Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: winghalfback on August 13, 2016, 10:36:48 PM

Title: 66 days
Post by: winghalfback on August 13, 2016, 10:36:48 PM
Have you seen this? What's your opinion?

I think it's a very hard hitting look at one of the most prominent times in our lives. For me it evoked so many sad memories of a horrible time in our lives, but by god it reinforces also their steely resolve and determination in my mind. Brave men, heroes.
Title: Re: 66 days
Post by: T Fearon on August 14, 2016, 02:49:22 PM
Complete waste when you consider the present day,SF ensconced at Stormont and the Queen being fawned over North and South.
Post by: muppet on August 14, 2016, 06:04:24 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 14, 2016, 02:49:22 PM
Complete waste when you consider the present day,SF ensconced at Stormont and the Queen being fawned over North and South.

Is there any other poster here as obsessed with the Queen as yourself Tony?
Post by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2016, 09:19:33 AM
Is there anywhere one could watch this online if one was so inclined?
Post by: winghalfback on August 15, 2016, 12:10:36 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 14, 2016, 02:49:22 PM

Have you seen the film Tony?
Post by: T Fearon on August 15, 2016, 01:44:10 PM
Have read reviews and believe it is just a series of clips.recorded at the time,which I remember well enough.As a commentator said last week Bobby Sands and the other nine must be turning in their graves.
Post by: The Gs Man on August 15, 2016, 03:15:58 PM
If somebody wanted a coke, Tony would insist they had Pepsi.
Post by: muppet on August 15, 2016, 03:37:44 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on August 15, 2016, 03:15:58 PM
If somebody wanted a coke, Tony would insist they had Pepsi.

..based on reviews.....having never tried either himself.
Post by: T Fearon on August 15, 2016, 05:55:35 PM
Well? What unique insight or footage does the film provide that those of us who actually lived through the period haven't seen about one hundred times already?
Post by: T Fearon on August 15, 2016, 06:03:24 PM
As for our revenge being the laughter of our children,in my experience the hunger strikers don't even register with our children at all.
Post by: Nigel White on August 15, 2016, 07:55:46 PM
What experience do you have of children as regards discussing the hunger strikes
Post by: cadhlancian on August 15, 2016, 08:30:51 PM
I rarely agree with Tony, but he's 100% right here. Do any of you think that had Bobby Sands seen into the future , he'd be happy? Do you think he'd have eaten his breakfast the next morning?
Post by: Nigel White on August 15, 2016, 08:32:56 PM
Why what's wrong with what we have now?
Post by: foxcommander on August 15, 2016, 08:36:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 15, 2016, 06:03:24 PM
As for our revenge being the laughter of our children,in my experience the hunger strikers don't even register with our children at all.

Children can go out and laugh and play without the fear of rubber bullets being fired at them.
The fact that it doesn't register with them is a good thing. They'll learn all about it when they get older.

Post by: cadhlancian on August 15, 2016, 08:37:51 PM
The basic point is this Nigel. He didn't starve himself to death to see the likes of Martin McGuinness licking the queens hole...but wait, that's right , that's the " dinosaur point of view"....
Post by: foxcommander on August 15, 2016, 08:41:13 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on August 15, 2016, 08:30:51 PM
I rarely agree with Tony, but he's 100% right here. Do any of you think that had Bobby Sands seen into the future , he'd be happy? Do you think he'd have eaten his breakfast the next morning?

Do you think Padraig Pearse would have bothered if knew what his fellow countrymen would do to the place over the next 100 years.

Post by: cadhlancian on August 15, 2016, 08:47:35 PM
A hell of a lot more was " won" on the back of the rising, I think he'd have been happy enough....
Post by: Nigel White on August 15, 2016, 08:48:01 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on August 15, 2016, 08:37:51 PM
The basic point is this Nigel. He didn't starve himself to death to see the likes of Martin McGuinness licking the queens hole...but wait, that's right , that's the " dinosaur point of view"....
Yup, you're right about the last bit.
Post by: foxcommander on August 15, 2016, 08:49:37 PM
Quote from: cadhlancian on August 15, 2016, 08:47:35 PM
A hell of a lot more was " won" on the back of the rising, I think he'd have been happy enough....

26 counties. Good job.
Post by: OgraAnDun on August 15, 2016, 10:24:42 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on August 15, 2016, 08:49:37 PM

26 counties. Good job.

Better than the zero counties which were had previous to the Rising.
Post by: T Fearon on August 15, 2016, 10:31:15 PM
26 counties which fawns over the Queen and shits itself due to Brexit.Big Gav Robinson,DUP was right when he said the freestate was afraid of losing its big mate (Britain). Now we face a hard border separating North from South due to voters in North of England.26 independent counties? My arse.
Post by: muppet on August 15, 2016, 10:33:58 PM
Can Tony even make a post these days without thinking of the royals?
Post by: Nigel White on August 16, 2016, 12:36:46 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 15, 2016, 10:31:15 PM
26 counties which fawns over the Queen and shits itself due to Brexit.Big Gav Robinson,DUP was right when he said the freestate was afraid of losing its big mate (Britain). Now we face a hard border separating North from South due to voters in North of England.26 independent counties? My arse.
And what have you ever done to try and change things. Where do you stand as regards the queen, whose name you honour with a capital q, and all things British
Post by: T Fearon on August 16, 2016, 05:26:31 AM
I am oblivious to all of it.Nowadays money it seems is all that matters,the freestate's trade with Britain trumps everything else,even the GAA goes out of its way to curry favour and avail of British funding to develop facilities and hire out its facilities for so called foreign games.

Sinn Fein goes out of its way to be involved when senior royals visit Ireland,North and South.

It has all changed so quickly.I remember only 15 years ago,a political commentator in the Belfast Telegraph bemoaning the fact that even major hotels in Dublin and elsewhere in the South never fly the Union flag amid the host of other national flags they had to welcome guests.
Post by: Owenmoresider on August 16, 2016, 08:02:20 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on August 15, 2016, 08:30:51 PM
Well some shinners seem to have a rather bizarre interpretation of their motivations http://m.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/hunger-strikers-died-for-gay-rights-claims-sinn-fein-senator-fintan-warfield-34965230.html
Post by: tonto1888 on August 16, 2016, 08:43:59 AM
Was a very good film. As for the rest being discussed on here, nobody knows
Post by: ciaraa on August 16, 2016, 10:40:02 AM
Quote from: foxcommander on August 15, 2016, 08:49:37 PM

26 counties. Good job.

Dont forget getting ruled by priests for 50 years. Great craic that was for all concerned.
Post by: Nigel White on August 16, 2016, 01:08:49 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 16, 2016, 05:26:31 AM
I am oblivious to all of it.Nowadays money it seems is all that matters,the freestate's trade with Britain trumps everything else,even the GAA goes out of its way to curry favour and avail of British funding to develop facilities and hire out its facilities for so called foreign games.

Sinn Fein goes out of its way to be involved when senior royals visit Ireland,North and South.

It has all changed so quickly.I remember only 15 years ago,a political commentator in the Belfast Telegraph bemoaning the fact that even major hotels in Dublin and elsewhere in the South never fly the Union flag amid the host of other national flags they had to welcome guests.
So what do you think should happen?
Post by: T Fearon on August 16, 2016, 01:53:41 PM
I think it is inevitable that the freestate will join the commonwealth.We are now in effectively a post nationalist Ireland with revisionism pointing towards the proposition that the 1916 Rising was a fatal error.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 16, 2016, 02:03:15 PM
Then all the graves will turn...
Post by: rosnarun on August 16, 2016, 03:36:39 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 16, 2016, 01:53:41 PM
I think it is inevitable that the freestate will join the commonwealth.We are now in effectively a post nationalist Ireland with revisionism pointing towards the proposition that the 1916 Rising was a fatal error.
Pearse died so Irish people would be free to choose the way of life they wanted ,
He had his own idea of what that was but as a republican he'd have know that future generations would make their own path .
I'm sure it was never part of his plan the he would be a dead monarch ruling from beyond the grave ensuring nothing would change. in Fact id reckon his biggest regret would be I'm writing this in English
Post by: Nigel White on August 16, 2016, 06:46:32 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 16, 2016, 01:53:41 PM
So what would you like to see happening?
Post by: T Fearon on August 16, 2016, 10:25:54 PM
Am happy enough with status quo.I am comfortable,healthy have a good standard of life,and wouldn't swap it for the unknown of a united Ireland in which I am not wanted anyway.
Post by: Nigel White on August 16, 2016, 10:54:05 PM
So what are you yapping about then
Post by: T Fearon on August 17, 2016, 07:11:04 AM
Yapping?
Post by: T Fearon on August 17, 2016, 01:22:50 PM
What I mean is that I don't waste my time over something that will never happen.In my.lifetime I have seen incredible change up here which I never believed would happen.I.don't feel unhappy with the status quo now.
Post by: Ulick on August 17, 2016, 02:29:39 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 17, 2016, 01:22:50 PM
What I mean is that I don't waste my time over something that will never happen.In my.lifetime I have seen incredible change up here which I never believed would happen.I.don't feel unhappy with the status quo now.

Feck sake it was only yesterday you were giving out about the Shinners because they are "happily ensconced in Stormont".
Post by: armaghniac on August 17, 2016, 02:51:10 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 17, 2016, 01:22:50 PM
In my.lifetime I have seen incredible change up here which I never believed would happen.I.don't feel unhappy with the status quo now.

You are very easily pleased, for someone always giving out.
Post by: T Fearon on August 17, 2016, 04:10:46 PM
I as you know now firmly subscribe to a Northern Irish identity on the basis that  a)We in the North have more in common with each other than with people across the water or down south and  b) Neither London nor Dublin wants us anyway.

When you recognise and accept these two irrefutable facts it's amazing how at ease and dare I say liberated,you feel!
Post by: armaghniac on August 17, 2016, 05:44:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 17, 2016, 04:10:46 PM
I as you know now firmly subscribe to a Northern Irish identity on the basis that  a)We in the North have more in common with each other than with people across the water or down south and  b) Neither London nor Dublin wants us anyway.

When you recognise and accept these two irrefutable facts it's amazing how at ease and dare I say liberated,you feel!

(http://www.eureferendum.com/images/000a%20forelock-024.jpg)
Post by: T Fearon on August 17, 2016, 06:14:20 PM
You don't understand.The point of being N Irish is that you don't tug your forelock to anyone,not London, Not Dublin who jointly have betrayed all of us here for far too long
Post by: Nigel White on August 17, 2016, 07:52:00 PM
Does your employer know about the stuff you're putting up on social media?  We keep telling young people to be careful of what they put up on FB etc and here's you, an adult, constantly posting nonsense, a lot of it during work hours.  Apart from posting on social media and constantly doing pointless competitions do you actually do any work?