GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Duine Eile on July 25, 2016, 01:57:39 PM

Title: Galway v Tipperary AIQF 31/07/16
Post by: Duine Eile on July 25, 2016, 01:57:39 PM
So Conor Lane is down to referee this one, he seems to be following Galway wherever we go lately, this will be the 4th Galway match he'll be involved in this year I think. Strange!
Title: Re: Galway v Tipperary AIQF 31/07/16
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2016, 01:58:09 PM
Is he related to Noel Lane? :)
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 25, 2016, 02:24:56 PM
Its been a long time since Galway were favourites going into a quarter final.

Tipp score a lot but concede a lot too, 2-16 against Cork, 3-17 against Kerry and 2-17 against Derry. I think Comer & Cummins will be looking forward to the game and I'll be interested to see how are defensive structure copes in Croker.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 25, 2016, 02:46:06 PM
Galway beat Tipp fairly handily in 2014 in a goal fest and that Galway side wasn't nearly as good as the current version. I'm not sure where Tipp stand in relation to their 2014 team. Like Galway I imagine they've had a fair bit of turnover since. That said I don't think that will have much of a bearing next weekend.

Don't think Galway are good enough that they can afford any kind of complacency. That said Kevin Walsh doesn't seem the type that would allow them to get carried away. It's race week in Galway so that will distract attention away from the footballers and will allow to to prepare for a big game relatively under the radar.

Any kind of win will do me. Don't care about looking good doing it at this stage.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 25, 2016, 02:59:32 PM
If we could win it 0-3 to 0-2 I wouldn't care, the result is everything here. I don't think complacency will be an issue as we are only slowly coming back to some decent form and from such a bad place for Galway football.
It should be borne in mind that Tipp will be delighted they have avoided the other 3 provincial winners, I don't think that deep down they would give themselves any chance against them, they will have no fear of Galway.
James Horan reckons Tipp will do it anyway, when he stops picking against us I'll start getting very worried!
Post by: Duine Eile on July 25, 2016, 03:02:46 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2016, 01:58:09 PM
Is he related to Noel Lane? :)

I'd imagine if he was one of those Lanes it wouldn't be the big ball he'd be refereeing!  :)
Regarding the game, don't think our lads will be complacent. The performance of Roscommon at the weekend has put the Connacht final win into perspective and dampened a bit of the hysterics thankfully. Any kind of a win will do me, doesn't need to be pretty so long as we get the right result.
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2016, 03:05:47 PM
This was in 2014 when his contract was up .

"Departing Galway football manager Alan Mulholland is predicting a major breakthrough for the county in the near future.
The Salthill-Knocknacarra clubman has decided not to take up the option of a fourth year in charge of the team, despite having made significant progress this year.
"I do feel a breakthrough is going to come very soon and it is a very hard thing to hand it over, but you can't be selfish about things," he said on Galway Bay FM.
"You can't hold onto them just because you know you've done a lot of work over the last while."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZTpLvsYYHw
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2016, 03:36:59 PM
This is from Premierview. The context is one lad asking if the Galway footballers are also called 'Matties' (which I hadn't heard anywhere else except in Tipp to be fair).

Aye. Not really, no. The footballers are a different kind of a Mattie, they're the kind of lads that have a real reason to be putting on the poor mouth instead of the real Matties who will whinge and whine from some of the best pasture this side of Tayto Park. The footballers would have been reared with rocks and shtones and Novenas against emigration at Maam Cross. Some of them would have small fishing boats and jumpers with holes in them. The hurling Matties lose fingers doing battle with a Welger baler but the football lads lose fingers when they're late to the table fighting for their dinner, if you could call boiled whelk and heather stalks a dinner. These were the lads Synge wrote about. If they had a hurley they'd try to ate it, and they'd put a sliotar in the taypot thinking it to be some sort of puffin egg. A different breed them lads. Be on your guard next weekend.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 25, 2016, 03:46:28 PM
Bloody hell what kind of pipes are they smoking down there!  ;D
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 25, 2016, 03:52:16 PM
Couple of questions, what's the "Mattie" reference about? Are these lads well in the head?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2016, 03:54:52 PM
As I said, I never heard it about Galway before apart from in Tipp. No idea where it comes from. Maybe something to do with Mattie Murphy? It's definitely a hurling thing.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 25, 2016, 04:01:22 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 25, 2016, 03:52:16 PM
Couple of questions, what's the "Mattie" reference about? Are these lads well in the head?

Think it's due to the amount of Matties that were generally involved within Galway hurling circles around the time of the Galway v Tipp wars. Mattie Murphy, Mattie Kenny, etc. To be honest I can't think of any other Galway Matties apart from Mattie McDonagh with the footballers in the 50's and 60's.
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2016, 04:03:04 PM
Down around Portumna the name Mattie is common enough. Also in East Galway eg Mattie Murphy or Mattie Coleman. And it isn't on the other side of
the Shannon in places like Lorrha that would supply kids to the secondary school in portumna.

Premierview apparently uses  Matties as the name for Galway people
Post by: shark on July 25, 2016, 04:20:34 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 25, 2016, 04:01:22 PM

Think it's due to the amount of Matties that were generally involved within Galway hurling circles around the time of the Galway v Tipp wars. Mattie Murphy, Mattie Kenny, etc. To be honest I can't think of any other Galway Matties apart from Mattie McDonagh with the footballers in the 50's and 60's.

https://youtu.be/vbxMT6j-EMQ
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 25, 2016, 04:22:09 PM
Quote from: shark on July 25, 2016, 04:20:34 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 25, 2016, 04:01:22 PM

https://youtu.be/vbxMT6j-EMQ

I always called him Matthew. ;D
Post by: ballinaman on July 25, 2016, 04:28:53 PM
Was the 2007 minor football final the last time a Galway team won in Croke park? Any players from that team playing currently?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 25, 2016, 04:39:11 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 25, 2016, 04:28:53 PM
Was the 2007 minor football final the last time a Galway team won in Croke park? Any players from that team playing currently?

Galway beat Cavan there in the U-21 final in 2011. Flynn and Cummins were on that team. Think Conroy is the only survivor from the 07 minors.
Post by: ballinaman on July 25, 2016, 04:43:42 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 25, 2016, 04:39:11 PM

Galway beat Cavan there in the U-21 final in 2011. Flynn and Cummins were on that team. Think Conroy is the only survivor from the 07 minors.
An yes, remember that. Half of Cavan were there. Wonder why croker was chosen for 21 final that year.
Post by: galwayman on July 25, 2016, 05:13:14 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 25, 2016, 04:43:42 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 25, 2016, 04:39:11 PM

An yes, remember that. Half of Cavan were there. Wonder why croker was chosen for 21 final that year.
It was a double header with the hurling league final between the Dubs and Kilkenny.
I assume it's just because the 2 were on the same weekend.
Post by: tippabu on July 26, 2016, 02:00:26 PM
Im a fair bit away from the galway border myself but think the whole matties thing is because every 2nd person near the border is called mattie, after that no clue. Have you read bigjohns previews and reviews of the last few games on premierview AZ? They are brilliant!!

On the game, we are better than 2 years ago, the likes of quinlivan has developed in to one of the top players around, achy, macdonald, hanigan, robbie kiely are real leaders now. We are still very young though, 4 of our back 7 (gk included) were under 21 last year, they are brilliant at going forward but still abit you in terms of being able to really hold the oppostion hence the high scoring games. I do give us a shout but expect galway to just have enough like our last two meetings in the qualifiers.
Post by: mouview on July 26, 2016, 02:24:16 PM

Corofin's club victory count?
'03 draw with Donegal the last time the Senior team weren't beaten there as far as I recall. Certainly past time to redress the balance.
Post by: seafoid on July 26, 2016, 02:50:43 PM
I hope John Denton will not be reffing. 
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2016, 03:29:07 PM
Sure haven't ye the new John Banning - Conor Galway Lane to ease the path for ye. ;)
Post by: macdanger2 on July 26, 2016, 05:49:23 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 26, 2016, 02:00:26 PM
Im a fair bit away from the galway border myself but think the whole matties thing is because every 2nd person near the border is called mattie, after that no clue. Have you read bigjohns previews and reviews of the last few games on premierview AZ? They are brilliant!!

On the game, we are better than 2 years ago, the likes of quinlivan has developed in to one of the top players around, achy, macdonald, hanigan, robbie kiely are real leaders now. We are still very young though, 4 of our back 7 (gk included) were under 21 last year, they are brilliant at going forward but still abit you in terms of being able to really hold the oppostion hence the high scoring games. I do give us a shout but expect galway to just have enough like our last two meetings in the qualifiers.

Has quinlivan been good this year? I've only seen bits of the Tipp games this year but he hasn't really stood out. I thought Bill Maher was very good against Derry
Post by: tippabu on July 26, 2016, 07:31:21 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on July 26, 2016, 05:49:23 PM

Has quinlivan been good this year? I've only seen bits of the Tipp games this year but he hasn't really stood out. I thought Bill Maher was very good against Derry

Yeah Quinlivan really is the main man in the attack....once delivered the right type of ball can be unplayable, hes not a conor mcmanus who'll score loads but can take a score but brings people into it and usually comes out the pitch too. The day against kerry if it wasnt munster final hed not have been playing, was on a drip all saturday night and sunday morning.

Everyone in tipp knew bill maher is ten times the footballer than he is hurler, was delighted when he came in, he is brilliant coming forward and glides past people.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 26, 2016, 07:40:07 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 26, 2016, 02:24:16 PM

'03 draw with Donegal the last time the Senior team weren't beaten there as far as I recall. Certainly past time to redress the balance.
Only Sice,Silke played in that in victory i think? i recall the schools hogan cup final five years go in Croke park where Jarlaths just fell short and Shane Walsh almost won the final on his own.
Post by: mouview on July 27, 2016, 12:07:15 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 26, 2016, 07:40:07 PM

Only Sice,Silke played in that in victory i think? i recall the schools hogan cup final five years go in Croke park where Jarlaths just fell short and Shane Walsh almost won the final on his own.

Feckin' lost it on his own by trying to do it all himself and not trusting his teammates to pass it to them.
Post by: galwayman on July 27, 2016, 01:55:12 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 27, 2016, 12:07:15 PM

Feckin' lost it on his own by trying to do it all himself and not trusting his teammates to pass it to them.
That's very harsh.
Certainly not how I remember that game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 27, 2016, 03:55:59 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 27, 2016, 12:07:15 PM

Without Shane Walsh Jarlaths probably wouldnt have won Connacht that year.
Post by: seafoid on July 27, 2016, 03:59:43 PM

Mo I would have expected you to be talking down the footballers   8)
Post by: From the Bunker on July 27, 2016, 05:33:00 PM
Could see Galway getting to an AI final. But could not see them beat Dublin or Kerry. They have a terrible record against them the last 50 years or so!
Post by: Zulu on July 27, 2016, 05:52:55 PM
Can't see where the confidence about Galway (in some quarters) is coming from. They are definitely an improved team but they have only put in one really notable performance in beating Mayo but without that goal I don't think they would have won.

I've a suspicion that both Galway and Tyrone have looked a bit better than they are and both could be exposed in Croke Park with Galway particularly vulnerable on that score. It's great to see new teams coming to the fore but the smart money is still on Mayo, Dublin and Kerry for me.
Post by: ballinaman on July 27, 2016, 05:59:08 PM
Anyone have more info on Declan Kyne? How old is he roughly and did he feature underage? Interested because a Gawlay footballer (not on panel now) told me prior to the Mayo game that he didn't rate him at all..
Post by: seafoid on July 27, 2016, 05:59:34 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 27, 2016, 05:33:00 PM
Could see Galway getting to an AI final. But could not see them beat Dublin or Kerry. They have a terrible record against them the last 50 years or so!
I think Mayo GHU will do it this year
Post by: Zulu on July 27, 2016, 06:01:53 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 27, 2016, 05:59:08 PM
Anyone have more info on Declan Kyne? How old is he roughly and did he feature underage? Interested because a Gawlay footballer (not on panel now) told me prior to the Mayo game that he didn't rate him at all..

He's 26 as far as I know.
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 27, 2016, 06:14:25 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 27, 2016, 05:52:55 PM
Can't see where the confidence about Galway (in some quarters) is coming from. They are definitely an improved team but they have only put in one really notable performance in beating Mayo but without that goal I don't think they would have won.

I've a suspicion that both Galway and Tyrone have looked a bit better than they are and both could be exposed in Croke Park with Galway particularly vulnerable on that score. It's great to see new teams coming to the fore but the smart money is still on Mayo, Dublin and Kerry for me.

The smart money would be on Kerry or Dublin. After seven All Ireland final defeats since 1989 anyone smart enough wouldn't place cash on Mayo to win Sam this year.
Post by: Zulu on July 27, 2016, 06:34:28 PM
Well if I was putting money down then it would only be on Dublin. I think Mayo are still a serious challenger though and if they find their form they'll be tough for anyone to beat.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 27, 2016, 06:38:32 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 27, 2016, 05:52:55 PM

There are many games where if you don't score a goal you don't win. That's football for ya. Mayo beat us last year with a lot of help from a freakish own goal. That's also football for ya sometimes.

Not sure what you mean by confidence either? I think many people think we can win this weekend alright but I doubt very many people will be tipping us in the semi-finals if we do. It's quite clear that many people seem to think the Mayo game was a freak result (despite last year's match between the two being quite tight as well) and the Roscommon win is being dismissed completely now seeing as the Rossies subsequently lost to Clare.
Post by: Zulu on July 27, 2016, 06:44:55 PM
True, but I think the timing of the goal and the flow of the game at the time meant that Glaway wouldn't have won without that goal. Mayo were also quite poor on the day and maybe were timing their run for later in the year. This, of course, is just opinion and the next couple of weeks can make people look foolish but from what I've seen I think the jury is still out on Galway, though they do appear to be going in the right direction.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 27, 2016, 07:26:51 PM
Mayo didn't score for 25 minutes in the second half, that was not all just down to Mayo having an off day. 6 starting lineup championship debutants on the Galway team as well.

Galway finally have a system in place that looks to be fit for purpose for the current championship, the players that are on the panel are clearly committed to doing what it takes and are slowly getting back to being a team of some relevance.
The issues are a lack of experience in winning big matches (the nervousness shown against a poor Roscommon in the drawn match when clearly the superior team), a very thin squad beyond the first 15 and it's unrealistic to expect that all the starters are going to play at top form in Croke Park.

No one expected Galway to be in the position we currently are in, regardless of the rest of the year this has been a good championship for Galway with the Connacht title in the bag and the Connacht benchmark of Mayo (off day or not) beaten along the way, there's more to come from this group I think and hopefully the squad will improve next year so that the competition for places is better and the progress this year can be built on.

If Tipp continue to concede the scores they have heretofore (2-16, 3-17, 2-17) in the championship, I would be disappointed if Galway cannot keep the Tipperary score to a lower total than that on Sunday.
1-16 is the highest total we've conceded all year and Tipp would not have won any of their championship matches with that return.
Tipp do have the advantage that they can just turn up and have a cut at it but I know that Kevin Walsh will have the Galway team tuned in, our terrible record in CP and the fact that some pundits are going for Tipperary means that complacency won't be an issue at least.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 27, 2016, 08:58:14 PM
One thing that puzzles me around the "pundits" and this game is the talk of Tipperary's momentum coming into it. They lost to Kerry in the Munster final on 3rd July and beat Derry last week, winning one game is hardly momentum.  ??? I do think we will have enough to beat Tipperary, whether it's by one point or ten I'm really not bothered so long as we're on the right end as I've said before. I've criticised Kevin and his management team for having no clear game plan or defensive structure in the past but fair play, the team is very well structured and each player knows where he should be. One concern I do have though, is our bench looks a bit light especially with Cathal Sweeney gone for the year.
Post by: Rossfan on July 27, 2016, 09:17:41 PM
Momentum in the Qualifiers is one of those journalist clichés up the with the wide open spaces of Croke Park, Galway are a great Croke Park team and Kerry are pure clean footballers.
Post by: tbrick18 on July 28, 2016, 09:35:23 AM
Having seen Tipp first hand last weekend beat my beloved Derry, I think they are well suited to Croke Park and have a really good chance of beating Galway.
Both teams run at you but the sheer athleticism and size of the Tipp team impressed me. Their defence are shaky enough, but they will cause any team problems going forward.
It should be a good game, I'd like to see Tipp push on....
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2016, 10:20:18 AM
The worry I have for Tipp would be twofold. Middle of the field will be under pressure, so if Galway use the latest cliché and ''push up on the kickouts'' we'll see Tipp struggle. Comerford has the ability to be accurate with kickouts, but the kickout strategy doesn't seem to be very slick, and while Acheson is a great man for bombing on, neither him or George Hannigan would be outstanding fielders.

The other worry I have is Tipp defenders one on one v fast attackers. They are still a bit naive and raw in terms of getting turned. It happens very easily. They take bad positions when attacking the ball, and a nippy forward just loses them with a straight forward sharp turn. That's the major achilles heel in my view, and leads directly to goals.

If Tipp can break even around the middle, they are good going forward, as long as they move at pace. They are getting better now at recycling the ball, and injecting pace again. In the past they had the initial burst, but if it was held up, they lost patience and ideas and either turned it over in the tackle, or had an aimless kick at goals. As I said that is improving, and quite a few scores are coming from 'second wave' type attacks with either a change of wing, or a kick pass in front of Sweeney or Quinlivan.

They can also go long to the two lads inside to mix up their attacks, and that's vital to have in your armory. If the defence knows you are a running team, they will set up to block off the running channels. If you are a kicking team, they deploy deep lying sweepers to cut off the kicking channels. If you do both, sometimes they have to pick their poison.

I hope Tipperary get in amongst Galway and have a right cut off them. I'm sure they will. However there is a gap between the teams and I think the Galway forwards will do enough damage to see them home by 5 or 6 points.

Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 28, 2016, 10:55:13 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 27, 2016, 09:17:41 PM
Momentum in the Qualifiers is one of those journalist clichés up the with the wide open spaces of Croke Park, Galway are a great Croke Park team and Kerry are pure clean footballers.

What sort of clown would print either of those statements? Don't understand why people even bother regurgitating nonsense, which is 95% of GAA journalism these days.

I'd share your concerns AZ on Tipp. Will really need to cover the central channel a lot better than they've done at times. I really hope they are fresh enough to give it a good lash. Could make for a great game.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 28, 2016, 01:15:26 PM
Galway team named, no changes: 
1. Bernard Power
2. Eoghan Kerin
3. Declan Kyne
4. David Wynne
5. Liam Silke
6. Gary O'Donnell
7. Gareth Bradshaw
8. Paul Conroy
9. Thomas Flynn
10. Gary Sice
11. Damien Comer
12. Johnny Heaney
13. Eamon Brannigan
14. Shane Walsh
15. Danny Cummins
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 28, 2016, 01:32:13 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 28, 2016, 01:15:26 PM
1. Bernard Power
2. Eoghan Kerin
3. Declan Kyne
4. David Wynne
5. Liam Silke
6. Gary O'Donnell
7. Gareth Bradshaw
8. Paul Conroy
9. Thomas Flynn
10. Gary Sice
11. Damien Comer
12. Johnny Heaney
13. Eamon Brannigan
14. Shane Walsh
15. Danny Cummins

Are Silke & Sice the only Corofin men on the team?
Post by: Duine Eile on July 28, 2016, 01:41:42 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 28, 2016, 01:32:13 PM
1. Bernard Power
2. Eoghan Kerin
3. Declan Kyne
4. David Wynne
5. Liam Silke
6. Gary O'Donnell
7. Gareth Bradshaw
8. Paul Conroy
9. Thomas Flynn
10. Gary Sice
11. Damien Comer
12. Johnny Heaney
13. Eamon Brannigan
14. Shane Walsh
15. Danny Cummins

Bernard Power is a Corofin man too, Cathal Silke is on the panel also.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 28, 2016, 01:41:52 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 28, 2016, 01:32:13 PM
1. Bernard Power
2. Eoghan Kerin
3. Declan Kyne
4. David Wynne
5. Liam Silke
6. Gary O'Donnell
7. Gareth Bradshaw
8. Paul Conroy
9. Thomas Flynn
10. Gary Sice
11. Damien Comer
12. Johnny Heaney
13. Eamon Brannigan
14. Shane Walsh
15. Danny Cummins

Power is also from Corofin.
Post by: mouview on July 28, 2016, 02:00:48 PM
1. Bernard Power
2. Eoghan Kerin
3. Declan Kyne
4. David Wynne
5. Liam Silke
6. Gary O'Donnell
7. Gareth Bradshaw
8. Paul Conroy
9. Thomas Flynn
10. Gary Sice
11. Damien Comer
12. Johnny Heaney
13. Eamon Brannigan
14. Shane Walsh
15. Danny Cummins

Realistically, they were never going to change it. Not a huge amount of options off the bench, Adrian Varley apart, for the forwards, which must be a concern.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 28, 2016, 02:09:11 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 28, 2016, 02:00:48 PM
1. Bernard Power
2. Eoghan Kerin
3. Declan Kyne
4. David Wynne
5. Liam Silke
6. Gary O'Donnell
7. Gareth Bradshaw
8. Paul Conroy
9. Thomas Flynn
10. Gary Sice
11. Damien Comer
12. Johnny Heaney
13. Eamon Brannigan
14. Shane Walsh
15. Danny Cummins

Realistically, they were never going to change it. Not a huge amount of options off the bench, Adrian Varley apart, for the forwards, which must be a concern.

No and that's a worry. Realistically if the like of Comer were to get injured/black card whatever, the only options are Varley, Denvir, Hoare and Patrick Sweeney.
Post by: mouview on July 28, 2016, 02:12:21 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 27, 2016, 03:59:43 PM

Certainly, my earlier-season pessimism has abated somewhat. The Connacht campaign has seemingly injected a large dollop of confidence into the squad, (and just as importantly into supporters, which the team can feed off). They're still not brilliant but KK-like are beginning to look like being greater than the sum of their parts; I think they will relish again playing in CP.

Equally, Tipp's recent achievements (Minor AI, U-21 beaten finalists, Clonmel Commercials) mustn't be discounted and a victory by them would be a surprise more than a shock. Just think however Galway's momentum that bit more 'momentumier'.
Post by: Tubberman on July 28, 2016, 03:10:35 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 28, 2016, 02:12:21 PM

Certainly, my earlier-season pessimism has abated somewhat. The Connacht campaign has seemingly injected a large dollop of confidence into the squad, (and just as importantly into supporters, which the team can feed off). They're still not brilliant but KK-like are beginning to look like being greater than the sum of their parts; I think they will relish again playing in CP.

Equally, Tipp's recent achievements (Minor AI, U-21 beaten finalists, Clonmel Commercials) mustn't be discounted and a victory by them would be a surprise more than a shock. Just think however Galway's momentum that bit more 'momentumier'.

Good god, between the football, the hurling, the races and the capital of culture, is it any wonder ye are losing the run of yourselves.
Post by: larryin89 on July 28, 2016, 08:04:48 PM
Galway for sam.
Post by: cornetto on July 29, 2016, 08:17:22 AM
Reading a piece there from Shane Walsh how they felt it disrespectful before mayo match to be dismissed,the game against tipp has all the hallmarks of this,could we be in for another surprise??
Post by: galwayman on July 29, 2016, 08:24:11 AM
Quote from: cornetto on July 29, 2016, 08:17:22 AM
Reading a piece there from Shane Walsh how they felt it disrespectful before mayo match to be dismissed,the game against tipp has all the hallmarks of this,could we be in for another surprise??
Tipp are far from being dismissed in this game.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 08:28:02 AM
In fairness most of the dismissing before the Mayo match was from Kevin Walsh. Which the media and probably Mayo team fed into. This tie is a potential banana skin as it's the first time Galway are favourites. Galway are still not really getting credit for winning Connacht. But this is good as it sort of keeps them under the radar.
Post by: seafoid on July 29, 2016, 08:35:22 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 29, 2016, 08:28:02 AM
In fairness most of the dismissing before the Mayo match was from Kevin Walsh. Which the media and probably Mayo team fed into. This tie is a potential banana skin as it's the first time Galway are favourites. Galway are still not really getting credit for winning Connacht. But this is good as it sort of keeps them under the radar.
Common knowledge was that Mayo were miles ahead. Galway had a mediocre D2. Mayo D1. Sure Mayo would walk it.
Post by: mouview on July 29, 2016, 10:21:54 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 28, 2016, 03:10:35 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 28, 2016, 02:12:21 PM

Good god, between the football, the hurling, the races and the capital of culture, is it any wonder ye are losing the run of yourselves.

Thank you for highlighting our many accomplishments. As I'm sure you know, dear boy, I was implying that the current KK team don't have too many outstanding stars, not of the ilk of several years ago at any rate, but they combine to become a greater whole, the very essence of a team. Similarly, Galway footballers now would only have 2/3 players max that would make the 1998-2001 squad but they've suddenly gelled to become a fairly coherent outfit.
Post by: Asal Mor on July 29, 2016, 10:41:56 AM
Quote from: mouview on July 29, 2016, 10:21:54 AM
Thank you for highlighting our many accomplishments. As I'm sure you know, dear boy, I was implying that the current KK team don't have too many outstanding stars, not of the ilk of several years ago at any rate, but they combine to become a greater whole, the very essence of a team. Similarly, Galway footballers now would only have 2/3 players max that would make the 1998-2001 squad but they've suddenly gelled to become a fairly coherent outfit.
Wouldn't agree with that. Eoin Murphy, Paul Murphy, Cillian Buckley, Mick Fennelly, TJ and Richie are all imo outstanding, as was Larkin but he looks past it this year. You could make a case for a few others too. I'd say they have both the best individual players and team/work ethic.
Post by: seafoid on July 29, 2016, 10:53:39 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ciar%C3%A1n-murphy-apathy-draining-the-life-from-galway-football-1.2685965
"But Mayo found their man in October 2010, and the gap looks more and more intimidating with every passing year. The further ahead they are in terms of preparation and physical conditioning, the less enticing a prospect it is for a young Galway footballer to put in the effort to start to claw back some ground.  But it has to start somewhere, and relying on Mayo to come back to the pack seems like a forlorn hope at the moment."
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 29, 2016, 11:44:27 AM

Was standing out in games for me but when you analyse his positioning when the team is pushed up he plays too far in front of his man. He will be caught out by a team who can accurately kick pass over the top.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 29, 2016, 04:26:50 PM
Only two years ago he was the starting full back on the Galway team that lost to Leitrim in the Connacht junior semi final. It will be some turnaround for Kyne if he's now to play in a senior All Ireland semi final.
Post by: Manning18 on July 29, 2016, 08:08:13 PM

I know that lad, used to write the same gibberish on hoganstand? He's from some drug infested backwater in Tipp, type of place still struggling for broadband. Had to go to school in Galway to get any sort of proper education, where he got bullied so he's been extra bitter ever since
Post by: tippabu on July 29, 2016, 09:26:00 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on July 29, 2016, 08:08:13 PM

I know that lad, used to write the same gibberish on hoganstand? He's from some drug infested backwater in Tipp, type of place still struggling for broadband. Had to go to school in Galway to get any sort of proper education, where he got bullied so he's been extra bitter ever since

No.....different person, dont know who wrote the mattie explanation earlier that was quoted. Bigjohn actually writes very good pieces, abit different to the usual things but very good all the same.
Post by: tippabu on July 29, 2016, 10:02:15 PM

i hope bigjohn doesnt mind but here is his post following the defeat in the munster final to kerry, as i say, they are different but refreshing

Manuel Garcia, the chief protagonist in Ernest Hemmingway's short story The Undefeated, is a veteran bullfighter who struggles against many cultural obstacles that are placed in his way. When he finally gets to fight, he is paid a fraction of what the younger more popular bullfighters are paid. The general feeling amongst the masses is that Garcia is such a hopeless case that even St Jude has doubts and so very few people turn up to see him. Everywhere he goes people advise him to cut his pony tail (a matador's equivalent of hanging up your boots). However, in his last fight he eventually wins over the crowd with his bravery even though it took him 5 attempts to kill the bull and he ended up in hospital having been gored by the bull on 4 occasions

I'm not in possession of a DeLorean DMC-12 so I can't travel back to 1927 to find out what Hemmingway was thinking but I'm fairly sure Tipperary Football was the furthest thing from his mind when he penned The Undefeated. Still for me, Manuel Garcia's struggles symbolise the struggle of a Tipperary Footballer. Much like Garcia, cultural obstacles are placed in the way of a Tipperary Footballer. His funding is small in comparison to his more popular counterparts and the crowds don't turn up because they also believe that the Tipperary footballer is at a thing called nothing. Every now and then the bravery of the Tipp Footballer will win a few people over but the spin on the Tipperary Football Bandwagon can often be a short journey. .

Kerry came to bury us not to praise us. The email containing this message must have been circulated to every resident in Kerry late on Saturday night because any Kerryman I met before the game was in no doubt as what the result would be. I recently read an article on how to detect arrogant people. The writer could have saved a few trees and just told the reader to travel to Kerry. You would think a county that supplied us with Peig Sayers, Jackie Healy-Rae and Barry John Keane shouldn't be capable of arrogance but somehow they have managed it.

Every game starts with a throw in. Yesterday the ball was thrown in by referee , David Gough, who was auditioning for the All Ireland Final gig and was determined not to do anything that was going to upset the possible All Ireland Finalists.

Win it or kill it is the mantra of an old boss of mine. We win it and 30 secs later Jimmy Feehan is sticking the ball in the Kerry net as 23,000 supporters reach to their pockets to rip up their First Goalscorer docket. What a start!!!

15 mins later and we are giving as good as we get. Leading 1.03 to 3 we look every bit as comfortable as Kerry.

Then the Kerry wall goes up across their 45m line and suddenly the game changes. Tipp panic. The top teams move the ball swiftly between the two 45m lines. Every Tipp manager from Seamus McCarthy to Liam Kearns will have spoken about the need to move the ball quickly in this area. (even Andy " here for the " Shortall might have mentioned that one). Tipp panic. Michael Quinlivan spent Saturday night on an IV drip. The fluids on that drip went into him quicker than the ball did on Sunday afternoon. We are now moving the ball sideways and backwards until eventually we take it into contact, lose it and get punished. Brian Fox, the one player we have that might break a line is now employed a sweeper.

A bad turnover and two ambitious passes that go astray provide Kerry with 1.02 in the space of 5 minutes. Tipp heads are as low as lino now and as we approach the tea break , the Kerry Symphony Orchestra conducted by Bryan Sheehan are in full swing. They hadn't let us play a tune from play since Jimmy Feehan's goal in the first minute. Kerry are good but we were masters of our own downfall.

3 wides in 2 minutes at the start of the second half and the dream was well and truly over. We battle manfully till the end. Brian Kelly saves wonderfully from Michael Quinlivan before Robbie Kiely gives Kelly no chance for Tipp's second goal. The scoreboard reads 3.70 to 2.06. What is it this year with the GAA and scoreboard malfunctions?

Josh Keane gets a black card when it looked to me that it should have been a 2nd yellow for Sheehan. I'll have to view it again but a black card for the every willing Josh Keane was harsh. Alan Campbell receives a yellow card for a challenge on Barry John Keane. There should be no punishment for such an act.

The biggest groan of the day is when James O'Donoghue pops over a free with the last kick of the ball as Kerry supporters who have backed Kerry -10 and Tipp supporters who had back Tipp +10 realised their money is goosed.

A brave effort by Tipp but while not surprised by the result I was disappointed with the performance. Anyone who has watched the Tipp footballers over the past few years will know that we have some wonderful footballers in that group. But yesterday, as in the past, our decision making lets us down when we play the top teams. There is only one way to improve that and that's to play the top teams more often. Looking at the possible opponents for the next round, none of them carry weapons so we have nothing to fear.

We all have regrets in our lives. I always regret not going to college as I feel I would have been ideally suited to the social aspect of college life. There are many more that I won't bore you with but I'll never regret my decision to follow the Tipperary Footballers. Some of the best days I've enjoyed has been following the misfortunes and occasional fortunes of various Tipperary Football teams. Days like yesterday just makes me think, they will need my support more now than ever before.

Tipperary Football is not ready to cut its pony tail just yet!!
Post by: PW Nally on July 29, 2016, 11:02:08 PM
Quote from: tippabu on July 29, 2016, 10:02:15 PM

i hope bigjohn doesnt mind but here is his post following the defeat in the munster final to kerry, as i say, they are different but refreshing

Manuel Garcia, the chief protagonist in Ernest Hemmingway's short story The Undefeated, is a veteran bullfighter who struggles against many cultural obstacles that are placed in his way. When he finally gets to fight, he is paid a fraction of what the younger more popular bullfighters are paid. The general feeling amongst the masses is that Garcia is such a hopeless case that even St Jude has doubts and so very few people turn up to see him. Everywhere he goes people advise him to cut his pony tail (a matador's equivalent of hanging up your boots). However, in his last fight he eventually wins over the crowd with his bravery even though it took him 5 attempts to kill the bull and he ended up in hospital having been gored by the bull on 4 occasions

I'm not in possession of a DeLorean DMC-12 so I can't travel back to 1927 to find out what Hemmingway was thinking but I'm fairly sure Tipperary Football was the furthest thing from his mind when he penned The Undefeated. Still for me, Manuel Garcia's struggles symbolise the struggle of a Tipperary Footballer. Much like Garcia, cultural obstacles are placed in the way of a Tipperary Footballer. His funding is small in comparison to his more popular counterparts and the crowds don't turn up because they also believe that the Tipperary footballer is at a thing called nothing. Every now and then the bravery of the Tipp Footballer will win a few people over but the spin on the Tipperary Football Bandwagon can often be a short journey. .

Kerry came to bury us not to praise us. The email containing this message must have been circulated to every resident in Kerry late on Saturday night because any Kerryman I met before the game was in no doubt as what the result would be. I recently read an article on how to detect arrogant people. The writer could have saved a few trees and just told the reader to travel to Kerry. You would think a county that supplied us with Peig Sayers, Jackie Healy-Rae and Barry John Keane shouldn't be capable of arrogance but somehow they have managed it.

Every game starts with a throw in. Yesterday the ball was thrown in by referee , David Gough, who was auditioning for the All Ireland Final gig and was determined not to do anything that was going to upset the possible All Ireland Finalists.

Win it or kill it is the mantra of an old boss of mine. We win it and 30 secs later Jimmy Feehan is sticking the ball in the Kerry net as 23,000 supporters reach to their pockets to rip up their First Goalscorer docket. What a start!!!

15 mins later and we are giving as good as we get. Leading 1.03 to 3 we look every bit as comfortable as Kerry.

Then the Kerry wall goes up across their 45m line and suddenly the game changes. Tipp panic. The top teams move the ball swiftly between the two 45m lines. Every Tipp manager from Seamus McCarthy to Liam Kearns will have spoken about the need to move the ball quickly in this area. (even Andy " here for the " Shortall might have mentioned that one). Tipp panic. Michael Quinlivan spent Saturday night on an IV drip. The fluids on that drip went into him quicker than the ball did on Sunday afternoon. We are now moving the ball sideways and backwards until eventually we take it into contact, lose it and get punished. Brian Fox, the one player we have that might break a line is now employed a sweeper.

A bad turnover and two ambitious passes that go astray provide Kerry with 1.02 in the space of 5 minutes. Tipp heads are as low as lino now and as we approach the tea break , the Kerry Symphony Orchestra conducted by Bryan Sheehan are in full swing. They hadn't let us play a tune from play since Jimmy Feehan's goal in the first minute. Kerry are good but we were masters of our own downfall.

3 wides in 2 minutes at the start of the second half and the dream was well and truly over. We battle manfully till the end. Brian Kelly saves wonderfully from Michael Quinlivan before Robbie Kiely gives Kelly no chance for Tipp's second goal. The scoreboard reads 3.70 to 2.06. What is it this year with the GAA and scoreboard malfunctions?

Josh Keane gets a black card when it looked to me that it should have been a 2nd yellow for Sheehan. I'll have to view it again but a black card for the every willing Josh Keane was harsh. Alan Campbell receives a yellow card for a challenge on Barry John Keane. There should be no punishment for such an act.

The biggest groan of the day is when James O'Donoghue pops over a free with the last kick of the ball as Kerry supporters who have backed Kerry -10 and Tipp supporters who had back Tipp +10 realised their money is goosed.

A brave effort by Tipp but while not surprised by the result I was disappointed with the performance. Anyone who has watched the Tipp footballers over the past few years will know that we have some wonderful footballers in that group. But yesterday, as in the past, our decision making lets us down when we play the top teams. There is only one way to improve that and that's to play the top teams more often. Looking at the possible opponents for the next round, none of them carry weapons so we have nothing to fear.

We all have regrets in our lives. I always regret not going to college as I feel I would have been ideally suited to the social aspect of college life. There are many more that I won't bore you with but I'll never regret my decision to follow the Tipperary Footballers. Some of the best days I've enjoyed has been following the misfortunes and occasional fortunes of various Tipperary Football teams. Days like yesterday just makes me think, they will need my support more now than ever before.

Tipperary Football is not ready to cut its pony tail just yet!!
Bigjohn rocks!
Post by: giveballaghback on July 30, 2016, 09:11:52 PM
Big John, a brilliant post that says it all.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 04:23:01 PM
Tipp putting runners into space through the centre of the Galway defence but none of them have the balls to shoot.
Always looking to handpass it into one of the FF line when they should just slot it over themselves.
Post by: thejuice on July 31, 2016, 04:27:16 PM
Decent game so far. Tipp looking good but if they had a bit more composure they'd be looking comfortable.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 04:29:16 PM
Who is the clown screaming, "Wide ball!"?
Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2016, 04:31:40 PM
Galway not at the races today.
Post by: Rudi on July 31, 2016, 04:32:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 04:29:16 PM
Who is the clown screaming, "Wide ball!"?

Galway corner back, he wishes. Looks like two useless teams beat us easily this year. Brolly was wrong calling us useless, by very definition we are worse than useless.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 31, 2016, 04:33:14 PM
Height advantage of the Tipp full forward line a big factor here. Galway full-back line is quite small.
Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 04:37:00 PM
Good man Comer
Must be annoying  for Tipp after such a good half
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 31, 2016, 04:37:51 PM
Tipp about 8 points the better team in that 1st half. Galway who looked so good in defence v Roscommon,Mayo are woeful today and are getting cleaned out in midfield. Comer goal against the run of play could be a turning point
Post by: highorlow on July 31, 2016, 04:40:29 PM
Never heard such biased commentary from dara and Martin, it's as if the media need Galway to play beautiful football.

p.s 2 x tipp points were bordering on fouls. One was an inadvertent throw while attempting a hop and quinlivan also threw the ball to himself, he knew he got away with it from his body language.
Post by: maigheo on July 31, 2016, 04:42:17 PM
Tipp are  the much better team but Comers goal could be a turning point as Tipp have expended a lot of energy and are only 3 points clear.Expect Tipps energy levels to fall away somewhat and Galway to push on in the second half
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 31, 2016, 04:42:25 PM
No intensity from Galway today. Tackling has been putrid. Tipp lads just charging through 2 or 3 attempted tackles. Very flat so far. Walsh has a job at half time to get them to wake up.
Post by: yellowcard on July 31, 2016, 04:43:58 PM
Galway have been very disappointing, still think they will win this game but credit to Tipp they have showed them no respect in that first half.
Post by: cuconnacht on July 31, 2016, 04:51:44 PM
tto all lads lassies on the eastern seaboard atlantic im getting a good stream of this game via ww.vipbox.nu/sports/rugby.html.good game so far
Post by: SouthDublinBro on July 31, 2016, 04:56:38 PM
In fairness most of the dismissing before the Mayo match was from Kevin Walsh.

Why are you trying to downplay James Horan's idiotic pre-match comments?

"You almost get the sense that everyone in Galway thinks if they can get out of Castlebar with under a 10-point beating or a six-point beating that they'll be happy enough. To me, Mayo/Galway has definitely lost that bit of competitiveness."

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/gap-between-connacht-rivals-increasing-james-horan-34809138.html
Post by: screenexile on July 31, 2016, 05:03:26 PM
Quality performance here from Tipperary they're playing great stuff here!
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 05:07:25 PM
Wow.
This could be a hammering.
Post by: Main Street on July 31, 2016, 05:08:37 PM
This is a hammering.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 05:08:49 PM
Imagine if Tipp had O'Riordan and O'Brien available to them this year.
Post by: bennydorano on July 31, 2016, 05:10:03 PM
Galway remind me of Armagh, playing a system they don't fully know how to & clearly don't like.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2016, 05:11:12 PM
Galway have the same problem Derry had, too open at the back on the classy 2 man tipp full forward line, They missed about 4 pts in a  row in between a lucky goal, galway should be well gone but Tipp kicking alot of wides. Sorta says where mayo are really at at the minute.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2016, 05:11:52 PM
Are they sure Tommy Carr a tipp man, giving his county no credit at all, i take that is still him on commentary!!
Post by: Zulu on July 31, 2016, 05:14:11 PM
That's not Tommy, it's Martin 'very much so' Carney who is a complete woman when it comes to physical football. To suggest that's a red is utterly daft.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 05:14:18 PM
If you don't know what Tom Carr sounds like at this stage...
Post by: thejuice on July 31, 2016, 05:14:52 PM
Galway poor all over in the second half. No physical presence and no pressure on the Tipp lads running through. Leaders absent

Tipp lad lucky to be on field. As much as I like a hard shoulder that was as wrong as you can do it.
Post by: yellowcard on July 31, 2016, 05:15:58 PM
This will be the biggest shock since Wexford got to a semi final about 7/8 years ago.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 31, 2016, 05:16:58 PM
Galway must think they have to do a seafoid on it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 31, 2016, 05:17:47 PM
Tipp for the double
Post by: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 05:18:58 PM
That Galway team beat Mayo???
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2016, 05:19:44 PM
Ref lose his whistle there, doesn't matter how far a team ahead there, that a foul there for tipp
Post by: Aughafad on July 31, 2016, 05:20:14 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 31, 2016, 05:15:58 PM
This will be the biggest shock since Wexford got to a semi final about 7/8 years ago.
And whom did wexford run into in the semi final? only Tyrone who hammered them out the gate.
Post by: general_lee on July 31, 2016, 05:21:09 PM
Galway are utterly awful. And to think Tipp only had 300 odd fans show up for them to beat Derry
Post by: yellowcard on July 31, 2016, 05:21:41 PM
Quote from: Aughafad on July 31, 2016, 05:20:14 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 31, 2016, 05:15:58 PM
And whom did wexford run into in the semi final? only Tyrone who hammered them out the gate.

Could well be a case of deja vu. The form of the Connacht championship looks totally inept.
Post by: Rudi on July 31, 2016, 05:21:52 PM
Tipp very impressive should have had 8 goals by now. Fair play to Liam Kearns, could we have him back?
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 05:22:27 PM
Told ye. Apologies welcome.
Post by: dublin7 on July 31, 2016, 05:23:28 PM
Galway's defence is being destroyed but Walsh keeps taking off forwards. FB line is a joke
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 31, 2016, 05:23:53 PM
Jezuz, that's woeful from Galway. Seafoid - you've much bigger fish to fry than our feckin' 80s team!
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 05:24:17 PM
For the next day, Tipp would want to calm down a bit in front of goal.
Success in championship football is more often about keeping the scoreboard ticking over than it is about scoring a rake of goals.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2016, 05:26:12 PM
Wheres Galways sweeper system, don't seem to have one, that's the same problem Derry ah, played too loose at the Back. Tyrone Mayo game will take an extra bite now as they both fancy it against Tipp, especially Tyrone who play with 2 sweeperS all the time.
Post by: Zulu on July 31, 2016, 05:28:06 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 05:22:27 PM

I think every poster here knew you'd do this. Hide away after being shown up and then wait for Galway to have a bad day to claim you were right all along.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 05:29:16 PM

How feckin bad are Roscommon though?? The two teams who beat them hammered out the gate today!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 31, 2016, 05:29:20 PM
Absolute shambles of a performance from Galway. That one will give Kevin Walsh some sleepless nights over the long winter months. Just a complete systems failure on the day. Energy, workrate and application just wasn't there for whatever reason. I doubt he even knows why.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 05:30:12 PM
Too many fancy dans on that Galway team.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2016, 05:30:52 PM
Galway actually are not playing with any system, Tipp No,12 playing sweeper
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 31, 2016, 05:31:30 PM
Shambolic would be criminally understating it, from a Galway perspective.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 31, 2016, 05:32:28 PM
Ha! And you feckers whinge about the standard of Leinster, this is the Connacht champions getting their holes opened by a division 3 team.

Outstanding display from Tipp imagine what they would do if only they had all those natural forwards Galway have...
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 05:33:18 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 31, 2016, 05:28:06 PM

I think every poster here knew you'd do this. Hide away after being shown up and then wait for Galway to have a bad day to claim you were right all along.

I've been posting all along. You seem a bit upset though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 31, 2016, 05:37:35 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 05:29:16 PM

How feckin bad are Roscommon though?? The two teams who beat them hammered out the gate today!
Shh. The Galacticos are above criticism.
Post by: Zulu on July 31, 2016, 05:38:58 PM
Nonsense. I'm not upset at all but a bit of humility from you wouldn't go astray. Unlike you, I actually questioned Galway's credentials before today's game. You gave them no credit before the Roscommon game and when they hammered your lads you never came on here to say you got it wrong. Are Roscommon and their management as useless as results suggest?
Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 05:42:26 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 31, 2016, 05:23:53 PM
Jezuz, that's woeful from Galway. Seafoid - you've much bigger fish to fry than our feckin' 80s team!
Very disappointing. Beaten all over the pitch. Tipp were very impressive.
Post by: screenexile on July 31, 2016, 05:45:19 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 31, 2016, 05:37:35 PM

Shh. The Galacticos are above criticism.

"Colossally Awful"
Post by: maigheo on July 31, 2016, 05:48:33 PM
Thrilled for Tipp who went out to win the game and did not let the Galway goal against the run of play faze them one bit.
Post by: Kurtz on July 31, 2016, 05:49:55 PM

Rossie problem is they still fear Galway and Mayo so they cant even win connacht

Galway are average and Mayo have seen their best days but Ros will still lose to them as sure as day follows night
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 31, 2016, 05:50:13 PM
Tipp outstanding and probably should have won by much more. Total system breakdown for Galway their full back line and goalkeeper shown up to be very average players without that system. Back to the drawing board for Kevin Walsh and doubtful if he will be given a 3rd year to turn things around.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 31, 2016, 05:51:16 PM
Difficult day for Galway. Hard on their young lads as they only have to win a game in championship before the media start drooling about "Galway style" and comparing them to a team who won an All Ireland fifty years ago. The full back line was there for the taking all year.
Well done Tipp.
Post by: Kurtz on July 31, 2016, 05:51:37 PM
Time to create a single Connacht team  ;D
Post by: skeog on July 31, 2016, 05:52:11 PM
Tipp a breath of fresh air.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 31, 2016, 05:52:57 PM
Should start with a Leinster team.
Post by: Mclf on July 31, 2016, 05:54:57 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 31, 2016, 05:33:18 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 31, 2016, 05:28:06 PM

I've been posting all along. You seem a bit upset though.

Coward is back I see, a broken clock is even always right eventually, tell us about the great dreamteam of McFod and the mighty galacticos after what happened Clare and Galway today? What's that I hear? Oh it's Syferus running off like a coward again
Post by: yellowcard on July 31, 2016, 05:59:15 PM
Great to see a county like Tipp getting to the last 4 and they have beaten Cork, Derry and Galway en route none of whom are complete mugs. That said Micky Harte will have a wry smile this evening, the path to an AI final just became a very smooth one.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2016, 06:05:24 PM
Galways horrible record in Croker continues.
Post by: Mclf on July 31, 2016, 06:07:32 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 31, 2016, 06:05:24 PM
Galways horrible record in Croker continues.

Roscommon been shown up as a shockingly poor football team continues also
Post by: thebuzz on July 31, 2016, 06:07:49 PM
Absolutely delighted for Tipp even though they buggered up my accumulator :) I was getting abuse at work last week about Derry getting beat by a hurling county but they were brilliant today. If they break even at midfield against either Mayo or Tyrone they will give them plenty of trouble no matter what sweepers are deployed.
Post by: never kickt a ball on July 31, 2016, 06:08:22 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 31, 2016, 05:59:15 PM
Great to see a county like Tipp getting to the last 4 and they have beaten Cork, Derry and Galway en route none of whom are complete mugs. That said Micky Harte will have a wry smile this evening, the path to an AI final just became a very smooth one.

Aye just like 2004 when Mayo beat them.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 31, 2016, 06:18:48 PM
Quote from: never kickt a ball on July 31, 2016, 06:08:22 PM

Aye just like 2004 when Mayo beat them.

Anyone with any knowledge looking at 2004 will understand the reasons!
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2016, 06:24:23 PM

In fairness, Mickey would not have cared less who won today! Tyrone would have held no fear of either.
Post by: galwayman on July 31, 2016, 06:25:54 PM
Well done Tipp.
Beaten all over the pitch.
Could have been a 20 point beating.
Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 06:26:21 PM
It is a fantastic result for Tipp. Quinlivan must be assured of an All Star.

From a Galway perspective if I had been told they would win Connacht at the start of the year I would have taken it.
At least they are going in the right direction. The team is fairly young and if they learn from this they might do something.   
The football is going to be fairly open for the next few years .

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 31, 2016, 06:30:07 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 06:26:21 PM
From a Galway perspective if I had been told they would win Connacht at the start of the year I would have taken it.

I think any Galway fan would have but the nature of the disastrous performance today is going to leave an awful bitter taste in the mouth all winter long. I mean Galway aren't nearly as bad as they looked today but a Connacht title doesn't mean much now. It's almost back to square one again.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on July 31, 2016, 06:43:34 PM
Tipp outstanding but any number of counties would have beaten Galway today, total collapse in every line of the pitch. Fair play to Tipp and best of luck to them in the semi-final, a fantastic achievement.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2016, 06:53:51 PM

At least they are going in the right direction. The team is fairly young and if they learn from this they might do something.   

It might be open as to who reaches Quarter finals and the odd semi-final. But for the foreseeable future Dublin will be top Dogs followed by 3-5 other decent sides, with the rest just making up the numbers.
Post by: INDIANA on July 31, 2016, 07:01:21 PM

There is nothing going in the right direction. That was an absolute disaster for Galway football today. Hockeyed off the park.

Post by: Blowitupref on July 31, 2016, 07:12:19 PM
Tipp could smell blood early in that game and went for the kill, in truth they should have won that contest in the first half and the 9 point winning margin should and could have been 18 points. A total system malfunction for Galway today and they had no plan B once things went badly wrong. The worse I have seen a Connacht champion perform in the All Ireland series since Mayo in 1993 but enough about Galway and their soul searching ahead today was all about Tipp and considering the top players they have been missing Liam Kearns has done a remarkable job with them.
Post by: Zulu on July 31, 2016, 07:15:24 PM
Congratulations to Tipp on a fantastic display and I hope they do themselves justice in the semi final. Congratulations to posters Tippabu and AZ were both there I'm sure. AZ is involved in the Tipp development squads so I'm sure he is on cloud 9 tonight. Great stuff and I hope Tipp supporters get behind the team for the semi final and beyond!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 31, 2016, 07:30:51 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 31, 2016, 07:12:19 PM
Tipp could smell blood early in that game and went for the kill, in truth they should have won that contest in the first half

In fairness in the first half, Cummins blasted over the bar when one on one with the keeper and O'Donnell dropped the ball just as he was about to shoot into an open goal so I thought the margin at the break was about right. The first 15/20 minutes of the 2nd half though is when the game really went away from us. Tipp got 2 goals and it could have been double that. Thought we would come out improved after a half-time bollocking but if anything our performance level dropped even further.  Lost our shape completely. Just a complete systems failure.
Post by: INDIANA on July 31, 2016, 07:43:51 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 31, 2016, 07:30:51 PM
Tipp could smell blood early in that game and went for the kill, in truth they should have won that contest in the first half

In fairness in the first half, Cummins blasted over the bar when one on one with the keeper and O'Donnell dropped the ball just as he was about to shoot into an open goal so I thought the margin at the break was about right. The first 15/20 minutes of the 2nd half though is when the game really went away from us. Tipp got 2 goals and it could have been double that. Thought we would come out improved after a half-time bollocking but if anything our performance level dropped even further.  Lost our shape completely. Just a complete systems failure.

A complete backbone failure too I'm afraid. When the heat came on some lads just melted.

Once a horse refuses a fence once that capacity is always there I'm afraid. It wasn't a case of some trying their damnedness and thing just didn't come off which can happen to any team or player. Some Galway players just gave up. You won't win anything at AI level with a team like that.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 31, 2016, 07:54:46 PM

I doubt few would agree with you there. As I said at half time Tipp were 8 points the better team in that 1st half. Take away the Galway goal totally against the run of play and all Galway managed today was 0-5 in each half.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 31, 2016, 08:02:43 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 31, 2016, 07:54:46 PM

I doubt few would agree with you there. As I said at half time Tipp were 8 points the better team in that 1st half. Take away the Galway goal totally against the run of play and all Galway managed today was 0-5 in each half.

Well you can't count missed chances for one side and not the other. Tipp had wides but Galway should have had 2 goals. Not that it made a difference overall.
Post by: Hound on July 31, 2016, 08:08:49 PM
Tipp were very good, yet could have been a lot better.

Hardest hitters in the championship so far too, which I think played a part in the way Galway folded (Comer, notable exception, although not as fit as he might be).

Still, think Tyrone or Mayo will win the semi, although both would have much preferred Galway.

Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 08:11:58 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 31, 2016, 07:43:51 PM

A complete backbone failure too I'm afraid. When the heat came on some lads just melted.

Once a horse refuses a fence once that capacity is always there I'm afraid. It wasn't a case of some trying their damnedness and thing just didn't come off which can happen to any team or player. Some Galway players just gave up. You won't win anything at AI level with a team like that.

Every team can have a bad day at the office
http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2008/0816/236567-caffreyp/
It is all about what happens afterwards
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 31, 2016, 08:14:11 PM
Congrats to Tipp on a great performance and a thoroughly deserving victory.  Connacht title seems very hollow right now - total meltdown in the end - a lot of soul searching for some people the next few months.
Post by: Hound on July 31, 2016, 08:18:48 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 08:11:58 PM

That's right. Getting hammered by the All Ireland champions elect is the same as getting hammered by Tipp!

Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 08:36:02 PM
Quote from: Hound on July 31, 2016, 08:18:48 PM

That's right. Getting hammered by the All Ireland champions elect is the same as getting hammered by Tipp!
You feel better after getting a 12 point trimming from the eventual winners?
Didn't the Dubs go 3 years in a row losing to the eventual winners in 92 to 94? That must have felt great
Post by: INDIANA on July 31, 2016, 08:38:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 08:36:02 PM

Didn't the Dubs go 3 years in a row losing to the eventual winners in 92 to 94? That must have felt great

You'll have noted the losing margins in all 3 games from 92-94.

And then you have today's collapse that was like Dublin's capitulation in 2009.

You'll note what Gilroy did in 2010- he gutted the team and found men.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 31, 2016, 08:55:13 PM
Loads of folks seemed to buy the hype about Galway

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27180.msg1608374#msg1608374

QuoteThe teams Galway have beaten this year are Roscommon at the 2nd attempt, Mayo (who were abject) by a single score, Laois who were relegated and Derry who avoided relegation on scoring difference. 4 wins out of 10 games. I saw the pictures of them celebrating winning Connacht and I thought they looked very much like a team who were thinking they were going into bonus territory.

4 wins out of 11 after today.
No team with proper ambition gives a toss about a provincial title.
Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 09:00:30 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 31, 2016, 08:38:14 PM

Maybe Galway can do the same,Indy !

A loss can be a good thing if you learn from it.
That early 90s team was a diol trua
Post by: INDIANA on July 31, 2016, 09:16:21 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 09:00:30 PM

I was pretty shocked by it I had hopes for that Galway team but they are too prone to just giving up. You go out on your shield even if you're losing.

The issue was they could conceivably have lost by 20 points to a team that largely plied it's trade in Div 3 this year.

A great day for Tipperary though and a lovely style to watch too.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 31, 2016, 09:22:45 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 31, 2016, 08:02:43 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 31, 2016, 07:54:46 PM

Well you can't count missed chances for one side and not the other. Tipp had wides but Galway should have had 2 goals. Not that it made a difference overall.
Wasn't counting missed chances I was counting how one team dominated the other in every line and deserved more than a 3 point half time lead. Big reason for that was Walsh got schooled on the line by Kearns.
Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 09:23:42 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 31, 2016, 09:16:21 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 09:00:30 PM

I was pretty shocked by it I had hopes for that Galway team but they are too prone to just giving up. You go out on your shield even if you're losing.

The issue was they could conceivably have lost by 20 points to a team that largely plied it's trade in Div 3 this year.

A great day for Tipperary though and a lovely style to watch too.
Super day for Tipp and you couldn't begrudge it to them. I don't know what happened. I thought they would respond at some stage but it didn't happen. They lost the mental battle early in the second half.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 31, 2016, 09:30:29 PM
These things come in cycles. Every now and again a great Galway team comes along and does the business. The Galway fans know when this team are great and when to get behind them.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 31, 2016, 09:40:28 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 31, 2016, 09:30:29 PM
These things come in cycles. Every now and again a great Galway team comes along and does the business. The Galway fans know when this team are great and when to get behind them.
Bollox

Galway fans turn up for finals
Post by: mouview on July 31, 2016, 10:14:38 PM

They're not Seaf. All my early-season pessimism is back in abundance - they really, really are a bad team, most particularly in defence. For all the talk about systems, sweepers, unsuitable football style etc., the simple fact remains that you can do nothing with poor quality players, of which we have too many. The hiding that the FB line got had been warned about and was coming in the c'ship, just don't know how we escaped Connacht without getting it. Did any defender even break even with their immediate opponent?

I don't know if KW will continue for another year, I think he will, but he might as well tear up the script and start from scratch again. It's not his fault that the quality of player at his disposal is dreadful, the wretched state (and structure) of the club scene is a large contributor to this. However he's always been far too slow to make changes when games turn against him; he should have done something at HT today instead of waiting until 10 mins of the second half when the game was practically gone.

Finally, great congrats to Tipp. They showed scant regard to any supposed 'reputation' Galway had and played with great assurance and style. What would they be like with a full complement of available players? Let's hope their hurlers are as compliant as our footballers were in 2 weeks time!
Post by: T Fearon on July 31, 2016, 10:17:52 PM
Performance of the year from Tipp.Not turgid like Tyrone or Donegal but determined to have a real go,which paid huge dividends.A rare shining light in what has been a terrible championship to date
Post by: The Trap on July 31, 2016, 10:25:59 PM
Tony......how much do you think Tyrone or Mayo will win the semi final by? Will that be exciting for you?
Post by: seafoid on July 31, 2016, 10:37:35 PM
Look who was at the match at 14:20. a living legend

http://www.rte.ie/player/ch/show/nine-news-30003250/10604592/
Post by: Duine Eile on July 31, 2016, 10:47:07 PM
Well that was horrendous from start to finish. An absolute shambles, they weren't let play their system and our lads were clueless without it. I was nervous going into this, there was far too much talk of possible semi final opponents all week. After all the complaints of disrespect and writing off our chances before the Mayo game what happened, we did the same thing to Tipperary! Ultimately this was a complete systems failure by players and management. The work rate was gone, lads standing up when the ball didn't land in their laps, they were way off the pace in that game. We were getting beaten in the full back line all day, 3 small backs on 3 big tall bucks and no cover provided, no plan in place for dealing with them at all and what did the management do? Start taking off forwards! Unbelievable! Gary O'Donnell following his man up to his own forward line left Declan Kyne wide open on numerous occasions. Bernard Power made a few great saves, just a pity the rest of his team didn't show the same guts he did. Our complete lack of options off the bench didn't help matters either. At the start of the year if we were told we'd win Connacht and get to a quarter final I'm sure we'd be happy enough but the way they played today was just a let down. Well done to Tipperary, they played the game the way they wanted to and made Galway play it on their terms, fully deserved their win.
Post by: T Fearon on July 31, 2016, 10:55:19 PM
It would be indeed poetic justice if Tipp were to meet and beat Tyrone in the semi final,and avenge the travesty that was last year's U21 Final when Tyrone employed every underhand trick known to man to gain a hollow victory
Post by: omagh_gael on July 31, 2016, 11:31:11 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 31, 2016, 10:55:19 PM
It would be indeed poetic justice if Tipp were to meet and beat Tyrone in the semi final,and avenge the travesty that was last year's U21 Final when Tyrone employed every underhand trick known to man to gain a hollow victory

Keep 'er lit, T.
Post by: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 11:57:36 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 31, 2016, 10:14:38 PM

They're not Seaf. All my early-season pessimism is back in abundance - they really, really are a bad team, most particularly in defence. For all the talk about systems, sweepers, unsuitable football style etc., the simple fact remains that you can do nothing with poor quality players, of which we have too many. The hiding that the FB line got had been warned about and was coming in the c'ship, just don't know how we escaped Connacht without getting it. Did any defender even break even with their immediate opponent?

I don't know if KW will continue for another year, I think he will, but he might as well tear up the script and start from scratch again. It's not his fault that the quality of player at his disposal is dreadful, the wretched state (and structure) of the club scene is a large contributor to this. However he's always been far too slow to make changes when games turn against him; he should have done something at HT today instead of waiting until 10 mins of the second half when the game was practically gone.

Finally, great congrats to Tipp. They showed scant regard to any supposed 'reputation' Galway had and played with great assurance and style. What would they be like with a full complement of available players? Let's hope their hurlers are as compliant as our footballers were in 2 weeks time!

Anthony Cunningham is the man for the job.
Post by: mouview on August 01, 2016, 01:51:13 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 31, 2016, 11:57:36 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 31, 2016, 10:14:38 PM

Anthony Cunningham is the man for the job.

Limerick, I hear. Be like Cyril Farrell going to Wexford so many years ago.
Post by: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2016, 02:15:31 AM
This Tipperary senior run reminds me of their run in 2011 at minor level. Back then they were congratulated by all for doing so well however at the same time they written off the further they went. Played Dublin in the All Ireland final and weren't given a hope, could history repeat itself now at senior level?

Stranger things have happened and 2016 has been the year of team sport shocks.
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2016, 09:14:37 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2016, 02:15:31 AM
This Tipperary senior run reminds me of their run in 2011 at minor level. Back then they were congratulated by all for doing so well however at the same time they written off the further they went. Played Dublin in the All Ireland final and weren't given a hope, could history repeat itself now at senior level?

I can only think of Portugal (a sorta shock) and Leicester as the shocks of the year! what were the others?
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2016, 09:31:46 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2016, 09:14:37 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 01, 2016, 02:15:31 AM

I can only think of Portugal (a sorta shock) and Leicester as the shocks of the year! what were the others?

Connacht in the Pro 12
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2016, 09:34:33 AM
Liam Kearns in the IT

"Galway were playing a system and we felt if we broke it down they would have to come out to us. They did. Once they did we figured we would get more chances."

It doesn't look like the Galway management did any interviews

It's a great boost for Tipp football people like Effin Eddie and Peter Lambert who were there in the days when nothing happened. 
Post by: From the Bunker on August 01, 2016, 09:48:04 AM
Tipperary are 28/1 for to win the AI!

Has there ever been a semi-finalist priced so high. Leitrim in 1994?
Post by: The Trap on August 01, 2016, 10:03:48 AM
Tony, IF (big IF) Tyrone do play Tipp, it is not revenge for the under 21 final they would need to think about but the 12 point hammering they got in Thurles last year when they had all their "missing" men playing. I like the fact that Tipp won yesterday as much as the next man and it ranks beside Fermanagh and Wexford reaching the semi in recent years. However one semi final will be very lobsided and add to the woes of this years championship. The whole year of gaelic games comes down to this Saturday, a possible Dublin v Kerry semi final and the All Ireland final.
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2016, 10:27:35 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2016, 09:48:04 AM

Down in 91 would have been a fairly decent price
Post by: seafoid on August 01, 2016, 11:15:43 AM
Respect comes slowly. Not even after putting Cork away did Kearns feel it was given.
"How could Cork lose? They have so much talent. To lose to Tipperary is a disgrace. We got no credit at all for that game. Bit more for the Derry win but we were boxed off as the romance, ourselves and Clare. But as I said to the lads, 'The script here is we are to drift away after today and be happy for our day in the sun but we are not going to read the script'."
Post by: ballinaman on August 01, 2016, 08:38:02 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 29, 2016, 11:44:27 AM

Was standing out in games for me but when you analyse his positioning when the team is pushed up he plays too far in front of his man. He will be caught out by a team who can accurately kick pass over the top.
Good shout Croi, roasted.
Post by: sligoman2 on August 01, 2016, 08:52:46 PM
Thank you Tipp and Galway for reminding me that Gaelic Football can be an enjoyable game to watch.  Probably the most enjoyable and open game this year - It would be great if other teams took a page out of Tipps book and just played football instead of the blanket garbage....
Post by: ck on August 01, 2016, 08:56:10 PM
I'm surprised that people are surprised that Tipp are where they are. A. They have not beaten anyone worth talking about and B. They have a team with lads who have played in an u21 final and have minor all Ireland medels. So there's no questioning their quality. Now if they win the next day we can do the whole elation thing.
Post by: Cunny Funt on August 01, 2016, 09:32:20 PM
Quote from: ck on August 01, 2016, 08:56:10 PM
I'm surprised that people are surprised that Tipp are where they are. A. They have not beaten anyone worth talking about and B. They have a team with lads who have played in an u21 final and have minor all Ireland medels. So there's no questioning their quality. Now if they win the next day we can do the whole elation thing.
You do realise the Cork,Galway teams they beat had won as much if not more at underage level as Tipperary had?
Post by: tippabu on August 01, 2016, 09:56:55 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on August 01, 2016, 08:52:46 PM
Thank you Tipp and Galway for reminding me that Gaelic Football can be an enjoyable game to watch.  Probably the most enjoyable and open game this year - It would be great if other teams took a page out of Tipps book and just played football instead of the blanket garbage....

The derry match would probably go down as a better match in terms of eveness and drama......this isnt me getting carried away but we completely blew galway away yesterday. It was the type of performance dublin give while brushing teams aside only we werent anywhere near as clinical and didnt have our shooting boots on, without exaggerating we could really have scored 6-20+.......im obviously not stupid enough to be comparing ourselves to dublin in terms of quality and it was as much down to galway but we were brilliant yesterday from 1 to 15. Our kickouts were absolutely spot on, thats something thats really had to been worked on all this year, evan always has had a big boot but the accuracy yesterday was pin point apart from maybe one kickout. Mayo or tyrone wont allow us the same time on the ball (over 60% possession) and we certainly wont run through them at will like we did to galway, confidence is sky high at the minute, it will be very interesting to see if we can raise our game against a team who bring a much higher level of intensity
Post by: Walter Cronc on August 01, 2016, 10:31:04 PM
Will Tipp take big support to the semi final? Are there many dual clubs in the county or is a them and  us attitude between the footballers and hurling?
Post by: Mclf on August 01, 2016, 10:33:34 PM
Quote from: tippabu on August 01, 2016, 09:56:55 PM

The derry match would probably go down as a better match in terms of eveness and drama......this isnt me getting carried away but we completely blew galway away yesterday. It was the type of performance dublin give while brushing teams aside only we werent anywhere near as clinical and didnt have our shooting boots on, without exaggerating we could really have scored 6-20+.......im obviously not stupid enough to be comparing ourselves to dublin in terms of quality and it was as much down to galway but we were brilliant yesterday from 1 to 15. Our kickouts were absolutely spot on, thats something thats really had to been worked on all this year, evan always has had a big boot but the accuracy yesterday was pin point apart from maybe one kickout. Mayo or tyrone wont allow us the same time on the ball (over 60% possession) and we certainly wont run through them at will like we did to galway, confidence is sky high at the minute, it will be very interesting to see if we can raise our game against a team who bring a much higher level of intensity

Cracking result for ye yesterday Tippabu, was delighted for ye, congrats.
Post by: sligoman2 on August 02, 2016, 02:27:37 AM

Agree the Derry game had more eveness and had a dramatic finish, but it was great to see 2 teams playing open football (especially Tipp) and not witnessing 14 defenders every time the opposition got the ball.  Very disappointing performance from Galway but they ran into a in form Tipp team that really had them on the ropes from an early stage.  Good luck in the semi-final, I think everyone in the country (except for Mayo or Tyrone) will be rooting for ye in the semi-final.  I'm certainly not looking forward to meeting ye in Div 3 next year....
Post by: Main Street on August 02, 2016, 03:36:37 AM
Considering  the prize on Sunday was the AI semi final ,  i wouldn't give a damn about which game  v Derry or v Galway  hit the the quality  or entertainment values.
The difference between reaching the 1/4 final and 1/2 final is huge. Beating Derry in an exciting  close game is  small fry compared to trouncing   Galway to get into the AI semi final.
Post by: imtommygunn on August 02, 2016, 08:35:15 AM

Keepers are one of the most important aspects of the modern game these days. Counties should almost play the most accurate kicker in the county as opposed to best shot stopper etc.

It will be really interesting to see how Tipp do now. They really blew Galway away from 1-15 and have what a lot of counties don't - several scoring forwards. The semi final might be a stretch but you never know. Cork rattled Donegal, Donegal could have beat Tyrone and Tipp beat Cork so on formlines maybe you could read something into that though might be a stretch!(Although Mayo could be there too ! I actually think they might sneak it...) If they go out and express themselves who knows what could happen. On a defensive level I thought they were very impressive. I thought Fox was almost deserving of Motm too.

Post by: five points on August 02, 2016, 09:51:08 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 01, 2016, 10:27:35 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 01, 2016, 09:48:04 AM

Down in 91 would have been a fairly decent price

Not at All Ireland semi-final stage. They were widely tipped to beat a weak Kerry team in that semi-final, for starters.
Post by: highorlow on August 02, 2016, 12:38:35 PM
Kevin Walsh should be sacked after that game.

If the apparent tactic was to catch Tipp on the break with swift counter attacks into the Galway marquee forwards then the 1st rule is to defend in numbers.

They simply let Tipp dalley and dance around the 45 with the ball without any pressure placed on Tipp into gaining turnovers. Walsh then just looks on and does nothing apart from subbing a few forwards? Brain dead shit really. Also playing a goalie that's not a club goalie, what is that about?
Post by: Duine Eile on August 02, 2016, 12:54:44 PM
Quote from: highorlow on August 02, 2016, 12:38:35 PM
Kevin Walsh should be sacked after that game.

If the apparent tactic was to catch Tipp on the break with swift counter attacks into the Galway marquee forwards then the 1st rule is to defend in numbers.

They simply let Tipp dalley and dance around the 45 with the ball without any pressure placed on Tipp into gaining turnovers. Walsh then just looks on and does nothing apart from subbing a few forwards? Brain dead shit really. Also playing a goalie that's not a club goalie, what is that about?

That was the least of our problems last Sunday! Power was goalie for the Galway Juniors this year so that's where he was spotted so he didn't come from nowhere exactly and he wasn't our worst player by a long shot. Kevin seems unable to make changes in a game that's going against his team, Gary O'Donnell spent most of his day in his own forward line following his man which left a huge hole in the defence, you could argue a player of his experience should have known better, which he should but why wasn't he told? Our lack of quality on the bench really cost us as well, Tom Flynn wasn't at the races at all and we had nobody to bring in, someone like Michael Daly or Ronan Steede could have made a difference there. I can't see too many calling for Kevin's head to be honest but he certainly has questions to answer, none more so than why is it that so many players won't join his panel.
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 03, 2016, 01:17:52 PM
Well done Tipp but from a Galway point of view it was a shambles. I haven't seen any highlights or read any reports on the game so not sure what the media have made of it.

Galway took Tipp too lightly and simply didn't look up for it, for as bad as Galway were with the ball they were a hundred times worse without it. I don't know what happened to the Galway who looked organised and defended well in the previous 3 games.

Its a shame it ended like this given at the beginning of the season I didn't think we had a chance of beating Mayo and winning a Connacht title so there are positives to take from the season. There isn't much quality on the bench so hopefully that is rectified over the winter and in next years league and perhaps those who went to the states for the summers will commit for next season.
Post by: twohands!!! on August 03, 2016, 05:42:40 PM
https://dontfoul.wordpress.com/2016/08/03/galway-v-tipperary-2016-ai-quarter-final/

Don't Foul's figures from the game
Post by: Blowitupref on August 03, 2016, 06:15:42 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on August 03, 2016, 05:42:40 PM
https://dontfoul.wordpress.com/2016/08/03/galway-v-tipperary-2016-ai-quarter-final/

Don't Foul's figures from the game

Galway were absolutely blitzed and the 1-01 they scored at the end of the half enabled the HT scoreboard to gloss over just how comprehensively outplayed they were in the first half.

I said more or less the same after the game. It's was a contest Tipp should have won by half time however going by those stats Tipp will have to improve their conversation rate against Tyrone or Mayo next.
Post by: DJGaliv on August 03, 2016, 09:52:36 PM
Well done to Tipp, far and away the better team on the day and fully deserved of their win. They could indeed have won by more.

With some time to contemplate the game and our season on a whole I feel that we aren't as bad as we showed against Tipp, and we're not as good as we looked against Roscommon. We are in the age of defensive structures and when they are as imperfect as ours or Roscommon's and find yourself chasing a game you will just get picked off. Time and again we were opened up. I wouldn't place all this blame on the shoulders of the full back line either. There was an ocean of space in front of Kyne with O'Donnell being dragged out.
Tipp did to us what we did to Roscommon.

I think we got a bit ahead of ourselves, players and supporters alike. We did very well to beat two teams playing football in division one. I think a lot of us thought we were back after our long hiatus, when in fact we are just on the way and remain quite fragile. Losing our league promotion decider to Cavan really was a sickener now, as playing against those teams consistently would help us learn from our mistakes. In saying that we were thrashed by a division three team.

The players and Walsh do deserve to be judged with a cool head. A young enough team with a lot of debutants were found out in Croke park. They'll learn from it, and hopefully we add a few players. My only criticisms would be the sideline didn't appear to have much of a plan B when we were getting roasted in midfield, and players you would expect to lead didn't show. Comer was the only one with a bit of fight about him.

Our kickout strategy had to be limited enough with Power's late inclusion in the panel, so perhaps we can get more from that. I was very impressed with the Tipps keepers kickouts. We had five lads who learned what senior intercounty championship football is for the first time and have won silverware. Having lads now like O'Donnell, Conroy and Bradshaw in their late 20s helps too with experience leading into next season, although it wasn't on show at the weekend.

One last thing with Tipp. Don't write them off in the semi finals just yet, their wins over Cork, Derry and Galway were no fluke.

Post by: Maroon Manc on August 19, 2016, 11:24:37 AM
I was very surprised to hear that Galway didn't stay in Dublin the night before a game, that is far from ideal preparation.
Post by: mouview on August 19, 2016, 02:44:18 PM
Galway teams mostly don't now anyway; just 2 hours up the motorway. Better to let the players relax in their own surroundings rather than lumping them into a hotel. Hurlers probably need a lower bus tho'!
Post by: Maroon Manc on August 19, 2016, 04:14:32 PM
Quote from: mouview on August 19, 2016, 02:44:18 PM
Galway teams mostly don't now anyway; just 2 hours up the motorway. Better to let the players relax in their own surroundings rather than lumping them into a hotel. Hurlers probably need a lower bus tho'!

Really? Considering the footballers record in HQ since 2001 I'd definitely be in favour of them changing their routine. Galway were flat and I'm certain the travelling played some sort of part in this.