Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Ball Hopper on May 04, 2017, 07:37:37 AM

Title: Staff meeting at the Palace
Post by: Ball Hopper on May 04, 2017, 07:37:37 AM
Anyone clued in to the agenda of this meeting?
Title: Re: Staff meeting at the Palace
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 04, 2017, 08:28:22 AM
Prince harry lurks on here i heard one time but other than that you might be better off asking this elsewhere on tinternet
Post by: ashman on May 04, 2017, 09:23:36 AM
Big Sam not happy ??
Post by: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 09:30:46 AM
Lol
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2017, 09:42:50 AM
The Queen is planning to cancel Brexit
Post by: Chase on May 04, 2017, 10:02:55 AM
Why would anyone, especially​ on a forum like this,care about this?
Post by: MoChara on May 04, 2017, 10:26:00 AM
Quote from: Chase on May 04, 2017, 10:02:55 AM

Because if one of the top ones die us Nordies get a day off work.
Post by: armaghniac on May 04, 2017, 10:31:36 AM
Quote from: MoChara on May 04, 2017, 10:26:00 AM

I'm afraid you'll have to wait. Queen Liz might outlive NI at this stage.
Post by: BennyCake on May 04, 2017, 11:05:01 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on May 04, 2017, 10:31:36 AM
Quote from: MoChara on May 04, 2017, 10:26:00 AM

I'm afraid you'll have to wait. Queen Liz might outlive NI at this stage.

The Greek won't though.
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 11:05:19 AM
The Nordies love their Queen and Royal family.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 04, 2017, 11:07:49 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 11:05:19 AM

Nearly as much as men from Queens County!!!!  Huzzah!
Post by: BennyCake on May 04, 2017, 11:39:16 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 04, 2017, 11:07:49 AM

Game, set and match!  ;D
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 11:47:23 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 04, 2017, 11:39:16 AM

Game, set and match!  ;D
Yes that's me told alright...Hardly.
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 11:49:03 AM

I'll give you a D-
Must try harder BC1. ;D
We got rid of the name ye still have a Queen!
Post by: illdecide on May 04, 2017, 12:08:38 PM
Dunno Laoislad thought it was worth a B+, you were hung out to dry.
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 12:11:23 PM
Nah, way too obvious and predictable. I was being generous with the D-. No one from Laois actually cares that our majestic county was once called that. It's only Nordies that seem to think we care God love them.
Nice to see a few Armagh boys talk to me again though. Ye went missing just around the time Laois beat Armagh again this year... Not saying the two were connected but.....
Post by: Chase on May 04, 2017, 12:40:37 PM
You could be right!
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2017, 12:41:47 PM
The wee token Protestant girl in the office is wondering why I'm laughing.

Fair play brokencrossbar1, you put the laoislad back in his Queens County box.
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 12:57:13 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 04, 2017, 12:41:47 PM
The wee token Protestant girl in the office is wondering why I'm laughing.

Fair play brokencrossbar1, you put the laoislad back in his Queens County box.
Repeating it over and over won't make it true!   ;D
Btw bad form you're suppose to be impartial being a mod and all.
Post by: leenie on May 04, 2017, 12:57:25 PM
Good one Bcb 1 ....

U provide the bait and just reel him in
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 01:01:16 PM
So what was the announcement anyway? Are you British folk getting a day off for some Queen related anniversary or something?
Post by: HiMucker on May 04, 2017, 01:16:16 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 01:01:16 PM
So what was the announcement anyway? Are you British folk getting a day off for some Queen related anniversary or something?
Thought you said you don't care?  ;D Closet royalist! ;D
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 01:25:42 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on May 04, 2017, 01:16:16 PM
Love the Royal Family.Especially the Christmas episode where the Granny dies. Always shed a tear at that one..
Post by: HiMucker on May 04, 2017, 01:54:20 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 01:25:42 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on May 04, 2017, 01:16:16 PM
Love the Royal Family.Especially the Christmas episode where the Granny dies. Always shed a tear at that one..
Aye good to see the odd show that you can relate to home!
Post by: BennyCake on May 04, 2017, 02:03:09 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 12:11:23 PM
Nah, way too obvious and predictable. I was being generous with the D-. No one from Laois actually cares that our majestic county was once called that. It's only Nordies that seem to think we care God love them.
Nice to see a few Armagh boys talk to me again though. Ye went missing just around the time Laois beat Armagh again this year... Not saying the two were connected but.....

You were fairly quiet yourself, as Laois slipped into the abyss that is Division 4. Ah say, Division 4.
Post by: BennyCake on May 04, 2017, 02:09:55 PM

Here's hoping!

If atheists can get Christmas off, and Protestants St Patricks Day, why shouldn't Catholics can get Royal days off?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 04, 2017, 03:05:36 PM
No one from Laois actually cares that our majestic county was once called that.

If yis dont care then why bother changing it?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 04, 2017, 03:09:52 PM
Anyway Looks like big Phil is retiring, does this he's stopping his quips? I cant think of anything else he does?
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 03:45:24 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 04, 2017, 03:05:36 PM

What a f**king stupid question.
Post by: Ball Hopper on May 04, 2017, 03:50:12 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 04, 2017, 03:09:52 PM
Anyway Looks like big Phil is retiring, does this he's stopping his quips? I cant think of anything else he does?

Thought it might have been activation of this, a surprisingly good read:

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2017/mar/16/what-happens-when-queen-elizabeth-dies-london-bridge
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 04, 2017, 04:28:56 PM
Surely retiring from doing nothing means you begin to do something  ???
Post by: StGallsGAA on May 04, 2017, 04:45:50 PM
Any odds on him croaking with a month?
Post by: BennyCake on May 04, 2017, 07:04:33 PM

Maybe they haven't...

Despite the county's name being upheld as Laois through the 2001 Local Government Act, no legislation was ever enacted after independence explicitly changing the name from Queen's County, the name formally established under the 1898 Local Government Act which continued to have legal effect. When land is sold in the county the relevant title deeds are still updated as being in Queen's County.
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 07:15:46 PM
The obsession increases to an all time high...!
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2017, 07:17:55 PM
Doesn't matter, laoislad is a Dub now anyway.
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 07:19:10 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 04, 2017, 07:17:55 PM
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2017, 07:22:55 PM
Always thought the Duke was great craic. He didn't take the shite too seriously, unlike his missus.

I think he asked Lizzy at her coronation "where did you get that hat?"
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2017, 07:24:30 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 04, 2017, 07:17:55 PM

I thought he was a Scouser
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Yt8tygDXzc
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 07:36:40 PM
Whether it was or wasn't or still is in some form or other it makes no difference. It's only a name. 

The only one who obsess over it is Nordies.
Which is ironic considering they actually have a Queen.
The funny part is they thinking one should be insulted by it.
I look forward to the Offaly boys getting the same treatment when your Queen dies and you have a King instead!
Post by: omaghjoe on May 04, 2017, 09:02:49 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 04, 2017, 07:04:33 PM

Maybe they haven't...

Despite the county's name being upheld as Laois through the 2001 Local Government Act, no legislation was ever enacted after independence explicitly changing the name from Queen's County, the name formally established under the 1898 Local Government Act which continued to have legal effect. When land is sold in the county the relevant title deeds are still updated as being in Queen's County.

LOL looks like they really dont care..... apart from laoislad
Post by: Itchy on May 04, 2017, 10:32:18 PM
That Queens as daft as a brush, she had 32 counties to pick from and chose Laois!
Post by: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 10:48:05 PM
Truth be told if history was different I could actually have been from Kilkenny as up until the 1840's the town I grew up in was actually part of Co.Kilkenny.
I could have been kilkennylad instead of laoislad had it stayed as it was.!
Who would the Armagh lads have had to wind them up then?

After the Reformation, the manor passed into the ownership of the Earl of Ormond. In 1600, when Upper Ossory was made part of Queen's County (now Laois), Ormond ensured that Durrow remained an enclave of County Kilkenny where he was based.[2] [3] Ormond released the manor on 19 February 1708 to "William Flower and his heirs, forever". It was under the patronage of Flower and his descendants, the Lords Ashbrook, that the present town developed and prospered. In 1841–42 it was transferred from Kilkenny to Queen's County.[4]
Post by: stew on May 05, 2017, 08:23:59 AM
Quote from: laoislad on May 04, 2017, 10:48:05 PM
Truth be told if history was different I could actually have been from Kilkenny as up until the 1840's the town I grew up in was actually part of Co.Kilkenny.

After the Reformation, the manor passed into the ownership of the Earl of Ormond. In 1600, when Upper Ossory was made part of Queen's County (now Laois), Ormond ensured that Durrow remained an enclave of County Kilkenny where he was based.[2] [3] Ormond released the manor on 19 February 1708 to "William Flower and his heirs, forever". It was under the patronage of Flower and his descendants, the Lords Ashbrook, that the present town developed and prospered. In 1841–42 it was transferred from Kilkenny to Queen's County.[4]

Hate to break this to ya kid but you wind none of us up, you get wound by the Armagh men. )
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 05, 2017, 08:43:09 AM
You think you made a lucky escape Laoislad!

Until 15somethingorother Longford was part of Connacht!
Post by: seafoid on May 05, 2017, 08:51:57 AM

You would be so sick of all Irelands by now if you were from Kilkenny
Post by: mrdeeds on May 05, 2017, 09:00:10 AM
95 year old immigrant racist retires from doing nothing and gets to stay in the country after Brexit because he married his cousin.
Post by: Hound on May 05, 2017, 11:22:43 AM
Born in Corfu, son of a Greek prince. Grandfather was King of Greece. Great grandfather was King of Denmark!

Queen Victoria was his mother's great grandmother and his wife's great great grandmother...

Post by: GJL on May 05, 2017, 11:31:45 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 05, 2017, 11:22:43 AM
Born in Corfu, son of a Greek prince. Grandfather was King of Greece. Great grandfather was King of Denmark!

Queen Victoria was his mother's great grandmother and his wife's great great grandmother...

Is it any wonder the off spring are ugly as f@ck!
Post by: Chase on May 05, 2017, 12:06:22 PM

Kilkenny giving away whole towns. We asked them for a small plot of land here in Waterford this year and they refused!