GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on January 28, 2018, 07:31:00 PM

Title: Michael Lyster's imminent retirement
Post by: T Fearon on January 28, 2018, 07:31:00 PM
Apparently Michael will step down from presenting the Sunday Game at the end of the current season as he is required to retire at 65 by RTÉ.

He will be a hard act to follow after 34 years of excellent presentation.
Title: Re: Michael Lyster's imminent retirement
Post by: seafoid on January 28, 2018, 07:42:08 PM
Béarna Dearg's finesht. He was beaming after the hurlers won their latest. 3 hurling and 2 football in his 34 years. 
A real pro.He will be missed.
Post by: Hardy on January 28, 2018, 07:42:33 PM
He had the cutting edge of the bouffant hairdo that is all that will be remembered of him.
Post by: Jinxy on January 28, 2018, 07:44:41 PM
After his health scare I hope he enjoys a long and happy retirement.
Will feel strange watching it without him.
I'd like to see Joanne Cantwell get the gig.
Post by: Hardy on January 28, 2018, 07:46:52 PM
Holy God!
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 28, 2018, 07:48:27 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 28, 2018, 07:31:00 PM
Apparently Michael will step down from presenting the Sunday Game at the end of the current season as he is required to retire at 65 by RTÉ.

He will be a hard act to follow after 34 years of excellent presentation.

Following that praise, he's obviously well up the pecking order, along with Brady & the self appointed gangs of vigilantes.
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 28, 2018, 07:48:38 PM
Best of luck to him came across as a decent chap. Hopefully we don't have to wait for Joe Brolly to reach 65 before he retires.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 28, 2018, 07:48:54 PM
I think he's received fair criticism in recent years for always attempting to put a lid on any conversation or analysis from the pundits that threatened to veer anywhere near the controversial.

That said it is some going to be on television for as long as he has and still remain (almost) universally popular. A rarity inside RTE anyway I'd say. A sound man too by all accounts.
Post by: Syferus on January 28, 2018, 07:49:39 PM
Legend. Patience of a saint.
Post by: Jinxy on January 28, 2018, 07:50:34 PM
Jesus lads, they wouldn't give it to Des Cahill, would they?
Post by: mrdeeds on January 28, 2018, 07:52:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 28, 2018, 07:50:34 PM
Jesus lads, they wouldn't give it to Des Cahill, would they?

Joanne Cantwell?
Post by: Zulu on January 28, 2018, 07:55:52 PM
Dara O Cinneide.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 28, 2018, 08:02:04 PM
Darragh Moloney's name was mentioned on hoganstand. I hope Michael enjoys his retirement anyway. Seems a nice enough fella.
Post by: SHEEDY on January 28, 2018, 08:04:22 PM
Quote from: Zulu on January 28, 2018, 07:55:52 PM
Dara O Cinneide.
good shout, excellent presenter.
Post by: MK on January 28, 2018, 08:10:12 PM
Evanne Ni Chuilinn - ;) ;)
Post by: From the Bunker on January 28, 2018, 08:25:13 PM
Joanne Cantwell is the one. Knows her stuff. Not afraid to ask the hard questions.

Dara O Cinneide is a good presenter with great knowledge, but we have to many people on RTE and in the media from Kerry.

Post by: BennyCake on January 28, 2018, 08:31:10 PM
Michael seems a decent auld scud. Seen him do after dinner speaker once, very entertaining.

TSG needs a long term host. Someone for the long haul. You can't be changing hosts every time the wind changes. I mean, this isn't 'Countdown' we're talking about.
Post by: T Fearon on January 28, 2018, 08:34:10 PM
The heyday was the 1980s with the late Enda Colleran,decency,good honest analysis,with no personal insult or gratuitous offence given.
Post by: ONeill on January 28, 2018, 08:51:28 PM
Should go to an Ulsterman.
Post by: T Fearon on January 28, 2018, 09:06:36 PM
Comeback for Jerome Quinn,the voice of the GAA! 😂😂
Post by: Jinxy on January 28, 2018, 09:24:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 28, 2018, 08:51:28 PM

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/sol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/06/rugby_union_season_ticket/img/8.jpg)
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on January 28, 2018, 09:34:07 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 28, 2018, 08:25:13 PM
Joanne Cantwell is the one. Knows her stuff. Not afraid to ask the hard questions.

Dara O Cinneide is a good presenter with great knowledge, but we have to many people on RTE and in the media from Kerry.

A hundred times this, the Kerry mafia have enough in it already.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 28, 2018, 09:35:13 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 28, 2018, 09:24:26 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 28, 2018, 08:51:28 PM

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/sol/shared/spl/hi/pop_ups/06/rugby_union_season_ticket/img/8.jpg)

*shudder*
Post by: red hander on January 28, 2018, 09:38:43 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 28, 2018, 08:34:10 PM
The heyday was the 1980s with the late Enda Colleran,decency,good honest analysis,with no personal insult or gratuitous offence given.

The death thread hijacker citing 'gratuitous offence'  ::)
Post by: Duine Eile on January 28, 2018, 09:47:28 PM
You'd go far to meet a sounder man, an absolute gent, hope he has many years to enjoy his retirement after his health scares. Hopefully he won't be replaced by Des Cahill  :-\
Post by: imtommygunn on January 28, 2018, 09:58:44 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on January 28, 2018, 09:47:28 PM
You'd go far to meet a sounder man, an absolute gent, hope he has many years to enjoy his retirement after his health scares. Hopefully he won't be replaced by Des Cahill  :-\

Jesus don't say that. Cahill does enough to ruin the evening show.

Nice guy. Tough gig these days controlling those muppets brolly and spillane but he does it well.
Post by: snoopdog on January 28, 2018, 10:02:03 PM
Sidebottom the only man for the job
Post by: Targetman on January 28, 2018, 10:17:02 PM
Adrian Logan's just made for it, will get Mickey Harte back onside, naw maybe not!!
Post by: macdanger2 on January 28, 2018, 11:45:06 PM
Dara O Cinneide.

He's excellent. Cantwell very good also.

Cahill is brutal. Personally I'm not a huge fan of Lyster but I wish him well in his retirement
Post by: From the Bunker on January 29, 2018, 12:12:06 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on January 28, 2018, 11:45:06 PM
Dara O Cinneide.

He's excellent. Cantwell very good also.

Cahill is brutal. Personally I'm not a huge fan of Lyster but I wish him well in his retirement

Same here. Not a huge fan of Lyster. But it will be a sentimental moment when he signs off!
Post by: magpie seanie on January 29, 2018, 09:35:03 AM
RTE's whole GAA coverage needs a complete shake up. They should use Lyster's retirement to revamp the whole approach. When you see what TV3 did and what Sky are doing and the clued in analysts they have on board it shows how decrepit and past its sell by date RTE's coverage is. I rarely if ever watch the half time bullshit on RTE but I would on other channels. I usually record TSG and fast forward through the talk. Des Cahill alone just really sickens me. The end of year show where they all shout over each other like kids summed it up.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 29, 2018, 09:42:04 AM
Des Cahill is just there for the 'banter' in my opinion. Never seriously analyses much to be honest.
Post by: BennyCake on January 29, 2018, 09:58:30 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 29, 2018, 09:35:03 AM
RTE's whole GAA coverage needs a complete shake up. They should use Lyster's retirement to revamp the whole approach. When you see what TV3 did and what Sky are doing and the clued in analysts they have on board it shows how decrepit and past its sell by date RTE's coverage is. I rarely if ever watch the half time bullshit on RTE but I would on other channels. I usually record TSG and fast forward through the talk. Des Cahill alone just really sickens me. The end of year show where they all shout over each other like kids summed it up.

I delight in muting TSG at half time. Brolly, Spillane  and co have nothing of interest to say that I want to hear.

But yes, rte coverage is stale and shite. I deliberately avoided all results yesterday in order to see the highlights, and ended up having to look them up online as they couldn't be arsed even telling us NFL 2,3,4 scores. Bloody pathetic.
Post by: tippabu on January 29, 2018, 10:16:43 AM
Darragh Maloney for me would be best to step in, find him a really good commentator and good presenter
Post by: magpie seanie on January 29, 2018, 10:21:10 AM
I think O'Cinnéide is a great shout. Excellent presenter as seen in his TG4 days and obviously his GAA credentials are beyond doubt. I'd put Joanne Cantwell and Evanne Ni Chuilinn on the evening show.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 29, 2018, 10:23:23 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 29, 2018, 09:58:30 AM

I delight in muting TSG at half time. Brolly, Spillane  and co have nothing of interest to say that I want to hear.

But yes, rte coverage is stale and shite. I deliberately avoided all results yesterday in order to see the highlights, and ended up having to look them up online as they couldn't be arsed even telling us NFL 2,3,4 scores. Bloody pathetic.

That was a f**king disgrace, one of them occasions where you find yourself shouting at the telly.

(http://i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/original/001/044/247/297.png)

Will be sad to see Lyster go, has been a stable of my Sunday afternoons for nearly 40 years. Cantwell or O'Cinnéide for me. If it's O'Cinnéide balance the Kerry equation by retiring Spillane, simple.
Post by: haranguerer on January 29, 2018, 10:26:21 AM
Will be sad to see Michael go. He is inseparable from my earliest memories of AI finals - when Ulster dominated in the early 90's.
Post by: rosnarun on January 29, 2018, 10:44:42 AM
to be honest I think the whole thing has gone so stale its become irrelevant I only ever turn up the volume for the match itself and the evening program is unwatchable with about 75% of nonentities sprouting shite to 25 % action usually from the game/games that were shown live earlier.
The GAA should hand over the whole lot to TG4 where they'd treat it with respect.

and I didn't even mention that bollix once
Post by: Orchard park on January 29, 2018, 11:06:43 AM
all for Des cahill getting it,

then those of us who attend live matches wont have to suffer him on the highlights show.

if they want o go for knowledge dara O Cinneide is streets ahead of the others..........

for a left field suggestion Marie Crowe, miles ahead of Cantwell, Ni Chuleann, Hurley, if going for gender balance
Post by: Hardy on January 29, 2018, 11:57:03 AM
We are seeing here the reason that we have to put up with shite from the RTE monopoly - the punters are happy to lap it up. For decades they have been feeding us anodyne crap and so-called analysis that is utterly devoid of insight and displays no interest in doing anything other than showing up, delivering the formulaic bullshit and collecting the cheque.

And what happens when the ringmaster of this depressing shambles finally f$cks off? We have a chorus of nostalgia. Ah he'll be missed. Grand fella. Great memories. No wonder they keep shoveling the bullshit at us. If they read this forum how could they conclude otherwise than that we love it?
Post by: stephenite on January 29, 2018, 12:09:18 PM
I've only listened to him on Podcasts, and radio doesn't necessarily translate to TV, but your man Joe Molloy from Off the Ball is very good.
Post by: haranguerer on January 29, 2018, 12:25:11 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 29, 2018, 11:57:03 AM
We are seeing here the reason that we have to put up with shite from the RTE monopoly - the punters are happy to lap it up. For decades they have been feeding us anodyne crap and so-called analysis that is utterly devoid of insight and displays no interest in doing anything other than showing up, delivering the formulaic bullshit and collecting the cheque.

And what happens when the ringmaster of this depressing shambles finally f$cks off? We have a chorus of nostalgia. Ah he'll be missed. Grand fella. Great memories. No wonder they keep shoveling the bullshit at us. If they read this forum how could they conclude otherwise than that we love it?

Sorry, I'll try to toe your line in future
Post by: OgraAnDun on January 29, 2018, 12:27:55 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 29, 2018, 10:44:42 AM
to be honest I think the whole thing has gone so stale its become irrelevant I only ever turn up the volume for the match itself and the evening program is unwatchable with about 75% of nonentities sprouting shite to 25 % action usually from the game/games that were shown live earlier.
The GAA should hand over the whole lot to TG4 where they'd treat it with respect.

Which one?!
Post by: Jinxy on January 29, 2018, 12:58:07 PM
Quote from: stephenite on January 29, 2018, 12:09:18 PM
I've only listened to him on Podcasts, and radio doesn't necessarily translate to TV, but your man Joe Molloy from Off the Ball is very good.

He's excellent but he's probably more of a rubby man.
I'd rather have Darragh Moloney on commentary than in the studio.
Sorting out the appalling standard of commentary is very much so the elephant in the room for me.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on January 29, 2018, 01:21:14 PM
Looking at how gender has influenced practically all of RTE's recent hirings I wouldn't be surprised if a female presenter got the gig. Joanne Cantwell or Evanne Ní Chuilinn being the obvious candidates.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 29, 2018, 01:28:38 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on January 29, 2018, 11:06:43 AM
all for Des cahill getting it,

then those of us who attend live matches wont have to suffer him on the highlights show.

if they want o go for knowledge dara O Cinneide is streets ahead of the others..........

for a left field suggestion Marie Crowe, miles ahead of Cantwell, Ni Chuleann, Hurley, if going for gender balance

Hello and welcome to the G-A-A-A all Ireland ehhhh football final.

He seems like very nice man but if he's the best there is we're in bother.
Post by: rosnarun on January 29, 2018, 02:47:21 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on January 29, 2018, 12:27:55 PM

Which one?!

the one that try to be outrageous to get attention , probably never breast fed as a child
Post by: OgraAnDun on January 29, 2018, 03:26:15 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 29, 2018, 02:47:21 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on January 29, 2018, 12:27:55 PM

Which one?!

the one that try to be outrageous to get attention , probably never breast fed as a child

To be honest, that doesn't really narrow it down from the RTE panel.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on January 29, 2018, 04:05:55 PM

I think O'Cinneide would be a decent choice, did a very good job on that TG4 preview show on a Fri evening for a few years - I would get rid of Spillane and O'Shea though, add very little in terms of game analysis, just trot out the same old cliches week after week.  To be honest, a decent clean out is required at this stage as it has all gone way past stale at this point.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 29, 2018, 06:17:32 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on January 29, 2018, 04:05:55 PM

I think O'Cinneide would be a decent choice, did a very good job on that TG4 preview show on a Fri evening for a few years - I would get rid of Spillane and O'Shea though, add very little in terms of game analysis, just trot out the same old cliches week after week.  To be honest, a decent clean out is required at this stage as it has all gone way past stale at this point.
Gooch has been disappointing as well in my opinion.
Post by: Syferus on January 29, 2018, 06:57:46 PM
Lyster was on 3 today pointing a kitchen knife at Martin King. Can see him switching teams.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 29, 2018, 07:56:40 PM
the Gooch is a terrible talker

don't know how he got that job dealing with the public at the bank cash desks...
Post by: LooseCannon on January 29, 2018, 08:33:05 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 29, 2018, 07:56:40 PM
the Gooch is a terrible talker

don't know how he got that job dealing with the public at the bank cash desks...

He hasn't done that for years. He's to busy trying to indoctrinate the youth that AIB are great.

https://amp.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/joe-brolly-aib-sky-and-other-brands-will-complete-cultural-hijacking-of-the-gaa-if-new-director-general-doesnt-act-36464318.html
Post by: rosnarun on January 30, 2018, 03:17:21 PM
 I just realized Colm o rourke is still on the sunday game .
unless they was a major redecoration he would be left as part of the set
Post by: Esmarelda on January 30, 2018, 03:44:28 PM
I'd settle for Carney, Canning and Carr in the studio if there was an absolute guarantee that they'd never ever enter a commentary box again.
Post by: Jinxy on January 30, 2018, 04:00:14 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on January 30, 2018, 03:17:21 PM
I just realized Colm o rourke is still on the sunday game .
unless they was a major redecoration he would be left as part of the set

By rights, Colm should get the presenting gig as he's the voice of reason and universally loved & respected.
He could remain as senior analyst as well.
Just has to swap chairs depending on which hat he's wearing.
"Colm, what did you think of that first half?"
"excuse me there Joe, just need to get by. Pull in your knee, Pat. I told you to pull in your knee! There's nothing wrong with you."
"Well Colm, it looks to me like... what was the question again? Ah jaysus, hang on a sec"
"excuse me Pat..."
Post by: BennyCake on January 30, 2018, 06:47:14 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on January 30, 2018, 03:44:28 PM
I'd settle for Carney, Canning and Carr in the studio if there was an absolute guarantee that they'd never ever enter a commentary box again.

I'd just prefer a 'No commentary' option on matchdays. Commentator ruin games, especially Canning.
Post by: Dubhaltach on January 30, 2018, 07:14:55 PM

While I'm no fan of the other two, Tommy Carr still getting to commentate on matches tells you all you need to know about the idiots running The Sunday Game.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 30, 2018, 07:25:18 PM
Mark Sidebottom is absolutely magic.
Post by: BennyCake on January 30, 2018, 07:35:28 PM
Carney, Canning, Carr...

Hmm, is this the CCC they speak of? Or am I missing another C?
Post by: seafoid on January 30, 2018, 07:41:00 PM
Buff Egan.
Post by: Jinxy on January 30, 2018, 08:18:08 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 30, 2018, 06:47:14 PM

I'd just prefer a 'No commentary' option on matchdays. Commentator ruin games, especially Canning.

Someone like Cian Ward or Anthony Moyles would be a good co-commentator with Darragh Moloney.
They actually think about what's happening on the field.
However, once you're in RTE, you're there for life so we're stuck with the usual gang.
Post by: MoChara on February 01, 2018, 02:05:05 PM
Its Joanne Cantwell, so who ever guessed it right come up the front to get your prize

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/joanne-cantwell-to-anchor-the-sunday-game-following-michael-lysters-retirement-36556438.html
Post by: From the Bunker on February 01, 2018, 02:59:21 PM
Cantwell is a good choice!  :)
Post by: johnneycool on February 01, 2018, 03:00:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 01, 2018, 02:59:21 PM

Provided she can keep the lunatics from taking over the asylum on a Sunday afternoon.
Post by: Jinxy on February 01, 2018, 03:33:23 PM
Quote from: MoChara on February 01, 2018, 02:05:05 PM
Its Joanne Cantwell, so who ever guessed it right come up the front to get your prize

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/joanne-cantwell-to-anchor-the-sunday-game-following-michael-lysters-retirement-36556438.html

Quote from: Jinxy on January 28, 2018, 07:44:41 PM

Where's my bottle of Blue Nun.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 01, 2018, 03:56:24 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 01, 2018, 03:33:23 PM
Quote from: MoChara on February 01, 2018, 02:05:05 PM

Quote from: Jinxy on January 28, 2018, 07:44:41 PM

Where's my bottle of Blue Nun.

You can divvy the Blue Nun out there Nostradamus

Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 29, 2018, 10:23:23 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on January 29, 2018, 09:58:30 AM

That was a f**king disgrace, one of them occasions where you find yourself shouting at the telly.

(http://i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/original/001/044/247/297.png)

Will be sad to see Lyster go, has been a stable of my Sunday afternoons for nearly 40 years. Cantwell or O'Cinnéide for me. If it's O'Cinnéide balance the Kerry equation by retiring Spillane, simple.
Post by: twohands!!! on February 01, 2018, 03:57:32 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 01, 2018, 03:00:38 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on February 01, 2018, 02:59:21 PM

Provided she can keep the lunatics from taking over the asylum on a Sunday afternoon.

That ship has sailed years ago.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 01, 2018, 04:02:21 PM
I don't envy her being truthful.
Post by: easytiger95 on February 01, 2018, 05:54:55 PM
I've got a funny feeling after her first afternoon listening to Brolly, O'Rourke and Spillane condescending to her, she'll be #MeToo
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2018, 05:59:39 PM
I've no problem with Joanne hosting. Hosted a GAA night once I attended. Did very well.

But RTE should bring in a new generation of pundits and commentators. The country is sick listening to Brolly and Spillane, and Canning on commentary. I know I am!
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 02, 2018, 09:49:55 PM
Would have much preferred Darragh Maloney, knowledgeable and good at keeping debate going. Cantwell, I feel, is a bit of a diva and that voice!!!! But, having said that, good luck to her and I'll continue to watch the Sunday Game Live.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 02, 2018, 09:50:50 PM
On what basis as Rte decided to go with her?
Post by: Kidder81 on February 02, 2018, 09:55:50 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 02, 2018, 09:50:50 PM

Current climate, was always going to be a woman
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 02, 2018, 09:59:43 PM
Dara O'Cinnéide was the only man for the job
Post by: Jinxy on February 02, 2018, 10:42:09 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on February 02, 2018, 09:55:50 PM

There's a bit of that, but she got it on merit for me.
I like Darragh Maloney but I'd rather see him doing the bulk of the commentaries at the expense of Ger & Marty.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 02, 2018, 11:13:08 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 02, 2018, 09:59:43 PM
Dara O'Cinnéide was the only man for the job

Nah - enuf of Kerry lads talking about Kerry.

They should put Warldorf and Statler out to pasteur now as well and shunt Brolly off to Sky
Post by: yellowcard on February 02, 2018, 11:26:25 PM
What county is she from? O' Cinneide was the best man for the job but Cantwell is a tough questioner and will take no shit. I think she is a decent choice but time will tell. Des would eat himself if he was a bar of chocolate and is too wishy washy whilst Maloney is a good commentator but less effective as an anchor (he did get a poisoned chalice trying to follow Bill though).
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on February 02, 2018, 11:48:34 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on February 02, 2018, 11:26:25 PM
What county is she from? O' Cinneide was the best man for the job but Cantwell is a tough questioner and will take no shit. I think she is a decent choice but time will tell. Des would eat himself if he was a bar of chocolate and is too wishy washy whilst Maloney is a good commentator but less effective as an anchor (he did get a poisoned chalice trying to follow Bill though).

She is a former Dublin player according to RTE.
Post by: Syferus on February 03, 2018, 12:27:04 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 02, 2018, 10:42:09 PM

I like Darragh Maloney but I'd rather see him doing the bulk of the commentaries at the expense of Ger & Marty.

Current climate.. did any human being say that when the man got a job? Reducing it down to her sex is incredible, honestly. She must have a decade's worth of GAA presenting under her belt by now.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 05, 2018, 09:56:39 AM

Stop posting my thoughts.
Post by: Jinxy on February 09, 2018, 01:31:18 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 03, 2018, 12:27:04 AM

Current climate.. did any human being say that when the man got a job? Reducing it down to her sex is incredible, honestly. She must have a decade's worth of GAA presenting under her belt by now.

There is no denying RTE have made a conscious decision to place women in more prominent & visible roles, Syf.
It isn't a contradiction to acknowledge that,
a) this is 'the current climate'
and,
b) Joanne is more than qualified to do the job she's been given.
I was pleasantly surprised to see that there was almost universal approval when her name was announced.
This demonstrates to me that her bona fides are not in question and there is no real sense that she got the job as a result of 'affirmative action'.
However, I'm sure the big-wigs in RTE are delighted that their flagship sports programme is now presented by a woman.
Everybody (ish) wins.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 09, 2018, 02:30:55 PM
I look forward to the day when no one feels the need to reference the gender of a TV presenter. Hope I live to see it.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 09, 2018, 02:46:56 PM
A lot of good female sports journalists out there. If they're good who cares. Cantwell probably better than anyone bar daragh moloney who probably wasn't in the frame so probably the best fit for the job.

The likes of logan, kangaroo court for the medical professionals at the worlds, is as good as any so the way has been paved. (Not that it should need to be done but sadly probably does).
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 09, 2018, 04:02:43 PM
RTEs way of making up for the sexist comment Joe Brolly made about Rachel Wyse?
Post by: imtommygunn on February 09, 2018, 04:36:28 PM
What bloke is a better choice than her?

She is a proper media person which really is what is required here.