GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on June 10, 2007, 03:37:27 PM

Title: Tipp-Limerick
Post by: thejuice on June 10, 2007, 03:37:27 PM
Class game, feel for Limerick. I wish they'd won it, deserved it. Could have won only for a selfish decision by the Limerick forward (Ryan i think) at the end who was pulled for over carrying.

Great game of hurling, action packed, a Trojan perfomnace by nearly all men 1-15 on both teams, even if the skill level wasnt always of the  highest quality.
Title: Re: Tipp-Limerick
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 10, 2007, 03:40:25 PM
Quote from: thejuice on June 10, 2007, 03:37:27 PM
Class game, feel for Limerick. I wish they'd won it, deserved it. Could have won only for a selfish decision by the Limerick forward (Ryan i think) at the end who was pulled for over carrying.

Great game of hurling, action packed, a Trojan perfomnace by nearly all men 1-15 on both teams, even if the skill level wasnt always of the  highest quality.

Or even the 14 men of Limerick  ;)

Great result for the Shannonsiders though, and with 15 men they'll be hard beaten.
Post by: prewtna on June 10, 2007, 03:44:14 PM
was listenin to id on the 'wireless'. sounded like a savage game. michael o M had some gems!

"isnt it great how two sisters can produce hurlers of that quality". talkin abut eoin kelly and the limerick lads who are cousins. (forgive me i dont now their names)
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 10, 2007, 03:56:46 PM
What was the final score?
Post by: Tatler Jack on June 10, 2007, 03:59:27 PM
Final Score 1-19 apiece. Kellys of Tipp first cousins of Limerick's Morans
Post by: thejuice on June 10, 2007, 04:16:12 PM
Limerick hade to work like horses to get their scores. The Gaelic Grounds was fairly full, not sure what the attendence was but a sizable crowd. Hope they keep the fight will still be in them for the replay. Hope Offaly can bring the same to the Cats.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 10, 2007, 04:49:58 PM
Decent match,big crowd despite concerns that there wouldnt be. Good to see good crowds at all matches today. Is the replay definately next Saturday? Will add to what already is a potential cracking weekend of GAA action. Hopefully it'll be on live.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 10, 2007, 06:49:41 PM
Quote from: prewtna on June 10, 2007, 03:44:14 PM
was listenin to id on the 'wireless'. sounded like a savage game. michael o M had some gems!

"isnt it great how two sisters can produce hurlers of that quality". talkin abut eoin kelly and the limerick lads who are cousins. (forgive me i dont now their names)

Tipperary brothers Eoin and Paul Kelly are first cousins of Limerick brothers Ollie and Nial Moran. All four are phenonimal Hurlers. Great entertainment as always with Munster Hurling. Ollie was my man of the match scoring 6 points of Benny Dunne who likes to Hurl too lose. 
Post by: AZOffaly on June 11, 2007, 12:29:59 PM
Only saw this on the Sunday Game last night, as I was in Portaloise, but it seemed as if Babs made a horlicks of it. If Limerick were leaving a man open who 'brings nothing to that role' why not take him off and bring on a more skillful lad.

Also seemed to leave Eoin Kelly inside for the whole game, even when he was getting it hard enough in there off hickey.

Left Benny Dunne on Ollie Moran for way too long, and picking Benny Dunne there in the first place when Conor O'Mahoney was #6 for almost the entire year.

Brought on Lar Corbett too late.

That's a lot of contentious decisions or non-decisions in one game for an auld dog like Babs. Maybe the rumours of disquiet in Tipp are true.
Post by: the ship on June 11, 2007, 01:13:50 PM
tipp lost the game on the sideline babs has not got a clue why he was ever brought back mystifies me, he is still living in the sixties 
Post by: the colonel on June 11, 2007, 02:35:37 PM
if paul kelly can make it next week and lar corbett starts tipp will win next week. another week will do eoin kelly the world of good, however he never hit a ball before your man was sent off. 2 yellows means he can play next week and that should be good craic.

tipp need to stop the morans, and maybe sean o connor mite be fit for the replay to give limerick another dimension
Post by: Sky Blue on June 11, 2007, 02:50:13 PM
I take it the replay is in Thurles on Saturday. Will it be on TV? I watched most of it and it was a very good match.
Post by: the colonel on June 11, 2007, 02:54:50 PM
its on at 7pm on sat in thurles
Post by: Leith_Limerick_Lad on June 13, 2007, 09:55:36 PM
Watched the game in the house with the rest of the Edinburgh Limerick Supporters Club. I was going mental at the end when the lad got pulled up for taking too many steps. I think this might be the year our young team transfer the good form of the under 21's into the full squad. Can't wait for the replay, just gutted I can't watch it live in Edinburgh :'(
Post by: Lecale2 on June 15, 2007, 07:46:17 AM
The game is on live on RTE 2 on Saturday evening. I think Limerick will do it this time. 6/4 on Paddy Power is a great price. Tipp missed their chance and should have had the 14 men dead and buried last weekend.
Post by: Bacon on June 15, 2007, 08:49:02 AM
Tobin's in for the injured O'Connor with O'Shaughnessy moving in to full forward. Other wise no change for Limerick. I'm convinced they can win this one, maybe after extra time. Their confidence will be up afer last weeks display. How come Reale is able to play? Should he not be missing a match?
Post by: Billys Boots on June 15, 2007, 08:59:52 AM
Where are all the hurling lads gone - is bottlethrower gone now as well?
Post by: Sky Blue on June 15, 2007, 09:45:01 AM
Bottlecarrier, Home of Hurling, Columbia all driven off by the Armagh/Tyrone dominance of the board. It's an awful shame they were excellent posters with a great insight to the game of hurling. Many of their posts were better that previews or reports you'd get in the papers.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 15, 2007, 09:48:25 AM
Their posts were a welcome part of the summer alright, and are sadly missed by this poster.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2007, 09:53:10 AM
I agree. Them lads are a big miss on this board now. I like to chat hurling, but some of their insights were brilliant.
Post by: Hardy on June 15, 2007, 10:00:51 AM
Same here. I read their contributions more than I read about hurling in the papers. But maybe they're not gone for good. They're hardly that thin-skinned to be put off by the noisy juveniles around here. Many have got fed up and fecked off before, only to be drawn back by the smell of cut grass, the clash of timber, etc. Here's hoping.
Post by: lemon125 on June 15, 2007, 01:45:53 PM
I'm here. We had a good chat going last year, even included a long Tipp club championship.

I think the main problem is that the outlook for Tipp for the year isnt great. We wont win the All-Ireland, and Munster doesnt look likely either.
some of the team selections are a bit, i dont know, iffy and stories around Thurles is that morale in the camp isnt great. (when has it been?) We should be beating Limerick but a trip in the qualifiers wont do any harm. Our lads need games and experience as we have made alot of changes in the past 3 years
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2007, 02:30:28 PM
Well Lemon,

I'm living in Newport now, and I heard a few rumours down in the local as well. Is there any truth to them? Certainly Babs made some strange decisions the last day, and didn't seem terribly gung-ho afterwards.

Post by: lemon125 on June 15, 2007, 03:41:48 PM
From talking to the players, they are content enough and arent making an issue out of it. But its more the people who go in to watch training and see the set up. And thats where the rumours are coming out of and having watched it twice, its not great.

Team selection is a worry, dropping Philip Maher and now having no full back is coming back to haunt Babs (even though theres stories about taht incident too). Playing Benny centre back, not playing Butler, bringing in Cahill and bringing him on.... there's loads of incidents within the Tipp camp that are unhelpfull as they prepare for a long championshiop which i dont think they will have.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on June 15, 2007, 04:11:00 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 15, 2007, 08:59:52 AM
Where are all the hurling lads gone - is bottlethrower gone now as well?

still look in from time to time Billy, but I lost interest posting on threads that disappeared to page 3 in a matter of minutes.

maybe if theres a separate hurling forum (make this one Gaelic Football, have a Hurling and the Non-GAA) I'd get my motivation to post back.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2007, 05:13:41 PM
I'd agree with that. I know it's been shot down before, but this board doesn't hold as many topics on Page 1 as the old version.  With all the football threads getting fired up, the odd hurling one sinks faster than a hammer in the Shannon.

Post by: Leith_Limerick_Lad on June 15, 2007, 09:32:30 PM
Just found out the replay will be shown live in Scotland :o D-Lighted.

Can I tempt anybody into a score prediction?

Tipp 0-17 - 1-18 Limerick 8)
Post by: darbyo on June 15, 2007, 09:53:40 PM
Very hard to call, neither team seem to be up to much(no disrespect) but on the basis of what I'm hearing about Tipp, I'll go for Limerick in a lower scoring match, 1-14to 0-15
Post by: bugs bunny on June 16, 2007, 12:31:53 PM
Quote from: darbyo on June 15, 2007, 09:53:40 PM
Very hard to call, neither team seem to be up to much(no disrespect) but on the basis of what I'm hearing about Tipp, I'll go for Limerick in a lower scoring match, 1-14to 0-15
I agree tough game to call,Limerick should have gained some confidance from the first outing,being in Thurles wont be much of an advantage to Tipp,most Limerick fans can make it there faster than the Gaelic Grounds anyway.Tipp wont fold (like Clare)and I expect them to take it by about 3 points.
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 04:43:09 PM
Any sign of the Tipp team being named?
Post by: darbyo on June 16, 2007, 04:59:59 PM
Quote[Any sign of the Tipp team being named?/quote]

Haven't heard anything but they surely won't start Benny Dunne at center back, I reckon Webster could come in to the forward line aswell
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 05:07:38 PM
I believe Lar Corbett is a non-runner anyway but Eion Kelly should play, I think Tipp should have enough this week
Post by: darbyo on June 16, 2007, 05:17:07 PM
They(Tipp) probably have the better squad but apparently all is not well in the camp, so I'll go for Limerick.
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 05:20:55 PM
it will be interesting to see if Limerick can keep the head this week, I think they missed a huge chance last time. They showed incredible spirit to come back with only 14.
Post by: Hardy on June 16, 2007, 06:18:12 PM
I've just caught the end of the RTE Radio sports programme and as the lad presenting it was signing off he said "... and we're hearing this sensational news from the Tipp dressingroom". But the bloody plank didn't say what it was! Anybody know? I've had a punt on Limerick at 7/4 anyway – still available at Stan James – others have Limerick in to 11/8.

[Edit] According to Newstalk, the news is that Brendan Cummins is dropped. Rumours of trouble in the camp proving correct?
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 06:40:23 PM
Incredible stuff
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 07:24:30 PM
One Way traffic at the moment
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 08:10:12 PM
Far too many wides from Limerick
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 16, 2007, 08:17:25 PM
The Stab county are back in it...1-17 to 1-12 now
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 08:32:46 PM
what a come back
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 16, 2007, 08:33:51 PM
What a f**king match.
Post by: prewtna on June 16, 2007, 08:58:40 PM
sounds like a savage game. michael o m doing his usual multilingual commentary about first second and third cousins!
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 09:03:28 PM
Babs Keating losing it on the side line
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 09:08:24 PM
What a block...............
Post by: prewtna on June 16, 2007, 09:12:38 PM
such an interview on the radio. some player (sorry im not a hurling man) but he all f**k this and f**k that f**king bullshit stories. martin kiely had to stop him, "look your tired emotional and we'll let you go"

:D :D :D :D
Post by: wickla on June 16, 2007, 09:13:19 PM
 :D :D :D
Post by: TORGAEL on June 16, 2007, 09:18:44 PM
Fantastic game !
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 16, 2007, 09:22:53 PM
FanFUCKINGtastic Game.

Have just seen the BIG game of the weekend, the others will do well to beat that, I really hope they do, because it could be a sign of an enetertaining summer ahead.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 16, 2007, 09:41:50 PM
5 Times that hurley did not seem to be attached to anyones hand when it knocked the ball out of play, is it based on the hurley being in a players hand or last person to touch the hurley when it is still in action. From my point of view it was the free flying hurley which last touched the sliotar.

Perhaps it should be a double header in Croker with the next Dublin match  ;)
Post by: amallon on June 16, 2007, 09:45:39 PM
fantastic game! A marvelous advert for hurling. Two teams of gutsy feckers giving it all.
Post by: furboot on June 16, 2007, 09:49:02 PM
Brillo game - any team coming from 10 points down and playin badly deserve another go....and but for all those wides........can't wait for episode 3...also remember that Limerick beat Tipp in 96 Final in a replay and while googling for some rundown on it I see it's available on DVD - at www.dvdsales.ie (http://www.dvdsales.ie) for any others who might have great memories of that day (this is not a plug just it's nice to see some of these great games of the past are being dusted down!!)...is the replay Sat or sunday ?

Post by: didlyi on June 16, 2007, 09:52:10 PM
Well this years munster champopnship isnt going to be won easy and the beauty is we've 2 more crackers before the final. Hard to analyse a game like that and a draw was once again the fair result but I still suspect that tipp are the better team but the best team doesnt always win and I feel limerick will take em at home next weekend. Replay on sat!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 16, 2007, 10:32:21 PM
Gripping game - that Ollie Moran is some man for one man.
Post by: ONeill on June 16, 2007, 10:37:14 PM
Either the Treaty have savage belief or Tipp aren't good enough to close out a game. Tipp folded in those last 10 minutes of normal time. Shouldn't have happened.
Post by: agorm on June 17, 2007, 12:02:51 AM
That game was what hurling is all about. This was a game that seemed over early in the second half and Limerick slowly but surely reeled Tipp in. The end of extra time was something else and it took some guts for O' Shaugnessy to go up and hit that 65 after missing the chance a couple of minutes earlier.

Mighty stuff.
Post by: Hardy on June 17, 2007, 12:10:58 AM
Mighty stuff indeed and it's why we're all here. And I'm off on the road in the morning to be present at what will, I hope, be another epic.

Aren't we blessed to be alive in times like these.
Post by: darbyo on June 17, 2007, 01:54:19 AM
Sorry to rain on the parade but while the two games were high scoring and tight some of the hurling was very poor, lots of poor striking, poor first touch and a bit disjointed. Glad many of you enjoyed it but I'm off to the real deal (I hope) today Waterford V Cork.
Post by: Leith_Limerick_Lad on June 17, 2007, 07:12:42 PM
What a game!!! I had given up all hope at half time, but what a come back. Ollie Moran and Geary were superb, and Shocks had a pretty good game aswell. Same old stroy for Limerick, too many stupid frees given away, and far too many wides. I nearly had a heart attack at the end when we almost scored a goal, but a draw is a fair result. Back to the Gaelic Grounds to finish the job....I hope ;)
Post by: milltown row on June 18, 2007, 12:02:06 PM
yes on today and can't believe no posts about that match, limerick no game plan at all just get the ball and move it quick, highy low did not matter a f**k. just shows that pure hunger for the ball will come through everytime. thought when tipp brought Benny Dunne back to sweep up would work but big Begly was like two men in that forward line. Limerick could have won it late on but that would have been an injustice to both teams.

football games would rarely ever live up to that game, unreal. Good shot in the arm along with the other game yesterday
Post by: lemon125 on June 18, 2007, 01:29:07 PM
Quote from: prewtna on June 16, 2007, 09:12:38 PM
such an interview on the radio. some player (sorry im not a hurling man) but he all f**k this and f**k that f**king bullshit stories. martin kiely had to stop him, "look your tired emotional and we'll let you go"

:D :D :D :D

Ha ha...
Class.. Seamus Butler was his name. Spoke to him Saturday about it, asked what did he say etc. It was like a flash back after a night on the beer, he barely remembered talking to him and then got all embarrased when he rememberd bits of what he said! Shows how emotional you can get playing in a frantic match like that and how cruel it is to pick out a lad who was just after playing 90 min of hurling. Well at least it wasnt the usual shit that everyone throws out every single time.

Tipp have impoved since the first day and should improve again. The axing of cummins has prob frightened the Tipp lads into playing better, Babs next step is to drop the captain... Deja Vu anyone????
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 01:32:56 PM
lemon, I was hearing that there was a bit of arsing around going on with the Mullinahone lads, the BW in particular? There was even rumours of a dropping there. Did you hear that?
Post by: lemon125 on June 18, 2007, 02:00:05 PM
no... nothing about the Mullinahone lads.
Well Eoin was supposed to have had a run in with Babs, hence the 'off the frees' game the first day but thats supposed to be sorted now. He would never drop Eoin dont think anyone manager could try that. Not unless you heard somethign different??

A few years ago there was rumours that the Mullinahone and Toome lads wouldnt talk to each other in the Tipp camp??

In general, the Tipp camp is pretty united, i know there's stories but most if it is supporters going a bit OTT with it. Babs and the players are the ones in training and actually doing it, they know whats its actually like and with all the rumous about a split camp they are playing pretty well as a team unit. Bar the last 10 min on Saturday!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 02:02:22 PM
Ah yeah, I know the way these things get spun when the supporter Chinese whispers get started! It was just pub talk in Newport that Eoin and Paul were rowing with Babs, and a dropping for Eoin was on the cards. Not sure why Paul would have been fighting? this was just after Offaly beat Tipp in the challenge match about 3 or 4 weeks ago.
Post by: lemon125 on June 18, 2007, 03:35:41 PM
Think Paul at the start of the year might not have been happy playing corner forward but he was flying it once he settled down in that postition. That Offally challenge match was the physio's fault, Paul would be back fit and playing for Tipp only for them to give Paul the all clear only for him to break down after 15 minutes and another set back of 6/7 weeks. Maybe it was babs giving out to Physio's about Paul Kelly but.... no... after that its bullshit... I dont know but sometimes in club trainig we'd have fights and tempers would flare, its not usually a bad thing i've found out. It shows that the players are hungry and want to win more than anything that are willing to go that extra bit even in training.
Maybe a closed door policy that Galway/Kiilkenny have in place is whats needed. Sometimes there could be about 100 people watching Tipp trainign at any given time and everyone of those will have a different opinion on whats going on.
Post by: cicfada on June 18, 2007, 05:05:26 PM
Christ lads, lots of talk about the Lim  v Tipp game but yesterday's game was an all-time classic.I thought Sat's game was great for the comback but the standard yesterday was so much better!Cork got hung up on this suspension craic and they could afford to lose yesterday.Waterford will be hard bet, really can't see anyone other lineup other than the cats and the Deise in the final!!Hurling is such a great sport all the same!!
Post by: Orior on June 18, 2007, 05:33:15 PM
Tuned in until half time, and thought Tipp had it so cleared off :(

Disapppointed as neither team will threaten KK
Post by: Lecale2 on June 20, 2007, 08:37:01 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 17, 2007, 12:10:58 AM
Aren't we blessed to be alive in times like these.

Part III is on RTE 1 on Sunday. You're surely right Hardy.

It has to be Tipp this time, they can't blow it again but I'd love to see Limerick pull it off. For me this is the only game worth watching this weekend.
Post by: neilthemac on June 21, 2007, 01:38:36 PM
QuoteBenny Dunne has had more positions at this stage than can be found in the marital suite of a newly wed couple on their wedding night

an all time classic quote from An Fear Rua...

Post by: Lecale2 on June 22, 2007, 11:48:22 AM
Limerick make three changes
Limerick boss Richie Bennis has altered his midfield and attack for Sunday's Munster SHC semi-final second replay against Tipperary at the Gaelic Grounds.

Brian Begley and Mike Fitzgerald, who played central roles in last Saturday's second half comeback following their introductions, have both earned themselves starting places at the expense of Peter Lawlor and Barry Foley. And Sean O'Connor, who was injured in the original fixture, is recalled in place of Brian Tobin.

Fitzgerald is named at left half forward, Begley at full forward and O'Connor at top of the left. Mike O'Brien, who started at right half forward last weekend, is now at midfield where he takes over from Lawlor.

Niall Moran switches from left half forward to right half forward, while Andrew O'Shaughnessy moves from full forward to the right corner forward slot which was filled by Tobin in Thurles.

Limerick (SH v Tipperary): B Murray; S Lucey, D Reale, S Hickey; M O'Riordan, B Geary, M Foley; M O'Brien, D O'Grady; N Moran, O Moran, M Fitzgerald; A O'Shaughnessy, B Begley, S O'Connor.

Hoganstand
Post by: Silky on June 23, 2007, 11:06:04 AM
Boys whats the craic with this match? Im minded to head to it but is it ticket only or can you pay at the gate? Im hearing conflicting stories. Apparently there was long queues for tickets in Limerick on Wednesday. If its going to be any hassle I'll just watch it in the pub.
Post by: Onlooker on June 23, 2007, 05:29:26 PM
The Mackey stand and the Uncovered Stand are all ticket, but it is cash at the gate for both terraces.
Post by: Leith_Limerick_Lad on June 23, 2007, 08:43:32 PM
I think this will be the game where our luck finally runs out. Lets be honest, Tipp can only blow it so many times.

Offaly in the qualifiers instead of Waterford in the Munster final  :(
Post by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 03:57:30 PM
Limerick playing well. Score Limerick 0-7 Tipp 0-2 after 25 mins.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 05:08:22 PM
Full Time
Limerick 0-15 Tipp 1-12!!
Going once again to extra time!! wow. :o
Post by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 05:31:18 PM
First Period of extra time over
Limerick 0-17 Tipp 2-13
Post by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 05:49:39 PM
Limerick and Tipp game over and LIMERICK prevail!!!!!!
Full time score + ET:
Limerick 0-22 Tipp 2-13.

What a game no one deserved to lose but someone wouls eventually and it was Tipp, hard luck lads and congrats to Tipp!
Brilliant 3 games!!
Post by: corn02 on June 24, 2007, 06:02:57 PM
Not as good as first two but excellent all the same, the Hurling Championship is getting some games this year.
Post by: Lecale2 on June 24, 2007, 09:46:00 PM
Good match although the standard probably wasn't as good as the last 2 matches. Great to see Limerick win,
Post by: imtommygunn on June 24, 2007, 10:46:03 PM
As much as I wanted to see Limerick win I would have said the ref. was harsh on Tipp in the last few minutes when it was a one point game. They should have had a free to level her and instead Limerick went up and made it a two point game.

Still these things likely balanced themselves out over the course of the 3 games.

Good to see that munster final pairing.

Great series of games - maybe standard not as goo as Cork etc. but good to see saga's like this. Brings out the best in teams.
Post by: theskull1 on June 24, 2007, 11:43:38 PM
The desire and heart shown made up for any shortfall in standards. A brilliant series of matches that has really done hurling a great service. Was with limerick the whole way. I think they needed it more than tipp

Was watching the match with a few friends and countless times it was commented that antrim refereeing wouldn't allow a huge amount of challenges that went in today. Made for a great contest with very few dirty strokes if any throughout the game
Post by: stnessan on June 25, 2007, 08:26:53 AM
I don't think either team can have complaints about the ref, some decisions went Tipp's way and some went Limerick's. I would like to hear a little more about the ref's view of Damien Reale getting clotheslined though, the word is that he is recovering though and should be OK for Munster Final.

It might be parachioal to view it like this, but this was an important win for Limerick; not only because it has been so long since we've had a championship win but because we've not had a "team" out there for so long.

Post by: johnneycool on June 25, 2007, 08:45:46 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 24, 2007, 11:43:38 PM
The desire and heart shown made up for any shortfall in standards. A brilliant series of matches that has really done hurling a great service. Was with limerick the whole way. I think they needed it more than tipp

Was watching the match with a few friends and countless times it was commented that antrim refereeing wouldn't allow a huge amount of challenges that went in today. Made for a great contest with very few dirty strokes if any throughout the game

Good competitive hurling if lacking a bit in the quality of the Cork/Waterford game, thoroughly entertaining all the way. The problem now for Limerick is that the bandwagon is now on the roll and expectations now for bigger and better things. Can they go up another gear or two or has the three games plus extra time taken some energy from the legs. In saying that players like Pete Lawlor and Kevin Tobin have fairly improved as the series went on. Lawlor is a good hurler but was caught short for stickwork the first two games but he was well involved yesterday in his more accustomed half back position. The two man fullforward line certainly worked in the first half when Limerick started putting over the long range points. Big Begly isn't a man to play in there if that's the case. He needs lads playing off him to be at his best and when he did get the ball, was isolated and couldn't get the stroke in.

Two of the big three are now doing a tour of Ireland in the qualifiers with a crack at each other probably to see who finishes top of the group.
With what seems a bit of infighting in the camp, Babs will be under serious pressure to get them turned around and maybe eat some humble pie with Cummins back in goal even though the young lad, Gerry Kennedy didn't put a foot wrong although his habit of allowing the ball to drop into his gut may afford forwards a bit more of an opportunity to get a flick on the ball before it gets that far.
The Tipp backs are as cute at the tugging as I've seen. A little pull enough to hinder the run but not enought for a ref to blow. They got away with it at least half a dozen times yesterday. I suppose it's only a foul if you're caught.
Tipp should make the quarter finals but they seem to be lacking leaders up the field when the chips are down.
Post by: the ship on June 25, 2007, 10:40:35 AM
i did not see any of this tugging as you call it by the tipp backs and the goalkeepers habit t beats what cummins does making great saves and knocking the ball back out to the incoming forwards to stick in the back of the net. while you talk about the great spirit that limerick had and the the leaders they had you forget with all this spirit and leadership tipp still were winning at half time of extra time and if mcmahon was half right he would have given a free in to lar corbett and we would be looking at another replay.
as to the 2 man fullforward line working were tipp not ahead at half time.
Post by: INDIANA on June 25, 2007, 11:27:34 AM
tipp's physical conditioning is a disgrace. they look like they do their training in supermacs. Too many overweight players. mind you looking at the size of babs and leahy it hardly sets an example. I have never seen such an unfit bunch at that level - 5 times more skill than limerick but that ain't enough anymore. it's become more of a question of who ate all the pies.
Post by: magickingdom on June 25, 2007, 12:14:09 PM
no word from babs, i'd say hes still stuck to the ceiling. in fairness to him i thought the ref was poor limericks 14, 16 and most importantly 21st point all came after incidents which should have been tipp frees. by the way how exactly do you fit another 20,000 into the gaelic grounds? 30k was the 'official' crowd - what a joke. i remember going into the munster football final last year with 5 kids in tow and asked the guy at the gate for a group rate $40 for the lot! great for me but no way can the gaa keep this kind of system up...
Post by: the ship on June 25, 2007, 01:15:38 PM
indiana could you point out which of the tipp players are overweight, if anything i would have thought they need tp put on a few lbs
Post by: johnneycool on June 25, 2007, 02:02:43 PM
Quote from: the ship on June 25, 2007, 01:15:38 PM
indiana could you point out which of the tipp players are overweight, if anything i would have thought they need tp put on a few lbs

Tipp were 7-1 down before they decided to counteract the numerical advantage Limerick had in the middle of the park. It was only then that they started to get back into the game. The Tipp goal was fortuitous and whilst ref bashing is the order of the day, McMahon could and should of blown for a foul on Mark Foley just before the ball was cleared out to Hugh Moloney whose shot dropped short into the hands of Darragh Egan. Egan himself should of got a yellow at least for his clothes line on Damien Reale earlier in the game. For Marty Morrisey and Duignan to dismiss it as accidental was utter bollocks. The ref let a lot go but he was equally as bad for both teams.

Tipp are indeed the better hurling team and were ahead at certain junctures in the game but it's only the one at the end that really matters, so if you are the better team and still get beat you got to ask the question, why? My feeling is that they lack leaders up the park to lead by example when the chips are down is the problem. Relying on Eoin Kelly all the time isn't going to work. Too many downhill peddlers in the Tipp forwards I'm afraid.
Post by: the ship on June 25, 2007, 02:30:44 PM
i would have to agree with you that the ref made some awful decision on both sides but why all this down on tipp all the time those boys gave as much as limerick did and with the final whistle of extra time just around the corner were just a point down. god you would think listening and reading all the comments that tipp brought nothing to the 3 games.

a quote from the first world regarding the generals and the ordinary sioldiers and i think it applies to tipp and is quite apt for babs "lions lead by donkeys"

Post by: INDIANA on June 25, 2007, 05:11:55 PM
It's a general thing the fitness thing- they let two leads slip prior to yesterday. Only two jammy goals yesterday kept them in it. Yet in terms of hurling craft on an overall basis they are a better team than limerick. I don't believe either wing forward is fit enough. Both good hurlers yes but they don't last 70. Eoin Kelly certainly was carrying  a bit- grnated he's  a brilliant hurler but hickey had him for pace. I've never seen a team that relies on one player so much.
Limercik had a lot of the tipp players for pace .Yes they horsed tipp out of it in the tight- but they outlasted tipp in all of the games. that isn't  a coincidence. Danny o hanlon at 19 is carrying too much for this level..there isn't any limerick player carrying any excess.
I've seen some fantastic club games in tipp down through the years- there is something seriously wrong at county level. I don't believe that management is the answer. Tipp fans should remember their proud tradition and ask themselves-how likely is it that limerick will win the all-ireland?that's how far tipp have fallen.
Post by: Onlooker on June 25, 2007, 05:32:59 PM
I saw Tipperary quoted at 16/1 to win the All Ireland in a local bookmaker's office to-day.   Has there ever been a time in the whole history of the G.A.A., where such a price would offered on Tipp.   It suggests that Tipperary's Senior Hurling Team are at an all time low.  One can only wonder what has gone wrong here in Tipp over the last 5 or 6 years, or indeed over the last 35 years (just 3 All Ireland titles).  No one seems to have the answer.
Post by: deiseach on June 25, 2007, 06:55:24 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on June 25, 2007, 05:32:59 PM
I saw Tipperary quoted at 16/1 to win the All Ireland in a local bookmaker's office to-day.   Has there ever been a time in the whole history of the G.A.A., where such a price would offered on Tipp.   It suggests that Tipperary's Senior Hurling Team are at an all time low.  One can only wonder what has gone wrong here in Tipp over the last 5 or 6 years, or indeed over the last 35 years (just 3 All Ireland titles).  No one seems to have the answer.

I imagine the years 1975 - 1982 inclusive, when Tipperary won precisely zero senior championship matches, might be viewed as an era when Tipp hurling was lower.
Post by: didlyi on June 25, 2007, 09:12:59 PM
Suggesting that times are bad in tipp means ye have little regard for Limerick either who took 4 hours to beat them by a puck of a ball. Limerick are no bad team and will be a handfull for anyone and I wouldnt bet against them winning munster. That said,Tipp will need to be carefull next weekend as I feel offaly are another up and coming side.
Post by: INDIANA on June 25, 2007, 10:00:12 PM
never suggested limerick were a bad side - because they aren't. But i think they'll find it tough against Waterford. Waterford can match them physically and are a better hurling team. But they are a better hurling team than everyone else bar maybe kilkenny.The limerick defence will find it tough- it'l be tight enough but i'd fancy waterford by 5.
unless tipp get a soft draw i can't see them progressing beyond the last 8. offaly will fancy their chances - but so will dublin.people will laugh but if you stop eoin kelly and match the likes of eamonn corcoran both will have a chance- the fatigue factor will be huge on tipp- it's  a punsihing schedule.
Post by: Onlooker on June 25, 2007, 10:00:53 PM
I think that the "banana skin" for Tipp in the qualifiers could well be Dublin in Parnell Park on Saturday week.   The long awaited Dublin Hurling revival just might be on the way.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 25, 2007, 10:51:01 PM
Do Tipp now have to play 6 weeks on the trot? the last 3 followed by the 3 qualifiers? That's tough going.
Post by: the ship on June 26, 2007, 10:20:58 AM
dont you boys be worrying about tipp we will beat offaly and dublin and set ourselves up for big game versus cork for top spot, and who knows then maybe an quarter final against limerick again and by then hopefully we will have all our injured players back, our overweight players will have lost a few lbs. 
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on June 27, 2007, 08:31:32 AM
I couldn't unsderstand why the ref re-started the match on Sunday with Reale still on a strecher being treated. He's issued a statement apologising for getting it wrong.

Hoganstand

Reale to return for Munster final
26 June 2007

Limerick are confident that Damien Reale will be fit for next month's Munster SHC final against Waterford, despite the team captain being knocked unconscious during last Sunday's victory over Tipperary.

The Hospital/Herbertstown clubman was stretchered off after only 10 minutes following an accidental clash with Tipp opponent Darragh Egan. He was brought to Limerick's Regional Hospital where he was detained on Sunday night before being discharged on Monday morning. And Limerick fans will be delighted to hear that he was fit enough to link up with his team-mates for a pool session on Monday night.

Limerick boss Richie Bennis said: "Damien's okay but he was out for five minutes. He was kept in overnight at Limerick Regional Hospital as a precaution and let out in the morning.

"He didn't swallow his tongue but we believe that the helmet was pulled over his head and may have smothered him a bit."

Amazingly, referee Sean McMahon allowed the play to resume while Reale was being lifted onto the stretcher. However, the Clare official admitted through National Referees Association spokesman Fr Seamus Gardiner that he was wrong to do so.

Fr Gardiner said: "What he said was when he stood beside Damien as he was being treated, Damien was on the stretcher and Sean thought he was being moved immediately.

"Sean left the scene but didn't look back, which he accepted he should have. The linesman restarted the game by throwing in the ball and Sean was hoping play would not go down that end but when it went near Damien, he blew up the play.

"The rule is play should be stopped, particularly for a serious injury, but Sean said he made a mistake, he held up his hands. He presumed Damien was on the stretcher and was being moved away."

Post by: bottlethrower7 on June 27, 2007, 05:03:31 PM
Quote from: the ship on June 25, 2007, 01:15:38 PM

John Carroll and Daragh Egan. Both look like they could be fitter. I agree with your point about the rest though, they're definately in need of a feed or two, especially around midfield.
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on June 27, 2007, 07:07:10 PM
well lads, one thing i have to say in defence of my county, I believe Limerick will give Waterford more of a game than Tipp would be capable of, as pointed out in earlier posts, Limerick have a more physical approach and they are one team that can match the Waterford forwards , especially the likes of Dan Shanahan and Declan Pendergast.

It is the first time I have seen Limerick really hurl, guys like geary and foley becoming leaders and even shocks and the tobins, the moran standing up and been counted. Also it is the first year in a while that Limerick got a quiet run up to the championship, usually it is fighting among ourselves or something else, and been splashed on the back pages of the newspapers.

We will be quietly confidence against Waterford. underdogs and nothing too lose.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on June 28, 2007, 11:13:50 AM
I'll save most of my powder til we get a Munster Final thread going in earnest, but I think Limerick are still a good ways behind Waterford. The Tipp lads won't thank me for saying it, but it looks to me like tiers are developing in Munster, and they and Limerick are firmly in tier 2, behind Waterford and Cork.

Tipp still have some fine players, but they are a poor, poor team. Limerick have poor players, but have a lot of heart. The game is Waterford's to lose, but I really can't for the life of me, see how thats going to happen, even if they do display the same tactical ineptitude they did at times against Cork.
Post by: homeofhurling5 on June 28, 2007, 02:04:21 PM
Hows she cuttin chaps ?

A few quick thoughts on the trilogy from a Tipp perspective.

Larry,curly and mo on the sideline made some utterly bizarre decisions,Benny Dunne at centre forward anyone ?

The half forward line was again our achilles heel,quelle suprise,who could have envisaged us hankering after the days of Conor Gleeson and Brian O'Meara !!

Darragh Egan is a seriously frustrating hurler,6' 2" and 15 stone but no aggression,he has the ability but not the will.

Ryan O'Dwyer is no big Dec but he might yet do a job for us at 11,he is the opposite of Egan,he has the will but not the ability.

Seamus Butler has gone a long way towards proving his doubters,myself included,wrong,his equalising point at the death on Sunday was a beaut and took some balls,contrast that with his rabbit in the headlights routine in injury time against the Deise in 04,he has come a long way.

Lar Corbetts touch is shocking at the moment,im surprised Babs hasnt ate the head off of him over his one handed rise,how many times did he f**k it up on Sunday,God knows he is a trier though.

The barrel is coming to the end of the line,he still has a good half a game in him,no more(he was ill all last week and probably shouldnt have played on Sunday),he will never give less than 100% for the blue and gold,Biffos beware,a wounded bear is a dangerous bear ;)

Benny has been treated shabbily by the three wise men and has shipped as lot of undeserved abuse,im no fan of our captain but he has been slated for conceding 6 points from play to Ollie Moran the first day,the golden boy Corcoran conceded one less to Morans brother Sunday and he is hailed by all and sundry as having a great game,go figure !

Eoin Kelly should be on the 40',leave Corbett and Butler inside(with Kelly snr when fit) the pair of them carry enough of a goal threat,Kelly has had a hand in practically every score over the last three weeks on limited supply of ball,move him to where he can have even more of an influence and is less easily starved of supply,the time has come.

Shane McGrath is made of the right stuff.

Woodlock could be the new Tom Kenny,serious pace and athleticism,just needs to have the constant head down soloing trained out of him,lift the head Jimmy like a good chap.

The half-backline shipped a serious amount of scores over the last three weeks with the Morans and Mike Fitz going to town at various stages,we need to tighten up.

For fucks sake babs leave O'Mahoney at 6 and stop undermining his confidence,he will do just fine.

Fanning is some fireman to have,granted Begley and O'Connor are made for him but he shackled Shaughs too,he would be desperately unlucky to lose his place now but i wouldnt be in the least bit surprised to see him on the 40 at some stage over the next few weeks.

Buckley is another man made of the right stuff,he just needs to learn the dark arts of corner back play,holding without conceding frees,it will come with experience.

Fitzy should be further out the field,i suspect he will be on saturday with Curran returning.

Gerry Kennedy is about as cool a customer as there is.

The outlook isnt as bleak as some think.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2007, 02:18:06 PM
Great to have you back hoh, and the other lads as well. Failte ar ais.
Post by: Lecale2 on June 28, 2007, 02:30:10 PM
Why is Home of hurling5 a guest? Has he been banned already? What's going on?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 28, 2007, 02:35:10 PM
He must have deleted his account by mistake surely? Jaysus you can't ban a lad for being from Tipp :D
Post by: Lecale2 on June 28, 2007, 03:15:22 PM
Jesus now he has registered as Home of hurling 6! Fair play to him. You can't keep a good man down! You'd nearly think he was from Limerick.
Post by: homeofhurling6 on June 28, 2007, 03:49:07 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on June 28, 2007, 03:15:22 PM
Jesus now he has registered as Home of hurling 6! Fair play to him. You can't keep a good man down! You'd nearly think he was from Limerick.

More comebacks than old blue eyes ;)

I reckon the moderator is Seanie McMahon,biased agin the Tipp men ;)
Post by: bottlethrower7 on June 28, 2007, 04:23:15 PM
Quote from: homeofhurling6 on June 28, 2007, 03:49:07 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on June 28, 2007, 03:15:22 PM

More comebacks than old blue eyes ;)

I reckon the moderator is Seanie McMahon,biased agin the Tipp men ;)

its payback for ye unleashing Seamus Roche on the rest of the world!! Brian Gavin is in on it too!!!
Post by: turk on June 28, 2007, 04:33:39 PM
Wait till Thomas Keady hears this!!
Post by: homeofhurling6 on June 28, 2007, 04:48:52 PM
Quote from: turk on June 28, 2007, 04:33:39 PM
Wait till Thomas Keady hears this!!

Shhhhh...For christs sake Turk dont wake the trolls over on afr !!

Bt,i reckon if the bould seamus by some quirk of fate ever ended up reffing a Tipp match he would give us f**k all,he's that kind of chap.
Post by: ciaran careys hurling arm on June 28, 2007, 11:21:19 PM
Wow, a hurling forum on the home of Ulster football! good work.

Limerick wanted to win it more in the end and Tipp have no half forward line.

Post by: Bacon on June 29, 2007, 08:32:59 AM
Now Homeofhurling 6 has been banned! What's the fecker getting up to?
Post by: johnneycool on June 29, 2007, 08:48:52 AM
Quote from: homeofhurling5 on June 28, 2007, 02:04:21 PM

Buckley is another man made of the right stuff,he just needs to learn the dark arts of corner back play,holding without conceding frees,it will come with experience.

I told you so.

Post by: AZOffaly on June 29, 2007, 09:39:08 AM
HomeofHurling must be getting it hard to come to terms with the new board. HOH, are you accidentaly deleting your account or something? I think Laoislad had an incident like that as well :D