GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: bennydorano on March 01, 2016, 09:43:27 AM

Title: Cavan v Armagh
Post by: bennydorano on March 01, 2016, 09:43:27 AM
A turgid shite fest on the cards?
Title: Re: Cavan v Armagh
Post by: general_lee on March 01, 2016, 10:30:46 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 01, 2016, 09:43:27 AM
If we are lucky. Is Dyas ready to come back into the fold?
Post by: mackers on March 01, 2016, 01:54:03 PM
Yes.
Given Cavan's attitude to the McKenna Cup game earlier this year and the fact that we have a couple of eejits on our team there will be a guaranteed boxing match.  Not a chance of 30 men finishing the game.
Post by: smelmoth on March 01, 2016, 09:26:49 PM

Probably but not necessarily

It seems Cavan have no interest in playing football but are tough to beat. Armagh are trying to play a bit of football but don't really know how to go about it and can be a bit flakey.

An Armagh collapse could happen and maybe Cavan would open up then. The run of second half scores shows they can put a team away when they are mentally beaten.

Then again Armagh could click. One or two players back and fixing some basics and this team can fire. Not world beaters by any means but good enough to put Cavan away. If they fire that is
Post by: mrdeeds on March 01, 2016, 09:31:45 PM
Yeah Cavan no interest in playing football. Only scored 1 20 on Sunday. 
Post by: smelmoth on March 01, 2016, 09:42:43 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on March 01, 2016, 09:31:45 PM

Good stuff. I had thought that Meath packed up early and went home to mourn the Fine Gael losses. Maybe I'm wrong and you are right. Maybe Cavan are done and dusted with the packed defenses, endless fist passing and side way movement. Sure we will see. I hope you are right. For 2 reasons. 1) Armagh have no clue of how top play against a packed defence and 2) Cavan have just been awful to watch under Hyland and if their game (and the copy cat teams) has moved on then all the better. Lets hope we never see that rubbish again
Post by: seafoid on March 02, 2016, 05:31:11 AM
Cavan to shade it.
Post by: stew on March 02, 2016, 09:56:18 AM

We can get a result here if Findon is not within ten mile of the pitch, he really is dreadful and we need to at least break even in MF to even think of getting a result.

Dyas coming back will help and I would like to see Vernon playing a bit further forward, he was excellent against Fermanagh last weekend.
Post by: JP on March 02, 2016, 10:37:29 AM
Quote from: stew on March 02, 2016, 09:56:18 AM

We can get a result here if Findon is not within ten mile of the pitch, he really is dreadful and we need to at least break even in MF to even think of getting a result.

Dyas coming back will help and I would like to see Vernon playing a bit further forward, he was excellent against Fermanagh last weekend.

Will Dyas definitely be back? What's the situation with Harold?
Post by: bennydorano on March 02, 2016, 11:43:14 AM
Harold has taken a year out. Dunno about Dyas but a man with so many recurring injuries shouldn't be the focus of our team going foward imo, but with Miceal McKenna in there he probably isn't to be fair.
Post by: general_lee on March 02, 2016, 12:06:18 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 02, 2016, 11:43:14 AM
Harold has taken a year out. Dunno about Dyas but a man with so many recurring injuries shouldn't be the focus of our team going foward imo, but with Miceal McKenna in there he probably isn't to be fair.
To be fair to Dyas he isn't the only chocolate man on that panel
Post by: Itchy on March 02, 2016, 04:57:42 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 01, 2016, 09:42:43 PM

Good stuff. I had thought that Meath packed up early and went home to mourn the Fine Gael losses. Maybe I'm wrong and you are right. Maybe Cavan are done and dusted with the packed defenses, endless fist passing and side way movement. Sure we will see. I hope you are right. For 2 reasons. 1) Armagh have no clue of how top play against a packed defence and 2) Cavan have just been awful to watch under Hyland and if their game (and the copy cat teams) has moved on then all the better. Lets hope we never see that rubbish again

Yawn yawn yawn.
Post by: Throw ball on March 02, 2016, 07:33:54 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 02, 2016, 04:57:42 PM

Yawn yawn yawn.

Personally not convinced about the way Cavan have played the last couple of years. On saying that I feel Armagh need the win more than Cavan this week as I feel Cavan will pick up enough points in the rest of the league.
Post by: smelmoth on March 02, 2016, 09:12:16 PM

Yawn yawn yawn.

A normal reaction to watching Cavan.

We are not much better at times - especially last year
Post by: Itchy on March 03, 2016, 09:03:38 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 02, 2016, 09:12:16 PM

Yawn yawn yawn.

So how much thuggish behaviour can we expect from Armagh on Saturday, s normal amount or will ye go into over drive.  This game will need a strong referee.
Post by: DuffleKing on March 03, 2016, 09:07:30 AM

In the McKenna Cup game in January Cavan had three men straight red carded for striking. Is that the brefni baseline for this type of game?
Post by: Itchy on March 03, 2016, 09:38:10 AM
Funny ye are always involved in these matches. Armagh the common denominator
Post by: DuffleKing on March 03, 2016, 09:45:13 AM

The common denominator for cavan men getting lined is normally a game of football starting.
Post by: Itchy on March 03, 2016, 12:03:55 PM
I think we are not as cute as mckeever and the Armagh posse. Anyway looking forward to watching the dirty digs and diving on Saturday.
Post by: general_lee on March 03, 2016, 12:05:19 PM
Like butter wouldn't melt itchy  ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 03, 2016, 12:26:32 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 03, 2016, 12:03:55 PM
I think we are not as cute as mckeever and the Armagh posse. Anyway looking forward to watching the dirty digs and diving on Saturday.

But less of what the Cavan players will be at,  how do you think Armagh will do?
Post by: Itchy on March 03, 2016, 03:57:31 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 03, 2016, 12:26:32 PM

But less of what the Cavan players will be at,  how do you think Armagh will do?

I think Armagh will get 2 or 3 knock outs and a couple of 9.8s for the dives.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 03, 2016, 09:55:23 PM
James Morgan taking the season out now, I know it's surgery but I think you can read into the decision being taken now to undergo it.

Only one Cross player on the panel now?
Post by: smelmoth on March 03, 2016, 10:11:16 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 03, 2016, 09:03:38 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 02, 2016, 09:12:16 PM

Yawn yawn yawn.

So how much thuggish behaviour can we expect from Armagh on Saturday, s normal amount or will ye go into over drive.  This game will need a strong referee.
It depends upon the armagh selection (the one that starts - not the one that has been named). The majority of armagh players will have no interest in thughishness. The majority of the 15 that is, But there will be, based upon recent selections a few well capable of the auld dark arts. But that is not the accusation against Cavan. i don't like my team's thuggishness. i don't like their negative tactics, but on the latter score Cavan are in a different league. Its anti-football. Its anti-skill. Its anti-entertainment, Its dull. Dull, dull, dull. Dull enough to kill the game if allowed to persist
Post by: smelmoth on March 03, 2016, 10:18:01 PM

Then is there is the stories of Armagh targeting Cavan players before the throw in. Turned out to be the other way around when the video evidence was released. presumably you agree that those Cavan players are just nasty?
Post by: smelmoth on March 03, 2016, 10:21:57 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 03, 2016, 09:55:23 PM
James Morgan taking the season out now, I know it's surgery but I think you can read into the decision being taken now to undergo it.

Only one Cross player on the panel now?

"taking the season out"? Armagh insiders say he is out injured for the season with a hand injury. It doesnt tally for me unless someone drove over his hand?
Post by: general_lee on March 03, 2016, 10:33:56 PM
You can have tendon damage that I'm guessing would be quite painful when it flairs up and constantly trying to smack a ball out of a forwards grasp surely does it no favours. My oul fella had to get an operation due to being in agony anytime he was out on the fairways.
Post by: Throw ball on March 03, 2016, 11:17:41 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 03, 2016, 10:33:56 PM
You can have tendon damage that I'm guessing would be quite painful when it flairs up and constantly trying to smack a ball out of a forwards grasp surely does it no favours. My oul fella had to get an operation due to being in agony anytime he was out on the fairways.

Seems our Tyrone friend is trying to stir things a bit.

Seemingly Morgan has been nursing the injury for a while but has got worse and needs surgery. I dare say that if he can get fit quick enough he would want to play. Geezer may feel that is unfair on others though.
Post by: JP on March 04, 2016, 12:30:10 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 03, 2016, 11:17:41 PM

Seemingly Morgan has been nursing the injury for a while but has got worse and needs surgery. I dare say that if he can get fit quick enough he would want to play. Geezer may feel that is unfair on others though.

I'm assuming we won't be playing in September so I don't think Geezer will have that problem.  Any word on the lineouts?
Post by: JP on March 04, 2016, 12:36:53 PM
1 Mathew Mc Neice
2 Andy Mallon
3 Charlie Vernon
4 Sean Connell
5 Mark Shields
6 Shea Heffron
7 Stephen Sheridan
8 Aaron Findon
9 Stefan Campbell
10 Niall Grimley
11 Aidan Forker (c)
12 Tony Kernan
13 Colm Watters
14 Ciaron O'Hanlon
15 Miceal Mc Kenna

16 Patrick Morrison
17 Joe Mc Elroy
18 Niall Mc Conville
19 Michael Murray
20 Stefan Forker
21 Jemar Hall
22 Joe Feeney
23 Gavin Mc Parland
24 Eugene Mc Verry
25 Ruairi Mc Caughley
26 Ethan Rafferty

Just found the team. A fierce amount of inexperience there. I'm counting 6 players that haven't played in the championship. I'm guessing Aidan Forker will drop back to the half back. Otherwise it would be a big ask of Heffron to play at 6. I'd be worried if things start to go wrong heads will drop. Anybody able to work out the average age?
Post by: Armamike on March 04, 2016, 06:15:20 PM
Worrying amount of injuries and withdrawals this year, and the past few years. When Armagh were going well we managed to have few enough absentees. In 2002 the only starter absentee we had through the whole championship run was Tony McEntee.  Hard to see how we can build towards anything positive when we've so many personnel changes. Hopefully though the younger players will grab their chance.
Post by: rrhf on March 05, 2016, 07:34:17 AM
Eh big reidy
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 05, 2016, 09:47:06 AM

Well he's taking the decision now meaning he won't play for Armagh this year.  1 Cross player on the panel and them the best club in the county by a country mile.
Post by: Throw ball on March 05, 2016, 04:28:54 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 05, 2016, 09:47:06 AM

Well he's taking the decision now meaning he won't play for Armagh this year.  1 Cross player on the panel and them the best club in the county by a country mile.

The medics made the decision.

Most Armagh people would like more Cross players on the county panel but who? Aaron Kernan and Jamie Clarke are obvious but Aaron has retired and is at an age where that shouldn't change. Jamie has played more games for Armagh than Cross over the last few years. The way county football is played may have a bearing - and not just by Armagh. Hughes and McGeown could play but are of a similar level to what is there. Carragher I would like to see there. Rushe and O'Neill are young yet and are with the under 21s. Calum Comiskey may be good enough but is only back from injury. There are not many left of right age.
Post by: naka on March 05, 2016, 07:40:21 PM
Cavan hammering Armagh
Mc geeney in diffs here if it continues
Always would defend him but this is so so awful to watch
and it's is s continuation of the past few matches

Tactically naive
It's so embarrassing
What the f foes Aidan o Rourke do as a defensive coach
Post by: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 07:41:08 PM
HT
Cavan 1-11 Armagh 0-5

Very defensive puke football so far by Cavan

Post by: armaghniac on March 05, 2016, 07:42:26 PM
Armagh poor, soft goal conceded, prospects limited.
Post by: Westside on March 05, 2016, 08:33:24 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 01, 2016, 09:26:49 PM

It seems Cavan have no interest in playing football but are tough to beat. Armagh are trying to play a bit of football but don't really know how to go about it and can be a bit flakey.

An Armagh collapse could happen and maybe Cavan would open up then. The run of second half scores shows they can put a team away when they are mentally beaten.

Then again Armagh could click. One or two players back and fixing some basics and this team can fire. Not world beaters by any means but good enough to put Cavan away. If they fire that is

This was a great prediction to be fair. Johnston's goal in the 6th minute mentally broke Armagh and Cavan have proceeded to put them away for the rest of the game.

4-37 in our last last two games (and it's not over yet) Think what we'd do if we decided we actually wanted to play football! Really sorry I couldn't be there to see the Armagh lads play a bit of football tonight.
Post by: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 08:36:47 PM
FT

3-18 to 0-10

Armagh didn't even muster a fight.
Post by: seafoid on March 05, 2016, 08:38:06 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 08:36:47 PM
FT

3-18 to 0-10

D3 arís  ?
Post by: general_lee on March 05, 2016, 08:42:11 PM
Division 3 is the level Armagh are at.
Lacking in forwards, no midfield, and stuck at the back. If Armagh had a full deck to choose from including Cross players, they'd still be Division 2 level and mediocre at that.That was a very demoralising defeat.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 05, 2016, 08:44:06 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 08:36:47 PM
FT

3-18 to 0-10

Very poor from Armagh well done to Cavan they should be there or thereabouts for promotion to division one now.
Post by: armaghniac on March 05, 2016, 08:48:39 PM
Cavan played a bit, Armagh rank.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 05, 2016, 08:52:47 PM
In a tight enough division - (5 sides on 2 points before tonight's game) a 17 point loss looks like it could be a mortal loss.

Before the game Armagh were in 4th place due to their score difference of -5, now they are in last with a score difference of -22.
Fermanagh and Meath are on -6 and Laois on -10.

The one game Armagh did win was a 1 point victory.

Galway at home, then Tyrone away and Derry at home - these are the top 3 teams in the Division with 7 wins between and the 2 loses coming when Tyrone beat Galway and Galway beat Derry.

Post by: Oraisteach on March 05, 2016, 08:59:34 PM
Armagh just cautious not to show their hand ahead of the first match in the Ulster championship.  On the other hand, is there a back door through which we can get to Division 4 more quickly!
Post by: Over the Bar on March 05, 2016, 09:12:13 PM
When you concede 3-18 to Cavan, you really must be the toilet brush of Ulster football. :/
Post by: mrdeeds on March 05, 2016, 09:15:56 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 01, 2016, 09:26:49 PM

No interest.  Your right. No Keating McDermot either. Imagine if we had all our players.
Post by: Rossfan on March 05, 2016, 09:16:11 PM
Some score by Cyaavn.
What would they do if they ever switch to attacking fupple.....
Post by: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 09:48:20 PM
I'd like to dedicate that hammering to McGeeney, one of the biggest bluffers in football. I don't hold that against him mind, there are lots of bluffers. However, I recall the day he lead Kildare out in Breffni years ago and that Kildare team hammered a poor Cavan team. With the game won he put Seanie on when it would have been better for all concerned if he had left him on the bench. The rest is history but that still hurts a lot of Cavan fans and I cant help but wonder if Seanie had remained an unused sub if his return might have been a lot easier.

I was sceptical about the return of Seanie, would he fit into modern football etc but I was delighted at his work rate, his off the ball running and his leadership today. A lot of people are still soar about the past but maybe looking at his efforts today tells me he wants to make amends.

Today was a good win but Armagh are awful, worst Armagh effort I have ever seen to be honest. Still Cavan can only beat whats in front of them.
Post by: seafoid on March 05, 2016, 10:23:47 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on March 05, 2016, 09:12:13 PM
When you concede 3-18 to Cavan, you really must be the toilet brush of Ulster football. :/
5 All Irelands in Cavan all the same...
Post by: Rossfan on March 05, 2016, 10:26:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 05, 2016, 10:23:47 PM
None of them lads togged tonight though :D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 05, 2016, 10:29:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 05, 2016, 10:26:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 05, 2016, 10:23:47 PM
None of them lads togged tonight though :D

Cavan still would have won if they did!!
Post by: ck on March 05, 2016, 10:41:58 PM
Have Cavan scored anything like that kind of tally in recent years?
Armagh, what's going on?!!

Genuine question to Armagh people. What's the thoughts on McGeeney? Is he untouchable? Things seem to have gone pear shaped since Grimley left.
Post by: Armamike on March 05, 2016, 10:45:40 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 09:48:20 PM
I'd like to dedicate that hammering to McGeeney, one of the biggest bluffers in football. I don't hold that against him mind, there are lots of bluffers. However, I recall the day he lead Kildare out in Breffni years ago and that Kildare team hammered a poor Cavan team. With the game won he put Seanie on when it would have been better for all concerned if he had left him on the bench. The rest is history but that still hurts a lot of Cavan fans and I cant help but wonder if Seanie had remained an unused sub if his return might have been a lot easier.

I was sceptical about the return of Seanie, would he fit into modern football etc but I was delighted at his work rate, his off the ball running and his leadership today. A lot of people are still soar about the past but maybe looking at his efforts today tells me he wants to make amends.

Today was a good win but Armagh are awful, worst Armagh effort I have ever seen to be honest. Still Cavan can only beat whats in front of them.

You'd know a lot about bluffers.  You've some neck on you sitting on your arse at a keyboard calling somebody a bluffer who's achieved all in football that McGeeney has.
Post by: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 10:52:42 PM
Quote from: Armamike on March 05, 2016, 10:45:40 PM

You'd know a lot about bluffers.  You've some neck on you sitting on your arse at a keyboard calling somebody a bluffer who's achieved all in football that McGeeney has.

Suck it up. Good player, shite manager. I think everyone can see that now. I'll give you a pass tonight as your probably a bit sore after getting rode like that tonight. ;D
Post by: mrdeeds on March 05, 2016, 10:58:58 PM
Quote from: ck on March 05, 2016, 10:41:58 PM
Have Cavan scored anything like that kind of tally in recent years?
Armagh, what's going on?!!

Genuine question to Armagh people. What's the thoughts on McGeeney? Is he untouchable? Things seem to have gone pear shaped since Grimley left.

Yeah last week. Against Derry in champ. Couple times versus London. We're not as negative as people think. Joe Brolly started that crap and most people are sheep and take it as gospel.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 05, 2016, 10:59:58 PM
I remember the 100pg plus thread on Seanie Johnson and his move to Kildare and the pure abuse he got, I wonder how Cavan fans feel about him now as he is the real scoring thread and Cavan in short need players like him
Post by: charlieTully on March 05, 2016, 11:02:22 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 10:52:42 PM

Suck it up. Good player, shite manager. I think everyone can see that now. I'll give you a pass tonight as your probably a bit sore after getting rode like that tonight. ;D

That was laugh out loud funny.  :D
Post by: T Fearon on March 05, 2016, 11:11:25 PM
Armagh started off like a house on fire and led three nil after 4 minutes but when Cavan scored a scrappy goal a few minutes it seemed to signal a surrender for the entire Armagh team?

I have not been one iota impressed in the four games so far by any of the new lads,if we hadn't had Campbell tonight we would have seriously risked a no score return.

I do remember getting a tanking one day in Breffni in  the league in big Joe's time but unlike tonight you knew that was a blip
Post by: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 11:15:59 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 05, 2016, 11:11:25 PM
Armagh started off like a house on fire and led three nil after 4 minutes but when Cavan scored a scrappy goal a few minutes it seemed to signal a surrender for the entire Armagh team?

I have not been one iota impressed in the four games so far by any of the new lads,if we hadn't had Campbell tonight we would have seriously risked a no score return.

I do remember getting a tanking one day in Breffni in  the league in big Joe's time but unlike tonight you knew that was a blip

That was a long time ago and if memory serves me I think it was the week after Cormac McAnallen passed away. That was a very good Armagh team who were out of sorts.
Post by: Throw ball on March 05, 2016, 11:18:25 PM
I normally will defend by county team in most situations but that is impossible tonight. I saw my first Armagh match in 1977 and that is the worst I can remember. Cavan played very well and McKeirnan is a great footballer. They should have won by more.

No matter how I feel about how the team and management performed I would never comment on our team manager, or any other teams, in the manner one poster has commented on McGeeney tonight. He has done more for Gaelic football in our county and in the association that most of us ever will. Weither he is a good manager or not or just does not have the players is up for debate. It does not need his character ridiculed.
Post by: ck on March 05, 2016, 11:52:53 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 05, 2016, 11:18:25 PM
I normally will defend by county team in most situations but that is impossible tonight. I saw my first Armagh match in 1977 and that is the worst I can remember. Cavan played very well and McKeirnan is a great footballer. They should have won by more.

No matter how I feel about how the team and management performed I would never comment on our team manager, or any other teams, in the manner one poster has commented on McGeeney tonight. He has done more for Gaelic football in our county and in the association that most of us ever will. Weither he is a good manager or not or just does not have the players is up for debate. It does not need his character ridiculed.

So he's untouchable? Above criticism?
Post by: Throw ball on March 05, 2016, 11:56:08 PM
Quote from: ck on March 05, 2016, 11:52:53 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on March 05, 2016, 11:18:25 PM

So he's untouchable? Above criticism?

I did not say that. I feel the comment was more like personal abuse.

Besides after tonight criticism is not needed. The result speaks for itself.
Post by: Armamike on March 06, 2016, 12:34:37 AM
Quote from: Itchy on March 05, 2016, 10:52:42 PM

Good lad. Enjoy your win.
Post by: reddgnhand on March 06, 2016, 04:52:42 AM
Know ye well you whore from hell ye filthy Cavan B*_____
Post by: Fuzzman on March 06, 2016, 04:58:04 AM
Now noeew behave Rdgnhand.
Is it true Armagh and Down are thinking of amalgamating with a McCorry, Paddy o' Rourke management team already been tested on each side?

Post by: seafoid on March 06, 2016, 05:21:26 AM
Armagh and Meath are in a race to D3. Wouldn't it be gas if they made it one step lower into D4 allowing them to qualify for the B championship?
Post by: reddgnhand on March 06, 2016, 05:33:54 AM
OK Fuzzman but give the man some respect. McGeeney doesn't deserve that sort of nonsense.
Post by: Itchy on March 06, 2016, 08:26:55 AM
Quote from: reddgnhand on March 06, 2016, 05:33:54 AM
OK Fuzzman but give the man some respect. McGeeney doesn't deserve that sort of nonsense.

After his antics in Kildare he most certainly does.
Post by: seafoid on March 06, 2016, 09:20:44 AM
Armagh are in a bad way. Not unlinked to one team dominating club football. It is very hard for a manager to influence such a negative dynamic. And Ulster is so competitive. The problems didn't start last night. Underage results nothing to write home about either. The best KM could do would be to stabilise things. And Cavan are quite good too.
Post by: T Fearon on March 06, 2016, 11:55:08 AM
It is astonishing that Armagh were in the quarter finals of the AI Championship a mere 18 months ago,and were tipped last season to be serious Ulster contenders.The decline has been rapid.Did the likes of Aaron Kernan and Brian Mallon,and many more retire naturally or walk away due to unhappiness with the system and or manager? The debacle of last year's Ulster first round mauling to Donegal,during which the tactical deficiencies were exposed for all to see,spiralled this seemingly unarrestable decline,and if we return to Division 3 I fear we'll be there for a while.Something seriously wrong.
Post by: LCohen on March 06, 2016, 12:01:52 PM
no need for personal abuse of mcgeeney or anybody else for that matter.

But every need to question his management of this team. We dont sack manager's mid season so he is safe for the duration of this season. But in the absence of serious improvement it would genuinely a disgrace to see him in the role for next season. Results are auwful. Performances are awful. Our playing strength has weakened but both results and performances are below the standards that can be expected from this group of players. There is nothing in the performances that point to this being a work in progress that is moving in the right direction. What little joy we get in games comes from the individual talents of 3 or 4 players and even they are being undermined by McGeeney (starting McKenna in the corner must have made sense to McGeeney before the game but I doubt if even he could come up with a reason why he persevered with it hor the last hour of the game).

There is no doubt that we do not have a division 1 panel. There is no doubt that McGeeney was a great player. There is no doubt that he will be putting a serious effort into making Armagh a successful side. But is he good enough? For my money its a no. A very, very clear No.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2016, 12:17:27 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 06, 2016, 11:55:08 AM
It is astonishing that Armagh were in the quarter finals of the AI Championship a mere 18 months ago,and were tipped last season to be serious Ulster contenders.The decline has been rapid.Did the likes of Aaron Kernan and Brian Mallon,and many more retire naturally or walk away due to unhappiness with the system and or manager? The debacle of last year's Ulster first round mauling to Donegal,during which the tactical deficiencies were exposed for all to see,spiralled this seemingly unarrestable decline,and if we return to Division 3 I fear we'll be there for a while.Something seriously wrong.

And you questioned why Jamie walked?  The county has wasted the last 10 years through mismanagement of teams and other matters.  We had 2 AI winning under age teams,  nicely spread in terms of developing one into the other with the u21s in 2004 and the minors in 2009.  Outside of that in the same period of time we won 8 Ulster clubs and 3 AIs.  We never built on what Joe did and made the wrong managerial appointments.  Blame Cross, blame Geezer, blame whoever you want but the issues run deeper than that.  There is a malaise in the club scene which has resulted in a feed-in to the county squad of inferior players or players afraid to do what is natural to them for fear of criticism from the management.  The county has to make brave decisions as we currently have a few groups of very good players coming through from 15-19 years old.  They won't change mid-season and I would not expect them to but I would do a full audit of where the £600k is going and ask the question what is best?  By that stage Tony will have had a year at inter county level coaching a top team and I would get him and Oisin in and give them free reign to change things up. 
Post by: Orior on March 06, 2016, 12:24:56 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 05, 2016, 11:11:25 PM

Obviously our win against Fermanagh was a blip.
Post by: T Fearon on March 06, 2016, 12:34:44 PM
BC I am not disagreeing with you.In my view,not one of the 2009 minor panel has been a real success at senior level.The astonishing thing is the lack of fight or resilience,for the first five minutes last night we were playing like the Dubs and raced into a three point lead but when Cavan scored a scrappy goal the players seemed to throw in the towel immediately.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2016, 12:46:36 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 06, 2016, 12:34:44 PM
BC I am not disagreeing with you.In my view,not one of the 2009 minor panel has been a real success at senior level.The astonishing thing is the lack of fight or resilience,for the first five minutes last night we were playing like the Dubs and raced into a three point lead but when Cavan scored a scrappy goal the players seemed to throw in the towel immediately.

But you created a thread to castigate Jamie Clarke for walking away?  Do you now see that maybe he had a justification for doing it?  Like everyone else I want to see Armagh do well.  I was proud to wear he jersey,  albeit at underage, and I know that if you look down through history the connection between the club and the county has been very strong.  You're right about the minors with James Morgan being the only one who has played consistently for the county.  He will be a central player for years but the likes of McKenna, Mcparland, Murnin etc really should have stepped up but they haven't so far.  The big question is do they have the mentality to do it?
Post by: Throw ball on March 06, 2016, 01:29:16 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2016, 12:46:36 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 06, 2016, 12:34:44 PM

But you created a thread to castigate Jamie Clarke for walking away?  Do you now see that maybe he had a justification for doing it?  Like everyone else I want to see Armagh do well.  I was proud to wear he jersey,  albeit at underage, and I know that if you look down through history the connection between the club and the county has been very strong.  You're right about the minors with James Morgan being the only one who has played consistently for the county.  He will be a central player for years but the likes of McKenna, Mcparland, Murnin etc really should have  stepped up but they haven't so far.  The big question is do they have the mentality to do it?

The biggest miss for me is Pete Carragher. He was very unlucky with injury but we need a quality midfielder more than anything. I have not seen him play in a while so cannot comment on his form. When Murnin came on last night he showed the right attitude, as did McParland. You are right though the problem has not been caused by McGeeney. If he is the right man to put the structures in place - and if he can get universal support - is another matter.
Post by: armaghniac on March 06, 2016, 02:38:09 PM
Well at least Armagh and Cavan conducted their game in a civilised way unlike those rough western people on the TV at the minute.
Post by: Throw ball on March 06, 2016, 02:46:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 06, 2016, 02:38:09 PM
Well at least Armagh and Cavan conducted their game in a civilised way unlike those rough western people on the TV at the minute.

Sure nothing happened! ???
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on March 06, 2016, 02:49:03 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2016, 12:17:27 PM
And you questioned why Jamie walked?  The county has wasted the last 10 years through mismanagement of teams and other matters.  We had 2 AI winning under age teams,  nicely spread in terms of developing one into the other with the u21s in 2004 and the minors in 2009.  Outside of that in the same period of time we won 8 Ulster clubs and 3 AIs.  We never built on what Joe did and made the wrong managerial appointments.  Blame Cross, blame Geezer, blame whoever you want but the issues run deeper than that.  There is a malaise in the club scene which has resulted in a feed-in to the county squad of inferior players or players afraid to do what is natural to them for fear of criticism from the management.  The county has to make brave decisions as we currently have a few groups of very good players coming through from 15-19 years old.  They won't change mid-season and I would not expect them to but I would do a full audit of where the £600k is going and ask the question what is best?  By that stage Tony will have had a year at inter county level coaching a top team and I would get him and Oisin in and give them free reign to change things up.

But you created a thread to castigate Jamie Clarke for walking away?  Do you now see that maybe he had a justification for doing it?  Like everyone else I want to see Armagh do well.  I was proud to wear he jersey,  albeit at underage, and I know that if you look down through history the connection between the club and the county has been very strong.  You're right about the minors with James Morgan being the only one who has played consistently for the county.  He will be a central player for years but the likes of McKenna, Mcparland, Murnin etc really should have stepped up but they haven't so far.  The big question is do they have the mentality to do it?

Interesting BC. You make reference in your posts to poor management and infer a link to that and Jamie walking away from the squad. There could also be an argument made for Declan McKenna leaving the squad in similar circumstances but the question for him is about having the right mentality to step up to the plate?

You do make reference to the poor managerial appointments made over the last decade and what you refer to as, not building on what Joe did. I was going to raise this point on our own forum, as I have said often that the failure to bring a Grimley / Geezer management team around 2006/07 broke the momentum / culture that we had built at County level that could have been maintained with the right management, as the raw material was there - the 2004 Under 21s and 2009 Minors. That was broken by poor managerial appointments and we have drifted to a point now where our County set up is seen as a chore for many of our best players.

I know where I would put the blame on that. Unfortunately though that ship has long sailed.
Post by: stew on March 06, 2016, 03:29:00 PM
Appalling result but hopefully one that will force management to have a look in the mirror and change the way we are playing because it is absolutely nit working!

The players are also culpable, like in the Donegal game we concede a goal early and shit the bed thereafter, not good enough.

We desperately need midfielders and now would be a great time to shake things up, squad players should get a run to see what they are capable of as we are lucky to be going to division three, one last thing, I can take the losing, what I cannot take is lack of passion and effort, yesterdays effort was diabolical and test is on everyone playing and managing, fail to prepare, prepare to fail, Cavan knew what we were all about before a ball was kicked, shocking stuff.
Post by: armaghniac on March 06, 2016, 04:03:48 PM
The first goal was unfortunate, but Armagh had 3 points on the board at that stage, it wasn't like cases where the opposition had raced ahead. A bit of graft at that stage and the gap would not have been as great at half time.

The second goal was sad though, as Cavan walked through without a hand placed on them.
Post by: Itchy on March 06, 2016, 07:00:45 PM
Match report from the Celt, Armagh people might be interested in the quotes from mcgeeney if you haven't read them already

http://www.anglocelt.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2016/03/06/4115705-powerful-cavan-dismantle-armagh-in-style/
Post by: seafoid on March 06, 2016, 07:37:25 PM
Johnston is really playing well. Thanks for the link, Itchy.
Post by: T Fearon on March 06, 2016, 08:07:47 PM
Straight out of the Steve Staunton management handbook.Only thing missing from Mc Geeney is the "Normally we're very good in March" quote.
Post by: tonto1888 on March 06, 2016, 08:15:19 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 06, 2016, 07:00:45 PM
Match report from the Celt, Armagh people might be interested in the quotes from mcgeeney if you haven't read them already

http://www.anglocelt.ie/sport/roundup/articles/2016/03/06/4115705-powerful-cavan-dismantle-armagh-in-style/

Hopefully he does what he says
Post by: smelmoth on March 06, 2016, 09:48:43 PM
Quote from: LCohen on March 06, 2016, 12:01:52 PM
no need for personal abuse of mcgeeney or anybody else for that matter.

But every need to question his management of this team. We dont sack manager's mid season so he is safe for the duration of this season. But in the absence of serious improvement it would genuinely a disgrace to see him in the role for next season. Results are auwful. Performances are awful. Our playing strength has weakened but both results and performances are below the standards that can be expected from this group of players. There is nothing in the performances that point to this being a work in progress that is moving in the right direction. What little joy we get in games comes from the individual talents of 3 or 4 players and even they are being undermined by McGeeney (starting McKenna in the corner must have made sense to McGeeney before the game but I doubt if even he could come up with a reason why he persevered with it hor the last hour of the game).

There is no doubt that we do not have a division 1 panel. There is no doubt that McGeeney was a great player. There is no doubt that he will be putting a serious effort into making Armagh a successful side. But is he good enough? For my money its a no. A very, very clear No.
A big turn around in results is not beyond question but in the absence of it then I agree kieran will not be our manager in the McKenna Cup
Post by: smelmoth on March 06, 2016, 10:18:39 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on March 06, 2016, 02:49:03 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2016, 12:17:27 PM

Interesting BC. You make reference in your posts to poor management and infer a link to that and Jamie walking away from the squad. There could also be an argument made for Declan McKenna leaving the squad in similar circumstances but the question for him is about having the right mentality to step up to the plate?

You do make reference to the poor managerial appointments made over the last decade and what you refer to as, not building on what Joe did. I was going to raise this point on our own forum, as I have said often that the failure to bring a Grimley / Geezer management team around 2006/07 broke the momentum / culture that we had built at County level that could have been maintained with the right management, as the raw material was there - the 2004 Under 21s and 2009 Minors. That was broken by poor managerial appointments and we have drifted to a point now where our County set up is seen as a chore for many of our best players.

I know where I would put the blame on that. Unfortunately though that ship has long sailed.

Armagh have wasted many years and the talents of many players. I was there when we imploded in Dr Hyde Park but the reality is of all the managers since Joe only POR maximised the talent of his players. He was there when we got to Div 1 and we managed to miraculously stay there for 2 years. After that our league record has been disastrous. We had 2 pathetic years in division 2 under Grimley. At no stage did it look like Grimley had the makings of a modern manager. McGeeney cut his teeth in division 3 but that is milk teeth territory. This year has been an embarrassment. McDonnell can point to an Ulster title and Grimley to an last 8 position but in reality is that 08 was unconvincing and 2014 was an oddity given the preceding league campaign. Armagh have been serially mis-managed. Maybe Jamie is justified in pointing his life choices elsewhere

Armagh are hindered by a dysfunctional club game. Wherever the blame for that lies it certainly is not within Crossmaglen.

Cross have played a positive open game. The club game is dominated by negative, defensive tactics by other sides but where has this got them? Where will it get them? Why do they persist? Reality is talent is being pissed away at club and therefore county level.

Like BCB I would want to know where the money is going.

Like Rufus I would defend Declan McKenna. His treatment by Grimley in 2013 (tactical naivety) and  2014 (omission) was wrong. He had a big role to play in 2016 as a mobile midfielder and leader but as is the case for Jamie, Armagh 2016 is not something they can buy into. Maybe they are both right. Maybe they are both wrong but it is just wrong to say one is right and one is plain wrong.

I cannot agree with Rufus on this point that a failure to bring a Grimley / Geezer management team around 2006/07 broke the momentum / culture that we had built at County level. Who is to say that their very appointment would not equally have killed us off. I saw nothing in their subsequent careers in the hot seat to indicate that they had/have what it takes.

Blame who you like but be honest was McDonnell or Por any worse than Grimley or McGeeney?
Post by: armaghniac on March 06, 2016, 11:33:46 PM
A couple of points, Jamie Clark may or may not be there in any case, he has taken breaks from a Rangers, who are about as well managed as you can be, and where he'd get medal. 2014 wasn't a complete fluke there seemed to be a rethink to some extent that year, the question is where did that go since then?

One harbinger of the present situation is that the AI minor winning team did nothing at U-21.
Post by: moysider on March 06, 2016, 11:50:25 PM

That is unbelievable response from McGeeney. I don t think there is anyway back for him from that. Clearly in a bad place with himself.
He's been at the top end of the game for 20 years. Saying the players are good and he must be doing something wrong is bizzare. He's already managed one of the better county teams (sometimes they were). What could he get so wrong?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on March 07, 2016, 12:09:59 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 06, 2016, 10:18:39 PM
I cannot agree with Rufus on this point that a failure to bring a Grimley / Geezer management team around 2006/07 broke the momentum / culture that we had built at County level. Who is to say that their very appointment would not equally have killed us off. I saw nothing in their subsequent careers in the hot seat to indicate that they had/have what it takes.

We will never know how it might have worked out. In my opinion though, conditions would have been very favourable for them. There had been a five year gap by the time Big Paul came into the fold as manager, and he took charge of a very different squad to that which he left in 2006 - the favourable conditions were no longer there and our unique 'all for one / Armagh first' mentality was gone. 
Post by: Throw ball on March 07, 2016, 12:10:38 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 06, 2016, 11:50:25 PM

That is unbelievable response from McGeeney. I don t think there is anyway back for him from that. Clearly in a bad place with himself.
He's been at the top end of the game for 20 years. Saying the players are good and he must be doing something wrong is bizzare. He's already managed one of the better county teams (sometimes they were). What could he get so wrong?

Could be trying to deflect criticism from the players? Alternatively he may be thinking that managing your own county is much harder than he thought.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on March 07, 2016, 09:24:55 AM
Or maybe he is just being brutally honest and self-reflective.
Its refreshing to see a manager do that amongst all the sound-bites and bull ye usually hear.

On another note, im at a loss as to how Armagh would be a better panel without the likes of Decky McKenna.
Post by: Armamike on March 07, 2016, 10:26:27 AM
The guy's just being honest - that's the way he is. He knows something's up when his team has just been hammered like that. Our player base is pretty thin at the minute with good players who should be there but for whatever reason are not, and other good players who are continually injured.  But, that doesn't excuse that type of performance.
Post by: mackers on March 07, 2016, 10:43:46 AM
Whilst Geezer isn't pulling up trees with his management the plain truth of the matter is that the players aren't there.  The central characters in our run in 2014 aren't playing for a variety of different reasons and by the way it is shaping up the vast majority of them won't be about for the remainder of the year.  We have zero strength in depth with a number of players who took to the field on Saturday evening not up to county standard.  Shea Heffron is a young lad who wouldn't fall into this bracket and had been shaping up rightly but he was hung out to dry on Saturday evening playing CHB for large parts of the evening when his bag was out after 10/15 minutes.
There were comments before the Cross-Castlebar game that Armagh were missing the Cross players but that factor was overplayed.  There are only two Cross players who would have made a big difference to the Armagh setup this year and both are missing all year (Clarke and Morgan).  I think TK's best years are behind him.  Gone are the days when we were waiting on the McEntee's, Oisin and Francie to come back in to make a big difference.  Cross did exceptionally well to get an Ulster out of this year's team.
On the flip side congratulations to Cavan who played really well.  Maybe Hyland will now begin to trust in this group of players and allow them to play the football that they are capable of instead of the awful restrictive game plan that they have been playing up to this point.
Post by: general_lee on March 07, 2016, 11:16:57 AM
Quote from: mackers on March 07, 2016, 10:43:46 AM
On the flip side congratulations to Cavan who played really well.  Maybe Hyland will now begin to trust in this group of players and allow them to play the football that they are capable of instead of the awful restrictive game plan that they have been playing up to this point.
I agree. Cavan were in doldrums not too long ago and it's nice to see the real aristocrats of Ulster football continue their renaissance.

As for Armagh. I whole heartedly agree, players are just not there. This myth that gets peddled every year "ah we are missing x y and z from Cross" is an exaggeration. Other than AK there is IMO no player that would add substantially to the team, J Clarke in his pomp goes without saying but his pomp hasn't been evident in an orange shirt in quite a while. The same goes for the constantly injured players McKeever, Donaghy, Dyas, Murnin etc. By the time they get back up to match fitness they usually get injured again soon after. We then have to rely on guys in their first year of the panel in key positions, which is no slight on them. Having said that I think McGeeney deserves more time, he's not got a lot to work with even if things are pretty pear shaped at the minute. Changing mgmt at the end of the year will just cause more interruption and will set us back even further.
Post by: Westside on March 07, 2016, 08:52:53 PM
Can I ask about this "awful restrictive game plan" we have, apparently, been playing up to now. Did any of you see Cavan play last year?
Post by: smelmoth on March 07, 2016, 09:21:20 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on March 07, 2016, 12:09:59 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 06, 2016, 10:18:39 PM

We will never know how it might have worked out. In my opinion though, conditions would have been very favourable for them. There had been a five year gap by the time Big Paul came into the fold as manager, and he took charge of a very different squad to that which he left in 2006 - the favourable conditions were no longer there and our unique 'all for one / Armagh first' mentality was gone.
Conditions were more favourable in 2006 than in either 2015 or 2013. But I cannot see where the optimism comes from that either Grimley or McGeeney (or the 2 in tandem) would have  made a better fist of it than either PMcD or POR. On a consistent basis both men sent teams out without even the basics in order. On those points the quality of player available to them is of no consequence. All for one is all well and good and will take a team forward but to be even in the running a team needs the basics - a kick out strategy, players playing in position, no 50m gap in front of the full back line, game time changes.
Post by: T Fearon on March 07, 2016, 10:26:52 PM
The question is how could the team show so much character and fight,literally,to grind out a win against Fermanagh,the previous week,and show none at all against Cavan? Were they told to tone it down after recent skirmishes with Cavan and after the €5k fine after the Fermanagh game?
Post by: armaghniac on March 07, 2016, 11:10:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 07, 2016, 10:26:52 PM
The question is how could the team show so much character and fight,literally,to grind out a win against Fermanagh,the previous week,and show none at all against Cavan? Were they told to tone it down after recent skirmishes with Cavan and after the €5k fine after the Fermanagh game?

Perhaps more character and less fight would have made a better game and still no fine.
Post by: smelmoth on March 08, 2016, 08:36:20 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 07, 2016, 11:10:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on March 07, 2016, 10:26:52 PM
[/quote

Perhaps more character and less fight would have made a better game and still no fine.
100% correct.

What we don't need is the tough guy response. In the run up to games Armagh need to be cold and calculating in identifying what they need to do on the field of play. On the day the players need to keep their heads - discipline in the tackle and smart gametime decisions are worth more than physical posturing
Post by: Applesisapples on March 08, 2016, 11:29:41 AM
Lots of posters here claiming that only one or two Cross players are up to the mark. Perhaps I'm being naïve here but given that they consistently paste the majority of Armagh Clubs in the championship surely they should have a greater presence? I understand that the nature of Armagh club football is such that many posters here from outside Cross would be less than neutral when assessing the situation. So perhaps BCB could answer that one? The other question I have is where is all the underage development work going wrong?
Post by: mackers on March 08, 2016, 11:34:51 AM
For me it's actually a compliment to Cross.  The whole idea of any club or team management is get a team to play greater than the sum of its parts and Cross have done this regularly in the past and it was the case this year for sure.
Post by: general_lee on March 08, 2016, 12:02:06 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on March 08, 2016, 11:29:41 AM
Lots of posters here claiming that only one or two Cross players are up to the mark. Perhaps I'm being naïve here but given that they consistently paste the majority of Armagh Clubs in the championship surely they should have a greater presence? I understand that the nature of Armagh club football is such that many posters here from outside Cross would be less than neutral when assessing the situation. So perhaps BCB could answer that one? The other question I have is where is all the underage development work going wrong?
Realistically about 7 of them could play AND make a substantial difference. Thing is they're either injured, retired from IC or otherwise ruled out!
Post by: DuffleKing on March 08, 2016, 12:32:40 PM

I didn't see Saturday's game but a notable deficiency in the first three games was Armagh's tackling - the edge and technical ability that Armagh teams have had there in recent years was evidently missing
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 08, 2016, 12:45:41 PM
All things being equal I reckon that Paul McK, Paul Hughes, AK, James Morgan, Johnny Hanratty, TK, Kyle Carragher and Jamie Clarke would be capable of playing county senior football at the minute under the right set up.  They may not all be first teamers but certainly they are as strong as is on the squad in their relative positions.  I believe Aidan Rushe and Oisin O'Neill have the talent but are still young and would be better off having at least 1 more year in club football before stepping up.  Obviously AK is retired, Morgan injured and Jamie away.  Many will argue against Johnny but when fit he is a very strong MF who gets in people's faces.  Maybe that's why many Armagh supporters don't like him  He is a loose cannon but a strong option.  I think that most would accept the others I have mentioned.
Post by: smelmoth on March 08, 2016, 12:54:45 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 08, 2016, 12:45:41 PM
All things being equal I reckon that Paul McK, Paul Hughes, AK, James Morgan, Johnny Hanratty, TK, Kyle Carragher and Jamie Clarke would be capable of playing county senior football at the minute under the right set up.  They may not all be first teamers but certainly they are as strong as is on the squad in their relative positions.  I believe Aidan Rushe and Oisin O'Neill have the talent but are still young and would be better off having at least 1 more year in club football before stepping up.  Obviously AK is retired, Morgan injured and Jamie away.  Many will argue against Johnny but when fit he is a very strong MF who gets in people's faces.  Maybe that's why many Armagh supporters don't like him  He is a loose cannon but a strong option.  I think that most would accept the others I have mentioned.
The key name there is Kyle Carragher.

McKeown and Hughes are there are thereabouts with what we have. They would add to depth and competition for places (both good things) but they would not transform us. I don't agree with you re Johnny. But Carragher is better than what we have in a position where we struggle to field at all. the inside line is stocked week after week with players who are not natural in the role. Carragher has pace and works his own chances. He needs to be there and I would be hugely disappointed if efforts had not been made to get him on board.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 08, 2016, 02:10:19 PM
I love Hanratty as a player he never quits, looking at him for Cross I'd say he would need to work a wee bit on fitness, but when he played for Armagh before he always brought something that now seems to be lacking, the ability to win dirty ball.
Post by: JP on March 08, 2016, 02:56:13 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 08, 2016, 12:54:45 PM
The key name there is Kyle Carragher.

McKeown and Hughes are there are thereabouts with what we have. They would add to depth and competition for places (both good things) but they would not transform us. I don't agree with you re Johnny. But Carragher is better than what we have in a position where we struggle to field at all. the inside line is stocked week after week with players who are not natural in the role. Carragher has pace and works his own chances. He needs to be there and I would be hugely disappointed if efforts had not been made to get him on board.

I agree, his partnership with Clarke in 2014 was lovely to watch. I think he is a far better option then any player we have tried in corner forward so far this year.
Post by: general_lee on March 08, 2016, 03:01:39 PM
Id agree with Smelmoth. Don't think Hanratty offers anything that isn't already there. Armagh don't just need a dirty ball winner they need someone in the Paul McGrane mould. If Findon could win clean ball dominate his opponent and take points from out the field he'd not be far off but he can't. Kyle Carragher would certainly add to the forward division and it's a shame he isn't available. At the back I don't really think there's much more the Cross players would add, I'd have Hearty back in even as back up and obviously AK and Morgan.
Post by: smelmoth on March 08, 2016, 09:17:07 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 08, 2016, 03:01:39 PM
Id agree with Smelmoth. Don't think Hanratty offers anything that isn't already there. Armagh don't just need a dirty ball winner they need someone in the Paul McGrane mould. If Findon could win clean ball dominate his opponent and take points from out the field he'd not be far off but he can't. Kyle Carragher would certainly add to the forward division and it's a shame he isn't available. At the back I don't really think there's much more the Cross players would add, I'd have Hearty back in even as back up and obviously AK and Morgan.

Why is Carragher not available? Was he asked?

In the 4 games to date we have not selected a single player in the full forward line that is better in that role than Kyle Carragher. It would be good to know why he is not there.
Post by: Armamike on March 08, 2016, 10:30:58 PM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 08, 2016, 09:17:07 PM

In the 4 games to date we have not selected a single player in the full forward line that is better in that role than Kyle Carragher. It would be good to know why he is not there.

Building a house.
Post by: redzone on March 08, 2016, 10:39:34 PM
Building a house. Lmfao
Post by: Applesisapples on March 09, 2016, 11:38:23 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on March 08, 2016, 09:17:07 PM

Whether true or not I was told by an acquaintance of the player that he was not prepared to commit to the training schedule expected by Geezer.
Post by: T Fearon on March 09, 2016, 08:56:21 PM
According to Breheny in Irish Indo today,Armagh spent €891,611 on its county teams in 2015 and Donegal spent €765,864,Monaghan €561,500 and Tyrone €556,222. Guess who got little in return for whopping expenditure?
Post by: Beffs on March 09, 2016, 09:33:14 PM
Where do Armagh train? Belfast is only about 40 miles away. If a lot of their players work there, or go to university there, those mileage expenses would hardly break the bank, compared to someone from Mayo, Kerry, Donegal etc etc living and working in Dublin.
Post by: rrhf on March 09, 2016, 09:39:10 PM
Strange comment - Have Cross become apathetic to Armaghs fortunes, or are they supportive, or do they need regime change to be cooperative?
Post by: armaghniac on March 09, 2016, 09:52:23 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 09, 2016, 09:39:10 PM
Strange comment - Have Cross become apathetic to Armaghs fortunes, or are they supportive, or do they need regime change to be cooperative?

Well you could have Kyle Carragher running about in the forwards, but nobody to kick him a decent pass, so he wouldn't be very effective.
Post by: Throw ball on March 09, 2016, 09:54:53 PM
Quote from: Beffs on March 09, 2016, 09:33:14 PM
Where do Armagh train? Belfast is only about 40 miles away. If a lot of their players work there, or go to university there, those mileage expenses would hardly break the bank, compared to someone from Mayo, Kerry, Donegal etc etc living and working in Dublin.

Hurling sticks cost a fortune!
Post by: Beffs on March 09, 2016, 10:02:12 PM
The Orchard County, complaining about the cost of wooden hurls? Chop down a few trees FFS !  :P
Post by: Over the Bar on March 09, 2016, 10:57:28 PM
Hurls made from Armagh trees? Twisted as bejaysus!!
Post by: Beffs on March 09, 2016, 11:01:26 PM
With a wood chip on their shoulder.  :P