GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on January 26, 2016, 05:06:12 PM

Title: Meath v Armagh, NFL Div 2, Sunday 31 January, Pairc Tailteann, Navan
Post by: BennyCake on January 26, 2016, 05:06:12 PM
Well, what's the craic with this match?
Title: Re: Meath v Armagh, NFL Div 2, Sunday 31 January, Pairc Tailteann, Navan
Post by: thejuice on January 26, 2016, 05:35:13 PM
Now that we have the Rathoath and Curragha lads back we'll be unstoppable.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 26, 2016, 05:39:23 PM
Quote from: AFS on January 26, 2016, 05:14:55 PM
We might win. Or we might lose. That's it really.
More likely to lose than win.
Post by: No wides on January 26, 2016, 08:24:51 PM
Might be a draw.
Post by: T Fearon on January 26, 2016, 10:23:33 PM
Can repeat the win of two years ago,remember the great comeback?
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 26, 2016, 10:33:48 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 26, 2016, 10:23:33 PM
Can repeat the win of two years ago,remember the great comeback?
I remember it well. Your favourite Armagh player scored 0-11.
Post by: Hardy on January 27, 2016, 12:05:37 AM
It's only the league.
Post by: seafoid on January 27, 2016, 04:35:41 AM
It's the hunger games. A must win for 2 teams desperate for points and emotionally suspect. Meath should give a D2 welcome to the apple munching arrivistes but do they have the temperament . Have Dublin beaten it out of them?   Yes and Yes. January football will do that. Strictly Come Dancing is over and any GAA is better than nothing. Barely.
Post by: illdecide on January 27, 2016, 10:09:55 AM
Glad to see a bit of action again from the long break, hope to get to this game although i'm struggling to get a free pass to go to this. No matter who you support it's impossible to work out what way this game could/will go, both teams are unpredictable and capable of beating each other. If both teams play to their max i think Armagh might just be a few points a better team than Meath but i suppose Meath supporters will feel the same that they're a few points a better team than Armagh...

Flip a coin...feck it.
Post by: Tara Na Rí on January 27, 2016, 12:03:04 PM
In recent years, Meath have really struggled to put teams away when they're leading midway through the second half. The Laois and Longford games in the O'Byrne Cup has seen an improvement in this department but we struggled against Louth who would've won the game if they didn't butcher so many chances. So this one is hard to call. We'll get a good gauge of the Meath mentality as the game goes on.
Post by: Jinxy on January 27, 2016, 02:45:23 PM
League games should only be 60 minutes long.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 27, 2016, 02:53:12 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 27, 2016, 02:45:23 PM

Championship games 50 minutes?
Post by: Hardy on January 27, 2016, 03:05:23 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on January 27, 2016, 02:53:12 PM

Most of theme are over after twenty these days.
Post by: SimonSays on January 27, 2016, 03:30:08 PM
Looking forward to the game. both teams need to win this. Derry and Tyrone should be the favs for the division but it is a strong division and you could easily get dragged in to a relegation dog fight . dnt know much about Meath but they are bound to give it a good rattle . Armagh badly need strong defenders and a midfielder who can win primary ball. Would expect a big response from Armagh after a poor pre-season campaign. Come on Armagh ,,,give us some hope
Post by: No wides on January 27, 2016, 03:36:07 PM
I would expect more of the same from Armagh, inability to score and even worse at defending, Armagh will do well to stay up this year.
Post by: Jinxy on January 27, 2016, 03:51:40 PM

Once you go 10 points ahead the ref should just blow it up.
Why prolong the agony?
Post by: BennyCake on January 27, 2016, 04:39:25 PM
Quote from: No wides on January 27, 2016, 03:36:07 PM
I would expect more of the same from Armagh, inability to score and even worse at defending, Armagh will do well to stay up this year.

I'd agree with that.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on January 27, 2016, 04:52:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on January 27, 2016, 03:51:40 PM

Once you go 10 points ahead the ref should just blow it up.
Why prolong the agony?

True, sure there's no coming back from that.
Post by: Throw ball on January 29, 2016, 12:17:11 AM
Armagh team named:
McNeice
McCaughley Vernon Shields
Heffron Donaghy A. Forker
Findon Grimley
Campbell McKenna S Forker
McParland O'Hanlon McVerry

I would calculate 9 changes from the last time the teams met and about the same from Armagh's last championship game.
Post by: Tara Na Rí on January 29, 2016, 12:24:45 AM
I don't know a lot about Armagh football but there seems to be a few regulars missing off that. Half forward line is perhaps the biggest threat to Meath which is interesting as our half back line may be inexperienced, well going by our O'Byrne Cup selections anyway. Are there many debutants in that team?
Post by: Throw ball on January 29, 2016, 12:38:41 AM
Quote from: Tara Na Rí on January 29, 2016, 12:24:45 AM
I don't know a lot about Armagh football but there seems to be a few regulars missing off that. Half forward line is perhaps the biggest threat to Meath which is interesting as our half back line may be inexperienced, well going by our O'Byrne Cup selections anyway. Are there many debutants in that team?

McCaughley, Heffron and Grimley are debutants. Aidan Forker would normally be wing forward for Armagh, although he can play at 6 for his club. Stefan Forker, McParland and McVerry have been on the squad for a while. McKenna would be in his second year.
Post by: Tara Na Rí on January 29, 2016, 01:06:59 AM
Interesting choice from McGeeney to put Aidan Forker at half back then if that's the case. My guess would be that he'll pick up Graham Reilly and try to expose him defensively. Reilly kicked six points from play in the O'Byrne Cup final but if he's on Aidan Forker, then he'll have to do a lot more tracking back which would put him off his own game. Graham can be quite ineffective offensively in these scenarios so on the face of it, it looks like a really smart move from McGeeney
Post by: tonto1888 on January 29, 2016, 07:14:03 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on January 29, 2016, 12:38:41 AM

McCaughley, Heffron and Grimley are debutants. Aidan Forker would normally be wing forward for Armagh, although he can play at 6 for his club. Stefan Forker, McParland and McVerry have been on the squad for a while. McKenna would be in his second year.

what are the new and newish fellas like? Living in Manchester I dont get to see any club football these days. Im home next weekend mindyou and will be at the Athletic Grounds
Post by: illdecide on January 29, 2016, 09:12:53 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on January 29, 2016, 12:17:11 AM
Armagh team named:
McNeice
Findon Grimley

I would calculate 9 changes from the last time the teams met and about the same from Armagh's last championship game.

A few lads getting their chance and TBH i was expecting a stronger team than that, there are obviously injuries and players unavailable. The young Cash man McCaughley gets his chance along with Lurgan man Shea Heffron but maybe one of the two new boys playing on the right side could switch sides however i'd be relatively happy with the defence. Don't know a big pile about young Grimley but throw him in and see what he's got, Findon can play rightly when he stops the hard man image (Ref's will be watching him this year).
Half forwards are decent with Campbell being the stand out candidate, S Forker has great talent but always seemed to be on the fringes (maybe lack of work rate but seems to have played his way back into the team). The FF line could destroy you or not get a touch (if that makes sense)...I'd say Meath won't be playing from a full deck either so it'll probably be a 50/50 game with possibly the team with the stronger bench winning it. (or what about the draw)
Post by: Throw ball on January 29, 2016, 04:54:40 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 29, 2016, 07:14:03 AM
Quote from: Throw ball on January 29, 2016, 12:38:41 AM

what are the new and newish fellas like? Living in Manchester I dont get to see any club football these days. Im home next weekend mindyou and will be at the Athletic Grounds

Must confess I do not know a great deal about McCaughley. He did OK in a McKenna when there were very few defenders playing to guide him. Heffron has all the quality needed to be there for a long time. All he needs is work and luck. Grimley is a footballer the old timers will love. Can catch and run with the ball and is always looking to kick pass rather than fist the ball. May take him a while to come to terms physically with county football.

Of the others McKenna is a good footballer but may in the short term be seen as cover for Dyas.
Post by: Oraisteach on January 29, 2016, 06:45:36 PM
Thanks for the lowdown, Throw, on players I don't know.
Post by: smelmoth on January 29, 2016, 08:08:08 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on January 29, 2016, 12:17:11 AM
Armagh team named:
McNeice
Findon Grimley

Decent team. Probably as good as we can put out given the opt outs, injuries and club duties.
Shileds will definitely come out leaving Vernon with either Heaffron or McCaughley in the back line.
Would expect McVerry to drop back and him and Aidan to break from wide positions. There is still 3 to sit in the half back line and I don't think Findon will come very far forward.

Would like to see see Stefan Forker and O'Hanlon swap but not sure McGeeney will go that way.

Dyas is on the bench and his contribution might be critical. A little short on quality kick passers in that team
What is the Meath selection.
Post by: T Fearon on January 29, 2016, 08:16:54 PM
Lot of Lurgan men in the team just like the old days.We have a reasonable record in Navan and a win would be a morale booster
Post by: Tara Na Rí on January 29, 2016, 11:53:39 PM
Has Jamie Clarke dropped himself off the Armagh panel this year? He gave Keogan a bit of a roasting the last time he was in Navan. No sign of a team sheet from ourselves which is a bit frustrating!
Post by: Hardy on January 30, 2016, 12:21:07 AM
Quote from: Tara Na Rí on January 29, 2016, 11:53:39 PM
Has Jamie Clarke dropped himself off the Armagh panel this year? He gave Keogan a bit of a roasting the last time he was in Navan. No sign of a team sheet from ourselves which is a bit frustrating!

I'm very sorry to do this to you, but consider it an initiation ordeal:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=26578.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=26578.0)
Post by: T Fearon on January 30, 2016, 05:28:47 AM
On the basis of that question about Clarke,I expect Tara's next question to be "When did Sean Boylan step down? I never heard!"😂
Post by: Tara Na Rí on January 30, 2016, 11:00:10 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 30, 2016, 05:28:47 AM
On the basis of that question about Clarke,I expect Tara's next question to be "When did Sean Boylan step down? I never heard!"😂

My next question was going to be "Who's this Seán Boylan lad that's taking over the Meath footballers? Seems to only have a background in hurling, some chancer!"  ;D Thanks guys, the WiFi must be running slow in my part of the country these days!
Post by: Orior on January 30, 2016, 07:59:16 PM
Quote from: SimonSays on January 27, 2016, 03:30:08 PM
Looking forward to the game. both teams need to win this. Derry and Tyrone should be the favs for the division but it is a strong division and you could easily get dragged in to a relegation dog fight . dnt know much about Meath but they are bound to give it a good rattle . Armagh badly need strong defenders and a midfielder who can win primary ball. Would expect a big response from Armagh after a poor pre-season campaign. Come on Armagh ,,,give us some hope

It's the hope that pains us the most.
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2016, 02:39:53 PM
Half time:
Meath 1-04
Armagh 0-08

Armagh had the wind in the first half.
"A feature of the game has been the accurate and effective tackling by the Armagh backs."
The referee has given Meath some soft frees, according to commentators.
Conditions have worsened in Meath's favour for second half.
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2016, 03:25:02 PM
Second yellow for Aidan Forker as Meath lead 1-09 to 0-08.
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2016, 03:32:08 PM
Dirty Forker. Meath look a good bit better than Armagh
Post by: Hardy on January 31, 2016, 03:34:25 PM
Final score:
Meath 1-10
Armagh 0-08

Armagh failed to score against the wind in the second half. Meath played well but had difficulty in getting scores, by the sound of it.

The referee did Armagh no favours, according to LMFM.
Post by: thejuice on January 31, 2016, 05:25:38 PM
To not score in a whole half is fairly shite even against the wind and the ref.

McGeeney out!!

From a Meath point of view it's a good start to the league and hopefully we can build on it. Not sure who we have next but a few teams took a fair beating today in division 2 so it suggests there is some easier prey that we can feed off and hopefully pick up a few points off the big teams.
Post by: Oraisteach on January 31, 2016, 05:31:26 PM
That's all fine and good, but don't you think it was poor form that the Meath mentors locked the dressing room from the outside so that the Armagh team couldn't take the field for the second half?
Post by: thejuice on January 31, 2016, 05:33:56 PM
We actually got the Dunderry Junior C team to play the second half in Orange bibs. Nobody seemed to notice.
Post by: armaghniac on January 31, 2016, 05:45:14 PM
Armagh weren't so bad in the first half, the Meath goal was walked in because they couldn't chance a point against the wind. Not much imagination from Armagh in the second and of course they end with only 14 for petulance at usual.
Post by: SimonSays on January 31, 2016, 06:28:16 PM
A bad team beat a bad team
Post by: Sea The Stars on January 31, 2016, 06:31:56 PM
I thought it was a poor game. Meath dealt with the wind the better of the two teams both in terms of profiting from it in the second half and limiting Armagh's dominance in the first. Still though if you take out the frees Armagh actually won the game (Meath won the second half 0-6 to 0-0 with 5 points from frees) and I agree the ref seemed to favour Meath. From a Meath perspective, Donal Keogan was easily the man of the match. Mickey Burke, Padraic Harnan and Harry Rooney had a positive influence too. There seemed to be an edge to Meath in fairness, which is worth pointing out. They weren't going to be bullied at least today. I think Armagh have to improve on that today to stay up. Meath might get away with a similar level performance against Fermanagh but they'll definitely need to improve to be promoted.
Post by: No wides on January 31, 2016, 06:40:42 PM
Wind or no wind Armagh just don't have scorers at the minute.
Post by: Throw ball on January 31, 2016, 06:45:16 PM
Not a great game in very difficult circumstances but Meath deserved to win.

From an Armagh point of view the lack of ball won around the middle is a big worry. A number of players have to come back but I am not sure if they would improve this area. Some good scores in first half but another sloppy goal conceded.

Aidan Forker can be a very good footballer but he spoils it with petulance too often. Seemed to have been calming down but today was a step back. On saying that the 2 most dangerous challenges were frontal charges by Meath players with only one booked.

I think Meath should be ok but Armagh need a win next week.
Post by: T Fearon on January 31, 2016, 07:28:32 PM
Depressing performance from Armagh.Was also at Down V Donegal game in Newry last night.Cant remember when County Football in the Armagh Down regions was at such a low ebb.Both are miles behind the pace in Ulster never mind the Dublins,Kerrys and Mayos.
Post by: smelmoth on January 31, 2016, 08:57:23 PM
Meath deserved to win. They looked far from top class and looked like they would be comfortable in Division 2 and with youth on their side could build from there.

Armagh looked a complete shambles. Keeper got stalled on his line a nuber of times and against a better side or in better conditions would have coughed up goals or goal chances.  Vernon was our best player by a distance.  The 2 defenders on debut did OK. Shields was poor, possibly not fit yet and deservedly subbed. Aidan Forker played ok. Some glimpses of his talent and at least 4 glimpses of his lack of discipline. Could have been sent off minutes before he actually was. Learned nothing. Captain material?? His brother did as well as could be expected given the job he was asked to do.

Donaghy was probably our best midfielder but that would not have been difficult. Took off with an ankle injury and would be a big miss if not available next week. Better luck another day for Sheridan but did nothing today. Was replaced at HT by Findon. Findon has the ability but he showed none of it today. Has a real problem with discipline and showed too much of that today - again. I would love to know what he thinks his role is? The whole kick out thing was a disaster. A difficult wind, almost straight down the field. We struggled with and against the wind. There was zero attempt at any variation. Where the blame lies between the keeper, the midfield and the management is anybody's guess, But it was an abject failure whomever was to blame.

The forward game went to pieces at HT. Obviously playing into the wind offers a different proposition but we had no plan for this at all. Playing a one man full forward line with guys who don't normally play there looked madness - especially with Campbell and Forker playing a full 70 mins down the other end.

We are not making things easy for ourselves
Post by: T Fearon on January 31, 2016, 09:27:04 PM
Meath were no great shakes either.I shudder to think how we'll fare against Tyrone,Derry,Galway.Maximum points needed from Laois and Fermanagh games,otherwise it's straight back to Division 3.
Post by: Tara Na Rí on January 31, 2016, 11:38:06 PM
I thought Meath had more left in the tank but they just lack a cutting edge when it comes to seeing out games. This could become a problem against the likes of Tyrone, Derry, Galway etc. In saying that, there is also a grittiness now in existence whereby they don't lose games easily. It's something that has been missing for the last number of years so it is certainly a welcome addition. The Westmeath game is probably still fesh in the memory and they want to learn from that. Think we are a little lightweight in the half back line but Donnacha Tobin and Bryan Menton should both improve this area when they return. Although Fermanagh were well-beaten in then end, I believe the final score didn't do their performance justice so I hope we are fully focused on that game alone. It would be great to head into the break with 4 points in the bag.
Post by: BennyCake on January 31, 2016, 11:41:18 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 31, 2016, 09:27:04 PM
Meath were no great shakes either.I shudder to think how we'll fare against Tyrone,Derry,Galway.Maximum points needed from Laois and Fermanagh games,otherwise it's straight back to Division 3.

I agree.

But at least your entrance fees into the next few matches is sorted though ;)
Post by: illdecide on February 01, 2016, 02:14:13 PM
As long as them hoors next weekend don't beat us i'll be content with losing away to Meath :D
Post by: armaghniac on February 01, 2016, 02:37:21 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 01, 2016, 02:14:13 PM
As long as them hoors next weekend don't beat us i'll be content with losing away to Meath :D

That's the British spirit, as they say in Queen's county.
Post by: mackers on February 01, 2016, 03:39:44 PM
The main problem I had yesterday was the lack of movement off the ball which meant we did not create space for each other.  The basic thing that a team must do playing into the wind to support your team mate by coming off his shoulder.  This didn't happen and it left Armagh going back and forward across the field when we were attacking.  Even with the wind there was little movement inside.  Stefan Campbell had a ball at halfway in the first half and looked up to see Gavin McParland standing behind two Meath defenders, he had to turn back and recycle to the groans of the Armagh supporters around me.  We needed to push up on Meath in the first half but we chose to play with extra defenders, Meath pushed up on us in the second half with good effect.
As others have said if we play like that against Derry or Tyrone we will be soundly beaten.  We have players to come back in but I would be very concerned.
I thought CV and Miceal McKenna were best for Armagh.  Aidan Forker's temperament is beyond a joke.  He took a heavy kick off a Meath man and from then on he was looking around for someone to hit, with the foul for the second yellow, stupid in the extreme.
Laois at home is a must win game, pure and simple.
Post by: screenexile on February 01, 2016, 03:49:08 PM
Seriously though lads I'm no oil painting but what in God's name does Mickey Burke look like??!!

(http://www.irishnews.com/picturesarchive/irishnews/irishnews/2016/01/31/211052436-56fecad1-1ed6-4bee-a98c-9287f4ae385a.jpg)
Post by: AZOffaly on February 01, 2016, 04:08:09 PM
The son of an Ewok and Chewbacca.
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2016, 04:13:33 PM
I think I seen that boy doing the Haka before throw-in.
Post by: fearsiuil on February 01, 2016, 05:38:38 PM
And what about Grease Lightning alongside him
Post by: Jinxy on February 01, 2016, 05:58:09 PM
If I was any good with photoshop I'd have hours of fun putting one of these in Mickey Burke's hands in every picture I could find.

(http://i.imgur.com/6PurqDR.png)
Post by: Hardy on February 01, 2016, 06:12:32 PM
Look at the terror on yer man's face.
Post by: armaghniac on February 01, 2016, 06:38:07 PM
Quote from: Hardy on February 01, 2016, 06:12:32 PM

He probably has eyes in the back of his head, or wing mirrors.
Post by: Throw ball on February 01, 2016, 06:56:06 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 01, 2016, 06:38:07 PM

He probably has eyes in the back of his head, or wing mirrors.

Or following the full frontal charge he had suffered was looking out for the sneak attack!
Post by: joemamas on February 01, 2016, 08:57:19 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 01, 2016, 05:58:09 PM
If I was any good with photoshop I'd have hours of fun putting one of these in Mickey Burke's hands in every picture I could find.

(http://i.imgur.com/6PurqDR.png)

The smiley Tayto fella takes a little bit away from it ?
If they were sponsored by Iron Maiden it would be perfect.
Post by: Jinxy on February 01, 2016, 09:05:02 PM

I'd say he had to take the day off with Burkitis.
Symptoms include profuse sweating, anxiety and frequent looking over the shoulder.