Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lawnseed on March 24, 2017, 10:45:03 PM

Title: Mrs browne
Post by: lawnseed on March 24, 2017, 10:45:03 PM
Is mrs brown funny? I can't stand the hoor
Title: Re: Mrs browne
Post by: illdecide on March 24, 2017, 10:46:22 PM
can't stand the show myself
Post by: stew on March 25, 2017, 02:50:53 AM
Hysterical at times, funny most of the time.
Post by: ziggy90 on March 25, 2017, 07:56:19 AM
It's 'laugh out loud' funny.
Post by: maddog on March 25, 2017, 09:05:32 AM
It's right up there with citizen khan
Post by: Armamike on March 25, 2017, 10:13:10 AM
Don't like it.  Tries too hard to be funny, if that makes sense.
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 25, 2017, 10:31:30 AM
Crudeness is not the same as comedy.  Mrs Browne puts the toilet in toilet-humour.   The 'pretending to forget lines' gag is almost  painful to watch.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 25, 2017, 10:39:40 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on March 25, 2017, 10:31:30 AM
Crudeness is not the same as comedy.  Mrs Browne puts the toilet in toilet-humour.   The 'pretending to forget lines' gag is almost  painful to watch.

Ah come on...you're not trying to suggest that the whole 'forgetting ' lines is scripted or something?  Heaven forbid!!! Whatever about anyone's opinion of it, and I think it's mildly amusing for a short burst, he has created a great Oirish Widow Twankey and people love it. Then again they loved Dame Edna too...but 'she' actually was very clever in her acts. He's just crude and that's a shame because it could actually be very funny
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 25, 2017, 11:27:00 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 25, 2017, 10:39:40 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on March 25, 2017, 10:31:30 AM

Ah come on...you're not trying to suggest that the whole 'forgetting ' lines is scripted or something?  Heaven forbid!!! Whatever about anyone's opinion of it, and I think it's mildly amusing for a short burst, he has created a great Oirish Widow Twankey and people love it. Then again they loved Dame Edna too...but 'she' actually was very clever in her acts. He's just crude and that's a shame because it could actually be very funny

It's a poor ripoff of Caroline Aherne's Mrs Merton and Royle Family characters but without the wit and comedy.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2017, 12:12:02 PM
It's a load a shit.
Post by: T Fearon on March 25, 2017, 01:16:48 PM
Like other crap "comedies" like Father Ted,Mrs Brown owes its popularity in Britain to its portrayal and compliance with the Irish stereotype view there that we are all stupid,idiotic,foul mouthed,drunken etc
Post by: Rossfan on March 25, 2017, 01:27:37 PM
It's absolute sh1te >:(
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 25, 2017, 01:48:54 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 24, 2017, 10:46:22 PM
Cant stand it either.
Post by: seafoid on March 25, 2017, 03:28:56 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2013/jan/29/mrs-browns-boys-worst-comedy-ever-made-smash

You can tell O'Carroll till you're hoarse that Mrs Brown's Boys is backwards-looking, full of whiskery gags and a bit coarse in its stereotyping. He professes to care not a jot. "Who gives a f**k?" he says. "It is what it is. There are people who will love it, and people who won't."
The people who love it are, says O'Carroll, "the audience that comedy forgot". Alternative comedy – the punk-comedy revolution of the 1980s – steered mainstream humour away from the working men's club and towards the student union. Mrs Brown's Boys is taking it back again
Post by: Sandy Hill on March 25, 2017, 04:50:23 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on March 25, 2017, 01:48:54 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 24, 2017, 10:46:22 PM
Cant stand it either.

+1; pathetic garbage.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on March 25, 2017, 05:18:31 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 25, 2017, 01:16:48 PM
Like other crap "comedies" like Father Ted,Mrs Brown owes its popularity in Britain to its portrayal and compliance with the Irish stereotype view there that we are all stupid,idiotic,foul mouthed,drunken etc

Yeah....except Father Ted was brilliant...
Post by: T Fearon on March 25, 2017, 05:21:35 PM
Matter of opinion.
Post by: gallsman on March 25, 2017, 05:53:40 PM
Dreadful shite altogether.

Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on March 25, 2017, 05:18:31 PMYeah....except Father Ted was brilliant...

Decent but massively overrated in this part of the world.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2017, 06:05:06 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 25, 2017, 05:53:40 PM
Dreadful shite altogether.

Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on March 25, 2017, 05:18:31 PMYeah....except Father Ted was brilliant...

Decent but massively overrated in this part of the world.
Ah now.
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2017, 06:44:09 PM
If Fr Ted was about Protestants, Tony would love it and probably have his photo taken with every actor in it.

As for Mrs Browne, it's one hell of a success. Don't watch it unless it's on and she doesn't turn over. It's appealing to some people, somewhere. Probably in the midlands. Themuns in Longford, Offaly etc laugh at anything to escape from their daily routines.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 25, 2017, 07:10:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 25, 2017, 06:44:09 PM
If Fr Ted was about Protestants, Tony would love it and probably have his photo taken with every actor in it.

As for Mrs Browne, it's one hell of a success. Don't watch it unless it's on and she doesn't turn over. It's appealing to some people, somewhere. Probably in the midlands. Themuns in Longford, Offaly etc laugh at anything to escape from their daily routines.

What explains the GB success of it?  It was a major element of Red Nose Day on BBC (none of which was funny) and it is produced by BBC Scotland at BBC Pacific Quay studios.

Then again the British sitcom in the last 20 years has generally been very poor compared with the classics of the 70s, 80s and even some of the 90s.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 25, 2017, 09:21:11 PM
Comparing Mrs Browne to Fr Ted! Christ the night!
Post by: Itchy on March 25, 2017, 09:33:08 PM
Father ted is like a documentary on the church that is funny. Mrs Browne is for people who like Brendan grace and Niall Tobin.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 25, 2017, 10:40:25 PM
Tony Fearon in 'The anti Catholic Church comedy isn't funny!' Shocker😂
Post by: T Fearon on March 25, 2017, 11:23:19 PM
"Kick Bishop Brennan up the arse". God,strap my rib cages together,I'm splitting my sides laughing,that is so funny...not.Hang on,write a Eurovision song about a horse,I'm in convulsions laughing...not.

Actually I thought Dave Allen's parody of Catholicism was far more witty and intellectual,thought provoking even.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 25, 2017, 11:54:56 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 25, 2017, 11:23:19 PM

Actually I thought Dave Allen's parody of Catholicism was far more witty and intellectual,thought provoking even.

I actually agree
Post by: Asal Mor on March 26, 2017, 07:29:23 AM
Quote from: Itchy on March 25, 2017, 09:33:08 PM
Father ted is like a documentary on the church that is funny. Mrs Browne is for people who like Brendan grace and Niall Tobin.
Niall Tobin at his best . . .
https://youtu.be/6QKo3z0r424
Still very funny if a bit dated, but not reliant on bad language and toilet humour. It reflects badly on the human race that Mrs Browne is so popular

Fr Ted was over-rated and gets worse with every rerun.
Post by: johnneycool on March 27, 2017, 12:24:56 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 25, 2017, 11:54:56 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 25, 2017, 11:23:19 PM

I actually agree

Yip,
   Dave allen was fantastic viewing and Fr Ted is good, but not in the same league.
Post by: screenexile on March 27, 2017, 12:35:57 PM
I think Mrs Brown is absolute muck... just like Give my Head Peace is muck but people like it so more power to them it's not my cup of tea.

Different people like different things I love most of Ricky Gervais' work and think The Office is probably the most genius sitcom ever written but he massively divides opinion depending on who you speak to.

Each to their own I say but the Mrs or the parents wouldn't need to be putting on Mrs Brown when I'm in the house!!
Post by: NAG1 on March 27, 2017, 12:46:56 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 27, 2017, 12:35:57 PM
I think Mrs Brown is absolute muck... just like Give my Head Peace is muck but people like it so more power to them it's not my cup of tea.

Different people like different things I love most of Ricky Gervais' work and think The Office is probably the most genius sitcom ever written but he massively divides opinion depending on who you speak to.

Each to their own I say but the Mrs or the parents wouldn't need to be putting on Mrs Brown when I'm in the house!!

Mrs Brown pure muck.
Ricky Gervais I have never found in the slightest bit funny not even by accident.
Post by: gallsman on March 27, 2017, 12:57:54 PM
Mrs. Brown is like some of the worst shite Pat Shorty has produced - Kilnascully, jumbo breakfast roll etc.
Post by: laoislad on March 27, 2017, 01:05:05 PM
For something that everyone is calling muck the show has been a massive success so there must be someone who doesn't think it's muck.
It's not my cup of tea either but fair play to Brendan O'Carroll and his crew.
I've seen it the odd time and have laughed at bits and pieces of it but it wouldn't be something I'd have on series link or anything.
Post by: gallsman on March 27, 2017, 01:09:41 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 27, 2017, 01:05:05 PM
For something that everyone is calling muck the show had been a massive success so there must be someone who doesn't think it's muck.
I've seen it the odd time and have laughed at bits and pieces of it but it wouldn't be something I'd have on series link or anything.

Agreed, fair play to him.

I haven't heard anyone begruding him the success but I don't think that's incompatible with it being complete shite. X-Factor is also massively successful and is also garbage.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 27, 2017, 01:30:27 PM
This one for the oldies.  Mrs Brown is a ripoff of Jimmy Young back in the 1970s on BBC N.Ireland but brought up to date with a bit more course rather than suggestive language.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylzR8thQ-7E (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylzR8thQ-7E)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWpD6v1hB0U (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWpD6v1hB0U)
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2017, 01:43:33 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 27, 2017, 01:09:41 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 27, 2017, 01:05:05 PM
For something that everyone is calling muck the show had been a massive success so there must be someone who doesn't think it's muck.

Agreed, fair play to him.

I haven't heard anyone begruding him the success but I don't think that's incompatible with it being complete shite. X-Factor is also massively successful and is also garbage.
Agree with both of you. It obviously has a market and he's doing well off the back of it so more power to him. There has been and is lots of dung (IMO) over the years which has been massively popular. Opinions are like arseholes.
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 27, 2017, 03:46:45 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on March 27, 2017, 12:46:56 PM

Mrs Brown pure muck.
Ricky Gervais I have never found in the slightest bit funny not even by accident.

+2 here. Cant watch 2 mins of either!
Post by: J70 on March 27, 2017, 04:35:02 PM
Haven't seen anything from Brendan O'Carroll in years, but he turned me off when he ripped off a couple of things from Billy Connolly back in the early 90s and presented them as his own. I know lots of comedians "borrow" from each other (Denis Leary was always accused of stealing from Bill Hicks), but this was almost word for word and so blatant that I could never warm to him.
Post by: Avondhu star on March 27, 2017, 07:31:57 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 27, 2017, 04:35:02 PM
Haven't seen anything from Brendan O'Carroll in years, but he turned me off when he ripped off a couple of things from Billy Connolly back in the early 90s and presented them as his own. I know lots of comedians "borrow" from each other (Denis Leary was always accused of stealing from Bill Hicks), but this was almost word for word and so blatant that I could never warm to him.
I agree. Its full of rehashed "jokes" from the 80s.
Post by: podge on March 27, 2017, 08:35:38 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 27, 2017, 03:46:45 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on March 27, 2017, 12:46:56 PM

Mrs Brown pure muck.

+2 here. Cant watch 2 mins of either!

+3.  I thought I was the only one that didn't quite get Ricky Gervais as most people seem to idolise him and the office.  I   don't either.   There is something kinda arrogant the way he comes across.  Maybe he's just English
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 27, 2017, 10:27:47 PM
Quote from: podge on March 27, 2017, 08:35:38 PM
I thought I was the only one that didn't quite get Ricky Gervais as most people seem to idolise him and the office.  I   don't either.   There is something kinda arrogant the way he comes across.  Maybe he's just English

I don't either and thought it was an age thing.

Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 29, 2022, 01:22:30 AM
Used to be a fan of this, and give my head peace,but after this week, f**k oh
Never saw worse
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 29, 2022, 01:34:59 AM
Was decent the series but the last 5/6 Christmas espiodes were poor enough, didn't even watch this yrs.when u compare to Fawlty Towers, Father Ted, BlackAdder, Only Fools and Horses. It would barely register.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 29, 2022, 01:38:49 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on December 29, 2022, 01:34:59 AM
Was decent the series but the last 5/6 Christmas espiodes were poor enough, didn't even watch this yrs.

Agree the series was decent,  but if ever anything was played out this is it
But, just like society these days in general, if there's loads of cash to be made.....
Post by: general_lee on December 29, 2022, 10:10:52 AM
How did any of you ever think this was good?
Post by: Nanderson on December 29, 2022, 10:24:28 AM
I always found this show very funny up until this year. Maybe because it reminds me of my late granny. They were lucky that covid gave them some new material to perform last year but this years Christmas episode was pure dire.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 29, 2022, 10:26:47 AM
Haven't actually watched it in a good few years, would well imagine it's totally played out by now but don't care what anyone says's I laughed out loud at plenty of the episodes throughout the years, some of the scenes with buster were hilarious.
Post by: AustinPowers on December 29, 2022, 01:45:48 PM
Quote from: general_lee on December 29, 2022, 10:10:52 AM
How did any of you ever think this was good?

It was always brutal . I've seen funnier at the scór novelty acts  over the years. And a lot of them are awful

The reason I think  it's become popular in Britain is due to  the ability the Irish have of being  quite good at swearing .  So just throw in the odd swear  word, and the Brits will have a quiet giggle to themselves   , and say "oh he said shite/bollox etc".  The content doesn't matter , just the odd F word will do
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 29, 2022, 01:56:56 PM
There's lots of crap on tv that amazes me with viewing figures, the soaps for starters! Holy crap they are awful, the masked singer, like wtf?

Plenty worse on tv, as for Mrs Brown it's not a patch on Father Ted Derry girls was ok though wife loved it!
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2022, 03:49:10 PM
Always wanted to meet someone who likes Browne's Boys. On bucket list for 2023.
Post by: Eire90 on December 29, 2022, 05:09:11 PM
is the christmas night special showing over the whole uk or just northern ireland.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 29, 2022, 10:38:03 PM
Gonna bite the bullet and watch it here.
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2023, 08:05:25 AM
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/entertainment/film-tv/mrs-browns-new-year-special-branded-unwatchable-by-unhappy-viewers-42258134.html
Post by: galwayman on January 03, 2023, 10:47:58 AM
That program has to be one of the biggest piles of sh*te that has ever been produced for tv.
Really cant understand it's seeming popularity.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on January 03, 2023, 02:12:42 PM
Brendan o'carroll is very unlikable too. With his whole fake mr charity persona.

By all accounts from a few who worked close to the family on their tours the daughter and other members of the family are an absolute nightmare to work for
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on January 03, 2023, 04:41:26 PM
Quote from: galwayman on January 03, 2023, 10:47:58 AM
That program has to be one of the biggest piles of sh*te that has ever been produced for tv.
Really cant understand it's seeming popularity.

A boot in the stones would be funnier than having to watch this muck.
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2023, 08:28:48 PM
It has been on the go for a long time. The next generation will probably want something different