GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on May 21, 2007, 08:58:19 AM

Title: The Qualifiers Round 1
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 21, 2007, 08:58:19 AM
This is going to be very interesting this year some big teams in it
Already we have

Kildare
Mayo
Fermanagh
Cavan
Limerick
Westmeath

Am i right in saying it's a open draw? Really out of that lot they are all capable of beating each other
Title: Re: The Qualifiers Round 1
Post by: High Catch on May 21, 2007, 09:04:50 AM
Next weekend you will also have Armagh or Donegal in that group.  There will be no easy back doors this year.  It is possible for Armagh to be beat next week and draw Mayo in the qualifiers and all of a sudden its goodbye Armagh/Mayo.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 21, 2007, 09:23:05 AM
First round is always open and I think there is no barrier to teams that met in Provinicial competition meeting again at any stage.

Round 2 will be round 1 winners v losing Provincial semi finalsts (I think - bar the Cooper Conscripts, if any)
Post by: wobbller on May 21, 2007, 09:35:50 AM
 Bank of Ireland Football Championship Qualifier Structure
Round 1 - This Round shall include all the counties that do not qualify for the Provincial Semi-Finals. An Open Draw shall be made to give eight pairings.

Round 2 - Each of the eight defeated teams in the Provincial Semi-Finals shall play against the eight winners from Round 1. A draw shall be made to determine the eight pairings.

Round 3 - The eight winners from Round 2 shall participate in this Round. An Open draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

Round 4 - Each of the four teams defeated in the Provincial Finals shall play against the four winners from Round 3. A draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

All Ireland Quarter-Finals: Each of the four Provincial Champions shall play one of the four winners from Round 4. A draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

All Ireland Semi-Finals: The All Ireland Semi-Finals shall be on a Provincial rots basis, initially determined by the Central Council. If a Provincial Championship winning team is defeated in its Quarter-Final, the team that defeats it shall take its place in the Semi-Final.

Post by: Smokin Joe on May 21, 2007, 10:03:03 AM
Quote from: wobbller on May 21, 2007, 09:35:50 AM
Round 2 will be the eight winners of Round 1 playing off to produce 4 winners to play the losing Provincial finalists in Round 3-these four winners then going into play the Provincial winners in the Q-finals

So where exactly do the losing provincial semi finalists come in?  ::)
Post by: Msgr. Horan on May 21, 2007, 10:23:42 AM
Round 1 - This Round shall include all the counties that do not qualify for the Provincial Semi-Finals. An Open Draw shall be made to give eight pairings.

Round 2 - Each of the eight defeated teams in the Provincial Semi-Finals shall play against the eight winners from Round 1. A draw shall be made to determine the eight pairings.

Round 3 - The eight winners from Round 2 shall participate in this Round. An Open draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

Round 4 - Each of the four teams defeated in the Provincial Finals shall play against the four winners from Round 3. A draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

All Ireland Quarter-Finals: Each of the four Provincial Champions shall play one of the four winners from Round 4. A draw shall be made to determine the four pairings.

All Ireland Semi-Finals: The All Ireland Semi-Finals shall be on a Provincial rots basis, initially determined by the Central Council. If a Provincial Championship winning team is defeated in its Quarter-Final, the team that defeats it shall take its place in the Semi-Final
Post by: Msgr. Horan on May 21, 2007, 10:31:21 AM
So who else is to join? Division 4 teams go into the Tommy Murphy cup, London-Leitrim? Antrim-Derry? If Div 4 teams are the loser then they're not in the qualifiers, how do they know they will have an even number of teams for Round 1?

The fixtures seem ludicrious, Mayo wont have a game now until July 7th. IF, and thats a big if after yesterday they go on a bit of a run they will have a game EVERY week potentiall including meeting a well rested provincial champion in the quarter final.

7th:
Bank of Ireland Football Championship Qualifier, Round 1

14th:
Bank of Ireland Football Championship Qualifier, Round 2

21st:
Bank of Ireland Football Championship Qualifier Round 3
Connacht R/U v Rd 2 Winner
Munster R/U v Rd 2 Winner

28th:
Bank of Ireland Football Championship Qualifier Round 3
Leinster R/U v Rd 2 Winner
Ulster R/U v Rd 2 winner

4th:
Bank of Ireland Football Championship Quarter Finals (2)
Connacht Champions v Qualifier
Ulster Champions v Qualifier

11th:
Bank of Ireland Football Championship Quarter Finals (2)
Munster Champions v Qualifier
Leinster Champions v Qualifier

Post by: Rick O Shea on May 21, 2007, 10:45:56 AM
Quote from: Msgr. Horan on May 21, 2007, 10:31:21 AM
The fixtures seem ludicrious, Mayo wont have a game now until July 7th. IF, and thats a big if after yesterday they go on a bit of a run they will have a game EVERY week potentiall including meeting a well rested provincial champion in the quarter final.

Well, thats the advantage of winning your provincial championship games!!  Beggars can't be choosers  ;D

Not remember back in the day when you lost in the provincial championship that was you til next year??  :P
Post by: Msgr. Horan on May 21, 2007, 11:10:12 AM
Quote from: Rick O Shea on May 21, 2007, 10:45:56 AM
Quote from: Msgr. Horan on May 21, 2007, 10:31:21 AM

Well, thats the advantage of winning your provincial championship games!!  Beggars can't be choosers  ;D

Not remember back in the day when you lost in the provincial championship that was you til next year??  :P
Oh yeah, thanks for that good man.
I think the point I was making is that it seems a bit strange to have no matches for 7 weeks once you are out of your provincial championship and then push the rest of the season into a four week window. A team that reaches the quarters is at a disctinct disadvantage if they are playing one week after the other. If your going to give a team a second chance you might as well make it reasonably fair. Having said that the other side of the coin is that if you do get to the quarters and have a two week break between the last qualifier round and the quarters you may have an advantage over the provincial champions in being match fitter and sharper.
Post by: Will Hunting on May 21, 2007, 11:26:32 AM
As far as I was aware, there is only 3 Qualifier Rounds this year. I am yet to hear the whole structure of it explained properly. If there was usually 16 teams in the first round draw, and now the 8 div 4 teams go into the Tommy Murphy (if they get beat), then surely that means there will be less than 16 teams in the first round draw??
Post by: mannix on May 21, 2007, 11:31:13 AM
A short season for mayo by the looks of it unless someone lights a big fire under them.
Post by: Hardy on May 21, 2007, 11:43:02 AM
I never saw it written down (and of course they still haven't bothered to write it down on gaa.ie – what a shower of wasters),  but I assumed the new setup eliminated round 1.

Round 1 was the sixteen teams who failed to reach the provincial semi-finals. Now it's less than sixteen, because up to eight go into the Tommy Murphy cup. If all eight of the Div. 4 teams fail to make the provincial semi-finals, the other eight losers go straight into what used to be round 2, against the losers of the provincial semi-finals and it proceeds from there as before.

If some of the Div. 4 teams make the provincial semi-finals, then there are more than eight teams in the qualifiers and there will have to be a draw and play-off(s) to reduce this number to eight.

Now it gets complicated if/when a Div. 4 team lose their semi-final. They go into the Tommy Murphy and there's a team among the eight qualifiers with nobody to play. Either whoever draws the Div. 4 team gets a bye, or else Div. 4 teams that get as far as the provincial semi-final are eligible for the qualifiers after that. I don't know which it is.
Post by: LaurelEye on May 21, 2007, 12:16:02 PM
AFAIK, the intention is that the first round are all the counties except the Provincial finalists and the Cooper Cup entrants - leaving a minimum of 16. The next two rounds would reduce the number to 8 and then 4, at which point the losing provincial finalists come into play.

What happens if a Cooperite such as Offaly or Wicklow reach a provincial final has still to be explained, I think.
Post by: Msgr. Horan on May 21, 2007, 12:25:35 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on May 21, 2007, 12:16:02 PM
AFAIK, the intention is that the first round are all the counties except the Provincial finalists and the Cooper Cup entrants - leaving a minimum of 16. The next two rounds would reduce the number to 8 and then 4, at which point the losing provincial finalists come into play.

What happens if a Cooperite such as Offaly or Wicklow reach a provincial final has still to be explained, I think.
That would make sense but I dont think it is the case, my understanding is that Div 4 teams are not "allowed" into the qualifiers and instead go straight into the Cooper cup.
Post by: Blue06 on May 21, 2007, 01:52:41 PM
What happens if a Cooperite such as Offaly or Wicklow reach a provincial final has still to be explained, I think

They would join the back door(should they lose the provincial final) at Round 3.
Post by: baoithe on May 21, 2007, 07:23:13 PM
Quote from: Msgr. Horan on May 21, 2007, 12:25:35 PM
That would make sense but I dont think it is the case, my understanding is that Div 4 teams are not "allowed" into the qualifiers and instead go straight into the Cooper cup.

I've actually read this somewhere but can't for the life of me remember where. Anyway, all the Division Four teams will, once knocked out of the provincial championships, go into the Tommy Murphy cup. The exception to this is if any of those Division Four teams reach their provincial final. In this case they go into the qualifiers.
Post by: Rossfan on May 21, 2007, 07:53:27 PM
Are ye fellas GAA fans at all or do ye ever read a paper or anything.
Never read such ill informed stuff as the above(well maybe Election stuff etc).
As decided at LAST OCTOBER'S SPECIAL CONGRESS - this year what happens is -
Div 4 teams Tommy Murphy Cup UNLESS they get to a Provincial Final.
Assuming none of them do -then all the other teams(16) who dont make the Provincial Finals go into the hat for Round 1.
The 8 winners go into the hat for Round 2.
The four survivors meet the Provincial Final losers.
Presumably if the Biffos make the Leinster Final -leaving 17 teams in Qualifiers- 2 teams will have to be drawn out to play to reduce it to 16.

Quite why a Special Congress was needed to make those amendments to the existing system I dont know. Suree anyone working in Croke Park could have amended the system on the back of an envelope.
The gap between the NFL and Provincial Championship and the delay with Round 1 Qualifiers was  to allow Counties time to play loads of Club Championship games during the Summer.
HAHAHAHA - how many will do so?
Post by: The Biff on May 22, 2007, 09:40:16 AM
If teams like Mayo are going to have to wait 7 weeks for their first Qualifer game, then what is the advantage gained by the whole competition by dropping the old Round 1?

The numbers of teams used to make it all work out quite evenly.  Now there are all sorts of What-Ifs required because not all teams are treated the same in the one competition (the All-Ireland "race").

Can someone remind me again what the "good" reasons were for excluding the Division 4 teams from the early Qualifier rounds?
Post by: An Cloch Scoilte on May 22, 2007, 10:05:00 AM
I thimk the new system is a joke. Last years system worked and has done since 2001.
Why the need for change?

I think the hierarcy need to be content with where the situation of football is at instead of making all these tweaks to it.

For example you have a team like Clare who were knocked out of the All-Ireland race on Sunday past(20th May), and all they have to look forward to now is the Tommy Murphy Cup!! Who wants to look forward to that? To add to that their is now uncertainty left with their high profile manager Paidí Ó Sé, cause let's face it Paidí is not the type of manager to be dabbling with the Tommy Murph, now is he?

What does last October's decision at the Special Congress do for Clare Football, except possibly leavce them Managerless, in Div.4, and in the Tommy Murph?
If they had have been left to play in the Qualifiers, they could have received a favourable draw like they did last year against Aontroim, and got a win or two under their beltin the top tier Competition!!!
Post by: Will Hunting on May 22, 2007, 10:46:21 AM
Quote from: An Cloch Scoilte on May 22, 2007, 10:05:00 AM
What does last October's decision at the Special Congress do for Clare Football, except possibly leavce them Managerless, in Div.4, and in the Tommy Murph?

I wouldn't so much blame congress, as Clare's (and Paidí O'Sé's) inability to beat Waterford! Oh, and their demotion to Div 4! Surely they have got themselves into this sorry mess.

As for the qualifier system, yes it has worked well this past few years, but I don't think it has been of any huge benefit. Therefore, next year we should just scrap the whole backdoor system and get back to the original knockout structure.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 22, 2007, 11:19:23 AM
Quote from: An Cloch Scoilte on May 22, 2007, 10:05:00 AMFor example you have a team like Clare who were knocked out of the All-Ireland race on Sunday past(20th May), and all they have to look forward to now is the Tommy Murphy Cup!! Who wants to look forward to that? To add to that their is now uncertainty left with their high profile manager Paidí Ó Sé, cause let's face it Paidí is not the type of manager to be dabbling with the Tommy Murph, now is he?

If they had have been left to play in the Qualifiers, they could have received a favourable draw like they did last year against Aontroim, and got a win or two under their beltin the top tier Competition!!!

U obviously didn't read the article on Clare football under Paidi in de Tribune (or was it the Times?). The cut of it was that he didn't bother to turn up to half of the training sessions where not a ball was used in anger. Lads who've been togging out for years won't play for him, which is why they fielded 9 championship debutants on Sunday.
Post by: AN other on May 22, 2007, 01:44:11 PM
Can it happen that an uneven number of teams are in round one of the qualifiers depending how many division 4 teams loose or win their first match? If this is the case will one team get a by?
Post by: southderryman on May 22, 2007, 04:45:18 PM
if it is an open draw for round one, does this mean that, for example cavan and down could be drawn against each other?

cavan already in the qualifers after down beat them in the preliminary round, what if monaghan beat down, can they play each other again or not?
Post by: stpauls on May 22, 2007, 04:52:34 PM
from what i have heard SDM, the qualifiers are open draws, doesn't matter if Team A has played Team B already in the provincials!
Post by: southderryman on May 22, 2007, 04:59:01 PM
cheers for that stpauls. i dont think it would be fair on either of the 2 teams should this case arise as they've already played each other twice, but thats the way it is i suppose. just hope that for once we can avoid those qualifiers oursleves, not very likely though!
Post by: magpie seanie on May 22, 2007, 05:03:20 PM
Did ye see the lads sticking up last years format! Gas!
Post by: criostlinn on May 22, 2007, 05:06:14 PM
Am I right in saying that if Galway dont beat leitrim, they could get mayo in the 1st round of the qualifiers. Or meath could get kildare if they dont beat the dubs. Surely this isnt right and teams that have met previously cant meet again in round 1 or 2 at least of the qualifiers.
Post by: criostlinn on May 22, 2007, 05:16:13 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on May 22, 2007, 05:06:14 PM
Am I right in saying that if Galway dont beat leitrim, they could get mayo in the 1st round of the qualifiers. Or meath could get kildare if they dont beat the dubs. Surely this isnt right and teams that have met previously cant meet again in round 1 or 2 at least of the qualifiers.

Well this seems to be the case. Now wouldnt that be some craic. Another Mayo-Galway match in the next round. Who gets home advantage or would it automatically go to McHale park.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 22, 2007, 05:20:31 PM
The team drawn out of the hat  first would get home advanatge i'd say
Post by: Rossfan on May 22, 2007, 06:51:03 PM
Jasus lads what's wrong with ye all.... ::)
This year the GAA in their wisdom(or as a result of Breheny moaning that the draw was too artificial) decided that it will be a totally open draw. That could indeed mean loads of repeat fixtures.
When that happened in 2001 they quickly moved to prevent teams meeting again but have now rowed back.
In Rounds one and two the first team drawn will have home advantage unless their ground doesnt come up to the mark(Louth ?).
Round 3 - venues to be confirmed - prob waiting till they see if they can get an attractive double header in HQ?? ::) ::)
As I said before the new arrangements were meant to allow the Counties to play loads of Club Championship games. How many will do so ??? 1 ? 2?
As for the Tommy Murphy -why dont they rename the competition the All Ireland Championship Div 2 ? and try and get it some prestige.
Post by: highking on May 23, 2007, 12:44:59 AM
The Mayo Club Championship will be nearly over by July at this stage. There has already been seven rounds of the league played and the first round of the championship will be on next weekend. Over the next few weeks there will be a few more rounds played.

As for the Murphy Cup, there is a long term plan for this competition. In the past four years it was forced through by HQ even though there was no interest from counties. Dont be surprised if within three years, Division 3 teams will be going straight to the Murphy Cup also. The long term goal is to make a two tier intercounty football setup, similar to what is has happened with the hurling with three tiers. Id agree that the Murphy Cup could do with a bit of extra profile and possibly a stand alone sponsor with a holiday on offer for the winning team and a few thousand for the winning county board. That might get the smaller counties to take notice and would be something they could aim to win.

If my county is in Division three I would be interested in getting promotion asap...
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 23, 2007, 10:33:53 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 22, 2007, 06:51:03 PMAs I said before the new arrangements were meant to allow the Counties to play loads of Club Championship games. How many will do so ??? 1 ? 2?

First round of the Westmeath Senior Football Championship was held last weekend.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 23, 2007, 05:49:32 PM
Damn, I suppose I should really join this thread now..

Kildare haven't even held their draw for the Senior Football Championship.  A county is disarray  >:(
Post by: Muzz on May 23, 2007, 06:08:03 PM
Tyrone managed to get their Club Championshiop under way 2 weeks before County team played.  So second round is taking place this weekend.  6 days after County played.  Fun and games.  I would imgine that would be the last of the county games until the semi-final is over.  i could be wrong offcourse.
Post by: Rossfan on May 23, 2007, 06:42:35 PM
First round in Ros starts 14/15 July - one week after the Connacht Final :D
Although I suspect the Co Board were looking at one week after we exit the Qualifiers.
We played our last NFL game 29 April - play first Championship game 17 June - 6 free weekends where we could easily have got the 3 rounds of the group stage played.
But no -I suppose the Commandant said no as he wants to continue his army training not to mention the week in Portugal.
I wonder will he or O'Hara have the best tan on the 17th. >:(
Post by: Gnevin on May 24, 2007, 10:32:46 AM
How do this thing work, going on current form with will have 13 teams in round 1

* Cavan
    * Fermanagh
    * Limerick
    * Mayo
    * Kildare
    * Westmeath
    * losers of Longford v Laois
    * losers of Donegal v Armagh
    * losers of Monaghan v Down
    * losers of Meath v Dublin
    * losers of Laois v Longford
    * losers of Louth v Wicklow***
    * losers of Winner of Louth/Wicklow v Wexford
No wicklow if they lose
which give 7 teams to play 8 in round 2 ?
Post by: magpie seanie on May 24, 2007, 03:52:47 PM
QuoteI wonder will he or O'Hara have the best tan on the 17th.

My money is on O'Hara. Honeymoon in January, good weather at home in April and the week in NYC just gone. Tough to beat preparation like that!
Post by: criostlinn on May 24, 2007, 04:56:31 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 24, 2007, 10:32:46 AM
How do this thing work, going on current form with will have 13 teams in round 1

* Cavan
    * Fermanagh
    * Limerick
    * Mayo
    * Kildare
    * Westmeath
    * losers of Donegal v Armagh
No wicklow if they lose
which give 7 teams to play 8 in round 2 ?

what I can make of it is, any team that doesnt get to a provincial final final goes into the draw except for the teams in division 4 next year. ie. 32 counties - 8 provincial finalist =24

24 - 8 division 4 teams =16

But the fun starts if either tipperary, waterford, offaly, antrim, london, wicklow or carlow qualify for a provincial final we now have 17 to 23 teams in the draw.

I presume the draw will have to be made after the 24/6/07 after all provincial semis are played and with the 1st round of the qualifiers fixed for the 7/7/07 does this mean we could be looking at a preliminary round or two on the weekend of the 1/7/07
Post by: Barney on May 25, 2007, 07:53:54 AM
The other thing to remember is that Round 1 and 2 of the Qualifiers are on a home/away basis. First out of the hat gets home advantage so that is a big prize.

From a Mayo point of view, a bit of club championship, focussed minds, and a break can let us treat the qualifiers as a fresh start. Hard to see us make huge progress but the players have to be hurting, they showed their pride when they picked themselves up for the start of the league and hopefully now with some tweaking to the team, and a re-focused manager we can make a push for the quarter-finals. However you would think that is as far as we would probably get.

Another problem which has not been mentioned as I understand it teams who have met can meet again in the qualifiers. So if Galway lose the next day Mayo and Galway could play in a winner takes all game! Again in Salthill!!
Post by: INDIANA on May 25, 2007, 09:05:25 AM
But the fun starts if either tipperary, waterford, offaly, antrim, london, wicklow or carlow qualify for a provincial final we now have 17 to 23 teams in the draw."

how likely though?- only offaly have any sort of a chance- and its a slim one based on this years form. the gaa are safe in the knowledge that bar offaly there is absolutely no chance of the others progressing.
Post by: Will Hunting on May 25, 2007, 10:03:00 AM
Is the draw for Round 1 of the qualifiers a complete open-draw or is it split in any way? i.e. are all the first round losers/semi-final losers together - so that two first round losers could play each other and two semi-final losers could play each other?
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2007, 06:31:16 PM
Who ever comes through these have to fancy their chances in the quarter-finals...some big teams in there..

* Cavan
    * Fermanagh
    * Limerick
    * Mayo
    * Kildare
    * Westmeath
    * Armagh
Post by: lfdown2 on June 10, 2007, 07:05:02 PM
when is the draw?
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 11, 2007, 12:01:21 PM

Shouldn't the losers of Leitrim v Galway also be included in the Qualifiers Round 1 draw?

Post by: Hardy on June 11, 2007, 12:14:03 PM
Yes. The "extra" qualifier arises if Offaly beat Meath/Dublin, in which case there will be 17 teams in the qualifiers and there will have to be an extra game. A draw will be made with two hot balls to ensure it's Meath and Dublin and another €1M.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 11, 2007, 12:17:02 PM
QuoteA draw will be made with two hot balls

We were just talking about this last night.....its a nailed on cert that Down will get Armagh to ensure another full house in the Marshes....when does the draw take place or should I say when are the results of the draw publicised?
Post by: fcuksake on June 11, 2007, 12:36:16 PM
I think the draw takes place on June 24th on RTE  :-\
Post by: Orior on June 11, 2007, 01:18:47 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 11, 2007, 12:17:02 PM
QuoteA draw will be made with two hot balls

We were just talking about this last night.....its a nailed on cert that Down will get Armagh to ensure another full house in the Marshes....when does the draw take place or should I say when are the results of the draw publicised?

Also, the Americans didn't land on the moon, the Earth is actually flat, Elvis lives in Drumconrath Co Meath, Tyrone won their two All-Ireland fairly and there is an All-Ireland in Dublin this year.
Post by: Rossfan on June 11, 2007, 07:27:31 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 11, 2007, 01:18:47 PM
[and there is an All-Ireland in Dublin this year.

True for ya - the All Ireland will be payed in Croke Park which is in....
Post by: Barney on June 12, 2007, 08:18:14 AM
According to the Indo today we are all set for the draw on Sunday week:

THANKS to a rule change from last season, teams that have already met in their provincial football championships will have to play again if they are drawn to meet in the upcoming All-Ireland Qualifiers.

This means that if Donegal lose to Tyrone this weekend, and were drawn to play Armagh again, there would be a mouthwatering rematch of their earlier meeting.

Before this, teams that had met previously could not be drawn against one another again in the Qualifiers, but this rule change will make the Qualifier draws even more nailbiting this summer.

The first Qualifer draw will be televised from Carrick-on-Shannon on Sunday week, after the Galway/Leitrim Connacht semi-final.

Another key difference in this year's Qualifiers is that, with teams given automatic Tommy Murphy Cup designation, no team has special 'home' status anymore, so whoever is drawn out of the hat first gets home advantage.

The draw involves all football teams who do not reach a provincial decider and the GAA could yet need to add in one preliminary game, if the Offaly footballers make the Leinster football final.

As a Division Four team they should go to the Tommy Murphy Cup when beaten, but reaching the Leinster final would earn them a spot in the later stages of the Qualifiers if then defeated, and thus necessitate an extra game to even out the numbers in the back-door series.

The Qualifiers commence on July 7, as does the Tommy Murphy Cup, but it is not yet clear if the draw for the latter will be made at the same time.

CLIONA FOLEY

Post by: Stranworst on June 12, 2007, 01:53:05 PM
Haven't read thorugh all this thread but CAN down and armagh definitely meet round one of the qualifiers?? Is there nothing seperating counties from the same province? Pardon my ignorance
Post by: Stranworst on June 12, 2007, 01:55:39 PM
Sorry ignore the previos post just read page one, it was just I was on the phone and din't have time!
Post by: uselessfootballer on June 12, 2007, 01:58:25 PM
Draw for the first round of the qualifiers is completely open this year (alledgedly) wih no restrictions on who can face who
Post by: 5 Sams on June 12, 2007, 02:12:47 PM
lads,
I think that the article by Cliona Foley that Barney posted above clears it up.

Post by: Jinxy on June 12, 2007, 02:31:00 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 11, 2007, 12:14:03 PM
Yes. The "extra" qualifier arises if Offaly beat Meath/Dublin, in which case there will be 17 teams in the qualifiers and there will have to be an extra game. A draw will be made with two hot balls to ensure it's Meath and Dublin and another €1M.

:D Don't think they'll be that subtle. MARTY: "Next out of the drawdrum, we have.............Dublin. And now to see who will be facing the Dubs.........JESUS, WHATS THAT OUTSIDE THE WINDOW!! ..................Nothing? ...........Are you sure? I swear I saw something there.........Sorry about that folks. Anyway, back to the draw, I have the team to play Dublin in my hand and it is.......................MEATH! Hohoooo, the auld enemy! What are the odds?"
Post by: Stranworst on June 17, 2007, 06:09:23 PM
The line up for the qualifiers is looking class already and looking at the potential teams to come I can't wait fro the draw!!
Post by: ziggysego on June 17, 2007, 08:53:42 PM
When is the draw?
Post by: KIDDO on June 17, 2007, 08:57:08 PM
Next Sunday, aftergalway v Leitrim clash.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2007, 08:59:21 PM
When is Offaly/Dublin match?
Post by: ExiledGael on June 17, 2007, 09:02:28 PM
Offaly Dublin game is next Sunday I think
Post by: Barney on June 18, 2007, 08:15:05 AM
The names in the hat:

Mayo
Roscommon
Galway/Leitrim
Longford
Westmeath
Kildare
Louth
Meath
Wexford/Laois
Dublin (but only if they lose to Offaly)
Donegal
Armagh
Fermanagh
Down
Cavan
Derry/Monaghan
Limerick
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 10:32:06 AM
Quote* losers of Dublin v Offaly

Only if it is Dublin. If Offaly lose, we are in the Tommy Murphy Cup, thanks to our stellar League campaign.
Post by: highorlow on June 18, 2007, 10:45:03 AM
It would suit the GAA to have match's such as ...

Mayo v Ros
Armagh v Cavan
Donegal v Fermanagh
Meath v Kildare

?
Post by: balladmaker on June 18, 2007, 10:54:24 AM
Not a strictly backdoor question.........does anyone know when the 'Ulster v whoever' designated All Ireland semi-final is?  I believe the All Ireland semis are on August 19th and 26th, but which one would the Ulster Champions be in (or their conquerors)?
Post by: full back on June 18, 2007, 10:57:18 AM
 Down v Armagh in the Marshes would be a good draw
Post by: Donagh on June 18, 2007, 11:03:47 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 18, 2007, 10:36:24 AM
Who would be considered the easiest team to get in the qualifiers, from a Down point of view I suppose we would want Roscommon, Cavan or Louth, but who would the stronger Counties regard as an easy draw?

You have to ask?  :D

Down!!!
Post by: rosnarun on June 18, 2007, 11:11:31 AM
does that mean some one will get a bye if offally beat dublin?
are all other DIV 4 teams out which would seem to Justify the system
Post by: Donagh on June 18, 2007, 11:26:04 AM
Well I'm flying out of Dublin that night so am hoping for Dublin, Eastmeath, Laois or Kildare, though a Down game would be one to savor.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 11:29:09 AM
Quoteare all other DIV 4 teams out which would seem to Justify the system

I think the system used to decide the non-entrants was fair enough, and as you say results thus far bear it out. Offaly should not be in the same boat as London, Carlow, Wicklow etc etc, but the fact that they are is purely and simply their own fault.

They mightn't be too bothered anyway, as they were only on nodding aquaintance with the Qualifiers in any case, but it's still a bad position to be in. Offaly are as good, or better, than half the teams in the qualifier drum so far.
Post by: rosnarun on June 18, 2007, 11:50:18 AM
QuoteOffaly are as good, or better, than half the teams in the qualifier drum so far.

which half would that be? this is the way i'd see it the only one id put money on would be  V longford
Mayo - no
Roscommon - maybe
Galway/Leitrim - no
Longford  - yes
Westmeath - green
Kildare - no
Louth  - no
Meath  - no]
Wexford/Laois   - no / - no]
Dublin (but only if they lose to Offaly)  - no
Donegal  - no
Armagh  - no
Fermanagh  - no
Down   - no
Cavan  - maybe
Derry/Monaghan  - no - no
Limerick   - maybe
Post by: Barney on June 18, 2007, 11:57:39 AM
Ros, that's ridiculous. you should never write off the Biffos.

In top Summer form they are a match for most except the very top teams.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 12:02:49 PM
If Offaly were playing any of the following teams I would be travelling with a fair degree of optimism. I'd expect to win our fair share of them. (Obviously, on any given day, we could lose any as well). I would say we are as good as the following.

Roscommon, Leitrim, Longford, Westmeath, Kildare, Louth, Meath, Wexford, Fermanagh, Down, Cavan, Monaghan and Limerick

I would not be in the slightest over awed by these, although accepting we would be underdogs

Mayo, Galway, Laois  Donegal , Derry

The only team in the Qualifiers I would really be more in hope than expectation would be Armagh.

Post by: rosnarun on June 18, 2007, 12:21:02 PM
Living in biffoland(formerly known as parlon country) i can tell you, AZoffaly has more faith in the team than any one ive met round these parts . It a long time sice they have been as poor and  i cant really see where you find any evidence to sugguest that they could beat the likes of  Kildare, Louth, Meath, other than pulling the kind off massive performance they can every few years but even that would not be any indication of where offaly are at the minute.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 12:36:35 PM
Well given the fact that we beat Kildare last year, as well as Westmeath, and I think we are better balanced this year, that's where I would be getting my optimism from.

I think the people you are talking to must be either a) doing the usual talk down that we do, or b) putting too much weight on the disgraceful league campaign.

Last year Offaly beat Westmeath, Kildare and Wexford en route to a Leinster Final. That's not a bad run.

Actually the very fact that you think it would take a 'Massive Performance' to beat Kildare, Louth or Meath makes me wonder are you on the rise here?
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2007, 12:40:27 PM
With all the weaker counties out, will there be a home advantage system this time round? Or will the games be played at neutral venues?
Post by: Deal_Me_In on June 18, 2007, 12:44:54 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 18, 2007, 12:40:27 PM
With all the weaker counties out, will there be a home advantage system this time round? Or will the games be played at neutral venues?

First team out gets home advantage
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 01:15:48 PM
Offaly would be favourites to beat Kildare, they are quite simple a championship team and always punch above their weight I am for one glad we won't see them in the qualifiers..
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 01:18:52 PM
Unless we beat Dublin Dinny :D

Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 18, 2007, 01:19:42 PM
Jesus,
we are probably the weakest team in there. :o

Theres going to some great games in this round,thats for sure.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 18, 2007, 01:21:56 PM
Exactly you will then see you in the All-Ireland series after you win Leinster. So no qualifiers for the Biffos this year  :P
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 18, 2007, 02:20:18 PM
Want to draw the Slashers at home.
Want to avoid Armagh away.

Wouldn't be taking too much from that game last year AZ, probably the worst game I've ever had the misfortune of attending, were missing a couple of players that day too...
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 02:27:14 PM
I know Croi, I'm not saying we'd beat ye every time, but I'd be optimistic going into it, same as ye would be.
Post by: rrhf on June 18, 2007, 02:33:01 PM
The qualifiers are much tougher than the direct route this year,  it could really progress a team more than ever.  This should be a fascinating all ireland battle.  Ignore Armagh, Meath, mayo etc at your peril.       
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2007, 06:28:04 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 18, 2007, 01:19:42 PM
Jesus,

No ye're not -Ros are by a country mile :-[ :'( :-\ :( >:(
Post by: ildanach on June 19, 2007, 11:10:36 AM
it will be a bit rough on wex/laois they will have a six day turn around and the the possibility of 3 games 3 weeks. where we haven't had a game in 7 weeks!!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 19, 2007, 12:54:46 PM
Quote from: ildanach on June 19, 2007, 11:10:36 AM
it will be a bit rough on wex/laois they will have a six day turn around and the the possibility of 3 games 3 weeks. where we haven't had a game in 7 weeks!!

Is Laois & Wexford playing in Croke Park on Sunday, Im in Dublin for the weekend & wouldn't mind catching it.
Post by: ildanach on June 19, 2007, 01:46:53 PM
its on the 1st of July
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 19, 2007, 03:26:41 PM
Quote from: Barney on June 18, 2007, 08:15:05 AM
The names in the hat:

Mayo
Roscommon
Galway/Leitrim
Longford
Westmeath
Kildare
Louth
Meath
Wexford/Laois
Dublin (but only if they lose to Offaly)
Donegal
Armagh
Fermanagh
Down
Cavan
Derry/Monaghan
Limerick

From a Cavan perspective I'd mainly be anxious to avoid the Ulster teams. I'd gladly take another crack at Down though as we had the beating of them the second day.

Armagh or potentially Derry, who always stuff us in qualifiers, no bleedin' thanks.

Donegal would be interesting but again I'd rather avoid.

Good draws for us would be Limerick, Down, Louth, Westmeath, and for the local aspect, Leitrim or Longford. But everyone will look at Cavan and think the same, suits me fine.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 19, 2007, 05:28:13 PM
All conjecture I know but Lyng's (deserved) sending off and our leaving it too late to drop some bombs on that full back line of yours...who knows? If we get ye again, I'd be happy enough and quietly confident.

But sure so would Down. Unlikely to happen anyway given the breadth of teams in the hat, but if previous years are anything to go by the draw does 'like' to throw up all-Ulster ties.
Post by: Rossfan on June 19, 2007, 07:20:31 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 18, 2007, 09:06:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 18, 2007, 06:28:04 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 18, 2007, 01:19:42 PM
Jesus,

No ye're not -Ros are by a country mile :-[ :'( :-\ :( >:(

Are Roscommon actually that bad?

Yes -Sligo had 13 wides most of them unpressured shots. We got 2 goals against the run of play.
We were dispossessed about a hundred times. We couldnt catch,kick,pass,score from frees,get the ball to the ff line which probably was the one line that had the beating of their opponents,we pulled out of challenges, we spent €50k on a week in Algarve,we pay a Manager big expenses,we...... I could rant on and on and on  ...but no one in Ros cares anymore.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 19, 2007, 08:31:03 PM
I think it's quite clear at this stage that John Maughan simply doesn't give a shite about any job apart from the Mayo one. Fermanagh learned that to their 'cost' and it looks like the same is happening in Roscommon. Still time to turn it around as Ros have better players than this but the signs are not encouraging.
Post by: 45GoneShort on June 19, 2007, 08:55:12 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 19, 2007, 03:26:41 PM
Quote from: Barney on June 18, 2007, 08:15:05 AM

Good draws for us would be Limerick, Down, Louth, Westmeath, and for the local aspect, Leitrim or Longford. But everyone will look at Cavan and think the same, suits me fine.

Leitrim aren't in any hat, the least you could do is give them a little bit of respect until they are knocked out !!
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 19, 2007, 10:10:02 PM
ooops I've caught the same disease Anthony Tohill had on Sunday Game. Anyone see his face when Spillane pulled him up after he's mentioned a Galway v Sligo Connacht final? A wince and a half!

Anyway I was conscious of typing in Galway/Leitrim when posting that and then plain forgot. Apologies to the Ridge county.
Post by: amallon on June 20, 2007, 02:21:27 PM
Down might not have won so convincingly against Cavan without the advantage of the extra man.  I wouldn't want Cavan in the qualifiers, revenge is the best motivation of the lot.

Teams Down would do well to avoid
Mayo, Galway if they are in it
Dublin, Donegal, Armagh

The rest we could take on our day but we could loose to as well.  I wouldn't give Down much chance against the above teams though.

Post by: highorlow on June 21, 2007, 12:18:49 AM
moved to page one now
Post by: Fuzzman on June 21, 2007, 11:04:04 AM
Havent been following this thread lads but was just reading an article in Belfast Tele and they were saying that the beaten semi-finalist are in the same draw of the qualifiers as the 1st round defeated teams, barring the Tommy Murphy gang.

So when Derry lose this Sunday they could meet Armagh, Donegal, Meath, Mayo, Dublin or Down or Cavan?

Is this right?
Post by: Jinxy on June 21, 2007, 11:12:05 AM
I have to say lads, although some may feel hard done by with regard to the new system and direct entry into the Tommy Murphy Cup, I am really looking forward to the qualifier draw. There are some seriously good games in prospect as opposed to the usual boring tour of the countryside racking up facile wins for the big teams. Should be very interesting.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 21, 2007, 12:58:00 PM
I think this system is much better. The second chance isn't as big a chance as it once was. I think teams will need to win 3 weeks in a row to get back in to the quarters.
Post by: PatDaly on June 24, 2007, 04:37:29 PM
When is the draw???
I thought it was scheduled to be after the Galway / Leitrim match.

I'll be happy from an Armagh perspective with any non Ulster team especially not Cavan or Down or another nightmare match against Fermanagh.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 04:38:50 PM
The draw is at 5 to 6 this evening in Carrick On Shannon.
Post by: Uladh on June 24, 2007, 05:59:47 PM

are u sure? no sign of anything on the tv?
Post by: armaghniac on June 24, 2007, 06:01:33 PM
Coming up shortly.

All will be revealed.
Post by: corn02 on June 24, 2007, 06:01:52 PM
On after the Dublin coverage I believe.
Post by: Uladh on June 24, 2007, 06:05:34 PM

Armagh Vs Derry
Post by: armaghniac on June 24, 2007, 06:06:36 PM
Well I hope whatever arrangements they have re first out getting home advantage, that they absolutely do not have tickets, if a ground is too small move it.
Post by: bcarrier on June 24, 2007, 06:12:13 PM
limerick v louth
fermanagh v laois/wexford
leitrim v donegal
mayo v cavan
an dun v meath
roscommon v kildare
westmeath v longford
armagh v derry
Post by: corn02 on June 24, 2007, 06:12:38 PM
Some guess Uladh.
Post by: J70 on June 24, 2007, 06:17:19 PM
Away to Leitrim!

That's a novelty. Local derby as well!

Leitrim didn't look too bad today at all against Galway. Donegal will want to have their heads right for this, because Leitrim won't be lacking for motivation.
Post by: J70 on June 24, 2007, 06:18:01 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 24, 2007, 06:14:50 PM

When are the games being played?

Weekend of July 7th
Post by: armaghniac on June 24, 2007, 06:19:51 PM
Limerick v louth
Fermanagh v Laois/Wexford
Leitrim v Donegal
Mayo v Cavan
an dun v Meath
Roscommon v Kildare
Westmeath v Longford
Armagh v Derry

not sure about some of these, Roscommon, Westmeath on home advantage
Post by: armaghniac on June 24, 2007, 06:21:48 PM
QuoteWill the Armagh v Derry game be switched as Armagh dont really have a ground to hold such a game?

Mind you there won't be a big contingent from Derry.

I expect Armagh will nominate Clones, Monaghan won't need it as they are not in the qualifiers.
Post by: Uladh on June 24, 2007, 06:23:46 PM
Quote from: corn02 on June 24, 2007, 06:12:38 PM
Some guess Uladh.

Guess?
Post by: prewtna on June 24, 2007, 06:25:21 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 24, 2007, 06:23:46 PM
Quote from: corn02 on June 24, 2007, 06:12:38 PM
Some guess Uladh.

Guess?

:D :D :D
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on June 24, 2007, 06:25:57 PM
Mayo at home against Cavan. All us Mayo folk have to be happy with that.
Post by: PatDaly on June 24, 2007, 06:26:14 PM
According to wikipedia

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All-Ireland_Senior_Football_Championship_2007#.5B.5BLeinster_Senior_Football_Championship.5D.5D

the winners of Armagh / Derry play winners of Longford / Westmeath
the winners of Down / Meath play winners of Roscommon / Kildare
the winners of Limerick / Louth play winners of Fermanagh / Laois / Wexford
the winners of Leitrim / Donegal play winners of Mayo /Cavan

Can anyone confirm this?
Post by: oneflewoverthecuckoonest on June 24, 2007, 06:29:45 PM
the second round of the qualifiers is another open draw so pat daly wikipedia is incorrect
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 25, 2007, 10:41:30 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on June 18, 2007, 02:20:18 PMWant to draw the Slashers at home.

Jaysus, I should be making that draw and there'd be no need for hot and cold balls...

Opportunity for revenge for The Great Robbery, justice for the pickpocked 15...  ;D