Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: imtommygunn on October 31, 2021, 06:28:09 PM

Title: Joe Brolly has discussion with Jamie Bryson
Post by: imtommygunn on October 31, 2021, 06:28:09 PM
He's doing an article / debate with Jamie Bryson about the psni. Jesus :o
Title: Re: Re: Joe Brolly
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on November 02, 2021, 09:34:12 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 20, 2021, 01:46:39 PM
The problem is, you can have analysis, or you can have entertainment. It's hard to get both.

Thats showbiz baby!
Post by: Main Street on November 03, 2021, 12:04:20 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 31, 2021, 06:28:09 PM
He's doing an article / debate with Jamie Bryson about the psni. Jesus :o
Why not? that's the stuff Joe should be doing more of, engaging with people of the ideological ilk of Jamie Bryson. He's made for that type of debate.  He has no IRA 'baggage' per se, no political baggage either, is absolutely uninhibited by convention, is capable of rational debate, being provocative and entertaining. I reckon he could wind up the dogmatic unionists  no end and come out smelling of roses.
Anything, but have him on tv, posturing for attention as a GAA pundit.
Post by: Franko on November 03, 2021, 08:30:16 AM
Brolly is innumerable levels above that moron and shouldn't be debating with him as an equal.

It only serves to legitimise the blue bin gobshite.
Post by: yellowcard on November 03, 2021, 10:34:04 AM
Maybe this is a space that Brolly is moving into now, he seems to be doing more political pieces in his newspaper columns recently now that he has been sidelined by RTE. He is more articulate and clever than 99% of the politicians but his biggest problem is with his presentation of the arguments, he just rubs too many people up the wrong way in order to stay in the limelight. I don't see that changing. 
Post by: Truth hurts on November 04, 2021, 09:53:20 AM
Brolly totally destroyed young Bryson without raising his voice, Joe is too cute to get dragged into a  slanging match with him. I think he actually pities Jamie tbh
I do think Joe would make an excellent politician or President.
Post by: Saffronaldo on November 04, 2021, 09:54:35 AM
Where can I watch/listen to this?
Post by: Truth hurts on November 04, 2021, 09:59:44 AM
search unionist voice on youtube
Post by: Saffronaldo on November 04, 2021, 10:34:09 AM
Thanks
Post by: tiempo on November 04, 2021, 10:37:11 AM
Has wee Seamy failed to upload the whole thing? Going off the comments.
Post by: Truth hurts on November 04, 2021, 11:33:17 AM
It finished very abruptly
Post by: yellowcard on November 04, 2021, 11:38:33 AM
Who knows what happened after it ended, Bryson hardly got a word in edgeways during that time. In a one on one interview format Brolly is always good listening as he has nobody else to interrupt. 
Post by: tiempo on November 04, 2021, 12:37:33 PM
Nice of Seamy to make an appearance on the Joe Brolly show lol, total passenger
Summed up beautifully in a 25 second motif on the 29min mark, tried to make a point but reversed directly into a waiting hot steaming pile of sh1te of his own making
Very little chat on the RUC/PSNI
Post by: Jeremiah O on November 04, 2021, 03:46:42 PM
Jamie now knows how Lyster,Spillane and O'Rourke struggled to get a word in edgeways!
Post by: andoireabu on November 05, 2021, 09:20:16 AM
https://streamyard.com/wx8p3q2hgiv7 (https://streamyard.com/wx8p3q2hgiv7)

Full 45 mins here.
Post by: RedHand88 on November 05, 2021, 09:33:17 AM
Can't believe he managed to slip the phrase "black b******s" into a unionist voice podcast.
Only Joe.
Post by: grounded on November 05, 2021, 10:05:51 AM
Quote from: Jeremiah O on November 04, 2021, 03:46:42 PM
Jamie now knows how Lyster,Spillane and O'Rourke struggled to get a word in edgeways!

Ha!  In fairness Joe asked him outright a few times what these perceived losses for Unionism were and Bryson really couldnt articulate anything of note.
     I'd like to see Joe in more of these sorts of debates with the likes of Jim Allister. Wouldnt that be interesting. 
Post by: lurganblue on November 05, 2021, 11:28:01 AM
Enjoyed that.  Jamie needs to have a serious talk with his broadband provider. Typical politician style answers from Joe.  Jamie asks a question and Joe proceeds to talk about something else  ;D
Post by: Silver hill on November 06, 2021, 08:56:13 AM
Enjoyed Joe's not so subtle dig about seeing Jamie recently...'standing on the top of a blue wheelie bin addressing six or seven people...' 😂😂
Post by: bannside on November 06, 2021, 12:24:55 PM
I can't think of anyone better to take "themmuns" on head to head than Joe. In this regard he is top notch. Can't see too many queuing up to take him on.

There is a real niche here for Joe if he manages to get the balance right about when and when not to go for the slam dunk, go easy on the wine beforehand and play a medium long term game that most of us could reasonably get behind.

There's dozens could offer  GAA punditry, but remarkably few with the all round credentials to nail political narrative like Joe.
Post by: Saffronaldo on November 06, 2021, 12:45:19 PM
I agree with that Bannside. If you put aside Brolly's narcissistic tendencies and penchant for making everything about himself, he is a captivating orator with intelligence, knowledge, first-hand experience of the Troubles, and a seemingly genuine desire to make society a better place. He could really make a difference if he harnessed his strengths and reined back on the silly stuff a bit.
Post by: Targetman on November 06, 2021, 02:44:44 PM
Brolly never gave wee Bryson a kick of the ball at all, " I hear you're a legal executive, what's that " smirking away flat out, no contest!!
Post by: RedHand88 on November 06, 2021, 03:06:55 PM
The only thing I learnt from that is that the internet is faster in South Belfast than Donaghadee.
Post by: Man Marker on November 06, 2021, 04:17:56 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 06, 2021, 03:06:55 PM
The only thing I learnt from that is that the internet is faster in South Belfast than Donaghadee.

Its not about you
Post by: RedHand88 on November 06, 2021, 05:37:13 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on November 06, 2021, 04:17:56 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 06, 2021, 03:06:55 PM

Its not about you

Thanks.
Post by: red hander on November 07, 2021, 12:03:31 AM
Quote from: Targetman on November 06, 2021, 02:44:44 PM
Brolly never gave wee Bryson a kick of the ball at all, " I hear you're a legal executive, what's that " smirking away flat out, no contest!!

He gave him a kick of the ball by agreeing to debate with the areshole in the first place. Giving credence to this self appointed spokesman for loyalism who can't even show his face in Shankill is a joke. This is a clown who stood for election and got 167 votes. Koko the imaginary gorilla had more people voting for it. That odious bastard Nolan can promote him for his own sectarian agenda, but it doesn't mean the Dungiven gimp should.
Post by: Silver hill on November 07, 2021, 08:37:49 AM
Quote from: red hander on November 07, 2021, 12:03:31 AM
Quote from: Targetman on November 06, 2021, 02:44:44 PM

He gave him a kick of the ball by agreeing to debate with the areshole in the first place. Giving credence to this self appointed spokesman for loyalism who can't even show his face in Shankill is a joke. This is a clown who stood for election and got 167 votes. Koko the imaginary gorilla had more people voting for it. That odious bastard Nolan can promote him for his own sectarian agenda, but it doesn't mean the Dungiven gimp should.

Wow...that's a lot of anger right there. Chill man. Breathe.
Post by: Main Street on November 09, 2021, 12:26:45 AM
In that debate Joe was Yoda, Jamie was a babblin' incoherent mess with a bad microphone and shoddy camera. Joe explained that old trope about the Kevin Lynch named club naming very well.  It's 40 years on, why are you still questioning it.
Post by: tbrick18 on November 09, 2021, 09:33:50 AM
Quote from: Main Street on November 09, 2021, 12:26:45 AM
In that debate Joe was Yoda, Jamie was a babblin' incoherent mess with a bad microphone and shoddy camera. Joe explained that old trope about the Kevin Lynch named club naming very well.  It's 40 years on, why are you still questioning it.

Yeah it wasn't so much a debate a schooling.
Bryson couldn't even answer a question when asked about what difference a sea trade border actually made to him. He did a good job of shining a light on the faux unionist outrage which is really just fabricated to win votes from the knuckle draggers.
Post by: ck on November 09, 2021, 10:40:00 AM
I watched it last night and enjoyed it. Bryson is a rabble rousing ego maniac with nothing to offer anyone bar his own self promotion. I do believe Brolly exposed the flaws in the faux unionist outrage and Bryson just rolled out his tired old ill informed and sectarian rhetoric.
Post by: general_lee on November 09, 2021, 11:28:44 AM
Bryson is a loser, an ego-maniac who is utterly out of his depth whenever he leaves the safety of his little domain on Twitter. Anyone with so much as a semi-rational argument would dismantle anything he has to say, Brolly killed him with kindness while simultaneously owning him. Embarrassing stuff altogether for the Donaghadee QC
Post by: rrhf on November 09, 2021, 12:23:12 PM
Thought Joe done well here and the debate was interesting, and fair play to Bryson for having him on.  Nothing wrong with it.
Post by: Main Street on November 10, 2021, 09:56:05 PM
Quote from: rrhf on November 09, 2021, 12:23:12 PM
Thought Joe done well here and the debate was interesting, and fair play to Bryson for having him on.  Nothing wrong with it.
it was quite idiotic of him to take Joe on, but fair play to Bryson for not taking it down off the web, but possibly he hasn't copped on to the full extent of his total deconstruction.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 25, 2021, 07:48:15 AM
Knockmore Joe. ;)
Post by: rosnarun on November 25, 2021, 03:23:01 PM
Can this shit not be moved to non GAA discussion .  I've no idea who  your chatting about . but i don't see how political discussions and Joes Current  Squeeze has anything to do with Football. mind you bryson would probably have a less jaundiced eye when it comes to  Football than the bollix
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 23, 2021, 10:06:41 PM
He has totally lost it.

https://twitter.com/VMSportIE/status/1473662954847490051?t=t2xg6Fk4AEqRK8sIQZb1hQ&s=19
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 23, 2021, 10:46:47 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 23, 2021, 10:18:20 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 23, 2021, 10:06:41 PM
He has totally lost it.

https://twitter.com/VMSportIE/status/1473662954847490051?t=t2xg6Fk4AEqRK8sIQZb1hQ&s=19
I'm not sure where he should fit in the "Lost it" list. Maybe somewhere between your self awareness and your WUM skills.

Mise? Please expand.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 24, 2021, 10:27:41 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 23, 2021, 11:04:07 PM
Tusa.

There was probably a time when you would have received plenty of bites on this. That is gone. You have "lost it".

Enjoy your Christmas. You'll hopefully get it back in 2022. Keep plucking away.

So a link to Brolly on the radio that day that has caused controversy on a Brolly is controversial thread is a wind up?

Time for the leaba
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 24, 2021, 10:55:59 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 24, 2021, 10:27:41 AM
Tusa.

There was probably a time when you would have received plenty of bites on this. That is gone. You have "lost it".

So a link to Brolly on the radio that day that has caused controversy on a Brolly is controversial thread is a wind up?

Time for the leaba

Fill me in on this bit?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 24, 2021, 01:56:51 PM
Out of Interest, what did the south do during the troubles. Nearest intervention I can recall off, was possible moving troops to near Derry. They never boycotted anything from England as far as I remember, (I only recall to the early 80's) but as the rest of the world boycotted South Africa at the time. I blame De Valera, ensured Collins was fucked over at the time so he wouldn't be able to run against him in the political world. England back was against the wall in WW2 and the right political moves could have meant a better outcome for Ireland as a whole.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 24, 2021, 03:19:30 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 24, 2021, 10:55:59 AM
Tusa.

Time for the leaba

Fill me in on this bit?

Lots of people believe he is talking shite. He got the reaction he wanted.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 24, 2021, 04:00:58 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 24, 2021, 03:19:30 PM
Tusa.

Time for the leaba

Fill me in on this bit?

Ok I get he talks shite, but which part of this was a lie?
Post by: Main Street on December 24, 2021, 08:44:43 PM
The controversy is all in Baile Brigin's head.

"totally lost it"  ;D , by Joe's standards he's just shooting the breeze on Virgin Media Sport and actually talking some sense.
Post by: tonto1888 on December 25, 2021, 11:22:17 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 24, 2021, 03:19:30 PM
Tusa.

Time for the leaba

Fill me in on this bit?

Where as most people know he was speaking the truth
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 25, 2021, 12:16:45 PM
What Brolly has said is reflective of many lives experiences. I have lost count the amount of times I was told to f**k off back to the Black North, etc etc. You can sometimes accept that from your direct opponent in the whole sledging element of sport but when a management and supporters are shouting at 12 year olds in Cootehill 35 odd years ago you realise that this is not a new problem. That was my lived experience of it for the first time. We were playing on the community games and were roundly abused the whole way through the game. I personally got a lot of it as I was an oversized kid and was regularly accused of being overage and adults physically challenged me on the field and my mother verbally abused off it when she stood up for me. It didn't seem to make a difference to me but we certainly were made feel different and 'apart'. A woman assaulted our team manager in Mosney the same year with an umbrella and told him to go back to the Queen and not come back.

35 years ago at u12 football.  This was cultural, this was society wide. It wasn't just a few bad apples as some would like to believe.  Own it and accept it.

Oh and happy Christmas to one and all!
Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2021, 02:21:53 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 25, 2021, 12:16:45 PM
What Brolly has said is reflective of many lives experiences. I have lost count the amount of times I was told to f**k off back to the Black North, etc etc. You can sometimes accept that from your direct opponent in the whole sledging element of sport but when a management and supporters are shouting at 12 year olds in Cootehill 35 odd years ago you realise that this is not a new problem. That was my lived experience of it for the first time. We were playing on the community games and were roundly abused the whole way through the game. I personally got a lot of it as I was an oversized kid and was regularly accused of being overage and adults physically challenged me on the field and my mother verbally abused off it when she stood up for me. It didn't seem to make a difference to me but we certainly were made feel different and 'apart'. A woman assaulted our team manager in Mosney the same year with an umbrella and told him to go back to the Queen and not come back.

35 years ago at u12 football.  This was cultural, this was society wide. It wasn't just a few bad apples as some would like to believe.  Own it and accept it.

In fairness 35 years ago the North was running a vicious civil war. Almost every morning in the South the news covered some killing. Things have moved on since. I hope the peace can be maintained.
Post by: whitey on December 25, 2021, 03:09:15 PM
There was indifference to what was happening because it really didn't impact people in a day to day basis.

Republicans were banned from the airwaves by RTE so we received a very sanitized narrative concocted by the authorities

Ireland was in a recession of outrageous proportions and it was a struggle for most people to even make ends meet

The church still ruled the roost-and the church said that the IRA were the bad guys.

I would say 90% of people living in the ROI were too scared to even cross the border never mind spend any time up there
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 25, 2021, 04:28:17 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 25, 2021, 02:21:53 PM

In fairness 35 years ago the North was running a vicious civil war. Almost every morning in the South the news covered some killing. Things have moved on since. I hope the peace can be maintained.

Tell me what does that have to do with a member of the same sporting organisation as myself calling me a black British bastard and telling me to f**k off back to my Queen?  Just out of curiosity....seeing as me and this man were supposed to be of the same ilk....just wondering. Your comment is reflective of how there was and in some instances still is a hand wringing and hand washing attitude towards people from the north from people from the 26. I don't ever recall calling someone from Monaghan or Cavan a free state bastard but they happily called me a black bastard....
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 25, 2021, 07:04:44 PM
I remember Monaghan supporters more than a few times going on about taking the queen's pound, this was when Ireland needed the bail out. I was quick to remind them we bailing you c***ts out, no answer. Donegal or cavan supporters never came out with this, Had a real hatred to monaghan supporters ever since.
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 25, 2021, 07:17:02 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 25, 2021, 07:04:44 PM
I remember Monaghan supporters more than a few times going on about taking the queen's pound, this was when Ireland needed the bail out. I was quick to remind them we bailing you c***ts out, no answer. Donegal or cavan supporters never came out with this, Had a real hatred to monaghan supporters ever since.

I'm interested to hear how northern nationalists "bailed" us out?

When the northern state is bailed out every year to the tune of how many billion a year ?

And the British state itself stepped in to save their own banking sector by propping up their Irish subsidiaries with their benevolent "loan" which also carried the highest rate of interest

My view

We should have refused the benevolence,let those banks fail,spread the contagion and let the British taxpayer then foot the tab.

As a tipp man the only experience I've had of our northern brethren was at the u21 football all ireland

Where we were roundly abused unprovoked by Tyrone fans as free state bastards every though there's not an iota of history or games or grief between the 2 counties

It goes both ways

Post by: red hander on December 25, 2021, 07:43:31 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 25, 2021, 07:17:02 PM

When the northern state is bailed out every year to the tune of how many billion a year ?

And the British state itself stepped in to save their own banking sector by propping up their Irish subsidiaries with their benevolent "loan" which also carried the highest rate of interest

My view

We should have refused the benevolence,let those banks fail,spread the contagion and let the British taxpayer then foot the tab.

As a tipp man the only experience I've had of our northern brethren was at the u21 football all ireland

Where we were roundly abused unprovoked by Tyrone fans as free state bastards every though there's not an iota of history or games or grief between the 2 counties

It goes both ways

I was at that game too, and if you were abused by some arseholes then that's a disgrace, but to say you were roundly abused suggests we were all at it, which is just pure bullshit.
Post by: Itchy on December 25, 2021, 07:47:16 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 25, 2021, 04:28:17 PM

Tell me what does that have to do with a member of the same sporting organisation as myself calling me a black British bastard and telling me to f**k off back to my Queen?  Just out of curiosity....seeing as me and this man were supposed to be of the same ilk....just wondering. Your comment is reflective of how there was and in some instances still is a hand wringing and hand washing attitude towards people from the north from people from the 26. I don't ever recall calling someone from Monaghan or Cavan a free state bastard but they happily called me a black bastard....

I can only tell you I've never ever heard any supporter in the 3 ulster Republic counties calling a Northern supporter a black bastard. I have heard a few (small minority) referring to us as free state bastards. But that's a minority and it'd suggest bc that you are also referring to a small minority of morons.

I was once told to f**k off back to the UK by a moron in mayo one time too who thought northern Ireland had 9 counties!
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 25, 2021, 07:52:19 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 25, 2021, 07:43:31 PM

My view

It goes both ways

I was at that game too, and if you were abused by some arseholes then that's a disgrace, but to say you were roundly abused suggests we were all at it, which is just pure bullshit.

Tipp and Tyrone have no history and given the gap that is between the respective football and hurling teams never will

The behaviour of a lot of the Tyrone fans that day was disgusting and I say that as some who's gone to white hot Munster hurling games for the past 40 odd years.

You get the odd moron who makes a stupid comment and is swiftly dealt with by his own,there was no self regulation from the Tyrone crowd that day

Curious behaviour from Northern Nationalists who think insulting people from the South who actually were well disposed towards them up to that point is the way to a United Ireland is the way to go.

I had up to that day thought we were all the same as Irish people,I don't think so anymore

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 25, 2021, 08:11:45 PM
This thread turned out Chrismassy 😃
Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2021, 08:22:54 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on December 25, 2021, 04:28:17 PM

Nobody should be called a black bastard on a GAA pitch but 35b years ago there was a lot of ignorance and fear about the North brought about because of the Troubles.

I don't have a handwringing attitude to the North. I think a United Ireland is going to take a lot of work. The North has been a mess for a long time..
Post by: clarshack on December 25, 2021, 11:20:25 PM

My view

It goes both ways

the Tipp players were no angels that day and then they had the cheek to cry and whinge afterwards with Feargal Logan even banned from their dressing room. Then in the qualifier game a few months later in Thurles Colm Cavanagh was stamped on in a real dirty action by a Tipp player. Think they had a right few of their team booked that day too. Yet Tyrone are the bad guys.
Post by: Silver hill on December 26, 2021, 12:04:34 AM
Unfortunately, I can't defend my Ulster neighbour. There are assholes in every county but I've witnessed and heard too many anecdotal evidence from other counties to not come to the conclusion that there's a real scummy element that follow the red hand.
Majority are well behaved and great gaels but that arsehole element really gets them a bad name.
No issue to the same level with any other county in Ulster or Ireland.
And before the Tyronies jump on here, it's nothing to do with jealousy or their success. Was going on way before they won any silverware of note.
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 26, 2021, 12:12:56 AM
Merry Christmas Silver Hill......
Post by: charlieTully on December 26, 2021, 12:22:00 PM
Quote from: Silver hill on December 26, 2021, 12:04:34 AM
Unfortunately, I can't defend my Ulster neighbour. There are assholes in every county but I've witnessed and heard too many anecdotal evidence from other counties to not come to the conclusion that there's a real scummy element that follow the red hand.
Majority are well behaved and great gaels but that arsehole element really gets them a bad name.
And before the Tyronies jump on here, it's nothing to do with jealousy or their success. Was going on way before they won any silverware of note.

Shower of tramps. Wouldn't even wish them a happy Xmas.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 26, 2021, 12:59:44 PM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on December 25, 2021, 08:23:06 PM
Sigh. Baile Brigin wins.
What?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 26, 2021, 01:35:39 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 24, 2021, 08:44:43 PM

"totally lost it"  ;D , by Joe's standards he's just shooting the breeze on Virgin Media Sport and actually talking some sense.

https://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/video-huge-reaction-as-joe-brolly-accuses-people-in-republic-of-ireland-of-inaction-as-troubles-unfolded-41180649.html
Post by: Silver hill on December 26, 2021, 04:55:52 PM
Quote from: the_daddy on December 26, 2021, 01:14:02 PM

I'm happy to acknowledge there are plenty of dickheads in the Tyrone support but there are lots of arseholes in every county especially when the bandwagon support and the young lads in buses come out in the summer, it happens every time. Other than 1 or 2 lunatics, you'll not hear much negativity during the league about any county that has a decent travelling support.
It is a bit rich to say your biggest rivals are the worst offenders there's been no shortage of arseholes in your own support in the past when you've been going well and when your summer support has to come out again then I'm sure it'll be the same clubs that have the primary offenders

Untrue. It just doesn't happen to the same level as it does in Tyrone. The evidence coming in via anecdotal stories from the other counties is overwhelming. No other county in Ulster behaves the way they do in a consistently ill tempered and ill mannered way. It's a group thing or mob mentality that materialises when the red hand is on show; otherwise moderate and sane people (male and female) morph into fouls mouthed lunatics.
It can't be just brushed off as one or two bad apples as you have attempted to do.
Down, Armagh, Cavan, Fermanagh, donegal etc, just doesn't happen.
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 26, 2021, 05:52:43 PM
Quote from: clarshack on December 25, 2021, 11:20:25 PM

My view

It goes both ways

the Tipp players were no angels that day and then they had the cheek to cry and whinge afterwards with Feargal Logan even banned from their dressing room. Then in the qualifier game a few months later in Thurles Colm Cavanagh was stamped on in a real dirty action by a Tipp player. Think they had a right few of their team booked that day too. Yet Tyrone are the bad guys.

Logan and the Tyrone management weren't welcome in the Tipperary dressing room after their behaviour during the game

This has never been done before or since to any opposition management by the Tipperary management in either code and is an indication of what went on at pitch side and on the pitch as well,

A concerted premeditated effort of "sledging" with even one player getting verbals from a number of Tyrone players over a recent family suicide.

We are surrounded by every rival possible in hurling and while we have our rivalry's what we went on that day was something we had never faced before.

Post by: Silver hill on December 26, 2021, 06:59:42 PM
Quote from: the_daddy on December 26, 2021, 05:40:17 PM
Quote from: Silver hill on December 26, 2021, 04:55:52 PM
Quote from: the_daddy on December 26, 2021, 01:14:02 PM

I'm happy to acknowledge there are plenty of dickheads in the Tyrone support but there are lots of arseholes in every county especially when the bandwagon support and the young lads in buses come out in the summer, it happens every time. Other than 1 or 2 lunatics, you'll not hear much negativity during the league about any county that has a decent travelling support.
It is a bit rich to say your biggest rivals are the worst offenders there's been no shortage of arseholes in your own support in the past when you've been going well and when your summer support has to come out again then I'm sure it'll be the same clubs that have the primary offenders

Untrue. It just doesn't happen to the same level as it does in Tyrone. The evidence coming in via anecdotal stories from the other counties is overwhelming. No other county in Ulster behaves the way they do in a consistently ill tempered and ill mannered way. It's a group thing or mob mentality that materialises when the red hand is on show; otherwise moderate and sane people (male and female) morph into fouls mouthed lunatics.
It can't be just brushed off as one or two bad apples as you have attempted to do.
Down, Armagh, Cavan, Fermanagh, donegal etc, just doesn't happen.
It's not untrue, you said yourself the majority are well behaved and great gaels. You don't get it at League games at all. It happens in every county when there's a bandwagon rolling, the arseholes usually to come in groups and from the same clubs. I've saw it at Ulster and All Ireland football finals as a neutral and occasionally at hurling finals and it's always when you get a group of liquored up slabbers. You can point the finger at Tyrone all you want and cite anecdotal evidence but that's as much to do with the fact they've played more big games than the counties you've listed over the last 25 years and there's certainly a couple of those counties that aren't shy about giving it to Tyrone and you don't hear much about it.

Balls.
Dublin have way bigger support and have been involved in way more big games than any other county and they don't have the reputation that Tyrone have. Neither do Kerry.
Ask yourself this question, where does the poor reputation come from... is everyone else in the country making it up?
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2021, 08:10:51 PM
Things Ive heard sung at us over the years...

"Go home and pay your taxes to your Queen"
"Id rather be a Euro than a pound"
General go home to the UK sort of crap.

In my experience the worst offenders were Cavan/Donegal though I know that is merely one persons experience and not necessarily a general trend.
Its not just at football either. Years ago I was at a concert in Phoenix park. Friend and I were walking past Aras na Uachtarain, he made the comment "theres our Marys house" (McAleese was president at the time. Some passerbys heard him and his accent and said "Shes not your Mary, but shes our Mary". The idiots didnt even realise McAleese, the President of Ireland, was from the north.

Im not a big FAI man at all but would be interesting to know if this sort of stuff goes on at their matches or is it just GAA?
Post by: Main Street on December 26, 2021, 08:17:25 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 26, 2021, 01:35:39 PM

https://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/video-huge-reaction-as-joe-brolly-accuses-people-in-republic-of-ireland-of-inaction-as-troubles-unfolded-41180649.html
Perhaps your research as usual stopped after reading the BT headline. The twitter comments to the linked VM video  are in the main  strongly supportive of the bold Joe's comments.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2021, 08:28:36 PM
Quote from: Main Street on December 26, 2021, 08:17:25 PM

Perhaps your research as usual stopped after reading the BT headline. The twitter comments to the linked VM video  are in the main  strongly supportive of the bold Joe's comments.

Thought the exact same myself.
Post by: Itchy on December 26, 2021, 08:35:31 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 26, 2021, 08:10:51 PM

In my experience the worst offenders were Cavan/Donegal though I know that is merely one persons experience and not necessarily a general trend.
Its not just at football either. Years ago I was at a concert in Phoenix park. Friend and I were walking past Aras na Uachtarain, he made the comment "theres our Marys house" (McAleese was president at the time. Some passerbys heard him and his accent and said "Shes not your Mary, but shes our Mary". The idiots didnt even realise McAleese, the President of Ireland, was from the north.

Im not a big FAI man at all but would be interesting to know if this sort of stuff goes on at their matches or is it just GAA?

You've heard Cavan fans singing this at a match? I've been to about I'd say 90% minimum of our games for the last 30 years and I've never heard our supporters sing anything. We don't go in for soccer style singing in Cavan. If you said you heard some gobshite shout that I'd believe you but singing, don't think so.
Post by: ardtole on December 26, 2021, 08:58:47 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 26, 2021, 08:35:31 PM

You've heard Cavan fans singing this at a match? I've been to about I'd say 90% minimum of our games for the last 30 years and I've never heard our supporters sing anything. We don't go in for soccer style singing in Cavan. If you said you heard some gobshite shout that I'd believe you but singing, don't think so.

Id have to agree with Itchy here, very rarely do you hear soccer style chanting at gaa games. Ive been following Down for a long time too and I cant actually remember off hand any particular insult directed at me because we were from the north.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2021, 09:02:13 PM
Im not making it up. Yes they were gobshites and I never said they were representative of Cavan but it 100% happened. It was on the Hill in Clones in 2005, Tyrone v Cavan Ulster SF
Post by: tyrone08 on December 26, 2021, 09:20:15 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on December 26, 2021, 12:22:00 PM

Shower of tramps. Wouldn't even wish them a happy Xmas.

😂😂
Post by: FermGael on December 26, 2021, 10:04:08 PM

But you didn't hear
"There's no F**cking London in Tyrone"

Only soccer chant I have ever heard at a match in Ulster
Post by: RedHand88 on December 26, 2021, 10:09:37 PM
Quote from: FermGael on December 26, 2021, 10:04:08 PM

But you didn't hear
"There's no F**cking London in Tyrone"

Only soccer chant I have ever heard at a match in Ulster

Have heard it sung yes. Its a disgrace.
Post by: TwoUpTwoDown on December 26, 2021, 10:28:36 PM
There's wrong'uns everywhere. I spent time living in Munster and a very prominent County footballer give me awful abuse throughout the game. F**k off back to UK you British c**t etc for large elements of the game. And I mean repetitive over and over. We got well beat on the day but I held him scoreless from play so I was happy enough...I actually clipped him at the end when he said something one time too many...the other corner forward came over and told him he deserved it!

Long story short, my whole experience living in the south was filled with the exact thing Joe is talking about. Absolutely clueless with no idea what has happened in the North. It was so infuriating.
Post by: red hander on December 27, 2021, 12:55:26 AM

Been going to Ireland games since 1984 and have been regular away traveller for 22 years since I was able to afford it as a worker, and have never heard any abuse directed at northerners. A good proportion of travelling (and home) fans are from the occupied six.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on December 27, 2021, 07:27:59 AM
Quote from: red hander on December 27, 2021, 12:55:26 AM

Been going to Ireland games since 1984 and have been regular away traveller for 22 years since I was able to afford it as a worker, and have never heard any abuse directed at northerners. A good proportion of travelling (and home) fans are from the occupied six.

I went to the France game in 2004 with a couple of Englsh born friends who support the Republic and some utter bollox was having a go at them failing to see the irony that he was about to cheer on a team with clinton morrison up front ffs
Post by: ONeill on December 27, 2021, 07:46:43 AM
An Antrim supporter once called me a w**ker at a match. To be fair I ate the last sandwich and she was doing the driving.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 27, 2021, 09:57:48 AM
Big thing at Derry City matches back in the day to abuse "'free staters " and vice versa not sure what it's like these days. Finn harps v Derry tasty enough abuse wise, a lot of silly chants barrowed from England - sheep shagging bs etc

When I was playing GAA there was a real noticeable nastiness when we played Donegal teams which at the start was a real disappointed for me as I love Donegal and most Derry city ones are well connected into Inishowen in particular. I didn't think it was about north though it was more about being from another county and bigger town.

You could detect real dislike from Strabane for example or South Derry towards us. The country v city thing within our county has definitely subsided amongst players in last 10 years.
Post by: general_lee on December 27, 2021, 10:06:06 AM
The best one has to be that clampet from Laois calling Ciaran McKeever (from south Armagh of all places) a British bastard. Him called Billy too. I always say you can't teach stupid.
Post by: theticklemister on December 27, 2021, 10:51:26 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 27, 2021, 09:57:48 AM
Big thing at Derry City matches back in the day to abuse "'free staters " and vice versa not sure what it's like these days. Finn harps v Derry tasty enough abuse wise, a lot of silly chants barrowed from England - sheep shagging bs etc

When I was playing GAA there was a real noticeable nastiness when we played Donegal teams which at the start was a real disappointed for me as I love Donegal and most Derry city ones are well connected into Inishowen in particular. I didn't think it was about north though it was more about being from another county and bigger town.

You could detect real dislike from Strabane for example or South Derry towards us. The country v city thing within our county has definitely subsided amongst players in last 10 years.

I still hate those South Derry pricks but
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 27, 2021, 12:34:23 PM
You City men don't even come on a south Derry man's radar, you don't even get classified as North Derry men.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 27, 2021, 12:37:27 PM

Derry City get a bit of Thatcher built your floodlights but the lads from the northeast are as Irish as anyone in terms of the national side
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 27, 2021, 12:39:17 PM

Sigh.

Brolly casused a debate. A discussion. His claims were disputed. The Indo ran a similar story.

You really don't get the whole chat board concept do you?
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 27, 2021, 12:57:13 PM
Quote from: TwoUpTwoDown on December 26, 2021, 10:28:36 PM
There's wrong'uns everywhere. I spent time living in Munster and a very prominent County footballer give me awful abuse throughout the game. F**k off back to UK you British c**t etc for large elements of the game. And I mean repetitive over and over. We got well beat on the day but I held him scoreless from play so I was happy enough...I actually clipped him at the end when he said something one time too many...the other corner forward came over and told him he deserved it!

Long story short, my whole experience living in the south was filled with the exact thing Joe is talking about. Absolutely clueless with no idea what has happened in the North. It was so infuriating.

If your last paragraph proves anything it proves that the British policy of divide and conquer works a treat

We in the south don't understand you lot and you have more in common with your Unionist neighbours than you have with anyone from the South

A United Ireland is a faint hope
Post by: imtommygunn on December 27, 2021, 01:34:12 PM
Ah the south have a new spokesman   ;D

Post by: Itchy on December 27, 2021, 01:34:52 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 27, 2021, 12:57:13 PM

If your last paragraph proves anything it proves that the British policy of divide and conquer works a treat

We in the south don't understand you lot and you have more in common with your Unionist neighbours than you have with anyone from the South

Pure horseshit. Its a long way from Dan Breen you've fallen.
Post by: In hiding on December 27, 2021, 02:16:19 PM

The bit in bold is possibly true
Post by: red hander on December 27, 2021, 02:17:48 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 27, 2021, 01:34:52 PM

Breen and Treacy would be spinning in their graves with this boy.
Post by: Itchy on December 27, 2021, 02:27:54 PM
Quote from: In hiding on December 27, 2021, 02:16:19 PM

The bit in bold is possibly true

Go on, tell me why its possibly true that northern nationalists have more in common with people who for a century deprived them of basic rights than with Southern nationalists. I'm all ears.
Post by: In hiding on December 27, 2021, 02:34:35 PM
Not a bother.
My protestant neighbours are lovely people.
I help them when their cattle break out, they help me when they can.
This is 2021, thankfully I have lots in common with my neighbours, we socialise in the same places, share everyday life experiences with them.
I dont do that with you and I am a northern nationalist
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 27, 2021, 03:26:22 PM
Quote from: red hander on December 27, 2021, 02:17:48 PM

If there were any Breens or Treacy's in Tyrone at that time

You lot wouldn't be part of the British State today

17% of the Tipperary population in the IRA less than 5% in Tyrone

Why did the South abandon us whinge the nordies neglecting the fact  that their Grandparents and great grandparents hid under the bed 100 years ago

If Munster had been closer geographically,

we might have saved ye

And you lot are still MOPEing today
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 27, 2021, 03:54:02 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 27, 2021, 03:26:22 PM

Why did the South abandon us whinge the nordies neglecting the fact  that their Grandparents and great grandparents hid under the bed 100 years ago

we might have saved ye

Saved ye ;D
You ran away when shit hit the fan and sold out. In typical Tipperary fashion
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 27, 2021, 03:59:43 PM
Brolly pointed out the Irish govt, done little for Northern nationalists during the troubles or even further bck after partition. I don't see what they do much either these days but given stormont a joke where they can't agree anything and a number should been sacked over the yrs for various matters it ironic am giving out about a irish government. Up here the only place u don't have to be qualified to be a spads, so many spad and political reps of both sides, out of their depth. You wouldn't hire them if u were running a private company.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 27, 2021, 04:10:51 PM
Ulster was always the most Gaelic of the provinces and hardest for the English to control until Kinsale.

We are the real pure bred Gael. Leinster and Munster full of Anglo Normans . Connacht not to bad to be fair.

O Donnell and O Neill Abú ;)
Post by: Itchy on December 27, 2021, 04:33:52 PM
Quote from: In hiding on December 27, 2021, 02:34:35 PM
Not a bother.
This is 2021, thankfully I have lots in common with my neighbours, we socialise in the same places, share everyday life experiences with them.

So if you lived beside me you wouldn't help me round up my cattle. Is that the sum of your great theory?
Post by: In hiding on December 27, 2021, 04:37:57 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 27, 2021, 04:33:52 PM
Not a bother.

So if you lived beside me you wouldn't help me round up my cattle. Is that the sum of your great theory?

Good lad, well figured out.
Happy New Year.

I said it might possibly be true, but you seem to be happy when you can be angry about something
Post by: Rossfan on December 27, 2021, 04:40:07 PM
Quicker some action starts up on the playing fields the better....
Post by: Itchy on December 27, 2021, 04:51:56 PM
Quote from: In hiding on December 27, 2021, 04:37:57 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 27, 2021, 04:33:52 PM
Not a bother.

Good lad, well figured out.
Happy New Year.

I said it might possibly be true, but you seem to be happy when you can be angry about something

No your argument is very sound, people in the south definitely don't help their neighbours on account of them being complete bastards. If I saw my neighbours cattle out I'd run them out onto the main road. If I asked them for help they'd tell me to piss off. Thanks for enlightening the board with your well informed wisdom.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on December 27, 2021, 04:59:35 PM
FAO any moderator - is it possible to move this pile of whataboutery to the Non GAA Discussion forum where it should surely reside?
Post by: In hiding on December 27, 2021, 05:05:10 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on December 27, 2021, 04:59:35 PM
FAO any moderator - is it possible to move this pile of whataboutery to the Non GAA Discussion forum where it should surely reside?
Apologies, I'm out
Post by: weareros on December 27, 2021, 05:44:53 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 27, 2021, 04:10:51 PM
Ulster was always the most Gaelic of the provinces and hardest for the English to control until Kinsale.

We are the real pure bred Gael. Leinster and Munster full of Anglo Normans . Connacht not to bad to be fair.

Most Connacht would be pre-Gael. The Gaels themselves were invaders (circa 400 BC) and the oldest passage tombs on island are in Connacht, 3000 years before the arrival of Gaelic culture. We are an island of muts. There's plenty of ancient Fir Bolgs still knocking about instantly recognisable by the thick heads.
Post by: red hander on December 27, 2021, 06:38:46 PM

we might have saved ye

Plenty of men from Dungannon, Coalisland, Pomeroy, Carrickmore and elsewhere in Tyrone ready to go in 1916 until MacNeill countermanded Pearse's order. I started out having sympathy for you re U21 final, but judging by your bullshit, you probably deserved all the abuse you allegedly got from our fans
Post by: Rossfan on December 27, 2021, 06:40:11 PM
Firbolgs with thick heads mainly found in Meeyo and Laythrum.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 27, 2021, 09:00:11 PM
Quote from: weareros on December 27, 2021, 05:44:53 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 27, 2021, 04:10:51 PM

Most Connacht would be pre-Gael. The Gaels themselves were invaders (circa 400 BC) and the oldest passage tombs on island are in Connacht, 3000 years before the arrival of Gaelic culture. We are an island of muts. There's plenty of ancient Fir Bolgs still knocking about instantly recognisable by the thick heads.
Tuatha Dé Danann meself tbh
Post by: FermGael on December 27, 2021, 10:32:20 PM
Bernadette McAliskey giving a few uncomfortable home truths on the Tommy Tiernan show.

He is an excellent presenter
Post by: Main Street on December 27, 2021, 10:47:58 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 27, 2021, 12:39:17 PM

Sigh.

Brolly casused a debate. A discussion. His claims were disputed. The Indo ran a similar story.

Eh?  perhaps I am confusing you with the poster similarily name Baile Brigin who posted the idiotic hysterical comment  "He (Joe) has totally lost it" 
Post by: Main Street on December 28, 2021, 12:02:25 AM
Quote from: FermGael on December 27, 2021, 10:32:20 PM
Bernadette McAliskey giving a few uncomfortable home truths on the Tommy Tiernan show.

Baile Brigín would probably disagree and claim Bernadette "has totally lost it" when she shared similar sentiments to what Joe expressed,  but in truth  most likely BB  hasn't a clue about Bernadette.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 28, 2021, 12:03:14 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 27, 2021, 10:47:58 PM

Sigh.

Eh?  perhaps I am confusing you with the poster similarily name Baile Brigin who posted the idiotic hysterical comment  "He (Joe) has totally lost it"

You patronised me by saying there is no discussion being had. Queue 10 pages of discussion.

In my experience there are a range of attitudes down here about the conflict in the north east. But literally nobody, not even the Harris's of the world, claimed the nationalist population brought it on themselves. If he genuinely believes that he is absolutely bewildered. But he isn't an idiot. So he knows he is talking shite but did so anyway. To me that puts him in the nutter bracket. Ergo lost it.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on December 28, 2021, 12:04:06 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 28, 2021, 12:02:25 AM
Quote from: FermGael on December 27, 2021, 10:32:20 PM

Baile Brigín would probably disagree and claim Bernadette "has totally lost it" when she shared similar sentiments to what Joe expressed,  but in truth  most likely BB  hasn't a clue about Bernadette.

Didn't see it, but did she claim we think you deserve what you got up there?
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 01:04:44 AM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on December 27, 2021, 03:54:02 PM

we might have saved ye

Saved ye ;D

Boo hoo

If ye lot were any use the likes of Tyrone would be in the Republic but it ain't and it's everyone's fault bar your own and what went before you.

Couldnt get the Brits out of your county during the war of independence

Couldn't get them out during the troubles

Still part of Britain with the scraps of devolution thrown at ye and ye happy with it

Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 28, 2021, 02:34:05 AM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 01:04:44 AM

we might have saved ye

Saved ye ;D

Boo hoo

If ye lot were any use the likes of Tyrone would be in the Republic but it ain't and it's everyone's fault bar your own and what went before you.

Still part of Britain with the scraps of devolution thrown at ye and ye happy with it
You've just proved my point.
You couldn't get them out during the war of independence or the troubles because you ran away and were happy with part of the country ran by the brits. Sell outs, typical of the Munster men.
And this isn't Britain, it's clear you didn't go to your geography classes.
Post by: ardtole on December 28, 2021, 02:58:46 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on December 28, 2021, 12:03:14 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 27, 2021, 10:47:58 PM

Sigh.

You patronised me by saying there is no discussion being had. Queue 10 pages of discussion.

In my experience there are a range of attitudes down here about the conflict in the north east. But literally nobody, not even the Harris's of the world, claimed the nationalist population brought it on themselves. If he genuinely believes that he is absolutely bewildered. But he isn't an idiot. So he knows he is talking shite but did so anyway. To me that puts him in the nutter bracket. Ergo lost it.

Regina Doherty made a very similar statement in a debate with Gerry Adams 6 or 7 years ago on lmfm. She made it clear where she thought the blame for the conflict lay. It was a difficult listen.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 28, 2021, 09:22:57 AM

we might have saved ye

Saved ye ;D

Boo hoo

State of this post
Title: Re: Joe Brolly has discussion with Jamie Bryson
Post by: seafoid on December 28, 2021, 09:26:29 AM
There are 2 ways to manage a territory with a significant regional minority .

1. Unified with high regional autonomy
2. Partitioned

The national territory was partitioned against the wishes of Unionists and Nationalists in 1920. Tyrone and Fermanagh were thrown in for free. There was no vote.

"For every complex problem there is an answer that is clear, simple, and wrong"
Mencken.

North Down and Antrim were more developed than the South.

Grace Neill's pub in Donaghdee has a photo from a century ago. Nobody was wearing tracksuits.

Post 1920 the Unionists ran NI as a separate country that was not Irish. They ran an ethnography with systematic injustice against Nationalists.

The UK was at the time richer than the South. In the 50s even Crossmaglen Republicans appreciated the NHS although they felt uncomfortable.
Dublin had zero leverage.

Until the system collapsed into civil war in 1969.

Sunningdale, the Anglo Irish Agreement and the GFA all had significant Dublin input.

The last 50 years have featured the slow dripping away of Unionist power in favour of Dublin influence. The GFA was described as Sunningdale for slow learners by Séamus Mallon.

Over the same time period the Northern economy faded and was overtaken by the Southern economy. 

The institutions of the Southern state  including the LLS are partitionist.  So are the papers. This is not a law of nature. The people aren't necessarily.
The national territory is still divided.

This is a very long game.
Post by: Rossfan on December 28, 2021, 09:36:42 AM
Meanwhile....
https://www.rte.ie/news/2021/1228/1267925-state-papers-reynolds/
Post by: Silver hill on December 28, 2021, 09:44:07 AM

we might have saved ye

Saved ye ;D

Boo hoo

Either you're taking the piss or you haven't the brains you were born with?
Anyone with even the slightest grasp of Irish history knows that the sovereignty of the population of the 6 counties was carved out in a botched job in London 100 years ago with an attitude seemingly of half a loaf being better than none. That Treaty ensured misery and servitude would be the experience of Nationalists at the behest of the unionist majority. 50 years of gerrymandering, sectarianism in the workplace and zero investment resulted in Nationalists being forced to get the foot off their throats and the Civil Rights movement was born. Further oppression from the Establishment to keep the croppies down resulted in the emergence of the provisional IRA and the conflict that ensued for 30+ years thereafter.
To read your comments this morning about the plight of your fellow countryman in the 6 counties makes me feel ashamed to be an Irishman.
Post by: johnnycool on December 28, 2021, 11:32:27 AM
Joe speaks of his experiences and TBH mine would be similar from my earliest forrays to Clare and Wexford in National Feiles and Cork for a Prince concert in the park as a 16yo. Certain things stick out.

I remember one of our coaches in the U14's saying that the way the opposition was going on they must have thought our hurls could fire bullets.. They were scared shitless of us and we didn't have any manchilds on our team like BCB, the following year in Clare one of the players was asked to leave a house as he was a druggie. Turned out he'd used his inhaler for Asthma. The host parents duly apologised after but in hindsight it showed where their mind was in relation to us savages coming down to quiet rural Clare and Wexford and us from the sticks too..

I'd a girl in Cork ask me why those IRA terrorists were shooting and bombing the British Army who were there only to keep the peace, any chance of a shift was gone right there and then...

I've had opposite experiences as well, mostly with Tipp people in fairness and an old lad from Connemara where they'd be more sympathetic or enlightened. Once when staying at a bnb on the templemore road in Thurles for a Munster final, it was owned by a Garda and his wife and the guard sat with us for breakfast and told of his experiences of being stationed near the border in Monaghan the time of the foot and mouth outbreak and what he'd heard of Billy Wright, the Fultons and their uninterrupted murder campaign against innocent Catholics and his parting words as we headed off to Tom Semples field suggested Joe hit the nail on the head "Sure those f**kers in RTE tell the people down here f**k all!"

Kilruane McDonaghs were the first club to ever come North for a tournament we used to run as it was hard to even get Dublin clubs to come in the 90's. Nenagh and Lorrha were also up so I'll always give the Tipp lads more of a by ball that way even if Babs Keating was put out of a Down hurlers dressing room by Sean McGuinness back in the day  ;D
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 11:57:29 AM
https://twitter.com/csblenner/status/1475161417263292417?s=21

"Virtually all the debate on the reunification of Ireland centres on how we integrate the 800k PUL citizens in NI and how we absorb a region that's been in economic freefall for decades. But Joe Brolly's dubious claims suggest the integration of republicans as another snag."

As proven by the vast majority of northern comments on here

They have more in common with their unionist neighbours and despise the south
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 12:04:46 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 28, 2021, 09:26:29 AM

2. Partitioned

The national territory was partitioned against the wishes of Unionists and Nationalists in 1920. Tyrone and Fermanagh were thrown in for free. There was no vote.

Mencken.

Grace Neill's pub in Donaghdee has a photo from a century ago. Nobody was wearing tracksuits.

Post 1920 the Unionists ran NI as a separate country that was not Irish. They ran an ethnography with systematic injustice against Nationalists.

The UK was at the time richer than the South. In the 50s even Crossmaglen Republicans appreciated the NHS although they felt uncomfortable.

Sunningdale, the Anglo Irish Agreement and the GFA all had significant Dublin input.

The last 50 years have featured the slow dripping away of Unionist power in favour of Dublin influence. The GFA was described as Sunningdale for slow learners by Séamus Mallon.

Over the same time period the Northern economy faded and was overtaken by the Southern economy. 

The institutions of the Southern state  including the LLS are partitionist.  So are the papers. This is not a law of nature. The people aren't necessarily.

For those who seem to believe that the Republic is any way comparable to what they have in NI

A few simple facts

NI currently has a population 36% of the Republics

1.1920 2 counties Down and Antrim had 80% of the total economic output of the Island, today the total NI economic output is 8% of this islands output.

If NI was in any fit state economically, it would be contributing a third or more.

2.The Size of the Republics economy is €400bn odd, the size of NI's is £40bn odd

NI's economy should be treble what it is, £120bn odd

3.Exports

ROI total exports €160bn odd,2020 up 8% on 2019

NI total exports £7bn odd

the reality is that the increase in the Republic exports between 2019 and 2020 is greater than NI total exports tells its own story.

4.Cross Border pre 2021 Exports by value

34% NI exports to the Republic

1% ROI exports to NI

I could go on and on with examples as regards the disparity in wages, educational attainment, quality of life, life expectancy, even social welfare benefits which seems to a preoccupation of some from NI and the likes of gay rights and abortion rights but I wont.

I'm sure the sainted northern NHS will be thrown at me as an example of where NI is better the Republic, but when you look at the thousands on waiting lists up there, it kinda dilutes that claim too.

The reality is that the Republic is a free open and tolerant European country, the North ain't and maybe that's why most nordies on here resent it so much
Post by: johnnycool on December 28, 2021, 12:14:04 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 11:57:29 AM

"Virtually all the debate on the reunification of Ireland centres on how we integrate the 800k PUL citizens in NI and how we absorb a region that's been in economic freefall for decades. But Joe Brolly's dubious claims suggest the integration of republicans as another snag."

I think it's more nuanced than that.

Northerners of my vintage and older probably take exception to how we were portrayed by the ruling elites, the media, print, television and radio in Dublin mostly, the church with the honourable exception of Cardinal Ó Fiaich not the ordinary Joe who wanted to make a living for his family in deepest Cloughjordan or the likes.

Scannal showed a documentary of the "dispute" at Holycross Primary school 20 years after the event and seeing some of the responses from the likes of Anthony Daly on twitter almost incredulous that this happened as if he was unaware of it when it was actually happening..

The Southern public were deliberately kept in the dark and fed a "one is bad as the other line" for fear of offending the unionists in the north and the London government I presume..
Post by: johnnycool on December 28, 2021, 12:20:08 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 12:04:46 PM

2. Partitioned

Mencken.

For those who seem to believe that the Republic is any way comparable to what they have in NI

A few simple facts

NI currently has a population 36% of the Republics

1.1920 2 counties Down and Antrim had 80% of the total economic output of the Island, today the total NI economic output is 8% of this islands output.

If NI was in any fit state economically, it would be contributing a third or more.

2.The Size of the Republics economy is €400bn odd, the size of NI's is £40bn odd

NI's economy should be treble what it is, £120bn odd

3.Exports

ROI total exports €160bn odd,2020 up 8% on 2019

NI total exports £7bn odd

the reality is that the increase in the Republic exports between 2019 and 2020 is greater than NI total exports tells its own story.

4.Cross Border pre 2021 Exports by value

34% NI exports to the Republic

1% ROI exports to NI

I could go on and on with examples as regards the disparity in wages, educational attainment, quality of life, life expectancy, even social welfare benefits which seems to a preoccupation of some from NI and the likes of gay rights and abortion rights but I wont.

I'm sure the sainted northern NHS will be thrown at me as an example of where NI is better the Republic, but when you look at the thousands on waiting lists up there, it kinda dilutes that claim too.

The reality is that the Republic is a free open and tolerant European country, the North ain't and maybe that's why most nordies on here resent it so much

I think some of us really understand that whilst part of the UK Northern Ireland has suffered from under investment and lack of interest from London, heck, they don't even give a shit for the north of England FFS. Now with the hardest of Brexit looming driven by little englanders with a longing for an empire that is long gone, the very same economic unionists in the north are beginning to see what the rest of us have seen for a while, that the six counties, long underachievement would be better served in a UI part of the EU.

We don't resent it, we want to be an active part of it.
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 12:22:20 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on December 28, 2021, 12:14:04 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on December 28, 2021, 11:57:29 AM

I think it's more nuanced than that.

Northerners of my vintage and older probably take exception to how we were portrayed by the ruling elites, the media, print, television and radio in Dublin mostly, the church with the honourable exception of Cardinal Ó Fiaich not the ordinary Joe who wanted to make a living for his family in deepest Cloughjordan or the likes.

Scannal showed a documentary of the "dispute" at Holycross Primary school 20 years after the event and seeing some of the responses from the likes of Anthony Daly on twitter almost incredulous that this happened as if he was unaware of it when it was actually happening..

The Southern public were deliberately kept in the dark and fed a "one is bad as the other line" for fear of offending the unionists in the north and the London government I presume..

You presumed wrong on that front

It's like you lot think we didn't have television or just RTE only for our sources of information,when the abomination at Holy Cross was going on.

Post by: Itchy on December 28, 2021, 01:19:04 PM
What we have here is a little FGer who knows f**k all about anything from the safety of Tipp/Laois lecturing us. Best to ignore him. The FGers are in a deep set of panic at the moment and are lashing out left right and centre, just have a look at the state of them on twitter for example and in the print media. McEntee and unbelievably Norma Foley are being touted as the next great female leaders of Ireland so afraid are they of the republican movement and specifically Mary Lou McDonald.
Post by: Rossfan on December 28, 2021, 02:48:27 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 28, 2021, 01:19:04 PM
What we have here is a little FGer who knows f**k all about anything from the safety of Tipp/Laois lecturing us. Best to ignore him. The FGers are in a deep set of panic at the moment and are lashing out left right and centre, just have a look at the state of them on twitter for example and in the print media. McEntee and unbelievably Norma Foley are being touted as the next great female leaders of Ireland so afraid are they of the republican movement and specifically Mary Lou McDonald.
Are you still not a member of any political party ;D
Post by: Rossfan on December 28, 2021, 02:50:34 PM

2. Partitioned

Time the pro unity people were studying Belgian and Swiss models.
Post by: Itchy on December 28, 2021, 03:15:31 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 28, 2021, 02:48:27 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 28, 2021, 01:19:04 PM
Are you still not a member of any political party ;D

If you've proof I am produce it. I will vote SF at next election but I am not a member.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on December 28, 2021, 03:19:15 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 28, 2021, 02:50:34 PM

2. Partitioned

that would be too sensible for nordies  ::)

they vote against their own interests but you get who and what you vote for
Post by: seafoid on December 28, 2021, 05:17:52 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 28, 2021, 02:50:34 PM

2. Partitioned

Based on now, only Antrim, east Derry, a bit of Armagh and North Down would be considered for regional autonomy.

Post by: Rossfan on December 28, 2021, 05:43:32 PM
With the 6/26 divide possibly 120 years in existence there won't be a partition of the "Northeast semi autonomous region".
Possibly divide it into "3 sub cantons" which will feed into the NESAR Assembly?
South and West mainly Nationalist, North and East mainly Unionist and Belfast Metropolitan area 50/50.
Post by: Main Street on December 29, 2021, 12:29:32 AM
That was a very good interview with Joe on  VM by Tommy Martin,  I don't know if there has been a better one this year.  Tommy was just perfect, stayed in the background, kept the questions  to a minimum, just prodded Joe in a direction and listened to him expressing his raw to the bone complex of emotions and memories. That was Joe unplugged, stripped bare and honest.
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2021, 12:34:17 AM
Joe seemed to sell his ma and da (recently deceased) up the river in that interview with no real detail. Very uncomfortable viewing.
Post by: Main Street on December 29, 2021, 12:39:43 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 29, 2021, 12:34:17 AM
Joe seemed to sell his ma and da (recently deceased) up the river in that interview with no real detail. Very uncomfortable viewing.
Blatantly obvious what he was referring to  and Joe gave account to his Aunt's regrets. It was not a planned disclosure  perhaps he will add some coherance to the  experience later on as he clearly has not got 'passed it'.
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2021, 12:44:51 AM
When he talked about thinking he was going to be punched if someone was aggressive with him, you knew the parallels he was making. The spitting thing made the parallels a bit blurred.
Post by: Fuzzman on December 29, 2021, 09:57:04 AM
Very uncomfortable viewing indeed when he talked about his horrible child hood at the boarding school in Armagh and how his aunt told him we shouldn't have sent him there.
Hard to watch him crying about the abuse.
Thought Tommy handled it well and moved on.
Post by: Tubberman on December 29, 2021, 10:01:35 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 29, 2021, 12:29:32 AM
That was a very good interview with Joe on  VM by Tommy Martin,  I don't know if there has been a better one this year.  Tommy was just perfect, stayed in the background, kept the questions  to a minimum, just prodded Joe in a direction and listened to him expressing his raw to the bone complex of emotions and memories. That was Joe unplugged, stripped bare and honest.

Joe's honest opinion changes to suit his agenda on any given matter.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 11:11:24 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on December 29, 2021, 09:57:04 AM
Very uncomfortable viewing indeed when he talked about his horrible child hood at the boarding school in Armagh and how his aunt told him we shouldn't have sent him there.
What took Joe to school in Armagh when there were plenty of good schools nearer hand?
Post by: Targetman on December 29, 2021, 11:38:33 AM
He was sent to board in Armagh
Post by: Main Street on December 29, 2021, 11:52:03 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on December 29, 2021, 09:57:04 AM
I understood he was talking about being abused when aged 5 or 6 and close to home.
And the Aunt had said to Joe, 'we should have taken you out of there'.
Post by: Dire Ear on December 29, 2021, 12:14:22 PM
Brolly talks too much
Post by: tbrick18 on December 29, 2021, 12:39:04 PM

Anywhere this can seen MainStreet?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 12:48:04 PM
Quote from: Targetman on December 29, 2021, 11:38:33 AM
I know that but I'm curious as to why people send their children to boarding school. I get that it's a thing amongst the posh in England but find it strange for someone who grew up in Dungiven.
Post by: Rossfan on December 29, 2021, 01:15:49 PM
Perception of better education, keep them from mischief,  prepare them for possible Priesthood, make them better footballers, show off to neighbours that you are richer than them.....
Post by: lenny on December 29, 2021, 01:24:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 29, 2021, 01:15:49 PM
Perception of better education, keep them from mischief,  prepare them for possible Priesthood, make them better footballers, show off to neighbours that you are richer than them.....

With his father inside it was probably to keep him away and insulate him from the troubles.
Post by: whitey on December 29, 2021, 02:13:43 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 29, 2021, 01:15:49 PM

Haha-all of the above

Funny how the fortunes of Mayo football improved dramatically when the best footballers no longer went to St Jarlath's
Post by: Main Street on December 29, 2021, 02:25:58 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on December 29, 2021, 12:39:04 PM

Anywhere this can seen MainStreet?
It's on the Virgin Media 2 player.

edit. -   doing a  search for Virgin media ireland. brings some interesting  results
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 29, 2021, 05:19:49 PM
2 Lad up the road from me were send to boarding in Armagh. Which was 25mile + away, far at the time for the late 1980's. 1 family thought their son was too good for anybody and the locals were a bad influence. She was correct on this point lol 😂. The other family holidayed all the time and it didn't suit him coming home every day for their lifestyle. Heard stories not overly good about boarding up in Armagh from the lads themselves. Bullying was rife and  a hammering part of the course.
Post by: Fuzzman on December 29, 2021, 05:34:34 PM
Yeah maybe I heard it wrong. Maybe he meant at home but he left it very vague.
I think he said he was an abused boy but didn't say in what way.
Could it just have been from what he saw at home from the troubles?
Post by: Snapchap on December 29, 2021, 05:49:45 PM
If you want a textbook example of the reason Catholics in the north, almost universally, regard the south as having ignored them/let them down, just listen to this short clip of Eamonn McCann speaking about how the Bloody Sunday families were treated by the establishment in the south in "around 1990" as part of their campaign for truth and justice:

https://twitter.com/DanielCollins85/status/1267451641600659458?t=qhHsRdSFRcyT1zns9K5ipQ&s=19 (https://twitter.com/DanielCollins85/status/1267451641600659458?t=qhHsRdSFRcyT1zns9K5ipQ&s=19)
Post by: seafoid on December 29, 2021, 06:57:42 PM
Poor JB. A troubled soul.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 29, 2021, 07:12:17 PM
Joe never passed as a typical Dungiven lad/man. He be the only guy out of Dungiven who wouldn't have cut you in two on the football field, on the team he played on they been fairly sturdy with the odd animal on it. He stood out as stylish but needed that vicous streak all the rest of them had on the field.
Post by: armaghniac on December 29, 2021, 07:27:42 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on December 29, 2021, 05:49:45 PM
If you want a textbook example of the reason Catholics in the north, almost universally, regard the south as having ignored them/let them down, just listen to this short clip of Eamonn McCann speaking about how the Bloody Sunday families were treated by the establishment in the south in "around 1990" as part of their campaign for truth and justice:

https://twitter.com/DanielCollins85/status/1267451641600659458?t=qhHsRdSFRcyT1zns9K5ipQ&s=19 (https://twitter.com/DanielCollins85/status/1267451641600659458?t=qhHsRdSFRcyT1zns9K5ipQ&s=19)

And it is not just northerners, there was little heed paid to the victims of the Dublin bombings.
Post by: Main Street on December 29, 2021, 07:29:08 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on December 29, 2021, 05:34:34 PM
Yeah maybe I heard it wrong. Maybe he meant at home but he left it very vague.
I think he said he was an abused boy but didn't say in what way.
Could it just have been from what he saw at home from the troubles?
For once Joe was knocked off his perch and left stuck for words, caught somewhere between breaking down and choking up.  My understanding and of others who watched it with me was that 5 year old boy Joe was abused at home. Whatever it was that happened was deeply sinister, more than just  growing up  during the 'troubles´ and attending  boarding school.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 07:32:40 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 29, 2021, 05:19:49 PM
2 Lad up the road from me were send to boarding in Armagh. Which was 25mile + away, far at the time for the late 1980's. 1 family thought their son was too good for anybody and the locals were a bad influence. She was correct on this point lol 😂. The other family holidayed all the time and it didn't suit him coming home every day for their lifestyle. Heard stories not overly good about boarding up in Armagh from the lads themselves. Bullying was rife and  a hammering part of the course.
Was it not CBS when boarding? I wouldn't have sent a dog to be looked after those cnuts. Plenty of men in their 60s and 70s round here in Armagh have nothing good to say about them. I know of a few parents paying for boarding because their wains didn't pass the transfer. I can't pass comment as do not if I'd do the same in their position (and had the money to do so).

A fella I know in passing has 3 wains boarding in England at about 30k a pop. I have heard that he has non-dom tax status which would explain why he spends months at a time abroad. Boarding obviously the cheaper option.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 29, 2021, 09:19:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 12:48:04 PM
Quote from: Targetman on December 29, 2021, 11:38:33 AM
I know that but I'm curious as to why people send their children to boarding school. I get that it's a thing amongst the posh in England but find it strange for someone who grew up in Dungiven.

Long tradition in Dungiven of boarding. Before St Pat's came to the fore they boarded in St Columbs in the city up until late 60s
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 29, 2021, 09:23:32 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 29, 2021, 07:12:17 PM
Joe never passed as a typical Dungiven lad/man. He be the only guy out of Dungiven who wouldn't have cut you in two on the football field, on the team he played on they been fairly sturdy with the odd animal on it. He stood out as stylish but needed that vicous streak all the rest of them had on the field.

Was McGilligan not a big dochal
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 29, 2021, 09:27:51 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2021, 07:32:40 PM
Was it not CBS when boarding? I wouldn't have sent a dog to be looked after those cnuts. Plenty of men in their 60s and 70s round here in Armagh have nothing good to say about them. I know of a few parents paying for boarding because their wains didn't pass the transfer. I can't pass comment as do not if I'd do the same in their position (and had the money to do so).

A fella I know in passing has 3 wains boarding in England at about 30k a pop. I have heard that he has non-dom tax status which would explain why he spends months at a time abroad. Boarding obviously the cheaper option.

St Columbs the same ,beat the crap of the boys , especially the wee poor non boarders from The Bog
Post by: bennydorano on December 29, 2021, 09:45:02 PM

There was no boarding at the CBS in Armagh AFAIK, It was at St Patrick's College, run by some other branch of the clergy - Priests,  some order that I can't rememberthe name of. Interesting that CBS in Armagh had intakes of Protestants in the 60s/70s, no idea why but they did, not coming down with them but there were a few.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 29, 2021, 10:59:39 PM
McGilligan, hell no, been a fairly tough guy, just didnt need to throw it about. There was plenty of volunteers to do that.
Post by: JimStynes on December 29, 2021, 11:28:08 PM
Where can I watch this online? It's saying I can't download the app in the occupied 6 region.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on December 30, 2021, 02:33:43 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on December 29, 2021, 11:28:08 PM
Where can I watch this online? It's saying I can't download the app in the occupied 6 region.

use a vpn  ::)
Post by: omochain on December 30, 2021, 08:22:58 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 29, 2021, 09:45:02 PM

There was no boarding at the CBS in Armagh AFAIK, It was at St Patrick's College, run by some other branch of the clergy - Priests,  some order that I can't rememberthe name of. Interesting that CBS in Armagh had intakes of Protestants in the 60s/70s, no idea why but they did, not coming down with them but there were a few.
Correct.
St. Patrick's College Armagh was the junior diocesan seminary for the Arch Diocese of Armagh, run by the Vincentians. It was mostly a boarding school that took boys primarily from the length and breadth of the Diocese which ran from South Derry to Louth. It also had day boy pupils who tended to come from Armagh and areas close by that the UTA serviced. Like any other similar school there was some bullying. I was never bullied except for one occasion when I was a first year and a second year tried to prove his manhood by trying to kick my a$$. He didn't. We had the odd teacher/priest who was angry and that sometimes manifested itself in somebody getting a clout. We were sent to the prefect of studies or the Dean for formal discipline which generally meant getting six slaps from a cane on the hands. The more severe punishment could be described as "homoerotic" as you had to bend over and get caned on the a$$. However you had to do something pretty outside the rules to get this. I was not a boarder so I cannot speak to being deprived of my family which I can only see as horrible but I did hate Sandyhill. I hated it because I didn't think they took football seriously and they didn't field a hurling team :(
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on December 30, 2021, 10:20:08 AM
https://twitter.com/irish_news/status/1476468095082504192?t=UzKzQwifx47n4xY9aQNw0w&s=09

I said it before, you would be seriously worried about Joe's mental health
Post by: Main Street on December 30, 2021, 10:58:54 AM
Joe Brolly in a  tv interview said he was an abused child, it happenned  when aged 5 and his Aunt said later that they should have got him out of that place. Joe said what does a 5 year old kid know and that his parents were regarded as heroes.

He said at some other part of the interview that he was sent to boarding school in Armagh and said nothing more about it.
Now we have Nordies, ignoring what Joe said (abused aged 5),  extrapalating that Joe was abused at boarding school and yapping  willy nilly about boarding school abuse. Is this an example of what passes for normal Nordie sanity?   
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 30, 2021, 11:14:28 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 30, 2021, 10:58:54 AM
Joe Brolly in a  tv interview said he was an abused child, it happenned  when aged 5 and his Aunt said later that they should have got him out of that place. Joe said what does a 5 year old kid know and that his parents were regarded as heroes.

He said at some other part of the interview that he was sent to boarding school in Armagh and said nothing more about it.
Now we have Nordies, ignoring what Joe said (abused aged 5),  extrapalating that Joe was abused at boarding school and yapping  willy nilly about boarding school abuse. Is this an example of what passes for normal Nordie sanity?   

That's some sweeping statement on all Nordies! It's like saying all southerners turned their back on the north and blamed nationalist for the troubles
Post by: restorepride on January 01, 2022, 01:36:50 AM
Joe's parents, Anne and Francie, were a fairly successful musical duo on the Folk Club/traditional scene in the 70s so boarding school for the children helped to facilitate this. Joe may have overstated the 'away from the troubles' thing. From Dungiven .... to Armagh?!!
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 01, 2022, 05:45:20 PM
It was a simpler life for Joe giving out about 2010's Tyrone.   
Post by: HokeyPokey on January 01, 2022, 07:17:17 PM
Going back to the actual discussion.

Bryson didn't make any valid points at all. I thought Brolly should really have pulled him up on making remarks that the end point of the peace process is a United Ireland. This is sort of true but he seemed to be suggesting that unionists shouldn't engage with it because of this idea. He seems to be essentially suggesting that the democratic will of the majority should be ignored / opposed if it chooses unity ...

The thing that gets me more than anything is that unionists keep increasing the chances of a UI by pissing off nationalists and disenfranchising small u unionists. There would be a lot less debate if they hadn't been so overtly pushing for a divisive Brexit.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 01, 2022, 08:50:19 PM
Both Bryson and Brolly bore me big time..2 boys love sound of their own voices
Post by: Orior on January 01, 2022, 09:12:08 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 01, 2022, 08:50:19 PM

But they are poles apart in terms of intelligence and credibility.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 01, 2022, 09:20:51 PM
Undoubtedly. But no more interesting none the less, i used to love Joe but he's giving too many interviews recently on too many different "poor me complex" stuff. He's not well clearly
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 02, 2022, 12:33:31 AM
Looks like his next interview gonna be with the cops.
Post by: tiempo on January 02, 2022, 08:56:16 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 02, 2022, 12:33:31 AM

Meat and drink for Joe. And to think the establishment and authorities are protecting the paedophile Prince Andrew. Wonder are unionists going to get as uppity about that?
Post by: restorepride on January 02, 2022, 03:38:07 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 02, 2022, 12:33:31 AM
Possibly, but not many will truly believe his 'atonement' story. Probably a cover for his impulsive nature and egotistical tendencies.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 02, 2022, 10:54:11 PM
Apparently his latest remarks not going down well in Dungiven
Post by: restorepride on January 03, 2022, 12:13:51 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 02, 2022, 10:54:11 PM
I can imagine that being true ok. For all his academic intelligence he seems to lack emotional intelligence. His charm has got him out of a few tricky situations in the past although he may be running out of road. Notice how his recollections and stories are getting more bizarre as time goes on - a sign that the Dungiven well is running dry.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 03, 2022, 12:33:18 AM
Quote from: restorepride on January 03, 2022, 12:13:51 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 02, 2022, 10:54:11 PM
I can imagine that being true ok. For all his academic intelligence he seems to lack emotional intelligence. His charm has got him out of a few tricky situations in the past although he may be running out of road. Notice how his recollections and stories are getting more bizarre as time goes on - a sign that the Dungiven well is running dry.

The well has run dry amongst the people know him best.
Post by: balladmaker on January 03, 2022, 02:58:41 AM
Quote from: Orior on January 01, 2022, 09:12:08 PM

I suggest that one will be a future President of Ireland, the other ... a nothing.
Post by: Ghost on January 03, 2022, 03:38:39 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on January 03, 2022, 02:58:41 AM

I suggest that one will be a future President of Ireland, the other ... a nothing.

I'll have some of whatever you are smoking please! There is as much chance as Bryson becoming president as there is Brolly.
Post by: lenny on January 03, 2022, 08:35:47 AM
Quote from: balladmaker on January 03, 2022, 02:58:41 AM

I can see Brolly going down the political line too. I can imagine him as a future president also. You could interpret those comments as an attempt to disassociate himself from a republican family past which would make him a more palatable candidate for southern voters.
Post by: restorepride on January 03, 2022, 11:00:27 AM
I can see him loving the limelight and blowing kisses in Croke Park!! Temperament and integrity would be severely lacking though. Let me tell you a story when I, me and myself were all .....
Post by: Tubberman on January 03, 2022, 11:12:52 AM
Ye are deluded if you think that fella could be elected as President of Ireland.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 03, 2022, 11:21:32 AM
He would be a disaster. Nowhere near the correct temperament
Post by: mouview on January 03, 2022, 11:35:14 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 03, 2022, 11:21:32 AM
He would be a disaster. Nowhere near the correct temperament

You have to wonder if he's of a depressive or bi-polar temperament alright. He really needs to take a step away from publicity for a while.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 03, 2022, 02:29:43 PM
There is more chance of Jamie Bryson becoming president of ireland.
Post by: JoG2 on January 03, 2022, 04:48:16 PM
They're nearly as many clinical psychologists on here as virologists by the looks of it  :D
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 03, 2022, 04:54:41 PM
Men that qualified, u wonder where they get the time to post online.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 03, 2022, 06:26:35 PM
I'm not sure what is wrong with Joe tbh. But in common parlance his head up is hole.

Post by: restorepride on January 03, 2022, 08:55:52 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 03, 2022, 06:26:35 PM
I'm not sure what is wrong with Joe tbh. But in common parlance his head up is ..hole.
Wait till Paul Grimley gets hoult of Joe! 🤣
Post by: Dire Ear on January 05, 2022, 11:02:24 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-59875934
A man has suffered a gunshot wound to his leg after shots were fired through the front door of a house in Dungiven

Hmmm,  bit extreme on poor Joe
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2022, 05:10:10 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on January 05, 2022, 11:02:24 AM
A man has suffered a gunshot wound to his leg after shots were fired through the front door of a house in Dungiven

Eoghan Quigg?  The only celebrity from Dungiven
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on January 06, 2022, 10:04:24 AM
Quote from: Dire Ear on January 05, 2022, 11:02:24 AM

Did he bring it on himself?
Post by: Truth hurts on January 06, 2022, 10:34:40 AM
Is there anywhere you can watch Joes interview on virgin media in the occupied 6 counties?