GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on August 21, 2016, 11:50:53 PM

Title: Mayo
Post by: ONeill on August 21, 2016, 11:50:53 PM
Just do whatever it takes. If it means 15 men behind the ball and every dirty tactic in the book, do it. It wouldn't matter if it finishes 0-1 to 0-0; even people in Africa want Mayo to win it.

Boys like Ricey and Gormley are free to talk.
Title: Re: Mayo
Post by: Jinxy on August 22, 2016, 12:14:42 AM
Win with honour and lose with honour.
Do it the Meath way, not the Tyrone way.
Post by: ONeill on August 22, 2016, 12:20:07 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 22, 2016, 12:14:42 AM

Meath were the Moses of The Dark Arts.
Post by: orangeman on August 22, 2016, 12:37:30 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 22, 2016, 12:14:42 AM

Dublin or Kerry won't begrudge them this one.

Surely not ?.
Post by: Jinxy on August 22, 2016, 12:51:52 AM
Kerry might.
Post by: Syferus on August 22, 2016, 01:22:42 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 21, 2016, 11:50:53 PM
Just do whatever it takes. If it means 15 men behind the ball and every dirty tactic in the book, do it. It wouldn't matter if it finishes 0-1 to 0-0; even people in Africa want Mayo to win it.

The people in Ballagh sure don't want them to.
Post by: thewobbler on August 22, 2016, 07:26:53 AM
Mayo can win if they play to their strengths, which would mean:

-  thanking Vaughan for his service but using him as a mascot.

- not letting Freeman anywhere near the action.

- playing Parsons and Dillon.

- forcing Dublin to go long at midfield, even if this temporarily leaves defenders one on one.

- resisting any temptation to put AOS at full-forward, unless in desperate need of a late goal.

- and thereby forcing themselves to play a running game with Andy and Cillian there to finish things off.

----

I'm assuming Philly McMahon will follow AOS round the field, which means Cooper will be marking either Andy or Cillian. Whichever Mayo man gets away from that Dublin pair will likely be the key.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 22, 2016, 07:52:49 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 22, 2016, 01:22:42 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 21, 2016, 11:50:53 PM

The people in Ballagh sure don't want them to.
Why?
Post by: BennyHarp on August 22, 2016, 08:07:52 AM
Hopefully the lads will have plenty of respect for any funerals they meet on the way to Castlebar with Sam his time.
Post by: larryin89 on August 22, 2016, 04:43:17 PM
All the the little digs by the usual suspects dont matter a damn, we are in an all Ireland final because we earned it. Nobody in here nor gavin nor fitzmaurice have a notion how mayo will play or set up for final. When this is all over Rochford could possibly  be seen as one of the greatest gaelic football managers of all time. Its a no brainer either mayo have been holding back or not and the beauty of it is if we have been theres no time for homework for the opposition till half time on 18 th sept.
Post by: Jinxy on August 22, 2016, 04:44:10 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 22, 2016, 04:43:17 PM
All the the little digs by the usual suspects dont matter a damn, we are in an all Ireland final because we earned it. Nobody in here nor gavin nor fitzmaurice have a notion how mayo will play or set up for final. When this is all over Rochford could possibly  be seen as one of the greatest gaelic football managers of all time. Its a no brainer either mayo have been holding back or not and the beauty of it is if we have been theres no time for homework for the opposition till half time on 18 th sept.

Good to see ye aren't losing the run of yourselves anyway.
Post by: screenexile on August 22, 2016, 05:08:15 PM

Jaysus lads don't start this shite again!!!
Post by: Rossfan on August 22, 2016, 05:11:40 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 22, 2016, 04:44:10 PM

Good to see ye aren't losing the run of yourselves anyway.

:D ;D :D ;D
Post by: larryin89 on August 22, 2016, 06:01:48 PM
Jesus its horrid annoying being taken out of context.

Q. Do you think Mayo on current form this year could beat the winners of kerry v Dublin.

A. No chance.

Q. So do you think mayo have been holding back in games this year, do you think rochford has done this intentionally for a massive game in final where they will be a totally different animal to what theyve shown to date.

A. Well if he has got them all to buy into such a high risk strategy and they go out and win the all Ireland  in style , he and this team are truly brilliant. If on the other hand they play like they have all year and are well beaten in final , hes not a great manager at all.
Post by: five points on August 22, 2016, 06:24:55 PM
All reminds me of how Donegal went into the 1992 final with barely the shirts on their backs after a wretched semi-final and ended up winning it convincingly.
Post by: BennyHarp on August 22, 2016, 06:25:44 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 22, 2016, 06:01:48 PM
Jesus its horrid annoying being taken out of context.

Q. Do you think Mayo on current form this year could beat the winners of kerry v Dublin.

A. No chance.

Q. So do you think mayo have been holding back in games this year, do you think rochford has done this intentionally for a massive game in final where they will be a totally different animal to what theyve shown to date.

A. Well if he has got them all to buy into such a high risk strategy and they go out and win the all Ireland  in style , he and this team are truly brilliant. If on the other hand they play like they have all year and are well beaten in final , hes not a great manager at all.

FFS, will you lads ever learn.  ;) Chill fella, there's a long way to go until AI final day. Don't burn yourself out!
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 22, 2016, 06:38:31 PM
Quote from: five points on August 22, 2016, 06:24:55 PM
All reminds me of how Donegal went into the 1992 final with barely the shirts on their backs after a wretched semi-final and ended up winning it convincingly.
Don't see the comparison. Donegal was more impressive in Ulster that year than Mayo have been in any game this year. The best team Donegal beat in 1992 was Derry in the Ulster final. In the All Ireland semi final Donegal should have beaten Mayo by double the margin while Mayo were lucky to win by five points yesterday. Dublin 1992 were far weaker than Dublin or Kerry now.
Post by: highorlow on August 22, 2016, 09:44:30 PM
Larry's take is every supporters hope alright.

The next day everything must go right for us. We tried long range pot shots early yesterday which is a tactic we have tried now in all our games. Donie, Diarmuid and leroy all had a go. This is supposed to get the opposition half forwards to move out but only works if you score the odd one.

Our only hope against Dublin will be 14 behind the ball and try and turn over ball on the 45 and play our running game.

I've faith in the management particularly with Corofins result against Vincent's in 2015. The extra week is a gift and also a clean bill of health going into the final.

It's there for the taking if we have the energy to do it, that's the biggest question mark.

I also hope we gamble and start young O'Shea as a wing forward for the final, I've a sneaky feeling they will.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 22, 2016, 09:54:37 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 22, 2016, 04:43:17 PMNobody in here nor gavin nor fitzmaurice have a notion how mayo will play or set up for final. When this is all over Rochford could possibly  be seen as one of the greatest gaelic football managers of all time. Its a no brainer either mayo have been holding back or not and the beauty of it is if we have been theres no time for homework for the opposition till half time on 18 th sept.

Explain to me how the Mayo played the "holding back" strategy against Tyrone given they let them have 33 shots for scores but Tyrone only coverted 12 and getting the win by a single point. Also explain how the holding back strategy worked in the Galway game? Were they too successful at holding back there?
Post by: larryin89 on August 22, 2016, 11:06:25 PM
Well holy gawd! Im just saying maybe not saying its a given . Its not black and white either, galway game i think complacency set in , as for the tyrone game , we could of easily lost or at least only got a draw. Were we playing at full tilt , if we were we are snookered and that is all im saying .
Post by: moysider on August 23, 2016, 12:05:54 AM

We certainly played at full-tilt against Tyrone. No doubt about that.

Post by: larryin89 on August 23, 2016, 07:34:48 AM
Quote from: moysider on August 23, 2016, 12:05:54 AM

We certainly played at full-tilt against Tyrone. No doubt about that.

Well then wr are in trouble, if we finish the final even at four points up (best scenario)going into the last ten mins like we did v tyrone we would end up runners up for sure.
Post by: five points on August 23, 2016, 11:23:44 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 22, 2016, 06:38:31 PM
Don't see the comparison. Donegal was more impressive in Ulster that year than Mayo have been in any game this year. The best team Donegal beat in 1992 was Derry in the Ulster final. In the All Ireland semi final Donegal should have beaten Mayo by double the margin while Mayo were lucky to win by five points yesterday. Dublin 1992 were far weaker than Dublin or Kerry now.

Donegal weren't that impressive in Ulster in 1992. They were very lucky to squeeze a draw against a wildly inconsistent Cavan team whom they hammered in a replay in a monsoon. They beat Fermanagh and squeezed past Derry in the Ulster Final.

Their semi-final display against a very poor and ill-prepared Mayo team was wretched and they could have lost it had Manus Boyle not been introduced near the end.

Dublin 1992 were indeed far weaker than Dublin or Kerry now - but we didn't know that til they were exposed in the final as they had a very easy run to it, as both Dublin and Kerry have had so far this year.
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 23, 2016, 11:40:04 AM
Quote from: five points on August 23, 2016, 11:23:44 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 22, 2016, 06:38:31 PM

Donegal weren't that impressive in Ulster in 1992. They were very lucky to squeeze a draw against a wildly inconsistent Cavan team whom they hammered in a replay in a monsoon. They beat Fermanagh and squeezed past Derry in the Ulster Final.

Their semi-final display against a very poor and ill-prepared Mayo team was wretched and they could have lost it had Manus Boyle not been introduced near the end.

Dublin 1992 were indeed far weaker than Dublin or Kerry now - but we didn't know that til they were exposed in the final as they had a very easy run to it, as both Dublin and Kerry have had so far this year.
Who had won the NFL earlier in the year and knocked out the reigning All-Ireland champions in the Ulster semi-final, and went on themselves to win Sam the following year. And Donegal beat them despite playing with 14 men for the whole second half. Not a win to be dismissed too lightly.
Post by: iorras on August 23, 2016, 12:33:42 PM
Its a funny one, Mayo seem to play at whatever level the opposition play at. As we're going the road of historical comparisons, this year reminds me of Tyrone 2008.
back door, beat that years curiosity shop wonders Wexford in the semi by 6 points (I think) without scoring a goal. They sailed ahead in the first half, Wexford got it back to 2 or 3 in the second half with a goal and Tyrone upped it again to close it out. All the plaudits were for Wexford afterwards although they never did a whole lot after that really.
Then in the final, without Peter Canavan who retired in 2005, they stifled 3 in a row seeking Kerry, it was an exciting game from a tension and tactics point of view, but was probably poor enough on quality. Tyrone didn't care, nor should they have.
Tyrone got some respect from the pundits and the bookies in the build up, as they had 2 Sams already, mayo wont get that, but that's understandable. But Kerry were fairly warm favourites.
having said that, Tyrone had a bit of a hex over Kerry in those times so I think that helped as well, which mayo don't have. Tyrone had no fear about Kerry and it wound the Kerry boys up no end that they couldn't get to grips with that Tyrone team. This Mayo team don't fear Kerry or Dublin, but Kerry would be walking an inch taller facing Mayo in a final rather than Tyrone. As many of the Kingdom dwellers said before the 2006 final, "Mayo, sure we can post that one in". They weren't wrong then, they would be now but they'll be busting to beat the Dubs on Sunday for many reasons, but one of the main ones will be they will believe that they have essentially won Sam if they beat Dublin.
Here ends the random stream of consciousness
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 23, 2016, 12:49:48 PM
Quote from: iorras on August 23, 2016, 12:33:42 PM
Its a funny one, Mayo seem to play at whatever level the opposition play at. As we're going the road of historical comparisons, this year reminds me of Tyrone 2008.
back door, beat that years curiosity shop wonders Wexford in the semi by 6 points (I think) without scoring a goal. They sailed ahead in the first half, Wexford got it back to 2 or 3 in the second half with a goal and Tyrone upped it again to close it out. All the plaudits were for Wexford afterwards although they never did a whole lot after that really.
Then in the final, without Peter Canavan who got injured against Wexford, they stifled 3 in a row seeking Kerry, it was an exciting game from a tension and tactics point of view, but was probably poor enough on quality. Tyrone didn't care, nor should they have.
Tyrone got some respect from the pundits and the bookies in the build up, as they had 2 Sams already, mayo wont get that, but that's understandable. But Kerry were fairly warm favourites.
having said that, Tyrone had a bit of a hex over Kerry in those times so I think that helped as well, which mayo don't have. Tyrone had no fear about Kerry and it wound the Kerry boys up no end that they couldn't get to grips with that Tyrone team. This Mayo team don't fear Kerry or Dublin, but Kerry would be walking an inch taller facing Mayo in a final rather than Tyrone. As many of the Kingdom dwellers said before the 2006 final, "Mayo, sure we can post that one in". They weren't wrong then, they would be now but they'll be busting to beat the Dubs on Sunday for many reasons, but one of the main ones will be they will believe that they have essentially won Sam if they beat Dublin.
Random indeed. Peter retired in 2005 after all.
Post by: five points on August 23, 2016, 12:52:19 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on August 23, 2016, 11:40:04 AM
Who had won the NFL earlier in the year and knocked out the reigning All-Ireland champions in the Ulster semi-final, and went on themselves to win Sam the following year. And Donegal beat them despite playing with 14 men for the whole second half. Not a win to be dismissed too lightly.

Well we didn't know that at the time either. :-D

In 1992, that Derry team were promising alright but hadn't yet won a provincial title or contested a final.
Post by: iorras on August 23, 2016, 12:53:29 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on August 23, 2016, 12:49:48 PM
Then in the final, without Peter Canavan who retired in 2005, they stifled 3 in a row seeking Kerry, it was an exciting game from a tension and tactics point of view, but was probably poor enough on quality. Tyrone didn't care, nor should they have.
Random indeed. Peter retired in 2005 after all.
Exactly, that's what I said :)
Who can blame a man for mixing up Canavans retirement in 2005 and Sean Cavanagh's injury against Wexford even if it didn't stop him playing in the final? All I remember is the tears with him coming off, and that both of their surnames began with C. Blame the years of hard drinking from all Ireland final defeats!
Post by: moysider on August 23, 2016, 01:12:28 PM
I think most people - including most Mayo, myself included iih - think next Sunday semi is the final.
Post by: seafoid on August 23, 2016, 01:41:50 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 23, 2016, 01:12:28 PM
I think most people - including most Mayo, myself included iih - think next Sunday semi is the final.
A lot of Kerry and Dublin all Irelands are won psychologically before the ball is thrown in.
I think 4 out of the last 6 Kerry all Irelands were won beating teams who had given up mentally, the old reliables being Mayo and Cork.
Post by: BennyHarp on August 23, 2016, 01:58:26 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 23, 2016, 01:12:28 PM

I don't think so, Mayo should hold no fear of Dublin, who in my view were better last year when Mayo really should have put them to the sword. A more battle hardened Mayo team will be hard to beat. Kerry have no chance of beating Dublin next week so I wouldn't even worry about that.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on August 23, 2016, 02:15:30 PM
What do we make of the potential club action that was agreed to be played this weekend. Now it seems there is a bit of rethinking going on...
Ger Cafferky on Twitter saying it's not fair as it would mean the guys have their focus and prep effected.

Just bothers me how easy it is to use this focus excuse:
Don't talk to media - FOCUS!
Don't go out in public - FOCUS!

If they are that easily put off what hope have they winning an All Ireland?! Slightly off topic but it bothers me when I hear all this shite.
Now Mayo have a sideshow either way as there seems to be a lot of natter with Mayo folk online about it.

Post by: iorras on August 23, 2016, 02:20:34 PM
this nonsense about the club games this week would want to get sorted out fairly quick though before the national media pick up on it and it becomes a side show.
Ger Caff on twitter adding his spake to say call them off
Post by: moysider on August 23, 2016, 02:22:05 PM
The county board should have come out and made a statement postponing the games as soon as possible after semi was won. Then there would be no sideshow or natter. The AI final is the only show in town now.
Post by: iorras on August 23, 2016, 02:24:19 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on August 23, 2016, 02:15:30 PM
What do we make of the potential club action that was agreed to be played this weekend. Now it seems there is a bit of rethinking going on...
Ger Cafferky on Twitter saying it's not fair as it would mean the guys have their focus and prep effected.

If they are that easily put off what hope have they winning an All Ireland?! Slightly off topic but it bothers me when I hear all this shite.
Now Mayo have a sideshow either way as there seems to be a lot of natter with Mayo folk online about it.
Your either misunderstanding or misinterpreting what hes saying, with focus he is referring to training cycles. This should be a recovery week for Mayo, if they are going out playing club ball this weekend and focusing on that,  then that is a change in focus and some recovery has to take place next week when it should be the start of a three week hard training cycle heading to an all Ireland. It cant be that if they are recovering from a match. Monday is then a recovery session.
Post by: iorras on August 23, 2016, 02:26:01 PM
Some who are closer to it than myself would say the county board would nearly prefer to lose another all Ireland then have their authority undermined once again. Maybe that is not being fair to them, but I think we've all been involved with or seen committees in action over the years where that wouldn't be a completely outlandish statement.
Post by: Jinxy on August 23, 2016, 02:27:11 PM
Surprised the O'Sheas haven't put their foot down with the county board.
Post by: moysider on August 23, 2016, 02:29:52 PM
Quote from: iorras on August 23, 2016, 02:24:19 PM

Your either misunderstanding or misinterpreting what hes saying, with focus he is referring to training cycles. This should be a recovery week for Mayo, if they are going out playing club ball this weekend and focusing on that,  then that is a change in focus and some recovery has to take place next week when it should be the start of a three week hard training cycle heading to an all Ireland. It cant be that if they are recovering from a match. Monday is then a recovery session.

Exactly. Mayo have at least a weeks advantage in prep. going into this. Dublin and Kerry will kill each other next week and will have a tougher recovery than Mayo did because Mayo didn t exactly empty the tank v Tipperary.
Then there is the risk of injury. Likes of the O Connors could do without this distraction and risk because they look like they are not right physically as it is anyway.
Post by: Hound on August 23, 2016, 02:37:18 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 23, 2016, 01:58:26 PM
I don't think so, Mayo should hold no fear of Dublin, who in my view were better last year when Mayo really should have put them to the sword. A more battle hardened Mayo team will be hard to beat. Kerry have no chance of beating Dublin next week so I wouldn't even worry about that.
It's possibly fair to say Mayo have put up poor performances (efforts) in a final or two against Kerry in the past. But not this team. When they've been beaten by Dublin/Kerry it's been fine margins, and mainly because on the day the opposition were slightly better.

Mayo have no fear of Dublin. There's no doubt about that. Although I'd guess they'd prefer Kerry. The loss in Limerick is the one that hurts most. They'd almost forget they were in an All Ireland final they'd be that up for besting Kerry.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2016, 02:44:08 PM
Quote from: iorras on August 23, 2016, 02:20:34 PM
this nonsense about the club games this week would want to get sorted out fairly quick though before the national media pick up on it and it becomes a side show.
Ger Caff on twitter adding his spake to say call them off

Isn't there 3 weeks after next weekend until the final? That seems like long enough of a break to be honest rather than lying idle for 4 weeks. I know in Kilkenny the players usually go back to their clubs straight after the semi-final. Never seems to bother them unduly.

Granted players can get injured during games but players get injured during training as well.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 23, 2016, 02:45:03 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 23, 2016, 02:29:52 PM
Quote from: iorras on August 23, 2016, 02:24:19 PM

Exactly. Mayo have at least a weeks advantage in prep. going into this. Dublin and Kerry will kill each other next week and will have a tougher recovery than Mayo did because Mayo didn t exactly empty the tank v Tipperary.
Then there is the risk of injury. Likes of the O Connors could do without this distraction and risk because they look like they are not right physically as it is anyway.

COC certainly doesn't look right, he's been very unlucky with injuries throughout his career.
Post by: Jinxy on August 23, 2016, 02:52:24 PM
Does this not smack a bit of looking for excuses already?
Sure what else are they going to be doing at the weekend.
Post by: rosnarun on August 23, 2016, 02:56:39 PM
play the game to feck . itll keep players sharp and take their mind off the final . they have had a long spell with the county through he qualifiers  so could do with the mental break
the management knew this was happening and hopefully have planned accordingly.
its a bit unfair slagging the county board . Mayo reaching 6 all Ireland semis and 3 finals shows  the team are getting what they require to be competitive , of course there will be rows but ive never heard any of the players or managers complain about a lack of facilities accommodation etc connected to senior team .
i expect people will reply its despite rather than because of the CB but at least they dont seem to be getting in the way
Post by: Hound on August 23, 2016, 03:01:31 PM
I think it would do the world of good to the lads who are 16 to 30 (and 3!) on the Mayo panel to get a game in. Some of the starting 15 too. But the issue would be lads who picked up knocks at the weekend or who arent 100% (like the O'Connors perhaps). You wouldn't want them playing. Whereas if Mayo were out, they could risk playing a club game with a bit of an injury.
Post by: moysider on August 23, 2016, 04:26:28 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 23, 2016, 03:01:31 PM
I think it would do the world of good to the lads who are 16 to 30 (and 3!) on the Mayo panel to get a game in. Some of the starting 15 too. But the issue would be lads who picked up knocks at the weekend or who arent 100% (like the O'Connors perhaps). You wouldn't want them playing. Whereas if Mayo were out, they could risk playing a club game with a bit of an injury.

The O Connors would have to play. Ballintubber in a must-win match.

I can see how this is going. Most outsiders want the games to go ahead. I wonder why?
I expect most mayo people think it's silly to play them. We re badly hindered as it is this year with injuries. 2 big players gone all year and at least 3 others struggling from match to match.
Post by: larryin89 on August 23, 2016, 06:48:38 PM
I really cant get my head around this, why would any Mayo man woman or child who has an ounce of love for county team want the club games to go ahead, who give a flying fook for those opinions from outsiders.
Post by: Zulu on August 23, 2016, 07:01:42 PM
So the consensus form Mayo posters is club games don't go ahead 3 weeks ahead of the final thus meaning club games will be postponed at least 5 weeks?? If that's the view then I'd suggest you don't care about club football or club footballers. This is a down week with the county and with games on this weekend it will be a down week for clubs too. Then they play a game on the weekend, which they'll do two or three times between now and the final through in-house games so I don't see that as being an issue. If any player is injured they shouldn't be training or playing anyway.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 23, 2016, 07:10:25 PM
Meeting tonight to decide.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2016, 07:53:01 PM
Quote from: Zulu on August 23, 2016, 07:01:42 PM
So the consensus form Mayo posters is club games don't go ahead 3 weeks ahead of the final thus meaning club games will be postponed at least 5 weeks?? If that's the view then I'd suggest you don't care about club football or club footballers. This is a down week with the county and with games on this weekend it will be a down week for clubs too. Then they play a game on the weekend, which they'll do two or three times between now and the final through in-house games so I don't see that as being an issue. If any player is injured they shouldn't be training or playing anyway.

I dunno. Seems daft to me. If the final was 2 weeks away I'd say fair enough definitely no club games but with 3 weeks still left even after next weekend that's more than enough time to recover and prepare. Sure someone could get injured but injuries are just as likely to happen in training. Although maybe that's just the club player in me talking.
Post by: ONeill on August 23, 2016, 08:25:37 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 22, 2016, 07:26:53 AM

- forcing Dublin to go long at midfield, even if this temporarily leaves defenders one on one.

- resisting any temptation to put AOS at full-forward, unless in desperate need of a late goal.

- and thereby forcing themselves to play a running game with Andy and Cillian there to finish things off.

----

I'm assuming Philly McMahon will follow AOS round the field, which means Cooper will be marking either Andy or Cillian. Whichever Mayo man gets away from that Dublin pair will likely be the key.

No! No! No!

Mayo should abandon any designs they have on positive tactics or attacking gameplans. It hasn't worked for them in '89, '86, '97, '04, '06, '12, '13.

Pure dirt will win this. Goad players into red cards. Learn the girlfriends' mobile numbers. Tear the balls off dangerous players. We support you no matter what and there will be no criticisms afterwards.
Post by: muppet on August 23, 2016, 08:43:09 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 23, 2016, 08:25:37 PM
Pure dirt will win this. Goad players into red cards. Learn the girlfriends' mobile numbers. Tear the balls off dangerous players. We support you no matter what and there will be no criticisms afterwards.

Houl' on! Houl' on!

(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/G7EYe42Lln4/hqdefault.jpg)
Post by: macdanger2 on August 23, 2016, 08:46:12 PM

I'd be in favour of them going ahead. Players are as likely to get injured training as they are playing.
Post by: Jinxy on August 23, 2016, 09:33:21 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 23, 2016, 08:25:37 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 22, 2016, 07:26:53 AM

----

No! No! No!

Mayo should abandon any designs they have on positive tactics or attacking gameplans. It hasn't worked for them in '89, '86, '97, '04, '06, '12, '13.

(https://emeraldcityquranclub.files.wordpress.com/2010/09/6a00d83451deb669e2013487bd498e970c.jpg)

Post by: larryin89 on August 23, 2016, 10:49:08 PM
Games off im hearing.
Post by: clarshack on August 23, 2016, 11:08:06 PM
in 2003 tyrone played a round of championship the week after beating Kerry in the semis. didn't do us any harm then. i'd say a few of the mayo footballers could actually do with some extra football.
Post by: Zulu on August 23, 2016, 11:17:05 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 23, 2016, 07:53:01 PM

I dunno. Seems daft to me. If the final was 2 weeks away I'd say fair enough definitely no club games but with 3 weeks still left even after next weekend that's more than enough time to recover and prepare. Sure someone could get injured but injuries are just as likely to happen in training. Although maybe that's just the club player in me talking.

I'm in favour of them going ahead too GBB. The point I was trying to make is that the players will be the same this week whether with club or county bar a game this weekend and that isn't a big issue since the county will have a few in-house games between now and the final anyway.
Post by: Tubberman on August 23, 2016, 11:25:16 PM
Confirmed senior champ and 3 inter games involving county players are postponed
Post by: Mayo Club 51 on August 23, 2016, 11:30:08 PM
LATEST: All Mayo senior club football c'ship games, and 3 Intermediate matches involving co players, postponed next weekend. #mayogaa

https://twitter.com/mayonewssport/status/768210277666066432
Post by: Mayo Club 51 on August 23, 2016, 11:37:06 PM
Official Statement:

Joint statement from Mayo GAA Board & Senior Team Management
Following discussions since Mayo's victory over Tipperary in last Sunday's All-Ireland SFC semi-final, it has been decided to postpone next weekend's round of Mayo SFC games. All IFC games will go ahead as scheduled except the following which involve members of the Mayo senior panel: Bohola Moy Davitts v Swinford; Westport v Shrule/Glencorrib; and Belmullet v Burrishoole.
This has not been an easy decision for all concerned as we were faced with a Catch 22 situation. Everyone involved in Mayo GAA wishes to support the senior football team as effectively as we can in the run-up to September 18 – and, equally, everyone is fully aware of the impact a postponement at such late notice will have on club players and managements.
However, after carefully considering the various issues involved, and acknowledging that there was no simple solution, we feel that the best interests of Mayo football will be served on this occasion by postponing the above games so that the team can prepare for the All-Ireland final.
The primary reason for doing so is to allow the team the four weeks of preparation between now and the final so that they can represent all of us in optimum condition on September 18. We hope all Mayo GAA people will understand the well-founded motivation for our decision and rally around the team for the next few weeks.
It is proposed to now hold the next round of SFC games on the weekend after the All-Ireland final (Sept. 24/25th). The IFC games mentioned above will also go ahead on that weekend also.
The quarter finals in both the SFC & IFC championship will go ahead on 1/2nd October.
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 23, 2016, 11:39:22 PM
An absolute joke, club players being treated like shit once again.
Post by: moysider on August 23, 2016, 11:53:32 PM

Good sense prevails.

Very well articulated press release. Well done.
Post by: Rossfan on August 24, 2016, 12:00:56 AM
Hope the Final ends in a draw - replay 1st October?
Post by: moysider on August 24, 2016, 12:10:44 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 24, 2016, 12:00:56 AM
Hope the Final ends in a draw - replay 1st October?

T'would be no bad thing. Shorten up doul winter.
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 24, 2016, 10:53:35 AM
I think there is one major difference between club championship matches and ones of the AvB sort.
While competition for places on the senior side is keen, nobody (I hope) is out to flatten a member of the opposition= to stop him by fair means or foul.
It stands to reason that a member of the county squad will be a key player on his club team and that he will be targeted by the opposition in order to limit his contribution to the game.
I mean that if Pollawaddy is playing LIsheenabrone, for the vast majority of players the result of the game in hand is of far more importance than the outcome of the All Ireland final.
Club rivalries can go back a longer way and be more bitter than any intercounty animosity. Not saying that Mayo is worse in this regard than any other county but it's hard to see the entire county panel going through a round of club championship matches without a half dozen at least county players suffering collateral damage of some sort,  whether the damage was accidental or not.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 24, 2016, 11:18:49 AM
Its the sensible decision, there's a couple of those Mayo players carrying injuries who would have played for the club this weekend in must win games which could have ended up in disaster.
Post by: Fuzzman on August 24, 2016, 12:09:10 PM

I think it's easy for posters outside of Mayo to say they should play their club games this weekend but when you look at Mayo's record of being beaten by the overall winners of Sam in the last 4 years, then it would take a brave man in their county board to not give them every chance of winning Sam. Small margins often decide matches at this level and to risk one of your top players getting injured seems crazy to me.

I was just looking at Mayo's performances over the last 10 years and they really have moved up a level in the last 5 years but still can't get across that line, while watching Donegal come from nowhere to win 1 and get to a second final.

10 years ago Mayo lost the final to Kerry but then went 4 years without making it to the semifinals. However, like the Dubs, 2011 seemed to be the start of something different with them winning their province every year & going on to challenge 3 AI finals and 3 semifinals. I thought Tyrone in 2008 looked quite flakey through the whole championship but then they put on a great display in the final v Kerry. How often have we saw a new manager take over a team that were so close to eventually push them over the line?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 24, 2016, 12:16:06 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 24, 2016, 12:09:10 PM

I think it's easy for posters outside of Mayo to say they should play their club games this weekend but when you look at Mayo's record of being beaten by the overall winners of Sam in the last 4 years, then it would take a brave man in their county board to not give them every chance of winning Sam. Small margins often decide matches at this level and to risk one of your top players getting injured seems crazy to me.

I was just looking at Mayo's performances over the last 10 years and they really have moved up a level in the last 5 years but still can't get across that line, while watching Donegal come from nowhere to win 1 and get to a second final.

10 years ago Mayo lost the final to Kerry but then went 4 years without making it to the semifinals. However, like the Dubs, 2011 seemed to be the start of something different with them winning their province every year & going on to challenge 3 AI finals and 3 semifinals. I thought Tyrone in 2008 looked quite flakey through the whole championship but then they put on a great display in the final v Kerry. How often have we saw a new manager take over a team that were so close to eventually push them over the line?

Peter Acheson broke a bone in his hand recently training with Tipperary, so unless Mayo are going to wrap them up in cotton wool for 4 weeks...
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 24, 2016, 04:50:51 PM
. I thought Tyrone in 2008 looked quite flakey through the whole championship but then they put on a great display in the final v Kerry
Tyrone 2008 and Kerry 2009 laid down markers in their All Ireland quarter final wins against Dublin they showed then they were sides capable of winning the All Ireland plus and most importantly both Tyrone,Kerry had past experience within their panels of winning Sam already.

Post by: Hound on August 24, 2016, 05:09:29 PM
It seems though a lot of people have disregarded that Mayo beat the Ulster Champions. This nonsense about "haven't beaten a Division 1 side" is just that - nonsense. Tyrone are the 4th best team in the country - neither Dublin nor Kerry have yet beaten a side better. Mayo beat Tyrone, who were regarded by many as genuine All Ireland contenders, and thus Mayo have laid down a marker.

Sure, the last 7 or 10 minutes of that match, Mayo played none. But all they had to do was win. So long as Tyrone kept missing, Mayo didnt have to do anything else. And for all Tyrone's apparent dominance in the last part of the match, they didn't create a gilt edged chance, they were all from tight angles or from mid/long distance or under a lot of pressure from a Mayo defender.

Mayo turned out to be the best team in that half of the draw.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 24, 2016, 06:36:18 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 24, 2016, 05:09:29 PM
It seems though a lot of people have disregarded that Mayo beat the Ulster Champions. This nonsense about "haven't beaten a Division 1 side" is just that - nonsense. Tyrone are the 4th best team in the country - neither Dublin nor Kerry have yet beaten a side better. Mayo beat Tyrone, who were regarded by many as genuine All Ireland contenders, and thus Mayo have laid down a marker.

Sure, the last 7 or 10 minutes of that match, Mayo played none. But all they had to do was win. So long as Tyrone kept missing, Mayo didnt have to do anything else. And for all Tyrone's apparent dominance in the last part of the match, they didn't create a gilt edged chance, they were all from tight angles or from mid/long distance or under a lot of pressure from a Mayo defender.

Mayo turned out to be the best team in that half of the draw.

Dublin beat Donegal and there is nothing between Donegal or Tyrone. Neither side were a genuine AI contender this year IMO and lets be honest Mayo beating a 14 man Tyrone side by one point scoring just 0-13 was hardly laying down a marker.
Post by: highorlow on August 24, 2016, 07:51:36 PM
Hound is clearly starting to talk us up early as the weekends game is just a warm up for the final for Dublin.

I agree to a certain extent, and we have beaten the team that beat Galway who were genuine AI contenders in a lot of people's view.

The reality is we need Sunday's game to be a dogfight and end up in a draw. We also need the replay to be a draw. We need a wet day and the opposition to have an off day and we play at our best. Our scoring potential is only about 1-13 on average and we haven't conceded many goals to "weaker" teams but we have major cause for concern in our backline still.

maybe if we start with a gang of the younger lads we might stand a better chance, loftus, Regan and young o'shea all came on the last day, I wouldn't be surprised if Rochford starts all 3 in the final. 

Our weakness this year is the 2nd half of games so it makes sense to bring on the like of andy, donie and Doherty for this period.
Post by: blast05 on August 24, 2016, 08:00:33 PM
"Laying down a marker" .... this seems to be the sexy new phrase to bandy about regarding Mayo. It feels however like something ultimately meaningless like "fiscal space" ....

Is it meant to mean a marker in the minds of the Kerry or Dublin lads that will ensure they will actually give Mayo respect and ensure that the the mindset will be fully focused for the final ?
Does anyone really think that is required and that Dublins most recent memory of the semi last year (with Dublin now a less imposing side in my view and Mayo - if nothing else - a tactically smarter side) will be the most immediate reference point while for Kerry they will surely be casting their minds back to the 2014 epic semi-final

Is it a marker in the minds of the Mayo players to convince themselves that can they put in an All-Ireland winning performance if they need to.
Does anyone really think that the Mayo players will be nothing other than supremely confident that they can go out and play to their max potential when the day comes ? That now, at the end of August, that they are where they wanted to be at the start of the season ? They are long enough at this game to know there is only 1 stat that counts and shooting the lights out against Tipperary would count for nothing (does anyone really belief that any Mayo player that left that dressing room v Tipp for the 2nd half was mentally tuned in enough to give every last fibre of their being to secure a massively comprehensive victory ... something that would have been completely unnecessary ?!).

And if Dublin put an unconvincing performance in against Kerry but still win by 3 or 4 points, will people be questioning the fact that they have been unable to put down a 'marker' against either Donegal or Kerry - the only 2 games they have had this year to date. Of course they won't.

Marker ? ? ? Wheres the bloody tiippex

I'm not talking up our team .... the reality is regardless of who we would play in the final that if we were to play them 4 times, it would end up something like 2 wins to them, a draw and 1 win to us (someone can calculate what odds that would equate to)..... but lets not be disingenuous in any discussions between now and the final. We can leave that to the Dublin or Kerry boys
Post by: Jinxy on August 24, 2016, 09:12:45 PM
Quote from: blast05 on August 24, 2016, 08:00:33 PM
"Laying down a marker" .... this seems to be the sexy new phrase to bandy about regarding Mayo. It feels however like something ultimately meaningless like "fiscal space" ....

Is it meant to mean a marker in the minds of the Kerry or Dublin lads that will ensure they will actually give Mayo respect and ensure that the the mindset will be fully focused for the final ?
Does anyone really think that is required and that Dublins most recent memory of the semi last year (with Dublin now a less imposing side in my view and Mayo - if nothing else - a tactically smarter side) will be the most immediate reference point while for Kerry they will surely be casting their minds back to the 2014 epic semi-final

Is it a marker in the minds of the Mayo players to convince themselves that can they put in an All-Ireland winning performance if they need to.
Does anyone really think that the Mayo players will be nothing other than supremely confident that they can go out and play to their max potential when the day comes ? That now, at the end of August, that they are where they wanted to be at the start of the season ? They are long enough at this game to know there is only 1 stat that counts and shooting the lights out against Tipperary would count for nothing (does anyone really belief that any Mayo player that left that dressing room v Tipp for the 2nd half was mentally tuned in enough to give every last fibre of their being to secure a massively comprehensive victory ... something that would have been completely unnecessary ?!).

And if Dublin put an unconvincing performance in against Kerry but still win by 3 or 4 points, will people be questioning the fact that they have been unable to put down a 'marker' against either Donegal or Kerry - the only 2 games they have had this year to date. Of course they won't.

I'm not talking up our team .... the reality is regardless of who we would play in the final that if we were to play them 4 times, it would end up something like 2 wins to them, a draw and 1 win to us (someone can calculate what odds that would equate to)..... but lets not be disingenuous in any discussions between now and the final. We can leave that to the Dublin or Kerry boys

Don't forget they'd more than likely win the replay.
Post by: moysider on August 25, 2016, 01:20:10 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on August 24, 2016, 12:09:10 PM

Good post Fuzzman. The 2006 - 2010 years were the Johnno years in Mayo, and I believe they cost us big time. The players were talented enough to stay in div.1 2006-2010 but in championship we were stone-age. Horan managed to get us competitive again in the championship quickly but coming from such a bet-down championship base probably cost us. We went from losing to Sligo and Longford in 2010 to knocking out AI champions in 2011 and getting to AI final in 2012. Likes of Dublin, Kerry and Tyrone never have had to deal with a 4 year dysfunctional gap like that.
Post by: iorras on August 25, 2016, 12:31:46 PM

Great post
Theres also a distinct contradiction in the reaction to the Mayo Tipp semi final. Everyone should be respectful of Tipps performance, they are a good team we were told. Mayo beat them by 5 points, as it was only 5 points and Mayo never got out of third gear Mayo are now bad. So which is it? Tipp are not actually a good team and Mayo should have hammered them therefore Mayo are a bad team because we didnt, or Tipp are actually a good team and Mayo beating them by 5 points was a reasonable result? I'm confused as to what way we are being told we are supposed to think by our overlord masters in RTE, the Irish Independent and twitter. Can they put out a statement clarifying soon please as I need to know if there is any point having the dinner early and cycling to Croke Park on the 18th or not.
Post by: Jinxy on August 25, 2016, 01:06:32 PM
Quote from: iorras on August 25, 2016, 12:31:46 PM

Great post
Theres also a distinct contradiction in the reaction to the Mayo Tipp semi final. Everyone should be respectful of Tipps performance, they are a good team we were told. Mayo beat them by 5 points, as it was only 5 points and Mayo never got out of third gear Mayo are now bad. So which is it? Tipp are not actually a good team and Mayo should have hammered them therefore Mayo are a bad team because we didnt, or Tipp are actually a good team and Mayo beating them by 5 points was a reasonable result? I'm confused as to what way we are being told we are supposed to think by our overlord masters in RTE, the Irish Independent and twitter. Can they put out a statement clarifying soon please as I need to know if there is any point having the dinner early and cycling to Croke Park on the 18th or not.

This.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 25, 2016, 01:13:37 PM
You have a serious chip on your shoulder about Tipp Jinxy. You've been making snide little comments all summer. What happened you? Are you just pissed off that Tipperary are making strides, or trying to,at Football *and* Hurling?
Post by: Jinxy on August 25, 2016, 01:15:45 PM
Excuse me, I'm not making snide comments about Tipperary.

I'm making snide comments about Mayo.

I
Post by: AZOffaly on August 25, 2016, 01:22:25 PM
Fair enough. You sound like some of the hurling snobs down here though. Maybe I'm just too sensitive :)
Post by: muppet on August 25, 2016, 01:37:48 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 25, 2016, 01:15:45 PM

I

Right!

You are off my Sky Panel and put straight in as lead pundit for TSG.
Post by: iorras on August 25, 2016, 03:08:51 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 25, 2016, 01:06:32 PM
Quote from: iorras on August 25, 2016, 12:31:46 PM

Great post

This.
I don't care what you say, its our overlord masters I want to hear from.
Unless you are one of them......... <DUN DUN DUN>
Post by: Jinxy on August 25, 2016, 03:10:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 25, 2016, 01:37:48 PM

Right!

Me & Colm as senior analysts.
Post by: Chimley on August 25, 2016, 03:24:05 PM
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2016/08/22/mayo-secure-runners-up-spot-in-all-ireland-after-win-over-tipp/?utm_source=WWN_Facebook_Page&utm_medium=Facebook&utm_campaign=Social_Link&utm_content=Article
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 25, 2016, 03:36:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 25, 2016, 03:10:09 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 25, 2016, 01:37:48 PM

Right!

Me & Colm as senior analysts.

Jinxy, I'm beginning to think that you must be Syferus in (yet another) disguise!
I used to think that he was the only individual on the planet who spent his waking hours obsessing with Mayo football affairs in general and with Mayo threads on this board in particular.
Surely you can find something in The Royal County to enthuse about.
Come to think of it, feck all has happened there since Joe Sheridan dived into the annals of infamy back in 2010.
Karma at work: "What goes around comes around. ... The gods are serving you with the revenge that you truly deserve"
Post by: Jinxy on August 25, 2016, 04:02:27 PM
We're quietly rebuilding our strength, Lar.
A bit like yer man in Lord of the Rings.
Lookit, if Mayo win this All-Ireland they'll have the '96 Meath team to thank.
So in a way, a good part of that victory will be ours.
Post by: blast05 on August 25, 2016, 04:28:33 PM
Meath Senior Club Championship
Round 1 April 9th
Next round 17 weeks later ... round 2,3 & 4 played within 16 days
And now 5 weeks until the last round robin match.

And then we have a Meath man coming in here having a laugh at Mayo's club championship schedule....

QuoteSurprised the O'Sheas haven't put their foot down with the county board.

::) ::) ::)
Post by: Jinxy on August 26, 2016, 09:32:44 AM
In our defence, we had a lot of rain in May, June & July.
Post by: Rossfan on August 26, 2016, 10:53:13 AM
Jaysus ye're gone shockin' soft.
Mick Lyons never let the rain stop him.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 26, 2016, 10:55:41 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 26, 2016, 10:53:13 AM
Jaysus ye're gone shockin' soft.
Mick Lyons never let the rain stop him.

Mick Lyons stopped the rain!
Post by: muppet on August 26, 2016, 10:57:20 AM