GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Kerry Mike on May 29, 2007, 04:55:35 PM

Title: Waterford v Kerry Munster SFC
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 29, 2007, 04:55:35 PM
I know its of little interest to most of ye, but the All Ireland Champions set out in chase of that elusive 2 in a row on Sunday. Live on TV as well I believe.

This time last year Waterford made a good game of it for about 50 mins with Kerry eventually pulling away and winning 16 pts to 8pts.

Sunday will be Pat O'Shea's first championship outing and it will be interesting to see how we come out of the blocks, last year the Munster campaign was a disaster for Kerry, the first time ever I believe they failed to score a goal. The heads were not right and I just wonder do we have the hunger for the long summer ahead. Winning Munster has to be the first target.

Kerry manager Pat O'Shea reports no injury worries ahead of Sunday's Munster SFC semi-final against Waterford in Dungarvan.

Midfielder Tommy Griffin, who had been an injury doubt, proved his fitness by coming through a club game for Dingle last weekend, and is expected to renew his successful partnership with Darragh O Se.

Footballer of the Year Kieran Donaghy and Killian Young have been taking a full part in training in recent weeks and will also be contention for starting places. Donaghy is expected to start at full forward where he will be flanked by Colm Cooper and Mike Frank Russell.

Team probably named tomorrow.

Waterford named an unchanged team last night.
Title: Re: Waterford v Kerry Munster SFC
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 29, 2007, 05:00:24 PM
I'd expect a line up of something along the lines of the following , but there is a large panel to pick from so its really a guess.

Diarmuid Murphy
Marc O'Se
Tom O'Sullivan
Padraig Reidy
Tomas O'Se
Aidan O'Mahony
Killian Young
Tommy Griffin
Darragh O'Se
Bryan Sheehan
Eoin Brosnan
Paul Galvin
Mike Frank Russell
Kieran Donaghy
Colm Cooper
Post by: AZOffaly on May 29, 2007, 05:01:02 PM
why is this on TV???

This is like televising a public execution.
Post by: cavan4ever on May 29, 2007, 05:17:36 PM
They though it was going to be Kerry V Clare and Paudi but Waterford didn't read the script !!
Post by: mannix on May 29, 2007, 05:37:07 PM
Its like televising david versus goliath but goliath has a couple of handy forwards.
This is not entertainment by any means, I would imagine there are a few kerry clubs that would beat waterford.
Post by: darbyo on May 29, 2007, 06:15:30 PM
QuoteI would imagine there are a few kerry clubs that would beat waterford

Well considering two Waterford clubs nearly won the Munster club football championship in the last 3 years I'd say that's well off the mark. Waterford have beaten Cavan, Sligo and Clare in the past 15 months or so, won the U-21 in 2003(I think),beating a team coached by Jack O'Connor and with the Gooch and Declan O'Sullivan on the team. They also lost to Limerick in the final of 2001, an U-21 team that backboned the Limerick senior teams that were unlucky not to win a senior Munster title. Despite what some obviously think football is widely played in Waterford and is pretty strong. Infact if football was stronger in the city, Waterford may well be more of a football county than a hurling one since football is at least as widely played outside the city.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 29, 2007, 06:32:43 PM
OK darbyo,

Given all that, which is true of course, do you expect Waterford to be within 10 points of Kerry come 6 o'clock Sunday evening?

I don't.
Post by: TBT on May 29, 2007, 09:14:07 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 29, 2007, 05:01:02 PM
why is this on TV???

KK Offaly will be the execution.
If Cody has them frothing at the mouth KK will be 30+ pts clear by the end.
Post by: deiseach on May 29, 2007, 09:32:09 PM
Quote from: darbyo on May 29, 2007, 06:15:30 PM
Despite what some obviously think football is widely played in Waterford and is pretty strong. Infact if football was stronger in the city, Waterford may well be more of a football county than a hurling one since football is at least as widely played outside the city.

I've never quite understood why we're so poor at football given the vibrant football championship we have in Waterford. it's certainly far more competitive than the hurling championship.

Given the fright-of-sorts Kerry got last year, I doubt they'll be blasé enough to be caught out. They might even give us a good shoeing for having the temerity to get notions above our station. Whatever happens, the winner will be wearing jerseys originating in Waterford!

(http://www.scoilsport.org/finals/boysmini7countyhurling/mini7cohurl0304/KILROSSANTYB.jpg) (https://www.fethard.com/nationalist/1999/19990626.html)
Post by: dodo on May 29, 2007, 09:51:03 PM
Micilín must use the same advertising gurus that come up with the toy advertisement campaigns  :-\.
Post by: magickingdom on May 30, 2007, 11:18:08 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 29, 2007, 06:32:43 PM
OK darbyo,

Given all that, which is true of course, do you expect Waterford to be within 10 points of Kerry come 6 o'clock Sunday evening?

I don't.

dont take that bet with the charity bet az ;). dont see 10 points in it at all. in spite of waterfords improvement in recent years i can only see a kerry win. deiseach point about the vibrant football championship that they have in waterford is well made but can be repeated for many counties thro out ireland eg cavan.. why dont they do as well in the county scene? imo the system in place and dedication...
Post by: AZOffaly on May 30, 2007, 11:20:45 AM
As for Offaly Kilkenny, yes, I hope to jaysus that's not on telly either. It'll be bad enough to be there.

Of course I live in hope that we can cause an upset, but the TV schedulers shouldn't be putting games like that on in the hope that something mad happens, as it only happens every so often.

Post by: darbyo on May 30, 2007, 11:38:45 AM
Sorry AZ I've been away since I last posted, to answer your question I agree with you, I think Kerry will probably win quite easily. But many people come on here posting about the values of the GAA, the arguements about tickets for the Dublin/Meath/Wicklow/Louth game being on of them. Waterford V Kerry will probably be one of the poorest contests of the whole championship and will have little interest for the general GAA public let alone the general sporting public but Waterford deserve there day in the sun. There isn't much to inspire lads to give up their time to play county football in Waterford, next Sunday will be one small victory for Waterford footballing folk regardless of the result. Any GAA man should at least understand that.
                   On the reasons why Waterford (and some other counties) aren't more successful, a lack of dedication isn't one of them IMO. While they probably don't put in the same effort as the Kerry's of this world that is because there aren't the same rewards available. If a Waterford team put in the exact same effort on and off the field as a Kerry or Tyrone team then the Waterford lads dedication to the game would infact be far inexcess of the Kerry or Tyrone boys.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 30, 2007, 11:43:27 AM
QuoteAny GAA man should at least understand that.

I agree completely, and am all for lesser counties appearing on TV in the early rounds of the competitions, or if they progress beyond expectation to Provincial finals, AI QFs etc etc, but I cannot see how this wil be a 'day in the sun' for Waterford. I don't think them running out, and getting a scutching off Kerry in Dungarvan will do anything for them personally, for Gaelic football nationally, and especially for Gaelic football in Waterford.

I would have loved to have seen Waterford and Clare on TV. Two well matched teams, in a championship game both could have expectations of winning.
Post by: darbyo on May 30, 2007, 11:51:32 AM
Fair enough AZ and I do agree with all your points but your dismissing Waterfords ability to even make the game semi competitive which I think is a bit harsh. Furthermore between clashes with more attractive games and the possibility that Waterford may not win a first round game for another few years I think they desreve it now. It won't do anything for football in Waterford but I think it will mean a lot to those who have toiled away for football in the county and that IMO is reason enough.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 30, 2007, 11:53:57 AM
Fair enough darbyo. I won't labour the point anymore. I hope Waterford do themselves justice, and I agree that it is a bit of a bonus for the lesser lights to get their game on TV.

I hope I am wrong about the competitiveness of the game, but I genuinely feel that if Waterford come within 10 points, it is because Kerry will be coasting along in 2nd gear.

Hope I am wrong though.

Also re 'clashes with other more attractive games', well that's the decision for the GAA and RTE to make. Is the purpose of televising the games solely about showing the big games, or is there an aim of advancing other counties as well?

The likes of Tyrone, Armagh, Donegal, Galway and Mayo will have loads of TV appearances by the end of the summer. I know people would want to watch those teams as well, but it's a balancing act I think.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 12:24:29 PM
QuoteFair enough AZ and I do agree with all your points but your dismissing Waterfords ability to even make the game semi competitive which I think is a bit harsh.

He can't help himself darbyo, he's been knobbled by the Dromid mafia.  ;)
Post by: Uladh on May 30, 2007, 12:30:31 PM

I see Quill has shot himself in the foot by playing for the club at the weekend. maybe he saw the annual championship dropping on the cards coming from o'shea anyway and just decided to play away?
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 30, 2007, 03:30:25 PM
Kerry Team Announced:

Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle)
Pádraig Reidy (Scartaglin), Tom O'Sullivan (Rathmore), Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht);
Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore), Killian Young (Renard);
Darragh Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), Micheal Quirke (Kerins O'Rahillys);
Declan O'Sullivan (Capt) (Dromid Pearses), Eoin Brosnan (Dr. Crokes), Paul Galvin (Finuge);
Colm Cooper (Dr. Crokes), Kieran Donaghy (Austin Stacks), Mike Frank Russell (Laune Rangers)

Subs:
Kieran Cremin (Dr. Crokes), Seamus Scanlon (Currow), Sean O'Sullivan (Cromane), Mossie Lyons (Castleisland Desmonds), Darren O'Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar), Declan Quill (Kerins O'Rahillys), Bryan Sheehan (St. Marys), Daniel Bohane (Austin Stacks), Paul O'Connor (Kenmare), Rónan Ó Flatharta (An Ghaeltacht), Kieran O'Leary (Dr. Crokes), Tommy Griffin (Dingle), Ronan Hussey (Sneem), Donncha Walsh (Cromane), Daniel Doyle (Churchill)

From my earlier guess just 2 changes, Michael Quirke in for Tommy Griffin at Midfield and Declan O'Sullivan for Bryan Sheehan at wing forward. Declan also regains the South Kerry held captaincy.

Strong looking line up and a full panel of subs to pick from too.

Championship starts in the backs for the first time for Padraig Reidy and Killian Young while Tome O'Sullivan gets the chance to nail down the full back spot.

Quirke starting is a surprise but Griffin has ony returned from injury so will be interested to see how big Quirke gets on, He can swap woth Donaghy at full forward too so thats an extra option. Donaghy is playing his first game since putting out his shoulder so will see if he hits the ground running. Pat O'Shea says he still has room to improve from last year so thats good news for the Kingdom!!!!

After all the chopping and changing up front during the league its back to an experienced looking 6.
Post by: armaghniac on May 30, 2007, 03:58:18 PM
QuotePat O'Shea says he still has room to improve from last year so thats good news for the Kingdom!!!!

Waterford have far more room for improvement than Kerry!! Can either improve though.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 30, 2007, 05:31:37 PM
QuoteDeclan O'Sullivan (Capt) (Dromid Pearses),

Wow. Big comeback from Dec. Some honour if he is to be Kerry captain for 3 years in a row. Can't remember the last time that would have happened.
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 30, 2007, 05:36:17 PM
AZ I'd say its a first for a Kerryman and I'd say there will be no Crokes man being nominated as vice captain after the goings on last year.

More importantly I hope Declan continues where he left off in the final last year, he had a poor munster championship last year which put him under savage pressure, thankfully it worked out in the end.

Will soon see if he has the hunger after spending the winter in Oz.
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 01, 2007, 03:11:41 PM
Wasting my time by bumping this up, but some of us have to keep the flag flying for the Munster Championship.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 01, 2007, 04:00:39 PM
KM, will you be going to the Dromid Pearse's racenight on Saturday night?
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on June 01, 2007, 04:28:52 PM
Can hardly blame RTE for scheduling this one - they thought Clare would win the last day and we would be subjected to a week of Paidi v Kerry.
Would have drawn a crowd to see what his reaction would have been. Waterford scuppered these plans.
The game being on telly suits me as I'm off to a wedding up the country but in all honesty the game should not be on, complete mismatches should be avoided. Kilkenny v Offaly in hurling as already mentioned. Galway v Leitrim ditto.
Kerry by 8+, we rarely flake teams (save Cork/Mayo) but will win with a bit to spare.
Only interest thing will be how Mike Quirke fares in midfield, I had expected to see Seamus Scanlon getting the nod but instead it's a big chance for Quirke.
I have my doubts about his mobility and kick passing for intercounty football but hopefully I will be proved wrong.
It's a big year for Declan O'Sullivan, he will not get the same latitude from management this year with Sean O'Sullivan breathing down his neck. Declan was a free scoring player with both Kerry minors and Colaiste Na Sceillge but now his role seems to be that of ball carrier which in my mind is a shame 'cos he could score.
Killian Young is the real deal a future Kerry full back not sure about him at wing back but great to see him on.
Padraig Reidy has been on the panel for three years so it's good to see him making the breakthrough too.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 01, 2007, 04:38:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 29, 2007, 05:01:02 PM
why is this on TV???

I know Longford are of alot higher standard, but many people thought the same about them against Kerry last year. I won a few quid on Waterford against Clare, if you could get a handicap bet of 5 points it might be worth a shot. Maybe Kerry might try and use the game as preperation for Cork or later the likes of Tyrone, Dublin, Donegal, Galway, Armagh, Meath, Mayo etc. If Waterford can get an early goal or two and catch Kerry in their early season complacancy they might pull it off, but I doubht it, even if they create the shock of shocks I would still fancy Kerry to be lifting Sam in September.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 01, 2007, 04:56:02 PM
Interesting Kerry lineup.

If I were Declan Quill I'd be a bit peeved. Every year come championship he's bench warming and he'd make nearly any other county team in the land! Has he ever started a c'ship game?

Is Quirke the big basketballer fella? Is he not a bit heavy for midfield - would he have the legs for a full seventy there?

Bryan Sheehan is another boy who could perhaps struggle to make the breakthrough too.

Good to see Declan O'Sullivan on the team too. He's a good footballer and showed some good character getting back from the dead last year to have a good AIF.

Mossy Lyons played the whole league too did he not? Would guess him and Quill particularly wouldn't be too happy about bench warming.
Post by: Stranworst on June 03, 2007, 02:09:58 PM
I would have Sheehan starting definitely. Mianly because I have twenty quid on him to be the top scorer in the championship! Thought he would start and his free taking would push him on for me!
Post by: joemamas on June 03, 2007, 02:16:47 PM
dont know whats worse , watching the game or listening to canning.

At lease he wont be doing Dublin V Meath
Post by: Elias on June 03, 2007, 02:21:37 PM
Game over, sorry Waterford!

Post by: ziggysego on June 03, 2007, 02:28:55 PM
Jesus, Kerry's giving Waterford a wile hammering.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 03, 2007, 02:29:57 PM
What's the score, Zigg
Post by: joemamas on June 03, 2007, 02:30:48 PM
what are rte going to put on for the second half, glenroe .

both RTE and the GAA "schedule planning committee" should be brought to task. Only winners today are the people who are not gaa supporters.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 03, 2007, 02:31:52 PM
2-6 to 0-1 30 minutes gone - took waterford the 30 minutes to score.

I'm ready to sleep!
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 03, 2007, 03:27:10 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 03, 2007, 02:16:47 PM
dont know whats worse , watching the game or listening to canning.
They'll have a job cleaning up the commetary box after him, drooling over Kerry since the start. The patronisation is quite irritating too.
Post by: Sandy Hill on June 03, 2007, 03:53:13 PM
Today's "match" was a complete farce and illustrates so clearly the lopsided and unjust set-up of the AI Championship. Kerry had what was no more than a training session today and are immediately into a Provincial Final from which they'll march fairly easily into the 1/4 Finals. To get to the same stage, whoever ends up as Ulster Champions will have had to come through 3 hard games. I know these sentiments have been rehearsed here before but it just seems so unfair.
During the RTE coverage of the game Lyster once again showed his aversion to anything remotely controversial; as soon as Brolly or O'Rourke veered towards comparing the challenge facing Kerry in Munster and those facing counties from other provinces (twice) he changed the topic immediately!
Post by: darbyo on June 03, 2007, 04:10:57 PM
Quotewhoever ends up as Ulster Champions will have had to come through 3 hard games.

don't think this is quite true, one side of the draw is tough the other side though involves teams that probably would'nt win any of the other provinces.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 03, 2007, 06:15:34 PM
Spillane picked out two ulster matches this morning for being poor (in fact he said gaelic football was finished as a result of them) this morning despite Armagh Donegal producing a real titanic battle last week that I and many others found entertaining. How anyone from Munster can criticise other championships I dont know!
Post by: darbyo on June 03, 2007, 06:54:02 PM
Extremely disappointed with the Waterford performance today, couldn't believe that Waterford had no tactical ploys to win their own kickouts. They just lashed the ball down the middle and hoped for the best, and this with an opposition midfield containing Dara O'Shea. When they did win it they had no discernable style of play, two forwards were isolated in the full forward line with no idea of how to get it into them. In saying that Thomas O'Gorman and Justin Walsh were magnificent but an outside coach is needed. I'm afraid that coaches who only see football in Waterford haven't enough know how to raise the levels.
Post by: magickingdom on June 03, 2007, 06:55:13 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on May 30, 2007, 11:18:08 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 29, 2007, 06:32:43 PM
OK darbyo,

I don't.

dont take that bet with the charity bet az ;). dont see 10 points in it at all. in spite of waterfords improvement in recent years i can only see a kerry win. deiseach point about the vibrant football championship that they have in waterford is well made but can be repeated for many counties thro out ireland eg cavan.. why dont they do as well in the county scene? imo the system in place and dedication...

hope you didnt listen to me az... didnt see that coming, everyone must have been trying to impress the new boss.
Post by: deiseach on June 03, 2007, 08:40:11 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 03, 2007, 02:30:48 PM
both RTE and the GAA "schedule planning committee" should be brought to task. Only winners today are the people who are not gaa supporters.

We have form for knackering the best laid plans of the schedulers. In the light of the scorching matches between Tipp and Cork in 1987, they decided to use the excuse of the 100th Munster hurling final to get the game on telly in 1989. Except Waterford beat Cork - and after a replay, no less! - and everyone (not least Waterford) was left wishing they hadn't shown that particular final. . .

The gulf in class was quite stark today, wasn't it? Okay, it was one of the best versus one of the worst, but Kerry won it pulling up. Waterford are making progress, but it's tortuous stuff.
Post by: darbyo on June 03, 2007, 09:07:03 PM
QuoteWaterford are making progress, but it's tortuous stuff.
I'd disagree, the U-21s were also hammered this year and I can see no sign of progress in Waterford football. When I heard John Kiely saying that Waterford would be as fit as any team in the country because they were doing physical trainiing all winter and that the players hardly saw a ball I knew they were f**ked. Any team should be using the ball a minimum of 40% of any training session, working their way up to 95-100% ball work. Especially counties like Waterford.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 03, 2007, 11:27:26 PM
Depressing game to watch, Waterford were hammered, but are not in the same class as Kerry, just shows what Kerry are capable of, their just upset that their was no real contest. Luckily for Waterford that Kerry totally took the foot off the gas and still beat them!
Post by: orangeman on June 04, 2007, 10:14:03 AM
Kerry are awesome - they did a job on Waterford in the first half and were a joy to watch - the pundits are right - it's Kerry's All Ireland to lose -
Post by: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 10:31:29 AM
a fine point see Tyrone thread.
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 05, 2007, 01:29:57 PM
A poor game for the neutral last Sunday and not the best of Live games to be showing on RTE but lots of positives from our point of view.

Corks rout of Tipp also showed up the lopsided effect in Munster but that's the system and you play what's put in front of you, and until someone comes up with a viable alternative we are stuck with it.

Given the debacle that was Kerry approach to the Munster championship last year its good to get a good win under our belts and hopefully get a head of steam up for greater challenges ahead.

Kerry's approach was spot on on Sunday in the first half, they went out with the intent to nail the game early and once we got the goals it was game over. Similar to the tail end of last year once the early goals came, there was no way back for the opposition.

A surprising choice by Waterford to hand Kerry the advantage of playing with the strong wind in that first half, in the papers today the manager said it was the players choice and the captain said he was instructed by management to do so. Someone fecked up.

I think the whole hype and history about 1957 got to Waterford as well and they were very poor in the first half. I was expecting a sterner challenge from them, given that a lot of that team had beaten Kerry in a U21 match a few years ago, but few besides Aherne and the full back put in decent performances for them.

From our players point of view, Diarmuid Murphy kept a clean sheet though Waterford were unlucky in the 2nd half not to goal , hitting the post and crossbar in succession, he swept up a few ball coming behind the full back line but otherwise had little to keep him occupied.

Padraig Reidy: Very impressive first outing for the Kingdom, he read the game well and had a few great interceptions at the start of the second half. Will face a tough battle against Cork and will be interesting to see if he gets the marking job on James Masters.

Tom O'Sullivan: Again covered well and did nothing wrong, still early days yet and still prove himself as Mike McCarthy's replacement at full back. 6 foot 7 Michael Cussen will be a huge battle for him in the Munster final and I am sure Tom will be getting plenty of high balls in training against Donaghy to build himself up for the that challenge.

Marc O'Se: A committed display again from the classy O'Se, kicked a fine point but there was not a Waterford man within 20m of him. Defended well when needed to.

Tomas O'Se: An excellent performance from Tomas and good to see he has the hunger for battle this early in the year, drove at Waterford at every opportunity and got up for a point near the end.

Aidan O'Mahony: Got on plenty of ball and distributed well but did not exert himself, didnt have to.

Killian Young: Another new starter from last year and good to see an assured performance from the Renard man, got up well in attack and made Brosnan's first goal when he might have had a chance to shoot himself. Has plenty of football in him and now needs to continue his growth in the Kerry no 7 jersey.

Michael Quirke: Got on the ball from the throw in, won plenty of primary ball with his height and strength and laid it off quickly basketball style, his kicking game is still suspect, and he should have nailed a fairly easy chance of a point in the first half, his mobility is not great but is a good option in Midfield if needed, expect Tommy Griffin to be back for the Cork game though.

Darragh O'Se: A very quite game by his standards but still pushed on the team from Midfield when needed, His presence around the middle is vital. Cork beckons and that always get O'Se blood boiling.

Declan O'Sullivan: Looked rusty after being out of the game for a few months but worked hard and made it difficult for the Waterford backs when they had the ball. Will have a battle on his hands for the Cork game to hold a place on the team with either Darren and Sean O'Sullivan pushing hard for inclusion.

Eoin Brosnan: 2 Trademark goals, he is nearly unstoppable when he comes onto the ball at speed like that and feeds off the full forward line well. Centre forward is is best position but was wroking really hard all around on Sunday. Just a pity he did not bury that chance he had in the 02 final !!!!

Paul Galvin: Back to his terrier like self, must be a hoor to play against, always tackling and causing problems and he can kick a few good points too when the mood takes him. Needs to keep a clear head on the football and not get sucked into the tricks the Langers will have lined up for him. A vital part of the team even though he faded in the second half when the game was won and we were only winding down the clock.

Colm Cooper: Started well when he was used as a decoy target man but was well held by the corner back. Will rise to the challenge of the Cork game. has had a long season already so needs now to focus on the Kerry jersey.

Kieran Donaghy: Well off the pace and little things did not work for him, had a few shots blocked and intercepted, worked hard for the team when the ball was with Waterford. Seemed to be lacking confidence, and seemed to pull out of a few challanges because of his shoulder injury, but he has 4 weeks to get right for the huge figure of Graham Canty looming large in the Munster final, Should be one of the key clashs. in fairness Kudos to the Waterford full back for playing him well.

Mike Frank Russell: was buzzing about for the first few minutes but after the goals he seemed to lose interest, will needto contribute in training over the next few weeks to make the team for the final.

Subs: Was impressed with Paul O'Connor, has bulked up since I seen him last and scored 2 good points, seemed to have jumped up the queue ahead of Bryan Sheehan and Declan Quill to be the inside line replacement and could be a dark horse of the summer.
Darren and Sean O'Sullivan will add pace to the half forward line and any tiring wing back will not want to see them coming on to the field. Both can score too.
Seamus Scanlon got a brief run at midfield but expect Tommy Griffin to be back for the Langers.
Mossy Lyons will be the odd man out again at wing back if Young continues his form, but Lyons is an able replacement.

Overall, a good performance from us, but poor opposition on the day, but we will only rate our chances after the Munster final. Pat O'Shea has got his championship career off to a good start but we will have to win 4 more games to retain Sam so there is a long road ahead with lots of room for improvement.

The lads look fit, strong and hunger which is good to see at this time of the year, and I am sure they will be knocking lumps out of each other over the next few weeks in training.

So we've cleared the first hurdle and the road to Sam is one little step closer, but there is a Beecher's Brook coming up in the form of a Munster final between the bitter rivals and we will not look beyond that. Bring on the Langers....
Post by: AZOffaly on June 05, 2007, 09:55:07 PM
Did you notice the Waterford trainer was wearing a Rangers jersey when they did the intro piece at the training session before the game? Mr. Fearon mustn't have seen it or there'd be a thread here :)

Post by: mannix on June 05, 2007, 11:59:16 PM
This lark of waterford and co getting battered makes for poor entertainment and the further weakening of the game in those counties.Tipp and waterford looked so weak it was annoying, a change is needed, this crack of 2 teams winning the province every year bar 2 since 1935 is not good.
Any ideas?
Post by: Declan on June 06, 2007, 09:03:13 AM

QuoteAny ideas?

Yeah disband the Munster championships and put Cork and Kerry into Connacht and Ulster respectively ;)
Post by: armaghniac on June 06, 2007, 11:14:37 AM
QuoteDid you notice the Waterford trainer was wearing a Rangers jersey

If he had worn a Crossmaglen Rangers jersey, they might have given Kerry a better game!
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 06, 2007, 12:14:06 PM
QuoteIf he had worn a Crossmaglen Rangers jersey, they might have given Kerry a better game

Maybe if the Armagh gang wore them last August they might have given us a better game too:
Kerry 3-15 Armagh 1-13
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2007, 12:15:29 PM

QuoteMaybe if the Armagh gang wore them last August they might have given us a better game too:
Kerry 3-15 Armagh 1-13

Ouch! The word here is, I believe, 'Touché'. :D
Post by: darbyo on June 06, 2007, 12:36:18 PM
QuoteThis lark of waterford and co getting battered makes for poor entertainment and the further weakening of the game in those counties.Tipp and waterford looked so weak it was annoying, a change is needed, this crack of 2 teams winning the province every year bar 2 since 1935 is not good.
Any ideas?

For entertainment the game was rubbish but it was never going to be anything else. If Waterford were going to be competitive then they would have to play with  most of their team behind the ball, in saying that the obvious lack of any kind of game plan or tactics to nullify Kerry was shocking to say the least. The beating both counties suffered won't help football in the counties but it won't weaken it either. The best way to give Munster counties some kind of a championship is through the round robin system they use in the minor grade. The 4 weak counties play each other once thus guaranteeing 3 winnable games for each county and the top two meet Cork and Kerry in the semi's. All the counties can still go into the TM or the quailifiers dependent on there standing, which means that Waterford for example will play at least 4 games even in a bad year. This would be better than what went on last Sunday I think.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 06, 2007, 12:38:55 PM
Can you see Frank Murphy allowing anything like giving a sucker an even break, darbyo?
Post by: darbyo on June 06, 2007, 12:58:21 PM
Probably not BB but I think there's positives for Cork/Kerry in the proposal aswell, they'll play the 2 best of the rest who'll have played 3 games already, as a result they should get a reasonsbly competitive game in the semi's. And of course the final would be competitive. I think it's the only realistic competition within the provicial system. It's already up and running at minor level and has helped the weaker counties become more competitive without breaking the Cork/Kerry domination.
Post by: bombidal on June 06, 2007, 02:48:11 PM
Is Eoin Brosnan the best goalscorer of all time in this code ?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2007, 02:54:53 PM
I certainly think Brosnan is the best goalscoring threat from Centre Forward in my memory. He is certainly more of a goal threat than a playmaker.
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 06, 2007, 02:59:36 PM
yerra don't be swelling his head, I'd say he has a long way to go yet.

EB's Championship goals:
2001 - zero
2002 - 2 v Wicklow, 1 v Kildare
2003 - zero
2004 - 1 v Clare, 1 v Limerick
2005 - 1 v Tipperary, 1 v Cork,
2006 - 3 v Longford, 1 v Armagh, 1 v Mayo
2007 - 2 v Waterford
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2007, 03:00:59 PM
That's some average for a centre forward though. 2 goals a year for 7 years so far.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 06, 2007, 03:03:05 PM
That was John Kiely the manager wearing the Rangers shirt wasnt it?
Not that it makes one iota of a difference anyway.
I was very disappointed in Waterford Sunday,i have taken an interest in the development of football there since they ruined our promotion dreams last year.
They were competitive in the league, and done well against Clare,but just didnt have it on Sunday.

Brosnan has ridiculous timing when making his runs through the heart of the defense,He always seems to be coming through at full speed in space at the right time.

Post by: Kerry Mike on June 06, 2007, 03:08:04 PM
Speed is Brosnan's key asset, and being able to hit the ball low and hard for a big man travelling at speed takes a fair bit of skill, most big lads would throw abck the head and end up ballooning it high. He always seems to make space for a shot and have the confidence to go for it. Most of his goals come from that situation. I'd say the Gooch has a hand in most of them too, being clubmates its something they have great timing on.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 06, 2007, 03:14:09 PM
im suprised more teams dont indulge in some illegal activities, (bodychecking,pulling and dragging etc) to stop his runs.

Few defenders one on one can cope with pure speed like Brosnan has.
Post by: armaghniac on June 06, 2007, 03:15:40 PM
QuoteMaybe if the Armagh gang wore them last August they might have given us a better game too:

Big difference between a game that is competitive for 66 minutes and one competitive for 66 seconds. But sure when the langers beat you, an away trip to Armagh will be handy draw in the qualifiers, and you can drop in on the in-laws.

Quoteyerra don't be swelling his head

A Kerryman with a swelled head, that's hardly likely is it?

QuoteI'd say the Gooch has a hand in most of them too, being clubmates its something they have great timing on.

A fine combination, and one that goes a long way to making their club the second best in Ireland.
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 06, 2007, 03:26:10 PM
Quotetheir club the second best in Ireland

They are barely the second best in Kerry never mind Ireland  :P 

Ciarrai Theas Abu.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2007, 03:27:36 PM
He said Club, Mike, Cliub, not league of nations :)
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 06, 2007, 03:33:05 PM
Never mind the League of Nations , its the United Nations you would need to sort out some of the local bitter rivalies in Iveragh. How they ever come together to form a winning team is beyond me at times, but those townie Crokes lads have no answer to us savages from the South West
Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 06, 2007, 07:47:41 PM
QuoteBig difference between a game that is competitive for 66 minutes and one competitive for 66 seconds. But sure when the langers beat you, an away trip to Armagh will be handy draw in the qualifiers, and you can drop in on the in-laws.

blah, blah...whatever....fact is you were hanging on for dear life in that game and 8 points was a fair reflection on the relative abilities of the teams.

QuoteA Kerryman with a swelled head, that's hardly likely is it?

With 34 AI we are still more humble than you Johnny-come-latelys with your one (gifted to you by Kerry) AI

QuoteA fine combination, and one that goes a long way to making their club the second best in Ireland.

At least Crokes have to win a proper County Championship to represent the County. Makes Armagh bies complaining about how "weak" Munster is laughable. 11 in a row...jesus, what a joke.

Post by: armaghniac on June 06, 2007, 08:44:04 PM
QuoteWith 34 AI we are still more humble than you

When I see a posting by MS I always know it will be humble and balanced.  :P

Quotewith your one (gifted to you by Kerry) AI

Gifted, my arse, more like you couldn't do anything about it.

At least Crokes have to win a proper County Championship to represent the County. Makes Armagh bies complaining about how "weak" Munster laughable. 11 in a row...jesus, what a joke.

Is this the championship with the amalgamation teams representing areas the size of Armagh? Crossmaglen are in a parish with 3 other teams, all of them senior in recent years, and no talk of amalgamation there. Sure if they can beat the best the great Kerry has to offer is it any wonder they win the Armagh championship!

Post by: Mike Sheehy on June 06, 2007, 10:06:18 PM
QuoteSure if they can beat the best the great Kerry has to offer is it any wonder they win the Armagh championship!

Sure, there are Junior teams in Kerry that would probably give them more of a game than what ye have presently. Seriously,
do any of the other Senior teams in Armagh have any pride at all. Frankly, no matter how good a team is, to leave your
opponents win 11 years in a row is downright embarassing.
Post by: deiseach on June 06, 2007, 10:56:39 PM
Quote from: darbyo on June 03, 2007, 09:07:03 PM
QuoteWaterford are making progress, but it's tortuous stuff.
I'd disagree, the U-21s were also hammered this year and I can see no sign of progress in Waterford football. When I heard John Kiely saying that Waterford would be as fit as any team in the country because they were doing physical trainiing all winter and that the players hardly saw a ball I knew they were f**ked. Any team should be using the ball a minimum of 40% of any training session, working their way up to 95-100% ball work. Especially counties like Waterford.

Waterford have won four senior football matches in the last two years. Not so long ago, we were lamenting not having Kilkenny around so we could get a token victory.
Post by: darbyo on June 08, 2007, 11:09:05 AM
QuoteWaterford have won four senior football matches in the last two years. Not so long ago, we were lamenting not having Kilkenny around so we could get a token victory.

True enough but I would define progress as a steady upward curve. Take for example the guy (On Jan 1st)who's trying to lose 3 stone in time for championship, if he loses 2 stone by May but stops training and goes on the beer and ice cream circuit for the next month,putting it all back on then he has some positives to reflect on i.e Jan - May but no progress made. Don't get me wrong I'm not trying to be overly critical but I know a bit about the club scene in Waterford and even with hurling as the dominant game, the county footballers should be much more competitive. And I'm afraid that John Kiely is not the type of manager to lead Waterford forward. With respect to the man(he is putting tremendous time and effort into football in the county), turning up to a championship game in anything other than a Waterford track suit is amaturism of the highest order. It reflects badly on the set up, this allied to a complete lack of any game plan shows that little or no preparation was put in. Anyone can get a team fit but much more is expected of a county level backroom staff than that.