GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: stephenite on May 29, 2007, 04:09:54 AM

Title: Cheeky arrogant Dubs at it again
Post by: stephenite on May 29, 2007, 04:09:54 AM
From todays Examiner

29 May 2007

Leinster reject Dubs' 'insensitive' Croker bid

By Brendan Coffey
LEINSTER Council chiefs yesterday flatly rejected a cheeky bid by Dublin officials to have Sunday's second replay of the football championship clash between Wicklow and Louth moved from Croke Park.

A formal request was submitted to the provincial council yesterday morning, seeking that GAA headquarters host only the eagerly awaited Dublin-Meath quarter final clash on the basis of incredible ticket demand in the capital and because 'the Louth Wicklow game could be accommodated elsewhere.'

Leinster Council chairman Liam O'Neill described the move as "insensitive" to GAA people in Wicklow and Louth. Asked if the move amounted to arrogance on Dublin's part, O'Neill said: "I don't disagree with that view."

Wicklow manager Mick O'Dwyer agreed, saying: "They are of course (arrogant). The stadium is there for all the counties to use, not just the Dubs. We had a huge crowd in Parnell Park on Sunday and if we were in Croke Park we would have had a way bigger crowd."

The request to have the stadium given over to Dublin is not the first time the metropolitans and the Leinster Council have clashed over venues. Last year Dublin pushed to have their first round Leinster clash with Longford moved from Pearse Park to Croker because of a similar demand for tickets.

"It's a huge promotional opportunity for us to have Wicklow and Louth children in Croke Park to see their heroes. We're about fair play, we're not about money," said O'Neill, a candidate for next year's GAA presidency.

"The original fixture was for Wexford to play the winners of Louth and Wicklow anyway. We only got the (Dublin) request this morning. We take a very strong view on fair play and we're not even entertaining it. My view would be if the Dublin County Board wants to go to Wicklow and Louth people, explain why they shouldn't play in Croke Park and get an agreement from both, then we might listen," added O'Neill.

So far Dublin have been given nearly 22,000 tickets. They originally received all 8,000 tickets for Hill 16 and 9,000 stand tickets. Last week they requested an extra 1,200 tickets on Tuesday, 1,000 on Wednesday and another 7,000 on Thursday. Yesterday morning they asked for another 2,000 and with the vast majority of 10,000 family tickets destined for the capital, they have received 30,000 in total so far.

"It's only when the soccer is over that the Dubs get interested," said one Wicklow official.

Louth and Wicklow will be meeting for the third Sunday in a row and it's expected that the winners will be given a two-week break before their meeting with Wexford in the quarter-final.

Wexford football manager Paul Bealin has suggested that the game be played as a double header in Croke Park with the Leinster SHC meeting of Wexford and Dublin on June 9, which is fixed for Nowlan Park.

However Croke Park is unavailable for nearly three weeks from June 5th for pitch maintenance which gives rise to an interesting problem if Meath and Dublin draw at Croke Park on Sunday — that of where to play the replay.

The next game scheduled for HQ is the winners of Dublin/Meath and Offaly/Carlow in the Leinster SFC semi-final on Sunday June 24.
Title: Re: Cheeky arrogant Dubs at it again
Post by: dubinhell on May 29, 2007, 09:03:35 AM
Yawn !!!

although they could play one game on Sat and the other on Sunday if Louth/Wicklow are going to bring so many people.
Post by: Gnevin on May 29, 2007, 09:07:46 AM
Everyone talks about maximizing crowds but then it comes to the Dubs we should minimize the Dubs by playing as many games as possible before hand . It makes sense even if your to Culchie to admit it
Post by: INDIANA on May 29, 2007, 09:12:20 AM
won't be whingeing when they'r looking for money to buy footballs and sliotars- and it's the dubs who are paying for it- i mean like play another record. As for Micko maybe someone should ask him is he paying tax on his salary in wicklow because some of us would love to know.
As for O Neill - i'd have more respect for insects crawling on the ground.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2007, 09:14:42 AM
Why oh why do we hear the same every year from the Dublin County Board? Soon, alongside the first cuckoo 'sighting' in the letters pages of Madame Editor's paper, there will be equal billing given to the first sounds of whingeing over tickets from Dublin County Board.

Ignore it......it's just an early sign of summer.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 09:30:50 AM
Quotewhen they'r looking for money to buy footballs and sliotars- and it's the dubs who are paying for it

What a crock of shit! I can guarantee you that not one sliothar or football bought by my club has been paid for by the Dubs.

This problem arises every year and there is only one solution. Dublin must be split into 2 or 3 seperate entities. To have one county senior football team out of 1.5m people is a joke really.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 09:35:24 AM
QuoteTo have one county senior football team out of 1.5m people is a joke really.

Oh Seanie, you'll be getting a call from Joe Duffy over that.  You'd think, with that big a pick, they could knock a decent side together.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2007, 09:39:13 AM
It was originally a double header, wasn't it, with Wexford v Louth/Wicklow as the opening game.

When the Leinster council made these fixtures earlier in the year where was the complaints then?
Was anyone in Dublin County Board awake at the meeting or are the rest of Leinster all agin ye like last year for the game in Longford  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 09:40:23 AM
My comment might be seen as a wind up but I genuinely believe that Dublin needs to be split to maximise the GAA's potential in the capital.
Post by: INDIANA on May 29, 2007, 09:46:03 AM
This problem arises every year and there is only one solution. Dublin must be split into 2 or 3 seperate entities. To have one county senior football team out of 1.5m people is a joke really."

we had this debate before and we don't want three teams -one will do. we've won 1 all ireland in 23 years so we're hardly going to compete effectively with 3 teams - and the 1.5million is an anachronism and thedebate has been debated to death here- i could be all day explaining why the 1.5 million people argument is bullshit. but i'll stick to the point.
micko is shooting the louth/wicklow fans in the foot- some of them may not get tickets now - if we're trying to maximise revenues- you know to build clubhouses-buy football- pay for floodlights- develop grounds this is a dire way of doing it.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 09:51:27 AM
How many All-Irelands have Sligo won in the last 23 years? How many teams would ye be able to set up from areas of 60,000 population or less?

By the way the maximising revenue thing was a bit of a red herring used in the Rule 42 debate. The GAA has plenty of cash and is not drieven by maximising revenues.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 10:07:14 AM
Quotethe 1.5million is an anachronism and thedebate has been debated to death here

It hasn't, as far as I'm concerned.  I still haven't heard a good argument why this can't happen.  We have a population of 32,000 in Longford, including players of other sports, foreign nationals, blah, blah, blah.  I think multiple teams in Dublin would make the sport(s) more competitive in the capital.  F*ck tradition - ye have a tradition of being sore losers and whingers - do ye want to keep those too?  :P
Post by: ludermor on May 29, 2007, 10:12:54 AM
F*ck tradition - ye have a tradition of being sore losers and whingers - do ye want to keep those too? 

:D classic
Post by: Gnevin on May 29, 2007, 10:21:35 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2007, 09:39:13 AM
It was originally a double header, wasn't it, with Wexford v Louth/Wicklow as the opening game.

When the Leinster council made these fixtures earlier in the year where was the complaints then?
Was anyone in Dublin County Board awake at the meeting or are the rest of Leinster all agin ye like last year for the game in Longford  ;)
11 V 1 , hmm i wonder who wins that vote  ::)

Lets not forget their will be about 5,000 - 8,000 a practically empty Croke Park , instead of the Great Atmosphere of a good crowd in the nell
Post by: Sean3 on May 29, 2007, 10:33:49 AM
A small point in the general argument but the population of Dublin is 1.18 million, not 1.5 million (2006 census).
Post by: INDIANA on May 29, 2007, 10:36:21 AM
ye have a tradition of being sore losers and whingers - do ye want to keep those too"

hmm! mayo and longford two of the great bastions of GAA -mayo and longford have seen more of halley's comet then of sam maguire in recent years. i'm not going to get drawn into a debate with some of the tulips on this board- the championship must be starting at the weekend when you see stupid threads like this one.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 10:37:24 AM
QuoteA small point in the general argument but the population of Dublin is 1.18 million, not 1.5 million (2006 census).

Oh, sorry. That destroys my argument.  ???
Post by: Declan on May 29, 2007, 10:39:12 AM
QuoteF*ck tradition - ye have a tradition of being sore losers and whingers - do ye want to keep those too?

Jaysus it must be close to the Dubs entering the championship fray alright. We've been accused of a lot of things over the years but whingers and sore losers would you get a grip. Costello is Dublin secretary isn't he? Perfectly entitled to ask for this. Sure didn't we gladly travel to Longford last year without a word of complaint ;)   

Post by: Sean3 on May 29, 2007, 10:44:43 AM
Oh, sorry. That destroys my argument.  ???

Well, perhaps you might like to expand your argument. How many teams would you see in Dublin? How would you divide the county, population, amount of clubs, local authority boundaries etc? Should Cork, for instance, be similarily divided?
Post by: Hardy on May 29, 2007, 10:49:13 AM
Quote from: Sean3 on May 29, 2007, 10:44:43 AM
Should Cork, for instance, be similarily divided?

If Dublin is to have an extra team, then to preserve the mathematical symmetry of the number 32, Cork should be abolished. If it's to be two extra teams in Dublin, abolish Cork twice.
Post by: Sean3 on May 29, 2007, 10:54:49 AM
Every cloud....
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 11:12:13 AM
Quotemayo and longford two of the great bastions of GAA

I don't know what the Mayo bit is all about, but Longford is a great bastion of GAA alright.  Good man. 

Quotemayo and longford have seen more of halley's comet then of sam maguire in recent years

Is Sam the only GAA competition on earth - Longford have won plenty of other national/provincial titles in the past ten years?  More, per capita, than your wonderful county, I'd be thinking.  Will I keep going?
Post by: fearglasmor on May 29, 2007, 11:15:08 AM
There is plenty of history within Dublin itself of regional boards, North, South, Fingal etc.
There are far more reasoned arguments for at least two Dublin teams than there are against.
Dublin could easily field a second team equallly as average as the current one.

Post by: Declan on May 29, 2007, 11:23:24 AM
QuoteThere are far more reasoned arguments for at least two Dublin teams than there are against

There are many counties with natural internal borders as well Tipp (North and South) Galway (East and West) Clare (East and West), Cork (City and County) so why not widen the debate to include those or is it just based on the population size as against the playing population??

I could not support a divided Dublin team and cannot see any reason for it to happen. Someone once made a suggestion of North Dublin play football and South Dublin play hurling or vice versa and concentrate the two boards efforts to promote that idea but can't see that working either.

Post by: David McKeown on May 29, 2007, 11:24:44 AM
Heres the thing that has always annoyed me about Dublin games in Croke Park.  The fact that they get the entire of the hill.  I have yet to hear a water tight argument as to why this is so, can Dublin fans just not mix with fans from other counties.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 29, 2007, 11:32:46 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 29, 2007, 10:36:21 AM
ye have a tradition of being sore losers and whingers - do ye want to keep those too"

hmm! mayo and longford two of the great bastions of GAA -mayo and longford have seen more of halley's comet then of sam maguire in recent years. i'm not going to get drawn into a debate with some of the tulips on this board- the championship must be starting at the weekend when you see stupid threads like this one.

you have seen a fair bit of hailey's comet yourself  ;)
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 29, 2007, 11:36:33 AM
QuoteCork should be abolished. If it's to be two extra teams in Dublin, abolish Cork twice.

That would get my vote too, d'langers.

As for the Jackeens on the Hill, dont you know its written into GAA rules that they have a god given right to pay less for tickets, to stand and hurl abuse at other teams and officials, but the consolation is there is no greater sight in Irish sport than a full hill of Jackeens crying over another defeat. And they have plenty of practise with that over the years.
Post by: Gnevin on May 29, 2007, 11:43:27 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 29, 2007, 11:24:44 AM
Heres the thing that has always annoyed me about Dublin games in Croke Park.  The fact that they get the entire of the hill.  I have yet to hear a water tight argument as to why this is so, can Dublin fans just not mix with fans from other counties.
Tickets where given to other counties this time but i bet you wont see any of them on the hill
Post by: INDIANA on May 29, 2007, 11:43:41 AM
Heres the thing that has always annoyed me about Dublin games in Croke Park.  The fact that they get the entire of the hill.  I have yet to hear a water tight argument as to why this is so, can Dublin fans just not mix with fans from other counties."

simple answer to this one the other counties give back their hill allocation in exchange for tickets elsewhere. don't ask me why they do it but that's what most of them do. so that's maybe burst a hole in any water-tight argument .
on the population thing- kilmacud support a population of about 300,000 in south dublin - this has been mentioned to the gaa several times about the lack of clubs in south dublin but they've done nothing about it. vast tracts of areas like tallaght don't play GAA. why is it always dublin that has to be split?- what about cork- kilkenny could be split in two easily for hurling and they'd still probably win the all-ireland. same for kerry but then we'd have listen to micko whingeing then i suppose- he must be the best tax exile in this country after john magnier and mc manus.
It's ironic but hurling seems to be growing in numbers at underage level in dublin while football is going the other way.
Post by: Declan on May 29, 2007, 11:44:11 AM
Quotecan Dublin fans just not mix with fans from other counties

What a load of shite. When was the last time you were at a Dublin match in Croker? Plenty of Dubs supporters other than those 10000 or so who inhabit the hill.

(http://www.thesraid.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/08/Img_3276copy.jpg)
Post by: highorlow on May 29, 2007, 11:44:19 AM
There was a NorthCider named Bertie,
and Mickey McDo all  wouldn't give him his Bow all,
Time has moved on and Mc Dowel is gone,
Now that Bertie is back in he will try it agin,
The Dubs can move thier ranch and go and play in Blanch,
no-one gets the blame and the rest of the Country will produce the best games!  

Post by: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 12:07:10 PM
Quotevast tracts of areas like tallaght don't play GAA.

The very reason why Dublin should be split. There's no incentive or will to tackle this problem when you're going to have a good county team anyway.
Post by: Stagmeister on May 29, 2007, 12:12:27 PM
Jesus thats the worst attempt of a poem I've ever read in my life!!!

BTW congrats to that Bastion of football Longford on winning their first leinster championship game in 5 years this summer...here's hoping ye win another one in 2012!!
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 12:13:53 PM
Quotekilmacud support a population of about 300,000 in south dublin - this has been mentioned to the gaa several times about the lack of clubs in south dublin but they've done nothing about it.

Are you honestly saying that there isn't the interest or will in Kilmacud/Sandyford/Dundrum to set up new clubs because of the existence of Crokes?
Post by: Gnevin on May 29, 2007, 12:21:21 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 12:13:53 PM
Quotekilmacud support a population of about 300,000 in south dublin - this has been mentioned to the gaa several times about the lack of clubs in south dublin but they've done nothing about it.

Are you honestly saying that there isn't the interest or will in Kilmacud/Sandyford/Dundrum to set up new clubs because of the existence of Crokes?
Sure , will you be giving this new club 5 + million for a pitch?
Post by: AZOffaly on May 29, 2007, 12:27:06 PM
Sure can't they use the stadium in Tallaght?? (Ducks)
Post by: dubinhell on May 29, 2007, 12:29:52 PM

Another Yawn !!!

They mix quite happily in the Hogan, Cusack and Canal End.

Also many thousands of Hill tickets have been made available to Louth Wicklow and Meath.
Post by: David McKeown on May 29, 2007, 12:50:12 PM
Sorry I was basing this on the quote from the first post on this thread

They (Dublin) originally received all 8,000 tickets for Hill

Also I was being flippant about them not being able to mix I was more wondering if that was the GAA's reasoning for them getting all the hill tickets
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 29, 2007, 12:57:06 PM
If I set up a GAA club in Blackrock will I automatically get 4 All Ireland tickets every year?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 12:57:17 PM
QuoteSure , will you be giving this new club 5 + million for a pitch?

Is there a problem with doing what new clubs all over the world do when they start, i.e. rent public pitches?  For instance, did the GAA Club that set up in Barcelona 'get' €5M+ for a pitch?
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 29, 2007, 01:11:22 PM

Correct me if I'm wrong but do Ballinter St Johns not play on Council grounds?
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 29, 2007, 01:14:47 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 29, 2007, 01:11:22 PM

think you are right, but they finished their big impressive (expensive) clubhouse a year or two ago.
Post by: tayto on May 29, 2007, 01:30:55 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 12:07:10 PM
Quotevast tracts of areas like tallaght don't play GAA.

The very reason why Dublin should be split. There's no incentive or will to tackle this problem when you're going to have a good county team anyway.

Eh, there are 6 clubs in or in the vicinity of Tallaght. Splitting Dublin is a non runner in my cheeky arrogant opinion.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 01:33:48 PM
Tell us why tayto, I'd genuinely like to know.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 29, 2007, 01:34:38 PM
I wouldnt mind seeing dublin split. Could create two very decent football teams imo.

Also I know it was a joke, but splitting Kilkenny and cork would give more decent hurling matches during the season.

Post by: tayto on May 29, 2007, 01:37:41 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 01:33:48 PM
Tell us why tayto, I'd genuinely like to know.

It's a bit like me calling longford the slashers.
It's just wrong.
wrong wrong wrong.
Besides as has been mentioned, we can barely field one decent team.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 29, 2007, 01:40:51 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 29, 2007, 01:14:47 PM

think you are right, but they finished their big impressive (expensive) clubhouse a year or two ago.

Drove past that last week, looks like a great setup.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 01:41:58 PM
Hey, we're the Larries now!

Is the Dublin team's problem not that the pick is only from Senior Clubs, and that the county championship is dominated by a few clubs?  Isn't it the case that an excellent player that plays for a small Junior or Intermediate Club will not ever get a chance at county level.  Structures like this will ensure that 'new' clubs aren't encouraged to set-up.
Post by: tayto on May 29, 2007, 01:50:07 PM
not everyone is from Senior clubs but a good player at a small club is less likely to get his chance at underage and then onto senior alright.

I'm all on for the foundation of new clubs, sher just look at castleknock, only 6 or 7 years old and already have 800 members and won this years hurling feile, just goes to show you what can be done. Should be a new club in adamstown, I think the GAA needs a strategy for new club creation in Dublin to get better penetratio in certain areas, as some of the super clubs have far too big a cachement area, but that's got little or nothing to do with spliting the county side.
Post by: ildanach on May 29, 2007, 01:50:56 PM
tayto,

as an aside, do you still have that league table that you did up on the old site?
Post by: CiKe on May 29, 2007, 01:53:09 PM
In relation to abuse from crowds at a GAA match certainly the worst I can remember was Cork v Offally in the '99 semi-final. God awful day but a fantastic match as I recall. The weather didn't take away from the day at all but the abuse the Cork boys on the Hill gave Johnny Dooley for a full 70 minutes was totally uncalled for and certainly left me a bit disillusioned. Not talking about a few drunks, virtually all of them. Haven't cheered for Cork in a game since.

Haven't been on the Hill for a Dublin game in a long time, I hope there isn't the same problem on a persistent basis
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 02:04:03 PM
Quotethat's got little or nothing to do with spliting the county side

On a representative basis it has; how do you motivate young fellahs to go to the ultimate level, when you (and they) know in your heart and soul that the county selectors will never come to look at them.  And when have you last seen a Dublin team with a bit of spirit about them - they're representing too large a region, it's meaningless to them, compared to the lads playing for Leitrim or Monaghan. 
Post by: INDIANA on May 29, 2007, 02:11:30 PM
Isn't it the case that an excellent player that plays for a small Junior or Intermediate Club will not ever get a chance at county level. "

brian cullen plays for  a division 3 club- so not sure your argument holds through-they do look elsewhere(but they have to be good enough). a solution would be divisional teams which would give these players exposure and maybe bring them up a level- have to be honest i would know the strengths of virtually every intermediate team in dublin and i can't think of one player who would add to the current panel. but maybe similar to the hurling teams in dublin divisional teams should be introduced.

"when have you last seen a Dublin team with a bit of spirit about them - they're representing too large a region, it's meaningless to them, compared to the lads playing for Leitrim or Monaghan.  "

that is a bullshit argument that doesn't merit  aresponse - i could label the same thing against some of the counties beaten in recent weeks- why would you give up life in your 20's if you didn't give a shite about playing for your county.
Post by: Stagmeister on May 29, 2007, 02:15:56 PM

Yeah they play their home matches in Marley Park

The demand just isn't their for new clubs in South Dublin...take a place like dundrum for example, its population has increased dramatically over the last ten years but it still has no GAA club and there is no demand for one either. The closest club to Dundrum is Ballinteer St. Johns. If there was any interest in GAA in Dundrum St. Johns would be getting massive numbers of players joining the club from dundrum, however I've been training with St. Johns for the last couple of years and they usually get about 25 down for a session which is good numbers, but you'd want to be getting at least twice that before you'd even start thinking there was any need for a new club in the area.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 02:24:18 PM
If you build it they will come.

I agree with BB's here. I'd say its very possible for a lad to play football with a club from 10 to 30 and never have anyone from his club play for the county. I think having the opportunity of playing for the county or even having "your own guy" on the county team cannot be underestimated. My club had no-one playing for the county for a good while until the mid 90's and the effect that it has had on the young people round our area is staggering.
Post by: tayto on May 29, 2007, 02:32:56 PM
Billy, well if your're exceptional they'll come to look at you, I suppose it's true that the county side is miles off for only the very tiny top percentage of players in Dublin but there's more players in cork for example, and there's no talk of splitting Cork, the only reason people want to split Dublin is to generate money.

I couldnt agree less with the idea that it means less to a dublin player to represent his county then a player from a county with a smaller population. Dublin means the world to us Dubs, the flack we get on threads like this just reinforces that. There are plenty of comitted lads on that Dublin panel, it's not for effort or lack of desire that we have fallen short, lack of leaders? natural forwards? just that bit of extra quality? more likely. At the same time we're not langishing down in Division Four in both codes either. You hjave to remember GAA in Dublin is not the number one sport. Citywide soccer is way bigger and Rugby is huge in south Dublin, althought he GAA is thriving like never before in these areas.
Post by: tayto on May 29, 2007, 02:37:34 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 02:24:18 PM
If you build it they will come.

I agree with BB's here. I'd say its very possible for a lad to play football with a club from 10 to 30 and never have anyone from his club play for the county. I think having the opportunity of playing for the county or even having "your own guy" on the county team cannot be underestimated. My club had no-one playing for the county for a good while until the mid 90's and the effect that it has had on the young people round our area is staggering.

I agree, if you've a club around the corner it's far more likely to pull in parents and players and the like.

Sure it's a boost of a club has a county player. in Dublin you do have a lot more thet lads transfering then in other counties, i think, to play senior football or whatever, also a lot of county players from elsewhere playing senior football blocking Dubs who've come through the ranks, there's lots of things not ideal about the setup in Dublin as regards the county teams but I dont think splitting the county is an answer to any of them.
Post by: Gnevin on May 29, 2007, 03:24:12 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 02:04:03 PM
Quotethat's got little or nothing to do with spliting the county side

On a representative basis it has; how do you motivate young fellahs to go to the ultimate level, when you (and they) know in your heart and soul that the county selectors will never come to look at them.  And when have you last seen a Dublin team with a bit of spirit about them - they're representing too large a region, it's meaningless to them, compared to the lads playing for Leitrim or Monaghan. 
Meaningless so they train 5 days a week for the laugh?
Post by: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 03:34:45 PM
Quote from: stephenite on May 29, 2007, 04:09:54 AM

"It's a huge promotional opportunity for us to have Wicklow and Louth children in Croke Park to see their heroes. We're about fair play, we're not about money," said O'Neill, a candidate for next year's GAA presidency.

Does he mean the Wicklow and Louth kids' heroes are the Dubs?????
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 03:36:10 PM
I said meaningless, compared to Leitrim and Monaghan, you're quoting me out of context.  But I agree that meaningless is too strong a word - I should have said that it is probably not be as big a deal for them. What I meant was that the lads in the smaller counties know a huge proportion of the people in the crowd cheering for them, they know the people who wish them well on the street, and as Seanie says, they have a huge responsibility to their club and their parish (the future of their own clubs can rest on their shoulders).  
Post by: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 03:41:29 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 03:36:10 PM
I said meaningless, compared to Leitrim and Monaghan, you're quoting me out of context.  But I agree that meaningless is too strong a word - I should have said that it is probably not be as big a deal for them. What I meant was that the lads in the smaller counties know a huge proportion of the people in the crowd cheering for them, they know the people who wish them well on the street, and as Seanie says, they have a huge responsibility to their club and their parish (the future of their own clubs can rest on their shoulders).  

That's utter b*ll*x!

Do you think the Irish Rugby team are less proud to represent their country because they don't "know" a big proportion of the entire population they are representing?? That they don't feel a massive responsilbilty to the area they are representing?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 03:50:21 PM
The Irish Rugby team have nothing to do with this but perhaps it is telling that you brought them into it.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 04:06:20 PM
I'm not talking about international rugby; are you lost childeen?
Post by: dubinhell on May 29, 2007, 04:07:43 PM
My county is better/bigger/smaller/more dedicated/less bandwagon etc than yours...nyah nyah
Post by: cavan4ever on May 29, 2007, 04:10:55 PM
This thread is losing the run of itself.
Post by: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 04:19:57 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 04:06:20 PM
I'm not talking about international rugby; are you lost childeen?

Best u avoid the comparison than argue against it! I'll take that as u accepting my point!
Post by: tayto on May 29, 2007, 04:24:53 PM
Funny to have non Dubs telling us it means less to our players then theirs. There maybe things wrong with Dublin GAA but i really dont think a lack of pride in the Dublin jersey is one of them. Fair enough a Monaghan player might know more of the monaghan crowd but a dublin player will know most everyone he knows is watching him as well, and the size of the crowd brings it's own pressure and/or responsibility.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 04:25:57 PM
The Junior Cert debating champion triumphs again - congrats.  I'm not arguing the point because it's irrelevant - how can you compare an international professional sport with a representative amateur sport, in terms of motivation?  Money, for a start, career, getting a transfer to a bigger club/league.  Are you following me yet?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 04:27:09 PM
Come on tayto, you know I'm not saying that.
Post by: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 04:34:51 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 04:27:09 PM
Come on tayto, you know I'm not saying that.

Tell us so what are you saying? I've obviously got u wrong in thinking u said, because a lad might know 9 out of the 10 people watching him that he would have more pride?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 04:48:58 PM
For the third time, I was talking about motivation, not pride. 
Post by: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 04:53:07 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 04:48:58 PM
For the third time, I was talking about motivation, not pride. 

Pride, motivation, happiness to be there, it doesn't matter, your point is still doesn't make any sense at all!
Post by: tayto on May 29, 2007, 04:55:58 PM
The way i saw it you were talking motivation for club players in Dublin, but i thought you were saying playing for Dulin meant less to our players as well.
Fair enough so.

I agree that having a chance to play for yor county is a huge motivation alright, but Cork has more club teams registred then Dublin, I dont see anyone calling for Cork to be split.
Post by: dubinhell on May 29, 2007, 05:03:06 PM
Maybe Croker should be expanded ?? Wembly will have nothing on us then  ;)

I don't see Dublin being split any time soon, no matter what some sh!tstirrers would like tosay. We don't win very often and there are other counties with more clubs & players.

If Dublin was split, then there would be twice as many poor unfortunate country folk "done" out of tickets by "arrogant" Dubs  ;D
Post by: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 05:10:37 PM
QuoteI dont see anyone calling for Cork to be split.

Yeah, but Cork win things now and again, and seem to have their structures right.  I'll get me coat.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 29, 2007, 05:12:53 PM
QuoteI don't see Dublin being split any time soon, no matter what some sh!tstirrers would like tosay

Peter Quinn is one of us!
Post by: INDIANA on May 29, 2007, 05:23:54 PM
the reason we haven't won anything is similar to a lot of counties- we haven't been good enough. it' s nothing to do with motivation or pride (why would you give up 5 nights a week to go through the motions- doesn't make sense) Haven't been good enough like donegal-mayo-longford-cork etc. i'd never level that at the dublin players that they don't try- we just haven't been good enough.
issac boss doesn't know anyone in the stand playing for the irish rugby team because he's from new zealand but he still trys when he's playing. I think when you get to that level whether it be GAA or otherwise -you're going to try at least because otherwise you're going to look like a complete gobshite in front of 82,500 people-it's  a personal pride thing- and i think the argument is absolutely ludricrous.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 29, 2007, 05:38:22 PM

Would you wanna stand on the Hill and mix with this shower of Thugs?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hES9I31QGM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hES9I31QGM)
Post by: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 05:53:30 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 29, 2007, 05:38:22 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hES9I31QGM (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hES9I31QGM)

Fairly tame towards the fight between soccer fans lower down on that link!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 29, 2007, 06:03:33 PM
Maybe so Romeo but i think you'll see those soccer fans were Dubs too,probably the same ones that were on  Hill 16   ;)
Post by: INDIANA on May 29, 2007, 06:05:26 PM
Would you wanna stand on the Hill and mix with this shower of Thugs? "

we're all thugs now? very similar to the thugs from laois i had the misfortune of sitting beside in 2003 who continually hurled on manner of missiles at dublin fans sitting a few rows below them- i haven't been to the stand in croke park since. they exist in all counties -even laois
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 29, 2007, 06:08:50 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 29, 2007, 06:05:26 PM
Would you wanna stand on the Hill and mix with this shower of Thugs? "

we're all thugs now? very similar to the thugs from laois i had the misfortune of sitting beside in 2003 who continually hurled on manner of missiles at dublin fans sitting a few rows below them- i haven't been to the stand in croke park since. they exist in all counties -even laois

Where did i say they didn't exist in other counties im well aware they do,even in Laois :o
But as this thread is about the Dubs and a poster asked why no one wants to go to the Hill,I simply replied as to why i thought so
If you wanna discuss thugs in other counties Laois included maybe you should start a thread about it
Post by: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 06:19:20 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 29, 2007, 06:03:33 PM
Maybe so Romeo but i think you'll see those soccer fans were Dubs too,probably the same ones that were on  Hill 16   ;)

Agreed, hate them as much as everyone else, why I tend not to go to the Hill anymore! (That and being a lazy git with dodgy knees!)
Post by: SuperSub on May 29, 2007, 06:31:14 PM
Quote from: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 06:19:20 PM

Agreed, hate them as much as everyone else, why I tend not to go to the Hill anymore! (That and being a lazy git with dodgy knees!)

Is your name Ciaran Whelan?
Post by: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 08:05:21 PM
Quote from: SuperSub on May 29, 2007, 06:31:14 PM
Quote from: Romeo on May 29, 2007, 06:19:20 PM

Is your name Ciaran Whelan?

;D ;D ;D
Post by: tayto on May 29, 2007, 10:03:21 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 29, 2007, 05:10:37 PM
QuoteI dont see anyone calling for Cork to be split.

Yeah, but Cork win things now and again, and seem to have their structures right.  I'll get me coat.

All the more reason to split them!  8)
Post by: Gnevin on May 30, 2007, 12:03:38 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 29, 2007, 05:38:22 PM

I hope your not implying everyone who goes to the Hill are thugs? I am not going to  defend 1 idiot from a crowd of 50,000 + but i don't its fair to tar us all with the one brush
Post by: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 09:05:20 AM
QuoteI am not going to  defend 1 idiot from a crowd of 50,000 +

Have they extended the hill?
Post by: Gnevin on May 30, 2007, 09:06:19 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 09:05:20 AM
QuoteI am not going to  defend 1 idiot from a crowd of 50,000 +

Have they extended the hill?
Have you become an idiot ?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 09:50:31 AM
Oooooh, name calling.  Moderator, moderator, save me from the nasty little boy.

Are ye practicing for fighting talk from the midst of your herd of 49,999 lovely people on sunday?
Post by: Gnevin on May 30, 2007, 10:19:12 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 09:50:31 AM

Are ye practicing for fighting talk from the midst of your herd of 49,999 lovely people on sunday?
Billy its was quite clear what i was talking about, now go take your chip on your shoulder some where else.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 10:25:47 AM
QuoteBilly its was quite clear what i was talking about

Not to me, it wasn't.  You were talking about the hill, I surmised, and then talked about 50,000 people therein.  But then I'm an idiot, apparently.
Post by: Romeo on May 30, 2007, 10:27:50 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 09:50:31 AM

That's good coming from you Billy, twice u did the same yesterday responding to me. U seem to call everyone a child around here, when the most childish is yourself with your playground name-calling!

Argue the points son, if u can't, say nothing!
Post by: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 10:41:54 AM
Quoteresponding

I'm funny like that, responding badly to unwarranted abuse. 

For the record, if I don't respond to an argument you're making, with comments like 'b*ll*x' or 'ludicrous', I don't necessarily concede the point.  We obviously don't converse in the same vernacular; if I don't agree with a person's point, I argue my own, rather than shower abuse.
Post by: INDIANA on May 30, 2007, 10:53:49 AM
We obviously don't converse in the same vernacular; if I don't agree with a person's point, I argue my own, rather than shower abuse."

that's open to debate -some of the more cynical of us could say some of the comments belong in the kindergarten.
Post by: Romeo on May 30, 2007, 11:03:20 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 10:41:54 AM
Quoteresponding

I'm funny like that, responding badly to unwarranted abuse. 

For the record, if I don't respond to an argument you're making, with comments like 'b*ll*x' or 'ludicrous', I don't necessarily concede the point.  We obviously don't converse in the same vernacular; if I don't agree with a person's point, I argue my own, rather than shower abuse.

'Childeen', 'Junior Cert Champion', sound basis for arguing your point alright!
Post by: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 11:04:22 AM
Go on so, debate away Indiana
Post by: Billys Boots on May 30, 2007, 11:05:53 AM
As I said before, I was responding badly to unwarranted abuse.  Those comments had absolutely nothing to do with the point I was arguing, nor had they anything to do with the points you were arguing either.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 30, 2007, 11:06:32 AM
The rugby team are great I think.
Post by: Romeo on May 30, 2007, 11:11:59 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 30, 2007, 11:06:32 AM
The rugby team are great I think.

Thought u weren't allowed mention (whisper it) other sports around here????