Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: RedHand88 on March 18, 2021, 06:31:49 PM

Title: Legal eagle help needed!
Post by: RedHand88 on March 18, 2021, 06:31:49 PM
Hi folks, have a legal query.

I was priced £640 for a new toilet by a plumbing firm. They initially offered a repair for what was I think 350 but that they couldn't stand over it and it would likely leak again. Didn't go with them for obvious reasons, ended up getting a repair done for £120 elsewhere.
I've never left a bad Google review in my life, but this crowd really annoyed me to the point where I put up a review simply stating what they were charging and what I paid elsewhere for a repair (no replacement required), and for people to price around.

In response they sent someone to the house today to tell my home alone pregnant wife that they were starting legal action, and were asking to see a receipt for the work that was done.
In addition to this, they sent me a long winded text message saying they would start legal proceedings if I did not take it down, as well as insinuating I was put up to it by a rival plumber,  which is obviously nonsense.

Am I obligated to show them any receipts if I've mentioned it in a Google review?
Is this a bluff?
Nothing I stated was false, except maybe that I didn't clarify the 120 i paid elsewhere was a repair and not a replacement, but I would be willing to clarify that in the post. Its still a ridiculous price for a bog.

Any solicitors able to clarify where I stand?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Legal eagle help needed!
Post by: Angelo on March 18, 2021, 06:36:28 PM
Post another review saying they're taking legal action against you.

You need to escalate matters.

Post by: armaghniac on March 18, 2021, 06:47:03 PM
Was your name and address on the review?
Today, send them a data protection request for a copy of all information they hold about you and a request to delete this forthwith. You have no continuing business relationship.
Report them to the Data Protection Commissioner, you did business with them to get a quote for your bog, not to have someone come to your house about a review. Using your address for that purpose is likely a misuse of data.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 18, 2021, 06:52:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 18, 2021, 06:47:03 PM
Today, send them a data protection request for a copy of all information they hold about you and a request to delete this forthwith. You have no continuing business relationship.
Report them to the Data Protection Commissioner, you did business with them to get a quote for your bog, not to have someone come to your house about a review. Using your address for that purpose is likely a misuse of data.

Name was on the review, not my address. I assume they still had job notes from it with my details and got the address from it. Couldn't believe it when my wife rang me to tell me, im very close to ringing the police and reporting harassment.

Does anyone know if David McKeown still uses the board?
Post by: delgany on March 18, 2021, 07:42:03 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 18, 2021, 06:52:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 18, 2021, 06:47:03 PM

Name was on the review, not my address. I assume they still had job notes from it with my details and got the address from it. Couldn't believe it when my wife rang me to tell me, im very close to ringing the police and reporting harassment.

Does anyone know if David McKeown still uses the board?
[/quote
David was on the parking ticket page' this week
Post by: grounded on March 18, 2021, 07:52:05 PM
Yes David answered a recent query in the parking ticket thread.
     Jesus, that is mental. I'm not a solicitor but what you posted on the google review seems fair and as far as you are concerned factually correct.
      Their response seems unreasonable, threatening and way over the top.
       I would do as armaghniac said. I would send the letter recorded delivery and keep the receipt. Ask that they acknowledge your letter and then report them to the data protection commissioner.
       If your wife did feel threatened you are well within your rights to contact the police.

Post by: delgany on March 18, 2021, 07:59:53 PM
There's plenty of cowboys out there.
Caught a 'gas engineer' out ' a while back, he said the gas boiler needed replaced as it was over 10 years old and it would be £3000 up front. The boiler was 4 yr old. Told him to do one. It needed an expander at £90 .
It depends where you live, but it's difficult getting a reliable tradesman
Post by: Armagh Girl on March 18, 2021, 08:13:22 PM
They have no grounds to instigate legal proceedings and have most certainly breached GDPR, do as Armaghniac has stated. Going to your home would definitely be considered as a bullying technique and if your wife feels threatened I would involve the Psni, Business must be bad when they are resorting to this. Why don't you tell everyone online which town /village this business is in so it can be avoided at all costs - Bully Boys!
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on March 18, 2021, 09:19:01 PM
Quote from: Armagh Girl on March 18, 2021, 08:13:22 PM
They have no grounds to instigate legal proceedings and have most certainly breached GDPR, do as Armaghniac has stated. Going to your home would definitely be considered as a bullying technique and if your wife feels threatened I would involve the Psni, Business must be bad when they are resorting to this. Why don't you tell everyone online which town /village this business is in so it can be avoided at all costs - Bully Boys!
GDPR is EU legislation but.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 18, 2021, 09:29:38 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on March 18, 2021, 09:19:01 PM
Quote from: Armagh Girl on March 18, 2021, 08:13:22 PM
GDPR is EU legislation but.

Since Brexit, the UK is following UK GDPR as opposed to EU GDPR. They are essentially the same thing, for now.
So GDPR still applies as does the Data Protection Act 2018 which is a UK law.
Post by: John Egans left boot on March 18, 2021, 10:15:10 PM
Can you elaborate, they sent someone to house. What was said? what was handed over? If they handed over a letter etc what was the content !

David does use the board PM him !!
Post by: RedHand88 on March 18, 2021, 10:24:49 PM
Quote from: John Egans left boot on March 18, 2021, 10:15:10 PM
Can you elaborate, they sent someone to house. What was said? what was handed over? If they handed over a letter etc what was the content !

Nothing was handed over. The goon employee he sent just said they needed to confirm this was my address so they could send a legal letter. Began by asking is this where such and such lives. She said yes, not knowing what was going on. He then wanted to know why I left a negative Google review, where we got it fixed, and wanted a copy of the receipt from the other party.
Shes working from home at the minute so is in the house alone for most of the day, so she's understandably worried about anyone else coming to the house.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 18, 2021, 10:27:14 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 18, 2021, 10:24:49 PM
Quote from: John Egans left boot on March 18, 2021, 10:15:10 PM

Nothing was handed over. The goon employee he sent just said they needed to confirm this was my address so they could send a legal letter. Began by asking is this where such and such lives. She said yes, not knowing what was going on. He then wanted to know why I left a negative Google review, where we got it fixed, and wanted a copy of the receipt from the other party.
Shes working from home at the minute so is in the house alone for most of the day, so she's understandably worried about anyone else coming to the house.
That's not on. Tell the cnuts if you come around harassing your wife at home you'll involve the peelers.
Post by: John Egans left boot on March 18, 2021, 10:38:15 PM
Ok wait for whatever comes in writing, if it ever comes, then address this issue based on the contents of what's in their letter.Poor taste and totally unprofessional indeed by this company/people.

Post by: David McKeown on March 18, 2021, 10:53:29 PM
Yeah I am still here usually only check in once or twice a week though.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 18, 2021, 11:02:02 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 18, 2021, 10:53:29 PM
Yeah I am still here usually only check in once or twice a week though.

What's your thoughts?
Post by: David McKeown on March 18, 2021, 11:12:06 PM
I think this is unfortunately becoming more and more common. The intimation of your wife is disgusting though. I've sent a PM to answer your specific queries.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 18, 2021, 11:22:35 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 18, 2021, 11:12:06 PM
I think this is unfortunately becoming more and more common. The intimation of your wife is disgusting though. I've sent a PM to answer your specific queries.

Thanks again. I'm going to ring him tomorrow and tell him I'm sending a letter asking for all of my personal data to be removed, as it is no longer required, and that if he sends anyone to my door again like that I'll be ringing the police.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 19, 2021, 12:19:01 AM
David, you should consider giving legal advice professionally, you could make money out of it!
Post by: David McKeown on March 19, 2021, 06:46:32 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on March 19, 2021, 12:19:01 AM
David, you should consider giving legal advice professionally, you could make money out of it!

Nah no money in it just lots of hassle. Busy enough as it is. Much better at the sys admin stuff.
Post by: John Egans left boot on March 19, 2021, 10:43:43 AM
David

Have you left the society of reprobates otherwise known as the North or Ireland bar?

If so best of luck in whatever your doing !!!
Post by: RedHand88 on March 19, 2021, 12:45:47 PM
Rang him today and explained the data protection breach and how he's no right to be out at my door.
They doubled down and said it wasn't a data breach, that they need to hold onto data and that I was free to go to the police and make an ass of myself if I wanted.
Said I would be forced to pay out £10k+ in court, that they've won these cases before and for me to remove the post and get on with my life.

Tbh, I couldn't be bothered with the hassle and he seemed cocky enough to make me second guess it, so I'll probably just give in.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 19, 2021, 12:56:50 PM
Don't be giving in to a p***k like that :(
Post by: general_lee on March 19, 2021, 12:59:28 PM
They're filling your head full of shit. If you've given a fair and accurate review they haven't a leg to stand on. Do they just expect every customer they have is going to leave a positive review?
Post by: RedHand88 on March 19, 2021, 01:05:22 PM
Told me the reasons other boys do it cheap was because they don't charge VAT. I says flip me sir, VAT is 20%, not 300%!
Post by: APM on March 19, 2021, 01:10:03 PM
Do not give in to a p***k like that!! 
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 19, 2021, 01:12:57 PM
Quote from: Angelo on March 18, 2021, 06:36:28 PM
Post another review saying they're taking legal action against you.

You need to escalate matters.

This was missed. The odd time the man posts sense. Do this and also detail how theyve now came round to your house and asked for receipts. No right in the world to ask for receipts id guess

Was gona post last night then deleted, 20/30 friends of the pitchfork brigade variety all leaving various shit reviews would be fun to watch...
Post by: Jim Bob on March 19, 2021, 01:18:12 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 19, 2021, 12:45:47 PM
Rang him today and explained the data protection breach and how he's no right to be out at my door.
They doubled down and said it wasn't a data breach, that they need to hold onto data and that I was free to go to the police and make an ass of myself if I wanted.
Said I would be forced to pay out £10k+ in court, that they've won these cases before and for me to remove the post and get on with my life.

Tbh, I couldn't be bothered with the hassle and he seemed cocky enough to make me second guess it, so I'll probably just give in.

So they're saying there's an easy 10 grand waiting for them but if you delete they ll not bother looking about the 10 grand??  they are total bulls@@@@ers
Post by: RedHand88 on March 19, 2021, 01:29:41 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on March 19, 2021, 01:18:12 PM

So they're saying there's an easy 10 grand waiting for them but if you delete they ll not bother looking about the 10 grand??  they are total bulls@@@@ers

Yep that was exactly it. Also claimed to me today that he offered the wife a variety of toilets and she wanted the expensive one. Complete and utter lie. Still fuming about it. Haven't deleted it yet to I think more about it.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 19, 2021, 01:34:47 PM
Withdraw post. Take your next shite thro his letterbox. Everyones a winner
Post by: TabClear on March 19, 2021, 01:37:29 PM
Quote from: APM on March 19, 2021, 01:10:03 PM

I would agree with this but its not me being threatened with legal action. I would imagine that as long as the review is factually accurate I fail to see how you could be in the wrong. This was in the news recently but this guy clearly slandered/defamed the firm by calling them "another scam solicitor",

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-56017604

From an easy life perspective, if it was me would I really want it hanging over me for what, to keep up a bad (but accurate) review? By teh way RedHand88 I would love you to come back here a say that you stuck to your guns because assholes like that deserve every bad review they get.

On a completely unrelated topic, there are plenty of people on this board with multiple email addresses, aliases etc who love a good anonymous feud online.....what review site was this again??  ;) ;)
Post by: APM on March 19, 2021, 01:49:59 PM
Quote from: TabClear on March 19, 2021, 01:37:29 PM
Quote from: APM on March 19, 2021, 01:10:03 PM
I would agree with this but its not me being threatened with legal action.
Fair point!!
Post by: thebigfella on March 19, 2021, 04:01:30 PM
Just PM everyone who it is and we'll all leave reviews.
Post by: Angelo on March 19, 2021, 04:05:12 PM
I am available for hire.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 19, 2021, 05:36:11 PM
Ah I'm just gonna leave it lads thanks, already suffered enough hassle for it! I will send him a very long text message outlining how what he had done is wrong and i will be sending a data retention letter. Thanks for all the advice though. When people ask what the point is of the board anymore they can look at this thread.
As for your man, he deserves to be locked in a room with Angelo and Sid debating Irish history/US politics for the next 20 years   ;D ;D ;D
Post by: trailer on March 19, 2021, 06:18:59 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 19, 2021, 05:36:11 PM
Ah I'm just gonna leave it lads thanks, already suffered enough hassle for it! I will send him a very long text message outlining how what he had done is wrong and i will be sending a data retention letter. Thanks for all the advice though. When people ask what the point is of the board anymore they can look at this thread.
As for your man, he deserves to be locked in a room with Angelo and Sid debating Irish history/US politics for the next 20 years   ;D ;D ;D

Easy for us all to have an opinion not facing into it. However for what it's worth you're man is bang out of order. I hope your wife is ok.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 19, 2021, 06:23:47 PM
Disappointed my shittin in the letterbox wasnt more seriously considered

*leaves forum forever*
Post by: Jim Bob on March 19, 2021, 09:22:58 PM
You can delete it for now.....then check that you did nothing illegal and if you find out  that the firm can't touch you stick the review up again...l
Post by: David McKeown on March 19, 2021, 09:23:29 PM

Why would the police get involved in a civil matter.  I hate bullying like this, its like those parking ticket letters using the English case law to intimidate.  Unfortunately as I was saying last night its becoming more and more common.  At the same time I can understand your position sometimes its just easier not to let the bastards get to you.  The idea of any Judge awarding 10k here is laughable.  They'd also need to seek an injunction against the website on which its published.  All nonsense from them.  Pure bullying
Post by: David McKeown on March 19, 2021, 09:24:00 PM
Quote from: John Egans left boot on March 19, 2021, 10:43:43 AM
David

Have you left the society of reprobates otherwise known as the North or Ireland bar?

If so best of luck in whatever your doing !!!

Na just harking back to my previous career
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 19, 2021, 09:56:34 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 19, 2021, 09:23:29 PM

Why would the police get involved in a civil matter.  I hate bullying like this, its like those parking ticket letters using the English case law to intimidate.  Unfortunately as I was saying last night its becoming more and more common.  At the same time I can understand your position sometimes its just easier not to let the bastards get to you.  The idea of any Judge awarding 10k here is laughable.  They'd also need to seek an injunction against the website on which its published.  All nonsense from them.  Pure bullying

While all you say is correct i would think that shitting through the letter box would be the strongest argument that could be made. I'm with jibbajabba
Post by: David McKeown on March 19, 2021, 09:59:37 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 19, 2021, 09:56:34 PM

While all you say is correct i would think that shitting through the letter box would be the strongest argument that could be made. I'm with jibbajabba

Its only the angles required that was putting me off
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 19, 2021, 10:03:56 PM
An important factor on internet 'defamation' is that a lot depends on the hosting website and where they are based. If, for example, they are based in the US they are governed by US libel laws, which are overridden by the constitutional freedom of speech. They're being arseholes and I personally would call their bluff but it's not my name.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 19, 2021, 10:27:54 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 19, 2021, 09:59:37 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 19, 2021, 09:56:34 PM

Its only the angles required that was putting me off

Ta for the support bcb1 😃 and to be fair i agree with you David. Id a mate took a widdle thro next doors letterbox back in my Agincourt days which was one of my most memorable nights in Belfast but thats another story for another day for another thread 😃😎
Post by: Louther on March 19, 2021, 10:39:31 PM
That's fairly disgusting - take a shit through the letter box. Sick men.

Can you just not use the tried and trusted ways of posting his phone number on buy & sell giving something away for free or better again on a sex site as a lonely lady looking dominant dirty talking men. The old ways always the best.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 19, 2021, 10:52:51 PM
Quote from: Louther on March 19, 2021, 10:39:31 PM

Can you just not use the tried and trusted ways of posting his phone number on buy & sell giving something away for free or better again on a sex site as a lonely lady looking dominant dirty talking men. The old ways always the best.

Why not do a 2 pronged attack? Shit through the door and dirty talk for big Sadie from Sandy Row? 
Post by: RedHand88 on March 20, 2021, 12:45:45 AM
Quote from: Louther on March 19, 2021, 10:39:31 PM

When the pubs open again I'll write his number on the toilet cubicle in Sally's.
Post by: TwoUpTwoDown on March 20, 2021, 08:27:25 AM
Get yourself on DoneDeal...Post a new ad...Ifor Williams trailer 12ft at a knockdown price, needs gone quick etc...insert pricks number...

Simple but oh so effective.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 20, 2021, 08:51:03 AM
Quote from: TwoUpTwoDown on March 20, 2021, 08:27:25 AM
Get yourself on DoneDeal...Post a new ad...Ifor Williams trailer 12ft at a knockdown price, needs gone quick etc...insert pricks number...

Puppies for sale is always a great one too.
Post by: Louther on March 20, 2021, 09:07:11 AM
That's the spirit  :)

More than one way to skin a cat. (Disclaimer: please don't experiment on cats to prove this)
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 20, 2021, 09:46:04 AM
Shit in a bag leave at front door set on fire ring doorbell.

S'all about the shit 😎

I jest. The phone calls and dodgy reviews work for me
Post by: grounded on March 20, 2021, 10:24:06 AM

You still have that trailer boss?
Post by: TwoUpTwoDown on March 20, 2021, 10:26:26 AM
Quote from: grounded on March 20, 2021, 10:24:06 AM

Aye still here, if you wanna send through £100 I'll hold her for you.
Post by: grounded on March 20, 2021, 10:34:38 AM
Quote from: TwoUpTwoDown on March 20, 2021, 10:26:26 AM
Quote from: grounded on March 20, 2021, 10:24:06 AM

Aye still here, if you wanna send through £100 I'll hold her for you.

Great, if you can just send me your bank account, address and a few other details I will get that sent off Asap  :)