Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2022, 02:26:28 PM

Poll
Question: Cocktail sausages with your Christmas dinner?
Option 1: Yes - Live in the North. votes: 51
Option 2: Yes - Live in the South. votes: 2
Option 3: No - Live in the North. votes: 17
Option 4: No - Live in the South. votes: 19
Title: The Great Christmas Cocktail Sausage Poll
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2022, 02:26:28 PM
(https://www.lovefoodhatewaste.com/sites/default/files/styles/16_9_two_column/public/2022-05/sticky_mini_sausages_565723894.jpg?h=82f92a78&itok=xQ07VOGd)
Title: Re: The Great Christmas Cocktail Sausage Poll
Post by: smort on December 24, 2022, 02:34:04 PM
There'll never be Irish unity if we are divided over this!
Post by: Armagh18 on December 24, 2022, 02:36:00 PM
Don't actually have them in my house but yes think we should
Post by: laoislad on December 24, 2022, 02:43:00 PM
😂
Post by: armaghniac on December 24, 2022, 02:51:15 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 24, 2022, 02:36:00 PM

The shops are open for another 3 hours!
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2022, 03:14:35 PM
Did this tradition start in Cookstown ?
Were any of the Down 5 Sams or Tyrone 4 Sams teams powered by cocktail sausages ?
Post by: Mourne Red on December 24, 2022, 03:15:00 PM

You don't have pigs in blankets?? Jesus when we become a 32 again the UK can keep Armagh
Post by: Armagh18 on December 24, 2022, 03:25:50 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on December 24, 2022, 03:15:00 PM

You don't have pigs in blankets?? Jesus when we become a 32 again the UK can keep Armagh
Of course we do. Meant we don't normally have cocktail sausages as part of the dinner.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 24, 2022, 03:38:39 PM
We've some out tonight for when people call and plenty tomorrow in a bowl for people to pick from, wee bitta honey glaze too
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2022, 03:48:49 PM
May need to add these types of questions to a border poll.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2022, 03:50:04 PM
Pinkertons are the job.
Post by: laoislad on December 24, 2022, 03:54:05 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2022, 02:26:28 PM
(https://www.lovefoodhatewaste.com/sites/default/files/styles/16_9_two_column/public/2022-05/sticky_mini_sausages_565723894.jpg?h=82f92a78&itok=xQ07VOGd)
Why is there a spoon beside the plate, don't tell me you eat your sausages with a spoon... though nothing would surprise me with you bunch of weirdos in the North..
Post by: laoislad on December 24, 2022, 03:55:34 PM

Let's be honest, if we are leaving any county with the Brits it's got to be Tyrone.
Post by: Rossfan on December 24, 2022, 05:25:50 PM
Feckin cocktail sausages at Christmas :o
I've heard it all now.
Next thing they'll be calling Stephens Day "boxing day"
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 05:57:11 PM
It does all seem a bit, well, British, doesn't it?
Post by: laoislad on December 24, 2022, 06:11:37 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 05:57:11 PM
Yup.
Post by: weareros on December 24, 2022, 06:11:41 PM
Plum pudding, custard, brandy butter and sherry trifle would all be of English origin too but popular in Irish households on Christmas Day. But give the old plum pudding a good douse of Irish whiskey to correct matters.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2022, 06:23:35 PM
Spuds and butter in your house?
Post by: armaghniac on December 24, 2022, 06:28:26 PM

The pigs in Armagh have electric blankets this time of year.
Post by: laoislad on December 24, 2022, 06:39:13 PM
gawa316 will be on posting soon telling us how not only does he have sausages with his Christmas dinner, he also covers the whole thing in brown sauce.....
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 06:58:38 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2022, 06:23:35 PM
Spuds and butter in your house?

Roast spuds, sprouts/cabbage and turkey (back when I ate meat).  Christmas cake and ice cream for dessert.  The way St. Patrick would have wanted.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 06:59:48 PM
Quote from: laoislad on December 24, 2022, 06:39:13 PM
gawa316 will be on posting soon telling us how not only does he have sausages with his Christmas dinner, he also covers the whole thing in brown sauce.....

Don't forget the bacon cooked in the turkey.  How all these boys don't have pacemakers, I'll never know.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 24, 2022, 07:54:28 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 06:59:48 PM

Don't forget the bacon cooked in the turkey.  How all these boys don't have pacemakers, I'll never know.
Few strips of bacon on top of the turkey. Does everyone not do that?
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2022, 08:10:45 PM
Would cocktail sausages for Christmas be a Scottish thing as well or would  it be confined to the 4th Green Field ?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 08:15:40 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 24, 2022, 07:54:28 PM

Never heard of it until it was brought up on this board a few weeks ago.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 24, 2022, 08:26:34 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 08:15:40 PM

A recent, welcome addition to our process. Means you can also chow a bitta bacon while serving which means the sausages dont get hit to the same extreme as pre bacon days
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 24, 2022, 08:32:49 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 24, 2022, 08:26:34 PM

A recent, welcome addition to our process. Means you can also chow a bitta bacon while serving which means the sausages dont get hit to the same extreme as pre bacon days

This!! 😂
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 24, 2022, 08:47:39 PM
Merry christmas trueblue 😉😃
Post by: Tubberman on December 24, 2022, 08:55:58 PM
Are the cocktail sausages a nibble for guests before you sit down for dinner,  or are they actually on the plate with the turkey and ham!?
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 24, 2022, 09:03:15 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 24, 2022, 08:55:58 PM
Are the cocktail sausages a nibble for guests before you sit down for dinner,  or are they actually on the plate with the turkey and ham!?

On the plate. Beside the potato stuffing....
Post by: laoislad on December 24, 2022, 09:07:57 PM
Nearly afraid to ask.... potato stuffing???
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 24, 2022, 09:18:26 PM
Mashed spuds and sausage meat. Food of champions.

Is there any other way we can squeeze a bitta sausage (oooohhhh Matron) in there. Doesn't work with the auld Christmas pudd unfortunately.
Post by: Itchy on December 24, 2022, 09:31:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 24, 2022, 05:25:50 PM
Feckin cocktail sausages at Christmas :o
I've heard it all now.
Next thing they'll be calling Stephens Day "boxing day"

Never heard of such a thing
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2022, 09:46:27 PM
How many cocktail sausages would be required per person at the meal ?
Post by: RedHand88 on December 24, 2022, 09:48:01 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 24, 2022, 09:46:27 PM
How many cocktail sausages would be required per person at the meal ?

Four or five.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 24, 2022, 09:50:46 PM
Ten. 6 during prep. 4 on plate. They dont take up space as ye just put them on top of the other food.

Winner winner turkey and ham and cocktail sausages dinner
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 09:52:27 PM
Quote from: smort on December 24, 2022, 02:34:04 PM

Between the cocktail sausages and the potato stuffing, my own staunch Republicanism has taken a beating on this thread.
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 24, 2022, 10:14:04 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 24, 2022, 09:52:27 PM
Quote from: smort on December 24, 2022, 02:34:04 PM

Between the cocktail sausages and the potato stuffing, my own staunch Republicanism has taken a beating on this thread.

The potato stuffing has Co Kerry origins I believe.

Your Republican status has just taken a beaten.

Post by: Tubberman on December 24, 2022, 10:22:34 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 24, 2022, 09:03:15 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on December 24, 2022, 08:55:58 PM

On the plate. Beside the potato stuffing....

Jaysis almighty. Ye're a quare breed....
Post by: laoislad on December 24, 2022, 10:23:11 PM
Well anyway I have Santa to do now... Happy Christmas to all.
Hope those having cocktail sausages with their Christmas dinner choke on them tomorrow!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 24, 2022, 10:57:51 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 24, 2022, 08:32:49 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 24, 2022, 08:26:34 PM

This!! 😂
Absolutely! I get the crispy bacon lid every year.
Post by: gawa316 on December 24, 2022, 11:14:38 PM

Just a wee squirt on the side...more of a gravy fan.

Do love a bit if brown sauce on my shepherds pie and stew though
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 24, 2022, 11:44:07 PM
Jeff Stelling tweet might put a few off Sausages..
Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2022, 09:15:25 AM
Happy Christmas to the First Batt Active Service Cocktail Sausage  Brigade in the Northern Counties. The League can't come fast enough.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 25, 2022, 09:57:37 AM
At the start of the Rate my Plate craze on fb they became known as sosigs, someone put up a vote to see if this should become the official term for them 😃
Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2022, 10:50:23 AM
Are cocktail sausages for the North related to pigs in blankets in England, except off the blanket rather than on the blanket. ?
Post by: RedHand88 on December 25, 2022, 01:53:54 PM
Just spotted a bowl of about 80 or 90 cocktail sausages being prepared.

Today is a good day.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 25, 2022, 02:53:19 PM
Not lying when I say I put away about 12 of them.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 25, 2022, 03:25:58 PM
Bit if manflu so off my game but managed half dozen easily.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 25, 2022, 04:11:50 PM
2 bits a streaky during dishing out
3 sosigs during main event
3 solid farts since with more to follow
Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2022, 04:12:44 PM
This article comes into its own over the next week

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/life/food-drink/waddle-into-the-new-year-with-these-10-christmas-belly-busters-42206262.html
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 25, 2022, 05:39:49 PM
Totally and utterly stuffed to the gills, bursting at the seams, think the sausages were too much.

Back at gym this week for sure
Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2022, 06:08:30 PM
Could the cocktail sausages be the difference between Dunloy and Ballyhale in the club final ?
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 25, 2022, 08:59:32 PM
Just coming out of my sausage coma now. Managed 13 (PB).  There's a few sitting in the fridge now that may have to be looked at shortly.
Post by: andoireabu on December 25, 2022, 09:22:35 PM
Not a cocktail sausage or bit of bacon in sight today and nobody touched the dark meat. Up home tomorrow so everything will be right again for round 2
Post by: Mourne Red on December 25, 2022, 10:08:04 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 25, 2022, 10:50:23 AM
Are cocktail sausages for the North related to pigs in blankets in England, except off the blanket rather than on the blanket. ?

Not related in my book.. More just an added extra.

Was myself cooking the dinner today so didn't get into my main until most had finished, so only got the two cocktail sausages and 3 pigs in blankets. Poor showing this year from myself. Tempted to grab some from the shop tomorrow and have a Boxing Day snack with a pint and watch the football.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on December 25, 2022, 10:10:09 PM
Given the processed shite that goes into cocktail sausages and that each costs less than a penny to produce, they have no right to adorn any Christmas dinner plate.

Save the space for decent, high-quality ingredients.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 25, 2022, 10:14:45 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on December 25, 2022, 10:10:09 PM
Given the processed shite that goes into cocktail sausages and that each costs less than a penny to produce, they have no right to adorn any Christmas dinner plate.

They shouldn't make them taste so nice.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on December 25, 2022, 10:19:13 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 25, 2022, 10:14:45 PM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on December 25, 2022, 10:10:09 PM

They shouldn't make them taste so nice.

Have a feed of them later in the day, after the pints. Just not as part of the main event.
Post by: AustinPowers on December 25, 2022, 10:29:12 PM
Couldn't help  but think of  this thread while  looking at  my cocktail sausages on the side of my  plate earlier

It's been  ruined  for me now . Now I'm  beginning to question everything
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 25, 2022, 10:59:33 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 25, 2022, 10:29:12 PM
Couldn't help  but think of  this thread while  looking at  my cocktail sausages on the side of my  plate earlier

It's been  ruined  for me now . Now I'm  beginning to question everything

Thats the beauty of this place. Some the best thinkers in ireland on here. All subjects covered
Post by: AustinPowers on December 26, 2022, 12:47:11 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 25, 2022, 10:50:35 PM
You should.
And start with turkey. Do you really like it or is it punching way above its weight due to festive sentimentality?

Ach now you've got  me questioning the turkey ffs.  Tbh it's probably just sliiiiiiightly in third  place behind the gammon (don't tell me that's also a north/south  thing?) and stuffing.

What about the overnight peas?  That's  essential in our house
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2022, 01:08:23 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 26, 2022, 12:47:11 AM
You should.
And start with turkey. Do you really like it or is it punching way above its weight due to festive sentimentality?

Ach now you've got  me questioning the turkey ffs.  Tbh it's probably just sliiiiiiightly in third  place behind the gammon (don't tell me that's also a north/south  thing?) and stuffing.

Could be tempted on changing it also, cooking for nine, starters mains and desserts!! Had a cheek to finish off with a turkey stuffing sandwich!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 26, 2022, 02:46:05 AM
You should.

Is that what you Northerners call ham?

Post by: gawa316 on December 26, 2022, 05:32:42 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 25, 2022, 08:59:32 PM
Just coming out of my sausage coma now. Managed 13 (PB).  There's a few sitting in the fridge now that may have to be looked at shortly.

I could eat about 40 of them and then the leftover cold ones are near as good.

Went to the father in laws for Christmas dinner today and he served up Cioppino  :'(
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 26, 2022, 08:21:18 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on December 26, 2022, 05:32:42 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 25, 2022, 08:59:32 PM

I could eat about 40 of them and then the leftover cold ones are near as good.

Went to the father in laws for Christmas dinner today and he served up Cioppino  :'(

Had to google that. You have my sympathies. I'll send you across a pack of cookstown's finest.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 08:53:09 AM
Please don't tell me anyone here is one of those weirdos who puts chips on their Christmas dinner.

Happy Boxing Day.
Post by: laoislad on December 26, 2022, 08:59:17 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 08:53:09 AM
Please don't tell me anyone here is one of those weirdos who puts chips on their Christmas dinner.

Happy Boxing Day.
I put potato croquettes on mine.
Have a nice St Stephens Day.... ;)
Post by: Tubberman on December 26, 2022, 09:17:00 AM
Never has the North seemed more mysterious and foreign...
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2022, 09:54:57 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 26, 2022, 02:46:05 AM
You should.

It's a ham here. I am NOT starting another poll.
Post by: ONeill on December 26, 2022, 10:21:19 AM
Nothing like a gammon and black puddin in Veda bread to start off a Boxing Day before the hunt.
Post by: AustinPowers on December 26, 2022, 11:15:41 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 26, 2022, 02:46:05 AM
You should.

Some do. Some don't

I just wanted to  sound sophisticated
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2022, 11:29:07 AM
Staying off food till I get my turkey curry later.. dogs finished off the sausages this morning so no more till next year ;D

Post by: seafoid on December 26, 2022, 11:36:02 AM
Diana Henry is from the wee North and she has a great recipe for chicken stuffed with sausage meat and pine nuts. My father in law used to love it. That recipe could probably be upscaled to fit a turkey's arse and would be tastier than plain cocktail sausages because it would have all the juices from the bird. But I would draw the line at Boxing Day.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 26, 2022, 11:48:22 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2022, 11:29:07 AM
Staying off food till I get my turkey curry later.. dogs finished off the sausages this morning so no more till next year ;D
Turkey curry? Do you not have another full dinner today?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2022, 12:22:07 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 26, 2022, 11:48:22 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2022, 11:29:07 AM
Turkey curry? Do you not have another full dinner today?

Nah, stopped it long time ago, this is a tasty dinner!
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2022, 12:53:40 PM
In-laws today. Full tilt again.
Post by: laoislad on December 26, 2022, 12:56:15 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2022, 12:53:40 PM
In-laws today. Full tilt again.
Had in-laws yesterday, down to Lovely Laois today, another full Christmas dinner... no cocktail sausages though.
Pints tonight with the aul fella in the local. St Stephens Day best day of the year imo.
Post by: weareros on December 26, 2022, 02:41:20 PM
As my old man used to say, and now garners a severe look from the missus and the kids when I say: "it's as far away as ever again."
Post by: AustinPowers on December 26, 2022, 03:45:47 PM
Cocktail sausages on the go  again today .  But they've been  tainted now

Maybe we ought to  have   a few Yorkshire puddings instead

I'll leave ye with  that hand grenade  ;D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 26, 2022, 03:56:50 PM
We used to do mushrooms

*runs*
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 04:23:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 25, 2022, 03:25:58 PM
Bit if manflu so off my game but managed half dozen easily.

Rookie numbers. My son ate 7 and he's 1 year old.
Post by: square_ball on December 26, 2022, 04:55:19 PM
Wholegrain mustard and honey over the sausages for the last 5/10 minutes lads - even you non-sausage believers would be converted.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 05:21:29 PM
Quote from: square_ball on December 26, 2022, 04:55:19 PM
Wholegrain mustard and honey over the sausages for the last 5/10 minutes lads - even you non-sausage believers would be converted.

Tried soy sauce one year after reading about it online. Tended to blacken them too much and leave them sticky. Wouldn't do it again.
Post by: AustinPowers on December 26, 2022, 06:32:39 PM
Where do we stand on  cranberry sauce with  the turkey?
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2022, 06:34:12 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 26, 2022, 06:32:39 PM

You mean having turkey with your cranberry sauce. Yes.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 26, 2022, 08:21:40 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on December 26, 2022, 06:32:39 PM
Very much so. Just finished a turkey and ham/gammon sandwich with mayo and cranberry. Good stuff.
Post by: seafoid on December 27, 2022, 10:58:39 AM
Mayo God help us.