GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tippabu on June 06, 2016, 08:10:57 AM

Title: Munster Championship
Post by: tippabu on June 06, 2016, 08:10:57 AM
I know this is early to be starting and should wait till the annual Kerry v Cork final but said id start it anyway.

Looking forward to our game against cork this sunday, we've shown no reason for optimism this year yet but still im expecting a performance out of us. Cork have had as equally a bad year to us to date and have had a long wait since their last game. Our game against waterford was a nothing game really as we didnt need to get out of second gear but we did get some valuable gametime to players who have been missing with long term injuries. This is the first time all year we will have our strongest 15 available to us (excluding footballers trying to hurl and couple of lads in america). Im not saying we will come out and win this game but with cork being as low as they are id be very disappointed if we just roll over and give them an facile win. Im still counting this year as 1 step back and hoping next year will be two step forwards when the squad gets that bit older and we get a few players back who we have been missing this year, having said that we are losing possibly our best player after this campaign who will be very hard to replace

On clare kerry i can only see kerry running our comfortable winners, they are well ahead of anything else in munster. Clare have had a brilliant year getting promotion and would like to see them go on a good run in the qualifiers
Title: Re: Munster Championship
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 07, 2016, 12:55:15 AM
Quote from: tippabu on June 06, 2016, 08:10:57 AM
I know this is early to be starting and should wait till the annual Kerry v Cork final but said id start it anyway.

Looking forward to our game against cork this sunday, we've shown no reason for optimism this year yet but still im expecting a performance out of us. Cork have had as equally a bad year to us to date and have had a long wait since their last game. Our game against waterford was a nothing game really as we didnt need to get out of second gear but we did get some valuable gametime to players who have been missing with long term injuries. This is the first time all year we will have our strongest 15 available to us (excluding footballers trying to hurl and couple of lads in america). Im not saying we will come out and win this game but with cork being as low as they are id be very disappointed if we just roll over and give them an facile win. Im still counting this year as 1 step back and hoping next year will be two step forwards when the squad gets that bit older and we get a few players back who we have been missing this year, having said that we are losing possibly our best player after this campaign who will be very hard to replace

On clare kerry i can only see kerry running our comfortable winners, they are well ahead of anything else in munster. Clare have had a brilliant year getting promotion and would like to see them go on a good run in the qualifiers

Fairplay Tipp, although you'll struggle to get to 2 pages here the effort is appreciated!

I know if, ands and buts are shag all good to anyone and you may not want to hear them, but it's an awful pity that Riordan, Kennedy, O'Brien, Casey and the other 2 U21s who headed off are unavailable. (Lonergan was one I think?) With those lads on board I think a Tipp victory on Sunday would be a real possibility. In their absence, Cork should win alright. What's the story with O'Brien? Not even on Tipp hurling panel seemingly? Seems an awful waste.

Kerry are only going so-so at the moment but Clare dipped a bit from the League form against Limerick and Brennan is not 100% apparently so Kerry should win and setup the predictable final on July 3rd.

I don't rate a lot of this Cork team and I certainly don't think the manager is anywhere near good enough, so without trying to hex us, I don't see anything other than Kerry winning the title again. It's pretty irrelevant for Fitzmaurice and most of the players though obviously.
Post by: Beffs on June 07, 2016, 01:40:31 AM
I agree. Another comfortable Munster title for Kerry. Even more so, as they'll make sure they aren't caught on the hop by Cork, like they were last year.

Disagree that the players and mgt think its irrelevant. As a stand alone medal, it's just one of many others, but a win means they avoid the other big guns until the semi finals, at least. A loss and its into the qualifiers. They won't want that.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 12, 2016, 03:55:59 PM
Are Tipp going to provide the first shock of the summer?
They're off to a good start anyway leading 1.05 to 0.03 against Cork. Early days of course as only 25 mins gone.
Post by: tippabu on June 12, 2016, 04:12:26 PM
2-7 to 6 ht.....much better team into the wind. Keeping it up and not having a strong bench could cost us but brilliant so far
Post by: tippabu on June 12, 2016, 04:14:27 PM
Missed a pen also first half
Post by: Fuzzman on June 12, 2016, 04:14:58 PM
Great stuff Tippabu. Hope ye win it.
Kerry beware.
Post by: Minder on June 12, 2016, 05:07:14 PM
Well done Tipp
Post by: AZOffaly on June 12, 2016, 05:12:40 PM
Bittersweet day. Sad to lose in Mullingar, but what a result in Thurles. That will make it a bit easier for football folk in Tipp after a tough year so far. Given the absences that is truly a brilliant win, and having nearly thrown it away they showed guts to get back in front.

I hoped to give Cork a right rattle. This counts :)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 12, 2016, 05:36:22 PM
So Cork Division 1 team beaten by division3 Tipp, think that the first game this year a higher ranked team come a cropper
Post by: seafoid on June 12, 2016, 05:38:42 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 12, 2016, 05:12:40 PM
Bittersweet day. Sad to lose in Mullingar, but what a result in Thurles. That will make it a bit easier for football folk in Tipp after a tough year so far. Given the absences that is truly a brilliant win, and having nearly thrown it away they showed guts to get back in front.

I hoped to give Cork a right rattle. This counts :)
Great result for Tipp football after the minor AIF loss last year.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 12, 2016, 06:08:12 PM
That was U21
Post by: tippabu on June 12, 2016, 06:14:57 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 12, 2016, 06:08:12 PM
That was U21

We lost minor too.

Thought today was ballyboden commercials all over again......still buzzing after that.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 12, 2016, 06:18:28 PM
Shit of course. How could I forget? Sure it was the cause of losing the hurling :)

Delighted for them lads.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 12, 2016, 06:31:24 PM
Great win for Tipp. Guarantees them to avoid kerry until the munster final in 2017 also I think??
Post by: twohands!!! on June 12, 2016, 06:37:40 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 12, 2016, 05:36:22 PM
So Cork Division 1 team beaten by division3 Tipp, think that the first game this year a higher ranked team come a cropper

Every team relegated in the league this year lost their first championship game.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 12, 2016, 06:42:29 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 12, 2016, 06:31:24 PM
Great win for Tipp. Guarantees them to avoid kerry until the munster final in 2017 also I think??

I think the rule is that teams who qualify for the Munster final get a bye into the next year's Munster final but it's an open draw at the semi-final stage so Tipp could possibly meet Kerry in next year's semi-final. Not 100% on this though.

Serious credit to Tipp, especially with the list of absentees but you have to wonder at what stage Croke Park are going to step into the disaster zone that Cork GAA has become at all levels.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 12, 2016, 07:16:56 PM
I think Cork have righted the ship. The Rebel Og coaching setup is very good. But they took it for granted for years so it's going to take a while.
Post by: twohands!!! on June 12, 2016, 08:26:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 12, 2016, 07:16:56 PM
I think Cork have righted the ship. The Rebel Og coaching setup is very good. But they took it for granted for years so it's going to take a while.

Don't agree with this - the new PuC has a one pitch Centre of Excellence - the still only have a handful of GPOs (I think the number is 5) which for a county with as many clubs as Cork is a woefully inadequate amount - have heard that the Rebel Og squads are harder to get dropped from than to get on.

With the shambles of PuC Cork Gaa are likely to be millions in debt for a good few years to come and slip further behind in both codes.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 12, 2016, 08:56:59 PM
I can only go on what I've seen myself with Tipp development squads, and the work they are doing with Rebel Og is way better now than even 4 years ago. Their u14 footballers have been together as a squad since November!
Post by: Beffs on June 12, 2016, 09:13:21 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on June 12, 2016, 06:42:29 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 12, 2016, 06:31:24 PM

I think the rule is that teams who qualify for the Munster final get a bye into the next year's Munster final but it's an open draw at the semi-final stage so Tipp could possibly meet Kerry in next year's semi-final. Not 100% on this though.

Serious credit to Tipp, especially with the list of absentees but you have to wonder at what stage Croke Park are going to step into the disaster zone that Cork GAA has become at all levels.

Croke Park are 100% complicit in the daft carry on of spending ridiculous amounts of money on the Pairc. It's hard to see them having the will or the stomach to take Frank Murphy, or his cronies on, any time soon. The man has a lot of very powerful friends, in high places. It part of what makes him such an evil genius.  ::)
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 12, 2016, 11:15:49 PM
Incredible result for Tipp when you consider all the top quality playess they were missing today. Another black day for Cork football which has been too many in the last 5 years.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 12, 2016, 11:23:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 12, 2016, 08:56:59 PM
I can only go on what I've seen myself with Tipp development squads, and the work they are doing with Rebel Og is way better now than even 4 years ago. Their u14 footballers have been together as a squad since November!

Is that really the way to go though - creating development squads at that age? Surely investing in underage coaching at club level would yield better long term results.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 13, 2016, 09:30:47 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 12, 2016, 11:23:26 PM

Is that really the way to go though - creating development squads at that age? Surely investing in underage coaching at club level would yield better long term results.

I think it's both. Development squads are excellent in my view, as long as they are not too serious and time consuming, and the focus is on development. Coaching structures in the clubs is the bedrock of everything of course, but most counties would struggle to increase their GDAs etc. I know in Tipperary we have 4 GDAs. One per division, and each of those is expected to promoted hurling and football. Development squads work for us because if we didn't have them, a lot of clubs in Tipperary just wouldn't bother with football, other than fulfilling the fixtures.

In Cork, it certainly appears from the outside that they are at least trying to correct their Rebel Óg setup, and it does seem to be yielding results so far. I can't speak for their club setup, but based on the Games DEvelopment grants they get every year, I don't think they can afford to employ much more than 5. It would be brilliant in Tipp and Cork to have 20+ GDAs, but who pays for them?
Post by: tippabu on June 13, 2016, 09:47:49 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 13, 2016, 09:30:47 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 12, 2016, 11:23:26 PM

I think it's both. Development squads are excellent in my view, as long as they are not too serious and time consuming, and the focus is on development. Coaching structures in the clubs is the bedrock of everything of course, but most counties would struggle to increase their GDAs etc. I know in Tipperary we have 4 GDAs. One per division, and each of those is expected to promoted hurling and football. Development squads work for us because if we didn't have them, a lot of clubs in Tipperary just wouldn't bother with football, other than fulfilling the fixtures.

In Cork, it certainly appears from the outside that they are at least trying to correct their Rebel Óg setup, and it does seem to be yielding results so far. I can't speak for their club setup, but based on the Games DEvelopment grants they get every year, I don't think they can afford to employ much more than 5. It would be brilliant in Tipp and Cork to have 20+ GDAs, but who pays for them?

jesus will ya stop giving away our secrets ;)......from what the lads were saying theres a massive difference between hurling and football training, at all levels.....the footballers are all a bunch of friends (still take it very serious mind) whereas hurling training theres hardly a smile broke, its like going into work.
Post by: seafoid on June 13, 2016, 10:30:58 AM
the big 3 hurling counties are interesting

KK have no meas on GF
Cork are floundering in both codes
Tipp are thriving in GF
Post by: twohands!!! on June 13, 2016, 01:47:12 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 13, 2016, 09:30:47 AM

There's a lot of serious money and business around Cork - it would surely be far easier for Cork to have 20+ GDAs than Tipp, if Cork sorted out the commercial side of things properly, were more "professional" than the circus vibe that seems to follow around the current county board.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 13, 2016, 01:49:54 PM
I can't comment on that, as I have no knowledge of the Cork Co Board or their club scene. I can only speak about what I've seen myself, and the changes they seem to have made since 2011ish.
Post by: tippabu on June 13, 2016, 07:27:06 PM
Hopefully tg4 will have decent highlights tonight, sunday games were pityfull last night
Post by: twohands!!! on June 13, 2016, 10:42:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 13, 2016, 01:49:54 PM
I can't comment on that, as I have no knowledge of the Cork Co Board or their club scene. I can only speak about what I've seen myself, and the changes they seem to have made since 2011ish.

I've no huge knowledge either but pretty much every Cork person I've talked to gives the impression that the county board is deeply disfunctional at best and an outright howling disaster zone at worst.

I did hear that one of the main movers behind the development squads gave up his paid job to run for an elected position because he felt so strongly about how badly things were being run from the top table.

The Cork clubs have done feck all in terms of Munster club competitions in either code at any level for a while now so I don't think the club scene is that healty

The big thing though is the cost of the stadium - seems to be an awful lot of bad rumours about the final price and how it's going to cripple Cork GAA for years to come.
Also I did hear that the football championship has no relegation for 4 years which is utter maddness.
Post by: moysider on June 14, 2016, 01:10:02 AM

That's not good. Who chooses who is elect at age of 13. Hmmm, I suspect there are hot house flowers, pushy parents and 'impressionable' coaches in there?
I ve seen this. Kids that don't get chosen and think they are as good (often they are) sulk and give the game up.
My club had numbers for 3 teams under 14 and are now scrabbling around for numbers to field one minor team. This elitist shite was a major factor. It stank of nepotism. The hothouse flowers wilted in time. There will be no Mayo minor panellist year from senior clubs like Knockmore or Ballina. It's not the full story but somebody judging kids at 13 years of age is not a good thing.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 14, 2016, 08:58:20 AM
Not sure how it works in Mayo but i know we run divisional trials and squads and then move into county. We probably look at 200+ in total. Then the same thing happens again at u15, u16 and u17. There's no closed shop.

Another thing we do is emphasize that club is #1. They are with us for maybe 12-14 sessions in total at u14, including games, and we would never stop them doing anything with their clubs. For example this week there is no activity at all as clubs prepare for the hurling Féile.

I suppose its like anything else and has its downfalls but I believe in its totality it is definitely needed in places like Tipperary.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 14, 2016, 05:22:23 PM
First time on here since weekend but just to congratulate Tipp Footballers (and Tipp Abu + any other Tipp heads - AZ do you qualify here?  ;) ) on the historic win on Sunday. It has been coming with a while and I think its good for football in Munster having a result like that. I can imagine it's a huge boost to all Tipp football people aswell I know there a lot of people doing fierce work with underage squads and other teams behind the scenes. Also feels only right seeing the likes of Quinlivan, Acheson, Fox, Hannigan, Sweeney celebrating a big win. They are all top class footballers and would grace a lot of county teams.

Hope Tipp bring a big crowd (including bandwagoners!) to Killarney now on July 3rd. Should be an interesting change of scenery.
Post by: ashman on June 14, 2016, 06:10:44 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on June 14, 2016, 05:22:23 PM
First time on here since weekend but just to congratulate Tipp Footballers (and Tipp Abu + any other Tipp heads - AZ do you qualify here?  ;) ) on the historic win on Sunday. It has been coming with a while and I think its good for football in Munster having a result like that. I can imagine it's a huge boost to all Tipp football people aswell I know there a lot of people doing fierce work with underage squads and other teams behind the scenes. Also feels only right seeing the likes of Quinlivan, Acheson, Fox, Hannigan, Sweeney celebrating a big win. They are all top class footballers and would grace a lot of county teams.

Hope Tipp bring a big crowd (including bandwagoners!) to Killarney now on July 3rd. Should be an interesting change of scenery.

Think tipp have a good record in munster finals in Killarney , albeit with a small ball !!!!!
Post by: tippabu on June 29, 2016, 12:21:21 PM
So are we all expecting tipp to pull off an "iceland" on sunday?!! Unfortunately i dont, i did give us a great chance of catching cork and said it here before the game. Im not completely ruling out a massive shock but im certainly travelling in hope rather than expectation. We definitely seem to be on the right side of the draw and with a bit of luck reaching an all ireland 1/4 final this year would be great progression and and a big set up to build on from next year. Anyway thats for later, roll on sunday first
Post by: Zulu on July 03, 2016, 01:54:54 PM
Hope this is a good game. Tipp at full strength would have a real shot at this but can't see them winning without many of their very best players. Hopefully they'll give a good account of themselves though.
Post by: Zulu on July 03, 2016, 02:20:47 PM
Great start by Tipp but finding it very difficult to breakdown Kerry's very defensive set up. Tipp 1-03 Kerry 0-04
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 03, 2016, 02:23:02 PM
Good game Tipperary holding their own so far.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2016, 02:33:14 PM
Put a fork in it.

Pity Tipp can't defend as they've already shown they can get at a weak Kerry defence that's relying heavily on numbers rather than talent to survive.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 03, 2016, 02:34:09 PM
Last ten minutes Kerry have moved up the gears.
Post by: Zulu on July 03, 2016, 02:36:42 PM
Poor game and a worrying portent for the rest of the year. Looks like even the big teams will play with 15 players in their own half and run it from there.
Post by: Zulu on July 03, 2016, 02:51:10 PM
Joe Brolly showing he hasn't a clue, saying Tipp playing too defensively when it's Kerry getting everyone behind the ball when Tipp attack. Tipp haven't enough quality or pace to break Kerry down but it isn't like Kerry are setting up traditionally and Tipp are defensive. What he expects them to do is not clear as he just talks in clichés.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 03, 2016, 02:52:20 PM
Quote from: Zulu on July 03, 2016, 02:36:42 PM
Poor game and a worrying portent for the rest of the year. Looks like even the big teams will play with 15 players in their own half and run it from there.
Forcing turnovers up the pitch.is crucial to beating a blanket defence
Post by: Fuzzman on July 03, 2016, 02:57:14 PM
I love it.
O'Rourke asked permission to speak.
"Joe can I say something"

Systematic fouling and not an Ulster team in sight.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 03, 2016, 03:02:26 PM
Is it just my tv or is the picture quality on RTE One garbage for these matches (via Sky)?
Post by: square_ball on July 03, 2016, 03:08:44 PM
Ger canning 'huge one hit in there' to a 20 yard kick pass straight to the man's chest. 
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on July 03, 2016, 03:21:03 PM
Every Kerry player that falls the ref is blowing the whistle, ruining the game
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 03, 2016, 03:34:07 PM
Some decent subs for Kerry today.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2016, 05:50:12 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 03, 2016, 03:34:07 PM

If you were listening to Canning Barry John Keane would seem like the second coming of Gooch and Mikey Sheehy alright.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 03, 2016, 06:16:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 03, 2016, 05:50:12 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on July 03, 2016, 03:34:07 PM

If you were listening to Canning Barry John Keane would seem like the second coming of Gooch and Mikey Sheehy alright.

More like the second coming of John B Keane....

The Dublin attack would make mincemeat out of that Kerry defence.
Post by: Mayo Border on July 04, 2016, 02:59:35 AM
Is Shane Enright immune to being shown a black card. Should have walked again today
Post by: tippabu on July 04, 2016, 08:13:42 AM
Im glad as I was expecting this thread to turn into a munster bashing, we should have A and B championships and tipp were shite thread. Yesterday we saw we are a long way off kerry, as are most teams, very disappointed as i really expected we could give them a scare and really put it up to them. I hope we learned a lesson yesterday too, we pumped loads of aimless hail mary passes into the full forward line at times, on the 3/4 occasions we played good quality low ball in front of quinlivan we created havoc each time. Anyway now its one of Clare/laois, cavan/carlow, sligo, meath/derry i believe in the qualifiers, tbh i wouldnt fancy our chances against cavan but the rest i would
Post by: Gold on July 04, 2016, 08:16:03 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 03, 2016, 03:02:26 PM
Is it just my tv or is the picture quality on RTE One garbage for these matches (via Sky)?

I have the same problem
Post by: Fuzzman on July 04, 2016, 11:21:59 AM
Was it not crazy for Tipp to not play with a sweeper today. The damage that Geaney alone did surely would have been good enough reason too. Was funny on TSG that Tomás was reluctant to use the term blanket defense so Des helped him out.

Even the Dubs now play O'Sullivan now as sweeper in games even when you think they don't need to. To face Kerry in their own back yard and allow good ball to go into Geaney, amongst others seemed naive to me.
Post by: Zulu on July 04, 2016, 12:44:14 PM
I wouldn't agree, Kerry playing all 15 in their own half was the crazy thing IMO. I don't understand why people seem to label teams naive if they don't play a sweeper, you have 6 defenders, 2 midfielders and often your half forwards back in your own half if you can't keep your opponents down to a reasonable score with that then you may as well forget about it.

The thing about the blanket defences now is that they are no longer keeping the score down, they are only making the game less attractive to watch.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 04, 2016, 12:59:45 PM
I agree a lot of the games are not as attractive to watch if teams don't play the system correctly and don't break forward in large numbers at pace.

A few managers have tried to be stubborn and not play a sweeper but they have badly been found out it doesn't work.
Derry tried it against Tyrone in the first round and got hammered.
Even Gavin from Dublin has had to give in and play that way in the tighter games.

Tipp knew Kerry had better forwards than they had yet they left many of them one on one to get roasted and that's with Gooch off injured.
Post by: Hound on July 04, 2016, 01:04:48 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 04, 2016, 12:59:45 PM
Even Gavin from Dublin has had to give in and play that way in the tighter games.

But Dublin's version of a sweeper is to use one of the 6 defenders. Everyone else, to my knowledge, uses someone in addition to 6 regulation backs. If opposition play 6 forwards, then Dublin have no sweeper.
Post by: Zulu on July 04, 2016, 01:12:22 PM
But a sweeper won't make much of a difference if you're up against it anyway, especially if you are just using it against better teams as opposed to a set tactic that you always employ. Both the sweeper and the blanket defences are now redundant insofar as being particularly effective tactics for winning games. The blanket, will, of course, make it more difficult for the opposition to score but it also reduces your own scoring potential. Teams now short kick out and carry the ball to the edge of the blanket and play around it and probe with enough players back and a plan to transition into defending should they get turned over. Football, I'm afraid, is often a poor spectacle when teams get players back in numbers and it seems to be the default setting for all the big teams bar Mayo and Dublin who are playing a sweeper.
Post by: blanketattack on July 06, 2016, 10:26:05 PM
Good week for Kerry football, 6 Munster titles in the space of 5 days: u14, u15, u16, minor, junior, senior.