.aspx)

http://sydneyswans.com.au/tabid/7106/Default.aspx?newsid=55948 (http://sydneyswans.com.au/tabid/7106/Default.aspx?newsid=55948)
Post by: thejuice on March 10, 2008, 12:26:07 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 10, 2008, 11:51:39 AM
500k a year

is that what he's earning?? didnt think new recruits were on that kind of money in AFL. thought it was closer to AUS$20,000 per anum
Post by: ziggysego on March 10, 2008, 12:36:54 PM
Quote from: thejuice on March 10, 2008, 12:26:07 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 10, 2008, 11:51:39 AM
500k a year

is that what he's earning?? didnt think new recruits were on that kind of money in AFL. thought it was closer to AUS$20,000 per anum

Normally aren't, but he's something of a sensation in the AFL.
Post by: High Catch on March 10, 2008, 12:37:39 PM
No way is he earning 500k STG  a year.
Post by: Jinxy on March 10, 2008, 12:48:38 PM
Only the top players would be on $500,000 (aussie dollars). Divide that by at least 10 and you'd be closer to what Clarke is on.
Post by: INDIANA on March 10, 2008, 12:52:44 PM
i'm talking potential - he's probably on 50-60k at the minute by the next contract it wsill be 200-250k provided he doesn't get injured- you'd be surprised our big this guy is over there. Then again Kennelly is a bloody superstar over there- can't go for a coffee without getting pictures taken of him.
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2008, 12:55:14 PM
How much is Kennelly on over there at the minute ?
Post by: INDIANA on March 10, 2008, 01:06:55 PM
i've heard between endorsements and everything- he's not far off 750k to 1m per annum.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 10, 2008, 01:11:18 PM
Rates at the minute for Aussie Dollar :

1 AUD = 0.60 EUR, 0.46 Sterling, 0.92 USD

www.oanda.com
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2008, 01:12:20 PM
€ 600 k per annum - he must have been a real superstar !!!!!!!!
Post by: rrhf on March 10, 2008, 01:52:47 PM
I have heard that Clarke may well return, where that the case, would he go back to Down or come to live in beautiful Tyrone. 
Post by: full forward on March 10, 2008, 03:11:39 PM
BBC Programme on Clarke is being shown again this Thursday
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on March 10, 2008, 06:08:15 PM
The fact he went close to criticsing the increased aussie recruitment in Ireland suggests to me that he may well be genuine in talking about coming home. If it was all about improving his contract I dont think he'd have mentioned it. Having said that, provided he continues to improve I cant see him turning down a huge payrise to return home in 2 years even though he probably means what he's saying. Id be confident somebody in Down could get him sorted out with a job if he decided to return home!
Post by: orangeman on March 10, 2008, 08:22:38 PM
The fact he went close to criticsing the increased aussie recruitment in Ireland suggests to me that he may well be genuine in talking about coming home

I'd agree with that and maybe the grass isn't as green on the other side.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 10, 2008, 10:38:31 PM
He never mentioned timeframes though.

Sure Tadhg Kennelly has also talked about coming home - I think he wants to do that at the latter stages of his career though when he would still be fit to play for Kerry.
Post by: western exile on March 11, 2008, 10:12:39 AM
Martin Clarke player profile on his football club website

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Home/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/8170/Default.aspx?playerid=15524&typeid=2 (http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Home/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/8170/Default.aspx?playerid=15524&typeid=2)

Post by: Uladh on March 11, 2008, 11:49:47 AM

Quit grasping at straws lads... the only mention of a time frame are with the words "some day"
Post by: Rav67 on March 11, 2008, 12:27:00 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 10, 2008, 10:38:31 PM

Sure Tadhg Kennelly has also talked about coming home - I think he wants to do that at the latter stages of his career though when he would still be fit to play for Kerry.

Kennelly must be about 28/29 though.  I've heard him talk about coming back to play for Kerry but far too late for him now.
Post by: stiffler on March 11, 2008, 06:37:05 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on March 11, 2008, 12:27:00 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 10, 2008, 10:38:31 PM

Kennelly must be about 28/29 though.  I've heard him talk about coming back to play for Kerry but far too late for him now.

Kennelly is 27 now and his contract is due to run out at the end of next season, when he will have just turned 29.
Post by: tyssam5 on March 13, 2008, 05:55:35 PM
Quote from: western exile on March 11, 2008, 10:12:39 AM
Martin Clarke player profile on his football club website

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Home/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/8170/Default.aspx?playerid=15524&typeid=2 (http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Home/Players/PlayerProfile/tabid/8170/Default.aspx?playerid=15524&typeid=2)

Was he strong as a minor, I remember the lad Colgan as being well built for a minor? Looks like he'd be well able to handle himself in AFL now. The full time weights coaching must make some difference compared to what counties are doing. (which people think is a lot)

Post by: rosnarun on March 14, 2008, 10:47:33 AM
Major headline .
young irish man express desire to return to ireland one day  :o
I have an uncle working on the buildingd in london whos be saying that for 40 year even crys about it when hes drunk
Post by: orangeman on March 23, 2008, 05:34:32 PM
Tadhg Kennelly has sensationally revealed that he plans to return home to Ireland next year to try to win an All-Ireland medal with Kerry.

The 26-year-old from Listowel has established himself as one of the top players in Aussie Rules over the past seven seasons but his current deal with the Sydney Swans, with whom he won an AFL title in 2005, expires at the end of next year.

And Kennelly is not interested in extending his stay in Australia as he has his heart sent on lifting Sam Maguire.

"I'm definitely going home next year to try to win an All-Ireland medal," he told the Irish Mail on Sunday.

"I will always miss Aussie Rules and I won't cut my ties to Australia, but I want to win an All-Ireland with Kerry."

Taken off  the official GAA website just now !!!!!!
Post by: Jinxy on March 23, 2008, 06:20:58 PM
Sure Kennelly says that every couple of years. See that Clarke had a very poor game for Collingwood yesterday. Second season syndrome maybe?
Post by: orangeman on March 23, 2008, 06:31:11 PM
Sure Kennelly says that every couple of years. See that Clarke had a very poor game for Collingwood yesterday. Second season syndrome maybe?

Kennelly was on the TV the other night and seemed very happy - he was on with young Begley - they share a house - this seems like a bolt from the blue - can it be put down to attempting to get an improved contract this time ?
Post by: Zulu on March 23, 2008, 06:57:42 PM
QuoteKennelly was on the TV the other night and seemed very happy - he was on with young Begley - they share a house

It was young Murphy from Carlow I think OM, I hope he does come back next year as I'd love to see how he goes against our lads. But I'd say he is just using it as leverage in his contract negotiations.
Post by: orangeman on March 23, 2008, 07:13:35 PM
Yes it was Murphy - he looked completely happy in front of the RTE cameras and there certainly was no talk of home.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 23, 2008, 07:26:30 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 23, 2008, 05:34:32 PM
Tadhg Kennelly has sensationally revealed that he plans to return home to Ireland next year to try to win an All-Ireland medal with Kerry.

Oh right, so this guy thinks that he can just walk back into the Kerry panel whenever he feels like it???  Confidence or arrogance??  He would be doing well to get on the current Kerry starting 15 if they are available.
Post by: orangeman on March 23, 2008, 07:29:06 PM
I think he'd make it all the same but I know where you're coming from alright.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on March 23, 2008, 07:33:41 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 23, 2008, 07:29:06 PM
I think he'd make it all the same but I know where you're coming from alright.

Agree with you orangeman that he probably would make it, professional athlete and all that, i seen the article also and thought he could have been a littel more discrete about the thing.  He could have said something like, i would like to come back to ireland and work my way back into the kerry panel etc etc...
Post by: orangeman on March 23, 2008, 07:55:53 PM
Confidence or arrogance - confidence I'd say !
Post by: Main Street on March 23, 2008, 08:01:35 PM
Well, Tadhg says he wants to try and win an all ireland with Kerry. Id assume that part of the the trying is to get into the team.
I have read some years ago that it was his ambition to do so.
I think we should be honored that even after 8 or 9 successful years in the AFL he still doesn't feel complete and an AI medal would be the crown.
Post by: Jinxy on March 23, 2008, 08:11:57 PM
I watched Begley playing for Stradbally when he came back for the break and he did not particularly stand out (after 2 years as a professional). It would be foolish to assume someone would come back from Oz and walk onto their county team, especially in Kerry, although that said I think Tadhg would get more than a fair crack of the whip. He's had a bad run with injuries though.

p.s. Begley had a fantastic game for Brisbane the other day by all accounts. Great to see him doing so well.
Post by: ONeill on March 23, 2008, 08:38:14 PM
Yes, Clarke coming in for some serious flak for his pre-season and first game performances. All types of rumours from homesick, flu, cracked ribs etc. I read where some journo reckoned his gym work has affected his pace. Early days yet I suppose.
Post by: orangeman on March 23, 2008, 08:47:52 PM
That story last week about Clarke coming home could have some substance after all ?.
Title: Clarke in Oz
Post by: 5 Sams on May 27, 2008, 05:30:21 PM
http://www.downgaa.net/downgaa/general/news/2008/may/may26th4.htm

Must have been some performance over the weekend!!

Post by: western exile on May 27, 2008, 11:06:48 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 23, 2008, 08:47:52 PM
That story last week about Clarke coming home could have some substance after all ?.
Nonsense!  The "cup" they were talking about, that he helped win, was the Down Div 1 League Title last  October, long before he went back to work at Collingwood FC in the New Year. Now, as expected, he is doing better than ever at AFL football.  And since their season does not end until September, he will not be back any time soon.  If ever.
Post by: JimStynes on May 27, 2008, 11:40:03 PM
I dont know if he will play much ball when hes home this time. I think collingwood where blaming his poor form at the start of the season due to the lack of 'rest' during the off season. When the other pies players where tanning themselves and relaxing on holidays marty was winning the league for his club. They will probably ask him to take a complete break from football untill he goes back to their pre season.
Post by: zoyler on May 28, 2008, 01:49:55 PM
The players while they are supposed to rest in the off season are also required to keep themselves in some sort of shape and the notion that a few club games would have left him unable to cope with preseason is nonsense.  His form fell away for a while - that was all - it happens to a lot of 2nd year players.  Now its back thank God, and we can look forward to watching him over the coming months.
Post by: corn02 on May 28, 2008, 02:21:19 PM
Clarke was excellent against Geelong, first time this year he has been in a match.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 28, 2008, 06:02:58 PM
Anyoene get the irish indo today?? Gaa magazine with it which turns out to be a GPA magazine! Didnt f**king say on the cover of the paper!!

Still, has a good interview with Collingwood player Shane Wakelin flanked byClarke and Dyas, says how the two are really settled at the club, touts Clarke as future Pies captain an all
Post by: JimStynes on May 28, 2008, 06:10:58 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 28, 2008, 06:02:58 PM
Anyoene get the irish indo today?? Gaa magazine with it which turns out to be a GPA magazine! Didnt f**king say on the cover of the paper!!

Still, has a good interview with Collingwood player Shane Wakelin flanked byClarke and Dyas, says how the two are really settled at the club, tous Clarke as future Pies captain an all

Keep that mag for me our nail. by the way whats tous  ;)
Post by: JimStynes on May 28, 2008, 06:18:23 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pBSn7_B__qQ
Marty takes the mic

Round ten of The Black and White Show on CTV has an Irish touch. Your host Martin Clarke chats to a variety of players including his fellow Irishman Kevin Dyas.

Marty decided to adopt a theme for this week's episode, asking each of the boys about their lives outside of football

Pendlebury speaks about his new place and some interior designing, Dyas admits he like to visit the 'Big Cas' (Casino), Maxwell gives a shout out to his two pet dogs and Wood gets serious with talk of bills and washing! We also meet CTV debutant, Lachlan Keeffe.

Don't miss this week's episode of your favourite CTV program - The Black and White Show.

The Black and White Show will be hosted by a different Magpie each week throughout the 2008 season, and provides a fascinating and often hilarious insight into the lives of the players at the Lexus Centre.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 28, 2008, 06:30:00 PM
Tous? French for your James

Watch your lip or I won't give you that mag

You can drop off my DVDs when you're gettting it as well james
Post by: doire na raithe on May 28, 2008, 06:35:36 PM
Trouble!
Post by: JimStynes on May 28, 2008, 06:53:16 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on May 28, 2008, 06:30:00 PM
Tous? French for your James

Watch your lip or I won't give you that mag

You can drop off my DVDs when you're gettting it as well james

Take a chill Pill our nail!
Post by: corn02 on May 29, 2008, 09:06:40 AM
Bought the paper for the magazine Loney, biggest pile of dung ever.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on May 29, 2008, 10:25:37 AM
aye i know, typical gpa, the f**king magazine was filled to the brim with adverts!!

only thing worth reading really was the wakelin interview
Post by: Declan on June 16, 2008, 09:22:37 AM
Went to the Collingwood v Carlton match yesterday and Clarke was OK. Nothing special as the Pies were well beaten by Carlton. O'Hailpin did well and his distribution I thought was excellent though he did get caught out under a couple of high balls. Fevola was excellent but this guy Chris Judd is some footballer - class act.
Post by: Aerlik on June 17, 2008, 04:53:05 AM
Declan did you see the fella with the Sacred Heart picture edited to show Judd's face and the logo "CJ is JC" under it?  Very clever I thought.
Post by: Declan on June 17, 2008, 07:56:35 AM
QuoteDeclan did you see the fella with the Sacred Heart picture edited to show Judd's face and the logo "CJ is JC" under it?

Didn't spot that one but he's pretty close to divine alright!!!
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 04, 2009, 11:39:51 AM
Michael Quinn playing at present for Essendon against Adelaide and having a good game.

1/4 finals of the AFL

Sorry not Marty Clarke
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 05, 2009, 12:30:58 AM
Hearing rumours that Marty has become dissullusioned with the Aussie game and is likely to return to football soon, but to Kerry, not Down. 
Apparently he has met a Kerry girl in OzLand and is to take up residence near Tralee.  Big loss to Down when we need him most.
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on September 05, 2009, 01:52:19 AM
Quote from: In the Onion Bag on September 05, 2009, 12:30:58 AM
Hearing rumours that Marty has become dissullusioned with the Aussie game and is likely to return to football soon, but to Kerry, not Down. 
Apparently he has met a Kerry girl in OzLand and is to take up residence near Tralee. Big loss to Down when we need him most.

Get somebody down there to talk to him............pronto!!
Post by: mountainboii on September 05, 2009, 02:40:46 AM
Quote from: 020304 Tir Eoghain on September 05, 2009, 01:52:19 AM
Apparently he has met a Kerry girl in OzLand and is to take up residence near Tralee. Big loss to Down when we need him most.

Jesus wept   :D
Post by: 020304 Tir Eoghain on September 05, 2009, 02:52:17 AM
Quote from: AFS on September 05, 2009, 02:40:46 AM
Quote from: 020304 Tir Eoghain on September 05, 2009, 01:52:19 AM

Jesus wept   :D

meaning?
Post by: bcarrier on September 05, 2009, 08:12:54 PM
Apparently he has met a Kerry girl in OzLand and is to take up residence near Tralee.  Big loss to Down when we need him most.

Even if true so what. Kerry dont pick blow ins. Ask Vinnie.

and just in case

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/home-of-the-rose-is-now-plagued-with-thorns-1861401.html