GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on April 30, 2007, 02:51:20 PM

Title: Bravest footballer
Post by: Jinxy on April 30, 2007, 02:51:20 PM
Watching Darren Fay diving around the place yesterday, with eyes only for the ball got me thinking. Around the counties, who would be considered the bravest player? I'm not talking about being big or intimidating (or dirty), I mean the type of lad that goes in for the ball without holding back, even though he knows there's a good chance he'll come a cropper. Current or past players are all acceptable. Paddy Reynolds was another Meath player with no regard for his own safety. Watching the Meath-Kildare game on TG4 a couple of weeks ago he got rightly clobbered by Glen Ryan as he was going down to pick up a ball. Came back on again a few minutes later even though he was concussed! Hardy little b*ll*x. ;D
Title: Re: Bravest footballer
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 30, 2007, 02:53:55 PM
Joe Higgins Laois
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 30, 2007, 02:58:22 PM
Current Derry midfielder Fergal Doherty and excorner back Kieran Mc Keever
Post by: stpauls on April 30, 2007, 03:00:46 PM
Kieran McGeeney
Post by: aontroim abu on April 30, 2007, 03:07:23 PM
Brian Mullins  ;D
Post by: TORGAEL on April 30, 2007, 03:09:37 PM
Greg Blaney
Post by: mouview on April 30, 2007, 03:11:39 PM
Bravest / most foolhardy hurler possibly Brendan Lynskey (+ honourable mention to Mike Coleman )
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 30, 2007, 03:14:08 PM
Football - Conor Gormley Tyrone

Hurling- Ciaran Carey Limerick
Post by: Drumanee 1 on April 30, 2007, 03:15:27 PM
johnny mcgurk,like him or love him by god he was brave,remeber one time in a club match he could not get his hands out to block a goal bound shot so he stuck his head in front of the ball and got a cracked skull for his trouble
Post by: Syd The Sailor on April 30, 2007, 03:18:37 PM
Tony Scullion - Derry
Post by: rootthemout on April 30, 2007, 03:26:57 PM
francie bellew without doubt.gets a lot of stick for the wrong reasons,as hard and fair as i have seen.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 30, 2007, 03:30:18 PM
Quoteas hard and fair as i have seen.

Aye right
Post by: screenmachine on April 30, 2007, 03:31:58 PM
fergal doc...havent seen him come out of 50/50 on the wrong side and we all remember that tackle! against donegal last year.  also at the sevens last year i think it was an riocht they were playin when he scattered three men in a row and held onto possession in the process!
Post by: blanketattack on April 30, 2007, 03:32:35 PM
Tim Kennelly
Post by: Ethan Edwards on April 30, 2007, 03:49:11 PM
Johnny McGurk - you couldnt like him if you rared him, but he was a brave wee hor
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 30, 2007, 03:49:46 PM
Have to give an honourable mention to Wee James Mc Cartan, had balls of steel, would have put his head in where boys wouldnt put their boots. Hardy wee fecker and a great talent.Heart like a lion.

Greg Blayney was another who put his body on the line more often than not.
Post by: seanaglis on April 30, 2007, 03:55:58 PM
Shorty Trainor :P
Post by: ard mhaca abu on April 30, 2007, 04:02:55 PM
francie bellew-put his head on the line in any game! very couragous defender!
Post by: southderryman on April 30, 2007, 04:13:52 PM
alot of derry men being mentioned here ;D altho i cant believe big brian mc gilligan's name hasnt been mentioned yet ???
Post by: Feckitt on April 30, 2007, 04:53:48 PM
2003 All-Ireland Semi Final.  Armagh v Donegal.  A fast ball was hurtling down the field, the great one himself (never blessed with speed) was running for it, and so was the Donegal half forward.  It happened right in front of us at the Hogan stand side.  If the bould one had chickened out (yeah right), it could have gone anywhere, but most likely towards the goal.  A split second before he went down for the ball, he hesitated, because he could see that a clattering was iminent, but he then ploughed on.  The bould Francie rattled his head off the donegal lad's knee.  You could hear the knock.  It was really sickening, but he held on to the ball and got a free out.  He got up straight away, and staggered back to the edge of the square.  Joe took him off two minutes later.  He knew he was getting done, but feck it if he pulled out it could have meant a score.  I'll never forget it.  Leg-end.
Post by: Jinxy on April 30, 2007, 05:15:44 PM
From Cavan Bernard Morris was pretty brave although he could afford to be, the size of him. Are there any brave non-ulster players out there (meath aside obviously)? Kildare, Dublin, Cork, Kerry, Mayo ;D, Galway etc. Mickey Ned O'Sullivan was another brave man! Or should that be "foolhardy". ;)
Post by: belleaqua on April 30, 2007, 05:26:43 PM
Tomas Mannion for Galway.
Post by: youngfella on April 30, 2007, 05:32:20 PM
John terry http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5QGjFEyRkqU (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5QGjFEyRkqU)

ouch
Post by: sawel on April 30, 2007, 05:50:20 PM
One of the bravest footballers was a fellow who played for Ardmore in junior football in Derry with one arm and a only a stub as the other.
Boys it is how you define 'brave'
Post by: stew on April 30, 2007, 06:01:03 PM
JohnToal.
Post by: Jinxy on April 30, 2007, 06:34:00 PM
Quote from: sawel on April 30, 2007, 05:50:20 PM
One of the bravest footballers was a fellow who played for Ardmore in junior football in Derry with one arm and a only a stub as the other.
Boys it is how you define 'brave'

I've played against a couple of lads with only one arm. That in itself isn't brave, and I don't think the lads themselves would like it to be seen as such. You can still be windy with one arm! The boys I'm talking about still went in full bore though.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 08:10:38 AM
erm, John Toal, catch a grip, dont start all that shite again.
Post by: Jinxy on May 01, 2007, 09:18:59 AM
Look, it doesn't matter if someone has one arm or one leg. I'm not talking about people that play football in the face of adversity. I'm talking about people that regularly throw themselves into challenges on the football field despite knowing there is a good chance they'll get hurt there and then (sorry, but I dunno if John Toal fits this image). In aussie rules they worship lads that run blind into a pack of lads in an attempt to mark the ball. "Backing into a pack" is what they call it and its pretty much the bravest thing you can do, as you know you will get done by somebody.
Post by: Glensman on May 01, 2007, 10:12:10 AM
Would really like to say Paddy Bradley...I mean I often have grievances with the referee but have never been brave enough to grab him by the throat...

Bravest??
An interesting one...arguably would have to be a smaller type player. Could argue for Brian McGilligan who would have put his body on the line for anything but not so brave when you are such a big lump of a man. Bellew would fall within that category as well.

Would therefore go along the lines of certain hardy forwards...Greg Blaney as has been said, the Gooch gets a fair beating every time he plays but plays away.

BUT if I was being completely honest I would put someone I played gaelic with when I was younger. That fella would have ran through a brick wall for the team...and often looked like he did after a match. The thing was he was arguably one of the most skillful players on the team as well - that is a very rare combination.
Post by: oneillcup2007 on May 01, 2007, 10:29:02 AM
I admire anyone who plays gaelic sports with glasses, particularly hurling and camogie.
Post by: full back on May 01, 2007, 10:34:34 AM
Quote from: oneillcup2007 on May 01, 2007, 10:29:02 AM
I admire anyone who plays gaelic sports with glasses, particularly hurling and camogie.

WTF has that got to do with anything? :D
Post by: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 11:07:29 AM

Nothing to do with his fight back from injury... John Toal is as brave as a lion on the football field.
Post by: Bensars on May 01, 2007, 11:15:00 AM
Quote from: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 11:07:29 AM

Nothing to do with his fight back from injury... John Toal is as brave as a lion on the football field.

Fairly handy with the water bottle as well ;)
Post by: oneillcup2007 on May 01, 2007, 11:18:21 AM
Could you imagine fearlessly throwing yourself  into the middle of a ruck of 3 other midfielders to claim a loopy kickout,  putting your thumbs around the leather taking er into the chest storming through a brick wall of mdifield muscle only to realise you have dropped your nose grip, its quite uncomfortable and you have to go back in there again.  
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 11:21:10 AM
somehow i dont think John Toal could be really mentioned in this thread with the likes of Tony Scullion, Wee James Mc Cartan, Greg Blayney, Tomas Mannion, Anthony Lynch, Bernard Morris etc, but if ye reckon.
Post by: full back on May 01, 2007, 11:24:31 AM
Quote from: oneillcup2007 on May 01, 2007, 11:18:21 AM
Could you imagine fearlessly throwing yourself  into the middle of a ruck of 3 other midfielders to claim a loopy kickout,  putting your thumbs around the leather taking er into the chest storming through a brick wall of mdifield muscle only to realise you have dropped your nose grip, its quite uncomfortable and you have to go back in there again.  

WTF
Is that the start of a novel or something?
Post by: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 11:27:15 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 11:21:10 AM
somehow i dont think John Toal could be really mentioned in this thread with the likes of Tony Scullion, Wee James Mc Cartan, Greg Blayney, Tomas Mannion, Anthony Lynch, Bernard Morris etc, but if ye reckon.

Why?
Post by: Bensars on May 01, 2007, 11:32:51 AM
Quote from: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 11:27:15 AM

Why?

Brick, i agree with your statement, but let me explain where the problem lies.

Did you not know that football only started in 2002 when armagh won the all ireland. ; )
Post by: sureyouwill on May 01, 2007, 11:37:34 AM
Quote from: Bensars on May 01, 2007, 11:32:51 AM
Quote from: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 11:27:15 AM

Why?

Brick, i agree with your statement, but let me explain where the problem lies.

Did you not know that football only started in 2002 when armagh won the all ireland. ; )

(http://internal.tbi.net/~max/Heckles/broken_record.jpg)

Tool!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 11:38:12 AM
just my opionion, but id wager that most contributers (excluding Armagh folk) on here would not have had John Toal down as a brave, hardy soul that stands out as having guts in bucket loads and balls of steel. Sorry, i just cant see it im afraid.
Post by: full back on May 01, 2007, 11:38:38 AM

Wouldnt class Anthony Lynch with the rest of them boys. More dirty & sly than brave
Post by: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 11:45:00 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 11:38:12 AM
just my opionion, but id wager that most contributers (excluding Armagh folk) on here would not have had John Toal down as a brave, hardy soul that stands out as having guts in bucket loads and balls of steel. Sorry, i just cant see it im afraid.

There you go then... knowledge inadequecies on your part is the problem. Toal is the bravest, hardiest fcuker i'e ever seen in an armagh jersey. if e're talking about dirty ropey ball bouncing around amongst the boots then toal will come up with it.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 12:01:03 PM
Na!
sorry still wouldnt have him in there.
i dunno who it was that previously mentioned it but physicality and stature aswell as position played on the park are for me the deciding factors. The fact that John Toal is an intercounty midfielder (allegedly) and he is 6ft2 + and built for midfield play then you would be expecting him to be in the thick of the breakdown throwing his weight about and getting stuck in, so he isnt really doin anything above and beyond what is expected of him in my opinion.

Id maybe add Brian Roper to that list, quite a fiesty gutsy brave performer in my book, might not be everyones cup of tea.
Anthony Lynch i think is a player who completetly empties the tank every time he takes to the pitch, aggressive and gutsy, isnt afraid to get wired in.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 12:10:26 PM

There you go then... knowledge inadequecies on your part is the problem. Toal is the bravest, hardiest fcuker i'e ever seen in an armagh jersey. if e're talking about dirty ropey ball bouncing around amongst the boots then toal will come up with it.

Im confused, enlighten me as to where my lack of knowledge is. Your basically basing that on your opinion of Toal, im wrong because in your opinion "Toal is the bravest, hardiest fcuker i'e ever seen in an armagh jersey. if e're talking about dirty ropey ball bouncing around amongst the boots then toal will come up with it"
Post by: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 12:17:18 PM

Because my friend, amongst armagh folk, this thread would be called the john toal thread. he is reknowned for these qualities.

By the way... keep changing the parameters of the definition to suit yourself.

You obviously don't know much about john toal's game. in that scenario it is best to say "i don't know" and leave it at that. this is a lesson i'm currently teaching my 3 year old nephew...
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 12:26:11 PM
Because my friend, amongst armagh folk, this thread would be called the john toal thread. he is reknowned for these qualities

Come off it!!!, you have to be taking the piss, i know plenty of Armagh folk that truly believe John Toal isnt worth a Balls of Blue on that Armagh side and contributes very little on the football side of things. Im not questioning his desire, comittment or dedication but christ your making him out to be the high school frickin quarter back, a true all american hero!!!!

didnt want to resort to mud slinging or cheap slaggin but is it any wonder Armagh are one of the most hated counties about.

...And lets get one thing straight...im not your friend.

Post by: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 12:37:19 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 12:26:11 PM

...And lets get one thing straight...im not your friend.

o i know... i was simply talking down to you.

If you read very carefully you will see that i never mentioned whether John toal contributes anything on the football side, so i fail to see how i made him out to be a quarterback, all american hero or any other type of player from another sport. The subject box gives it away. It's about the bravest footballer and thats all i judged candidates for nomination on. I'll reiterate that it's obvious at this point that you know nothing about john toal's game, so reapeat after me.... "I don't know"...
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 12:42:19 PM
o i know... i was simply talking down to you.

Yawn!!!!

Forgive me, im wrong, hes an absolute legend, Heart like a lion.

Now run along and play with your nephew, thats a good lad.
Post by: stephenite on May 01, 2007, 12:44:23 PM
Quote from: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 11:45:00 AM
Toal is the bravest, hardiest fcuker i'e ever seen in an armagh jersey. if e're talking about dirty ropey ball bouncing around amongst the boots then toal will come up with it.

Not meaning to step into a row, but harder than Geezer or even Francie Uladh ?? High praise indeed
Post by: Uladh on May 01, 2007, 12:56:13 PM

Indeed Stephenite
Post by: Orior on May 01, 2007, 01:08:40 PM
Dont confuse brave and hard.

If its about hard players, then I'm surprised nobody has mentioned Henry Downey yet (or maybe himself has not logged on for a while). Hard as hardened steel nails.

If its brave, then John Toal would be up there.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 01, 2007, 01:14:46 PM

didnt want to resort to mud slinging or cheap slaggin but is it any wonder Armagh are one of the most hated counties about.

Bejapers but I wonder what you'd come up with if you did resort to mud slinging or cheap slaggin.  :-\

Oh, and someone was looking for a Mayo nominee for this. I nominate John Finn, of course.
Post by: full back on May 01, 2007, 01:17:42 PM

Mmmm - glass houses and all that
Post by: charlie stubbs on May 01, 2007, 01:26:30 PM
"ninch"ronan magee aghagallon co.antrim boy went score  goal wan day and he put his face on the ball while lying on the ground.he wud play 4 antrim if he wasnt from aghagallon
Post by: Jinxy on May 01, 2007, 01:32:21 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on May 01, 2007, 01:26:30 PM
"ninch"ronan magee aghagallon co.antrim boy went score  goal wan day and he put his face on the ball while lying on the ground.he wud play 4 antrim if he wasnt from aghagallon and adopted a more conventional approach to scoring goals (presumably :))[/color]
Post by: charlie stubbs on May 01, 2007, 01:38:06 PM
r he was blocking it u idiot
Post by: Jinxy on May 01, 2007, 01:40:11 PM
I realise now, that was completely clear from your original post. My apologies.
Post by: charlie stubbs on May 01, 2007, 02:15:03 PM
cheers jinxy
Post by: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 02:16:55 PM
In Tyrone football,  Gormley and Dooher have been the bravest over the last 10 years. 
Post by: sureyouwill on May 01, 2007, 02:18:05 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on May 01, 2007, 02:15:03 PM
cheers jinxy

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Crossban on May 01, 2007, 02:21:57 PM

Toal, McGeeney and Bellew in that order in armagh
Post by: full back on May 01, 2007, 02:26:26 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 02:16:55 PM
In Tyrone football,  Gormley and Dooher have been the bravest over the last 10 years. 

Difficult to add him because he dives so much and goes to ground too easily. Dont get me wrong he is strong in the tackle & brave winning break ball etc, but the fact that he drops like a fly if tackled when on the ball goes against him IMHO
Post by: Six Inch Nail on May 01, 2007, 02:43:56 PM
Quote from: full back on May 01, 2007, 02:26:26 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 02:16:55 PM

Difficult to add him because he dives so much and goes to ground too easily. Dont get me wrong he is strong in the tackle & brave winning break ball etc, but the fact that he drops like a fly if tackled when on the ball goes against him IMHO

Ditto with Dooher!

Brian Roper for me is a hardy wee bastard.  As someone else said a big man should be in there anyway, a small man who goes in with the animals is brave!
Post by: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 02:52:50 PM
Without a shadow of a doubt Dooher is the bravest footballer mentioned on this thread so far anyway.  And also the most important being a double all ireland winner.  Probably the bravest and most important so far then.. Any new ones?
Post by: 6th sam on May 01, 2007, 02:53:25 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 01, 2007, 12:10:26 PM

Im confused, enlighten me as to where my lack of knowledge is. Your basically basing that on your opinion of Toal, im wrong because in your opinion "Toal is the bravest, hardiest fcuker i'e ever seen in an armagh jersey. if e're talking about dirty ropey ball bouncing around amongst the boots then toal will come up with it"

As a Down man,Brick ,I have to disagree ,Toal is a brave man-especially with a bottle of water in his hand ,and a luminous "uisce" bib on his back!

Seriously,my vote goes to Wee James,and also Peter Canavan---too lads small in stature but unsurpassed in terms of bravery!
Post by: downredblack on May 01, 2007, 02:58:47 PM
Yeah  Peter was a hardy wee fcuker , remember him swinging at thon big Aussie a few years back at croke park .
Post by: sureyouwill on May 01, 2007, 03:04:29 PM
Quote from: downredblack on May 01, 2007, 02:58:47 PM
Yeah  Peter was a hardy wee fcuker , remember him swinging at thon big Aussie a few years back at croke park .

Hardy doesn't equate to brave, either does persistent diving.
Post by: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 03:07:22 PM
Canavan was up there with the very best but theres so many Armagh ones on here, ye darent say too much.. hurts their feelings.  Wee james got stuck in too.  Tony scullion, and Liam harnan - true hard bastards of Gaelic Football.   
On another note In the bar last night an anti Armagh question was asked.  If Football began in 1999 when will it actually end?
Post by: full back on May 01, 2007, 03:09:16 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 03:07:22 PM
 On another note In the bar last night an anti Armagh question was asked.  If Football began in 1999 when will it actually end?

September 2002 :D
Post by: Jinxy on May 01, 2007, 04:01:46 PM
Quote from: downredblack on May 01, 2007, 02:58:47 PM

Thon aussie wasn't big at all. Just ignorant.
Post by: cavan4ever on May 01, 2007, 04:03:57 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 02:52:50 PM
Without a shadow of a doubt Dooher is the bravest footballer mentioned on this thread so far anyway.  And also the most important being a double all ireland winner.  Probably the bravest and most important so far then.. Any new ones?

He's that brave he'd even hit ya in the balls.
Post by: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 04:05:10 PM
Aye Nicholas wash and his dirty fingernails are as brave as they come.
Post by: Jinxy on May 01, 2007, 04:06:46 PM

He's a hard man to keep down alright. <insert Martin O'Connell reference here> ;)
Post by: cavan4ever on May 01, 2007, 04:13:38 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 04:05:10 PM
Aye Nicholas wash and his dirty fingernails are as brave as they come.

i didn't see anyone called Walsh brave here, id call him a dirty fecker.
Post by: blanketattack on May 01, 2007, 04:16:03 PM

Páide Ó Sé mightn't have been that big but was very tough and brave. Going by your criteria for importance, seeing that Páide was an 8 times All-Ireland winner that makes him 4 times as important as Dooher.
Post by: realredhandfan on May 01, 2007, 04:20:58 PM
yes and eight times as important as Mc Geeney. ;)
Post by: Bod Mor on May 02, 2007, 02:09:13 AM
6 pages and not one mention of Willy Joe Padden!!!!! Some man to run around the field in All-Ireland semi final against against Tyrone with his head opened. Now thats what I call brave!!!
(http://www.mayogaa.com/images/football/pgal/williejoesm.jpg)
Post by: Mike Sheehy on May 02, 2007, 03:01:31 AM
QuotePáide Ó Sé mightn't have been that big but was very tough and brave.

Indeed, his risking of a kick in the head to prevent Roscommon scoring a goal in the 1980 AI is one that springs to mind. They'd have won if that went in.

(and before the Rossies respond, no he didn't touch the ball on the ground !)
Post by: Tyrones own on May 02, 2007, 04:39:28 AM

Yep, definitly lucky to have those 34 no doubt :P
Post by: Loup Bandit on May 02, 2007, 11:23:18 AM
I would not put Connor Gormley in the same bracket as some of the guys already mentioned, for a brave tough guy he spends a lot of time lying on the ground and calling the physio on. Has a dirty streak but cant take it away from Brian Dooher in fairness.

Fergal Doherty is definitely one of the toughest currently playing in Derry.

Crossmaglen stalwarts John Donaldson and Francie Bellew are as brave as they come.

Paidi, Dara and Tomas O'Se could also mix it with the best of them!
Post by: laughinpaddy on May 02, 2007, 11:31:02 AM
Quote from: Loup Bandit on May 02, 2007, 11:23:18 AM

Crossmaglen stalwarts John Donaldson and Francie Bellew are as brave as they come.

Can't agree here Loup Bandit, he would fit in here if the topic was dirty bas***d!
Post by: Loup Bandit on May 02, 2007, 12:09:01 PM
awww now laughin paddy, whatever he is he has a cabinet full of medals so he must be doing something right!  :D
It cant be argued that them men dont go through the wars in the course of a game themselves!

Any suggestions yourself on bravest footballer?

There was a great ginger corner back or wing back on the Offaly team that beat Kerry in the 80's, anyone know his name? Fitzpatrick maybe?

All ginger's kind of have a tough, stubborn treak in them!  :D
Post by: laughinpaddy on May 02, 2007, 01:01:00 PM
He may have got a cabinet full of medals, but he never got them for being brave!
Might have something to do with transfering to Cross ;)
Anyhow would agree with Bellew, a very brave player.  Also Jhonny McGurk, as brave as Spartan!
Post by: INDIANA on May 02, 2007, 01:09:58 PM
"as hard and fair as i have seen."

i'm sure mickey linden would agree with you.

Post by: Loup Bandit on May 02, 2007, 02:45:43 PM
We will compromise then, how about this for a back line, donaldson, bellew and johnny mc gurk? :D

I was at the cross v mayobridge ulster final and francie's tackle was heard all around casement but the referee did not deem it a dirty action! i think francie gets a lot of unfair press and his reputation certainly goes before him. Example, he got a harsh yellow card last year against kieran donaghy last year and that changed the game in my opinion!

The bauld Fay Devlin from Ardboe never gave an inch!
Post by: loughshore lad on May 02, 2007, 04:06:01 PM
Quote from: Loup Bandit on May 02, 2007, 02:45:43 PM

The bauld Fay Devlin from Ardboe never gave an inch!

Yes Fay was very hard on the field and also a very clean player, not one for hitting men dirty, diving etc as has been some of the criticisms aimed at other players mentioned on this thread.
One of the greatest exponents of the shoulder charge ever, saw him knock many a player on his ass - will never forget clones 95 when Tohill came charging through the Tyrone defence only to be knocked rotten by Fay.
Class act - one of the very best defenders of his generation.
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2007, 04:21:50 PM
The best lads at giving shoulders are usually the shorter, stocky individuals. Low centre of gravity and all that.
Post by: ard mhaca abu on May 02, 2007, 04:24:51 PM
QuotePosted on: Today at 04:21:50 PMPosted by: Jinxy 
Insert Quote
The best lads at giving shoulders are usually the shorter, stocky individuals. Low centre of gravity and all that.

exactly kieran mcgeeney nd francie bellew
Post by: Louper on May 02, 2007, 04:44:49 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on May 02, 2007, 04:06:01 PM
also a very clean player, not one for hitting men dirty, diving etc as has been some of the criticisms aimed at other players mentioned on this thread.

fay devlin hit benny mcvey the dirtiest coldest box ive seen, in a challenge match at st marys playin fields in magherafelt. benny had to go off with concussion. clean?
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2007, 05:30:49 PM
Quote from: Louper on May 02, 2007, 04:44:49 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on May 02, 2007, 04:06:01 PM
also a very clean player, not one for hitting men dirty, diving etc as has been some of the criticisms aimed at other players mentioned on this thread.

fay devlin hit benny mcvey the dirtiest coldest box ive seen, in a challenge match at st marys playin fields in magherafelt. benny had to go off with concussion. clean?

That sounds horrible.
Post by: Louper on May 02, 2007, 05:32:06 PM
oh jinxy it was! i can still hear the crack to this day!  :D
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2007, 05:37:41 PM
I feel sick after hearing that.
Post by: Canalman on May 02, 2007, 09:10:21 PM
Always found Jason Sherlock to be an exceptionally brave and honest player.

On  a non partisan basis I always admired Anthony Rainbow for his balls.
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2007, 10:21:42 PM
Quote from: Canalman on May 02, 2007, 09:10:21 PM
Always found Jason Sherlock to be an exceptionally brave and honest player.

On  a non partisan basis I always admired Anthony Rainbow for his balls.

Never thought Rainbow was that brave, if that is what you're getting at (please tell me it is). Glen Ryan was plenty brave though.
Post by: loughshore lad on May 03, 2007, 08:24:25 AM

Stand by what I say Fay was a clean player, very selective post there Louper - I was at that game and wont deny or condone that Fay hit McVey but from what I recall of the incident McVey didnt get it for nothing  ;) ;) 
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 03, 2007, 10:50:16 AM
Francie, paidi brave as f**k. it doesnt matter how big a lad is the fact is they are willing to put the body on the line. any part of their body.

glen ryan was brave and so was rainbow but i tell ya an ex clubman declan kerrignan was as brave as they come. some man on the break. in one game for the club he got 2 kicks to the head and still went into the mix for the rest of the game.

for hurling ciaran carey was a lunatic and also you have to mention john power kk. noy jaysus those lads never shirked anything thrown at them.
Post by: johnjoe on May 03, 2007, 10:56:28 AM
Hurling   Anthony Daly

Football  Martin Gavigan,  Paudi Shea, but for a forward who could give it and take it, must be Colm O Rourke.

In fairness those Mc Entees could handle themselves too.
Post by: The Bottom Brick on May 03, 2007, 10:57:22 AM
From Cavan, Bernard Morris and Damien O Reilly, not many from the current team bar Anthony Gaynor, who's as brave as he is unreliable

Lockhart is a hardy little bastard I always thought

Hugo Clerkin and Gerry McCarville from the Monaghan team of the 80s - animals!!!
Post by: Uladh on May 03, 2007, 10:57:30 AM
There's generally a zone of focussed bravery where players go flat out for the ball, no  matter who or what is in the way. a player either falls within this or he doesn't. you can't seperate degrees of bravery within that category. their eejits or their not.
Post by: Jinxy on May 03, 2007, 11:08:56 AM
Quote from: johnjoe on May 03, 2007, 10:56:28 AM
Hurling   Anthony Daly

Football  Martin Gavigan,  Paudi Shea, but for a forward who could give it and take it, must be Colm O Rourke.

In fairness those Mc Entees could handle themselves too.

It just hit me like a truck when you mentioned the twins. GERRY McENTEE! A man who despite years of training to eventually become one of the top surgeons in the country, risked it all by never holding back on the football field when a hand injury could have had serious repercussions for his career. I think he did actually break something in his hand once. I wouldn't say he ever thought about it for a second when he was on the field. Not the most skilful player but you always got 100% effort from him and if the ball was there he went for it like his life depended on it. Watched the first Meath-Dublin game in '91 from the stands and said "F*ck this for a game of soldiers" and rejoined the panel for the remaining games. I suppose you could put Pat O'Neill in the same category as well. They say you need to be a bit mad to be a surgeon! ;D
Post by: phpearse on May 03, 2007, 12:05:09 PM
Always thought Enda McGinley never shirked a tackle. Tended to put the head and hands in where it hurt. But then again looking his long injury list maybe 'silly' should be substitued for 'brave'. Sometimes when you are second best for the ball it pays to hold back or else forget about the ball and tighten for the challenge. But with McGinley you can be guaranteed that if theres a ball to be won he'll go for it.
Post by: Fíor Gael on May 03, 2007, 12:09:34 PM
Charlie Redmond, that man had no fear, balls of steel, he missed penalty after penalty and just kept stepping up to take the next one.
Post by: Armagh Exile on May 03, 2007, 12:10:56 PM
Francie - by a mile
Post by: Bensars on May 03, 2007, 12:36:06 PM
Several players spring to mind.
Lorcan Dowd of roscommon, now theres a boy as brave as you'll find.
Marke Harte. Mickeys cub.
Paddy Bradley.
Ciaran Mc Bride.....now joint coach of  recent Hogan cup winners omagh CBS...Balls of steel.

I need two more to complete a forward line that would scare the Bejasus out of a lot of defenses ;)
Post by: Jinxy on May 03, 2007, 12:53:09 PM
Quote from: Bensars on May 03, 2007, 12:36:06 PM
Several players spring to mind.
Lorcan Dowd of roscommon, now theres a boy as brave as you'll find.
Marke Harte. Mickeys cub.
Paddy Bradley.
Ciaran Mc Bride.....now joint coach of  recent Hogan cup winners omagh CBS...Balls of steel.

I need two more to complete a forward line that would scare the Bejasus out of a lot of defenses ;)

How about Martin Lynch and Conor Mortimer? ;D
Post by: southderryman on May 03, 2007, 03:42:41 PM
Quote from: loughshore lad on May 03, 2007, 08:24:25 AM

Stand by what I say Fay was a clean player, very selective post there Louper - I was at that game and wont deny or condone that Fay hit McVey but from what I recall of the incident McVey didnt get it for nothing  ;) ;) 

so you DO condone it then??
Post by: prewtna on May 03, 2007, 04:29:04 PM
colm mc menamen as a young man circa 1996. a tank of a man at the time would go through you for a shortcut, pity e couldnt kick the ball straight tho!

he came on in a junior match last year for burrishoole in the knockout stage of the championship. they were losing. he got the biggest cheer of the day and nearly won them the game through ruffing it up a bit round the middle. not bad for an ould fella!