GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on May 15, 2007, 01:14:43 PM

Title: Cheeky Dubs
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 15, 2007, 01:14:43 PM
Enjoy this week lads because after Sunday the Cheeky yet precious Dubs will be back complaining about how the whole world hates them  ;D
Title: Re: Cheeky Dubs
Post by: Square Ball on May 15, 2007, 01:19:51 PM
here we go again, let the banter begin!!!!
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 15, 2007, 01:23:44 PM
The hype machine will be off and running shortly.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 15, 2007, 01:30:34 PM
at least we bring publicity to the Association and the crowds...:-)
Post by: neutral on May 15, 2007, 01:40:09 PM
ah say boom boom boom let me hear ya sing Jayo!
Post by: his holiness nb on May 15, 2007, 01:42:58 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 15, 2007, 01:14:43 PM
Enjoy this week lads because after Sunday the Cheeky yet precious Dubs will be back complaining about how the whole world hates them  ;D

Yep its definately championship season when the "cheeky" comments come out! :)

Bloody cheeky culchies!!
Post by: Fuzzman on May 15, 2007, 01:46:55 PM
Aye lay off the Poor Dubs.
They're like England in the World cup

You'd hate to see them win it but the longer they stay in the more craic there is.
There's no better atmosphere in Croker than when your team are beating the Dubs.

The crack in the pubs and their soccer style songs are unique and although I hated the Omagh Battle I think their fans are sorely missed when they go out.
Post by: Gnevin on May 15, 2007, 02:21:07 PM
Your hardly goin to belive us,Your hardly goin to belive us! We're goin win the sam !  ;D
Post by: cavanmaniac on May 15, 2007, 02:23:22 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 15, 2007, 01:30:34 PM
at least we bring publicity to the Association and the crowds...:-)

Not in March down in Castlebar or somewhere else on a wet Sunday ye don't! Summer is the season for tourists after all, eh?

Only messin' up the Dubs! ;D
Post by: Gnevin on May 15, 2007, 02:35:27 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 15, 2007, 01:46:55 PM
Aye lay off the Poor Dubs.
They're like England in the World cup

You'd hate to see them win it out.

And when we say everyone is against us you'll say we are mad  ;)
Post by: diesel-smuggler on May 15, 2007, 10:23:12 PM
cheeky surely!

especially when the 'we are the dubs, stay for another gargle and delay the match by 15 minutes' comes out!  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: tayto on May 15, 2007, 10:27:18 PM
Cheeky Dubs chances written off in the Sunday Times at the weekend. Is that hype?  :-*
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2007, 10:32:47 PM
Quote from: tayto on May 15, 2007, 10:27:18 PM
Cheeky Dubs chances written off in the Sunday Times at the weekend. Is that hype?  :-*

The Cheeky Dubs will be using that article in the hype building machine over the summer months. ;)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 15, 2007, 11:08:36 PM
Can't wait to get the sunday papers and sift through 18 pages of stuff about Dublin Gaa to find a little small paragraph about Laois
Post by: Gnevin on May 15, 2007, 11:11:41 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 15, 2007, 11:08:36 PM
Can't wait to get the sunday papers and sift through 18 pages of stuff about Dublin Gaa to find a little small paragraph about Laois

No doubt it will be about the 45 that never was from 2 years ago  ;D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 15, 2007, 11:37:56 PM
And the free that wasn't a free don't forget that :(
Post by: tayto on May 16, 2007, 12:14:13 AM
I bet there's nothing about the dubs in this weeks Sunday Times.
Or are you talking about the rags? [and i include the s'indo in that]
if it's rags you deserve everything you get! :P
Post by: rosnarun on May 16, 2007, 10:57:31 AM
QuoteI bet there's nothing about the dubs in this weeks Sunday Times.
if it's rags you deserve everything you get!

not like the decent sunday time a typical union jack waving jackeen. Queen Vic would be pround of you
Post by: tayto on May 16, 2007, 11:00:51 AM
my jaysus, union jack waving? The chip on shoulder detecto has gone off the radar! The gloves are off already are they  :P

Well it's the last vestage of my sunday papers, if i lose the times i wont bother buying one at all, the rest are muck, plain and simple, what else is there? the s'indo is an opinion based hateful rag, the tribune has acres of rugby coverage, altho i do get it sometimes, the sunday times annoys me alright when it hides the GAA coverage after the cricket ... it's my current best of a bad lot ... what do you suggest? the sunday world?
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2007, 11:20:38 AM
Quote from: tayto on May 16, 2007, 11:00:51 AM
my jaysus, union jack waving? The chip on shoulder detecto has gone off the radar! The gloves are off already are they  :P

Well it's the last vestage of my sunday papers, if i lose the times i wont bother buying one at all, the rest are muck, plain and simple, what else is there? the s'indo is an opinion based hateful rag, the tribune has acres of rugby coverage, altho i do get it sometimes, the sunday times annoys me alright when it hides the GAA coverage after the cricket ... it's my current best of a bad lot ... what do you suggest? the sunday world?

I despise them all but in homage to the commonwelth I buy the same paper effectively TWICE - the times and the sunday mail.

on occassion I buy the SBP and the tribune to read about ross ocarroll kelly and his exploits.

there is decent sports coverage in those papers - apart from SBP which is the best paper imo, but has no sports.
Post by: forkinknife on May 16, 2007, 11:45:37 AM
THE BOYS ARE IN TOWN!

Well well well the anti-dublin brgiade are in fine voice as the year of reckoning advances. I was thinking letus look at the rivals to our crown.
Post by: full back on May 16, 2007, 11:49:02 AM
Quote from: forkinknife on May 16, 2007, 11:45:37 AM
THE BOYS ARE IN TOWN!

Well well well the anti-dublin brgiade are in fine voice as the year of reckoning advances. I was thinking letus look at the rivals to our crown.

Ahh, knifeinfork - how is the rash?
How is the great Paula keeping?
now, what was that you were saying?
Post by: forkinknife on May 16, 2007, 11:49:35 AM
KERRY - DONE. NO MOYNIHAN NEIGH NEIGH NIEGH. not THAT HE WOULDVE COped with the brogan bros anyway. the basketball frweak? AS 2UNLIMTED SAID ""No No No No No No No No".

TYRONE - DONE. Peter the sycronised swimmer gone but be honest when did he ever perform against the peoples champs? TYRONE WONT MAKE IT OUT OF NORTHERN IRELAMND!!!

ARMAGH - DONE. FAT. OLD.

MAYO - WIDE.
Post by: full back on May 16, 2007, 11:54:52 AM
Jaysus, knifeinfork, even by your standards that is a terrible post.
Anyway, lets get back on, sorry to Paula - how is she keeping?
Anymore nights out?
Post by: forkinknife on May 16, 2007, 12:02:35 PM
CORK - - Biggest shower of wankers this side of Hawaii. Nothing i like moree that ramming it down the throats of rebels. Who DO they think they are? THEY'LL win nothing. Zilpch. Can you name one cork player? I don't think so either too.

DONEGAL - - Glug Glug Glug. We remember 2003, sponsored by Bundoran Whiskeys. Ha hA. Oooohhh Deveney, he touched me. Boo Hoo. Dry yer eyes you fuckin woman.

GALWAY - Dont make me laugh. Pull your socks up Joyce? Oh they're at your armpit already you gypsire.

LAOIS - hahaha. But we're only a small county with small players. then fcuk off into the tommy murphy minors then and take your longhaired hippies with you, knackers.

MEATH - yes what a team/. division 2 ooooohhhh. NEVER WERE, NEVER ARE AND NEVER WILL BE in our league. Geraghtys a lovely fellow though. the sorta guy youd bring home to your ma, if she was a prostitute or something ha ha h aa.
Post by: Hardy on May 16, 2007, 12:07:49 PM
Quote from: forkinknife on May 16, 2007, 12:02:35 PM
CORK - - Biggest shower of wankers this side of Hawaii. Nothing i like moree that ramming it down the throats of rebels. Who DO they think they are? THEY'LL win nothing. Zilpch. Can you name one cork player? I don't think so either too.

DONEGAL - - Glug Glug Glug. We remember 2003, sponsored by Bundoran Whiskeys. Ha hA. Oooohhh Deveney, he touched me. Boo Hoo. Dry yer eyes you fuckin woman.

GALWAY - Dont make me laugh. Pull your socks up Joyce? Oh they're at your armpit already you gypsire.

LAOIS - hahaha. But we're only a small county with small players. then fcuk off into the tommy murphy minors then and take your longhaired hippies with you, knackers.

MEATH - yes what a team/. division 2 ooooohhhh. NEVER WERE, NEVER ARE AND NEVER WILL BE in our league. Geraghtys a lovely fellow though. the sorta guy youd bring home to your ma, if she was a prostitute or something ha ha h aa.

Ah good man - saved me the trouble there in the last sentence.
Post by: full back on May 16, 2007, 12:08:54 PM

Maybe thats what you like knifeinfork, but what will the beautiful/not so beautiful/chancey as fcuk Paula say
No doubt, you are some craic :D
Post by: forkinknife on May 16, 2007, 12:13:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 16, 2007, 12:07:49 PM

Ah good man - saved me the trouble there in the last sentence.

aye, your ma hardy. thats what i said your ma. i haven't finished yet.
Post by: forkinknife on May 16, 2007, 12:14:11 PM
Quote from: full back on May 16, 2007, 12:08:54 PM

Maybe thats what you like knifeinfork, but what will the beautiful/not so beautiful/chancey as fcuk Paula say
No doubt, you are some craic :D

stop this sort of shite, I don't go around willy nilly talking and insulting about people you fcukin blagger.
Post by: full back on May 16, 2007, 12:16:36 PM
Course you dont talk about or insult people kinfeinfork :D
Did Mr Geraghty & the delectable Paula ever partake in carnal knowledge?
You seem to be an angry little man - do you still have the rash & Paula wont give you any?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2007, 12:23:59 PM
Any volunteers for searching out forkins legendary post to celebrate his return to the board? Was one of the all time greats...
Post by: full back on May 16, 2007, 12:30:31 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=1871.0

Just for you Croi
knifeinfork edited his original post, but read down & you will see the kisses
CLASSIC :D :D
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 16, 2007, 12:34:06 PM
QuoteKERRY - DONE. NO MOYNIHAN NEIGH NEIGH NIEGH. not THAT HE WOULDVE COped with the brogan bros anyway. the basketball frweak? AS 2UNLIMTED SAID ""No No No No No No No No".

Do you remember the last round of the League in Parnell Park this year: Dublin 2-07 .v. Kerry 1-12

Which saw the Jackeens sent packing off to Division 2, a certain Bernard Brogan was taken off and replaced by his brother who only scored 1 point. Are these the Brogans Bros we're to be afraid of.

And Kerry were missing Darragh O'Se, Tommy Griffin, Paul Galvin, Declan O'Sullivan and Kieran Donaghy from the starting line up, not to mention Seamus Moynihan and Mike McCarthy from last year. And to top it off beat the Jackeens with a midfield of Micheal Quirke and Seamus Scanlon. The Jackeens at full strength playing at home needing a win could not again produce the goods.

As you can imagine we are not too worried about the wellbeing of the Jackeens this year.
Post by: tayto on May 16, 2007, 12:39:17 PM
That was all part of cafferys masterplan to have a shite league and lul yez all into a false sense of security.

losing to meath-kildare could be an extension of that plan ...  :-\ :-\ :-\ :(

hmmmm

Post by: Fishead_Sam on May 16, 2007, 12:48:54 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on May 16, 2007, 12:34:06 PM
QuoteKERRY - DONE. NO MOYNIHAN NEIGH NEIGH NIEGH. not THAT HE WOULDVE COped with the brogan bros anyway. the basketball frweak? AS 2UNLIMTED SAID ""No No No No No No No No".

Do you remember the last round of the League in Parnell Park this year: Dublin 2-07 .v. Kerry 1-12

Which saw the Jackeens sent packing off to Division 2, a certain Bernard Brogan was taken off and replaced by his brother who only scored 1 point. Are these the Brogans Bros we're to be afraid of.

And Kerry were missing Darragh O'Se, Tommy Griffin, Paul Galvin, Declan O'Sullivan and Kieran Donaghy from the starting line up, not to mention Seamus Moynihan and Mike McCarthy from last year. And to top it off beat the Jackeens with a midfield of Micheal Quirke and Seamus Scanlon. The Jackeens at full strength playing at home needing a win could not again produce the goods.

As you can imagine we are not too worried about the wellbeing of the Jackeens this year.

Good man Kerry Mike

I wonder has he forgot last August in Croker - 2 wides  ;D, or down in Castlebar this year when Dublin couldn't score in the Second Half, against a Mayo team with no Ciaran MacDonald, no Ronan McGarrity, not David Brady & no Trevor Mortiomer to name just a few  8)

Or how about against Tyrone 2 years ago  ::), or Kerry 3 years ago in the Championship  ;).
Post by: full back on May 16, 2007, 12:50:02 PM
Don't forget Armagh 5 years ago ;)
Post by: his holiness nb on May 16, 2007, 12:55:01 PM
All these posts are being saved and e-mailed to Pillar for inspiration !

I see Fornkinife is fond of the Cork ladies btw

"Nothing i like moree that ramming it down the throats of rebels"
Post by: Fishead_Sam on May 16, 2007, 12:55:17 PM
Sorry how could I forget they manage to beat Laois 2 out of 3 times. That seems to be the Evening City Edition (DUBLIN) Herald or the Evening National (Leinster - I love their definition of National - Leinster, ha ha, seems that they only discover Ulster, Munster or Connacht after another Dubs bitchslap from Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal or Kerry) Herald base their entire views of the All-Ireland on Dublin beating Laois.
Post by: full back on May 16, 2007, 12:58:47 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 16, 2007, 12:55:01 PM
All these posts are being saved and e-mailed to Pillar for inspiration !

I see Fornkinife is fond of the Cork ladies btw

"Nothing i like moree that ramming it down the throats of rebels"

Are you sure it's the ladies holy one?
Post by: tayto on May 16, 2007, 01:22:42 PM
Yea the herald being a 'national paper' bit is stretching it a bit alright, i think they just mean you can buy it nationwide. it's about the only paper that covers dublin club games. sher, ye all have yer local papers as well.
Post by: Gnevin on May 16, 2007, 01:28:39 PM
Quote from: tayto on May 16, 2007, 01:22:42 PM
Yea the herald being a 'national paper' bit is stretching it a bit alright, i think they just mean you can buy it nationwide. it's about the only paper that covers dublin club games. sher, ye all have yer local papers as well.
What was the Laois paper from last year that said they would laugh the Dubs off the pitch?
Post by: Heshs Umpire on May 16, 2007, 01:48:38 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 16, 2007, 01:28:39 PM
What was the Laois paper from last year that said they would laugh the Dubs off the pitch?

That was the Laois Nationalist Gnevin.
Of course the fact that it was one of two tongue in cheek pieces written fron the point of view of two journalists (one a local, one a Dub we condescended to let work in Laois ;)) was completely ignored by the rag that is the Herald which instead used a bit of selective quoting from the Laois journalist's humourously intended piece to invent a story.
Heres the two articles - make up your own mind.

http://archives.tcm.ie/laoisnationalist/2006/06/22/story23210.asp (http://archives.tcm.ie/laoisnationalist/2006/06/22/story23210.asp)

http://archives.tcm.ie/laoisnationalist/2006/06/22/story23211.asp (http://archives.tcm.ie/laoisnationalist/2006/06/22/story23211.asp)
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2007, 02:29:55 PM

stretching it calling it a newspaper too if ya ask me  :P
Post by: Bensars on May 16, 2007, 02:39:58 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2007, 12:23:59 PM
Any volunteers for searching out forkins legendary post to celebrate his return to the board? Was one of the all time greats...

Was that the one where he tried to tarnish the name of an Ulster football county team and ended up revealing to the world that he had given paula a dose , and he himself was on the tablets ?
Post by: tayto on May 16, 2007, 02:41:05 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2007, 02:29:55 PM

true enough, only buy it for me Dublin GAA section of a tuesday.
Post by: Northside Dub on May 16, 2007, 02:42:42 PM
Were gonna to win the Sam, were gonna to win the Sam, your hardly gonna believe us, your hardly gonna believe us WERE GONNA WIN THE SAM ;D ;D
Post by: full back on May 16, 2007, 02:43:02 PM
Quote from: Bensars on May 16, 2007, 02:39:58 PM

Was that the one where he tried to tarnish the name of an Ulster football county team and ended up revealing to the world that he had given paula a dose , and he himself was on the tablets ?

That's the one Bensars
Right up there with Fearon & the wrong AI weekend
Classic
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 16, 2007, 02:50:40 PM
Quote from: full back on May 16, 2007, 12:30:31 PM
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=1871.0

Just for you Croi
knifeinfork edited his original post, but read down & you will see the kisses
CLASSIC :D :D

That's the one, cheers full back. Busy day today or else who have tracked her down myself... Must set aside half an hour later on for some serious entertainment...

Quote from: Bensars on May 16, 2007, 02:39:58 PM

The one and only. U'd think he'd come up with a new name every time he comes back on to the board. On second thoughts he'd be more or less rumbled straight away since all he gives is jip. He's hardly Soccerfella alter ego, qualified to speak on "GAA matters"???
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2007, 02:56:11 PM
Quote from: tayto on May 16, 2007, 02:41:05 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2007, 02:29:55 PM

true enough, only buy it for me Dublin GAA section of a tuesday.
I get all the fixtures from hill16 - so wouldnt buy that rag
certainly wouldnt even take the free version in the morning.
But I'm odd so nothing surprising there.
Post by: Gnevin on May 16, 2007, 03:14:57 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on May 16, 2007, 01:48:38 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on May 16, 2007, 01:28:39 PM

That was the Laois Nationalist Gnevin.
Of course the fact that it was one of two tongue in cheek pieces written fron the point of view of two journalists (one a local, one a Dub we condescended to let work in Laois ;)) was completely ignored by the rag that is the Herald which instead used a bit of selective quoting from the Laois journalist's humourously intended piece to invent a story.
Heres the two articles - make up your own mind.

http://archives.tcm.ie/laoisnationalist/2006/06/22/story23210.asp (http://archives.tcm.ie/laoisnationalist/2006/06/22/story23210.asp)

http://archives.tcm.ie/laoisnationalist/2006/06/22/story23211.asp (http://archives.tcm.ie/laoisnationalist/2006/06/22/story23211.asp)
Laois people with a sense of humor ! Now i know your lying .
Post by: tayto on May 16, 2007, 04:22:58 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2007, 02:56:11 PM

Ah still you get some snippets of info that you mightnt otherwise get, for example, the south dublin colleges are playing in the leinster junior cup today v kierans. not a schnifter on hill16. get some reviews of matches and that that you wouldnt necessarily get to either.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2007, 05:11:21 PM
Quote from: tayto on May 16, 2007, 04:22:58 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 16, 2007, 02:56:11 PM

Ah still you get some snippets of info that you mightnt otherwise get, for example, the south dublin colleges are playing in the leinster junior cup today v kierans. not a schnifter on hill16. get some reviews of matches and that that you wouldnt necessarily get to either.
I know about that
there were no league tables all year in 2006 regarding minor football.
Often dont have the correct fixtures up either.

Still I'd not buy that glorified parchment of andrex if it killed me !
Post by: heganboy on May 16, 2007, 05:25:46 PM
I love when you see the Cheeky dubs threads popping up - means we're actually approaching the business end of the year...
Post by: Kerry Mike on May 16, 2007, 05:31:47 PM
A Cork lad at work today asked me when Kerry were playing their first game this year, I said September.

You have to keep those Langers on the back foot at all possible opportunities.

Post by: tayto on May 16, 2007, 05:41:09 PM
 ;D ;D ;D ;D

You gotta love this time of year alright. oh the bravado!
Post by: tayto on May 17, 2007, 01:52:25 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 16, 2007, 10:57:31 AM
QuoteI bet there's nothing about the dubs in this weeks Sunday Times.
if it's rags you deserve everything you get!

not like the decent sunday time a typical union jack waving jackeen. Queen Vic would be pround of you

thinking back to that comment ... hahahahahaaaa ...

i take it you never watch the BBC, avoid marks n sparks like the plague, HMV, or Virgin, debenhams etc etc... all for fear someone will think you're any less an Irish man.

I hope to christ you were joking!  :-* :-*