GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Real Talker on May 01, 2017, 09:27:23 PM

Title: Eamon McGee on retiring, mental health struggles and drinking
Post by: Real Talker on May 01, 2017, 09:27:23 PM
For anyone interested, Eamon McGee gave a very open and insightful interview this week about about the difficulties that retiring brought and other struggles he went through in earlier years involving panic attacks, anxiety and drinking.

You can listen to the interview in full here - http://realtalks.ie/podcast/episode-6-eamon-mcgee/

Title: Re: Eamon McGee on retiring, mental health struggles and drinking
Post by: Fuzzman on May 01, 2017, 10:07:38 PM
Haven't listened to it yet but the Dubs on Facebook are full of praise for him as he said money has little to do with Dublin's success.
Post by: Syferus on May 01, 2017, 10:15:09 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 01, 2017, 10:07:38 PM
Haven't listened to it yet but the Dubs on Facebook are full of praise for him as he said money has little to do with Dublin's success.

Just like how Donegal having the resources for a lot of their players to be unpaid professionals without work commitments during Big Jim's term had nothing to do with them landing an AI.

McGee knows enough not to not throw stones, but everyone knows the score.
Post by: ONeill on May 01, 2017, 11:47:15 PM
Sorta don't get it. So he's one of us plebs?
Post by: J70 on May 02, 2017, 02:28:24 AM
Very interesting interview.

He's a smart, engaging lad, Eamon, with a lot to say that's worth hearing, and not just on the football.
Post by: seafoid on May 02, 2017, 07:13:47 AM
He is interesting on twitter
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 02, 2017, 09:11:38 AM
Great interview. Have a lot of time for Eamonn McGee. Always comes across as a decent fella.
Post by: rosnarun on May 02, 2017, 10:30:29 AM
he was a nasty thug on the pitch , ask Enda Varley and many others and his of pitch attempt to come across as the thinking mans footballer are laughable. Id prefer to judge people by their actions rather than the BS they concoct in a radio studio to sound good.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 02, 2017, 11:11:03 AM
I was thinking the same Rosnarun as him and his brother certainly used every trick in the book when McGuinness became manager. I'm not sure were they like that before Jim started winning matches.

Still, that doesn't mean he can't give an interesting interview and have an opinion. There are and were plenty dirty players who were totally different men off the field.
Post by: Rudi on May 02, 2017, 11:23:55 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 02, 2017, 10:30:29 AM
he was a nasty thug on the pitch , ask Enda Varley and many others and his of pitch attempt to come across as the thinking mans footballer are laughable. Id prefer to judge people by their actions rather than the BS they concoct in a radio studio to sound good.

Good honest post. He loves attention. Big brother awaits or celebrity farmer
He is pure town.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 02, 2017, 01:40:59 PM

Yup - one of those who used the creedo "what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch" to be a bully.

His cowardly efforts to break Fitzgerald's from Kerry's fingers in the league game were typical of him.
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2017, 01:43:29 PM
Was that not the brother?
Post by: Syferus on May 02, 2017, 03:25:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 02, 2017, 01:43:29 PM
Was that not the brother?

All Donegal people look the same to twohands.
Post by: skeog on May 02, 2017, 03:36:31 PM
Eamon loves the limelight didnt behave that well during his career but good luck to him.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 03, 2017, 06:31:54 PM
McGee gave it out but took it back as well.

You'd swear some of you lads are from counties who have never had a player commit some blackguarding in their career.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 03, 2017, 09:22:36 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 03, 2017, 06:31:54 PM

You'd swear some of you lads are from counties who have never had a player commit some blackguarding in their career.

+1. I wish we had a few McGees/Riceys/Martin O'Connells/Philly McMahons/Galvins/Lyons/Seán Docs/ P Sés. Lads with a wee bit of thuggery who could play football. Short supply in the Mournes.  :( :( :(
Post by: J70 on May 03, 2017, 11:28:04 PM

What a load of bollocks.

He was no angel on the pitch, like many others, but what has that got to do with what he says on twitter or in an interview?

One has nothing to do with the other.
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2017, 12:58:23 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 03, 2017, 09:22:36 PM

+1. I wish we had a few McGees/Riceys/Martin O'Connells/Philly McMahons/Galvins/Lyons/Seán Docs/ P Sés. Lads with a wee bit of thuggery who could play football. Short supply in the Mournes.  :( :( :(

I wouldn't exactly say Ricey could play football.. the game is better without that shite.
Post by: Taylor on May 04, 2017, 09:29:35 AM
A real nasty player.
If a forward was better than him he seemed intent on trying to bully them out of the game.

Would be a player you would love to have on your team but despise him if he played against you
Post by: rosnarun on May 04, 2017, 10:58:54 AM
Quote from: J70 on May 03, 2017, 11:28:04 PM

What a load of bollocks.

He was no angel on the pitch, like many others, but what has that got to do with what he says on twitter or in an interview?

I agree with you in so far as i I could not give a toss  what he says on twitter . we saw the Character of the man on the pitch how he reacted to being beaten and it was not pretty ,
Post by: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 12:34:07 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 04, 2017, 09:29:35 AM
A real nasty player.
If a forward was better than him he seemed intent on trying to bully them out of the game.

Would be a player you would love to have on your team but despise him if he played against you

I wouldn't love to have him on my team. He was a cynical player who didn't have much football in him.
Post by: J70 on May 04, 2017, 02:23:01 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 04, 2017, 10:58:54 AM

What a load of bollocks.

I agree with you in so far as i I could not give a toss  what he says on twitter . we saw the Character of the man on the pitch how he reacted to being beaten and it was not pretty ,

You dismiss the intelligent points he made (assuming you even listened to it or have a clue what he speaks about in general) as bullshit purely on account of his on-field exploits.

If you don't like him and are closed to what he has to say, even though you don't actually know the man, fine.

That doesn't mean he's talking bullshit.

It just means you're defining his entire character on one incident.

Which means there must be quite a few high profile GAA players and other sportsmen who you think are lowlifes. And I guess people in your own circles too.

Post by: Walter Cronc on May 04, 2017, 02:25:15 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 12:34:07 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 04, 2017, 09:29:35 AM
A real nasty player.

I wouldn't love to have him on my team. He was a cynical player who didn't have much football in him.

Nonsense Stallion. Eamonn had plenty of football in him. The brother on the other hand!
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 04, 2017, 02:26:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 04, 2017, 12:58:23 AM

I wouldn't exactly say Ricey could play football.. the game is better without that shite.

Are you for real?? Ricey was an unreal player! And I hated him playing against Derry.
Post by: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 02:31:32 PM
McMenamin was a very good footballer when he wasn't indulging in the pathetic cowardly stuff like slabbering about people's family etc.

Both McGees however were never good players. The fact Donegal played so defensively helped prevent their weaknesses being exposed too often.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 04, 2017, 02:49:13 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 02:31:32 PM
McMenamin was a very good footballer when he wasn't indulging in the pathetic cowardly stuff like slabbering about people's family etc.

Both McGees however were never good players. The fact Donegal played so defensively helped prevent their weaknesses being exposed too often.

Not many good 1 on 1 markers this good few years in fairness Stallion. The 2 McMahons a good example of the system masking faults.
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2017, 02:57:12 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 04, 2017, 02:26:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 04, 2017, 12:58:23 AM

Are you for real?? Ricey was an unreal player! And I hated him playing against Derry.

He was good at unsettling his marker. That's pretty much it. A good footballer is something very different.
Post by: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 03:36:35 PM
He was good at both. Although he shouldn't really have been allowed to play the game given his pathetic antics.  Fortunately for him Mickey Harte clearly doesnt mind that sort of behaviour from his players.
Post by: Taylor on May 04, 2017, 03:50:18 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 03:36:35 PM
He was good at both. Although he shouldn't really have been allowed to play the game given his pathetic antics.  Fortunately for him Mickey Harte clearly doesnt mind that sort of behaviour from his players.

Dont start this nonsense again.

Everyone has it in for M Harte. If we can get Sam back across the border there will be some sick idiots about
Post by: Stall the Bailer on May 04, 2017, 03:52:00 PM
What utter crap being talked here about top county footballers​ not being good.
In any walk of life if you are in top 20% you would been seen as good, top 10% probably very good, top 1% probably legends or the likes.
Our county footballers especially in the top counties like Donegal are definitely good footballers. Men who consistently make championship teams year after year are fine footballers.
Someone whose career ended at u14 or spent their life on sub bench belong at the other end of scale.
You do a great disservice to our players and the GAA.
Post by: BluestackBoy on May 04, 2017, 03:57:12 PM
I would hazard a guess that more than one poster on this thread has confused Eamonn with his brother Neil.
Post by: Syferus on May 04, 2017, 04:06:56 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 04, 2017, 03:50:18 PM

Everyone has it in for M Harte. If we can get Sam back across the border there will be some sick idiots about

Ye'll be doing well to win Ulster, calm yer charge.
Post by: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 04:20:51 PM

I don't have it in for Harte. I'm just pointing out that he seems to have no problem with some of the cowardly antics his players get up to.

And I won't be at all upset if Tyrone win the All Ireland. In fact I have some money on them to do so. Bit of a gamble but you never know.
Post by: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 04:23:06 PM
Quote from: Stall the Bailer on May 04, 2017, 03:52:00 PM
In any walk of life if you are in top 20% you would been seen as good, top 10% probably very good, top 1% probably legends or the likes.
Our county footballers especially in the top counties like Donegal are definitely good footballers. Men who consistently make championship teams year after year are fine footballers.
Someone whose career ended at u14 or spent their life on sub bench belong at the other end of scale.

The mere fact that someone plays inter-county football does not make them automatically good at football. Even if their team is succesful. There's plenty who have little discernable ability outside of fitness and strength.

In my opinion both McGee brothers weren't very good.
Post by: BluestackBoy on May 04, 2017, 04:27:51 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 04:23:06 PM

The mere fact that someone plays inter-county football does not make them automatically good at football. Even if their team is succesful. There's plenty who have little discernable ability outside of fitness and strength.

In my opinion both McGee brothers weren't very good.

A lot of forwards would beg to differ. They just made it look easy, a sure sign of real class!!
Post by: redhandefender on May 04, 2017, 04:32:47 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 04:20:51 PM

I don't have it in for Harte. I'm just pointing out that he seems to have no problem with some of the cowardly antics his players get up to.

And I won't be at all upset if Tyrone win the All Ireland. In fact I have some money on them to do so. Bit of a gamble but you never know.

More nonsense out of the Londonderry man, just get ready for your whipping in a few weeks, embarassing state of a county
Post by: Taylor on May 04, 2017, 04:38:07 PM

Because you make a county team doesnt mean you are a good footballer.
Some county players cant even kick the ball 10 yards.

Like enforcers on hockey teams, you have a place or role on a squad but it doesnt make you good at that chosen sport.
Post by: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 04:43:03 PM
Quote from: redhandefender on May 04, 2017, 04:32:47 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 04, 2017, 04:20:51 PM

More nonsense out of the Londonderry man, just get ready for your whipping in a few weeks, embarassing state of a county

I won't be getting a whipping. I don't play for Derry or Tyrone. I won't be particularly upset if Derry lose by a cricket score but if it makes you feel better go ahead and gloat about the result of a game you didn't play in.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 04, 2017, 05:43:17 PM

What a load of bollocks.

Did we see the character of Cillian O'Connor when he drew a wild kick on a Kerry player in injury time against Kerry a few years back and was sent off?

Did Mayo fans ever hear about the old adage of people who live in glass houses?
Post by: T Fearon on May 07, 2017, 09:56:17 AM
Surely Donegal players have mental health and drinking issues long before retirement?
Post by: rosnarun on May 08, 2017, 11:08:17 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 04, 2017, 05:43:17 PM

What a load of bollocks.

Did we see the character of Cillian O'Connor when he drew a wild kick on a Kerry player in injury time against Kerry a few years back and was sent off?

a wild kick in injury time in the course of a game bears no relation to cynical and hugely dangerous off the ball head stamping McGee  engaged in .I believe this to be a particularly bad dose of what our northern friends call Whataboutery .
and as for his 'Mental health issues ' it become the New ' go on hit me with the child in my arms defense' and an insult to people who suffer real problem ,
by his own evidence Mcgee go nervous before game and drank too much hardly a need to bring Freud out of retirement for that one,
but it may help his column
Post by: Taylor on May 08, 2017, 11:47:14 AM
While I cant believe i am saying this the more I think about it the more Piers Morgan has a point about mental health.

Huge numbers of people are using it as the real cases are lost among the myriad
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on May 08, 2017, 09:00:05 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 08, 2017, 11:08:17 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on May 04, 2017, 05:43:17 PM

What a load of bollocks.

a wild kick in injury time in the course of a game bears no relation to cynical and hugely dangerous off the ball head stamping McGee  engaged in .I believe this to be a particularly bad dose of what our northern friends call Whataboutery .
and as for his 'Mental health issues ' it become the New ' go on hit me with the child in my arms defense' and an insult to people who suffer real problem ,
by his own evidence Mcgee go nervous before game and drank too much hardly a need to bring Freud out of retirement for that one,
but it may help his column

He didn't stamp on his head. What is evident is the histrionics and faux outrage you are engaging in when lacking introspection into your own players. You can call it whataboutery but I call it balance and if you are unwilling to cast your same preachy morals onto your own players then you should leave the theatrical outrage at the door. I suppose Lee Keegan trying to choke Diarmuid Connolly out a couple of years ago was just a bit of playful grappling and nothing like cynical, off the ball and hugely dangerous antics that Mayo players don't engage in.

I await your across the board condemnation.
Post by: Keyser soze on May 09, 2017, 12:28:23 PM
God there are some eejits on this board. The rarefied stratosphere of ability and conduct that you attempt to measure amateur players against is frightening.

That McMenamim was a dirty wee hoor and I hated him but by god he was some footballer and some leader on a field. Any county would love to have a guy like that on their team. Mc Gee was neither as dirty or as good but still a great defender.

Lads on here spouting about bad players winning All Irelands, ffs catch yourself on, all that demonstrates is how little you know about the levels of ability and commitment needed to make a county squad.

Post by: Jinxy on May 09, 2017, 01:47:10 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 09, 2017, 12:28:23 PM
God there are some eejits on this board. The rarefied stratosphere of ability and conduct that you attempt to measure amateur players against is frightening.

That McMenamim was a dirty wee hoor and I hated him but by god he was some footballer and some leader on a field. Any county would love to have a guy like that on their team. Mc Gee was neither as dirty or as good but still a great defender.

Lads on here spouting about bad players winning All Irelands, ffs catch yourself on, all that demonstrates is how little you know about the levels of ability and commitment needed to make a county squad.

Speak for yourself.
Post by: Keyser soze on May 09, 2017, 03:11:36 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 09, 2017, 01:47:10 PM

Speak for yourself.

I will rephrase...

any county manager would love to have a guy like that on their team
Post by: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 06:26:49 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 09, 2017, 03:11:36 PM

Speak for yourself.

I will rephrase...

You think? I can think of a few managers who had enough morals that they'd have detested a player on their team that was up to that shite.

Just because some managers like Jimmy and Harte can easily partition away that behaviour because they think it's the only way they can win don't say everyone is the same.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 09, 2017, 07:45:52 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on May 04, 2017, 03:57:12 PM
I would hazard a guess that more than one poster on this thread has confused Eamonn with his brother Neil.
I reckon I'm guilty of that. I dislike both tho. But in the same way at as I am with McMenamin, had they been Armagh me. I'd have lov d them
As for him talking about these topics you ever know who's listening that may be inspired to get help as a result
Post by: omaghjoe on May 10, 2017, 04:54:54 AM

Now maybe but back in the 90s it was rent a thug from 1-9 and there was usually one up front as well for good measure.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 10, 2017, 09:14:17 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 10, 2017, 04:54:54 AM

Now maybe but back in the 90s it was rent a thug from 1-9 and there was usually one up front as well for good measure.

Couldn't possibly comment ;)
Post by: Keyser soze on May 10, 2017, 09:49:22 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 09, 2017, 06:26:49 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 09, 2017, 03:11:36 PM

Speak for yourself.

I will rephrase...

You think? I can think of a few managers who had enough morals that they'd have detested a player on their team that was up to that shite.

Just because some managers like Jimmy and Harte can easily partition away that behaviour because they think it's the only way they can win don't say everyone is the same.

Well sure go on and name them then. Or are u talking through your pipe as usual.
Post by: rosnarun on May 10, 2017, 12:41:57 PM
what does what county Managers wanting him on their team have to do with whether he was a thug or not as though they are arbiters of Morals within the GAA. Its pretty obvious that many managers would be willing to do almost anything in order for their team to win and the Failure of some posters to be able to differentiate between a football foul and a cynical head stamp, knee drop  , finger break etc only encourages this behaviour 
Post by: Hound on May 10, 2017, 01:39:51 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 01, 2017, 10:07:38 PM
It was this reference to the Dubs that persuaded me to listen to my first ever podcast!

It was only 10 seconds out of the hour, but it was an interesting viewpoint that the Dubs work rate isnt focused on enough when analysing their success. And he picked out Rock, who looked mediocre enough when he first came on the scene and through what can only be a huge amount of hard work has turned himself into one of the most reliable freetakers in the country, probably in the top 5.

But I did really enjoy the rest of the interview, I found McGee very interesting to listen to, and would liked to have heard a lot more. The title of the thread is probably a bit misleading as while mental health and drinking troubles were mentioned, nothing specific was gone into, but his take on football would make me interested in seeking out his columns.

The interviewer is good and has some interesting snippets himself, although maybe 5-10% more speaking time by the interviewee and less by the interviewer would have been a better balance.
Post by: Keyser soze on May 10, 2017, 03:00:36 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 10, 2017, 12:41:57 PM
what does what county Managers wanting him on their team have to do with whether he was a thug or not as though they are arbiters of Morals within the GAA. Its pretty obvious that many managers would be willing to do almost anything in order for their team to win and the Failure of some posters to be able to differentiate between a football foul and a cynical head stamp, knee drop  , finger break etc only encourages this behaviour

Well exactly, you are expanding on the point I was making, managers are not moral guardians of the game which is why every single one of them would pick a player of Ricey's potential every time for their team. You say 'managers would be willing to do almost anything in order for their team to win' as if that's a bad thing lol.

And this board isn't the moral guardian of the game either despite the massively overly inflated opinion some posters have of it's importance in the whole Gaa scheme of things.
Post by: The Stallion on May 11, 2017, 06:53:28 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 10, 2017, 03:00:36 PM

Well exactly, you are expanding on the point I was making, managers are not moral guardians of the game which is why every single one of them would pick a player of Ricey's potential every time for their team. You say 'managers would be willing to do almost anything in order for their team to win' as if that's a bad thing lol.

And this board isn't the moral guardian of the game either despite the massively overly inflated opinion some posters have of it's importance in the whole Gaa scheme of things.

It is a bad thing. The win at any cost mentality means managers such as Mickey Harte happily select, defend and possibly even encourage players who engage in despicable behaviour.

Some people are happy with this situation because it means they might win something. Personally I find it abhorrent.

Post by: Keyser soze on May 11, 2017, 10:03:13 AM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 11, 2017, 06:53:28 AM

It is a bad thing. The win at any cost mentality means managers such as Mickey Harte happily select, defend and possibly even encourage players who engage in despicable behaviour.

Some people are happy with this situation because it means they might win something. Personally I find it abhorrent.

God you are one pompous twat Stallion.

You would think Mickey Harte was organising the systematic extermination of the Kerry people going by some of the comments on here. It's quite obvious a lot of you have never managed a team. And never will.
Post by: Taylor on May 11, 2017, 10:16:24 AM

Poor Mickey gets it again.

You would think Tyrone were the dirtiest team of all team and we were the only purveyors of the dark arts.

High profile teams always get a worse press
Post by: rosnarun on May 11, 2017, 10:36:08 AM

not over inflated, this is a forum to express our opinions on the state of the game and performances. A lot of people here would share your view but then have a breaking point such as the Cavanagh incident and every goes moral all of a sudden .
when something  is wrong it should be called wrong. but equally not all wrong carry the same weight and they are some nasty dangerous players out there who need to be Called out.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 11, 2017, 11:08:44 AM
rosnarun, you said when something is wrong we should call it out as wrong.
I started a thread on Lee Keegan and how he continually targets a team's best player and "takes him out of the game".

We've all saw it the last few years but not many neutrals commented on the thread and those that did tended to say it's fair enough and just part of the game.
Sean Cavanagh got slated for that ONE tackle on McManus that most players, managers and even pundits all said they would do the same thing yet I don't see too many slating Keegan, Johnny Cooper, Philly McMahon etc.

There seems to be a tendency to turn a blind eye sometimes by people if they want a certain team to win or if they dislike the other team or individual player. Like for example a lot of people don't like Kieran Donaghy and so ignored the eye gouging incident whereas other times the CCCC would get involved and hand out a huge ban.

As for Stallion's comment about Mickey Harte and Tyrone I chose to ignore it (him AGAIN) as this Tyrone team are very few dirty, tough or rough players any more maybe with the exception of Justy McMahon the very odd time.
As I said years ago, it's the team that are doing well and getting to AI finals and semi finals that you tend to see being involved with unsavoury incidents as there is a lot more at stake.
Post by: The Stallion on May 11, 2017, 06:20:31 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on May 11, 2017, 10:03:13 AM

God you are one pompous twat Stallion.

You would think Mickey Harte was organising the systematic extermination of the Kerry people going by some of the comments on here. It's quite obvious a lot of you have never managed a team. And never will.

Not sure why you resorted to rudeness rather than attempting to debate my comments but I want you to know I bear no ill will towards you despite the lack of manners you displayed.
Post by: The Stallion on May 11, 2017, 06:23:52 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 11, 2017, 10:16:24 AM

You would think Tyrone were the dirtiest team of all team and we were the only purveyors of the dark arts.

Tyrone are certainly not the only purveyors of the dark arts. I was merely using Harte as an example since he is a high profile manager who seems to condone inexcusable behaviour from his players.
Post by: Taylor on May 12, 2017, 09:53:41 AM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 11, 2017, 06:23:52 PM

Tyrone are certainly not the only purveyors of the dark arts. I was merely using Harte as an example since he is a high profile manager who seems to condone inexcusable behaviour from his players.

How do you know he does that?

A good manager will always protect his players outwardly - behind closed doors you have no idea what he says
Post by: rosnarun on May 12, 2017, 10:50:15 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 11, 2017, 10:36:08 AM

not over inflated, this is a forum to express our opinions on the state of the game and performances. A lot of people here would share your view but then have a breaking point such as the Cavanagh incident and every goes moral all of a sudden .
when something  is wrong it should be called wrong. but equally not all wrong carry the same weight and they are some nasty dangerous players out there who need to be Called out.
]
you do have a point all cynical fouls are the same really BUT  Cavanagh's tackle was just so blatant with absolutely no other possible outcome other than a foul and free kick ,whereas with a body check the ref may see it as part of the rough and tumble of the game even a punch often ends up in a 'HOP Ball'
Connolly in the league final thought he could get away with an off the ball haul down but  Cavanagh' showed a complete disrespect for the laws and spirit of the game and I think that's why it sticks in the craw more than some other incidents .
and of course the bollix brolly histrionics made it seem like he had shot someone
Post by: The Stallion on May 12, 2017, 11:07:23 AM
Quote from: Taylor on May 12, 2017, 09:53:41 AM
Quote from: The Stallion on May 11, 2017, 06:23:52 PM

How do you know he does that?

A good manager will always protect his players outwardly - behind closed doors you have no idea what he says

My exact words were "seems to".  Although based on the fact he repeatedly selected, defended and praised serial offenders such as McMenamin it's hard to see how someone could argue he doesn't condone such behaviour. If he didn't he would have stopped picking such players.
Post by: Taylor on May 12, 2017, 02:21:19 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 12, 2017, 10:50:15 AM

]
you do have a point all cynical fouls are the same really BUT  Cavanagh's tackle was just so blatant with absolutely no other possible outcome other than a foul and free kick ,whereas with a body check the ref may see it as part of the rough and tumble of the game even a punch often ends up in a 'HOP Ball'
Connolly in the league final thought he could get away with an off the ball haul down but  Cavanagh' showed a complete disrespect for the laws and spirit of the game and I think that's why it sticks in the craw more than some other incidents .
and of course the bollix brolly histrionics made it seem like he had shot someone

Watch the last 5mins of any tight championship game and you will see any number of tackles like Sean's or sometimes worse.

Easy to shoot down a big name
Post by: Hardy on May 12, 2017, 03:12:12 PM
Quote from: Taylor on May 12, 2017, 02:21:19 PM

]

Watch the last 5mins of any tight championship game and you will see any number of tackles like Sean's or sometimes worse.

I don't believe you. But I could be wrong, so throw up a few samples there.
Post by: tonto1888 on May 13, 2017, 09:59:29 AM
Quote from: Taylor on May 12, 2017, 02:21:19 PM

]

The difference being they didn't only happen in the last 5 mins of Tyrone games